# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — National Maritime Union v. National Labor Relations Board

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385603_0271%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1967
- **Citation:** 386 U.S. 959

## Text

IN THE

Supreme Cowt of the United | ‘Bates

Ocrosma Term, 1966

,. =1008 | <

NATIONAL MARITIME UNION OF AMERICA, AFL- -

CIO, RICK MILLER and ROBERT COLLILEUX,

aA ae, pa Pee ae _____ Petitioners, _
. VS.
NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD,
es —

=)

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO ©
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT |

= AsraHam E. FREEDMAN,
J CHartes Sovet,’
Counsel for Petitioners,
36 Seventh Avenue,
New York, New York, 10011.

~

WW idede 5 oe ninco Cr mh sesaren ch PONG 8 mT ae BT He NE ow En an ob Miah Doin itll

*

INDEX

Opinions BELOW ......... vhekeveewses gaara ues
MS ic rte oe =
: QuEsTions PRESENTED ....... ao ereeee ze ; teveuas
Srarurs INvoLvep....... eiaau cos eae cenaias
STATEMENT OF THE NG rakes ss ha vnsds AIEEE fa

Reasons ror Grantine THE Wait sieedesscorevesse

I. The decision of the court below is in direct

“IL

conflict with thie decisions of this Court in Local
761 v. NLRB (General Electric), 366 U.S.
667 (1961), United Steet Workers v. NLRB,
376 U.S. 492 (1964), and NLRB v. Fruit and
Vegetable Packers, 377 U.S. 58 (1964), all of

of which held that picketing addressed to em

ployees performing tasks necessary to the

day-to-day operations of the primary em-.

ployer was protected primary. picketing even
though conducted away from the - situs *

the striking employees ..........0.0.000000%

The decision of. the: court below is in direct

conflict with the decision of the Court of Ap- .
- ‘peals for the District of Columbia Ciréuit in

. Seafarers’ Union v. NLRB (Salt Dome), 265
' F.2d 585 (D.C. Cir. 1959), which held that the -

vessel on which seamen work is their work

situs, the picketing of which i is protected prj-

mary picketing, even though the crew may be
temporarily absent from the vessel ........

7s

ages

CONCLUSION ..5...5....- pandiedeunssereveetinesin: * i

sneha alot allt 8 in a cael eN Se 2 a BL A 6 em Oe sont Ae lie hs goicten ah iin OM PEL 0 te ache Lage a tthe te ae eg kt tn seuemmeuenne 1 . ‘é

, . PAGE
Local 76 v. NLRB. ( Generat. Hilcctric), 366 U. x)

| Appendix A: Ps

; Tape or Cases

sas aihk apn) OnE PE : .6; 8, 9, 10, 13, 14, A5,18 ©

NLRB v. Fruit and Vegetable Packers; 377 U.S. 58, __

12-L. Ed. 2d 129 | en avahickeeeate os
NLRB ‘v. International Rice Milling Company, 341 -
MED eadeo ole ddh cee eneeaukecebiens 9
Sailors Union of the Pacific, 92 NLRB 5 547: (1950)
9n, 14,15
Seafarers’ i v. NLRB (Salt ne) 265 F.2d Re
585 : (D. C. Cir. 1959) ee Se ENE eer RNS fe 6,7, 16,17 -
United Steel Workers v. NLRB, 376 U.S. 492, 11 L.
Ed. 2d 863 (1964) ......... enMeE OD 13, 15
SraTures |
_ 28 U. S. C., , Seetion 1256(1) eee ee er Pee re

Nartowat LasBor Retations Act AS AMENDED

- Seétion 8(b) (4) (i) (ii) (B), 29, U. 8. ©. A. 158(b)

PTR. ci sevcessuswreisteviveten ess 2, 8, 9, 15

Index to Appendices

Statutes Se Sst Nauutheceucus Peete eee 20

Appendix B: ee

. Opinion... iid staeeeéGatnsishewaues |
Appendix C: | oo

Decree ..... PR a a ae poeree: ; note 35

detail hoe a REIN eet “

&

IN THE

| Sage Court of the Huited States —

| OcrosER Term, 1966
ae anv No

ra
Vv

Nationa Maritime Union or America, AFL-CIO, Rick
Miuter and Roperr CoLLiLevux,,

* Petitioners,

vs. |

Ye Newnan Lason a, Boarp,
\ 4 a

. 4.
—_—

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF. APPEALS
FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

To THE HoworaBe, Tue Cuter J USTICE AND ASSOCIATE °

JuUsTICEs oF THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UnIrep
StaTEs:' \

Petitioners, National Maritime’ Union of America,
AFL-CIO, Rick Miller and Robert Collileux, pray that
a Writ of Certiorari be issued to review the Decree of.
the United States Court of Appeals for the Highth Circuit
entered in the above entitled case on November 3, 1966.

Opinions Below

The Decision and Order of the National Labor Rela
tions Board and Trial Examiner’s decision, entered as |

2 asst of the Record i in the Court below, nine (9) copies of

: , ee
. = P . : ;
RAS Healt Aart AL SAIS LOPE, then CHG 0 scented ‘
“ 4

.

which are submitted herewith. is seein in 152 NLRB

.. No. 149 (1965). The Opinion of the United. States Court

of Appeals for the Kighth Circuit, printed as Appendix
B hereto, is reported i in 367 F. 2d: 171 (8th Cir. 1966). The
Decree of the United States Court of Appeals for the

_ Eight Circuit is staat ae as + Soom C hereto.

J urisdiction

.

“The Decree of the United States Court of duane

' for the Eighth Circuit was entered on November 3, 1966

(Appendix C). The Petition for Rehearing was dénied on

‘November 3, 1966. The jurisdiction of this Court i is 8 invoked

under 28 US. C., Section 1254(1).

Questions Presented -

( 1) Where abies of a river senbent - company. °
engaged i in transporting coal and grain in barges are on
strike, does not the right to engage in a primary strike
and primary picketing include the right to appeal to others’
not to move, clean or load the company’s barges: even —.

,, though such work is done when the striking employees are
} a esi absent from the barges?

( 2) Where employees of a river towboat company spend
more than half their working time performing duties aboard’
the company’s barges, are not these barges the situs ‘of

--their employment even when the crew. may be temporarily
_ absent from them -

Statute Involved

=m

The disatiees provision involved j is the National Labor

|e “Relations Act, as amended, Section 8¢b) (4) (3) (41) (B), 29

U.S.C.A. 158(b) (4) ( (ii)(B). .

%
SALE EALTLO PT FD LILI PEE FEO AIOE

.
REI IT Min ET ABN

aD

“Statement of the Case

_ The National Maritime Union of America (NMU), Peti-
titioner herein, is the collective bargaining representative
for the unlicensed crew of the M/V ‘‘Kleanor Gordon’’, a

‘river towboat owned and operated by Mid-America Trans-
portation °Company. -.Mid-America, a wholly owned sub-
sidiary of Peabody Coal Company, is engaged in the water
transportation of coal and grain in barges. on the Missis-
sippi River between St. Louis, Missouri and the’ Minne-

_ .apolis-St. Paul area. Mid-America also ‘owns the barges

in which the coal and grain is carried. - :
_ The normal operation of the M/V-‘‘Eleanor Gordon’’ is
’ to pick up a tow of 15 barges loaded with coal at the. docks

__of the Peabody Coal Company in Hast St. Louis and move .
the barges up the Mississippi°River to a fleeting area’ in»
the Minneapolis-St. Paul area. There the coal barges aré

“tied off”? and the M/V ‘‘Eleanor Gordon’? picks up a tow

of grain barges which previously had been loaded at the-

‘Farmers’ Union Grain Terminal in St. Paul. These grain
‘barges are taken downstream to St. Louis-where the M/V
‘‘Hleanor Gordon’? picks up a new tow of coal barges and
returns north. Pos ars

The barges loaded with coal are destined for’ Northern «-

States Power ‘Company pursuant to a contract whereby
Mid-America transports the coal to points in the Minne-

: apolis-St. Paul area as designated by Northern States

Power Company.? Under this contract ‘it is the, Responsi-
bility of Mid-America, rather than, Northern States Power
Company, to -see. that the-coal is delivered to the desig-

' nated points. — | 7,

e " on
’ ¢

1A fleeting area ‘is a place’ where the barges are left. until it is
time to take them to a dock for unloading, or conversely, where:

loaded barges. are made into tows for transportation downstream.
* The,transportation contract between Northern States Power and
‘Mid-America permits Northern States Power to participate in the

financing ofthe construction of the towboat-and several barges, and ‘
‘gives Northern States Power an interest in the ‘salvage value of .

these vessels -and ‘the right to acquire them at some future time.

\
“« 7 Bd i +

4 c

hia Gnereten st Fi ms

‘ "| . , s .,
A DEIN A A, AI tena NTIS I DC one! Sgr G PMR

4.

It is not feasible for a boat the size of the ‘‘Eleanor
Gordon’’ to operate in a harbor area. ‘ Accordingly, the
‘‘Kleanor Gordon’’ ties off its tow in the fleeting area
and the work of moving the barges from the fleeting area
to the Northern States Power Company docks is done by

Twin City Barge & Towing Company ‘pursuant to a sub-

contract with Mid-America. In performing this work,
Twin City did not have any’ contractual relationship with
Northern States Power but rather acted only as the sub-
contractor of Mid-America, doing work which Mid-America

was obligated to do under ats contract with Northeru States -

Power. °

Once the barges are delivered to Northern States Power.

and the coal emptied; they are then cleaned by Minnesota

Harbor Company and taken to the docks of the Farmers’

‘Union Grain Terminal where they are loaded with grain.

Twin City Barge & Towing Company then takes them
from Farmers’ Union Grain Terminal back to the fleeting

area to await the arrival of the M/V ‘‘Bleanor Gordon’? -

so that they can be transported downstream.

Although their living quarters are aboatdi the M/V
‘‘Kleanor Gordon’’, the greater part of the unlicensed
crew’s work actually is done aboard the barges in the
tow. This work includes the connecting and disconnecting
of the individual barges.in the tow, putting out running

ing the barges on a routine basis and doing all necessary
maintenance and navigational work aboard the barges.
The men work six-hour watches—six hours on and six
hours off. Of this time, more than half is ‘spent ree
ing tasks on the barges.

In August of 1964, after numerous efforts to negotiate
a collective bargaining agreement had proved fruitless,

- the unlicensed crew of the M/V ‘‘Eleanor Gordon’’ went

- lights and flags, pumping the bilges, inspecting and repair- .

0

on strike. /During this. strike picketing occurred at the |

situs of the Mid-America barges (1) when Twin City
picked up the barges at the fleeting area, (2) at Minnesota

BP LRT ORL A

al Darien tennant ae Alen were ae

Harbor Service: when the barges were being cleaned and

(3) at the docks of the Farmers’ Union Grain Terminal - °

when the barges were being loaded with grain. The picket
sign was specifically limited to the barges belonging to
Mid-America and the picketing was conducted as close to_
the barges.as was physically possible. No barges belong-
ing to any other company were picketed nor: were the.
operations of any. other barges affected. Thus, in- both*
intent and result the economic impact of the picketing was
strictly limited to the barges -belonging to Mid-America.
Despite the fact, thatthe picketing was limited in this
manner, the National Labor Relations Board, on a charge
filed” by Farmers’ Union Grain Terminal, issued a com-
plaint alleging that the National Maritime Union picketing
was secondary picketing.in violation of Section 8(b) (4) of
the Act. The Board, adopting the -decision of the Trial
Examiner, found that the ‘‘work situs’? of the Mid- America
employees was the route of the M/V ‘‘Eleanor Gordon’? —
between St. Louis and the fleeting area in Minneapolis-St.
Paul? and not the barges which were the property of
Mid-America and on which Mid-America’s employees spent
most of their working hours. On the basis ofthis finding
the Board then concluded that any picketing which occurred
away from this ‘‘work situs’? was secondary and contrary
to the act. | .
In addition, the’Board held that the. activities of Twin
City, Minnesota Harbor Service and Farmer’s Union
Graixt Terminal were not the day-to-day activities of Mid-
America. Actually it was never contended that they were.

Rather, it was NMU’s contention, as the evidence ‘con-
| clusively showed, that the work performed by these, com-
panies was necessary to the day-to-day activities of Mid-

America and thus might be picketed under this Court’s

decisions in United pron Workers v. NLRB, 376 U.S. 492

8 The decision of the Board would require the union to follow
the tug up and down the river—a finding which is utterly unrealistic
and practically impossible. Navigational impediments. and econamic

factors would preclude any such procedure.

es eas eee ad

(1964), and Local 761 v. NLRB (General Electric), 366
U.S. 667 (1961)...

The National Maritime Union then filed a ‘petition to
review the Board’s decision in the United States Court of
Appeals for the Eighth. Circuit. -Although affirming the |
Board’s decision, the Court of Appeals for the Eighth
Circuit did not adopt the Board’s finding. that the work
situs was the route of the M/V ‘‘Eleanor Gordon’’ between
St. Louis and the fleeting area. Rather, said the Court,
‘*We assume that what they (the Board) meant to say

.is that the employment situs was the towboat and tle

towed. barges during the time the employees worked on

them as they plied between the terminals.’? (Emphasis

supplied.) Thus, the Court below in effect held that a

‘vessel ceases to be the work situs of seamen merely because

the men temporarily leave the vessel, a conclusion which

“ig in direct conflict with the dashaion of the Court: of

Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit in Seafarers’
Union v. NLRB (Salt ene 265 F.2d, 585 ve Cir..
1959).

In response to NMU ' contention that the ticketing was
primary because the handling, cleaning and loading of
the barges was necessary to the day-to-day operations of
Mid-America, the Court merely stated, ‘‘The concept of
what is necessary to the day-to-day operations of. MAT
must have its limitations, too’’ without, however, indi-
cating what these limits were nor ‘delineating the basis
on which it was drawing the distinction between legal and
illegal conduct.

NMU seeks review of the decision below because of
the extreme importance that it has on the rights of mari-
time workers on our inland waterways. ‘There are. over
80,000 seamien* employed on vessels engaged in trans-

4 There are over 20,000 vessels.in operation on our inland water-

| “ways on which approximately 80,000 seamen are employed with an

additional 80,000 persons employed in directly connected shoreside

‘positions, see Big Load Afloat, pages 5, 33 (1965), published by |

The American on Operators, Inc.

7

— porting barges on our inland rivers. The method of
operation here involved, where a towboat moves between
fleeting areas and never docks, -is the prevailing method of

- operation. Since it is impossible to picket a moving tow-
boat, river seamen will be denied the right to organize =|
and engage in collective action unless they are afforded :

the right to picket the’ barges on which they work. We q

respectfully submit that the decision below is erroneous . ,
for two reasons: Fifst, the transporting of barges to and
from: the fleeting area as well as the cleaning and loading
of. the barges, was essential to the day-to-day operations
of Mid-America and, therefore, the picketing of this work = = |
was primary picketing under the rules set forth by this
Court in United Steel Workers v. NLRB, supra and Local

761 v. NLRB (General Electric), supra. Second, the de-_.
cision of the Court below that the barges ceased to be a :
‘‘work situs’? of the crew once the barges were tied off
at the fleeting area is contrary to the decision of the

Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit in -

Seafarers’ Union v. NLRB (Salt Dome). supra, which

© held that the yessel on which sefimen work is their ‘‘work

situs’? and that their temporary absence from the vessel
does not change the vessel’s status as the work situs.

7 Se ee ee

Ae ees pe Sean

ALE iain Heist Ths +2 nin

8
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The decision of the court below is in direct con-
flict with the decisions of this Court in Local 761 v.

NLRB (General Electric) , 366 U.S. 667 (1961 ), United

Steel Workers v. NLRB, 376 U.S. 492. (1964), and

NLRB vy. Fruit and Vegetable Packers, 377 U.S. 58 | :

(1964), all of which held that picketing addressed to
employees performing tasks necessary to the day-to-
day operations of the primary employer was protected

Primary picketing even though conducted away from

the job situs of the striking employees.

The NMU picketing was at all. times strictly limited
to the Mid-America barges at times when they were being
used to further Mid-America’s business. As such it was

; primary picketing protected by the: National Labor Rela-

tionss Act. While Section 8(b) (4) (i) (ii) (B) of the Act
makes it an unfair labor practice to induce or encourage
any person to engage in a strike or refusal to work, it is
subject to the proviso that ‘‘nothing in clause (B). shail

'. make unlawful. . . any primary strike or primary picket-

ing.’’ Literally interpreted, the portion of ‘Section .
8(b) (4) (i) (ii)(B) which precedes this proviso would ban
all picketing and all strike activity. ‘This Court, however,
has. been careful ‘to. point out that the language of the:
proviso ‘precludes such a literal interpretation. Local 761
v. NLRB (General Electric), 366 U.S. 667 (1961). ‘hus,
fulfillment of the legislative intent requires that the Court

examine the conduct in question in light: of the traditional . -

right of unions to seek support for their cause by::‘‘appeal-
ing to neutral employees whose tasks aid the employer’s
everyday .operations.”” Local 761 v. NLRB (General
Electric), 366 U.S. at 681. So long as the Union’s conduct

g

“is so limited, it falls within the proviso and is protected |

primary activity.

9

In Local 761 v. NLRB (General Blectric), supra, this
Court gave careful consideration to the question of dis-
tinguishing primary activity from a. secondary boycott
in a decision which reaches the vital issue in the present
_. case. There, Local 761 was on strike against General .
* Electric and set up picket lines at General Electric’s plant
in Louisville, Kentucky. The plant had several entrance
gates, one of which was reserved exclusively for employees -
of independent contractors. The Board had held that the
_ Union’s picketing at this. latter gate was a violation of

Section 8(b) (4) of the Act, 1 123 NLRB -1547.—This’ Court,
however, set aside this determination :and remanded the
case to the Board, holding that if the employees | of the
independent centractors who use the gate in question were
performing work necessary to the normal operations of
the plant, then the Union was entitled to picket the gate
even though it was not used by General Electric’ S em-
- ployees.

In ‘reaching this -conclusion, this Court reviewed .the
' leading cases “on the. scope of Section 8(b)(4). Thus, the
Court noted that Section 8(b)(4) was not to be inter-
preted so as to limit the right of a union to engage in the
ordinary primary strike, citing NLRB v. International
_ Rice Milling Company, 341 U.S. 665 (1951), and that ‘‘not
‘all so-called secondary boycotts were outlawed,’’ 366 U.S.
at 672, 6 L. Ed. 2d at 597. After surveying the Board’s
treatment of the problem through the evolution of the

' *Moore Drydock® tests, the Court concluded that ‘‘The

key to the problem is found in the type of work that is
being performed by those who -use the separate gate,’’ 366°
U.S. at 680, 6 L. Ed. 2d at 592. The establishment of a
separate gatecould not be used to circumvent the right
of a union to engage in traditional strike activity.

‘‘Qn the other hand if a separate gate were -de-
vised for regular plant: deliveries; the barring of

’ 8 Sailors Union of the Pacific, 92 NLRB 547 (1950).

res i$" iis as
.

zits Soll ioe Not

10°

- picketing at that location would make a clear in-.
vasion on traditional primary activity of gppealing

to neutral employees whose tasks aid the employer’s — 2

“everyday operations.’’ 366 US. at 681, 6 L. Ed. 2d
at 602. (Emphasis supplied.)

Local 761 v. NLRB (General Electric), supra, thus
establishes the principles that (1) inherent in the right
to engage in a primary strike is the right to appeal to
neutral employees not to perform: work essential] to the
normal operations of the primary employer and (2) that

these appeals may be made even though the primary .

employer’s employees are not present at and do not work
at the site where the appeal is made. eae
It is of great significance and extreme importance to

‘the instant case that the decision tin Local 761 was not

predicated on the appeals being made at the job site of
the primary employer’s employees: ‘In fact, no employees
of General Electric used the gate that was being picketed.
Instead, the test established was the nature of the work
being performed by the employees to whom the picketing

was directed rather than the location of the picketing.

. This right of a union to appeal to neutral employees
not to perrorm tasks’which were essential to the day-to-day
operations of the primary employer was reaffirmed by this
Court in United Steel Workers v. NLRB, 376.U.S. 492,
11 L. Ed. 2d 863 (1964), where the picketing involved was
not even conducted on the primary employer’s premises.* _

_ Picking up where it had left off in Local 761 v. NLRB.

(General Electric), supra, this Court stated:

6In United Steelworkers v. NLRB, 376 U.S. 492 (1964), the
striking employees picketed railroad cars destined for the primary
employer at a gate located on another employer’s premises This |
gate was kept locked when not in use and was accessible only to
railroad employees. Thus the picketing at this gate necessarily was

_ directed only to neutral employees. The Court held such picketing

to be primary because it was directed to work which was necessary |
to the day-to-day operations of the primary employer.

——
°
»

ee

en a

‘‘Nor may the General Electric case be put aside —
for the reason that the picketed gate in the present |

ease was located on property owned by New York
. Central Railroad and not upon property owned by
the primary employer. The location of the picket-

ing is an important but not decisive factor, and in

this éase we agree with Judge Lumbard. that the

location of the picketed gate upon New Y ork Central

Property has little, if any, sau wales

‘¢¢TIn this case, it is undisputed that the rail-

road’s. operations for Carrier were in furtherance of

’ Carrier’s normal business. It is equally Clear from

the record that the picketing employees | made no

| attempt to interfere with any of the railroad’s oper-
- ations for plants others than Carrier. The railroad
employees were not encouraged to, nor did they,

- refuse to serve the other plants. The picketing was, ©

designated. to accomplish no more than picketing

outside one of Carrier’s own delwery entrances might —

have accomplished. Because the fence surrounding
the railroad’s right of way was a continuation of the
fence surrounding the Carrier plant, there was no

home to the railroad workers servicing Carrier its

dispute with Carrier’. 311 F.2d 135; 154.” (Empha-

sis supplied. )

As pointed out in: the foregoing eacnee the test: of
whether strike conduct is primary activity or a secondary
boycott lies in its economic impact. ' If the economic impact
is no greater than that which would be achieved by shutting
down the primary employer’s operations, then .the acti ity

in question is protected primary activity. | Phat is
the proper basis-for, distinguishing primary activit om
a secondary boycott appears from this Court’s decisi@in |

NLRB v. Prot aa Vegetable Packers, 377 U.S. 58, BL.

Ed. 2d 129 (1964). While that case dealt with consumer

other place. where the union could have brought. .

o*

12 -

”

"picketing, this Court pointed. out that the basic distinction

between primary and secondary activity. is that secondary
activity involves conduct which threatens injury to the
neutral employer in his business generally, while conduct
which affects the secondary employer only in relation to
the product of the primary employer is primary- activity.
Said the Court:
‘6. When consumer picketing is employed only .
to persuade customers not to buy the struck prod- —
uct, the wnion’s appeal is closely confined to the
- primary dispute. The site of the appeal is expanded
to include the premises of the secondary employer; *

but if the appeal succeeds, the secondary employers’

_ purchasers from the struck firms are decreased only
because the public has diminished its purchases of

the struck product. On the other hand, when con-
sumer. picketing is employed to persuade customers

‘not to trade-at all with the secondary employer, the
latter stops: buying the struck product, not because

of a falling demand, but in response to pressure |

- designed to inflict injury on his business generally:
In such case, the union does more than merely fol-
low the struck product; it creates a separate dispute
with t secondary employer. oa

\ «We disagree therefore with the Court of Ap-
peals that the test of ‘to threaten, coerce, or re- -
strain’ for the purposes of this case is whether Safe-
way suffered or was likely to suffer economic loss..
A violation of Sec. 8(b) (4) (ii)(B) would not be\ es-
tablished, merely because respondents’ picketing was
effective te reduce Safeway’s sales of Washington
State apples, even if this led or might lead Safewa
to drop the item as a poor seller.’’ (Emphasis
supplied.) >» N

-* NMU had its dispute, and the picketing occurred as close

oaths eine ennis sia lela Dieta Deiks oa ee -

Applying the foregoing principles to the instant ¢ase,
it is clear that the NMU picketing was at all times pro-
tected primary activity. It should first be noted that no_
‘barges, other than Mid-America barges, were picketed.
Both the picket sign and the leaflet which was distributed _
clearly identified Mid-America as the employer with whom

cumstances. Moreover, there was no picketing when Mid-
America barges were not present. Thus, in all these re-
spects. NMU fully complied with the Moore Dry Dock
_ requirements. : ees . en
Looking at the individual situations, the work ‘being
done by T'win.City Barge and Towing Company clearly
_ was necessary to the day-to-day operations of Mid-Amer-
ica. ‘ Twin City actually was a subcontractor of Mid-
America, doing work which Mid-America was contractually
obligated to perform for N orthern States Power Company.
The delivery of the barges to Northern States Power was as
important and necessary to Mid-America’s day-to-day
operations as- was ‘the delivery of the. railroad cars in
United Steelworkers v. NLRB, supra. °In the Steelworkers
case, this Court sustained the right of the union to urge
the railroad employees not to deliver the railroad cars -
even though the railroad cars were not the property of the
primary employer. Here, where the ‘barges are the prop-.
erty of the primary employer, the right to urge neutral ©
employees not to handle them is even clearer. The work -
done by Twin City in the instant case also is analogous.
to the work which was being done by the maintenance sub-
contractors in Local 761 v. NLRB (General Electric), supra,
in that there, as here, the employer had subcontracted out .
work essential to its own operations. Local 761 v. NLRB
(General Electric), supra, makes it clear that such subcon-:
tractin@ does not deprive a union of its right to picket or ©
to urge that such work-not be performed. It should also. |
pe noted that there was no effort to prevent Twin City .

to the Mid-America barges as was possible under the on

@

: .
SRO SS DBA G DRE EAE Ma a SLAG oly Cd See
‘
. .

ee een AP A NBG

14

/
s} a

’ e ©
7

from handling barges, of employers other than Mid-Amer-

, ica, and that such barges were handled without any in-

terruption whatsoever. Finally the economic impact on.
Twin ‘City was no greater than that which ,would have’
been achieved if the ‘‘Eleanor Gordon’’ had stopped oper- -
ating and was unable to deliver barges to the fleeting area.
Insofar as Farmers Union Grain Terminal and Minne-:
sota Harbor Company are concerned, the work of logging .
and cleaning the barges, even though: done by neutral .em-

‘ployees, similarly was essential to Mid-America’s day-to- —

day operations for if- the barges were not cleaned and -
loaded, the ‘‘Eleanor Gordon’’ would not have any cargo .

"to tow and would have to stop operating. That such’work
is part and parcel of.the’ day¥o-day operations of vessels

was recognized by the Board in Sailors’ Union of the
Pacific, 92 NLRB at 549: ;

‘‘The multitudinous steps of preparation, includ-
ing hiring and training a crew and putting stores
aboard, are as much a part of the normal business
of a ship as the voyage itself. dg (Emphasis supplied. )

‘ The work being» done by the employees of Farmers’
Union and Minnesota Harbor is analogous to the work

‘of truckers making deliveries, to a factory. The only dif-

ference is that here, instead of the delivery men coming

'. to the premises of the primary employer, the primary em-
. ployer, Mid-America, moves its ‘‘premises’’, the barges,

to the delivery men. In either case, however, the nature
of the work involved, making a delivery to the primary
employer, remains the same. In Local 761 v. NLRB (Gen-
eral Electric), supra; this Court held that an employer, by
devising a separate; gate for regular plant deliveries, could .
not deprive a striking union of the right to picket such
work. The NMU picketing i in the instant case falls within

this principle and is but an application, in the ‘context of a

ip

'
a
. :

¥

b -

:
'

15°

. _ \ ; : a a
martime operation, of the kind of primary activity which

' this Cour’ has held to be permissible. |
_- The court below refused to follow the decisions in Lacal
761 v. NLRB (General Electric), supra, and United Steel-

workers v. NLBB, supra, with the cursory statement, ‘‘The
distinction lies in the situs.’’? The court then proceeded to
hold that picketing was proper only’ if conducted at the
jobsites of the primary. employees, the very contention

761 and the Steelworkers. decisions. In thus refusing to

follow these decisions, the opinion below represents a seri-.
‘ous departure from established principles in interpreting

section 8(b) (4) of the Act:. Accordingly, certiorari should

be granted upon this ground alone the end that this.

erroneous decision may be gorrected.

The decision of the court below is in direct conflict
with the decision of the Court of Appeals for the

: which this court, considered and rejected in both the Local.

District of Columbia Circuit in. Seafarers’ Union v..

NLRB (Salt Dome), 265 F.2d 585 (D.C. Cir. 1959),

which held that the vessel on which seamen work is ©

their work situs, the pickéting of which is protected :
primary picketing, even though the crew may. be fem-

porarily absent from the vessel.
Both the courts ‘and the Board have recognized that,

where seamen are involved, the situs ‘of. employm is.

the vessel or vessels on which they , work, and not any’
particular territorial locale. Thus, in the; frequent =
Moore Dry Dock decision, Sailors’ Union of the Pc

92 NLRB 547 (1950), the Board upheld the right 7 a
seamen’s union to picket 9 vessel while it was in a ship-

e yard, stating:

“Tn the usual case, the situs of a lebor dispute
is the premises of the primary employer. | Picketing

a

°
cf Sehgal:

16 ae &
: = w
_of the premises is also picketing of the situs; the
test of legality of picketing is that enunciated by the
-Board in the Pure Oil and. Ryan Construction cases.
But in some cases the situs of the dispute may not
_ be limited to a fixed location; it may be ambula-
tory. Thus in the Schultz case, a majority of the
Board held that the truck upon which a truck driver
worked was the situs of a labor dispute between him
and the owner of: the truck. ‘Similarly, we hold
in the present case that, as the Phophe was the:
plage of employment of the seamen, it was the situs
of the dispute between Samsoc and the Respondent
over working conditions aboard the vessel.’’ (Em-
phasis supplied.)

In Moore Dry Dock the Board upheld the right of a sea-
men’s union to picket at a shipyard where the employer’s

; vessel, the ‘‘situs’’ of the dispute, was undergoing repairs.

There the picketing occurred at a time when a new crew

was being trained aboard the vessel; however, in Seafarers’

Union v. NLRB (Salt Dome), 265 F.2d 585 (D.C. Cir.
1959), the Court of Appeals for the District of: Columbia
held that the presence of a crew aboard the vessel being
picketed was not essential to the union’s right to picket..
Since repajrs ‘and overhauling” were part of the normal
operations of a ship, the union had the right to picket
vsuch activity even in thé absence of the crew. Said the

| Court:

‘To us it seems indubitably clear that Salt Dome

> was engaged in its normal business in overhauling
and repairing the Pelican. In this mechanical age
“overhaul and ys are as normal and as necessary

as any phase of an operation involving machinery.
‘Engines of all sorts—trucks, newspaper pregses,

_ Jets, locomotives, etc., ete——must periodically be

cs os =e

17

A

overhauled and repaired. So much is so‘clear that
it need not be belabored.

Gp. e. eee ° °

“6, . . This boat, a piece of equipment owned
by- the primary employer, was actually the situs of
the primary dispute. The primary situs in the dis-

pute was movable and did move normally from |

plaee to place. . . . We think that, when an em-
ployer under such circumstances moves a, piece of

equipment onto the property of someone else,.for —

a normal business purposé, striking employees may
peacefully picket that equipment even though none
but supervisory employees are on or about it. Sev-

eral propositions support this conclusion. ‘The chief

one is that employees should not be held: to lose
the right to picket peaceably if all employees go

out-on the strike so that none are left on the em-

pldyer’s: property. Another supporting proposition
is that the primary employer should not. have the
power to prevent picketing by merely turning out
all his employees. We think the presence ar. absence
of employees of the primary employer on the prem-
ises is not a critical factor in the legality of a picket
line.’’ (Emphasis supplied.) -

In the instant case, the tines and loading of the
barges, as well as the movement of the barges to and |
from the fleeting area, was a much more frequent occur- -
rence than the annual overhaul of the vessel involved in
the Salt Dome decision. The absence of the men from
the barges during these routine operations was even more
temporary than the crew’s absence in Salt Dome and did
not in any way change the fact that the barges were their

‘regular place of employment. Thus, the holding below

18

that the barges were | the work situs. only while the men
were working aboard them is in direct conflict with the

_ Salt Dome decision. Accordingly, certiorari should be,

granted so that this conflict may be resolved.

Conclusion

The: NMU picketing was strictly limited to the Mid-

America barges during times when they were being used

to further Mid-America’s business. As.in-both Local 761

v. (General Electric), supra, and United Stéel Workers v.
NLRB, supra, the appeal of the picketing was limited to
requesting neutral employees f refrain-from activities
which were necessary to the day-to-day operations of the
primary employer. The holding below that such picket-
ing had to be limited to the jobsite of the striking em-
ployees thus is in direct conflict with this Court’s decision

the locality of the picketing was not the controlling factor
and that such picketing was permitted even though con-
ducted -away from the primary employer’s premises and
at areas where the primary employee8.did not work.

The lower Court’s holding that the barges were the -
.. situs of employment only while they were in the tow of the

M/V ‘‘Eleanor Gordon’’ is in direct conflict with the
decision of the Court of Appeals for the District of
Columbia Cireuit in Seafarers’ Union v. NIRB (Salt
Dome), supra, which held that the vessel on which seamen
work was the situs of their employment and could be

- picketed even. though the crew was temporarily absent.
~ If allowed to stand, the effect of the lower Court’s holding
_ will be -to limit striking employees to picketing a moving

towboat in mid-stream, a requirement that is both navi-
gationally impractical and economically impossible. _

The instant matter is of the utmost importance to the _

80,000 seamen employed on our inland waterways. With-

in the Local 761 and Steel Workers cases which held that

19

out the right to ere the barges on which they are
employed, | ithese employees will’ be effectively denied the |
' right to ‘organize and exercise the economic rights granted _
them by the N ational Labor Relations Act. Accordingly, —
it is respecté#lly submitted that Writ of Certiorari should:
be granted and the decision below reversed.

Respectfully submitted,
AspranamM. H, FREEDMAN, - — 7

CHARLES SovEL,
Counsel for Petitioners,
36 Seventh Avenue, Me. ie
New York, New York 10011.

=
a Pt hte corn is
°

20:
APPENDIX A

Statutes

NationaL Lasor Rexations Act
Section 8. Unfair Labor Practices.

(b) It shall be an unfair labor practice for a labor or-
ganization or its agents—

(4) (i) to. engage in; or to induce or encourage any in-*-
dividual employed by any person engaged in commerce or
in an industry affecting commerce fo engage in, a strike or
a refusal in the course ' is/employmént to use, manu-

_- facture, process, transport, or otherwise handle or work

PAT LN tere oR on oe

) sia Sais eee aii At G3” Wane aaraeten tink
°

on any goods, articles, materials or commodities or to per-
form any services; or (ii) to threaten, coerce, or restrain
any person engaged in commerce or in an industry affecting
commerce, where in either case an object thereof is:

* * *
a ;

(B) forcing or requiring any person to cease using, ,
selling, handling, transporting, or otherwise dealing in the.
products of any other producer, processor, or manufacturer,
or to cease doing business with any other person... Pro-
vided, That nothing contained in this clause (B) shall be
construed to make unlawful, where not otherwise’ unlawful,
any peers strike or primary picketing ;

a oo

: APPENDIX B

Opinion _ ;
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

For tae Eientx Crrcuir

. No. 18,066

: “ia af te : \
NationaL Maritime Union oF America, AFL-CIO,
Rick Miter and Rosert Couumevx, | ;

fs Petitioners,
v.

Nationau Lasor Reations Boagp,
Respondent.

On Petition for Review and Cross-Petition for Enforcement
of Order of National Labor Relations Board. _

7 —
=.

[October 10, 1966.]

Before Vocet, Chief Judge, Buacxmun, Circuit Judge, and
_ StepuHenson, District J udge.

Buackmovn, Circuit Judge.

.. We are confronted again with an issue of alleged sec-
ondary picketing and the interpretation, in a setting of
somewhat unusual facts, of § 8(b) (4) of the National Labor
Relations Act as amended by the Landrum-Griffin Act of
1959, 29 U.S.C. § 158(b) (4). Jurisdiction is established:

fad AE Ns ie tee

.
.
5 eR EEN Ge. we

22
Opinion

National Maritime Union of America, AFL-CIO (which
we designate herein as NMU), Rick Miller, its national
vice-president, and Robert Collileux, its employee, seek
to. set aside an order of the National Labor Relations
Board issued June 11, 1965, and reported as 152 N.L.R.B. -
No. 149. The Board in turn requests enforcement of its
order. The charging party, Farmers Union Grain ‘Ter-
minal Association (Farmers), has filed a brief amicus
curiae favoring enforcement.

Except for a footnote relating to briefs and of no sig-
nificance here, the Board panel unanimously adopted the
findings, conclusions and recommendations of the trial
examiner. It thereby determined that NMU in the course
of an economic strike against Mid-America Transportation
Company (MAT), attempted to and did induce employees
of secondary employers to engage in work stoppage and
threatened, coerced or restrained those employers with an

object of forcing them to cease doing business with MAT,

and thereby violated § 8(b)(4)(i) and (ii)(B) of the Act.*

*§ 158. Unfair labor practices oe Q
(b) It shall be an unfair labor practice for a labor ofganization x
or its agents— |

(4)(i) . .-. to induce or encourage any individual employed
by any person engaged in commerce or in an industry affecting

commerce to engage in . . . a reftisal in the course of his —,

employment . .°: to perform any services; or (ii) to threaten,

coerce, or restrain any person engaged in commerce or in an
_industry affecting commerce, where in either case an object
thereof is— |

' (B) forcing or requiring any person to cease using, sell- -
ing, handling, transporting, or otherwise dealing in the prod-
ucts of any other producer, processor, or manufacturer, or
to cease doing business with any other person . . . Provided,
That nothing contained in this clause (B) stiall be construed
to make unlawful, where not otherwise unlawful, any primary
strike or primary picketing; =§ - %

xo

23
Opinion

Its order contained the usual cease and desist provisions
and called for the posting of notices.

There is no dispute as to the basic facts:

-MAT’s unlicensed maritime employees are organized
and represented by:NMU. MAT i is engaged in the trans-
portation of bulk commodities by barge on the Mississippi
River between docks at’East Saint Louis, Illinois, and the
fleeting or mooring area at Inver. Grove, a few miles down
river from Saint Paul, Minnesota. The cargo carried up ©
river is coal destined for Northern States Power Company
(N SP). The cargo carried down river igygrain. The
barges used in these operations are owned or chartered
by MAT, They are moved by a towboat owned by MAT.
See Mid-America Transp. Co. v. NLRB, 325 F.2d -87, 88

(7 Cir. 1963). ; —

The towboat . (which pushes rather than tows) — an
operating complement of about 13 employees. One crew
- works for 30 consecutive days and then is off for the same
‘ length of time while another takes its. place. When on
duty, crew members at all times remain on the bo#t-or the
barges constituting its tow. They work 6-hour shifts.
Their personal quarters are: on the towboat. The
coming crew reports at the downstream end. Its first duty
is to tie off the barges which the towboat has brought
down river. The crew then picks up and prepares the north-
bound tow. The 27 locks between Saint Louis and Saint
Paul are so sized that, they require the customary tow of
15 barges (5 in line and 3 abreast) to be split as they go
through the locks: A crewman’s time is. divided -about
- evenly between the towboat and the barges. His work
on the barge consists, among other things, of fastening
and unfastening cables; putting up the jackstaff flag;
pumping, maintenance; inspecting and checking hatches,
‘rigging and running lights; navigation; and particular
duties when the boat and tow are passing finder: bridges
or going through locks. Occasionally, a barge is dropped

- < = is oe
p eewer cece ne ‘ ~ CURR eee Peat eRe nn Ae oO a ee
s

ie 24
+» Opinion *
off at a dock along the way between East Saint Louis and

the Inver Grove fleeting area; otherwise, the entire tow
is taken to the fleeting area and tied off there. The tow-

boat then picks up the southbound tow and returns to

Saint Louis. The boat itself is in continuoys operation
and makes a round trip about every. two weeks. It does
not go above the fleeting area and no MAT employee
remains with the barges after they are tied off there.

Farmers is engaged in the storage and merchandising of
grain for about 150,000 patrons in Montana, the Dakotas,
and Minnesota. It owns a terminal at the foot of Chestnut
Street on the Mississippi River in downtown Saint Paul.
It ships grain from the terminal mainly by barge but also
by rail and/truck. The barges for its grain are obtained
from four ar five different companies ; about one- third of:

_the grain it ships by barge goes in MAT barges. Most of

this grain is destined for the Gulf of Mexico but MAT
tows only to Saint Louis. , Farmers had a written agree- °
ment with MAT which provided, among other things, that

MAT would furnish and Farmers would: use 100 barges
or more during the 1964 navigation season; that each

‘‘shall be chartered on a bare boat basis’’; that Farmers '-

was responsible for cleaning prior to loading of grain
and for loading and unloading its cargo; and that MAT
might move the barges by the use of other towing facilities.

NSP is a private utility with plants in the: Twin City
area. It is under a long term contract to purchase coal
from MAT’s parent corporation. It has a’ separate con-
tract with MAT for transportation of the coal. This
obligates MAT to deliver to points which-NSP designates.

‘There are three of these points up river from the fleeting °

area. It is MAT’s responsibility to see that the barges -
get to the designated docks. The MAT-NSP contract is
silent.as to who delivers the barges to the NSP docks.
Actual delivery has been made by different towing com- ”

‘panies me than MAT.

rw)

25

" Opinion

Twin City Barge & Towing Company (Towing) pro- .
’ vides towing and harbor services in the Saint Paul area.
Specifically, it moves barges, singly or by twos, from the _

fleeting area to the particular NSP dock which ‘has been
designated and, to this extent, fulfills MAT’s obligation
to NSP. On occasion it cleans barges for MAT. - It makés

up the southbound tows.. It has been doing this work for '
MAT for six years. MAT is obligated to use Towing if
the latter has a boat available unless: MAT’s customer —

has designated a.different company, ©

_- Minnesota Harbor: Service, Ine. (Harbor) is engaged*
at Saint Paul in the towing of barges and in their clean-

ing, repair and service. It has done some business with
MAT since‘1962 but did not clean barges for. MAT until

. October 1964; prior to that time it cleaned MAT barges

for Farmers and another.

There is NO common ownership or control or common
officers or directors as between MAT, Farmers, N SP, Tow-
ing or Harbor.

- The fleéting area facility is owned by the.Port Authority *
of the City of Saint Paul. It is leased to Towing for the

° \

use of its barge eustomers including MAT.

No MAT employee performed any service at the docks
of Farmers or NSP. The examiner and the- Board spe-
cifically found that ‘‘MAT did not engage in any activity,

- in the conduct of its day-to-day operations, above the |

fleeting area in 1964, and no MAT employees were so

engaged in that period’’.

On August 1, 1964, NMU began a strike against MAT.
That morning, Collileux came to Farmers ’ dock -in Saint
Paul and distributed a pamphlet to five barge-loader em-

ployees of Farmers who were then at work there.’ The

pamphlet:referred to NMU’s dispute with MAT and asked

respectfor its picket lines and support for its strike. ©

.

.
™ heii . . ~
ih RIL: BE ea A iS oe ROR EE eh cantar

&

/
/

/

|

. 26 ‘
Opinion

Collileux was referred: to the shop steward and to the

president of the union which represented Farmers’ em-.

ployees. NMU vice-president Miller sent telegrams to-
that union’s president and to Farmers’ superintendent
requesting assistance. |

On that day'two MAT barges were at Farmers’ dock.
Shortly after lunch Collileux began carrying a picket sign
on public property near those barges. The sign stated
that NMU was on strike against MAT and ‘‘We have no
dispute with any other employer’’. No loading of the

. barges took place so long as Collileux ‘picketed. - On August .

5 he returned when employees of Farmers were loading
a MAT barge there. He appeared again around noon
and at that time carried his picket. sign for about two

hours. The employees of Farmers stopped loading the

barge. Farmers then notified its merchandisers that ‘‘they
could not sell for delivery at a later date until such time

- as this matter is resolved’’.. Farmers attempted to get
- barges from other sources but was not entirely successful.

MAT offered to supply barges but this offer was not ac- |

_ cepted by Farmers. “As a result, Farmers ‘‘did miss a
- eonsiderable-volume of business’’. c— @

. Towing, whose deck employees’ are also members of
NMU, encountered similar difficulties in August 1964. On °
August 11 one of its boats was on its way to pick up two |
MAT barges at Harbor’s property in: Saint Paul. A
deckhand noted:a picket on the shore with a sign identical
té that. carried ‘by Collileux at Farmers. The captain -

* notified his dispatcher and did not: move the barges. On

August 20 the same boat went to another terminal in the ~
area to pick up a MAT barge loaded with grain. A deck-
hand noted a picket on the bluff and told the. captain
‘‘they did not want to pick up ‘the barge’’. On-August
25 another boat was towing barges upstream from the
fleeting area to an NSP plant.. It was met by a small craft

27
Opimion

: with 4 a picket aboard. Collileux was the picket and asked
the captain to tie the barges off. The captain called his
dispatcher. and then complied. Towing’s president ob-
jected about this te NMU’s Saint Louis agent. The latter .
replied that NMU was going to continue ahd even enlarge |
its picketing force.. |

About August 11 Collileux ‘inion his car near the
entrance to Harbor’s property in Saint Paul with @ sign .
_ reading ‘‘NMU on strike’’: However, no Harbor employee —
ceased work because of this. —

“There were no MAT towboats or MAT employees pre-
ent at the scene of any of these several incidents.

The trial examiner and the Board found that the picket-
ing was secondary; that the. primary dispute: was with ~
MAT;; that the situs of that dispute was between the Kast
Saint Louis docks and the Inver Grove fleeting area; that

MAT’s day-to-day activities were confined to that situs;.

that MAT boats and employees did not engage in activity
up river from the fleeting area; that Towing and Harbor
were independent contractors ; that neither: they nor
Farmers were engaged in the day-to-day activities of
MAT; that NMU’s appeals to employees of Farmers,
Towing and Harbor and to the union representatives of
Farmers’ employees were addressed.to individuals, within
the meaning of the Act; and that this conduct of NMU
and its agents violated the cited provisions of the Act.

The parties, for the most part, present the same cases
in support of their respective positions. These cases,
so far.as they are helpful ‘in the light of the language of
the statute as it preséntly reads, reveal the following:

.

"4, ‘The observation is made that Congress snus
has refused to prohibit peaceful picketing ‘‘except where
it is used as a means to_achieve specific ends which experi-

SR:

SAR nae

28
Opinion

ence has shown are undesirable’. NLRB v. Fruit &-

. Vegetable Packers, 377 U.S. 58, 62 (1964); NLRB D Vv.

sie ‘Union, 362 U.S. 274, at (1960).

2. Congress, by §8(b) (4), «did not seek ,.. to inter-

fere with the ordinary strike’. NLRB v. International

Rice Milling Co., 341 = S. 665, 672 (1951).

3. A sicily literal See therefore, could not

. be given to* that part of § 8(4)(b) which precedes the
. proviso i in sub-section (B). If the section were literally

interpreted, it would operate to ban primary activity:
Local-761, Int’l Union of Elec. Workers v. NLRB, 366 U.S.

_ 667, 672 (1961).

4. In uiiin the. statute Congress had’ the dual .‘‘ob-

‘ jectives of preserving the right of labor organizations to
' bring pressure to bear on offending employers in primary

labor disputes and of shielding unoffending employers and
others from pressures in controversies not their own’’
NLRB v. Denver Bldg. ¢ Constr. Trades Couneu, 341 U. Ss.
675, 692 (1951).

22 5. But not every type of secondary boycott is outlawed

by the statute. Local.1976, United Bhd. of Carpenters,
357 US. 98, 98-99 re

6. The presenee of economic pressure on a neutral em-
ployer is not necessarily evidence of illegality. Pressure
of this kind may be the natural result of lawful primary

activity, Indeed,

‘<The cases “recognize the very practical. fact that, -
intended or not, sought for or not, aimed for ‘ or not,

‘employees of neutral employers do take action sympa-.
thetic with strikers and do put pressure on their own

29 .
e

Opinion

employers. . . . The question is the objective.’?
Seafarers Int’l Union v. NLRB, 265 F.2d 585, 590
(D.C. Cir.1959). |

7. The drawing of the line between what is legitimate
‘‘primary’’ activity and. what is ‘proscribed ‘‘secondary”’
activity. can be difficult. Nevertheless, ‘‘the statute com-

pels the task’’ and, ‘‘In the absence of admissions by the .

union. of an illegal-intent, the nature of acts performed

shows the intent’’. Local 761, Int’l Union of Elec. Work- .

ers v. NDRB, supra, p. 674 of 366 U.S.; Seafarers Int’l
Union v. NLRB, supra, p. 591 of 265 F.2d.

8. Emphasis is on what is the routine activity of the
primary employer and his ‘‘every day’’ or ‘‘normal’’
operations. Where these are involved, picketing, even
though it ‘results in an appeal to neutral employees, is
usually not proscribed. See Local 761, Int’l Union of
Elec. Workers v. NLRB, supra, p. 680-82 of 366 U.S. Also,

‘‘The primary strike, which-is protected by the pro-

viso, is aimed. at applying economic pressure by halt-

.ing the day-to-day operations of the struck employer.

But Congress not only preserved the right to strike ;

.. it also saved ‘primary picketing’ from the secondary.

“ban.”” United Steelworkers of America v. NLRB, 376
U.S. 492, 499 (1964). ar il

These two cases disclose that although the location of the
picketing is an important ‘factor, it still may not be deci-
five; they indicate that picketing is not ‘protected merely
because it is at the primary employer’s property and that

. it is not proscribed merely because it is on property which, —

- although ‘‘proximate’’ to that of the primary employer,
is not owned by the latter. . c ay

x

2 FEWEST Pe alten a aah

= EE RE A LT

-_ oF aan

Ee ew teaee w

yrds.

30

oa

oe |

9. Peaceful picketing ata pee ae site has been held
not proscribed where it is directed only to'a struck prod-

_uct, as contrasted with being directed against all trading

with the secondary employer. NDRB v. Fruit & Vegetable
Packers, supra, pp. 63. and 70-71 of 377 U.S+;NLBB v.

‘Upholsterers Frame Bedding Workers, 331 F.2d 561
(8 Cir. 1964).

10. A strike situs may be ambulatory.’ \ ship is an
example. Seafarers Int’l Union v. NLRB, supra, p. 590

‘of 265 F.2d; Sailors’ Union of. the Pacific (Moore Dry

Dock Co.), 92 N.L.R.B. 547, 549 (1950).

11. In certain circumstances, ‘‘the presence or absence

- of emplayees of the primary employer on the premises is”

not a critical factor’ in the legality of the picket line’’
Seafarers Int’l Union v. NLRB, supra, p. 590 of 265 F. 2d.
See Local 618, Automotive Employees v. NLRB, 249 F.2d
332 (8 Cir. 1957); Milwaukee Plywood Co. v. NLRB}285—
F.2d 325, 328 (7 Cir. 1960); New Power Wire & Elec
Corp. v. NLRB, 340, F.2d 71,’74 (2 Cir. 1965).

As in the Steelworkers case, supra, p. 496 of 376 U.S.,
it is clear that NMU’s activities here fell within the strict
language of clauses (i) and (ii) of $§8(4)(b); that NMU’s
objective, as judged by its actions, was to induce Farmers,
Towing, and Harbor to cease handling or loading MAT
barges during the pendency of the strike; and that that
objective also is within the language of sub-section (B),:
exclusive of that sub-section’s proviso. The question then,
is whether NMU’s activities are within the area of ee
picketing protected by that proviso.

NMU emphasizes that its picketing was peaceful at all
times and that Collileux was its only Minnesota picket. -
It argues that the barges—not the river from East Saint
Louis to Inver Grove and not the MAT towboat alone—.

&

31

Opinion

were e the employment situs; that the work done by Towing

was clearly necessary to the day-to-day operations of MAT;
that Towing was no more than a subcontractor of MAT
and was doing work which MAT was contractually obli-

gated to perform for NSP; that the delivery of the barges ~

was just as important to MAT’s day-to-day operations
as was the delivery of railroad cars in the Steelworkers

’ case; that the railroad cars there were not even the prop-

erty of the primary employer, whereas the barges here

were the property of MAT; that the subcontracting does Es

not deprive NMU of its: right to’ picket any more than
it did in the Electrical Workers case; that the handling

-. Of other employers’ barges was not interrupted ; that the

economic impact was no greater than if the towboat ‘had
stopped operating; that the cleaning and loading of barges,

even though done by. neutral employees, is essential to

MAT’s day-to-day operations and’ are a part of those
operations ; that the work done by Farmers and Harbor

is analogous to that. of truckers making deliveries to a

plant; that the cleaning and loading of barges is’ more
closely related to day-to-day operations than is the over-

- . hauling involved in the Seafarers case; and that the barges

are comparable to the cargo holds of. a seagoing vessel
except that. they can be disconnected and left at the dock
while the towboat itself moves on. :

There is a certain appeal to this rationale but | we are

| not persuaded by it,

The concept of what is necessary to the day-to-day
operations of MAT must have its limitations, too. Fuel,
for example, is necessary in the operation of MAT” s tow-

_ boat. Picketing the towboat might well effect economic
~ pressure on any fuel supplier whose delivering employees

refuse to cross the ‘picket line. That picketing, by the
cases cited, would be legal primary picketing: However,
if NMU were to picket the supplier’s Kentucky Coal mine
or its Oklahoma refinery, that ‘picketing, by the same

M6 at nw abet tt aceite tt A: mew nes
“.

RS ee kee *

32
Opinion .

cases, would be proscribed. Yet both situations concern
the fuel which is necessary to MAT’s ‘daily operations.
The distinction lies in the situs.

The barges here were owned or ‘ithaca by MAT.
But we are not persuaded that their wanderings and use
up river from the fleeting’ area were part of MAT’s. op-
erations, any more than that their wanderings and use
down river below East Saint Louis on their way to the
Gulf were, for strike purposes, operations of MAT. The .
significant. thrust of the Electrical Workers and Steel-
workers cases is in the vital connection of the workers
affected with ‘the day-to-day operations of the struck
_ employer. This is emphasized by Mr. Justice White in
. his opinion in the Steelworkers case, pp.497-98 of 376
U.S. Of course, in one sense, the unloading, cleaning
and reloading of its barge are. operations relating to
MAT’s business activity and essential to its business.
‘Presumably, were the barges picketed while they were
tied at MAT’s East Saint Louis docks, there would be
little question as to the propriety of that picketing. On:
‘the other hand, were picketing to go on in New Orleans
while MAT barges ‘were being unloaded there at a neutral
dock by employees of a consignee- after those barges had
been towed down. river from East Saint Louis by a trans-
~- portation company other than MAT, that picketing would
not be proper. |

ed

The present case may perhaps fall between these two
extremes for, as NMU points out, MAT was contractually
obligated to effect, delivery of the coal | laden barges to
designated: NSP docks above the fleeting area, and to
tow grain laden barges down river from Inver Grove.
We think, however, that this additional fact of contractual
obligation does not swing the case in NMU’s favor. It
is clearly established that. MAT’s towboat did no towing
above the fleeting area and that MAT’s crew left the

33
Opinion

barges there -and: nes no service of any kind up-
river. Towing’s and Harbor’s and Farmers’ uses of the
barges were not occasioned by the strike but were their
regular and normal business activities. The barges’ status
_-as an employment situs, if it was such on the’ trip up-
* river, ceased when MAT’s transportation ended at Inver
Grove. This‘is not a situation. of the primary employees’

mere absence from their jobsite, such as the court’ was
concerned with in the Seafarers Union case. Instead, the
’ barges. had ceased to be the jobsite before Collileux?

picketing took place. They had then. become, instead, .

the normal jobsites of secondary employees alene and the

- picketing was directed to and affected their normal work

‘ at such normal sites without the. accompaniment .or even
proximateness of primary status. Every MAT employee
was far removed from the picketing.

The Board suggests an analogy which strikes us as

‘a valid one. It is that of a trucking firm which inter-

lines freight and turns over the loaded trailer it owns
and has hauled to another trucking company which, in
turn, transports the trailer to its ultimate destination.

Seemingly, where a union is in a dispute with the origi-
nating carrier, its effort to induce employees of the
eonnecting carrier to refuse to handle the trailer.is pro-
hibited. See NLRB v: Highway Truckdrivers, 300 F.2d
317 (3 Cir. 1962) ; Teamsters Union (Wilson Teaming Co. De
140 N.L.R.B. 164. Cf. Brown Transp. Corp. v. NLRB, 334
. F.2d 30 (5 Cir. 1964)

NMU would: distinguish the trucking ee front
‘ the present barge or maritime one on the ground that

the barges are independent vehicles and ‘‘are the very -

reason for the deckhand’s employment’’, whereas the
truckdriver’s duties with respect to. the trailer are so
few as. to be de minimis. “We fail to see the distinction.
- But if one exists, the relationship between the deckhand

\

}

/ nie
7 and the barge ceases once the barge is tied off from the ~

34 .

Opinin

towboat and routinely pursues its upriver way under the
power of an independent and neutral employer.

Perhaps we should say by way of final clarification
that we do not interpret the trial examiner’s and the
Board’s statement that the work situs was the river .
between East Saint Louis and Inver Grove as meaning
precisely that. We assume that what they meant to say
is that the employment situs was the towboat and the
towed’ barges during the time the employees worked on
them_as they. piled between the terminals.

Our conclusion makes it unnecessary for us to consider
what significance, if any, lies in the ‘‘bare boat’’ refer-
ence in the MAT-Farmers agreement.

NMU? s petition is denied. Enforcement of the Board’ ~

order i is granted.

A true copy. °
Attest:
Clerk, U. S. Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit.

“a

35.

APPENDIX Cc
Decree ss

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

For tHE Eieutx Crmcuir

fy.
Vw

‘NationaL Maritime Union or ‘ AMERICA, AFL-CIO,
| Rick Mier AND Roserr Couuuax, )

Petitioners,
- bee
Nationa Lasor RELaTIoNs Boagp, ‘
Respondent.
No. 18,066
Before: . . = <

VocEL, Chief Judge, Biscaxcn, Circuit Judge, and
anuteens, District Judge. :

| « eee Cause came on to be heard upon = petition of
‘National Maritime Union of America, AFL-CIO, Rick
Miller and Robert Collileux, to review an order of the’
National Labor Relations Board issued against petitioners,
on June 11, 1965, and upon cross-petition of the National
Labor Relations Board to enforce said order. The Court
heard argument of respective counsel on March 2, 1966,

and has considered the briefs and the transcript filed in this ,
cause; ctober 10, 1966, the Court being fully advised
in the premises; ~ handed down its opinion denying the Peti-
tion for review and enforcing the order of the ‘National
-Labor Relations Board. | :

36
Decree

, °

On ConsiperaTion WHEREOF, it is ordered, adjudged and |
decreed by the United States Court of Appeals for the
Kighth. Circuit that the said order of the National Labor
Relations Board in said proceeding be enforced, and that
Petitioners, National Maritime Union of America, AF'L-
CIO, Rick Miller and Robert Collileux, its officers, agents,
and representatives abide by, and perform the directions
of the Board in said order contained.

a oe ,

Dated: November 3, 1966.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385603_0271%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
