# Brief for the Respondent in Opposition — Schonbrun v. Commanding Officer

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385604_0521%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Brief for the Respondent in Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1969
- **Citation:** 394 U.S. 929

## Text

Yn the Supreme Gourt of the Wnited States

OcToBER TERM, 1968
No. 1021

STEPHEN FEF’. SCHONBRUN, PETITIONER
Vv.
CoMMANDING OFFICER, ARMED FORCES, ET AL.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED
STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE RESPONDENTS IN OPPOSITION

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinions of the district court (Pet. App. 46-49)
are unreported. The opinion of the court of appeals
(Pet. App. 37-45) is reported at 403 F.2d 371.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on
November 7, 1968. The petition for a writ of certiorari
was filed on February 5, 1969. The jurisdiction of this
Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

(1)

335-644—89

2

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the courts below properly declined to over-
turn the refusal of the Army te grant a member vf the
ready reserves an exemption from active duty on the
basis of personal and community hardship.

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS INVOLVED

10 U.S.C. 271; 10 U.S.C. 673; 32 C.F.R. 125.3; 32
C.F.R. 126.3; Army Regulation 601-25 are set forth in
the Appendix, infra, pp. T-12.

STATEMFNT

Petitioner enlisted in the Army reserves on July 28,
1963, for six years. Less than one month before his
unit was activated in May 1968, he sought an exemp-
tion from active duty pursuan: to an Army regulation
which authorizes such exemption because of “extreme”
persona! or community hardship. His claim of ‘‘ex-
treme persona! hardship” was that his wife was suf-
fering from a psychiatri: diserder anc that her well-
being required his presence in the heusehold (Pet.
App. 60-62). The claim for “extreme community hard-
ship’”’ was based on the fact that he was teaching a
class of tan severely disturbed children in an under-
privileged area (Pet. App. 56-52). He was given a 30-
day extcision while his application was under con-
sideration. Upon Jearning that his commanding officer
had denied his request, petitioner appealed and sub-
mitted additional evidence (Pet. App. 71-78). On
June 19, 1968, he was notified that the appeals board
had denied him an exemption on the ground that *e«
“did not meet the criteria for exemption from in-

voluntary call to active duty as established in AR
001-25” (Pet. App. 40, 87).

When an application for reconsideration (Pet. App.
79-83) was denied (Pet. App. 84), petitioner filed
suit for habeas corpus in the district court. After two
hearings, the district court denied the writ. It ac-
ceptod petitioner’s representations, but concluded that
the weighing of the hardship to the community and
to his wife as against the needs of the armed forces
“is peculiarly the kind of decision that must be made
by the military” (Pet. App. 47).

The court of appeals unanimously affirmed.’ It
stated that the “‘very purpose of a ‘ready reserve’
is that the reserve should be ready” (Pet. App. 48);
that “[a]lthough Schonbrun’s case is appealing * * *
the courts must have regard to the flood of unmeri-
torious applications that might be loosed by such in-
terference with the military’s exercise of discretion
aud the effect of the delays caused by these in the
efficient administration of personnel who have volun-
tarily become part of the armed forces” (Pet. App.
44); and that “this is a subject on which civil review
of discretionary action by the military should be
declined”’ (#bid.).*

* Although the court expressed some doubt as to whether
habeas corpus would be availeble to a reservist challenging an
order requiring him to report for active duty as opposed to
seeking a discharge, it recognized that the district court “was
free to treat the petition as one for mandamus under 28 U.S.C.
1361” (Pet. App. 42) and therefore reached the merits.

*On December 23, 1968, Mr. Justice Harlan denied peti-
tioner’s application for a stay of the court of appeals’ man-
date, and on January 13, 1969, the full Court (Mr. Justice
Douglas dissenting) denied reconsideration. The Army has ad-
vised that petitioner entered on active duty on March 4, 1969.

4
ARGUMENT

Petitioner voluntarily enlisted in the ready reserve
and does not challenge the activation of his unit.
He claims only that the Army should have exempted
him from the call to active duty because of alleged
extreme community and personal hardship. As both
courts correctly held, however, that is a determina-
tion that peculiarly calls for and thus lies within the
expert judgment of the military authorities, since it
requires balancing the asserted community and per-
sonal hardships which would result from the indi-
vidual reservist’s entry on active duty against the
needs of the armed forces—an evaluation that must
consider, among other things, the reservist’s place in
the integrated functioning of his unit.

This case is thus different from Hammond vy. Len-
fest, 398 F. 2d 705 (C.A. 2), and United States ex
rel. Mankiewicz v. Ray, 399 F. 2d 900 (C.A. 2), upon
which petitioner relies (Pet. 9-15). Those cases in-
volved reservists who sought to be discharged on the .
ground they were conscientious objectors and did not
present the problem of balaneing the needs of the
military against claimed hardship to an individual
reservist and the community. As the court of appeals
explained the distinction (Pet. App. 43-44) :

In contrast to the yea or nay character of en-
titlement to the ecnscicntious objection exemp-
tion, administration of the hardship exemption
necessarily involves a balancing of the indi-
vidual’s claims against the nation’s needs, and
the balance may differ from time to time and
from place to place in a manner beyond the
| ompetence of a court to decide.

The court of appeals correctly recognized that the
proper utilization of men who have voluntarily joined
the military forces requires that this balancing be left
to the sound discretion of the military. Cf. Orloff v.
Willoughby, 345 U.S. 83, 92-95.

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be
denied.
Respectfully submitted.

Erwin N. GRIswo.p,
Solicttor General.
Wittram D, RvuckKeELsHavs,
Assistant Attorney General.
Aan S. RosEentTHAL,
RaupH A, Fine,

Attorneys.
Marcu 1969.

* Although petitioner contends (Pet. 16-24, 25-27) that the
Army committed various procedural errors in denying peti-
tioner’s claim for exemption from active duty, the short an-
swer is that the court of appeals found (Pst. 45) that the
alleged errors had not prejudiced him, and he makes no show-
ing here of any actual prejudice.

. wc f°

e. * wf

APPENDIX

10 U.S.C, 271. Ready Reserve: continuous screening.

Under regulations to be prescribed by the President,
each armed force shall provide a system of continuous
screening of units and members of the Ready Reserve
to insure that—

= SI z 2 =
(5) members whose mobilization in an emer-
gency would result in an extreme personal or

community hardship are not retained in the
Ready Reserve.

10 U.S.C. 673. Ready Reserve.

(a) In time of national emergency declared by the
President after January 1, 1953, or when otherwise
authorized by law, an authority designated by the
Secretary concerned may, without the consent of the
persons concerned, order any unit, and any member
not assigned to a unit organized to serve as a unit,
in the Ready Reserve under the jurisdiction of that
Secretary to active duty (other than for training)
for not more than 24 consecutive months.

(b) To achieve fair treatment as between members
in the Ready Reserve who are being considered for
recall to duty without their consent, consideration
shall be given to—

(1) the length and nature of previous serv-
ice, to assure such sharing of exposure to
hazards as the national security military
requirements will reasonably allow ;

(2) family responsibilities; and

3) employment necessary to maintain the
national hea!th, safety, or interest.
(7)

The Secretary of Defense shall prescribe such policies
and procedures as he considers necessary to carry
out this subsection. He shall report on those policies
and procedures at least once a year to the Committees
on Armed Services of the Senate and the House of

Representatives.
& 2 = * =
32 C.F.R.:

§ 125.3 Regulations for screening the Ready Reserve.

Screening of the Ready Reserve shall be conducted
in accordance with the provisions of Section 271, Title
10, United States Code.

# = * * *¥

(b) Extreme hardship. Members of the Ready
Reserve whose call to active duty in an emergency
would result in extreme personal or community hard-
ship as defined by the Secretary of Defense shall,
upon request, be transferred to the Standby Reserve.
Reservists shall be informed of the fellowing defini-
tions of hardship:

(1) Extreme personal hardship. An _ individual
desiring transfer from the Ready Reserve to the
Standby Reserve must establish by documentary evi-
dence that his dependents would, by his call to active
duty in an emergency, suffer extreme hardship great-
er than that which dependents of other Reservists
can be expected to experience from the Reservist’s
order to active duty. In order to insure a uniform
standard, the criteria established by the Service
should conform generally with current Selective Serv-
ice regulations on extreme hardship deferment. In
those cases where the reservist is registered with
Selective Service, documentary evidence may include
a recommendation by the State Director of Selective

8 ho SA RA Ir Si RO nc hae eA AO OB a SRE OVIS RG WIA! —— N

9

Service of the State in which the registrant’s Local
Board is located. Requests for consideration under
this paragraph must be initiated by the Reservist or
by his dependents.

(2) Extreme community hardship. An individual
desiring transfer from the Ready Reserve to the
Standby Reserve must establish by documentary evi-
dence that his withdrawal from the community in a
national emergency would have a substantially ad-
verse effect on the health, safety or welfare of the
community. In those eases where the reservist is reg-
istered with Selective Service, documentary evidence
may include a recommendation by the State Director
of Selective Service, of the State in which the regis-
trant’s Local Board is located. Requests for consider-
ation under this paragraph must be initiated by the
Reservist.

SS = = * *

Parr 126—Reapy Reservists [INVOLUNTARILY ORDERED
vo Active Duty: Dray, ExEMPTION, AND EARLY
RELEASE

§ 126.3 Policy.

(a) Sereening. The screening of Ready Reservists
will cease when they have been alerted for involuntary
order to active duty. Ready Reservists who have been
alerted for involuntary order to active duty will con-
tinue to be screened in accordance with Part 125 of
this Subchapter B.

(b) Delay or exemption. (1) Ready Reservists who
have been alerted for involuntary order to active duty
may request delay or exemption if they are—

* * & * *¥

ry) 3

bod

(5 GAO A MN pill AL Ble lo hile: el

hol et A EE Hat ide BEATS

an

OD tiiattni i, Gaerne nods of eto

(iti) Ready Reservists whose involuntary order to
active duty would result in an extreme personal or
community hardship; or

= . * z Ss

(3) Request for delay or exemption from a member
of the reserve forces involuntarily ordered to active
duty will be considered on the merits of the individual
case and the requirements of the services concerned.
Such requests will be submitted through the military
chain of command prescribed by the military depart-
ments. Final decision in all cases of appeal is vested in
the Secretaries of the military departments concerned
or their designated representatives.

* * Sd * &

Army Regulation 601-25:

3-2. Delay and exemption policies.

***b** * (3) * * * Delay or exemption of all
Ready reservists, other than those described in (1) and
(2) above, is authorized in accordance with either of the
following criteria:

(a) In exceptional cases when the involun-
tary order to active duty will result in an ex-
a3) personal or commurity hardship (para
1-12) ;

= = * * =

“1-12. Criteria for hardship conditions.
a. Extreme personal hardship.

(1) Illness of a member of immediate family.
When, in the opinion of the attending physician, the
illness of the member is such that—

(a) Fatality appears to be imminent; or,

(b) Presence of the reservist is an important
factor in the recovery of the patient and his im-
mediate departure would have a serious effect
upon the patient.

nee one ition am

11

b. Extreme community hardship. In general, this
requirement will be met only when all of the following
conditions are determined to exist:

(1) The service performed by the reservist
is essential to the maintenance of health, safety,
or welfare of his community.

(2) The service cannot be performed by
other persons residing in the area concerned.

(3) The reservist cannot be replaced in the
community by another person who can per-
form such services.”

3-11. Action on requests for delay or exemptions.

a. Requests will be considered only upon written
application submitted by the member concerned. Re-
quests which do not contain the complete information,
documentary evidence, and other required data will be
returned to the individual with specific indication of
the additional information desired.”’

* * * * *

(c) Requests for delay or exemption submitted on
the basis of extreme personal or community hardship—

(1) May be considered when the extreme
personal or community hardship condition oc-
curs net more than 6 months prior to receipt
of alert or active duty orders.

(2) May not be considered when such hard-
ship condition existed at the time applicant sub-
mitted DA Form 1140-1 (Army Reserve Status
Verification Questionnaire) as prescribed in
AR 140-25, whichever is the more recent, and
applicant failed to request transfer from the
Ready Reserve by reason of hardship.”

3-14. Action by area commanders and CO,
USAAC, and CO, USARCPC. The commander hav-
ing responsibility for the administration of delay and
exemption procedures over USAR members under
their jurisdictional control will take the actions out-
lined below on requests for delay or exemption sub-
mitted by such members.

NEARY SLI MEAT 2 YL EY TAN REY . LNT RE CIE ROME SEE SPEER

LAO ee ee Me PPR ee OD eT)

12

a. Notify the reservist of the decision rendered on
request for delay or exemption.

b. When the request is denied, notify the member
of such denial and reason therefor, together with his
right to appeal such decision.”’

3-15. Appeals. |

a. General. Appeals for reconsideration of denial
of requested delay or exemption may be considered
when the member can furnish additional evidence
which may warrant further review of his original
request. When the basis of the appeal is for reasons
other than furnished in the original request, such re-
quests will be processed as an initial request for delay
or exemption.

Se ee ee ae

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385604_0521%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
