# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Continental Grain Co. v. Deffes

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385603_0006%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1966
- **Citation:** 385 U.S. 969

## Text

ues ae _— = ; Se a |
LIBRARR ) ‘FILED

meer Ere ar COURT, . = SEP 26 1966

7 ¥ ,
. . r
~

. Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1966, -——~ = W'S cuene

‘FEDERAL BARGE LINES, INC., and)
GULF-CANAL LINES, INC,
Petitioners,
versus

ERNEST 0. DEFFES, |
aie ee Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES CIRCUIT COURT OF AP:
PEALS FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT.

UAT. WAECHTER, IR R.
.225 Baronne Street,
New Orleans, Louisiana,
Counsel for Petitioners.

J ONES, WALKER, WAECHTER, POITEVENT,
CARRERE & DENEGRE,

Ernest A. Carrere, Jr.,

. Edmond C. Salassi,

Of Counsel.’ .

.
v
os ‘
.
. . « m -
a ial a ak i Ris hi tint tine A ta plese A Tabee'., 2 » ‘e@ > ™

INDEX. |

; yo Page

CITATIONS TO OPINIONS BELOW ...........00. 2

JURISDICTION. ees Ek Sora ret

QUESTIONS PRESENTED ............... ee iat
STATUTES INVOLVED ..... Se nee arene me

STATEMENT ;..... PERO IRS 3

-REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT: \
_ I. A Vessel Should Not Be Rendered “Unsea-
worthy by Reason of an Alleged Defect in
a Land-Based Marine Leg (GUase eieedh hiss’ we

II. Reversal of J udgment by Appellate Court
' Should. Contain Further Instructions as to
Findings Required ............... eee eees 7

Ti. Reversal of Judgment by Appellate Court :
Should Contain Directions as to Indemnity 7

ea TV: Asiicoigys- Ween nd Repeens’ tx dk oe.
. peal Should Be Granted in Favor of Vessel-

Owner and Charterer ............. fr 8
CONCEAIBIGN, joc i ns tlenvduiedseasitenes bestedlesbe ipa

: | CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE 20.06...0..-.-5.02-2 | 0
‘APPENDICES: tee he
A. Judgment and Reasons for Judgment TORRENS |

B. So ccc cc avers cn snveress uacneees 19

eT EE 2G feces ec erveseiee, woe

| D: Petitions. for Rehearing eas Moke sevavepeye 37

vot
ye

enn ae on cee eer eT,
.

ei | ‘e

get | LIST OF AUTHORITIES. — aoe
, . Page

Calbeck V. “Travelers Ins. Co., 370 U.S. 114 (1962)... ° 6
Crumady v. Joachim Hendrik Fisser, 358 U.S. 493 -
CRE ccacceesae SP acts a A PEA ge ne A Se 8.
Deffes’ v. Federal Barge Lines, Inc., 361 F. 2d: 422,
427 (5th Cir. 1966) ...... WN SEGA Raun ee Laes 6.
Forkin v..Furness Withy & Co., 323 F.2d 638 (2nd
7 MU I gos 9 bcs wae cad eae aes i ae
Huff v. Matson Navigation: Company, 338 F.2d 205 -
(9th Cir. pt) er eee eee 6,7.
Italia Secieta v. Oregon Stevedoring Co., 376 US.
. 315 (1964) ....... Ly SAE DEUCES cee ees viNees 8
McKnight v. N. M. Paterson & Sons, 286 F.2d 250
(6th Cir. 1960) cert. den. 368 U.S. 913 ...:.. ° 5
“Mitchell v. Trawler Racer, Inc., 362 US. 539, 500
CGD) Pou: Se ow eP CURE s Hed WeREEERE Ne oe’ 7
Mosley v. Cia.. Mar. Adra, S.A., 362 vad 118° (and es
Fs = ll TOD) sce hese eAc FURS. FRI oe os vig
Nicroli v. Den Norske Afrika-OG Australielinie: Ete. 5
332 F.2d 651 (2nd Cir. 1964) ................ sits
_ , Ryan Stevedoring Co. v. Pan-Drlentic ss Corp., 350 é
U.S. 124 (1956) | RE Shedile Bathe gs Spt Want aang ne 8
Seas Shipping Co. v. Sieracki, 328 U. S: 85 (1946) . 6
Sherbin-v. S. G. Embiricos, Ltd., 200 F. Supp. 874 ;
aD: Ta OB. 6. ONE BES... 5

Spann v. Lauritzen, 344 F.2d 204 (3rd Cir. 1965) . 6, 7.
United States Longshoremen’s and Harbor Workers’ aaa
Compensation Act, 33 U.S.C. §901 et seq. :... 6

>

Supreme Court of the United States.

OCTOBER TERM, 1966.

No.

__ FEDERAL BARGE LINES, INC., and _
GULF-CANAL LINES, INC.,
Pomijeners,
versus A
-. ERNEST 0. DEFFES, seh
ts ae MARES SY, «: murat. B

7 PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
‘UNITED STATES CIRCUIT. COURT OF AP- di

PEALS FOR THE seb dhe CIRCUIT. itn

TO THE HONORABLE, THE CHIEF JUSTICE AND

THE ASSOCIATE JUSTICES OF THE SUPREME
COURT OF. has UNITED STATES:

Petitioners, Federal Barge Lines, Inc. and Gulf- me

Canal Lines, Inc. pray that a Writ of © Certiorari

issue to review the judgment of the United States _

Circuit Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit entered

; ‘in the above case on the 26th day of May, 1966 and.
the denial by . said Court of ares for ge cricgeiis d .

on betes 6, 1966.

ae
" CITATIONS TO OPINIONS BELOW.

This case was tried on the merits to the District
Court sitting without. a jury and judgment was
rendered against the plaintiff with written reasons.
The opinion 9f the trial court is reported in 229 F.
Supp. 719. The Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit
reversed and remanded the judgment of the Dis- —
trict, Court with Judge Jones dissenting. The opinion

of. the Circuit Court of Appeals is reported in 361_

F.2d 422 (5th Cir. 1966). A rehearing in the Circuit
Court of Appeals was denied with Judge Jones again
dissenting. as

JURISDICTION.

The J udgment of the Circuit Court of Appeals was

_ entered on the 26th day of May, 1966. melons » was

cat on July 6, 1966.

J urisdiction was vested in the United States. Dis-

trict Court by virtue of 28 U.S.C. Section—1332 (a).
. The jurisdiction of this Honorable Court is. invoked
“under 28 U.S.C. Section 1254 > Seba

QUESTIONS 1 PRESENTED.

a Is a vessel rendered unseaworthy by an al-

legedly ert land-based marine lég?

(2) Wiouid an Appellate Court reverse ‘judgment

_and remand case without further instructions as to .

i aes findings required and as to indemnity?

ve . \ ee
g oi - \ : 3
\ 7

oa
a

(8) Should. acini Court order the paymeat of
attorney’s fees and expenses ’for barge. owner and

ae charterer for the aspen fie

oi, STATUTES INVOLVED.

There are no express ‘statutes jsvolred and the
case is ; submitted under the General Maritime Law.

STATEMENT.

The parties involved in isis case are Ernest O.
Deffes who sued Federal Barge Lines, Inc.. and Gulf-
Canal Lines, Inc., as owners and charterers. of the
Barge FBL-625 who in. turn filed a third-party Ac-
tion against Continental Grain Company, the plain-
tiff’s employer for. indemnity and waite & Ss fees.

«

The plaintiff alleges that he was sink in thie eye
by a piece of metal from an allegedly defective
marine leg which ‘had been injected into the ‘cargo
of corn during the unloading procedures from the, —
Barge FBL-625. | coe .

The Barge can be. described as a “Hopper” type
barge of steel-welded construction with steel rolling:
covers. The Barge was 195 feet in length. and. 35
feet in breadth. The Barge on this occasion was

Joaded with a cargo of corn,. but was a - general

classification barge capable of carrying any type ©
of solid cargo. The cargo of corn had been shipped
by the Contiriental Grain Company. from St. Paul,
Minnesota to New Orleans, Louisiana under a freight

4
bill and bill of lading in which the Continental Grain
Company was the shipper as well as the consignee:
Under this type of arrangement, the movement of

the cargo was on a free on and off basis whereby
the shipper performs the loading’and the consignee

performs the’ unloading. The Barge arrived at the

Federal Barge Lines, Inc. fleet location on the Mis-
sissippi River on May 9, 1960 and on May 27, 1960- -

the barge was moved to the Continental Grain Com-

pany dock also on the Mississippi ‘River by a Point.

‘Landing tug whith was called by the. Continental —
"Grain SOR PPY:

At ‘the time of the alleged injury, the Barge FBL- |

625 was conipletely under -the control of the: Conti-

nental. Grain Company unloading crew. The cargo

of corn was unloaded from the Barge by means of

a, mechanical contrivance commonly termed a_
‘marine leg”’. The base of the marine leg was firm-
ly attached to the Continental Grain Company dock

and was an integral part of the land-based conveyor
. ° system to the Continental Grain ‘Company elevator.

The plaintiff was a member of. the Continental Grain

Company unloading ‘crew and was. allegedly injured -

during the final stages of the unloading operation —

‘from the barge.

The case was tried to ‘the District Court sitting

without a jury on quést éstions ‘of negligence and sea-

‘worthiness. ©. ~

<
( ?

The District Court pindeted judgment in favor bt

‘the defendants and awarded attorney’ S fees in the

-

_ eee co)
e oy

”

Inc. and Gulf-Canal. Lines, Inc. against Continental

amount of $2,500.00 in favor of Federal Barge Lines,

‘Grain Company. :An appeal was taken.by the plain-
tiff on the merits and the Court of Appeals for the |

Fifth Circuit reversed and remanded the judgment

of the District-Court. The Fifth Circuit subsequently

denied timely requests sa] a rehearing. ;
a) ? A
REASONS FOR GRAN TING THE WRIT. Bi

on

I. A Vessel Should Not Be Rendered Unseaworthy

_By Reason Of An Alleged Defect In A Lend-

Based Marine sind

The decision in: "the ‘Fifth Circuit in in instant — ee

case is directly in conflict . ‘with the guidelines. es-
tablished in the cases such as. McKnight v. N. M.

Paterson & Sons, 286 F.2d 250 (6th: Cir. 1960), cert. me

‘ den. 368 U.S: 913; Forkin v. Furness Withy & Co.,
323. F.2d: 638 (2nd.Cir. 1963) and. in the Eastern Dis-

trict-of Louisiana, Sherbin v. S. G. Embiricos, ‘Ltd.,

200 F. Supp. 874 (E.D. La. 1962). These cases would
provide proper tests to be utilized in determining
: the ‘applicability of the Unseaworthiness Doctrine.
For instance, as Judge West pointed out in his Opin-

Se

ey

- ion in. the Sherbin- case, that the “rational stopping :

place”’ would be whether or not’ the defective equip-
ment. was a part of the “‘hull, “gear, stowage, ‘ap-

= purtenant appliances. — equiprierit” of the ship. :

_ ID. 876-877. ‘s

oy This } operation involving shore-based equipment

should not affect a vessel and this ‘is ; recognized’ by

= | - ‘ | :
“4 Bape ; E
6 . |
‘Tedys Jones in thie” ‘ailing opinion, ‘petite:

"Federal. Barge Lines, Inc., 361 F.2d at 427. It is, sub-
| ~ mitted; that

an “extension of :the Admiralty’ Doctrine

“So gy: this .case would effectively supersede the 7 pro-
_ visions’ of the’ Longshoremen’ s and. Harbor Workers’ |
oe Corfipensation’ Act, 33 U.S.C.° $901 et seq. In this . re-
» gard, the Courts could well meet themselves coming
_ from the other’ diréction with such cas
Ve Travelers ns: Co., : 370° U.S 114. (1962), : ‘wherein —
| this. Court! clarified : ‘and: extended the ‘application of ©

esas Calbeck.

‘the Ronastorelna’n t Act. ta Pere roe
re oi.4 eee ; “%

The Fifth: Cireuit> in effect, “had Fousia that wheth- .
“er: or not: the shore-based ‘equipment. was attach ed

° 333 2% iia v
Go e
3 +i
oe . “Fh
te ae |
1% 3
vr.
PA. 7
we ee 185
* =~, | ;
ii thes 1
rs rt . + te - ,
PP ee &
y ere. 5f.? s 1
” eo ae ie Bs” ie ou
at ee ios : 2
Ze .. a a
eer ae “+3
es . ; ha a
: 7 2
= r leer. ©
.- 2 ‘
? i j
be ‘bol rae
<4 etl .
4 , a
i . y - “@#
a p 8
4 er. aa
a '
e. f oe
s a »
¢ » 7%

e@ A, XY Ste the ‘barge. dt the: time of: thé. alleged injury is of
“oy 4s 4 #8" no consequerice. Further, the. ‘question of whether or \,
oo Pit ee o “not re tenses marine leg was a. part of the hull, ° AS
EA fie gear, stdwageé or appy nt appliances: of the barge es
ote ee ae eee OF whether the equipment was traditionally the
. vessel's | ‘equipment is of -no consequence. ‘The Fifth.»
saa eee i: ~Cireuitshas chosen to find thatthe . Doctrine. of Un--
oh | eae _ -seaworthiness concerning the - Longshoremen-Admiral-

. =
a

ee on ee ty-rémedies commencing with Seas Shipping Co. 'v.
re aI wo ., & Siera racki, 328 US. ‘85. (1946). and‘ its progeny. should
a govern this ease: “The: ‘petitioners would submit, how- > >
ae scoot ever,’ that such’ extensions’ ‘of the. Admiralty Doctrine ..
€ Ae te would.--prevent uniformity - in such cases. Further,

Peat Soot re, such cases as. Huff v. Matson Navigation Company, x

Pail -* | \338-F.2d-205 (9th Cir. 1964), cert. den. 380 U.S. 943
EG a and Spann v. Lauritzen, 344 F.2d 204 (3rd Cir: 1965) -
8 i \S eert- den: 34 L.W. 3201. relied: upon." by the Fifth
Ree me Circuit. aré ‘cases motivated by the nr ¢on- *
7 aenering 2 sae | : aN
ee ee ee

_
Ps :

"+ cept that “the end justifies the means”. The Spann,

‘Supra, case: would seem to say that anyone remotely

involved with the loading or unloading process should.

be afforded the admiralty remedy. It is respect-

‘ fully submitted that there should’ be some “rational

eS

- stopping place” imposed and it is respectfully urged —

that this- Court accept this Writ and prevent further *
encroachment in the Maritime. Law.

ae Findings Required. some ie

Ill. Reversal. Of “Judgment os eodiots Court.
Should Contain Directions As To Indemnity.

In the. event that the reversal by the ‘Fifth Circuit,

should remain in effect then further’ instructions con-
cerning the remand to the District Court should be
given in regard to’ findings ‘of fact concerning the
accident. As stated by Circuit Judge Barnes in his

_ concurring and dissenting opinion in the Huff case:

’ “The District Court has still to reach the funda-
mental question:, whether the * mechanical ap- .

paratus. which was used in unloading ‘was free

from defects, and- reasonably fit for its intended
purpose.”’. Huff v. Matson Navigation Company,
338 F.2d 205, 218. ; |

_ The ‘reasonable fitness concept ' is. of great. impor-
tance in such ‘matters. See, Mitchell v. » tntsoler Racer, |
Inc., 362 U.S.-539, 550 (1960). . ‘5

Petitioners further . urge that for the remand to

' the District Court that instructions should be given.

$ a y cA. o ms
‘ ie . : a . 5

# _ Reversal Of Judgment By. Appellate, Court
| Should Contain ‘Further Insttuctions. As’ To |

>

Sea a
as ae
to the Court to apply indemnity in favor of. petitioners.

In that’ the Court’s opinion finds that the marine . |

leg made the barge unseaworthy, and the fact that
the marine leg was owned and operated - solely . by
Continental Grain ‘Company, then the well-estab-
lished: theory of indemnity as expressed in Ryan |
Stevedoring Co. v. Pan-Atlantic SS Corp. * 350. U.S. ..
, 124 (1956) would be applicable. See also, Crumady
_v. Joachim Hendrik Fisser, 358. U.S. 423 (1959);
Italia ' Societa v. Oregon Stevedoring Co., 376 U.S.
. 315° (1964); Mosley v. ‘Cia. Mat. Adra, S.A., 362 F.2d
118 (2nd Cir. 1966). ; ae a

Actually, there should. be né>question of indemnity
over against Continental Grain Company, but it is

submitted that the District Court should be so in-- .—

structed on’ this point. Although there has been no
opposition expressed to petitioners’..plea for indémnity —
at any stage of this litigation, it is respectfully urged
that this point should be clarified 7 purpose of the. -
remand. ~

. BV. ‘Attorney’ s Fees And Hxpensts For The ome
Should Be. Granted In Favor - Of Vessel-Owner
And Charterer.

Finally, it is presumed by petitioners that the -re- |
versal of the District. Court would not in: any way
affect the award for attorney’s fees for: the trial in
favor ‘of petitioners in that there has been no dispute .
as to this award on appeal. Petitioners would re-
‘spectfully urge that the Court, however, apply’ the
award of attorney’s fees for the appeal in fa
petitioners and against. Cohtinental Grain Company.

of |

oe
. The amount of attorney’s fees was stipulated in the
amount of $900.00 for the appeal, and it is respect-

fully submitted ‘that such an award should be made-
. by this Court. See, Nicroli v. Den.Norske Afrika-OG _

Australielinie Etc., 332 F.2d 651 (2nd Cir. 1964).

eile

_ For the foregoing reasons, this petition for. writ of

| certiorari should be granted. ©: |

Respectfully submitted,

| A. J.WAECHTER, J n..
225 Baronne Street,
New Orleans, Louisiana, —
Counsel for Petitioners, }

JONES, WALKER, WAECHTER, POITEVENT
_ .CARRERE & DENEGRE,

Ernest A. Carrere, Jr.,

Edmond €. Salassi,
Of Counsel.

-
‘ 2s
aS .
> ~~ .
- v
SO REO Pe CLF OE FU SE, “aaa aw

exces, 10

CERTIFICATE.

_. I hereby certify that a copy of the foregoing brief

has been served upon opposing counsel of record

_ by placing the same properly dddressed into the Ne

United States Mail with yee: postage affixed
thereto. 3 | ee

eee ee tceeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeae

we § my a

a
APPENDIX A.
UNITED STATES DISTRICT’ COURT, EASTERN.
DISTRICT OF LOUISIANA, NEW ORLEANS —
DIVISION.

ERNEST oO. DEFFES,
ele _ Plaintiff,
rh os versus |

FEDERAL BARGE LINES, INC.,
Defendant.

. Civil Action ™ 11113, — “Det.
_ JUDGMENT.

This cause came on for trial on y anuary 20, 1964.
After ‘considering the testimony, pleadings, and re-
viewing the law, the Court is now ready to rule. |

IT IS.ORDERED, ADJUDGED AND DECREED
that there be judgment in favor of: defendants, .
Federal Barge Lines, Inc., and Gulf-Canal Lines,
‘Ince., “and that the plaintiff’s suit be. and the ame is
hereby dismissed at his costs,

IT iS FURTHER ORDERED, ADJUDGED AND
DECREED that there be judgment in favor of de-
- fendants, Federal Barge Lines, Inc., and ‘Gulf-Canal —
‘ Lines, Inc;,. against? Continental Grain Company for

PBL PEL OIE IELO RIE SO PN SORELLE TL RE RET

Pa

_ attorney’s fees in the amount of TWENTY-FIVE
‘HUNDRED AND NO/100 ($2500.00) DOLLARS, with

interest from date of judgment until paid.

1964. '
. ROBERT A. AINSWORTH, UR.,
(Robert A. Ainsworth, Jr.), :

\

yf Pe v, Judge, United States, District t

Court.

_—_

Dated at New Orleans, Louisiana, this 9 day of J as :

e

ee

13 = i

‘UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT, EASTERN

DISTRICT OF LOUISIANA, NEW ae
_ DIVISION.

ERNEST 0. DEFFES, !
Plaintiff, ;
versus .

——— BARGE LINES, INC.,
Defendant.

y. No. 11113 Civil Action, Division D.

AINSWORTH, District J wage i
Plaintiff; has “sued ederal. Barge ‘ Lines, Inc.,
owner of the Barge FBD 625, and Gulf-Canal Lines,
Inc., bareboat charterer of the barge, for damages
growing out of an injury he sustained while em-
ployed by Continental Grain Company as a grain.

“handler in unloading the barge ata dock in the Port
_of New Orleans. Defendants have filed a third-party

complaint against plaintiff’s employer, . Continental

. Grain Company, ‘under the doctrine of Ryan Steve-

dor. Co.- v. Pan-Atlantic Steam. Corp., 350 U. S.
124,76 S. Ct. 232 (1956). Plaintiff has “been paid
compensation in full for his injury by his employer,
Continental, under the provisions ‘of the Longshore-

-men’s and Harbor Workers’ “Compensation Act ~
_iULS.C.A. 901, mae): ee EE

Qn: May 21, 1960, plaintiff was ‘etctinn. abeaed the

Barge FBL 625 unloading grain. He claims. thst while

a

14

on board he sufferéd ‘an injury to. his right eye from’
a piece of flying metal thrown: frorn the marine leg .
used in the unloading operation, which resulted in ~

industrial blindness to the eye.: He alleges that the
marine leg was defective which made the barge°un-
‘seaworthy; that the barge owner and charterer failed

_ to provide him with a safe place to work.

‘The Barge FBL 625 isa “hopper-type” barge of
steel-welded construction with steel-rolling covers,
195 feet in length and 35 feet in breadth It was loaded

*

‘with a cargo of. corn, but was a. general classifica-
- tion barge capable of carrying any type of solid

‘cargo. Continental had shipped . the corn from St.
“Paul, Minnesota, to’ New Orleans ‘under - a. freight
: Bill /and bill of lading in which Continental was both

_ shipper and consignee. Continental loaded and un-

loaded the oat ye. * “s

- The evidence showed that the marine leg, which
plaintiff alleges caused his. injury, is a shore-based

nental, used in unloading grain. It is permanently

attached to the dock. It is equipped with a conv@¥or |

belt on which buckets are attached. The buckets

_ elevating conveyor, owned and ‘operated. by Conti- ©

scoop up the grain and carry ‘it from the hold of the |

vessel to the shore. .The ‘unloading operation is di-
vided into four phases. ‘The first. is the lowering: of
the leg. i into the hold and resting it on top of the grain.
' The’ leg remains, however, attached to ‘and based
on shore. The only. contact which the leg h with

the: vessel is that it rests .on the in cargo, has

~ .*

| 15

cables. attached to the vessel for a’ period of time }
and during the sweeping-up | operation ‘rests on’ the.

‘bottom of the. vessel.. The raising and lowering of the »

leg is done with power furnished by a self-contained
unit. Large’ scoops called. “air - buckets” are then

-removed from the leg. These ‘‘air buckets” are used.

to bring. the grain from the ends of the barge to the
centrally . located marine leg. The \buckets are

operated by means of/ pulleys, one sof which lis! fas-° |

tened to the vessel and the other to. the ‘marine leg.

The pulleys and the cables are part of. the equip- ag

ment of.the leg. After the level of the grain is lowered

the “air buckets,” the pulleys and cables are re-

moved and stored on the. marine leg: The third

phase of the unloading operation is performed with
small bulldozers which do essentially the same task +
‘as the “air buckets,” that is, bring the grain to. the

leg. The fourth and final phase’ is termed “sweeping ;

up.” The grain handlers sweep up the grain and |
"shovel it into the marine leg: It was during this phase |

while plaintiff was shovelling corn into the marine 3
leg that he claims he was injured. 2 ,

It is settled leew that a longshoreman injured while

- performing a, ‘‘ship’s service” can recover for un- .
seaworthiness. Seas Shipping Co. v. . Sieracki, 328 -

U. S. 85, 66 S. Ct. 872: (1946). A vessel is unseaworthy ©
when it has a defect.in its “hull, gear, stowage, and

appurtenant appliances -and- equipment. ”* The Os-
eeola, 189 U. S. 158, 23'S. -Ct. 483 (1903); Mahnich. i

Southern. S.S. Co.; 321 U, S. 96, 64 S. Ct. 455 (1944); ;

Grillea v. United mete “at 2 scale 1956, 232 F. 2d 919.

ae Sa

a |

TAS. Ct. 649 (1954).

ment.” Mosley wv.

&

”

An owner of a vessel may: be liable for an unsea-

— worthy condition which has been caused by an in-.

dependent contractor and the doctrine. has been ex-
tended to include. equipment brought aboard and

: “ used and -controilled exclusively by ‘stevedores ae
loading and unloading a vessel. ‘Alaska. ‘Steamship ae
Company v. Petterson, 347 U. S. 396, 74 S. Ct.° 601.

(1954); Rogers v: United ‘States toed 347 U.S. 984,

é
fos A:

4. We now consider whether or not the Barge FBL
625 was unseaworthy. Plaintiff bears the burden of —
showing that the alleged. defective equipment which -

‘caused his injury ‘was a part of the ship’s “‘hull,

gear, stowage and pRpurtenant, appliances. and equip-
Cia. Mar. Adra, S. A.,°2 Cir.,
1963, 314 F. 2d ° 223. He. contends that the marine

-leg was ‘defective and that this rendered the barge
' unseaworthy. He cites as authority in support, of his —

contention Petterson, ‘supre, and Considine vo. Black

- Diamond Steamship Corp., D. C. -Mass., 1958, 163 F.
_ . Supp. 109. Considine. would extend the warranty of

seaworthiness, as applied to longshoremen, to any

“equipment aboard a vessel: used in the traditional
-work of loading | or unloading a vessel, regardless of .
| what type or to whom it belonged. Petterson and

Rogers, supra; did not go that far: In Petterson
the defective equipment was a block ‘of a type gen-
erally uséd by a vessel. In Rogers the ° ‘injury was

' eaused by the landfall runner rewinding on the’
winch drum of thé vessel. In McKnight v. N..-M..’

Paterson & ‘Sons, Ltd., 6 Cir., 1960, 286 F. 2d 250,

OD
S¢

%

|

cert. denied 368 U. S. 913, 82-S. Ct. 189 (1961), and
Sherbin-v. S. G. Embiricos, Ltd., ‘D.C. E. D. La,

1962, 200.F. Supp. 874, the shipowner’s warranty of

‘seaworthiness was limited to equipment which’ was
traditionally ‘a part. of a ship’ s appurtenant appli-

ances and equipment. We’ concur, believing that the.
test enunciated, in McKnight and Sherbin is the prop- .

. er. one here. Applying that test. here, we find

x the barge was not unseaworthy, for the marine leg MES

\ is not. equipment traditionally found aboard and ‘used
.in unleading operations. This equipment. was owned

_by the stevedore and not by the vessel. It was shore —

based and shore powered and had only a minimal
‘contact with the areas a

7 But plaintiff turther contends that Continental's

- failure to furnish him with goggles for the protec-

tion of his’ eyes violated the Safety and Health Regu-. - ‘

lations for Longshoring; 29- CFR. §9.1, et -seq.,

thereby rendering the vesgel unseaworthy under the

authority of Provenza -v® American. Export Lines,

‘Inc.,. 4 Cir., 1963, 324 F.2d 660. Violation of-a safety
regulation applicable to a stevedore does not render

*«

a vessel unseaworthy unless the violation creates a -

dangerous condition aboard the vessel, which would
. constitute a défect.in the vessel’s hull, gear, stowage

and appurtenant . appliances and equipment. See
- Provenza v. American -Expott Line3, Inc., supra. -
. Failure of the ‘stevedore to provide plaintiff with ;

goggles did hot create a dangerous condition which .

. affected the veésel’s hull, gear, etc. For Continen-
tal’s negligence to be. imputed to the shipowner, un--.

Be

6

' @

es er

“der. the. facts Liat, it mugt be shown that it knew
"er should have known by the exercise of. reasonable. .

.. care of the steyedore’s negligerice. The evidence
© does not. show that the shipowner knéw of Conti-

~ nental’s negligence. The FBL 625 is a damb barge

and. was ‘unaccompanied by any personnel at. the

time of..cargo discharge. The vessel owner exer-,.
cised reasonable care. It. is sufficient here that the’
.barge owner had a reputable firm loading | and. ,un-'

AOTENS Chile ge -< i Nd Cp

Judgment for defendants. _ . dn. : ®

Original Signed ROBERT A. AINSWORTH, JR.,
United States District J —

_ New Orleans, Louisiana
“May 6, 1964

\

He ae.
be APPENDIX B.

‘INTHE et eed ce]
‘UNITED STATES COUR'NOF APPEALS
_ FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT ~

No. 21868.
_ ERNESTO.DEFFES, >
| . . , Appellant, —
versus’ @ a. :

-S

_

FEDERAL B. BARGE. LINES, INC. and GULF-CANAL zs

> La, INC., ET AL, |
ha ik Appellees.

Appeal from the United States District Court fo the }

_ Eastern District of Louisiana.
i

(May 26, 1966.

es -and SLOAN, District Judge. “
o

THORNBERRY, Circuit Judge: The plaintiff, “a
-stevedore employed by Continental’ Grain Company
(Continental), was injured while unloading grain from

‘Barge: FBL 625 which is owned by Federal Barge

‘Lines, Inc, (Gulf). Plaintiff-sued’ Federal and Gulf \_
eo a damages, and the defendants filed a third-party |

Lines, Inc. (Federal) and chartered by’ Gulf-Canal,

complaint —— Continental as re employer of uae

\

°

Before JONES’ and ‘THORNBERRY, Circuit Judges. aay

_——~

a

plaintiff. The district court, - held for the defendants.
229 F. me: 719.

eee

The injury resulted from. an alleged defect ina

‘ marine leg, a mechanical elevator. device, owned’ by :
: Continent]. The marine ‘leg is basically a conveyor

belt to which buckets are attached. It is permanently
attached to the dock at all times and is designed for

“use in unloading grain from -barges. The power for

raising, lowering and operating ‘the leg is supplied

‘by shore-based facilities, and all the equipment used

is. owned by: Continental. 7
The unloading operation | is performed in. four stages: cant
(1) ‘The marine leg is introduced through-the open

hatch of the barge into the, grain, and grain is, .in

effect, “dug” out by the. buckets on the conveyer |
belt: During this stage, there is no contact with -

* barge. (2) Large. scoops,. generally _ called. air ;

buckets,’’ operated by means of. pulleys and _ cables;

“are ‘utilized to bring-the grain from the ends of the
barge to the marine leg. The pulleys are attached

to the barge at various: places by means of hooks -
and are connected with the marine leg by cables.
All this equipment;is stored in the marine leg when.

not in use. (3) When the grain level has been lowered
‘ _* sufficiently, ‘the —air “buckets are: detached’ and —
—~. stored and small bulldozers — serving essentially the .

same purpose as the air buckets are brought into

use. (4) The iast phase of the process is the. ‘‘sweep-

ing up,” during which stevedores sweep up the- grain: ~
and shovel it into the ‘marine leg: At this stage, the x

>

ee 21- f

. A

oS
29)

marine. leg rests on the bottom’ ‘of the barge. The in- ue

jury occurred bracts, this last _ of the a

’ Plaintiff ‘elaimed that a- piece of metal. from a worn

"bucket ‘broke off and hit him in the eye. He received |
compensation from his ‘employer, ' Continental, un-

der the provisions of the Longshorethen{s and: Har-

bor Workers’ Compensation Act; 33 U.S.C. 901.°Plain-
_ tiff sought recovery against Federal and Gulf on the
theory that the allegedly defective marine leg and —

the failure of Continental to supply goggles in com-
pliance with the Safety. and - Health Regulations for
Longshoring, 29 C. F. R. ° ie 9.1, eesoomecit the barge

; unseaworthy. Die. oce eee see AG ; .

Rg . 3 \ = ’ a |
The district court notedthat = eal

oe “in owner - of: a vessel may be liable for an
: unseaworthy. condition which has been’ caused
' by an independent . contractor .and — [that]
the doctrine has been extended to include
equipment brought aboard and used and con- \
trolled exclusively by stevedores in loading
- and unloading’ a vessel. Alaska Steamship _.
_ Company v. . Petterson, 347 U.S. 396, 74 S.Ct.
601, 98 L. Ed. 798 (1954); Roggrs v. United.
States Lines; 347 U.S. 984, 74 - Ct. 849; 98.
L.Ed. 1120 (1954).” a

Deffes * v. Federal Barge Lines, Ine., E.D. La. 1964,
- 229 F. — 719,721.

Awe

\

‘sy

. 3 Se,
Le qj as ae
22 or a

°

“The court, citing MeKnight v. N. M. Paterson & “

Sons, 6th Cir. 1960, 286 F.2d 250, cert. denied, 368

. Te es, -and Sherbin v: S.G. Embiric se; Ltd:, E.D.
La. 1962, 200 F.Supp. 874, found

at, the Petterson

and Rogers cases involv

_-was not ‘‘equipment traditionally. found. aboard and

eit Ee used in unloading operations, ” the court held that a

defect in the’ marine ‘Teg: would. not ‘cause the barge ?

to be unseaworthy.

The court also concluded: that ‘a “violation of a

...safety ‘regulation applicable to a stevedore does not
render a. vessel unseaworthy unless the violation

creates a dangerous -conflition aboard the vessel,
which would constitute a defect in the vessel’s hull,
gear, stowage gand appurténant appliances and
equipment)” and that the barge owner had discharged

} his duty of reasonable care by hiring” a reputable .
ra to handle the loading and gem of the barge.

_ Id., 721-22.

we

~The basic question presented on this appeal is —

‘whether 4 defect in a shore-based marine leg can
cause a barge to be held unseaworthy. Similar ques-

tions have been considered ‘by several courts and

have resulted. in a sharp conflict. between the cir-
“cuits. The opinion of the district court relies on the\

Sixth Circuit decision in the McKnight case ‘and is |
also: supported by ‘the Second Circuit’s Opinion in —
Forkin v. Furness Withy:& Co., 2d Cir. 1963, 323 F.2d |

equipment which was’
“traditionally y apart of a ship’ Ss appurtenant ‘appli- <"—
ances: “and equipment.” Ibid. Since the marine. leg -

a
a

ww

a

trict ‘court must be ‘reversed.

| 23 :
638. The opposite view “has- been espoused by the .,
Ninth Circuit in Huff v. Matson Navigation Co.,
9th Cir. 1964, 338 F.2d 205, ‘cert. denied, 380 U.S. 943,
.and by the Third Circuit. in Spann v. Lauritzén, 3rd

-Cir. 1965, 344 F.2d 204, cert. denied, 34 L.W. 3201.
After carefully considering these cases and the Su-

-.'preme Court cases which have developed the doc-

_otrine. of unseaworthiness, , we conclude that the. ‘de-
cisions of the Ninth and Third Circuits correctly ‘state
the law and that, therefore, ‘the holding of the dis-

The doctrine of unseaworthiness was conceived yy he

- the Supreme Gourt in The Osceola, 1903, 189 U.S.
158, as a device for imposing diability on ship owners
for injuries to seamen. Since that time there has
been a steady expansion of the’ scope . and coverage

- of the doctrine. Thus, in Seas Shipping Co. v. Sieracki,

1946, 328 U.S. 85, 89, the Supreme Court considered .
the question - “whether’ the. shipowner’s obligation -of
_ seaworthiness extends to longshorerhery injured while

. doing the ship’ s work aboard but employed by an .

‘independent stevedoring contractor whom the owner
‘ has hired to load or unload the ship.’” The Court dis-
cussed at length the rationale of the doctrine and
noted that : :

‘‘the hazards of marine service ei: un- -
; seaworthiness. places on the men who per-’

. form it. , together with. their helplessness.

to ward oft such perils and the harshness
"of forcing them to shoulder alone the result-

ing aanacan ‘Gisubility and loss, —_ ‘been: :

‘ wd @ g . ; . . 4 ie
" . thought to justify ahd to require putting
their burden, in so far as it is measurable in -

money, upon the owner regardless of his
fault... . [T]he owner... . is in position,

1m as the worker is not, to distribute the’ loss"
in the shipping community which receives z

_ &

a the service. and should bear its cost.

* oe

_“[TJhis. policy is not .confined to, seamen
‘who perform the ‘ship’s service under -im-
mediate hire to the’ owner, but -éxtends to Ba
those who ‘render. it with his consent or by:
-. his arrangement. All the considerations which | ;

. gaye birth to the liability and have shaped its

is absolute character dictate that the- owner :
should not. be free to nullify it ‘by parcelling
out - his. operations to intermediary employers:

whose.sole business is _to_take over portions
of the: ship’s. work: or by ‘other devices which

would strip the men performing its service of ° ?
their historic protection. The risks” themselves

arise from and - are incident in fact ‘to the

service ..... [The. owner’s] ability to dis-. -

tribute the te over the industry is not les-

sened by the fact.that’ the men who do: thé

work. are employed and furnished by another.

Historically the. work of loading and: unload-

_ ing is the work of the ship’s service, per-

‘formed. wn recent times. by members of the.
crew. . That the owner seeks to have it :

w

seeeieneihetinatinne aincemmenn an nett See eee

A ROR te aa ede et: jee ew
« ‘ x
°
.

done with the. advantages of more modern di-
visions of “labor does not. minimize the
worker’s' hazard and should not: nullify his |

* protection. .”

s

ae ei:

“It seems, therefore, that when a man is per-
forming a function essential to maritime serv-. "|
ice, on board’ a ship the fortuitous: circum-. ”
stances of his employment by the shipowner ..-
h _or qa stevedoring contractor should not deter-
mine the measure of his rights.”’ :

Id. at 93-97. (Emphasis added).

The Court: also found that the. stevedore’s remedy ._

for unseaworthiness against the shipowner. was. in ad-

ployer. Id. at 100-02.

The eoverage of stevedores under the doctrine -of

_ Unseaworthiness was further developed in Alaska -

phe es Steamship’ Co. v. ‘Petterson and Rogers v. United
-' States Lines, supra: The stevedore’s injury in ‘Pet-
-terson was’ caused “by a defective block which the

‘dition to his statutory remedy. against his own ém-

Court assumed had been brought.on board the ship __

_ by, the stevedoring company. The Ninth Circuit found
the vessel to be unseaworthy, Pétterson v. Alaska
' Steamship Co., Inc., 9th Cir. 1953, 205 ‘F.2d 478, and .
_the Supreme Court affirmed per curiam, citing Seas |

Shipping Co. :v. Sieracki, supra, and Pope & Talbot

v. ate 1953, 346. -U. S. 406. In Pope, | the Supreme
Court had reaffirmed ° Sieracki and stated that .
-“Sieracki’ Ss legal protection. was not based on the —
“namie ‘stevedore’. but on the type. of work he did and
its, relationship to the. ship’. and to the ‘historic ‘doc-
‘tring’ of . seaworthiness. a af: 413. (Emphasis
adde ) The injured man in Pope was- @ searpenter
who. was repairing the loading apparatus ‘and was

~ hurt when he fell through an uncovered, hatch hole. |

“The” Third - Cirtuit in Roget's was concerned with
‘an allegedly defective land fall runner, a device used _
in unloading Cargo. ae, ‘its: discussion, ‘the court

: ene stated:

14 “Admittedly then, .the alleged unseawoxthy
condition was: not created by the ship. The
‘runner was:owned, produced eas to |

the winch by Lavino [the stevedoring com- -
*pany], which was in charge of. and perform- .
the. unloading operation. And there is no in- »
dication that the ship sanctioned its use or .
even knew of its existence. The «statement. .
- that the: vessel adépted the runner. as an ap-

: purtenance is-simply not justified by ‘the rec-
ord ... . . Since the wire ‘alone or the man- —
éner-in which it was handled, or both, caused .
-plaintiff’s hurts and since under the facts .
‘the presence of that wire cannot be construed

_ as appellee’s responsibility this judgment’
_ [for the defendant] should not, for the rea-
sn a be disturbed. $ sah

~ é x ¥ ‘

‘Rogers, v.: United States aes: 3rd Cir. 1953, 205 F.2d

57, 57-58. (Emphasis added.) The Supreme Court re-
versed per curiam. 347 U. S. 984. Three justices dis-
sented in .both. the Petterson ‘and Rogers cases on the
theory that the doctrine of seaworthiness as stated
in Sieracki should not be extended to cover ‘the un-
seaworthiness of equipment owned and brought: on
board by a stevedoring contractor . . <’” since the

' stevedoring company’ would be better able to. elim-”

a inate the hazard. (B47 U.S. at 401-02.

a.

a ee

“The sieicisiaeOiliniinn doctrine .was further extended «

by the Supreme Court in Gutierrez v. Waterman ...

Steamship Corp., 1963, 374 U. S. 206. In that case, 4.
longshoreman | had slipped on beans spilled’ on the
‘dock from defective: bags- during the unloading’ of

- cargo. The Court reiterated Sieracki’s position that. :
the ‘‘Seaworthiitess is. not limited, ofs course, to fit-
‘ness for travel on the high seas; it includes fitness -

_ fot leading and unloatiing,” id. at.213, and ‘found that
. the doctrine of seaworthiness applies. to “‘longshore-

men unloading the’ ship whether they ‘are ‘Standing

aboard ship or on ‘the pier.” Id. at 245.

¢

*. Since the district ‘court’s opinion relies’ ‘primarily.

. on the decision in the McKnight case, we must first

| '.look to that case. McKnight, @ longshorem was: .

| injured by unloading gear which was ‘being owered

into the ship’ s hold by a, shore-based- crane. ve

‘the Sixth Circuit and’ the district court ‘conceded
the plaintiff “might have been doing the srniattions
work of © a’ seaman.” _(i.e., . ynloading cargo), both

a ‘ ‘ : : af . ©,

ey a

_ courts concluded that “he was not incurring the -haz-_
"ards of a seaman, in that noné of the: traditional un-. .
loading gear of the Ship, mamely winches, masts,

_,or booms, was being used . A: 286 F.2d at -251,
. 181. F. Supp. at 440. The’ coaet distinguished the Su-
. preme Court decisions *in- Sieracki, Rogers and Pet-

te?son on this’ basis but cited no case to aiioteia this’

distinction.

Our reading, of the Supreme Court cases leads us

to a contrary conclusion. Loading and unloading is.

clearly held to be ‘‘work of the ship’s service.”’
Sieracki, _ supra; Crumady v. The Joachin Hendrik

Fisser, 1959, 358 U.S. 423, 427; Italia “Societa v. Ore-

gon Stevedoring Co. .» 1964, 376 U.S. 215, 323. Pope &

Talbot v. Hawn, supra, instructs us to look to the
type of work performed to determine the’ extent of:

liability under the doctrine . of ‘seaworthiness: Here
we have a claimant who was admittedly injured while.

unloading a cargo of grain. Therefore, there. can be -

no doubt that he is within the scope of the-doctrine.

_ The district court below. and. the McKnight case
would exclude ‘the plaintiff here from recovery be-
cause, although he was doing seamen’s work, he was
not incurring a seamah’s hazard since he was not

using gear traditionally found aboard ship. The Su-. |

preme Court in Sieracki, however, attempts to ne-
‘gate this type of limitation on the concept of sea-

worthiness. As ‘stated there, the shipowner ‘‘is at:

liberty conduct his business by. securing the ad-
vantages of specialization in labor and skill brought

; . .. 4
a ?

m Seiiedl

: .
ee ae rrr an dS NR

23 .
ee | y
about by modern divisions of labor. He is not-at lib-
erty by doing this to discard his traditional respon-—
- sibilities.” 328 U.S. at 100. McKnight and the district
court would permit the shipowner to escape. liability
merely by substituting a more modern method for
performing ‘the traditional work of a seaman. We can
find no support in the ‘Supreme Court cases for’ adopt- 3
ing such a position. Nor can we find a rational basis -
for drawing this distinction. If one is performing. sea-
men’s work, by definition he must be. subjecting him-

self to a seaman’s hazard, no matter what type of

ae, equipment he is ysing to do the work. “The risks

themselves arise from. and are incident in fact to
the service... ...”” Sieracki, id. at 95. If a seaman
were ,injured in the engine room of ‘& nuclear-pow-—
ered vessel by some defect in the reactor, he could
not recover under the rationale of McKnight and the

.,, district. court, even though he was performing tra-

ditional seamen’s work, because the shipowner had
. installed apparatus which had not traditionally been
found on board ships. Such a result would be com- '
pletely out. of harmony with the Supreme Court's
at of the doctrine of seaworthiness.. = :

The district court in McKnight BS an additional nf
basis for denying relief not used by the district court
’ in the instant case. It concluded that: the shore-based |

crane was. not part of the hull, gear or stowage of the _—

vessel, and, therefore, a defect in the crane or a fault x:
in its operation could not make the ship unseaworthy. a
Again, the court cited no authority to.support its con-
clusion. This reasoning also flies in the face.of Su-

oe

"at the time of the injury resting on the’ bottom of the

30

preme Court opinions. The Third Circuit attempted
to draw the same distinction in. the Rogers case. 205

_ F.2d at 57. The Supreme. Covrt reversed per curiam.
In the Petterson case,, the Ninth Circuit ‘assimed > a

that the defective block belonged to the stevedoririg
company and thad it has been brought on board by
the stevedores. 205 P. 2d at 479. The Supreme Court.’
affirmed per curiam. The case at hand cannot be
distinguished from the Rogers and Petterson cases
on a rational basis. All three cases involved steve-
dore company equipment brought on board to assist |
in loading or unloading cargo. The-mere fact that the
marine leg is larger than ‘a block (Petterson) or a
land fall runner. (Rogers) should not cause a differ-
ent application of the law..

_The courts in McKnight and. Forkin attempted to.

- draw further distinctions, They suggest that liability.

should npt; be imposed _ unless the ‘injuring device is
attached No or touching the ship. M cKnight, 181 Fates
‘Supp. at. 439 and n.9; Ferkin,-323 F.2d at 641. This —
“limitation. finds no support in the Supreme Court .

cases. As stated: by ‘the Ninth Circuit in ‘Huff, this
approach is “‘manifestly wrong and contrary to the -

_ controlling: decisions... .”? 338 F.2d at 215. Evens — -
though it is admitted here that the marine leg at‘one ~
stage in the process is attached to thé. barge and was.

barge, we join the Ninth Circuit in rejecting this ae

. art exception to the doctrine of seaworthiness. .

The opinions in McKnight and Forkin confuse. ae
issue by. introducing concepts of negligence into their

31 .

on : “|
as

consideration of the seaworthiness question. They in-
fer that the shipowner’ Ss power of inspection, 323 F.2d -
at 641, or his’ lack of control, 181 F. Supp. at 439, have
relevance to the problem. This position, however, was
clearly rejected by the Supreme Court when -it stated’
in Sieracki that “liability is neither limited by con-

oo ceptions of negligence nor contractual in character,”’
-328 U.S. at 94, and when it concluded in Mitchell v.
Trawler Racer, Inc., 1960, 362:U.S. 539, that “‘we can. _

find no room for argument as to what the law is. What

has evolved is a complete divorcement of unsea- --

worthiness liability from concepts of neligence.”’

_ Several ‘months after judgment was rendered be-

low, the opinion ofthe Ninth Circuit in Huff v. Mat- |

———— ow wae

son Navigation Co., 9th «Cir. 1964, 338- F.2d 205, was
handed down. Huff was also injured by the-operation
ofa marine leg-The Ninth Circuit made a very thor-
‘ough analysis of the Supreme Court cases and “the
decisions. of the Sixth Circuit in McKnight and the
Second Circuit in. Korkin.. It found the distinction
drawn in. McKnight ‘that the longshoreman ‘was not
incurring. a seaman’s hazard because the gear was

“not that traditionally used in unloading to be invalid.

The Court concluded that the shipowner's s apetne -
liability — . :

“for the results. of | defects in eding. |
equipment brought on board ship/by _the
stevedoring company. should not be qualified
or modified if the unloading equipment thus
used happens to be newly designed and de-—
vised and involves none of the traditional uns; .

; 32
loading gear of the ship. Use of more modern
equipment can no .more exculpate the ship-
owner from his" obligations _ than - could
? use of “more ‘modern’ divisions: of | ‘labor.’
{Sieracki] . It would seem ‘passing strange
of. the shipownd whose obligation of sea-
- worthiness, as stated in Sieracki, ‘is peculiar-"
ly and exclusively the obligation of the owner-———
ey could in ‘ effett® ‘delegate: and-avoid his
* obligation by _employing a - stevedoring com-
pany “een used newly invented unloading
_ devices.’

4

TKe Third Circuit, in Spann v. Lauritzen, 3rd Cir.
1965, 344 F.2d 204, followed Huff and extended its |
ye ‘holding | considerably. The defective equipment. in
that case was a hopper located on the pier.,.A shore-
based crane would scoop buckets of nitrate from the
hold of a ship and: empty them into the hopper.
Trucks would drive under the hopper and a lever .
‘would release the contents of the ‘hopper ‘into the
truck bed. The plaintiff was injured when a defec-
tive release’ mechanism caused the lever. to descend
_prématurely and "strike him. The Court agreed with
*. the conclusion of the ‘Ninth Circuit in the Huff case
, . that McKnight ‘and Forkin.. are out of harmony with -
. thé. principles announced by the ladies Court’’ and
allowed the isaac to Tecover. Id. at 209.

The analysis of Huff and Spann and the failure of
the lower court and the courts in McKnight and .

Forkin to demonstrate. 2. valid distinction as, a basis
3 i ny

We Nite earch

Sn gas SA ei irl Hite en Sah iH

JON ES, Circuit Judge, Dissenting

oo ee

for a limitation on the broad distil of seaworthi- —
ness “as enunciated by the Supreme Court convinces.
"us that a defective marine leg used in unloading grain

makes a barge unseaworthy. Because of this con-

‘clusion, _we find it unnecessary to consider the’ ap-
: pellant’s other contentions. ee hares

8

The judgment of the district court is reversed and

@ the case is remanded for proceedings not: inconaist-
: ent with this opinion.

Federal and Gulf, ap ellees, andsContinental,. third |

-party defendant-appell , haye stipulated that inthe ~— :

event attorneys fees’ hie: the appeal of this case are

‘awarded in favor of Federal and Gulf and against
-‘Contiriental, the amount should be set at $900. Since
‘this case is being reversed and remanded, the, Dis-
trict Court will have before if sich stipulation for’

whatever action it deems appropriate.

In the opinion of the majority, it is shown that:
| “The injury resulted from an alleged defect
‘in’ a marine leg, a mechanical elevator. de- a
vice, owned by Continental... .It is. per-
-manently . attached to the ‘dile: ; 3
power for... operating the leg is supplied
by shore based facilities. . * . The injury oc-
‘curred _—— this last phase, of the unload-

ing. 99

e

ee ke

“The end of the marine ‘leg rested on the bottom of
- ‘the barge. I do not see. how it became a part of the
- barge res wy touching it.°© + —

I see no reason for this ‘extension of the doctrine.
that a _longshéreman is a,seaman and equipment
affixed to the shore is a part of a vessel. I would ~
‘ relegate. the appellant to the remedy provided by
«the Longshoreman and Harbor Workers Compensa-

tion Act rather than impose a liability for- negligence |
upon his employer by. way of indemnity of the Ship
owner. enarerite, edie eek api

¥
:
t
8 ‘
.
Se
: : X 's

ms
APPENDIX C..
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FTA CIRCUIT
° | = ‘p Geisher Term, dl
Pe ee ee 21868

a

'D. Cc. Docket No. 11113-Civil Action

: ERN EST oO. DEFFES, :
., Appellant,

‘s versus

FEDERAL BARGE LINES, INC. and: GULF-CANAL
LINES, me ET AL.,
Appellees.

| Appeal from the United States District Court nae the
Eastern District of Louisiana. - | ‘e

Before JONES and THORNBERRY, Circuit Judges,
a | _and SLOAN, District J Judge. |

"JUDGMENT | Peay

This cause came on to be. heard on the transcript

- of the record from the United States District Court ‘s

for the Eastern District of Louisiana, and was argued
7 by Coe;

,

62%.

’

J ON CONSIDERATION’ WHEREOF, ‘It’ is now —
ordered and adjudged. by. this -Court that the judg-
ment of the. ‘said District Court in: this cafise be, and

the same is hereby, reversed; and that this cause be,

and. it is hereby remanded to the said District Court

_ for further proceedings. not inconsistent. with the opin-

- ion of this Court; ©

lees, Federal Barge Lines, Inc. and Gulf-Canal Lines,
‘ Inc., and others, be condemned, in solido, to pay the
costs of this cause in this Court for. which execution
— be issued out of the said District Court.

<

: JONES, Circuit Judge, dissents. cee

Issued é as Mandate: May 26, 1966

"-®

It is further ordered and adjudged that the appel- 3

> ae estas Sones :
ae fe

ane APPENDIX D. | Q pee fw]

«4
“IN THE UNITED STATES COURT oF APPEALS fe :
_FOR —_ FIFTH CIRCUIT ares a

“h Ae No.” 21,868 ue ; wok pee Nae
ERNEST 0. DEFFES/ Creer
So ie | : Appellant | :
. © Z ic » - ae v. ; ‘
: repéRat BARGE LINES, INC. and GULF-CANAL
: : LINES, INC., ET AL; |
Appellees:

°

- Appeal from the United States District Court for the.
2) eae Eastern District of 5 sacral ;

ON PETITION FOR REHEARING» es ee

6

“(daly 6, 1966)

Before JONES and THORNBERRY, Circuit Judges,
. and SLOAN, District ot Fhdge as

ih

: -PER CURIAM: :
“It is ORDERED that Appellees’ ‘petition for rehear-
“ing in the above entitled and numbered cause be, and”
the same is hereby DENIED." J

»

J oni, Circuit J adge, I dissent. 8
; .
\ ee K
| \ ;

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385603_0006%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
