# Petition for A Writ of Certiorari — Shapiro v. Shapiro

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385603_1559%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for A Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1968
- **Citation:** 393 U.S. 836

## Text

FILED

JUN 22 1968.

SUPREME COURT. U. &

eh a
In the Se eo,

‘Supreme Court nf the Mnited States

— TERM, 1968

IRVING SHAPIRO, |
_ Petitioner,

LEE T. SHAPIRO, | i
Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
_ APPELLATE COURT OF ILLINOIS, FIRST
! JUDICIAL DISTRICT

CHARLES A. BELLOWS
‘10 South La Salle Street
Chicago, Illinois 60603
Attorney for Petitioner
JASON E. BELLOWS

SHERMAN C. MAGIDSON
On the Brief

ee aan
UNITED STATES LAW PRINTING CO., CHICAGO, ILL. 60618 LA keview 5-6581

o

+,

>

| | PAGE

Opinions Below ....... 1
Jurisdiction : " ne 2
Question Presented ies 2
Constitutional Provisions, Statutes and Rules Involved 3
Statement , : salle 7 4

Reasons for Granting the Writ. ; TERS
~ Conclusion ......... ms oe

CITATIONS OF AUTHORITY _

- Cases
Airline Stewards and Stewardesses Ass’ n V. “Quinn,
. 35 Ill.2d , 106, 219 N.E.2d 499 ....... 12
Allen v. ei Se 166 US. 138 Sit 13 |
“ Bozarth v. Bozarth, 399 Ill. 259, 77 N.E.2d 658... 6
_ Burns v. Burns, 35 Ill.App.2d 34, 181 N.E.2d 605 16, 18
’ Burns v. Ohio, 360 U.S. 252 é&. 14
Douglas v: California, 372 U.S. ‘353 —< 2
Kisler v. United States, 338 U.S. 189 ; 13
Griffin v. Illinois, 351 U.S. 12 o-eeesocesseceeneeen 14.
Hovey v. Elliott, 167 U.S. 409 .......... 14
National Union of Marine-Cooks and Stewards v. =
* Arnold, et al., 348 U.S. 37 -.......... 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17 .

| Ee PAGE
Constitutional Provisions
Fourteenth Amendment to the Constitution of the

United States - tee 3, 11, 12, 13,18 -

Article VI, Section 7 Constitution of the State of
Tlinois ...... . 3, 11, 12

Statutes and Rules

IlRev.Stat., 1965, Ch. 110, $101.36 5
Til.Rev.Stat., 1965, Ch. 110, §101.41(2) : . 2H
Il.Rev.Stat., 1967, Ch. 110A, §301 .............. : 6
ILRev.Stat., 1967, Ch. 110A, §308 ......” stg
Iy.Rev Stat, 1967, Ch. 110A, §317 antecvveinereerenens 1
Tll.Rev.Stat., 1967, Ch: 110A, §325 .......... 6
IlRev.Stat., 1967, Ch. 110A, $342 ..... | 7
Ill.Rev.Stat., 1967, Ch. 110A, §343 ....... 3, 4, 14, 15
Illinois Civil Practice. Act, Sec. 76 (Laws 1965, p. 628,

§1 | :

Miscellaneous

Committee Comments, Illinois Supreme Court Rule
343, Smith Hurd Annotated en 1967, Ch.
110A, §343 °... 15

Be the | aie eae
| Hupreme Court pf the United States

Octoser Term, 1968

No.
IRVING SHAPIRO, . ,
| ee Petitioner,
vs.
LEE T. SHAPIRO, ror.
Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
APPELLATE COURT OF ILLINOIS, FIRST
"JUDICIAL DISTRICT .

Petitioner, Irving Shapiro, prays that a writ of certiorari
be issued to review the judgment of the Appellate Court of
Illingis, First Judicial District, entered in this cause on
November 13, 1967, and November 28, 1967.

‘Es sar: OPINIONS BELOW
oh | _ No opinions were rendered by Ahe. courts below.

ie

_.. JURISDICTION
The judgment of the Appellate Court (Appendix: A, |

_ infra) was entered on November 13, 1967. A motion to

vacate that judgment and for other ’ relief was denied on

_ November 28, 1967. (Appendix B, infra) A timely ‘‘Peti- ~

tiqn for Appeal As a Matter of Right, or, in the Alterna-
tive, for Leave to Appeal’. was denied by the Illinois
Supreme Court on March 27, 1968. (Appendix C, infra)
A. petition to reconsider that order was denied by the
Illinois Supreme Court on May 15, 1968. (Appendix’ D,

‘.tmfra) The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28

U.S.C. 1257(3).
QUESTION PRESENTED |

Whether a state reviewing court may, consistent with si
the due process and equal protection clauses of the Four-
teenth Amendment, deny appellate review in a civil case"
where Petitioner filed his 3,421 page recotd and fully per-

-fected his appeal by timely action, and thereafter made

timely requests, supported by affidavits, for extensions.
of time within which to file his brief and abstract of record, .
the last of which requests. was denied and judgment of
the reviewing court dismissing his appeal was entered;

‘and where, within four days thereafter and twelve days
from the date his brief and abstract were due, Petitioner

filed a 366 page printed abstract of the record, a 100 page

printed additional abstract of over 600 exhibits introduced

in the trial proceedings and a 71 page printed brief, to-
gether with a motion to vacate the judgment and for leave
to file his brief and abstract instanter, which motion was
denied; and where the state constitution grants all persons
an appeal as 4 matter of right and the timely filing of
briefs and abstracts is not a jurisdictional requirement?

. . ; . Sad » : . Se ee
3 : : . ;

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS, STATUTES
AND RULES INVOLVED ae 7

‘The Fourteenth Amendment to the Constitution of the |
United States provides in pertinent part:-

‘‘Section 1. * * * No state shall * * * deprive any
person of life, liberty, or property, without-due process -
- of law; nor deny to any person within its jurisdiction
the equal protection of the-laws.’’ .

Article VI, Section 7 of the Constitution of the State —
of Illinois provides in pertinent part:

_£ Tn all cases, 6ther than those appealable directly
‘to the Supreme Court, appeals from final judgments
of a Circuit Court lie as a matter of right to the

_ Appellate Court * * * ”’-

Former Rule 41(2) of the Illinois Supreme Court (Ill.
Rev. Stat., 1965, Ch. 110, ms 41(2)) provided in pertinent :
part:

‘¢ * * * Tf in any cause, whether on ‘appeal or writ
‘of error, either the abstract or brief is not filed within
the time proscribed, the appeal or writ of error will,
on the call of the docket, be dismissed. * ** ”? § ~

Present Rule 343 of the ‘Illinois Supreme Court (Iil.Rev.
Stat., 1967, Ch. 110A, §343), euperseting former Rule
41(2), provides:

. (a) Time. The brief of the enpdent é in the review-
ing court shall be filed, with proof of service, within
35 days from the filing of the record on appeal, except
that in cases in- which a reviewing court grants leave
to appeal or allows an appeal as of right the appellant
shall file his brief within 35 days from the order allow- -
ing the appeal. Within 35 days from the due date of
the appellant? ’s brief, the appellee’ shall file his brief
in the reviewing court with proof of service. Within
14 days from the due date of the appellee’s brief, the
: appellant may serve and file a reply brief. Any reply
brief ¢ an — or other party —— by rule

4.

=

341(h) shall - filed within 14 days from the due date
of the appellant’s reply brief. A party who allows his
petition for leave to appeal or his answer to stand as
‘his brief shall notify the other parties and the clerk
of the reviewing court.

(b) -Exterding or Shortening Time. The réviewing
court or a judge thereof, sua sponte or upon the mo-
tion of a party supported by an affidavit showing good .

“. cause, may extend or shorten the time of any party
to file a brief.

STATEMENT

hoepentent, hereinafter sometimes referred to as ‘¢plain-
tiff’’, initiated proceedings in the Circuit. Court. of -Cook
- County, Illinois, for separate maintenance from Petlioner
on October 9, 1961. (R. 9)! Various orders awarding
temporary support and attorneys’ fees were entered in
favor of plaintiff. In addition, a separate action for par-
tition of real property owned by the parties as joint
tenants, filed by plaintiff on June 22, 1962, was consolidated
for trial with the suit for separate maintenance. (R. 232)
This matter, however, was determined in a summary pro-
ceeding. (R. 312-314) The issues in the suit for separate
maintenance (and in a counter-claim for divorce filed, by
defendant) were heard by a jury and a verdict rendered
in favor of plaintiff on July 8, 1963. (R. 700) Thereafter,
on September 22, 1966, a decree of separate maintenance -
was entered. (R. 899-908) On October 21, 1966, .Peti-
tioner filed his notice of appeal from portions .of this
~decree, the temporary support orders and awards for

1“R.”\references are to the page of the record of proceedings in

the Circnit Court. of Cook County, Illinois, filed in the Appellate

Court Of Illigois, First Judicial District, as the “Record on Appeal”
~ and certified by that court to this Comt.

§ .

attorneys’ fees which preceded the decree, and the decree
of partition which had been entered in the consolidated ~
case” (R. 928) His praecipe for record was filed on the
same date. (R. 930)

On November 22, 1966, at Petitioner’s request, the time
for filing the report of proceedings was extended from
December 10, 1966, to and including December 13, 1966,
by each of the four trial judges who had heard a portion
of the proceedings. (R. 949, 953, 957, 963) The four por-
tions of the report of proceedings were approved on De-
. cember 13, 1966. (R. 973-979) Ten days later Petitioner
filed a ‘‘short record’” in the Appellate Court of Illinois,

2A party to a civil action in Illinois had and still has thirty days
from the entry of judgment or decree within which to file his notice of
appeal. Illinois Civil Practice Act, Sec. 76 (Laws 1965, p. 628, §1) ;
Ill.Rev.Stat., 1967, Ch. 110A § 303.

3 Undeg Illinois law at the time, the report of proceedings (tran-
script of evidence) must have been approved by the trial judge and
filed with the clerk of the trial court within 50 days after the filing
of the -notice of appeal. The ¢rial judge was permitted to extend
the time for filing the report of proceedings an additional 45 days.
Ill.Rev.Stat., 1965, Ch. 110 § 101.36(1)(c).

4 At the time, Petitioner was allowed ten days after. filing the
report of proceedings to file his record on appeal in the reviewing
court. IJl.Rev.Stat., 1965, Ch. 110 § 101.36(2)(d). Provision was
made, however, for the filing of a “short record” consisting of
“enough of the record on appeal to show a final order, judgment or
decree, notice. of appeal filed in proper time, proof of service of a
copy * * *, the praecipe for record and proof of service and any
other parts ‘af the record * * * necessary to the application made.”
Til.Rev.Stat., 1965, Ch. 110, § 101.36(2)(b). The reviewing court
was authorized to. extend the time for filing the complete record.
Tll.Rev.Stat., 1965, Ch. 110, § 101.36(2) (e). :

Hay nto reer prety wens

6

First 5 udicial District, and his —- was timely and
formally docketed.°

At the same time, Petitioner moved the Apueiiate Court
for the entry of an order extending the time for filing
the complete record to.and including January 22, 1967,°
setting forth by affidavit of his attorney that the clerk of
the Circuit Court had been unable to complete the com-
pilation of the entire record within the time allotted be-
cause of the number and volume of pleadings, orders and
exhibits. (App. E, infra, pp. App. 4-5)?- This motion was

‘allowed. Petitioner filed a certification that the record

was completed for filing on « anuary 19, 1967, thus per-
fecting his appeal. "

Thereafter, on February 9, 1967, a further decree pro-
viding for payment of alleged arrearages, awarding Re-
spondent $10,000 for defrayal of attorneys’ fees in con-

5 Although failure to docket an appeal on time might be considered

cause for dismissal, only the filing of the notice of appeal is juris-

dictional. Bozarth v. Bozarth, 399 Ill. 259, 77 N.E.2d 658; see also,

-Til.Rev.Stat., 1967, Ch. 110A, § 301. There is no question here,

however, that the appeal was docketed on time.
® See footnote 4, supra.

7™“App. E” references are to the page of Appendix E in which
Petitioner’s motions in the Appellate Court, and affidavits in support
thereof, have been reproduced in chronological order. These motions
and the orders in response thereto have been certified. to this Court
as part of the record of the Appellate Court. —

8 fIlinois law permits the filing of such a certificate rather than the
record itself. Ill.Rev.Stat., 1967, Ch. 110A, § 325.

7

nection with the aforestated appeal, entering a rule to
show cause to issue against Petitioner and setting a hear-
ing to;determine further attorneys’ fees was entered by
the Circuit Court of Cook County. (R. 1076B, F, H; 1090-
1091) Petitioner filed a timely notice of appeal from these
decrees (R. 1093) and, in due time, filed his record in the
reviewing court. His motion to consolidate this appeal with
his first appeal was granted.

Prior to the order consolidating appeals, and subsequent
thereto, Petitioner filed timely motions for extensions’ of
time within which to file his brief and abstract.® Each of
these motions, except the last, was. supported by an afii-
davit of counsel explaining the cause for the request!® and

® One practice under Illinois law requires an Appellant to file -an
Abstract of Record, which may be described as a summarization, or
abstraction, of the original papers and orders comprising the “com-
mon law record” portion of the record on appeal, and a narration
of the pertinent testimony recorded in the “report of proceedings”
portion of the record on appeal.:Ill.Rev.Stat., 1967, Ch. 110A, §342e.

10 Petitioner made seven such motions. All were opposed by Re-
spondent. His first, filed on February 17, 1967, was supported by
an affidavit reciting that the appeal would be affected by.supple-
mentary hearings (see text, pp. 6-7, supra), that he was preparing -
an appeal from adverse rulings in those hearings, and that he would
move to consolidate that appeal with the present appeal when it
was perfected. (See text, p. 7, supra) The affidavit also recited
that counsel was engaged in the preparation of two unrelated ap-
peals, and, because of these engagements and the size of the record
in the instant appéal, he was unable to complete the brief and
abstract within the time allotted to do so. Finally, counsel swore
that the application for additional time was not interposed for the
purpose of delay. ( App. E, infra, pp. App. 5-6)

Counsel’s affidavit in support of his second motion recited the
continued pendency of the related hearings (see text, p. 9, infra)
and the near pérfection of the appeal in that matter, the engagement

8

each, except that one, was granted, except. that the ‘time
allowed was usually less than requested. The last order

of counsel in a prior unrelated matter of length and complication

before the Appellate Court, and the length of the record in the in-

stant case, as well as the prospective length and complexity of the

brief, as matters which had prevented him from completing the brief

and abstract. Cotnsel again affirmed that the extension of time

‘ was not sought for the purpose of delay. (App. E, infra, pp. App.
“ 7-8)

Counsel’s affidavit in support of the third motion recited that he
was engaged in the preparation of the brief and abstract for the
now consolidated appeals, that the abstract was unusually—volumi-
nous because of .the size. of the record and required an unusual

oot amount of time in its preparation, and that counsel had been en- -
gaged in preparation for an extensive hearing before the Interstate
Commerce Commission in New York City previously set for the
month of June 1967. Again, counsel swore that the extension of
time was not sought for purposes of delay. (App. E, infra, pp.
App. 10-11)
. Counsel affirmed, in support of the fourth motion, that the ab-
stract had been prepared in draft form, that it was being typed and
proofread“in preparation for submission to the printer, that he was
commencing the preparation of the brief which promised to be
lengthy and complicated, and that other professional matters had
prevented him from devoting full time to this matter. As before,
counsel affirmed that the additional time was not sought for delay.
. (App. E, infra, pp. App. 12-13)

Counsel’s affidavit in support of his September 29, 1967, motion

" recited that he had been engaged in the preparation of the brief and
abstract but the intervention of two unrelated appeals and a two-
week trial in the United States District Court for the Northern
District of Illinois had prevented him from completing them. Again,
the motion was not interposed for delay. (App. E, infra, pp. App. °
13-14)

Counsel’s affidavit in support of his sixth motion, made on’Oc-
tober 24, 1967, recited that the abstract was being typed for sub- te
mission to the printer, that the brief was being prepared and that
his entire office staff was engaged in these tasks. Again, he af-
firmed that the extension of time was not sought for delay. On.

October 31, the Appellate Court allowed until November. 5th’ to
file the brief and abstract. (App. E, infra, pp. App. 15-16)

— — * ty
ere ET a TrPRRE " saieaae on re a ae .
‘

9

extended Petitioner’s time for filing his brief and abstract
to and including November 5, 1967.

On November 3, 1967, Petitioner requested an extension
of time to and including November 30, 1967, within which
to file his brief and abstract. This motion was supported
by the affidavit of an agent. of the U. S. Law Printing
Company affirming that Petitioner’s abstract had ‘been
submitted for printing, but stating that, because of the
size of the abstract-and other commitments, the printing
~ eould not be completed in time. (App. E, infra, p. App. 17)
On November 13, 1967, Petitioner’s motion was denied
and his appeals dismissed without opinion. (App. A, infra,
p. App. 1) :

Four days later, on November 17, 1967, Petitioner lodged —

his abstracts and brief with the clerk of. the Appellate.
Court, moved to vacate the order dismissing the appeal,
requested leave to file the brief and abstracts instanter,
and supported said motions by the affidavit of counsel
explaining the cause of hanes delay. (Aap. K, = pp.
App. 18-19)

The printed abstract which Petitioner tendered was 366
pages in length. It contained an abstraction of the plead-
ing filed and orders entered between October 9, 1961, the
date upon which the suit for separate maintenance was
initiated, and February 9, 1967, the date of the entry of
the last order appealed from. It also contained an abstrac-
tion of certain germane pleadings filed and orders entered

between March 7, 1967 and April 21, 1967. The remainder

of this volume was devoted to a concise narration of the
proceedings had in connection -with the filing of the plead-
ings and the entry. of the orders.

A second volume of the abstract, one hundred printed
pages in length, contained a summarization of over six

10

’ hundred plaintiff sg and yore ’s exhibits essential -
a determination of many of the points raised on appeal.”
* A vast number of these documents were checks and oe.
statements,

Petitioner’s Brief and Argument consisted of a two-
page statement of the nature of the case and the issues
raised on appeal, a seven-page statement of points and
authorities, a four-page statement of facts, a fifty-six-

page argument covering nine separate issues of law, and -

a two-page conclusion and prayer for relief, seventy-one
pages in all. Over forty authorities, including statutes, —
were cited in support of Petitioner’s position. He chal-
lenged the entire spectrum of orders entered by the trial

11 Some idea of the importance of these exhibits and the mag-
nitude of the task involved in abstracting and collating the exhibits
can be gained from an examination of Poirit VI of Appellant’s
( Petitioner’ s) Brief and Argument. Under. the caption “The’ Court
erred in finding that the defendant had an income of $20,000.00 to
$22,000.00 per year when the undisputed evidence received by the
court revealed that the defendant’s income from 1953 to 1961
averaged per year net approximately $15,419.00 and that for the
period 1961 to 1964 averaged approximately. $18,564.00 per year
net,” Petitioner analyzed a multitude of exhibits and from this
analysis argued (A) that the trial court abused its discretion in
awarding alimony amountipg to almost 60% of the defendant’s
annual income and bearing no reasonable relationship to the status
in life Which the parties maintained during the marriage; (B) that
the error was compounded by the failure of the court to consider
the income, business interests and separate estate of the plaintiff ;
and (C) that the trial court erred in refusing to admit certain de-
fense exhibits which evidenced plaintiff’s income, assets and business
interests. In making this analysis and argument, Petitioner con-
‘ structed a four-page “breakdown” of checks written by the parties
during the period January 1959 through July 1961 (the month the
parties separated). Petitioner also provided a summary of the
checks written by the parties during this period which showed the
month-by-month living expenses incurred by the parties.

SO IT TE AEN RE FEN ROS rpemgneres
- - al nt a a oh = >

11

court which adjudicated the property rights and financial
obligations of the parties, including various awards totaling -
$19,000 to the attorneys for the plaintiff as and for tem-
porary attorneys’ fees, attorneys’ fees in connection with
the partition suit brought by the plaintiff (consolidated
with the suit for separate maintenance, but summarily
disposed of in an independent proceeding, without hearing,
despite the verified answer raising. issues of fact filed: by
Petitioner), and _attorneys’ fees in connection with her
defense of the appeal, but exclusive of permanent fees for
the prosecution of the suit below. Two of the arguments
raised by Petitioner were based on orders entered by the
trial court subsequent to the docketing of the first appeal
and were encompassed with the second consolidated appeal..

The Appellate Court denied these motions, also without.
opinion. (App. B, infra, p. App. 1)

Thereafter, Petitioner petitioned the Illinois Supreme
Court for appeal as a matter of right, or, in the alternative,
for leave to appeal from the orders of the Appellate
Court.” On March 27, 1968, without opinion, the Illinois
Supreme Court denied leave to appeal. (App. ©, infra, p
' App. 2) Petitioner’s subsequent petition to reconsider that
order was denied on May 15, 1968, again’ without opinion.

(App. C, infra, p. App. 7

12Rule 317 of the Rules of the Supreme *Court of Illinois
(Ill.Rev.Stat., 1967, Ch. 110A, § 317) permits a party to seek
review of a decision of the Appellate Court as a matter of right
“in cases in which a question under the constitution of the United
States or of this state arises for the first time in and as a re@ult of
the action of the Appellate -Court.” The same rule permits an
alternative prayer for leave to appeal. Petitioner claimed, in the
Illinois Supreme Court, that the dismissal order violated his con-
stitutional rights to due process and equal protection and, under
Article VI, Section 7 of the Illinois Constitution, to appeal.

12 Nae hes ae

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

Article VI, Gostion 7 of the Illinois Constitution pro-
vides :

‘Tn all cases, wane than those saieiiie directly

to the Supreme Court, appeals from final judgments

of a Cireuit Court lie as a matter of right to the
Appellate Court * * * *” |

Thus, in Illinois, a party to a civil action has a constitu-

tional right of appeal.* Airline Stewards and Stew- ©

ardesses Ass’n v. Quinn, 35 Ill.2d 106, 219 N.E.2d 499.

Arbitrary or capricious action denying this right not

only violates the Illinois Constitution (Airline Stewards

and Stewardesses Ass’n v. Quinn, 35 Tll.2d 106, 219 N.E.2d

499, 500), but denies due process and equal protection
as well.

A similar we although raised in a significantly
different context, has previously been before the Court.
National Union of Marine Cooks and Stewards v. Arnold,

-et al., 348 U.S. 37. In ‘considering ‘whether a state ap-

pellate court violates either the Due ‘Process or the Equal

RIPE BABE

Protection Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment * * *

18 Although the Supreme Court of Illinois has previously held
that dismissing an appeal confers jurisdiction as a matter of right
in that Court to determine the propriety of the dismissal, “for if
the appellate court’s dismissal was improper, [appellant has] been
denied [his] constitutional right of appeal * * * as the order of
dismissal precludes review of the trial court action,” (Airline
Stewards and Stewardesses Ass'n v. Quinn, 35 I1l.2d 106, 219
N.E.2d 499, 500) that Court refused to consider the merits of the
Appellate Court’s action in the present case. As a consequence,
there has been no opinion, decision or holding on this question. —

« ‘ . ba

13 Laue ae

when it dismisses an appeal from a money judgment as a
reasonable measure for safeguarding the collectibility of
that judgment’? (348 U.S. at 38), the Court established
the framework within which the present Petition is com-
posed. First, the Court decided that a claimed violation
of the equal protection clause would not lie where ‘no

' showing has been made that anyone comparably situated
has been treated differently from petitioner.’ (348 U.S.
_.at 41) Second, the Court held that’the due process clause
_ was not violated where the dismissal was reasonably di-
rected at sustaining the effectiveness of the appealed judg-
ment against the petitioner’s attempt to frustrate it. (348
U.S. at 43-45) See also, Eisler v. United States, 338 U.S.

189; Allen v. Georgia, 166 U:S. 138.

Mr. Justice Black, joined by-Mr. Justice Douglas, dis-
senting, felt on the other hand that, since the state had
provided a system of appellate review, ,

««* * * proceedings in its supreme court are merely the
final step in the judicial process i trying cases and
. therefore cannot be conducted so as to deny that ‘due
_ process’ which the Fourteenth Amendment requires.
Cole v. State of Arkansas, 333 U.S. 196, 201-202, 68
S.Ct. 514, 517, 92 L.Ed. 644, and cases there cited. And
[the state] also must abide by the Fourteenth Amend-
‘ ment’s equal protection command in deciding who
can and who cannot appeal. Cochran v. State of Kan-
sas, 316 U.S. 255, 62 S.Ct. 1068, 86 L.Ed. 1453.’’ (348
U.S. at 4546) a :

The dissent viewed the dismissal order as ‘‘punishment”’
for the petitioner’s disobedience of a court order, ‘‘an
offense having no relation at all to the merits of the
plaintiff’s claim or to the petitionér’s defense.’’ (348
U.S. at 46-47) Because the appeal was a continuation of
the defense which began in the trial court and ‘‘From the
beginning, due process and equal protection have meant
that every defendant must be permitted to defend himself

os

in any court where his antagonist can appear and prose-
cute’? (348 U.S. at 47; see also, Hovey v. Elliott, 167 U.S.
409), and because that right belongs to ‘‘one who has vio-
lated the laws the same as one who has not”’ (348 U.S. at
47), the dissent criticized the dismissal as a violation of
Fourteenth Amendment rights. —

Without settling ‘the issues here presented—except, of
course, insofar as the dissent’s view would clearly support .
Petitioner’s ‘claim—National Union set the pace for later
decisions. Thus, when the Court learned that a transcript
of evidence was critical to effective appellate review of
criminal convictions in Illinois and that indigent defen-
. dants were being denied such review solely because they
could not afford transcripts, it condemned Illinois practice
as a deprivation of equal protection and instructed the
state to implement its appellate procedures to make them
‘ equally and fairly available to all. Griffin v. Illinois, 351
U.S. 12. A similar attitude was taken toward state pro-
cedures which denied effective review because of the lack
of counsel (Douglas v. California, 372. U.S..-353), or be-
cause of the lack of ability to prepay statutory docketing
fees (Burns v. Ohio, 360 U.S. 252). There is no particular
mystique which differentiates these later decisions merely
because-they were rendered in the course of criminal pros-
ecutions. As both the majority and dissent in National
Union pointed out, once providing for appeal, a state must
provide it equally and fairly to all. National Union of
Marine Cooks and. Stewards v. arm, et q., 348 U.S, 37,
43, 45.. apis , ;

As a consequence,,the question here presented is whether -
a state court may, within these limits described by National
Union, punish counsel’s delay — specifically permitted by
- Rule (Ill.Rev.Stat., 1967, Ch. 110A, §343) —by denying

15” aoe.

his client appellate review. The question is highlighted
by the fact that here the delay did not evince a disregard
for the rules of court, did not threaten the effectiveness of
the judgment and was non-jurisdictional in nature.

In Iinois, the timely filing of briefs and abstracts

is not a jurisdictional step in the process of appeal. . |

Prior to the adoption of new Rules of the Supreme Court
. of Illinois, if a brief or abstract were not filed within the |
time prescribed, the appeal would be dismissed on the .
call of the docket. Ill.Rev.Stat., 1965, Ch.110, §101.41(2).
New Supreme Court Rule 343 (- Tl. Rev.Stat., 1967, Ch.110A,
§343), dealing with the filing of briefs and abstracts, omit-
ted that provision. The committee which drafted those
rules noted in connection with this omission:

‘‘The provision in the former rule that if a brief or
abstract was not filed within the time prescribed the
appeal would be dismissed on the call-of the docket was
omitted as both too strict and unnecessary, ‘The court
has the inherent power to dismiss an appeal for any
breach of its rules, although a less drastic remedy
would normally suffice. In the'rare instances in which .
a brief of an appellant is inexcusably not filed on time,
the court can exercise this power without any. provi-
sion in the rule specifically authorizing it to do so.’’

‘Whether. this most drastic remedy should have been im-
posed in the present case, therefore, raises questions of
due process and equal-protection unlike those settled in
National Union. There, it was decided that the-petitioner .
had attempted to frustrate the effectiveness. of the state
court’s judicial process by his actions. (348 U.S. at 43-45)
It was also shown that this conduct.did jeopardize the
effectiveness of this judgment. (348 U.S. at 44) Here, .
not only did the failure to file Petitioner’s brief and ab-
stract on time not jeopardize the effectiveness of the orders

POE LA OWS | Pee POT ah OREM, Sp GOING: LCL FSA LET IE NOE THD 0G Oe eT em Bae cr

16

and decrees being appealed, but the circumstances demon-
strate that the delay in filing was not inexcusable nor an
attempt to frustrate the judicial process. Petitioner under-
took a formidable task by his appeal. The record, which
he was required to abstract. consisted of several volumes
and exceeded 3,400 pages, including both the pleadings and
' the report of proceedings. In addition, over 600 exhibits
were essential‘to a proper determination of the points raised
on ‘appeal. Petitioner was diligent in filimg his record
on appeal, doing so three days before he was required.
Thereafter, he duly requested extensions of. time within
which to file his brief and abstract, supported by the affi-
davit of his attorney setting forth concise, but valid reasons
why the brief and abstract had not been completed. In each,
counsel swore that the request was not interposed for the
purpose of delay. The last request was occasioned by the
inability of the printing company to complete the printing.
There were no unexplained delays; the Appellate Court was
not left wondering, as it is in so many other cases, as
to the progression of the appeal, the reason for the delay,
and indeed whether Petitioner had made arrangements for
an appeal at all. It was, as the dissent in National Union ©
pointed out (348 U.S. at 46), as though the dismissal were
punishment for disobedience of the time regulations for
filing rather than a means for safeguarding the judgment
itself. This is made clear by the fact that, also ‘unlike
National Union, the appeal was summarily dismissed. See
also, Burns v. Burns, ‘35 Ill. App. 2d 34, 181 N.E.2d 605.

When, four days after the order dismissing his appeal
and twelve days after his brief and abstract were. due,
Petitioner sought leave to file these documents and vacate
the dismissal, the Appellate Court was assured—if it had
ever harbored any doubt—that Petitioner had been en-
‘gaged in this formidable task as his counsel had sworn.

LOSE DOE LE ENR PEE SOS A RAE gh RAEN SOG) POSV SDN ESOT EERO ee or 19 sy pce

“i:

The court had the two abstracts and the brief before it.
It could see from the size and complexity of these docu-,
ments that more than a few days had gone into their prep-
aration. And at this time counsel repeated that the delay
/ in filing these documents had been due to the inability of
the printing company to complete the printing involved
by November 5th, the date on which the documents were
due, and that the printing had been completed within
twelve days only because the company had devoted all of
its time and energies to the task. K (App. E, infra, pp. Bead ;
18-19.)

Whether a reviewing court may, under these circum-
_stances, totally deprive a party in a civil action appellate
review of asserted trial court errors is as important a
question as whether a state may deny effective appeal on
the basis of other arbitrary standards. The majority in
National Union held that the equal protection claim could
not be sustained because no showing had been made that
petitioner had been treated differently from anyone com-
_ parably situated, (348 U.S. at 41) Although no such show-
ing is made here, none could possibly be made.* The
nature of the circumstances assertedly justifying: the
dismissal defy the making of any such showing. Exten-
sions of time for filing briefs and abstracts are granted in
Illinois. So also are reasonably prompt motions for leave
to file these documents instanter after the time for filing

4 Statistics showing the average number of extensions of time for
filing briefs and abstracts granted parties to an appeal, the average
length. of time between judgment and filing of briefs or the reasons
why extensions are granted or denied are not available in Illinois.
There is, in short, apart from a case by case analysis, no way to
advise the Court whether the length of time or number of extensions
sought: in this case exceeded the norm, or whether the reasons
advanced by counsel met any informal, “average” standard.

18

has expired. It is safe to say that the requests made by ©
Petitioner here did not exceed those made by any other
comparably situated appellant in Illinois. No modern de-
cision in Illinois records the fate of any appellant who has
suffered as drastic a penalty as Petitioner under similar
circumstances. Compare, Burns v. Burns, 35 Ill. App. 2d
34, -181 N.E.2d 605.

That this matter is obscured somewhat by the failure of
_ the Illinois courts to enunciate the basis for denying Peti-
tioner’s state constitutional right to appeal is clear. But
the failure to take cognizance of this right also involved a
failure to comment on his rights to due process and equal
protection under the Fourteenth Amendment. As a conse-
quence, it is important for this Court to consider whether
the Fourteenth Amendment prohibits a state from denying
appellate review as a remedy for a failure to file briefs
and abstracts in time, where the delay is explained, does
not jeopardize the effectiveness of the judgment being
appealed, is promptly remedied, and is not jurisdictional,
and where the penalty is not proportionate to the ‘‘offense’’
nor to a fixed standard of experience. .

CONCLUSION

For the above and foregoing reasons, Petitioner re-
spectfully submits that the petition for a writ of certiorari
should be ‘granted.

Respectfully submitted,

Cartes A. BELLows

, Attorney for Petitioner

Jason E. BetLows |

Sueeman C. Macimson
On the Brief

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385603_1559%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
