# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Shapiro v. California

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385604_1222%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1970
- **Citation:** 397 U.S. 916

## Text

he REA PATS

ones oe US.
SUPREME COURT, U. S. =

DEC 20 1969

IN. tHe | JOHN E. BAVIS, CLERK
| SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

4

October “OVE 1969

( | No.

SAUL SHAPIRO,
Petitioner,
VSe
THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

LUKE McKISSACK

Attorney at Law

,6430 Sunset Boulevard
“Suite 521

Hollywood, California 90028

Télephone: (213) 466-7331

Attorney for Petitioner

SUBJECT INDEX

Opinion PRLONS LEME RS SAU HS CHEN AS 2

Groynds on waion the jurisdiction
of this Court is invoked..cccece

Questions presented for Review...e.

2
3
Constitutional Provisions Involved. 4
Statement of, the CASC~cecccccccccce 4

2

Statement of FaCctScccccccccccvecces
Reasons for Granting the Writ. sdecs 11

Evidence was illegally seized from
Petitioner without probable cause
for an arrest and without a basis
for stopping and frisking-
Petitioner, and was a direct re-
Sult of overbearing and harassing
action by the police, contrary
to the guarantees of the Fourth
and Fourteenth Amendments to the
yUnited States Constitution. The
arrest and prosecution based on
said illegal seizure are null and

VOLE se ces eees ee etcecerecvecdheseve Le

pa

The wicuuivadieres record establishes
that Petitioner committed no crime.
“he conviction based on this
evidence is contrary to guarantees
of due process of law contained in
the Fourteenth Amendment to the ‘
United States Constitution.eccccce 2

SUBJECT \INDEX

Cone aes oe cs cee ee ca eee eens:

INDEX TO APPENDIX

Appendix "A"

- United States Constitution,
Amendment LViccwccccccccccces

United States Constitution,
' Amendment DiVeowece es ecrceesese

California Penal; Code, Section
-12031 :

TABLE OF ‘AUTHORITIES

Page

Badille wi Saat ce Court (1956)
al. 2d 269

. Bailey v. Toaffe - any

29 Cal. 423 x o ; 31
Gescon ve Superior Court, County ,

of Los Angeles (1959) /

al. Appe 2d 356
337 Ped 201 24

oe

People v. Garrett (1965) —
ie 7 Cal. App. 2d_.701
| 47 cal. Rptr. 194 ae

. People v. Gibson (1963)
mee280. Cale App. 24.15
33 Cal. Rptr. 775 | aan 14

Gossman v. Gossman (1942)
“52 Cal. ore ed 164. . Ami, wis
\ es eerie eo Bae

126 P2a 17

In re ‘Harrie (1961) | }
al. oa 879 :
16 Cal. Rptr. 889 ~ 335 34

People v. Henze. (1967)
S55. cal App. 2d 986 ~ ; a
61 Cal. Rptr. 545. ‘15, 20

People ve Macias (1960)
180 Cal’ ig LoS

Pen le v. wisveloin (1963)
Es Cal. ca 448
30 Cal. Rptr. 18 . 20,21

People v. iiora : .
222 Cal. App. 2d 743 :
35 Cal. ntptr.e 4 32 LD, 20

111°

«-

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES |

-

People ve. Russel (1968)
Es AzC. 109 oe
70 Cal. Rptr. 210

People v. Stewart (1966)
Sat Cal. App. 2d 509
50 Cal. Rptr. 630

ibron v. New York (1968)
beh ——

U.S.
88.S. Ct. 1889

Te ve Ohio (1968)
Be U.5. 1
8 S. Ct. 1868

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term,1969
No.

f
i
&
f
§
E
?
i

SAUL SHAPIRO,

Petitioner,

VSe
THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO.
THE APPELLATE DEPARTMENT OF THE . :
SUPERIOR COURT OF HE COUNTY OF :
‘LOS ANGELES, STATE OF CALIFORNIA

Petitioner, SAUL SHAPIRO, respectfully

SPS LR LEI PE EE

prays for a Writ of Certiorari to the

Appellate Department of the Siunerior Court
. for the County of Los Angeles, State of
‘ California, to review its judgment affirming

Petitioner's conviction and the imposition

_of a fine of Two Hundred Fifty ($250.00)

Dollars in the Municipal Court of the Long
Beach Judicial District, County of Los
Angeles, California.

4 |
OPINION BELOW

Trial in the Municipal Court was by the
Court sitting without a jury. The Appellate |
Department of the Superior Court of the County

of Los Angeles affirmed the conviction with-

out opinion.

GROUNDS ON WHICH THE JURIS-
DICTION OF THIS COURT IS
INVOKED

The highest court of this State with
jurisdiction to review the judgment of con-
viction herein is the Appellate Department
of the Superior Court for the County of Los
Angeles, State of California. The order of
the Appellate Department affirming the judg-
ment of the Municipal Court was made on
September 10, 1969. The order of the Appell-
ate Department denying Petitioner's Petition

for Rehearing and/or Certification to the

oa,

Court of Appeals for the State of California

was made on September 23, 1969.

The statutory provision believed to

PERE? EAP BE ETM ar
t a

confer on this court jurisdiction to review
’ the judgment in question by Writ of Certiorari

is 28 U.S.C. Section 1257 (3).

os
NEVE LTA TELLER OME

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW
| a
Was Petitioner's conviction based upon

evidence seized from Petitioner in an

illegal search and seizure, without a pro-

PLATENS RIEL

bable cause for arrest or detention and
"frisk", and as a direct result of over-
Sparing and harassing actions by the police,
contrary to the guarantees of the Fourth :
and Fourteenth Amendments to the United |
States Constitution?

Il

EIS ee ee Ot te

Did Petitioner's conviction based upon

evidence which was insufficient as a@ matter

of law to sustain the conviction, deprive
Petitioner of due process of law guaranteed ~

by the Fourteenth Amendment to the United

-3j-

States Constitution?

' CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

INVOLVED

Involved are the United States Constitu-
tion, Amendments IV and XIV. ;
STATEMENT OF THE CASE

saul Shapiro, Petitioner herein, was
arrested on November 27, 1968. On November
29, 1968, a complaint was issued charging
him with a violation of Penal Code Section
21031, carrying a loaded firearm in an
automobile. :

On February 20, 1969, defendant's motion
_to suppress the ‘evidence under Penal €ode
Section 1538.5 was heard and denied. On
that same date Petitioner was tried by the
Honorable Kenneth E. Sutherland, a Sedge of
the Municipal Court of the Long Beach’
Judicial District, sitting without a jury.
Petitioner was found guilty and a probation
and sentence hearing was set Por Marck 13,
1969. A fine of Iwo Hundred Fifty ($250.00)

Dollars, payable through the Probation Depart-

Stile

FERRE ON TR een a .

ment was levied.
’

. Petitioner duly filed a Notice of Appeal.
STATEMENT OF FACTS

Officer D. L. Brown testified for the
People ea follows: e :

We were dispatched to 2677 East 56th
Way, in regard to a possible burglary and
possible we cattery breaking in and armed.

When officers arrived at the scene, they
observed Defendant Shapiro walking eastbound
from the apartment comnicx past the officer's.
car to,Shapiro's car. Shapiro entered his
automobile and seated himself behind the-
steering wheel. Brown at this time asked for™
identification which was produced. Shapiro
was then asked if he had any weapons on: his
person and said no. Officer Brown then asked
Shapiro to step from the car so that he

could be searched. At that point Officer
Brown observed him to slide his right hand
under his suit-coat and reach toward the left

side of his waistband. Suspect continued

in his attempt to remove the gun from his.

waistband. Officer Brown, with the assist-
ance of Officer Thomas, overpowered the _
defendant. Officer Brown inspected the

weapon and observed that there were five

_(5) live rounds in the clip of the belt.

The Prosecution rested.

The Petitioner testified in his own

defense:
He and his wife Linda, who had been

married for slightly over two years, resided

at 2677 East 56th Way in Long Beach and

had done so for approximately one and one-

half years. Due to some marital aisngree-

ment the Petitioner took up temporary residence

elsewhere while maintaining the preponderant

majority of his belongings at the 56th Way

address; he also continued to receive mail

there. Prior to the date of arrest, November

27, 1968, he and his wife discussed reconcili-

ation. Indeed, they had made plans to join

his wilc +«latives for Thanksgiving Dinner

and, in fact, iad made plans to spend the

holiday at a cabin in the ‘*sert. Shapiro,

etc. PE eg) ae 2 AS i Ril BE Rie oy

in preparation for this holiday retreat,
loaded his automobile with, among other

things, an ice chest, a 22 calibre rifle and

LI I TI eS
¥s .

a 25 calibre automatic. It was his practice —
to target shoot while staying at this cabin.
After the aforesaid understanding by the
spouses had been achieved, he went shopping.
In Zody's advertising Shapiro noted some
women's apparel in which he thought his wife
previously had expressed an interest. _ There- ®:
upon he returned to the house wherein his 7
wife was residing to ask her how many of the
particular items mentioned aie she desired.

He arrived at the domicile shortly after

10:00 P.M. and knocked at the door. The

kitchen light was on at the time Shapiro

knocked at the door and received no answer.

His wife's ane ane parked in front of the ;
residence. It was the normal vractice of

both Shapiro and his wife to leave the

kitchen light on when they were out. He

surmised that his wife was visiting across

the street where her closest girl friend

lived.

a

\
\

nging the doorbell, Shapiro saw
a shadow i side the house and, due to the |
‘fact that on prior occasions his wife. had
awakened him with "burglar scares", he
thought a burglar might have been in the
house. Thus, he réturned to the trunk of
his car and removed the 25 calibre pistol.
As he returned to the house the kitchen light
went out. At this juncture he, while un-
soulitabia keyed up, was fearful of what was
transpiring within the residence. Shapiro
intermittently rang the doorbell but received
no answer. He then left the premises for
his automobile when a police ’car drove up.
A police officer shined the light in his
face and queried, "Do you live here, Sir?".
Shapiro responded that he did and identified
himself. The officer apologized for his
inconvenience and Shapiro climbed into his
automobile. ”~

As Shapiro was preparing to leave, the
driver of the now parked police car asked
nim, "Do you eebal Rakes firearms?" Shapiro

2»

answered, "No". The officer insisted on look-
ing to ascertain whether in fact Shapiro was
armed. Pursuant to the officers design, he
steadfastly insisted that Shapiro step out

of the ax Shapiro at that moment realized
that the pistol would be visible to the
officer after he exited from the car and

attempted to discard the pistol prior to

that exit. The officer, however, Cumann tay toner ss

weapon and placed him under arrest.

Petitioner's wife, Linda Shapiro, was
called as a witness for the defense and
testified:

That she was the wife of the Petitioner;
that she and Petitioner had been married for
slightly over two years, resided at 2677 East
56th Way in Long Beach and had done so for
approximately one and one-half years. Due to
a marital disagreement her husband had taken
temporary residence elsewhere while maintain-
ing the preponderant majority of his belong-
ings at the 56th Way address. Prior to the

date of arrest, November 27, 1968, she and her

ets

husband had discussed reconciliation. They
had aiao made Thanksgiving Dinner plans and
had further planned to spend the holiday
ata cabin in the desert; iat Defendant
routinely did target shooting when staying
at the desert putin? She further testified
that shortly after 10:00 P.M. while bathing
she heard a knock at the door and later

saw Shapiro with what might have been a
pistol at the.door, turned off the light,
and called the police.

On rebuttal, Linda Shapiro testified
for the prosecution that she called the
police because she sit afraid. }

Officer M. Kinrade testified that Linda
Shapiro told him that she and the suspect
had filed for divorce and that the suspect
had repeatedly threatened her life and her
child. Officer Kinrade further testified
' that Linda Shaviro told him that the Defendant
had been pounding on her door for an hour and

a half and that she felt he might have a gun.

She further stated that Defendant told her -

if she ever called the police, he would kill
her.

The court found Petitioner guilty based
on the fact that he had not presented a
believable defense to the charge.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

‘This is a case in which the evidence — a
loaded vive arm was seized from Petitioner
prior to arrest. After the evidence was dis-
covered Petitioner was arrested, prosecuted
and convicted of a Violation of Penal Code
Section 12031, carrying a loaded firearm in
an automobile. Carrying a loaded firearm in
an automobile is a violation of the law only
if the carrying. of the firearm does not come
within one of the exceptions set forth in
Penal Code Section 12031. Petitioner con- |
tends that the seizure of the loaded gun
was made without probable cause and the gun
should not have been admitted into evidence.
Petitioner further contends that the uncon-—
tradicted record establishes that he was

Garrying a firearm within some of the exceptions

-ll-

PTE LIE TY SOS

PRESANENS ME RE WERT WT TH
:

provided by Penal Code Section 12031 and that
his conviction is therefor as a matter of
law, unsupported by any evidence. These two

4
questions will be discussed »elow.

I

EVIDENCE WAS ILLEGALLY SEIZED FROM
PETITIONER WITHOUT PROBABLE CAUSE FOR
AN ARREST AND WITHOUT A BASIS FOR
STOPPING AND FPRISKING PETITIONER,
AND WAS A D RESULT OF OVER-~ ;
BEARING HARASSING ACTION BY THE
POLICE, CONTRARY TO THE GUARANTEES
OF THE POURTH AND FOURTEENTH AMEND-
MENTS TO THE UNITED STATES CONSTITU-~
TION. THE ARREST AND PROSECUTION
BASED ON SAID ILLEGAL SEIZURE ARE
NULL AND VOID.

The facts leading to the seizure of
Petitioner's firearm are simple. The police
went to an apartment complex located at
2677 East 56th Way, Long Beach, to investigate

"a possible burglary and a possible ex-

1
husband breaking in and armed", Vis. 2/12].

On arriving they observed Petitioner seat him—
self behind the wheel of an automobile.”

Officer Brown asked for identification which

Petitioner gave him. He asked Petitioner
whether he had any firearms and Petitioner re-

piaec "No". at this point, prior to arrest-

i eee

ing Petitioner, Officer Siown demanaed the.

he be permitted to search Petitioner. The

ee

. -
officer had no basis for arresting Petitioner,

oe ee

and no reason for searching him. As a

consequence of the officers illegal demand,

Petitioner's gun was seized and Petitioner |

arrested, The seizure, followed by Petitioner's

arrest was illegal. .
The legality of the seizure in this

case depends on whether the police had probable

cause to arrest Petitioner before evidence

of the loaded gun was uncovered.

1/ “"S" refers to the Engrossed Settled State-
ment on appeal. The first number is the
page thereof, followed by a slash bar and
the line.

=~] j- Y

- ee ee ~

_ 294, 294 P2d 36, and cases there cited)

“If, before a search is made, the

circumstances are such as to justify

the officer in making an arrest, it is
immaterial whether the search precedes
or’ follows the arrest. (See Willson v.

Superior Court (1956), 46 Cal. 2d 291,

So here, it is immaterial as to whether
defendant 4 arrested the moment he

- enterga the jpolice car or later. The

t ernéial- ‘question is, at the moment the
- officers started to search the car did

they have probable cause for making

an arrest of defendant? The determina—

tion of this question must be based upon

the knowledge that the officers then had.

What they discovered in the search can-

not be considered. (See People v.

‘Mickelson, supra, 59 A.C. 465, 471, 30
Cal. Rptr. 18, 380 P2d 658; People v.
Brown (1955) 45 Cal. 2d 640, 643-644,
290 P2d 538)" People v. Gibson, 220
Cal. App. 2d 15, 33 Cal. Rptr. 775

(1963) (Emphasis added).

Examining the evidence it is apparent,
in the first instance there was no basis for
detaining Petititioner. By the testimony
of the police, themselves, Petitioner merely
walked from the apartment house complex to
his car, and seated himself behind the
driver's wheel. _ People v. Henze, 253 Cal.
App. 2d 986, 61 Cal. Rptr. 545 (1967),
defines the circumstances for a lawful de-
tention: |

"First, there must be a rational

suspicion by the peace officer that

some activity out of the ordinary is

or has taken place. Next, some indi-

cation to connect the person under |
suspicion with the usual activity.

Finally, some suggestion that the activity - -
is related to orime.* (61 Cal. Rptr. ,
at 547). ‘

In the instant case the police did not

have a rational suspicion that some unusual

APE LAAN ea SUIT ts AN alates RAIS

‘activity had taken place. They were in
the apartment complex because of a report

of. possible unusual as well as criminal

activity. There was, according to the record,
nothing "to connect [Petitioner] with the
unusual activity. Certainly, the mere fact
that a person walks from an apartment complex
to his car is not sufficient reason for. the
police to stop him. If it is, every individual
who has the audacity to approach his pared”
car (at a reasonable hour in the evening)

may be subjected to police interrogation
simply because someplace in the neighborhood
someone has’ summoned them to find out if

?

there possibly has been a crime committed. And

*

.. everyone may be subject to detention regardless
of any apparent connection with criminal |
activity. It is submitted that "such is
fortunately not the law". People v. Moray,

222 Cal. App. 24 743, 35 Cal. Rptr. 432, 434.
The evidence which was seized was the. product

: of the unlawful detention, and consequently

‘was inadmissible in evidence.

Assuming, arguendo, that Petitioner's

detention was lawful, there was no basis

for ordering him to submit to a search. This
Court recently enunciated the rules for

a constitutionally permissible search during
a detention. The first requirement is the
presence of conduct which leads a police
officer reasonably to conclude that, in the

light of his experience, there may be

criminal activity afoot. Next, the officer
must reasonably believe that the person with
whom he is dealing is armed and presently
dangerous. And finally, if his detention

of the suspect and his. reasonable inquiries
do nothing to dispel his initial fear, the
officer may conduct a narrowly defined,
limited search. Terry v. Ohio, $392 U.S. l,
88 S. Ct. 1868 (1968).

In the case at bar, the police did not
have a basis for the reasonable belief that
Petitioner was ed and ovenentiy dangerous.
As has been pointed out, Petitioner was

doing nothing unusua} or suspect. The

police had not observed anything to make
them think he was armed. At most, they had
a report from his wife that she felt
Petitioner might have a gun. The interro-
gation which the police conducted while
Petitioner was detained entirely comported
with innocence. It cannot be considered
"nothing" to dispel the officers’ fear. On
the contrary, Petitioner did everything
possible to allay the officers' fears. The
warning in Sibron v. New York, 392 U.S. 40,
88 S. Ct. 1889 (1968) is applicable here:
"The police officer is not entitled

to seize and search every person whom

he sees on the street or of whom he makes

inquiries. Before he places a hand on

the person of a citizen in search of

anything, he must have constitutionally
adequate, reasonable grounds for doing
S0. In the case of the self-protective
search for weapons, he must be able to
point to particular facts Prom which he
reasonably inferred that the individual

-18— 1

was armed and dangerous." (88 8. Ct. at
1903) (Emphasis added).
The police here had not the slightest grounds
for the illegal search of Petitioner. There
ephemeral suspicions are not the "“constitu-
tionally adequate" grounds the Fourth Amend-
ment requires.

Irrespective of the propriety of the
detention the seizure of the avidedee was with-
out probable cause for an arrest. ‘The record
shows that there was no evidence that Petitioner
had probably committed a felony. The only
evidence that the. police had was that of a

possible burglary or a possible ex-husband

breaking in and armed. The record does not
show that in fact there had boon a burglary
which they were going to investigate, or

that an ex-husband had isuteans in and threatened
with guns or done anything of that sort.
There is no evidence that the police had a
reasonable basis for believing a felony had ‘
been committed. Such a reasonable belief is |

an essential part of probable cause. At the |

ai Ge

—_—
time they stopped Petitioner the police had
nothing more than a basis for an investigation
to ascertain whether a crime had been
committed. Th lone does not provide a
basis for an a, ve Moray, supra;

People v. Henze, supra.

Before discovering the gun, the officers
did not have the faintest suspicion that
Petitioner had probably committed the non-
existent felony. The officers saw Petitioner
doing absolutely nothing more than getting
into his car at perhaps 11:00 o'clock at
night. They approached him and asked him for
identification. He immediately cooperated 7
and identified himself. These are the
actions of a Selietatale samcoent person and ee
provide no shacm peng for an arrest. The
leading Ca fornia Case of People ve Mickelson, ..
59 Cal. 448, 30 Cal. Rptr. 18 (1963),

plainl satabiisifee taateven far more than

this ib insufficient to give probable cause

for an arrest. In Mickelson police officers

had factual information concerning. an actual

=20—

robbery of a market. They had a description
of the robber, a description which fit the
defendant. They discovered the defendant
a short time after the robbery in the general
vicinity, driving under what they considered
to be suspicious Sipcunstadiee. However when
they stopped to investigate, the defendant
was completely cooperative identifying him-
self and explaining his presence in the
neighborhood in a manner which comported with
innocence. The Court held that while the :
police were within their authority to stop
the defendant and interrogate him with re-
gard to the robbery they did not have probable
cause for his epreet;

In the case before this Court there is
not even as much evidence as there was in

Mickelson. Here there was no reported

felony; there was no "suspicious" circum-
stances, only a possible crime whose very ._
existence had not yet been ascertai ied.
Petitioner was completely cooperative with

‘the police when he was discovered doing the

entirely innocent act of getting intovzhis

car and sitting behind the driver's wheel.
Because there was no probable cause for
Petitioner's arrest, the police had no
authority to demand that he submit to a
search. Despite the fact that the police
had no reason whatever for searching
Petitioner, Officer Brown insisted that
peEitionex step from his car so that he could
be searched. [S. 2/22; 4/24-28]. In
response to the police demand, Petitioner
attempted to discard his gun [S. 4/30]. The.
police then seized the gun from him [s. 2/29;
4/32]. It is submi6ted tat: the discovery
of the gun, and its jeizure from ee
was a direct result of the illegal Ca
of the police that Petitioner caenet a
search.

The case of Badillo v. Superior Court,

46 Cal. 2a 269, 294 P2d 23 (1956) is instruct-

ive. In Badillo narcotic agents and the

police officers went to the Petitioner's
home. They knocked at the back door, which
was locked, and received no Fesponse,. |

Officers forced the door open and entered the
|

22a

house. Shortly thereafter Petitioner,
followed by one of the police officers, went
out the front door and threw a package of
heroin toward a narcotic agent, who recovered
it. The heroin formed the basis for a |
prosecution against Petitioner. The officers
did not have a search warrant and did not
testify that the entry into Petitioner's

home was pursuant to probable cause for an
arrest. Accordingly, the California Supreme
Court concluded that the entry into the house
was unlawful. The people argued that when
Petitioner threw the heroin away he had aban-
doned it and therefore could not object to
its use against him. The California Supreme
Court said:

"it clearly appears ...that defendant's
flight out the front door and attempted
disposal of the evidence was the direct
result of Officer Getchell's illegal
entry, and accordingly, the evidence
was obtained in violation of con-

_

stitutional guarantees." (294 P2d at 25)

(Biphasit added)...

-Badillo estabiished for Cajifornia, or

the eotistitutional Seige eae that evidence
which 4n. ¥evealed by its possessor as a

= direct result of the illegal activity of
yy s -
the police, is evidence obtained in

+.

violation of the Fourth Amendment. The

principle first enunciated in Badillo was

applied in Gascon v¥. Superior Court, County

of ‘Los Angeles, 169 Cal. App. 24 Soy 331

P2da 201 (1959) on facts quite similar to those
before the court herein. ‘In Gasoon police |
approached a parked car and questioned its
occupant who “stated ‘that her boyfriend had

gone to the liquor’ store to purchase some

SP TODRTS OGRE DD a at ae a eal nee cei enti

cigarettes. Petitioner approached the parked

car and the police intercepted him. They

questioned him and ascertained that he had

PAIS APR TRIOS BEY

SEN

been to the liquor store to purchase some

ER eA PTC NS

cigarettes; what his name was; and that he
had been arrested before. He appeared t
nervous while being questioned. After question-

ing, the officers told Petitioner they were

Din

going to search him, whereupon he attempted
to flees He was overtaken from 25 to 35
feet away but by then he had managed to
throw some objects away. In one of the
discarded packages the polic founda mari-
juanae The®court held that the marijuana
had been obtained as the result of illegal
police ‘procedure, wines nies
“Te probable cause had existed for
the petitioner's arrest it would be
of no moment that they attempted a
search of defendant's person before
making the arrest rather than after-
ward. People v. Simon, supra. There
being no probable cause for arrest, if
the officers had carried out their
threat to search petitioner's person

and had found the contraband in the

. °

process of the search, there would be

no question but that the evidence was’ -
illegally obtained and, therefore,
inadmissible. People ve. Harvey, supra;

People v. Simon, supra; People v. Brown,

aie

DANA PENT AVE DIRT OS

Le ORE Sk ecu
*

supra.

In the present case petitioner's flight
was caused by the threat of the officers to
illegally search his person which they could,
without question, have’ put into effect, and
the discarding by the petitioner of the
evidence upon his person ‘was but a areca
of the threat. We cannot distinguish this

case in principle from that of Badillo v.

Superior Court, 46 Cal. 2d 269, 294 P2d 23.
HH HH | |

in the cited case as well as in the
case at bar, the petitioner was fleeing from
the attempted illegal invasion of his
constitutional rights (Fourth Amendment,
U. Se Const.; Cal. Const. Art. I, Sec. 19),
and in each case, during the flight, he attempt- ee
ed to dispose of the evidence which the
officers would have obtained had they been
“se to complete the threatened unlawful act.
In each case the evidence, being the product
of the illegal acts of the officers, was

illegally obtained." (337 P2da at 202).

-

whe

See also People ve Stewart, 241 Cal. App.

- 2a 509, 50 Cal. Rptr. 630 (1966); People Ve

oa
4

Garrett, 237 Cal. Abp. 2d 701, 47 Cal. Rptr.

, 194 (1965); Paople v.e_Macias, 180 Cal. App.

2d 193, 4 Cal. Rptr. 256 (1960).

In the case at bar the police. demanded,
inpintibeaeig that Petitioner submit himself
to a search. As a result of this overbearing
and overreaching order, Petitioner revealed
a firearm which the police seized. This
seized evidence, illegally obtained as a
result. of the overbearing action of the
police, became the basis for Petitioner's
atrest, ‘prosecution and conviction. As in
the cases cited above, it is submitted that
the evidence, being the product of-the illegal
acts of the otivere; was illegally obtained,
inadmissible in evidence, and rendered the

conviction null and void. ,

II

THE UNCONTRADICTED RECORD ESTABLISHES
THAT PETITIONER COMMITTED NO CRIME.

Sy

RA °

THE CONVICTION BASED ON THIS
"EVIDENCE IS CONTRARY TO GUARANTEES
OF DUE PROCESS OF LAW CONTAINED IN
‘THE FOURTEENTH AMENDMENT TO THE
‘ UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION.

The uncontradicted record in this case
is that Petitioner and his wife had planned

to spend the Thanksgiving holiday at a

cabin in the desert. Petitioner routinely

‘did target ‘ghootine white. staying at this

cabin. In- preparation for the holiday he had
loaded his automobile with, among other |
things, an icé chest, a 22 calibre rifle ana
a 25\dalibre automatic. [S. 3/18-20; 5/15-17]
Petitioner took his gun-out of the car i
because he feared for his wife's safety.
[S. 4/5-13]. ‘The uncoritradicted evidence
brought Petitioner within the exceptions to
Penal Code Section 12031, which provides
"(a) Except as provided in subdivision
‘(b), every person whic carries a loaded

firearm on his person or in a vehicle,

-28-

while “in any public: place or on any
public street, in an incorporated city
or in any public place or on any public
street in a prohibited area of unin-

corporated territory is guilty of a

‘misdemeanor. . =

(bo) Subdivision (a) shall not apply
to any of the following: **** (4)
Persons who are using target renges for

the purpose of practice shooting with a

firearm, or who are members of shooting

: ’

“£ilubs while hunting on the premises of
such clubs, ****

_(h) Nothing in this section is intend-
ed to preclude the carrying of any

loaded firearm, under circumstances

where it would otherwise be lawful, by
‘@-person who reasonably believes that

the person or property of himself ~~

another is in immediate danger and that

the carrying of such weapon is necessary

for the preservation of such person or

property."
v

The trial judge entirely disregarded

’ the uncontradicted record, and found that Peti-
tioner had not presented a defense to the |
charge of violating Section 12031 of the

Penal Code. It is submitted that the court
abused its discretion when it disregarded

the entirely uncontradicted record.

The discretion of the court to disregard
evidence is not an unbridled discretion. The
“concept of judicial discretion means more
than wholly arbitrary decision making power.

“We have explicated the concept of

judicial discretion on innumerable
occasions and in a variety of factual
contexts. Obviously the term is a

broad and elastic one (See 27 C.J.S.

pe 292) which we have equated with “the
sound judgment of the court, to be
exercised according to the rules of law"
(Lent v. Tillson (1887) 72 Cal. 404,

422; 14 P. 71, 78)." People v. Russel,

69 A.C, 189, 70 Cal. Rptr. 210, 215(1968).

While it has been’said that the only

2 | -30- ¥

restraint upon the exercise of discretion
is that it not be abused, it is plain that —
"abuse" has a legal meaning.

"(We have said: "tIn i legal sense
discretion is abused whenever in the.
exercise of its discretion the court
exceeds the bounds of reason, all of the
circumstances pefors it being considered. '"
(State Farm, etc., Ins. Co. v. Superior
Court (1956) 47 Cal. 2d 428, 432, 304 P2a
L352 auiosisee Berry v. Chaplin (1946)
74 Cal. App. 2d 669, 672, 169 P2d 453)."

Historically, the exercise of judicial

discretion has not been unfettered. In the

early case of Bailey v. Toaffe, 29 Cal. 423,

at pe 424 the California Supreme Court
delineated the limits of judicial discretion
as follows:

"The discretion intended, however, is
not a capricious or arbitrary discretion,
but an impartial discretion, guided and
controlled in its exercise by fixed

legal principles. It is not a mental

Pree a Wain

discretion to be exercised ex gratia,
but a legal discretion, to be exercised
in conformity with the spirit of the
law, and in a manner to subserve and
not to impede or diteat the ends of |
substantial justice."

More recently the court has denuvibed
the bounds of duddcdel discretion in a manner
similar to the definition given in the
Bailey case.

"tThe word imports the exercise of
discriminating judgment within the
‘bounds of reason. Discretion in this
connection means a sound judicial dis-

_enetion, enlightened by intelligence
and learning, gentrol Ved. by sound
principles of law, of firm courage
combined with the calmness of a cool
mind, free from partiality, not swayed
by sympathy nor warped by prejudice
nor moved by any kind .of influence .
save alone the overwhelming passion to

do that which is just.'" Gossman v.

. /
SI id ae,

&

Gossman, 52 Cal. App. 2d 184, 195,
126 P2d 178, 184 (1942).

From tiie definitions of judicial discretion
it appears that it is properly exercised
only by a judicious application of law to
Caste reasonably considered. There is no
room in the exercise of sound judiciai dis-
cretion arbitrary or capricious disregard
of evidence. In the Russel case the trial
court was castigated for abusing its discre-
tion to receive evidence when the court
rejected an offer of relevant evidence. In

the case of In re Harris, 56 Cal. 2d 879,

16 Cal. Rptr. 889 (1961) Petitioner was.
arrested for allegedly selling obscene material.
At the trial he offered evidence that the
‘material: petitioner sold was within contem-
porary standards, and therefor not obscene.

The trial court refused to admit the evidence.
On a Writ of Habeas Corpus the California

Supreme Court held that it was a violation

of due process to reject the evidence.

In the instant case, the trial court

ie

BR INS AN TEND a ET IOS pee gee PEM PR Perez: a a
¢. :) . roa x x m RES SAS rd aS x! Ss

ee Pp

see

hi al

‘received evidence that Petitioner was going
target shooting, and routinely did so. The
court also received evidence that Petitioner
was carrying his gun beceuse he feared for

| the Safety of his wife. The court thus heard
testimony which brought Futitiones oie the
ee ae Penal Code Section 12031 (b)

. aaa
(4) and (h).. The evidence was uncontradicted; |

yet it was rejected. No reason appears. The
record contains no evidence of illegality other
than the possession of the loaded gun. No
evidence that Petitioner was not within the
Penal Code exception is in the record. In
rejecting the testimony of both Petitioner
and his wife the court did not choose to
believe the testimony of one witness rather
than another who testified to different
facts. The court totally rejected the only
svitinces salevant to the éxbeotion, In this
sense it was-no different than if the court

had refused entirely to hear evidence that

Petitioner came within subdivisions (b) (4) —

and (h). Cf. In re Harris, supra. The trial

court decided this case solely on the basis

©

of evidence of possession of a loaded fire-
arm. But that is not the crime encompassed

by the law. It is unexcused possession of

a loaded gun which comprises the violation.
The court cannot rejett evidence of excused
possession-unless there is a basis in the
record for deciding that ‘the possession is
contrary to law. To conclude that Petationes
had not presented a believable excuse based
on uncontradicted evidence of an wound.
made a nullity of subdivisions (b) (4) ana)

(h) was an arbitrary and capricious abuse

of judicial discretion, and deprives

7
‘

‘Petitioner of due process of law.

"Certainly a decision rendered in
disregard of’ fundamental facts upon
which the parties were relying. or based *
on facts not adduced at the trial and
unregulated by those principles which
are recognized as being inherent in

- the true concept of judicial discretion
would not be a judicial decision in the

true sense." Gossman v. Gossman, supra,

126 P2d at 184-85.

=-35=

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons the within

was arent git

Petition for Writ of Certiorari should be —

granted.

eS Bee Ce Pe Ee 4

Respectfully submitted,

LUKE McKISSACK
Attorney for Petitioner

SSO OE EEA RLS CORR Mee TEN ee,

LO TOE NN POS BEF Ee,

FRE MRS RE EN RCN SP Oh

DR peep

.
ED PRE Opa: 75 eet da VPS = SE

PAS

SOMME ETE Ne

MeSH! OF

/
Fa ts Van ena

i > ‘e Pi fer
APPENDIX A is SNe / ‘
UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION
AMENDMENT IV : }
{

The right of the people to be secure

in their persons, houses, papers, and effects,
against unreasonable searches and seizures,
shall not be violated, and no Warrants shall
issue, but upon probable cause, soppuetved

by Oath or affirmation, and particularly
describing the place to be searched, and

the persons or things to be seized.

UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION

AMENDMENT XIV

Section l. All persons born or
naturalized in the United States, and subject
to the jurisdiction thereof, are citizens
of the United States and of the State wherein
they reside. No State shall make or enforce
any law which shall abridge the privileges
or immunities of citizens of the United
States; nor shall any State deprive any

person of life, liberty, or property, without

a

due process of law; nor deny to any person,
within its jurisdiction the equal protection

of the laws. —

CALIFORNIA PENAL CODE
~ SECTION 12031

(a) Except as provided in subdivision
(b), every person who carries a loaded fire-
at os his’ person or in a vehicle while in
any public place or on any public street in
an incorporated city or in any public place .
or on any public street in a prohibited area
of unincorporated territory is guilty of
a misdemeanor.

(bo) Subdivision (a) shall not apply to
any of the following:

(bo) (4) Persons who are using Scone:
‘ranges for the purpose of practice shooting
with a firearm, or who are members of shooting
clubs while hunting on the premises of such
clubs.

(n) Nothing in this section is intended

to preclude the carrying of any loaded

ee Ste

“AEN TNR

®

firearm, under circumstances where it would
otherwise be lawful, by a person who reasonably

believes that the person or property of himself

S

P

e

.

is

ea

4
2)
i
E
= -
ve
“
%
we
>
ie
¥.

or another is in immediate danger and that the

carrying of such a weapon is necessary for

the preservation of such person or property.

STATE OF CALIFORNIA ) q
° ss ‘
COUNTY OF LOS ANGELES )

9

I am a citizen of the United States and
a resident of the County aforesaid; I am over
the age of eighteen years and not a party
to the within entitled action; my business
address is 6430 Sunset Boulevard, Suite 521,
Hollywood, California 90028. @n’ December
18, 1969, I served the within Petition for
Writ of Certiorari on the plaintiff and
respondent in said action, by placing a true
copy thereof enclosed in a sealed envelope
with postage thereon fully prepaid, in the
United States mail at Los Angeles, California,
addressed as follows:

Attorney General
217 West lst Street
Los: Angeles, California

District—tttorney EY Serece: 4)
435 “ih ee aC 07 Ruephlce S/H, aa

Long Beach, California

Clerk, Superior Court, Gpl@e & be pe.
abi Bia elit eta gaat I AHtll &-

California
Wor 4.644 0et

Clerk, Court of Appeal

217 West First Street

Los Angeles, California
gee

I declare that the foregoing is true dnd
correct.

Executed on December 18, meee at Los
eric chi California.

R

ed : :
eaaliles fornwelt

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385604_1222%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
