# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Midwest Laundry Equipment Corp. v. Berg

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385602_0991%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1966
- **Citation:** 382 U.S. 974

## Text

Office-Supreme Court, U.S.
FILED
LIBRARY: r =
SUPREME COT RY 64 JOHN F. DAVIS, CLERK

In The
Supreme Court of the United States

ra’
Vv

October Term, 1965

4.
Vv

MIDWEST LAUNDRY EQUIPMENT CORP.,

Petitioner,

Vs.

MAURICE BERG AND JUNE BERG, |
Respondents.

rat

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE SUPREME COURT OF NEBRASKA

i)

JosEPpH EK. Dean, JR.

Post Office Box 2077
Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Matcotm D. Youne
Epwarp A. MULLERY

680 Insurance Building
Omaha, Nebraska

Attorneys for Petitioner.

COCKLE PRINTING CO., 1822 St. Mary’s Ave., Omaha

WAL A ee

AIG Ue ea LESAN ANNES lb DAR A ey ROL ne
o

i
INDEX

Pages

Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the Supreme Court
of Nebraska ...

Opinions Below

Jurisdiction

Questions Presented
Constitutional Provision and Statutes Involved
Statement of the Case
Raising the Federal Questions

Reasons for Granting the Writ

Conclusion

Proof of Service

Appendix A
Opinion No. 1

Opinion No. 2

Opinion No. 3
Judgment

SBSBRea&s & Bam wom we me

Appendix B
Section 45-138, R. R. S. 1943 (Reissue of 1960)... 33

Section 45-138, R.S. Supp. 1963, Cumulative Pock-
et Part Supplement, April 1965 35

Section 45-155, R. R.S. 1943 (Reissue of 1960) _.. 37

Section 451155, R.S. Supp. 1963, Cumulative Pock-
et Part Supplement, April, 1965 37

Section 45-155.01, R. 8. Supp. 1963, Cumulative
Pocket Part Supplement, April, 1965 38

I RAG haha ead echt, Masini wie vodeenrh anes

ii
CASES CITED
Pages

Berg v. Midwest Laundry Equipment Corp., 175 Neb.
423, 122 N. W. 2d 250 1,13

Berg v. Midwest Laundry Equipment Corp., 175 Neb.
874, 124 N. W. 2d 699 2, 21

Berg v. Midwest Laundry Equipment Corp., 135 N. W.
2d 457 2, 23

Brinkerhoff-Faris Trust & Savings Company v. Hill,
281 U.S. 673

Michigan National Bank v. Robertson, et al., 372 U.
S. 591 7

Powell v. Edwards, 162 Neb. 11, 75 N>W. 24122... 7

Railroad and Warehouse Commission v. Chicago and
Northwestern Ry. Co., 256 Minn. 227, 98 N. W. 2d 60 10

State ex rel. Caldwell v. Lincoln St. Ry. Co., 80 Neb.
352, 118 N. W. 326 8

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION AND
STATUTES CITED

United States Constitution, Amendment XIV W0.. 3
28 U.S. Code, See. 1257(3) 2
Section 45-138, R. R.S. 1943 (Reissue of 1960) 3, 33

Section 45-138, R.S. Supp. 1963, Cumulative Pocket
Part Supplement, April, 1965 3, 35

Section 45-155, R. R. S. 1943 (Reissue of 1960) 3, 7, 37

Section 45-155, R.S.Supp. 1963, Cumulative Pocket
Part Supplement, April, 1965 3, 37

Section 45-155.01, R. B.S. 1963 3, 8, 38

In The
Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1965

MIDWEST LAUNDRY EQUIPMENT CORP.,
Petitioner,

vs.

MAURICE BERG AND JUNE BERG,
Respondents.

ra
Vv

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE SUPREME COURT OF NEBRASKA

ra
Vv

| Midwest Laundry Equipment Corp., your petitioner,
prays that a writ of certiorari issue to review the judg-
ment of the Supreme Court of Nebraska, entered in the
above-entitled case on May 28, 1965.

, ——
Vw

OPINIONS BELOW

- The District Court of Lancaster County, Nebraska
did not render any opinions in this case. The first opinion
of the Supreme Court of Nebraska is reported at 175 Neb.
423, 122 N. W. 2d 250. The second opinion of the Supreme

a 2
Court of Nebraska is reported at 175 Neb. 874, 124 N. W.
2d 699. The third opinion of the Supreme Court of Ne-
braska has not yet been officially reported, but is unof-
ficially reported at 135 N. W. 2d 457. All of these opinions
are reprinted in Appendix A.

7
Vv

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Supreme Court of Nebraska, of
which review is sought by petitioner, was entered on May
28, 1965 (R.54).* A motion for rehearing was filed on
June 16, 1965 (R. 69), and was overruled on July 9, 1965
(R. 70). The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under
28 U.S. Code, See. 1257(3).

ra’
ae

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the refusal of the highest court of a state
to permit a litigant to file a brief on a point of law arising
during the pendency of an appeal constitutes a denial of
due process of law, in violation of the Fourteenth Amend-
ment to the Constitution.

2. Whether the refusal of the highest court of a state
to review a decision on a point of law which was raised
during a previous appeal of the case, but on which the
appellate court refused to give the parties a hearing, con-
stitutes a denial of due process of law, in violation of the
Fourteenth Amendment to the Constitution.

3

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION
AND STATUTES INVOLVED
The Fourteenth Amendment to the Constitution of the
United States provides in part as follows:

“«* * * nor shall any State deprive any person of life,

liberty, or property without due process of law; * * ©

The Nebraska statutes in ved in the first opinion
of the Supreme Court of Nebraska were Sections 45-138
and 45-155, R.R.S. 1943 (Reissue of 1960). The cited
sections were repealed on November 15, 1963, and were
replaced by Sections 45-138 and 45-155, R.S. Supp. 1963,
Cumulative Pocket Part Supplement, “April, 1965. The
amending act included a further provision codified as
Section 45-155.01, R.S.Supp. 1963, Cumulative Pocket
Part Supplement, April, 1965. All of the foregoing sec-
tions are set forth in Appendix B.

re
ae

© STATEMENT OF THE OASE

This is an action brought by respondents in the Dis- ©

trict Court of Lancaster County, Nebraska. Respondents
were the purchasers of a substantial quantity of laundry
equipment from petitioner. The purchase price of the
equipment exceeded $25,000.00. Respondents alleged in their
petition (R.3-10) that the retail installment contract be-
tween themselves and petitioner violated the Nebraska
Installment Loan Act, and was void. Prior to the filing
of suit, petitioner had assigned the retail installment‘edn-
tract to Industrial Credit Company, of St. Paul, Minne-
sota. Industrial Credit Company was named as a defend-
ant, and participated in the trial and the first appeal to

OT MR pate Las < Bont a

4

,the Supreme Court of N ebraska, but was then dismissed
from the case.

In the initial phase of this case, the District Court
of Lancaster County ruled generally in favor of petition-
er, and respondents appealed to the Supreme Court of
Nebraska (R. 25-26). In an opinion issued June 14, 1963
~(Appendix A), the Supreme Court of Nebraska held that
the céntract between petitioner and respondents violated
the Nebraska Installment Loan Act, that the contract was
illegal and void, and that petitioner should refund to re-
spondents all amounts paid to petitioner under the con-
tract. Petitioner filed a motion for rehearing (S.R. 4),
and the motion was argued on October 11, 1963 (S. R. 6).
On November. 15, 1963, while petitioner’s motion for re-
hearing was still under consideration by the Supreme
Court of Nebraska, the Nebraska Legislature drastically
revised the Installment Loan Act, the general effect of
the revision being to nullify the rulings of the Nebraska
Supreme Court in cases of this type. The amending act
contained a provision making it applicable to pending cas-
es (Appendix B). | bed

November 21, 1963, petitions filed a motion in the
Supreme Court of Nebraska, asking leave to submit a
brief showing the application of the new legislation to
this case (S. RB. 8-9). The motion was set for argument
on December 2;~1963. On November 22, 1963, the day
after the filing of the motion, ‘ahd before there had been
any hearing on the motion, the Supreme Court of Ne-
braska overruled petitioner’s motion for rehearing (S. R.
10). Subsequently, on December 10, 1963, the court over-

¥

d

ruled petitioner’s motion for leave to file a supplemental
brief (S.R. 11).

In connection with the overruling of petitioner’s mo-
tion for rehearing, the Supreme. Court of Nebraska issued
a second opinion (Appendix A), directing the District
Court of Lancaster County to undertake further proceed-
ings in the case. After such farther proceedings had been
had, the District Court entered a jadgment finding that
the retail installment contract was illegal and void, despite
the legislation adopted by the Nebraska Legislature on

-November 15, 1963 (R. 38-41). Petitioner appealed from

this judgment to the Supreme Court of Nebraska (R. 49).

On May 28, 1965, the Supreme Court of Nebraska is-
sued its opinion relative to the second appeal from the
District Court (Appendix A). In this opinion the court
ruled that it would not even consider the application to
this case of the legislation adopted on November 15, 1963.
The court held that it had, in effect, already determined
this issue by overruling petitioner’s motion for rehearing
in connection with the first appeal.

Petitioner filed a motion for rehearing (B. 69), as-
serting that the Supreme Court of Nebraska, in violation
of the due process clause of the Fourteenth Amendment,
had effectively denied petitioner all opportunity for a hear-
ing on a crucial question of law—the application of the
ameliorative legislation to this case. The court overruled
the motion for rehearing on July 9, 1965.

st
“

EE ees

6

RAISING THE FEDERAL QUESTIONS

The federal question in this case arises by virtue of
' the peremptory procedure followed by the Supreme Court
of Nebraska in connection with the first appeal to that
court, and by virtue of the court’s refusal to reconsider
its peremptory ruling. While this case was pending in
the Supreme Court of Nebraska, on the first appeal, the
applicable statutes were drastically modified by the Ne-
braska Legislature. ‘The amending act specifically pro-
vided that it should apply to pending cases. Petitioner
thereupon filed a motion for leave to submit a brief show-
ing the application of the amending act to this case. With-
out permitting petitioner to file such a brief, and without
even giving petitioner a hearing on its motion for leave
to file such a brief, the Supreme Court of Nebraska per-
emptorily overruled petitioner’s motion for rehearing and
remanded the case to the District Court of Lancaster
County. Subsequently, the Supreme Court of Nebraska
overruled petitioner’s motion for leave to file a brief.

When the case reached the Supreme Court of Nebras- _
ka on the second appeal, petitioner included in its brief
authorities supporting its argument that the amending act
applies to this case, and petitioner cited authorities for
the proposition that the “Bupreme Court of Nebraska
should reconsider its peremptory ruling in connection with
the first appeal. The court ruled, however, that no matter
how peremptory and arbitrary its previous ruling had
_ been, that ruling would not be reconsidered. Petitioner
‘then filed a motion for rehearing, pointing out that the
court had, in effect, deprived petitioner of all opportunity
to be heard on a vital point of law, and that this denial

7

of a hearing violated the Fourteenth Amendment to the
United States Constitution (R.69). The Supreme Court
of Nebraska overruled the motion for rehearing (R. 70).

y, =
. a

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE. WRIT

This case presents a question of fundamental impor-
tance in the area of procedural due process—namely, the
right of a litigant to submit argument and legal authori-
ties to the tribunal of decision before a final adjudication
is made. This is a rather unusual question, to be sure,
since the tradition of dealing with legal questions by
means of written briefs and oral arguments is almost uni-
versally respected. The present case, however, presents
an extraordinary set of circumstances.

In 1956, the Supreme Court of Nebraska rendered the
first of a series of decisions, holding that transactions
which the parties had conceived to be bona fide install-
ment sales were, in legal effect, installment loans violating
the Nebraska Installment Loan Act. Powell v. Edwards,
162: Neb. 11, 75 N. W. 2d 122. The penalty for such viola-
tion, fixed by the statute, was complete nullification of the
buyer’s legal liability for the portion of the purchase
price to be paid in installments. R.R.S. 1943 (Reissue
of 1960), Section 45-155. The present case is one of a
large number of similar cases, in which persons buying
goods on credit have sought to have their installment ob-
ligations declared void and uncollectible. Another case

of this type was Michigan National, Bank v. Robertson, -
et al., 372 U.S. 591, in which this Court. reversed a judg-

eee ns POE EASE REEFS OHS

SARE AOR ELA

“<>

8

ment of the Nebraska Supreme Court on the basis of a
question of venue.

During the seven years from 1956 to 1963, various leg-
islative efforts were made in Nebraska, to clarify the dis-
tinction between installment loans and installment sales.
Finally, on November 15, 1963, at a special session of the
Nebraska Legislature, a statute was adopted, the purpose
and effect of which were to nullify the decisions of the
Supreme Court of Nebraska on this subject. A clause in
this statute provided that the amendments should ‘‘apply
to all transactions made prior to November 15, 1963’’ ex-
cept ‘‘those transactions on which an action at law or
in equity has been reduced to a final judgment as of No-
vember 15, 1963.’’ Sec. 45-155.01, BR. S. Supp. 1963, Cumu-
lative Pocket Part Supplement, April, 1965.

Within a week after the ameliorative statute was
adopted, petitioner filed a motion in the Supreme Court
of Nebraska, asking leave to file a brief showing the ap-
plication of the new legislation to this case (S.R. 8-9).
The legal basis for the position taken by petitioner was
the case of State ex rel. Caldwell v. Lineoln St. Ry. Co.,
80 Neb. 352, 118 N. W. 326, wherein the Supreme Court
of Nebraska held that its judgments do not become final
until the motion for rehearing is overruled.

On the day after thé’ filing of petitioner’s motion for
leave to file a supplemental brief, the Supreme Court of
Nebraska overruled petitioner’s motion for rehearing.

When the case came to the Supreme Court of Ne-
braska on the second appeal, petitioner again pressed its
contention that the ameliorative legislative applies to this

9

ease. This contention was noted by tiie Nebraska Supreme
Court as follows:

‘‘Midwest further assigns error to this court in
overruling its motion for a rehearing on its considera-
tion of the previous appeal herein. It points out that
the judgment of this court was not final until the
disposition of its motion for rehearing. * * *’’ 135
N. W. 2d 460.

The Nebraska Supreme Court disposed of petitioner’s

contention with the following:

46% © © After the determination of the present
case in this court, the issuance of a mandate thereon,
and a judgment in the trial court pursuant to its
command, we will not thereafter review the questions
determined by our previous decision.’’ 135 N. W. 2d
462.

The effect of the ruling by the Nebraska Supreme
Court is to deny petitioner all opportunity for a hearing
on a point of law which might completely reverse the de-

cision of that court.

A somewhat similar situation was presented to this
Court in the case of Brinkerhoff-Faris Trust & Savings
Company v. Hill, 281 U.8. 673. In that case, a bank com-
plained that the local assessor had intentionally and sys-
tematically discriminated against the stockholders of the
bank, by assessing the bank stock at full value, while as-
sessing other property at less than full value. The Su-
preme Court of Missouri held that the bank’s complaint
should have been submitted to the state tax commission.
In so holding, the Supreme Court of Missouri overruled
@ previous decision, in which it had held that the state
tax commission had no jurisdiction over such matters.

10

Meanwhile, the time allowed for appealing to the state tax
commission had expired. The bank filed a petition for
rehearing, alleging that the decision of the Supreme Court
of Missouri had the effect of depriving the bank’s stock-
holders of property without due process of law. After the
petition for rehearing was overruled, this Court granted
certiorari and reversed the judgment of the state court.
This Court said:

‘Tf the judgment is permitted to stand, depriva-
tion of plaintiff’s property is accomplished without
its ever having had an opportunity to defend against
the exaction. The state court refused to hear the
plaintiff’s eomplaint and denied it relief, not because
of lack of power or because of any demerit in the
complaint, but because, assuming power and merit,
the plaintiff did not first seek an administrative rem-
edy which, in fact, was never available, and which is
not now open to it. Thus, by denying to it the only
remedy ever available for the enforcement of its right
to prevent the seizure of its property, the judgment
deprives the plaintiff of its property.”’’

In the present case, the Supreme Court of Nebraska
refused to give petitioner a hearing at the time of the
first appeal to that court, and the court again refused to
consider petitioner’s contention at the time of the second
appeal. The court could have considered petitioner’s claim
in the course of the second appeal, but simply refused: to
do so.

A case_yery closely in point is Railroad and Ware-
house Commission v. Chicago and Northwestern Ry. Co.,
256 Minn. 227, 98 N. W. 2d 60; in-which a proceeding was
initiated by the Railroad and Warehouse Commission for

11

the purpose of fixing rates for the hauling of certain com-
modities. At the close of the hearing, the attorney for the
railroads asked permission to file a brief. The Commis-
sion refused to grant the requested permission. On appeal
to the Supreme Court of Minnesota, the railroads attacked
the order of the Commission on the ground that there had
been a denial of due process of law. The Supreme Court
of Minnesota sustained this objection. Paragraph 2 of the
court’s syllabus reads as follows:

| ‘*Due process requires not only an opportunity to
present evidence but an opportunity to be heard either
by oral argument or written briefs.’’

In the present case, the Supreme Court of Nebraska
refused to permit petitioner to file a brief at the time’of
the first appeal; and when the case again came to that
court, on the second appeal, the court held that the issue
on which petitioner sought a hearing was foreclosed by
the decision : in’ the first appeal.

eS ea
a

CONCLUSION

"This case presents an issue which is absolutely basic
to the concept of due process of law. That issue is this:
May a court refuse to give a litigant a hearing on a ques-
tion of law, then make a ruling which is completely de-
pendent on the disputed question, and then refuse to give
any further consideration to the disputed question?

For the reasons stated herein, the petition for cer-
tiorari should be granted. :

12

Respectfully submitted,
JosePH EK. Dean, JR.

Post Office Box 2077
Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Matcotm D. Youne
Epwarp A. MuLLERY

680 Insurance Building
Omaha, Nebraska

Attorneys for Petitioner.

By:

One of Said Attorneys

ff.
ww

PROOF OF SERVICE

I, Joseph E. Dean, Jr., one of the attorneys for Mid-

west Laundry Equipment Corp., petitioner herein, and a
member of the Bar of the Supreme Court of the United

States, hereby certify that o 3B 1965, I served
_a copy of the foregoing Petition for Writ of Certiorari

to the Supreme Court of Nebraska upon the respondents
by depésiting the same in a United States mail box, with
air mail postage prepaid, addressed to Norman M. Krivo-
sha,’911 Anderson Building, Lincoln, Nebraska, such be-

ing the address of oie of record for the respond-
ents.

x

Jooaais E. Dean, Je.

- Post Office Box 2077
Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Counsel for Petitioner.

13

. APPENDIX A

OprINions AND JuDGMENT or THe Supreme Court or
NEBRASKA

Opinion No. 1
Berg v. Midwest Laundry Equipment Corp.
No. 35409
Filed June 14, 1963

Heard before White, C. J., Carter, Messmore, Yeager,
Spencer, Boslaugh, and Brower, JJ.

BOSLAUGH, J.”

This is an action to declare an alleged retail install-
ment contract void and to recover all payments made un-
der the contract. The plaintiffs, Maurice Berg and June
Berg, are husband and wife. The defendants, Midwest
Laundry Equipment Corp. and Industrial Credit Company,
are corporations.

The trial court found that the contract was a valid
installment sale, but that Industrial Credit Company had
made certain charges in violation of the Installment Sales
Act and assessed a penalty against it. The trial court held
that the charges and the amount of the penalty should be
deducted from the balance due under the contract and that
the plaintiffs should pay the remaining installments due
under the contract to Industrial Credit Company.

The plaintiffs’ motion for new trial was overruled
and the plaintiffs have appealed. The defendant Indus-
trial Credit Company has cross-appealed. 3

The Midwest Laundry Equipment Corp... is engaged
in the sale of laundry equipment which is used in the op-

iS acini Mais

14

eration of coin-operated, self-service laundry stores. In-
dustrial Credit Company is engaged in the sales finance
business. It is a Minnesota corporation and its principal
place of business is in St. Paul, Minnesota.

The'plaintiffs alleged that Industrial Credit Company
was engaged in the business of making loans to residents
of the State of Nebraska. The plaintiffs attempted to ob-
tain jurisdiction over the person of Industrial Credit Com-
pany by having a summons served upon the Secretary of
State of the State of Nebraska. Industrial Credit Com-
pany filed a special appearance in which it denied that it
had been doing business in the State of Nebraska at any
time. Thereafter, Industrial Credit Company attempted
to preserve its special appearance. For the purpose of
this opinion we assume that it did preserve its special
appearance. The trial court overruled the special appear-
ance and Industrial Credit Company has cross-appealed
from that ruling.

Before a.state can subject a foreign corporation to
its jurisdiction, the corporation must have expressly con-
sented to such jurisdiction or it must have done sufficient
business in the state to constitute a submission to such
jurisdiction. Jurisdiction over a foreign corporation which
is actually doing business in Nebraska may be obtained
by service of process upon the Secretary of State even
though the corporation has not expressl¥ consented to such
jurisdiction. §S. 21-1201, R.R.S. 1943; Brown v. Globe
Laboratories, Inc., 165 Neb. 138, 84 N. W. 2d 151. It is
a question of fact as to whether a foreign corporation is
doing business in this state and each case must be, decided
upon its own facts.

QO

15

The plaintiffs alleged that Midwest Laundry Equip-
ment Corp. was employed as an agent by Industrial Credit
Company for the purpose of soliciting loans to residents
of Nebraska. Agency cannot be established by the acts
or declarations of the alleged agent, but must be proved
by the acts or declarations of the principal. Rodine v.
Towa Home Mutual Gas Co., 171 Neb. 263, 106 N. W. 2d
391. There is no evidence of any act or declaration of
Industrial Credit Company to establish the agency al-

leged. .

There is evidence that Industrial Credit Company
has purchased 71 retail installment contracts from Mid-
west Laundry Equipment Corp. and that 18 of these con-
tracts were executed by residents of Nebraska. What evi-
dence there is as to how these contracts were purchased
shows contracts were offered to Industrial Credit
Company by Midwest Laundry Eqnipment Corp., at St.
Paul, Minnesota; that Industrial Credit.Company. was not

_ obligated to purchase any of the contracts offered to it;

that Industrial Credit Company made its own investiga-
tion as to the credit of the purchasers of the equipment;
that Industrial Credit Company refused to purchase the '
contract executed by the plaintiffs when it was first offered
to it by Midwest Laundry Equipment Corp.; and that the
contract was finally purchased after it had _been ‘¢re-

written’? to show a much larger downpayment to Midwest
Laundry Equipment Corp. than was actually made i the
plaintiffs.

We-conchude that’ the evidence fails to show that In-
dustrial Credit Company was doing business in Nebraska,
and its special appearance should have. been sustained.

a

‘This disposes of the case so far as Industrial Credit Com-
pany is concerned.

oe 16

The remaining questions concerns the right of the
plaintiffs to recoyer the amounts paid to Midwest Laun-
dry Equipment Corp. under the contract. That depends
upon a determination as to the validity of the contract
as between these parties. Since there is no jurisdiction
over the person of Industrial Credit‘ Company, no deter-
mination can be made as to the validity of the contract as
between the plaintiffs and Industrial. Credit Company in
this action.

A time sale made in good faith is valid in this state,
but a transaction which is in fact a loan made in violation
of the Installment Loan Act is void. Powell v. Edwards,
162 Neb. 11, 75 N. W. 2d 122. It is a question of fact as
to whether a particular transaction is a bona fide time
sale or the financing of the balance of a cash purchase
price. Trailmobile, Inc. v. Hardesty, 173 Neb..46, 112 *
N. W. 2d 535. In détermining whether a transaction is
a bona fide time sale or a loan, the court will look through
the form of the transaction and examine its substance.
State ex rel. Beck v. Associates. Discount Corp., 168 Neb.
298, 96 N. W. 2d 55. A transaction is not a valid time
sale unless the buyer at the time of the sale was informed
of and-Wa8 given an opportunity to choose between a cash
price and a valid time sale price. Wood v. Commonwealth
Trailer Sales, Inc., 172 Neb. 494, 110 N. W. 2d 87.

The re¢ord shows that the plaintiffs talked with Ray-
mond A. Erlandson, an employee of Midwest Laundry
Equipment Corp., in November 1959, at Fargo, North

e ’ .

17

Dakota. The plaintiffs had answered a newspaper adver-
tisement concerning self-service laundries. The first con-
versation concerned a store to be located at Grand Forks,
North Dakota. The second conversation was about a
store to be located at Minot, North Dakota. At the con-
clusion of the second conversation the plaintiffs paid $500
. to Erlandson, and Maurice Berg signed a sale and pur-

‘\. chase contract and a financial statement prepared by Er-
landson.

The sale and purchase contract was an agreement for
the purchase of 30 washers, 12 dryers, and related equip-
ment necessary for the operation of a self-service laundry
and was in the form of a contract of conditional sale. The
contract provided for a total cash price of $22,437.45; a
downpayment of $2,243.45, the balance of which was to be
paid before shipment; an amount to be financed of $20,194;
a time price differential of $3,937.83; the total amount of
the note of $24,121.83; and a total time price of $26,365.28.
The contract also provided: ‘‘$24,121.83 balance of time
selling price to be evidenced by an installment note pay-
able in 35 monthly installments of $670.00 each and a
final payment of $671.83. *° * * IF OTHER THAN A
CASH SALE, THIS CONTRACT IS SUBJECT TO AC-
CEPTANCE BY THE SELLER AFTER APPROVAL
OF PURCHASER’S CREDIT BY FINANCE FACTOR
AT ITS HOME OFFICE. ACKNOWLEDGMENT TO
THE PURCHASER BY LETTER OF ACCEPTABLE
CREDIT BY THE FINANCE FACTOR SHALL BE
DEEMED ACCEPTANCE BY THE SELLER.”

Maurice Berg testified that Erlandson said that the
contract and financial statement would be submitted to

eee | 1a

eee,

ee

the finance company for its approval. Erlandson testified
that the ‘‘finance factor’’ referred to in the contract was
Midwest Laundry Equipment Corp. Erlandson further
testified that he explained to the plaintiffs that the cash
price of the equipment was $22,437.45 and that the time
price after payment of the full downpayment would be
$24,121.83; and that the time price differential of $3,937.83
was obtained by multiplying the cash price less the down-
payment by 61% percent per year for 3 years.

About 3 weeks after the conversations with Erlandson,
William W. Siebert, a salesman for Midwest Laundry
Equipment Corp., called the plaintiffs by telephone. Siebert
said that he had learned that two other stores were to be
opened in Minot and that he did not think that the plain-
tiffs should go ahead with the plan to open a store in
Minot.

A week or 10 days later Siebert again called the
plaintiffs and stated that a location in Norfolk, Nebraska,
was available. Paul A. Pothast, an employee of Midwest
Laundry Equipment Corp., talked with the plaintiffs about
the Norfolk location and the plaintiffs looked at the pro-
posed location.

After the plaintiffs had I6oked at the proposed loca-
tion in Norfolk, they met with Siebert at the office of
Midwest Laundry Equipment Corp. in Omaha. During
that conversation the plaintiffs agreed to purchase equip-
ment for the store at Norfolk, signed a blank form of a
sale and purchase contract, and paid some $1,900 to
Siebert. The plaintiffs testified that they were not quoted
a cash price and a time price for the equipment which

19

they agreed to purchase for the Norfolk store. Siebert
testified that he did not recall discussing a cash price
and a time price with the plaintiffs and that he knew their
order was going to be a time-sale purchase when it came
in. About 2 weeks after the conversation at Omaha, the
plaintiffs received a copy of the sale and purchase con-
tract.

In December, 1959, Maurice Berg was employed for a
short time as a trainee salesman by Midwest Laundry
Equipment Corp.

In February, 1960, Siebert came to the plaintiffs’
home in Norfolk, Nebraska, and asked for their copy of
the sale and purchase contract for the equipment for the
Norfolk store. Siebert then destroyed their copy of the
contract and stated that Industrial Credit Company had
not accepted the financial statement of Maurice Berg. At
this time the equipment had been delivered and its installa-
tion in the Norfolk store was nearly complete. Siebert then
proceeded to write out a new sale and purchase contract
with a retail installment contract, both of which were
signed by the plaintiffs. The retail installment contract
signed at Norfolk in February, 1960 was eventually as-
signed to Industrial Credit Company by Midwest Laundry
Equipment Corp. and is the contract which is the subject
of this action.

‘The new sale and purchase contract and the retail«
installment contract provided for a downpayment oft $4,-
856.96. However, no additional amount-was paid to Midwest
Laundry Equipment Corp. by the plaintiffs. The only
amounts that were ever paid to Midwest, Laundry Equip-

ew,

20

ment Corp. were the amounts that had been previously
paid. The new contracts provided for 35 monthly pay-
ments of $725 and a final payment of $743.28. The con-
tracts recited a cash sale price of $26,713.28, cash down-
payment of $4,856.96, amount to be financed $21,856.32,
time price differential $4,261.92, total amount of note
$26,118.24, and total time price of $30,380.16.

The evidence in this case, taken as a whole, shows
that Midwest Laundry Equipment Corp. did not intend
to make any sale other than a cash sale. In the event
that a purchaser was unable to pay the full cash price,
the sale was contingent upon Midwest Laundry Equipment
Corp. being able to make suitable arrangements for the
financing of the balance of the cash price. If financing
could be arranged, the purchaser-then signed“a retail in-
stallment contract which was intended to appear to evi-
dence a time sale but which in fact evidenced a loan for
the payment of the balance of the cash price. The evidence
concerning the ‘‘rewriting’’ of the contract at Norfolk
in February of 1960, for the purpose of stating a higher
downpayment than was actually made, is convincing evi-
dence that the transaction in question was not a time sale
made in good faith.

The contract in this case provided a charge of $4,-
261.92 to finance a balance of $21,856.32, the entire amount
to be paid in 36 equal monthly installments. The Install-
ment Loan Act as amended prohibits any charge in excess
of 9 percent per annum where the indebtedness is in ex-
cess of three thousand dollars. S. 45-138, R. R. S. 1943.
The charge which was made is in excess of 9 percent per

21

annum. The contract is therefore, void. Powell v. Ed-
wards, supra.

The plaintiffs are entitled to judgment against Mid-
west Laundry Equipment Corp. for the $500 paid in
November 1959, plus the balance of the downpayment paid
in Omaha. Midwest Laundry Equipment Corp. is entitled
to a credit in the amount of $725 which the plaintiffs
admit having received from Midwest Laundry viata bas
Corp. on or about May 3, 1960.

The record does not show the exact amount of the
payment made in Omaha. The district court is authorized
to receive further evidence, if necessary, to determine the
amount of that payment.

The judgment of the district court is reversed ard
the cause is remanded for further proceedings, if’ neces-
sary and with directions to enter a judgment in conformity
with this opinion.

_ REVERSED AND REMANDED WITH DIREC-
TIONS.

Opinion No. 2
Berg v. Midwest Laundry Equipment Corp.
No. 35409
Filed November 22, 1963
Heard before White, C. J., Carter, Messmore, Yeager,
Spencer, Boslaugh, and Brower, JJ.

BOSLAUGH, J.

The appellee, Midwest Laundry Equipment Corp., has
filed a motion for rehearing in which it contends that the

<

a

22°

appellants are not entitled to recover the amounts paid
to it upon the contract for the purchase of the laundry
equipment even though the contract is void. This question
was not raised in the briefs or argument in this court until
the motion for rehearing was filed.

Upon further consideration of the matter, we are now
of the opinion that the cause should be remanded to the

district court with directions to determine the amount of —

the payments made by the appellants to the Midwest
Laundry Equipment Corp. and whether the appellants
should recover this amount from the Midwest Laundry
Equipment Corp. in view of our determination concern-
ing the validity of that contract.

Our opinion in this case filed on June 14, 1963, is
modified accordingly. The motion for rehearing is over-
ruled.

ORIGINAL OPINION MODIFIED.
MOTION FOR REHEARING OVERRULED.

Opinion No. 3
Berg v. Midwest Laundry Equipment Corp.
No. 35888
Filed May 28, 1965

Heard before White, C. J., Carter, Spencer, Bos-
laugh, Brower, Smith, and McCown, JJ.

BROWER, J.

Plaintiffs Maurice Berg and June Berg, husband and
wife, hereinafter referred to as the plaintiffs, brought this

23

action in the district court for Lancaster County against
the defendants Midwest Laundry Equipment Corp. and
Industrial Credit Company to declare a retail installment
contract void as usurious and recover payments made by
them thereon.

This is the second appearance of this case in this
court. The previous opinion appears in Berg v. Midwest
Laundry Equipment Corp., 175 Neb. 423, 122 N. W. 2d
250, where the facts involved are set forth. A supple-
mental opinion entered after a motion for a rehearing
appears in 175 Neb. 874, 124 N. W. 2d 699.

_ At the first trial in the district court, the trial court
overruled a special appearance of the defendant Industrial
Credit Company objecting to jvr<diction over its person.
That court held the installment sales contract in question
valid but that the Industrial Credit Company had made
certain charges in violation of the Installment Sales Act
and assessed a penalty to be deducted from the balance
due upon the contract. It adjudged that the plaintiffs pay
the installments which remained thereon to Industrial
Credit Company..

Our opinion in Berg v. Midwest Laundry Equipment
Corp., 175 Neb. 423, 122 N. W. 2d 250, filed herein June
14, 1963, held the special appearance of Industrial Credit
Company should have been sustained, that the retail in-
stallment contract actually evidenced a loan for the balance
of the purchase price, and being usurious was void under
section 45-138, R. R. S. 1943. It further held that the evi-
dence showed the defendant Midwest Laundry Equipment
Corp., hereafter at times referred to as Midwest, did not

-t

intend to make a sale except a cash sale and that plaintiffs
were entitled to judgment against it for two payments
made, less a credit of $725 which was admitted to have
been received by plaintiffs from Midwest. The amount
of one of the two payments made not being disclosed by
the record, the district court was authorized to receive
further evidence to determine the amount thereof. The
judgment of the trial court was reversed and the cause
remanded with directions to enter judgment in conformity
with the opinion.

The defendant Midwest timely filed a motidn for re-
hearing in this court objecting to the opinion of the court,
among other things contending that the downpayment to
the retail seller Midwest was no part of the installment
loan contract. It contended this court erred in ordering
this downpayment refunded. The supplemental opinion
of this court filed November 22, 1963, Berg v. Midwest
Laundry Equipment Corp., 175 Neb. 874, 124 N. W. 2d
699, directed the trial court to determine both the amount
of the payments to Midwest and whether it should recover
their amount on the determination.

Meantime on November 21, 1963, Midwest filed a
motion calling attention to ‘the enactment of statutes at
the extraordinary session of the Legislature bearing on
the issues involved in the litigation and asking leave to
brief the same. The motion was denied by this court on
December 10, 1963.

The mandate of this court was issued December 13,
1963, with our opinion and supplemental opinion attached.
Both parties moving for judgment on the mandate, hear-

n ~ as een RS ist ouse

25

ings were held and thereafter the trial court sustained
the special appearance of Industrial Credit Company. It
further held that the retail installment contract between
the parties was void and uncollectible, and enjoined Mid-
west and its successors from collecting the same. Midwest
was ordered to return two downpayments made to it in the
total amount of $2,243.45 with interest from the respective
dates of payment. It found that by stipulation of the
parties, the $725 payment referred to in the opinion of this
court had been disposed of by agreement between the
parties and need not be further considered. The motion
of Midwest to vacate the judgment and for a new trial
being overruled, it has brought the matter to this court

on appeal.

Midwest assigns error to the trial court in finding
the installment sales contract void and uncollectible. It
contends that under sections 45-137, 45-138, 45-154, and
45-155, R. R. S. 1943, as amended by Laws 1963, Special
Session, chapter 9, page 103 (L. B. 17), a loan made in
violation of the Installment Loan Act as it existed prior
to the amendment of these sections is no longer void al-
though any interest or charges collected should be for-
feited and refunded to the borrower. In this respect it
cites Davis v. General Motors Acceptance Corp., 176 Neb.
865, 127 N. W. 2d 907, where this court held this statute
to be valid and constitutional legislation and to effectively
repeal the provisions in the original Installment Loan Act
which rendered loans made in violation thereof void and
uncollectible, and that because of the expressed intention
of the Legislature, the repeal was given retroactive effect.
In Jurgensen v. Ainscow, 160 Neb. 208, 69 NaW. 2d 856,

26

this court held: ‘‘Public interest requires that there shall
be an end to litigation, and when a cause has received the
consideration of this court, has had its merits determined,
and has been remanded with specific directions, the court
to which such mandate is directed has no power to do any-
thing other than to enter judgment in accordance with such
mandate.’’ To the same effect see Regouby v. Dawson
County Irr. Co., 128 Neb. 531, 259 N. W. 365. The trial
court had no alternative under the mandate but to enter
the judgment it did in this respect and committed no
error in so doing.

Midwest further assigns error to this court in over-
ruling its motion for a rehearing on its consideration of
the previous appeal herein. It points out that the judg-
ment of this court was not final until the disposition of
its motion for rehearing. State ex rel. Caldwell v. Lincoln
Street Ry. Co., on rehearing, 80 Neb. 352, 118 N. W. 326;
Revised Rules of the Supreme Court, Rule No. 22a. It
ealls attention to its motion addressed to this court seek-
ing permission to file a brief on the applicability of the
recent remedial legislation before our decision became
final. Further, it asserts this court on the second appeal
between the same parties may review and reverse its for-
mer decision and has done so in certain instances. It cites
City of Hastings v. Foxworthy, 45 Neb. 676, 63 N. W. 955,
34 L. R. A. 321, which case was before this court several
times. Foxworthy as plaintiff had sued the City of Has-
tings for injuries incurred in falling on a sidewalk. The
City answered that plaintiff had failed to file action within
6 months from the date of the accident as required by the
statute. Plaintiff demurred to the answer. The trial court

27

sustained the demurrer. This court on the first appeal held
that the section of the statute requiring action to be
brought within 6 months was unconstitutional. It reversed
the judgment and remanded the cause generally for trial.
The statute then under consideration had a further: pro-
vision requiring filing of a statement with the city clerk
showing the date of the injury and certain matters con-
cerning it within 6 months of the injury. Between the
time of the reversal on the first appeal and the decision
of this court in City of Hastings v. Foxworthy, supra, this
court had held in other cases that such a provision was
valid, that the giving of the. statement was a condition
precedent to maintaining the action, and was required, to
be alleged and proved. In the cited case the court held ~
the demurrer to the answer should have searched the
record and disclosed the failure of the petition to state
a cause of action. The judgment was thereupon reversed
and the petition dismissed, the rule of law set out stating:
‘*An appellate court, on a second appeal of a case, will
not ordinarily re-examine questions of law presented by
the first appeal, but where the case was on the first appeal
remanded generally for a new trial and the same questions
are presented on the second trial, the appellate court is
not bound to follow opinions on questions of law presented
on the first appeal and may re-examine and reverse its
rulings on such questions, and should do so when the
opinion first expressed is manifestly incorrect.” ;

Midwest seizes on certain statements. in the long opin-
ion in the Foxworthy case discussing many cases and
aspects of the law applicable from which it contends this
eourt should review all questions coming before it on a

28

subsequent appeal that by reason of a change in the law
might be decided anew. In the Foxworthy case, however,
there had been a general remand for a rew trial. The
previous ruling had sustained a démurrer to the answer
and it was only by the application of the rather technical
legal rule that a demurrer searches the record that it
could even be inferred that the previous opinion of the
court had determined that the original petition had stated
a cause of action. A careful reading of the Foxworthy case
clearly shows no intent to go beyond the rule stated.

Midwest cites also the case of Eccles v. Walker, 75
Neb. 722, 106 N. W. 977. There the Supreme Court had
previously reversed the judgment of the trial court which
had dismissed the action. The court called attention to
the fact that it had previously remanded the cause for trial
generally and applied the rule in the Foxworthy case
permitting it to arrive at a new and different decision. It
did not enlarge upon that rule.

Midwest also calls attention particularly to Stratton
v. Bankers Life Co., 102 Neb. 755, 169 N. W. 722, 1 A. L. R.
1671. It points out this case was decided differently on
the second appeal in spite of the directions to enter a
judgment on certain issues at the first hearing of this
case in this court. The opinion states that, the appellate
court will not ordinarly reexamine questions once deter-
minued by it but the case comes within the exceptions of
City of Hastings v. Foxworthy, supra. The first opinion
in the Stratton case is apparently /mot reported and the
substance of the pleading is not discloged. The real basis
of the decision seems to be that the emer decision was
‘‘manifestly outside of, the pleadings.’’ It has been held

29

by-this court in Drieth v._Dormer, 148 Neb. 422, 27 N. W.
2d 843, that: ‘‘The judgment of a court upon a subject
within its general jurisdiction, but which is not brought
before it by any statement or claim of the parties and is
foreign to the issues submitted for determination, is a
nullity.’’ See, also, Petersen v. Dethlefs, 139 Neb. 572,
298 N. W. 155, where this court held: “A finding or other
part of a judgment foreign to any pleading and not neces-
sary to the relief grantable to any ‘litigant in a case is
contrary to the course of the law and the practice of the
courts, is void and should be stricken from the record on
motion.’’ If the first decision was outside the pleading
as stated, the ground of the second ruling is apparent. We
do not think this case should be the basis of extending
the rule in City of Hastings v. Foxworthy, supra, and
applying it to the case before us.

In the case of Burnham v. Bennison, 130 Neb. 558,
265 N. W. 531, this court held: “The appellate court may,
on the second appeal -between the same parties, if justice
requires, review and reverse its former decision; but the
parties are not entitled to such review as a matter of
right; such practice will be resorted to sparingly, and only
in cases where cogent reasons exist therefor.

“‘The appellate court, on a second appeal between the
same parties, will not ordinarily reexamine questions of
law presented in the first appeal, as the matters decided
therein come within the rule of stare decisis, and become
the law of the case.

‘*On a second appeal between the same parties in the
same cause, where the second appeal merely seeks to re-

30

litigate questions settled by the opinion in the former
appeal, this court will not inquire into the merits of its
former opinion, where it appears that the second appel-
lants sought a rehearing in the former appeal, which was
denied, and the cause reversed and remanded, with direc-
tions to the lower court to render judgment in accordance
with the opinion.’’ In the opinion if is stated: ‘* Appel-
lants seem to rely upon the case of City of Hastings v.
Foxworthy, 45 Neb. 676,63 N. W. 955. This case contains
an exhaustive and elaborate discussion of a number of
eases in which the rule of stare decisis‘was presented, and
in a well-considered opinion it announced the following
rule: * * *. (Setting forth the rule quoted in Foxworthy.)
It will be noted in the case above mentioned that the rule
applied arose in a case where on the first appeal the case
was reversed and remanded for a new trial. Such is not
the fact as presented by the record here. The case was
reversed and remanded, not for new trial, but was re-
manded with specific directions to a trial court to enter
judgment in accordance with the opinion. ”? See, also,
Gund v. Ballard, 80 Neb. 385, 114 N. W. 420; Jurgensen
v. Ainscow, supra.

In the case before us our opinion of June 14, 1963,
held the installment sales contract was void and reversed
the judgment in that respect. It remanded the cause per-
mitting the trial court to determine only the’ amount of
the downpayment for the purpose of entering judgment
for the plaintiff for that also. The supplemental opinion
of November 22, 1963, modified the original opinion only
to the extent of directing the trial court to determine
whether the downpayment after it was determined should

—

be recovered by plaintiffs. In Kometscher v. Wade, 177
' Neb. 299, 128 N. W. 2d 781, this court determined it would
not reverse a judgment of the trial egurt entered pre-
viously to the enactment of Laws 1963, Special Session,
chapter 9, page 103 (L. B. 17), because of the changes
made in that law. We think the rule in City of Hastings
v. Foxworthy, supra, should be adhered to and not ex-
tended. After the determination of the present case in this
court, the issuance of a mandate thereon, and a judgment
in the trial court pursuant to its command, we will not
thereafter review the questions determined by our previous
decision.

Midwest further assigns error to the trial court in
ordering it to’ refund the downpayments of $2,243.45 and
interest to the plaintiffs. This aspect of the case was left
for the determination by the trial court in our supple-
mental opinion. The statute determinative of this matter
as it existed prior to its amendment by Laws 1963, Special
Session, chapter 9, section 2, page 108 (L. B. 17), was
section 45-138, R. R: S. 1943. The portion setting forth
the effect of a violation of the provisions thereof reads
as follows: ‘‘Any contract of loan made in violation of
this section, either knowingly or without the exercise of
due care to prevent the same, shall be void and the licensee
shall have no right to collect or receive any principal,
interest, or charges on such loan.’’ It refers to the ‘‘loan’’
and provides that the loan shall be void and that the
licensee shall have no*right to collect or receive any
principal, interest, or charges ‘‘on such loan.’”’ Plaintiffs
contend the word ‘‘charges’’ included in this phrase means
any payment exacted or received by the seller and includes
the downpayment. We believe, however, it refers to

32

charges as used in section 45-139, R. R. S. 1943, which are
permitted to be included in an installment loan. It does
not mention the downpayment made on the purchase. The
downpayments in this instance were made in November
1959 and January 1960. The installment sales contract
was not signed until February 19, 1960. In Misle v. Miller,
176 Neb. 113, 125 N. W. 2d 512, this court said: ‘“‘A
penalty statute must be strictly construed. It will not be
applied to situations or parties not fairly or clearly within
its provisi mns.’’ We are referred to many cases where
certain j anti in the opinions are urged by the
respective parties herein as indicative of their desired
interpretation of the section. They appear to be obiter
dicta. We are referred to no case where the downpayment
was adjudged to bé invalid. Neither have we found such
a case. The reports are, however, replete with cases where
the principal, interest, and charges on the loan itself were
recovered and the downpayment was not mentioned. We
conclude the plain wording of section 45-138, R. R. S. 1943,
before its amendment by Laws 1963, Special Session, chap-
ter 9, section 2, page 108 (L. B. 17), rendered void only
the payments of principal, interest, and charges included
in the loan and did not affect a downpayment which was
no part thereof. We conclude the trial court erred in
ordering it returned to the plaintiffs in its judgment.

It follows that the judgment of the trial court should
be reversed and the cause remanded insofar as it provides
for the payment to the plaintiffs ‘of the $2,243.45 and
interest, and should be and is affirmed in all other
respects.

AFFIRMED IN PART, AND IN PART REVERSED
AND REMANDED. ‘

33

J UDGMENT

And afterwards, to wit, on the 28th day of May, 1965,
there was rendered by said Supreme Court of Nebraska
and entered of record upon Journal TTT thereof, at page
303, a certain Judgment in the words and figures follow-
ing, to wit:

This cause coming on to be heard upon appeal from
the district court of Lancaster County was argued by coun-
sel and submitted to the court; upon due consideration
whereof, the court finds error in that part of the judgment
of said district court which ordered defendant, Midwest
Laundry Equipment Corporation to refund to the plain-
tiffs the down payment of $2,243.45 and interest, and in
this respect said judgment is reversed and the cause re-
manded ,and in all other respects said judgment is af-
firmed; that appellant recover of and from plaintiff ap-
pellee its costs herein expended, taxed at $194.00; for all
of which execution.is hereby awarded and that a mandate
issue accordingly. - °

4,
ae

Li

APPENDIX B
Nebraska Statutes
Section 45-138, R. R. S. 1943 (Reissue of 1960):

45-138. Installment loans; loans in excess of three
thousand dollars; preexisting debt; loan period; vio- .
lation. (1) No licensee shall directly or indirectly
charge, contract for, or receive a greater rate of
interest than nine per cent per annum upon any loan,
or upon any part of (sic) all of any aggregate in-
debtedness of the same_persen; in excess of three
thousand dollars.

34

(2) The prohibition contained in subsection (1)
of this section shall also apply to any licensee who
permits any person, as borrower or as endorser, guar-
antor, or surety for. any borrower, or otherwise, or
any husband and wife jointly or severally, to owe
directly, contingently, or both to the licensee at any
time a sum of more than three thousand dollars for
principal; Provided, that if a licensee shall acquire,
directly or indirectly, by purchase or discount, bona

fide obligations for goods or services owed by the

person who received such goods or services, then the
amount of such purchased or discounted indebtedness
tonthe licensee, referred to in subsections (1) and (3)
of this section, shall not be ificluded in computing“the
aggregate indebtedness of such borrower to the li-
censee for the purpose of the foregoing prohibitions;
and provided further, that if the proceeds of any loan
of three thousand dollars or less, referred to in sub-
sections (1) and (3) of this section, are used to dis-
charge a preexisting debt of the borrower for goods
or services owed direttly to the person who provided
such goods or services, the licensee may accept from
such person a guaranty of payment of the principal
of such loan, with interest at a-rate not exceeding that
which the licensee’could lawfully charge if he were
not licensed hereunder. The acceptance of one or
more of such guaranties in any aggregate amount
shall not affect the rights of- such licensee to make
the charges against the borrower authorized by section
45-137.

(3) No licensee shall enter into any contract of
loan, referred to in subsection (1) or (2) of this sec-
tion, under sections 45-114 to 45-155, under which the
borrower agrees to make any payment of principal
more than thirty-six calendar months from the date
of making such contract, referred to in subsection (1)
or (2) of this section, if such contract is not secured
by a bona fide duly recorded mortgage on real estate
owned by the borrower, or under which the borrower

ah lt

ee

~~) , 39

agrees to make payment of principal more than thirty-
six calendar months from the date of making such
contract, if the contract of loan is secured by a bona
fide duly recorded mortgage on real estate owned by
the borrower. Every loan contract shall provide for
repayment of principal and charges in installments °
which shall be payable at approximately equal periodic
_intervals of time and so arranged that no installment
is substantially greater in amount than any preceding
installment. When necessary in order to facilitate
payment in accordance with the debtor’s principal
source of income, a debtor,’ whose principal source
of income is from agriculture, stock raising, or school
teaching, the payment schedule may reduce or omit «
installment payments, if at least one half of the credit
is to be repaid within the first half of the applicable
maximum maturity and if the other. payments are
increased in such manner that they will be susbstant-
ially equal or declining in amount and sufficient in the
aggregate to retire the loan in the period of thirty-six
months, as provided for in this subsection. Any
contract of loan made in violation of this section,
either knowingly or without the exercise of due care to
prevent the same, shall be void and the licensee shall
have no right to collect or receive any a in-
terest, or charges on such loan.

Section 45-138, R. S. Supp. 1963, Cumulative Pocket
Part Supplement, April, 1965:

45-138. Installment loans; loans in excess of three
thousand dollars; preexisting debt; loam period; vio-
lation. (1) No licensee shall directly or indirectly
charge, contract for, or receive a greater rate of in-
terest than nine per cent per annum upon any loan,
or upon any part of (sic) all of any aggregate indebt-
edness of the same person, in excess of three thousand
dollars.

(2) The prohibition contained in subsection (1)
of this section shall also apply to any licensee who per-

36

mits any person, as borrower or as endorser, guar-
antor, or surety for any borrower, or otherwise, or
any husband and wife jointly or severally, to owe
directly, contingently, or both to the licensee at any
time a sum of more than three thousand dollars for
principal; Provided, that if a licensee shall acquire,
directly or indirectly, by purchase or discount, bona
fide obligations for goods or services owed by the
person who received such goods or services, then the
amount of such purchased or discounted indebtedness
to the licensee, referred to in subsections (1) and (3)
of this section, shall not be included in computing the
aggregate indebtedness of such borrower to the li-
censee for the purpose of the foregoing prohibitions;
and provided further, that if the proceeds of any
loan of three thousand dollars or less, referred to
in subsections (1) and (3) of this section, are used
to discharge a preexisting debt of the borrower for
goods or services owed directly to the person who
provided such goods or services, the licensee may
accept from such person a guaranty of payment of the
principal of such loan, with interest at a rate not
exceeding that which the licensee could lawfully charge
if he were not licensed hereunder. The acceptance of
one or more of such guaranties in any aggregate
amount shall not affect the rights of such licensee to
make the charges against the borrower authorised by
section 45-137.

(3) No licensee shall enter into‘any contract of
loan, referred to in subsection (1) or (2) of this section.
under sections 45-114 to 45-155, urlf@er which the bor-
rower agrees to make any payment of principal more
than thirty-six calendar months from the date of
making such contract, referred to in subsection (1)
or (2) of this section, if such contract is not secured
by a bona fide duly recorded mortgage on real estate
owned by the borrower, or under which the borrower
agrees to make payment of principal more than thirty-
six calendar mon the from the date of making such

37

contract, if the contract of loan is secured by a bona
fide duly recorded mortgage on real estate owned by
the borrower. Every loan contract shall provide for
repayment of principal and charges in installments
which shall be payable at approximately equal periodic
intervals of time and so arranged that no installment
is substantially greater in amount than any preceding
installment. When necessary in order to facilitate
payment in accordance with the debtor’s principal
source of income a debtor, whose principal source of
income is from agriculture, stock raising, or school
teaching, the payment schedule may reduce or omit
installment payments, if at least one half of the credit
is to be repaid within the first half. of the applicable
maximum maturity and if the other payments are
increased in such manner that they will be substanti-
ally equal or declining in amount and sufficient in the
aggregate to retire the loan in the period of thirty-
six months, as provided for in this subsection. Any
contract of loan made in violation of this section,
either knowingly or without the exercise of due care
to prevent the same, shall not on that account be void,
but the licensee shall have no right to collect or receive
any interest or charges on such loan. If any interest
or other charges have been collected, the licensee shal]
forfeit and refund to the borrower all interest and
other charges collected on the loan involved.

Section 45-155, R. R. 8. 1943 (Reissue of 1960):

45-155. Licensees; violations; effect. Violation of
sections 45-114 to 45-155 in connection with any
indebtedness, however acquired, shall render such in-
debtedness void and uncollectible.

Section 45-155, R. S. Supp. 1963, Cumulative Pocket

Part Supplement, April, 1965:

45-155. LIncensees; violations; effect. Violation
of sections 45-114 to 45-155 in connection with any

38

indebtedness, however acquired, shall not render such
indebtedness void and uncollectible. If however, any
interest or other charges have been collected on such
indebtedness, all interest and other charges shall be
forfeited and refunded.

“ Section 45-155.01, R. S. Supp. 1963, Cumulative Pocket
Part Supplement, April, 1965:

45-155.01. Loan transactions prior to November
15, 1963; penalty provisions. Except as to those trans-
: actions on which an action at law or in equity has
. ; been reduced to a final judgment as of November 15,
# 1963, the penalty provisions of section 45-137, enacted
: by the Seventy-third Session of the Legislature of
if Nebraska and as further amended by this act and the
penalty provisions of sections 45-138, 45-154 and
45-155, shall apply to all transactions made prior to
November 15, 1963.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385602_0991%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
