# Opposition brief to Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Watts v. Seward School Board

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385604_1249%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition brief to Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1970
- **Citation:** 397 U.S. 921

## Text

LIBRARY. a thr Seprne. tort us |

7 ILE
SUPREME COURT, U. 5S. =
| : IAN 12 i970
RK
IN THE
Gan Court of the Huited —

October Term, 1969 + |

JAMES A. WATTS and WALTER B. BLUE, Petitioners
v

SEWARD SCHOOL BOARD AND BOA OF EDUCATION
APPEAL HEARING COMMITTEE, Respondents

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO
PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

SUPREME COURT OF ALASKA

“ Theodore M. PedSe, Jr. .
BURR, PEASE & KURTZ, INC.
825 West Eighth Avenue
Anchorage, Alaska

; INDEX

‘ ; Page

The Decision of the Alaska Supreme Court Rests. on an
Adequate, Non-FederalGround .........6..00< cess 2

The Questions Raised in the Petition Are Not of
Sufficient vonnnone Stature to Justify Granting

oF vacinns cing RL EE ETE CE RHE oe re ne 4
The Decision of the Alaska Supreme Court is in Accord

With the Decision of This tn Ree ere ame Men sneynbe 6
COME | os ot tee eae es mig kiearey eae ee |

a

INDEX OF CITATIONS

Cases:

District of Columbia v. Sweeney, 301 U.S. 631 (1940) . 5
Layne & Bowler Corp..v. Western Well Works, Inc., 261

7 ee AEE UNS ea Gk SKN ee 5
Meehan v. Macy, 392 F.2d 822 (1968) Te Pe re oe
Michel v. State of Louisiana, 350.U.S. 91, 97 (1955) . 3
Milk Wagon Drivers. Union v. Meadowmoor ‘Dairies, Inc.,

312 U.S. 287, 94 (1940) Seeker ee 7

Pickering v. Board of Education, 391 U.S. 563,68 (1968) 2-8

Pollastrine v. Severance, 375 P.2d 528,31 (Alaska 1962) . 3

Puentes v. Board of Education, NY.
CRO | OW ova eee iy ew Rk Cee ee 4
Rice v. Sioux City Memorial: Park Cemetery, 349 U.S.
eRe CERNE ure Maire aN Gautier y 5,6
Sanuita v. Common Laborer’s Union, 402 P.2d 199,201
LIA TEMOOE. x careh rie erene a are 3
Watts v. Seward School Board: 454 P.2d 732, 37 (Alaska
ROOD fos REE ee ee eh ee weuveseee
Williams v. Georgia, 349 U.S. 375 (NE) 4 5 Vc eas So 3
STATUTES
Ae ee ee Ae RES ee 5
AE ES AA os ke ON eee ek Ore 5
: REGULATIONS
Seward School Board Regulation E(7) .............. ES

Sia ciasides pscascks Stciansianiaetase es

coca y f MEE BEAM OS cme reg ¢ RPS
Js

IE SPUR PERE IR PT ES TET

Ss ik cal Os SE eR et eee eonaret

a

‘IN THE
(Supreme Court of the Huited States
| October Term, 1969

No. 573

JAMES A. WATTS and WALTER B. BLUE, Petitioners
ara

SEWARD SCHOOL BOARD AND BOARD OF EDUCATION
APPEAL HEARING COMMITTEE, Respondents

---——-1

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO”
PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

SUPREME COURT OF ALASKA

/ : - ‘ }
f 2 E ‘ ry
‘THE DECISION OF oe ALASKA SUPREME

COURT RESTS ON AN ADEQUATE, NON-FEDERAL.
. OUND.

In passing upon this case after the second remand from
the Supreme Court of the United States, 391 U.S. 592
(1968), the Supreme Court of Alaska: reaffirmed: its prior
determination that. Petitioners Watts and Blue violated
Regulation E-7 of the Seward School Board, and that this
was a sufficient, independent ground for their nonretention. __.
Watts v. Seward School Board, ‘454° P.2d ce 37 (Alaska
1969); Regulation E-7 Provided: ie
Grievances, complaints and communications from
employees shall be submitted to the Board through the
Superintendent. Any employee or group of employees
may at any timé appeal to.the Board. -

It is uncontested that: Petitioners - Simultaneously delivered
copies of their “Open Letter to.the Seward School Board” fo
the Superintendent, m¢ bers of the School Board, and: the.
public, in substantial lation of. Regulation E-7. App. 7-75,
186, 198-99. ! ; ;

Petitioners have attempted to attack this finding in several
ways. First, they have alleged that Regulatidn--E-7 was not
properly adopted, and therefore its -violation may not serve as
a ground. for nonretention. The State Board of Education
Appeals Hearing Committee and the Alaska Supreme Court,
however, found that there was sufficient. evidence to infer
that the Regulation had properly been adopted by the Seward
School Board, that at the relevant time it was a valid
regulation within the school system, apd that Petitioners had
contractually agreed to abide by that regulation. App. 24-25,
73-74. The Alaska Supreme Coyprt reaffirmed _ this
determination after a thorough and ind pendent review of the
evidenee. 454 P.2d 732,37.’ In addition, Regulation E-7 was

;

“App.” refers to the joint icc filed by the parties i in No. 325,
October Term, 1967. Petitioner has filed a,motion to use that record in
this case, and Respondent hereby joins in that motion.

=

3

contained in a handbook of regulations’which was distributed
to all the teachers in the ‘Seward School system, and
Petitioners were personally familiar with Regulation E-7. App.
178 (Blue), 208 (Watts); 74.

Second, Petitioners have attempted to raise constitutional
objections to Regulation E-7. They now argue that it is both
vague and overbroad, and on those bases constitutionally
defective. This argument was originally advanced, however, in
a petition for rehearing after the Supreme Court of Alaska
had rendered its second decision in this matter. App. 119-122.
At that time the Supreme Court of Alaska held that it would
not consider new arguments raised in a petition for rehearing,
which had not been briefed and argued in‘ accordance with
that Court’s rules. App. 122-25. This holding was reaffirmed
by the Alaska Supreme Court after the second remand from
this court. 454 P.2d 732,37. It is well established law in this
Court that reasonable. restrictions on the methods of raising
constitutional arguments are valid, and the failure to comply
with those restrictions will bar a party from resorting to those.
arguments. E. G. Williams uv. Georgia, 349 U.S. 875 (1955):
Michel v. State of Louisiana, 350 U.S. 91, 97 (1955). In this
case the Supreme Court’ of Alaska has adopted a: procedural
rule reqiring a party to raise all of its points on appeal in the
first argument of the case, rather than holding some in reserve

to be used in a_ potential petition for rehearing. This —

requirement has been uniformly applied in other. cases.

.

Sanuita v. Common Laborer’s Union, 402 P.2d 199, 201 ~

(Alaska 1965); Pollastrine vu. Severance, 375 P.2d 528, 31
(Alaska 1962). Since this type of requirement obviously
promotes the just and expeditious disposition of causes, it is
submitted that this procedural _ requirement of the Alaska:
Supreme Court is a valid restriction upon Petitioner’s right to
advance arguments concerning any potential constitutional
infirmities in Regulation E-7. - i

In their brief filed with the Alaska Supreme Court after
the second remand from this Court, Petitioners attempted to
argue that the decision making process, through which
Petitioners were dismissed was unconstitutional. In their one
paragraph argument, however, they cited no cases other than
those cited by this Court in the Pickering case, 391 U.S. 563,
68, N. 2 (1968). The Alaska Supreme Court, in its

] 3 ot

.

eo

4

consideration sili remand, refused to consider this argument
on the same ground that it had refused to consider previous
arguments concerning the constitutionality of Regulation E-7;
i.e.s that il was not timely presented. Watts v. Seward School
Board, 454 P.2d 732,37.

II.

- THE QUESTIONS RAISED IN THE
PETITION ARE NOT OF SUFFICIENT
} CONSTITUTIONAL STATURE TO
| JUSTIFY GR'ANTING CERTIORARI

A. This court should allow future decisions to clarify the
various .considerations involved before laying down
further guidelines for the decision of cases requiring a‘
court to balance the interest of employees in
exercising their right to freedom of speech, and the
State, as the employer, jn assuring an efficient civil
service.

In Pickering vs. Board of Education, 391 U.S. 563
(1968), this Court clearly recognized the myriad factual
situations which might arise in ‘attempting to define the rights
of public employees in the exercise of their rights under the
First, Amendment. Jd. at 568-69. Thus, this Court specifically
refrained from laying down.a firm rule under which all cases
in this area must be decided, but rather held that each case
must be adjudicated on its own merits, arid the interests of

~ the employee and the State -balanced in, each instance.

The problem in any case is to arrive att a 1 balance between
the ‘interests of the teacher, as a citizen, in commenting
upon. matters’ of public concern ‘and the interest of the
State, as an-employer, in promoting the efficiency of the
public services it performs through its employees.

t

Id. ot 668. °°

In response to the Pickering decision, a number of courts

~ have re-thought their position in this area. Puentes v. Board of

Education, A N.Y. (1969); Meehan v. Macy,

5

392 F.2d 822 (1968). Their decisions further illuminate the
many complexities and differing factual situations which may
arise, and it is submitted that this Court should allow this
process of illumination. to continue through lower ’ court
decisions. C.f., Rice v. Sioux City Memorial Park Cemetery,
349 U.S. 70;77 (1955). Then, after a sufficient body of
experience has developed,. this Court may take’ the
opportunity to refine, its formulation of the rule governing the
accommodation . of sthe First Amendment~- to public
employment. To do so now, however, would be to proceed
without the benefit and assistance which the decisions of
other courts would provide. a

B. A decision in this case would be of importance only
to the litigant, and not to the public in general.

As this Court observed in its first remand of this case to
the Alaska Supreme Court, the statutory law of Alaska under
which Petitioners were non-retained has been significantly
altered since their. nonretention. App. 42-438. It has, in fact,
been altered in such a manner that it would be impossible for

_ the situation presented by Petitioners to arise again. A.S.

14.20.170(a) (2); 14.20.095. (See Appendix “A’’). Since
Petitioners. would be the only people who could conceivably
be directly affected by a decision in this case, the decision
would be. without public importance. In such a situation,
certiorari should be denied. Rice v. Sioux City Memorial Park
Cemetery, 349 U.S..70 (1955); District of Columbia v.

. Sweeney, 310 U.S. 631 (1940); Layne & Bowler Corp. v.

Western Well. Works, Inc., 261 U.S. 387 - (192 3).

In addition, since the Pickering case laid down the general

considerations relevant. to decision in that and similar cases, a
‘ decision-in this - case ~ would not have significant value as

precedent for the decision of futuré cases. Thus, the affect of
any decision in this case would be even further restricted, and
even less ‘‘public’’. It is well established law in this Court that
certigrari “is not granted” merely .to decide interesting

‘ intellectual -problems, or’ even to dec ide limited controversies.

Rather, *the policies governing: the issuance of a writ of

certiorari are designed to reserve this Court’s time and

attention ‘for problems of broad significance. Rice v. Sioux

@°

6

' City Memorial Park Cemetery, supra, at 74. In the area of the
right of free speech enjoyed by public employees, the broad
and significant question has been decided by the Pickering
case. To grant certiorari here would be of stich limited
significance that the writ should be denied.

III.

THE DECISION OF THE ALASKA
SUPREME COURT IS IN ACCORD
WITH THE DECISIONS OF THIS COURT.

In the Pickering decision, this Court considered. four
different factors in evaluating the State’s interest in regulating
Mr. Pickering's freedom of speech. After this consideration, of
course, it eoncluded that the State had no sufficient interest
in such regulation and struck down Pickering’s dismissal.
When Watts us..Seward School Board was remanded to the
Alaska Supreme Court to be considered in the light of
Pickering, the Alaska Supreme Court faithfully carried out the
mandate of this Court. Since Pickering, Watts and Blue were
all high school teachers, it seems likely that whatever
potential State interest there is in regulating the freedom of»
speech of these employees would be the same in both cases. —
Thus, the Alaska Supreme Court evaluated the State interest
in regulating the conduct of Watts and Blue by considering
the same issues and problems considered by this court when it
decided Pickering. After such reconsideration, the Alaska
Supreme Court held that the nonretention of Petitioners
Watts and Blue was justified.

The issues considered by the Alaska Supreme Court are as
follows: : :

1. Whether or not the statements by Watts and Blue
would interfere with the close, working relationships and
harmonious functioning of the school system.

2. Whether or not the issues raised by Watts and Blue
were of general public concern.

3. Whether or not the Seward School Board could have

7

easily refuted Petitioners’ accusations by references to the
public record.

4. The public reaction to the accusation of Watts and
Blue. :

In Pickering it was .determined by this Court that
_Pickering’s statements were not directed at co-workers or
immediate superiors; that. the .issues discussed by Pickering
were of general public concern, since they were the subject of
a local election; that his false statements were easily refutable
by the school board ‘by a simple réference to the public
record; and that the public reaction to Pickering’s statements

‘was one of marked apathy. The. Alaska Supreme Court, after

an independent review, of the record, 454 P.2d 732,37,
determined that the situation presented by Petitioners was
precisely the opposite of the Pickering case in each of these
four respects.

Since this Court, while reserving to itself the right to
make an independent examination of the record, always
accords great, if not -controlling, weight to factual
determinations of the state courts, Pickering v. Board of
Education, supra at 578, n.2, and will only make an
independent review of the record where it appears that a
flagrant abuse of the First Amendment rights would otherwise
occur, Milk Wagon Drivers Union v. eadowmoor Dairies,
Inc., 312 U.S. 287,94 (1940), certiorari should be denied. The
factual determinations made by the Alaska Supreme Court,
after its independent review of the record, give no indication
that a flagrant abuse of First Amendment rights has taken
place, and, in the absence of such abuse, this court should
accept the determinations of the Alaska Supreme Court. Once
this is done, it is clear. that Watts presents an entirely
different situation from Pickering.

In Pickering, this Court determined that the State of
Illinois had no greater interest in regulating Pickering’s
speech than it did in regulating the speech of its citizenry as a
whole. In this case, however, the state interest in regulating
the speech of Petitioners is' substantially stronger ‘than
Alaska’s interest in regulating the speech of its citizenry as a
whole. As this ee arm ies the State has a significant

ORT REE rs

8

interest in assuring the smooth and harmonious functioning of
its Civil Service.

At the same time it cannot be gainsaid that peo has

interests as an employer in regulating the speesh of its
employees that differ significantly from those it pOssesses
in connection with regulation of the speech of the
citizenry in general.

Pickering v. Board of Education, supra, at 568. To this end,
one of the considerations which must be weighed is fhe
extent to which the Petitioners’ speech concerned people“with
whom they had every day working contact. In this case, the
statements made by Petitioners Watts and Blue concerned the
Superintendent of Schools, who performed e sentially the
‘same functions as the principal would in Reps school
system. 454 P.2d 732, 35. In the Seward schools Petitioners
had constant contact with the Superintendent, and worked
closely with him to: fulfil] the educational needs of the
community. After independently reviewing the record, the
Alaska Supreme Court determined that the statements made
by Petitioners concerning the Superintendent would interfere
with the close working relationship which had ‘existed
previously. Jd. . é

In Pickering the statements made concerned an_ issue’
which had _ been placed before the electorate during a
municipal school bond election. In Watts, on the other hand,
the statements made directly concerned the job performance
of the Superintendent of Schools. App. 56-60. Whether or not
to retain the Superintendent of Schools is not a question
which would ever come before the electorate of Seward, since
the Superintendent served at the pleasure of the Seward
School Board. Since this was not a matter upon which, in the
normal process of democratic decision making, the electorate
of Seward would pass, the Alaska Supreme Court determined
that the State’s interest in regulating the speech of Petitioners,
as opposed to the need for informed public discussion, was
significantly more Ibecelagt than it had been in Pickering.
454 P.2d 732, 35. Similarly, it should be observed that the
regulations the State imposed upon Petitioners would tend to
promote informed debate. among members of the school

a Sa

9

board, the group ‘with decision making power in this instance,
even though it may have temporarily curtailed public
discussion of the issue.

In Pickering, this Court observed that the matters which
Pickering misstated could have been easily refuted by the
School Board through references to the public record.

The Board could easily have rebutted appellant’s errors by
publishing the accurate figures itself, either via a letter to
the same newspaper or otherwise. We are thus not
presented with a situation ‘in which a teacher has
carelessly made false statements about matters so closely
related to the day-to-day operations of the school that
any harmful, impact on the public would be difficult to
counter because of the teacher’s presumed greater access
to the real facts.

Pickering v. Board of Education, supra, at 572. In this case,
however, the matters complained of dealt precisely and
exclusively with

... matters so closely related to the day-to-day operations
of the schools that any harmful impact on the public
would be difficult to counter because of the teacher’s
presumed greater access to the real facts.
Id. In this situation, the careless falsehoods. of Petitioners _
could do substantially more harm to the efficient operation of '
the school system than could the accusations of Pickering.

Lastly, in Pickering the public reacted. only apathetically
to Pickering’s accusations. In Watts, however, the reaction was
quite different. This was the initial phase of a campaign to
have the Superintendent of Schools dismissed, and occasioned
a substantial amount of public discussion. App. 182 (Blue);
160-61, 454.P.2d 732,37. Thus, it is clear that. this is not a

case, such as Pickering, where nonretention was based merely

upon the injured feelings of those against whom the public
discussion was directed.

On all these counts the interest in the State of Alaska
regulating the speech of Petitioners is substantially greater

10 | mal
than the interest of the State of Illinojs in regulating th

speech of Mr. Pickering. Thus, after balancing these interests
against the interest of Petitioners in being able to immediately
make their grievances public, rather than taking the minimal
amount of time necessary to comply with Regulation E-7, this
Court should deny certiorari on the ground that the decision
by the Alaska Supreme Court is consistent with the prior
decisions of this Court, and with Pickering. °

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons and on the strength of the
foregoing. authorities, Respondent prays that certiorari be
denied. . .

Respectfully submitted,
Theodore M. Pease, Jr.

BURR, PEASE & KURTZ, INC.
825 West Eighth Avenue
Anchorage, Alaska

Attorneys for Respondent,
Seward School Board

Dated: January 7, 1970

2

In opposition to the second petition for certiorari filed in this case
Respondents also argued that the decision of the Alaska Supreme Court
was consistent with prior decisions of this Court. The issues covered
there have, however, receded considerably in importance since Picker-
ing, and will therefore only be covered by reproducing the relevant

portion of Respondents’ previous brief in Appendix “‘B”’.

ee

11 .
APPENDIX A
A.S. 14.20.095

Right to comment and criticize not to be restricted. No
bylaw or regulation of the commissioner of education, a

. School board, or local school administrator may restrict or

modify the right of a teacher to engage in comment and
criticism outside school hours, regarding school personnel,
members of the governing body of any school or school
district, any other public official, or any school employee, to
the same extent that any private individual may exercise the
right.

AS. 14.20.170

' Dismissal. (a) A teacher, including a teacher who has
acquired tenure rights, m&y be dismissed at any time only for
the following causes:

(1) incompetency, which is defined as the inability or the
unintentional or intentional failure to. perform the teacher’s
customary teaching duties in a satisfactory manner;

(2) immorality, which is defined as the commission of an
act which, under the laws of the state, constitutes a crime
involving moral turpitude; or

(3) substantial noncompliance with the school laws of the
state, the regulations or bylaws of the department, the bylaws
of the district, or the written rules of the superintendent.

(b) A teacher may be suspended temporarily with regular
compensation during a period of investigation to determine
whether or not cause exists for the issuance of a notification
of dismissal according to §180 of this chapter.

a)

12
7 APPENDIX B
THE DECISION OF THE SUPREME COURT OF

ALASKA IS NOT IN CONFLICT WITH THE DE-
CISIONS OF THIS COURT

The Supreme Court of Alaska did not base its ‘de-
cision on the abstract proposition that public employ-
ment is a privilege not a right, nor on the theory that
the power to withhold employment entirely includes the
power arbitrarily to place conditions on employment
when. granted. Instead, the court held that the Seward
School Board was justified in not renewing petitioners’
contracts because their activities brought them and the
teaching profession into public disgrace and undermined
the morale and discipline of the local school system.
Petitioners’ discharge was sustained because of thé spe-
cific finding that their activities threatened. to impair
the efficiency and integrity of the school system. This is
an interest recognized by this Court in United Public
Workers of America v. Mitchell, 330 U.S. 75 (1947) as justi-
fying restrictions on the otherwise constitutionally guar-
anteed rights of speech and association of government
employees “ ‘within reasonable limits,’ even though the
regulation trenches to some. extent upon unfettered
political action.” 330 U.S. at 102. Even the state cases
which petitioners assert to reflect constitutional phil-
osophy. antithetical to that of the Supreme Court of
Alaska, have recognized the compelling interest of state
agencies in preserving an efficient, harmonious internal
administration. E.g., Fort v. Civil Serv. Comm’n, 61 Cal.
2d 331, 38 Cal. Rptr. 625, 392 P.2d 385, 389 ( 1964), where
the Court stated:

~ A strong case, we think, can also be made for
the view that permitting a public employee ta:run or
campaign against his own superior has so disruptive
an effect on the public service as to warrant restric-
tion. :

\

In the case at’bar there can be no doubt of the divi-
siveness of petitioners’ conduct.2 Since petitioners do
not dispute the conclusion of the school board that they
engaged in activities damaging to their own and to their

613

employer’s professional prestige, it can only be assumed
that they are arguing that in spite of their disruptive
conduct which threatened to impair the efficiency and
destroy the integrity of the school system, they cannot
be denied employment within the school. This claim is
without merit.

Moreover, petitioners’ false statements for which

_ they were dismissed are not entitled to constitutional

protection since they were made with reckless disregard
for truth. The Supreme Court of Alaska stated:

The production and distribution of the Open Letter -
was a time-consuming and deliberate act. The false
statements contained in it were not made in heated
debate. The factual basis for the charges could have
been verified by appellants if they had taken the
time to do so.

421 P.2d at 607. Those are the elements of recklessness
which, as noted by the Supreme Court*of Alaska, renders
a statement beyond constitutional protection. Cf. Garrison
v. Louisiana, 379 U.S. 64, 75 (1964). <o

_ Nor is the statute under which petitioners were non-
retained unconstitutionally vague or overbroad. The
phrase, “conduct of the person tending to bring the in-,
dividual concerned or the teaching profession into public
disgrace or disrespect” was intended to be a “catch-all”,
serving the same purpose as phrases such as “conduct
unbecoming a teacher” or “unprofessional conduct”. 421
P.2d at 590. These phrases do cover a broad range of
conduct; necessarily so because no statute could be
framed to include with specificity all of the particular
acts which might render a teacher unfit. The necessity
of using a broad standard for dismissal is indicated by the

2E.g. In an attempt to discredit the superintendent, petitioner
Blue in May or June of 1959 contacted and questioned at least
three residents of the town where the superintendent had
previously served concerning his character, administrative
policies and personal habits while serving there. 421.P.2d at
599.

14

fact that this technique is used in many states and by
the Federal Civil Service.3

In attacking the constitutionality of such a tech-
nique, petitioner has misunderstood the fundamental
difference between statutes which impose prior condi-.
tions on employment (oaths) or which prohibit specific
activities ‘a county charter as cited in Fort case) 4 and
statutes authorizing dismissal for cause with the right
of a hearing. All of the cases petitioner cites deal with
either prior conditions or specific acts that are prohibited.
The constitutional defect in-laws such as the county char-
ter in the Fort case is plain. Specified kinds of political
activity are prohibited; any hearing the employee gets
is only to see if he engaged in the prohibited activity.
There is no judicial. determination that his particular
activity actually interfered with the internal functioning
of the agency. Similarly, the requirements of an oath
that an employee has never been a member of a political
party is too broad and at times vague because, again the
only‘ question the employee can litigate is whether he
signed the oath, or whether he was a member of a group.
He has no chance to show that his membersip was in-
nocent or that he personally did or does not share the

35 U.S.C. $652 (a) (1965) reads:
No person in the classified ¢ivil service of the: United
‘States shall be removed or suspended without pay
therefrom except for such cause as will promote the
efficiency of such service... .

See statutes cited in Beilan v. Board of Educ., 357 U.S. 399,
406 n.8 (1958) and accompanying text.

4 No officer or employee of the county in the classified
civil service shall directly or indirectly make, solicit,
or receive or be in any manner concerned in making,
soliciting or receiving any assessment, subscription, or
contribution tor any political party or any. poltiical
purpose whatsoever. cies

Fort v. Civil Serv. Comm’n, 61 Cal. 2d 331, 38 Cal. Rptr. 625,
392 P.2d 385, 386 (1964). :

15

illegal aims-of the group. In such laws, the legislature
has made the judgment that anyone who engages in the
activity or fails to sign the oath, regardless of the actual
circumstances, is unfit for public employment. This legis-
lative judgment is what courts review when striking
down the laws for vagueness or overbreadth. These laws
must ue drawn narrowly to assume that anyone who
does engage in.the activity will be actually unfit.

It is clear that when a hearing is granted under a
“catch-all” phrase the question to be determined is un-
fitness in fact. In a dismissal hearing for ‘‘good cause”’
a court rather than determining whether the employee
did any specific act which may or may not bear relation-
ship to his ability to serve effectively must determine
that the employee's actions render him. unfit. In “dis-
. Missal for cause” cases the legislature has not made any
judgment that a particular act renders an employee unfit.
- The legislature instead has entrusted agencies-and courts
with the task of finding whether a particular employee's
actions constitute good cause for dismissal. This i is a very
specific procedure. :

In the few cases where such a dismissal procedure ~
has been attacked for vagueness or overbreadth it has
been upheld. :

In Board of Educ. v. Swan, 41. Cal. 2d 546, 261 P.2d
261, 266 (1953), cert. denied, 347 U.S. 937 (1954) the Court
_rejected an attack on the standard “unprofessional con-

duct” as being void for vagueness, with the following
statement:

As was said in the Goldsmith case, 66 Cal. App. at
page 168, 225 P. at page 787: ‘... the calling (of a
teacher) is so intimate, its duties so delicate, the
things in which a teacher might prove unworthy or
would fail are so numerous, that they are incapable
of enumeration in any legislative enactment... the
teacher is entrusted with the custody of children
and their high preparation for useful life. His habits,
his speech, his good name, his cleanliness, the wis-

16

dom and propriety of his unofficial utterances, His
associations, all are involved. His ability to inspire
children and to govern them, his power as a teacher,
and the character for which he stands are matters
of major concern in a teacher’s selection and reten-
tion. How can all these things be provided for and
offenses against them be particularly specified in a
single statute? . | .

° The question of vagueness; appears to be governed’

by Beilan v. Board of Educ., 357 U.S. 399 (1958). In that
case a’ teacher was dismissed under the disqualifying
ground of “incompetency.” His offending conduct was
refusing to answer questions propounded by his superior
in private concerning his possible association with com-
munist groups. The teacher’s contention that due pro-
cess of law was violated by including. his refusal to
answer within the term “incompetency” was rejected by
the Court. The Court mentioned that the Pennsylvania
statute under which he had been dismissed, “unlike those
of many other States, contains no catch-all phrase, such
as ‘conduct unbecoming a teacher,” to cover disqualify-
ing conduct not included within the more specific pro-
visions.” 357-U.S..at 406. By inference then, it would
have been constitutionally permissable to have dis-
missed the teacher under a catch-all standard. The Court
proceeded to note that the term “incompetency” had been
broadly interpreted by the Pennsylvania Court and that
its dictionary definition was not particularly prescrip-
tive. Since this was so, the Court held, the extension of
the term “incompetency” to include the teacher’s refusal
to answer was not inconsistent with the United States
Constitution. ,

The basic teaching of Beilan and Swan is that statutes
setting forth all possible legitimate grounds for non-
retention of teachers cannot be drafted. Because of this
fact the use of general standards in non-retention statutes
is constitutionally permissible.

/

17

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons respondent prays that the
petition for certiorari be denied.

Respectfully submitted

THEODORE M. PEAsE, JR.
Burr, Boney & PEASE
825 W. Eighth Avenue
Anchorage, Alaska

Attorneys for Respondent,
Bie, Seward School Board

Dated: August 2, 1967

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385604_1249%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
