# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Pittman v. Sullivan

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385020_3183%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1991
- **Citation:** 499 U.S. 919

## Text

. Or a
| #osurr S
a
NO.
| IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1990

LOUIE V. PITTMAN, PETITIONER
Ve

LOUIS W. SULLIVAN, SECRETARY
OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

WAYNE ZIEGENHORN, PETITIONER
Vv.

LOUIS W. SULLIVAN, SECRETARY
OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT
OF APPEALS FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

ANTHONY W. BARTELS

P.O. Box 1640

Jonesboro, Arkansas 72401
(501) 972-5000

ATTORNEY FOR PETITIONER

QUESTION PRESENTED

The question presented is two-fold:
First, shouldn't the Secretary of Health
‘and Human Services take responsibility for
the Agency's failure to comply with the
administrative fee withholding provisions
of 42 U.S.C. § 406? And, secondly, should

the Eighth Circuit's ruling in Gowen v.

Bowen be given retroactive application?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

OPINIONS BELOW

JURISDICTION

STATUTES INVOLVED

STATEMENT

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

CONCLUSION .

APPENDIX

10

32

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases Page

Alexander v. Hill, 707 F.2d 780

464 U.S. 874 (1983) a ae ee ee 30
Berger v. Heckler, 771 F.2d 1556

[oe Gas Beee? «6» «+ & ee 6 es ow Oe
owen v b , 485 U.S.

74 (1988) a ae oe ae ae oe ee ee a
Brand v. Sullivan, No. 89-2912EA

(6th Car.) (em) . «© «© «© «© «© @ «QF
Condon v. Bowen, 853 F.2d 66

(2G Gets Beer « «© ee ee 14, 19
EX pa obinson, 86 U.S.

(19 Wall.) 505 (1874), quoted in
11 C. Wright & A Miller,
Federal Practice and

Procedure § 2960
at 581-82 (2d ed. 1973) .... 28

Fenix v. Finch, 436 F.2d 831
(8th Cir. 1971) oe tere Ve -@ tes 23

Garcia v. Neagle, 660 F.2d 983
(4th Cir. 1981) “a a 20, @h, @2

Gardner v. Mendez, 373 F.2d 488
(iat Gis. 2007) «+ % «sass

Gowen v. Bowen, 855 F.2d
613 (8th Cir.

1988) .. . 12, 14, 27, 28 passim

wh ton

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES (CONT'D)

Cases Page
Guido v. Schweiker, 775 F.2d 107

<< Eo lee |
J in Vv ullivan, No. 89-2913EA

(Gum Cae.) (O6MO) .« « 6 © wo o@ @ 4
McDonald v. Weinberger, 512 F.2d 144

[Sem Cis. Bye) «swe ee el el CU

McGuire v. Sullivan, 873 F.2d 974
(7th Cir. 1989) ttevs Btn -e we 23

Morton v. Ruiz, 415 U.S. 199
[Berean & © ee © 8 ee he el zO, 25

Motley v. Heckler, 605 F. Supp. 88
(W.D. Va. 1985), rev'd on other

grounds, 800 F.2d 1253 (4th Cir.
1986) lr ae Or ae ee ee

Oden v. Sullivan, No. 89-2911EA
(eum Gees COOP 6 6 6 8 e os

Perrin v. Sullivan, No. 89-2914EA
(8th Cir.) (case presently

pending before the
maeem Gamemaey) « «© « 6 « & we A?

Pittman v. Sullivan, No. 89-2180EA . 10

° Vv wej , 655 F. Supp.
3306 (BD. Bek. 2967) . « « « » « 2

25

-iii-

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES (CONT'D)
Cases Page

Russell v. Sullivan, 887 F.2d 170
(8th Cir.), rehearing denied
(1989), cert. denied, 110
SB. Ce 2673 C29PO) « @ « Av, £22, 26

Smith v. Bonds, 813 F.2d 1299

(4th Cir.), cert. denied,
488 U.S. 868 (1987) : «6 @ @ «& 30

Southeastern Community College v.
Davis, 442 U.S. 397 (1979) s 6 « oe

Strickland v. Bowen, 669 F. Supp. 1086
(M.D. Ga. 1987) eee x,
Thomason v. Schweiker, 692 F.2d
333 (40h Cif. 1982) . “4-4 6 * 21

Trekas v. Bowen, No. 88-2101EA
(8th Cir. May 12, 1989),
rehearing denied
(8th Cir. June 9, 1989),
cert. denied, 58 U.S.L.W.
3214 (U.S. Oct. 2, 1989)
(NG. 86802069) ....24+242e2e 16

Webb v. Richardson, 472 F.2d 529
(6th Cir. 1972) ....%s. 22, 24

Whitt v. Califano, 601 F.2d 160
(4th Cir. 1979) : & ef aoe. 8 8 23

Ziegenhorn v. Department of Health
& Human Services,
No. 89-2552EA (8th Cir.
Aug. 1, 1990) ea oe ee ee sG, a7

alive

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES (CONT'D)

Statutes Page
Re. SS) ae eee
20 C.F.R. § 404.501 (1990) ° 8 e 12, 18
42 U.S.C. § 404 . «© © © © © © © «@ 12, 18
42 U.S.C. § 406 . . 11, 13, 14, 16 passim
42 U.S.C. § 407 « «© © © © © 0 © © © 15
Other

Hearings on H.R. 6675 Before the Senate
inance Co , 89th Cong., list Sess.

512-13 (1965) 14
POMS § GN 03940.220 . . « «© « « «© « « Le
POMS § GN 03940.300 ....6 ++... « Lil

-V=—

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1990

LOUIE V. PITTMAN, PETITIONER
Vv.

LOUIS W. SULLIVAN, SECRETARY
OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

WAYNE ZIEGENHORN, PETITIONER
Vv.

LOUIS W. SULLIVAN, SECRETARY
OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT
OF APPEALS FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

The Petitioner, Anthony W. Bartels,
petitions for a writ of certiorari to re-
view the judgment of the United States
Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit

in this case.

=-2-

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals

is reported as Pittman v. Sullivan, 91l F.

2d 42 (8th Cir. 1990), but is also
attached hereto as Appendix A. The
opinion of the District Court in Pittman

v. Secretary of HHS is unreported, but is

attached hereto as Appendix B. The
opinion of the District Court in

Ziegenhorn v. Bowen is unreported but is

attached as Appendix C. The Order Denying
Petition for Rehearing and Suggestion for
Rehearing En Banc of the Court of Appeals
is attached hereto as Appendix D.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals
(App. A) was entered on August l, 1990.
The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked

under 28 U.S.C. § 1254 (1).

STATUTES INVOLVED

The relevant provisions of Title II

of the Social: Security Act, 42 U.S.C. §
406, 20 C.F.R. § 404.1720(b) (4), 20
C.F.R. § 404.1730(b), and 20 C.F.R. §
404.501(a) (8), are set forth in Appendix

E.

STATEMENT

This case concerns 42 U.S.C. § 406
and 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1720 and 404.1730,
which involve fees for a representative's
services on a Title II claim. Ina Title ~-
II claim, the Social Security Administra-
tion is to withhold and pay the attor-
ney's fee directly to the attorney from a
claimant's past-due benefits. The case
also concerns 20 C.F.R. § 404.501(a) (8),
which provides for adjustment in cases
where, through error, a payment of past-

due benefits is made to an individual and

such payment has not been reduced by the

amount of attorney's fees payable direct-
ly to an attorney under § 206 of the Act,
42 U.S.C. § 406.

1. Pittman: Anthony Bartels, at-
torney, represented Pittman on a claim
appealing cessation of his disability
benefits. Pittman drew interim benefits
while his claim was pending. In October
of 1986 his benefits were reinstated by
the Secretary.

As an attorney's fee, Bartels peti-
tioned for one-fourth of retroactive ani
interim benefits. In June 1987, the Dis-
trict Court awarded Bartels a fee of
$1,782.16, or 25% of past-due benefits,
whichever was less. The order expressly
held that past-due benefits did not in-
clude interim benefits. In July 1987,
the Secretary released $1,046.82 to Bar-

tels, which amount represented 25% of

—

Pittman's retroactive benefits, not in-

cluding interim benefits. Bartels
appealed the Court's June 1987 order to
the Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals. In

Gowen v. Bowen, 855 F.2d 613, 614, 619

(8th Cir. 1988) the Court vacated the
order insofar as it denied attorney's
fees from interim benefits and remanded,
after holding that interim benefits must
be treated as past-due benefits. In Feb-
ruary 1989, the Secretary authorized Bar-
tels to charge a fee of $1,254.16 for
representing Pittman at the administra-
tive level. The Secretary advised Bar-
tels to look to Pittman for payment,
Since no benefits had been withheld be-
yond the $1,046.82 released earlier to
Bartels.

Bartels responded by filing a motion
in the District Court to hold the Secre-

tary in contempt for failure to withhold

the proper amount for attorney's fees, as

Pittman was unable and unwilling to pay
the balance of the fees he owed. The
District Court denied the contempt motion
but ordered the Secretary to pay Bartels
the balance owing on the court-ordered
fee ($735.34), as well as the administra-
tive fee authorized by the Secretary.

The Court further directed the Secretary
to pursue recoupment of these amounts
from Pittman's future disability bene-
fits.

The Secretary appealed the District
Court's decision, and the Eighth Circuit
agreed with the District Court's deter-
mination that under the decision in Gowen

v. Bowen, supra, the Secretary erroneous-

ly paid Pittman benefits that should have
been withheld for payment of attorney's
fees to Bartels, which resulted _.: an

overpayment to Pittman. However, the

Court affirmed the District Court's order

in Pittman only insofar as it directed
the Secretary to pursue recoupment of the
balance remaining on its fee award; that
unless waiver of recoupment was required,
the Secretary must attempt to recoup the
amount to the extent the award did not
exceed 25% of past-due benefits as de-

fined by Gowen v. Bowen, supra; and any

funds recouped were to be paid over to
Bartels. The Court held that it was
without authority to order payment of the
administrative fee.

2. Ziegenhorn: Anthony Bartels,

attorney, represented Ziegenhorn on a
claim appealing cessation of his dis-
ability benefits. Ziegenhorn drew inter-
im benefits while his claim was pending.
In October 1986 his benefits were rein-

stated by the Secretary.

As an attorney's fee, Bartels pe-
titioned for one-fourth of retroactive
and interim benefits. In April 1987, the
District Court awarded Bartels a fee of
$1,015.00, or 25% of past-due benefits,
whichever was less. Bartels did not ap-
peal this Order.

In July 1987, the Secretary au-
thorized Bartels to charge $1,618.17 in
attorney's fees for work done at the ad-
ministrative level. Shortly thereafter,
the Secretary released to Bartels the
$989.67 which was withheld from Ziegen-
horn's retroactive benefits, and advised
Bartels to look to Ziegenhorn for payment
of the balance of his fee.

In December 1988, after attempting
without success to collect the remainder
of the fee from Ziegenhorn, Bartels filed

a motion in District Court to hold the

Secretary in contempt for failure to com-

‘Pe

ply with the Court's April 1987 order,
claiming that the Secretary had disobeyed
the Order by not including interim bene-
fits as part of past-due benefits. The
Court denied the contempt motion, stating
that its April 1987 order did not re-
quire the Secretary to include interim
benefits as part of past-due benefits.
However, the Court went on to find that

Gowen v. Bowen, supra, applied retroac-

tively, and ordered the Secretary to pay

Bartels the administrative fee authorized

by the Secretary plus the balance remain-

25% of past-due benefits as defined by
Gowen v. Bowen, supra, whichever was
less.

The Secretary appealed to the Eighth
Circuit Court of Appeals, which held that
the District Court did not abuse its dis-

ing on the court-ordered fee ($25.33), or
cretion in denying Bartels's motion to
|
|

hold the Secretary in contempt, but that

the District Court erred when it went on
to grant Bartels the relief he sought on
the ground that Gowen v. Bowen, supra,
applied retroactively, because Bartels's
effort to obtain retroactive application
of Gowen through a contempt preceding
constituted an impermissibJe collateral
attack on the Court's April 1987 Order,
which had long since become final and un-
appealable. The District Court's Order

in Ziegenhorn was reversed.

ONS FOR GRANT THE P ION

I. THE APPELLATE COURT ERRED IN
REFUSING TO ORDER THE SECRETARY
OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES TO
TAKE RESPONSIBILITY FOR THE
AGENCY'S FAILURE TO COMPLY WITH
THE ADMINISTRATIVE FEE WITH-
HOLDING PROVISIONS OF 42 U. :
§ 406.

In the consolidated cases of Pittman

v. Sullivan, No. 89-2180EA, and Ziegen-

Vv th & Hum

i i a

-ll-

Services, No. 89-2552EA (8th Cir. Aug. l,
1990), the Eighth Circuit held that it
was without authority to direct the Sec-
retary of Health and Human Services to
pay the petitioner, Anthony Bartels, a
duly authorized administrative fee for
representing a Title II social security
disability claimant at the administrative
level (App. A). 42 U.S.C. § 406(a) pro-
vides for the award of administrative
fees but does not prescribe the mode of
payment. Case authority and Department
of Health and Human Services internal
regulations indicate, however, that the
Secretary is to award administrative fees
from past-due benefits withheld from the
Claimant pending a final determination,
POMS § GN 03940.220, or, in those cases
where the claimant elects to receive in-
terim benefits, award such fees from in-

terim benefits withheld from the claim-

-12-

ant. owen Vv. wen, 855 F.2d 613, 618-
19 (8th Cir. 1988) (holding that interim
benefits must be treated as past-due ben-
efits for attorney's fee purposes).

In this case, the Secretary author-
ized administrative fee awards but failed
to withhold the fees to which the peti-
tioner is entitled from interim benefits
payments. The claimant has since spent
all interim benefits payments and is un-
willing to voluntarily pay the petition-
er. Where administrative errors in with-
holding occur in the context of past-due
benefits cases and the attorney cannot
recoup the funds, the Social Security Ad-
ministration pays the fee directly to the
attorney and charges an overpayment to
the claimant. 42 U.S.C. § 404; 20 C.F.R.
§ 404.501(a) (8) (1990) (See App. E); POMS
§ GN 03940.300(A), (C). The Secretary

refuses to recoup the funds from the

-13-

claimant in this interim benefits case by
those means uniquely at the Secretary's
disposal, however, leaving the petitioner
with no remedy.

It is beyond dispute that pursuant
to 42 U.S.C. § 406(a) the petitioner is
entitled to the fee authorized by the
Secretary; the only question is whether
the Department of Health and Human Serv-
vices is outside the reach of the federal
courts when it refuses to pay such bene-
fits due to its own alleged "error." Be-
cause there is much confusion among the
circuits regarding the proper role of the
federal courts on this particular ques-
tion and with regard to social security
attorney fee questions generally, and be-
cause important federal questions are
here at issue, the petitioner seeks the
Supreme Court's guidance by way of this

petition for a writ of certiorari.

42 U.S.C. § 406 was enacted to en-

courage attorney representation of those
disabled individuals claiming Title II
benefits by assuring that attorneys tak-
ing such cases would be paid adequately.
Gowen v. Bowen, supra, 855 F.2d at 619;
Condon v. Bowen, 853 F.2d 66, 70-71 (2d
Cir. 1988); see also Hearings on H.R.
6675 Before the Senate Finance Comn.,
89th Cong., lst Sess. 512-13 (1965). The
statute at the same time protects claim-
ants by placing a ceiling on the amount
of attorney's fees recoverable for repre-
sentation at both the administrative and
court levels. 42 U.S.C. § 406(a),
(b) (1); Gowen v. Bowen, supra, 855 F.2d
at 619.

As noted above, the Secretary has
the internal mechanisms of overpayment
and recoupment for withholding attorney's

fees and ultimately paying such fees to

-15-

attorneys who have received a fee award.
The individual attorney, on the other
hand, is severely limited in collection
efforts by 42 U.S.C. § 407, which pro-
vides:
[NJone of the moneys paid or
payable or rights existing
under this subchapter shall be
subject to execution, levy, at-
tachment, garnishment, or other
legal process, or to the opera-
tion of any bankruptcy or in-
solvency law.
Thus where, as here, the claimant no
longer has the funds earmarked for attor-
ney's fees but mistakenly paid to the
Claimant by the Secretary, and is no
longer willing to reimburse his attorney,
the petitioner has virtually no method of
recovery directly against the claimant.
Only the Secretary has authority to renm-
edy this situation created by the Social
Security Administration's own error.

To adopt the Secretary's argument

that the federal courts cannot order the

ae

-16-

Secretary to pay the petitioner his duly
authorized administrative fees in the
face of the Secretary's inaction would
fly in the face of the legislative intent
underlying the attorney's fee provisions
of 42 U.S.C. § 406. As noted above, the
overriding goal behind § 406 is to pro-
mote adequate legal representation of
disabled persons by assuring attorney's
fees. The Secretary argues here that his
failure to withhold attorney's fees was
an alleged "error". This contention is
hard to believe in light of the long line
of similar cases in which the Secretary
"erroneously" failed to withhold attor-
ney's fees for this petitioner. These
cases indicate a pattern or policy of re-
fusing to withhold administrative fees

rather than an isolated error. See,

e.g., Trekas v. Bowen, No. 88-2101EA (8th
Cir. May 12, 1989), rehearing denied (8th

Cir. June 9, 1989), cert. denied, 58

U.S.L.W. 3214 (U.S. Oct. 2, 1989) (No.

8802069) ; e 4 ivan, 887 F.2d

170 (8th Cir.), rehearing denied (1989),

cert. denied, 110 S. Ct. 1473 (19960);
Vv. ivan, No. 89-2914EA (8th

Cir.) (case presently pending before the
Eighth Circuit); Jennings v. Sullivan,
No. 89-2913EA (8th Cir.) (same); Oden v.
Sullivan, No. 89-2911EA (8th Cir.)

(same); Brand v. Sullivan, No. 89-2912EA
(8th Cir.) (same). This policy of fail-
ing to withhold attorney's fees is not
confined to cases arising in the Eighth
Circuit. See, e.g., Roberts v. Schwei-
ker, 655 F. Supp. 1105 (D. Del. 1987)

(re: Secretary's violation of regulations
in failing to retain a percentage of ben-

efits for attorney's fees); Strickland v.

Bowen, 669 F. Supp. 1086 (M.D. Ga. 1987)

(same).

——V—eEE

-18-

Even if the Secretary's oversight in
this case was an honest error, such an
error should not relieve the Secretary of
his obligation under 42 U.S.C. § 406 and
implementing regulations, particularly in
light of the purpose of the statute. To
do so would clearly discourage represen-
tation of disability claimants in future
interim benefits cases. Ordering the
Secretary to pay the petitioner his ad-
ministrative fees would create no par-
ticular hardship for the Administration.
The Secretary already collects such fees
in cases of past-due benefits, then re-
coups the overpayment to the claimant
pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 404 and 20 C.F.R.
§ 404.501(a)(8) (See App. E). The mech-
anism is therefore in place within the
Administration to remedy the petitioner's
situation; the Secretary is simply being

asked to use that mechanism. The same

concerns which lead the courts to treat

interim benefits as past-due benefits for
purposes of setting an attorney's fee
award should likewise guide the proce-
dures for payment of those fees. Other-
wise, the law establishing an attorney's
right to such fees would be rendered
meaningless.

The Secretary's position that he is
not required to pay the petitioner and
that he cannot be ordered by the federal
court to do so must not only be rejected
for those equitable reasons noted above.
The law also provides judicial oversight
in those cases where the Secretary ex-

ceeds his discretion and violates the

law. As noted in Condon v. Bowen, supra,

853 F.2d at 72, quoting Southeastern Com-
munity College v. Davis, 442 U.S. 397,

411 (1979), the deference generally ac-

corded the Secretary "'is constrained by

[the court's] obligation to honor the

clear meaning of a statute, as revealed
by its language, purpose, and history.'

It is for the courts, not the ad-
ministrative agen.7, to decide con-
Clusively questions of statutory con-
struction." Thus, to the extent that the
Secretary's failure to provide payment in
this case is based on his erroneous read-
ing of the law, the federal courts must
become involved.

Furthermore, as this Court noted in

Morton v. Ruiz, 415 U.S. 199, 232 (1974),

[the] agency power to make
rules that affect substantial
individual rights and obliga-
tions carries with it the re-
sponsibility not only to remain
consistent with the governing

legislation, .. . but also to
employ procedures that ennere
to the law.

(Citations omitted.) As similarly ex-

plained in Garcia v. Neagle, 660 F.2d
983, 988 (4th Cir. 1981), cert. denied,

454 U.S. 1153 (1982),

even where action is committed
to absolute agency discretion
by law, courts have assumed the
power to review allegations
that an agency exceeded its
legal authority, acted uncon-
stitutionally, or failed to
follow its own regulations.

. »« Where the controlling
statute indicates that par-
ticular agency action ic com-
mitted to agency discretion, a
court may review the action if
there is a claim that the
agency has violated constitu-
tional, statutory, regulatory
or other restrictions, but may
not review agency action where
the challenge is only to the
decision itself.

See also Thomason v. Schweiker, 692
F.2d 333, 336 (4th Cir. 1982) (following
Garcia v. Neagle, supra).

In light of these authorities, the
Secretary's contention that 42 U.S.C. §
406(a) gives the Administration absolute
discretion and sole authority over ad-
ministrative fee decisions, and thus re-
moves such decisions from federal court

scrutiny is without merit. The amount of

-22-

the Secretary's award is not being chal-
lenged here. Rather, the petitioner
seeks an order demanding that the Secre-
tary comply with the letter and spirit of
the attorney fee provisions of the stat-
ute, regulations, and internal operating
procedures, and actually pay him the
award which has been duly authorized for
his representation of the disability
Claimants identified above.

The question of the respective roles
of the Social Security Administration and
the federal courts in carrying out the
attorney fee provisions of Title II on
these and similar facts is the subject of
much dispute among the circuits. In Webb
v. Richardson, 472 F.2d 529 (6th Cir.
1972), for example, the court held that
it was completely appropriate for the

court not only to award attorney's fees

for representation before the court on

|

-23-

behalf of a social security claimant, but
to set an administrative award as weil.
The court adopted this approach for the
sake of clarity and more adequately to
carry out the purpose of the 25% statu-
tory cap on all fees, both judicial and
administrative, among other reasons. Id.
at 536-37.

Other circuits, including the Eighth
Circuit in the consolidated cases at bar,
have applied the statute in a mechanistic
fashion to reach a contrary result. See,
e.g., McGuire v. Sullivan, 873 F.2d 974
(7th Cir. 1989) (court without jurisdic-
tion to award fee for services at admin-
istrative level); Guido v. Schweiker, 775
F.2d 107, 109 (3d Cir. 1985) (same);
Whitt v. Califano, 601 F.2d 160, 161-62
(4th Cir. 1979) (same); McDonald v. Wein-

berger, 512 F.2d 144, 146 (9th Cir. 1975)
(same); Fenix v. Finch, 436 F.2d 831, 838

-24-

(8th Cir. 1971) (same); Gardner v. Men-
dez, 373 F.2d 488, 490 (lst Cir. 1967)
(same).

Unlike those cases noted above, the
Secretary has already set an administra-
tive award for the petitioner in this
case; the only question is whether the
federal court should be allowed to order
the actual payment of that award where
the Secretary is refusing payment due to
the Administration's error in failing to
withhold those funds from the claimant.
Nonetheless, the larger issue of the ap-
propriate role of the federal courts in
deciding issues related to administrative
fees is once again presented by the facts
of this case, similarly to the foregoing
authorities. If the circuits were to
follow the common-sense approach re-~

flected by the Sixth Circuit's decision

in Webb v. Richardson, supra, there would

ll

-25-

be no question that the court could be-
come involved in this dispute.

The question of the courts' role in
administrative fee disputes has also
arisen on facts more closely akin to this
case. In Russel] v. Sullivan, supra, the
Eighth Circuit declined to order payment
of an attorney's administrative fee by
the Secretary on the basis that because
the court is without jurisdiction to re-
view the Secretary's fee awards, it like-
wise has no authority to enforce an award
issued by the Secretary. 887 F.2d at
171. Russell contradicts Morton v. Ruiz,
supra, and Garcia v. Neagle, supra, both
of which support judicial review not of
the amount of an administrative award it-
self, but of the procedures used to carry

out that award where the Secretary fails

to comply with the law. Russel] is also
in conflict with Motley v. Heckler, 605

EE —————

-26-

F. Supp. 88 (W.D. Va. 1985), rev'd on

other grounds, 800 F.2d 1253 (4th Cir.
1986), in which the court upheld the

Social Security Administration's practice
of paying a fee directly to an attorney
where it failed to withhold the proper
amount from the claimant, and then charg-
ing the fee to the claimant as an over-
payment against the claimant's benefits,
in the context of a Title XVI case.

In Bowen v. Galbreath, 485 U.S. 74
(1988), this Court held that the federal
courts have no authority to order the
Secretary to withhold attorney's fees
from past-due benefits in Title XVI
cases. However, the Court's clear dis-
tinction between Title XVI and Title II
implied that such orders are completely
appropriate in Title II cases. This case
presents the Court with a unique oppor-

tunity to clarify the law and diffuse at

Abe

Y

-27-

least a portion of the rampant confusion
and conflict which now prevails in Title
II attorney's fees cases in the circuit
courts. Without the Court's guidance,
some circuit courts will continue to deny
attorneys the fees--particularly for ad-
ministrative representation--to which
they are entitled by law and thus ul-
timately discourage legal representation
of disability claimants. To avoid this
inequitable result, this petition for a

writ of certiorari should be granted.

II. THE APPELLATE COURT FAILED TO
APPLY THE PROPER STANDARD IN
RULING ON THE PETITIONER'S RE-
QUEST FOR RETROACTIVE APPLICA-

TION OF GOWEN V. BOWEN.

In Ziegenhorn v. Department of
Health & Human Services, supra, the

Eighth Circuit specifically declined to

apply Gower v. Bowen, supra, retroactive-

ly in response to the petitioner's con-

tempt claim and thereby prevented the pe-

titioner from obtaining the only relief
available to him. The Eighth Circuit
reasoned that seeking retroactive ap-
plication of Gowen v. Bowen, supra, by
way of a contempt proceeding constituted
an impermissible collateral attack on the
Court's April 1987 order, which had long
since become final and unappealable (App.
A). For the reasons which follow, the

Court's analysis was erroneous.

In Ex parte Robinson, 86 U.S. (19
Wall.) 505 (1874), quoted in 11 C. Wright

& A. Miller, Federal Practice and Proce-
dure § 2960 at 581-82 (2d ed. 1973), the

Supreme Court said:

The’ power to punish for con-
tempt is inherent in all
courts; its existence is essen-
tial to the preservation of
order in judicial proceedings,
and to the enforcement of the
judgments, orders and writs of
the courts and, consequently,
to the due administration of
justice. The moment the courts

-29-

of the United States were

called inte existence and in-

vested with jurisdiction over

any subject, they became pos-

sessed of this power.

The power of federal courts to punish by
contempt is now codified at 18 U.S.C. §
401. Pursuant to that statute, dis-
obedience to a "lawful writ, process,
order, rule, decree, or command" is
grounds for exercising the court's con-
tempt power. 18 U.S.C. § 401(3).

Given the breadth of the court's
contempt power, the Eighth Circuit erred
by characterizing the petitioner's con-
tempt claim as an impermissible col-
lateral attack (App. A). The Court ob-
viously had the power to hold the Secre-
tary in contempt. In this case, where

virtually no other remedy was available,

the case for contempt was unusually com-

pelling.

-30-

Even if the Eighth Circuit was cor-
rect in finding that contempt was an in-
appropriate vehicle for applying Gowen v.
Bowen, supra, retroactively, the Court
had the power to fashion an equitable
remedy and thereby afford the petitioner
with his duly authorized administrative
fees. The contempt power of the court
does not limit the court's discretion to
fashion an equitable remedy. Smith v.
Bonds, 813 F.2d 1299, 1303 (4th Cir.),
cert. denied, 488 U.S. 868 (1987). The
court need not choose between contempt or
nothing. Alexander v. Hill, 707 F.2d
780, 783 (4th Cir.), cert. denied, 464
U.S. 874 (1983); see also Berger v.
Heckler, 771 F.2d 1556, 1569 (2d Cir.
1985). Thus, in Alexander v. Hill,
supra, where the plaintiff filed a motion
seeking to hold state welfare officials

in contempt for failing to timely imple-

-3li-

ment a plan for processing ADC and Medi-
caid applications, the court held that
the district court had the authority to
impose remedial fines or penalties, de-
spite the fact that there had been no
fi..Jing of contempt or bad faith.

In this case, the Secretary refuses
to pay the petitioner those administra-
tive fees to which he is legally en-
titled. The federal courts provide the
only avenue for challenging the
Secretary's intransigence and consequent-
ly provide the only avenue for giving
meaning to 42 U.S.C. § 406 and its im-
plementing regulations. The Eighth Cir-
cuit grievously erred by failing to
remedy the unjust and illegal situation
created by the Secretary's refusal to
comply with the law. Because fundamental
federal issues concerning the proper role

of the federal courts are here at issue,

i

-32-

the Court should grant this petition for

a writ of certiorari.

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of cer-
tiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,
ORIGINAL SIGNED BY

a2ZZ

ANTHONY @. BARTELS
Attorney at Law

316 South Church
Jonesboro, Arkansas 72401
(501) 972-5000

A

A ) C
| Ujembsen ot, 1990.

\

| APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

No. 89~-2180EA

Louie Pittman, Appellee,
Vv.
Louis W. Sullivan, M.D.,

Secretary of Health and Human Services,
Appellant

No. 89=-2552EA

Wayne E. Ziegenhorn, Appellee,

Ve

Department of Health and
Human Services, Appellant.

Appeals from the United States
District Court for the
Eastern District of Arkansas

Submitted: April 12, 1990
Filed: August 1, 1990

Before MAGILL, Circuit Judge, FLOYD R.

GIBSON, Senior Circuit Judge, and BEAM,
Circuit Judge.

|

MAGILL, Circuit Judgment.

In these consolidated appeals, the
Secretary of Health and Human Services
seeks reversal of the district court's
orders requiring him to make additional
attorney's fee payments to Anthony
Bartels, the attorney who represented
claimants Wayne Ziegenhorn and Louie
Pittman in administrative and judicial
proceedings concerning the termination of
their disability insurance benefits. When
their cases were remanded for further
administrative proceedings following
enactment of the Social Security
Disability Benefits Reform Act of 1984,
both Ziegenhorn and Pittman elected to
receive interim benefits under 42 U.S.C. §
423 (g), which permits claimants to
continue receiving disability benefit

payments pending administrative review of

the termination decision. The Secretary

=35e

ultimately reinstated both claimants’
disability benefits. Bartels then
petitioned the district court for
attorney's fee awards in the two cases.
Under 42 U.S.C. § 406 (b) (1), such awards
are paid out of and may not exceed
twenty-five percent of past-due benefits.
In both cases, the Secretary did not
include interim benefits as part of
past-due benefits in calculating the
amount to be withheld for payment of
authorized attorney's fees.

This court subsequently held in Gowen
v. Bowen, 855 F. 2d 613, 618-19 (8th Cir.

1988), that interim benefits must be
included as part of past-due benefits in
determining allowable attorney's fees
under § 406. After the Gowen decision,
Bartels filed motions in the district
court to hold the Secretary in contempt
for failing to pay the balances remaining
on the court's fee awards for his

representation of Ziegenhorn and Pittman,

=36-

and the fees authorized by the Secretary

in the two cases. The district court

denied the contempt motions, but in each
case it went on to order the Secretary to
| make additional fee payments to Bartels

out of general social security funds. We

reverse the district court's order in the
Ziegenhorn case, and affirm in part the
court's order in the Pittman case.

I.

The Secretary reinstated Ziegenhorn's
disability benefits in October 1986.
Excluding interim benefits, Ziegenhorn's
past-due benefits total $3,958.70. The
Secretary withheld twenty-five percent of
this amount, $989.67, for payment of
authorized attorney's fees. In an April
1987 order, the district court awarded
Bartels a fee of $1,015 or twenty-five
percent of Ziegenhorn's past-due benefits,
whichever was less, for his representation
of Ziegenhorn at the district court level.

) Bartels did not appeal this order. In

ee hl

en ee ee

DIN Oe Dial ah i Nk ee EN Mlle aa Ce Rn Gre ae ee CN,

meee

°
:
|

July 1987, the Secretary authorized

Bartels to charge $1,618.17 in attorney's
fees for his services at the
administrative level. Shortly thereafter,
the Secretary released to Bartc¢ls the
$989.67 withheld from Ziegenhorn's
past-due benefits. The Secretary advised
Bartels that he would have to look to
Ziegenhorn for the remainder of his fees.
In December 1988, almost four months
after Gowen was decided, Bartels filed a
motion in the district court to hold the
Secretary in contempt for failure to
comply with the court's April 1987 order
awarding fees. Bartels claimed that the
Secretary had disobeyed the order by not
including interim benefits as part of
past-due benefits. The motion also stated
that Ziegenhorn had refused to pay the
balance of the fees owed. Because of its
April 1987 order did not require the
Secretary to include interim benefits as

part of the past-due benefits, the court

- eh ne oe

ee Se

:
:
:
|
;
i

denied the contempt motion. However, the

court went on to find that Gowen applies
retroactively. On that basis, the court
ordered the Secretary to pay Bartels the
administrative fee authorized by the
Secretary plus the balance remaining on
the court-ordered fee ($25.33), or
twenty-five percent of Ziegenhorn's
past-due benefits as defined by Gowen,
whichever amount was less. The court
stated that it was up to the Secretary to
decide whether to seek recoupment from
Ziegenhorn.

Pittman's disability benefits were
reinstated in October 1986. In a June
1987 order, the district court awarded
Bartels a fee of $1,782.16 or twenty-five
percent of Pittman's past-due benefits,
whichever was less, for representing
Pittman at the district court level. The
order expressly held that past-due
benefits do not include interim benefits.

In July 1987, the Secretary released

$1,046.82 to Bartels. This amount

represented twenty-five percent of
Pittman's past-due benefits, not including
interim benefits. Bartels then appealed
the court's June 1987 order to this court.
In Gowen, 855 F. 2d at 614, 619, we
vacated the order insofar as it denied
attorney's fees from interim benefits, and
remanded. Thereafter, in February 1989,
the Secretary authorized Bartels to charge
a fee of $1,254.16 for representing
Pittman at the administrative level. The
Secretary advised Bartels that he would
have to look to Pittman for payment
because no benefits had been withheld
beyond the $1,046.82 previously released
to Bartels.

Bartels responded by filing a motion
in the district court to hold the
Secretary in contempt. The motion stated
that Pittman was unable and unwilling to
pay the balance of the fees he owed. The

court denied the contempt motion, but

-40-

Ordered the Secretary to pay Bartels the
balance owing on the court-ordered fee
($735.34), as well as the administrative
fee authorized by the Secretary. The
court further directed the Secretary to
pursue recoupment of these amounts from
Pittman's future disability benefits.
II. %ZIEGENHORN

The district court did not abuse its
discretion in denying Bartels’ motion to
hold the Secretary in contempt for failure
to comply with the court's April 1987
order awarding attorney's fees. It is
clear that “the Secretary fully complied
with the express terms and intent of the

order." Davis v. Bowen, 894 F. 2d 271,

273 (8th Cir. 1989) (per curiam), cert.
denied, 110 S. Ct. 1922 (1990).

The district court erred, however,
when it went on to grant Bartels the
relief he sought on the ground that Gowen
applies retroactively. Bartels’ effort to

obtain retroactive application of Gowen

\

|
is

~41<

through a contempt proceeding constituted
an impermissible collateral attack on the
court's April 1987 order, which had long
since become final and unappealable. It
is well settled that ""'a contempt
proceeding does not open - to
reconsideration the legal or factual basis
of the order alleged to have been

disobeyed.'" United States v. Rylander,

460 U.S. 752, 756 (1983) (quoting Maggio
v. Zeitz, 333 U.S. 56, 69 (1984)). This

rule is based on the doctrine of res

judicata. See United States ex rel. Shell

Oil Co. v. Barco Corp., 430 F. 2d 998,

1001 (8th Cir. 1970); Daly v. United

States, 393 F. 2d 873, 876 (8th Cir.

1968). As the Third Circuit has observed,
“any other rule would set to nought the
time limits for seeking appellate review
set forth in Fed. R. App. P. 4 (a)."

United States v. Millstone Enters., Inc.,

864 F. 2d 21, 23 (3d Cir. 1988). We

believe that the res judicata rationale

for the rule prohibiting a collateral

attack on the underlying court order ina
contempt proceeding applies with even
greater force in the unusual situation
where the movant is the party making the
attack.

This result is consistent with our

decisions in Davis and Russell v.

Sullivan, 887 F. 2d170 (8th Cir. 1989)

(per curiam), cert. denied, 1105S. Ct.

1473 (1990). In both of these cases, the
district court denied similar contempt
motions by Bartels without going on to
order relief based upon retroactive
application of Gowen. In affirming the
denials, we refused to address Bartels’
argument that Gowen should be applied

retroactively. Russell, 887 F. 2d at 172

(declining to address argument on ground
that only issue before the panel was
Bartels' contempt motion); Davis, 894 F.
2d at 273 (emphasizing that argument was

inherently inconsistent with Bartels’

contempt motion alleging the Secretary had

disobeyed the underlying order awarding
fees).
III. PITTMAN
The district court properly declined
to hold the Secretary in contempt in the
Pittman case. Bartels does not contend
otherwise. Because the matter was on

remand from this court, see Gowen, 855 F.

2d at 614, the Secretary concedes that
Bartels' request for relief did not
constitute a collateral attack. The
question is to what extent the remedy
ordered by the court was permissible.

The matter of attorneys’ fees for
services performed at the administrative
level is committed by § 406 (b) (1) to the
responsibility of the Secretary
exclusively, and such fees may not be
awarded by the courts. Id. at 618 (citing

Fenix v. Finch, 436 F. 2d 831, 838 (8th

Cir. 1971)). Furthermore, fee awards made

by the Secretary are not subject to

»o44-

‘judicial review. Copaken v. Secretary of

Health, Educ. & Welfare, 590 F. 2d 729,

731 (8th Cir. 1979) (per curiam). Because
"the Secretary's fee awards are not
judicially reviewable, the district court
likewise has no authority to force the
Secretary to comply with an award the
court did not issue." Russell, 887 F. 2d
at 171. Therefore, the district court had
no authority to order the Secretary to pay
Bartels the authorized administrative fee,
or to direct the Secretary to recoup that
amount from Pittman and pay it over to

Bartels.

lin deciding this and the following
issue, we do not consider whether a
different result might be required if
Bartels had raised a constitutional claim.

-45~<

We must also conclude that the court
had no authority to order the Secretary to
pay Bartels the balance remaining on its
fee award out of general social security
funds. "The United States is not liable
for such a payment absent aie specific
waiver of sovereign immunity.” Id. at 172

(citing Ruckelshaus v. Sierra Club, 463

U. &. 680, 685 (1983)). Section 406
"cannot be construed as a waiver of
immunity" because it “contemplates payment

of the fee award by the claimant, out of

past-due benefits, rather than by the
government, out of general funds.” Id

(emphasis in original) .? Aithough it was

2two district court decisions have
ordered the Secretary to make additional
fee payments to an attorney because the
Secretary failed to withhold benefits that
should have gone to the attorney as
payment for fees. Kovar v. Heckler, 622
F. Supp. 88, 93-94 (W.D. Va. 1985), rev'd
on other grounds, 800 F. 2d 1253 (4th Cir.
1986); see also Clay v. Secretary of
Health & Human Servs., 823 F. 2d 679, 684
(Ist Cir. 1987) (agreeing with district
court's determination that “the Secretary
can either recoup such funds’ from the

46

state [to which they were paid as
reimbursement] or bear the burden of
recovering the attorney's fees from the
claimant for payment to counsel"). The
courts in Kovar and Motley did not discuss
whether the federal government's sovereign
immunity would be violated if the
Secretary effectively ended up paying the
additional fees out of general funds
because he was unable to recoup the
overpayment from the claimant's future
benefits.

its...

aie

not addressed by the parties, we are aware
that the Social Security Administration's
Programs Operating Manual System provides
that if past-due benefits are mistakenly
released to the claimant rather than his
attorney, and the attorney is unable to
collect the fee that was to be paid out of
those benefits, then the Administration
will pay the fee directly to the attorney
and attempt to recoup that amount from the
claimant. We are constrained, however, by
the principle that "administrative
regulations cannot waive the federal
government's sovereign immunity."

Mitzelfelt v. Department of Air Force, 903

F. 2d 1293, (10th Cir. 1990) (citing

United States v. Mitchell, 463 U. S. 206,

215-16 (1983)); see also United States v.

N.Y. Rayon Importing Co., 329 U.S. 654,

660 (1947) (agency officials “possess no
power through their actions to waive an
immunity of the United States").

We agree with the district court's

a

-48-

determination that under our “ecision in
Gowen, the Secretary erroneously paid
Pittman benefit:s that should have been
withheld for payment of attorney's fees *o
Bartels. This resulted in an overpayment
to Pittman. 42 U.S.C. § 404 (a) (1) (A)
states that the Secretary "shall" recoup
overpayments made to a claimant. This
language "mandates" recoupment of

overpayments. Sullivan v. Everhart, 110

S. Ct. 960, 965 (1990). The Secretary's
regulations specifically provide that §
404's provision for recoupment "apply in
cases where through error . . . [al]
payment of past due benefits is made to an
individual and such payment had not been
reduced by the amount of attorney's fees
payable directly to an attorney under
[$406] ." 20 C.F.R. § 404.501 (a) (8).
Accordingly we find that the district
court did not err in directing the
Secretary to pursue recoupment of the

balance remaining on its fee award.

~49<

Section 404 (b) provides that the
Secretary must waive recoupment if (1) the
claimant is without fault, and .(2)
recoupment would either defeat the purpose
of the Social Security Act or be against

equity and good conscience. See also 20

C.F.R. §404.506. Benefit recipients are
entitled to a prerecoupment oral hearing
if they request waiver under § 404 (b).

Califano v. Yamasaki, 442 U.S. 682, 695-97

(1979). We recognize the very real
possibility that the Secretary will be
required to waive recoupment in this case.
The parties in no way suggest that Pittman
was at fault for the overpayment, and we
have previously indicated that the phrase
"against equity and good conscience” is
not to be’ narrowly construed. See

Groseclose v. Bowen, 809 F. 2d 502, 505-06

(8th Cir. 1987); see also 20 C.F.R.

§ 404.508 (a) (recoupment defeats the
purpose of the Act if it would “deprive a

person of income required for ordinary and

=-50-

necessary living expenses") .° As this
case illustrates, recoupment is an
uncertain, drawn-out, and cumbersome
method of collecting unpaid attorney's
fees. However, the need to resort to this
procedure should arise less often in the
future given our conclusion that Gowen
requires the Secretary to withhold
twenty-five percent of interim benefits
for payment of possible fee awards. In

addition, if the claimant agrees, an

3Bartels himself may not attempt to
intercept Pittman's future disability
benefits because they are not “subject to
execution, levy, attachment, garnishment,
or other legal process." 42 U.S.C. § 407
(a).

-Si1<

attorney can guard against erroneous
disbursements of past-due benefits by
setting up an escrow account for payment

of possible attorney's fees. See Condon

v. Bowen, 853 F. 2d 66, 72-73 (2d Cir.

1988). The Secretary has expressly
authorized the use of such accounts.
Social Security Ruling 82-39.

The Secretary does not dispute that
he is obligated to seek recoupment in
cases of overpayment. Rather, he argues
that there was no ovntpesnans in the
Pittman case because Gowen's holding that
past-due benefits include interim benefits
applies only to the calculation of
allowable attorney's fees under § 406, not
to the payment of those fees. The
Secretary emphasizes his contention that
the withholding of twenty-five percent of
interim benefits for payment of possible

fee awards would result in hardship to

-52-

claimants.4 We agree with the Second

~ ‘fhe Secretary also argues that there
is no statutory basis for such withholding
because the language of § 406 permits the
withholding of past-due benefits only if
the Secretary has made a determination
favorable to the claimant or a district
court has entered judgment for the
claimant. By definition, interim benefits
are paid prior to any such determination
or judgment. See § 423 (g) (1). We view
the Secretary's interpretation of § 406 as
overly mechanical, and no different in
substance than the one rejected in Gowen},
855 F. 2d at 619. See also Shoemaker v.
Bowen, 853 F. 2d 858, 861 (llth Cir. 1988)
(rejecting Secretary's argument that
"because interim benefits are paid prior
to the reinstatement of benefits they are
not 'past-due benefits,'" and holding that
interim benefits are past-due benefits
under § 406). Although the Secretary's
interpretation of the statute is entitled
to considerable deference, we need not
accept it where, as here, it is
unreasonably narrow and frustrates’ the
statute's purpose. See Groseclose, 809 F.
2d at 505-06.

-53-
Circuit that

claimants would actually suffer much
greater hardship if they were not
able to secure competent counsel to
represent. them in their appeals
because of the extremely low fees to
which their attorneys would be
consigned under the Secretary's
position, rather than if they
received seventy-five percent of the
benefits during the appeal process
instead of one hundred percent.

Condon v. Bowen, 853 F. 2d at 71 (going on

to hold that interim benefits are part of
past-due benefits within the meaning of §
406). Restricting Gowen to the confines
urged by the Secretary would render our
decision in that case all but meaningless
because in most cases the attorney's only
realistic source of payment for a fee
award is withheld benefits. Not including
interim benefits in this source would
create a disincentive for attorneys to
represent claimants who elect to receive
interim benefits, which in turn would lead
claimants "to forego the relief intended

by Congress to retain competent legal

-54-

representation." Gowen, 855 F. 2d at 619.°
Our representation in Gowen was based on
the purpose of § 406, which is to
""promote the adequate representation of
potentially disabled individuals through a
reasonable attorney's fee while at the
same time preventing too great a reduction

in a claimant's already inadequate stipend

in the event he is declared disabled.'"

Id. (quoting Santos Rivera v. Secretary of

Health & Human Servs. 674 F. Supp. 963,

965 (D.P.R. 197)). We decline to
undermine this purpose and subvert the
effect of Gowen by limiting to fee
calculation its holding that interim
benefits are past-due benefits under §

406.

Sindeed, attorneys could be placed in
the conflict-ridden position of advising
clients not to apply for sorely needed
interim benefits. See Condon, 853 F. 2d
at 7l.

-55-

IV.

For the reasons stated above, the
district court's order in the Ziegenhorn
case is reversed. We affirm the court's
order in the Pittman case only insofar as
it directs the Secretary to pursue
recoupment of the balance remaining on its
fee award. Unless waiver of recoupment is
required, the Secretary must attempt to
recoup this amount to the extent the award
does not exceed twenty-five percent of
Pittman's past-due benefits as defined by
Gowen. The funds recouped must be paid
over to Bartels.

A true copy.

Attest:

CLERK, U. S. COURT OF APPEALS,
EIGHTH CIRCUIT

-56-

APPENDIX B

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF ARKANSAS
JONESBORO DIVISION

Civil No. J-C-84-114

LOUIE V. PITTMAN, PLAINTIFF
V.

SECRETARY OF HHS, DEFENDANT

[FILED APRIL 5, 1989]

ORDER
This case is before the Court on
remand from the Eighth Circuit Court of
Appeals for recalculation of the amount of

fees due plaintiff's counsel. Pittman v.

Bowen, Case No. 87-1995 (8th Cir. August
31, 1988). The Court of Appeals reversed
the Secretary and this Court and concluded
that interim benefits should be included
in the “past due benefits” against which
maximum attorney's fees are calculated.

See 42 U.S.C. 406 (b) (1). Plaintiff's

o§7<-

counsel has moved to hold the Secretary in
contempt for his refusal to pay counsel
any additional amount, and the Secretary
has responded by claiming that counsel
should look to his client for the balance

due.*

*Counsel claims that the amount now owed
to him is $1989.572 [sic] which includes
an uncollected $735.34 awarded to him by
this Court for proceedings before it as
well as an uncollected $1,254.16 awarded
by the Secretary for counsel's
representation during administrative
proceedings. See 42 U.S. C. 406 (a) and
(b). The Secretary at one point seems to
suggest that the only additional amount
collectible is the $735.34 awarded by this
Court. See Defendant's Response, at 4;
but see id., at 5-6, acknowledging that
“the attorney was authorized to charge
$3,036.32," which would include the
administrative award. The Court is
unclear as to how much the Secretary
believes counsel may now collect, and will
give the Secretary an opportunity to make
his views known.

-58-

If interim benefits were excluded
from the definition of past due benefits,
the ceiling on counsel's award would have
been $1,046.82. This was the amount the
Secretary withheld and paid over pursuant
to this Court's now-reversed Order and
consistently with the Secretary's

pre-Pittman understanding of the statute.

When interim benefits are included, the
ceiling is increased to $3,226.05. The
Secretary concedes that counsel is
entitled to collect more money (though it
is not clear how much, see footnote
supra), but claims that plaintiff is the
proper source from which to recover.
Defendant's Response, at 6. Counsel
contends that the Secretary should pay
counsel and then recoup from the plaintiff
by withholding future amounts as
authorized by 42 ".S.C. 404 (a) (1).
Counsel further contends that the
Secretary's failure to make payment to him

is contemptuous.

-59-

First of all, the Court will not hold
the Secretary in contempt because the
issues involved here are the subject of
fair dispute and the applicable law is
uncertain. There is no evidence of
willful disobedience to court orders.

On the other hand, the Court finds
that counsel is correct in contending that
the Secretary should pay him the
additional amount which he may collect
under the Eighth Circuit decision in

Pittman. The Court of Appeals held that

counsel was entitled to have up to 25% of
the total award to plaintiff withheld
pursuant to section 406 (b) (1). The
Secretary did not withhold the appropriate
amount, but instead dispersed the funds to
the plaintiff. The fact that both the
Secretary and this Court misread the
applicable statutory provisions may make
the Secretary's conduct non-contemptuous,
but it does not make it legally correct.

In plain language, counsel was entitled to

his full reasonable fee up to 25% of the

award. The Secretary paid the money to
the wrong party, the plaintiff, and must
now make payment to the attorney and
recoup the overpayment.

The Secretary points to Condon v.

Bowen, 853 F. 2d 66, 72-3 (2d Cir. 1988),
for the proposition that the Social
Security Administration is not a
"collection agency for the Social Security
bar," but the Secretary's reading of that
language seems too broad and the actual
holding of the case does not reach the
question of whether the Secretary is
required to pay and recoup mistaken
attorney's fees underpayments. It is
perfectly obvious that the Social Security
Administration does fulfill a collection
agency-like function under section 406
(b), withholding funds from the award and
forwarding them to the plaintiff's
attorney. Whatever "practical

difficulties” are attendant upon requiring

a@i«

the Secretary to comply with the statutory
mandate are, first of all, largely of the
Secretary's own making, and second of all,
likely matched by the practical
difficulties facing an attorney trying to
recover money from his destitute client.

On that last head, the difficulty of
forcing the counsel to chase his client
for his rightful fees, it is worth noting
that the Social Security Act contains an
extremely broad exemption from collection
for benefits. Section 207 of the Act, 42
U.S.C. 407, provides that "none of the
moneys paid or payable or rights existing
under this subchapter shall be subject to
execution, levy, attachment, garnishment,
or other legal process, or to the
operation of any bankruptcy or insolvency
law." It is difficult to see how counsel
is to collect his fees, given his
representation that his client has no
money.

In short, the Court's earlier

PUBLISHER'S NOTE:

ORIGINAL PAGINATICON IS NOT CONTINUOUS.

me

«FOa

conclusion that interim benefits should
not be included in the amount of past due
benefits from which counsel's fee could be
taken was an erroneous interpretation of
the law, the Secretary's payment of moneys
owed to counsel was likewise contrary to
the statute, and the receipt of those
funds was a windfall to the plaintiff.
The matter may be made right by the
Secretary paying counsel the additional
funds owed and recouping the amount
overpaid to plaintiff.

The justness of this result is
reinforced by the nature of interim
benefits. These benefits are paid to a
Claimant subject to the Secretary's right
of recoupment should the recipient
ultimately be found not entitled to them.
42 U.S.C. 423 (g) (2) (A). The final
result on the merits in this case is that
plaintiff is not entitled to keep the
interim benefits paid him, but he is not

entitled to that portion which represents

oFi«

counsel's reasonable fees. Plaintiff
received interim fees provisionally,
subject to a decision as to the precise
amount which he was owed. That amount has
now been determined, and it is not unjust
to require the plaintiff to repay the
overpayment.

IT Is THEREFORE ORDERED that
plaintiff's motion to hold the Secretary
in contempt be, and it is hereby, DENIED.
The Secretary is ordered to forthwith pay
counsel the amount of additional fees owed
to him under the Court of Appeals decision

in Pittman v. Bowen, Case No. 87-1995 (8th

Cir. August 31, 1988). If the Secretary
contends that the balance owed is other
than $1,989.57 (representing the combined
additional amount collectible under this
Court's award and the Secretary's
administrative award), the Secretary shall
state the basis for that contention within
15 days of this Order. Counsel may

respond to the Secretary's position within

~

ll days after it is filed. The Secretary
may recover the additional amount paid to
counsel from plaintiff.

Dated this 4th day of April, 1989.

/s/Garnett Thomas Eisele
United States District Court

a

oF%e

APPENDIX C

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF ARKANSAS
JONESBORO DIVISION :

Civil No. J-C-84-113

WAYNE E. ZIEGENHORN, PLAINTIFF
V.

OTIS R. BOWEN, SECRETARY OF
HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

[FILED MARCH 29, 1989]

ORDER

Plaintiff commenced this suit seeking
review of the Secretary's decision to deny
Social Security benefits. On December 17,
1986 the court granted the Secretary's
motion to remand for further
administrative proceedings to award
plaintiff benefits. Plaintiff's attorney,
Mr. Anthony W. Bartels, subsequently
petitioned the Court for attorney's fees
pursuant to §206 (b) of the Social

Security Act, 42 U.S. C. §406 (b) (1),

5 =

«FG=

which provides that whenever a _ court
renders judgment favorable to- the
claimant, the court may allow reasonable
attorney fees, "not in excess of 25
percent of the total of the past due
benefits to Section 406 (b) provides that
the Secretary may certify and withold
attorney fees from the claimants [sic]
past due benefits award so long as these
fees do not exceed twenty-five percent of
the past due benefits. Id. The Court
found Mr. Bartels was entitled to fees in
the amount of $1,000 and $15 in costs for
his representation of the claimant at the
district court level. Order of April 16,
1987 at 2. At the same time, the Court
noted it could not award similar fees for
representation of the claimant at the
administrative level, and left it to the
Secretary to “coordinate any fees granted
for such representation with the amount
granted by the Court so that the maximum

allowed fee will not exceed twenty-five

=-75<

percent oof the plaintiff's past-due
benefits. Id at 2-3.

According to Mr. Bartels, the Social
Security Administration approved attorney
fees in the amount of $1,678.17 for his
work at the administrative level. This
fee, along with the Court's own award
amounted to a total $2,693.17. Mr.
Bartels also contends that this sum equals
twenty-five percent of the claimant's past
due benefits, and is the total amount to
which he is entitled pursuant to the
court's order of April 16th.

On August 10, 1987, the Secretary
released to Mr. Bartels only $989.67
representing the Secretary's calculations
of the amount subject to witholding from
the plaintiff's past-due benefits. Mr.
Bartels _contends that he is still owed
$1,703.50, and has been unable to recover
this sum from the claimant. He now moves

to have this Court hold the Secretary in

contempt for failure to comply with the

aF6<

Court's April 16, 1987 order.

The Secretary states at the time of
the payment it was the agency's policy to
exclude interim benefits paid te the
plaintiff during the pendency of his
appeal from the definition of past-due
benefits. Consequently, interim benefits
were not included in "the total amount of
benefits payable under Title II of the Act
to all beneficiaries" when the Secretary
calculated the twenty-five percent
allowable amount in attorney fees. 20
C.F .R. § 404.1703. Last year, this
practice was rejected by the United States
Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit
which held that the Secretary must include
interim benefits in the calculation of

attorney fees. Gowen v. Bowen, 855 F. 2d

613 (1988). The Secretary argues that
Gowen should not be given retrospective
effect.

Contempt

To begin with, the Court will deny

%
re
”

a i

the motion to hold the Secretary in
contempt. As Mr. Bartels points out in
his brief, civil contempt is an act by one
party to a suit in disobedience to an
order in behalf of another party. Besset

v. W. B. Conky Co., 194 U.S. 324 (1904).

Contempt is appropriate where it has been
shown by clear and convincing evidence
that a person refused to do what he was

ordered to do. Gompers v. Bucks Stove and

Range Co., 221 U.S. 418, 449 (1910). In

this case, the order of April 16, i987 was
silent on the question of how the
Secretary was to calculate attorney fees
from the claimant's past due benefits.
Furthermore, as Mr. Bartels is aware, it
had been previously the opinion of this
court that interim benefits could be
excluded from attorney fee calculations.

Gowen v. Heckler, No. J-C-83-386 (E. D.

Ark. June 6, 1986) rev'd. in part sub nom.

Gowen _v. Bowen, supra. Therefore, it

cannot be said that the Secretary

Sn

@18

consciously or otherwise disobeyed any
order of this court.
Nonretroactivity
The issue presented in this case is
whether Gowen should be applied

retrospectively. In Chevron Oil Co. v.

Hunson, 404 U.S. 97 (1971), the Supreme
Court summarized the analytic framework to
be used in determining whether a decision
should be denied retroactive application:

In our cases dealing with the
nonretroactivity question, we have
generally considered three separate
factors. First, the decision to be
applied retroactively must establish
a new principal of law, either by
overruling clear past precedent on
which litigants may have relied...
or by deciding an issue of first
impression whose result was not
Clearly forshadowed .. . . Second,
it has been stressed that "we must
- « « weigh the merits and demerits
in each case by looking to the prior
history of the rule in question, its
purpose and effect, and whether
retrospective operation will further
or retard its operation." .
Finally, we have weighed the inequity
imposed by retroactive application,
for "(w]here a decision of this Court
could produce substantial inequitable
results if applied retroactively,
there is ample basis in our cases for
avoiding the ‘injustice or hardship’
by a holding of nonretroactivity.”

Id. at 106-7 (citations omitted).

Although the analysis must obviously
proceed one step at a time, a final
determination involves pulling together
the three factors for a careful balancing.

Cash v. Califano, 621 F. 2d 626, 629 (4th

Cir. 1980). Thus, the final factor of
substantial inequity is closely tied with
a finding of initial reliance. Without
some reliance there can be no basis of
inequity. Id. Similarly, the mere fact
that a retroactive application would not
advance the policy of the recently
discovered law "will notin itself preclude
retroactivity, unless application of the
rule would produce an inequitable result.
Id.

The Secretary argues that Gowen
announced a new, unanticipated principle
of law not “clearly foreshadowed” by legal
precedent. In those cases involving
retrospective application of new

interpretations of law, it is clear that

=80-

the focus has been upon the reasonableness

of the prior interpretation. For example,

in Allen v. State Board of Elections, 393

U. S. §44 (1969) the Court was presented
with the question of interpreting the
application of § 5 of the Civil Rights Act
of 1965. The section provided that if a
state covered by the act passed any law
changing voting qualifications, standards
Or procedures, such laws would have no
effect unless the state first obtained a
favorable declaratory judgment in the
United States District Court for the
District of Columbia. Id. at 548-49. The
State of Mississippi sought to enforce
certain election law amendments without
obtaining declaratory judgments. The
state argued that each case involved a
change in rules relating to the
qualification of candidates and methods of
election or appointment to office, while
the language of § 5 of the Act only

referred to changes affecting an

Se

—_—e
individual's right to register and vote in
an election. Id. at 550-51.

The Court disagreed and held the
provision of § 5 applicable to the
Mississippi amendments. But it also
declined to give the ruling retrospecitve
[sic] effect by ordering new elections
finding that the question of the
application of § 5 involved "complex
issues of first impression” in which it
was never shown that the amendments
contravened the underlying purpose of the
Act. Thus the state could reasonably
conclude that the amendments were exempt
from the provision of section 5. Id at
§71-72.

Similarly in Cash v. Califano, supra,

the question before the Court was whether
to deny retroactive application of the
Supreme Court's earlier decision in

Califano v. Goldfarm, 430 U. Ss. 199

91977), which invalidated a statute

requiring widowers to prove dependence

7,
~

“ar
ary a ae

-§2-

upon their deceased spouse before becoming
eligible for Social Security benefits
while at the same time exempting widows
from having to make a similar showing.
The court in Cash noted that in the years

prior to Goldfarb the Supreme Court had

invalidated a number of similar
gender-based benefits statutes. Given
this trend, the court concluded that the
"Secretary cannot have been surprised by

the result in Goldfarb." Cash v. Califano,

supra, 621 F. 2d at 630.

The essence of these cases is that
reasonable parties will not be held to
foreknowledge of the result in a case of
first impression. Thus, the question must
be whether the Secretary was reasonable in
concluding prior to Gowen that interim
benefits should be excluded from attorney
fee calculations. The Secretary argues
that since this practice had never been
challeneged [sic] before, there was no way

to predict a new interpretation would be

=§3-

discovered. The reasonableness of this
position, the government contends, is

evidenced by the decision in Rodriguez v.

Secretary of HHS, 856 F. 2d 338 (lst Cir.

1988) upholding the Secretary's
interpretation of past-due benefits.

There is no doubt that opinions vary
among the courts on whether interim
benefits should have been used in
calculating attorney fees. The only other
appellate courts to have addressed this
question also rejected the Secretary's

position. Condon v. Bowen, 853 F. 2d 66

(2a Cir. 1988); Shoemaker v. Bowen, 853 F.

2d 858 (11th Cir. 1988). Prior to that,
the district courts disaqreed on the
correct interpretation of past-due

benefits. See Pittman v. Bowen, No.

J-C-84-114, slip op. (E. D. Ark. 1987) and

Hewett v. Bowen, No. 584-Civ.-040, slip

op. (S. D. Ga. 1987) (agreeing with the

Secretary). Santos Rivera v. Secretary of

Health and Human Services, 674 F. Supp.

84-

963 (D. P. R. 1987} and Shoemaker v.

Bowen, No. CV 84-PT-0486-S, slip op. (N.

D. Ala. 1987) aff'd 853 F. 2d 858

(disagreeing with the Secretary).

About the most that can be said then
of the prior precedent on whether interim
benefits should be considered past-due
benefits for the purpose of computing
attorney fees is that it generated mixed
reactions at the district court level, and
that for the moment, the Secretary's
position appears to be losing favor with
the appellate courts. But reasonableness
must entail a closer analysis’ than
counting up past court decisions and
scoring the outcome. In that regard, it
is important to note that the Social
Security Administration had calculated Mr.
Bartels' attorney fees using its formula
of excluding interim benefits in October
of 1986--well before the caselaw on this

question even began develop. See

Defendant's Exhibit B.

-85-

In excluding interim benefits from
the fee calculation, the Secretary states
that the practice was based upon the
agency's interpretation of the regulation
defining "“past-due benefits". 20 C.F.R.
404.1703. Like section 406 (b) of the
Act, the regulation is silent on the
question of interim benefits. It reads in
relevant part:

"Past-due benefits" means the total

amount of benefits payable under

title II of the Act to all
beneficiaries that has accumulated
because of a favorable administrative
or judicial determination, up to but
not including the month the
determination or decision is made.

20 C.F.R. 404.1703.

The regulation was first promulgated
by the Secretary on August 5, 1980. See
45 Fed. Reg. 52090. Interim benefits,
however, were not made available to
Claimants until 1983 when Congress passed
the Social Security Disability Benefit
Appeals Act, Pub. L. No. 97-455, § 2, 96
Stat. 2497, 2498 codified as amended 42

U.S.C. § 423 (g) (1). See Condon v.

Bowen, supra., 853 F. 2d at 69.
"Therefore, when the Secretary promulagted
[sic] section 404.1703, he could not have
specifically intended to exclude interim
benefits from the definition of past-due
benefits.” Id. at 72.

The regulation has sever been amended
to more clearly define past-due benefits
with respect to interim benefits. Thus,
it is a bit disengenous for the Secretary
to claim surprise when the relevant
history suggests that the decision to
exclude interim benefits from the
definition grew not out of the plain
language of the Act, or the regulation,
but through administrative fiat. To say
for the purposes of nonretroactivity that
the Secretary's reliance upon his own
decision to interpret past-due benefits in
a certain way was reasonable, is to say
that every decision the Resetary makes is
reasonable for the purpose of

nonretroactivity. Given such a construct,

rt itt etree

' -87-

it would be impossible to ever hold the
Secretary to foreknowledge that a
different rule of law might be found.
With every subjective and unilateral
administrative decision that the courts
find to be wholly without basis and
completely incorrect statements of the
law, the Secretary could always claim
"surprise."

The law in this circuit is that the
Secretary's interpretation of past-due
benefits was never supported by the plain
language, or the purpose of the
legislative history of statutes granting
attorney's the right to recover reasonable
fees fram a claimant's past due benefits.

Gowen _v. Bowen, supra, 855 F. 2d at

618-19. The fact that the Secretary once
imposed upon the Social Security bar a
different view, does not make reliance
upon that view reasonable, nor cannot be
said that the Secretary did not have

foreknowledge that the courts would

-88-
eventually find the law differently.

The second factor in the analysis
involves weighing the merits of
retrospective application by looking at
the history of the prior rule, its purpose
and effect, and whether the purpose of the
new rules as announced by Gowen would be
advanced by restrospective application.
The nistory of the Secretary's decision to
exclude interim benefits from the
calculation of attorney fees lies in the
mists of administrative decision-making.
It drastically reduced the award an
attorney might reasonably expect to
recover from a successful benefits appeal,
and created "a disincentive for attorneys
in representing Claimants who accept

interim benefits." Id. at 619; Shoemaker

v. Bowen, supra 853 F. 2d at 860 n. 5.

The Secretary argues that since Mr.
Bartels has concluded his representation
of the plaintiff in this case,

retrospective application of Gowen would

eee eee

-89-

neither advance or retard the purpose the
court's ruling. First of all, the Court
is not in a position to predict what
future impact. denial of additional fees
pursuant to Gowen would have on Mr.
Bartels or any attorney's willingness to
take on new Social Security cases.
Moreover, as previously noted, the mere
fact that retrospective application does
not advance the purpose of the new rule,
does not preclude retroactivity. Cash v.

Califano, supra.

This leads then to the question
whether retrospective application would
work any inequity. Since the court has
already found that the Secretary's
reliance upon his decision to exlcude
[sic] interim benefits from the definition
of past-due benefits was not reasonable,

it cannot be said that the Secretary would

suffer any injustice through the
retrospective application of Gowen. Yet

the Secretary points out that retospective

-90-

[sic] application may work a hardship upon
the claimant, Mr. Bartels' own client,
since overpayments of past-due benefits
would be subject to recoupment by the
Secretary. 42 U.S.C. § 423 (g) (2) (A).
It is, of course, up to the Secretary to
decide whether or not to pursue
recoupment, and this argument, as with
much of the Secretary's other arguments on
this motion, essentially seeks to shift
the effect of its own mistaken practices
onto other parties.

Furthermore, the interim payments
made to the claimant were, as the court in
Gowen explained, "loans" made by the
Secretary and could have been recouped
anyway had Mr. Bartels not succeeded in
his efforts to overturn the Secretary's
initial denial of benefits. Id. at 619.
It is now clear from Gowen that up to
twenty-five percent of those loans to the
Claimant could have been, and should have

been withheld by the Secretary for payment

~»9{-

as attorney fees. It cannot be said that
the plaintiff's claim to those sums ever
properly vested. On balance then, after
considering all the foregoing, the Court
is convinced that the ruling in Gowen
should be applied retrospectively.
Unfortunately, the submissions from
both parties makes it difficult for the
court to determine exactly what amount is
still owed Mr. Bartels. He contends the
total of the fees to which he is entitled
is $2,693,17 [sic] of which only $989 was
paid to date. As the order of April 16,
1987 states, the fees should include not
only the $1,013 this Court awarded for his
work at the district Court level, but also
any fees the Secretary finds were earned
at the administrative level. In its
brief, the Secretary appears to be of the
opinion that the order meantto award only
$1,013 or one-fourth of the claimant's

past-due benefits, whichever is less.

There is no mention of the fees approved

|

=92<

for work at the administrative level,
which Mr. Bartels contends is $1,678.17.
To exclude this sum would be contrary to
the court's original order awarding Mr.
Bartels "$1,015.00, from the past-due
benefits due the plaintiff herein... in
addition to any fees found to be due for
representation at the administrative level
o «© oc o * Op. at 3.

IT IS, THEREFORE, ORDERED that the
Secretary compute, certify, and pay Mr.
Bartels fees and costs pursuant to 42 U.S.
Cc. §406 (b) (1) less those fees already
paid, and any fees due for his
representation at the administrative
level, or twenty-five percent of the
plaintiff's past-due benefits as that term

is defined by Gowen v. Bowen, supra,

whichever sum is less.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the motion
of Mr. Bartels to hold the Secretary in
contempt of the court's April 16, 1987
order be, and it is hereby, denied.

~93-

Dated this 27th day of March, 1989.

/s/Garnett Thomas Eisele
seresa States District Judge

-94-

APPENDIX D

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

No. 89-2180EA

Louie Pittman, Appellee,
Vv.
Louis W. Sullivan, M.D.,

Secretary of Health and Human Services,
Appellant

No. 89-2552EA

Wayne E. Ziegenhorn, Appellee,
Vv.

Department of Health and
Human Services, Appellant.

Order Denying Petition for
Rehearing and Suggestion for
Rehearing En Banc

Appellees’ suggestion for rehearing
en banc has been considered by the court
and is denied by reason of the lack of a
majority of the active judgments voting to

rehear the case en banc.

——EE———————

-95-

Petition for rehearing by the panel

is also denied.
September 19, 1990

Order Entered at the Direction of the
Court:

/s/Robert D. St. Vrain
Clerk, U. S. Court of Appeals, Eighth
Circuit

-96-

APPENDIX E

RELEVANT STATUTORY PROVISIONS

20 C.F.R- § 404.1720 (b) (4),

provides in pertinent part:

(b) Charging and receiving a fee.
(1) The representative must file a
written request with us before he or
she may charge or receive a fee for
his or her services.

ze*e*ketkt

(4) If the representative is an
attorney and the claimant is entitled
to past-due benefits, we will pay the
authorized fee, or a part of the
authorized fee directly to the
attorney out of past-due benefits
subject to the limitations described
in § 404.1730 (b) (1). If the
representative is not an attorney we
assume no responsibility for the
payment of any fee that we have
authorized.

20 C.F.R. § 404.1730 (b), provides in
pertinent part:

(b) Fees we may authorize--(1)
Attorneys. Except as provided in
paragraph (c) of this section, if we
make a determination or decision in
favor of a claimant who was
represented by an attorney, and as a
result of the determination or
decision past-due berefits are
payable, we will pay the attorney out
of the past-due benefits the smallest
of--

(i) Twenty-five percent of the

sO7~

total of past-due benefits;

(ii) The amount of the fee that
we set; or

(iii) The amount agreed upon -

between the attorney and the claimant
represented.

20 C.F.R. § 404.501 (a) (8) provides
in pertinent part:

(a) In general. Section 204 of
the Act provides for adjustment as
set forth in §§ 404.502 and 404.503,
in cases where an individual has.
received more or less than the
correct payment due under title II of
the Act. As used in this subpart,
the term “overpayment” includes a
payment in excess of the amount due
under title II of the Act, a payment
resulting from the failure to impose
deductions or to suspend or reduce
benefits under sections 203, 222 (b),
224, and 228 (c), and (d), and (e) of
the Act (see Subpart E of this part),
a payment pursuant to section 205 (n)
of the Act in an amount in excess of
the amount to which the individual is
entitled under section 202 or 223 of
the Act, a payment resulting from the
failure to terminate benefits, and a
payment where no amount is payable
under title II of the Act. .. . The
provisions for adjustment also apply
in cases where through error:

zx 2k @

(8) A payment of past due
benefits is made to an individual and
such payment had not been reduced by
the amount of attorney's fees payable

-98-

directly to an attorney under section
206 of the Act (see § 404.977).

42 U.S.C. § 406 is as follows:

(a) The Secretary may prescribe
rules and regulations governing the
recognition of agents or other
persons, other than attorneys as
hereinafter provided, representing
claimants before the Secretary, and
may require of such agents or other
persons, before being recognized as
representatives of claimants that
they shall show that they are of good
character and in good repute,
possessed of the necessary
qualifications to enable them to
render such claimants valuable
service, and otherwise competent to
advise and assist such claimants in
the presentation of their cases. An
attorney in good standing who is
admitted to practice before the
highest court of the State,
Territory, District, or insular
possession of his residence or before
the Supreme Court of the United
States or the inferior Federal
courts, shall be entitled to
represent claimants before the
Secretary. The Secretary may, after
due notice and opportunity for
hearing, suspend or prohibit from
further practice before him any such
person, agent, or attorney who
refuses to comply with the
Secretary's rules and regulations or
who violates any provision of this
section for which a penalty is
prescribed. The Secretary may, by
rule and regulation, prescribe the
maximum fees which may be charged for
services performed in connection with
any claim before the Secretary under

-99-

this subchapter, and any agreement in
violation of such rules and
regulations shall be void. Whenever
the Secretary, in any claim before
him for benefits under this
subchapter, makes a determination
favorable to the claimant, he shall,
if the claimant was represented by an
attorney in connection with such
claim, fix (in accordance with the
regulations prescribed pursuant to
the preceding sentence) a reasonable
fee to compensate such attorney for
the services performed by him in
connection with such claim. If asa
result of such determination, such
claimant is entitled to past-due
benefits under this subchapter, the
Secretary shall, notwithstanding
section 405 (i) of this title,
certify for payment (out of such
past-due benefits) to such attorney
an amount equal to whichever of the
following is the smaller: (A) 25 per
centum of the total amount of such
past-due benefits, (B) the amount of
the attorney's fee so fixed, or (C)
the amount agreed upon between the
claimant and such attorney as the fee
for such attorney's services. Any
person who shall, with intent to
defraud, in any manner willfully and
knowingly deceive, mislead, or
threaten any claimant or prospective
Claimant or beneficiary under this
subchapter by word, circular, letter
or. advertisement, or who shall
knowingly charge or collect directly
or indirectly any fee in excess of
the maximum fee, or make any
agreement directly or indirectly to
charge or collect any fee in excess
of the maximum fee, prescribed by the
Secretary shall be deemed guilty of a
misdeameanor and, upon conviction
thereof, shall for each offense be

-100-

punished by a fine not exceeding $500
or by imprisonment not exceeding one
year, or both.

(b) (1) Whenever a court renders
a judgment favorable to a claimant
under this subchapter who was
represented before the court by an
attorney, the court may determine and
allow as part of its judgment a
reasonable fee for such representa-
tion, not in excess of 25 percent of
the total of the past-due benefits to
which the claimant is entitled by
reason of such_ judgment, and the
Secretary may, notwithstanding the
provisions of section 405 (i) of this
title, certify the amount of such fee
for payment to such attorney out of,
and not in addition to, the amount of
such past-due benefits. In case of
any such judgment, no other fee may
be payable or certified for payment
for such representation except as
provided in this paragraph.

(2) Any attorney who charges,
demands, receives, or collects for
services rendered in connection with
proceedings before a court to which
paragraph (1) of this subsection is
applicable any amount in excess of
that allowed by the court thereunder
shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and
upon conviction thereof shall be
subject to a fine of not more than
$500, or imprisonment for not more
than one year, or both.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385020_3183%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
