# Petition for Rehearing — Lauritzen v. Spann

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385602_0908%3A4

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Rehearing
- **Published:** January 1, 1965
- **Citation:** 382 U.S. 938

## Text

LiGrAakKy
et eso nes COUP y ii, fe

In THE

Supreme Court of the Uniteh States

October Term, 1965

No. 352

J. LAURITZEN,
—against—

ROBERT SPANN,

Petitioner,

Respondent.

———— ee

PETITION FOR REHEARING OF THE DENIAL OF
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR

THE THIRD CIRCUIT

J. Warp O’NEILL

Counsel for Petitioner

J. LAURITZEN

80 Broad Street

New York, N. Y. 10004

FRANCIS X. Byrn,
Joun T. BIEzup,
LENNARD K. RAMBUSCH,
On the Petition

ell

INDEX TO PETITION

PAGE
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION FOR RE-
eras k cake eee ee te Cee ee 1
IR Se oe Pe oe a ean Waa a wae s 1
1. Issue not decided by this Court ............ 2
2. Acknowledged conflict among the Courts of
PES sev 04 Ae 44 aoe ene vaeeseeeene 2

3. By failing to speak out on this and other mat-
ters of maritime import, this Court is not
fulfilling its traditional “rule fashioning” role 4

| RRR mere emer NT 4
ie ee I re eh aa ns 6
I hl ee A Ne ee eae 7
Coprepecane Or COC ck vc sive hocc cue dencivccs 8
oo a daa aed oa ae ene okeees Al

TABLE OF CASES CITED

eee: Re uc eet. 5,7
Boudoin v. Lykes Brothers, 348 U. S. 336, 337 (1955) 3
Forkin v. Furness Withy & Co., 323_F. 2d 638 (2 Cir.

| ee Ser ied we ne (Moan ghiavawkineds 2
Garrett v. | Meeve-McCormach do., 317 U. S. 239, 243-

SE ED bn 54050 doen nee ee aeons cas 6
Gillespie v. United States Steel Corb. 375 U. S. 962,

De i I hav bnes wi ok ka tkces tesa 5
Gutierrez v. Waterman Steamship Corp., 373 U. S.

nv neds wcceucseias eee eeoes 3,6

Guzman Vv. Pichirilo, 369 U. S. 698, 699 (1962) ..... 3

ii ;
| PAGE
Haloyon Lines v. Haenn, 342 U. S. 282, 285 (1951) 4
Hastings v. Mahon, 340 F. 2d 910 (4 Cir. 1965) .... 3,6

Italia Societa v. Oregon Stevedoring, 376 U. S. 315,
Bee SES 3555654 0059000 004 ane eee 3

Kent v. Shell Oil Company, 286 F. 24746 (1961)... 3

Kermarec v. Compagnie Generale Transatlantique,
Se Wis De Gy OE CHOP bre nskeiveseavasess 4

Kossick v. United Fruit, 365 U.S. 731, 733 (1961) .. 4
McKnight v. N. M. Patterson & Sons, Ltd., 368

ay Se Ee 6.5 05 00459 140014495408 Te 2,6
Matson Navigation Company v. Huff, 380 U. S. 943 2,6
Mitchell v. Trawler Racer, Inc., 362 VU. S. 539,

Pe CON bbc ce asua cdi enbenass vies ccersaaa 3
Pope & Talbot, Inc. v. Hawn, 346 U. S. 406,

Se ica ven sere ceneesdeerburieceis 4
Romero v. International Terminal, 358 U. S. 354,

SUR UE anon Feuedxts si eraeereete ern 3,4
Roper v. United States, 368 U. S. 20, 24 (1961) . 2
The m/v Tungus v. Skovgaard, 358 VU. S. 588, 500

SPER ER ee eer ee eT CTY Ce TE ee er re ae 4

Umted New York-New Jersey Sandy Hook Pilots
Association v. Halecki, 358 U.S. 613, 624 (1959).. = 5

Wilburn Boat Co. v. Firemen’s Fund Insurance Com-
a BO ree 4

OTHER AUTHORITIES

Baer-Admiralty Law of the Supreme Court 1963,
CO BO Pe a SOO cde v ec hecbspascetuccees 6

In THE

Supreme Court of the United States

” October Term, 1965

J. LAuRITZEN,
Petitioner,
——— No. 352

ROBERT SPANN, |
Respondent.

—

TITION FOR REHEARING OF THE DENIAL OF
TION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE THIRD CIRCUIT

Petitioner prays for a rehearing of the denial of its
petition for a writ of certiorari to the United States Court
of Appeals for the Third Circuit, which was entered in this
Court on December 6, 1965.

7

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION
FOR REHEARING

Statement

While the petition herein was most certainly denied, it
nevertheless must have evoked sufficient interest within the
Court to warrant requiring respondent to submit a brief
in opposition, when this had been expressly waived. Yet,
that brief served only to admit and point up the existing
conflict (p. 2). Thus, perplexed by these events, but be-

2

lieving it had come close, petitioner is prompted to return
to the Court with this substantial issue of maritime law, of
sufficient gravity to motivate virtually the entire Merchant
Marine of the United States to file a Brief Amicus.

Illustrative of the continuing confusion occasioned by
this Court’s not making a definitive decision in this area
are the recent determinations appearing in the Appendix
herein.

The within case squarely presents the issue which is (1)
not yet decided by this Court (2) as to which admitted con-
flicts exist among the Courts of Appeals and (3) which it
is the responsibility of this Court to resolve in the exercise
of its rule-making role in maritime matters.

1. Issue not decided by this Court.

The issue of the responsibility of the shipowner, under
the warranty of seaworthiness, for shore based equipment
has never been passed upon by this Court. Indeed, the issue
was specifically left open by. Roper v. United States, 368
U. S. 20, 24 (1961)

“This disposition of the case makes it unneces-
sary for us to pass upon the remaining question, i.e.,
whether a shore-based marine leg is within the war-

ranty of seaworthiness in the circumstances here
disclosed.”

2. Acknowledged conflict among the Courts of Appeals.

That there is conflict among the Circuits on this im-
portant issue is evident from the decision of the Court of
Appeals itself (p. 16a).

“We agree with the Ninth Circuit in the Huff
case that McKnight and Forkin are out ~~

with the principles announced by the preme
Court.”

3

The conflict is also acknowledged in respondent’s Brief
in Opposition (p. 2)

“Admittedly the decision below is in conflict with
the decisions of the Second and Sixth Circuits.”

Conflicts with the Spann and Huff views, particularly
as to the jurisdictional facet of the issue, also appear in de-
cisions of the Fourth Circuit in Hastings v. Mahon, 340
F, 2d 910 (1965) and the Fifth Circuit in Kent v. Shell
Oil Company, 286 F. 2d 746 (1961). With the exception
of the First Circuit, this now represents an involvement
of all the major maritime Circuits.

Conflicts among the Courts of Appeals, or ,even a
“seeming conflict,” in the maritime field have been con-
sistently recognized by this Court as grounds for granting
petitions for certiorari. Thus in Boudoin v. Lykes Brothers,
348 U. S. 336, 337 (1955), this Court mentioned a “seem-
ing conflict”; in Romero v. International Terminal, 358_
U.S. 354, 358 (1959) “because of the conflict among Courts
of Appeals”; in Mitchell v. Trawler Racer, Inc., 362 UV. S.
539, 542 (1960) “to consider a question of maritime law
upon which the Courts of Appeals have expressed differ-
ing views.”; in Guzman v. Pichirilo, 369 U. S. 698, 699
(1962) “conflict * * * between the Courts of Appeals”; in
Italia Societa v. Oregon Stevedoring, 376 U. S. 315, 318
(1964) “Because of a conflict between * * *”.

The question whether the warranty of seaworthiness
has applicability ashore is necessarily intertwined with that
of maritime jurisdiction. On this issue this Court said of
granting the petition in Gutierrez v. Waterman Steamship
Corp., 373 U. S. 206, 209 (1963) “we brought the case
here, * * * to resolve the apparently troublesome question
as to the shipowner’s liability for his torts which have im-
pacts on shore.” The question of how far maritime juris-

4

diction extended ashore was left open (p. 210) but it might
be observed that the “far-fetched hypotheticals” noted are
now beginning to take shape.*

Similarly in Kossick v. United Fruit, 365 U. S. 731, 733,
(1961) this Court said “We brought the case here because
it presented novel questions as to the interplay of state and
maritime law”, and in The m/v Tungus v. Skovgaard, 358
U. S. 588, 590 (1959) “Certiorari was granted primarily to
consider the relationship of maritime and local law in cases
of this kind.”

3. By failing to speak out on this and other matters of mari-
time import, this Court is not fulfilling its traditional “rule
fashioning” role.

a. In General

This Court has said that courts applying maritime law
are “freer than common law courts in fashioning rules”
Halcyon Lines v. Haenn, 342 U. S. 282, 285 (1951). They
have “traditional discretion” in developing rules. Pope &
Talbot, Inc. v. Hawn, 346 U. S. 406, 409 (1953). The
courts referred to are, of course, Federal Courts, Romero
v. International Terminal Operating Co., 358 U. S. 354,
361 (1959), whose ultimate voice and expositor is this
Court. In Wilburn Boat Co. v. Firemen’s Fund Insurance
Co., 348 U. S. 310, 314 (1955), this Court acknowledged
that it had “fashioned a large part of the existing rules
that govern admiralty.”

While this Court has reserved to itself this rule-making
power, and to the exclusion of State law, see Pope & Talbot
v. Hawn, 346 U. S. 406, 409-410 (1953); Kermarec v.
Compagnie Generale Transatlantique, 358 U. S. 625, 628
(1959), there has been a recent hesitance about exercising
it in the field of maritime injury litigation. Thus, since the

*See Daniel v. Skibs A/S Hilda Knudsen—Appendix Al.

5

granting of the petition for certiorari in Gillespie v. United
States Steel Corp., 375 U. S. 962, January 6, 1964, not a
single petition out of 45 filed® has been granted in the
maritime injury-death field in the ensuing two years, with
the exception of the recent decision in Albanese v. N. V.
Nederl. Amerik, No. 523, December 13, 1965, which being
summarily reversed in a short decision, settled little but its
own outcome.

The language of Mr. Justice Brennan in his dissenting
opinion in United New York-New Jersey Sandy Hook
Pilots Association v. Halecki, 358 U. S. 613, 624 (1959),
is equally applicable here where the denial of certiorari can
‘give “no workable guide to the lower courts in this actively
litigated field of federal law”. His following language finds
‘equal pertinence to the issues here and the proliferating
conflicts in the Courts of Appeals, “And so confusion is
left to breed further litigation in an already heavily liti-
gated area of the law.”

While the burdens of this Court spiral ever upward,
and with this Term’s reading matter more profuse™ and
possibly gamier than any found in maritime law, the Court
should not lose sight of the fact that it is more than an in-
terpreter of the Constitution, against a backdrop ef legisla-
tive and decisional law fashioned by others. It has an his-
toric and affirmative function of rule-maker in the field of
maritime law. In such a role it might seem that proportion-
ately more, not fewer, maritime matters would be accepted
for review by this Court.

(1)1963-1964 Term—Nos. 577, 591, 634, 672, 683, 814, 815, 832,
842, 857, 859, 880, 956, 991
1964-1965 Term—Nos. 157 251, 341, 364, 398, 447, 468, 487,
oe 662, 707, 840, 846, 872, 911, 1017, 1020,
1965-1966 Term—Nos. 78, 91, 299, 307, 344, 352, 399, 516,
523, 524, 542, 557, 654
(2)Nos, 42, 49 and 368

6

In the past two years, such important questions as (a)
how far maritime jurisdiction extends ashore,“ (b) the
responsibility of the ship for shore-side equipment, (c)
the responsibility of shipowners for operating negligence
of longshoremen,® have been left to languish unattended
by this Court.

b. In Particular

Despite the acknowledged conflict, despite the fact that
the Gutierrez case, 373 U. S. 206, 210, left open the question
of how far inland the warranty of seaworthiness will move,
despite the fact that the issue has been presented to this
Court in ever increasing frequency, first in 1961 in Mc-
Knight v. N. M. Paterson & Sons Ltd., 368 U. S. 913, and
three times in 1965 in Hastings v. Mahon 380 UV. S. 963,
Matson Navigation Company v. Huff, 380 U. S. 943, and
finally in the within litigation, despite the unsettled law in
this general area, which has prompted one commentator to
remark“

“In the course of the years, both Congress and
the Supreme Court have attempted to fix the land-
based worker’s rights. However, it is in this area
when the vessel is in port that the Supreme Court

» 99

has been most ‘at sea’.

this Court, by consistently denying certiorari on these is-
sues, has permitted the Courts of Appeals to interpret
the maritime law in their separate ways, with a result-
ant breakdown in the uniformity desired. See e. g.
Garrett v. Moore-McCormack Co., 317 U. S. 239, 243-

(3)See 1954-1965 Term, Nos. 911 and 1017
1965-1966 Term, Nos. 91, 344, 352
(4) 1964-1965 Term, No. 846
1965-1966 Term, No.-352
(5) 1963-1964 Term, No. 991
1964-1965 Term, Nos. 398, 447, 529, 707
(6) Baer-Admiralty Law of the Supreme Court 1963 Chap. 5 p. 70
Sect. 1-14

7

246. (1942) The very increased incidence of petitions in
this area should motivate the Court to seek a solution to the
jurisdictional and substantive questions presented.

Certainly the importance of the issues transcends what
might have been a reason for denying certiorari herein,
namely the fact that there is not yet any judgment holding
the shipowner finally liable. However, the Court of Ap-
peals has finally determined the issue of law as to responsi-
bility of the shipowner for the gear, and nothing more
remains to be litigated on that point. Similarly, while the
order for a new trial by the Court of Appeals in the recent
decision of Albanese v. N. V. Nederl. Amerika et al., No.
523—December 13, 1965, did not finally determine the
issues therein, this Court not only granted the writ of
certiorari, but Summarily reversed.

The twin issues of maritime jurisdiction and ship re-
sponsibility for shore-side gear, have been here presented
in simple form under a stipulated set of facts and are'capable
of a broad, settling decision. The Court should delay no
longer in making the disposition that will inevitably have
to be made.

CONCLUSION

FOR THE FOREGOING REASONS IT IS RESPECTFULLY
SUBMITTED THAT THE PETITION FOR REHEARING AND
THE WRIT BE GRANTED.

December 30, 1965.

J. Warp O’NEILL
Counsel for Petitioner
J. LAURITZEN
80 Broad Street
New York, N.Y. 10004
FRANCIS X. Byrn,
Joun T. BIEzup,
LENNARD K. RAMBUSCH,
On the Petition.

8

CERTIFICATE OF COUNSEL

I hereby certify that the foregoing petition for rehear-
ing is presented in good faith and not for delay and is
restricted to grounds specified in Rule 58 of the Rules of
this Court.

New York, N. Y.,
December 30, 1965.

(s) J. Warp O’NEILL
Counsel for Petitioner

Al

APPENDIX

1. Daniel v. Skibs A/S Hilda Knudsen, was tried in
October of 1965 in the Eastern District of Pennsylvania,
Civil No. 30778 before the Honorable Joseph S. Lord III
and a jury. The quotes are from the charge which followed
the Spann decision.

Daniel worked in a warehouse in Camden, New Jersey,
“approximately half a block from where the ship was”.
He was “not transferring the bales of Séorice from the
hold of the ship to the flat car; he was not transferring
the bales of licorice from the flat car to the warehouse.
When Mr. Daniel entered the picture that had already been
done. He was engaged in hooking-on with these tongs to
the bales of licorice for the purpose of stacking them in the
warehouse.” An “engine... pulled the flat cars down to the
warehouse.” While stacking the bales in the warehouse a
piece of rope attached to the tongs broke. Plaintiff claimed
that he was owed the warranty of seaworthiness by reason
of the condition of the rope in the warehouse.

The District Court, following Spann, left it to the jury
to decide whether or not plaintiff “was actually engaged in
unloading the vessel at the time of his injury, whether or
not the work that he was doing was an essential part of the
actual unloading of the vessel.”

If the answer to that question was yes, then the Court
held that whatever was used therein, i.e., the rope in the
warehouse “is an appurtenance of the ship because it is used
in connection with the loading, if you so find.” The jury
found for the plaintiff on October 19, 1965.

2. In contrary District Court decision, in the Eastern
District of Louisiana, Baton Rouge Division, CA3069,

A2
Appendix

Dugas v. N. Y. K. Line, a longshoreman working on the
ship was struck by a dockside crane during the course of the
operation. On November 4, 1965, the Honorable E. Gordon
West directed a verdict, stating in an oral opinion from the
bench that no warranty of seaworthiness was owed to the
injured longshoreman since the crane was not attached to
the vessel. No written opinion was handed down.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385602_0908%3A4. Public record. Not legal advice.
