# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Missouri Pacific Railroad v. Southern Pacific Co.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385604_0625%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1969
- **Citation:** 394 U.S. 1013

## Text

LIBRARY 7; wearer

SUPRBEMG& COURT. UW &

MAR 14 1969

No. d 157

In THE

Supreme Court of the United States

Missouri Paciric Rarroap Comvany,

Petitioner.
Vv.

SouTHerNn Paciric Company,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

To ture Court or Crvit APPEALS FOR THE
FourTEENTH SUPREME JupiciaL District or TEXAS

Ben G. SEweE 1.

701 Capital National Bank
Bldg.
Houston, Texas 77062

Of Counsel:

SEWELL, JuNELL & Rices

701 Capital National Bank Bldg.
Houston, Texas 77002

FIDELITY PRINTING COMPANY, INC., HOUSTON

JOHN F. DAVIS, ce

SUBJECT INDEX

PAGE
Opinion Below (Citation) .....cccccseseneeneeeneseseesessseseseeseeenens 1
SUPIMAICEION — cccecosesersssssveccosersesocsnnsvesssnecseccssenssnovesesesenesressessevanesosecs 2
Question Presented ...........scssssessesessssesees sceventiinianciieineiiucieins 2
Statute IUnmvolved .......ccccoccsrssesresssscsscsrsccsccersscesssvesevesvessvesvensevosees 2
Statement of the Case ..........cccrscsccccsssosssrssessccsecssccesecsseseneoesaees 3
Reasons For Granting the Writ ..............sccccssssscssecsssesssescsesees 4
Importance of Question and Errors In Decision of State
IIIT scncicsosnsenschescec vin esesnsvncvescsounvninsetetntnencansenssnbenstenstessenesienesnt 5
COMCHIBION — .osrccccvesssesscesssvcesevescsosseenscsssoscceonccscsssessronsssesenenesaseoneeee 12
Appendix A: Statute Involved... cccssseeseserenesnensnenenensees la
Appendix B: Opinion of Court of Civil Appeals ............0000 2a
Appendix ©: Judgment of the Court of Civil Appeals ........ 13a
Appendix C-a: Judgment of the Court of Civil Appeals
Overruling Motion For Rehearing ..........ccseeeseeeeeeeeeeeees 15a

Appendix D: Excerpt From Application For Writ of Error 16a
Appendix E: Certified Copy of Order of The Supreme

Court OF Texas ...ccccscccoscscrscereccsrsccrsscrcsscscoscssessosvcssessenceoossooseee 17a
Appendix F: Stipulation as to Transcript of Record —
BRUNO BD wecescesncscssosccvcccenessonscescsonescneseeennsasnoenscessoveeseesocsonssossnenoene 19a

LIST OF AUTHORITIES
Cases

Arnold v. Panhandle & 8.F. R. Co., 353 U.S. 360, 1 L.ed. 2d

889 at 891, 77 S. Ct. 840 ou... .ccssscsssccrsscsercssesesesssssesesseaessses 4
Baltimore & O.S.W.R. Co. v. United States, 242 F. 420, 425

(Gth Cir. — 1917) ..c.cccssssssssesseeseessseneneerseesensssensssnsnesaneseserstes 7
Brady v. Terminal R. Asso., 303 U.S. 10, 15, 58 S. Ct. 426,

Be i RE ccareckssencceresascarsanssssessavenensavsntenssonsoeneesensounionaseounbonne 6

Chicago & N.W. Ry. Co. v. Davenport, 205 F. 2d 589 (5th
Cir. — 1953, Cert. Denied, 346 U.S. 873, 74 S. Ct. 123,
QB Lied. SEZ) .......csccocsrsecsscsserssccseccvscersornsesserssesssscesesseseesessosssess 9

ee a ene ee etek atk

il

Chicago R.I. & P.R. Co. v. Chicago & Northwestern Ry. Co.,
280 F. 2d 110 (8th Cir. — 1960) cert. Denied, 81 S. Ct.
378, 364 U.S. 931, 5 Lied. 2d 864 cccccccssessssccossscecoeccc

Clark v. Atlantie Coast Line Railroad Co., 244 F. 2d 368
ep Mbinitans sR HR CLEATS SII

Cush v. Pittsburgh Chartiers & Youghiogheny Ry. Co., 157
F. Supp. 350 (W.D. a ess | RRR UI I

Galveston H. & S.A. Ry. Co. y. Nass, 59 S.W. 870 (Tex. —
SNE rstsinsthciaiatidascdninesisiieindaiusiaisnpasablaieieidssmigieiiicn.

Kernan vy. Am. Dredging Co., 355 U.S. 426, 2 Lied. 2d 382
oe Sey AF a ANE pitchrneenntere sicbietioenindiihapanstonrieicas oases da.

Lowe v. New York Central Ry. 148 F. Supp. 337 (E.D. Mich.
ENO E” "St leah tbindalpedaipicigeaintondbenesdieinumessencians.acc

Myers v. Reading Co., 331 U.S. 477, 482, 67 S. Ct. 1334, 91
FR I - eabbinclatinhessaidtncalninistitceueinidinetiloamiienues a ok

O'Donnell v. Elgin, J. & E. Ry. Co., 338 U.S. 384, 70 S. Ct.
200, 94 Lied. 187, 16 ALR 2d 646 oeccccccsssecscsssssesssssseccess..,

Patton v. Baltimore & Ohio R. Co., 197 F. 2d 732 (3rd Cir.
a ee

Rufo v. Orlando, 309 N.Y. 345, 130 N.E. 2d 887 (1955) ........

San Antonio Ry. v. Wagner, 241 U.S. 476, 484, 36 S. Ct. 626,
Oe I IE TIED cords Chtcinsihoanioreeas acaba taae ie

Tex. & P.R. Co. v. Sherer, 183 S.W. 404 (Tex. Civ. App. —
BEE MID winiesdriiessocewntosenititinibineapiziipipnice ody orgs

Union Stoek Yards Company v. Chicago, Burlington &
Quincey Railroad Co. 196 U.S. 217, 25 S. Ct. 226, 49 L.ed.
ci sg tN RE, SOAS

421, 424 (Sth Cir. — 1954) oieeeccccccsssssecssessssssssecssescoosecess.,
U.S. v. Seaboard Air Line Railroad Co., 361 U.S. 78, 4 Led.
vorositen tensnpege toe Rig Te LIES
United States v. Southern Pacifie Co., 187 F. 699 (D.C.,
SAUL. secseaibbdiesniadeapessniecsssbsnesicisesminiteisiasidviunatiaseiatainssiis sie.

9, 10
6

10

~“] @

iil
PAGE

Urie v. Thompson, 337 U.S. 163, 189, 69 5. Ct. 1018, 93 L.ed.

SOOe STRIND. -Aaversstrsinstesrsstetionibsensiappieuibitiivea deus neue... 10

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS
atcsiitadt baonscrdhe i: ee 2
Safety Appliance Act of 1910, 32 Stat. 298, 45 USC § 11-16 2,5
Ne Sew HIE nibcoeneseneauainannunhaacene nicl ica 3
TL Stat. 852, 45 USC §13 o......ccccssssssssessssssssssesssssssssesseseessossooees, 5
TEXTS
Prosser On Torts — 3rd ed. 8 fe OT 6
za

INO, sscceisereee

In Tue

Suprene Court of the United States

Missourt Paciric Rartroap Company,

Petitioner,
v.

SouTHerN Paciric Company,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

To THe Courr or Crvi, APPEALS FOR THE
FourTEENTH SuPREME JupiciaL District or TExas

Petitioner, Missouri Pacific Railroad Company, respect-
fully prays that a Writ of Certiorari issue to review the
judgment of the Court of Civil Appeals for the Fourteenth
Supreme Judicial District of Texas entered in this cause
on June 19, 1968.

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Civil Appeals for the Four-
teenth Supreme Judicial District of Texas filed June 19,
1968, is reported in 430 S.W. 2d 900 and is printed infra
as Appendix B.

——. ct eee SS ee

UNE Te ole a ST Le Daa” STERN oa RA cepa cdee ets AMEE Sete a
i
:

NE RIO, OE OO RP bed Ao yee aR el a ae

oe ae

9

—

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Civil Appeals for the
Fourteenth Supreme Judicial District of ‘Texas was entered
on June 19, 1968 (Appendix C). The Supreme Court of
Texas “refused «s presenting no error requiring reversal”
Petitioner’s Application for Writ of Error on November
20, 1968, and overruled Petitioner’s Motion for Rehearing
on January 22, 1969, making final the decision of the Court
of Civil Appeals (Appendix EK).

The jurisdiction of this Honorable Court is invoked un-
der 28 USC § 1257(3). The federal question presented by
this Petition was the identical question and the sole ques-

tion presented to the Supreme Court of Texas (Appen-
dix D).

QUESTION PRESENTED

A railroad company’s liability to its employee for per-
sonal injury is “absolute” because of such railroad com-
pany’s vioiation of the Safety Appliance Act in using a
freight car with a defective hand brake. Such railroad
company settles with its injured employee. Is such rail-
road company entitled to be fully reimbursed in an action
for indemnity against another railroad company which neg-
ligently furnished the freight car with the defective hand
brake, notwithstanding that as between the two railroad
companies only the one seeking indemnity was guilty of
the violation of the Safety Appliance Act which gave rise
to the claim?

STATUTE INVOLVED

The statute involved is what is commonly known as the
Safety Appliance Act of 1910, 32 Stat. 298, 45 USC § 11-16,
and specifically that portion of the Act ($11) which makes

3

it “unlawful” for any common carrier to use on its line a
freight car not equipped with “efficient” hand brakes.

The above statute, to the extent relevant, is set forth as
Appendix A.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

One Liles, a brakeman in the employ of Respondent,
Southern Pacific Company, received personal injuries while
engaged in switching railroad cars. One car (MP4626) was
owned vy Petitioner, Missouri Pacific Railroad Company.
The freight car MP4626 was equipped with a hand brake
which was defective. Liles was injured hecause he could
not properly stop the freight car with the hand brake.
Earlier in the day, prior to Liles’ injury, the freight car
MP4626 with the defective hand brake had been left on
an interchange track by Petitioner to be transferred to,
and accepted and picked up by Respondent in accordance
with the established Interchange Rules (Tr. 47-48) and
customary practice in the interchange? and transfer of
freight cars between common carriers. Respondent had ac-
cepted the freight car and was using it on its line in mak-
ing up a freight train when the uccident occurred. Although
acknowledging that the brake was defective, and, therefore
that its use of the car constituted a violation of the Safety
Appliance Act, Respondent negotiated with its injured em-
ployee for over two years before finally settling with him.
Prior to such settlement Respondent made demand on Pe-
titioner to settle with the injured employee and Petitioner
declined to do so because of Respondent’s admitted viola-

1 “The boundary between carriers is the place where the train is
received in interchange under 49 C.F.R. 132.12 because at that
point the use or haul on the line of one carrier ceases and the
use cr haul on the line of the other carrier commences.” ICC
Rules and Regulations under 49 C.F.R. 132.12 as quoted in
U. 8. v. Akron, Canton & Youngstown RR Co., 397 F. 2a 139
(6th Cir. — 1968).

ts etched lana se aR gaa

a OP ay ange MALAI ete op itt

ARE RD LIS inks ot Rik reas BOM te he

Li

4

tion of the Safety Appliance Act, (among other reasons).
After finally settling with its employee, Respondent filed
this suit against Petitioner seeking full indemnity and re-
imbursement for the amount paid its employee in settle-
ment. After trial before the Court without a jury, Re-
spondent obtained judgment against Petitioner for full
indemnity on the basis of the trial court’s findings that
Petitioner was negligent in failing to properly inspect and
correct the hand brake defect while the car was in its pos-
session. Although the trial court found Respondent not
guilty of common law negligence,” it found that Respondent
violated Section 11 of the Safety Appliance Actin using
the car with a defective hand brake.

Petitioner appealed from the adverse judgment on the
ground, among others, that Respondent’s violation of the
Safety Appliance Act precluded it from shifting its re-
sponsibility to and obtaining full indemnity from Petitioner
for the amount paid Respondent’s employee in settlement
of his claim against Respondent under the Safety Appli-
ance Act.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

1, The decision of the Texas court concerns an ex-
tremely important federal question® not ueretofore deter-

2 Although exonerating Respondent of common law negligence the
Court found that in addition to violating the Safety Appliance
Act: “Any inspection made by T&NO’s [Respondent] employees
at Sinton, Texas, of the hand brake on the hopper car MP4626
was not an inspection of such character or care as to disclose
existence of a defect then existing in the hand brake (Emphasis
added) (Tr. 52).

3 Comm .\ting on the Federal Employers’ Liability Act it was said
in Arnold v. Panhandle & S.F. R. Co., 353 U.S. 360 1 L.ed. 2d
889 at 891, 77 S. Ct. 240: ‘The petitioner having assert. federal
rights, it is our duty under the Act to make certain that they are
fully protected, as the Congress intended them to be.” (Empha-
sis added)

5)

mined by this Court, involving the construction and
effectiveness of the Safety Appliance Act, and as such
bears on the safe handling of railroad cars interchanged
between common carriers and the prevention of injuries
to employees and the public.

2. The decision of the Texas court reaches an erroneous
result; is contrary to well settled principles of indemnity
and public policy as enunciated by the Supreme Court of
the United States and other courts; would seriously impair
the congressional intent to impose “absolute liability” on
only the railroad using a freight var with a safety appli-
ance defect; would encourage litigation between railroad
companies in an eifort to shift responsibility to injured
employees under the Safety Appliance Act and would im-
pede and complicate the settlement of valid personal injury
claims of railroad employees.

Importance of Question and Errors
In Decision of State Courts

Section 11 of the Safety Appliance Act, (27 Stat. 531,
as amended 32 Stat. 298, 45 USC § 11) in relevant part,
provides that it shall be “unlawful” for any common car-
rier subject to the Act “to haul, permit to be hauled or
used in its line” any car not equipped with “efficient hand
brake”. This is a penal as well as a remedial statute. Even
more important, it is essentially a safety measure as this
Court and other courts have specifically stated.

4 In 1957 the penalty was increased from $100.00 to $250.00 “for
each and every such viciation.” (71 Stat. 352, 45 USC §13).

5 “History showed that hundreds of workers had been injured or
killed by the stopping of unbraked cars, by the operation of
hand brakes, and by the use of hand couplers. This history well
known to Congress, was the primary purpose behind the legisla-

6

Respondent’s violation of the Safety Appliance Act ren-
dered it “absolutely liable” to its injured employee without
regard to Respondent’s care or negligence and without rea
gard to any negligence on the part of the employee. The
duty imposed by the statute is “absolute”, “unqualified” and
“unconditional”, nd the carrier “using” such a defective
freight car is not excused by any showing of care, however
assiduous. Myers v. Reading Co., 331 US 477, 482, 67 S. Ct.
1334, 91 L. ed. 1615; Brady v. Terminal R. Asso., 303 US 10,
15, 58 S. Ct. 426, 82 L. ed. 614; O’Donnell v. Elgin, J. & E.

Ry. Co., 338 US 384, 70 8. Ct. 200, 94 L. ed. 187, 16 ALR 2d
646.

‘ = . *
+i ER BOE POS LE mT Nae

In permitting indemnity in this case, the Texas court com-
pletely ignores the congressional intent behind the Safety
Appliance Act. Indeed, for all practical purposes, it com-

pletely ignores the Safety Appliance Act. It treats the case
in terms of an ordinary common law indemnity action be-
tween joint tort feasors — speaking in terms of alleged
breaches of duty as between joint tort feasors and citing
Texas cases® having nothing to do with railroads or the

Shs AE esac RE RRA DE RRS He Se: he es

tion. The Act, therefore, should be liberally construed as a safety
: measure.”

7 U.S. v. Seaboard Air Line Railroad Co.,
361 U.S. 78, 4 L.ed. 2d 25, 80 S. Ct. 12

4 “Our view is that the obvious purpose of the Safety Appliance
4 Act is to induce carriers to adhere to higher standards of safety
j in their operations by imposing a liability on interstate carriers
if they do not comply with the Act... .”
Clark v. Atlantic Coast Line Railroad
Co., 244 F. 2d 368 (D. C. Cir., 1957)
“Congress . . . for its own reasons imposed extraordinary
safety obligations upon railroa -
Kernan v. Am. Dredging Co., 355 U.S.
426, 2 L.ed. 2d 382 at 390, 78 S.Ct. 394

® This case involving the construction and effect of a Federal
Statute the Court need not be concerned with trying to fit the
case into one of the many, confusing “indemnity semantic
cubicles.” Prossor On Torts — 3d ed. p. 278.

isi ws hetoc MeaSacbns, Sharia Mla at seit

7

Safety Appliance Act. This led the Court to an erroneous
result. It has been made abundantly clear that a railroad’s
liability for violation of the Safety Appliance Act is an
independent “actionable wrong” (O’Donnell v. Elgin J. &
' E. Ry. Co., 338 US 384, 70 8. Ct. 200, 94 L. ed. 187, 16 ALR
2d 646) ; that such liability ir not imposed on a carrier for
the acts of other carriers, but because of its own wrongful
and “unlawful” conduct in the “use” of a car with a safety
appliance defect; that it is not the mere “possession” of
a car with a penalty defect which results in the liability,
but it is the carrier’s use of such car on its own line, U. S.
v. Western, etc. RR. Co., 297 F. 4892 (D.C., Ga., 1924).’

It is both the right and duty of a carrier to refuse to ac-
cept a defective car at interchange if acceptance would
necessarily involve its use of such car in violation of the
Safety Appliance Act. Baltimore & O0.S.W. R. Co. v. United
States, 242 F. 420, 425 (6th Cir. — 1917 ); United States v.
Akron, Canton & Youngstown RR Co., 397 F. 2d 139 (6th
Cir. —- 1968). As stated in United States v. Southern Pacific
Co., 167 F. 699 (D.C., Cal.):

“A company is under no obligation to receive cars
defective as to safety appliances from any other rail-
road, and when it does so, it must know at its peril
that each car so received is equipped with the lawful
safety appliances . . . It is the use of a car in a

7 The Court in the cited case in considering the constitutionality
of an act which would impose a penalty for the acts of others
over whom it had no control said:

“The answer avers that the statute, thus originally con-
strued, takes the carrier’s property without due process of
law, in that a penalty is imposed for the acts of others over
whom it had no control, .. . Had the penalty been inflicted
for the possession of the defective car . . . there would be
force in the contention ; but the penalty is laid only on a use
of the car, and that may be avoided. The very agents of the
carrier who use it may, by diligence, inspect it, and are under
duty to lay it aside if it be defective.”

aE UNE Le vRRDROALIGIEN NS RR allan

SAS ae AMS si Giaae

PA Rt bre ta t0 4)

SNM WO ee le

8

defective condition that the law seeks to prevent. . .”
(Italics added).

It is significant that as between the two railroads — Pe-
titioner and Respondent — only Respondent was guilty of
a violation of the Safety Appliance Act. (Even assuming
Petitioner was responsible for the brake defect in the first
place.) The law is settied that the entire responsibility for
a freight car with respect to a Safety Appliance Act defect
rests with the railroad which is using the car, irrespective
of ownership of the car and irrespective of the condition
of the car at the time it was delivered to the carrier using
it with such defect. After Respondent accepted Petitioner’s
freight car on the interchange track, under the terms of
the Safety Appliance Act it became solely and fully respon-
sible for any brake defect, and Petitioner was forthwith
relieved of any liability it might have under the Act. Clark
v. Atlantic Coast Lime, 244 F. 2d 368 (D.C. Cir. — 1957) ;
Patton v. Baltimore & Ohio R. Co., 197 F. 2d 732 (3rd Cir.
— 1952). The reason for this is obvious. The policy of the
law here in imposing absolute liability on the carrier using
the car with the defect is to encourage that carrier to be
certain by inspection, and repair, if necessary, that the car
is not used with a defective hand brake.® This sound and
obvious policy of the law would be completely circumvented
if the only carrier guilty of violating the Safety Appliance
Act, and liable to its injured employee as a conseauence
thereof, was permitted to shift the entire loss to, and be

8 “Treating each carrier which handles a train movement inde-
pendently, and compelling it to inspect for itself rather than
rely on an inspection by a previous carirer is a reasonable means
of promoting safety, and appears to be intended by the regula-
tions.”

United States v. Terminal RR Assn. of
St. Louis, 397 F. 2d 467, 470, (7th Cir..
1968) cert. den’d. Dec. 9, 1968, 89 S.
Ct. 447

completely reimbursed by. another carrier which may have
been guilty only of ordinary, common law, negligence. The
clear intent of Congress to limit this liability to the car-
rier using the defective car would be thwarted if by cir-
cumvention, in an indemnity action, this liability is shifted
to a carrier not using the defective car.

Indeed, it has been held that a carrier subject to the
Safety Appliance Act may not even by contract relieve it-
self of its statutory liability under the Safety Appliance
Act. United States v. Houston Belt & Terminal Ry. Co.,
2i0 F. 2d 421, 424 (5th Cir. — 1954); Clark v. Atlantic
Coast Line RR Co., 244 F. 2d 368, 372 (D.C. Cir. — 1957).

In Chicago & N.W. Ry. Co. v. Davenport, 205 F. 2d 589
(5th Cir. — 1953 Cert. Denied, 346 U.S. 873, 74 S.ct 123 98
L. ed 382) the Court even held that a written contract for
indemnity would be invalid as contrary to the spirit and
prohibitions of the law and not enforceable so as to permit
a railroad company liable to an employee for a Safety
Appliance Act violation, to be indemnified.

In cases decided before the Safety Appliance Act of 1910
the Supreme Court of the United States and the Supreme
Court of Texas both held that as between two railroad
companies, both of whom were guilty of common law negli-
gence in failing to properly inspect or repair freight cars,
there could be no indemnity. Union Stock Yards Company
v. Chicago, Burlington & Quincey Railroad Co., 196 U.S.
217, 25 S. Ct. 226, 49 L.ed. 453 (1905) ; Galveston H. & S.A.
Ry. Co. v. Nass, 59 S.W. 870 (Tex.-1900). This has also
been the holding of the courts since the enactment of the
Safety Appliance Act. Chicago R.I. & P.R. Co., v. Chicago
& Northwestern Ry. Co., 280 F. 2d 110 (8th Cir. — 1960)
cert. denied, 81 S. Ct. 378, 364 U.S. 931, 5 L.ed. 2d 364.

A carrier guilty of the more serious offense of violating
the Safety Appliance Act and thus being guilty of “unlaw-

10

ful”, penal conduct, and negligence per se,® should not be in
a more favorable position.

This was precisely the reasoning of the Court in Lowe v.
New York Central Ry., 148 F. Supp. 337 (E. D. Mich.-1957),
a case directly in conflict with the holding of the Texas
court in the instant case. In that case indemnity was
denied to a railroad company liable because of its viola-
tion of the Safety Appliance Act. That court properly
noted that “the violation of the Federal Safety Appliance
Act — considered to be negligence per se — is certainly not
a less blameworthy act than failure to use ordinary care.”

See also, to the same effect, Cush v. Pittsburgh Chartiers
& Youghiogheny Ry. Co., 157 F. Supp. 360 (W.D. Penn. —
1957).

Irrespective of whether the cai.ier seeking indemnity is
liable because of common law negligence or negligence
per se by legislative fiat, the policy considerations are
identical in both instances:

“The very foundation and principle of public policy
that denies recovedy in such cases [is that] .. . be-
cause, if that were allowed, the negligent party would
be offered an inducement to relax its vigilance in the
protection of those who are largely dependent upon it
for their safety in the performance of hazardous duty.”

Galveston, H. d 8.A. Ry. Co. v.
Nass, 59 S.W. 870 (Tex. — 1900)

To the same effect are thie cases holding that violation
of a state safety statute precludes the violator from ob-

9“... it clearly is the legislative intent to treat a violation of the
Safety Appliance Act as ‘negligence’ — what is sometimes called
‘negligence per se’.” Urie v. Thompson, 337 U.S. 163, 189, 69 S.
Ct. 1018, 93 L.ed. 1282 (1949). Accord: San Antonio Ry. v.
Wagner, 241 U.S. 476, 484, 36 S. Ct. 626, 60 L.ed. 1110 (1916),
Tex. & P. R. Co. v. Sherer, 183 S.W. 404 (Tex. Civ. App. — 1916,
error ref’d.)

it

taining indemnity. This has been the reasoning of the New
York Courts under comparable facts:

“To hold otherwise would encourage disregard for
the objectives of the statute. The objectives of the
statute are not alone to provide remedies for laborers
but more particularly to prevent accidents causing the
injuries. The saactions imposed by the statute and by
the cases are necessary to compel a higher standard
of care by forbidding any delegation of responsibility
and any other right of recovery even against a joint
tort feasor.”?

The holding of the Texas Court in the instant case not
only defeats the basic purposes of the Safety Appliance
Act but would result in protracted litigation between rail-
road companies seeking indemnity for the consequences of
their own Safety Appliance Act violation. And even worse,
such holding would result in endless delays in settling valid
personal injury claims under the Safety Appliance Act. If
this remains the law, why should a railroad company set-
tle with its own injured employee, even though absolutely
liable under the Safety Appliance Act, when it can implead
another carrier in the event a lawsuit is filed — and ver-
haps escape scot-free? This must have been one of the major
considerations by Congress when it provided bv terms of
the Safety Appliance Act that liability be imposed abso-
lutely on the carrier using the defective car with the de-
fect, and only on that carrier.

1° Rufo v. Orlando, 309 N.Y. 345, 180 N.E. 2d 887 (1955), denying
indemnity to a contractor liable to an injured person because of
violation of a New York safety act.

Dna dyes De Ne ee

Ne ne ee ee ee

12
CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, this Petition for Writ of
Certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

Ben G. SEWELL
701 Capita] National Bank
Bldg.
Houston, Texas 770092

Of Counsel:

SEwELL, JuNELL & Ricos
701 Capital National Bank Bldg.
Houston, Texas 77002

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385604_0625%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
