# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Powell v. James

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385602_0231%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1965
- **Citation:** 379 U.S. 966

## Text

cad
ee Ise

e
f
§.
©
}
a]

INDEX
Page
Opinions Below ...........eeeeeereeeeeeeneeeeeeees 1
De 5 nck ccdancercecssuscteeeneseseeaesses 2
Question Presented ..........--.eeceee cence eeeeeee 2
Geatube TewebwGd ... oo cc cccccccccscccccensceuccess 3
ES Ee Perr err rE rr ry Tyrer eee Te oT 4
Reasons For Granting The Writ ............+-.eeees 6
Cee cnc i's haus HARK OR RED Ca see iaeeen ees 14
CITATIONS

CasEs:
Baker v. Carr, 369 U. S. 186 (1962) ............+-5-. 11
Interstate Broadcasting Co. v. FCC, 285 F. 2d 270

ee. Ss. | ower errrrrerrs eer tree ts 8
Norwegian Nitrogen Products Co. v. United States, 288

ia % Ti ,iPeerrrrrrr ce rer re eee 8
Roccaforte vy. Mulcahey, 169 F. Supp. 360 (D. Mass.

eee eRe re TTS herr ny rere isos 10, 11
Schechter v. United States, 295 U. S. 495 (1935) ...... 8
United States v. Ballin, 144 U. 8.1 (1592) ............ 10
United States v. Dickerson, 310 U.S. 554 (1940) ..... 10, 11
United States v. Smith, 286 U. S. 6 (1932) ............ 10
Wong Sang Sung v. McGrath, 339 U.S. 33 (1950) ..... 10
Yakus v. United States, 321 U. S. 414 (1944) ........ 5, 8,9
STATUTES :

Sok Fa Serer errr Terre: Terr rrr er 2,3
eh foe: Peery rr rrerrereT rT rrr Tres e 4, 6,7
90 07,0 © SIT) obs can ansnccesae cedersecd savas 2
Legislative Reorganization Act of 1946, 60 Stat. 812

CRIED acidic the sbi esas es nwaneen camensqess 10, 11
REGULATIONS:
47 C. FP. RG ULIGL-LAUDD ccc ccc decceeceeess 2,3

47 C. F. B. $ 1.2208 (b), (d) ....- ce cccccccceccccceces Hy)

IN THE
Supreme Court of the Anited States

OcroBER TERM, 1964

Cm

No.

AERONAUTICAL Rapto, INc., ATR TRANSPORT ASSOCIATION
or AMERICA, AIRCRAFT OWNERS AND Prtots Asso-
CIATION, Branirr Arrways, INc., HEART O’WIis-
CONSIN BROADCASTERS, INc., Davip INGLE, JR., LAKE
CENTRAL ArRuings, INc., NortTH CENTRAL AIRLINES,
Inc., NortTHwest AIRLINES, INC., AND UNITED AIR
Lins, Inc., Petitioners,

Vv.

Untrep States or AMERICA, AND FEDERAL COMMUNICA-
TIONS COMMISSION, Respondents,

American Truckrne Association, Inc., NATIONAL
ASSOCIATION OF BROADCASTERS, AMERICAN MER-
CHANT Marine Institute, INC., AND AMERICAN
Rapio Revay Leaave, Inc., Intervenors.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED
STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE
SEVENTH CIRCUIT

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals entered July 10,
1964 (Appendix A, infra, pp. la-12a) is reported at
935 F. 2d 304. The FCO’s Report and Order of May
8. 1962 and its Memorandum Opinion and Order of

2

October '!, 1963 (R. 140-172, 202-225)' are reported at
34 F.C.C. 811 and 28 F.R. 10911.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals (Appendix
B, infra, pp. 13a-15a), styled ‘‘Decree,”’ was entered
on August 5, 1964. The jurisdiction of this Court is
invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

QUESTION PRESENTED

Title V of the Independent Offices Appropriation
Act of 1952, (5 U.S.C. § 140, 65 Stat. 290), approved
August 31, 1951,’ expresses the “‘sense of the Con-
gress’’ that a wide variety of activities of all federal
agencies should be ‘‘self-sustaining to the full extent
possible’’ and purports to authorize the ‘*head of each
federal agency’’ to prescribe ‘‘such fee, charge, or
price, if any, as he shall determine . . . to be fair and
equitable’? for any activity falling within the broad
scope of the statute, ‘taking into consideration”’ cer-
tain specified factors and ‘‘other pertinent facts,’’ with
all collections to be ‘‘paid into the Treasury as mis-
cellaneous receipts.”” FCC Regulations, 47 C.F.R.
§ 1.1101-1.1119,* impose charges on the filing of applica-
tions for radio licenses, permits and certificates of
public convenience or necessity. The question pre-
sented is whether said Section 140, the appropriation
act rider, together with FCC regulations, Section

1‘¢R ’? refers to Petitioners’ Appendix in the Court of Appeals.

2‘‘Seetion 140” is used as a short designation for Title V, a
‘‘Fees and Charges’’ rider to the Independent Offices Appropria-
tion Act of 1952, 5 U.S.C. § 140. Unless otherwise indicated, all
emphasis herein is supplied.

* Originally numbered § 1.600 et seq.

3

1.1101 through 1.1119, are constitutionally effecti.e as
valid legislative authority for the FCC’s imposition cf
charges against petitioners for the filing of applications
for radio licenses.

STATUTE INVOLVED

Title V of the Independent Offices Appropriation
Act of 1952, 5 U.S.C. § 140, 65 Stat. 280 (August 31,
1951), reads as follows:

“T73E V—FEES AND CHARGES

“Tt is the sense of the Congress that any work,
service, publication, report, document, benefit,
privilege, authority, use, franchise, licerise, permit,
certificate, registration, or similar thing of value
or utility performed, furnished, provided, granted,
prepared, or issued by any Federal agency (includ-
ing wholly owned Government corporations as
defined in the Government Corporation Control
Act of 1945) to or for any person (including
groups, assocations, organizations, partnerships,
corporations or businesses), except those engaged
in the transaction of official business of the Gov-
ernment, shall be self-sustaining to the full extent
possible and the head of each Federal agency is
authorized by regulation (which, in the case of
agencies in the executive branch, shall be as uni- -
form as practicable and subject to such policies as
the President may prescribe) to prescribe therefor
such fee, charge, or price, if any, as he shali deter-
mine, in case none exists, or redetermine, in case of
an existing one, to be fair and equitable taking
into consideration direct and indirect cost to the
Government, value to the recipient, public policy
or interest served, and other pertinent facts, and
any amount so determined or redetermined shall
be collected and paid into the Treasury as miscel-
laneous receipts: Provided, That nothing con-

4

tained in this section shall repeal or a.
isting statutes prohibiting the collection, fixi
the amount or directing the disposition of any fee,
charge, or price: Provided further, That nothing
contained in this section shall repeal or modify
existing statutes prescribing bases for calculation
of any fee, charge or price, but this proviso shall
not restrict the redetermination or recalculation in
accordance with the prescribed bases of the amount
of any such fee, charge or price. Aug. 31, 1951,
ec. 376, Title V, § 501, 65 Stat. 290.”

STATEMENT

Petitioner Aeronautical Radio, Inc. (ARINC), a
corporation operated not for profit and engaged in
rendering radio communication service to the nation’s
airlines for the safety and convenience of their opera-
tions, is required by the Communications Act of 1934,
47 U.S.C. § 301 et. seq., to obtain licenses and license
renewals from the FCC in order to continue its opera-
tions. Other petitioners (or the members of petitioner
associations) are similarly required by the Com-
munications Act to obtain and maintain FCC licenses.
The airline petitioners are required by the CAB and
FAA to have FCC licensed airborne radio stations in
order to engage in public air transportation.

In February, 1962, by a 4-3 vote, the FCC instituted
a rule making proceeding in Docket 14507, looking
toward the establishment of a comprehensive schedule
of filing fees to accompany all applications for licenses,
certificates. and permits which it issues (R. 3-9). As
authority for this proposal, the FCC majority cited
Section 140 (R. 3, 8).

Although the FCC invited written comments on its
fee proposals, it did not permit oral argument or hold

5

a hearing, although requested to do so by ARINC (RB.
66). ‘The vast majority’ of the written comments
received ‘were in opposition to the proposed schedule
of fees” (R. 142). Despite this opposition, and the
questionable statutory foundation, the FCC, with two
Commissioners strongly dissenting, adopted a schedule
of fees. (R. 140-172). Petitions for Rehearing were
filed by certain petitioners and others (R. 173-193),
which the FCC, by a divided vote, rejected in its
Memorandum Opinion and Order (R. 202-225).*

As finally approved by the Commission, fees are
required to accompany each application for most of
the licenses, permits, ete., issued by the FCC. ‘All fees
collected will be paid into the United States Treasury
as miscellaneous receipts” and ‘‘will be charged irre-
spective of the Commission’s disposition of the ap-
plication.”” (47 C.F.R. § 1.1103(b), (d), R. 218).

Under this initial FCC fee schedule, ARINC will
thus be forced to pay more than $10,000 annually into
the United States Treasury ir order to carry on its
airlines communications business. Other petitioners
will be similarly affected in varying degrees.

These petitioners appealed and the Court below up-
held the FCC’s action in all respects. The Court first
considered, independently, whether Section 140 was
a constitutionally valid delegation of legislative power,
and it found that Section 140 complied with the con-
stitutional essentials as set forth in Yakus v. United
States, 321 U.S. 414 (1944). The Court next con-
sidered, independently, whether the Commission’s rule
making action imposing charges was valid, and it con-

«A more complete discussion of the FCC opinions is contained
in Appendix C, infra, pp. 18a-20a.

6

cluded that the FCC’s regulations were not arbitrary
or lacking in authority, despite an admitted disparity
between Broadcast fees, which recover only 8% of
applicable costs, and Safety and Special Service fees,
which recover 72%.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

Under Section 140 and the FCC’s rule making action,
the long standing rights of petitioners under the Com-
munications Act of 1934, as amended,’ to obtain radio
station licenses or permits, which are essential to the
conduct of their operations, have now been modified,
without any amendment to the FCC’s charter statute,
by the imposition of charges upon the filing of FCC
applications. Petitioners contend that Section 140 and
the agency’s rule making action, considered together,
and in light of a combination of delinquencies relat-
ing to both, constitute an ineffective legislative base
for the imposition of charges against them.

Section ]40 is unprecedented in the government-
wide sweep of its delegation to all agencies of govern-
ment. It is unprecedented by reason of the revenue
raising natiire of the delegation. It is unprecedented
as an indirect-amendment of all charter statutes of
federal agencies. The grant of such broad power to the
agencies in the casual manner of a discredited legisla-
tive rider to a 13-year old appropriation act is unpre-
cedented. Section 140 is unprecedented by the absence
of any provision for protesting the imposition of a
levy or obtaining any refund or other procedure. The
FCC’s rule making action is unprecedented as the first
effort of any federal agency over the intervening 13-
year period to impose a comprehensive schedule of

5 47 U.S.C. § 301 et. seq.

T

charges under Section 140 for the purpose of making
its total regulatory activities partially self-sustaining.
Section 140 and the FCO’s rule making action, con-
sidered together, are vaprecedented extremes in the
maximum of delegation with a minimum of legislative
consideration; and in the maximum of agency discre-
tion with no procedural safeguard.

A consideration of Section 140 and the FCC’s rule
making action reveals ai inversion of the legislative
process. It was the FCC, not the Congress, which de-
termined that charges would be imposed. The FCC,
not Congress, decided to impose charges on the filing
of applications, not on the granting of licenses or per-
mits. The FCC, not Congress, decided who and what
would be subject to charges and who and what would
be exempt. The FCC, not Congress, determined the
amount of charges to be levied. The FCC, not Con-
gress, decided that charges for the filing of applica-
tions in the broadcasting service would be ‘¢nominal,’’
but self-sustaining, or nearly so, in the safety and
special radio services. It was the FCC, not Congr. ss,
which decided to levy flat charges rather than cost-
related fees. The FCC, under the Court of Appeals
opinion, may now legislate the imposition of new
charges in any amount or for any purpose. Indeed, the
FCO, with such uncontrolled discretion, is made a
government unto itself in the matter of imposing
charges.

The Court, in its opinion below, acknowledged that
petitioners’ challenge to the validity of Section 140,
and the FCC’s rule making action, was based on a
‘‘eombination of factors.’”” (App. A infra, p. 3a).
But the Court, nevertheless, proceeded with a frag-
mentea consideration, first, of the validity of Section

8

140 viewed as a normal delegation of regulatory power
considered independently and in the abstract, and,
second, with a consideration of the FOC’s rule making
action, considered independently and viewed as in con-
formity with a fully competent legislative enactment.
In this fragmented consideration of the case, the Court
below disregarded the multiple defects asserted by peti-
tioners and shoved no appreciation of the synergistic
effect of the combination of delinquencies in Section
140 and the FCC’s rule making action.’ The opinion
of the Court below reveals no awa: 2nets of the unprece-
dented nature and scope of the issues presented in this
ease, and it failed to make any distinction between this
untoward delegation’ of power for the purpose of
raising revenue and the usual delegation of regulatory
powers in regulatory statutes subject to proceedings
before agencies and opportunity for judicial review.’

6Cf. Mr. Justice Cardozo in Norwegian Nitrog-n Products Co.
v. United States, 288 U.S. 294, 319 (1932) (‘‘Tne tokens of in-
tention set down in this opinicn have a force in combination that
is denied to any one of them standing alone.’’); cf. also Inter-
state Broadcasting Co. v. FC, 285 F. 2d 270, 272 (D.C. Cir. 1960).

7If Section 140 is not a case of ‘‘delegation running riot,’’ it
would be difficult to imagine suck a case. See Mr. J ustice Cardozo,
concurring, Schechter v. United States, 295 U.S. 495, 553 (1935).

8'The Yakus case, 321 U.S. 414 (1944), which the Court below
principally relied upon, far from-being a parallel with the instant
proceeding, is actually a study in contrast. The Emergency Price
Control Act and Inflation Control Act, under consideration in the
Yakus case, were the products of fully considered legislation by
responsible legislative Committees of the House and Senate on Baak-
ing and Currency, no* a superficially considered legislative rider
to an appropriation act. The delegation was to a single agency
for a single purpose—the fixing of maximum prices—not a blunder-
buss delegation to all agencies of government to impose charges, if
they chose, on a variety of different activities. The Emergency
Price Control Act, unlike Section 140, expressly provided for a

9

The problem of authorizing the imposition of charges
by agencies is one which has been of active concern to
the various Committees of the Congress for more than
a decade. One aspect of this problem has to do with
the distinction between proprietary and regulatory
functions and the distinction between services of a
private benefit nature in contrast to functions funda-
mentally governmental in character. Studies by
various Committees of the Congress, as shown by Part
1 of Appendix C, have concluded that this problem is
one which should be dealt with on an individual agency
basis by the several legislative Committees of the Con-
gress. The single exception to this policy is the 1951
action of the House Subcommittee on the Independent
Offices Appropriation Act which reported out the ‘‘ Fees
and Charges” rider. That action was in violation of
the rules and organization of the House and of the
Senate, and in conflict with one of the main purposes
of the Legislative Reorganization Act of 1946, 60 Stat.
812 (1946). In this instance, it was a gross circum-
vention of the regular legislative process. (House
Rule XXI, § 2; Senate Rule XVI, §§ 2, 4).

The efforts by the Congress to outlaw the appro-
priation act rider abuse are detailed in Part 3 of Ap-

hearing before the Price Administrator upon a protest to any
maximum price regulation with a right to contest the agency’s
regulation and to obtain judicial review of that determination.
Indeed, this due process provision was a key element in saving
the delegation in the Yakus case. The opinion of the Court below
showed no awareness that the specification of procedural safe-
guards is an essential feature in the permissibility of a delegation
of authority to deprive persons of their rights or property. The
omission from Section 140 of any right to protest the levy of a
charge or to obtain a refund, or to be heard, on the agency’s ap-
plication of its levy in any particular case, is a fatal defect in
the instant delegation.

10

pendix C. Experience has shown that the most formal
efforts by the Congress to eliminate this abuse have
proved ineffective. This is demonstrated by the en-
actment of Section 140 which far and away exceeds
anything which has ever beei attempted by a legisla-
tive rider to an appropriation act.’ The versatility of
the rider device is illustrated by the rider attached to
the Supplemental Appropriation Act of 1951 for the
purpose of rendering ineffective this Court’s decision
in Wong Sang Sung v McGrath, 339 U.S. 33 (1950).
See Roccaforte v. Mulcahey, 169 F. Supp. 360, 362-3
(D. Mass. 1958). When the rider device is used for
comprehensive legislation such as Section 140, all op-
portunity for careful or responsible consideration of
its import is lost, with the result that the performance
of legislative functions is simply abdicated, and citizens
are deprived of any opportunity to participate in the
legislative process.”

® United States v. Dickerson, 310 U.S. 554, 555-6 (1940) was de-
cided before enactment of the Legislative Reorganization Act.
Moreover, Dickerson, and the cases on which it relied, involved
true ‘‘economy limitations’, permitted under applicable Con-
gressional rules, rather than substantive legislation granting new
and sweeping revenue raising authority.

10'The validity of the rules of the House and of the Senate is
not at issue here, but rather the legal effect of their nonobservance
and violation in this particular instance. The nonobservance of a
House or Senate Rule is a justiciable issue. United States v. Ballin,
144 US. 1 (1892); United States v. Smith, 286 U.S. 6 (1932).
Under the Legislative Reorganization Act, legislative powers are
distributed among the various standing Committees, excluding the
Appropriations Committees, and the rules of both houses prohibit
the inclusion of any provision in appropriation bills ‘‘ proposing
new or general legislation’’ or ‘‘changing existing law’’. This is
not merely a rule of procedure or interna! convenience. Congress,
by enacting the Legislative Reorganization Act of 1946, has done
all that is practical for the legislative branch to do to eliminate the
appropriation rider abuse, the most extreme example of whick is

11

The FCC’s rule making action demonstrates that all
significant legislative-type determinations were left
open-ended by Section 140. (R. 3-7; 140-164; 202-217).
The FCC’s action reveals also a disregard of key pro-
visions of Section 140, aud a disposition by the FCC
to proceed on its own whether within or beyond the —
provisions of Section 140. In part, this is a reflection
on the ambiguity, vagueness and incompleteness of the
statute.

The things enumerated in Section 140 include
‘license, permit certificate,’”’ and the verbs used in-
clude “granted” and ‘‘issued.”’ Nevertheless, the FCC
chose to disregard these provisions and determined in-
stead to levy charges on the mere filing of applications,
regardless of whether acted upon or granted. But
Section 140 contains no provision authorizing the im-
position of charges on applications for any of the things
listed.

The statute states an objective of making those things
enumerated ‘‘self-sustaining to the full extent pos-
sible.’ But the FCC elected, at least in its initial
action, to impose charges only at a level which would
return to the government something less than 25% of
the FCC’s annual budget.

Section 140. Fullfillment of this intention of the Congress to
set ite own house in order is being obstructed by decisions of
lower courts in reliance on the rule in the Dickerson case, 310 1.8.
554, without any consideration of the supervening enactment of the
Legislative Reorganization Act, as for example in the opinior of
the court below and in the Roccaforte case, supra. A reconsidera-
tion of the rule in the Dickerson case is warranted if the expressed
intention of the Congress is to be realized. The nature of the
legislative rider abuse is such that its effective elimination requires
action by the jud‘sial branch. Cf. Baker v. Carr, 369 U.S 1°6
(1962).

12

With respect to the provisions on ‘‘cost to the Gov-
erpment’’ and “value to the recipient,” the FCC, at
least with respect to the Broadcast services, conceded
that its charges ‘‘do not accurately reflect cost to the
government,’’ or ‘‘the value conferred upon a recipient
of a license.” (R. 149). Instend, the FCC states, “The
fees adopted herein resolve this dilemma by establish-
ing flat charges. The Commission believes the flat
fees to be a reasonable compromise because they are
nominal.” (ibid). Section 140, however, does not use
the term ‘‘flat charges,” or ‘‘nominal charges.’’

In the case of the numerous Safety and Special
Radio Services, the FCC characterized its charges as
‘‘nominal,”’ but it observed, ‘‘The net result is that the
total fees to be collected bear a fair relationship to the
cost of administering the Safety and Special Radio
Services.”” (R. 152). Thus, the FCC, in the same rule
making action under the same statute, conceded that
its charges in the case of the Broadcasting services
were not cost-related, whereas in the case of the Safety
and Special Radio Services they were deemed cost-
related. Whatever cost studies may have been made
by the FCC in this matter, they were not made a part
of the record, nor were they made available to the
parties participating in the rule making proceeding.

Another illustration is the FCC’s disregard of the
statutory provision ‘‘fair and equitable’? as between
charges for the Broadcast class of applications and
those in the Safety and Special Radio Services. It
was revealed for the first time in Respondents’ brief,
filed with the Court below on April 11, 1964, that the
FOC, in 1961, had made a cost study of operations in

13

‘its major areas of responsibility.’™ This study:
essentially confirmed the facts which were presented to
the Court below by petitioners and intervenors, namely
that there was an inequitable disparity in the revenues
to be derived from applications of the Broadcast
services as contrasted to the revenues to be derived
from applications in Safety and Special Radio
Services. These facts established that the charges
levied on applications in the Broadcasting services were
so nominal that they would gross only 8% of the cost
of administering the broadcast services, whereas the
charges levied on applications on the Safety and Special
Radio Services would yield 72%. This gross disparity,
which is confirmed in the opinion of the Court below
(App. A. infra, pp. 10a-11a), surprisingly was not con-
sidered by it to transgress the ‘‘fair and equitable”’
provision of the statute.”

Approval of such a breadth of discretion over mat-
ters legislative in nature as exercised in the FCC’s
rule making action now confirms in the FCC, and for
that matter in other agencies of government, com-
plete and total discretion over the imposition cf charges
in any amount for any reason, notwithstanding the
absence of any provision on procedural rights. Indeed,

11The FCC, so far as known, did not ascertain the cost of
processing applications, e.g. in the <viation service, or ascertain the
cost difference in processing applications for new stations in con-
trast to routine license renewals, the charges for which are the
same. The FCC does not know whether its charges in some in-
stances are in excess of processing costs.

12 Indeed, under the holding below, the FCC, if it chose, eovld
revise its charges so that 72% or more of the costs of Broadcast
application processing would be recovered and 8% or less of those
in the Safety and Special Radio Services. If the same criteria
were followed in both classes, the charge on broadcasting appli-
cations would have to be increased tenfold. Appendix C infra,
p. 20a.

14

the opinion of the Court below is without limitation or
qualification in upholding not only Section 140, but
even » broader sweep of agency discretion transcend-
ing its vague provisions.

CONCLUSION

This is a case of first importance directly to the FCC
and all persons subject to its regulation, and indirectly
to all other agencies in the executive and independent
establishments and persons subject to their regulation.
At issue here is the first action that any federal agency,
without express authorization of the Congress, has
taken to levy charges on persons regulated to offset
agency expenditures for performing governmental
regulatory functions. The introduction of such a radi-
cal depaixture into the federal regulatoi , systems, pre-
dicated solely on the claimed authority of Section 140,

the above stated novel and important questions
which should be considered and determined by this
Court.

Respectfully submitted,

Joun 8. Yopice Donatp C. BEELAB
5151 Wisconsin Ave., N.W. James M. JOHNSTONE
Washington, D. C. 800 World Center Building
Of Counsel for Aircraft Washingiou, D.C. 20006

Owners and Pilots Association Attorneys for Petitioners

Joun E. STEPHEN
1000 Connecticut Ave., N. W.

Washington, D. C.

Of Counse! for Air Transport
Association of America

October 21, 1964

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385602_0231%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
