# Respondent Brief in Opposition to Petition for Writ f — United Mine Workers of America v. Price

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385602_0347%3A4

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Respondent Brief in Opposition to Petition for Writ f
- **Published:** January 1, 1965
- **Citation:** 380 U.S. 913

## Text

Table of Contents.

Statement of the case
Statement of facts
Introduction
Summary of the evidence
Summary of argument
Argument
A. There is no evidence of bias on the part of the
grand jury
B. Conduct of the voir-dire examination of trial
jurors by the judge does not raise a constitu-
tional question
C. There was abundant ground for founding ter-
ritorial jurisdiction in Massachusetts and venue
in Suffolk County
D. No constitutional question is raised by the ac-
tion of the Supreme Judicial Court in overruling
a prior decision which had clearly misapplied a
state statute concerning venue

E. The evidence was sufficient to support the con-
victions

F. The petition requests that certiorari issue to
the wrong court

Conclusion
Appendix I

Table of Authorities Cited.
Cases.

Beazell v. Ohio, 269 U.S. 167, 46 S.C. 68
Beck v. Washington, 365 U.S. 866

aw &

13
15

15

19

17

li TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED

Beck v. Washington, 369 U.S. 541 16, 17, 18, 19
Bouie v. City of Columbia, 378 U.S. 347,84 S8.C.1697 25, 28
Buchalter v. New York, 319 U.S. 427 20, 25, 29
Commonwealth v. Friedman, 188 Mass. 308 26, 27, 28

Commonwealth v. Geagan, 339 Mass. 487, 159 N.E.
2d 870; cert. den. 361 U.S. 895, 80 S.C. 200, 4 L. Ed.

2d 152 21
Commonwealih v. Green, 302 Mass. 547 22
Commonwealth v. Iannello, 344 Mass..723 22, 26n.
Commonwealth v. Kelley, 184 Mass. 320 22, 26n.
Commonwealth v. King, 202 Mass. 379 22, 26n.
Commonwealth v. Mulrey, 170 Mass. 103 30
Commonwealth v. Parker, 2 Pick. 550 22
Commonwealth v. Parker, 165 Mass. 526 24
Commonweatlh v. Quin, 5 Gray 478 22
Commonwealth v. Rand, 7 Met. 475 24
Cook v. United States, 138 U.S. 157, 11 S.C. 268 25
Crocker v. Justices of the Superior Court, 208 Mass.

162 22
Darcy v. Handy, 351 U.S. 454 19
Frank v. Mangum, 237 U.S. 309, 35 S.C. 582 28n.
Geagan v. Gavin, 292 F. 2d 244; cert. den. 370 U.S.

903, 82 S.C. 1247, 8 L. Ed. 2d 399 21
Geagan v. Gavin, 181 F. Supp. 466 21
Geagan v. Massachusetts, 361 U.S. 895, 370 US.

903 21n.
Gray v. Cook, 135 Mass. 189 30
Gut v. State of Minnesota, 9 Wall. 35 25

Ross v. Oregon, 227 U.S. 150, 33 S.C. 220 28n.

SEEDS AF I ts Bi BS! TRS BEL ae OL wi ES a BU Pw ot Aine

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED iii

Statutes, Erc.

U.S. Constitution, Fifth Amendment 19
Mass. Constitution, Declaration of Rights, art. 12 17n.

G.L. (Ter. Ed.) ¢. 234, § 28 14, 19, 20
G.L. c. 266
§ 30 23n., 26
§ 33(1) 22, 23, 26n.
§ 34 26n.
G.L. (Ter. Ea.) ¢. 277
§ 5 18
§ 39 22
§ 41 22
§ 58 24
§ 59 24n., 26, 28
§ 79 22
G.L. ec. 278, §§ 33A-G 2, 30
G.L. c. 278, § 33E 30
Mass. Acts of 1958, c. 606 6n.

Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure, Rule 24(a) 20n.

Rules for the Regulation of Practice before the Su-
preme Judicial Court

Rule 13 27
Rule 16 26

aR NOT

CEE en tiein ss nie tara
: 3 EPS LRN I
, rs ie
yee

Supreme Court of the United States.

Ocroser TERM, 1964.

No. 799.
RICHARD K. GORDON ET AL.,
PETITIONERS,
v.
COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS,
RESPONDENT.

RESPONDENT’S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO PETI-
TION FOR WRIT OCF CERTIORARI.

Statement of the Case.

On May £1, 1962, two indictments were returned by a
grand jury sitting in Suffolk County, Massachusetts, which
charged petitioners’ and two other defendants’ with lar-

‘1 Both petitioners are lawyers and members of the Massachusetts
bar. Petitioner Gordon is also a District Couff judge in Essex
County. Gordon has suspended himself from his judicial duties
pending the outcome of this case.

2The other two defendants were George Lewis Brady and
Francis W. Kiernan. Brady has nct been tried on the indictments
involved in this petition (or on other indictments returned at the
same time against Brady and others, on which there have been
two convictions and one acquittal), because of the trial court’s
finding that Bra'y was incompetent to stand virial. Kiernan was
convieted with petitioners in this proceeding but has not joined
in this petition for certiorari.

2

ceny of $450,000 from the Massachusetts Parking Authority
and with conspiracy to commit larceny from the Massa-
chusetts Parking Authority.

Verdicts of guilty on both indictments were returned
on April 16, 1963. Sentences were imposed on April 22,
1963. On the same day the trial judge ordered that execu-
tion of the sentences be stayed, pending appeal of the con-
victions.

Appeals were taken to the Supreme Judicial Court of
Massachusetts under Mass. G.L. c. 278, $4 33A-33G,‘ to
which the case had been ordered made subject by the trial
judge (R. 5).5 On October 5, 1964, the convictions were
afhrmed by the unanimous decision of the Supreme Judicial
Court.

Thereafter the Commonwealth moved in the Superior
Court (the trial court) for an order revoking the stays of
execution; and petitioners moved in the same court for an
order extending the stays of execution, pending petitions
for certiorari to this Court. After hearing, the Common-
wealth’s motion was allowed; the petitioners’ motions were

3On the larceny indictment petitioners and Kiernan were sen-
tenced to terms of two and one-half to three years at the Massa-
chusetts Correctional Institution at Walpole, Massachusetts. On
the conspiracy indictment they were sentenced to terms of two
and one-half years at the Suffolk County House of Correction,
to be served from and after the expiration of the sentences on
the larceny indictment. ,

* These sections are the so-called ‘‘felony appeals’’ statute, under
which the record on appeal includes a transcript of all the testi-
mony at the trial aad all the exhibits admitted in evidence.

5 References to the Summary of Record will be made by the
letter ‘‘R.’’ followed by the page number. References to the
transcript of testimony will be made by the letters ‘‘Tr.,’’ fol-
lowed by the page number. Exhibits will be referred to as ‘‘ Ex.,’’
followed by the exhibit number. References to the opinion of the
Supreme Judicial Court, which is Appendix A to the petiticen, will
be made by the letters ‘‘ App. A,’’ followed by the page number.

3

denied ; and petitioners were ordered to commence serving
their sentences forthwith.

Thereupon, petitioners applied to the Supreme Judicial
Court for stays of execution, pending petitions for cer-
tiorari to this Court. After hearing, these appiications
were denied.

Petitioners then applied to this Court for stays of exe-
cution. This application was denied by Justice Goldberg
on November 16, 1964.

Tk petition for certiorari was entered in this Court on
December 31, 1964.

Statement of ‘Facts.

INTRODUCTION.

There was evidence in this case that a conspiracy was
formed early in 1959 by George Lewis Brady, chairman of
the Massachusetts Parking Authority (Authoritv), and
William F. Thompson, chairman of the board of The Foun-
dation Company (Foundation), who was interested in ob-
taining for Foundation the contract to construct the garage
which the Authority intended to build under the Boston
Common. The object cf the conspiracy was to steal money
from the Authority.

Shortly after the conspiracy was formed, it was joined
by Maurice A. Broderick, a New Hampshire lawyer and
brother-in-law of Brady, and later by Kiernan and by peti-
tioners Gordon and Simmers.

The crime contemplated by the conspiracy was to be
committed in two stages: first, Foundation, which would
receive the construction contract for the garage, was to
receive a payment for work claimed to have been done by
Foundation which in fact had not been done; second, Foun-
dation was to pay the money over to Brady and the other

4

conspirators under the guise of legitimate payments for
(a) a finder’s fee, (b) an attorney’s fee and (c) a sub-
contract for various items of work in the construction of
the garage. The total kick-back to be made by Foundation
came to $405,000.

After the mechanics of the conspiracy had been agreed
upon, the Authority and Foundation entered into a contract
for the construction of the garage, which provided in part
that an initial payment was to be made to Foundation, for
services rendered by Foundation before the signing of the
contract, in the amount of $450,000 (in fact, the work done
by Foundation before the signing of the contract was less
than 10% of this amount). The construction contract was
signed, among others, by Brady, after it had been approved
by Kiernan, who was acting as consulting engineer (re-
ferred to as the ‘‘ onstruction engineer’’) for the Author-
ity. The $450,000 was paid to Foundation by the First
National Bank of Boston (First National), acting as trus-
tee of the Authority’s construction fund, after the con-
struction contract had been signed and after First National
had received a requisition for this payment signed by
Brady and certified by Kiernan.

After it received the $450,000, Foundation made the
payments previously agreed upon to members of the con-
spiracy. A finder’s fee, so-called, of $145,000 was paid to
Kiernan (after passing through two straws furnished re-
spectively by Broderick and by petitioner Gordon) and was
then paid by Kiernan in whole or in part to Brady. A
lawyer’s fee, so-called, of $100,000 was paid to petitioners
Gordon and Simmers. Neither Gordon nor Simmers per-
formed legal services for Foundation. Similarly, $65,000
was paid by Foundation, under a so-called subcontract, to
Granite State Realty and Construction Co., Inc. (Granite
State), a New Hampshire corporation organized by Brod-
erick. Granite State did not perform any work under the

5

so-called subcontract (indeed, Granite State was a paper
corporation only, without any employees, equipment or
other assets). The money paid ostensibly to Granite State
ended up it the hands of petitioners Gordon and Simmers
(App. A, 1160-1169).*

The first step in diverting the Authority’s money to peti-
tioners Gordon and Simmers and to other members of the
conspiracy was the payment by the Authority of $450,000
to Foundation. Here is where the impact of the crime was
felt. It was represented by members of the conspiracy
that this payment was made to compensate Foundation for
work done before the signing of the contract. However,
there was evidence that this representation was false in two
respects: first, the work done by Foundation before the
signing of the contract was only a small fraction of this
amount; second, the purpose of this payment (at least to
the extent of $405,000) was to place money in the hands of
Foundation so that Foundation could pay the money over
to other members of the conspiracy.

SUMMARY OF THE EvIpENCE.

In view of the fact that the petition raises questions of
the sufficiency of the evidence to support the convictions
(on the theory that problems of due process and ex post
facto laws under the United-States Constitution are raised
thereby), this brief will refer to the parts of the evidence
which the Commonwealth believes are material.

®The total kick-back agreed upon originally came to $405,000,
as follows: $150,000 for the finder’s fee ; $100,000 for the lawyer’s
fee; $155,000 for the subcontract (App. A, 1162-1163). The
amount actually paid was $310,000, as follows: $145,000 for the
finder’s fee; $100,000 for the lawver’s fee; $65,000 for the subcon-
tract. The finder’s fee was discounted $5,000 for early payment
(App. A, 1167, n. 15), and $90,000 of the subcontract was never
paid (App. A, 1169, n. 16).

6

Starting in the spring of 1959 a serie: of conversations
began between Brady (who had been appointed recently as
chairman of the Authority)’, officers of Foundation and
others, for the purpose of negotiating terms under which
Foundation, in return for the award of the construciion
contract for the garage, would pay a kick-back to Brady
and to others (App. A, 1161-1163).*

After the terms had been agreed upon, the arrangements
for payment of the kick-back were spelled out in three pre-
dated letters signed by the president of Foundation on
February 20, 1960. The first ietter, predated to May 4,
1959, was addressed to a man named Edward Plourde and
represented that Foundation would pay Plourde a finder’s
fee for work obtained in Massachusetts through Plourde’s
efforts (App. A, 1162; Ex. 16; Tr. 475-476). The amount
of the finder’s fee for the garage contract, according to the
formula contained in this letter, was $150,000. However,
Piourde had done nothing to bring the Parking Authority
and Foundation together.® In fact, he was acting as a straw
for Brady (App. A, 1162; Tr. 470-472; Tr. 686-694; Tr.
1007-1022). The second letter, predated to June 17, 1959,
was addressed to Broderick and provided that Foundation
would pay him $100,000 for legal services rendered for the
garage job and other projects (App. A, 1162; Ex. 17; Tr.
476-477). In fact, no legal services were to be rendered
by Broderick. The third letter, predated to February 11,
1960, was addressed to Granite State and recited that

7™The Authority was created in 1958 by the Massachusetts legis-
lature. Its purpose was to build, operate and maintain a garage
under Boston Common (App. A, 1160-1161, 1173-1175). See Mass.
Acts of 1958, e. 606; Fix. 6; Tr. 324-329.

‘Tr. 915-925; Tr. 1040-1049; Tr. 1086-1104; Tr. 464-475; Tr.
653-658 ; Tr. 692-694; Exs. 15-17; Tr. 475-478.

® Plourde had been enlisted by Broderick.

PRS SE BITRE, RBI 8 4 : S eB cs alte iA

7

Granite State would receive a subcontract from Foundation
for four work items in the construction of the garage, total-
ling $155,000 (Ex. 15; Tr. 477-478). In fact, Granite State
had no assets and was incapable of performing any work
(App. A, 1163).”

On February 23, 1960, three days after the signing of the
predated letters, the Authority held a meeting at its office
in Boston, at which a series of resolutions were adopted.
One resolution provided for the appointment by the Au-
thority of Muzzillo and Tizian (represented by defendant
Kiernan throughout the construction of the garage) as
“‘construction engineer’’ to represent the Authority in ac-
cordance with the terms of the so-called ‘‘Bond Resolu-
tion’’ (Ex. 6; Tr. 324-331), which was adopted at the same
meeting. In géneral, it was the duty of the construction
engineer (Kiernan) to ‘‘approve the design, plans and spe-
cifications of the Project [Boston Common Garage] prior
to construction of the Project and, on behalf of the Au-
thority [to] supervise the construction of the Project and
report weekly to the Authority on the compliance of such
construction with the design, plans and specifications for
the Project’? (Ex. 6, § 709; Tr. 324-331). The Bond
Resolution further provided that no obligation incurred
for work done in the construction of the garage could be
paid without a certificate, signed by the construction engi-
neer, certifying that ‘‘such work was actually performed”’
(Ex. 6, § 406[c]; Tr. 324-331).

Another resolution, adopted at the same meeting, ap-
proved the form and substance of a contract between the
Authority and Foundation. This contract provided that
6 per cent ($450,000) of the total contract price of $7,500,000
was to be paid to Foundation at the signing of the contract
“‘as payment for architectural und engineering services

©Tr. 463-464, 478-479, 531-534.

8

heretofore rendered by the contractor in connection with
the project’’ (App. A, 1163-1164; Ex. 7; Tr. 332-335).
(Emphasis added.) In fact, at the time the contract was
signed by the Authority and Foundation (March 2, 1960),
the work done by Foundation came only to $35,246.44, less
than 10 per cent of the initial payment"' (App. A, 1165;

Tr. 1359-1394; Exs. 71, 71-A; Tr. 1373-1379, 1393-1394,.

1415-1416).

The various resolutions * adopted at the meeting of the
Authority on February 23, 1960, were all signed by Brady.
In addition, the proposed contract with Foundation, ap-
proval of which was voted at this meeting, had been ap-
proved previously by Kiernan in writing (App. A, 1163;
Ex. 7; Tr. 332-335).

Once the various resolutions had been approved by the
Authority, arrangements could be made to consummate
the sale of the Authority’s bonds, to sign the construction
contract and to make the payment of $450,000 to Founda-
tion which the construction contract called for. Accord-
ingly, it was agreed that the closing, so-called, would be
held on March 2, 1960, at the Chemical Bank, New York
Trust Company (Chemical Bank), in New York City.
Present at the closing; were Brady, other members of the
Authority, Kiernan, representatives of Foundation, repre-
sentatives of the underwriter John Nuveen & Co. (Nuveen)

11The difference between the initial payment to Foundation of
$450,000 and the cost to Foundation of $35,246.44 at the time the
contract was signed is $414,753.56, slightly in excess of the $405,000
which Foundation had agreed to pay as a kick-back.

12Other resolutions were adopted at this meeting, including a
resolution approving a so-called ‘‘ Purchase Contract’’ under which
John Nuveen & Co. was to act as the underwriter for the sale of
the Authority’s bonds (Tr. 368-371; Tr. 1486-1498; Exs. 10, 11;
Tr. 3262-371) and a resolution appointing First National as con-
struction-fund trustee (Ex. 9; Tr. 343-344).

Pe Ha ECM

ee

9

and representatives of various banks including First Na-
tional (which was to act as trustee of the 4uthority’s con-
struction fund). At this meeting the construction contract
was signed by Brady, Kiernan and others. It provided
(as did the contract previously approved in Boston by
Brady and Kiernan) that ‘‘Six per cent [i.e., $450,000] of
the total of the above amount [i.e., the $7,500,000 contract
price] shall be paid to the contractor on the effective date
of this contract as payment for architectural and engineer-
ing services heretofore rendered by the Contractor in con-
nection with the project.’’'* (Emphasis added.) Aftcr the
construction contract had been signed, Brady delivered the
Authority’s bonds to Nuveen and received in return two
checks, one of which (for $7,732,800) was endorsed over to
First National and then deposited in Chemical Bank, to the
account of First National as trustee of the Authority’s
construction fund. Thereupon requisition 1 to First Na-
tional was signed by Brady on behalf of the Authority. It
contained two payment items, one of which was for $450,000
to Foundation in ‘‘Payment for architectural and engi-
neering services as required by Construction Contract.”’
(Emphasis added.) Attached to this requisition was a cer-
tificate signed by Kiernan (acting as construction engineer
for the Authority) which recited that the work referred to
in the requisition had been ‘‘actually performed.’”’? (Em-
phasis added.) As a consequence of this requisition and
the attached certificate,* First National paid over $450,000
to Foundation (App. A, 1165-1166).

As soon as the $450,000 had been paid to Foundation (by
reason of the various misrepresentations concerning the

1 As pointed out previously, the work actually done by Founda-
tion at the time the contract was signed came to $35,246.44.

“Tr. 1163-1167, 1275, 1327-1331; Ex. 6 (§ 406[c]); Tr. 324-
331.

——e———

10

purpose of the payment), the second stage of the plan could
be put into operation: i.e., the kick-back payments by Foun-
dation to Brady and others, in the guise of a finder’s fee,
a lawyer’s fee and a subcontract.

Accordingly, the finder’s fee was paid by Foundation to
Plourde, who was acting as a straw for Brady (App. A,
1162). On the day of the closing, after Foundation had re-
ceived and deposited the check for $450,000," Foundation
gave Plourde a check for $100,000. The following day,
March 3, Plourde deposited this check in an account in his
name at the Manufacturers Trust Company (Manufactur-
ers Trust) in New York City (App. A, 1166).

On March 24, 1960, Plourde received a second check from
Foundation, this time for $45,009,’* which he also deposited
in his account at Manufacturers Trust (App. A, 11€7).”
On the same day he had a meeting in a New York hotel
with Brady, Broderick and Kiernan, at which there was an
argument about how the money was to come out of
Plourde’s account. Broderick testified as follows: ‘‘Mr.
Brady wanted Plourde to give him the money, the finder’s
money in cash, and we refused, and I told Brady that I
would not permit Plourde to do it. Brady then suggested
or Brady then said that the money should be turned over by
Plourde to [petitioner] Richard C. Simmers’’** (Tr. 501).

15 The $450,000 was deposited by Foundation during banking
hours on March 2, 1960 (Ex. 80; Tr. 1406-1408). Plourde was not
given the $100,000 check until the late afternoon or evening of
March 2, after banking hours (Tr. 480-483, 703).

16The total of the finder’s fee was reduced from $150,000 to
$145,000 because of early payment of the second installment (App.
A, 1167, n. 15).

17 Ex. 26; Tr. 492-507; Tr. 721-743.

18 The following appears as footnote 14 in the opinicn of the Su-
preme Judicial Court (App. A, 1167):

‘“The rather abrupt appearance on the scene of Simmers, and
shortly thereafter of Gordor and one Craven, as replacements for

LSD GS ei SAD

1]

During the course of this meeting Brady signed a paper
which said: ‘‘ Maurice [i.e., Broderick] pay proceeds of the
check to [peiitioner] Richard C. Simmers’’ (Ex. 19; Tr.
504-507). In response to this instruction, Plourde drew
two checks payable to Simmers, totalling $140,000. These
checks were destroyed by Kiernan at a later meeting in
New York, on April 1, 1960, when the finder’s fee was
finally removed from Piourde’s account (Tr. 728-743).

Or April 1, 1960, petitioners Gordon and Simmers, who
were law partners (App. A, 1167; Tr. 893, 895), and John
J. Craven arrived in New York City and met Brady, Kier-
nan and Plourde. Craven, who, like Plourde, was to serve
as a straw in transferring the finder’s fee, had been enlisted
by Gordon (Tr. 892-894). Thereupon both groups, with
the exception of Brady, proceede¢ to Manufacturers Trust,
where Plourde had deposited the finder’s fee. On the way,
Simmers purchased a briefcase in which $140,000 in cash
was later carried from the bank (Tr. 894-895). When they
arrived at Manufacturers Trust, Plourde drew a check to
Craven for $140,000,’ which was then cashed. When the
bank produced the money (consisting of a hundred $1,000
bills and eighty $500 bills), Gordon, Simmers and the
others retired to a small anteroom, where the money was
counted (Tr. 756-759, 898-900). When the counting was
complete, Simmers reached over and put the money in the
briefcase which he had bought just before entering the

Broderick and Plourde, is in part probably accounted for by a
dispute between Broderick and Brady about Plourde. Brady
wanted the ‘finder’s fee’ to come to him from Plourde in cash,
but Broderick did not wish to have Plourde left, as a result, with
an income tax problem. Broderick also told Brady that the com-
pensation which Brady proposed to give to Plourde for acting as a
straw was too small.’’

1® The difference of $5,000 between the $145,000 paid as a finder’s
fee and the $140,000 check drawn to Craven represents Plourde’s
fee for serving as a straw (App. A, 1167).

12

bank (Tr. 900). Kiernan, accompanied by Plourde, then
carried the briefcase uptown, where they met Rrady; and
Kiernan and Brady counted the money again. When this
counting was complete, the empty briefcase was given to
Plourde. Later that day, Gordon gave Craven one of the
$500 bills as payment for his assistance. In this manner
the finder’s fee paid to Plourde by Foundation was re-
moved from Plourde’s account and paid either to Brady or
partly to Brady and partly to other members of the con-
spiracy (App. A, 1167-1168).

The second means for accomplishing the kick-back pay-
ments was the so-called attorney’s fee. In April of 1960,
in accordance with the predated attorney’s fee letter
(signed at The Foundation office on February 20, 1960),
a check for $50,000, in payment of the first installment of
the attorney’s fee, was sent to Broderick. However, by
this time there had heen a change of plan: Gordon, and not
Broderick, was to be the recipient of the attorney’s fee.
As a result, Broderick returned the check for $50,000 to
Foundation with a letter in which he assigned his interest
in the fee agreement to Gordon (Ex. 21; Tr. 518-523, 966).
Subsequently Gordon received three checks from Founda-
tion, totalling $100,000, in full payment of the attorney’s
fee (Exs. 42-44; Tr. 957-959). These checks were cashed
or put through for collection. Part of the proceeds went
to Gordon, and part (including five $10,000 bills) went to
Simmers (Tr. 1527-1551). Neither Gordon nor Simmers
performed legal services for Foundation” (App. A, 1168).

20 Each of the following witnesses (everyone who would havé
occasion to know) testified that to his knowledge neither Gordon
nor Simmers performed legal services for Foundation: Shea, at-
torney for Foundation (Tr. 1113-1114); Gallagher, attorney for
Foundation (Tr. 1137); Thompson, chairman of the board of
Foundation (Tr. 1023-1028) ; Ferrick, attorney for the Avthority
(Tr. 1559-1561).

13

The last device for making the kick-back payments was
the so-called subcontract. On June 8, 1960, Foundation
sent a check for $40,000 to Granite State, pursuant to a
fictitious purchase order, ostensibly for the construction
of four construction buildings at the garage site (Ex. 45;
Tr. 959-960). On March 3, 1961, Foundation sent another
check to Granite State, this time for $25,000, ostensibly for
ths construction of fences (Ex. 78; Tr. 1401-1402; Ex. 46,
Tr 959-960). No work was done by Granite State in return
for these payments (Tr. 1452-1454). In fact, Granite State
was only a paper corporation, with no tangible assets (Tr.
463-464, 478-479, 531-534). The $65,000 paid to Granite
State went to Gordon and Simmers (Tr. 1504-1531). Fic-
titious bills of Granite State in support of these payments
were sent by Gordon and Simmers to Fourdation (Ex. 76;
Tr. 1395-1399; Ex. 78; Tr. 1401-1402). See App. A, 1168-
1169.

By these means the kick-back payments were made by
Foundation, in accordance with the understanding when
the conspiracy was formed.

Summary of Argument.

A. There is no merit in petitioners’ contention that the
grand jury was not impartial. There is no evidence of bias
on the part of any grand juror against either petitioner or
any other defendant, and there was nothing inflammatory
or unfair in the newspaper stories referred to in the Sum-
mary of Record. The impartiality of the grand jurors is
assured by the oath which they take and by their random
selection to hear a wide variety of cases (all felony prose-
cutions in Massachusetts must be initiated by grand-jury
indictment).

B. There is no merit in petitioners’ contention concern-
ing possible bias on the part of the trial jury, since the trial

l4

judge took full precautions to insure that the jurors chosen
would be indifferent. No question under the United States
Constitution is raised by Macs. G.L. (Ter. Ed.) c. 234, § 28,
which permits the trial court, in its discretion, to conduct
the voir dire examination of prospective jurors itself, or
to delegate the examination to counsel.

C. There was abundant ground for founding territorial
jurisdiction in the Commonwealth cf Massachusetts and
venue in Suffolk County. The initial false pretenses. which
culminated in the payment of Authority money to Founda-
tion, took place in Boston. The Authority, First National
(trustee of the construction fund) and the garage itself are
located in Boston. Although the $450,000 was transferred
from the Authority to Foundation in New York City, part
of the proceeds of the larceny was later brought into Mas-
sachusetts and deposited in banks in Lawrence and An-
dover.

D. No question is raised under the United States Con-
stitution by the action of the Supreme Judicial Court in
overruling a previous decision which had clearly miscon-
strued the plain meaning of a venue statute for false pre-
tenses. Even if the action of the court amounted to a
change in the rule of venue, instead of the correction of an
erroneous construction adopted previously, no question
of an ex post facto law would be presented; nor would this
result so violate the fundamental principles of legal pro-
ceedings as to constitute a denial of due process. In any
event, petitiomers waived this question by failing to argue
it before the Sapreme Judicial Court.

E. In section V of petitioners’ Reasons for Granting
the Writ it is contended that the evidence was insufficient to
establish various elements of the crimes of which peti-
tioners were convicted (on the theory that questions of
due process and ex post facio laws aré raised thereby).
However, the evidence was sufficient to support the convic-

15

tioas on each indictment. Even if we assume petitioners’
contention arguendo, the matters raised would be questions
cf state law only and would not present questions under
the United States Constitution.

F. The petition requests that certiorari issue to the
wrong court. In felony prosecutions in Massachusetts,
judgme.. is entered in the Superior Court. The taking of
an appeal does not transfer the case to the Supreme Ju-
dicial Court, but only the questions of law which are raised.
The rescript from the Supreme Judicial Court does not rep-
resent a judgment, but only a direction as to the judgment
to be entered in the Superior Court.

Argument.

A. Tuere ts No Evwence or Biss oN THE Part oF THE
Granp Jury.

Section I of petitioners’ Reasons for Granting the Writ
has to do with the news reporting concerning this case
and its possible effect on the deliberations of the grand
jury. In their argument petitioners assume that the news
reports caused the grand jurors to be prejudiced, and they
say that a question of due process thereby is raised.

However, the only reference to the allegedly prejudicial
publicity in this section of the petition appears at the top
of page 28, as follows: ‘‘In the instant case, the headlines
printed in the Summary of the Record (R. 40-44, 80-90, 159-
162)" show that the publicity emanated from the office of
the Attorney General.’’ In the first place, an examination
of the pages referred to in the Summary of Record demon-
strates that the words just quoted are not a correct state-

21The three different sections of the Summary of Record re-
ferred to consist principally of duplications of the same newspaper
leads.

16

ment of fact; there is little if anything in these pages to
show that publicity ‘‘emanated froin the office of the At-
torney General.’’** Moreover, there is no mention of either
petitioner by name in these newspaper leads, prior to the
return of the indictments. Nor is there any statement or
inference in these newspaper leads, prior to the return
of the indictments, that either petitioner was guilty of a
crime. Therefore there is no support in ihe record for the
contention that pre-indictment publicity was prejudicial to
petitioners.

In Beck v. Washington, 369 U.S. 541, certiorari was
granted on the question, among others, of whether there

22'The newspaper leads which would appear to have come from
the office of the Attcrney General are the following:

‘a) ‘‘Garage Board warned of grand jury action,’’ ‘‘Me-
Cormack (then Attorney General) demands files,’’ Boston Herald,
March 26, 1962 (R. 42, 82, 161). This statement appeared at the
beginning of the investigation, more than a month before the grand
jury was convened (May 3, 1960) (R. 86) and more than two
months before the return of thé indictments (May 31, 1960) (R.
90, 162). There is nothing in this statement prejudicial to either
of the petitioners or to anyone else. Certainly it was proper for
the Attorney General to call upon the Authority to produce its
records for examination by his staff before the matter was pre-
sented to the grand jury.

(b) ‘‘MeCormack says thousands paid, no questions asked,
garage deals ‘fantastic’,’’ Boston Herald, March 30, 1962 (R. 43,
82, 161). This statement also was made at the beginning of the
investigation, more than a month before the grand jury was con-
vened and more than two months before the return of the indict-
ments. The statement does not refer to the petitioners or to any-
one else by name, and it does not accuse anyone oi 4 crime.

(c) ‘‘Furevlo (former governor of Massachusetts) given clean
bill by McCormack,’’ Boston Herald, Apri! 10, 1962 (R. 43, 84,
162). Obviously this statement was not prejudicial to petitioners.

(d) ‘‘Brady apologizes for statements McCormack tells ex-
garage head he could be defendant,’’ Boston Globe, May 14, 1962
(R. 88). This statement by McCormack (not prejudicial to peti-
tioners) was in reply to inflammatory statements by Brady
(R. 88): ‘*Brady faces contempt action for blast at grand jury’’;
‘*Brady apologizes for calling garage probe ‘white wash’.’’

17

was a requirement under the United States Constitution
that state grand juries be impartial (365 U.S. 866). On
consideration of the case it was decided that there was no
showing of prejudice (therefore, the Court did not reach
the question on which certiorari was granted).

If the newspaper and other publicity in Beck v. Wash-
ington did not support a claim of prejudice, no such claim
can be made in the present case. In the Beck case the
defendant had been summoned before the Select Committee
on Improper Activities in the Labor or Management Field
of the United States Senate and had beci questioned,
among other things, about his dealings with union funds.
On some 210 occasions, in reply to questions from the com-
mittee, Becx invoked his privilege against self-incrimina-
tion. These hearings, and Beck’s refusal to testify, were
widely publicized, especially in Kings County in Washing-
ton, where the grand jury that indicted Beck was convened.
Less than three weeks before this grand jury was con-
vened, Beck was indicted by a federal grand jury for tax
fraud; and this fact also was widely publicized. Further-_
more, the chairman of the Senate committee made this
statement, while the state grand jury was deliberating:
‘‘The Committee has not convicted Mr. Beck of any crime,
although it is my belief that he has committed many crim-
inal offenses.’

It was further contended in the Beck case that the state
court had not taken sufficient precautions to insure that

longer mandatory, although it may be restorted to at the discretion
of the prosecution (generally when the subpoena power is required
for the investigation). Therefore, in Washington grand jurors
are convened to hear a particular case and may be instructed
beforehand with respect to that case. In Massachusetts, however,
all felony prosecutions must be initiated by grand jury indictment
(article 12 of the Declaration of Rights of the Massachusetts Con-

18

viewing the procedure for selecting the grand jury, this
Court concluded that there had been no showing of bias.

In the present case we submit, first, that the pre-indict-
ment publicity (certainly less damaging than in the Beck
case) cannot be considered prejudicial; second, we say
that the procedure for selecting the grand jury (as this
Court found to be true in the Beck case) insured that the
grand jury would be free from bias. Each grand juror in
the present case took the following oath, as required by
Mass. G.L. (Ter. Ed.) ¢. 277, $5:

‘‘You, as grand jurors of this inquest for the body
of this county of (Suffolk), do solemnly swear that you
will diligently inquire, and true presentment make, of
all such matters and things as shall be given you in
charge; the commonwealth’s counsel, your fellows’ and
your own, you shall keep secret; you shall present no
man for envy, hatred or malice, neither shall you leave
any man unpresented for love, fear, favor, affection
or hope of reward; but you shall present things truly,
as they come to your knowledge, according to the best
of your understanding; so help you God.’’

Moreover, because this grand jury was selected at ran-
dom for general grand jury service, and without forewarn-
ing that they would hear this case, it is unlikely that they
had formed preconceived notions as to the guilt or inno-
cence of petitioners, or of anyone else who was later named
in the indictments. Ou the other hand, there is a danger
in the particularity of the instructions given to the grand

stitution). Therefore in Massachusetts grand juries are convened
from time to time in the various counties, to hear whatever cases
may be presented while they are sitting. Since the court does not
know in advance what cases will be presented, Massachusetts grand
juries are given general instructions and are not instructed about
particular cases.

19

jurors in the Beck case, as this Court recognize® In reply
to the defense argument that the Washington court failed
to instruct the grand jurors about the Fifth Amendment, or
to admonish them to disregard news reports, this Court
said (369 U.S. 541, 548) :

‘Discussion along such lines might w+!! have added
fuel to the flames which some see here.’

It should be borne in mind that there is no evidence or
allegation of prejudice on the part of any particular mem-
ber of the grand jury. As this Court said in Darcy v.
Handy, 351 U.S. 454, 462:

‘*. , . it is not asking too much that the burden of
showing essential unfairness be sustained by him who
claims such injustice and seeks to have the result set
aside, and that it be sustained not as a matter of specu-
lation but as a demonstrable reality.’’

B. Conpuct or THE Vorr-Dire ExamInaTION or TRIAL
JURORS BY THE JUDGE DoEs Nor Raise a CoNnsTITUTIONAL
QUESTION.

The next matter raised by petitioners has to do with the
voir dire questioning of prospective trial jurors. Mass.
G.L. (Ter. Ed.) c. 234, § 28, provides in part as follows:

‘*. , . the court shall, or the parties or their attor-
neys may under the direction of the court, examine
on oath a person who is called as a juror therein, to
learn whether he is related to either party or has any
interest in the case, or has expressed or formed an
opinion, or is sensible of any bias or prejudice,
therein .. .”’

20

In this case the trial judge asked all prospective jurors
the questions required by the cited statute and other ques-
tions that were suggested by the responses which he re-
ceived. As the Supreme Judicial Court said (App. A,
1159): ‘*The judge . . . interviewed each juror separately
in open court, informed each of the essentials of the indict-
ments, inquired of each as to the matters embraced in
G.L. c. 234, § 28, so far as relevant, and in addition pro-
pounded, as the particular situation commended, additional
inquiries, including some suggested by counsel. In all
respects the judge was meticulous to insure the empanelling
of a jury free from bias.’’ Each person selected for the
jury had stated, in reply to questions put by the trial judge,
that he or she had no preconceived opinion as to the in-
nocence or guilt of the petitioners. Anyone expressing
bias or preconceived notions of guilt or innocence was ex-
cused by the trial judge.

The petitioners’ position as to this matter, apparently,
is that conduct of the voir dire examination of prospective
jurors by the trial judge, instead of permitting this ex-
amination to be conducted by defense counsel, is a denial
of due process. This position, we submit, is without merit.
The procedure adopted by the trial judge has long been
permissible in Massachusetts (App. A, 1159). When a
trial judge questions the jurors conscientiously to make
sure that they are free from bias, as the trial judge did
in this case, it cannot be said that his refusal to permit
the examination to be conducted by counsel so violates the
fundamental principles of legal proceedings as to consti-
tute a denial of due process. Buchalter v. New York, 319
U.S. 427.*

24 Nine other states and the Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure
(Rule 24[a]) have provisions similar to that of Massachusetts con-
cerning the voir dire examination of jurors (Appendix D to the
Petition, pp. 69-73)*

21

The same question was raised in Commonwealth v.
Geagan, 339 Mass. 487, 159 N.E. 2d 870 (1959); cert. den.
361 U.S. 895, 80 S.C. 200, 4 L. Ed. 2d 152 (1960). After
the petition for certiorari had been denied by this Court,
following the state court proceedings, the defendant in
Commonwealth v. Geagan raised the same question again,
among others, in a habeas corpus proceeding in the Fed-
eral District Court. Geagan v. Gavin, 181 F. Supp. 466
(1960). In denying the petition for habeas corpus, Wyzan-
ski, J., said, concerning the voir dire examination of the
prospective jurors (which was substantially the same as
that in the instant case), at page 474:

‘‘Nor does this Court regard the actual questions put
by Judge Forte as inadequate. They covered not only
the grounds specified by Mass. G.L. (Ter. Ed.) ¢. 234
§ 23, but also other points. They were calculated to
discover whether a juror was free from prejudice
caused by pre-trial publicity. These questions satisfied
the Massachusetts Supreme Judicial Court and they
satisfy the demands of the due process clause.’’

The decision of the District Court was affirmed on appeal,
Geagan v. Gavin, 292 ¥. 2d 244 (1961); and certiorari was
denied again, 370 U.S. 903, 82 S.C. 1247, 8 L. Ed. 2d 399
(1962).

Accordingly, we submit that the questivn raised in this
case concerning the voir dire examination of the trial
jurors is not sufficient to support the petition for certi-
orari.”*

25The question concerning Massachusetts practice in the voir
dire examination of prospective jurors was raised as issue No. 4
in the first petition for certiorari (No. 421, October Term, 1959;
Geagan v. Massachusetts, 361 U.S. 895) and as issue No. 3 in the
second petition for certiorari (No. 394, October Term, 1961, 370
U.S. 903).

22

C. Turre was Aspunpant Grounp ror Founpine TeEsrri-
TORIAL JURISDICTION IN MASSACHUSETTS AND VENUE IN
SurrotkK County. ;

The larceny indictment (R. 1-2) is in the general lan-
guage provided by statute (G.L. [Ter. Ed.] ¢. 277, § 79),
which permits proof of larceny in any form (G.L. [Ter.
Ed.] c. 277, §§ 39, 41). Under this indictment it was proper
to prove a violation of G.L. c. 266, § 33(1).2%° Common-
wealth v. Kelley, 184 Mass. 320, 322-324. Commonwealth
v. King, 202 Mass. 379, 386-391. Commonwealth v. Green,
302 Mass. 547, 553-554. In fact, an offense under this sec-
tion was charged specifically by the substitute bills of
particulars (R. 74-76), which allege that the defendants
‘‘with intent to defraud obtained by false pretenses the
making of a check ...’’ (Emphasis added.) Common-
wealth v. Iannello, 344 Mass. 723, 726-727. Accordingly,
the offense defined in G.L. c. 266, § 33 (1), was part of the
larceny case. Therefore, with respect to the questions
of venue and jurisdiction for the larceny indictment, refer-
ence may be made to venue and jurisdiction for the offense
defined in tnis section.

Since there is no statutory venue for G.L. c. 206, § 33 (1),
the common-law rule applies, which is that venue will lie
in the county where the offense was committed. Common-
wealth v. Parker, 2 Pick. 550, 554. Commonwealth v. Quin,
5 Gray 478, 480. Crocker v. Justices of the Superior Court,
208 Mass. 162. The crime is committed when someone
‘‘with intent to defraud, obtains by a false pretence the

26In pertinent part, this statute provides as follows: ‘‘ Who-
ever, with intent to defraud, obtains by a false pretence the making
. of a bill of exchange . . . shall be guilty of larceny.’’ It is
noteworthy that this offense does not require a showing that the
bill of exchange changed hands; the crime has been committed
when the bill of exchange is made.

23 .

making ...of a bill of exchange ...’’ (Emphasis
added.) If the bill of exchange is a check, the crime has
been committed when the check has been made out and
signed, which im this case was at the main office of First
Nattonal in Boston (Tr. 670-671, 1214-1215). Furthermore,
Authority resolutions approving various documents (e.g.,
the proposed construction contract between the Authority
and Foundation), which the jury could have found ere
misrepresentations and without which the jury could have
found that the check could not have been made, were
adopted at an Authority meeting in Boston. Every ele-
ment of the offense defined in G.L. c. 266, § 33 (1), occurred
in Boston. Therefore venue properly was laid in Suffolk
County. Obviously, there is no problem in founding juris-
diction in Massachusetts for this offense.”

~ Therefore the argument made by petitioners (section ITI
of Reasons for Granting the Writ) that there was no evi-
dence of a larceny committed in Massachusetts (or for
which venue properly would lie in Suffolk County) is
without merit.

Petitioners argue that the larceny terminated when the
$450,000 was paid to Foundation in New York and when
this money was mingled with the general funds of Founda-
tion. They are forced to take that position for this reason:
The later payments made by Foundation to Gordon and
Simmers (the attorney’s fee and the subcontract payments)

ad Under the indictment and substitute bills of particulars the
Commonwealth also could prove an offense under G.L. e. 266, § 30,
which provides in pertinent part that ‘‘ Whoever .. . with intent
to defraud obtains by a faise pretence . . . the property of another
. shall be guilty of larceny ...’’ In this case venue of the
crime defined in this section was properly laid in Suffolk County
(and jurisdiction in Massachusetts). Our argument in support of
this position appears in part D of the Argument infra, in reply to
section IV of Reasons for Granting the Writ contained in the peti-
tion.

24

were deposited by them in Massachusetts banks (Tr. 1495-
1531; Tr. 1537-1551). The venve section for false pre-
tenses which petitioners admit applies (G.L. [Ter. Ed.] c.
277, § 58)** provides for venue wherever the defendant
‘*had possession of the property alleged to have been
stolen.” Therefore, unless petitioners contend that the
money which they received from Foundation and deposited
in Massachusetts banks was not ‘‘property alleged to have
been stolen,’’ they must concede that Massachusetts had
jurisdiction of the larceny charged. However, in arguing
that the crime terminated when the money was paid to
Foundation, petitioners overlook the long-standing Massa-
chusetts rule that larceny is a continuing offense until the
asportation is complete. Commonwealth v. Rand, 7 Met.
475, 477. Commonwealth v. Parker, 165 Mass. 526, 538-539.
Furthermore, the Supreme Judicial Court has found that

(App. A, 1173):

‘*It is clear that the criminal design, from its incep-
tion, contemplated that the funds, through Foundation,
should reach Brady’s hands or the hands of persons
designated by him, and that only when that result had
been achieved would the enterprise, i.e., the larceny,
be complete. And, indeed, it was only when that re-
sult was achieved that the essential larcenous nature,
i.e., the animus furandi, of the plan became clear and
demonstrable. Simmers and Gordon knowingly co-
Operated to advance the plan through that decisive
stage. They accomplished with animus furandi the
asportation of the funds both in New York and in
Massachusetts.”’

28 Petitioners argue that G.L. (Ter. Ed.) c. 277. § 58, is the
only venue section for false pretenses. However, the Supreme

‘ Judicial Court held in this case (App. A, 1175-1177) that G.L.

(Ter. Ed.) ¢. 277, § 59 also applies.

25 ,

In any event, even if we assume petitioners’ contention
arguendo that the Massachusetts court misapplied state law
in founding venue for the larceny indictment in Suffolk
County, no question arises under the United States Con-
stitution. There are sufficient connections between what
took place in this case and the state of Massachusetts *
to make a finding of jurisdiction in Massachusetts consis-
tent with the fundamental principles of legal proceedings
and therefore in accord with due process. Buchalter v.
New York, 319 U.S. 427. Although a change in the estab-
lished rule as to Massachusetts jurisdiction of the larceny
charge might raise an ex post facto question™ (Bouie v.
City of Columbia, 378 U.S. 347, 84 S.C. 1697; Beazeil v.
Ohio, 269 U.S. 167, 46 S.C. 68), a change in the rule as to
the county in Massachusetts in which venue of this crime
may be laid would not. Cook v. United States. 138 US.
157, 183, 11 S.C. 268, 275. Gut v. State of Minnesota, 9
Wall. 35, 37.

D. No ConstiTuTIoNaL QUESTION Is RalsED BY THE ACTION
OF THE SuPREME JupiciaL Court In OVERRULING A PRioz
DEcISION WHICH HaD CLEARLY Misappuiep a State Srart-
UTE CoNCERNING VENUE.

In part IV of the petition questions are raised under
the United States Constitution concerning the holding by
the Supreme Judicial Court that the venue provision of

22The Authority, First National (construction fund trustee)
and the garage are located in Boston. False pretenses were made
in Boston. The $450,000 check to Foundation was made and signed
in Boston. Proceeds of the larceny were deposited in banks in
Andover and Lawrence, both in Massachusetts.

As pointed out previously, no substantial question can be
raised as to jurisdiction in Massachusetts of the larceny charge.

26

G.L. (Ter. Ed.) ¢. 277, § 59,*! applies to this case.** This
argument is based on the fact that in 1905 the Supreme
Judicial Court held (Commonwealth v. Friedman, 188
Mass. 308) that the predecessor of this statute did not ap-
ply to the predecessor of what is now Massachusetts Gen-
eral Law, c. 266, one of the larceny statutes under which
the petitioners in this case were charged.* In deciding the
present case, the Supreme Judicial Court, after careful
consideration, reversed the holding in Friedman and ruled
that the venue statute in question does apply to G.L. c. 266,
§ 30 (App. A, 1175-1177). The petitioners now assert that
the overruling of Friedman raises due process and ex post
facto questions.

In reply to this argument, it should be noted that the first
time this argument has been made is in the petition to this
Court. In its brief (and in oral argument) the Common-
wealth had argued that Friedman should be overruled
(App. A, 1176). Under the Massachusetts practice (Rule
16 of the Rules for the Regulation of Practice before the
Full Court of the Supreme Judicial Court),* petitioners
had the right to file a reply brief to answer this argument.
No reply brief was filed, and nothing was said in the oral

81 This statute provides as follows:

‘‘The crime of obtaining money or a personal chattel by a false
pretence . . . may be alleged to have been committed, and may be
prosecuted and punished, in any county where the false pretence
was made, written or used, or in or through which any of the prop-
erty obtained was carried, sent, transported or received by the
defendant.’’

82 App. A, 1175-1177.

83 Petitioners were also charged with the forms of larceny de-
fined in G.L. e. 266, §§ 33(1) and 34. Commonwealth v. King, 202
Mass. 379, 386-391. Commonwealth v. Kelley, 184 Mass. 320, 322-
324. Commonwealth v. Ianncllo, 344 Mass. 723, 726-727 (R. 74-76).

%4See Appendix I attached to this brief.

_—_—,

27 ,

arguments about constitutional questions that might be
raised by the overruling of Friedman. Under Massachu-
setts practice the failure to brief and argue the questions
constituted a waiver (Rule 13 of the Rules for the Regula-
tion of Practice before the Full Court of the Supreme
Judicial Court).**

The reason for this rule is well illustrated by what hap-
pened in this case. The Commonwealth made three argu-
ments before the Supreme Judicial Court in support of a
finding that venue had been established in this ease.” The
first and third arguments had nothing to do with the ruling
in the Friedman case. Only the second argument concerned
the holding in Friedman. In its opinion the Supreme J udi-
cial Court dealt only with the venue question concerning
the Friedman case, and made no reference, one way or the
other, to the other arguments made by the Commonwealth
in support of venue. Indeed, since the Court was per-
suaded that Friedman should be overruled, and since no
contrary argument had been made by petitioners either by
reply brief or by oral argument, there was no reason for
the Court to concern itself with the other arguments about
venue. If the question which the petitioners now raise
(about the overruling of Friedman) had been argued to
the Supreme Judicial Court, that Court would have had
the opportunity to deal with the other venue arguments
made by the Commonwealth, to determine whether venue
had been established regardless of whether Friedman was
overruled. Therefore we suggest that in this case there is
special force to the rule that failure to make an argument
at the appropriate time constitutes a waiver.

"35 See pages 37-38 of the petition.
36 See Appendix I attached to this brief.

37 Reference to these arguments appears at page 37 of the peti-
tion, n. 16.

28

Moreover, the petitioners’ argument concerning the
overruling of Friedman is without merit. The principal
case cited by them in support of their argument is Bouie
v. City of Columbia,®* 378 U.S. 347, 84 S.C. 1697. In the
Bouie case there was a statute which made it a crime to
enter upon premises after being notified of a prohibition
against such entry. The state court held that this statute
would support a conviction of defendants who were invited
to enter upon certain premises but then refused to leave,
after being directed to do so. Clearly, this was such a
strained construction of a criminal statute as to amount to
ex post facto law-making by the court. In the present case
the situation is entirely different. Here we have a venue
statute which, on its face, clearly applies to the larceny
statute. As the Supreme Judicial Court said: ‘‘If this
were a case of first impression we should have no hesita-
tion in reaching the conclusion that by the plain terms of
G. L. c. 277, § 59, the Commonwealth’s contention is cor-
rect’? (App. A, 1175). In overruling the Friedman case
the Supreme Judicial Court was not attempting to make
law, but was merely correcting an earlier decision which
had misconstrued the plain meaning of a statnte and had
overlooked a lengthy and uniform legislative history (App.
A, 1176-1177).

Moreover, a change in the law of a state concerning the
county in which venue may be laid (assuming the state had

88 This Court has held that the ez post facto clause of the United
States Constitution is directed against legislative action and does
not reach erroneous or inconsistent decisions by a state court.
Frank v. Mangum, 237 U.S. 309, 35 S.C. 582. Ross v. Oregon,
227 U.S. 150, 33 S.C. 220. This rule appears to have becn modified
by the recent decision in ‘Bowie v. City of Columbia, supra. How-
ever, Bouie applies to ‘‘unfureseeable’’ judicial actior.. In view
of the clear meaning of the venue statute concerned in this case.
the decision by the Supreme Judicial Court in this case was not
‘*unforeseeable.”’

29

jurisdiction over the crime when it was committed) does
not present a question under the United State: Constitu-
tion.

E. Tse Eviwence was Surricirent To Suprort THE Con-
VICTIONS.

In section V of the petition it is argued that the evi-
dence was insufficient, in several respects, to support the
convictions. The short answer to this argument is that it
concerns alleged errors in the application of state law
which do xot present questions under the United States
Constitution. Buchalter v. New York, 319 U.S. 427.

Furthermore, in each respect referred to by petitioners
the evidence was clearly sufficient to support the convic-
tions.

As to the criminal intent of Simmers and Gordon, there
was evidence that they received $165,000 from Foundation
($100,000 for the legal fee and $65,000 for the subcontract)
for which they knew that no services had been rendered.
They produced Craven to act as a straw in transferring the
finder’s fee; they were present when the finder’s fee, in
cash, was counted at the bank; Simmers purchased the
briefcase in which the cash was carried from the bank. In
addition to receiving the payments under the so-called at-
torney’s fee and subcontract, they sent false statements
and bills to Foundation to support these payments. Clearly
they were acting, with guilty knowledge, in concert with
the other conspirators. Nor can they escape liability for
the larceny merely because they were not participants in
one part (false pretenses) of a crime that was committed in
several stages. The law in Massachusetts is that the crime
of larceny is a continuing offense until the asportation is

3° See section C of this argument, supra, pp. 22-25.

30

complete and that knowing participants in one or more
aspects of the commission of the crime are guilty of the en-
tire crime (App. A, 1172-1173).

As to the element of reliance on the false pretenses, the
evidence was that under the Bond Resolution (Ex. 6; Tr.
324-331) the construction fund trustee was obligated to
make payments upon receipt cf a reguisition from the Au-
thority certified by the construction engineer. Accordingly,
requisition 1 (calling for the payment to Foundation of
$450,000), which had been signed by defendant Brady and
certified by defendant Kiernan, caused the payment to be
made. It is of no consequence that one or more members
of the Authority may have been parties to the conspiracy,
since the knowledge of a fraudulent agent is not imputed
to his principal. Commonwealth v. Mulrey, 170 Mass. 103,
106. See App. A, 1171-1172.

Finally, petitioners contend that the indictments were
defective in narning the Authority instead of First National
as to the victim of the crimes. This argument is entirely
without merit (App. A, 1173-1175).

F. Tue Petition Requests THAT CERTIORARI ISSUE TO THE
Wrone Court.

This case was tried under the provisions of G.L. c. 278,
§§ 33A-33G (R.5). The entry of the appeal did not trans-
fer the case from the Superior Court to the Supreme Ju-
dicial Court, but only the law questions raised. G.L. c. 278,
§ 33E. The final judgment was entered in the Superior
Court. The rescript from the Supreme Judicial Court is
not a judgment, but merely a direction as to what judg-
ment should be entered in the Superior Court. Gray v.
Ccok, 135 Mass. 189, 190.

31 .
Conclusion.

For the reasons presented in section F of the Argument
herein the petition for certiorari should be dismissed. Al-
ternatively, for the reasons presented in the other sections
of our Argument, the petition should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

EDWARD W. BROOKE,
Attorney General, Commonwealth of
Massachusetts,

GAEL MAHONY,

WILLIAM B. DOCKSER,
Special Assistant Attorneys General,
Commonwealth of Massachusetts.

| Appendix follows. ]

PF FORE PT eT TEIN PGA RIRIME BENE ED IRIE BEE AT RAGIN: OLE YT IBD, HARMS BED RGA FER ARP IST TE EP ARE NN ST

32
Appendix I.

RvuuLeEs FoR THE REGULATION OF PRACTICE BEFORE THE FULL
Court oF THE SupPpREME JupiciaL Court (1952, as
AMENDED NoveMBER 5, 1962).

13.

NO ORAL ARGUMENT WITHOUT BRIEF EXCEPT BY LEAVE OF COURT.

No oral argument shall be heard, except by special per-
mission of the court, in behalf of a party for whom no brief
has been filed as provided in these rules. The court need
not pass upon questions or issues not argued in briefs.
Nothing argued in a brief shall be deemed to be waived by
a failure to argue orally.

16.

TIMES FOR FILING BRIEFS.

(A) Except as provided elsewhere in this rule, the brief
of the party entering a case in the full court shall be filed
not later than the twenty-eighth day after entry of the
case, and briefs of other parties shall be filed not later than
the forty-ninth day after such entry. If the last day for
filing any such brief falls on a legal holiday, the brief may
be filed on the next wo:king day. Not later than one day
(exclusive of a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday) before the
first day of the sitting at which the case is in order for
argument, any party may file a brief in reply. Each party
shall file with his brief a certificate of mailing or delivering
a copy to counsel for each other party. Twenty-five copies
of each brief shall be filed.

(B) If the time for filing the brief for the party entering
a case falls between the twenty-seventh day prior to the
May sitting and August 31, the parties may agree to ex-
' tend the time for filing such brief to a date not later than

33

the third Monday of September and the briefs of other
parties twenty-one days later. Such a case shall not be
argued before the first Monday of November unless the
party entering the case is required by such agreement to
file his brief prior to August 15. Such agreement shall be
filed with the clerk not later than seven days after entry
of the case.

(C) No brief may be filed at any other time except as
may be provided by agreement filed with the clerk and ap-
proved by a justice.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385602_0347%3A4. Public record. Not legal advice.
