# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Litteral v. Indemnity Insurance Co. of North America

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385601_0318%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1962
- **Citation:** 370 U.S. 919

## Text

: | Office Supreme Court, us, |
Lite toy | IEE >

“yf 0@Pre er, ot OE 7 ; ; .
; Sout 5 S MAY f y 1982
3. : Ee ~ ,
* | RHN F. DAVIS, CLERK
IN THE

_ Supreme. Court of the United States
ih Tobe ib Trews 161. , :
——__ =
No. 949

JEWEL GABBARD LIPTERAL ayn LOUIS DYSON,
: : . ’ . Petitioners.
rs, .
INDEMNITY INSURANCE COMPANY OF NORTH

- AM ERICA, at ‘ORPORATION -

Re spoude nf.

7 ee eee ee CE Di Rese ts
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

COURT OF APPEALS OF THE
SEVENTH CIRCUIT.

(", I. Tate. >
Robeson Suilding,
Champyign. Hino,
’
' Joux ALax Appleman,
The Maples,
Urbana, lines,
Attorue Ws tor Petitioners,

. y -
Journ ALAN- APPLEMAN.
Of Counsel. ox
&

\

THE GUNTHORP WeRPEs FR © TONG COMPARY, Ce Caco Fe

‘Report of Case 2.006.000... Str e uy eee

; o “INDEX.

Basis of Jurisdiction . cb inp eee t essa as gag ee

Questions Presented for Review 0.7 000.000... oo hie

Stateme nt of the ¢ ‘ase -... ie caviar s ae

Summary of Argument o7.......,.. AR Sra are

Argument PRESS IN MR. ee : Petes NEE CO aL ae ers are

Reasons for Allowance of the Writ:

The law of Minis requires a liberal construe-
tion of these overlapping insurance coverages. .

The insurer having promised protection under
4‘overage D ‘commercial use’? cannet nullity
_the promised: protection bya “definition: under
Coverage B . 4.2.22. e eee eee: furs Aimee aes ts

The premiums due under an audit form policy
need not—indeed, cannot-—he paid in advance
of coverage attaching ...-.... eae ks pee

Under Ilinoix law, the certification by the in- «
surer t6 the State of coverage applic ‘able to this
accident ix a binding construction which eon-

trols the right o! of the parties soso eee. . reas

ae

ee ae
3. The airport poliey also covers the occurrence

when the injury resulted from active negligence ?
of the insured ’s/emplovees o../.0000 0000.2...

Couclusion ..... MS eis wera tke et ee Sere .

AUTHORITIES CITED.

Alexander v. Barrett, 46 TD. 226 & - _ee AP, oe. 13 |

Beer. v. Bee r, 154 Ohio St. 271, 16 x, -E. 2d 415, 11s °
te ER es
nae
a ¥ D
ae
J o
- ?
at oe ¥ °
ad +e -

IN THE

‘Supreme Court of the - United-States.

Octoser Tero. 1961.

ad .
* ; No .

_JEWE! A. GABBARD LITTERAL axp LOUIS DYSOX,.

Petitioners,
vs.

INDEMNITY INSURANCE COMPANY OF NORTH
as AMERICA, a Corporation. ° *
,° Respondent.

Ce ennai

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE ~
COURT OF APPEALS OF THE
SEVENTH CIRCUIT. —

— - -—

To the Honorable ¢ hiet Aastyee and Assen jate Snitices of
» the Supreme Court wo the & nite d State the ownership, mamtenance or use of thé aircraft as
‘described in this policy.” (Italics supplied.)

The ‘ownership, maintenance or use’? of the aircratt is

set forth in Item 6 of the declarations (App. 21) and was |

defined as **commercijal’’-—the broadest catagory which in-
cluded the lesser categories «and embraced. ** personal,
pleasure, family and other business uses”’, “instructin
and rental to others’, ‘*transportation of executives, am-
ployees, guests and’ customers” (App. 21). i
Coverage EF of that policy dealt with injuries to passen-
vers, Certaingaire raft were added by endorsement from

_ time to time to the policy y tor the specific transportation
_of passengers, and special chine etea were paid for that

coverage ee 12). oe Sion
oe

)

The aircraft lidbility policy, in its basic form (coverage
D) was inthe a vount of $15,000 for iirjury to each person
aml covered ‘tall NC Heensed aireraft owned, Operated,
leased or borrowed Joy the named insured’? and expressly

provided as follows (App. 24):
Armenarr Liasiniry Reportine For ExporseMeNT.

‘Tt is-hereby understood and agreed that:

“T. Nutomatic Attachment and Termination, of

[” . . ;
(overage; = é

-

“The coverages as iudicated ino the, schedule of

Coverages of this poliey shall apply to: all air-

veralt Chavinig an ¢NC ceytificate issued by the

* United State= Civil Neronantios Xe lmministration

awned hy the iuswred-cat the ince ption date of this

paliey and shall automatically apply tocamy Sins

larly certificated aiveraft acquired by the. insured

as owner during the poliey period, This i insurance

shall terminate with respect to any aireraft dis

posed of on the date of sale of such aireraft of the

’ _ surrender of the legal posse xsion thereof by the

‘insured or upon expiration of this polieyy whieh?
~ ever fnay first decur.

: P

oe 3 Beposit Premium and Rates: @

‘The deposit: pre MEN pane able upon inception of.

this poliey is $100.00, . :
~The rates for this. poliey are: ;

Dak - 8.14 per diy, each aireratt
owned or operated,

ie he ‘airport poley Was in the amount of SHO.000 for

tae da es and covered «App. 13):

obligated to pay as damages, ineluding damages for
eare and loss of services, becanse of bodily injury,
sickness, disease or mentalanguish includifig death at

Coverages - Rates ° ‘ o

ity * all satis Which the tusured shall caesinge legally

‘¢ é
any time reswlting therefrom, sustained ly. any person

1° or eins and arising out of the- ownership, main

tenance or use of the airport) premises deseribed in a

the declarations: and all operations which are. neces- :

‘sary or incidental to the ownership, maintenance el

use of sirid pretiisex as an airport.” ; ee.

~

=

That poliey had an exelusion, (f) as follows (Abst. 2x):

“to bodily injury or death or injury to or destrue-
tion of property caused by or arising out of (1) the
existence, maintenance or use of any aircraft sit
by, hired by or for, or loaned to the insured or any.
aireratt in flight hy or ye the account of the insured.
‘nde the law of {itindi«, a report is required to be filed. “nee
Under JIBs Revised Statutes, Ch, 154, ¥ 2242(a, b), a
report is required of any accident involving aircraft in A
Ss this State with a disclosure as to insurance; ind if no | ir
insurance is in fore, the posting of security is required
(Appendix to this’ Petition, p. 35). Purstant to. thigs
statute, a report was filed by the de fondant insurance com.
pany (Abst. 29) as follows:

~
tn
Oo

7 ; . 5 .
INSURANCE COMPANY: Kindly complete this form and return same to Be ea
STATE OF ILLINOIS, DEPARTMENT OF AERONAUTICS

, al r a
CAPITAL AIRPORT s- : . + ACCIDENT nod of g

Springfield, Ilinois = ;
With regard*to the aircraft lability insurance policy, fir ine-policy holder named on the reverse side hereof.
the undersigned insurance company advises you in accordance with the items checked below
() _h No poley was in effect on the date of the acendent “
xr? Our policy affords bodily injury coverage of not less than $5,000 § includes passenger liability =
- for 1 person $10,000 for 2 or more ’ éxcludes passenger liability _—

3 Our policy affords property damage coverage of not less than $5400

Remarks Grbemnitiy Qronsnner Cg WN. A.
by me of Insurance c ompans

. i ~ Authorized Men

Fork at ; - > ="

7 Pe

Av garnishment action was filed by ‘the: injured plaintiff
ayd the insured against the insurance company under the
- tWwogpolicies previously described. The facts were tipu-
lated and appear in the Appendix filed in the Court of
Appeals. °The tria! court found that the airport) poliey
did not cover, on the basis that the accident arose out of
the nse of aireraft owned by the insured: and held that
the aireratt poliey did not cover on the basis that the injury
Was to a’ person whose injury arose under coverage BK,
aud that this particular aireraft was net covered under
coverage Kf, The trial court was affirmed spon appedgl, its
opinion largely being adopted by the retieying court.
The cout reversy involved a diversity of citizenship and:
in amount in controversy, in exeess of $10,000,- thereby
presenting pe federal question.

ba 7 . .

‘ SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT. -

Where an ‘airport ope rator purchases two polici®s from
a single insurer—one covering negligence in airport opera-
tions, and the other a fleet policy upon all aireraft, h he is,
protected by one or both poliei ies when an injury. is‘ re-
ceived by ‘the guest, of a. renter or prospective purchaser
caused by the negliger nee of airport employees.

-A policy which provides or automatic coverage of all
aircraft owned or later acquired by the insured is a fleet
policy. Under both general law and Ilinois Jaw, it is not
necessary that the premium be paid-in advance where a
deposit has been made. and the policy by its terms pro-
vides for premium payment subsequent to ‘taudit’’ at
‘prescribed intervals. In such event, where a broad defini-
tion of: risks insured is given by the face wf the” policy,”
“ineluding **guests"’, ‘trenters’’, ete., stich coverage is con-
ferred by Coverage D. Since recovery ts not sought under -
Caverage EK, such proviso cannot be used fo limit the
liability conferred by Coverage D, by employing a stringent
definition:of passenger

ss

applicable to Coverage E. The
imsurer > by so Using a broad definition of the word ** pas-
senger?* cannot destroy the protection conferred by Cover-

age 1D, as defined by the ‘face of the policy the plafntit?
not being a passenger for hire but only a gyest ocenpant
of the ‘plane, This is especially true where the “parties
have dgmonstrated their practical construction ofthe con-
tract by certifying to the State of Ilfinois that coverage
was available upon this. particular craft and that. it eX:
tended to this injury.

. Likewise, where negligent acts of the insured 's employ-
ees caused the crash to ocear, an exciasion applicable ander

&

ee

the airport policy as to aireraft pwned by the insured did >
not destroy protection against the consequences of such
negligent acts under the general liability provisions. This

is true since such negligence would Have caused the crash

to oceur irrespective of the condition of the aireraft or

of its ownership.

Py .
°
’
‘ ; >
a,
°
°
ae ————
ee nets _ e7 ‘
— — ssopuamcees aaatere't “3
>
o - ¢
,
*
.
. .
.
4
° ,
& ° ‘
- € ,
*
Ne
=
% °
.
.
*
~~; - al

- ‘ARGUMENT.

eee

When an 1 airport operator pyrehase> from a single com:
pany two policies—-orie intended to cover liability arising,
from all airpert operations other*than caused by aircraft,
and the other: designed to cover liability: resulting from
the use of ‘aircraft, he has a right to expeet protection

under one or the other. It is our conviction that the policy |

contr@ets are ambiguous and deceptive; that the insirance
company did not even conceive of its poliey defense éxcept
at a later date:—ane- that “the opinion of the Court of

“Appeals fails te vive cognizance to the liw of Hlinois con-

trolling in thix dropped and ex-

. plodes by reason of static electricity. Even though a pra
: re F ae * : 5 : 4 >
ucts liability poliey would cover the joss, and even though

the’ products exclusion would operate once the act of neg-
ligence connected with the delivery had ceased, the insured
ix nrotected’ since the negligent dropping of the container
was within the poliey protection. : |

This result is cometinies reached even where there is
no act of negligence then voing on, For example, let ous
saya heating contractor installs a furnace using bufane,
gas. The policy excludes the hazards of butane gas or
liability arising dry reason of defects in such appliance or
products. The contractor im the course of installation leaves
come of the fitfings loose, so that they are in a leaky con-
dition. Before he has completed his contract, but perhaps
while he is not onthe preniises (in the instant case, the
employee was in the aectual-act of directing the. aircraft
along the -yunway), butane gas escapes. and explodes.
Would that be covered—in view of the fact that products
liability coverage or defective appliances installed by the
contractor are not covered? Clearly if would be. Boufirell
v. Employers’ Liability Assirance Gorp.. ©. A295, 105 VK.
2g 597-at 600, 601,” WSs |

Nnother kindred sitaation arises where there is ‘beth
n general liability, or premises” policy anda vehicles

policy, such as pon automobiles or, in this ease. aircrafts:
‘Tf a portion of the liability arose out of acts covered under

Gach of such policies, the courts seek to give protection

nnderoth policy rather than to deny it under both.

An illustration of such overlapping occurs when a truck —

yoliev covers trueking operations inelnding ‘‘loading and
} Vy ef

.
.

nN

20

unloading’’, while a second insurer covers premises la-
hility excluding, however, any occurrence arising: out of
the: operation, maintenance, or Use of. vehicles. A safe is
being lewered from a window. preparatory to loading -it
inte a truck when the rope breaks; coal is negligently shov-
elled onto the sidewalk ‘and left in’ an unlighted pile
orthe coal chute is.left open; or a delivery boy carrying
a package from thé delivery truck negligently runs into a
jedestrian. Now whilr the results may vary where only
one type of policy is carried-—where there are both policies
in foree, one of them ag least almost always is held to cover:
frequently both are required to share the responsibility
pro rata; “ind in other situations one is made primarily
responsible and the ‘other is made liable for any ¢Xxcess
Jiability.

There are in exeess of two dozen cases which lay ont
these rules, with the more modern authority giving a con-
struction to the policy or policies involved so as to extend
protection under the circumstances existing. See, by way,
of illustratiin, Bituminous Casualty Corp. v. American
fidelity and Casualty Company, 22 Til. App. Dd 26, 159
XN. EL 2d 7: °Coulter v. American Employers” Tnsurance
Company, 333 UL App. 631, 78 NE. 2d 131; Woodrich
Construction’ Compony v. Indemnity Insurance Company
of North America, 252 Minn. %6, wo N. W. 2d 412 at 419
(holding all three companies concurrently liable); Lian
berman'’s Mutual Casualty Compaony Vv. ‘Employers’ Lia-
bility Assurance Corp. C. A. T, Mass., 252 F. 2d 463 (which
held only ove insurer liable, although both should -have
heen so held). And, as to acts originating upon premises, .
see Moldovan v. United States Fidelity & Guaranty Com-
— pany, 1d Mise, 2d 85, 184 N.Y. S. ‘2d 201 at 204, affirmed

185 N.Y. S. 2d 735. a

Reasoning from such-cases, and from the general prin-

ciples which apply, we think a fair question may be: ** Was

a

/ the matter excluded the true cause of the injury?" We
‘think here that it was not. The occurrence would have
taken place irrespective of who owned the aircraft if ques-
tion. If the wjury ovceurred because of the active negli
vence of the insured’ employee in directing the plane into
the air.a layman purchasing stich insnrance would’ expect
fo. be covered. And this is the test ordinarily applied by
the courts in dejermining whether coverage should be ex

tended or rest vieted.

“~

| | CONCLUSION.

4 therefore, respectfully sulmitted that a writ et
certiorari issue to review the judgment and’ orders of the
Courtof Appeals of the Seventh Cireuit, heretofore entered
in this cause.
Respectfully ~ubmitted,
4 |
C. KE. Tare. .
Robeson Building,

Champaign, Hlinois,

nel . o -. JOHN Atax APPLEMAN.
The Maples,
Urbana, Hlindis, * ;
Attorneys for Petitioners. -

on 1

Jousx ALAN APPLEMAN, | ars
Of Counsel. _ . *

ra)

Gj
~~

APPENDIX, —_— -

Ix rue U’xirep Sratres Covrr or APPreALs

fof the Seventh Cireuit.

SEPTEMBER Teno, 1961— Jancany- Session, T062

No. 13510
Jewent Gassany Lirtran. axnp |

~ Louis Dyson,
Plaintiff-Appellaut.

we a

Appeal from. the
United States Dis-
‘trict Court for the

Typemsiny PNscranxnck Company or
Nowra AMERICA, a Corporation,
es Defe ndant-A ppelle ,

I linois. ,

February 28, 1962 —

Jefore SCHNACKENBERG. Kwocu and Casrin. Corews
Judges. : Ae
-Castie, Circuit Judge. This appeal involves a garnish-
ment initiated by Jewell Gabbard Littrall, plaintitf-appel-
lant? who had recovered a judgment in the amount of
$25,400.00, as Jewell Gabbard against Louis Dyson, doing
business Hlini Airport. The defendant-appellee, Tir
nity Tsuryice’ Company of North America, had in force

Liability Poliey.” the other an * Nireraft Liability Poliey.”*

. 1 Referred to herein as garnishor. .

astern District of ~

two policies of insurance issued to Dyson, one an tt Nirport

”

The insurance company deniyd any indebtedness to Dyson,
or the possession of any Ussets or claims due him. The

District Court, after a hearing on the merits, filed a metae-
fandum, opinion containing its findings of fact and con-
clusions of law,-and entered judgment discharging the
garnishee and dismissing the garnishment. proceedings.
The garnishor appealed.

The tindings of fact in the origina! action aginst Dyson
was introduced in evidence without objectien. The third
paragraph of the finifigs of fact states: . Licetoslity cogaatnes* eneby such coverage:
shall be as stated herein, subjeet to all of the terms ef
this prohies hicev tne reference thereto.”

Wonder **Ttem = hal of the prrliet, thy esgriptaen ast thy. mee

eraft is: :

PAIN Licensed: Mireraft Owned. Cdprenie ced. Leased
, OE, Borrowed by the Named Prusured

Attached to this poliey of inssiranee are Endorsements"

whieh included the fell wing pertinent elatees:

*Kndor-ement = 1. ,

1 Antomiatic Attachment and Termination of Cover
age: The coveranes ais tindieated it the schedule
of Coverages of this poliey shall apply te all air
eraft having an ‘NO certificate cissned by the

26

United States Civil: Aeronautics Adiministiation
owned by the insured at the inception date of this
poliey and shall automatically apply to any simi.
larly certificated aireratt acquired by. thie insured
as owner during the poliey period. This insurance
shall terminate with respect toe any aiveratt dis-
posed ‘of on, thes date of sale of such aireratt er
ee the surrender of the legal possession thereof Try
the insured: er upon expiration of this polies. —
whichever may first occur.
’ . sd
3. Deposit Prentinm and Rates:
The rates for this poliey are:
Coverages> Rates :
Dak $.14 per day, each aires ant
, > 2s owned * d operated
Coverage Eo aot provided except at respect the

planes deseribed, ine -Endorsement) =

Endorsement = 2.
In consideration of premium tobe: determinedt ts
andit it i ayreed that with respeet to th: following
Caireraft only: .
rere, Coverage KB. Passenger - todily Tnjury Liatnlity
ix amended to read:
$20,000.00 each person
£650,000,00 each occurrence

2 The rate forc the above: extension. spall be $40)
perday owned or operated and shall Foes capopotieraa
ble only to:

Navion

Pipas Tri-Pacer
Piper Tri-Pacer
Piper PA 22

“«

Endorsements 3, 4,5. 6, and Tadd and delete other planes
but the Globe Swift aircraft invelyed in the accident wa-
not listed or mentioned on any endorsement.

27 |

Coverage: D. EB and. F are listed under the *Piswing
Agreements" in the provisions of the polices aimed read in
‘past as follows: “ee wy rate
’ “Coverage [Bodily frijurs Laability excluding Pas-

cenger= To pay on behalf of the insared all sunis whieli
the insured shall bee@me legally obligated to pay cats
damages, inchiding damages for care’ and lossot \
ices, because of “bodily injury, siektiess. iscus@© Or
mental anguish, incline death at any time resniting
therefrom. sustained by any persen or persons other
than passengers A> defined Herein, arising out oof the
ownership, maintenance or use of the aiveraft a~ de-
seribed tu this policy.” : :
“Coverage E Passenger Bodily Injury Liability Vo
pay on behalfot theansured all sms whieh the insured
Chall become legally obligated fo, pay as damages, in
ding danciges for care and lo-~ of services, because
of Jodily injury, sickness. disease or mental anguish,
including death at any time resulting therefrom, sus-
tained by any passenger or passengers as defined
herein, artsing ont of the ownership, meainteruines or
yee of the aiteraft as described in this poliew.” "
“Coverage -F--Property Damage Liability * 39°"

The * Nirport Liability Policy? in its pertinent provi
sions reads: 4 a
“Pisnrang Agreement."

4
“Coverage A Bodily Injury Liability To pay.on be
half of the insured, provided preminm is charged nniedet
Coverage A in the declarations,.all sums which the,
instred shall become legally obligated to pay at
damages, including damages for care And loss of sens
ices, because of bodily injury. stekness, dixeise OF
mental anguish inelading death at any time resulting
therefrom, sustained by any persen- or persons ctid
arising out of: the ownership. maintenance or Use of
the airport premises described in the declaration= ane
-all operations which are necessary, OF incidental to the
ownership, maintenance er tee of said premises a>
an airport.” : °c ; “

oR as ae

> ‘* Exclusions”

“This policy does not apply :

e-* * ‘= > ‘ 2

“(f) to bodily Mhjury or death or injury to er destrue-

tion of property caused by or arising out of (1) the

existence, maintenauce or tse of any aireraft owned

diy, hired by or for, or loaned to the insured er any

“aireraft in flight by or for, the account of the in-nred |
cs ;

“eo or
"s *

The Insurer claims je ix not Jiable te pay the judgment
because the Globe Swift wiveraft Wwa~ not listed under
" Endorsement =” of the aircraft policy and under thé air-
port poliey the Globe Swift aircraft: was excluded’ by the

ll

exelusion clause which specifically excepted “hodily injury -

ne by caused by or_arising out of the °.© * use of aay air
~ eraft owned by ~ "* the insured * **."’

The purpose of construing a contract of insurance in to
determine the intention of the parties, The’ contract of
insurance must be construed as a whole. “The -coutract
consists of the policy and all endorsements attaches thereto.
Morris & Cov. Rhode Tsland Ins. Co. of Provide woe, TOTS,
181 TI. App. 300. f

“Contracts of Tnsurance, like, other contract=¢ must
be construed according to the terns which the parties.
have used. to be taken and understood, in the absenee
of spubiguity, jn theig plain, ordinary and properly
sanve.’ Yadro vol nited Stites Fidelity & Guaronty
CH. 1955, 4 WL. App. 2d 477, 478.

If there ix an ambiguity in the contract of insurance it wast
he construed in favor of the Ins red. Midwest Dairy Prod-
nets v. Ohio lus. Co., 1037, 356 11. 380. Since the Iisnrer
ix invoking the exelusion clanse the burden is upon the
Insurer to-show that the loss claimed ix within the’ exelu
sion. Wilson v. National Automobile .and Cas, Ins, Of.

e

‘

~ ;
1059, 22 TL Ap. 2d 34: Caster s Motor Ins. Corp. TOOL,
28 TL App. 2d OR. .

a 4 : .

Attachment and Termination of ¢ ‘owwrage.** °

Garni-hor further contends that the Globe Swift aircraft
ix covered by the automatic coverage clang which reads:

Phe coverages as indicated in the schedule of Cover-
ages @f thix policy shall apply to MPaircraft having
an ‘NC’ certificate * °°"

The policy must be read in its entirety. Nowrad v. Mart-
ford Accident & Indemnity Co., Job, IL Li}. App. Al AN.
The endorsements must be given effect. 29 1.1. P. § 147, p.
11. Hoffman v. Central Surety A Iusx.’Corp.. Yor, 297
Ii, App. 371. The ** Coverage E*.@ability for passenger
bodily injury. ix limited in Endorsement =2 to those air-
erdft listed. Other coverage ax provided in *D"" and “i Pd

y

5 ~ (30. ;
‘ wy
- °

. Py
would be .effeective ‘under the automatic coverage clause.

Furthermore, Garnishor's interpfetation would also in-

crease the risk without payment of the additional premium
provided, $40 per day. ue

Counsel for Garuishor also contends that because. **Cov-
erage E*’ refers to passenger bodily injury liability, and
since the Garnishor was in fact a guest in the plane she

-would not come within the exclusion. This argument is

completely answered By. the definition of passenger in

. the policy: ‘*The word *passenger’ wherever used in this
policy shall mean atiy Person or persons while in 7. * a

aircraft for the purpose of * * * flight or attempted flight
therein.”’" FA lg SRS. ars

Garnishor further urges that the Insurer waived the
exelusion of those planes not listed because on September

10, 1955, after the accident, the Insurer, through its au-

thorized agent, signed an accident report and filed it with
the Seeretary of State pursuant to. the provision of the
Illinois Revised Statutes, 1959, Ch. 154, ¢ 22.42. In this

», report it was stated that Dyson had a policy covering

liability insurance for the: injuries sustained by the crash

of tlie (Hobe Swift aireraft. The insurance poliey number,

listed in this report was the number of the aireraft poliey..

We conchide that since there was no coverage of the
Globe Swift aircraft in the policy, this report te the See-
retary of State in itself was insufficient to change the
terms of the poliey and provide additional coverage.

“The next question is whether the Airport Liability Poliey
requires the Insurer to. pay the Garnishor’s judgment.
Here again the policy without ambiguity specifically states:

“This policy does not apply: ° * * to bodily injury
*.* © caused by or arising out of * * * use of any air-
craft owned by * * ° the insured or any aircraft in
flight by or for the account of the insured.”

.
-

—~—-

The Globe Swift aireraft in which the Garni-hor was rid-

ing was owned by the Insured according to the findings:
- of fact. Fhe exe ‘dusion clause in the policy expressly éx-

eluded the injuries reevived by the Gar nishor while rjding

in this aireraft. ,

Garnishor contends that since the accident yas caused
‘by Insured negligently directing Se thindler to take off,
the use of the plane was not the cause of the accident
and the exclusion clause was evaded. This might be true
without ‘the words arising ont of the use of any aireraft
owned by the Insuryad. It must be adnritted that ‘arising
out of’ is a very broad phrase. Cf. Scimidt v. l Vilitivng’

*Inx. Co., 194 ALR TOSS, 182. S.W. 2d Isl. Althoush aid
negligence of the Insured proximately « caused ‘the aAfash
and the injuries Of the Garnishor it cannot be denied that
the ace ‘ident. and injuries arose out of the “ue of the
aircraft, Such construction as urged by the Garnishor
ix finreasonable and cannot be ace epted under the wording
of this policy. Ch underwriters at Lloyd's of London .-
Cordora. Airlines, O © ir. 1960), we 2d G508 Bruce sv.
Lumbe rmon’s Casualty Co., 4 Cir. 1955, 222 F. 2d 642.

*

In addition to what basis been already me aitioned the
_polici iex read that the Insurer

la] green with the insured, named in the declara
tions made a part hereof, in Consideration of the
payment of. the premium and in relianee upon t the <tate-
ments in the declarations and subject to the ‘limits of
liability,. crelusions, conditions and other terms of

‘ec’ this policy.” ( Empha- ix supplied.)

The aireraft policy had these additional words **to afford
those of the following coverages as spec ‘ified! in the de-
elarations.- ’ By this clause the two policies explicitly state
- ‘the intention of the. parties to agree that the Jnsurance
afforded was ** subject to* * * exelusions."" Phe judgment

. 225
was based upon injuries received under cireumstancés not
included within the coverage of the policies, There is‘ no .
ambiguity which authorizes this court to inerease the cov:
erage. Cf. Employer’s Liability Assur. Corp. v. Matyland
Cas. Co., 7 Cir, 1956, 230 F. 2d 370. an eee

_ We have adopted almost in its entirety the excellent
opinion written by District Judge Casper Platt-and affirm .
the order of the District Court discharging the Garnishee
and dismissing the garnishment proceedings.

* JUDGMENT AFFIRMED.

33 a |

‘

Usirep States Court or Arrras
For the Seventh Cireuit.
Chicago 10, Illinois. .
Wednesday, February 25,- 19062.
Before |
lion. Elmer J. Schnackenberg, Circuit Judge,
Ton. Win G. Knoch, Circuit Judge,
Hon. Latham: Castle, Crrewt Judqe.

JeweLL Gasnarp Lirrrane and
Levis Dysox, é
Nie Plaintiffs- Appellants, Appea from the
No. 13510 - { | nited States Dis
: rs. - triet Conrt for the
: a District of Kastern
INpemnity. PNsCRANCE CoMPANY OF linois. -
Norru America, a corporation, | .

Defendant-A ppellee, )

This cause came on fo be heard on the transeript of the
record from the United States District Court for the
“Eastern District of Hlinois, and wax atgued by counsel,

On consideration whereof, it is ordered and adjudged
‘by this court that the order of the said District Court dis-
charging the Garnishee and dismissing the earnishment
proceedings in this cause appealed from be, and: the same

is hereby, Areimmep with costs, in accordance with. the

opinion of this Court filed this «ay.

Usrrep STaTES Court of APPEALS |

For the Seventh Circuit,

Chicago 10, [Hinots.
Friday, Mareh 30, 1962.

Before
Hon. Elmér J. Schnackenberg, ¢ irceult Judge.
Hon. Win G. Knoch, Circuit Judge,
Hon. Latham Castle, Circuit Judge.

Pa

JEWELL GABBARD LLITTRALL, )
i ' ETC., ET AL.
: Plaintiffs-Appellants, Appeal from the
Xo. 13510 . United States Dis.
< se trief Court for. the
Kastern District of
IxpemNity INsunaxck COMPANY OF Hlinois.
— Nort AMERICA,
& . Garnishee- Appellee.

Ir is onperED by the Couyt that the petition for a rehear-

ing of this cause he, and it ix hereby, Denten.

-

-

35

: Statutes Involved.

Hlinois’ Revised Statutes, (Ch. 15), §.22.42a:

~The owner of every aireraft which ts in any inan-
ner involved in an accident within this State, in which.
any person is killed or injured or in which damage to
the preperty of any one person, other than to his own
property, in excess of #100 ix sustained, shall within
10 days after such accident, report the matter in writ-
ing to the Department. Such report, the-form of which
‘shall be preseribed. by the Department, shall contain —
information to enable the Department to determine’
whether the requirements’ for the deposit of security
under Section 42-b are ilapplicable by reason of the
existence of ifsurance or other exceptions ~pecified in
Sections 42-b and 42-c. The owner shall furnish such
additional relevant information as the Department
‘shall require.””

¢

Hlinois Revised Statutes, Ch. 155, § 2) 42: |

da) Tf 20. days after the receipt of an accident
report as specified in Section 42-a the Department does
not have on file evidence satisfactory to it that the
person who would otherwise be required to file security
under subsection ‘(b) of this section has been released
from liability, or has Inaen finally adjudicated not to
‘be liable or has executed a duly acknowledged written
agreement providing for payinent of an ayreed. amount
in installments with respect to all claims for injuries
or damages resulting from the accident, the Depart-
ment shall determine the amount of -security. which
shall be sufficient in its judgment to satisfy any judg-
anent or judgments for damages resulting from such
aecident as nay be recovered against cach owner.
“ob) The Department shall, within 60 days after
the receipt of such accident report, suspend the cer
tifieates of registration of each owner of an aireratt
in any manner involved in such aceident, and if such
owner isa nonresident the privilege of the ise within
the state of any aireraft owned: by him, unless such

.
“

36

owner shall deposit security in the sum so determined

by the Department; provided notice of such suspension
shall be sent by the Department to suth owner not
less than 10 days prior to the éffective date of such
suspension and shall state the amount required as
‘security. Where erroneous information’ is given the
Department with respect to the matter set forth in
subsection (¢) of this section, it shall take appropriate
action as hereinbefore provided, within 60 days after
receipt by it of correct information with respect to
said matters.’’ pees =

4 5 “oy ae
IHinoix Supreme Court Rule 13(3):

“Tn pleading the performance of a condition prece-
dent in a contract, it is sufficient to allege generally
that the party performed all) the conditions on his
part; if the allegation be denied, the facets must be
alleged ineconnection. with the denial showing wherein
there war’a failure to perform.”

»» [linoixs Law and Practice, ** lnsurance’’, § 149, pp- 195-8:

“The fundamental law of construction of insurance
contracts is that all uncertainty shall be resolved in
favor of the insured.

“The general rule, subject to qualifications discussed
infra $150, is that an insurance poliey should be con-
strned liberally and most strongly jin favor of ‘the in-
sured, to the end that he will not ‘be deprived of -the
benefit of insurance. The rule of construction to be
adopted should be a liberal one favoring the insured,
so as not to defeat, without a plain, hecessity therefor,
his claim to indemnity, and if an insurance policy can
be given any reasonable construction preventing -de-
feat of insured's indemnification for loss eovered by
its general danguage such construction: will be ‘adopted.

Tn other words, where ambiguity exists in an in-
surance contract, the courts will adopt a liberal con-
struction of the language used in favor of the insured,
and the policy will be construed strictly and strongly
against the insurer. “The rewson underlying this rule

“=
wee

is not the loss of the ieured oF the disparity between
the resources‘of insured and insurer, but the fact that
the words used were chosen by the tmearer and that
the ambiguity is chargeable to it. .

“Since the contract of insurance ts written hy the
nsurer, and its proyisions are inserted tor ifs benefit,
the rule thaf words-of an instrument shall be taken
more strongly against the party employing thems ts
applied against insurers.” |

.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385601_0318%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
