# Petitioners Reply to Respondents Brief — Spanos Painting Contractors, Inc. v. Union Building & Construction Corp.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385602_0336%3A4

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petitioners Reply to Respondents Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1965
- **Citation:** 380 U.S. 912

## Text

Gffice-Supreme Court, U.S.
FILED

FEB 4 1965

| owe aavis CLERK

ih

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1964

No. 777

RAYMOND W. FLEMING

Petitioner,
-versus-
MICHAEL S. WOLKE,
Sheriff of Milwaukee County,
Respondent.

PETITIONER’S REPLY TO
RESPONDENT’S BRIEF

Ray T. MCCANN

152 West Wisconsin Avenue
Milwaukee, Wisconsin 53203

Counsel for Petitioner

|

MAMMERSMITH-KORTMEVER CO. MILWAUKEE

INDEX

Page
I TE ides tik ostetipicnctntpealiiactteenicnions i
Reply to Respondent's Statement of the Case .......... l

Reply to Respondent's Statement of Reasons for

SN A ncaa daeisdanienneomnese 3
a
a ha iat uaaaitls paseo 10

AUTHORITIES CITED
Cases Cited
Carbo v. U.S. (1961) 364 U.S. 611, 81 S.Ct. 338,

Be es I ago sais nicks sineotionnien ene aencsnonepeanaayniowen 7
Fay v. Noia (1963) 372 U.S. 391, 83 S. Ct. 822, 9

pc A IIE ic diicciicia ka ssennb cela ton taceeiahscinnsiabesionaess 7
Gover v. State of Wisconsin (1965) 26 Wis. (2d)

ON ee er I ins ercschten erenbdarsnrtctersnbones 8
Hindson v. Kersey (1765) 8 How. St. Tr. 57 Fn..... 9
Michigan National Bank v. Robertson (1963) 372

U.S. 591, 83 S. Ct. 914, 9 L. Ed. (2d) 961 ............ 5
Raley v. State of Ohio (1959) 360 U.S. 423, 79 S.Ct.

Be EE SO tien ntcctnisttsrcecicneosinacess 5

United States v. Holovachka (7th Cir. 1963) 314 F.
2d 345 cert. den. 374+ U.S. 809, 83 S.Ct. 1695... 6

Other Authorities
Black’s Law Dictionary, Third Edition, page 587... 9

Blackstone Commentaries, 129-132 ........0.c.cccceceeeeeeeeee 7

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1964

No. 777

RAYMOND W. FLEMING

Petitioner,
-versus-
MICHAEL S. WOLKE,
Sheriff of Milwaukee County.
Respondent.

REPLY TO RESPONDENT’S BRIEF ON
PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE SUPREME COURT OF WISCONSIN

REPLY TO RESPONDENT’S
STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The detitioner was the accused and putative defendant
before the “John Doe” at the time of his appearance by
subpoena. This was unknown to him nor was he in-
formed of such status unt the conclusion of his testimony
at the secret inquiry.

]

He was subpoenied by the State to give evidence in
the proceedings conducted for the purpose of establish-
ing and inquiring into his guilt. He was. in fact. misled
by the subpoena and by its very terms to believe he wa:
to give evidence om beha!? of the State and not against
himself. He was served with this subpoen: on the very
morning he was to appear. The statement objected to by
the respondent is established by Lie very words of the
subpoena. and the inferences reasonably drawn there-
from. The issue of the subpoena and the compulsion
therein and thereby to give testimony had been duiv
raised prior to this Petition. The issue thus raised was
reated in r’e following language by the Wisconsin Sv-
preme Court in disposing of this question and the ques-
hens with respect to the constitutionality of the “John
Doe” stacute and the proceed:ags conducted thereunder:

“The other arguments of the cefendant do not
involve questions of jurisdictional defects or the facts
do not constitute such a defect. The form of the
subpoena used in the Joun Doe proceeding did not
deprive the magistrate of jurisdiction t issue the

warrant. If the defendant believes the subpoens was
improper he could have refused to testify: having
testified. ie defendaut -vaived his objection. Nor
does the defenaant’s argument that he was compelied
to testify while 2 suspect in vielanon of the Fifth
and Fourteenth amendments of the United States
constitution raise 2 jurisdictona!l question. The Fif
amendment :3 now spolicable in effect to state pro-
ceedings by virtue of the Fourteenth amendment.
Miallo. v. Hogan (1964). 378 U.S. 1. & Sup. Cz
i459, 12 LD. Ed. (2d) 653. If the defendant should
not have been interrogated while a suspect without
warning or advice that he was 2 suspect. his testi-
mony was illegally eaeies and the question of its
use can be raised by 2 proper moon to suppress

under sez. 935.99, Sr ts."

‘ea

REPLY TO RESPONDENT'S STATEMENT OF
REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

I

Contrary t the respondent's statements of the basis of
the Pet on. :t is not based on ner so narrowly inmited to
Geciarin, the “John Dee” statute unconstitunonal. The
complete grounds have been repeated!v urged and state
In terms of the violation of the petnnoner’s meghts. priv
leges. and immunities uncer the United States Const:tu-
ten

Ali the substantive grounds forming the bas:s of the
Petition before this Court have been at issue. argued
and presented at all stages of the Aatees corgu: proceed:
ings and prior to ths Petinon. The respondent specine
iv recognized the issue of the constitumonalin ct me
statute 1m its appeal to the Wisconsin Supreme Court trom
the dismissal of the charges Dy the trial court amc state:
as follows in its Brief arguing at page !7. under the Title:

“Ill. EVEN IF THE DEFENDANT HAS
STANDING TO CHALLENGE THE VALID-
ITY OF THE JOHN DOE BY THIS HABEAS
CORPUS PROCEEDING. THE JOHN DOE
Is VALID AND ITs USE HAs DEPRIVED
DEFENDANT OF NONE OF HIs RIGHTS

It argued specifically at page is:

“The conmststutiomait¢t, of se tion GS4023. Star:
pit a z John Doe investigation has deen re-
tiv upheld by this Court in State ex re!. Jackson
“Colfer 679063: . 8 Wis. 2d $29, 345. ot. LisNW
3: 934, anc more recently. this Court has uphel:
the validity of the John De e (Proceedinz In Quest:

State ex rel. Nied zieiko v. Coffey (i964 | 22 wW
973 297°

4.

The unconstitutionality of the “John Doe” statute was
not claimed by the petitioner in the manner that respon-
dent indicates. It was raised specifically in terms of the
Fourteenth Amendment and was repeatedly urged in that
form. This issue was succinctly urged again at page 13
of the Brief of Defendant in Error on Motion For Re-
hearing under the title:

“The John Doe Statute Sec. 954.025 Stats. Is Un-
constitutional as Violative of the Due Process Re-
quired by the Fourteenth Amendment.”

* * * *

“There is a serious question as to the constitu-
tionality of the whol. statute, aside from the uncon-
stitutional grant of Star Chamber or inquisitorial
powers. It is manifest that if in .aw the magistrate
did act within the powers and jurisdiction granted
to him by the statute on the basis of the entire record
before the Court, then this statute avoids the require-
ments of due process, dictated by the Fourteenth
Amendment. If a person accused can be compelled
by subpoena under the pretext of giving evidence
on behalf of the state at a secret proceeding ‘vithout
being informed of his status, without the ight of
counsel as guaranteed to an accused by the Sixth
Amenément to the Constitution, compelled to give
testimony under such circumstances without being
advised of any of his rights contrary to the Fifth
Amendment to the Constitution, and thereafter the
magistrate has the power to charge such accused with
criminality following such statutory proceeding con-
ducted aturesaid, all without doing mortal insult to
the jurisdiction granted by such statute to the magis-
trate, then such statute is unconstitutional.

“The equitable rule applicabie to individuals
should be applicabie to the State:
A State cannot do indirectly by or under statute
what it is directly or expressly prohibited from
doing by the Constitution.

5

“The constitutionality of such statute is brought
into question by the writ; 39 C.J.S. Habeas Corpus,
§18, p. 458. The unconst: itutionality of a statute un-
der which detention is sought to be sustained is
ground for relief on habeas corpus.”

The respondent cites the case of Michigan National
Bank v. Robertson (1963), 372 U.S. 591, 83 8. Ct. 914, 9
L. Ed. (2d) 961, as authority for denying jurisdiction.
{t is to be noted that the ‘Court granted Certiorari and
remanded the case for further proceedings not inconsistent
with its opinion which, in effect, allowed the lower Court
to consider the question raised at first instance in the
Supreme Court.

It is respectfully submitted, that the case in point with
respect to the issues before this Court raised by the re-
spondent is Raley v. State of Ohio (1959), 360 U.S. 423,
79 S. Ct. 257, 3 L. Ed. (2d) 1344, at page 436:

“The assignments of error made by Mrs. Morgan
in the State Supreme Court show that she claimed
in that court that the iudgment of conviction was
violative of due process, as guaranteed by the Fed-
eral Constitution, in that while she claimed the
privilege, she was not ‘charged with refusal to an-
swer any questions asked by members of the Com-
mission and that she was not notified that her claim
f the privilege was rejected by the Commission.’
The State Supreme Court passed on this claim, hold-
ing that a direction to answer was unnecessary be-
cause of the immunity statute, and stated generally
that its reasoning and conclusions in her case ‘apply
with equal force to the appeal of Raley, Sterr and
Brown, 164 Ohio St. at page 532, 133 N.E. 2d at
page 108. There can be no question as to the proper
presentation of a federal claim when the highest
state court passes on 1t. See Manhattan Life Ins. Co.
of New York v. Cohen, 234 U.S. 123, 134, 34 S. Ct.

6
874, 877, 58 L. Ed. 1245. We think this sufficient

here to satisfy the statutory requireme:t that the
federal right sought to be vindicated in this Court be
one claimed below. 28 U.S.C. §1257(3), 28 U.S.C.A.
§1257(3).” (Emphasis supplied)

II

The respondent has admitted that the petitioner was
the accused when he was subpoenaed to appear before
the “John Doe”. Respondent also admits that the peti-
tioner was never advised of his rights or status prior to
the completion of his testimony before the “John Doe”.
Contrary to the facts in the case cited by the respondent—
United States v. Holovachka (7th Cir., 1963), 314 Fed.
2d 345, cert. den. 374 U.S. 809, 83 S. Ct. 1695: rehearing
den. 374 U.S. 859, {3 S. Ct. 1869—the petitioner herein
was not a lawyer, did not appear in public hearing, and
was never asked whether he wisiied to claim privilege,
or that he could claim privilege, or whether he waived
privilege, as were the facts in the case cited.

The inquiry complained of was not a police investiga-
tion but was in the nature of a judicial proceeding and
was accusatorial and it secretly focused on the Petitioner
as the accused and putative defendant.

III

The Petitioner’s complaint about the “John Doe” as a
Grand Jury substitute is not as limited or as stated by
respondent. All the authorities and statutes cited by re-
spondent as to how his future rights and privileges will
be protected in the contemplated hearings and proceed-
ings on the infamous crimes that he has been held to
answer for as a result of the “John Doe” proceedings are
held for naught. It is analogous to promising a man who

7

has been rendered totally blind that now every effort will
be made to preserve his eyes. The petitioner’s rights were
compromised in the “John Doe”. The charges of in-
famous crimes that he has been inade to answer for were
spawned from such hearing. No matter how legal, pious,
and righteous the future hearings and proceedings may
be, they cannot legitimately endow or restore those com-
promised rights with respect to or as they relate to the
infamous crimes charged as a result of the “John Doe”.
The preliminary hearing with all its safeguards during
such hearing becomes a mockery and travesty on Justice
when applied after the warrant and complaint have al-
reacy issued out of the “John Doe”. The dirty deed has
already been done. The faulty foundation laid by the
“John Doe” cannot be adequately corrected without re-
moval of all the charges which rest on or resulted from
such proceeding.

IV

In Fay v. Nota (1963), 372 U.S. 391, 83 S. Ct. 822,
9 L. Ed. (2d) 837, the long history of the writ for habeas
corpus as used in the case at kar was reviewed. It
unequivocally established that it is properly issued, as
in the case at bar, where fundamental rights have been
violated. This court specifically stated as recognized by
the trial court, but contrary to the ruling of the Supreme
Court of Wisconsin, that habeas corpus is not available
only to inquire into the jurisdiction in a narrow sense,
of the committing magistrate. Also see: Blackstone Com-
mentaries, 129-132; Carbo v. U. S. (1961), 364 U.S. 611,
81S. Ct. 338, 5 L. Ed. (2d) 329.

8
Vv

The respondent cites as ruling authority the recent
case of Goyer v. State of Wisconsin (1965), 26 Wis. (2d)
00, 131 N.W. (2d) 888, and quoted extensively from
this decision. For the purpose of a complete citation,
the last paragraph of the decision following the portion
cited by respondent reads as follows, at page 892:

“While some present justices of the United States
supreme court favor incorporation of all provisions
of the Bill of Rights into the Fourteenth amendment,
it seems unlikely that a majority of the court will so
decide thus freezing upon the states compulsory pre-
sentment or indictment by grand jury when so many
jurists and students of criminal law do not regard
it as essential to ordered liberty, and the trend for
many years has been steadily toward its abolition.”

VI

(he respondent’s argument concerning the “John Doe”
statute and the unlimited discretion granted to the magis-
trate to the effect that by its terms there is a presumption
that the magistrate wiil not abuse his discretion. If he
does abuse his discretion, this abuse of discretion can
be corrected prospectively but is of no relief to the person
whose rights have already been abused or compromised
by the magistrate’s indiscretion. This is a justifica-
tion put forth for a form of Star Chamber proceeding.
It is fundamental that under the concepts of ordered
liberty and a nation dedicated to the proposition of a
nation of men under law, and not the contrary, that such
proceedings which leave all the rights of a person to the
discretion of the magistrate who has the power of a court
to subpoena anyone before his secret inquiry under the

9

presumption that he will not abuse them is a clear invita-
tion to tyranny.

" Discretion is defined in Black’s Law Dictionary, Third
Edition, page 587 initially as:
“Power or privilege of the court to act unhampered _

by legal rule. Osborn v. United States Bank, 9
Wheat. 866, 6 L. Ed. 204;”

Lord Camden stated in Hindson v. Kersey (1765), 8
How. St. Tr. 57 Fn.:

“The discretion of a Judge is the law of tyrants:
it is always unknown. It is different in different men.
It is casual, and depends upon constitution, temper,
passion. In the best it is oftentimes caprice; in the
worst it is every vice, folly, and passion, to which
human nature is liable.”

vil

The Petition for Certiorari begs for definition of a
magistrate’s discretion as it affects the rights and privileges
of a United States citizen.

The petitioner, at the very inception of the proceed-
ings which were commenced to make him answer for the
infamous crimes resulting from ihe proceedings con-
ducted under the “John Doe” statute, urged his constitu-
tional rights as a United States citizen and petitioner did
so specifically by and in the petition and traverse for the
writ of habeas corpus. He has in all stages of these pro-
ceedings relied upon, argued, and urged the relief guaran-
teed to him by the Fourteenth Amendment to the United
States Constitution fo: the rights, privileges, and immuni-
ties compromised by the State, and also contrary to the
Fifth and Sixth Amendmenis. The Supreme Court of

10

Wisconsin interpreted their applicability, but it is re-
spectfully submitted, did so erroneously.

CONCLUSION

It is respectfully submitted that this Court has juris-
diction of the Petitioner. The Supreme Court of Wis-
consin has erred in interpreting the Uniied States Con-
stitution and its Amendments to the effect that statutory
proceedings which permit and violate the rights and
privileges of a United States citizen who is made to an-
swer for infamous crimes as a result thereof, that any
errors or abuses of his constitutional rights in or by such
proceedings were mere judicial or harmless error, or they
were waived or they can be ctired by rules of evidence.

The Const:tution and its amendments as they provide
guarantees of certain rights to individuals are to be re-
spected and protected, and.not subject to the harmless
error rule, waiver without proof of affirmative knowledge
of rights, interpreted merely by rules of evidence or their
violation allowed as judicial error.

Respectfully submitted,

Ray T. McCANN

Counsel for Petitioner

2
D2
2D

°

R

Ic

Mi

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385602_0336%3A4. Public record. Not legal advice.
