# Opposition Brief — Candelario v. Frank

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385020_3188%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1991
- **Citation:** 499 U.S. 919

## Text

fa)

No. 90-863

Jn the Supreme Court of the Anite sores

See a rams emmsils
lis so ae:

OCTOBER TERM, 1990

SABAT QUINONES CANDELARIO, PETITIONER
Vv.

ANTHONY M. FRANK,
POSTMASTER GENERAL OF THE UNITED STATES

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIRST CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE RESPONDENT IN OPPOSITION

KENNETH W. STARR
Solicitor General

STUART M. GERSON
Assistant Attorney General

MARLEIGH D. DOVER
WENDY M. KEATS
Attorneys

Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530
(202) 514-2217

{7

QUESTION PRESENTED
Whether principles of administrative res judicata preclude
the Postmaster General from raising a postal employee’s

failure to mitigate damages in an action to enforce a deci-
sion of the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission.

(1)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
Er en l
ee nd Sy ake A We'd bk ee Wa v8.08 l
eg I ee ee 2
ea in a hk kee eeu eh soak ese 5
re ee red oy aah sae eee eke ke 12
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases:
Albermarle Paper Co. .. Moody, 422 U.S. 405
a ER GS oP 8
Federated Dep't Stores \. Moitie, 452 U.S. 394
en eG uw be Cae 0b 60x 10, 11
Frazier v. United States Postal Service, 26 M.S.P.B.
ae eg as coe oy Vade oe eulce 6 us 2 8
Gellingtos: v. Department of Justice, 87 Fed. Eq. Op-
portunity Rep. (Labor Rel. Press) € 1,040 (Apr.
Ne i anaes os ee 7
Hanrahan v. Hampion, 446 U.S. 754 (1980) .... 1}
Haskins vy. Department of Army, 808 F.2d 1192 (6th
ee te vies sk ae eae eae cae 9-10
Horn v. Duke Homes Div. of Windsor Mobile
Homes, Inc., 755 F.2d 599 (7th Cir. 1985) ... 8
Houseton v. Nimmo, 670 F.2d 1375 (9th Cir.
ee re wane Le ae ee eae & s 10
International Harvester Co. v. Occupational Health
and Safety Review Comm’n, 628 F.2d 982 (7th Cir.
ee ee soe ye bats a Lis kb ¢ 1]
Kremer v. Chemical Constr. Co., 456 U.S. 461
TN TS ee ee cee base ki 6
Marks v. Pratico, Inc., 633 F.2d 1122 (Sth Cir.
Is a ys sc ow Fs «ab e's Cox. Y

lV

Cases — Continued: Page
Moitie v. Federated Dep’t Stores, Inc., 611 F.2d 1267
SC SE no nr caee cals peck ea es eas 10
Moore v. Devine, 780 F.2d 1559 (11th Cir.
DE Ue cual uses eee eee as tec eh rene nn 7-8, 9
Pecker v. Heckler, 801 F.2d 709 (4th Cir.
DE each Pea asa ncaa neti sk ne ne eco ee 10
Rasimas v. Michigan Dep’t of Mental Health, 714
fg oF fe ae See eee y)

Snow v. United States Postal Service, 88 Fed. Eq.
Opportunity Rep. (Labor Rel. Press) © 1,030

Se: Se EN ee Laren ey, 4 7
Sullivan v. Hudson, 109 S. Ct. 2248 (1989) .... 11
Taylor v. Philips Indus., Inc., 593 F.2d 783 (7th Cir.

i BER ey oe a ere rye SR Pan Pera S
Texas State Teachers Ass'n v. Garland Indep. School

District, 489 U.S. 782 (1989) ............... 1]
United States v. Utah Constr. & Mining Co., 384

See I ns ay Go hove we ke oe eae ees 6,9
University of Tennessee v. Elliott, 478 U.S. 788

SNS Sth c coe OE ka Bs 8 se Re ae 6

Statutes and regulations:

Rehabilitation Act of 1973, Pub. L. No. 93-112, 87
eal, Jon Gee ee. Fe) OE ONE.) .. 2.2 eee.
a SEED oo kp weo-n ase cooassces

Pe oe! es 3,
ee
MO Or Mees ooo se 3,

y. Fon &.
Pt. 102:
TD SR ee ek sk ooo ee oe a 8

~ © & WN

a
ee)
re
a")

Regulations — Continued:

Pres ENT a:s7ate ora ack ote slate cal w aie'a ee er
Fas ee re ak a eae Oa oe earn

Sections 1613.221-1613.234 ...........
NN NIN oo owe Sek ceew ences
oe |
Sections 1613.237-1613.239 ...........
ek eo , EE err ee
section 1613.271(aM4) .... 2... cccee
Section 1613.281 (1986) .............. 3,

(
NNN ONNYAnNYANNN

Miscellaneous:

Restatement (Second) of Judgments (1982) ..... 6

}
7 _ en reliiigs>

= Seana Te

ee Te

Jn the Supreme Court of the Gnited States

OcTOBER TERM, 1990

No. 90-863
SABAT QUINONES CANDEI ARIO, PETITIONER
v.

ANTHONY M. FRANK,
POSTMASTER GENERAIL OF THE UNITED STATES

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIRST CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE RESPONDENT IN OPPOSITION

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App. Al-A19)
is reported at 906 F.2d 798. The opinion of the district court
(Pet. App. A22-A46) is reported at 715 F. Supp. 414.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on June
26, 1990. A petition for rehearing was denied on September
4+, 1990. Pet. App. A87-A88. The petition for a writ of cer-
tiorarl was filed on November 26, 1990. The jurisdiction
ot this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

(1)

STATEMENT

1. Petitioner, a veteran who is partially disabled by a
back condition, was hired by the United States Postal Serv -
ice as a probationary part-time postal clerk in August 1979.
On September 0, 1979, the Postal Service discharged peti-
tioner on the basis of a medical determination that his back
condition was incompatible with heavy lifting and other
physical requirements of the job. Petitioner filed a com-
plaint with the Postal Service asserting that the Service had
unlawfully discriminated against him on account of his
disabHity, in violation of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973,
Pub. L. No. 93-112, 87 Stat. 390 (codified at 29 U.S.C. 701
el seq.). See 29 C.F.R. Pt. 1613.' The Postal Service issued
a final agency decision finding that petitioner’s termination
was not discriminatory. Pet. App. AS5-A6, A23-A25,
A64-A69.

Petitioner appealed to the Equal Employment Opportuni
ty Commission (EEOC), which rendered a decision in his
favor in April 1985. Pet. App. A63-A82. The sole issue con-
sidered by the EEOC was “whether the record supports a
finding of no discrimination.” Jd. at A73. The EEOC deter-
mined that petitioner’s discharge was improperly based on
his physical condition and ordered the Postal Service to
“reinstate [petitioner] at the paygrade he would normally
have reached if not terminated, and award him backpay for
the period from his termination to his reinstatement.” /d.
at A78. The EEOC neither considered nor determined the
amount of back pay due petitioner, and the parties presented
no argument or evidence on this question. See id. at A37.

' The procedures of 29 C.F.R. Pt. 1613 apply to employment
discrimination complaints by tederal employees. The procedures of 29
C.F.R. Pt. 1601 apply to discrimination complaints by state and private
employees.

2. The Postal Service reinstated petitioner in June 1985.
In accordance with the requirement that “[i]nterim earnings
or amounts earnable with reasonable diligence by the per-
son * * * discriminated against shall operate to reduce the
back pay otherwise allowable,” 42 U.S.C. 2000e-5(g),? the
Postal Service asked petitioner to submit proof of his earn-
ings and efforts to obtain other employment during the back
pay period. Petitioner submitted documents indicating that,
apart from 100 hours of part-time work, he had no interim
earnings. Petitioner’s submissions showed that he had not
sought unemployment compensation during the back pay
period, and that he was a full-time university student for
three years. See C.A. App. 16-18. In March 1986, the Postal
Service determined that petitioner had not made reasonable
efforts to obtain other employment and denied him back
pay. Pet. App. A27-A28.

Petitioner submitted additional documents in August
1986, including undated applications for employment, a let-
ter stating that he had been a student in a vocational
rehabilitation program, and a handwritten log setting forth
the names and business cards of employers that he claimed
to have contacted. C.A. App. 20. Upon investigation, the
Postal Service determined that the additional materials were
Suspect, and again denied petitioner’s claim for back pay.
Pet. App. A31l.

3. Petitioner then brought an enforcement action in
district court. See 42 U.S.C. 2000e-5(g), 2000e-16(c); 29
C.F.R. 1613.281 (1986). He moved for summary judgment,
arguing that the Postal Service had not raised his alleged
failure to mitigate damages before the EEOC and therefore
was precluded by the doctrine of administrative res judicata
from raising the issue in the district court. The district court

? Section 2000e-5(g) is incorporated by reference in the Rehabilita-
tion Act. See 29 U.S.C. 794a(a)(1).

4

granted summary judgment for petitioner. Pet. App.
A22-A46. The court found that “the EEOC serves in a
judicial capacity” and renders a “final judgment [on the
merits] with which the Postal Service is obligated to
comply.” /d. at A38-A39. Although the district court agreed
with the Postal Service that “before the EEOC, there was
no inquiry into the reasonable-diligence issue, and there was
no calculation of the back pay,” id. at A37, the court con-
cluded that the Postal Service was “precluded from raising
the reasonable-diligence issue if it could have raised it in
the administrative proceeding,” id. at A39. The court held
that “[t]he exact construction of the back-pay award [was]
a proper subject of the EEOC proceedings,” id. A40-A41,
and found “no legislative policy that would favor separate,
collateral review of the reasonable-diligence issue,” /d. at
A42-A43.

4. The court of appeals reversed. Pet. App. Al-A19.
The court of appeals agreed with the district court that
“IsJince the EEOC acted in a judicial capacity, any factual
determination that it made may be subject to the doctrine
of res judicata.” Id. at A1l2. But the court observed that
administrative res judicata would not apply to the EEOC
proceedings “in the face of contrary public policy,” such
as “when it would result in a ‘manifest injustice.’” /d. at
A13 (citing cases). The court concluded that to preclude the
Postal Service from raising the mitigation issue in a subse-
quent enforcement action “would be a ‘manifest injustice’ ”
and “would violate the statutory mandate in compliance pro-
ceedings brought before the district court [under Section
2000e-5(g)] that ‘[i]Jnterim earnings or amounts earnable with
reasonable diligence by the person or persons discriminated
against shall operate to reduce the back pay otherwise
allowable.’” Jd. at A13-A14.

The court of appeals observed that “[t]he proceeding
before the EEOC was concerned with a liability determina-
tion, and was not necessarily the appropriate forum for a

aA

precise determination of [petitioner’s] damages.” Pet. App.
Al4. The court also noted that the applicable regulations
“[njowhere * * * direct the EEOC to determine in that pro-
ceeding the specific amount of back pay due the com-
plainant,” ‘bid. nor do they specify “which body [the EEOC
or the employing agency] must determine back pay in the
first instance,” id. at AlS. Moreover, “in practice, it ap-
pears that in typical proceedings the EEOC does not com-
pute back pay in the first instance.” /d. at A15-A16. The
court concluded that to require the EEOC, contrary to its
current practice, to compute the specific amount of back
pay due in all future administrative appeals “would not
foster administrative efficiency,” because the initial calcula-
tion of back pay involves “matters that can best be con-
sidered and determined by the agency which had employed
the complainant.” /d. at A17-A18. Accordingly, the court
of appeals vacated the judgment and remanded the case for
further proceedings.

ARGUMENT

The decision of the court of appeals is correct and does
not conflict with any decision of this Court or any other
court Of appeals. In addition, the court of appeals has
remanded this case to the district court for further pro-
cecdings. Because petitioner may recover the back pay he
secks on remand, interlocutory review of the court of ap-
peals’ decision is not warranted.

1. Petitioner contends (Pet. 20-29, 44-60) thai the Postal!
Service should have raised his alleged failure to mitigate
damages in the EEOC proceedings on the meriis of his
discrimination complaint. In petitioner’s view, principles of
adiministiative res judicata preclude the Postal Service from
raising the mitigation issue in a subsequent enforcement ac-
tion. Petitioner further contends (Pet. 29-43) that the court

h

of appeals erred in declining to apply administrative res
judicata here on the basis of public policy and to avoid
manifest injustice. These contentions are unpersuasive.

a. Administrative res judicata applies “[w]hen an ad-
ministrative agency is acting in a judicial capacity and
resolves disputed issues of fact properly before it which the
parties have had an adequate opportunity to litigate.” United
States \. Utah Constr. & Mining Co., 384 U.S. 394, 422
(1966). See also University of Tennessee v. Elliott, 478 U.S.
788, 797-798 (1986) (issue preclusion applies to factfinding
of administrative bodies acting in a judicia! capacity);
Aremer. Chemical Constr. Co., 456 U.S. 461, 484-485 n.26
(1982). Although the EEOC acted in a judicial capacity in
this case, it did not resolve any disputed issues of fact con-
cerning the amount of back pay due. And because the
amount of back pay due generally is determined by the
employing agency in the first instance, after the EEOC has
issued its decision on the merits, the proceedings before the
EEOC did not afford the Postal Service an adequate op-
portunity to litigate the mitigation issue.

The sole issue before the EEOC was “whether the record
supports a finding of no discrimination.” Pet. App. A73.
The district court expressly found that “[w]hen the present
case was before the EEOC, there was no inquiry into the
reasonable-diligence issue, and there was no calculation of
the back pay owed to [petitioner].”? Jd. at A37. This was
consistent with the EEOC’s usual practice. As the court of

* Consequently, the district court’s suggestion that principles of col-
lateral estoppel (issue preclusion) prevent the Postal Service from rais-
wig the mufigation issue in a subsequent proceeding (Pet. App. A35-A38)
is plamly incorrect. See Restatement (Second) of Judgments § 27 (1982)
fissue preclusion applies to issues “actually litigated and determined”
In a prior proceeding).

appeals recognized (id. at A1S-A17), the EEOC generally
does not compute the amount of back pay due a successful
claimant. In Snow v. United States Postal Service, 88 Fed.
Eq. Opportunity Rep. (Labor Rel. Press) € 1,030 (Sept. 30,
1987), for example, the EEOC issued an order directing the
Postal Service to reinstate an employee and award back pay,
and later issued a separate order affirming the Postal Seiv-
ice’s denial of back pay for failure to mitigate damages. '

The EEOC’s procedures focus on resolving claims of
discrimination on the merits. See 29 C.F.R.
1613.213-1613.218 and 1613.221-1613.234. The regulations
provide that, upon a final finding of discrimination, the
Commission may order appropriate corrective action, 29
(.F.R. 1613.234 and 1613.271, which ordinarily should in-
clude “[pJayment * * * on a make whole basis tor any loss
of earnings the person may have suffered as a result of the
discrimination.” Section 1613.271(a)(4). The employing
agency is required to report to the EEOC within a prescribed
time that “the corrective action has been taken.” Section
1613.234(a). If the employee is dissatisfied with the level
of compliance, he is entitled to file a civil suit for enforce-
ment in district court. 42 U.S.C. 2000e-16(c); 29 C.F.R.
1613.281 (1986). See Moore v. Devine, 780 F.2d 1559, 1563

4 Petitioner attempts to distinguish Snow by noung thai the remedial
order in that case directed the Postal Service to award back pay reduced
by amounts earned, and the EEOC processed the agency s subsequent
back pay determination as an administrative appeal rather than as a
compliance report. Pet. 1-53. But the EFOC in Snow clearly treated
the back pas calculation as a separate stage of the process that follow
ed determination of the employee's claim of discrimination on the
merits. In Gellington v. Department of Justice, 87 Fed. ty. Oppor-
‘unity Rep (labor Rel. Press) © 1.040 (Apr. 15, 1987). the EEOC con
sidered the mitigation tssuc on the initial appeal because the employs
me agency had already tound discrimination aid the cinploysee’s ap
peal was trom the agenes’s partial denial of back pay for failure to
mitigate

(11th Cir. 1986). As the court of appeals recognized (Pet.
App. A17-A18), the practice of deferring calculation of back
pay until after a determination on the merits of a discrimina-
tion claim promotes administrative efficiency by allowing
the EEOC to focus its resources on the claimaf elt while
the employer, in the first instance, performs the largely
ministerial task of assembling the information needed to
implement the usual remedy of reinstatement and back pay.°

Because the EEOC generally does not calculate the
amount of back pay due in the first instance, the parties
in this case did not have an adequate opportunity to litigate
back pay issues before the EEOC. Indeed, petitioner’s argu-
ment, if takgn seriously, would preclude him from recover-
ing any back pay because he failed to present evidence con-
cerning thefamount of back pay due. See Taylor v. Philips
Indus., Inc. , 593 F.2d 783, 787 (7th Cir. 1979) (“Under [Title
VII’s make whole] formula, before the court may award
damages, plaintiff must first establish that she has, in fact,
sustained an economic loss from defendant's discrimination.
~* * Not until the plaintiff establishes what she contends
are her damages does the burden of going forward to rebut
the damage claim or to show plaintiff's failure to mitigate
damages, fall on detendant.”). Accord Horn v. Duke Homies
Div. of Windsor Mobile Homes, Inc., 755 F.2d 599, 606
(7th Cir. 1985) (back pay ordinarily is granted Title VII
plaintiffs, but “plaintiff has the burden of proving the

* Other tederal remedial schemes also provide tor the calculation of
_back pay in a separate stage of the proceedings, following a determina-
tion of hability. The National Labor Relations Board’s regulations pro
mulgated under the National Labor Relations Act (on which Title VII's
back pay remedy was expressly modeled. see A/bermarle Paper Co. v.
Voodyv, 422 U.S. 408, 419 (1978)). provide for calculation of make-
whole damages at a later stage of the proceedings. See 29 C.F.R.
102. 52-102.59. The Meri Systems Protection Board also typically
pesoives Puck pay issues ai a separates stage. See fruzier v. United States
Postal Service 26 M.S_.P.B. 584. 885-586 (1985).

Y

damages caused her”); Rasinas v. Michigan Dep’t of Men-
tal Health, 714 F.2d 614, 623 (6th Cir. 1983); Marks v.
Pratico, Inc. , 633 F.2d 1122, 1125 (Sth Cir. 1981). In short,
the doctrine of administrative res judicata does not apply
tO questions concerning the amount of back pay due,
because the EEOC’s decision did not “resolve[] disputed
issues of fact” on that issue, and the parties did not “have
* * * an adequate opportunity to litigate” those issues in
the prior administrative proceeding, Utah Constr. & Min-
ing Co., 384 U.S. at 422.°

There is no merit to petitioner’s contention (Pet. 20-29)
that the procedure followed in this case permits a federal
employer.to overrule a back pay remedy ordered by the
EEOC. The employer is bound by the EEOC’s finding of
discrimination. See 42 U.S.C. 2000e-16; Moore v. Devine,
780 F.2d at 1562. The employer’s role is limited to making
the initial calculation of the amount of back pay due. If
the employee disputes the calculation, he has a right to seek
resoiution of that dispute by filing an enforcement action
in district court (or, under current regulations, by petition-
ing the EEOC for enforcement of its order, see note 6,
supra). Thus, contrary to petitioner’s assertions (Pet. 20-21,
28-29), the decision in this case does not conflict with deci-
sions holding that the EEOC’s final decision in federal sec-
tor employment discrimination cases is binding on the
employing agency. See Haskins v. Department of Army,

* In 1987, after the events at issue in this case, the EEOC issued sup-
plemental regulations that make it even clearer that compliance tssues,
including mitigation, generally are treated as separate from the merits
of a discrimination complaint. The regulations establish a formal pro-
cedure by which a claimant may petition the EEOC tor enforcement
of a reme tial order, and the EEOC may conduct further fact-finding.
See 29 C.F.R. 1613.237-1613.239. Because it ts now clear that federal
emplo, ves may return to the EFOC for resolution of compliance issues,
petitioner's contentions are of no continuing significance.

10

SO8 F.2d 1192, 1200 (6th Cir. 1987) (EEOC determination
“must be reviewed [by a court in an enforcement action]
in the contest that i was made; facts which were not re-
solved by the KEOC in making such a determination can-
not be read into such a finding upon a claimant’s demand”).
See also Hlouseton v. Nimmo, 670 F.2d 1375 (9th Cir. 1982);
Pecker \. Heckler, 8301 F.2d 709 (4th Cir. 1986).

b. Because principles of administrative res judicata do
not preclude the Postal Service from raising petitioner's
alleged failure to mitigate damages in an enforcement ac-
tion, there is no need for this Court to consider petitioner’s
additional contention (Pet. 29-44) that the court of appeals
should not have recognized an exception to administrative
res judicata based on public policy and the avoidance of
manifest injustice. But even if administrative res judicata
ordinarily would apply here, the court of appeals’ decision
would not warrant further review.

In Federated Dep't Stores v. Moitie, 482 U.S. 394, 401
(1981), this Court rejected “public policy” and “simple
justice” as reasons tor excepting from the effects of res
judicata parties who, for tactical reasons, elected not to ap-
peal a lower court judgment. The lower court in Moitie had
recornized that “strict application of the doctrine of res
judicaia would preclude * * * review of the instant deci-
sion,” id. at 397 (quoting Mone .. Federated Dep't Stores,
Ine., OV F.2d 1267, 1269 (9th Cir. 1980)), yet nevertheless
declined to apply the doctrine. This Court held that the con-
cededly applicable doctrine of res judicata should have been
applied, because the ends of justice are “achieved when a
complex body of law developed over a period of years is
evenhandedly applied,” and because exceptions to pertinent
law should not be invoked based on “any individual judge's
ad hoc determination of the equities in a particular case,”
452 U.S. at 401.

Voie otters no support tor petitioner’s position. The
sourt here did not expressiv hold that res judicata was

applicable and then decline to apply the doctrine because
of an “ad hoc determination of the equities,” 452 U.S. at
401. Rather, the court determined that in light of the nature
of EEOC proceedings res judicata did not apply to such
proceedings. See also International Harvester Co. \v.
Occupational Health and Safety Review Comin ’n, 628 F.2d
982, 984-986 (7th Cir. 1980) (administrative res judicata does
not apply to issues not reached in the previous administrative
proceeding).

The court of appeals concluded that to preclude the Postal
Service from asserting petitioner’s failure to mitigate
damages in his enforcement action would torce the EEOC
\o adopt less efficient administrative procedures, Pet. App.
A17- Al8, and would violate the statutory requirement that
back pay must be reduced by the amount which the claim-
ant earned, or with reasonable diligence could have earned,
in the back pay period. Pet. App. A13-A14. In the absence
of a conflict in the circuits, the court of appeals’ decision
presents no issue calling for review by this Court.

2. The court of appeals correctly rejected petitioner’s
claim (Pet. 64-65) that he is a “prevailing party” in his en-
forcement action for purposes of an award of attorney's
tees. A plaintift is not a prevailing party unless he has
achieved some of the benetit sought in bringing the action.
Texas State Teachers Ass'n vy. Garland Indep. School
District, 489 U.S. 782, 790-792 (1989); Sullivan v. Hudson,
109 S. Ct. 2248, 2255 (1989). See also Hanrahan \.
Hampton, 446 U.S. 754, 759 (1980). Because petitioner has
yet to achieve any of the benefit sought in his enforcement
action, his claim for attorney’s fees is premature.

12

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.
Respecttully submitted.

KENNI IHW. STARR
Solicitor General

SILART M. GERSON
Assistant Attorney General

M<skRLtIGH D. DOVER
WENDY M. KEAIS
dfrornevs

Pi uki VKY 199]

en ae

nl pre i ag Ol ti)

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385020_3188%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
