# Petition for a Writ of Certiorari — Broadview Chemical Corp. v. Loctite Corp.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385604_0592%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for a Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1969
- **Citation:** 394 U.S. 976

## Text

Slt a | i ee i 4 i

SUPREME COURT. fT &. - 43

1°69

JOHN F. BAViS, CLERK

IN THE
Supreme Court of the Gnited States
October Term, 1968
no. LS 91
BROADVIEW CHEMICAL CORPORATION,
Petitioner,
VS.
LOCTITE CORPORATION,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

Grancer Cook, Jk.
Davip A. ANDERSON

Hume, CLremMent, Hume & Leer
38 South Dearborn Street
Chicago, Illinois 60603

Attorneys jor Petitioner
Of Counsel:

JaMEs P. Hume
Henry L. Brinks

TWENTIETH CENTURY PRESS, INC., CHICAGO 60606

OD NVA ERFET ERE

CONTENTS

PAGE
ET ry ee a oan re 1 :
iene cal uuela euhuie dns eeéés ewectas 2 ;
Questions Presented for Review ..................-. 2
Constitutional Provision Involved .................. 2
I I I Sh ics va Olek so 000s cess b40ee ee 2
Reasons for Granting the Writ ..................... 8 :
A. Sound public policy against piecemeal litiga- :
tion and splitting causes of action compels a hold- ft
‘ing that a party should not be permitted to delib-
erately exclude compositions from an infringement
charge and settlement agreement, and thereafter to 4
assert that s milar compositions are in contempt of

i Cee eae h ook bs ahead RAK ERGO eORe KK 8

B. There is a conflict in the circuits as to whether
or not the prior art must be considered in deter- t
mining whether a patent is infringed in a contempt :
proceeding. This Court should grant certiorari to
resolve this conflict, and to guarantee a full hear- :
ing to persons charged with contempt, as is conso-
nant with the provisions of the Fifth Amendment

of the Constitution of the United States ........ 10
IBISEE RE SESE Pgh ery rere ay gr Pere a rang a SE 13
E
RRIF pet One ESR OR ITER te AN A-1—53 |

ii

TABLE OF CASES PAGE

Chemical Cleaning, Inc. v. Dow Chem. Co., 379 F.2d
294 (5th Cir. 1967, cert. denied, 389 U.S. 1040
DEE seen peed aaad ad Ge ch aeei waded ennneus 6, 7,8, 10

Ransburg Electro-Coating Corp. v. Ionic Electrostatic
Corp., 395 F.2d 92 (4th Cir. 1968), cert. denied, ——

NE nists cewestiek beceeeeghvectecasscansee 10, 11

(1945) ...... ier recia acon ceo cages Se

Westinghouse Elec. & Mfg. Co. v. Formica Insulation
Co., 266 U.S. 342, 350-51 (1924) ..... cece cece 11,12

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION
oy von edocs ea as sce Rimcen aces eck 2, 10, 11

Supreme Court of the Gnited States
October Tein, 1968

oO.

BROADVIEW CHEMICAL CORPORATION,

Petitioner,
vs.

LOCTITE CORPORATION,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

Petitioner, Broadview Chemical Corporation, prays that
a Writ of Certiorari issue to review the judgment of the
United States Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit,
eniered in the abov«:-entitled cause on Jannary 23, 1969.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the United States District Court for the
District of Connecticut is reported at 159 U.S.P.Q. 80, and
is printed in the Appendix, pp. A-28 to A-41. The opinion
of the court of appeals, reported below at -—— F.2d ——,
160 U.S.P.Q. 449, is printed in the Appendix, pp. A-42 to
A-53.

2

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered Janu-
ary 23, 1969. The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked
under 28 U.S.C. §1254(1).

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

(1) Did the Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit
act contrary to public policy and commit reversible error
in refusing to hold that Respondent is estopped from assert-
ing contempt of court for compositions similar in all signifi-
cant respects to those deliberately excluded from Respond-
ent’s infringement charge?

(2) Did the Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit deny
the Petitioner due process of law by refusing to compel
the district court to consider the prior art in a contempt
proceeding brought to enforce a consent decree?

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED

The constitutional provision involved is Amendment Five,
which reads as follows:

No person shall . . . be deprived of life, liberty, or
property, witheut due process of law....

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The Petitioner, Broadview Chemical Corporation, is the
only significant competitor of the Respondent in the field
of anaerobic sealant compositions. These compositions
have the property of remaining liquid in the presence of
air, while losing their liquidity and setting up in the absence
of air. They are therefore useful when it is desired to seal
two components together, such as a nut and a bolt.

3

The Respondent, Loctite Corporation, is the owner of
several patents relating to anaerobic sealants. Respondent
has refused to license these patents, preferring to use them
to maintain an exclusive position in the industry. The pres-
ent litigation was initiated by the filing of a declaratory
judgment action under 28 U.S.C. “ 2201, seeking a declara-
tion of invalidity and non-infringement of three of Respond-
ent’s patents. Petitioner supplied the complete formulations
for his sealant compositions (A-8) to the Respondent, and,
based upon these formulations, the parties entered into a
Stipulation of Facts (A-1), which defined the “infringe-
ment charge.” This “infringement charge” may be sum-
marized as follows:

BROADVIEW
LOCTITE FORMULATIONS
PATENTS CHARGED TO INFRINGE
950 patent Ill, V-XXVIilI, XXX-XXXIT
’*820 quinone patent IV-VI, IX-XII, XVI, XXIV-
|, XXXVI, XXXIT
°262 saccharin patent lI, 111, V, Vi

As the above table shows, the infringement charge made
it perfectly clear that Loctite’s patents were considered to
be separate entities, and that only certain particular Broad-
view formulations were charged to infringe each patent.
The following table summarizes the information supplied
to the Respondent, which was used to define the infringe-
ment charge and the issues in this litigation.’ As the table
demonstrates, this was not a haphazard infringement
charge, but was founded on a definite correspondence to the
components of Broadview’s formulations.

1The complete Broadview formulations, as supplied to the
Respondent, are set out in Appendix, page A-8.

2 AAR <1 RR amen ATS

TRE ERROR EN CONOR DEERE

4

SUMMARY OF BROADVIEW FORMULATIONS

Formamide

HereuvJas
CHP

Saccharin (Cumene
Formula SR-210 SR-206 in Hydroper
No. (Monomer) (Monomer) Formamide oxide)
I oe 41.) NO NO NO
a 2 YES NO t{ YES NO
; i YES NO t YES * YES
* iv YES t YES NO NO
hf YES t YES t+ YES * YES
it* VI YES t YES t+ YES * YES
* Vil YES NO NO * YES
* VIII YES NO NO * YES
t® 1X YES t YES NO * YES
= YES t YES NO * YES
t* XI YES t YES NO * YES
t* XII YES t YES NO * YES
* XIII YES NO NO * YES
vaae YES NO NO * YES
ee YES NO NO * YES
t* XVI YES t YES NO * YES
* XVil YES NO NO * YES
* XVII YES NO NO * YES
* XIX YES NO NO * YES
* XxX YES NO NO * YES
*XXI YES NO NO * YES
* XII YES NO NO * YES
* XXIII YES NO NO * YES
t* XXIV YES t YES NO * YES
t* XXV YES t YES NO * YES
t* XXVI YES t YES NO * YES
* XXVIII YES NO NO * YES
t* XXVIil YES t YES NO * YES
XXTX YES NO NO NO
* XXX YES NO NO * YES
*XXXI YES NO NO * YES
t* XXXII YES +t YES NO * YES

t—Charged to infringe the 820 quinone patent
t—Charged te infringe the ’262 saccharin patent
*—Charged to infringe the 950 patent

5

Thus, only those formulations containing saccharin were
charged to infringe the ’262 saccharin patent; only those
formulations containing SR-206 were charged to infringe
the 820 quinone patent; and only those formulations con-
taining cumene hydroperoxide were charged to infringe
the 950 patent. That formulations I and XXIX were ex-
cluded from the “infringement charge” was confirmed by
the settlement agreement (A-5-7), entered into by the par-
ties in order to settle the litigation. At the same time, the
parties entered into a consent decree in which the Petitioner
consented to the validity and past infringement of the
Loctite patents in suit.

Subsequent to the consent decree, Broadview marketed
a new line of formulations, designated CP-1 through CP-9.
CP-8 and CP-9 were identical to formulations I and XXIX,
which were entirely excluded from the infringement charge.
CP-1 through CP-7 were compounded to avoid infringement
in light of the infringement charge. For example, the
cumene hydroperoxide was eliminated to avoid infringe-
ment of the 950 patent and the SR-206 was eliminated to
avoid infringement of the ’820 quinone patent.

Not satisfied by all of these changes, the Respondent
initiated a contempt proceeding based upon the aforemen-
tioned consent decree on September 21, 1967, charging
infringement of the ’820 quinone and ’262 saccharin pa‘ents
by Broadview’s new formulations CP-1 through CP-9. The
court of appeals affirmed the decision of the trial court as
to formulations CP-1 through CP-7, but reversed the trial
court as to formulations CP-8 and CP-9, because they cor-
respond exactly to Broadview’s formulations I and XXIX,
which were excluded entirely from the infringement charge.

1 An amine was also employed in the compositions, which Peti-
tioner believed would avoid infringement of the ’262 saccharin
patent, the claims of which stated that the composition is “free of
amines.” However, this modification involved issues of file
wrapper estoppel not presented in this Petition.

opera F

Oa a ita

6

However, the court of appeals did not adopt Petitioner’s
argument that Loctite is now estopped from charging in-
fringement by compositions similar in all significant re-
spects to those excluded from the original infringement
charge for the ’820 quinone patent.

At the contempt proceeding before the district court,
Petitioner attempted to show that his compositions were
in the prior art, and therefore part of the public domain
which is free of any patent monopoly. Specifically, petitioner
directed interrogatories 86-87 (A-9-11) and 93-94 (A-12) to
the Respondent, seeking to determine whether or not com-
positions similar to the Petitioner’s accused compositions
were in the public domain. Petitioner further sought to
determine whether or not Respondent contended that such
compositions were an infringement and a violation of the
consent decree. All of these interrogatories were objected
to by the Respondent.

In support of his objectiens, counsel for Respondent cited
Chemical Cleaning, Inc. v. Dow Chem. Co., 379 F.2d 294
(5th Cir. 1967), arguing that, under this authority, prior
art could not be introduced to interpret the scope of the
claims involved in a contempt proceeding. Relying on Dow,
the court sustained Respondent’s objections to Petitioner’s
interrogatories 86 and 87. In the belief that this was the
position of the court, Petitioner’s attorney did not press for
answers to these interrogatories at that time, but permitted
the trial court to go on to consideration of interrogatories
93 and 94. Again the Dow case w’s raised by Respondent’s
counsel, and the following colloquy took place:

MR. AMES [counsel for Loctite]: First of all, I
might just quote to you the case that we just pulled out,
the Dow Chemical Case.

It says, “Furthermore, proof that CCI’”—that was
the infringer—“‘was practicing an expired patent

ace ett ets COLE ETON

7

should have been adduced at the original infringement
proceedings”.

This is a contempt, a motion to punish for contempt,
and CCI the infringer said, “Oh, but we are practicing i
something in the prior art” and it was not. The Court :
of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit a half-year ago said,
no—.

THE COURT: Too late now.
MR. AMES: Too late.
THE COURT: All right. That’s another point.

MR. SWEENEY: There was nv hearing on any of
these points.

THE COURT: That is just a case of being estopped,
you can’t raise it now. If we are going to raise some-
thing now that can’t be decided and ought not to raise
it ai all, why get into it? [Emphasis added.]

The trial court thus made it clear that, based on the deci-
sion in Dow, inquiry into the prior art would not be per-
mitted. It is submitted that the trial court committed a
reversible error of law in so ruling.

FSO EC ee ae RON en ey

This error of law was urged upon the court of appeals,
but was given short shrift in the court’s opinion. Dealing
with the trial court’s refusal to permit inquiry into the
prior art in a brief paragraph, the court of appeals reached
the following conclusion (A-48-49) : ;

Having examined the pertinent portions of the rec-
ord, we find that Judge Blumenfeld actually placed
no restrictions like those now suggested upon Broad- :
view’s inquiries. Two of the four interrogatories in
question were answered to the expressed satisfaction
of Broadview’s attorney. The same attorney suggested
that rulings on the other two be deferred. His failure
thereafter to revive the matter, reflecting its essential
triviality, can scarcely ground a claim of error by the
district judge.

8

This refusal by the court of appeals to review this error
simply cannot be justified in light of the record taken as
a whole, and of the strong public policy, as discussed here-
inafter, in favor of securing to the public the right to that
which is in the public domain. Taken in the context of the
proceedings,’ and particularly in the context of the court’s
strong reliance on Dow, the expression of satisfaction by
Petitioner’s counsel can only be taken to mean that he was
satisfied ‘hat he would not get any answers to his interroga-
tories in the light of the trial court’s reliance on Dow. Fur-
thermore, the failure to resume attempts to obtain answers
to interrogatories that had been deferred also appeared
equally fruitless to Petitioner’s counsel, again in view of
the trial court’s statement that it was “Too late now” for
inquiry into and consideration of the prior art. To attach
any higher importance to the statements of Petitioner’s
attorney would be to elevate form over substance in over-
looking the serious error of the district court whieh the
court of appeals failed to appreciate.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

A. Sound public policy against piecemeal litigation and
splitting causes of action compels a holding that a party
should not be permitted to deliberately exclude composi-
tions from an infringement charge and settlement agree-
ment, and thereafter to assert that similar compositions
are in contempt of court.

With respect to Respondent’s ’820 quinone patent, only
those Broadview formulations that contained a certain com-
ponent—the SR-206 monomer—were charged to infringe.

1It is best to read the full transcript with respect to the inter-
rogatories involved in order to appreciate the force with which
the trial court rejected Petitioner’s interrogatories, anc the
court’s complete reliance on Dow. For the convenience of this
Court, the transcript relating to these interrogatories is set out
in full in the Appendix, pages A-13 to A-27.

9

Those that contained only the SR-210 monomer were not
so charged. In reliance on this charge, Petitioner aban-
doned the use of SR-206, and employed SR-210 exclusively.
Thereafter, Respondent successfully asserted that, despite
this change, Petitioner’s new formulations were infringe-
ments of the ’820 quinone patent, and therefore in con-
tempt of court.

Although disclaiming any estoppel theory, the court of
appeals in effect found that an estoppel applied to Respond-
ent, but that it was limited to Broadview’s formulations
CP-8 and CP-9, which were not initially charged to infringe
any of Respondent’s patents. In going only half way, and
failing to consider Respondent’s patents individually, the
court of appeals left a serious injustice uncorrected.

The doctrine of estoppel was created to prevent such
injustices. It is founded on the public policy that prevents
a litigant from taking one position in order to serve his
own interests, and later taking a contradictory position to
the detriment of his opponent. Petitioner acted in good
faith, and in the public interest, by entering into a consent
decree, abandoning those formulations which were the sub-
ject of the decree, and adopting new formulations which
Respondent in effect invited the Petitioner to adopt in its
infringement charge. In the contempt proceeding now be-
fore this Court, Petitioner is being punished for its conduct
in following the trial marked out by the Respondent. Re-
spondent should be estopped from asserting contempt inso-
far as the 820 quinone patent is concerned, and certiorari
is sought to provide this result.

If the result in this litigation is allowed to stand, parties
to patent litigation will be at the mercy of the whims of
a patentee who decides to charge only certain products with
infringement, while excluding others—even though he is
aware of the exact formulation of each product. There-
after, he may return to the court and assert that the prod-

SEER Te I NT SN EE ee

10

ucts which were excluded from the original infringement
charge now place his opponent in contempt. Contempt pro-
ceedings are extraordinary proceedings, and can involve
harsh penalties in addition to ordinary damages. Such
a procedure is an unwarranted denial of the most elemental
aspects of justice aud fair play, and it is respectfully sub-
mitted that this Court should grant certiorari in order to
prevent such an injustice.

B. There is a conflict in the circuits as to whether or not
the prior art must be considered in determing whether a
patent is infringed in a contempt proceeding. This Court
should grant certiorari to resolve this conflict, and to
guarantee a full hearing to persons charged with contempt,
as is consonant with the provisions of the Fifth Amendment
of the the Constitution of the United States.

The conflict in the circuits is clear. In Chemical Cleaning,
Inc. v. Dow Chem. Co., 379 F.2d 294, 297 (5th Cir. 1967),
cert. denied, 389 U.S. 1040 (1968), an attempt was made to
have prior art considered in a contempt proceeding. In
response to this attempt, the court stated:

Furthermore, proof that CCI was practicing an expired
patent should have been adduced at the original in-
fringement proceeding. CCI’s contentions on this point
must be rejected and we conclude that the District
Court’s finding . . . must be affirmed.

In Ransburg Electro-Coating Corp. v. Ionic Electrostatic
Corp., 395 F.2d 92, 96 (4th Cir. 1968), cert. dented, ——U.S.
——, the court held directly to the contrary, asserting that
prior art may be introduced in a contempt proceeding:

Regardless of the answers to all of these questions
arising out of an interpretation of the language of the
injunction, consideration must be given to the prior art
for it was never intended, of course, that the injunction
should prohibit its practice.

11

It is Petitioner’s position that the Ransburg case repre-
sents the sound view, and indeed the only view that is
consonant with the due process clause of the Fifth Amend-
ment. Furthermore, Ransburg is the only view that is in
accord with the overwhelming weight of public policy that
the public is entitled to practice that which is in the public
domain, free and clear of any patent monopoly.

In Westinghouse Elec. & Mfg. Co. v. Formica Insulation
Co., 266 U.S. 342, 350-51 (1924), this Court considered a sit-
uation where a party was estopped to deny the validity of a
patent because he was an assignor. The assignor claimed,
however, that the estoppel did not prevent him from prac-
ticing the teachings of the prior art, which is part of the
public domain. Agreeing with this contention, this Court
stated:

As between the owner of a patent and the public, the
scope of the right of exclusion granted is to be deter-
mined in the light of the state of the art at the time
of the invention. Can the state of the art be shown in
a suit by the assignee of a patent against the assignor
for infringement to narrow or qualify the construction
of the claims and relieve the assignor from the charge?
... We think, however, that the better rule, in view
of the peculiar character of patent property, is that the
state of the art may be considered. Otherwise the most

‘ satisfactory means of measuring the extent of the
grant the Government iniended and which the assignor
assigned would be denied to the court in reaching a just
conclusion. [Emphasis added.]

The Formica decision was approved and extended by this
Court in Scott Paper Co. v. Marcalus Mfg. Co., 326 U.S. 249,
207 (1945). After approving the Formica decision, this
Court stated:

It follows that the patent laws preclude the petitioner
assignee from invoking the doctrine of estoppel, as a
means of continuing as against respondent, his
assignor, the benefit of an expired monopoly, and they

12

preclude the assignor from estopping himself from
enjoying rights which it is the policy of the patent laws
to free from all restrictions.

It is Petitioner’s view that the decision of the trial court
in the present litigation, which was not overturned by the
court of appeals, is totally irreconcilable with the clear
statements of this Court in Formica and in Scott, namely,
that the public has a right to practice that which is within
the prior art. It is unthinkable that the “form” of a patent
proceeding (contempt v. infringement action) can solely
determine whether the prior art can be considered. It was
never intended in patent infringement actions that the
patent claims would be interpreted in the context of the
prior art, while in contempt proceedings patent claims
would be interpreted in a vacuum. Such a double-standard
was never contemplated hy the patent system. Further, to
interpret the claims broadly in a vacuum (and unlawfully
extend the patent monopoly), for the purpose of finding
contempt, violates the principles of the patent system and
the public interest. It is submitted that this Court should
grant certiorari to secure to the public the free use of that
which is within the public domain.

13

CONCLUSION

It is urgent that this Court grant certiorari to establish
fundamental principals of justice and fair play in patent
contempt proceedings, as well as to resolve a conflict in the
circuits, thereby guaranteeing to those operating under
injunctions, that fundamental due process of law secured
by the United States Constitution. The present case pro-
vides a dramatic example of unwarranted unfairness and
denial of such due process.

Respectfully submitted,

GRANGER Cook, JR.
Davin A. ANDERSON

Hume, Clement, Hume & Lee
38 South Dearborn Street
Chicago, Illinois 60603

Attorneys for Petitioner,
Broadview Chemical
Corporation

Of Counsel:

James P. Hume
Henry L. Brinxs

March 11, 1969

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385604_0592%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
