# Brief in Opposition to Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Roeth v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385604_0310%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Brief in Opposition to Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1968
- **Citation:** 390 U.S. 1016

## Text

SUPREME COURT. U, &

In THE

Supreme Court of the Anjteditates cx

Ocroser Term, 1968

Docket No. 821

=e

GeneraL True Corporation,
Petitioner,
—against—

Secvarrms ann Excuance Commyssion, Tattzy Inpusrrres,
Iwo., Amentcan Investors Funp, Lye., and Cuestwurr
Corporation,

nn ne — —— we

BRIEF OF RESPONDENT TALLEY INDUSTRIES, INC.,
IN OPPOSITION TO PETITION FOR
WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Water L. Srratron
Two Wall Street
New York, New York 10005
Counsel for Respondent
Talley Industries, Inc.

Brece P. McAuuster
Bensamin Vian
Roger W. Karr

Donovan Leisurt Newron & Invive
OF Counsel

=

rl

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE
Introductory Statement ... 1
The Pertinent Statutes ....... " 3
Sections 1(a) and 1(b) of the Act
Section 17(d) 4
Counter Statement of the Issue Presented 6
Counter Statement of the Case .... 7
1, The Facts ......... 7
2. The Proceedings Below ..... 12
ARGUMENT

I. Petitioner Has No Standing to Appeal Where
the Judgment Sought to Be Appealed Was Not
Adverse to It 17

II. Petitioner Lacks Standing and the Determina-
tion Below to That Effect Does Not Conflict
With Any Principles Enunciated by This or
Any Other Court 18

III. The Relief Which Petitioner Demands Against
Its Co-Defendants Would Contravene the Basic
Purpose of the Investment Company Act ........ 23

ConcLuUsION .. 26

ii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

PAGE
Cases:

A. C. Frost & Co, v. Coeur D’Alene Mines Corp., 312
Fe COED Bikintieictene eatin 24
Allied Artists Pictures Corp. v. D. Kaltman & Co., 283
FN, TER Ci Bi TID sesisnentninensevssinstnritinnnssennion 26
Ambassador, Ine. v. United States 325 U.S. 317 (1945) 18
Armstrong Paint & Varnish Works v. Nu-Enamel

Corp., 305 U.S. 315 (1988) ............. 24
Baker v. Carr, 369 U.S. 186 (1962) ....... 19
Boston Tow Boat Co. v. United States, 321 U.S. 632

STITT" sccnssccinrahstouniccnleeuasasoiniestanlbesasicblcoaiesiaiesimaiabaeliaseniidahias 18
_Brown v. Bullock, 194 F.Supp. 207 (S.D.N.Y. ‘ aff'd,

294 F.2d 415 (2d Cir. 1961) ............... 20

Chicago v. Atchison, T. & S.F. Ry., 357 U.S. 77 (1958) 18

Edward Hines Trustees v. United States, 263 U.S. 143

(1923) | 18
Eisen v. Carlisle & Jacquelin, 391 F.2d 555 (2d Cir.

1968) 22
Flast v. Cohen, 392 U.S. 83 (1968) .. 19, 20
Fuqua v. Bidwell, 281 F.2d 753 (6th Cir. 1960) ........ 17

Greater Iowa Corp. v. McLendon, 378 F.2d 783 (8th
Cir. 1967) .. 18, 21

Hamilton Trust Co. v. Cornucopia Mines Co., 223
Fed. 494 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 239 U.S. 641 (1915) 19

Hansberry v. Lee, 311 U.S. 32 (1940) oY ae

Hardin v. Kentucky Util. Co., 390 U.S. 1 (1968) ........ 19

iil
PAGE

Hartford Empire Co. v. United States, 323 U.S. 386

MRL ES Reet Disercene onto ee meee ene 25
Hecht Co. v. Bowles, 321 U.S. 321 (1944) ..........- 13, 25, 26

L. Singer & Sons v. Union Pac. R.R., 311 U.S. 295
CRE iihiciihnccesccenconns ” 18

In re Michigan-Ohio Bldg. Corp., 117 F.2d 191 (7th
Che IY crs rciecccseicconngecinosssesiainterianeninatscenmimenannonis 19
Mayer v. National Missile & Electronics, Inc., 326 F.2d
401 (9th Cir. 1964) ...............-..-.-- 19
Milgram v. Loew’s, Inc., 192 F.2d 579 (3d Cir. 1951), |
cert. denied, 343 U.S. 929 (1982) .........-...--ecsceccseceeseeneees 18
Moore Ice Cream Co. v. Rose, 289 U.S. 373 (1933) ..... 19

Pacific Ins. Co. v. Blot, 267 F.Supp. 956 (S.D.N.Y.

VOGT) nesececenssnseorvereenevenorastavenssetecneciineninenauensneene . 2
Parr v. United States, 351 U.S. 513 (1956) ................ 17
Pennsylvania R.R. v. Dillon, 335 F.2d 292 (D.C. Cir.),

cert. denied, 379 U.S. 945 (1964) 18
Puente de Reynosa, S.A. v. City of McAllen, 357 F.2d

43 (5th Cir. 1966) .. 19
SEC v. New England Elec. System, 390 U.S. 207

(1QGB) eseverorsceriseressrarcnesssvarscsesanegedaossvenesonessensennsenscmeonsoesens 25
Sprunt & Son v. United States, 281 U.S. 249 (1930) .... 18
Stark v. Wickard, 321 U.S. 288 (1944) 18

Taussig v. Wellington Fund, Inc., 313 F.2d 472 (3d
Cir.), cert. denied, 374 U.S. 806 (1963) ..............--.--- 20

United States v. Oregon State Med. Soc’y, 343 U.S.
326 (1952) ................ 25

Webb v. Beverly Hills Fed. Sav. & Loan Ass’n, 364
F.2d 146 (9th Cir. 1966) ... = 1S

Bremer eat nereeperant eran ERs ARNE AUR E eet

Cee RR TRS COO IN et ag a2 ORE EEN CRS a TRACER:

ph a ne ay EF

Te? hs eee ee

iv
PAGE

Statutes and Rules:
Investment Company Act of 1940, 15 U.S.C. § 800-1

et seq.
§ 1(a) Sassen eaaniathiiaieidinies ae
renee tell san ntactnbecitenioneioimece 3,4
§ 2(a)(3)(B) -........... owvsennsncsens wvvenssaneenns
§17(a) ...... aie BOLE ATER AAT RRC 4
§17(b) ‘ 7 4
§ 17(d) a ..4-5, 22-24, 26
§ 42(e) 17, 25
SEC Rule 17d-1 ...... 5, 23

Legislative History:

Hearings on S. 3580 before a Subcommittee of the
Senate Committee on Banking and Currency, 76th
Cong., 3d Sess., 1940, p. 1116 23

H.R. Rept. No. 2639, 76th Cong., 3d Sess., 1940, p. 9... 23

Investment Company Act of 1940 Release No. 5128
(October 13, 1967), p. 2 5, 23

Investment Trusts and Investment Companies, Rept.
of the SEC, Part Three, “Abuses and Deficiencies
in the Organization and Operation of Investment
Trusts and Investment Companies” 22 (1939) ........ 23

Public Policy Implications of Investment Company
Growth, H.R. Rept. No. 2337, 89th Cong., 2d Sess.
(1966), p. 307 4

Treatises:

Jaffe, Judicial Control of Administrative Action 475
et seq., 501 et seq. (1965) 19

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OcrosEeR TERM, 19F8

Docket No. 821

——»—
GENERAL TIME CORPORATION,
Petitioner,
—against—

SECURITIES AND ExcHANGE ComMIssION, TALLEY INDUSTRIES,
Inc., AMERICAN InvesToRS Funp, Inc., and CHESTNUTT
CoRPORATION,

Respondents.

—

BRIEF OF RESPONDENT TALLEY INDUSTRIES, INC.,
IN OPPOSITION TO PETITION FOR
_ WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Introductory Statement

The instant petition for certiorari is the last of a series
of efforts by the lame-duck management of General Time
Corporation (“General Time”) to maintain itself in office
despite the fact that it was voted out of office on April 22,
1968 at the annual meeting of its stockholders. This it
now seeks to accomplish in an action which it did not bring,
in which no lawfully protected rights or interests of Gen-
eral Time are involved, and in which the Securities and
Exchange Commission (the “Commission”) which brought
this action has rested content with the decision of the Dis-

Pi caceranisre oes prdee tt 2
04

2

trict Court, sought no appeal therefrom and has not peti-
tioned this Court for review on certiorari.

The petition fails to make clear that the sole aspect of
the judgment below which petitioner seeks reviewed is the
nature of the equitable relief that was awarded in favor
of the Commission against petitioner’s co-defendants,
Talley Industries, Inc. (“Industries”) and American In-
vestors Fund, Inc. (the “Fund”). Indeed, it is simply not
possible to understand the nature of this litigation from
the petition.

The suit below was one brought by the Commission as
plaintiff against respondents Industvies, the Fund and
Chestnutt Corporation. In its complaint, the Commission
charged these defendants with violation of §17(d) of the
Investment Company Act of 1940 (hereinafter the “Act”)
sought broad injunctive relief. Petitioner was only a
nominal defendant below. No relief was sought by or
agaist it in the action. Its presence in the case at all was
simpy to provide a means to permit the court to preserve

dystries’ General Time stock should be granted.

As the Court of Appeals stated below, petitioner is “en-
deavoring on this appeal to vault from its position as a
nominal defendant to that of a plaintiff and to take over
a role which the true plaintiff, the SEC, has abandoned.”
(Pet. App. A, 14a)*

* Refers to pages in the Appendix to the petition herein.
References to pages in the body of the petition are indicated
by “Pet. ——.” References to the Appendix in petitioner’s pre-
vious petition in this case (Docket No. 512) are indicated by
“Pet. App. —— in Docket No. 512.”

roman in Rasa eR

3

The facts have been carefully detailed by the Court of
Appeals below in its first (July 31, 1968) opinion in this
case (reported at 399 F.2d 396). A description of the
salient facts, however, including those leading to the sec-
ond opinion (November 19, 1968) of the Court of Appeals
below ( F.2d ——; unofficially reported at CCH Fed.
See. L. Rep. { 92,303, p. 97,437, and reproduced in Pet. App.
A, la-15a) is presented infra in our Counter Statement of
the case.

The Pertinent Statutes

Sections 1(a) and 1(b) of the Act

The Investment Company Act of 1940 (54 Stat. 815,
15 U.S.C. § 80a-1 et seq.) is introduced by sections 1(a) and
1(b), which are quoted in Pet. App. D, 25a-28a. Although
the petition treats these two sections as though they were
one and the same, the two are quite different. Section 1(a)
lists those factors which describe Congress’ understand-
ing of why “investment companies [were] affected with a
national public interest.” Section 1(b), on the other hand,
enumerates those vices which Congress deemed adversely
affected the national public interest and the interest of
investors and which were meant to be corrected by the Act.

Thus, while §1(a) refers to the fact that investment
companies “customarily invest and trade in securities issued
by, and may dominate and control or otherwise affect the
policies and management of, companies engaged in busi-
ness in interstate commerce,” this condition was not de-
clared adverse and the Act was not designed to regulate
it. The Commission has recently reported to Congress:

4

“(Neither the Commission nor the Congress of 1940
saw any need to preclude investment companies from
acquiring dominant positions—if their managers chose
to do so—in the enterprises in which they invest. Ac-
cordingly, the Act in general imposes no restrictions on
the capacity of investment companies to control the
enterprises in which they invest.” Public Policy Im-
plications of Investment Company Growth, H.R. Rept.
No. 2357, 89'". Cong., 2d Sess. (1966), p. 307.

Among the conditions, however, which were deenied ad-
verse and were listed as such in §1(b) of the Act was
“(2) wher» investment companies are organized, operated,
managed or their portfolio securities are selected, in the
interest of directors, officers, investment advisors, deposi-
tors or other affiliated persons thereof ... rather than in
the interest of all classes of such companies’ [i.e., the in-
vestment companies’] security holders.”

Section 17(d)

As one step toward correcting the abuses referred to in
§1(b)(2) above, Congress passed $17 of the Act. Thus,
§17(a) (with which we are not here concerned) prohibits
sales, purchases or loans between an investment company
and an affiliate, and subsection (b) provides that the Com-
mission shall grant exemptions from such prohibition on
the basis of criteria appearing in that section.

Section 17(d), with which we are concerned in the case
at bar, prohibits transactions participated in jointly by
an investment company and its affiliate in contravention of
such rules and regulations as the Commission might pre-
scribe “for the purposes of limiting or preventing partici-
pation by such registered investment company ... on a
basis different from or less advantageous than that of such

5

other participant.” That section, in pertinent part, reads
as follows:

“Tt shall be unlawful for any affiliated person of...
a registered investment company .. . acting as prin-
cipal to effect any transaction in which such registered
company ... is a joint or a joint and several partic’-
pant with such person . . . in contravention of such
rules and regulations as the Commission may pre-
scribe for the purpose of limiting or preventing par-
ticipation by such registered . . . company on a basis
different from or less advantageous than that of such
other participant ... .” (Emphasis added.)

The SEC recently gave its administrative interpretation
to § 17(d) in a release which it issued in October 1967:

“Section 17(d) and Rule 17d-1, taken together, are
designed to regulate certain situations where persons
making the investment decisions for the registered or
controlled company may have a conflict of interest and
the danger exists that the investment company or. its
controlled company may be overreached by such affili-
ated persons. ...” Investment Company Act of 1940
Release No. 5128 (Oct. 15, 1967), p. 2.

The July 31st opinion below pointed out:

“The objective of §17(d) of the Investment Com-
pany Act is to prevent affiliated persons from injuring
the interests of stockholders of registered investment
companies by causing the company to participate ‘on a
basis different from or less advantageous than that of
such other participant.’” Pet. App. A, 4a.

Counter Statement of the Issue Presented

The issue presented is whether or not General Time has
standing ‘o appeal from a final decree entered by the Dis-
trict Court and affirmed by the Court of Appeals below
in an action brought by the Securities and Exchange Com-
mission a,ainst the Fund and Industries for alleged viola-
tion by the Fund and Industries of §17(d) of the Invest-
ment Company Act (15 U.S.C. § 80a-17(d)) and SEC Rule
i7d-1 thereunder (17 C.F.R. § 270.17d-1), said statute and
rule being designed to protect the Fund from participation
in a joint transaction with ar. affiliate, Industries, “on a
basis different from or less advantageous than” that of its
affiliate, when

(1) General Time, as a portfolio company, that is, a
company in which the Fund and Industries have each
made an investment, is outside the scope and protec-
tive coverage of the provisions of §17(d) of the invest-
ment Company Act of 1940 that were put in issue in
the action below brought by the Securities and Ex-
change Commission and there was no finding below of
any injury to any legal interest of General Time on
the facts of record;

(2) General Time was only a nominal defendant in
said action;

(3) no relief was sought against General Time in
said action and no relief is directed against. it in said
final decree;

(4) plaintiff Securities and Exchange Commission
and defendants Fund and Industries have not sought
review of the final decree entered by the District Court
and affirmed by the Court of Appeals (in fact, plaintiff
Securities and Exchange Commission did not even ap-
peal to the Court of Appeals); and

7

(5) General Time’s s¢!* objective is to seek to have
included in the remedial portion of the final decree
provisions for relief which are inconsistent with the
purpose of §17(d) (i.e., protection of the Fund and its
shareholders) and which were so found to be by the
Court below, petitioner’s aim being to prevent Indus-
tries and Fund from voting the shares of General Time
held by each to oust the management of General Time
from office.

Counter Statement of the Case

1. The Facts

Fund is a registered investment company. Industries
is an “affiliated person” of the Fund within the meaning
of § 2(a)(3)(B) of the Act by virtue of Fund’s ownership
of over 5% (i.e., about 9%) of Industries’ outstanding vot-
ing stock, which Fund had purchased in the open market.

On December 29, 1967, Franz G. Talley (“Talley”), Presi-
dent of Industries, telephoned the Fund’s offices to speak
to Kenneth Haupt, an analyst employed by the Fund
whom Talley had met at the time Fund purchased its
stock in Industries. By reason of the nature of the call,
Haupt referred Talley to George Chestnutt (“Chestnutt”),
President of the Fund. Talley’s telephone call was
prompted by the fact that he believed the Fund had con-
fidence in Talley and in the management of Industries,
as evidenced by Fund’s having accumulated a large amount
of Industries’ outstanding stock. Talley told Chestnutt
that Industries had purchased stock in General Time, that
it intended to buy more and that it had in mind the pos-
sibility of a future merger with General Time. Talley
asked whether Fund might also wish to buy some General
Time stock.

: —_ , we enemas eee et i

8

After consulting with his counsel, Chestnutt reported
back to Talley that the Fund would examine the situation,
but that if the Fund did buy stock in General Time it
would maintain it:s independence and would make no
agreement with Inc.ustries as to voting, disposition of the
stock or whatever. Several days later, after further con-
sideration of the riatter, Chestnutt determined that Fund
should take a posit’on in General Time. He was motivated
both by his study of the company’s earnings and of its
chart performance and by a belief that if Industries sought
a merger the stock would rise as a result of that offer or
of others it might stimulate. Fund subsequently did buy
210,000 shares at an average price of $28.49 per share.
Industries’ 257,937 shares, most of which were acquired
after Fund had completed its purchases, were acquired
at an average cost to Industries of $36.76 per share.

On February 19, 1968, Talley met with members of the
management of General Time and expressed Industries’
desire to negotiate a merger with General Time. General
Time’s management considered the matter but decided to
fight any such proposal and so informed Talley. On Feb-
ruary 25, 1968, General Time sued Industries and Fund
in the Southern District of New York charging, inter alia,
that they had violated $17(d) of the Act. Management
sought injunctive relief which would disfranchise Fund and
Talley.*

*The District Court dismissed General Time’s complaint on
April 17, 1968 on the basis of General Time’s lack of standing to
assert such a cause of action. 283 F. Supp. 400. On appeal, that
decision was affirmed. —— F.2d —— (2d Cir., October 23, 1968,
Docket No. 32300), unofficially reported in CCH Fed. See. L.

eel phat SES Nil U8, “SS A I ll Na Cas

9

On February 29 Industries demanded a copy of General
Time’s list of stockholders, which was not, however, forth-
coming until litigation, brought and won by Industries in
Delaware, eventually forced the list from General Time
several weeks later.*

During March, Industries organized and sponsored an
Independent Stockholders Committee of General Time
Corporation (the “Committee”). The Committee made
preparations to solicit proxies for the election of its nomi-
nees for director of General Time in opposition to the
management’s slate at the annual meeting of stockholders
scheduled to be held on April 22, 1968.

On March 25, following an investigation by the Com-
mission (pursuant to its statutory authority under 4 42(a)
of the Act) into General Time’s charges that Industries
and the Fund had violated §17(d) of the Act, the Com-
mission notified Industries that the Committee’s proxy
solicitation material would not be cleared unless Industries
filed an application with the Commission under Rule 17d-1
for approval of what the staff considered a joint transac-
tion falling within § 17(d) of the Act. Under that co..pul-
sion, Industries did file such an application, seeking a
declaration of non-applicability of §17(d) or, in the alter-
native, retroactive approval, and Fund joined in the
application. Reference to the application was made in the

Rep. {| 92,291, p. 97,389. General Time has announced that it does
not intend to seek certiorari with respect to that §17(d) case,
which it brought as plaintiff (see Pet. 20 n.).

* After time-consuming attempts to conduct oral examination
on issues which the Chancery Court (and subsequently the Su-
preme Court) of Delaware ruled were irrelevant, General Time
defaulted. An order was entered against it and management was
forced to deliver a stockholder list to Industries.

10

Committee’s proxy statement and the statement was
thereupon cleared by the Commission. Fund in no way
participated in the proxy contest, either before or after
the Committee’s proxy statement was cleared.

Neither Fund nor Industries had known or believed that
their actions could be construed as a “joint transaction”
requiring prior SEC approval. As they viewed the situa-
tion, there had been no promises, agreements or arrange-
ments of any kind, as Chestnutt emphasized there would
not be when he told Talley at the outset that the Fund
would reserve full independence as to how it might vote
its General Time stock and as to when and whether it
might dispose of it.

The Commission set Industries’ application down for
hearings to commence on April 16, 1968. In the interim,
the management of General Time negotiated a prospec-
tive “bail-out merger” * with a juke box and vending ma-
chine company from [Illinois (The Seeburg Corporation).
Chestnutt found the terms of that proposal “so shockingly
unattractive that I couldn’t believe that the newspaper re-
port [of April 15, 1968] could be accurate.” On Thursday,
April 18th, the Fund announced that it intended to vote
its stock against the management and in favor of tke
Committee’s slate and the Fund so informed the Commis-
sion on the record in the administrative proceedings.

The hearings, which had begun on April 16th, ended
on April 18th. The following day the Commission heard
oral argument and thereupon filed its Memorandum Opin-

* The plan to merge General Time and Seeburg was announced
as being contingent upon the continuation of General Time’s then
present management.

il

ion and Order Denying Application* reciting the per-
tinent facts and concluding that “Under these circumstances
we think it clear that Industries and AIF [the Fund]
entered into and carried out a joint arrangement within
the meaning of Section 17(d) and Rule 17d-1 to acquire
GTC [General Time] stock by concerted action.” The
Commission’s Memorandum Opinion and Order Denying
Application made no reference to Fund’s intention of vot-
ing its holdings for the candidates supported by Indus-
tries but noted its “continuing jurisdiction under Section
17(d) and Rule 17d-1 over any future transfers by Indus-
tries of the GTC stock it has acquired in violation of these
provisions.”

On April 5, 1968, General Time had filed the second
of its lawsuits against Industries, the Fund and others,
this one charging that the Committee’s proxy solicitation
was false and misleading. General Time again sought an
order disfranchising Industries and the Fund. General
Time applied twice for preliminary injunctive relief but
was twice denied such relief on the facts. The second
application was made on the morning of April 22nd, the
day of the stockholders’ meeting, but when that applica-
tion was denied** the stockholders’ meeting proceeded.

At the stockholders’ meeting the ballots were cast (in-
cluding those of Industries and of the Fund for the Com-

* Reproduced in Pet. App. D, 46a-50a, in Docket No. 512, Oct.
Term 1968.

** On appeal by General Time, these two rulings of the District
Court were affirmed, F.2d —— (2d Cir. Docket 32299, Oc-
tober 23, 1968), unofficially reported at CCH Fed. Sec. L. Rep.
| 92,291, p. 97,889. General Time’s petition for certiorari to re-
view that affirmance bears October Term 1968 Docket No. 716
in this Court.

12

mittee’s slate), and the meeting was adjourned to May 3rd
to permit the inspectors of election to count the votes and
prepare their report. By reason of the litigation which
ensued, however, the stockholders’ meeting was repeatedly
recessed, at first by stipulation and subsequently by court
order, until it was permitted to be completed on December
2, 1968. On that date, the inspectors of election reported
that the Committee’s candidates had received 979,235 votes
against 882,159 votes for the incumbent directors, a margin
in favor of the Committee’s candidates of 97,076 votes.
By reason of the Court of Appeals’ order of November
19, 1968 (see Pet. App. C, 23a-24a), the newly elected
directors of General Time (2.e., the Committee’s candidates)
are stayed from taking office pending final determinations
by this Court in Docket Nos. 512, 716 and 821.

2. The Proceedings Below

On May 1, 1968, while the stockholders’ meeting was in
recess to permit the count of ballots, the Commission
brought the instant litigation seeking an order which
would, inter alia, require Industries and Fund to withdraw
the votes each had cast on April 22nd in favor of the Com-
mittee’s slate, and which would permanently enjoin Indus-
tries and the Fund from voting their shares in the future
for any directors whose names had been or might be pro-
posed by Industries or for any merger or consolidation of
General Time and Industries.*

* The petitioner’s characterization to the contrary notwithstand-
ing, the Commission did not bring suit “to protect its primary
jurisdiction under the Act” (see Pet. 3) by “compel[ling] respon- |
dents to seek Commission approval” of their voting, past or future
(see Pet. 5). The complaint sought a permanent injunction against
any such voting. See Pet. App. A, 9a-10a, in Docket No. 512.

13

After an expedited trial, the District Court dismissed
the Commission’s complaint on the basis that §17(d) had
not been violated. 286 F.Supp. 50 (S.D.N.Y. 1968), re-
produced as Pet. App. B, 19a-38a, in Docket No. 512.
The Commission appealed and the Court of Appeals re-
versed (399 F.2d 396), holding that whatever might be the
Court’s own views as to whether the facts showed a “joint
transaction,” the Commission’s findings, having been sup-
ported by “substantial evidence,” were binding. As to re-
lief, however, the Court of Appeals noted that the Com-
mission had not purported to make any order concerning
remedy. The Court ruled that the case was a suit in
equity and not an action to enforce an administrative order,
and that it was therefore the responsibility of the courts
to “‘do equity and mould [the] decree to the necessities
of the particular case.’ Hecht Co. v. Bowles, 321 U.S. 321,
329 (1944).” (Pet. App. A, 17a, in Docket No. 512)
Finding that the violation had not been deliberate, that
disfranchisement was basically punitive and that (as it
then appeared to the court) an order such as was sought
by the Commission would hurt the Fund and its share-
holders rather than effect the Congressional purpose of
protecting them, the Court of Appeals remanded to the
District Court with instructions to that Court to formulate
an appropriate decree.*

On remand, contrary to Petitioner’s assertions that the
District Court refused to permit an evidentiary hearing

* Apparently anticipating that the Commission would be unable
to marshal further evidence or argument in the District Court that
disfranchisement was appropriate to the statutory purpose, Gen-
eral Time petitioned this Court for review of the July 31, 1968
decision of the Court of Appeals (see Docket No. 512) and sought,
unsuccessfully, in that Court and before Mr. Justice Harlan, to
stay proceedings in the District Court pending such review.

14

(Pet. 7), the District Court invited the Commission to
introduce whatever evidence bearing on relief it chose to
offer. The Commission, however, did not choose to offer
any further evidence at all. The court announced that it
did not intend to hear any evidence from the nominal
defendant, General Time, whose interests were different
from (in fact, obviously antagonistic to) those of the
Fund’s shareholders. However, General Time asked for,
and was granted, time until the following day to prepare
and submit an offer of proof. The offer, when made, was
not so much an offer of proof as an offer to conduct cross-
examination of adverse witnesses to ascertain whether
there might in fact se any evidence from which argument
might be made.*

The Commission persisted in the District Court in its
earlier argument that the final decree ought to contain
provisions forcing Industries and Fund to withdraw the
votes each had cast at the 1968 meeting of stockholders of
General Time. (Such an order would have meant, of
course, a victory by default for management.) The Com-
mission again urged that the wrongdoers should be de-
prived of the “fruits of their wrong” so as to “deter similar
future violations” by others. The Commission argued that
if such relief damaged those whom the Act was meant to
protect, z.e., the stockholders of the Fund, they might seex
redress against the individuals responsible.

* Petitioner asserts that in this endeavor its position was sup-
perted by the Commission (Pet. 7). This statement is not really
true. Counsel for the Commission did suggest that the court re-
ceive evidence from General Time, regardless of General Time’s
status, “if General Time does have evidence that is relevant and
material to the shape of the decree and that might be helpful to
your Honor in that connection. . . .” The court persisted, how-
ever, in its ruling that while it would take any evidence that the

PE 00 Ra Risa 6 cata a Tals VE hte bia ial 2 OD Sh A PARES Aoi Gag g

15

Having in mind the July 31st decision of the Court of
Appeals, and on his own consideration of the matter, Dis-
trict Judge Wyatt ruled that “to the extent that I am
permitted to make an independent finding and determina-
tion, I have made that finding and determination that no
such injunctive relief is appropriate.” (See Pet. App. A,
8a.) Judge Wyatt thereupon declined to include in the
decree any provision that the April 22nd votes of Indus-
tries and the Fund be withdrawn.

In its July 31st opinion the Court of Appeals noted the
nature of one aspect of equitable relief it believed might
be appropriate, z.e., “a prohibition against sale of its shares
by Industries without according Fund a fair opportunity
to participate.” (Pet. App. A, 17a, in Docket No. 512) The
final decree formulated by the District Court did impose
extensive restrictions on any disposition by Industries of
its General Time stock, giving the Fund equal or prefer-
ential treatment with respect to any sale.

The management of General Time was, of course, dis-
appointed that it was unable to pluck victory in the election
out of the ashes of the Commission’s litigation despite the
fact that the stockholders of the Company had voted them
out of office. Management, therefore, caused an appeal
from the final decree to be filed in the name of General
Time Corporation with the Court of Appeals.

The Securities and Exchange Commission did not ap-
peal.*

Commission wanted to present, it would not accept evidence from
General Time. The Commission chose to offer no evidence.

* The Court of Appeals invited the Commission to submit a brief
as amicus curiae and the Commission did so. The Commission’s
brief, however, expressed no opinion on the central question of

Beet ernie nis Ward dace eRe eicuhcraan emai aeED

16

On November 19, 1968, the Court of Appeals affirmed the
final judgment entered by the District Court. In its opinion
(Pet. App. A) the Court of Appeals noted that this was
not an action for the enforcement of a Commission order
providing for specific relief. It was a suit in equity, sub-
ject to judicial concepts of equity. The court found that
the defendants’ violation of §17(d) had not been willful
and held that punitive relief was not warranted. The
Court of Appeals ruled that the relief decreed by the Dis-
trict Court accomplished the purpose of §17(d) of protect-
ing the Fund and its shareholders. In any event, the court
held, General Time—a purely nominal party defendant—
had no standing to assert a claim under §17(d) or to
appeal in the case at bar from the relief awarded in favor
of plaintiff, the Commission, against defendants Fund and
Industries.

whether or not General Time had standing to appeal. In its brief,
the Commission admitted that it took “no particular exception”
to the substantive provisions of the final decree.

RGB CBT RALLIES ADELE LO PONE te AAD REE tio OS

Sa

17

ARGUMENT

I.

Petitioner Has No Standing to Appeal Where the
Judgment Sought to Be Appealed Was Not Adverse to It.

The instant action was brought, not by General Time,
but by the Securities and Exchange Commission in per-
formance of its role of overseeing enforcement of the In-
vestment Company Act under §42(e) thereof, 15 U.S.C.
§41(e). The Commission elected not to appeal from the
final judgment of the District Court, and has not sought
review here of the judgment of the Court of Appeals.

General Time was before the courts below as a nominal
party defendant. No judgment was entered against it.*
Nonetheless, General Time now purports to seek review,
claiming that the courts below did not go far enough with
respect to the relief granted against its co-defendants.

The law is clear that not every party to a judgment is
entitled to appeal from it, but “only one injured by the
judgment sought to be reviewed can appeal ....” Parr v.
United States, 351 U.S. 513, 516 (1956). Accord, Fuqua v.
Bidwell, 281 F.2d 753, 754 (6th Cir. 1960). Since the judg-
ment below was not in any way adverse to General Time,
petitioner has no standing to seek review of it. Ibid.

“It is settled law that even a party cannot appeal from
a decision which is not adverse to him. [Citations

*The District Court did direct that the stockholders’ meeting

reconvene and that the further business thereof (which had been
stayed during the litigation) be completed. General Time has not
objected to those provisions of the final decree. On December 2,
1968, the meeting was reconvened and its business was completed.

18

omitted.] The decree of the district court was not
directed at the intervening defendants. Where an in-
junction is granted, one cannot generally appeal from
the order unless he is directly or indirectly restrained
from the performance of some act.” Milgram v.
Loew’s, Inc., 192 F.2d 579, 586 (3d Cir. 1951), cert. de-
nied, 343 U.S. 929 (1952). °

See also Ambassador, Inc. v. United States, 325 U.S. 317,
325-26 (1945). General Time, having been in no way preju-
diced by the injunctive decree entered against its co-defen-
dants, simply had no standing to appeal from that final
decree and has no standing to seek review in this Court.

Petitioner Lacks Standing and the Determination Be-
low to That Effect Does Not Conflict With Any Prin-
ciples Enunciaicd by This or Any Other Court.

The general rule is well established by dev‘sions of this
Court and Federal courts of appeals that in order to have
standing to maintain an action a party mast be a member
of the class intended to be protected by the statute and
must have suffered the kind of injury against which the
statute was designed to protect. Stark v. Wickard, 32%
U.S. 288, 304 (1944); Boston Tow Boat Co. v. United
States, 321 U.S. 632, 634 (1944) ; L. Singer € Sons v. Union
Pac. R.R., 311 U.S. 295, 301, 364 (1940); Sprunt & Son v.
United States, 281 U.S. 249, 255 (1930); Edward Hines
Trustees v. United States, 263 U.S. 148, 148-49 (1923);
Greater iowa Corp. v. McLendon, 378 F.2d 783, 790, 793-94
(Sth Cir. 1967); Pennsylvania R.R. v. Dillon, 335 F.2d 292,
294-95 (D.C. Cir.), cert. denied, 379 U.S. 945 (1964). Chi-

a

bills as? eth wan se

19

cago v. Atchison, T. @ S.F. Ry., 357 U.S. 77 (1958), is not
to the contrary, see Hardin v. Kentucky Util. Co., 390 U.S.
1,.6-7 (1968). His injury, moreover, “must be immediate
and pecuniary ard not a remote consequence of the judg-
ment,” Hamilton Trust Co. v. Cornucopia Mines Co., 223
Fed, 494, 499 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 239 U.S. 641 (1915).
Accord, In re Michigan-Ohio Bldg. Corp., 117 F.2d 191,
193 (7th Cir. 1941); Mayer v. National Missile & Electron-
ics, Inc., 326 F.2d 401, 402 (9th Cir. 1964). See Webb v.
Beverly Hills Fed. Sav. & Loan Ass’n, 364 F.2d 146, 149
(9th Cir. 1966). And “a merely nominal party to an action
cannot appeal.” Hamilton Trust Co. v. Cornucopia Mines
Co., supra. Accord, Moore Ice Cream Co. v. Rose, 289
U.S. 373, 383 (1933).

Petitioner cites this Court’s decisions in Baker v. Carr,
369 U.S. 186 (1962), and Flast v. Cohen, 392 U.S. 83 (1968),
as well as the Fifth Circuit’s decision in Puente de Reynosa,
S.A. v. City of McAllen, 357 F.2d 43 (5th Cir. 1966), for
the proposition that traditional principles of standing are
no longer to be applied by courts and that all that is now
required is evidence of a suticiently strong interest on the
part of the plaintiff in the outco:e of the case so that the
courts may rest assured that the issues will be well framed
by the litigants. These cases involved the problem of de-
fining principles of standing to assert the public interest
against alleged violations by a governmental body of a
Constitutional or statutory prohibition. There is a clear-
cut distinction between the problems of standing raised by
such “public actions” and the concern for standing in the
case of private claims, see, e.g., Jaffe, Judicial Control of
Administrative Action 475 et seq., 501 et seq. (1965); and
as this Court noted in Flast v. Cohen, supra, 392 U.S. at

SOE: as bt a nt

20

101-02, there are “various rules of standing applied by
federal courts [which] have not been developed in the
abstract” but rather “have been fashioned with specific
reference to the status asserted by the party whose stand-
ing is challenged and to the type of question he wishes to
have adjudicated.”

In most “public actions,” as in Flast v. Cohen, there is
no one person or class of persons which can be singled out
as the proper person or class of persons entitled to sue.
The problem in these actions is not so much one of stand-
ing as it is one of other aspects of justiciability—.e., either
a suit can be maintained by any citizen to vindicate the
public right or it can be asserted by none. See generally
Flast v. Cohen, 392 U.S. at 98-101 and n.17. As this Court
went on to point out in Flast, even in a public action, where
there is a particular class of persons most clearly affected,
then “the federal standing doctrine would require that
standing be limited to .. . the affected class.” 392 U.S. at
105 n.25.

In the instant case, unlike the situation in Flast v. Cohen
and similar cases, we are concerned only with standing to
assert private rights, and the test is whether the party,
here a nominal party, is within the class that the statute
was designed to protect and suffered the kind of injury
that the statute was designed to protect against. The au-
thorities that support this statement are cited above.

The Investment Company Act has been held to create
private rights of action which are enforceable at the suit
of a person intended to be protected by the Act. Brown v.
Bullock, 194 F.Supp. 207, 228 (S.D.N.Y.), aff'd, 294 F.2d
415 (2d Cir. 1961); Taussig v. Wellington Fumd, Inc., 313

21

F.2d 472, 476 (3d Cir.), cert. denied, 374 U.S. 806 (1963) ;
and the general principles of standing have, of course, been
heid applicable in suits brought thereunder. In Taussig,
supra, the court inferred a private right of action on the
part of the stockholder of an investment company against
the management company under $35 of the Investment
Company Act, and noted that “a breach of statutory duty
which causes injury to one of the class that the statute
serves to protect affords by implication a sufficient basis
for a private civil suit by the injured party.” Conversely,
where plaintiffs are not persons within the class intended
to be protected, they do not have standing to assert a claim
under the Act. Greater Iowa Corp. v. McLendon, 378 F.2d
783, 790, 793-94 (Sth Cir. 1967).

In Greater Iowa, plaintiffs were the issuer corporation
and its directors and the defendants were an insurgent
group of stockholders who had formed a voting trust.
Plaintiffs alleged that defendants’ trust was in reality
an unregistered investment company in violation of the
Investment Company Act, and plaintiffs sued to enjoin
the defendants from proceeding, through the instru-
mentality of that trust, with steps designed to permit
defendants to secure control. The court held that plaintiffs
lacked standing to bring such an action “because they are
not within the class that the statute was designed to pro-
tect.” 378 F.2d at 793. The court ruled that:

“Plaintiffs are merely fellow shareholders and the is-
suer of securities held by this alleged investment com-
pany. We see no basis under this Act that the issuer
company can oversee the trading of its securities or
object to the method in which its shares are acquired
or the persons who acquire them.” Id. at 794.

Ee a

22

Similarly, in the case at bar, General Time, as merely the
“issuer company,” has no standing to oversee joint transac-
tions alleged to violate an Investment Company Act pro-
vision intended to guarantee equal treatment to one of
its stockholders (7.e., the Fund) in a joint transaction
participated in by another of its stockholders (7.e., Indus-
tries). General Time simply is not a member of the class—
the Fund or the Fund’s shareholders—which §17(d) was
designed to protect.

Petitioner’s attempts below to espouse the cause of the
Fund and the Fund’s shareholders (see its offer of proof
below) was a sham. Petitioner cannot be heard to assert
the rights of a class to which not only does it not be-
long, but to whose interests it is plainly antagonistic. See
Hansberry v. Lee, 311 U.S. 32, 44 (1940); Eisen v. Cariisle
& Jacquelin, 391 F.2d 555, 562 (2d Cir. 1968).

23

Hil.

The Relief Which Petitioner Demands Against Its Co-
Defendants Would Contravene the Basic Purpose of the
Investment Company Act.

Congress was explicit as to the purpose of §17(d) in
the language of the statute itself. Thus, joint transactions
are proscribed if they contravene rules and regulations
to be prescribed by the Commission “for the purpose of
limiting or preventing participation by [a registered in-
vestment company] on a basis different from or less ad-
vantageous than that of” its affiliate. The statute was
designed to protect investment companies and their stock-
holders from being taken advantage of by affiliates. Hear-
ings on S. 3580 hefore a Subcommittee of the Senate
Committee on Banking and Currency, 76th Cong., 3d Sess.,
1940, p. 1116; H.R. Rept. No. 2639, 76th Cong., 3d Sess.,
1940, p. 9. Investment Trusts and Investment Companies,
Rept. of the SEC, Part Three, “Abuses and Deficiencies
in the Organization and Operation of Investment Trusts
and Investment Companies” 22 (1939). And see Section
1(b)(2) of the Act, 15 U.S.C. § 80a-1(b)(2). In a recent
release the Commission gave its administrative interpre-
tation:

“Section 17(d) and Rule 17d-1, taken together are de-
signed to regulate certain situations where persons
making the investment decisions for the registered
and controlled company may have a conflict of interest
and the danger exists that the investment company or
its controlled company may be overreached by such
affiliated persons. ...” Investment Company Act of
1940 Release No. 5128 (Oct. 13, 1967), p. 2. (Emphasis
added.)

hs WALA ISAS. .”

24

But the relief petitioner seeks is wholly inconsistent
with the interests of the Fund and its shareholders. Peti-
tioner would ask this Court to ignore the language of
§17(d) and misapply the statute against the explicit pur-
pose for which it was enacted, all for the benefit of peti-
tioner’s management. But “to construe statutes so as to
avoid results glaringly absurd, has long been a judicial
function.” Armstrong Paint & Varnish Works v. Nu-
Enamel Corp., 305 U.S. 315, 333 (1938).

In A. C. Frost & Co. v. Coeur D’Alene Mines Corp., 312
U.S. 38 (1941), this Court refused to interpret the Secur-
ities Act of 1933 to bar the corporate issuer of unregis-
tered stock from recovering the proceeds of the issue from
the underwriter. Forfeiture of the issuing company’s
capital to a third party (the underwriter) would only have
injured the very persons (the purchasers who had become
stockholders of the issuer) whom the violated statutory
provision was designed to protect.

“Although the challenged contract bears no evidence
of criminality and is fair upon its face, we are asked
to apply a sanction beyond that specified by declaring
it null and void because of relationship to a public
offering. The basis for this demand is a supposed
federal public policy which requires such annulment
in order to secure observance, effectuate the legisla-
tive purpose and prevent noxious consequences. 312
U.S. at 42-43.

“....([T]Jo accept the conclusion . . . would probably
seriously hinder rather than aid the real purpose of
the statute. Id. at 43.

“.... And it would be anomalous to rest such an in-
jury to the investors upon the fact that the transaction

in which the securities were distributed violated the
Act, which was designed to protect those investors.”
Id. at 44 n.

General Time’s petition for certiorari passes over the
fact that the subject of this dispute is a final judgment
which determined the appropriate equitable relief to be
awarded on the fact findings below in an action for equita-
ble relief brought by the Commission under ¢ 42(e) of the
Act, 15 U.S. C. § 80a-41(e). It was not error for the court
below not to grant all of the injunctive relief sought by
the Commission. No order of the Commission decreed
such relief.* (See Pet. App. A, 8a.) By invoking equity,
the Commission submitted itself to judicial concepts of
equity. The court below found that the violation was the
result of innocent mistake, that Fund and its shareholders
had not been injured in any way, and that the defendants’
conduct did not therefore justify drastic punitive relief.
This Court has consistently held that purely punitive re-
lief, such as that rejected below, is outside the province
of equity and ought not be allowed in a court of equity.
See, e.g., United States v. Oregon State Med. Soc’y, 348
U.S. 326, 333 (1952); Hartford-Empire Co. v. United
States, 323 U.S. 386, 409 (1945); Hecht Co. v. Bowles, 321
U.S. 321, 329 (1944).** Furthermore, disfranchisement,

* Thus, as the court below noted, such cases as SEC v. New Eng-
land Elec. System, 390 U.S. 207 (1968), are inapposite.

** Indeed, the SEC has gone on record previously to reject as
improper the form of relief which it sought in this case. See Pacific
Ins. Co. v. Blot, 267 F.Supp. 956, 958 (S.D.N.Y. 1967), where
“the Court notes its concurrence with the Commission’s view that
permitting the [issuer] corporation to disable a purchaser from
exercising his rights as a shareholder under state law—even if his
purchase violated Rule 10b-5—‘seems unnecessarily drastic and
potentially unsettling for the securities markets and corporate af-

the court found, would be inconsistent with the purpose
of protecting the Fund and its shareholders. These deter-
minations were entirely within the discretion of the court.
Hecht Co. v. Bowles, 321 U.S. 321, 326-29 (1944).

No case has ever held or suggested that a court of equity
must grant injunctive relief—particularly the kind of dras-
tic relief sought here—where in the opinion of the court
it would be unjust and improper. On the contrary, the
general rule, as stated by this Court in Hecht Co. v. Bowles,
321 U.S. 321 (1944), and quoted by the court below (Pet.
App. A, 8a-9a), is that “The essence of equity jursdiction
has been the power of the Chancellor to do equity and to
mould each decree to the necessities of the particular case.”
321 US. at 329.

The foregoing principles are beyond dispute, and cer-
tainly there is no need for certiorari in the instant case.

CONCLUSION

The delay that has already resulted from this litigation
has doubtless harmed all of the real parties in interest
herein. At this writing, two-thirds of the term to which
the Committee’s candidates for director of General Time
Corporation have been ejected has expired. Whatever
other purpose Section 17(d) of the Investment Company
Act of 1940 may have been designed to serve, it was not
designed to perpetuate in office a management which has
been rejected by those who own the stock of the corpora-
tion.

fairs.” (Memorandum of the Commission, p. 9).” Accord, Allied
Artists Pictures Corp. v. D. Kaltman & Co., 283 F.Supp. 763, 765
(S.D.N.Y. 1967).

i nn RE

27

For that reason, and the reasons stated above, we pray
that the instant petition for certiorari be promptly denied.

Respectfully submitted,

Watter L. Srratron,
Two Wall Street
New York, New York 10005,
Counsel for Respondent
Talley Industries, Inc.

Breck P. McAtuistEr,
BENJAMIN VINAR,
Rocer W. Kapp,
Donovan Leisure Newton & Irvine,
Two Wall Street
New York, New York
Of Counsel.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385604_0310%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
