# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — England v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385602_1061%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1966
- **Citation:** 382 U.S. 986

## Text

. ~ - Office Sipreme Court, U.S,
71. i=% “i, !:>iED

SEP 23 1065

JOHN F. DAVIS, CLERK

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OctToBEer TERM, 1965

No: 603 J :

KENNETH D. ENGLAND and
CONNIE J. ENGLAND,

Petitioners,
v.
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE
SEVENTH CIRCUIT

ApriAn W. DEWIND
Aan N. CoHEN
Ernest RUBENSTEIN
575 Madison Avenue
New York, N. Y. 10022

Pau, WEtss, RIFKIND, WHARTON
& GARRISON

ALFRED D. YouNGwoopD

GILLESPIE, BURKE & GILLESPIE

Of Counsel

«tens

Ee ee

Bier A wate I NOR

ike pl he.

GEE RE eb be'ns suas sees ne vend eesaaees
DL 6.6640 '640 0une o6d4 nee eee ekeae enna

OO eT ere ere re

1
2
2
Statutes and Regulations Involved ...........0.00- 2
PMR OE TD GUD bk kc vndaccsouneicsaishvess +

6

Reasons for Granting the Writ ...............200-

I. The Question Affects Tens of Thousands of
‘SaS BRD xcs is ccandatesea excess 6

II. The Decision of the Court of Appeals Is in Con-
flict With the Decision of the Tax Court and Is
Contrary to Established Rules for Determining
Whether Reimbursed Expenses Constitute In-
eee re rene ree Prion me 12

III. The Decision of the Court of Appeals Is in Con-
flict With Decisions of the Courts of Appeals
for the Sixth and Ninth Circuits on the Mean-

ing of the Taxpayer’s “Home” ............. 16
IE fie cbasvencuddaneeesesobeuiaed eneens 17
POR occ ttcnoustanseceeeiaceiesseaneas la

Opinion of the Court of Appeals ................ la
Judgment of the Court of Appeals .............. 7a
yk re epee Seer er erp R er ae lb
Opinion of the District Court ................06. lb

Appendix to Opinion of the District Court........ 17b

SAREE ARTY EL eas 8

Ee

li
TABLE OF CITATIONS

PAGE
CASES: — )
Barnhill v. Commissioner, 148 F. 2d 913 (4th Cir.
ee eer re ery errr Terre ikea weuled 16
_Bercaw v. Commissioner, 165 F. 2d 521 (4th Cir.
a | ERENT TENET Oe TST TTT Trot Cree eeee 16
. Burns v. Gray, 287 F. 2d 698 (6th Cir. 1961) .... 16

‘John E. Cavanagh, 36 T. C. 300 (1961), nonacq.,

oe ee Peer errr. 7,10, 12, 13, 14, 15
Cockrell v. Commissioner, 321 F. 2d 504 (8th Cir.
Es cw ne cede bh eeerccsesdeneceaeeekises 14

Commissioner v. Duberstein, 363 U. S.\278 (1960) 16
Commissioner v. Flowers, 326 U. S. 465 (1946),

reversing, 148 F. 2d 163 (5th Cir. 1945) ...... 16, 17
Light v. Commissioner, 310 F. 2d 716 (5th Cir.
ME ics eechonshvavisdivesnceraeterie ese: ae

Logan v. United States, 65-2 U. S. Tax Cas. J 9554,
vacated, 65-2 U. S. Tax Cas. 9608 (S. D. Ill.
SE 5 535 Bed Os aa tee ae ter on ee eaecieeess 10

Peurifoy v. Commissioner, 358 U.S. 59 (1958) ... 17
Rudolph v. United States, 370 U. S. 269 (1962). .14, 15
United States v. LeBlanc, 278 F. 2d 571 (5th Cir.

__. pas. epee ee sex entwehaekere enue 16
Wallace v. Commissioner, 144 F. 2d 407 (9th Cir.
BESS EE Seo 16

=>
A

{
;

Wright v. Hartsell, 305 F. 24221 (9th Cir. 1962).. 16 /

STATUTES:
Internal Revenue Code of 1954:
Ee re ee ee ere 43,7
NE io cites cas ceckwaudyans aod 3, 16, 17
I ha a cuncuneensau neck bawcbeeas 12

a

iii
PAGE
ae U.S. C,, Goctiom ZIG) inc coccccvcvicenes 2
28 U. S. C., Section 1346(a)(1) ..%............ 6

MISCELLANEOUS:

American Management Association Research Study
67, Reimbursing Personnel for Transfer and Re-
location Costs (1964) ........cccccccccccess

Americans on the Move to New Jobs, New Places,
Fe Ce ee ne

Brief for Appellant in United States v. England,
345 F. 2d 414 (7th Cir. 1965) ...............

Closeup: Management’s Moving Man, Chemical
WG, SEU SUG NONE crew cnwcnesceteeseeceiadk

Greyvan [eines Incorporated, What Other Com-
_pamies Do and What Their Employees Think
ek 3g Ree toon

Hearings Before the Senate Committee on Finance
on H. R. 8363, 88th Cong., Ist Sess. (1963)...

Hearings Before the Subcommittee on Executive
and Legislative Reorganization of the House
Committee on Government Operation on H. R.
10607, 89th Cong., Ist Sess. (1965) ..{.......

“HL. R. 10607, 89th Cong., Ist Sess. (1965) ......
H. R. Rep. No. 749, 88th Cong., Ist Sess. (1963)...

Letter from John W. Macy, Jr., Chairman of the
United States Civil Service Commission, to the
Honorable John W. McCormack, Speaker of the
House of Representatives, dated May 20, 1965. .

Letter from Norman S. Paul, Assistant Secretary of
Defense for Manpower, to Bertrand M. Harding,
Acting Commissioner of Internal Revenue ..

Message from the President of the United States,
111 Cong. Rec. 9884 (1965) .................

12

a Ff

si

iv :
PAGE

National Industrial Conference Board, Inc., Studies
In Personnel Policy, No. 154, Company Payment

of Employees’ Moving Expenses (1956) ....... 8
Petition for Writ of Certiorari, Commissioner v.

Flowers, 326 U. S. 465 (1946) .............. 17
Rev. Rul. 54-429, 1954-2 C. B. ceckuewataes 5,7, 15
Rev. Rul. 63-258, 1963-2 C. B. 22 ............ 15
Rev. Rul. 65-158, I. R. B. 1965-24, Serer 7,9
S. Rep. No. 830/88th Cong., 2d Sess. (1964) ..... 12
T. I. R. 754, Announcement 65-65, I. R. B. 1965-36

DL tie kcbenuew eee alee eels sk deanes Re 9
U.S. Treasury Department, Internal Revenue Serv-

RP EE dace un sagentnawhawwevenus 10
U. S. Treasury Department, Internal Revenue Serv-

8 OS et oe ret re er reer 10

U.S. Treasury Department, Internal Revenue Serv-
ice Publication No. 17, Your Federal Income Tax 10

“We've Been Transferred,” Fortune, July 1957... 6

IN THE

Siusineiee Court of the United States

OcToBER TERM, 1965

KENNETH D. ENGLAND and ConniE J. ENGLAND,

Petitioners,
” No.
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent.

=D

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF TIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF EALS FOR THE
SEVENTH CIRCUIT

Petitioners pray that a writ of certiorari issue to review
the judgment of the United States Court of Appeals for
the Seventh Circuit.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of “Appeals (R. 39-43) is
reported at 345 F. 2d 414 (7th Cir. 1965) and is reprinted
in Appendix A, infra, pp. la-Ya.* The opinion of the

*References to “R.” are to the certified transcript of the record
in this case, which in¢ludes the printed Appendices to Respondent’s
and Petitioners’ briefs in the Court of Appeals. Because the Clerk
of the Court of Appeals did not exclude from the record the briefs
on appeal and did not pagiaate the record, counsel for petitioners
have paginated the record in this case as follows : Appendix A to
Respondent’s Brief is numbered R. 1-3; Appendix B to Respondent’s
Brief is numbered R. 4-32; the Appendix to Petitioners’ Brief is
numbered R. 33-38; and the opinion and judgment of the Court of
Appeals is numbered R. 39-43. For the convenience of the Court,
we have filed nine additional copies of the Appendices to the briefs
on appeal, the pages of which have been numbered the same as the
corresponding portion of the certified. transcript.

ba =

2

United States District Court: for the Southern District of
Illinois (R. 12-30) is reported at 226 F. Supp. 762 (S. D.
Ill. 1964) and is reprinted in Appendix B, infra, pp. 1b-21b.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals (Appendix A,
infra, p. 7a) was entered on April 29, 1965 (R. 43). By
order of Mr. Justice Clark, entered July 14, 1965, the time
for filing this Petition for a Writ of Certiorari was extended
to and including September 24, 1965. The jurisdiction
of this Court is invoked under 28 U. S. C. § 1254(1).

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Whether an employee who is transferred to a new job
location by and at the direction of his employer must include
in gross income amounts received from his employer in re-
imbursement for extraordinary moving expenses necessar-
ily incurred by the employee solely as a result of his job
transfer. Alternatively, if the employee must include such
reimbursed expenses in gross income, whether the employee
is entitled to deduct such expenses as ordinary and neces-
sary business expenses.

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS INVOLYED

The statute involved with respect to the includibility in
income of the reimbursed’ expenses is section 61(a) of the
Internal Revenue Code of 1954, 26 U. S. C. § 61(a), which ~
provides in pertinent part:

“Sec. 61. Gross INcomME DEFINED.

“(a) GENERAL DEFINITION.—Except as other-
wise provided in this subtitle, gross income means

3

all income from whatever source derived, including
(but not limited to) the following items:

“(1) Compensation for services, including
fees, commissions, and similar items; ... .”

There are no regulations directly applicable to the issue
here presented under section 61(a).*

The statute involved with respect to the alternative
question of the deductibility of the employee’s expenses if
the reimbursement is includible in income is section 162(a)
of the Internal Revenue Code of 1954, 26 U. S. C. § 162(a),
which provides in pertinent part:

“Sec. 162. Trapg or Business Expenses.

“(a) In Generat.—There shall be allowed as

a deduction all the ordinary and necessary expenses
paid or incurred during the taxable year in carrying
on any trade or business, including—

* * *

“(2) traveling expenses (including amounts
expended for meals and lodging other than
amounts which are lavish or extravagant under
the circumstances) while away from home in the
pursuit of a trade or business;... .”

There are no regulations directly applicable to the issue here
presented under section 162(a). —

i otianEREEEEEEEREEEEEEEeee

*All section references are to the Internal Revenue Code of 1954. ¢

Qa .

a

4

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The material facts in this case are undisputed and are
as follows:

For seven years prior to May 19, 1960, petitioner Ken-
neth D. England* was employed by The Aetna Casualty
and Surety Company (the “Company”) at its Kansas City,
Missouri, office, and resided in that city with his wife
in a home owned by them (R. 12). On A 19, 1960,
England was advised by the Company 4 effective
June 1, 1960, he was being permanently transferred to
its Springfield, Illinois, office, but on his request he was
allowed some additional time before the transfer (R. 12-13,

~ 39-40). England in-fact arrived in Springfield on June

19, 1960, and took up his new duties on June 20, 1960
(R. 13). England then commenced looking for a per-
manent place to live with his family in the Springfield,
Illinois, area and on July 9, 1960, he leased a house which
was unavailable for occupancy until August 1, 1960, at
which time England and his family moved in (R. 13-14, 39-
40).

Between June 19 and August 1, 1960, England incurred
experises of $446 for which he was reimbursed by the Com-
pany under its written program covering reimbursement
of transferred employees for moving, traveling and dupli-
cated living expenses (R. 14). A copy of such written pro-
gram was appended to the District Court opinion (R. 26-
30) and appeafs in Appendix B, infra, at pp. 17b-21b.
The principal items for which England was reimbursed by
the Company were-for his food and lodging expenses in

*Petitioner Connie J. England is the wife of Kenneth D. England
and is a petitioner in this case only because she and her husband filed
a joint return for the taxable year in issue. References to England re-
fer to petitioner Kenneth D. land only.

&

5

Springfield, I'linojs, during the period his family remained
in Kansas City prior to their occupancy of permanent living
quarters at the new locatien and for the cost of a trip to
Springfield by England’s wife to inspect and select among
houses available for permanent living quarters (R. 14-15
fn. 1).* The Company also bore the expense of moving
England’s household effects and the cost of his wife’s trans-
portation at the time of the permanent move, but under the
rules set forth in Rev. Rul. 54-429, 1954-2 C. B. 53, the
Government did not contend that reimbursement for such
items constituted income to England (R. 16-17, “fn. 2).

The Company’s reimbursement program was not to
compensate for services rendered, but was designed to pre-
vent or reduce financial loss sustained by transferred em-
ployees because of traveling and duplicated living expenses
arising from their transfer (R. 20). All of the expenses
for which the Company reimbursed England were of an
extraordinary nature required to be incurred by the Com-
pany (R. 23). Petitioners suffered an actual financial loss
as a result of the transfer and their net worth showed a
decrease in 1960 because of the transfer (R. 20).

In their 1960 income tax return, petitioners did not
include in’ income any portion of the $446 reimbursed to
Enpland by the Company. After audit of such return, the
Commissioner of Internal Revenue increased petitioners’
taxable income by said-$446, resulting in an additional tax
for 1960 of $103. Petitioners paid the additional tax, filed
a claim for refund which was rejected and thereupon filed

*Such principal items aggregated more than $400. Other expenses,
such as for laundry, a newspaper advertisement to rent a house and
incidental costs involved in the sale of his Kansas City house, ifi-
creased the amount for which England claimed reimbursement
from the Company to $494.60. The Company allowed reimbursement
for $452.83, and the parties have agreed that $446 should be re-
ty gig as reimbursement for the purposes of this ycase (R.

oe. OF.

|

6

<

suit for refund in the District Court for the Southern Dis-
trict of Illinois (R. 40). The jurisdiction of District Court
was founded on 28 U. S. C. § 1346(a)(1). The District
Court held that the $446 for which England was reimbursed
was not includible in income and entered judgment for
petitioners (R. 12-31). The Court of Appeals reversed
(R. 39-43). |

f

ae

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. The Question Affects Tens of Thousands of Taxpayers
Annually.

More than 150,000 employees were tfansferred within
the United States by their corporate employers during
1964, and it is likely that the number of transfers will
increase in 1965 and future years.’ The expanding volume
of employee transfers has resulted from the expansion and
decentralization of American industry-since the end of
_ World War II, with the concomitant need to staff new
plants or fill vacancies at distant locations.”

Recognizing that substantial costs are involved in the
moving of a household, virtually all companies bear or re-
imburse the employee for part or all of the extraordinary ex-
penses necessarily incurred in connection with his job trans-
fer. Employers do not bear such costs to compensate their
employees. Indeed, officials of the two principal employment
divisions of the Government have so stated. The Assistant
Secretary of Defense, Mr. Norman S. Paul, has advised
the Internal Revenue Service that dislocation allowances
paid to transferred military personnel to cover temporary

1See Closeup: Management's Moving Man, Chemical Week,
May 22, 1965, p. 87.

See “We've Been Transferred,’ Fortune, July 1957, p. 116;
a on the Move to New Jobs, New Places, Life, Feb. 3, 1958,
p. 85.

#,

7

living costs are “not intended to be compensatory.”* Simi-
larly, the Chairman of the United States Civil Service
Commission, Mr. John W. Macy, Jr., observed in a letter
to the Speaker of the House of Representatives in support
of legislation authorizing reimbursement to transferred
Civil Service employees of expenses such as were reimbursed
to England that such expenses shwuld be reimbursed by the
employer because the employer “rather than the employee
is both the initiator and the prime beneficiary of the
move.””*

The Internal Revenue Service (the “Service”) has also
partially recognized the true nature of such reimbursements,
holding in a 1954 ruling that employer reimbursement to an

_ employee “for moving himself, his immediate family, house-

( hold goods and personal effects, in case of a transfer in the -
interest of his employer,” does not constitute compensation
and is not includible in gross income under the 1939 Code
predecessor provision of section 61(a) because such reim-
bursement “is not compensatory in nature.”*® On the other
hand, as a result of the decision below the Service has held
that reimbursements for other expenses incurred as a result
of the employer-directed move, including those for which
England was reimbursed, are includible in gross income and
are subject to withholding.* As we hereinafter show, the
position of the Service in its recent ruling is contrary to the
position of the Tax Court (John E. Cavanagh, 36 T. C. 300
(1961) ) and may irrevocably prejudice tens of thousands
of taxpayers.

Letter from Norman S. Paul, Assistant Secretary of Defense for
Manpower, to Bertrand M. ing, Acting Commissioner of Internal
Revenue, reported in Bureau of National Affairs, Daily Report for
Executives, Developments Affecting Taxation and Finance, No. 169,
p. G-1 (August 28, 1964).

*Letter from John W. Macy, Jr., Chairman of the United States
Civil Service Commission, to the Honorable John W. McCormack,
Speaker of the House of Representatives, dated May 20, 1965.

5Rev.\Rul. 54-429, 1954-2 C. B. 53.

®Rev. Rul. 65-158, I. R. B. 1965-24, 6.

8

Although the expenses which companies will bear vary,
the vast majority of employers reimburse employees trans-
‘ferred at the employer’s behest for temporary food and
lodging costs of the type incurred by England and for the
cost of permitting the employee’s wife to select a new
home. A 1964 survey by the American Management Asso-
ciation covering 256 of the largest companies in the country
revealed that 223 firms, or 87 percent of the total, reim-
bursed transferred employees for temporary food and
lodging expenses of the type for which England was
reimbursed.’ Earlier studies by the National Industrial
Conference Board® (involving 151 companies) and Greyvan
Lines Incorporated® (involving 688 companies) likewise
indicated that between 80 percent and 87 percent of all
companies reimburse transferred employees for such tem-
porary duplicated living expenses. The studies further re-
veal that most companies also reimburse the transferred em-
ployee for a house selection trip such as England’s wife
made.

On the basis of these figures, it seems fair to estimate
that the question of includibility in income of the reim-
_bursed expenses involved in this case affects the income tax
liability of at least 50,000 and perhaps more than 100,000
of the’150,000°employees annually transferred by private
industry.” In:addition, the question also affects approxi-
mately 340,000’ military personnel who are transferred an-

7American Management Association Research Study 67, Reim-
bursing Personnel for Transfer and Relocation Costs (1964):

8National Industrial Conference Board, Inc., Studies in Per-
sonnel Policy, No. 154, Company Payment of Employees’ Moving
Expenses (1956).

be Lines Incorporated, What Other Companies Do and
What Their Employees Think They Should Do (1957).

10Although there are no figures available to indicate the percent-
age of transferred employees who incur costs for temporary food and
lodging expenses or for a house selection trip, it appears likely
from the relative uniformity of company reimbursement policies that
the overwhelming majority of transferred employees do incur such
costs.

9

nually and receive dislocation allowances."* Finally, if the
legislation now pending” before the Congress for reim-
bursement to transferred Civil Service employees of the
type of expenses here involved is enacted, as seems likely,"
another 35,000 Civil Service employees will be annually af-
fected by the outcome of this case.** As the Government
advised the Court of Appeals below, the issue here present-
ed affects “the rights of thousands of taxpayers” and “is
an extremely important one.”?®

Not only are many thousands of taxpayers annually
affected by the employee transfer expense issue here in-
volved; a good number of them may be irrevocably pre-
judiced by the action which’ the Service has taken following
the Court of Appeals decision below. On June 14, 1965,

the Service in, reliance on the Court of Appeals decision

below published a ruling requiring employers to withhold
income tax on reimbursements of expenses of the type here
involved.** The ruling wholly ignores the “Tax Court deci-

1Letter from Norman S. Paul, Assistant Secretary of Defense
for Manpower, to Bertrand M. Harding, Acting Commissioner of In-
ternal Revenue, reported in Bureau of National Affairs, Daily Report
for Executives, Developments Affecting Taxation and Finance, No.
243, p. G-1 (December 15, 1964).

12H. R. 10607, 89th Cong., 1st-Sess. (1965).

18The bill was recommended by the President. See Message from
the President of the United States, May 12, 1965, 111 Cong. Rec.
9884 (1965) (H. Doc. No. 170, 89th Cong., 1st Sess.).

4John W. Macy, Jr., Chairman of the United States Civil Service
Commission, Hearings Before the Subcommittee on Executive and
Legislative Reorganization of the House Committee on Government
Operations on H. R. 10607, 89th Cong., 1st Sess., stenographic tran-
script, p. 23 (Sept. 1, 1965).

*Brief for Appellant United States of America in the Court of
Appeals for the Seventh Circuit, p. 8. *

**Rev. Rul. 65-158, I. R. B. 1965-24, 6. Apparently dissatisfied
with compliance with the ruling, the Service on August 9, 1965,
issued Technical Information Release 754 reminding “employers
that certain moving expense reimbursements or allowances they
pay to or on behalf of employees transferred primarily in the em-
ployer’s interest are subject to withholding of employment taxes.”
See Announcement 65-65, I. R. B. 1965-36, 14.

10

sion in John E. Cavanagh, 36 T. C. 300 (1961), the only
other decision expressly considering the issue, which ruled
that such reimbursements were not includible in income.”

It is clear that most employees who receive a W-2
Form reflecting such reimbursed expenses as income will
never know that the includibility of such reimbursements
in income is an open issue which they may question.** A
survey by counsel for petitioners of the 1964 experience
of ten companies with 515,000 employees showed that of
3,714 employees who were transferred, 2,345 (63.1%)
earned under $10,000 and 3,447 (92.8%) earned under
$15,000." Employees at such income levels generally have
no knowledge of refined tax issues and few can afford or
obtain the services of tax experts.

17The Government did not appeal the Cavanagh decision, but
nevertheless refuses to follow it. 1962-2 C. B. 6. Subsequent to the
Court of Appeals decision in this case, District Judge Poos who had
decided this case decided a similar case, Logan v. United States,
65-2. U. S. Tax Cas. 79554 (S. D. Ill. 1965), in favor of the
Government because his decision was “controlled by England v.
United States... .”’ On July 26, 1965, Judge Poos vacated and set
aside the judgment in the Logan case upon being advised that
petitioners in this case intended to seek Supreme Court review.
65-2 U. S. Tax Cas. 9608. Judge Poos reasoned that since the
Logan case involved the same issues as the England case, if the
Supreme Court should reverse the Court of Appeals in England, the
Logan case would not have to be appealed.
18This is the more so since the instructions which accompanied
the 1964 individual income tax returns (U. S. Treasury Department,
Ya eh tenn Service rds yg wr 7 Your Federal fered Tax
. S. Treasury. Department, Internal Revenue Service ication
No. 17, p. 46 (1965 ed.)), an official Treasury Department publica-
tion for the guidance of taxpayers, unqualifiedly state that such re-
imbursements must be included in income.
19A witness before the Senate Finance Committee in 1963 testified
that 85 percent of emp reimbursed for moving expenses by one
corporation and 91 percent of those of another earned less
than $15,000 a year. Almost none of the other employees transferred
by these two corporations earned more than $25,000 a year. State-

»ment of Richard B. Barker, Hearings Before the Senate Committee

on Finance on H. R. 8363, 88th Cong., Ist Sess. (1963) Part 4,
p. 2008. fe

11

Thus, not only will each year’s delay in the establish-
ment of governing rules mean that the statute of limitations
will have run on the refund rights of tens of thousands of
taxpayers, the failure promptly to establish such rules
presents an unusual and more troublesome problem: even

' if the rules developed several years hence exclude from
income reimbursements such as England’s, most of the
many thousands of taxpayers who will have paid their taxes
unaware of the issue and who still are entitled to refunds
will not be in a position even to learn of these rules, or
having learned of them, will be unaware of their application
to themselves.

Furthermore, of the minority of taxpayers who may be
aware of the questionable nature of the Service’s position,
few will have any practical remedy until the governing
rules are finally established by this Court. The amount of
expenses reimbursed to a single employee and asserted by
the Service to be includible in his income is generally modest.
So also generally is his income tax bracket. Thus, the
amount of tax involved in the usual case is not more than
a few hundred dollars—the $103 involved here is typical.?°
4 Consequently, the amount at stake, while important to the

ordinary taxpayer, is not sufficient to warrant the cost of
his challenging the Service in the courts. Only if the em-
ployer is willing to bear the costs of litigation—as the Com-
pany is doing here because of the importance of the case
—is the typical employee in a position to challenge the
Service.

The issue presented here is of continuing importance
for current and future taxable years and is in no way

It may also be noted, as illustrative, that income tax deficiencies
arising from reimbursed moving ve assessed against
229 employees who were translecred teen Chicago, Illinois to Spring-
field, Illinois by Illinois Bell Telephone Company in connection with
the relocation of an entire department. ~Over 80 percent of those 229
employees received annual wages of less than $12,000.

—

12

affected by the addition to the Internal Revenue Code, by
the Revenue Act of 1964, of a new section 217, dealing with
moving expenses. Such section provides for a deduction
for reimbursed moving expenses of new employees and non-
reimbursed moving expenses of all employees to the extent
that the Internal Revenue Service had previously held that
the reimbursement to an existing employee was not includ-
ible in income. In adopting the new statutory provision,
the Congress expressly noted the existence ag the Tax
Court decision in Cavanagh and stated that the enactment
of section 217 was not meant*to imply that “moving
expense exchusions under existing law are necessarily
limited” to the categories covered by section 217. “The
question of whether the exclusion for existing employees
extends beyond these three categories is left for judicial
interpretation.” -

The time for such judicial interpretation on a final,
national basis is now. It is now because of the conflict
between the Tax Court and the Seventh Circuit. It is now
becauSe tens of thousands of taxpayers annually are affected
by the tax question here in issue. And, most important, it
is now because enforcement of the Service’s income tax

: withholding policy will mean that many thousands, unaware

of and unable to preserve their rights, will inevitably and
irrevocably pay taxes that may ultimately prove not to have
been due.

II. The Decision of the Court of Appeals Is in Conflict
With the Decision of the Court and is Contrary
to Established Rules for Determining Whether Re-
imbursed Expenses Constitute Income. 7

The District Court in this case found that the $446 of
expenses for which England was reimbursed “were of an

21S. Rep. NogB30, 88th Cong., 2d Sess. 71-72 (1964); H. R. ~
Rep. No. 749, Cong., Ist Sess. 59 (1963).

eK

extraordinary nature required to be incurred by the em-
ployer” (R. 23), that the Company did not intend the re-
imbursement to be compensatory (R. 20), and that as a
result the expenses “were the employer’s costs and not the
employees” (R. 23). So finding, the District Court held
that the reimbursement to England for such expenses did
not constitute income.

The District Court discussed at length and agreed with
the reasoning and result in John E. Cavanagh,”* where the
Tax Court, in a decision reviewed by the entire Court, held
that the reimbursement of a transferred employee for the
extraordinary costs of food and lodging incurred while he
and his family were awaiting arrival of their household
effects at his new job location was not inchsdible in income.
The Tax Court felt that the fact that ordinary food and
lodging costs might be characterized as non-deductible per-
sonal living expenses was irrelevant if the reimbursed
extraordinary expenses were initially incurred and paid.on
behalf of the employer. Such characterization, the Tax
Court said, “has no applicability to such expenses properly
chargeable to another which the taxpayer pays and for
which he is reimbursed.””*

So reasoning, the Tax Court viewed the question of in-
cludibility in income of the reimbursed expenses’as entirely
dependent on the facts of the case. The Court there found
“the agreed facts to»be that petitioner actually expended
$280 in extraordinary living costs’** for: which he was
" reimbursed and the further fact that the tran$fer “was not
only for the convenience of his then employer, but speci-
fically directed and required by it.”** Having thus found
that Cavanagh’s extraordinary expenses were required to

2236 T..C. 300 (1961), nonacq., 1962-2 C. B. 6.
2336 T. C. at 304.
2436 T. C. at 302.
2536 T. C. at 303.

14

be incurred by his employer, the Tax Court concluded that
their reimbursement did not constitute income to Cavanagh.

The Court of Appeals below disagreed with the factual
approach to the issue taken by the District Court below and
by the Tax Court in Cavanagh, stating that Cavanagh “was
wrongly decided,” that the meals and lodging expenses for
which England was reimbursed were “personal living ex-
penses of the employee,” and that on their reimbursement
“income is realized thereby” (R. 41). The Court of Ap-
peals did not regard the issue before it as requiring appli-
cation of factual criteria to determine whether the reim-
bursement constituted income. It paid no attention to and
made no inquiry. about the findings of fact of the District.
Court. The Court of Appeals held that an employer’s re-
imbursement of such expenses to a transferred employee
constituted income, apparently as a matter of law, even
though the reimbursed expenses were found by the District
Court to have been extraordinary in nature, to have been
incurred only because of a job transfer directed by -the
Company and not to have heen intended by the Company
to be compensatory.

The holding of the Court of Appeals is, of course, con-
trary to Cavanagh. More important, it is contrary to the ©
general proposition, recently reaffirmed by this Court in
Rudolph v. United States,”* that the question of whether an
employer’s reimbursement of expenses paid by an employee
constitutes income is predominantly a question of fact. It
is also contrary .to - existing —s en in the

moving expense area.”

26370 U. S. 269 (1962). : wr.

27The Court of A cited Cockrell v. Commissioner, 321 F.
2d 504 (8th Cir. 1963), as supporting its view. In Cockrell, the
transferred employee in 1956 received a special allowance for two’
months while living with his family in a motel at his new job location.
Prior to 1957, the employee and his family moved into a rented house
and the employer then paid him a $70 a week living expense allowance.
Only 1957 and 1958, involving the $70 a week allowance and not the ©
motel reimbursement, were before the Court, and the case was argued

4]

t |
In Rev. Rul. 54-429," the Internal Revenue Service
ruled that gross income does not include amounts received
by a transferred employee in reimbursement for household
moving expenses and the cost of transporting the employee
and his family to the new job location (including meals and
lodging en route). .The theory of the ruling is that if the
move is “primarily for the benefit of the employer,” reim-
bursement of ‘such expenses “is not compensatory in
nature.”*® By the same token, reimbursement of other ex-
traordinary expenses that would not have been incurred
but for an erployer-directed move should not be includible
in income if found to be not compensatory in nature.
Such, indeed, was the holding of Rev. Rul. 63-258, 1963-
2 C. B. 22, where the Service ruled that special allowances
paid by the Government to civilian and military personnel
to cover the costs of travel to a “safehaven post” and for
subsistence for a period of up to 180 days, following evacua-
tion from Cuba, were not includible in income. The Service
reasoned that since the allowances “are solely intended to
offset the.direct added expenses which would not have been
incurred except for the evacuation, it is apparent that such
payments were not intended to be compensatory in nature.”
In sum, under the rules of Rudolph, Cavanagh, and ex-
isting ruling precedents in the moving expense area, the
Court.of Appeals below should have been concerned only
with the determination of whether the District Court em-
ployed the proper factual criteria and whether the District

and decided on the question 4 weedy. cas 20 b ‘been oa
was temporary or permanent. e Cockrell case no on
reimbursement issue here involved.

281954-2 C. B. 53.

*°The ruling also held that “reimbursements for meals and lodg-
ings of the employee and his family while awaiting permanent -
capbaias tdee at-coneie aida’ Ae ok ak ete the

.” It does not appear whether the food and lodging costs

empl
dealt with oy eee Ware SEGRE Se’ GRANNY Seay OF Sey
he east as eet

16

a

Court’s findings of fact with respect thereto were “clearly
erroneous.” Cf. Commissioner v, Duberstein, 363 U. S. 278
(1960). In treating the issue before it as entirely a matter
of law, the Court of Appeals below committed error.

Because of the widespread importance of the tax treat-
ment of reimbursed expenses to transferred employees, it °
is essential that this Court resolve the uncertainties created
by the decision below. 7

Ill. The Decision of the Court of Appeals Is in Con-
flict With Decisions of the Courts of Appeals for
the Sixth and Ninth Circuits on the Meaning of the
Taxpayer’s “Home”.

After holding that England’s $446 reimbursement was
includible in his income, the Court of Appeals below also
rejected England’s right to deduct part or all of the expenses
for which he was reimbursed as travel expenses while away

- from home under section 162(a)(2), holding that a tax-
payer’s “home” for purposes of that section “is the place of
taxpayer’s business. In this case Springfield clearly was
England’s ‘home’ after the transfer... .” (R. 42). This
conclusion of the Court of Appeals is in agreement with the
interpretation of “home” by the Court of Appeals for the
Fourth Circuit.*° On the other hand, the Courts of Appeals
for the Sixth** and Ninth Circuits*? have held that “home”
is not synonymous with “business situs” and that a tax-
payer’s place of business may be “away from home.”**

89Bercaw v. Commissioner, 165 F. 2d 521 (4th Cir. 1948);
Barnhill v. Commissioner, 148 F. 2d 913 (4th Cir. 1945).

51Burns v. Gray, 287 F. 2d 698 (6th Cir. 1961).

« 82Wright v. Hartsell, 305 F. 2d 221 (9th Cir. 1962) ; Wallace v.
Commissioner, 144 F. 2d 407 (9th Cir. 1944).

**The Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit took the same view
in Flowers v. Commissioner, 148 F. 2d 163 (5th Cir. 1945), rev'd
on diff. issue, 326 U. S. 465 (1946) and United States v. LeBlanc, 278

“F. 2d 571 (5th Cir. 1960). The present position of that Court is
rs ma See Light v. Commissioner, 310 F. 2d 716 (5th
ir. ;

17

Twenty years ago the Solicitor General of. the United
States advised this Court that “resolution of the conflict is
of considerable importance” because the-question “arises
frequently in the collection of income taxes and affects the
recovery of substantial amounts of revenue.”** Although
this Court has twice taken cases involving the interpretation
of “home” in the Courts below, the Court disposed of both
without reaching that question. Peurifoy v. Commissioner,
358 U. S. 59 (1958) ; Commissioner v. Flowers, 326 U. S.
465 (1946). In the meantime, the conflict and confusion
among the Courts of Appeal have increased, and the in-
creasing mobility of American labor has made the issue even
more prevalent. Only this Court can finally resolve the
question of whether “home” as used in section 162(a) (2)
necessarily means the taxpayer’s business situs.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated above, the petition for a writ of
certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

Aprian W. DEWIND

Awan N. CoHEN
ERNEST RUBENSTEIN
575 Madison Avenue
New York, N. Y. 10022

PAuL, WEIsS, RIFKIND, WHARTON
& GARRISON

ALFRED D. YoUNGWooD

GILLESPIE, BuRKE & GILLESPIE

Of Counsel
September 23, 1965

’ 84Petition for Writ of Certiorari, pp. 8, 9, Commissioner v.
Flowers, 326 U.S. 465 (1946).

vl

Ray

APPENDIX A
/

Opinion of The Court of, Appeals

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
For the Seventh Circuit

»
¥

September Term, 1964—September Session, 1964
ae. Se

‘\

'
Decided, April 29, 1965 ~

’%
¥

KENNETH D. ENGLAND AND CONNIE J. ENGLAND, ©
Plaintiff s-A ppellees,
v. :

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Defendant-A ppellant.

ae
BEFORE:

CASTLE, KILEY AND SWYGERT,
Circuit Judges

KIeEy, Circuit Judge:

This appeal by the Government from a judgment for

‘ arefund to plaintiffs’ of income tax poses the issue whether

England, taxpayer, must include in his gross income for

1Connie J. England is also a plaintiff in this case since she and
her husband filed a joint return for the taxable year in question.

2a
' Appendix A

1960 an amount which he was reimbursed by his employer
for certain expenses incurred, prior to gaining possession
of new permanent quarters, incidental to a transfer to a new
post in the employer’s interest; or alternatively, whether
such amount, if includible in gross income, is a deductible
travel or business expense. We think the district court
erred in deciding this issue in favor of England.

The facts are undisputed. England was permanently
transferred by his employer from Kansas City, Missouri,
to Springfield, Illinois, where he arrived on June 19, 1960.
He began then to look for a place for his family to live and
on July 9, 1960 leased a house which was unavailable for
occupancy until August 1, 1960, at which time his family
moved in. Pursuant to its policy and regulations, the em-
ployer reimbursed England for $466.00 [sic] of his Spring-
field expenses incurred prior to taking possession under the
lease. The major items of expense were his meals and
lodging and a trip by his wife to inspect a house in Spring-
field.? England did not request or wish to make the transfer
but did so at the behest of the employer.

The Commissioner of Internal Revenue added the
amount of reimbursement to the taxpayer’s gross income
and assessed an additional tax of $103.00. England paid
the tax under protest, and brought this suit after the Gov-
ernment rejected his demand for a refund.

We)agree with the Government, contrary to the district
court’s view, that in view of § 61(a)’s definition of gross
income as “all income from whatever source derived, in-
cluding (but not limited to) the following items,” the fact

2Other items included laundry and cleaning expense, boarding
of taxpayer’s dog and cat, and the cost of a title search, revenue
stamps, newspaper advertisement, and telegram in connection with
the sale of taxpayer’s house in Kansas City.

3a
Appendix A

that the reimbursement received by England might not
fall within item (1) “Compensation for services, including
fees, commissions, and similar items” is not in any way
controlling. Nor is the fact, emphasized by the court, that
England suffered a financial loss in the transfer to Spring-
field controlling as to whether the reimbursement con-
stitutes gross income. We disagree, for reasons which
will be clear hereafter, with the court’s conclusion that
congressional intent was that England’s reimbursement
should be excludable.

Revenue Ruling 54-429, 1954-2 Cum. Bull. 53, inter-
preting §22(a) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1939,
predecessor of § 61(a) of the 1954 Code, provides that an
amount received as reimbursement by an employee from an
employer for the expenses of moving himself, his immediate
family, his household goods and personal effects from one
official station to another for permanent duty is not in-
cludible in the employee’s gross income. The Ruling then
specifically provides that

Amounts received as allowances or reimburse-
ments for meals and lodging of the employee and
his family while awaiting permanent quarters at the
new post of duty are includible in gross income of
the employee.

We think that this ruling is a permissible interpretation of
the Internal Revenue Code’s definition of gross income,
and a correct one. The expense of transporting an employee
to a new post of duty for benefit of the employer is properly
an expense of the employer, not compensation to the em-
ployee, but the costs of meals, lodgings, and expenses in-
cidental to securing housing at the post are personal living
expenses of the employee, and if they are provided by the

4a ’
Appendix A

employer, income is realized thereby. This question was
resolved adversely to England in Cockrell v. Commissioner,
321 F.2d 504 (8th Cir. 1963), where the taxpayer received
a per diem allowance from the employer at the new post
and a special allowance to reimburse him for the cost of
living in motels near the new post while attempting to
find housing, scarce in the area. The Tax Court and the
Eighth Circuit upheld the Commissioner’s determination
that the allowances were includible in the taxpayer’s gross
income and that they were not deductible as travel expenses
while away from home.

Plaintiffs and the district court relied on John E. Cava-
naugh, 30 [sic] T. C. 300 (1961), in support of the court’s
decision. The Government contends, and we agree, that
that case was wrongly decided in failing to follow Rev.
Rul. 54-429 and in excluding reimbursements for “extra-
ordinary” post-arrival food and lodging expenses from
gross income.

The district court h@e held that even-if the amounts
in question are includible in gross income, they are deduc-
tible either as ordinary and necessary business expenses
under § 162(a)* or as reimbursed travel expenses while
away from home in the pursuit of a trade or business, under
§§ 62(2) (A)* and 162(a)(2).° A taxpayer’s “home,” for

8Int. Rev. Code of 1954, § 162(a). “There shall be allowed as a
deduction all the ordinary and necessary expenses paid or incurred
during the taxable year in carrying on any trade or business. .. .”

“Int. Rev. Code of 1954, §62(2)(A). “The deductions allowed
by part VI (sec. 161 and following) which consist of expenses paid
or incurred by the taxpayer, in connection with the performance by
him of services as an employee, under a reimbursement or other

allowance arrangement with his employer.”

SInt. Rev. Code of 1954, § 162(a) (2). a ses (in-
cl the entire amount expended for meals and lodging) while
away home in the —— of a trade or business. . .

Do
4

al

Sa

Appendix A

the purposes of the reimbursed travel expense deduction,
is not necessarily the place of his residence. Rather, it is the
place of the taxpayer’s business. In this case Springfield
clearly was England’s “home” after the transfer, and ex-
penses incurred there were not “away from home.” Com-
missioner v. Flowers, 326 U. S. 465 (1946); Cockrell v.
Commissioner, 321 F. 2d 504 (8th Cir. 1963); Kalist v.
Commissioner, 321 F. 2d 508 (8th Cir. 1963); Light v.
Commissioner, 310 F. 2d 717 (Sth Cir. 1962) ; Andrews v.
Commissioner, 179 F. 2d 502 (4th Cir. 1950); Ney v.
United States, 171 F. 2d 449 (8th Cir. 1948); York v.
Commissioner, 160 F. 2d 385 (D. C. Cir. 1947); Darrell
Spear Courtney, 32 T. C. 334 (1959). No deduction for
those amounts is allowable under §§62(2)(A) and
162(a)(2).

We think too that the district court’s decision that these
amounts were deductible as “ordinary and necessary ex-
penses paid or incurred during the taxable year in carry-
ing on any trade or business” under § 162(a) cannot be
sustained. The expense of England’s meals and lodging,
his wife’s trip, and the sale of his house were personal
_expenses, expressly made non-deductible by § 262. Cock- |
rell v. Commissioner ; Light v. Commissioner ; York v. Com-
missioner; Andrews v. Commissioner, supra. :

England relies on Walter H. Mendel, 41 T. C. 32
(1963), now on appeal before the Fourth Circuit, in support
of his position that these expenses are deductible. That .
case, which the Government contends was wrongly decided,
allowed deductions for unreimbursed expenses of trans-
porting household goods and for hotels and meals in transit
to the new post, which the Tax Court characterized as
business expenses. In view of our decision that the expenses

ss

6a
Appendix A
involved here are personal expenses, Mendel is not directly

in point and we need not express any opinion as to its

correctness.
The judgment is reversed and the cause remanded with

instructions to dismiss the complaint.

ee ere ee

7a
Appendix A
Judgment of the Court of Appeals :

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
For THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT
Chicago, Illinois 60610

Thursday, April 29, 1965
Before :
Hon. LatHam Castte, Circuit Judge
Hon. Rocer J. Kitey, Circuit Judge
Hon. Lutuer M. Swycert, Circuit Judge

No. 14727

is)
KENNETH D. ENGLAND and
Conniez J. ENGLAND,
Plaintiff s-A ppellees, Appeal from the

States °
bar for the Southern
b: | District of Illinois.
UnitTep STATES OF AMERICA,
Defendant-A ppellant.

* This cause came on to be heard on the transcript of

the record from the United States District Court for the
Southern District of Illinois, and was argued by counsel.

On consideration whereof, it is ordered and adjudged
by this court that the judgment of the said District Court
in this cause appealed from be, and the same is hereby,
REVERSED, and that this cause be, and it is hereby,
REMANDED to the said District Court with instructions to
dismiss the complaint, in accerdance with the opinion of
this Court filed this day. fo

Ib
/

APPENDIX B
Opinion of The District Court

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
for the Southern District of Illinois

de.
¥

Civil No. 3220
Decided, February 27, 1964

‘ .
KENNETH D. ENGLAND AND CONNIE J. ENGLAND,
‘ Plaintiffs,
ae
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Defendant.

de
¥

Poos, District Judge: This is an action for a refund of
federal income taxes for the year 1960 in the amount of
$103.00 plus interest, pursuant to Title 28, Section 1346
(a) (1) of the United States Code, and Section 7422 of the
Internal Revenue Code of 1954. The Plaintiff taxpayer
was permanently transferred by his employer from Kansas
City, Missouri to Springfield, Illinois and preceded his
family by six weeks, during which time-he incurred certain
living expenses, being unable to procure permanent living
accommodations at an earlier date. These costs were reim-
bursed by his employer, Aetna Casualty and Surety Com-
pany and not reported as income by the taxpayers. The De-

2b
Ap dial

fendant assessed a ebiiiies which was paid, and a claim
for refund filed.

Plaintiffs contend that the reimbursement made to the
taxpayer, Kenneth England, was for extraordinary business
expenses required and.incurred on behalf of his employer
and not income, or in the alternate that the expenses in ques-
tion were deductible as ordinary and necessary business ex-
penses. The Government contends that the reimbursement
constitutes taxable income. 7

The Plaintiff taxpayers, Kenneth D. and Connie J. Eng-
land, husband and wife, were employed by Aetna Casualty
& Surety Company; he, as an assistant chief auditor for a
period of seven years, and she, as a clerk in the Kansas City,
Missouri office. They had resided there for a period of sev-
en years in a mortgaged home owned by them. The wife’s
salary was $4,200.00 annually. On May 1, 1960 an open-
ing developed in the Springfield, Illinois office of the Aetna
which the husband was qualified to fill. The General Man-
ager of the Kansas City office requested him to transfer to
Springfield. This transfer was not solicited by the husband.
He had reasons to believe that he was in line to succeed to
the chief auditor’s position at the Kansas City office, if a
vacancy occurred. Neither he nor his wife was desirous of
making the change. He was asked to report to Springfield
on June Ist, but on his request was allowed some additional
time. The husband, in fact, arrived in Springfield on June
19, 1960. At the time of transfer, his salary was increased
$750.00, $250.00 of which was a merit raise. No arrange-
ments were made for the wife’s re-employment by Aetna.
There were various pressures on the husband to accept the
transfer, chief of which was that a refusal would have
ruined any chance of future advancement and another was

4

3b
Appendix B

the displacement of family living conditions. There were
also pressures on him to decline the transfer, chief of which
was the necessity to sell his Kansas City home and to locate
a home in which to live at his transferred location.

He made his first trip to Springfield on May 23, 1960
to interview Al Chunis, whom he was succeeding, the Gen-
eral Manager, and the other employees with whom he
would be working at the Springfield office. At this time he
made inquiries concerning new living quarters. He re-
turned to Kansas City where it was determined that his
date for the Springfield assignment was to be July 1, 1960.
He next returned to Springfield on June 20, 1960, when
he entered on his new duties. At this time he commenced
looking for a place to live and on July 9, 1960 signed a lease
to commence August 1, 1960. Prior to the execution of
the lease, the wife came to Springfield to inspect two houses
that were under consideration, and she selected the one at
2835 South Lincoln, which was subsequently leased and to
which their furniture was moved from Kansas City. The
premises were not available before August 1, 1960, because
the owner could not surrender possession earlier.

On June 27 of the same year the husband-Teceived a
phone call concerning the sale of the Kansas City house
from a real estate agent who asked that he take a price
slightly below the asking price. He confirmed the lower
price by wire. Thie expense of this wire, among others, is
part of the expense claimed in the suit. The husband made
trips from Springfield to Kansas City on two weekends to
qake final arrangements for the sale of his Kansas City
home, and for the purpose of bringing personal property
to Springfield. He also closed out bank ts. It was
during these two trips that all Kansas City ties were
severed. ;

4b
Appendix B

Between June 19th and August Ist, 1960, the transition
period between job locations, he incurred certain expenses
totaling $446.00,’ for which his employer, Aetna, reim-
bursed him. Aetna, because of the nationwide nature of
its business, has a defined program for reimbursement to
its employees of expenses incurred in job transfers, and has
printed instructions covering these expenses. The company
recognizes that employees who are asked to transfer suffer
financial loss because of traveling and duplicated living
expenses. The employee is required to submit an itemized_/
expense account. The husband taxpayer submitted his ex-
pense account to AEtna, and was paid the above amount.

f

1The itemized expense account for the week of June 19th through
June 25th includes the following items: motel room expense, $24.00;
reimbursement to friend for use of apartment, $12.00; meals, $30.15;
telephone confirming motel reservation, $1.50; total amount, $67.65.
For the week of June 26th through July 1st includes $16.00 reimburse-
ment to friend for use of apartment for four days; meals, $18.80;
telegram to Kansas City confirming sale of house, $1.38; newspaper
ad to rent house, $10.73; dinner and entertainment for departing
auditor, A. P. Chunis, $7.00; laundry, $2.60; and cleaning, $0.80;
total amount, $57.31. For the week of July 5th through July 9th in-
cludes motel room expense, $28.00; meal expense, $23.75; and dur-
ing the same period for the wife’s expense trip from Kansas City te~
Springfield to inspect the contemplated house for living quarters in
Springfield: railroad travel expense, $59.18; taxi fare, $1.25; motel
room for two days, $10.00; and meals, $12.65 ; total amount, $134.83 ;
for the period of July 10th through July 16th includes motel expense,
$24.00; meal expense, $21.40; telephone expense, -$0.80; laundry,
$6.56; and cleaning, $4.40; total amount, $57.16; for the period of
July 17th through July 23rd includes motel room expense, $42.00;
meal $31.95 ; cleaning expense, $1.60; total amount, $75.55
and for the period of July 24th through August 1, includes motel
room, $20.50; meal , $24.80; board of dog and cat, $3.50;
bring title to date, $20,00, revenue stamp, $3.30; total amount,
$102.10. The totals for the entire period amounted to $494.60 from
which the Aetna disallowed $41.77 as excessive under its rules, leav-
ing an allowable seclaim of $452.83, but the parties have
agreed upon $446.00 for the purposes of this action.

ar, Rg rennet OD a ratnettemm casita

5b

Appendix B

This allowance is limited to $50.00 for a seven-day week.
The taxpayers, at the time of filing their 1960 tax return,
did not include this allowance as income. The taxpayer
spent more than the $446.00 reimbursed them in making
this move at AEtna’s request and direction. Taxpayer’s
overall financial condition was not improved by virtue of
this $446.00 payment. This move was, in a number of
ways, an expensive one for the taxpayers. They had to
sell their Kansas City house on which they were repaying
a mortgage at a cost to them of $835.00 for real estate sell-
ing commissions. They had to pay July interest amounting
to $51.38 covering the period of the move from Kansas
City, Missouri to Springfield, Illinois; they had to pay one-
seventh of the State and County Taxes for the month of
July amounting to $13.25; they had to pay one-seventh of
the city and park taxes for the month of July amounting
to $3.26. Revenue stamps on the deed of conveyance of -
their property amounted to $3.50, and they paid a title
policy fee of $77.85. All of these unreimbursed expenses
were occasioned by the move. In addition, the wife had a
salary loss of $775.00, and the laundry could no longer be
done as in Kansas City by the wife’s mother at no cost. Thus,
this move was an expensive one to It without reim-
bursement for some of the items.

The Director of Internal Revenue, on audit of tax-
payers’ return, added the reimbursed expenses of $446.00
to gross income, and assessed an additional tax amount to
$103.00.2 This amount was paid under protest, a claim
for refund was filed, and was denied by the Government.

2The above sum of $446.00 was held to be reportable as addition

to gross income by the District Director in the following interpreta-
tion of the rulings and the statute:

“Mr. England, an ena tH of the AEtna Casualty Com-

pany, was transferred by employer from Kansas City,

~~

6b
Appendix B

The following provisions of the Internal Revenue Code
are pertinent to the decision of this case:

“Sec. 61. Gross Income defined:

(a) General definition: Except as provided in this
subtitled, gross income means all income from whatever
source derived including (but not limited to) the follow-
ing items:

(1) Compensation for personal service, including
fees, commissions and similar items.

Sec. 62. Adjusted gross income defined:

For the purpose of this subtitle, the term ‘ad-
justed gross income’ means, in the case of an indi-
vidual, gross income minus the following deduc-
tions:

Missouri, to Springfield, Illinois. The cost of moving his
household goods was paid by the employer, and travel ex-
penses of Mr. England and his family were either paid by the
employer directly or reimbursed to Mr. England.
In addition to the travel and moving expense, the em-
ployer reimbursed Mr. England for certain living expenses
while he was in Springfield, and his family was still in Kansas
City. Such reimbursements, mostly for a motel, room and
meals, totalled $446.00... .

2(b) Reimbursements for living expenses.
The facts regarding this issue are included in Item 2(a)
above.

Revenue Ruling 54-429, supra, also provides ‘amounts
received as allowances or reimbursements for meals and lodg-
ing of the employee and his family while waiting permanent
quarters 4t the new post of duty are includible in gross income
of the employee’.

Therefore, it is held that the reimbursements of living

s in the total amount of $446.00 as represents income
to Mr. England, taxable under Section 61 of the 1954 In-
ternal Revenue Code. It is further held that no part of the
$446.00 may be deducted by the taxpayer under authority of
Séction 262 of the 1964 Internal Revenue Code.”

|

7b
Appendix B

(2) Trade and business deductions of employees.

(a) Reimbursed expenses: The deductions al-
lowed by Part VI (sections 161 and following)
which consist of expenses paid or incurred by the
taxpayer in connection with the performance by him
of services by an employee, under a reimbursement
or other expense allowance with his employer.

(b) Expenses for travel away from home: The
deductions allowed by Part VI (Sec. 161 and follow-
ing) which consist of expenses of travel, meals, and
lodging while away from home, paid or incurred by
the taxpayer in connection with the performance by
him of services as an employee.

(c) Transportation expenses: The deductions
allowed by Part IV (Sec. 161 and following) which
consist of expenses of transportation paid or in-
curred by the taxpayer in connection with the per-
formance by him of services as an employee . . .”

Sec. 63. Taxable income defined.

(a) General rule. Except as provided in sub-
section (b) for the purposes of this subtitle the term
‘taxable income’ means gross income, minus the de-
ductions allowed by this chapter, other than the
standard deductions allowed by Part IV (Sec. 141
and following).

(b) Not applicable.

Sec. 161. Allowance of deductions. In computing tax-
able income under Sec. 63 (a), there shall be allowed as
deductions the items specified in this part, subject to the
exceptions provided in Part IX (Sec. 261 and the follow-
ing) relating to items not deductible.

8b
Appendix B

Sec. 162. Trade or business expenses.

(a) In general. There.shall be allowed as a
deduction all the ordinary and necessary expenses
paid or incurred during the taxable year in carrying
on any trade or business, including:

(1) A reasonable allowance for salaries or other
compensation for personal serviges actually rendered.

(2) Travelling expenses (including the entire
amount expended for meals and lodging) while away
from home in pursuit of a trade or business.

Sec. 211. Allowance of deductions.

In computing taxable income under Sec. 63(a),
there shall be allowed as deductions the items speci-
fied in this part, subject to the exceptions provided
in Part IX (Sec. 261 and following, relating to
items not deductible. )

Sec. 261. General rule for disallowance of deductions.

In computing taxable income no deduction shall
in any case be allowed in respect of the items speci-
fied in this part. *

Sec. 262. Personal, living and family expenses.

Except as otherwise expressly provided in this
chapter, no deduction shall be allowed for personal
living, or family expenses.

The inquiry is twofold: First, was this payment an
addition to gross income under Sec. 61, and, secondly, if so,
could it be deducted in view of the injunction of Sec. 262

9b
Appendix B

which forbids a deduction for “personal, living, or family
expenses” ?

Under Section 61, gross income is defined as “all income
from whatever source derived, including (but not limited
to) the following items: ‘

(a) Compensation for services, including fees,
commissions and similar items.”

The Government, in its argument, says “that it should be
clear that the amounts involved herein represent gross in-
come within the meaning of Sec. 61 of the Internal Revenue
Code_of 1954.” It argues that gross income means all in-
come from whatever source derived, and includes all kinds
of compensation for services and further argues that this
is an instance of undeniable accession to wealth clearly real-
ized, and over which these taxpayers have complete do-
minion. These statements, while true in a general way,
cannot be applied to the facts adduced by the evidence to
include this reimbursement in the taxpayers’ gross income
under Sec. 61. This record shows that rather than an in-
crease in wealth, the taxpayers in fact saw their financial
situation worsened in carrying out the direct request of the
husband’s employer to make the move from Kansas City to
Springfield. It is clear that financially they are worse off
for having made the transfer than had they remained in
the employ of Etna in Kansas City, in so far as their im-
mediate fortune is concerned. This payment cannot be con-
sidered income earned from an actual personal service. The
evidence shows a detriment to wealth. Section 61 says that
gross income means all income from whatever source de-
rived including, but not limited to compensation for services,
‘including fees, commissions and similar items. Nowhere

10b
Appendix B

does Sec. 61 say that reimbursed extraordinary expenses
directly related to a taxpayer's job, occurring by reason of
a directed move by a superior to take another job in a dif-
ferent office of a vast enterprise, are income. In this tem-
porary period of relocation, this money was not paid by way
of reimbursement for services actually rendered. The em-
ployer’s rules definitely state that these payments are made
only because employees otherwise suffer a financial loss be-
cause of traveling and duplicated living expenses arising
from a transfer. They limit an employee’s reimbursement
to his actual expenses which are not, however, to exceed
$50.00 weekly.* The evidence here shows that, in fact, the
amounts expended for the items involved in the reimburse-
ment was actually greater than the allowance, without even
taking into consideration the $835.00 paid by the taxpayers
for real estate sales commissions and the other items they
paid such as taxes and interest noted above, all of which
. decreased their accumulated wealth. The taxpayers’ net
worth for the taxable year 1960 shows an actual reduction
rather than an accession to wealth as claimed by the De-
fendant.

It is clear that the intention of the statutes, when the
Internal Revenue Code is read as a whole, would exclude
the items here in dispute from gross income. The interpre-
tation of the statute argued for by the Government, would
have ve the-effect of placing a tax on the plaintiffs for what
was in fact an actual loss to them.

The result reached in the case of John E. Cavanagh
36 T. C. 300,. (5/18/61), which involved an analogous fact
situation, is equally applicable here. The Government there

*Employer’s instructions are contained in the Appendix to this
on. ,

11b
Appendix B

claimed that a tax was due it for failure on the part of a
taxpayer to include $280.00 as living expenses for two
weeks for which he was reimbursed by his employer. The
$280.00 was held by the Tax Court to be non-compensatory
and thus not includible in gross income under Sec. 61. The
Court said the expenses were not normal expenses of the
employee within the meaning of Sec. 262 but that these
expenses were extraordinary living expenses attributable to
the employer’s having transferred him, The Court said:

“There is no provision of the Internal Revenue
Code of 1954 specifically requiring the inclusion in
gross income of such payments as those here involved
nor is there any provision specifically providing
for the exclusion or deduction thereof. There is,
however, a ruling by respondent with respect to the
exclusion from gross income of transportation ex-
penses paid by an employer to or in behalf of an
employee where such transportation is required for
the convenience of the employer, Revenue Ruling
54-429, C. B. 1954-2, 53, wherein respondent has
ruled, in part, as follows:

“Accordingly, it is concluded that (1) amounts
received by an employee from his employer repre-
senting allowances or reimbursements for moving
himself, his immediate family, household goods and
personal effects, in case of a transfer in the interest |
of his employer, from one official station to another
for permanent duty, do not represent compensation
within the meaning of Section 22(a) of the Code,
and are not includible-in the gross income of the
employee if the total amount of the reimbursement
or allowance is expanded for such purposes * * *.

12b
Appendix B

“With the exception hereinafter discussed, we
think the above ruling is sound and has persuasive
effect here.”

“With respect to the $280.00 reimbursement to
petitioner of his excess cost for the food and lodging
of his family while his household effects were in
transit, the following language from the above-cited
ruling is claimed by respondent to-prevent the ex-
clusion thereof from income:

“Amounts received as allowances or reimburse-
ments for meals and lodging of the employee and his
family while awaiting permanent quarters at the
new post of duty are includible in gross income of
the employee. (Rev. Ruling 54-429, supra, 54.)

“We agree that to the extent such reimburse-
ments defray the ordinary and necessary food and
lodging costs of an employee they represent payment
of an employee’s living expense and are income
to him, but to the extent such reimbursements defray
only reasonable and necessary extraordinary food
and lodging expense required to be incurred by the
employer, they represent repayment to the employee
of an amount he has first paid for and in behalf of
his employer and do not constitute income to him.
They are the employer’s costs, not the employee’s.
To the extent the above ruling would require the
inclusion in income of. reimbursement for such ex-
traordinary food and lodging costs, it is not a correct
interpretation of Section 22(a) or Section 24(a) of
the 1939 Code or Sections 61(a) and 262 of the
1954 Code. The prohibition against the deduction of
personal living expenses has reference only to such

snineinedaiiadteninetdimminidomsicatar ase ee

13b
Appendix B

expenses as are ultimately chargeable to the tax-
payer. It has no applicability to such expenses
properly chargeable to another which the taxpayer
pays and for which he is reimbursed.”

Likewise, in the instant case, the expenses here in ques-
tion were of an extraordinary nature required to be incurred
by the employer and repaid by it. Such expenses were the
employer’s costs and not the employees. _

The tax Court has recently cited its decision in the
Cavanagh case with approvaly Walter H. Mendel, 41 T. C.
No. 4, (October 10, 1963).

If it is conceded (and the Court finds to the contrary)
that this reimbursement should be included in gross income
under Section 61, the Government then argues that no de-
duction can be taken for these reimbursed expenses because
of the provisions of Section 262. This section provides
that, except as otherwise provided, no deduction shall be
allowed for “personal, living, or family expenses.” In our
view of the evidence, these expenses, which were reimbursed
to the taxpayers to prevent them from sustaining further
economic loss because of the duplication of living expenses
during the transition period, were not non-deductible “per-
sonal, living, or family expenses.” The facts before the
_ Court show that these moving expenses were incurred while
the husband was away from home in the pursuit of his trade
or business and were incurred in connection therewith.

The disallowance of Section 262 is not in all events and
such expenses are allowable if otherwise provided for. In
our view, such an allowance is provided by Section 62(a)
(A).° This section permits employees a deduction from

*Section 62(2)(B) which might otherwise be applicable does
not apply here since that section does not apply to reimbursed
expenses, (

a 14b
A ppendix B

gross income of certain reimbursed amounts if these
amounts (1) are allowable under Part VI (Sections 161-
182) of subchapter B of the Internal Revenue Code (2) were
paid in connection with the taxpayer’s performance of serv-
ices as an employee, and (3) were paid under a reimburse-
ment or other expenses allowance with his employer. We
- think that the facts found here show that all three of these
tests are met. There is no question that those items were
reimbursed by the husband’s employer under a reimburse-
ment arrangement with his employer. Since these reim-
bursed expenses arose out of the transfer of the husband
from one office of his employer to another, the necessary
connection with the performance of services is present. Fi-
nally, we hold that these expenses would be deductible under
Section 162(a) as an ordinary and necessary expense in
carrying on the husband’s trade or business of performing
services for Aitna as an employee. While we would charac-
terize these expenses as traveling expenses within the
meaning of Section 162(a)(2), if that characterization is
incorrect, we feel that these expenses would still be ordinary
and necessary under the broad allowance of Section 162(a).
The requirements of Section 72(2)(A) are thus satisfied
such that Section 262 has no application to the facts of this
case.

That these expenses are of a kind which may be deduc-
ted under Sec. 162(a) is clearly indicated by the case of
Walter M. Mendel, op. cit., which allowed a deduction for
the unreimbursed portion of certain moving expenses. Al-
though the items of expense involved in that case differ from
those in the present case, the Tax Court clearly indicated
that all expenses incidental to a taxpayer’s move made at the
request of and for the benefit of his employer are deductible
if necessary to accomplish the move. Likewise, in this case

15b
Appendix B

a fair construction of the facts show that the transfer of the
taxpayers was at the request of and for the benefit of the

“~employer, who needed a replacement for auditor Chunis
who for personal reasons had requested an immediate trans-
fer to Boston, and the transfer was accepted by Plaintiff,
Kenneth D. England, for the benefit of his employer rather
than himself. It was contended in that case that the expense
of moving the taxpayer’s wife and household effects were
personal expenses and not business expenses. The Court
reaffirmed the Cavanagh case, supra, and said:

“If amounts expended by a taxpayer in moving
from one permanent post of duty to another are not
personal expenses, they are for the purpose of the
taxpayer’s business as an employee since the cause
of the move is business requirements. Ordinary and
necessary business expenses are deductible by an
employee who itemizes his deductions on his income
tax return. . .”

“The clear inference from our holding in John E.
Cavanagh, supra, is that the entire amount of the
expenses paid by an employee in moving from one
permanent duty station to another is deductible to the
extent that the amount expended is ordinary and
necessary to accomplish the move and that this may
be accomplished either-by not including the reim-
bursed amount in income or by including the reim-
bursed amount in income and deducting the total
amount expended. In the instant case, it appears
from the record that petitioner has not included the
$316, which he received’from the Veterans Admin-
istration as reimbursement for his moving expenses
in his 1957 income as reported.”

pa Rene. alps C185 fol atone Se)

Narn (Se omy repmnpttn e rerenys nme campers

ORGIA ISRO.

16b

/

Appendix B

Accordingly, the facts as above set out are found to be
the facts in this case, and the law as hereinabove set out are
the conclusions of law, and accordingly are hereby adopted
as the findings of fact and’conclusions of law, and under
them judgment is ordered for the plaintiff in the full amount
as prayed with interest, and the final judgment figures to be
entered are to be determined by the parties hereto.

17b
| Appendix B
Appendix to Opinion of the District Court

INSTRUCTIONS OF
AETNA CASUALTY AND SURETY COMPANY
TO
EMPLOYEES MOVED AT COMPANY’S EXPENSE

It is the company’s intent that employees, who are asked
to transfer, not suffer a financial loss because of traveling
and duplicated living expenses. Correspondingly, it is ex-
pected that any such employee will give full consideration
to the company’s interests and arrange his affairs so as to
keep expenses incurred by a transfer to a reasonable
minimum, 3 :

The following instructions, contained in paragraphs 1
through 6, apply only to married men, or single men who
are the head of a household:

v
1. It is expected that a transferred employee, when re-
porting to the new location, will not bring his family with
him unless prior permanent or semi-permanent (not hotel)
accommodations have been arranged.

2. He may spend not more than one week at a hotel
after which time it is expected that he will rent a room on a
reasonable weekly basis. 7

3. After not more than one week at a hotel and until
he brings his family to the new location, he will be allowed
to submit expense accounts for out-of-pocket expense not
to exceed $50 per seven day week. This is not a flat allow-
ance and it must be itemized. This allowance includes room,
meals, laundry, etc. Also, if there is a weekly trip home
(par. B9A) the cost must be included under the $50. allow-
ance. This allowance will not be continued beyond 90 days

18b

Appendix B
Appendix to Opinion of the District Court

from the date of reporting to the new location without prior
approval of the H.O. Department which arranged the
transfer. >

4. If he owns his home in the old location, he should
arrange to place it on the market for sale. It will probably
not be possible for him to move his family to the new loca-
tion until his home in the old location has been sold. How-
ever, he should begin looking over the housing situation in
the new location so that when his home in the old location is
sold he will have a fairly good knowledge of conditions in
the new location.

5. After he has investigated the housing market in the
new location, he probably will want his wife to come for a
few days to look at specific properties and the cost of this
will be at company expense. It is expected that she would
not have to make more than one trip to the new location
before moving. In any event, only one inspection trip w*"!
be reimbursable under this program.

6. Since he owns his home in the old location, he may
want to buy again in his new location. Or, if suitable rental
accommodations can be found, he may prefer to rent for a
while before buying. In any event, expense reimbursement
will cease as soon as he moves his family to permanent
quarters in the new location, or within 90 days, whichever
first occurs. It may be necessary to have his family stay
at a hotel for a day or two after arrival in the new location;
but this should be kept to a minimum. _

NOTE: In the event the transferee does not own his
home the following instructions supersede paragraphs 4,
5, and 6.

“<:

19b

Appendix B
Appendix to Opinion of the District Court

As soon as possible after arrival in the new location he
should begin looking for a place to live. After he has in-
vestigated the housing situation he will probably want his
wife to come to the new location to look at specific proper-
ties, and the cost of this will be at company expense. It is
expected that she would not have to make more than one
trip to the new location before moving. In any event only
one inspection trip will be reimbursable under this program.

Expense reimbursement will cease as soon as he moves
his family to permanent quarters in the new location. It
may be necessary to have his family stay at a hotel for a
day or two after arrival in the new location, but this should
be kept to a minimum.

ni
7. Inthe case of a single man, not head of a household,
living costs at the new location will be paid for a period
not to exceed one week during which period the employee
is expected to make permanent housing arrangements, after
which expense reimbursement will cease. os a

8. The company will reimburse employees for transpor-
tation costs incurred for transfer from one location to an-
other as-follows:

A. If public transportation is necessary, reimbursement
will include charges for fares on plane, train or bus, for
the most direct route. Reasonable expenses customarily
associated with travel, such as meals enroute, tips, cabs
or limousines will also be reimbursed.

B. If an employee ‘uses his own car as the means of
transportation the company will permit mileage allowance
at the rate currently in force for the most direct route. In

TATONET Pia pee is Mtns Tate EY Gt

ah Oe oe

20b

Appendix B
Appendix to Opinion of the District Court

addition, reasonable expenses enroute such as hotels, park-
ing, tolls, meals and tips will be reimbursed.

C. Unless instructed to do otherwise employees who
have a company leased car assigned to them should use
this car as a means of transportation when transferred.
Expense reimbursement will be in the same manner as
any other trip made for business purposes. Miles driven
beyond the most direct route will be considered as personal.
miles.

D. If a transferred employee has more than one car in
his family and they are owned by him or his family, the
company will permit mileage allowance at the rate cur-
rently in force for the most direct route for all cars. Em-
ployees in this category should make use of the cars so as
to avoid any necessity of using other means of transporta-
tion for moving the family to the new location.

9. It is the company’s desire when men are being trans-
ferred to disturb the family relationship as little as pos-
sible. Accordingly, married men and single men who are
the head of a household may be permitted to return home
for week-ends prior to moving their families to the new
location subject to the following conditions:

A. In some cases. distances will be relatively short be-
tween the new location and the old location. If the cost
of transportation home each week-end is equal -to or less
than the cost of maintaining the transferee over the week-
end at the new location he should normally return to his
home each week-end. Factors involving leaving time on
Fridays and arrival time on Mondays should be considered.

21b

Appendix B
Appendix to Opinion of the District Court

B. Incases not covered under 9A the transferee will be
permitted to return home at company expense every three
weeks, provided the distance involved is reasonable enough
to justify this frequency.

10. An employee will be reimbursed for transportation
costs of moving his immediate family to the new location
on the same basis as for himself. For the purpose of defin-
ing immediate family, it shall include members of the house-
hold of his principal residence.

,
+

\

:

Sms

pe
eh

Fe wi IE we

J.

wth ok Dy c

ee

Fr

|
|
i
+?

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OcTOBER TERM, 1965
No. 603

KENNETH D. ENGLAND AND CONNIE J. ENGLAND,
Petitioners
v

UNntIrTep STATEs OF AMERICA, Respondent

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE OF THE ELECTRONIC
INDUSTRIES ASSOCIATION IN SUPPORT
OF PETITIONERS

Pursuant to Rule 42 of the Supreme Court of the
United States, the Electronic Industries Association
respectfully files this brief amicus curiae in support of
the Petition for a Writ of Certiorari filed in behalf of
Kenneth D. England and Connie J. England in the
instant case. Both counsel for Petitioners, Kenneth
D. England and Connie J. England and counsel for the
Respondent, the United States of America have given
their consent to the filing of this brief.

2

QUESTIONS

Whether an employee who is transferred to a new
job location by and at the direction of his employer
must include in gross income amounts received from
his employer in reimbursement for extraordinary mov-
ing expenses necessarily incurred by the employee
solely as a result of his job transfer. Alternatively,
if the employee must include such reimbursed expenses
in gross income, whether the employee is entitled to
deduct such expenses as ordinary and necessary busi-
- hess expenses.

INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE

The Electronic Industries Association (hereinafter
referred to as EIA) is a major trade association, head-
quartered at 1721 DeSales St., N.W., in the District of
Columbia. It represents nearly 300 domestic electronic
manufacturers. It is the national association represent-
ing the fifth largest manufacturing industry in the
United States, with gross annual sales in excess of $15
billion. The manufacturers in this industry alone
employ over 875,000 people. In the calendar year 1964
17,500 of these employees were transferred by their
employer from one domestic manufacturing facility to
another. This represents 2% of the employees in this
industry and an increasing trend in the electronics field.

>

There have been few cases presented to this Court

concerning income taxation which have been of impor-
tance to so many individual taxpayers, as well as to
many corporations large and small.

ARGUMENT

The EIA has read the decision of the United States ~

Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit in this case
and agrees with the petitioners that a writ of certiorari
should be granted.

‘
+
ba peewee me

3

The Internal Revenue Service makes an illogical
distinction between certain of an employee’s moving
expenses, i.e., travel and transportation on the one
hand, and other expenses directly, related to the move
on the other. There is no basis in fact or law for this
distinction. The many types of expenditures involved
in employee moves should be treated similarly for tax
purposes to the extent that they are reasonable.

CONCLUSION
It is respectfully submitted that (1) to bring a

- needed consistency to the tax treatment of moving

expenses and (2) to aviod clogging of Federal Court
calendars with a spate of litigation, this petition for
a writ of certiorari should be granted.

o Respectfully submitted,

ELECTRONIC INDUSTRIES ASSOCIATION
GraHAM W. McGowan
1721 DeSajes St., N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036

EpwarpD J. MENARD
1219 Good Hope Road, S.E.
Washington, D.C. 20020

Attorneys for Amicus Curiae

a

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385602_1061%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
