# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Lazaros v. Michigan

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385603_1208%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1968
- **Citation:** 390 U.S. 986

## Text

uerary. — * | fempeiees

SUPREME COURT, U. & ie on
ee | JAN 29 .1968
nu 062. |: 29 1968 F

L JOH F. DAVIS, CLERK

| United Staten |

¥ Ss?

8S

January Term, 1968

CHARLES COBIA. and EVELYN COBIA,’

auc and - 7

- Petitioners,

v.

.THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA :
Respondent. .

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
-TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF -
APPEALS FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

- RICHARD RICHARDS
Attorney for Petitioners

200 Kiesel Building
Ogden, Utah $4401

“

4

%

INDEX |
Page
Opinions below ............ oan a. FF
Jurisdiction 0... ssiceeanacesantaie : — y
Questions presented ....... | nioccensaiillia 2
Statute involved «...............0:... - decie we
Statement ................- Ritalin : - el 4
Reasons for.granting the Pe LEK BOI Do ler 7
Conclusion: ........ — sgiciisai i cahigathb ince es — oe
Appendix A siishoniied dE Titel Senieladsiebias Al
Appendix B nnn oe ae
CITATIONS
Cases ‘
Johansen v. VJ. S., 343 U.S. 427, 96 L. Ed. 1051,
72S. Ct. 849, (1952) ongeeceeenceen ae 7-9
- United States v. Muniz, 374 U.S. 150, 10 L. Ed. 2d —
805, 83 S..Ct. 1850, (1963) irvenenennosevenoouenineonet 8-9
U. S. v. Udy, 881 F.2d 455, (1967) .ccccssssocssesssee 8
Solomon v. U. S., 276 F.2d 669, (1960) 2... 9
Goldstein v. U.S., 227 F.2d 1, (1955) .......0......... 10
STATUTES _ |
‘98 U-S. C. § 1966 en :
TS GA | aa ane ne ee ne
5 U.S.C. § 8116 ........... = eke

5 U. S. C. § 8128 .. enievasiiolansininaaa 4

in the Sian Court of the
Anited States” elt

January Term, 1968

CE ASLS COBIA and EVELYN COBIA,
~" husband and wife, |
Petitioners,

Vv.

THE UNITED STATES .OF AMERICA
: Respondent.

PETITION FOR A’ WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF
APPEALS FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

- The Petitioner prays'that a Writ of Certiorari be
issued to review the judgment of the United States
Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit entered in the -
above-entitled case on the 30th day of October, 1967.

~~ 1 a

OPINIONS BELOW:
‘The opinion of the Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals

- is prinetd in App. A, infra, pp. ‘A1-A8 and is. reported

in 884 F.2d 711 (1967). The opinion of the United”,
States ‘District Court for the District of. Utah is un-

‘reported and printed i in App. B,-infra, pp. B1-B-11. .

- JURISDICTION °

The judgment of the Circuit Court of Appeals
was entered on October 30, 1967, (App. A, infra, pp.

A1-A3). The jurisdiction of this court is invoked
3 under 28 U: S. C. Section 1254 (1).-

QUESTIONS PRESENTED
_ Whether . an award made under the Federal En-
ployees’ Compensation Act to an injured person not

_an empleyee within the meaning of the statute and

not injured while in the performance of his duty, can

thereby deprive the court of jurisdiction in a Federal

Tort Claims Act or deny the injured -persen the. right.
to pursue his remedy under the’ Federal Tort ‘Claims —

Act.

Whether receipt of benefits under the Federal
Employees’ Compensation Act by one not enititled,
constitutes an estoppel or ‘choice of procedure to bar
recovery under FTCA. |

. May: ‘the defendant invoke the d doctrine of sine
or choice of procedure when it was the defendant's

2

agents, servants, or ) employees that informed the peti- —

tioner of his right to the benefits under the FECA.
ae |. tS. ae

and where they have suffered no detriment. —

STATUTES INVOLVED

28 :U~ S. C. § 1346. (b) ‘“<# * * the district courts,

together with the United States District Court for the
District of the Canal Zone.and the District Court of
the Virgin Islands, shall haye exclusive jurisdiction of

_ civil actions on claims against the United States, for
- money damages, accruing on and after January 1, 1945, .
for injury or loss of property, or personal injury or.

death caysed by the negligent or wrongful act. or

omission of any employee of the Government while ©

acting within the scope of his office or employment,
under circumstances’ where the United States, if a

private person, would be liable to the claimant in accord-.

‘ ance with the law of the place where the act or omission
occurred.” a

5 U. S.C. § 8182. (a) “The United States shall
pay: compensation as specified by this subchapter for

the disability or death of an employee resulting from

_ personal injury’ sustained while in Ahe performance
of his duty * * *”

$U.S.C.§ 8116. (c) “** * The liability of the

United States or an instrumentality thereof under this °
subchapter or any extension thereof with respect to

the injury or death of ,an ‘employee is exclusive and
instead of all other liability of the United States or

r
| %
‘a

I

M . -

— 7

\._ the instrumentality to. the employee, his legal repre-

sentative, spouse, dependents, next of kin, and. any

... other person otherwise entitled to recover r damages

* * * ”

50'S. C. § 8128. (b} “ * ** The action of the -

Suiodinsy or his designee in allowing or denying a
payment under this subchapter is—(1) final and con-
clusive for all purposes. and with respect to all question
of law and fact; and (2) not subject to review by another
official of the United States or by a court by mandamus

or otherwise.”

STATEMENT

“The petitioner, CHARLES COBIA, a married .
man with five minor children, was employed by the .
United States Air Force at Hill Air Base near Ogden,
Utah. He*was an hourly employee obligated by .the
terms of his employment to punch a time clock as he
began hig work or completed his work on any given
day. On the 15th day of January, 1965, at the end |
of his working day he. punched out, left the building
in which he performed his labor, proceeded to a public
parking lot, designated No. 50 which was fenced out
from the military reservation, and boarded an automobile .
then owned: and driven by Mr. Verl Udy, and pro-
ceded, to leave Hill Air Force Base area and journey

to ‘bis home. At that same time, the access highway.. -

between petitioner's home and the air base was under °
construction and the United States Air Force allowed
their employees to re-enter . the military reservation
and travel along a road known as “perimeter: road”

4 we

—_

a

which emerged from the reservation closer to the town
of Ogden without entailing the inconvenience of travel
ing upon the highway that was then under construction.
Any re-entry to the base was strictly for the Convenience
of: the employee. :
>
After re-entering the military. reservation,»,the
petitioner and his companions traveled approximately
three miles from the parking lot and the building in .
which the plaintiff worked when an oil tank became’
“ ‘uncoupled from a motor vehicle ‘then owned and .op-
-erated by the defendant, crossed over the center line
of the highway dnd struck the automobile in which
the plaintiff was a passenger, killing the driver, Mr.
Verl Udy ,and inflicting serious injury on the peti-
_tioner. Shortly thereafter, petitioner experienced head-
aches, dizziness, loss of memory and suffered from
hallucinations. He was quite. disorganized, illogical, me F
_ had strange thoughts, would imagine things, would
hear’ voices, and was suffering from a market fear of
dying and hat voices Were telling him that.he was
going to die. (R 243) Within the first. two or three
days after his injury, while confined in a lotal hospital,”
certain employees of the defendant visited him in the
hospital and explained to him his rights and benefits
_ under. the, Federal -Employees’ Compensation Act.
(Xt 375) Petitioner delayed making’a decision relative
to application for benefits but on the 8th day of Feb-
ruary, 1965, he made application and benefits were.
ultimately awarded. Petitioner's mental condition grew * ,
progressively worse and before release from the hos-
' pital he had received a total of 37 electric shock treat-_
ments and 12 insulin shock treatments but did not

5

ar,

v

respond favorably. At the time he accepted the benefits,

- he was mentally .confused, irresponsible, and‘ had no

adequate understanding of the law or his rights under
the Compensation Act or under the Federal Tort Claims
Act. (R 146)

In May of 1966,- petitioner's wife secured legal
counsel for her husband, and on June 8, 1966, the peti-
tioner filed a Complaint against the United States of
America .invoking jurisdiction of the Federal Court
under provisions of Title 28, U. S. C., Section 1346 (b).

A substantial portion of the benefits paid’ to. the
petitioner were paid directly to the hospitals and
doctors who rendered medical treatment on his: behalf,

having paid to them the approximate sum of $10,000.00.

The trial court found that the ‘petitioner was not
in the performance of his duty at the time of his injury
and any determination to that effect was without sub-

stantial support in the evidence. (R 145) The petitioner’

had left his duty station, the building in which he per-

formed his labors, the ‘ ‘fenced in’ ” portion of the, military

reservation, checked out through the guard gate,
emerged from the public parking lot, re-entered.the mil-

itary reservation for his own convenience‘and journeyed

some three miles before becoming involved in an acci-:

dent. (R 140 to 143) The fact that petitioner was still on
thé premises was the sole factor that induced the award

of benefits under FECA. (R 280)

The trial court held the petitioner to be estopped

~ from asserting his claim under the Federal Tort Claims

Act upon th grounds that he had accepted the benefits
of FECA. The Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit

6

1

4

%

affirmed the trial court’s determination that the peti- -

tioner had no claim under the FTCA because he*had
exercised a ‘choice of procedure which denied review
by the courts.

1
®

.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

1. The decision of the court below in the instant .

case is in conflict with applicable decisions of this court.
This court has made it abundantly clear in Johansen
v. U.S., 843 U. S. 427, 96 L. Ed. 1051, 72 S. Ct. 849,
(1952) that where an employee is injured in the per-
formance of his duty his exclusive remedy is under the

Federal Employees’ se niaicah Act and the court |

» said at page 1057,

t

“There is no provision in the Compensation -

Act for an election between compensation and
other remedies.”

: The court. below in the instant case denied the
petitioner a remedy under the Federal Tort Claims
Act on the ground that he had “exercised a choice of
procedure which denies review by the courts”, ‘App.
A, p. 8). The implication of the decision below is that
petitioner had more than one remedy and since he had
made his choice or his election as the case may be he
is now precluded from, pursuing his action. under the
Federal Tort Claims Act.

, Petitioner believes that the J ohanses case, supra,
confers upon employees within the meaning of the act,
_the benefits of that act and they are in effect “fenced

in” but should not be construed to allow persons who

7:

+
Be ee eens oC aay ee Lee

. es

are not employees within the meaning of the act and
who receive injury while not in: the performance of
their duty to claim the benefits of the act, they are in
effect “fenced out”. Petitioner was not in the perform- .

ance of his duty at the time of the injury (R 145) and

cannot be included. His énly remedy therefore is the
FTCA. — | ,

2. The decision of the court below in the instant

case is directly in conflict with United States v; Muniz,

374 U.S. 150,.10 L. Ed. 2d 805, 83 S. Ct. 1850, (1963)
where the court interpreting the Federal Tort Claims
Act objected ‘to judicial determinations which narrowed

the remedy provided by Congress under’ the, Federal

Tort Claims Act. The court said at page 816,

“The FTCA provides much needed relief to
those. suffering injury from the negligence of
Government employees. We should not, at the

_same time the state courts are striving to miti-
gate the hardships caused by sovereign immu-
nity, narrow the remedies provided by Congress.
As we said in Rayonier Incorporated v, U. S.
Supra (352 U. S. at 320) “There. is no justifi-
cation for this court to read.exemptions into the
act beyond these provided by Congress, if the
act is to be altered that is the function for the
same body that adopted it.’ ”

_ The trial court in the instant case found that any

determination. that the petitioner was injured in the

performance of his duty was without substantial sup-
port in the evidence, (R‘145)” and in the companion
case to the instant case, U. S. v. Udy, 381 F.2d 455,
(1967) the Tenth:Circuit Court of Appeals in an iden-
tical factual situation upheld the lower court’s deter-

uv

8

mination that there was no basis upon which an award
could be made under the FECA. Clearly then, the

petitioner was not entitled to benefits under FECA —

and his only remedy was under the Federal Tort Claims
- Act. "

3. The questions presented here are of great im-
portance to the administration of the FECA and the
FTCA and will affect literally thousands of em: yees
- of the Federal Government. Johnson vs. U. S., Supra,
reinforces the. principle of exclusive-remedy under
FECA and U. 8.0. Muniz, Supra, denies narrowing

~~ sthe remedies under the Federal Tort Claims Act.

‘In the instant case the petitioner was not entitled to the
_ benefits under the FECA, but they were granted there-
by expanding the coverage of that act to cover persons
not entitled to benefits and in conflict’ with M uniz,

Supra, narrowing coverage under the Federal Tort‘

claims Act which was petitioner's proper and rightful
remedy.

4. The decision of the court below is believed to be
erroneous and in conflict with decisions of the Sixth
Circuit Court of Appeals in Solomon v. U. S., 276 F.2d
669, (1960) in which the court said at page 675,

_ “Kilection of remedies is a wal recognized

' principle of law, but, in order to be applicable,
certain facts must exist, one of which is that there
must be a choice, knowingly made? between two
inconsistent rights, either of which may be assert-

ed at the will of the chooser. If through a mistake

of material fact or of law, alternative remedies

- are not known to be available, the ‘selection of
‘” what later develops to be an improper remedy

?,

or . 9

does not constitute an election which will bar _

CONTE I TONNE Na re

4 < dsbleaaanhadanbisa bat icsein

we

Q

iy
the party. fren later asserting the correct remedy
which is available to him.” - v8

a

. The court cited Goldstein v. U. S., 227 F.2d 1,
(1955) decided-by the Eighth Circuit Court of ———
+ where the court there said, |

“The fact that one, , through mistake, attempts —
to exercise a right to which he is .not entitled, .

does’ not prevent him from exercising one which

he has.” —
5. The Court of as in the-instant case below

has sanctioned a departure. from the usual course of

judicial proceedings where the lower court held that
although the petitioner was not entitled to benefits
under the FECA. by virtue of the fact that he had
accepted benefits he was now estopped from asserting
his remedy under the Federal Tort Claims Act. Peti-
tioner bélieves this decision is erroneous and in conflict
with decisions of other court of appeals. The Govern-
ment here seeks the benefit of a determination made
under mistake of law arid fact. This is in conflict with
Goldstein v. U. S.,Supra, where the taxpayers attempt-
ed to take advantage of a mistake of law and fact
determined by the commissioners relative to the amount
of. taxes to be paid. The court refused to invoke the
doctrine of estoppel for acts or mistakes of its agents
or officers which the law does not authorize or permit
and refused to allow the taxpayers to seek a profit from
the mistake. of the commissioner in. their favor. The
same principle should apply in the instant case. The
mistake of law and fact in granting an award under

FECA was made by the Government and they peels

not be able to profit from said ‘mistake.
10— |

CONCLUSION | |
os For the foregoing reasons, this petition for 2 writ

of certiorari should be granted.

; Respectfully submitted,
o

RICHARD RICHARDS”) -

Counsel for Petitioner --

J anuary 24, 1968.

11

\

to COBIA, husband and wife,

. THE UNITED STATES OF

APPENDIX A

- UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

TENTH CIRCUIT _

SEPTEMBER TERM - 1967

CHARLES COBIA and EVELYN.

A ppellants, No
v. | ,

AMERICA, Appellee...

APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STAT

DISTRICT COURT FOR THE ‘. ~-

DISTRICT OF jUTAH

Richard Richards, Ogden, Utah (Firm’ of Froerer,

Horowitz, Parker, Richards, Thornley & Critchlow,
Ogden, Utah with him on brief ) for appellants.

Robert E. Kopp (Barefoot Sanders, Assistant Attor-
ney General, William T. Thurman, United States
Attorney, Morton Hollander and J.-F. Bishop, Attor-
neys, Department of Justice, Washington, D. C. with
him on brief) for appellee. |

Before PICKETT, HILL and HICKEY, Circuit
Judges | é

HICKEY, Circuit Judge

~ .

Ad

= Bh hn

fA
— a 4

é.

eo RE SE Neat MIPS Sy
,

Charles and Evelyn Cobia, husband and wife, ap-
peal from a judgment in which the Ufiited States was

_ given a. non-suit in‘'a Federal Tort Claims action.

Recovery is sought under 28 U-S.C. §§1346(b),
2671 et seq. for injuries sustained by appellant Charles
Cobia -in a motor vehicle collision at Hill Ajr Force
Base in which. the United States confessed, negligence
as the proximate cause of the collision. Mr. Cobia made

- application for and continués to receive compensation

for injuries under the Federal Employees Compensa-
tion Act, 5 U.S.C. $8101, et seq. bs

The court ried that application’ for and the con-
tinued acceptance of compensation under the FECA
foreclosed the appellants from recovering under the

Federal i ea Act. We agree.

Appell: ts argue that U. S.-v. Udy, No. 9156 July
Term, 381. F.2d 455 (10th Cir. 1967) determined ‘that
the collision out of which this claim arose was actionable |

under the Fedefal Tort. Claims Act. It is true the.
‘claims grew out of the same collision and this court
: determined the remedy under the Federal Tort Claims

Act, was available to Udy; however, Udy did not elect. -

’ to proceed under the FECA and proceeded only under

the Tort Claims Act, thereby givirig the court an oppor-
tunity to exercise its’ judgment, regarding the remedy.

- When application is made for FECA benefits, the
determination of coverage is made by the Secretary of:

‘Labor or his designee and his finding is final and not

subject to judicial review. 5.U.S.C. §§8145, 8128(b).

_. Acceptance of benefits under the FECA is an injured

employee's exclusive remedy. 5 U.S.C.: §8116(c) ;
| on ane

ée

.

. i v. United States, 207 F.2d 862 (10th ¢ Cir’

1953); United States v. Browning, 359 F.2d 937 (10th -
- Cir. 1966).

3S 3
_ Therefore, | we affirm the trial court’s determina-
tion that the appellants have no claim under the Federal

_ Tort Claims Act because they have exercised a choice

of procedure which denies review by the courts.

“AFFIRMED.

Re rea wer
. .

/

rs ’, - APPENDIX B

IN THE, UNITED STATES DISTRICT
COURT FOR THE DISTRICT
OF UTAH

CENTRAL DIVISION ,

>

CHARLES COBIA and EVELYN:

; COBIA, husband and wife, ,
| . CO ppellants, No.
rs €'111-65
THE UNITED STATES OF
AMERICA,
Appellee.
© FWDINGS OF FACT AND |
CONCLUSIONS OF LAW .
Pa This matter having come before this Court on the
; 3rd day of August, 1966, for trial before the Honorable

A. Sherman Christensen, United States District J udge, |
and. Richard Richards having appeared as counsel for
the plaintiff and H. Ralph Klemm as Assistant United
“ . States Attorney having appeared as counsel for the
defendant, and both sides having called their witnesses
and the Court having heard all of the‘evidence presented

by. the parties hereto, the Court now makes the following

Boe FINDINGS OF FACT

i ; it Gad anuary 15, 1965, on the military reserva-
4 ; tion known as Hill Air Force Base, near Ogden, Utah,

Bl.

the plaintiff Charles Cobia was a passenger in an auto-

mobile that collided with) an oil bowser that. became
disconnected from a truck driven -by an employee of
the defendant while he was in performance of his duty.
Upon stipulation of counsel for the defendant, the

Court finds that the defendant was negligent and the

negligence referred to herein was the proximate cause

tiffs.

2. The plaintiff Charles Cobia received the follow-
ing injuries-in said accident:

“

a. Very extensive contusion and ragged laceration
of left forehead and left cheek.

b. Multiple small lacerations of left face.
c. Moderately severe concussion of brain.
d. Fractured ribs — left chest.

e. Contusions and sprain of left shoulder.

f. Laceration of superior branch left facial nerve .

with resultant inability to wrinkle forehead or raise left
_ eyebrown:

g. Shock. -

3. .The Court finds that the plaintiff Charles
- Cobia was not in the performance of his duty at the
time he sustained his injuries. Said finding is based
upon the following: )

a. Plaintiff Charles. Cobia was employed as an

airplane landing gear repairman. Substantially all -of
his work was to be performed in Building S 264. Land-
ing gears upon “a he works are generally contamed

B-2

of said collision and the resulting injuriés to the plain-
, |

LE MELT

in that building. All of the tools necessary for the per-
formance of his duties are contained and maintained
in said building. * ‘“

b. Plaintiff is an hourly sagloyes and required
by his employment contiact to punch a time clock as he
begiiis his working day and at the end of his ‘working
day again punches a time clock as he leaves his duty
station. On the date of his i injury he had in fact punched
the time clock in and his supervisor had signed him out
indicating that he nea completed his regular Satins for
that day. '

c. Following completion of his duties for the day
and punching out, he left. the building in which. he is
normally employed and proceeded to the parking lot to
be transported to his home. As he proceeded to the
parking lot he checked ‘out through the guard*gate in ,
Building T 500 and as he left the building and the
guard station he entered upon Parking Lot 50.

d. Parking Lot 50 is a parking facility available

to the public generally and it is completely fenced out -

from the rest of the military reservation and all persons |
can drive upon said parking lot at will without authori-
zation and without going through a guard or checking
station. :

e. The driver of the automobile, Mr. Verl Udy,
then proceeded to drive the automobile from the -public
parking lot back onto the military reservation as a
matter of convenience for himself, Mr. Cobia, and the
other passengers. They were allowed to re-enter the
. fenced portion of the reservation because they could

display a sticker indicating that they were employed .

B-3

Qa

by the United’States Government. They then passed
‘through a gate on the east end of Parking Lot 50, re-
entered the military reservation and proceeded toward
their home on perimeter road.

f. Supervision exercised over the plaintiff while
' he was on perimeter road was authorized by virtue of
the fact that he was on the military reservation and_the
government exercised no greater control over him than
they would over any other visitor or guest, the sole:
reason he was upon the military reservation was for his
own convenience. No purpose was served forthe em-
ployer, the military police in charge of trdffic on the
reservation or any other person or authority.

g. After the plaintiff had journeyed some three _

miles from the parking lot into the reservation, he was
_ struck by the government vehicle.

-h. Upon examination of the circumstances sur-
rounding’ the accident, the plaintiff Cobia’s immediate
_ supervisor “was requested to submit an official report

_ of injury in which he indicated that the plantiff Charles
' Cobia was not doing his regular work at the time of
his injury and was not in the performance of his duty.

4. The injuries heretofore mentioned received by
the.plaintiff were suffered as a direct result of the colli-
sion between the government vehicle and the automo-
- bile in which plaintiff was a passenger.

Immediately following the collision plaintiff was
transported to the medical dispensary at Hill Air Force
Base and later transferred to the Dee Hospital in Og-
den, Utah. Within a period of 2 or 3 days Mr. Cobia
showed signs of severe mental injury. He was having

B-4

@

wes

a Bi i all ol

ll a a

hallucinations, imagined voices were talking to him and
told him that he was going to die, and was generally .
very confused. Plaintiff Charles Cobia remained in the
hospital for a period of five days, after which he was
returned to his home for a short period of time, on
the 20th day of January, 1965. Two days thereafter
he was again seen by his doctor Wendell J. Thompson
and complained of headaches, dizziness, loss of memory,
and was. transferred to the St. Benedict's Hospital. On:

the Sth day ‘of March, 1965, Dr. Richard Iverson, a-
qualified psychiatrist practicing his profession in Ogden,

_ Utah, was. assigned to his case and rendered extensive
care and treatment. He was confined from the 5th day

of March, 1965, to the 28th day of April, 1965, and
received extensive psychiatrid® treatment..

_ Thereafter he was released to his home where he
remained for a period of two days but because of his
illness he was. returned to the hospital for further care.
He remained in the psychiatric ward at the St. Bene-
dict’s Hospital for several months. During the period
of his confinement, he received a total of 37 electric
shock treatments and 12 insulin shock treatments but
the response was not as favorable as the doctor had
hoped. Plaintiff suffered a schizophrenic reaction, un- .
diffetentiated type, and while his condition has im-

- proved since he has resumed work, there is-no assurance
-that there will not be a worsening of his condition or

that his condition so proximately caused by the colli-
sion will not require him to interrupt or discontinue his

. work. He is now working full time and there appears

no immediate prospect of him being unable to continue
his present work. :

BS

on . parr pte i cuit nts tna ES id Aedes Dante Matt waite ena

5. Subsequent to: Mr. Cobia’s injury, while he was
still confined in the hospital within two or three days
after the injury, he was visited by certain employees
of the federal government-to explain to his his assumed
right to benefits under the Workmen’s Compensation —
. Act. At that time he indicated that he would make a
decision relative to his benefits at a later date. On the *
8th day of February, 1965, Mr. Cobia did make appli-
cation for benefits under the Federal Employees’ Com-
pensation Act. His application was favorably acted
upon pursuant to the Federal Employees’ Compensa-
tion Act. The Board, having found that he sustained
‘. his injuries in the performance of his duties as an em-
ployee of. the federal government, paid to him the sum.
of $342.96 per month during the period of time he was
unable to work and in addition to such compensation
the federal government paid all of his medical expenses -
growing out of the accident. The total plaintiff re-
ceived pursuant to the award of compensation has been
io date in excess of $1300.00. There was no evidence
presented at the trial to indicate that the plaintiff Cobia
was in the performance of his duty at the time of his
injury and the award was apparently made solely upon
the basis that the injury occurred on the military reser-
vation. In.view, of the surrounding circumstances of the
‘case it is clear that this particular circumstance did not .
furnish substantial evidence to support a determination —
by the Bureau of Employees’ Compensation, and that
any finding that the plaintiff Cobia was injured in the
performance of his duties was without any sybetantial
support in the evidence. .

The evidence before the court does not clearly
BS6

ae ne ne en

i MDs 5.06

8

reveal the circumstances under which the plaintiff sub-

‘mitted his claim to compensation, nor the particular ©
» circumstances under which compensation paymenis . ~

were actually received and utilized after the approval
- of his claim. ‘There is no evidence to indicate with winom

he and his wife consulted with reference to the filing
of the claim or with reference to the acceptance of bene-
fits, nor is there any evidence to indicate that at any
stage either he or his advisors undertook or attempted
to terminate the receipt of compensation of refused to
accept funds because the claim-was not properly allowed
by the Bureau, or for any other reason. On the con-

trary, the record: indicates that notwithstanding the
commencement of this suit on June 8, 1965, claiming
damages under the Federal Tort Claims Act the plain-

_ tiff has received and accepted compensation pursuant.

to the award of the Bureau without protest or objection
and has utilized said funds for his own and his family’s
purposes and that there has never been any attempt to

_ withdraw or abandon his application except that im-

plicit in the fact that he has claimed in the present law-
suit damages under the Federal Tort Claims Act and
has maintained during the course of these proceedings
that neither his application for compensation, the award.
of the commission, nor his acceptance of benefits has
barred him from recovery herein, the plaintiff indicat-
ing a‘ willingness to credit against any amount awarded
as damages in this suit the compensation payynente and
medical expenses heretofore received.

There is ssiiinie to indicate, aad the court finds, |
that at the time the-plaintiff Cobia executed his claim
for compensation under the Federal Employees’ Com-

B-7

pensation Aét he was mentally confused and irrespon-

_ sible and had no adequate understanding or comprehen-
sion oi the law with regard to coverage or concerning
possible rights underthe Federal Tort Claims Act.

But there is no evidence from which the court can find ©

that this condition continued during all of the period
in which he was being paid and receivéd compensation
and, on the contrary, the preponderance of the evidence
indicates that during a substantial part of said period
he was reasonably advised and understood that he could
not lawfully obtain both employees’ compensation under
the Federal Employees’ Compensation Act and dam-
ages under the Tort Claims Act, and that he deter-
mined with reasonable awareness of possibilities that he

should accept benefits under the Federal Employees’.

Compensation Act. During the time this determination
was being made, the law applicable in this district con-
cerning possibilities and probabilities was not settled,
nor were.the prospects concerning the plaintiff's ulti-
mate recovery in pursuit of either remedy anything but

uncertain. Moreover, what the situation of plaintiff ~

Cobia might be with regard to his health, his ability to
regain and maintain employment if the application for
compensation should be withdrawn or further payments
refused and reliance placed solely upon the Federal

Tort Claims Act was a difficult one. At the time the .

application for compensation was filed the certificate
of the attending physician did not necessarily indicate
any permanent injuries except with respect to control
of facial nerves and definitely did not indicate. any per-
manent impairment of earning ability. Subsequently
the psychatrist realized that there were serious mental

» B-8

hacen Sete wiht RS he a ip RED Net Se om

implications but the realization they they might result
in permagent impairment of earning ability, if indeed
they do, came progressively over a period of time.

Under conditions as they probably existéd at -the
time a knowing and considered determination was made

* to accept benefits under the Federal. Employees’ Com-

pensation Act, it was a difficult and close question of
judgment as to whether the plaintiff should attempt

to renounce benefits under the Compensation Act and: :
rely exclusively upon the Tort Claims Act, or whether.
he should continue to accept benefits under the Com-
pensation Act. The continued acceptance of benefits
having been established and no reason being suggested

_ in the evidence whereby the plaintiffs could be excused
from the consequence of such acceptance, the plaintiffs

must be deemed to be estopped in equity and good con-
science from now relying upon the Federal Tort Claims
Act. v4

"In view of the last mentioned holding, it is unneces-
sary at this time for the court to determine or speculaice
upon..the damages that might ultimately be suffered
by the plaintiffs or either of them, were'an award to be
made under the Federal Tort Claims Act; except to note
that a substantial part of the damages now claimed in.

this action may never accrue, particularly as they relate .

to the failure of employment in thesimmediate or fore-
seeable future; and that the relationship between the
benefits that ultimately may be realized under the
award of compensation and the damages that could be
awarded at this time, should this have been held a pro-

_ per. action under the Federal Tort Claims Act, does not

present such an established disparity as to permit or
. BY

oS tases

justify attempted departure from the controlling effect
of the acceptance of benefits under the Compensation:

Act.

View the ienartee Findings of Fact, the Court |

now ti the ee:

o

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. The defendant was. negligent in that one of.

defendant’s employees while acting in the course and —

scope of his employment negligently and carelessly

operated a motor vehicle on the 15th day of January,

1965, and as a result of the negligence of said defend-
ant an oil tanker coupled with said automobile came
loose causing it to strike the automobile in which plain-
tiff Charles Cobia was a passenger.

2. That the negligence of the defendant was the —
sole and proximate cause of the injuries to the plaintiff.

Charles Cobia, and that there was and is no substantial
evidence that the injuries were sustained in the per-
formance of duty for the United States.

3. That:as a proximate result of the negligence

of the defendant and resulting accident, the plaintiff
Charles Cobia has been caused to suffer permanent
scarring of his face, pain, suffering and inconvenienée,
mental disability, some impairment of memory and‘other

injuries which it is unnécessary here to evaluate in view

of the awarded compensation. .

4. That plaintiff Charles Cobia by the acceptance
of benefits under the Compensation Act following his.

filing of an application before the Bureau of Em-
| B-10 1

er. |

ee Nee Pee Pe

- ¥
bd ~
I ananassae oe wnt Ron nib ete eam
°

S

ployee’s Compensation is estopped now to assert that
such award <and its:continued recognition is not his
_ exclusive remedy, and that the defendant having de-
-feated plaintiffs’ claims under the Tort Claims Act by

reason of such payment and acceptance of benefits, is
estopped from. gjuestioning plaintiff's entitlement to
compensation pursuant to the Federal Employees’
Compensation Act for the results of said injuries.

5. That plaintiff Evelyn Cobia has no claim under
the Federal Tort Claims Act against the United States,
e nor has the plaintiff Charles Cobia.

6. That the defendant-is entitled to a judgment
herein of no cause of action, no costs to be awar ‘ded,
without prejudice to the plaintiffs’ continuing rights
4 | under the Federal Employees’ Compensation Act. The

S. Glare will enter judgment accordingly.

Dated this 13th day of September, 1966.

mm ) /s/ A. Sherman Christensen
: UNITED STATES DISTRICT J UDGE

BI

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385603_1208%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
