# Brief in Opposition to Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Melquist v. Illinois

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385601_0856%3A4

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Brief in Opposition to Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1963
- **Citation:** 372 U.S. 967

## Text

‘ ; Office-Supreme Court, U.S.
FILED

.

APR ]_ 1463

| JOHN F. DAVIS, CLERK

Ix Tue ,
Supreme Court of the United States

Ocrosper Term, 1962 =.

No. \se

Wittiam H. Jerrerson,

~

_

Petitioner,
Vv.
Taryo Kaiun K.K., et AL.,
- € Re spondent,
Os

——— —e
—_———

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO PETITION
FOR CERTIORARI

-——— — — a
—-—-- — —

Wituasm C. Harvis

Frank G. Harmon
1600 Esperson Bldg.
Houston 2, Texas

Attorneys for Re spowde wt

Of Counsel:

Baker, Botrs, SHEPHERD & CoaTEs

BORG PRINTING COMPANY OF TEXAS, HOUSTON, TEXAS

INDEX

(Questions Presented

Statement of the IE ich a catia ea ann
Reasons why the Petition should net be granted ooo... nS
SINE ccsncectnamacriirenensvicien iS escsuiebow . coehedananten canine
TABLE OF AUTHORIT{ES
Cases
Alaska Steamship Company v. Petterson, 347 ELS. 3960...
A‘lantic & Gulf Stevedores v. Ellerman Lines, 360 US) 355,

Comstock v. Group of Institutional Investores, 335 COS) 211,
BOE sacntnlannnrsadaciaasGauaiccasskoniennamnseinaiawemimbnnssaiee naan henpcoaiiclatighsi

Corn Products Ret. Co. vo CER, 350 TUS. 46. 91. mikes
General.Pictures Co. vo Eleetrie Co. S04 4S. 175, 178.00...
Mahnich v. Southern Steamship Company, 321 U.S. 96........
Maynard v. Durham, & S-R. Co., 365 UlS. 160...
Michalie v. Cleveland Tankers, Ine. 564 US 325000.

NLRB vy. Waterman SS Co. 809 TLS. 206, 20s

Rovers. v. Missouri Pace. fr. bee Ge. | Weer ee

Ryan Stevedore Co., Ine. v. Pan- Atlantic Steamship Corp.,
350 US. 124, 135, ie csnkasraaicivnicns dente iosnaaniteadanaicsadlbssceabsconinanceie

Screws v. United States 3 ) U.S ORs Bers kbaceccciccvinecceaxenkin

United States v. Dickinson, 331 ge | iy +. RRA? On Carer

Virlited States v. Johnston, 268 US, 220, 220. eeeseeeeeneenes
Constitution

waits diene Ne Ne
Miscellaneous

Robertson & Kirkham, Jurisdiction of the Supreme Court of
the United States ( Wolfson & Karli! Ed, 1991) $353

Pacis

as

: », Ix Tue
Supreme Court of the United States
Ocroper Trem, 1962 a ere,

No. SO6

oe

Wittum H, Jerrerson, .
5 7 Petition v,
v.

Taiyo Karun KK. er AL,
‘ 7%
. _ Respondent.

~

a

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO. PETITION
FOR CERTIORARI ¢

“ QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Will the ‘protection of the Seventh Amendment be
denied to tespondent :

.

2. Will the Supreme Couct redetermine facts found by
a jury?

o Will the Supreme Court redetermine facets toni by,
a jury and concurred in by the District C ourt and the Court
of Appeals?

. - STATEMENT OF THE CASE
Tie petitioner, a longshoreman by profession, was in
jured on, board re spondent Vessel. After recovering eam
pensation under the federal Longstioremen® and Harbor-

’ P

» ; .
_

workers’ ‘Compensation Act, the petitioner instituted’ suit
against the vessel alleging various acts of negligence and
unseaworthiness. However, during the trial the petitioner
expressly waived and abandoned any contention of neg-
ligence and any contention with regard to the vessel's duty
to furnish a safe place to work (Tr. 213, 306-307). The
petitioner also insisted that consideration of the issue of
seaworthiness be" limited to one particular piece of dunhage
board (Tr. 244-: 245, 248)'. .

« The petitioner had elected: trial hy: jury (Tr. 366). The
jury, under a charge fashioned at the instance of the peti-
jouer, (Tr. 248) found that there was no unseaworthiness
(Tr. 345). The District Court entered judgwent for re-
spondent, holding that the issue was properly submitted
to the jury (Tr. 355-357). The Court of Appeals affirmed,
holding that the disputed faets were preperly left to: the
Jury to resgive ¢Petition, page S8a-da). The petitioner
nevertheless seeks a writ of certiorari. ‘

REASONS WHY THE PETITION
‘ SHOULD NOT BE GRANTED

Trial by jury was selected by the petitiqner. The jury,
under a charge by the court unchallenged as to the law (and,
in fact, demanded by th» petitioner) found for the respond-
ent on the only theory o¢ liability presented. ‘

-The District dourt entered judgment for respondent on
the, jury’s verdict.

The Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit, after review-
ing the evidence, affirmed the judgment for respondent,
-honoring the jury's verdict as required by the Seveath
Amendment. Specifically, the Court of Appeals relied uy» Ne

—- -—— -- 1

‘The court will note that the petitioner has Ranged his theory
in his petition, He now wants the whole “floor” considered
(Petition, page 2), even thongh he admits that the testimony
with regard to the “floor” was in eonfliet. ( Petition, page 2

°

’

-

~

of fact

3

Atlantic & Gulf Stevedores vo Ellerman Lines, 369 ULS
Soo, 308-399, whieh held that neither the Supreme Court

“nor the Court of Appeals can redetermine facts found by’

the jury... .” Furthermore, the Court of Appeals had no
difficulty in reconciling the answers to the special interroga-
tories made by the jury.

However, without even citing the Elle ‘rman Lines ease
_or feally discussing the basis of the Court of Appeals deei-

“sion, the petitioner seeks certiorari on the theory that the .

Supreme Court should disregard the jury's verdict’ and
find facts as a matter of law. F on this Vovel proposition
he cites two cases, neither of. which has any application,
In Mahnich v. Southern Steamship Company; 321 US
96, a federal judge; sitting m admiralty, found .as a fact
that a defective rope had been provided to a seaman, but
nevertheless entered judgment for the ship. The basis for
dleeision, approved by the Court-of Appeals, was dictum
in gan early Supreme Court case to the effect that a ship
Was not unseaworthy when some appliances were sea-
worthy, Certiorari was granted. The Court specifically
noted that “a finding of seaworthiness j ig usually a finding
* and not reviewable in the Supreme Court, but,
since the courts below had made a conelusion of law, review
was proper, $2] U.S. at 98, 99, The court went on to
overrule the dictum in the eartier case — which Was recog

nized to be an anomaly. Screws v gl nited State s, 385 U.S.

4

‘

91, 112. | are

It is vital to note that in Mahnich the Supreme Court:

did not do what the petitioner claims. The Court cid not
make any de nxovo finding of fact. The judgment of the
courts below was reversed on the basis of the fact found
by the Distriet Judge — that the rope was defective.
Similarly, the alaska Steamship Company v, Petterson,
347 U.S. 396, was a per curiam deeitsion based on an apreal

~) ” - = .

’

SL

| . . |
in admiralty. The Supreme Court did not make Any find-

ings of fact. All the Court did was to uphold the legal .

standard inyolved below, 2
~ The instant case is clearly not Within the purview of>the
above decisions. First, the trier of tact, four? the dunnage
~ board in question not to be defective. Second, neithér court
below made a conclusion of law, other than the well estab-
lished doctrine that disputed issues of fact are to be
resolved by the jury. Third, the instant case was a trial
by jury on thé civil side of the Federal Court's docket, not
on the admiralty side. :
While the granting ef certiorar® Is, of course, discre-
tionary, past decisions have indicated that the Court ordi-
narily refuses to review evidence and to discuss specific
findings of fact. Eug.. United States ve Johnston, 268 U.S.
» 2270: Gre ue ral Prtures Cove kK leelgic C'o., 304 U.S. 175,
TS: NLP KR v. Witterman SS Co, 309 U.S. 206, 208. A eor-
a ix the “two court’ dgetrine, which militates strongly

24)

against reviewing evidence when findings of facet have been
concurred in hy the two courts below, Kw. . Corn Products
Ret. Co, v, CTR, 850 Uas. 46, 51; Comstock yo Group of
Tustutional Investors, 83835 US, 211, 214; United States v.
Dickinson, B31 US. 745, 751. Robertson & Kirkham, Juris-
diction of the Supreme Court of the United States (Wolfson
aul Kurland Ed, 1951) » 833. In fact, when the Supreme
( ‘court does review evidence, it is in the situation where the

lower court bas taken the case away from the jury for

judicral determination, See, e.g. Maynard ve Durham, &

S.R. Co... 865 ULS. 160; Michalic v. Clareland Tankers, Ine.

364 US. 325: Roaers ve Missouri Pac. R.Co., 352 > (SS. 500,

The effect of the Court's opinions in those cases was to

Virliente — not to derowate from — the Jury's verdict.
Vetitioner’s case presents the exact opposite situation.

All he wants is an appellate fact finding, inconsistent with

© n ;

;
%

5) -
the jury's, that this particular piece of lumber was un-
seaworthy? To achieve that result, petitoner would have
this Court undermine’ the many decisigns, cited above, re-
qaired to uphold the integrity of the jury's verdict against
Judges’ efforts tagsubstitute their view of the Way the jury
should have found the facts. Even the portions of the record
-eseleeted by the petitioner for comment denionstrate a con-
flict in the testimony which could only be resolved hy -the
jury.’ . '

Thus, even if the Supreme Court should decide to review
the evidence in this specific ease and to review the findings

of fact concurred in by a jury, a district judge, and three:

‘appellate judges, the Court would be bound by the Seventh
Amendment to uphold the findings of the jury. As stated
in Atlantic and Gulf Steredores v. Elle rina Lines, supra,

. Whene there is a view of the case that makes the
jury’s answers to speefal interrogatories consistent,
they must be resolved that way. For a search of ong
possible view of the case which will make the jury's
findings inconsiffent results in a collision with the
Seventh Amendfuent.” 369 UUs. at S64.

Petitioner's appeal to the appellate courts to save bin
from an adverse verdiet after trial by jury Gi risk so care.
fully explained to the longshoreman by Mr. Justice Black,

to

Apparently the petitioner considers the jury's verdict as being
conclusive on whether the board ac ‘tually broke. Tlowever, if the
evidence is th be reviewed Sn the jury's verdict that the board
Was seaworthy, it is only fair that thesevidenee be reviewed on
the issues answered favorably to the petitioner
Respondent will not burden the Court with a icamthe disetission
of the evidence or with speculation as.to which theory persuaded
the jury. At this stage.he fact-that the evidence Satistied the
jury, the trial judge, ard the appellate court should) be eon:
elusive. But, for-example.*the jury may have believed that no
dunnage board was éver, intended to support the weight of a
man and a bale of cotton and that petitioner should have done
his “entting” on a barrelhead (See Petition, p. 4

~

.

‘

%

6 , c
joined by the Chief Justice and Justices Douglas and Clark
in Ryan Stevedore Co., Inc. y. Pan-At'antic Steamship
Corp. 350 U.S. 124, 135, HO) should be futile. The protec-
tion incident to the institution of trial by jury, as guaran-
tecd by the Seventh Amendment, is afforded equally to the
parties in a law suit, plaintiff or defendant. The respondent
has’ been vindicated by a jury whose verdict has been sus-
tained by a District Court and a Court of Appeals. The
matter should now be at an end. 3

-

3

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons this petition for a writ of
certiorari should net be granted,

Respectfully submitted

eee eee PU SCC E ECO E COST CCC OCCC OCT Cee eee ee ee Tere ee eee

Frank’ G. Harmon

53 CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

This is to certify that on the ........ day of Mareh, 1965,
a true and cerreet copy of this Brief in Opposition was
served on Messrs. Mandell & Wright, 707 South Coast
Building, Houston 2. Toxas, by placing same in the United
States mails, properly addressed, postage prepaid, cert!-
fied mail: .

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385601_0856%3A4. Public record. Not legal advice.
