# Appendix — Ball v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385603_0476%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Appendix
- **Published:** January 1, 1966
- **Citation:** 384 U.S. 971

## Text

— ORO. Lo

la
APPENDIX A ‘eet?

UNITED STATES COUBT OF APPEALS
FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA Orr

— .
9 +
7 — — *

— —

No. 19,693

VN Cas rx County Amport CoMMISSION, PETITIONER,
aa | Jae
Crvn. Azgonavtics Boakp, RESPONDENT
ALLEGHENY Amlaxns, INo., INTERVENOBR

Petition for Review of Orders of the
Civil Aeronautics Board

Decided N ovember 17, 1966 nas
Ur. Robert M. Beckman for petitioner. |

Mr. Frederic D. Houghteling, Attorney, Civil Aeronautics
Board, with whom Assistant Attorney General Turner,
- Messrs. Joseph B. Goldman, General Counsel, O. D. Ozment,
Deputy General Counsel, Warren L. Sharfman, Associate
General Counsel, Civil Aeronautics Board, and Howard E.
Shapiro, Attorney, Department of Justice, were on the
brief for respondent. Mr. Lionel Kestenbaum, Attorney,
Department. of Justice, and John H. Wammer, General
Counsel, Civil Aeronautics Board at the time the record
was filed, also entered appearances for resporident.

Mr. Edwin I. Colodny for intervenor. Mr. David B.
Armstrong also entered an appearance for intervenor.

Before Bazeton, Chief Judge, Waun K. Mier, Senior
Circuit Judge, and Leventuat, Circuit Judge. :

>

24

LxvxxTRHAL, Circuit Judge: Petitioner seeks review of
orders of the Civil Aeronautics Board which amended
the certificate of public convenience and necessity of

Allegheny Airlines, a ‘federally. subsidized local-service
carrier serving Wilmington, Delaware, so as to delete
Wilmington as a separate intermediate point on Allegheny’s
route segment 3, which runs from New York to Pittsburgh —

| _ via Philadelphia’ and Wilmington. The Board acted under

section 401(g) of the Federal Aviation Act, which
authorizes it to amend any carrier's certificate if the
public convenience and necessity: so require, and pursuant
to the Board’s ‘‘use it or lose it“ policy,? whereby cities
which do not make sufficient use of subsidized. air service
to justify its cost to the ‘carrier and the government are
subject to decertification proceedings under section 401(g).
Petitioner, a governmental agency operating the Wilming-
ton Airport, challenges the Board’s action and the con-
sequent loss of direct service between Wilmington and
Pittsburgh. We find the Board’s action free of reversible
error.

The 8 made its decision by weighing several
factors: the inconvenience to Wilmington passengers in
having to use the extensive westward services of the
nearby Philadelphia airport, the volume of traffic that
would be affected by the deletion, the amount of subsidy
cost required to maintain the Wilmington service. This
factor balancing approach is a proper method for deter-
mining what is required by the public convenience and

necessity. See Outagamie County v. CAB, 355 F.2d 900,

906-08 (7th Cir. 1966). The Board’s findings as to the
various factors are amply supported by the record. In
appraising the overall public interest, the Board emphasized
that Wilmington was in a unique position, since the

— —

149 U.S. C. 5 1371 (g).
214 C. F. R. § 399.11 (1966).

eee eee ern dee

relatively short driving. time to the Philadelphia airport,
where more frequent service is of course available, in effect
gives Wilmington residents the benefit of direct service

from a nearby airport.

\ „ f
Petitioner contends that the balancing approach, though
utilizea by the Board in proceedings. to certify a regional
airport, is contrary to the Board’s established approach
in decertification proceedings involving the use it or lose
it’’ policy. Under that established approach, petitioner
says, deletion is precluded if the minimum use of five
enplanements per day is met. But the Board’s policy
statement regulation expresly advises that the 5 per day
factor was a necessary but not sufficient condition of con-
tinuation of service.“ However useful as a guideline, it
was not made a decisive criterion against decertification.
Whengnot controlled by a regulation even an established .
approach or precedent may be modified or overruled. ..An |
administrative agency concerned with furtherance of the
public interest is not bound to rigid adherence to pre-
cedent.“ It may switch rather than fight the lessons of

e The regulation, 14 C.F.R. §399.11(b) (1966), states: Under
this! use it or lose it’’ policy, the Board will require each city to
originate an average of five or more passengers per day during the

. 12-month period following the initial 6 months of operations
A city generating the bare traffic minimum during this trial period
cannot safely assume that continued service is assured; the Board
expects most cities to exceed the minimum requirements.

* Pinellas Broadcasting Co. v. FCO, 97 U.S.App.D.C. 236, 238,
230 F. 2d 204, 206, cert: denied, 350 U.S. 1007 (1956) 3 Philadelphia
Television Broadcasting Co. v. FCC, ——-U.S.App.D.C. ——, 359
F.2d 282 (1966). As Judge Prettyman aptly noted (230 F.2d
at 206): »The Commission’s view of what is best in the public

interest may change from time to time. Commissions themselves

change, underlying philosophies differ, and experience often
dictates changes.. K :
The same philosophy also permits modification of a policy
Bed sr in a regulation, provided the regulation is duly

4a

experience. An agency reversing its course should supply
an opinion or analysis indicating that the standard is
being changed and not ignored, and assuring that it is
faithful and not indifferent to the need for adherence to
standards.’ But petitioner does not show that the case
at bar involes any such reversal. It adduces no precedent
wherein the Beard held that the 5 per day standard pre-
cluded decertification notwithstanding factors substantially
similar to this case in terms of alternative convenience,
high subsidy cost and low volume. e Board acted
properly in emphasizing the key sin loomed large
in this proceeding, — eas

Petitioner does not advance its position by arguing that
it had no advance notice that a novel approach would
be used. There was novelty in the facts—at least in the
context of a use it or lose it“ decertification proceeding.* ;
Moreover, reference to a balancing approach as novel is
a strange ar, ent. Without minimizing the need or
importance of artiéulation of subsidiary decisional criteria
and working rules, a ‘‘balancing’’ approach would seem to
be inherently available to an agency engaged in the task
of charting the public interest in the varying situations

7 Compare City of Lawrence v. CAB, $43 F. 2d 583 (ist · Cir.
1965. The court had under consideration the Board’s order in the
New England Regional Airport Investigation.’ It affirmed the
order permitting Northeast Airlines to delete service to Lawrence
Massachusetts, in view of the key fact of the proximity of Law-
rence to Boston and the ready accessibility of Lawrence to Boston. tis
However it reversed, and remanded, the order for deletion of
service at New Haven and consolidation with service at Bridge-
port. The court noted the Board’s departure without explanation

from the reasoning of earlier cases, and also referred to internal

inconsistencies’’ with other aspects of the same proceeding. Id.
at 588; r v. Pubiio Uull, Comm. of Ohio, 294
US. 63, 71 (1935).

* Similar factual situations led to deletion of service in other
types of proceedings. See, ¢.9., City of Lawrence v. CAB, supra,
note 5, as to deletion of service at Lawrence. N

ba

presented for determination. It inay be assumed, at “east
for sake of discussion, that there may be reversible error
where a prior agency approach has misled a party to fail
to offer proof on a point the agency has now treated as
crucial. Here, however, petitioner offered evidence on the
key factors considered in the Board’s opinion, convenience
vel nonof the Philadelphia airport, anticipated volume
of traffic, and subsidy costs; and petitioner makes no claim
that there is material evidence that it did not submit but
would have submitted if it had known that a balancing
approach would be used.

Petitioner has a valid point in its l that the
Board’s ultimate finding was that the public convenience
and necessity did not require continuance of the service,
whéreas the statutory test is satisfied only if the Board
finds that the public egnvenience and necessity affirmatively ~
requires deletion. We are not prepared to treat the
difference as inconsequential, as the Government urges. |
But this claim was not made before the Board. In view
of the complete. factual record and the clear statement in
the Board’s opinion setting forth the reasons for .deletion
if found persuasive, we do not think the interest of justice
would be served by remand for further L

Affirmed

6a
Filed Nov. IT, 1966

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

September Term, 1966 |
. No. 19, 69838.
Nu EW Castuz 6 Amport — Petitioner,
80 i W
nun. AERONAUTICS Boano, Respondent,
Arincneny Arruings, Ixo., Intervenor.

on Petition for Review of Orders of the Civil I Aeronautics
Board. aN

. Before: Bazelon, Chief J aes Wilbur K. Miller, Senior»
Circuit J udge, and Leventhal, Circuit Judge. /

“Judgment ‘
“This case iti on to be heard on the record from the Civil
Aeronauties Board, and was argued by counsel. _

Ox Consieration WuEnzor, it is ordered and adjudged a
by this court that the orders of the Civil Aeronautics Board

.

on review in this case are hereby affirmed. „

9

—

3 Per Cirouit Judge Lavenraan~ —
Dated: Nov. 17, 1966

Filed Jan. 9, 1967
Order
On „ of petitioner’ > petition for rehearing .
en banc, it is

_ Opprreb by the court én bane that petitioner’ . aforesaid
— is ae. 5

Per Curiam

, a
eo
APPENDIX B te
. United States Constitution > | ,

' AMENDMENT V -

No person shall be held to answer for a capital, or 1
wise infamous crime, unless on a presentment or indict-
ment of, a Grand Jury, except in cases arising in the land
or naval forces, or in the Militia, when in actual service in.
time of War or public danger; nor shall any person be
subject for the same offence to be twicé put in jeopardy.
of life or limb ; nor shall be compelled in any criminal case
to be a witness against himself, nor be deprived of life,
liberty, or property, without due process of law; nor shall’
private property be taken for — . without just
compensation.

2. Relevant provisions of the Federal Aviation Act, 72
Stat. 731, 49 U.S. C. 1301 et seg.

can I—Generat 3
* * ‘© * .
Declaration of Policy: The Board

Se 102. [72 Stat. 740, 49 U.S. C. 1302] In the exercise
and performance of its powers and duties under this Aet,
the Board shall consider the following, among other things,
as being in the publie interest, and in accordance with the
public convenience and necessity:

( a) The encouragement and development of an air-trans-
portation system properly adapted to the present and
future needs of the foreign and domestic commerce of the
United States, of the Postal Service, and of the national.
defense;

(b) The regulation of air transportation i in ‘om manner
as to recognize and preserve the inherent advantages of,
assure the highest degree of safety i in, and foster sound

8a

economic conditions i in, such transportation, and to improve
the relations between, and coordinate transportation by,
air carriers;

(o) The promotion of adequate, economical, and efficient
service by air carriers at reasonable charges, without un-

just discriminations, undue preferences or advantages, or

unfair or destructive competitive practices ;
(d) Competition to the extent necessary to assure the

sound development of an air-transportation system prop-

erly adapted to. the needs of the foreign and domestic

commerce of the United States, of the Postal wishes and

of the national defense;
(e) The promotion of safety i in air commerce; and

(f) The (motion, encouragement, and eee of
civil aeronautics.

3. Sec. 401. [72 Stat: 754, as amended 5 76 Stat. *
49 U.S.C. 1371]

Issuance of Certificate

(d) (1) The Board shall issue a certificate authorizing
the whole or any part of the transportation covered by the
application, if it finds that the applicant is fit, willing, and
able to perform such transportation properly, and to con-
form to the provisions of this Act and the rules, regula-
tions, and requirements of the Board hereunder, and that
such transportation is required by the public convenience
and necessity; otherwise such application shall be denied.

Authority to Modify, Suspend, or Revoke

4. 401 (g) The Board upon petition or complaint or upon
its own initiative, after notice and hearings, may alter,
amend, modify, or suspend any such certificate, in whole
or in part, if the public convenience and necessity 80
require, or * revoke any such ane in whole or

g

9a

in part, for intentional failure to comply with any pro-

vision of this title or any order, rule, or regulation issued
hereunder or any term, condition, or limitation of such

certificate: Provided, That no such certificate shall be re-

voked unless the holder thereof fails to comply, within a
reasonable time to be fixed by the Board, with an order of
the Board commanding obedience to the provision, or to
the order (other than an order issued in accordance with
this proviso), rule, regulation, term, condition, or limita-
tion found by the Board to have been violated. Any inter-

‘ ested person may file with the Board a protest or memo-

randum in support of or in opposition to the alteration,
amendment, modification, suspension, or revocation of the
certificate. a

5. Federal Aviation Act of 1958, as amended, 49 U.S.C.
1376(a) and (b): |

See. 406(a) The Board is empowered and directed, upon
its own initiative or upon petition of the Postmaster Gen-

- eral or an air.carrier, (1) to fix and determine from time

to time, after notice and hearing, the fair and reasonable. 1

rates of compensation for the transportation of mail by

aircraft, the facilities used and useful therefor, and the

services connected’ therewith (including the transportation

of mail by an air carrier by other means than aircraft

Whenever such transportation is incidental to the trans-

portation of mail by aircraft or is made necessary by-con-
ditions of emergency arising from aircraft operation), by

each holder of a certificate authorizing the transportation

of mail by aircraft, and to make such rates effective from

such date as it shall determine to be proper; (2) to pre-

scribe the method or methods, by aircraft-mile, pound-mile,
weight, space, or any combination thereof or otherwise, for
ascertaining, such rates of compensation for each air car-
rier or class of air carriers; and (3) to publish the ‘same.

Sec. 406 (b) In fixing and determining fair and reason-
able rates of compensation under this: section, the Board

0 0 5

A

10a

considering the conditions peculiar to transportation by
aircraft and to the particular air carrier or class of air
carriers, may fix different rates for different air carriers
or classes of air carriers, and different classes of. service.
In determining the rate in each case, the Board shall take
into consideration, among other factors, (1) the condition
that such air carriers may hold and operate under certifi-
cates authorizing the carriage of mail only by providing
necessary and adequate facilities and service for the trans-
portation of mail; (2) such standards respecting the char-
acter and quality of service to be rendered by air carriers
as may be prescribed ‘by or pursuant to law; and (3) the
need of each such’ air carrier for compensation for the
transportation of mail sufficient to insure the performance
of such service, and together with all other revenue of the
air carrier, to enable such air carrier under honest, eco-
nomical, and efficient management, to maintain and con-
tinue the development of air transportation to the extent
and of the character and quality required for the com-
merce of the United States, the Postal Service, and ‘the 2
national defense. 8

6. Federal Aviation te of 1958, as amended, 49 USC.
1485 (f):

Sec. 1005 (f) Every order of the . . . Board shall set
forth the findings of fact upon which it is based. <2

7. Relevant provisions of the Administrative Procedure
Act, 60 Stat. 237, 5 U.S.C. 1001 et seg.

Nublic Information

Sec. 3. [60 Stat. 238, 5 U.S. C. 1002] Except to. the extent
that there is involved (1) any function of the United States
requiring secrecy in the public interest or (2) any matter
relating solely to the internal management of an pgency—

(a) Rules Avery agency shall separately state and cur-
rently publish i in the Federal Register (1) descriptions of

·

11a

its central and field organization including delegations by
the agency of. final authority and the established places at
which, and methods whereby, the public may secure in-
formation or make submittals or requests; (2) statements
of the general course and method by which its functions
are channeled and determined, including the nature and
requirements of all formal or informal procedures avail-
able as well as forms and instructions as to the scope and
contents of all papers, reports, or examinations; and (3)
substantive’ rules adopted as authorized by law and state-
ments of general policy or interpretations formulated and
adopted by the agency for the guidance of the public, but
not rules addressed to and. served upon named persons in
accordance with law. No person shall in any manner be
required to resort to organization or procedure not so
published. = 2 . 8

~ ay . 5 * *

Adjudication ; ;
8. Sec. 5. [60 Stat, 239; 5 U.S. C. 1004] In every case of
adjudication required by statute to be determined on the
record after opportunity for an agency hearing, except to
the extent that. there is involved (1) any matter subject
to a subsequent trial of the law and the facts de novo in
any court; (2) the selection or tenure of an officer or em-
ployee of the United States other than examiners appointed
pursuant to section 11; (3) proceedings in which decisions
rest solely on inspections, tests, or elections; (4) the con-
duct of military, naval, or foreign affairs functions; (5)
cases in which an agency is-acting as an agent for a court;
and (6) the certification of employee representatives—_

(a) Notice.—Persons entitled to notice of an agency hear-
ing shall be timély informed of (1) the time, place, and
nature thereof; (2) the legal authority and jurisdiction .
under which the hearing is to be held; and (3) the mat-
ters of fact and law asserted. In instances in which private
persons are the moving parties, other parties to the pro-

12a

ceeding shall give prompt notice of issues controverted in

fact or law; and in other instances agencies may by rule
require responsive pleading. In fixing the times and places
for hearings, due regard shall be had for the.convenience
and necessity of the parties or their representatives.

(b) Procedure—The agency shall afford all interested
parties opportunity for (1) the submission and considera-
tion of facts, arguments, offers of settlement, or proposals
of adjustment where time, the nature of the proceeding,
and the publiè interest permit, and (2) to the extent that

the parties are unable so to determine any controvery by -
consent, hearing, and decision upon notice and in con-

formity with sections 7 and 8.

9. Sec. 7 [60 Stat. 241; 5 U.S.C. 1006] In hearings
which section 4 or 5. requires to be conducted pursuant to
this section— |

(a) Presiding 1 —There shall preside at the tak-

ing of evidence (1) the agency, (2) one or more members
of the body which comprises the agency, or (3) one or more
examiners appointed as provided in this Act; but nothing
in this Act shall be deemed to ‘supersede the conduct of
specified classes of proceedings in whole or part by or be-
fore boards or other officers specially provided for by or
designated pursuant to statute. The functions of all pre-

siding officers and of officers participating in decisions in

conformity with section 8 shall be conducted in an impar-
tial manner. Any such officer may at any time withdraw
if he deems himself disqualified; and, upon the filing in
good faith of a timely and sufficient affidavit of personal
bias or disqualification of any such officer, the agency shall

determine the matter as a part of the record, and decision

in the case.
(b) Hearing Powers oer ae 3 shall

have authority, subject to the published rules of the agency
and within its powers, to (1). administer oaths and affirma-

tions, (2) issue — authorized . law, (3) rule upon

re

Oy

| . 2
offers of Weir and receive relevant evidence, (4) take or
cause depositions to be taken whenever the ends of justice

would be served thereby, (5) regulate the course of the

hearing, (6) hold conferences for the settlement or simpli-
fication of the issues by consent of the parties, (7) dispose
of procedural requests or similar matters, (8) make deci-

_ sions or recommend decisions in conformity with section
8, and (9) take any other action authorized by agency rule

consistent with this Act.

(c) Evidence. Except as statutes otherwise provide, the
proponent of a rule or order shall have the burden of proof.
Any oral or documentary evidence may be received, but
every agency shall as a matter of policy provide for the
exclusion of irrelevant, immaterial, or unduly repetitious
evidence and no sanction shall be imposed or rule or order
be issued except upon consideration of the whole record
or such portions thereof as may be cited by any party and

as supported by and in accordance with the reliable, pro-
bative, and substantial evidence. Every party shall have
the right to present his case or defense by oral or docu-
mentary evidence, to submit rebuttal evidence, and to con-
duct such cross-examination as may be required-for a full
and true disclosure of the facts. In rule making or de-
termining claims for money or benefits or applications for
initial licenses any agency may, where the interest of any .
party will not be prejudiced thereby, adopt procedures for
the submission of all or part of the evidence in written

5 form.

(d) Record. — The W of testimony and exhibits,
together with all papers and requests filed in the proceed- ;
ing, shall constitute the exclusive record for decision in
accordance with section 8 and, upon payment of lawfully :
prescribed costs, shall be made available to the parties,
Where any agency decision rests on official notice of a ma-
terial fact not appearing in the evidence in the ‘record, any
party shall on timely request be. afforded an en
to show the contrary.

4

l4a
Decisions

10. Sec. 8. [60 Stat. 242; 5 U.S.C. 1007] 33
Which a hearing is required to be conducted i in * a
with section 7: :

(a) Action by Subordinates.—In cases in which the
agency has not presided at the reception of the evidence,
the officer who presided (or, in cases not subject to sub-
section (e) of section 5, any other officer or officers qualified
to preside at hearings pursuant to section 7) shall initially
decide the case or the agency shall require (in specific

cases or by general rule) the entire record to be certified to
it for initial decision. Whenever such. officers make the
initial decision and in the absence of either an appeal to

the ‘agency or review upon motion of the agency within
time provided by rule, such decision shall without further
proceedings then become the decision of the agency. On ap-
peal from or review of the initial decisions of ‘such officers
the agency.shall, except as it may limit the issues upon
notice or by rule, have all the powers which it would have
in making the initial decision. Whenever the agency
makes the initial decision without having presided at -the
reception of the evidence, such officers shall first recommend
a decision except that in rule making or determining ap-
plications for initial licenses (1) in lieu thereof the agency
may issue a-tentative decision or any of its responsible
officers may recommend a decision or (2) any such pro-
cedure may be omitted in any case in which the agency
finds upon the record that due and timely execution of its
functions imperatively and unavoidably so requires.

(b) Submittals and Decisions. Prior to each recom-
mended, initial, or tentative decision, or decision upon
agency review of the decision of subordinate officers the
parties shall be afforded a reasonable opportunity to sub-
mit for the consideration of the officers participating in
such decisions (1) proposed findings and conclusions, or
(2) exceptions to the decisions or recommended decisions

e

15a
of subordinate officers or to tentative agency decisions, and
(3) supporting reasons for such exceptions or proposed
findings or conclusions, The record shall show the ruling
upon each such finding, conclusion, or exception presented.
All decisions (including initial, recommended, or tentative
decisions) shall become a part of the record and: include a
statement of (1) findings and conclusions,. as well as the
reasons or basis therefor, upon all the material issues of
fact, law or discretion presented on the record; and (2) the.
appropriate rule, order, sanction, relief, or denial thereof.

Judicial Review :
11. Sec. 10. [60 Stat. 243; 5 U.S.C. 1009] Except so far

as (1) statutes preclude judicial review or (2) agency ac-
tion. is by law committed to agency discretion— a

(a) Right of Review.—Any person suffering legal wrong
because of any agency action, or adversely affected or ag-
grieved by such agtion within the meaning of any releyant
statute, shall be entitled to judicial review thereof.

(b) Form and Venue of Action.—The form of proceed- ~~
ing for judicial review shall be any special statutory review .
proceeding relevant to the subject matter in any court
specified by statute or, in the absence or inadequacy thereof,
any applicable form of legal action (including actions for

‘declaratory judgments or writs of prohibitory or manda-
tory injunction or habeas corpus) in any court of com-
petent jurisdiction. Agency action shall be subject to ju-
dicial review in civil or criminal proceedings for judicial
- enforcement except to the extent that prior, adequate, and
exclusive opportunity for such review is provided by law.

(e) Reviewable Acts——Every agency action made re-
viewable by statute and every final agency action for which

there is no other adequate remedy in any court shall be
subject to judicial review. Any preliminary, procedural, .
or intermediate. agency action or ruling not directly re-

viewable shall be subject to review upon the review of the

16a

final agency action. Except as otherwise expressly re-
quired by statute, agency action otherwise final shall be
final for the purposes of this subsection whether or not
there has been presented or determined any application for
a declaratory order, for any form of reconsideration, or
(unless the agency otherwise requires by rule and pro-
vides that the action meanwhile’ shall be inoperative) for

an appeal to supérior agency authority. i é

(d) Interim Relief —Pending judicial review any agency

is authorized, where it finds that justice so requires, to
postpone the effective date of any action taken by it. Upon
such conditions as may be required and to the extent neces-
sary to prevent irreparable injury, every reviewing court
(including every court to which a case may be taken ‘on

- appeal from or upon application for certiorari or other
writ to a reviewing court) is authorized to issue all neces-
sary and appropriate process to postpone the effectiv
date of any agency action or to preserve status or seed |
pending conclusion of the review proceedings. ‘\

(e) Scope of. Review —8o far as necessary to decision
and where presented the reviewing court shall decide all
| relevant questions of law, interpret constitutional and
/ gatutory provisions, and determine the meaning or ap-
plicability of the terms of any agency action. It shall (A)
compel agency action unlawfully withheld or unreasonably
delayed; and (B) hold unlawful and set aside agency ac-
tion, findings, and conclusions found to be (1) arbitrary,
capricious, an abuse of discretion, or otherwise not in ac-
cordance with law; (2) contrary to constitutional right,
power, privilege, or immunity ; ; (3) in excess of statutory
jurisdiction, authority, or limitations, or short of statutory
right; (4) without observance of procedure required by
law; (5) unsupported by substantial evidence in any case
subject to the requirements of ‘séction 7 and 8 or otherwise
reviewed on the record of an agency hearing provided by
statute; or (6) unwarranted by the facts to the extent that

17a

the facts are subject to trial de novo by the reviewing
court. In making the foregoing determinations the court
shall review the whole record or such portions thereof as
may be cited by any party, and due account shall be taken
of the rule of prejudicial error.

12. 14 C. F. R. 399.11

(d) Continued use of local carrier services. In evaluat-
ing the continuing need for air service at any point or on
any route segment served by a local service carrier, the
Board will use the minimum traffic standard of five pas-
sengers as a guide line, regardless of the type or duration
of an authorization. The Board will require the local serv-
ice carriers to make appropriate periodic reports of traffic

results. Air carrier management is expected to suggest
route or authorization modifications as soon as deficiencies
in service become apparent. When a city or route segment
fails to make continued use of subsidized services, the car-
rier is free, and is encouraged, to apply for a suspension
of service in advance of a Board ‘proceeding to terminate
the certification. The failure of a local service carrier to
exercise vigilance in this regard may, in fact, reflect upon
the economy and efficiency of management in proceedings
to determine subsidy needs under section 406 of the Act.

13. The Board's Notation“ Procedure:

e
e

„ i

.
cn. AERONAUTICS BOARD
_ WASHINGTON, D. *

In Reply Refer to: B- 11
June 3, 1968
Received June 6, 1966 R. M. B.

Mr. Robert M. Beckman
Haffer & Beckman 5

703 Ring Building

‘ Washington, D. C. 20036

Re: New Castle Sonne Airport Gabe v. Civil
Aeronautics Board, C. A. D. C. No. 19, 693

5 Dear Mr. Beckman:

In accordance with your 8 Lam — certified 5
excerpts from the official C. A. B. Minutes N to tlie
Board's notation procedure, 5

0 The Board will bill vou for its services, the fees aa |
charges as set forth in Part 389 . its 9
*

Very truly yours, *

ae Js, Haroip R. SANDERSON
. Harold R. Sanderson

„„ 9
Attachment .

ar) aE ee whe

19a
7 ATTACHMENT A
" Excerpr rom Mixurzs or a Meerine or THE Crvn, Azro-
ae Narres Boarp HRLD at rts Orrice Ix WasRIxdrox,
. D., A 7, ae
PRESENT: Mr. Durfee, Chairman, Mr. Gurney, Vice

Chairman, Mr. Denny, Mr. Hector—Members of the
Board. Cor 5 a
The Board convened at 10:05 a.m.
ne 1 . . * er
2. Ratification of actions taken by Notation on April 12,
15, 16, 17, 18, 19 and 22, 1957. The Board ratified the
following actions taken by N otation on the dates shown:
Rae = „ * mia, 6 PP ees
8 (10) Approval of a statement of Procedure for
Handling Notation Items“ (exhibit 511) and of
Tally Sheet“ (exhibit 511a) for recording of
Members’ votes in connection with the Notation
Process. (April 17, 1957)
2 jl. @ „ * 0 * .
/s/ M. C. Muttican
M. C. Mulligan
Secretary

20a
EXHIBIT 511

PRO CEDURR FoR HAN DING NorATTON ITEMS

Matters for consideration and action by the Board which,
in the opinion of-the originating office, will not require dis-
cussion by the Members may be cireulated for approval
as follows: —

(1) Dating and 8888 Upon . of the docu-

ment, the Minutes Section will stamp the date it is

received in the Minutes Section and assign a Notation
Number for identification and control purposes.

(2) Signature Cases.

a. Where signatures of Members are required, the
Minutes Section will forward study-copies to each
Member simultaneously and information copies to

the Staff members concerned. Normally a signa-
ture copy will be circulated first to the Vice Chair-

man, if present and concurring, then to the other
Members, and lastly to the Chairman.

„ b. When-a Member is unable to take action within a
reasonable time (normally within three working
days), he will forward the signature copy to the
Member next in order of routing. ahd advise the
Minutes Section accordingly. |

c. The Minutes Section will recirculate signature
copies for information and/or approval of all
language changes. However, technical changes
correcting citations, references, grammer, minor

: stylistic flaws, ete., will not be considered language
* changes unless 80 indicated baal person mak-
. ing the correction. ”

d. Members desiring to make. a substantial change
in language, express a comment, or- -ascertain the
views of other Members, will request that the .
item be calendared. -,

21a
(3) Tally-Sheet Cases.

a. When initials, rather than signatures, are suffi-
cient, the Minutes Section will attach a. pink tally
sheet (CAB Form 124, copy attached) to study
copies and forward such copies to all Members
simultaneously. Information copies will also be
sent to all staff members concerned. .

b. The Minutes Section will indicate in the upper
right-hand corner of each tally sheet a time limit
which allows three working days for taking action,
and in the event of an emergency; a closer time |
limit will be shown. In such cases an explanation

of the special circumstances involved will appear
on the first page of the Notation document.

0

c. The Member will indicate his position on the
recommended action by (1) checking the appro-

‘priate box on the Tally Sheet (and, where he dis-
approves, indicating whether or not he wishes his
dissent to be shown on the outgoing document,
if any); (2) initialing in the space provided; and.
(3) returning the Tally Sheet to the Minutes
Section. on 3

d. When a Member wishes to postpone voting beyond
the time limit, he will indicate under Comments“
his reasons for postponing his vote. Upon advice
that the Member is prepared to vote, the Minutes
Section will furnish another Tally Sheet.

e. When a Member approves or disapproves a recom-
mendation, but adds comments, the Minutes Sec-
tion will bring such comments to the attention of
the other Members and, where necessary or de-
sirable, to the attention of the Office (s) or Bu-
reau(s) concerned. ~ oe 8

*

4) Delivery of N otation Documents. To assure prompt

: action on Notation items (whether signature or tally -
sheet cases), all documents should be hand carried
among the Members’ Offices and the Minutes Sec-
tion. Special 3 are available for this

purpose.

6), Report on Status of Notation Items. The Minutes
Section will prepare and distribute to the Members
twice weekly a report on the status of pending Nota-
tion items. When an item has been held beyond
the designated time limit, the report will show the
office holding such item and the reason therefor, if
known. Items will be considered as completed only
after the Minutes Section has received positive in-
dication of the position of each Member.

ATTACHMENT B

Excerpr From Minutes or a MEETING or THE CTV. AERO-
wautics Boarp HELD at its OFFICE IN WasHINcTor,
D. C., -JaNnvuaRy 7, 1958 5 a

PRESENT: Mr. Durfee, Chairman, Mr. Gurney, vice
Chairman, Mr. Denny, Mr. Minetti, Mr. Hector
Members of the Board 1

The Board convened at 10:20 a. m.
* * * * 5 *
3. Suggestions for Revised Board Procedures. (Calendar
Items 1, 2, and 3.) The Board considered various sugges-
tions aimed at expediting the transaction of its day-to-day -
business. After full ‘Gecussion the * was unan-
imously agreed to:

. (a) neee of matters to the Board ie action
0 . „ * 9
Any item presented for action by notation will be
. oalendareqͥ at the request of a Member of the Board who

eee cSt eo a eile ang

23a a

feels that its nature warrants Board discussion, But when
in the first instance a Member merely has a question or
questions regarding the Agtation item he will endeavor,

through his Assistant, to resolve the question or questions

by diseussion with the originating Office or Bureau. To

facilitate this, all notation memoranda will indicate the

name and telephone extension of the person or persons
most familiar with the subject matter, and this requirement
will also apply to memoranda dealing with items to be
calendared for Board discussion. ;

Except when impossible due to circumstances beyond
control, memoranda presenting matters for Board action
will be submitted to the Members at least 24 hours prior
to the date the matter is to be taken up for calendar dis-
cussion, or to a deadline for action by notation, in -order
to permit adequate study by the Members. The staff con-

- cerned will be expected to give clear and positive reasons in

justification of any deadline requiring departure from the
foregoing rule. 1 he
N „ . * „„
/3/ M. C. Moradax
M. C. Mulligan
Secretary

[SEAL] |

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385603_0476%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
