# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Historic Smithville Inn v. National Labor Relations Board

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385604_1172%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1970
- **Citation:** 397 U.S. 908

## Text

:

: Office-Supreme + all

tows kraar |

PREME COURT, UL S. ae FILED

2 Nov.17 1969

JOHN F. DAWES, CLERK
IN THE , _

Supreme Court of the United States
| OCTOBER TERM 1969 *

xo. 859

Historic SMITHVILLE Inn and Quai Hit,

Petitioners,

Nationa Lasor Revations Boarp,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE
THIRD CIRCUIT

Goprrey P. ScHMIDT,
Attorney for Petitioners,
55 West 42nd Street,
New York, N. Y. 10036.

Tel: 212-279-0355

TABLE OF CONTENTS

“b>

PAGE
Opinion Below ............ Me yt Se RRs Se EP a 1
Ro as a yer ae 1
Questions Presented .......... Netty Seon Pe 2
Constitutional and Statutory Provisions fascivas P 2
Statement of the Case = pee nice sia eg ee AWE 2
A. The Factual OIG os 8 is cis cae os es
B. The Proceedings Below fr aaa KS mis om ee vay 6
Reasons for Granting the Writ .........00000cc2 6
I no cles c a seen en oa ee ee 12
Avanti Ws. oo ac, .b Sey ae ae Pie ees 13
MENTE Re ook Soe S Tk Chie eh oie wee Res 15

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Suited States

OCTOBER TERM 1969

y%
3

- ~ No.

+
-

- Historic SMITHVILLE Inn and Quam Hitt, :
Petitioners,
v.
NationaL Lasor RELATIONS Boarp, -

Z Respondent.

y%
ed

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE |
THIRD et |

Petitioners, Historie Senitievilie Inn and Quail Hill, pray
that a Writ of Certiorari issue to review the judgment
of the United States Court of Appeals for the Third
Circuit entered August 18, 1969 in National Labor Rela-
tions Board v. Historic Smithville Inn and Quail Hill.

Opinion Below

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for
the Third Circuit is-reported in 414 F. 2d 1358. It 1s
reprinted in Appendix A hereto annexed.

]

Jurisdiction

The judgment of the Court of Appeals was entered on
August 18, 1969. The jurisdiction of this see is invoked
“under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1). -

Questions Presented

(1) Whether petitioners’ constitutional rights of free
speech under the First Amendment and petitioners’ statu-
tory rights under See. 8(¢) NLRA were violated below by .
‘the finding, without substantial evidence, that the Decem- .
ber 18, 1966 poll, conducted herein by petitioners (in order
- fo determine the truth of the Union’s insistent statement
that petitioners’ employees did not desire an‘NLRB elée-
tion) interfered with the rights of petitioners’ employ ees
under See. 7 of the Act.

(2) W hether with respect to the discharge of employee, | -
Margaret Jackson, petitioners’ constitutional rights to due |
process under the Fifth Amendment to the United States
Constitution were violated by the nationally significant
manner in which respondent, without relevant. substantial
evidence (a) found that petitioners discharged one em-
ployee (Margaret Jackson) out of some 900, allegedly in
violation. of Section S(a)(3) and (1) of the Act; (b) in
effect operated on the theory that petitioners were guilty
until they proved their innocence; and (¢) in effect placed
the burden of proof on petitioners, instead of on
respondent. _

Constitutional and Statutory Provisions Involved

This cae involves Sections 8(a)(1) and (3) and 8(c) of
the National Labor Relations Act, as amended, and the
First and Fifth Amendments to the United States Consti-
tution. These are reprinted in pertinent part in Appendix
B, here to annexed.

*

Statement of the Case ’

A. The Factual Background

Petitioners, Smithville Tnn and Quail Hill, are engaged
in the business of operating restaurants in Smithville, New

Pe

Jersey. / Although separately incorporated, the petitioners
have common officers, ownership, directors and a common
labor policy. They constitute a single integrated business
enterprise, and.are hereinafter sometimes collectively re-
ferred to as ‘‘the Company’? (R. 8).?

On Noveaibee 28, 1966, some of the Company’s ‘em- ;

- ployees met with representatives of the Union’ at its
4 Atlantic City headquarters (R. 26; 69-70). There is no
evidence on the record to show that petitioners or their
officers or agents knew of this‘ meeting. Those present —
apparently mapped out a campaign to organize the Com-
pany’s employees. Employee Margaret Jackson and a .
few other employeds took Union ‘cards Tor distributior
to fellow workers (R. 26, 70-71). Commencing on the
' following. Wednesday night, November 30, and continu-
ing evéry night thereafter until December 7, the Union
held meetings for employees at Jo-Jo’s Bar and the
Beatheomber, establishments located near the petitioners’
restaurants (R. 9-10, 68-74). The Union meetings were
held‘at a public place; no effort at secrecy was made.
Jo-Jo’s was a frequent after-hours gathering place for re-
spondents’ employees and supervisors, many of avhom,
either regularly or occasionally, went there directly from
‘work (R. 93, 13, 109, 129,130, 176, 196, 297% 304). This fact
was well known to all concerned (R./93). The ‘record
shows no evidence of surveillance of Union aétivities (R.
180, 182, 183, 187, 208, 245-246, 255-256, 264-265, 295,
304-305, 312-313, 328, 339, 365, 420-421), which the Trial -
Examiner and Board, nevertheless, found -to exist on the
basis of conjecture. The record merely shows that the Union
held meetings in a public place without pretense at secrecy

_ 4*R” references are to the portions of. the record: printed in the
Appendix. References preceding a semicolon are the Board's find-.
ings ; those following are to the supporting evidence. |

. 2 Hotel, Motel and Restaurant Employees, Union, Local 508,
AFL-CIO.

\W

4

and thai, as usual, the place was attended by members
of the public as well as employees and supervisors of re-
spondents. There is absolutely no record *evidence that
any employee or supervisor reported the meefings to re-
spondents’ management or that the latter authprized sur-
veillance. On the contrary, the ‘substantial evidence in
the record is completely contrary to such surveillance
(R. 182-1835, 187, 256, 293, 304-305, 365). >

Charles / Miller, a supervisor, candidly. testified that he
heard rumors that-there’ was going to be a meeting of
employees at Jo-Jo’s and that ‘‘a-certain amount of
curiosity. * * * prompted ine to stop there’? (R. 181). No
meeting Was in progress when he arrived there (R. 138-
189, 201, 274-278). He flatly denied: spying (R. 180, 182-
IS3, 187), receiving any management instructions to place
employees under surveillance (R. 187), and giving any
report of the meetings to management (R. 182, 187). Only

“* guesswork or inference from speculation served as_ the

Trial /Kxaminer’s and Board’s basis for finding labor
spying in this case. That conjecture was contradicted by
the record (R. 180, 182, 183, 187, 203, 255-256, 328, 339,
370, 244-247, 264-265, 293, 307, 304-305, 312-313, 328, 339,
3695, 420-4: 21).

The gross manner in which the Trial Examiner relied on_
inference Joy conjecture appears from this sample of his
‘reasoning \’

gee

“Its hikely that Miller told Mrs. Noyes this-fact, =

if it is i me: ST.” tee

Respondent and. Trial Examiner, relying on no evidence

_ in the record, #xpressed grave doubt that petitioners pre-

pared the **Questionnaire”’ simply because Union leader -
Timperio said the employees wanted a/card check rather

_ than a vote. Nobody on behalf of the Union denied peti-

tioners’ testimony in this respect (R. 378-379, 381-382).

5)

The questionnaire or Voluntary Statement of Employees
(G. C, Exh. 2) on its face (R. 391) showed that it was being
used because the Union claimed that the employees wanted
a card-check. The Trial Examiner’s ‘‘grave doubt’.
o (RR. 24) can scarcely be the basis for making a finding of
fact. 0

Also without, record evidence, the Trial Examiner with
the Board’s approval conciuded that the questionnaire
was predicated on the assumption that a majority of re-
spondents’ employees had signed ecards designating the
Union to represent them. The uncontradicted evidence
in the record flatly contradicts this assumption (R. 391,
392-393, 424-495, 428). The Union had only a few signed
pledge cards (R. 384).

Respondents’ decision to discharge Margaret Jackson
for chronic tardiness came before any of those manage-
ment officials who made that dedision knew of Mrs. Jack-
son’s affiliation with or sympathy for the Union (R. 199-
201, 225-226, 228-229, 234, 269, 326-327, 349-350, 364-365,
367-368). The cited record evidence is uncontradicted.

Petitioners repeatedly told their employees that they
were free to join the Union or not to join it and that they
need fear no reprisal if they joined (G. C. Exh. 3; R. 115,
173, 220, 258-259, 265, 289-290, 294, 304, 327-328, 349, 391,
393, 399, 420-421, 422, 423). The Company knew nothing
of Mrs. Jackson’s Union activity on Wednesday evening,
November 30, 1966. The Trial Examiner’s contrary find-
ing is-without-substantial evidence in the record. Indeed,
all of the evidence (R>-347, 269-271, 272,. 298, 827, 350-351,
364-365, 367) refutes this.

Jackson allegedly distributed Union cards on Noveiber

~ 30 (R. 26); but the decision to dismiss her had heen made

on November 28, 1966, as uncontradicted, credible testi--

mony shows (R. 350-351, add 368-369, 3438, 345, oe re
220-226, a

6

The Trial Examiner’s footnote 14 (R. 28) suggests that
only one witness (Merrill) testified that he was ignorant
of Jackson’s Union activity prior to her discharge. In
fact, however, such testimony was given by Lois Muller
(R. 226). Elizabeth Moore (R. 272), John Gruhle (R. 234),
Chuck Miller (R. 199-201), John Hand (R. 298), William
Crawford (R. 244-245), John Ferrie (R. 310), Charles
Grosskopf (R. 358) and Godfrey Schmidt (R. 310). They
all testified, as did (R. 327) Robert Merrill, that they had
no previous knowledge of Union activity by Jackson or by
anyone else. .

B. The Proceedings Below

On December 5, 1966 the Union (Hotel, Motel and Res-
taurant Employees Union, Local 508, AFL-CIO, filed its
charges herein against petitioners. The NLRB Regional
Director, after investigation, dismissed the charges as un-
suported by the evidence. The Union appealed; and the
General Counsel reversed the Regional Director. The
General Counsel of NLRB issued the consolidated com-’
plaint herein on April 3, 1967. The trial, before Trial
[examiner George J. Bott, took place at Atlantic City, New
Jersey on May 16 and 17, 1967. The Trial Examiner’s
Decision was dated August 29th, 1967. Respondent’s
application for enforcement was dated September 27, 1968.

Argument before the Third Circuit was heard on June
3, 1969; and Third Circuit’s decision was dated July 18,
1969. The Judgment of that Court was entered August
18, 1969. 5

Reasons for Granting the Writ

1. In the matter of the questionnaire, the rulings of the
tribunals below violate the First Amendment to the United
States Constitution and Section 8(c) of the National Labor
Relations Act, presenting a novel question important to
the choice hetween NLRB elections and card-shows.

s

he Tabi TY aL

7

2. As to Margaret Jackson's discharge there was a
nationally significant failure of due process under the
Fifth Amendment to the United States Constitution be-
cause the decisions below:

(a) were not based on record evidence;

(b) were the result of requiring the employer to
carry the burden of proof and to justify Margaret
Jackson’s discharge, rather than the result of Gen-
eral Counsel’s proof of discharge for union activity;

(c) were the product of the Trial Examiner’s belief
that opposition to unionization by lawful, non-coercive
speech spelled 6ut prohibited hostility to concerted
activity ; |

(d) were based upon suppositions, assumptions and
conjectures rather. than on trustworthy, substantial
evidence in the record as a whole;

(e) were predicated on disregard of such evidence
in the record.

3. The issues involved are of general and repeated
relevance to the administration of national labor laws and
policy.

4. The reviewing Court below was not barred from set-
ting aside the Board’s decisions respecting the question-
naire and the discharge of Margaret Jackson because no
substantial, trustworthy evidence supporting these Board
decisions can be found in the record viewed in its entirety.

5. Especially now that a show of cards, rather than an
election under NLRB supervision, is more and more en-
couraged by Court and Board decisions (See Syracuse I.
Reyv., ‘Authorization cards as valid indicators of Union
Majorities’’? by LeRoy H. Sehramm, Vol. 20 No. 3, Spring,
1969, pp. 578-599), the wishes of the employees involved

8

deserve respect on the question whether one or the other
of these two methods of testing employee free choice
should be used. Likewise, the good-faith doubts of em-
ployers respecting choice between these two methods should
be subject to an employer poll which establishes the em-
ployees’ actual preferences for or against NLRB election,
where (as here) the Union presumes to assert those pref-

erences, and to base its strike on that assertion.
a

The polling represented by the questionnaire was not a
polling as to sympathy for or against the Union nor a
polling to reveal the employees’ choice of a bargaining
agent. See the full text of the ‘‘questionnaire”’ in footnote
d) of the opinion below.

No coercive, anti-union speech was first made as prel-
ude to the request for execution of the questionnaire.

Above all there was no intent or effect at any time of
placing employees in fear of their jobs. They were always
assured that their jobs would be safe, no matter what their
concerted activity (R. 118, 173, 220, 258-259, 265, 289-290,
204, 304, 327-328, 349, 391, 393, 399, 420-423 and G. C.
Ixxh. 3). No denial of this appears in the Record.

The voluntary statement which was the ‘‘questionnaire’’
(General Counsel’s Exhibit 2) was dated December 18,
1966. The following quotation from that document. is
significant:

cc“ * * My employer doubts the Union’s claim of
majority support and regards signed union-application
ecards as, in the circumstances, a most unreliable
method of showing a choice of a majority of Smith-
ville Inn employees.

‘‘As an Employee of the Inn who is deeply inter-
ested in the involved dispute between my employer
and the picketing unions and who has a stake in the
outcome of the dispute, I’ve been asked by manage-
ment to state my preference without fear or favor
and on a completely voluntary basis. * * * | 3

9

‘*T sign and initial-this form freely and of my own
volition, without any pressure or undue influence ex-
erted upon me by any management representative or
anyone else. My purpose is to inform my employer
how I, as an affected employee, feel about the alter-
natives which cause the existing dispute between the

Historic Smithville Inn and the picketing unions.’’
(Italics in original.)

Respondent here, in good faith,’ wished to refute the
claim, falsely repeated by Timperio, the Union leader (R.
381-383, 378-379, 428-429), that most of the employees at
Smithville Inn preferred that management operate on the

basis of a show of cards rather than upon the basis of an
NLBEB election.

Neither the questionnaire nor any of management’s-
speeches nor any of management’s leaflets to its employees
revealed any employer hostility toward Union ‘organizing
(R. 391; G. C. Exh. 2; R. 393, 420-421, 421-422, 493, 494-
425).

The question asked by the questionnaire did not go
beyond the need for eliciting authoritatively the particular
information which respondent sought for the purpose of
refuting Timperio’s reiterated claim (R. 381-383, 378-379,
428-429). The information sought was not of the kind
which could be used against any employees or to pry from
them secrets they wanted to keep or to invade their
privacy.

6. On the subject of Margaret Jackson’s discharge,
the Board and the Court below found, without substantial
or logically relevant eyidence and contrary to uncontra-—
dicted, substantial evidence, that the employee was dis-
charged for Union activity and not (as the only witnesses
who testified on this subject said) because of Mrs. Jack-
son’s chronic tardiness. In so acting, the tribunals below,
in effect, acted on an unconstitutional presumption of peti-

10

tioners’ guilt. They neglected due process by substituting
assumption and supposition for proof and evidence. They
reversed due procedure by requiring or expecting peti- |
tioners to assume the burden of proving that they did not
commit the charged violations. They lightened the
Board’s burden of proof by regarding mere assumption
(disguised as alleged but spurious inference) to serve as
a vehicle to carry that burden. By this method of handling
the record evidence bearing upon the discharge of Margaret
Jackson, the tribunals below violated constitutional due
process under the Fifth Amendment to the United States
C astitution.

The very first day on which Jackson (R. 101) claimed
that Management learned of her Union activity was
Wednesday, November 30th after 5:30 P. M. But Man-
agement had already made its decision to discharge Jack-
son im the morning of November 28th; and Management
did not know of Jackson’s Union activity even on De-
cember 3rd. No evidence refutes the testimony of Man-
agement on this point (S.M. 226-229, 329- 330; R. 234, 269,
972, 364- 365).

Nor could anyone 2 except the most captious find fault
in the manner in which Jackson’s discharge was effectu-
ated. An adequaté and ample investigation of her record
was made. The time-clock did not lie. Not even Mrs.
Jackson was disposed to question the accuracy of the time-
clock recordings of her habitual tardiness (R. 114). Mrs.
Noyes had long refrained from discharging Jackson, both
because she Was a good waitress while on the job and be- '
cause of her invalid daughter. Gruhle and Merrill had
many times before requested the discharge of Jackson |
(because they could not rely on her reporting for duty on
time) and Mrs. Noyes had resisted. At long last, she
gave her consent on November 28, 1966. She knew nothing
of Jackson’s Union affiliation or concerted activities on
that date, on December 3, 1966, or at any time between
those dates. Neither did anybody else in Management.

,
*

- rata EE Mts wheat SB ELS = RECS SING a NE ea
5 J A

) i Me

Mrs. Noyes decided to hold her final decision in abeyance
when her lawyer asked her to do so, in order to give him
an opportunity to weigh the matter legally. He did; and
he concurred. The testimony on these points is uncontra-
dicted by any record evidence (R. 349-350, 367-368, 326-
327, 226, 343-345, 279-280).

Nothing in the record suggests that Jackson was singled
Nout for special or different treatment. Management had
handled similar situations in the same manner in the past;.
as the record indisputably shows.* That record comprises |
not only time-card records (for a relatively short\period),
but also and more importantly undisputed testimony of
Gruhle, Merrill, Lois Muller and others about the nature
and extent of Jackson’s* ta>iness and the comparative
tardiness of others* to whom Jackson erroneously re-
ferred. A similar penalty was meted out in a similar
manner for similar offenses by others in the past.

No employee who returned from the picket line to seek
employment or who, having failed to work during the
picketing, sought work after withdrawal of the pickets was
denied employment (except Margaret Jackson, whe was
‘less zealous as a unionist than many who went back to
their jobs). Many employees who had openly flaunted
their pro-Union conduct were welcomed back without ques-
tion and certainly without reprisal. So,<too, would Mar-
garet Jackson have been taken back, if she had not been
discharged as a person hopelessly given over to habits of
irremediable. tardiness (R. 421-422, 393,. 399, 421, 422, 265,
293-294). 7

ny,

7. It is respectfully submitted that the time has come
for this Court to correct such failures of due process and
to deprecate authoritatively the use of conjecture and:
facile assumption as evidence, misuse of the ordinary rules

*R. 215-216, 267-370, 268-269, 326, Resp. Exh. 2, 5, 7, 8, 9,
10, 11, 12.and 13, R. 394-397, 404, 408-420.

a

ji2

respeeting burden of proof, the unwarranted suppression
of evidence by trial examiners and the Board by recourse
to the lazy, wholesale formula: ‘‘I do not credit the em-
ployers’ witnesses’’.

8. The questions presented in this petition are matters
of general and national importance, in view of the relative
frequency with which the NLRB and its Examiners have
similarly conducted themselves in other cases. These ques-

tions involve important employer rights respecting union

organizing campaigns and discharge of chronically tardy
employees.

CONCLUSION
The judgment below should be reversed as to the

discharge of Margaret Jackson and as to the poll by
voluntary statement; or the writ should issue.

Respectfully submitted,

GopFrEY P. ScuHMipt,
Attorney for Petitioners,
5D West 42nd Street,
New York, N. Y. 10036.

212-279-0355

13

Appendix A.

Sec. 8. (a) It shall be an unfair labor practice for an
employer—

(1) to interfere with, restrain, or coerce employees

in the exercise of the rights guaranteed ir section 7;

a
_* . * Eo

(3) by discrimination in regard to hire or tenure of
employment or any term or condition of employment
to encourage or discourage membership in any labor
organization: Provided, That nothing in this Act, or in
any other statute of the United States, shall preclude
an employer from making an agreement with a labor
organization (not established, maintained, or assisted
by any action defined in section 8 (a) of this Act as .
an unfair labor practice) to require as a condition of
employment membership therein on or after the thir-
tieth day following the beginning of such employment
or the effective date of such agreement, whichever is”
the later, (i) if such labor organization is the repre-
sentative of the employees as provided in section 9
(a), in the appropriate collective-bargaining unit cov-
ered by such agreement when made, and (ii) unless
following an election held is provided in section 9
.(e) within one year preceding the effective. date of

such agreement, the Board shall have certified that at
least a majority of the employees eligible to vote in
such election have voted to rescind the authority of
such labor organization to make such an agreement:
Provided further, That no employer shall justify any
discrimination ‘against an employee for non-member-
ship in a labor organization (A) if he has reasonable
grounds for believing that such membership was not
available to the employee, on the same terms and con-
ditions generally applicable to other members, or (B)
if he has reasonable grounds for believing that mem-
bership. was denied or terminated for reasons other

f

i
~

4

14:

Appendix A. |

\

- than the failure of the employee to tender the periodic
dues and the initiation fees uniformly required as a
condition of acquiring or retaining membership;

* * *

(c) The expressing of any views, argument, or opin-
ion, or the dissemination thereof, whether in written,
printed, graphic, or visual form, shall not constitute

or be evidence of an unfair labor practice under any
of the provisions of this Act, if such expression con-

_ tains no threat of reprisal or force or promise of
benefit. . .: Ss

ARTICLES in addition to and Amendment of the Consti-
tution of the United States of America, proposed by Con-

' gress, and ratified by the Legislatures of the several States,

pursuant to the fifth Article of the original Constitution.

(ARTICLE I.) ;
Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment
of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof; or
abridging the freedom: of speech, or of the press; or the
right of the people peaceably to assemble, and to petition

the Government for a redness of grievances.

-

(ARTICLE V.)

No person shall be held to answer for a capital, or other-
Wise infamous crime, unless on a presentment. or indict-
ment of a Grand Jury, except in cases arising in the land
or naval forces, or in the Militia, when in actual service
in time of War or public danger; nor shall any person be
subject for the same offence to be twice put in jeopardy
of life or limb; nor shall be compelled in any criminal case
<to be a witness against himself, nor be deprived of life,
liberty, or property, without due process of law; nor shall
private property be taken for public use, without just
compensation. ;

15

&

Appendix B.

NaTIonaL Lasor RELATIONS
Boarp, Petitioner,

V.

Historic SMITHVILLE inw and Quail
Hill, Respondent,

Hotel, Motel and Restaurant Employees Union,
Local 508, AFL-CIO, Intervenor.

No. 17503. —

United States Court of Appeals
Third Circuit.

Argued June 3, 1969.
Decided July 18, 1969.

—

Proceeding on petition for enforcement of order, of Na-
tional Labor Relations Board. The Court of Appeals,
Van Dusen, Circuit Judge, held that evidence sustained
Board’s determination that employer’s surveillance of em-

ployees interfered with and coerced employees in exercise |

of their self-organizational rights, and that employer’s poll
of employers which was made against background of em-

ployer’s surveillance and discharge of one employee in-

terfered with employees in’ exercise of their rights to
organize.
Order enforced.

Cite as 414 F. 2d 1958 (1969)

Nan C. Bases, N. L. R. B., Washington, D. C.,.for peti-
tioner (Arnold Ordman, Gen. Counsel, Dominick L. Manoli,
Assoe. Gen. Counsel, Marcel Mallet-Prevost, Asst. Gen.

30"

P °

16
Appendix B.

Counsel, William F. Wachter, Atty., N. L. R. B., on the
brief). °

Richard H. Markowitz, Wilderman, Markowitz & Kirsch-
ner, Philadelphia, Pa., for intervenor.

Godfrey P. Schmidt, New York City, for respondent.

Before KaLopner, Van Dusen and Stant, Circuit Judges.

OPINION OF THE COURT

Vay» Dusen, Circuit Judge.

This case comes before us on application for. enforce-
ment of an erder of the Nafional Labor Relations Board
(hereinafter ‘*Board’’).. The Board found that the Com-
pany’ violated §8(a) (1), 29 U.S.C. §158(a) (7), by un-
lawfully threatening, interrogating, and polling its em-
ployees, and by surveillance of their union activities.

On November 28, 1966, some of the Company’s em-
flovees met with representatives of the Hotel, Motel, and
Rextaurant Employees Union’ in Atlantic City, New Jersey.
Certain employees, including Margaret Jackson whose dis-
charge will be diseussed below, then took Union eards for
distribution to other employees. Following that first
meeting, the Union held meetings for employees on No-
veinber 30 and every night thereafter until December 7.
These meetings were first held in a poolroom in Jo-Jo’s
Bar. On December 1 and December 3, the Company’s

' There are actually two separate corporate respondents which op-
erate restaurants in Smithville, New Jersey, but we shall refer to
them in the singular because they have common officers, ownership,
directors, and a common labor policy.

* Local 508, AFL-CIO. | .
*The poolroom is separated from the bar area by a partition and
is entered through an opening near the main entrance to the estab-
ment.

+

7°
Appendix B.

‘‘coordinator,’’ Mr. Miller, was present in the bar area at
Jo-Jo’s during the Union meeting. “On December 3, the
Union meeting was moved from Jo-Jo’s to the Beach-
comber Inn, where Mr. Miller also appeared.‘

On December 2, the Union requested recognition as the
employees’ bargaining representative. The Company re- —
fused, asserting doubt about the Union’s majority status.
‘The Union callgd a strike and began to picket respondent
on December 7. On December 18, the Company distributed
a questionnaire entitled ‘‘V oluntary Statement By Em-
ployee’” to each employee in an attempt to poll them to
determine whether they preferred a secret election con-
ducted by the Board or a show of Union application cards
to an impartial third party.

\ Charges of unfair labor practices were filed by the Union
against the Company on December 5 and on December 9,
1966. General Counsel of the Board issued a consolidated
complaint on April 3, 1967, alleging unfair labor practices

‘ In addition to Mr. Miller, Assistant Chef Hand visited Jo-Jo’s on
December 1 during the Union meeting.
5

“VOLUNTARY STATEMENT BY EMPLOYEE

“Please remember that while your Employer asks you to sign
and initial this form, you are ar no obligation to do so un-
less you want to.

“I have been told by my EXployer's representative that:

“Il. The picketing Unions claim to represent a majority of the
Smithville Inn Employees engaged in restaurant operations ;

“2. The picketing unions want my Employer to ‘regard the
showing and counting of union application cards, heretofore
collected by the picketing unions as proof of that claim;

“3. My Employer prefers a secret National Labor Relations
Board election as the best way to prove whether Smithville Inn
employees want or do not want a union ;

(footnote continued on following page)

18
Appendix B.

in violation of §8(a) (1) and (3) of the National Labor
Relations Act. A hearing was held on May 16 and 17, 1967,
before’ Trial Examiner George Bott, who, in a decision
issued August 29, 1967, found the Company had engaged in
unfair labor practices. On January 10, 1968, the Board
issued its decision and order adopting the findings, conclu-
sions, and recommendations of the Trial Examiner.

-=(footnote continued from previous page)

“4. The picketing unions refused, from the beginning, and
continue to refuse a fair, secret election conducted by the Na-
tional Labor Relations Board as the method for proving their
dubious claim and for ending the present picketing and strike ;
“5. My Employer doubts the unions claim of majority support
and regards signed, union-application cards as, in the circum-
stances, a most unreliable method of showing the choice of a
majority of Smithville Inn Employees.
“As an Employee of the Inn who is deeply interested in the in-
volved dispute between my Employer and the picketing unions
and who has a stake in the outcome of the dispute, I have been
asked by management to state my preference without fear or
favor and on a completely voluntary basis.
“IT have marked my choice in the appropriate box below by
putting my initials in that box: ’ A

I prefer a secret election conducted by the National Labor
[_] Relations Board as the best way_of showing whether a

majority of Smithville Inn Employees want or do not want

a union.

I prefer a show of union application cards to some impartial
[_] third party as the best way of showing whether Smithville

Inn Employees want or do not want a union.
“I sign and initial this form freely and of my own volition
without any pressure or undue influence exerted upon me by
any management representative or anyone else. My purpose is
to inform my Employer how I, as an effected. Employee,

Line Missing— in Copy
Smithville Inn and the picketing unions. SUNDAY, DECEM-
BER 18, 1966.

PLEASE SIGN HERE”

19
Appendix B.

The issues are whether there is substantial evidence on
the record as a whole to support the Board’s findings that
-(a) the Company interfered with, restrained, and coerced
its employees in the exercise of their statutory rights, in
violation of § 8(a) (1) of the Act (29 U.S.C. § 158(a) (1));
(b) the Company discharged Margaret Jackson because of
her Union activities, in violation of §8(a) (3) and (1) of
the Act (29 U.S.C. § 158(a) (3) and (1)); and (c) the De-
_eember 18 poll interfered with the employees in the exercise
of their § 7 (29 U.S.C. § 157) rights.
~ We hold that there is substantial evidence in the record
as a whole to support the Board’s findings.

[1] We ean find no error in the Board’s determination
that the surveillance of Company employees interfered
with and coerced the employees in the exercise of their self-
organizational rights, in violation of §8(a) (1). See
N. L. R. B..v. Morris Fishman and Sons, Ine., 278 F.2d
792, 796 (3rd Cir. 1960); N. L. R. B. v. Rockwell Manu-
facturing Co: (Du Bois Div.), 271 F.2d 109 (3rd Cir. 1959).
The Board’s finding of surveillance is supported by the tes-
timony of the Company coordinator, Mr. Miller, and by
the testimony of the Assistant Chef, Mr. Hand. From the

*Mr. Miller testified that he was present at Jo-Jo’s Bar both on
December 1 and on December 3 while the Union meetings were
in progress. While that fact alone may be insufficient to establish
surveillance of Company employees, additional testimony given by
Mr. Miller supports the Board’s finding. Mr. Miller had been a
regular patron of Jo-Jo’s until August or September of 1966;
thereafter, he did not visit Jo-Jo’s until the middle of November.
Mr. Miller also testified that he may have been prompted to ‘stop at
Jo.Jo’s on December 1 by a “certain amount of curiosity”, and he
“probably assumed” another meeting would be held Saturday,
December 3, when he returned. In addition, when the Union meet-
ing moved from Jo-Jo’s to the Beachcomber Inn, Mr. Miller left
the former and went in a position to observe those employees who
attended the meeting.

Mr.’ Hand also testified that he visited Jo-Jo’s on December 1
while the Union meeting was in prograss.

ait A teid irs 60 Ho WS, ack

IIR INA ABE Dil IAAL EN PD lt Mt ot PAI Y Lic PA iS ABE AI ti hte fe OILY heal?

20

Appendix B.

facts related in their testimony, the Board could properly
infer that Miller and Hand were present for the purpose
of monitoring the employees’ Union activities.

[2, 3] There is no dispute that Margaret Jackson was

chronically late for work while employed by the Company.”
That fact alone could constitute a non-discriminatory basis
for discharge, but if the discharge was motivated, even in
part, by union activity, it is illegal despite the existence
of adequate cause for firing her. See N. L. R. B. v. Barber-
ton Plastics Products, Ine., 354 F.2d 66, 68 (6th Cir. 1965).
Although the witnesses gave conflicting testimony,® we find

_ that there was sufficient evidence to support the Board’s

* Mrs. Jackson confirmed the Company’s charge in the following

testimony:

~~ “Q. Were you late as charged by the Company?
“A. Yes, I was late.” if
Although she had a long history of being late, this defect did not
increase during the period prior to her dismissal. She had been
employed by the Company as a waitress for more than five years
prior to her discharge on December 3, 1966, and she was admittedly
a good waitress.

* Some of the Company witnesses testified that the decision to dis-

charge Mrs. Jackson was made because she was habitually tardy,
and that the decision was made on November 28, two days before
she claimed the Company first learned of her Union activity. Mrs.
Jackson was not actually discharged until December 3. Mrs. Noyes,
the co-possessor of the Company, explained that the lapse of time
from November 28 to December 3 was occasioned by the advice of
counsel, who told her not to discharge anyone until, he arrived on
December 3. Counsel testified that he gave such advice. The tes-
timony of dining room:manager Gruhle is not as precise. He
recommended Mrs. Jackson’s discharge “possibly in late Novem-
ber”, but he was unable to specify the date on which he discussed
the discharge with Mrs. Noyes. Mr. Gruhle could only recall that
a period of days elapsed betwéen the time he recommended Mrs. .
Jackson’s discharge and the date she was discharged. Mr. Merrill,
manager of the Smithville Inn, testified that the last time he recom-
mended Mrs. Jackson’s discharge was just before Thanksgiving in
1966 and Mrs. Noyes “wanted to think about it.” He reported
back to Mrs. Noyes on November 20 or 27.

(footnote continued on following page)

4

finding that -Margaret Jackson’s carne was, at least
in part, due to her Union activity.’

[4-6] We must consider the interests of the Company
and the effect on the employees in determining the pro-
priety of the poll. An employer may have a legitimate
interest in polling his employees to determine whether a
union demanding recognition actually represents a
majority of the employees or to defend itself against an
unfair labor charge, but we must also recognize that the
employee being polled may fear management reprisal for

(footnote continued from previous page)

The Trial Examiner, whose findings this testimony of respond-
ent’s witnesses. He found that the Company was substantially
motivated by union considerations in discharging Mrs. Jackson on
December 3 on the basis of testimony that she attended the Union
organizational meeting on November 28; distributed Union cards
at the Smithville Inn in the presence of Mrs. Miller, Mrs. Noyes’
sister; was searched for Union cards by Assistant Chef Hand on
November 30; was seen at Union Meetings at Jo-Jo’s and The
Beachcomber Inn by coordinator Miller; introduced Mr. Hand. to
Union president Timperio no later than December 1; and was dis-

charged contrary to the Company’s custom by which an employee
is permitted to finish out the week.

From this evidence, credited by the Trial-Examiner, it was not
illogical for the Board to infer that the decision to discharge Mrs.
Jackson was made after November 28 and was based in some Part
on her Union activities.

®In N. L. R. B. v. Buitoni Foods Corp., 298 F.2d 169, 174 (3rd
Cir. 1962), we said:

.“‘We observe * * * that where * * * contradictory reasons for
‘the discharge of an employee are ,advanced, it is the responsi-
bility of the Board to weigh the evidence and resolve the factual
_ conflict. * * * There is clearly no obligation on the Board to
accept at face value the reason advanced by the employer. The
concurrent existence of an otherwise valid reason for the dis-
charge of an employee does not preclude a factual determination
that his discharge was discriminatory if it appears from a
preponderance of evidence, and the reasonable inferences drawn
therefrom, that the discharge was in fact motivated by the em-
ployer’s opposition to the employee’s union activities.”
See. also, Hugh H. Wilson Corporation v. N. L. R. B., 414 F.2d
1345 (3rd Cir. July 3, 1969).

a

22
Appendix B.

support of the union. Cf. National Labor Relations Bd.
v. Essex Wire Corp., 245 F.2d 589, 592 (9th Cir. 1957). The
test to determine legality of the poll, applicable when this
case arose, was ‘‘whether, under all the circumstances,
the interrogation reasonably tends to restrain or interfere
with the employees in the exercise of rights guaranteed by
the Act.’’ Blue Flash Express Co., 109 N. L. R. B. 591, 593
(1954).*° We hold that the Board’s finding that the De-
cember 18 poll interfered with the employees in the exer-
cise of their $7 rights is supported by substantial evidence
on the record as a whole.

The poll was taken against a’background of unfair labor
practices in the form of syrveillance and the discharge of
an employee because of union activity. The form on which
the poll was taken clearly sought employee identification,
both by signature at the end and by initials in the box in-
dicating the alternative chosen. The Board also adopted
the Trial-Examiner’s finding that inadequate assurances
against reprisals were given. That finding is particularly
apt where employees who have been exposed to certain
unfair labor practices are then requested to fill out a form
which seeks their identification and makes inquiry regard-
ing their alignment with union or management.

The Board’s order will be enforced.

7? While we apply the Blue Flash test on this record, we note that
the Board has revised the criteria for judging legitimacy of in-
terrogation in Struksnes Construction Co., Inc., 165 N. L. R. B. No.
102,.65 LRRM 1385, 1386 (1967), where it said:

“Absent unusual circumstances, the polling of employees by an
employer will bé violative of Section 8(a) (1) of the Act un-
less the following safeguards are observed: (1) the purpose of
the poll is communicated to the employees, (3) assurances
against reprisal are given, (4) the employees are polled by
secret ballot, and (5) the employer has not engaged in unfair
labor practices or otherwise created a coercive atmosphere.”
We note the recent Supreme Court decision in N. L. R. B. v.
Gissel Packing Co., 395 U.S. 575, 89 S.Ct. 1918, 23 L.Ed. 2d 547
(1969), where the court cited with apparent approval’ the above-
mentioned Struksnes Construction Co. decision.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385604_1172%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
