# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Shahadi v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385602_0503%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1965
- **Citation:** 381 U.S. 903

## Text

=
Cttice-Supreme Court, U.S.

oy FILED

* MAR 15. 1965

JOHN F. DAVIS, CLERK

IN THE :

Supreme Court of the United States
Cctober Term, 1964.

No. 989

ALBERT N. SHAHADI: JOSEPHINE SHAHADI: GUAR-
ANTEE BANK AND TRUST COMPANY OF ATLAN-
TIC CITY, NEW JERSEY: COUNTY OF ATLANTIC,
NEW JERSEY and FRANK S. FARLEY. Treasurer
of the County of Atlantic.

ALBERT N. SHAHADI,

Petitioner,
vs.
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR ALLOWANCE OF WRIT OF CERTIO-
RARI TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF AP-
PEALS FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT AND APPENDIX.

GeEorGE P. WALKER,
427 Cooper Street,
Camden 2, New Jersey,
Rosert M. Tay or,
2215 Land Title Building,
Philadelphia 2, Pa.,
Attorneys for Petitioner.

Huntzinger Printing Corp., Appellate Printers, Camden, N. J. woe

TABLE OF CONTENTS OF PETITION

PAGE
SE CE a ha) peace cawe nck wen ve tiene rers 1
I ea Geen are dA aah eee Rees Oa) 2
Question Presented for Review .................... : 2
Statement of the Case ............. aig ede eee sane 2
Reasons for Allowance of the Writ .................. 4
Avge ......... ee tee te ek ee PE 6
IED)... 5 iy ean be One e Heer aeea sc eee ene 2e

TABLE OF CITATIONS
CASES:

Bartmer Automatic Self Service Laundry, Inc. v.

a eo Sy re 22
Bowers v. .:ew York and A. Lighterage Co., 71 U. S.

Supreme Court Reports, page 676 ............ 25
Emery v. Commissioner, 166 F. 2d 27,1 A. L.R. 2d 409 23
Holy Trinity Church v. U. S., 143 U. S. 457 ....... 23
Iacone, Estate of v. Commissioner, decided April 13,

Sg Re ee err er ree 22
Markham v. Cabell, 326 U. S. 404 ................ 23

Mutual Lumber Co. v. Poe, 66 F. 2d 904 ........... 22

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE
Old Colony R. R. Co. v. Com., 284 U.S. 552 ......... 25
Peter Pan Fabrics, Inc. v. Martin Weiner Corp., 2
BR ae 22
United States v. American Trucking Association, 310
ON NE Oe lla Pee Ae 25
United States v. Barber, 24 F. Supp. 229 ........... 21
United States v. Covel, decided April 4, 1961 ....... 22
United States v. O’Connor, 291 F. 2d 520 .......... 5

United States v. Shepard’s Estate, 196 F. Supp. 281 .. 22

Untrep STATES JUDICIARY CODE:
le Te Me cs NE UE io odd kw cdccccudanoans 2

INTERNAL REVENUE Cope or 1939:

et eens 2, 21
es Ce eh pve kaa aa atin 6s 8, 12
I oa ie cc dnau ctiaweyy cds ane 12, 23
AAS A ap oe ae pe re 2,7, 11,21
a te et es 21
ie. : ice Uln ue lees bh eceae eo haw ee ee 2
EE RS BR GI mance ER eae ee Oy my ina 2, 13
EES are, Se USN ME Mar See Sv 6
Section 277 .......... 2, 6, 10, 12, 13, 14, 15, 21, 22, 23, 24
DER bl d,s caaNnas aes dui uiuctuaseuiaes 14

AEN a oa es alo ep ge Es Oe 11

TABLE OF CONTENTS

AUTHORITIES: PAGE

Congress House Report No. 2, 70th Cong., Ist Sess.,
23-24 (1939-1 Cum. Bull. (Part 2) 384, 539-400) 24

Mertens Law of Income Taxaticn (Vol. 10, Par.
Ss SS bic onaekeakesacnolscvatdas 15, 19, 21

TABLE CF CONTENTS OF APPENDIX

PETITION FOR ALLOWANCE OF WRIT OF CERTIO-
RARI TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF AP-
PEALS FOR THE THIRD CINCUIT.

TO THE HONORABLE, THE CHIEF JUSTICE AND AS-
SOCIATE JUSTICES OF THE SUPREME COURT OF
THE UNITED STATES:

The petitioner, Albert N. Shahadi, prays your Honorable
Court for allowance of a writ of certiorari to review the
order and judgment of the United States Court of Appeals
for the Third Circuit entered January 8, 1965 affirming the
judgments of March 6, 1964 and March 10, 1964 of the
United States District Court for the District of New Jerse,
and in support thereof, submits the following data and
argument:

OPINION BELOW.

The opinion of the Court of Appeals for the Thira Cir-
cuit filed January 8, 1965 is not as yet reported. A copy
of same is contained in the appendix hereof at page 2a.

Copies of the District Court’s opinion of March 6, 1964
and March 10, 1964 respectively are contained on pages
7a-9a in the petiticner’s appendix.

JURISDICTION.

The statvtory provision conferring jurisdiction on this
honor2ble Supreme Court of the United States to review
said judgment and decision by writ of certiorari is that
invoked under Section 1254 of the United States Judiciary
Code, 28 U. S.C. A., Section 1254.

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW.

I. Did the lower appellate court misinterpret, miscon-
strue or misapply the proper interpretations to be given
Sections 272(a), 273, 275. 276 and 277 as found in the
Internal Revenue Code of 1939?

STATEMENT OF THE, CASE.

On January 7, 1954, pursuant to the Internal Revenue
Code of 1939, Section 273, jeopardy assessments were made
by the Commissioner of Internal Revenue against the
petitioner, Albert N. Shahadi, for income taxes for the
years 1944 through 1949, inclusive. Petitioner filed no
bond to stay collection on said jeopardy assessments at any
time. On February 11, 1954. the Commissioner maiied
statutory notices (a breakdown of the jeopardy as-«ss-
ments). Within the time allotted by statute, the petitioner
filed petitions for redeterminations on said jeopardy assess-
ments with the .ax Court (May 10, 1954). The Commis-
sioner during all this time proceeded to collect by distraints
and levies on said jeopardy assessments and, as a result of
same, did collect a substantial amount of said assessments.

3

In addition, he liened and levied (but did not sell) stocks
owned by the petitioner, which were «her and are now held
by a bank as collateral for a loan which it had made to
petitioner some time ago. At the time the Commissioner
liened and levied on said stocks, there was a substantial
equity in the stocks above the loan which the -bank had
made to the petitioner. Neither the Commissioner nor his
agents have been able to give any explanation as to why
the Commissione: 0: his agents failed to proceed and sell
said stocks and apply the proceeds thereof to the jeopardy
assessments as was being done regarding all other assets
of the petitioner, including his salary as a County Solicitor
of Atlantic County, New Jersey.

The Commissioner, as a result of his constant and con-
tinued levies and distraints, did collect approximately $60,-
000.00. However, because of the fact that he failed to sell -
the stocks upon which he had already made a levy, there
has been inflicted upon the petitioner an additional $42,-
000.0. in interest. Had the Commissioner sold the stocks
under the levy, there would przctically be no tax due, if
any, a nominal amount.

On June 2, 1961, the Commissioner filed, his complaint
in the instant case and asked for a money judgment on the
balances of said jeopardy assessments. In his complaint,
he failed to set up any exception or reason for the suit hav-
ing been brought more than six years after the date of
the jeopardy assessments, and no amendment to his com-
plaint was made at any time either during the arguments
or the trial below.

A motion for summary judgment was made by the plain-
tiff and a cross-motion for summary judgment was made by
the petitioner, together with an oral motion to dismiss the
action of the plaintiff because of its failure to plead an ex-
ceptior to the running of the statute of limitations. Judg-
ment was entered for the plaintiff.

During the course of the oral argument before the lower
appellate court, counsel for the Commissioner was con-

4

stantly asked whether he could give any reason as to why
the petitioner’s stocks had not been sold. He could not
give any reason. Although the lower appellate court kept
constantly questioning this tremendous increase of interest
and the fact that same was caused by the Commissioner
sitting or his hands as it were, the Commissioner through
his counsel could give no reason for its omission in not
proceeding to an immediate sale of said petitioner’s stocks.

REASONS FOR ALLOWANCE OF THE WHIT.

We believe the question involved herein is one of great
importance and will have importance far beyond the par-
ticular facts and parties involved herein, and it is therefore
vital that the question should be decided finally by this
honorable Supreme Court. The statute of limitations as
applied to the 1939 Revenue Code and the 1954 Code has
had conflicting interpretations applied by the various cir-
cuit courts. In most of the instances, the circuit courts
have adopted a position of treating the sovereign as one
distinct and separate from the average citizen appearing
in those courts. This we say runs contrary to the general
principles as established in law and equity. There has
as yet, in our opinion, not been set forth, a decent and legal
logical yardstick for measuring the proper application of
the statute of limitations and jeopardy assessments in taxing
matters. There should not be a sovereign distinction as in
our opinion is clearly demonstrated by the various decisions
forthcoming from the circuit courts and as is clearly demon-
strated in the instant case. We feel that this case should
once and for all decide that the Commissioner of Internal
Revenue with respect to a taxpayer is no different than the

creditor and debtor and the general principles of law and
equity that apply to creditor and debtor situations should

5

be adhered to regardless of who the creditor or debtor is.
We further feel that when the Courts are called upon to
interpret a fair meaning of a statute, they are bound to
take into deep consideration any resultant injustice which
might occur as a result of said interpretation and said
Courts should not rule as in this case, that regardless of the
injustice done to a party, they must take a position of pure
protection of the sovereign’s revenue.

The instant case reflects an admission by the lower ap-
pellate court that an injustice was done by an omission on
the part of the creditor in increasing to a tremendous
amount an interest accumulation, but they take the position
that they are without judicial power to rectify this situa-
tion because they might, as they say, have to declare a cer-
tain portion of the statute a nullity. This runs counter to
the general rules of interpretation and is brought about
only because the so called creditor happens to be the
sovereign. We feel that under all these circumstances a
clear and definitive measuring rod should be set up by this
honorable Court for conditions such as these, to take effect
in preventing injustices, which no court hesitates to do in
ordinary circumstances involving creditors and debtors. We
also set forth the fact that this certiorari should be allowed
because there is a conflict existing between the third cir-
cuit and the second circuit in that the second circuit in
the case of United States v. O'Connor, 291 F. 2d 520, did hold
in its findings of fact, in a case similar on all points and
facts to the one at hand, that the statute of limitations ap-
plies to a jeopardy assessment even though there was pend-
ing a petition in the Tax Court requesting a redetermina-
tion and said petition for redetermination did suspend the
running of the statute as in other cases. We quote from
the above case as foliows:

“On September 12, 1951, the Commissioner made
jeopardy assessments against Raymond O’Connor and
his wife Bertha for deficiencies in income taxes under
273(a), Int. Rev. Code of 1939. Thereafter taxpayers

6

filed a petition in the Tax Court requesting a redeter-
mination. No bond to stay collection of the tax was
filed. The Commissioner answered and taxpayers re-
plied.

“On August 23, 1957, just before the six-year statute
of limitations would have run on the O’Connor assess-
ments, the Government brought this action under 7403.”
(Emphasis added.)

We submit that the above cit»1 case in which Judge
Friendly made the quoted finding of fact was not probably
on a point argued, but none the less, all of the judges did
agree as to the finding of fact as quoted and it did appear
that it was clear to them that the jeoparcy assessment under
those circumstances ran out after six years.

ARGUMENT.

It is apparent that the most important and probably the
sole issue of argument in this case is the interpretation that
is to be given to section 277 of the 1939 Code and its applica-
bility to the present facts.

Petitioner herein submits pertinent excerpts of the
statutes involved from which argument will be made con-
cerning the history of Section 277 of the 1939 Code.

Section 276, Subparagraph (c) of the Internal Revenue
Code of 1939 provides as follows:

“(c) Collection after assessment.

Where the assessment of any income tax imposed by
this chapter has been made within the perio’ of limita-
tion properly applicable thereto, such tax may be col-
lected by distraint or by a proceeding in Court, but
only if begun (1) within six years after the assessment
of the tax, or (2) prior to the expiration of any period
for collection agreed upon in writing by the Commis-

7

sioner and the taxpayer before the expiration of such
six year period. The period so agreed upon may be
extended by subsequent agreements in wriiing made
before the expiration of the period previously agreed
upon.”

Section 273 of the Internal Revenue Code of 1939 pro-
vides as follows:

“Jeopardy Assessments.

(a) Authority for making. If the Commissioner be-
lieves that the assessment or collection of a deficiency
will be jeopardized by delay, he shall immediately
assess such deficiency (together with all interest, addi-
tional amounts, or additions to the tax provided for by
law) and notice and demand shall be made by the
collector for the payment thereof.

(b) Deficiency letters. If the jeopardy assessment
is made before any notice in respect of the tax to which
the jeopardy assessment relates has been mailed under
Section 272(a), then the Commissigner shall mail a
notice under such subsection within sixty days after
the making of the assessment.

(f) Bond to Stay Collection.

When a jeopardy assessment has been made the tax-
payer, within 10 days after notice and demand from
the collector for the payment of the amount of the
assessment may obtain a stay of collection of the whole
or any part of the amount of the assessment by filing
with the collector a bond in such amount, not exceeding
double the amount as to which the stay is desired, and
with such sureties, as the collector deems necessary,
conditioned upon the payment of so much of the
amount, the collection of which is stayed by the bond.
as is not abated by a decision of the Board which has
become final, together with interest thereon as pro-

J

8

vided in Section 297. If any portion of the jeopardy
assessment is abated-by the Commissioner before the
decision of th« Board is rendered, the bond shall, at
the request of the taxpayer, be proportionately reduced.

(g) Same further conditions.

if the bond is given before the taxpayer has filed his
petition with the Board under Section 272 (a), the bond
shall contain a further condition that if a petition is
net filed within the period provided in such subsec-
tion, then the amount, the collection of which is stayed
by the bond will be paid on notice and demand at any
time sfter the expiration of such period, together with
the interest thereon at the rate of 6 per centum per
annum from the date of the jeopardy notice and demand
to the date of notice and demand under this subsection.

(h) Waiver of stay.

Upon the filing of the bond the collection of so much
of the amount assessed as is covered by the bond shall
be stayed. The taxpayer shall have the right to waive
such stay at any time in respect of the whole or any
part of the amount covered by the bond, and if as a
result of such waiver any part of the amount covered
by the bond is paid, then the bond shall, at the request
of the taxpayer, be proportionately reduced. If the
Board dciermines that the amount assessed is greater
than the amount which should have been assessed, then
when the decision of the Board is rendered the bond
shall, at the request of the taxpayer, be proportionately
reduced.”

Section 272 of the Internal Revenue Code of 1939 pro-
vides as follows:

“(a) (1) Petition to Board of Tax Appeals.

If in the case of any taxpayer, the Commissioner
determines that there is a deficiency in respect to the
tax imposed by this chapter, the Commissioner is au-

9

thorized to send notice of such deficiency to the tax-
payer by registered mail. Within ninety days after
such notice is mailed (not counting Sunday or a legal
holiday in the District of Columbia as the ninetieth
day) the taxpayer may file a petition with the Board
of Tax Appeals for a redetermination of the deficiency.
No assessment of a deficiency in respect of the tax im-
posed by this chapter and no distraint or proceeding in
court for its collection shall be made, begun or prose-
cuted until such notice has been mailed to the taxpayer,
nor until the expiration of such ninety day period, nor,
if a petition has been filed with the Board, until the
decision of the Board has become final. Notwithstand-
ing the provisions of Section 3653(a) the making of
such assessment or the beginning of such proceeding
or distraint during the time such prohibition is in force
may be enjoined by a proceeding in a proper court...”

(2) Cross References.

Fer exceptions to the restrictions imposed by this
subsection, see subsection (d) of this section, relating
to waivers by the taxpayer; subsection (f ) of this
section relating to notifications of mathematical errors
appearing on the face of the return; Section 273, relat-
ing to jeopardy assessments; Section 274, relating to
nXankruptey and receiverships; and Section 1145, re-
jJating to assessment or collection of the amount of the
deficiency determined by the Board pending Court
review.

‘“(c) Failure to file petition.

If the taxpayer does not file a petition with the Board
within the time prescribed in subsection (a) cf this
section, the deficiency, notice of which has been mailed
to the taxpayer, shall be assessed, and shall be paid
upon notice and demand from the collector.

“(d) Waiver of Restrictions.
The taxpayer shall at any time have the right, by a

1¢

signed notice in writing filed with the Commissioner,
waive the restrictions provided in subsection (a) of
this section on the assessment and collection of the
whole or any part of the deficiency.

“(f) Further deficiency letters restricted.

If the Commissioner has mailed to the taxpayer
notice of a deficiency as provided in subsection (a) of
this section, and the taxpayer files a petition with the
Board within the time prescribed in such subsection,
the Commissioner shall have no right to determine any
additional deficiency in respect of the same taxable
year, except in the case of fraud, and except as pro-
vided in subsection (e) of this section, relating to as-
sertion of greater deficiencies, before the Board, or in
Section 273(c), relating to the making of jeopardy
assessments. If the taxpayer is notified that, on account
of mathematical error, such notice shall not be con-
sidered (for the purposes of this subsection, or of sub-
section (a) of this secticn, prohibiting assessment and
collection until notice of deficiency has been mailed, or
of section 322(c) prohibiting credits or refunds after
petition to the Board of Tax Appeals) as a notice of a
deficiency, and the taxpayer shall have no right to file
a petition with the Board based on such notice, nor
shall such assessment or collection be prohibited by the
provisions of subsection (a) of this section.”

Section 277 of the Internal Revenue Code of 1939 pro-
vides as follows:

“Suspensio., of running of statute.

The running of the statute of limitations provided in
Section 275 or 276 on the making of assessments and
the beginning of distraint or a proceeding in court for
collection, in respect of any deficiency, shall (after the
mailing of a notice under Section 272(a) ) be suspended
for the period during which the Commissioner is pro-

11

hibited from making the assessment or beginning dis-
traint or a proceeding ir court (and in any event, if a
proceeding in respect of the deficiency is placed on the
docket of the Board until the decision of the Board
becomes final), and for sixty days thereafter.”

Section 1145 of the Internal Revenue Code of 1939 pro-
vides as follows:

“Bond to Stay Assessment and Collection.

Notwithstanding any provision of law imposing re-
strictions on the assessment and collection of deficien-
cies, the review under Section 1142 shall not operate
as a stay of assessment or collection of any portion of
the amount of the deficiency determined by the Tax
Court unless a petition for review in respect of such
portion is duly filed by the taxpayer, and then only if
the taxpayer (1) on or before the time his petition for
review is filed has filed with the Tax Court a bond in a
sum fixed by the Tax Court not exceeding double the
amount of the portion of the deficieney in respect of
which the petition for review is filed, and with surety
approved by the Tax Court, conditioned upon the pay-
ment of the deficiency as finally determined, together
with any interest, additional amounts, or additicys to
the tax provided by law, or (2) has filed a jeopardy
bond under the income or estates tax laws. If as a re-
sult of a waiver of the restrictions on the assessment
and collection of a deficiency any part of the arnount
determined by the Tax Court is paid after the tiling
of the review bond, such bond shall, at the request of
the taxpaver, be proportionately reduced.”

The petitioner herein contends that jeopardy assessments
were made by the Commissioner for all the years involved,
and said Commissioner did send notices of same to the pe-
titioner informing him that he made said assessments under
authority of Section 273 of the 1939 Code. Section 273 of

12

the 1939 Code is an exception to the making of an assess-
ment as stated under Section 272(a). The exception is
clezcly spelled out in Section 272(a)(2). This is a most
important provision as it appears in the aforementioned
Section 272(a) (2) because it clearly excepts any and all
jeopardy assessments from the provisions of the making
of an assessment on a deficiency, as is more fully stated in
Section 272(a). It is then clear that Congress, by the very
wording of the exception, never interded a jeopardy assess-
ment to be included in the suspension as stated in Section
277. Without a doubt, under the sections of the Code as
above discussed, the Commissioner was not prohibited from
collecting on the jeopardy assessments even though the case
concerning said assessment was docketed with the Tax
Court. in fact, the Commissioner, under his jeopardy as-
sessments, could not be restrained, prohibited, or prevented
in any manner from collecting on the assessment or from
bringing an action in the proper district court for judgment
on same; this, despite the fact that the matter was already
in the Tax Court. The only time, as set forth in the Code,
that the Commissioner can be prevented from proceeding
on the jeopardy assessment is when the taxpayer puts up
a bond in double amount of the assessment. his specific
purpose being to stay collection. In such a cass, it is in-
teresting to note that the Commissioner has a double ad-
vantage; first, he has actual cash in the form of the bond;
second, he would have a contract for payment and a new
period for collection on the contract which would run from
the day of default.

Despite the allegations and arguments of the petitioner as
above, the lower court took the position as set forth by the
respondent, namely that Section 277 applies, more specifi-
cally, the parenthetical portion of Section 277 [and in any
event * * * ] and makes no distinction between a jeopardy
assessment and a deficiency notice as such.

It is the petitioner’s contention that there is no reported
decision which can be termed as authority upon the prob-

13

lem involved herein. All the cases as cited by the respond-
ent in his brief below, in the opinion of the petitioner, were
not dispositive of the present question. Said cases were
differen. in facts in that they concerned waivers, assess-
ments and not collections, and the particular problem
herein was not advanced so that serious consideration could
be given same and in many instances, it was not touched
upon at all. In the two or three cases which apparently
dealt with the question on hand, the lower court (Tax
Court) merely leaned over backwards and gave an “Alice
in Wonderiand” approach to the interpretation of the words
[in any event * * * ]. Petitioner will discuss the cases in
detail later on.

Section 277, without a doubt, creates an exception to
the running of the statute of limitations as set forth in Sec
tion 276. It suspends the runniig of the statute of limita-
tions during the time the Commissioner’s hands are tied or
prohibited from collecting.

The parenthetical portion upon which the respondent
rests his case treats solely with the docketjng of a case in the
Tax Court. It was put there for one purpose only—to pro-
tect the Commissioner as to the running out of his time for
the making of an assessment (not collection). The legisla-
tive history, which will be discussed later on, clearly shows
the purpose as outlined herein. Assuming arguendo at this
~ int that this is so, it would be correct then to say that the
Commissioner would have no stake in this part of the sec-
tion when his problem is one of collecting, not of assessing.
In this instant case, the appellant has never challenged the
assessment. His contention is that the period for collecting
has run out. To read the parenthetical portion otherwise
would produce a ludicrous result, for anyone versed in tax
laws knows that you can only get to the Tax Court for re-
determinaticn if there is no assessment and the redeter-
mination is only on a deficiency which is a propcsed assess-
ment. The only exception to this proviso insofar as the Tax
Court is concerned is a jeopardy assessment which is made,

14

as in this case, prior to there ever having been « deficiency
created. How could the Commissioner be ever concerned
with the running out of time on a jeopardy assessment? He
can always proceed for collection on the jeopardy regard-
less of the Tax Court and in fact, he can always start suit
to reduce to judgment the jeopardy assessment. The only
manner in which the taxpayer can stay or tie his hands
would be, as said before, to put up a bond in double the
amount.

Further, it is quite evident that the Commissioner as to
a jeopardy assessment, even though review of same is being
had in the Tax Court, can start proceedings to reduce said
jeopardy assessment to a judgment in the proper district
court or he can dijstrain for collection. It is interesting to
note further that even if a district court were to issue an
injunction against the Commissioner from proceeding on a
jeopardy assessment, he can still proceed to file a complaint
to reduce same to a judgmer“ if he feels that the statute is
about to run out. We respectfully submit that all of the
above would clearly show that the Commissioner could
have no stake in the parenthetica! section of 277(b) with
respect to collection. His only stake in same is a protection
for assessing. A legal interpretation of this parenthetical
section must clearly show that, in effect, this parenthetical
section with respect to the Tax Court actually extends the
statute of limitations by adding sixty days; and with rela-
tion to suspension of the statute, one would have to go back
outside of the parenthetical section to the regular wording
of Section 277, namely, when the Commissioner is pro-
hibited from proceeding, etc., etc. (hands tied).

The respondent would have you understand that [in any
event * * * | means not only a deficiency that is docketei
but also a jeopardy assessment—this, despite the fact that
the reason for the insertion in the s2ction was made clear
by the legislative history covering same. As was said
above, Congress could not mean what the respondent con-
tends because the language used does nothing for the Com-

15

missioner that he cannot already do and has done. In view
of the above, the petitioner contends that the entire Section
277 must be ruled in favor of the taxpayer.

To completely understand the meaning of Section 277
of the Internal Revenue Code of 1939, and varticularly to its
wording (and in any event, if a proceeding in respect of the
deficiency is placed on the docket of the Board, until the de-
cision of the Board becomes final), and for sixty days there-
after, it is necessary to trace the legislative history of the
addition of this provision in Section 277.

Mertens Law of Income Taxation (Vol. 10, 2ar. 57.73),
Ist Ed., gives the following background of this section, to
wit:

“The Internal Revenue Code, the 1938, 1936, 1934,
1932 and 1928 Acts provide, ‘the running of the statute
of limitations provided in Section 275 or 276 on the
making of assessments and the begii.: ing of distraint
or a proceeding in Court for collection, in respect of
any deficiency, shall (after the notice of a mailing of
a notice under section 272 (a)) be suspended for the
period during which the Commissioner is prohibited
from making the assessment or beginning distraint or
a proceeding in Court (and in any event, if a proceed-
ing in respect of the deficiency is placed on the docket
of the Board, until the decision of the Board becomes
final), and for sixty days thereafter.”

There are three periods of suspension provided for in
the 1928, 1932 and 1934 Acts for income taxes for 1928 and
subsequent years: (a) during the period of prohibition
and in any event (b) until the decision of the Board be-
comes final, where an appeal is filed, and (c) in either case
(a) or (b) for 60 days after the end of the suspension period
so provided. Where no appeal is filed the period is there-
fore extended 120 days under the 1932, 1928 Acts and 150
days under the Internal Revenue Code, the 1938, 1936 and
1934 Acts from the date of inailirs the deficiency notice.

16

The 1928 Act amended the 1926 Act, making it read the
same as the 1928 Act, except for paragraph references.
This amendment affected only cases in which the period of
limitations had not expired prior to the enactment of the
1928 Act.

The 1926 Act, as originally enacted, provided:

“(b) The running of the statute of limitations pro-
vided in this section or in section 278 on the making of
assessments and the beginning of distraint or a pro-
ceeding in Court for collection, in respect of any de-
ficiency, shall (after the mailing of a notice under sub-
division (a) of section 274) be suspended for the period
during which the Commissioner is prohibited from
making the assessment or beginning distraint or a pro-
ceeding in Court, and for 60 days thereafter.”

Provision was also made in the 1926 Act for adding to
tae period of suspension in the case of taxes imposed by
prior acts, the time during which the Commissioner was
prohibited from making the assessment or beginning dis-
traint or proceeding in Court prior to the enactment of the
1926 Act. It was provided:

“In the case of any income, war-profits, or excess
profits tax imposed by prior Act of Congress, in com-
puting the period of ‘limitations provided in section 277
or 278 of this Act on the making of assessments and
the beginning of distraint or a proceeding in Court, the
running of the statute of limitations shall be consid-
ered to have been suspended (in addition to the period
cf suspension provided for in subdivision (b) of sec-
tion 277) for any per:od prior to the enactment of this
Act during which the Commissioner was prohibited
from making the assessment or beginning distraint
cr proceeding in Court.”

The 1924 Act provided:

17

“The period within which an assessment is required
to pe made by subdivisior (a) of this section in re-
spect of any deficiency shall be extended (i) by 60
days if a notice of such deficiency has been mailed to
the taxpayer under subdivision (a) of section 274 and
no appeal has been filed with the Board of Tax Appeal,
or (2) if an appeal has been filed, then by the number
of days between the date of the mailing of sich notice
and the date cf the final decision by the Board.”

Acts prior to the 1924 Act contained no provision ex-
tending or suspending the statute oi limitations other than
those with respect to waivers or consents.

The sections above quoted indicate a legislative attempt
to correct in later Acts defects in the earlier legislation.

It will be noted that the 1924 Act provided simply, when
a deficiency notice was sent and no appea! was filed for an
extensior. of 69 days from the date when the assessment
against the taxpayer would have been required if no de-
ficiency notice had been mailed, or if an appeal were filed,
an extension equal to the number of days between the date
of the mailing of the 60 day notice and the date of the final
decision by the Board. These provisions of the 1924 Act
were subject to several objections. The Commissioner was
required, if an appeal were filed, to assess the tax before
the expiration of time after the final decision of the Board
equal to the period of time between the sending of the 60-
day letter and the expiration of the normal statutory period
of limitations. Another objection was that an extension of
time in eacess of 60 days was provided for only in the event
that “an appeal has been filed.” “In the case of an invalid
or ineffectua’ appeal the extension provided for was non-
operative because there was no appeal.” Frequently the
invalidity of the appeal was not discovered until after the
normal period of limitations had run.

The 1926 Act partly remedied these defects. It provided
for the “suspension of tne statute”, as distinguished from

18

the “extension of the statute”, for the period during which
the Commissioner is prohibited from making the assess-
ment or beginning distraint or a proceeding in Court and for
60 days thereafter. This provision gave the Commissioner
two extensions—one equal to the period in which he was
“prohibited” from acting and a further extension at the
end of such extended period of an additional 60 days. This
covered one of the defects in the 1924 Act noted above.

The suspension of the statutory period when an appeal
was taken to the Board was still a matter of doubt, since
the Commissioner was by other sections of the Act pro-
hibited from assessing “if a petition has been filed with
the Board.” It was extremely doubtful whether the statute
was suspended in the event an improper or ineffective peti-
tion were filed.

The important change made by the 1928 Act was the
provision (contained in the parentheses) that the statute
should be suspended “in any event, if a proceeding in re-
spect to the deficiency is placed on the docket of the Board,
until the decision of the Board becomes final.” These pro-
visions were designed to avoid a technical defect of collec-
tion by a dismissal of the petition after the expiration of the
ordinary statutory period.

As previously indicated, this provision was applied retro-
actively to the 1926 Act, where the period of limitation
hed not expired prior to the enactment of the 1928 Act.
Of course, in computing the limitation period where there
was no effective appeal or petition, no time is added fcr
the period during which the “appeal” was docketed with
the Board, except, however, that where the limitation
period has not expired (disregarding any such extension)
at the time of the 1928 Act, the statute will be suspended
for the entire period, both before and after the enactment
of the 1928 Act, during which the appeal was docketed.

The result of these changes in the 1928 Act is that the
Commissioner is not forced at his own risk to determine
the validity of petitions and appeals. The “appeal” must,

19

however, have been made by the taxpayer. The statute is
not extended by an “appeal” filed by a non-interested party
or an interloper.

Mertens further states, page 242, fo ote 87:

“The basis for such dismissal might be that the peti-
tion was not filed within the 60-day period, or because
the paper filed was not sufficient to constitute a peti-
tion, or because the required bond was not filed with
the petition for review, or because a waiver filed by the
taxpayer was found to be invalid. In Ways and Means
Committee Report No. 2, 70th Cong., Ist Sess. p. 23, it
is said in explanation of this provision: ‘Under existing
law and under the provisions of the bill, the running of
the limitation period on assessments is suspended while
an appeal is pending before the Board, subsequently
the Board may dismiss the appeal on the ground that
the petition was not filed within the 60-day period, or
for example, because the paper filed within the period
was not sufficient to constitute a petition. The deci-
sion dismissing the appeal may not be made until
months after the proceeding * was begun and there is
some question whether in such cases the statute of limi-
tations on assessment is actually suspended during the
pendency of the proceeding. It is specifically provided
in s2ction 277 that the limitation period shall be sus-
pended, if any proceeding is placed on the docket of the
Board, until the decision of the Board in respect thereof
becomes finai and for 60 days thereafter.

“This provision also takes care of any uncertainty as
to the suspersion of the statute where, after the decision
of the Board, a petition for review is filed without the
required bond. It also provides for the situation where
a taxpayer files a waiver of the restrictions on the
Commissioner as to assessment or collection where the
legal sufficiency of the waiver may not be determined
for a considerable period of time after it is filed.

“It seems obvious that the enforcement of a decision

20

of the Board which has become final shoulda not be
thwarted, and that the decisior: of the above matters
should not be forced into injunction proceedings. Ac-
cordingly, in all the foregoing cases the limitation on
assessment is definitely suspended by section 277 until
the decision of the Board has become final and for 60
days thereafter.

“There is a similar provision ir Section 311(d) with
respect to the period of limitation on assessment of the
liability of a transferee or fiduciary.

“It was suggested to the Committee that language
be inserted to show that the running of the statute
should be suspended not only when the Commissioner
is under the prohibition of Section 272(a) but also
when he is restricted by order of Court from making
assessment or collection, The Committee feels the
language of the present statute is perfectly definite on
this point aad no clarificatior: iz necessary. The state-
ment of the conferees in connection with amendment
No. 83 to the Revenue Act of 1926 was specific on the
point and clearly indicated that the intention was to
suspend the running of the statute for the period dur-
ing which, for any reason at all, the Commissioner’s
hands were tied. See to the same effect Finance Com-
mittee Report No. 960, 70th Cong., Ist Sess., p. 31.”
(Emphasis supplied.)

A studied reading of the Congressional background and
reasoning fer the additional wording in the section can only
jead to one conclusion and that is, the phrase (and in any
event, if a proceeding in respect to the deficiency is placed
on the docket of the Board until the decision of the Board
becomes final) refers only to procedural operation and coes
not have the broad meaning that the statute of limitations
is suspended whether the Commissioner’s hands are or are
not tied as to collection where a jeopardy assessment is
involved and no bong to stay collection has been filed.

21

That it referred only to cases where the Commissioner was
prohibited from assessing and not to cases where there were
jeopardy assessments involved.

As Section 277 refers to 272(a) it is well to study and
dissect that section. As shown in the 1939 Internal Rev-
enue Code this section 272(a) is divided into parts (1) and
(2), and purt (2) refers to cross references which indicates
that there are five exceptions to the restrictions imposed
by this subsection which exception, No. 3, includes section
273, relating to jeopardy assessments. It is interesting to
note that these exceptions referred in section 272(a) (2)
are the same exceptions contained in section 274(a) of the

Revenue Act of 1926, and subsequent acts.

Referring again to Mertens Law of Federal Income Tax-
ation, Vol. 10, Ist Edition, page 91—, it states, “The re-
strictions imposed by the Code upon the assessment and
collection of the tax by the Commissioner do not apply to
‘jeopardy assessments’.” A jeopardy assessment is a means
whereby the Commissioner may assure the collection of the
tax in cases which he believes that the use of the usual
methods of assessment and collection, with their consequent
delay, may result in the failure of ultimate collection. Sec-
tion 273 therefore gives the Commissioner the immediate
right to assess and collect without hindrance.

Mertens further states on pages 92 and 93, “If a jeopardy
assessment is made before a notice of deficiency (..e., 90-
day letter) has been sent in respect to the tax to which the
jeopardy assessment relates, the Commissioner is required
to mail a notice of deficiency within sixty days after the
making of the assessment.” This notice is in every respect
like an ordinary notice of deficiency and the taxpayer may
appeal to the Board within 90 days after it is mailed, for a
redetermination of the tax. If the Commissioner fails to
send the notice by registered mail within the 60-day period,
the assessment is nullified and the tax cannot be collected.

In the case of United States v. Barber, 24 F. Supp. 229,
the Government reiterates all of the above history as it

22

pertains to Section 277. See footnotes therein. Plaintiff
below has cited cases which apparently, at first blush, are
dispositive of the prob.ems at hand, such as Bartmer Auto-
matic Self Service Laundry, Inc. v. Commissioner, 35 T. C.
317; Iacone, Estate of v. Commissioner, decided April 13,
1961 (Tax Court); Mutual Lumber Co. v. Poe, 66 F. 2d
904; United States v. Covel, decided April 4, 1961; United
States v. Shepard’s Estate, 196 F. Sup. 281.

As to the Bartmer case, it is not dispositive either as to
the facts or the law. There is no discussion or reasoning
of the exception re a jeopardy assessment. The Honorable
Judge therein takes for granted the meaning of the words
of Section 277 and does not read same in connection with
the entire section. The case concerns a transferee liability
and the exception, as the petitioner discusses in this matter,
was never even raised by the parties therein. As to the
Tacone case, here again the learned Tax Court Judge made
an “Alice in Wonderland” approach and declared the words
[in any event * * *] taken by themselves as being clear
and meaning just what she wanted them to mean without
even a discussion respecting the exception of a jeopardy
assessment. It would appear that in all of the other cases,
the learned judges completely overlooked proper statutory
interpretation and the significant Congressional intent in-
volved. In each case, it is apparent that the words [in any
event * * *] were given judicial blessing without a thought
to the exception in the jeopardy assessment.

In above cited cases, each of the Judges gave a literal
interpretation to the words “in any event” and declared
same to be clear despite any comparisons with the rest of
the statute. All of said Judges were silent as to the voice
of Congress as set forth in the legislative history pertain-
ing to Section 277. We respectfully submit that their in-
terpretation was erroneous and should have been as was so
ably stated by Judge Learned Hand in the case of Peter
Pan Fabrics, Inc. v. Martin Weiner Corp., 2 Cir., 274 Fed.
2d 487-489:

23

“It is commonplace that literal interpretation of the
words of a statute is not always a safe guide to its
meaning. Indeed, in extreme situations this doctrine
has been carried so far that language inescapably cov-
ering the situation has been disregarded when it de-
feats the manifest purpose of the statute as a whole.”

Holy Trinity Church v. U. S., 143 U. S. 457;
Markham v. Cabell, 326 U. S. 404.

“The legislative intent is to be determined not by
taking the word or clause involved in a taxing statute
from its setting and viewing it apart, but by consider-
ing it in connection with the context, the general pur-
pose of the statute, the occasion and circumstances of
its use and other appropriate tests for ascertaining
legislative will.”

Emery v. Commissioner, 166 F. 2d 27,1 A. L. R. 2d
409.

‘It is interesting to note that the lower circuit court in
making its interpretation of Section 277, takes a parenthet-
ical part of a total section and in effect says that the paren-
thetical part restricts and practically overrules the entire
meaning of the whole section. We respectfully submit that
this is having the tail wag the dog and we further submit
that had Congress intended this to be so, they could and
would have created a total new section. It is apparent that
the lower circuit court refuses the persuasion as set forth
by the brief of the petitioner on the ground that if they
accepted same, they would have to declare the parenthet-
ical section of 277 a nullity and this they refuse tn do. We
respectfully submit that this is not so. The lower circuit
court could just as well and should have found the paren-
thetical section as one which is not a resiricticn upon the
total section, but rather an additional explanation with re-
gard to the suspension of the statute in the making of an
assessment particularly with regard to a situation involv-
ing the nullity of a petition which would have been filed

24

in the Tax Court. The lower circuit court refers to a Con-
gressional Committee Report as being most helpful in ar-
riving at its decision (Congress House Report No. 2, 70th
Cong., Ist Sess., 23-24 (1939-1 Cum. Bull. (Part 2) 384,
399-400) ) and upon a close reading of said so-called help-
ful Committee Report, we see clearly that the argument
as set forth throughout by the petitioner with respect to
the distinction between assessment and collection under
277 is clearly brought out by said Committee Report. We
quote from said Report as set forth in the opinion of the
lower circuit court:

“Under existing law and under the provisions of the
bill, the running of the limitation period on assess-
ments is suspended while an appeal is pending before
the Board. Subsequently the Board may dismiss the
appeal on the ground that the petition was not filed
within the 60-day period or, for example, because the
paper filed within the period was not sufficient to con-
stitute a petition. The decision dismissing the appeal
may not be made until months after the proceeding
was begun and there is some question whether in such
cases the statute of limitations on assessment is actu-
ally suspended during the pendency of the proceeding.
It is specifically provided in section 277 that the limita-
tion period shall be suspended, if any proveeding is
placed on the docket of the Board, until the decision
of the Board in respect thereof becomes final and for
60 days thereafter.”’

We respectfully submit that the lower Circuit Court of
Appeals fell into error in believing that a fair interpreta-
tion of this Committee Report in any way gives meaning
to the words in any event as meaning under any circum-
c.ances. We further respectfully submit that the words in
any event under Section 277 should not be given the broad
scope as declared by the lower circuit court, where to do so
would fly in the face of traditional American notions of fair
play. We say to subject a taxpayer to additional interest

25

running into as high as 80 or 90%, caused by the creditor
sitting on its hands, and in addition, its omission to act by
virtue of its power of levy and lien, prevent the taxpayer
from use of its own money or property so that he could do
something with regard tc defeating the tremendous in-
creases of additional tax caused by said omission on the
part of the respondent, is a k ‘each of fair play. Bowers v.
New York and A. Lighterage Co., 71 U. S. Supreme Court
Reports, page 676; Old Colony R. R. Co. v. Com., 284 U. S.
552; United States v. American Trucking Association, 310
U. S. 534-543, “Sections of a statute should not be inter-
preted literally if the result would be plainly at variance
with the legislative intent as a whole.”

We respectfully submit that all of the cases as cited by
the lower circuit court are not dispositive and are clearly
distinguishable by the present facts. We will not burden
this court with the distinctions invoi.ed, because we feel
that the present issue is of sufficient importance and has for
the first time been clearly set forth, for a clarification as
requested, in this case.

CONCLUSION.

It is respectfully submitted that in consideration of the
foregoing reasons and in the interest and pursuit of equity
and justice, the petition of Writ of Certiorari should be
granted by this Honorable Court. It is certified that this
petition is not filed for delay.

WHEREFORE, Petitioner prays that a Writ of Certiorari
be granted.
Respectfully submitted,
GEORGE P. WALKER,
z 427 Cooper Street,
— Camden 2, New Jersey,
ROBERT M. TAYLOR,
2215 Land Title Building,
Philadelphia 2, Pa.,
Attorneys for Petitioner.

. =

bie

oe
oe es &
wee ail

0
’

Appendix

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS.
For THE THIRD CIRCUIT.

No. 14873.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA
Vv.

ALBERT N. SHAHADI; JOSEPHINE SHAK4DI: GUARANTEE BANK
AND Trust COMPANY OF ATLANTIC City, NEW JERSEY;
County or ATLANTIC, NEW JERSEY and FRANK S. Far-
Ley, Treasurer of the County of Atlantic.

‘ ALBERT N. SHAHADI,
Appellant.

On APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR
THE District OF NEW JERSEY.

Argued November 19, 1964.

Before: STALEY, GANEY and FREEDMAN,
Circuit Judges.

OPINION OF THE COURT.
(Filed January 8, 1965.)

By STALEY, Circuit Judge.

This appeal requires us to decide whether under the In-
ternal Revenue Code of 1939 the six-year statute of limita-
tions on suits for collection based on jeopardy assessments
is tolled while the determination of liability underlying the
assessment is under consideration in the Tax Court. The
district court found that the statute was suspended and that
the proceediny for collection before it on complaint by the
United States was therefore timely. The correct:.ess of
that decision is the only question before us on this appeal.

The operative facts were stipulated in the district court
and can be summarized as follows. Jeopardy assessments,
based on asserted liabilities of the taxpayer for the years
1944 through 1951 and of his wife for 1950 and 1951 were
made on January 7, 1954. A notice of deficiency (90-day
letter) was mailed on February 11, 1954. On May 10 of
the seme year, a petition for redetermination of liabiJivy
was filed with the Tax Court.1 The Tax Court rendered
its decision by judgment on July 31, 1958. Shanadi v.
Commissioner, 29 T. C. 1157 (1958). This court affirmed.
266 F. 2d 495 (1959). A petition for a writ of certiorari
to the Supreme Court was denied on October 26, 1959.
361 U. S. 874.

1 The petition filed on this date concerned tax liability for all years

named except 1947. <A petition covering 1947 was filed earlier and ‘

consolidated with the instant petitions for Tax Court hearing. The
difference in dates is of no consequence for purposes of this appeal.

2 The denial of a petition for writ of certiorari renders the decision
of the Tax Court final. 26 U.S.C. §1140(b)(2) (1952 ed.). Thus the
statute was tolled, if at all, for the entire period between the filing
of the petition for redetermination in the Tax Court and the denial
of the petition for writ of certiorari.

3a

From the time of the making of the jeopardy assessments
in 1954, considerable efforts were made by the District Di-
rector of Internal Revenue to collect on them. When, in
1961, a liability of $67,211.11 remained outstanding, the
United States brought suit on June 2 of that year to re-
duce the liability to judgment. -Cross-motions for sum-
mary judgment were filed in the case, and judgment was
entered for the United States. The defense of the statute
of limitations interposed by the taxpayer was rejected by
the district court for the reason that the Tax Court pro-
ceedings tolled the statute. It must be conceded that if
the statute of limitations was suspended, the suit here was
timely.

The pertinent section of the Internal Revenue Code of
1939 reads as follows:

“$277. Suspension of Running of Statute.

“The running of the statute of limitations provided
in section 275 or 276 on the making of assessments and
the beginning of distraint or a proceeding in court for
collection, in respect of any deficiency, shall (after the
mailing of a notice under section 272(a)) be suspended
for the period during which the Commissioner is ro-
hibited from making the assessment or beginning dis-
traint or a proceeding in court (and in any event, if
a prozeeding in respect of the deficiency is placed on
the docket of the Board [Tax Court], until the decision
of the Tax Court becomes final), and for sixty days
thereafter.” (Emphasis ours.)

It is obvious that the statute, on its face, firmly supports
the conclusion of the district court by providing that the
running of the statute of limitations on suit for collection
is suspended during proceedings in the Tax Court under
any circumstances.

The taxpayer, however, argues that the provision for
jeopardy assessments under $273 is an exception to the

4a

general assessment provisions of §272.° From this it is ar-
gued that §277 does not apply to jeopardy assessments be-
cause that section refers only to §Z72(a). The conclusion
simply does not follow from the premise. There is no ques-
tion that the procedure under §273 (jeopardy assessments )
differs from the procedure provided under $272. But
§273(b), like §272(a), requires the mailing of a notice of
deficiency to the taxpayer. Indeed, the statute specifically
provides that the notice following a jeopardy assessment
shall be mailed under §272(a). 26 U.S. C. §$273(b) (1952

3 Sections 272 and 273 in pertinent part read, respectively, as fol-
lows:
“Internal Revenue Code of 1939:
“§272. Procedure in General.
“(a)() Petition to the Tax Court of the United States—If in the

Commissioner is authorized to send notice of such deficiency to
the taxpayer by registered mail. Within ninety days after
notice is mailed (not counting Saturday, Sunday, or a legal
aur te es Set a ends as Ue, coe ees es ta
payer may file a petition with the Tax Court of the United States
for a redetuimination of the deficiency. No assessment of a defi-
ciency in respect of the tax imposed by this chapter and no dis-
traint or proceeding in court for its collection shall be made,
begun, or prosecuted until such notice has been mailed to the
taxpayer, nor until the expiration of such inety-day period, nor,
if a petition has been filed with the Tax Court, until the decision
of the Tax Court has become final. * * *” 26 U.S.C. $272 (1952 ed.).

3 (continued)

“$273. Jeopardy Assessments.

“(a) Authority for Making—If the Commissioner believes that
the assessment or collection of a deficiency will be jeopardized
by delay, he shall immediately assess such deficiency (together
with all interest, addition=! amounts, or additions to the tax pro-
vided f.r by law) and notice and demand shall be made by the
collector for the payment thereof.

“(b) Deficiency Letters—If the jeopardy assessment is made
before any notice in respect of the tax to which the jeopardy
assessment relates has been mailed under section 272(a), then
the Commissioner shall mail a notice under such subsection
within sixty days after the making of the assessment.” 26 U.S.C.
$273 (1952 ed.).

5a

ed.). More importantly, the statutory scheme calls for the
same chain of events whether a jeopardy assessment has
been made or not. In either case, the taxpayer has the
opportunity to secure a redetermination of his liability in
the Tax Court.

The taxpayer next notes that the Commissioner was not
barred from proceeding to collect on the assessment while
the matter was before the Tax Court. On the basis of this,
it is urged that §277 suspends the running of the statute of
limitations only if the Commissiorer is so prohibited, or,
as he puts it, only as long as “the Commissioner’s hands are
tied.” But the very .anguage of §277 refutes the argument.
For the clause suspending the statute during the period the
Commissioner is barred from acting is immediately {ol-
lowed by the parenthetical clause “(and in any event,
etc.).” Taxpayer’s reading of the statute is persuasive
only if the parenthetical clause is regarded as a nullity.
We are obviously entirely without power to amend stat-
utes of Congress in this or any other fashion.

In support of this ‘atter argument, the taxpayer refers
us to the Congressional history of the section. Nothing in
the reports or debates, however, would indicate that Con-
gress did not intend what the plain words of the statute
mean. The following language, taken from the 1928 House
Committee Report, which was made at the time the present
parenthetical phrase “(and in any event, etc.)”” was pro-
posed to and approved by Congress, H. Rep. No. 2, 70th
Cong., Ist Sess., 23-24 (1939-1 Cum. Bull. (Part =) 384,
399-400); S. Rep. No. 960, 70th Cong., Ist Sess., 31-32
(i939-1 Cum. Bull. (Part 2) 409, 431), is as helpful as
anything to which we have-been referred:

“(Inder existing law and under the provisions of
the bill, the running of the li:nitation period on assess-
ments is suspended while an appeal is pending before
the Board. Subsequentiy the Board may dismiss the
appeal on the ground that the petition was not filed
within the 60-day period or, for example, because the

6a

paper filed within the period was not sufficient to con-

stitute a petition. The decision dismissing the appeal

‘ maynot’ ade until inonths after the proceeding was
begun .d there is some question whether in such
cases .ne statute of limitations on assessment is actu-
ally suspended during the pendency of the proceeding.
It is specifically provided in section 277 that the limi-
tation period shall be suspended. if any proceeding is
placed on the docket of the Board, until the decision of
the Board in respect thereof becomes final and for 60
days thereafter.

“This provision also takes care of any uncertainty
as to the suspension of ihe statute where, after the
decision of the Board, a petition for review is filed
without the required bond. It also provides for the
situation where a taxpayer files a waiver of the restric-
tions on the Commissioner as to assessment or collec-
tion where the legal sufficiency of the waiver may nox
be determined for a considerable period of time after it
is filed.”

A fair reading of this report seems to make ii clear that
in adding “(and in any event, etc.)” to the statute, it was
intended to provide that the statute of limitations be sus-
pended in any and all situations where action is taken by
the taxpayer to have deficiencies redetermined by proceed-
ings in the Tax Court.

The conclusiun reached on the basis of our analysis of
the statute and legislative history has ample support in
the decided cases. Estate of Iaconi, April 21, 1961, 761,106
P-H Memo T.C.; Bartmer Automatic Self Service Laundry,
Inc. v. Commissioner, 35 T.C. 317 (1960)., The cases con-
struing $277 have uniformly construed it.in the broadest
fashion, to stop the running of the statute when matters
are being litigated in the Tax Court under any circum-
stances. Green Spring Dairy, Inc. v. Commissioner, 208
F.2d 471, 476-477 (C.A. 4, 1953); American Equitable As-

ja

surance Co, of New York v. Commissioner, 68 F.2d 46 (C.A.
2, 1933); Mutual Lumber Co. v. Poe, 66 F.2d 904 (C.A. 9,
1933); United States v. Shepard’s Estate, 196 F. Supp. 281
(N.D.N.Y., 1961).

The judgment of the district court will be affirmed.

A True Copy:

Teste:

Clerk of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Third Circuit.

JUDGMENT.

This matter coming on for hearing before this Court on
November 14, 1963, and the parties appearing through their
respective counsel; and counsel being unable to agree com-
pletely upon the form of judgment to be entered;

It is hereby ORDERED, ADJUDGED and DECREED
that the United States of America recover of the defendant,
Albert N. Shahadi, the sum of $107,946.08, which sum is
made up of $65,298.05 tax assessment for the years 1945,
1946, 1947, 1948 and 1949, together with lien charges and
interest calculated up to and including March 6, 1964;

It is further ORDERED, ADJUDGED and DECREED
that interest shall run at the rate of six per cent on the
unpaid balance of the tax of $65,298.05 until the same is
paid, or, at the same rate, upon any unpaid balance thereof.

It is further ORDERED that this judgment be entered
without costs.

March 6, 1964.
THOMAS M. MADDEN,
Chief Judge.

SUPPLEMENTAL ORDER.

This matter having come on for hearing on October 11,
1963, and for further hearing on November 14, 1963, and
the plaintiff, United States of America, having moved for
summary judgment against the defendants, Albert N.
Mhahadi and Josephine Shahadi, and the defendant, Albert
N. Shahadi, having moved for summary judgment against
the plaintiff, United States of America, it is determined by
the Court as follows:

It is the judgment of this Court that the Statute of Lim-
itations was suspended during the time that this mat*er
was before the Tax Court, and on appeal therefrom before
the United States Court of Appeals in and for the Third
Circuit, and while certiorari was pending therefrom before
the United States Supreme Court.

It is the further judgment of this Court that the lien, the
assessment, and the amount due thereon are controiled bv
the doctrine of res judicaia, This is based upon the fact
that the same matter was heard by the United States Tax
Court and the Tax Court made a determination therein
and fe.uund the amount due, that this determination was
appealed to the United States Courts of Appeals in and
for the Third Circuit, and that this Court has no authority
under these circumstances to make inquiry into the validity
of the lien or the amount due thereon.

It is the further judgment of this Court that the de-
fendant, Albert N. Shahadi, and the deferdant, Josephine
Shahadi, are validly married and that che property on
South Delencey Street-in Atlantic City 1s held by them as
husband and wife as tenants by the entirety, and that the
lien is solely against the defendant, Albert N. Shahadi, it
being stipulated by the parties hereto that the wife, Jose-
phine, is not indebted to the Government up to the current

9a

year and that therefore there is no lien of the Government
that attaches to her interest in the property.

It is the further judgment of this Court that the applica-
tion on the part of the plaintiff, United States of America,
for marshalling of assets and the sale of the South Delan-
cey Street property be and the same is denied.

It is the further judgment of this Court that the plaintiff,
United States of America, will have judgment against the
defendant, Albert N. Shahadi, in accordance with the Order
entered March 6th, 1964.

It is the further judgment of this Court that the motion
by the defendant, Albert N. Shahadi, for summary judg-
ment is dismissed and the motion by the plaintiff, United
States of America, for summary judgment is granted as
hereinbefore set forth.

It is the further order of the Court that the oral state-
ments made by the Court at the conclusion of the hearings
on October 11, 1963, ard November 14, 1963, are annexed
hereto and made a part of the record in this matter.

Dated: March 10, 1964.
THOMAS M. MADDEN,
Chief Judge.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385602_0503%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
