# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Albert v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385020_3152%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1991
- **Citation:** 498 U.S. 1028

## Text

9 0 , 8 23 Supine vsurt, U.S.
e i! i L in D

No. NOY 26 1990

Jn the Supreme Court of the Gni

OCTOBER TERM, 1990

LAWRENCE ALBERT
STAFF SERGEANT
UNITED STATES MARINE CORPS, PETITIONER
v;

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, RESPONDENT

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF MILITARY APPEALS

JOSEPH B. GILBERT
Major, U.S. Marine Corps
Counsel of Record

RANDALL L. CHAMBERS
Lieutenant, JAGC,
U.S. Naval Reserve

NAVY-MARINE CORPS APPELLATE
REVIEW ACTIVITY
Washington Navy Yard,
Building 111
Washington, D.C. 20374
(202) 433-4161

QUESTION PRESENTED

Was Petitioner deprived of his Sixth Amendment right
to effective assistance of counsel when his military defense
counsel provided him with gross misinformation, and ad-
vised him to plead guilty, after failing tc investigate easily
accessible information?

(I)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

eb py ee >) re I
py ee Shays ty. ea Ill
eke eee ssn s snc kscaeeussseuns l
RTT TORT ECE EEE RT ETE 2
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED ..... 2
OU EWI wins c ccc canccescccccsns 2
ioe 8 yy ego |)» Re 3
ype ae yd . - 3
REASON FOR GRANTING WRIT ................ 5

THE COURT SHOULD GRANT THIS WRIT
BECAUSE THIS MILITARY ACCUSED WAS
DENIED HIS SIXTH AMENDMENT RIGHT
TO EFFECTIVE REPRESENTATION OF
Ser Perera rte ee ee Tee ee 5

OEE rere rer eee eee eee 10

APPENDIX A (Opinion of the U.S. Court of Military
OS EE ee er ia

APPENDIX B (Opinion of the U.S. Navy-Marine
Corps Court of Military Review) .................. Sa

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases:
Cook v. Lynaugh, 821 F.2d 1072 (Sth Cir. 1987) ..
Downs-Morgan vy. U.S., 765 F.2d 1534 (11th Cir.
Se
Hill vy. Lockhart, 474 U.S. 52 (1985) ... 2.2.2.2...
Santobello v. New York, 404 U.S. 257 (1971) .....
Strader v. Garrison, 611 F.2d 61 (4th Cir. 1979) ... 5
Strickland v. Washington, 466 U.S. 668 (1984) ....
U.S. Ex Rel. Hill v. Ternullo, 510 F.2d 844
Te Oe rt ee eee ENC KA RSA 7

~—

aOwounn si

IV
Cases — Continued: Page
U.S. v. Nagaro-Garbin, 653 F. Supp. 586 (E.D.
er er reo were eee 7
U.S. v. Warner, 25 M.J. 64 (C.M.A. 1987) ....... 8
Constitution:
Se Es SE EE chavcccevdcesssaranaees 2
Statutes:
MEME sé. 6 n 64 4.000465 WS KUEN See ah ec bawes es
sono Sk eaG bene hovabeseiawoues ee
I OPE ee Pret Pree er ery Tree a, 3
Regulations:

Department of Defense Pay and Entitlement
ES «£086.65 cee ccesueceeuaunes 3,4

In the Supreme Court of the Anited Siates

OCTOBER TERM, 1990

No.
LAWRENCE ALBERT
STAFF SERGEANT
UNITED STATES MARINE CORPS, PETITIONER

v.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, RESPONDENT

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF MILITARY APPEALS

The petitioner, Lawrence Albert, respectfully prays that
writ of certiorari issue to review the judgment and opinion
of the United States Court of Military Appeals, rendered
in this proceeding on August 27, 1990.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the United States Court of Military Ap-
peals, United States v. Albert, 30 M.J. 331 (C.M.A. 1990),
is reprinted as Appendix A.

The opinion of the United States Navy-Marine Corps
Court of Military Review, United States v. Albert, No.
88-4935, slip. op. (N.M.C.M.R. Aug. 21, 1989), is re-
printed as Appendix B.

(1)

2

JURISDICTION

The United States Court of Military Appeals affirmed
the decision of the United States Navy-Marine Corps
Court of Military Review on August 27, 1990. This Court
has jurisdiction pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1259(3).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED
Amendment VI

In all criminal prosecutions, the accused shall enjoy
the right to. . . have the assistance of counsel for his
defence.

STATUTES INVOLVED

10 U.S.C.:§ 867, Article 67(d), Uniform Code of Military
Justice.

Review by Court of Military Appeals

In any case reviewed by it. . . {t}he Court of Military
Appeals shall take action only with respect to matters
of law.

10 U.S.C. § 912a, Article 112a, Uniform Code of Military
Justice.

Wrongful use, possession, etc., of controlled
substances.

(a) Any person subject to this chapter who wrong-
fully distributes [cocaine] shu:l be punished as a
court-martial may direct.

10 U.S.C. § 934, Article 134, Uniform Code of Military
Justice.

General Article.

{Ajll conduct of a nature to bring discredit upon the
armed forces . . . shall be taken cognizance of by a
general, special or summary court-martial, according
to the nature and degree of the offense, and shall be
punished at the discretion of that court.

REGULATIONS INVOLVED

Department of Defense Pay and Entitlement Manual,
Chapter 1, Paragraph 10316.

Military Confinement.

a. General. Pay and allowances accrue to a member
in military confinement except:

(3) When the term of enlistment expires. See
paragraph 10317 below.

Paragraph 10317.
Term of Enlistment Expires. . .

c. Enlistment Expires Before Trial. An enlisted
member retained in the service for the purpose of trial
by court-martial is not entitied to pay for any period
after expiration of the enlistment unless acquitted or
the charges are dismissed, or the member is retained
in or restored to a full-duty status.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE
Petitioner entered into a pretrial agreement whereunder
he agreed to plead guilty to two charges.' His command-

ing general, on behalf of the government, agreed to sus-
pend any confinement in excess of two years and “all for-

' Petitioner pleaded guilty to violations of Article 112a, UCM4J,
wrongful distribution of cocaine and Article 134, UCM, solicitation
to commit prostitution and indecent acts. 10 U.S.C. §§ 912a, 934.

4

feitures in excess of $250 pay per month for one year.” Ap-
pellate Exhibits I and II. At the time of this agreement,
petitioner had completed his current enlistment contract
but remained on active duty pursuant to an involuntary
extension of his obligated service.? Prosecution Exhibit 1.

At trial, petitioner was convicted pursuant to his pleas
of guilty, as agreed. Record at 48-49. He was sentenced to
a bad-conduct discharge, 18 months’ confinement, total
forfeitures, and reduction to pay grade E-1. Record at 86.
His commanding general suspended the forfeitures in ac-
cordance with the pretrial agreement. The Navy-Marine
Corps Court of Military Review (NMCMR) affirmed the
findings and sentence in an unpublished opinion. Appen-
dix B. The Court of Military Appeals (CMA) subsequently
affirmed NMCMR’s holding. U.S. v. Albert, 30 M.J. 331
(C.M.A. 1990), Appendix A.

Due to his military defense counsel’s erroneous advice,
petitioner believed that his family would continue to re-
ceive his pay, less $250 per month, during his confine-
ment. However, applicable regulations rendered him in-
eligible to receive any pay after his conviction because his
obligated period of active service had expired.’ Therefore,
the portion of the pretrial agreement which limited the for-
feitures of pay to $250 per month for a year was of no
practical benefit to petitioner because, regardless of the
sentence adjudged and approved, he could not have re-
ceived any pay or allowances.

2 A military accused whose term of enlisted service has expired
before trial is retained involuntarily in a “legal hold” status.

} Department of Defense Pay and Entitlement Manual Chapter |,
§ 10317.

REASON FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

THE COURT SHOULD GRANT THE WRIT BECAUSE THE
PETITIONER WAS DENIED HIS SIXTH AMENDMENT
RIGHT TO EFFECTIVE ASSISTANCE OF COUNSEL.

Petitioner was denied the benefit of the bargain he
struck with the convening authority‘ in this case. Out of
concern for his family’s welfare, petitioner entered into a
pretrial agreement, which, inéer alia, stated in unambigu-
ous language: “That, for good consideration and after
consultation with my counsel, | agree to enter a voluntary
plea of guilty [provided that all forfeitures in excess of
$250 per month are suspended for one year}” (emphasis
added). Petitioner bargained for this material and signifi-
cant provision so that his family would continue to receive
support during his anticipated incarceration.

Unfortunately for petitioner, at the time he signed this
agreement, his period of obligated service had expired. As
a result, petitioner was not entitled to further pay or allow-
ances at the time the convening authority suspended the
excess forfeitures—rendering this portion of the agree-
ment impotent. Petitioner suffered this unexpected result
because his military defense counsel failed to investigate
this matter and provided him erroneous advice. Peti-
lioner’s sentence included six months’ less confinement
than the bargained-for two years. As a result, petitioner
received nothing in return for his guilty pleas.

Whenever a plea is induced by a promise, the promise
must be fulfilled or the defendant is entitled to relief. San-
lobello v. New York, 404 U.S. 257, 92 S.Ct. 495, 30
L.Ed.2d 427 (197!). Appellant’s pleas were induced by the
government’s promise to limit confinement to two years

* The convening authority is the officer who possesses the authority
to create a court-martial and to refer charges to that court-martial. In
this case, petitioner’s commanding general convened the court.

6

and to ensure that his family continued to receive approx-
imately $680 per month for the first twelve months of his
confinement, and $930 each month thereafter.’ The
government made petitioner an illusory promise. Peti-
tioner contends that his guilty pleas are improvident be-
cause his military defense counsel’s assistance was so in-
effective that it amounted to a denial of his constitutional
right to counsel. Strickland v. Washington, 466 U.S. 668,
104 S.Ct. 2952, 80 L.Ed.2d 674 (1984). The Strickland
standard applies to cases involving guilty pleas. Hill v.
Lockhart, 474 U.S. 52, 106 S.Ct. 366, 88 L.Ed.2d 203
(1985).’

The military defense counsel’s failure to investigate peti-
tioner’s eligibility for pay and allowances was unreason-
able under the circumstances.

The fact that petitioner was beyond his period of active
service, coupled with petitioner’s obvious desire to ensure
his family’s financial well-being during any term of in-
carceration, provided ample notice to counsel that he
should further investigate petitioner’s pay status. A simple
phone call to a local disbursing clerk would have yielded
this easily accessible information.

> This approximation is based upon then current pay scales, which
provide an E-1 with $671.40 base pay and $258.30 allowance for de-
pendents (BAQ).

® Strickland established a two-part test for ineffectiveness of
counsel: 1) Counsel’s assistance must have been unreasonable under
the circumstances; and 2) Defendant must demonstrate prejudice by
showing a reasonable probability that absent counsel’s errors, the pro-
ceeding would have produced a different result.

’ Hill modified the second prong of the Strickland test by requiring
a showing of reasonable probability that, but for counsei’s errors, the
defendant would not have pleaded guilty.

7

Analogous cases, decided by several circuits, have
found similar acts unreasonable. In Cook v. Lynaugh,®
the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals found sufficient facts
to alert a reasonably competent counsel of the need to in-
vestigate. Prior to trial, Cook’s attorney received a trial
memo which indicated that Cook was unrepresented by
counsel at an earlier trial. Had the attorney investigated
this matter further, he could have objected to the prior
conviction’s admissibility, thus precluding the govern-
ment’s use of this sole prior conviction to enhance the
sentence under consideration. In this case, petitioner’s
military defense counsel, by virtue of his basic military
training, possessed enough information to put a reason-
ably competent attorney on notice that he should investi-
gate further, yet he failed to act.

Military defense counsel’s failure to investigate resulted
in petitioner being misinformed. Such misinformation has
been ruled unreasonable. Counsel is held accountable, not
for a prediction that proved wrong, but for a misstatement
of easily accessible fact. U.S. Ex Rel. Hill v. Ternullo, 510
F.2d 844 (2nd Cir. 1975).

When counse! provides gross misinformation in re-
sponse ‘to defendant’s inquiries, and the defendant relies
upon that information, then defendant has been denied his
constitutional right to counsel. See Strader v. Garrison,
611 F.2d 61 (4th Cir. 1979) (Ineffective assistance when
counsel erroneously advised client concerning parole eli-
gibility date); Downs-Morgan v. U.S., 765 F.2d 1534 (11th
Cir. 1985) (Counsel’s erroneous response to specific in-
quiry by accused concerning deportation held ineffective
assistance); U.S. v. Nagaro-Garbin, 653 F. Supp. 586
(E.D.Mich. 1987) (Counsel’s misinformation concerning
deportation held ineffective assistance).

* 821 F.2d 1072 (Sth Cir. 1987).

6

and to ensure that his family continued to receive approx-
imately $680 per month for the first twelve months of his
confinement, and $930 each month thereafter.’ The
government made petitioner an illusory promise. Peti-
tioner contends that his guilty pleas are improvident be-
cause his military defense counsel’s assistance was so in-
effective that it amounted to a denial of his constitutional
right to counsel. Strickland v. Washington, 466 U.S. 668,
104 S.Ct. 2952, 80 L.Ed.2d 674 (1984).° The Strickland
standard applies to cases involving guilty pleas. Hill v.
Lockhart, 474 U.S. 52, 106 S.Ct. 366, 88 L.Ed.2d 203
(1985).’

The military defense counsel’s failure to investigate peti-
tioner’s eligibility for pay and allowances was unreason-
able under the circumstances.

The fact that petitioner was beyond his period of active
service, coupled with petitioner’s obvious desire to ensure
his family’s financial well-being during any term of in-
carceration, provided ample notice to counsel that he
should further investigate petitioner’s pay status. A simple
phone call to a local disbursing clerk would have yielded
this easily accessible information.

> This approximation is based upon then current pay scales, which
provide an E-! with $671.40 base pay and $258.30 allowance for de-
pendents (BAQ).

® Sirickland established a two-part test for ineffectiveness of
counsel: 1) Counsel’s assistance must have been unreasonable under
the circumstances; and 2) Defendant must demonstrate prejudice by
showing a reasonable probability that abseni counsel’s errors, the pro-
ceeding would have produced a different result.

’ Hill modified the second prong of the Strickland test by requiring
a showing of reasonable probability that, but for counsel’s errors, the
defendant would not have pleaded guilty.

7

Analogous cases, decided by several circuits, have
found similar acts unreasonable. In Cook v. Lynaugh,®
the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals found sufficient facts
to alert a reasonably competent cornsel of the need to in-
vestigate. Prior to trial, Cook’s attorney received a trial
memo which indicated that Cook was unrepresented by
counsel at an earlier trial. Had the attorney investigated
this matter further, he could have objected to the prior
conviction’s admissibility, thus precluding the govern-
ment’s use of this sole prior conviction to enhance the
sentence under consideration. In this case, petitioner’s
military defense counsel, by virtue of his basic military
training, possessed enough information to put a reason-
ably competent attorney on notice that he should investi-
gate further, yet he failed to act.

Military defense counsel’s failure to investigate resulted
in petitioner being misinformed. Such misinformation has
been ruled unreasonable. Counsel is held accountable, not
for a prediction that proved wrong, but for a misstatement
of easily accessible fact. U.S. Ex Rel. Hill v. Ternullo, 510
F.2d 844 (2nd Cir. 1975).

When counsel provides gross misinformation in re-
sponse ‘to defendant’s inquiries, and the defendant relies
upon that information, then defendant has been denied his
constitutional right to counsel. See Strader v. Garrison,
611 F.2d 61 (4th Cir. 1979) (Ineffective assistance when
counsel erroneously advised client concerning parole eli-
gibility date); Downs-Morgan v. U.S., 765 F.2d 1534 (11th
Cir. 1985) (Counsel’s erroneous response to specific in-
quiry by accused concerning deportation held ineffective
assistance); U.S. v. Nagaro-Garbin, 653 F. Supp. 586
(E.D.Mich. 1987) (Counsel’s misinformation concerning
deportation held ineffective assistance).

* 821 F.2d 1072 (Sth Cir. 1987).

8

The pretrial agreement in this case expressly stated that
petitioner reached his decision after consultation with
counsel. Petitioner’s counsel apparently responded to peti-
tioner’s inquiries regarding a limitation on forfeitures with
gross misinformation—information which petitioner
relied upon, to his clear detriment, in reaching his decision
to plead guilty.

Petitioner was prejudiced by his counsel’s errors. A rea-
sonable probability exists that, but for his attorney’s mis-
representation, petitioner would not have pleaded guilty.

If the implicitly promised inducement — that petitioner’s
family would not be left penniless while he languished in
prison — had been unimportant to him, he would have had
no reason to negotiate for the forfeiture provision. The
plain language of the pretrial agreement, quoted above,
leaves no doubt that the forfeiture provision was a sub-
stantial part of the quid pro quo for petitioner’s guilty
pleas.

Writing for the Court of Military Appeals, Chief Judge
Everett opines that, since petitioner was ineligible for pay
and allowances under applicable pay regulations, he is no
worse off than he would have been had the military judge
awarded forfeitures and no confinement.? Unlike the
accused in Warner, Chief Judge Everett’s analogy here
fails to consider the fact that confinement blocked any
other means petitioner may have had to earn a living for
himself and his family.

% Such a sentence would have rendered the portion of the pretrial
agreement relating to forfeitures inoperative by its own terms. While
the Chief Judge cited no authority, his proposition likely stems from
an earlier C.M.A. opinion. U.S. v. Warner, 25 M.J. 64 (CMA 1987)
bars a sentence which includes total forfeitures when no confinement
has been imposed. Chief Judge Everett, who authored Warner, ap-
parently reasons here that this pretrial agreement provision was just as
innocuous as a provision which the law bars in the interest of public
policy or fundamental fairness.

9

Chief Judge Everett also stated that petitioner would
have pleaded guilty even if the forfeiture provision had not
been included in the pretrial agreement. Nothing in the
record supports this conclusion of fact.'® To the contrary,
the pretrial agreement’s express language shows that the
forfeiture provision provided a powerful inducement for
him to plead guilty.

In the words of Chief Judge Haynesworth, “The simple
fact is that the defendant was misled by erroneous advice.
When the misadvice of the lawyer is so gross as to amount
to a denial of the constitutional right to effective assist-
ance of counsel, leading the defendant to enter an improv-
ident plea, striking the sentence and permitting a with-
drawal of the plea seems only a necessary consequence of
the deprivation of the right to counsel.”!'

'© The court acted improperly in making this finding of fact because
CMA has no fact finding authority. See 10 U.S.C. § 867, Article 67,
Uniform Code of Military Justice.

'' Strader, 611 F.2d at 65.

10

CONCLUSION

This Honorable Court should grant the petition for a
writ of certiorari.

Respectfully submitted,

JOSEPH B. GILBERT
Major, U.S. Marine Corps
Counsel of Record

RANDALL L. CHAMBERS
Lieutenant, JAGC,
U.S. Naval Reserve

NAVY-MARINE CORPS APPELLATE
REVIEW ACTIVITY
Washington Navy Yard,
Building /11
Washington, D.C. 20374
(202) 433-4161

NOVEMBER 1990

APPENDIX A

U.S. COURT OF MILITARY APPEALS

No. 63,463
NMCM 88-4935

UNITED STATES, APPELLEE
V.
LAWRENCE ALBERT

STAFF SERGEANT
U.S. MARINE CORPS, APPELLANT

Submitted Feb. 21, 1990.
Decided Aug. 27, 1990

OPINION OF THE COURT
EVERETT, Chief Judge:

Appellant entered into a pretrial agreement whereunder
he agreed to plead guilty to two charges and the convening
authority obligated himself to suspend any confinement in
excess Of 2 years and “all forfeitures in excess of $250 pay
per month for. . . 1 year.” At the time of this agreement,
appellant was serving On active duty pursuant to an in-
voluntary extention of his obligated service.

At trial, appellant entered the guilty pleas as agreed and
was convicted pursuant thereto. The sentence adjudged
was a bad-conduct discharge, 18 months’ confinement,
total forfeitures, and reduction to pay grade E-1. The con-
vening authority suspended the forfeitures in accordance

(la)

2a

with the pretrial agreement; and the findings and sentence,
as approved by the convening authority, were affirmed by
- the Court of Military Review in an unpublished opinion.

Under applicable regulations and a decision of the Com-
ptroller General,* Albert was not entitled to receive any
pay after his conviction because his obligated period of ac-
tive service had expired aid had been involuntarily extend-
ed pending trial by court-martial. Therefore, the portion
of the pretrial agreement which limited the forfeitures of
pay to $250.00 per month for a year was of no practical
benefit to appellant because, regardless of the sentence ad-
judged and approved, he would not have received any pay
or allowances.

With this in mind, appellant now has raised this issue,
review of which we granted:

WHETHER THE GOVERNMENT FULLY COM-
PLIED WITH THE TERMS OF APPELLANT'S
PRETRIAL AGREEMENT.

If we answer this issue in the negative, Albert would be
entitled to relief —either enforcement of the agreement or
setting aside the guilty pleas as improvident. Certainly,
when a prosecutor violates a plea bargain, the defendant is
entitled either to specific performance or to an opportuni-
ty to withdraw his guilty pleas. Santobello v. New York,
404 U.S. 257, 92 S.Ct. 495, 30 L.Ed.2d 427 (1971).

In United Stated v. Olson, 25 MJ 293 (CMA 1987), we
gave relief to an accused who had complied with the terms
of his pretrial agreement but, due to action by the Govern-
ment, had not received the benefit of his bargain. See a/so
United States v. Churnovic, 22 MJ 401 (CMA 1986) (con-
vening authority attempted to prosecute the accused after
promising not to do so); United States v. Brown, 13 MJ
253 (CMA 1982) (convening authority acted without the

* Cf. 39 Comp. Gen. 42 (1959).

3a

promised input of a particular staff judge advocate);
United States v. Cifuentes, 11 MJ 385 (CMA 1981) (con-
vening authority commuted a fine to forfeitures after
promising to disapprove any fine adjudged); United States
v. Jenkins, 30 MJ 1101 (NMCMR 1989) (convening au-
thority approved the sentence as adjudged after promising
to suspend portions of the punishment).

This case, however, is different from Olson, where the
Air Force recouped $1,107.07 in restitution after repre-
senting at trial that the accused already had made the resti-
tution agreed upon. Here, no representation was made by
the convening authority or trial counsel; and the conven-
ing authority did exactly what he had promised to do.
Moreover, the pretrial agreement was proposed by ap-
pellant and his counsel; and in no way was it forced upon
him by the Government.

Appellant is not entitled now to complain that the ap-
proved sentence had collateral consequences unforeseen
by any of the parties. Indeed, the result here is governed
by United States v. Bedania, 12 MJ 373 (CMA 1982),
which held that the accused’s entitlement to pay was be-
yond the purview of the court-martial and the pretrial
agreement. Cf. United States v. Pajak, 11 USCMA 686,
29 CMR 502 (1960); United States v. Cleckly, 8 USCMA
83, 23 CMR 307 (1957).

If the military judge had adjudged a sentence which in-
cluded forfeitures but no confinement, the portion of the
pretrial agreement concerning forfeitures would have been
inoperative by its own terms, and the sentence itself would
have had no effect on appellant’s pay. Nonetheless, under
the applicable pay regulations, appellant would have re-
ceived no pay and allowances. He can hardly complain
that he will not receive any pay or allowances even though
the convening authority reduced the adjudged sentence ex-
actly as had been promised.

4a

We also disagree with any contention by appellant that
his pleas of guilty were improvident because in some way
they had been induced by the convening authority’s prom-
ise to suspend forfeitures in excess of $250 per month for 1
year. Even making allowance for Albert’s desire to assure
that his family would receive support during any period of
confinement, we are convinced beyond any reasonable
doubt that, if he had been fully apprised of his pay status
as it existed at the time and had been offered a pretrial
agreement which limited confinement but included no
reference to forfeitures, he would have accepted it and
entered the same pleas of guilty.

We conclude, therefore, that the Government complied
with the pretrial agreement, that the guilty pleas were pro-
vident, and that the findings based thereon should not be
set aside.

The decision of the United States Navy — Marine Corps
Court of Military Review is affirmed.

Judges Cox and SULLIVAN concur.

Sa
APPENDIX B

DEPARTMENT OF THE NAVY
OFFICE OF THE JUDGE ADVOCATE GENERAL
200 STOVALL STREET
ALEXANDRIA, VA 22332-2400

IN THE U.S. NAVY-MARINE CORPS
COURT OF MILITARY REVIEW

Before E. M. ALBERTSON, R. A. STRICKLAND and J. E.
RUBENS

UNITED STATES
V.

LAWRENCE ALBERT, 168 44 444]
STAFF SERGEANT (E-6), U.S. MARINE CORrs

NMCM 88 4935 Decided 21 August 1989

Sentence adjudged 25 August 1988. Military Judge: M. J.
Cummings. Review pursuant to Article 66(c), UCMJ, of
General Court-Martial convened by Commanding General,
lst Marine Expeditionary Brigade, Fleet Marine Force,
Marine Corps Air Station, Kaneohe Bay, HI 96863-5501.

LT JacoB R. WALKER, JAGC, USNR, Appellate Defense
Counsel

LT RoBert A. KeMINS, JAGC, USNR, Appellate Govern-
ment Counsel

6a

PER CURIAM:

We have examined the record of trial, the two assign-
ments of error, and the Government’s response, and have
concluded that the findings and sentence are correct in law
and fact and that no error materially prejudicial to the
substantial rights of the accused was committed.

With respect to the first assignment of error, the fact
that appellant was past his EAS and that his pay stopped
when the convening authority took his action! is collateral
to his court-martial. The sentence adjudged at the court-
martial did not end appellant’s active service; that was a
contract matter which predated the court-martial. Since
the court-martial did not cause the end of appellant’s ac-
tive service, there is a question whether the resulting loss
of pay is a collateral “consequence.” Given the apparently
overwhelming evidence against appellant (audio tapes with
transcripts made by undercover NIS agents), the max-
imum authorized punishment, the Government’s with-
drawal of Charge II pursuant to the pretrial agreement,
and the confinement cap of two years in the pretrial agree-
' ment (although not triggered by the adjudged sentence),
we find that even if the stopping of appellant’s pay is a col-
lateral consequence of the court-martial, it is not major or
substantial. Appellant would likely have pled guilty any-
way. Thus, we find that the pleas are provident. See
United States v. Bedania, 12 M.J. 373, 376 (C.M.A.
1982); see also United States v. Walls, 3 M.J. 882, 884
(ACMR. 1977) (misapprehension about maximum im-
posable sentence did not render guilty plea improvident),
aff'd, 9M.J. 88 (C.M.A. 1980). With respect to the second
assignment of error, we specifically find that the adjudged
sentence is appropriate under the circumstances.

' Appellant argues that this nullifies the pretrial agreement term
providing for partial suspension of forfeitures.

7a

Accordingly, the findings of guilty and sentence, as ap-
proved on review below are affirmed.

E. M. ALBERTSON, Senior Judge

R. A. STRICKLAND, Judge

(ABSENT/CONCURS)
J. E. RUBENS, Judge

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385020_3152%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
