# Opposition Brief — Van Zandt v. Commissioner

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385602_0624%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1965
- **Citation:** 382 U.S. 814

## Text

e

4 a ;
ge yon oJ as J INDBX::. xa ebb $i ESS
é * c, Oey :%

MIB. KA OAT!

itd 4 Mises Sits eg
prinicti below ikea oeteent ‘ahs he nad Se ogres cap
~ © e . « &* . ‘

eb iimes «Jit -3AZ Y

CITATIONS

~ ,Allis-Chalmers Mfg. Co. v. City of Fort Pines
Fae Be ARE accshietisiv nie eoer meee aime
Consolidated Edison Co. of New York v. Allis-
Chalmers Mfg. Co., 217 F. Supp. SGM
Grand Jury Proceedings, In re, 309.F. 2d 440. -
Herman Schwabe, .Ine. v. United Shoe Ma-
‘ chinery Corp., 194 F. Supp. 763_____- eiieie
- . Herzog v. United States, 226 F. 2d 561__...--
Olympic Refining Company v. Carter, 382 F.2d —
260, certiorari denied, 379 U.S. 900______- |
Petroleum Industry Investigation, In re, 152 F.

TODD. OGD. 3% onic cansedaisecanedndisncei
Pittsburgh Plate Glass Company v. United

| * Cases:

States, 360 U.S: 305.-.__-._- ahs catia candace

Sellers, In #e, 32 F.R.D. 478... _--...------
United States’ v. General Electric Company, 209

F. Supp. Wl ced ee
| Unilted States v. Procter & Gamble Compaiiy,

B56 UB. O77. iciwne camcunionnn----—--- 6 67,8.

.. United States v. Socony:V acum Oil Company,
310 US. 1 Reamer os PBA ERAS Y Git

© - %%-189—65. tae nara

eawmnnnd =

eo

I 20 NY F' OAR Be

2, 3, 5, 7,8

x.
.
*

z -
s
wee!
. ia “+
o* a. see
*" «A ees a Co - J* a
> ‘
"see eer eee CO eee ene ee
7 ye
* - * e.
. -
4 e
. , 2
: .
i ;
.
Z .
- 0
7
t% °
e .
.
.
Peon 4
, .*
a
. .
« -
? “ o%
’
, >
-
2
‘ of ®
¢
é Pe ca
» -- ped
. f
-* v. o
. os
r >.
.
‘
-

; be . \ ‘
* *
“ ; . : t .
1 ‘ag: 4 Sut
: es) : ;
> 74 » nd
1 a : ‘ ‘ee ; Bat ‘0
. . & ne eo
ae a>
r os Se
) ‘ é .
' Re . “ . Ps, Ss K~
- 2 has * oe ‘
~¥ : ‘ ¢ in SER 2S
4 et . ‘ P » ; .
‘ ; i we . in
1 . 1 ? * wl
4 e ‘ . xe e+ *
' 2 ;
. : . *& : ~ me wi
F ‘ " : a™ pa
a en ‘ bis -
‘ . » . Sk oO $ _ Ta
*) ’ : : 2 " }
’ Pas)
: : “ bed
be . ~* yr .
es
aS Ae . . a

. . :
ae a SO. GH

f. —

rah | ate
r fn]
. “ /
2
& . J
Eee Ee Se me $i pudebel ts ica Reta
j 2fELS 1168-9 fi ruber ITLGET Tstis MiG 2- SITY F bolese

ery: a2 ge :
o@ yiuy, beste yd bsiviong Initetian
oe

‘vee geod

‘

) Sie Sern gn ie

Rigitipiernys Pinos 1964 ps Bean tecglddct

SHE VES 033 ih gig? i fLih SE eRe Es 8h feral oh?
No. “in6
iifto9 ji 9* 34 | hes:

US. Txuerames, — ET a —-
Rote lated dt AS eee i} ; : ey, . bregril ¢ folgi i€-

PS 45
‘?

= ¥
TP tfyueres

$457} J %
» Ais 24

~
~_

Unrrep Srares Duewacr: Coun THE Soran

bevpere

= ; bares POT OSH boo
oy pieition FOR A WRIT OF CBRTIORARI THR UNITED
; colsesees court OF APPEALS FOR THe —imairiaes OIRCUIT ¥

“hh, & ; ts
at§ = - OV. vt eH sect wich = ao Ba ais oe S poate

: " .
se j Vas: (CS

sp ygy tg _opnMONS BELOW . ra
“The a penta! 6f the court of sive 5 (Pet App. 1-9;

i #201) is not. yet reported. “The district court'did not

{)

tay

: file “a e Written opinion; its order Loe 120)" is unre-
Ported. SSESEIO'G Wd PMuod OF WH POTTS

Di cir tnsbusted

“The: bndeuiiot Aha! abut’ af, ical -was entered on
April 7, 1965. :'The: petition for a writ-of certiorari
. was filed ‘on’ May 6,'1965. ‘The ‘jurisdiction ‘of this .
Court is invoked aged esis ent Sait ee

QUESTION PRESENTED

Tn;connection. with, certain, criminal antitrust cages,
the government Ale, and, the; district court. ordered

q@)

0

2
sealed, a pre-sentencing memorandum which contained
material protected by grand jury secrecy. The ques-
tion eA is whether the: gourts below properly
telensed the “to! plaintiffs’ in

: treble-damage suits egainst the sanie defendants when

the memorandum had already been disclosed to defense

counsel in the course of sentencing, the criminal cases
had been completed, and the court of appeals deleted,
“ the portions ‘of the memorandum whose disclosure
would reveal the identity of grand jury witnesses. |

cn RULE INVOLVED

he (ey of the Federal Rules of Criminal Pro
cedure rEreraten, 2 in part:

. Seereay of Proceedings and pL Die-

ee ‘dosure of matters occurring before the grand

jury, other than its deliberations and the vote.

of any juror may be made to the attorneys for

the government for use in the performance of

their duties. Otherwise a: juror, attorney, in- ‘

| » terpreter or stenographer may disclose matters

- occurring before the grand jury only when so
directed by the court preliminarily to or in con-.
nection with a‘ judicial proceeding or when
permitted by the court at the request of the

. defendant upon a showing that grounds may

“:. °° exist for a motion to dismiss the indictnient
havea feserege of matters occurring before the grand
eid Y ‘No, obligation of secrecy may be imposed
ata any parson except in aecordanice with this

Tule. * 2 ne

fh

; - Petitioners are corporations and coieyionente’ officers, .
who ‘were convicted of violations of Section 1 of the

3

Sherman Act (15: U.S.C. 1), upoit-their pled of hole
contendere; and individuals who allege that they’ tes-
. tified before the grand jury whieh returned the’ five
indictments resulting in such convictions! (Pet. App.
1). The indictments charged conspiracies to allo-
. cate orders and: to rig bids for products: ‘of the con-"
erete and coated-stee steel-pipe industry (Pet. 4).

‘In connection with sentencing, the government pre~
pared a “‘Memorandum of Government Relating to the —
Imposition of Sentences and Fines,” which was at-

_ tached to the pre-sentencing report of the probation
office (Pet. 5-6). The memorandum, although ‘not a -
grand jury document, contained information pro-
tected by the policy of grand jury secrecy under Rule
_ 6(e) of: the Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure. It
was made available to and read by the attorneys for
the defendants in the criminal _— and was filed
under seal (Pet. App. 2, 7). : : ,
| In the meantime, six treble-damage suits had been

' filed against defendants who were.also defendants in
the. criminal cases, alleging injuries from violations
of the Sherman Act involving aetivities encompassed
within the criminal indictments.. -After conclusion of |
thé criminal cases, the plaintiffs in these treble-dan- —
age suits sought. acces to the government, pre-sentene- |
_ ing memorandum by subpoenas addressed to. govern:
‘ment counsel..." Judge Stephens transferred the-matter
to J udge Harry C. Westover before whom the civil |
- antitrust cases were pending. Judge Westover ruled
that the order sealing the government memorandum
should be vacated arid the subpoeria quashed (R. 186-*
, — and on fee 6, 1964, an order was entered

ee see

an

7 4 ae

| to.that.effest (R,120),:,, The Court of; Appeals for the
‘Ninth Circuit affirmed: the district court. order after
' deleting :parts:.of the memorandum, ‘denying peti-
tioners’ . spplcasen for . wate of: ‘prohibition and
mandamus. |

“While the Ninth: Cinenit, sedated that dinclooune i

of grand jury:material should be permitted only upon
a showing of “particularized and compelling need,”
it also noted that the justification for disclosure must
be assessed. in light of the particular | facts of the case
and their relation to the reasons for grand jury se-
erecy. Since the criminal case was over, the only*
‘particular “‘eompelling reason” for secrecy was to
_ encourage untrammeled testimony of future grand
jury witnesses (Pet. App. 5-7 ), Supporting dis-—
- closure was the fact that. the defendants had, already
‘enjoyed the opportunity to inspect. the memorandum,
and it would be “highly inequitable and adverse to
the principles of federal discovery to allow one party
aecess to. a government Gnemment and not the other”

appeals _ held that the district court . could properly

The proceedings below followed the course ‘used in’ Olympic
Refniny Company vy. Carter, 332 F. 2d 260 (C.A. 9), certiorari
denied, 379 U.S. 900. The private plaintiffs served a. deposi-
subpoena duces tecum on Stanley E. Disney, Chief of the
Angeles Office of the Antitrust Division, and the govern-
Mt On aatce ee teal ie ee
iOS ssc to Cette miemnbeiduls inf 00 goal
“duces ‘tecum (R. 44," Pet: App. 2-8). The’ pri-
joined in the goverhment’s ‘motion! to ‘permit dis+

PEA GEES:
Hip

yee
Fi i

the government memorandum and to quash a

eM. Gk.

_
——< oe ie

" grant, disclosure of, the contents of ‘the. iieeaiaianaine
‘memorandum, ‘so long» as it’ took ‘steps, : by deleting
witnesses’ names or by other means which would, mainy -
tain. their anonymity,:to protect the policy. of, grand
_. jury secrecy. In this matter of first impression,.the
—~~-court, of appeals took the appropriate action itself,
deleting portions of the government memorandum and
returning excised copies to the. district. court for fil-
ing, without seal, after retaining one .copy of the
original document in. its own files Pet App. 9): oa
Disclosure of: excised copies of the government pre- :
sentencing memorandum to treble-damage plaintiffs —
was a proper exercise of judicial discretion on the :
particular. facts of the case where the memorandum
had already been disclosed to the defendants’ counsel. :
- Farther review is not warranted. p
"1. Rule 6(e) of the Federal Rules of Criminal Pro:
_ eedure, which embodies the rule that grand: jury testi-
‘mony is confidential (United States v. Procter &
Gamble Company, 396 U. Ss. 677; Pittsburgh Plate
"Glass Company v. United States, 360 U.S. 395), al-
lows. disclosure “when so directed by. ‘the court pre-
liminarily to or in connection with a judicial a
ing.’’* For “after. the grand ere a are

&
, ended, disclosure is- wholly proper when the ends of

justice require it.”’ United States v. Socony-Vasuum -

Ou Company, 310 U.S. 150, 283-234. But such dis-
closure requires a showing of pArticularized, eompel-

ling need.. United States v. Procter & Gamble Com-
pany, supra; ‘Pittsburgh Plate Glass Company v.

United States, supra. While most cases deal with
disclosures sought by eriminal defendants, the same .

standard must be met when disclosure is sought by pri-
vaté parties seeking to use the material in civil suits

- against the criminal defendants.‘

2. Here private plaintiffs asserted a need based upon
prior disclosure of the same material to the counsel for
ik rninal defendants in the course of the criminal

A number of these defendants are subject to
ne civil suits, arising from the. same conduct
which was the basis for the criminal convictions. As
the court below pointed out, it would be “highly in-
equitable” not to grant private adversaries equal ac- - ;
cess to the government document (Pet. App. 9). We

believe that “‘the ends of justice” (United States v.
‘Socony-Vacuum Oil Company, 310 U. S.: at 234). sup- ©

| * See Pittsburgh Plate Glass Coinpany v. United States, 360
US. at 399; Jn re Grand Jury Proceedings, 309 F. 2d 440, 444

(C.A. 8); Herzog v. United States, 226 F. 2d 561, 566 (C.A. 9).
See also Wigmore, On Evidence, McNaughton Revision, Vol:
VIII, Sec. 2362, p. 737.

* Allis-Ohalmers Mfg. Co. v. City of Fort Pierce, 323 F. 2d

. 988 (C.A. 5); In ve Sellers, 32 F.R.D. 473 (ND. Il.) ; Consoli-.

dated Edison Oo. of New York ». Allis-Ohalmers Mfg. Oo., 217
¥. Supp. 36 (S.D.N.Y.}; Herman Schwabe, Ine. v. United Shoe
eenengit Corp., 194 F. ‘Bupp. 763 (D. Mass). ach SES

<< s
petted: dibolonate to, ii: plndlilia thesis:
eat equal access.to necessary information’. © ..-.)°

Petitioners rely: on. United States: v.: Procter &
Gamble Company, supra, as conttary to tlie view that

‘Hisclosure of grand jury material to one party in.a case

: may warrant disclosure to the other: party,.: In that
ease, the Court rejected the argument that. the govern-
ment’s use of a grand jury-transeript in. the prepara-
tion of aytivil case of itself entitled-the civil defendant
to disclosure. The point is, however, that the initial
disclosure in Prodler & Gamble was to the government ,
pursuant to the first, sentence of Rule. 6(e) which pro-
vides for disclosure, without leave of court, “to. the
attorneys for the dieemaets for use in the perform-
ance of their duties’”’,.an authority which extends to
@ government civil suits\as well as criminal prosecu-
_ tions. United States v. General Electric Company,

209 F. Supp. 197, 199 (E.D, Pa.) In re Petroleum In-

dustry Investigation, 152 F. Supp. 646 (E.D. Ve.).
_ Government counsel’s knowledge of grand jury -pro-

cs ceedings is inherent in the grand jury system and is —

* The claims of the treble-damage plaintiffs could have been
Er ee ees eee
unsealing order. We believe that the general release
“document; was justified, first, tby the a that the |
closure to defense counsel had not been ‘limited by any eondi-
tion, (see Pet. App. 9, fn,1) and, second, by the

number of dimage suits which gre er Danes ais
against the corporate petitioners. In :
below, actioris have been instituted by
local ‘governmental bodies, Bh tepsmeryiient tooth it
ony ta. private, piri a made it reasonable to vacete the seflin

2

8
tl tice sist tr Uh Bioline i th nj But
further diseldeure'to! a ‘private party is ‘considered -
_ dn ‘triitial\ public ‘diseldsure and must mest the ‘fest
" @isdussed by thisCdurt in Procter. &: Gamble: ‘In
this case; however, : seerecy’ had already been breached
by’ ‘the’ initia) disclésure to petitioners” dounsel’ ‘The
farther ‘disdlosire°to the civil plaintiffs of the ,sub-
stance ofthe ‘specific and identified material “which ©
hind ‘beer Uisclowed!'tb ‘the ‘defendants’ was ‘therefore
within the’: ae meet of the: trial: burt
: tudes Rule 6(6): Sta y

»8i This’ result ‘is itisanaty shipparted)' as 1 the court

below noted, by the limited force’ of the policy of
grand jury secreey in ‘the eiroumstancés' of this caie.
‘A number ‘of the’ reasons for ‘secrecy expired with
the ‘close of ‘the criminal cases agaihst’ ‘petitioners.
_ , fhe’ primary ‘remaining réasonsthe encouragement
| of testimony: ‘by: future ‘grand’ ju) witnesses and the —
protection of innocent’ persons mentioned in the grand
jury ‘testimony—have’ peculiarly’ ‘little ‘force: on the
7 facts ‘of ‘this’ case. While it’ is true that future’ wit-
- nesses,..would be, deterred. by;. knowledge ..that. their
restiniony might be disclosed; this ‘policy: is ‘particu-
Tarly éoncernéd ‘with’ ‘disclosure’ to the criminal de-
fendants themselves. \ Pittsburgh. Glass Company v.
amg ee tl “\Sinee the defendants _
in ‘the present case eady én a ‘3
pal charged ala bears Ei for secrecy was -
‘of limited significance: ' Moreover, the Ninth Cireuit:

9 é

alia from the ‘government memorandum. As the

court stated, this gave effect to “the Policy. consid: : AS

erations behind ‘the rule of secrecy of grand jary in-
vestigations,” “while permitting disclosure of the —
document’s substance (Pet. App. 8). Nor is there
merit to petitioners’ contention that the court ignored

’ the rights of. innocent persons who were mentioned in

_the grand jury testimony but exonerated in the investi-
gation. The government memorandum was drafted for _
_ the: purpose(of advising the court on the sentencing *

=a those persons and) corporations which had been i

dicted. and convicted. .There is no reason whatever Pla
believe that persons exonerated are identified in the
document, especially after the — iiade by the
se court of —— :
$ CONCLUSION .

For the foregoing reasons, the petition fora writ of
certiorari should be denied. :

Respectfillly submitted. _
AROHIBALD Cox.
- Solicitor General.

Wim H. Orrick, Jr,
Assistant Attorney General.

LIONEL KESTENBAUM,
Exuiorr Moyer, . :

| oe . Attorneys. .
. JUNE 1965. Raideees

0 8. coveaument pariae Opmes 1988

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385602_0624%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
