# Petitioners Reply Brief — Local 780, International Alliance of Theatrical Stage Employees & Moving Picture Machine Operators v. Radio Corp. of America

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385602_0461%3A4

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petitioners Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1965
- **Citation:** 380 U.S. 973

## Text

“See

Wo istyse
CO; ‘wr tv. F { a

APR 7 1965

,Office-Suprems Court, U.S
BD

JOHN F. DAVIS, CLERK |

{

|

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

Ocroser Term, 1964

NO. 940

LOCAL 780, INTERNATIONAL ALLIANCE OF THE-

ATRICAL STAGE EMPLOYEES ‘AND MOVING
PICTURE MACHINE OPERATORS OF THE
UNITED STATES AND CANADA, AFL-CIO. by and
through JONATHAN R. REYNOLDS, its business
agent and representative, and LOCAL 666, INTERN A-
TIONAL ALLIANCE OF THEATRICAL STAGE
EMPLOYEES OF THE UNITED STATES AND
CANA JA, AFL-CIO, by and through ARTHUR W.
BEsMAN, its business agent and representative,

Petitioners,
vs.

RADIO CORPORATION OF AMERICA,
Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the District Court
of Appeal, Second District of the State of Florida

PETITIONERS’ REPLY BRIEF

BERNARD M. MAMET,
Suite 1326,
327 S. La Salle Street,
Chicago, Illinois 60604,
HArrison 7-7630,

Attorney for Petitioners

CHAMPLIN-SHEALY COMPANY. c>nCAe «GR SES

CrraTIons

Cases
American Dredging Co. v. Local 25, Marin? Division,
Internation | Union of Operating Engineers, AF L-
CIO, 338 F. 2d 837 (1964), cert. denied, March 8,
ey SS GA TE oc vctcesdeqocesesecssweess
Bailey v. Hayman’s, 73 Fle. 119i, 76 So. 135 (1917) ..
Davis v. 3trovle, 39 So. 2d 468 (1949) ..............
Garner v. Teamsters, 346 U. S. 485 (1953) .........
Gross v. United States Mortgage Company, 108 U. S.
Be EE. bk 56Ae stn Kndnneekvdeberesedeens ee
Indiana ex rel Brand v. Anderson, 303 U. §. 95 (1938)
Liner v. Jafco, Inc. 375 U. S. 301 (1964) ............
Local 174 Teamsters v. Lucas Flour Co., 362 U. S. 95
SEE snob ro hee vadiianactcadeens (his bcd shke's
Local No. 438 Construction - General Laborers’ Union
v. S.J. Curry, et al., 371 U. S. 542 (1963) ........
Manhattan Life Ins. Co. of New York v. Cohen, 234
le Se ED EE b bncns F0esdd adored bsé-vestesce.
McCarroll v. Los Angeles County District Counsel of
Carpenters, 49 Cal. 2d 45, 315 P. 2d 322 (1957), cert.
ST, BD ve Ws We CRO 6 vic coc ccidevccescess

McLean Distributing Co. v. Brewery & Beverage
Drivers, Warehousemen ¢ Helpers, Local 993, 254
Minn. 204, 94 N. W. 2d 514, cert. denied, 360 U. S.
Se GEE Nac dadecnnsetedicncedeteséonsvccce.

Murdock v. Memphis, 20 Wall. 590 (1875) ..........

National Surety Co. vy. Willys-Overland, Inc., 103 Fis.
© Ff & F. | er Crrrrrer

New Amsterdam Casualty Co. v. Utility Battery Mfg.
Co., 122 Fla. 718, 166 So. 856 (1935) .............

ii

Philadelphia Marine Trade Ass’n v. Int'l Longshore-
men’s Ass’x, Local 1291, 382 Pa. 326, 115 A. 2d 733,

cert. denied, 350 U.S. 843 (1955) =..<........... 7
Raley, et al. v. Ohio, 360 U.S. 423 (1959) .......... 3
Savage v. Horne, 49 So. 2d 329 (1950) ............. 4
Sinclair Refining Co. v. Atkinson, 370 U. S. 195

CRUE 4 suk ceks cides saveke obenehexd eae cekes 7,8
Tampa Water Works Co. v. Wood, 104 Fla. 306, 139

ET oe ae eee nn eye ee eee 4
Textile Workers Umion v. Lincoln Mills, 353 U. S.

EE ew ks end ooh eh eee aes ea ceans 8
Tidewater Express Lines v. Freight Drivers, etc., 230

Md. 450, 187 A. 2c 685 (1963) ...............00-. 2,3
Whitney v. Californi1, 274 U. S. 357 (1927) ........ 3
In re Wilkins’ Estate, 136 Fla. 86, 186 So. 826 (1938) 4
Wittich v. O’Neal, 22 Fla. 592 (1886) .............. 6

Siatutes
Florida Annotated Statutes, Sec. 64.16 ............. 6

Norris-LaGuardia Act, 47 Stat. 70, 29 U. S. C., 101
| Nr rrr ree ry Pee 1, 2, 3, 4, 8

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

Ocroszr Tzem, 1964
NO. 940

LOCAL 780, INTERNATIONAL ALLIANCE OF THE-
ATRICAL STAGE EMPLOYEES AND MuvING
PICTURE MACHINE OPERATORS OF THE
UNITED STATES AND CANADA, AFL-CIO, by and
through JONATHAN R. REYNOLDS, its business
agent and representative, and LOCAL 666, INTERNA-
TIONAL ALLIANCE OF THEATRICAL STAGE
EMPLOYEES OF THE UNITED STATES AND
CANADA, AFL-CIO, by and through ARTHUR W.
BEEMAN, its business agent and representative,

Petitioners,
vs.

RADIO CORPORATION OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the District Court
of Appeal, Second District of the State of Florida

PETITIONERS’ REPLY BRIEF

Petitioners, in their petition, have challenged the juris-
diction of the Florida court to restrain employees from re-
specting a peaceful primary picket line. In support of their
petition, they point to the doctrine of federal pre-emption
in picketing cases and the provisions of the Norris-LaGuar-
dia Act, (47 Stat. 70 et seq., 29 U.S. C. § 101 et seq.) limit-

2

ing the powers of courts to issue injunctions in labor dis-
putes, which Act, they contend, is part of a federal body of
labor law applicable to state courts. Respondent, while
contending state courts have the power to issue injunctions
in labor dispates, challenges the jurisdiction of this Court to
review the state court’s determination. To the extent that
Respondent raises matters not treated in our Petition, some
brief comment will be made.

Raising of Federal Question Below

Respondent contends that Petitioners’ sccind question
(applicability of Norris-LaGuardia Act) was not seasonably
raised below and is therefore not properly before this Court.
Respondent is in error. The question was litigated before
the District Court of Appeal (the last Florida tribunal to
express an opinion) and the Court not only expressly de-
cided the question but went to great lengths to express the
basis for its holding. Hence, relying upon state court cases’
which this Court declined to review, the Florida court stated
that “‘Numerous othe: state courts have sustained their
right, jurisdictionally, to utilize injurction against a strike
and picketing for breach of a collective bargaining agree-
ment.” (Pet., App. D, p. 25a). And, the Florida Court re-
lying upon a Maryland case’ noted that “state courts which
have permitted injunctions for breach of an existing labor
agreement generally are either in states having no anti-in-
junction statute, such as California and Ohio, or where, as
in Minnesota and Pennsylvania, there is express statutory
exemption of breaches of collective bargaining agreements

“ See Footnote 5, Court of Appeal Decision, Pet., App. D, p.
a.

2. Tidewster Express Lines v. Freight Drivers, etc., 230 Md.
450, 187 A. 2d 685, 688 (1963).

3

from the coverage of anti-injunction statutes.” (Pet., App.
D, pp. 25a-26a)* Significantly, in aid of its position that cer-
tiorari should not be granted, Respondent states that this
Court has, on at least four different occasions, denied re-
view of the exact question presented in our Question 2, citing
the identical cases cited by the District Court of Appeal in
its decision. (See Resp. Brief, p. 8). How then can Re-
spondent contend that the question was not considered?

“Insofar ‘as Florida is concerned,” stated the Florida
court, “there is no interdiction, either by statute or through
any decision of our Supreme Court which curtails jurisdic-
tional power of the state court to entertain a proceeding
such ‘as this; nor, as to the subject matter here involved, does
any act of Congress which may be restrictive as to federal
court jurisdiction express such a limitation upon jurisdic-
tion of a state court.” (Pet., App. D, p. 26a). Obviously, the
question was considered and decided and it is an “elemen-
tary rule that it is irrelevant to inquire how and when a
Federal question was raised in a (state) court . . . when it
appears that such question was actually considered and de-
cided.” Manhattan Life Ins. Co. of New York v. Cohen,
234 U. S. 123, 134 (1914). See also, Indiana ex rel Brand v.
Anderson, 303 U. S. 95, 98 (1938) and Raley, et al. v. Ohio,
360 U. S. 423, 436-437 (1959). And, of course, the opinion
of the state court is part of the record for the purpose of
determining whether a federal question thas been raised.
Murdock v. Memphis, 20 Wall. 590, 633 (1875); Gross v.
United States Mortgage Company, 108 U. 8. 477, 485-486
(1883) ; Whitney v. California, 274 U. S. 357, 361-362 (1927).

3. Significantly, the Court in Tidewater stated that it felt its
decision was controlled by the Maryland anti-labor injunction
statute, Code (1957), Art. 100, Sec. 65, which is patterned after
Section 4 of the Norris-LaGuardia Act, 29 U. S. C. 104.

Final Judgment

Respondent attacks the jurisdiction of this Court, con-
tending that its judgment below was not a final one within
the meaning of 28 U.S. C. § 1257. Yet, the Florida court
specifically held that “Absent a congressional or state enact-
ment or a judicial pronouncement by the United States
Supreme Court or the Florida Supreme Court to ‘the con-
trary, jurisdiction of the state court is not divested.” (Pet.,
App. D, p. 26a). Thus, the Florida court asserted its jur-
isdiction to deal with a controversv beyond its power and
this assertion was final, subject to no further state review
ater the Supreme Court of Florida had denied certiorari.
See Tampa Water Works Co. v. Wood, 104 Fla. 306, 312-
313, 139 So. 800 /*932); In re Wilkins’ Estate, 136 Fla. 86,
88, 186 So. 826 (1938) ; Savage v. Horne, 49 So. 2d 329, 330
(1950); and Davis v. Strople, 39 So. 2d 468, 469 (1949).

Petitioners’ entire argument below revolved around the
absence of jurisdiction in the state court. Whether the ques-
tion of jurisdiction is approached from the standpoint of
federal preemption or from the applicability of Norris-
LaGuardia, Petitioners contend that the ‘state court was
without power. And, the state court ruled that it had such
power notwithstanding federal preemption or Norris-La-
Guardia. Irrespective of the merits, such determination was
final and binding ‘and with this even Florida would agree, as
reflected in the cases cited above. The federal question pre-
sented here is whether the Florida courts had the power to
issue its injunction. And, as this Court held in Local No.
438 Construction & General Laborers’ Union v. 8S. J. Curry,
et al., 371 U. S. 542, 548 (1963) “Whether or not the (state)
courts have power to issue an injunction is a matter wholly
separate from'and independent uf the merits of respondents’
cause.” In Curry, this Court held that it had jurisdiction

5

to review oa certiorari the judgment of the Supreme Court
of Georgia reversing the denial by the trial court of a tempo-
rary injunction—precisely the situation here. The Court
pointed out that “There is no doubt that the jurisdiction of
the Georgia courts has been finally determined by the judg-
ment below and is not subject to further review in the state
courts.” Here, no less than in Curry, the embracing of Re-
spondent’s position would seriously erode the national labor
policy, render entirely illusory Petitioners’ right of review
and effectively dispose of any rights Petitioners may have.

Alleged Mootness

Having secured its order below and judicially coerced em-
ployees to cross the picket line and other employees from
inducing fellow employees to respect the picket line,‘ Re-
spondent has nothing more to ‘achieve and hence now con-
tends that the matter is moot.* This, like the other conten-
tions of Respondent, reflects the “hit and run” aspects of re-

4. Respondent takes exception in its brief (p. 2) to statements
in Petitioners’ Statement which “make it appear .. . that Respond-
ent sought a blanket order preventing all picketing by the Peti-
tioners, and enjoining the mere respecting of picket lines.” Re-
gspondent contends that no bianket order was sought or granted
and that it was not seeking an injunction limited to the respecting
of picket lines. With respect to the first point, we cannot see how
paragraph 1 and sub-paragraph a of the Temporary Restraining
Order (Pet., App B, p. 6 a) can be interpreted in any other way
than a blanket order. With respect to the seconu point, we will not
quibble with Respondent over whether it sought to restrain only the
respecting of picket lines or that plus something more. It is sufficient
to come within the ambit of the preemption doctrine that Respond-
ent admittedly sought to restrain employees from respecting a
picket line established at their own place of employment.

5. Respondent states that the dispute between the parties had
expired due to the signing of a new labor agreement (Brief, p. 17).
Respondent failed to note, however, that the new agreement ex-
pired on October 6, 1964, and no new agreement has yet been
consummated.

6

straining orders in labor disputes, particularly in areas
where there is a lag in accepting the principles of our na-
tional labor policy. The reasons for this Court assuming
jurisdiction are as cogent here as they were in this Court’s
decision in Liner v. Jafco, Inc., 375 U. S. 301 (1964). Here,
too, has Respondent posted an indemnity bond (Pet., App.
B, p. 7a; See Notation, Rec. 24). Contrary to Respondent’s
assertions (Brief p. 20) more than nominal damages were
suffered by Petitioners and more than nominal damages
are recoverahle under Florida law under an injunction bond
in view of Plorida’s allowance of attorney’s fees * (See Na-
tional Surety Co. v. Willys-Overland, Inc., 103 Fla. 738, 741,
138 So. 24, 25-26 (1931) ; Wittich v. O’Neil, 22 Fla. 592, 600
(1886); Bailey v. Hayman’s, 73 Fla. 1191, 1192, 76 So. 135,
136 (1917); New Amsterdam Casualty Co. v. Utility Rat-
tery Mfg. Co., 122 Fla. 718, 725, 166 So. 856, 859 (1935).
Such damages are recoverable under Florida law on the
bond in the same action upon the dissolution of the injunc-
tion. Florida Annotated Statutes, § 64.16. Moreover, sep-
arate and apart from the question of the indemnity bond,
the federzl question presented here, as in Liner, revolves
around the power of state courts to issue injunctions re-
sulting in the frustration of our national labor policy and
the deniai of federally protected rights of party litigants.
Such federal question has not been mooted.

As pointed out in our original brief, the Florida District
Court of Appeal directed the employees to cross the picket
line established by their tellow employees, or to quit. This
was within its :.wwer, stated the Florida court, and “Absent
a congressional or staiec enactment or a judicial pronounce-
ment by the United States Supreme Court or the Florida

6. Local counsel were employed not only in Brevard County,
Florida, but in Miami, Florida, as well.

SINTER Me Ce Nn RS enema

7

Supreme Court (which refused certiorari) to the contrary,
jurisdiction of the state court is not divested.” (Pet., App.
D, p. 26a). And, absent a pronouncement from this Court,
as the Florida court states, a plaintiff in the Florida courts
will be able to secure injunctions, while the same plaintiff
yrould be denied an injunction in a federal court in the same
state. Moreover, the statement by knowledgeable counsei
that this Court’s denial of certiorari in ‘pre’ Lucas Flour *
and Sinclair Refining Co. v. Atkinson® cases of one of the
same questions (Norris-LaGuardia) presented herein was
“noteworthy” (Resp. Brief, p. 8), gives rise for further
alarm. The denial of certiorari in earlier cases coupled with
the instant and other state court decisions leads Respond-
ent’s counsel to the conclusion that the power of a state court
in granting injunctions revolves around the whim of the
state but that the contrary is true as regards federal
courts.° And, if counsel’s thinking represents even a par-

7% #B Marine Trade Ass'n v. Int’l Longshoremen’s
Ass'n, Local 1291, 382 Pa. 326, 115 A. 2d 733, cert denied, 360
U. 8. 843 (1955); McCarroll v. Los Angeles County District Coun-
cil of Carpenters, 49 Cal. 2d 45, 315 P. 2d 322 (1967), cert. denied,
355 U. S. 982 (1938); and McLean Distributing Co, v. Brewery &
Beverage Drivers, Warehousemen & Helpers, Local 903, 254 Minr.
204, 94 N. W. 2d 5il4, cert. denied, 360 U. S. 917 (1959).

8. Local 174 Teamsters v. Lucas Flour Co., 362 U. 8. 95 (1962).

9. 370 U. 5. 195 (1962).

10. Respoadent also cites American Dredging Co. v. Local 25,
Marine Division, International Union of Operating Engineers, AFL-
CIO, 338 F. 2d 837 (1964), cert. Genied March 8, 1965, Docket No.
830 (Brief, pp. 8-9) and implicitly represents to the Court that the
issue involved therein was whether the Norris-LaGuardia limita-
tions extend to the states. Respondent is in error. The only issue
before the Court in that case was the following:

Does Federal court’s original jurisdiction under Section 301
of ‘Caft-Hartley Act over suits for breach of collective bar-
gaining agreements permit removal of state court suit for in-
junction against strive in violation of no-etrike clause? (Em-
phasis supplied )

tial consensus of the bar, not only will this create disparity
of result between federal and state forums, but even from
state to stute the results will vary, as evidenced by ‘the Dis-
trict Court of Appeal decision (notably its fn. 5 and its dis-
cussion in text circa thereof, Pet., App. D, p. 25a). Add to
this the fact that some states have little Norris-LaGuardia
Acts * while others do not (not to mention the separate state
by state interpretation), and the product is a heterogeneous
conglomeration of varying results where uniformity is es-
seutial if a federal national policy is to prevail. Viewed then
in the overall framework and perspective of the regulation
of labor matters, this case presents serious »nd compelling
issues, the resolution of which is necesary to clarify the inter-
play of state and federa: powers which this Court has so
carefully developed since Textile Workers Union v. Lincoln
Mills, 353 U. S. 448 (1957) and Garner v. Teamsters, 346
U. S. 485 (1953). This case cuts across not only the ques-
tion. specifically ruled upon as regards federal courts in Sin-
clair Refining Co. v. Atkinson, 370 U. S. 195 (1962), but pre-
sents the basic issue of federal preemption, as well, because
‘ deals with peaceful picketing, the right to respect a picket
line at one’s own place of employment (or at least the right

9

to have the NLRB make the initial determination) and the
right to peaceably induce such respect.
Respectfully submitted,
Bernarp M. Mamet,

Suite 1326,

327 S. La Salle Street,
Chicago, Illixois 60604
HArrison 7-7630

Attorney for Petitioners

Chicago, Mlinois
April 6, 1965.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385602_0461%3A4. Public record. Not legal advice.
