# Reply Brief — Elliott v. Mercury Marine

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385020_3143%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1991
- **Citation:** 498 U.S. 1048

## Text

No. 90-814

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1990

ASHLEY ELLIOTT,
‘ Petitioner,
MERCURY MARINE, a Division of Brunswick Corporation,
Respondent.

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Eleventh Circuit

REPLY TO BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

BRUCE J. ENNIS, JR.*
ANN M. KAPPLER
JENNY? & BLOCK

21 Dupont Circle, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036
(202) 223-4400

R. BEN HOGAN, III
~ HOGAN, SMITH, ALSPAUGH, SAMPLES-

& PRATT, P.C.

2323 Second Avenue North

Birmingham, Alabama 35203

(205) 324-5635

Counsel for Petitioner
Ashley Elliott

* Counsel of Record

ae
WILSON - EPes PRINTING Co., INC. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

+

Rie ark tend

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
pe TF BB ce y 3) oy | SA enna ii
AE LI I ae ae A RC SIS ee RS 2
EER NE OR LAR I MELE Oe 8
APPENDIX A
In re: Outboard Marine Corp., No. 90-7686, Order
of the United States Court of Appeals for the
Eleventh Circuit denying Petition for Rehearing
on Petition for Writ of Mandamus, filed Novem-
Be I I sissy taceclc cash tasotcnseh caps giaceheneisRie esplanade nace la
APPENDIX B
Beech v. Outboard Marine Corp., No. 89-1815
Order of the Supreme Court of Alabama lifting
stay and setting briefing schedule, filed December
ARRAS Cea a Rs Be Ppa Pea 2a

ii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES Page
Beech v. Outboard Marine Corp., Civil Action No.
89-AT-0789-M (N.D. Ala.) ....... - passim
Beech v. Outboard Marine Corp., No. 89- 1815
Cf RReeitt ened as Se mince” A _...... passim
Erie Railroad v. Tompkins, 304 U.S. 64 (1938) . 3
Exron Corp. v. Eagerton, 462 U.S. 176 (1983) _.... 3
General Motors Corp. v. Edwards, 482 So.2d 1176
(Ala. 1985) ........... ‘sds Les oncobchabewapicanigae are Retete acc 4
Guaranty Trust Co. v. York, 326 U.S. 99 (1945)... 5
In re McLinn, 739 F.2d 1395 (9th Cir. 1984) (en
banc) ....... spicnshiaibacieiestipeleipeaiadigielos saancdnaeie eibaaademeteumameta nein 7
Lovell v. Marion Power Shov el Co. 909 F.2d 1088
2, he SE SRR SORE Ord Bula Hach. bs aN 5

Russell v. Salve Regina College, 890 F.2d 484 (ist
Cir. 1989), cert. granted, in part, 110 S.Ct. 3269

PI vsiscsossistnahis a caeetsoshnbdencieadyatacleaedaeaegiaaaset aaa 6
Salve Regina College v. Russell, No. 89-1629
IE sinisck vsicscinshelbatnentysuiasieesen eee naan ene ses ae
United States v. Hohri, 482 U.S. 64 (1987) —......... 6, 7
MISCELLANEOUS

R.Stern, E. Gressman & S. Shapiro, Supreme Court
fe BR | Re Ue 2

IN THE
Siyrenw Cert of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1990

No. 90-814

ASHLEY ELLIOTT,
Petitioner,
Vs

Mercury MARINE, a Division of Brunswick Corporation,
Respondent.

Petitien for a Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Eleventh Circuit

REPLY TO BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

This case presents simple, yet extraordinary, circum-
stances. The Court of Appeals overturned a jury verdict
in favor of Elliott on the basis of the court’s view on un-
settled issues of Alabama state law. In reaching its de-
cision, the court accorded no deference to the District
Court’s ruling and did not employ the appropriate method
of analysis in discerning state law. The Supreme Court
of Alabama is about to resolve the identical issues of
Alabama law pursuant to questions drafted and certified
by the same District Court Judge who presided in this
case, and the highest state court is extremely likely to
disagree with the Eleventh Circuit’s pronouncements.

2

This Court need only direct the Eleventh Circuit to recon-
sider this case in light of the state court’s definitive state-
ment on the outcome-determinative issues of state law, in
order to vindicate well-settled concepts of fundamental
fairness and the principles of comity and cooperative
judicial federalism. None of respondent’s arguments
supports denial of certiorari.

ARGUMENT

1. Respondent’s principal argument is that granting
certiorari would force this Court to “hold the case on its
docket for the indefinite future.” Brief for the Respond-
ent in Opposition at 8, 15, 20 (hereafter “Opp.”). Ap-
parently, respondent did not read the Petition for Cer-
tiorari. Elliott specifically requested that the Court
“orant certiorari, vacate, and direct the Eleventh Cir-
cuit to reconsider its determination of [the] state law
issues once the Alabama Supreme Court has ruled.” Peti-
tion for a Writ of Certiorari at 3 (hereafter “Pet.’’). As
petitioner noted, nothing more is required of this Court:
“the Eleventh Circuit can itself correct its decision once
it is provided the necessary guidance by the Supreme
Court of Alabama.” 7d. at 22.

Even if this Court decides, alternatively, to hold the
Petition for consideration after the Supreme Court of
Alabama has ruled, there would be nothing remarkable
about that decision. This Court routinely holds petitions
for certiorari pending resolution of another case when,
as here, the interests of justice counsel such action. See
R. Stern, E. Gressman & S. Shapiro, Supreme Court
Practice $5.9 (6th ed. 1986) (noting that a petition for
certiorari may be held, without the Court’s taking any
action, “until an imminent state court decision is ren-
dered on a controlling issue of state law’’).

There is nothing “indefinite” about the future of the
certified questions the Supreme Court of Alabama has
agreed to address in Beech v. Outboard Marine Corp.,

3

No. 89-1815. The Supreme Court will be poised to answer
those questions within the week.?

Granting certiorari would not create undesirable prece-
dent. Respondent suggests that it would support this
Court’s holding the petition of a party seeking review of
an adverse decision in one court of appeals pending the
decision of the same issue in another court of appeals.
See Opp. 16 n.7. But, of course, one court of appeals is
not required to follow the decision of another court of ap-
peals; consequently, there would be no justification for
awaiting the later decision. This case is critically differ-
ent. The Eleventh Circuit must follow the decisions of
the Supreme Court of Alabama on issues of substantive
Alabama law. See, e.g., Exxon Corp. v. Eagerton, 462
U.S. 176, 181 n.3 (1983); Erie Railroad v. Tompkins,
304 U.S. 64 (1938). And the Supreme Court of Ala-
bama, in a case containing “no legitimate, factual or
legal distinction,” will resolve ‘the identical issues of
Alabama law” that control this case. Beech v. Outboard
Marine Corp., Civil Action No. 89-AT-0789-M, Memo-
randum Opinion at 3-4 (N.D. Ala., Sept. 19, 1990); Pet.
App. 17a-18a (hereafter “Mem. Op.”). Respondent can-
not avoid the inevitable conclusion that Elliott will be
the only litigant subjected to the Eleventh Circuit’s er-
roneous prediction and misconstruction of Alabama law
if the state court ruling on state law is different from the
Eleventh Circuit’s prediction. In this narrow context,
fundamental fairness and principles of comity and co-
operative judicial federalism call for this Court to va-
cate the Court of Appeals’ decision.

2. Respondent’s assertion that Elliott has not articu-
lated an error of federal law is baffling. Petitioner
demonstrates at length that the Eleventh Circuit failed
to ‘employ the appropriate method of analysis under

1 Defendant Outboard Marine Corporation’s brief must be filed
by January 11, 1991. See Beech v. Outboard Marine Corp., No. 89-
1815, Order (Dec. 13, 1990); 2a.

4

this Court’s Erie decision in attempting to ascertain Ala-
bama law. Pet. 15-18.

Perhaps because it realizes that the Eleventh Circuit’s
analysis is indefensible and that the court’s speculation on
Alabama law is incorrect, respondent grossly mischar-
acterizes petitioner’s argument and then knocks down the
strawman it has erected. Thus, respondent unjustifiably
charges Elliott with arguing that “the Eleventh Circuit
ignored Alabama authorities and rendered its decision
solely on the basis of rulings from other jurisdictions.”
Opp. 9 n.3. This charge is plainly false. As petitioner
frankly discusses (Pet. 17 n.21), the Eleventh Circuit in-
toned Alabama precedents in beginning in analysis. But
as the District Court explained in Beech v. Outboard
Motor Corp., the case on which the court, and respondent,
rely—General Motors Corp. v. Edwards, 482 So.2d 1176
(Ala. 1985)—is not controlling. Mem. Op.; Pet. App.
16a. In General Motors, the state court did not rule upon
the legal issues presented here.

Respondent stubbornly resists recognition that the
Court of Appeals cited no Alabama authority supporting
its two narrow, outcome-determinative rulings on Alabama
state law: that an unguarded boat propeller is not danger-
ous beyond the reasonable expectations of an ordinary
consumer, see 903 F.2d at 1507; Pet. App. 6a; and that
the lack of a propeller guard on the market at the time
this motor was manufactured precluded a finding that a
safer alternative design was available, see 903 F.2d at
1509-1510; Pet. App. 8a-lla. Respondent makes no at-
tempt to defend the court’s unexplained and inexplicable
reliance on precedents from other jurisdictions on these
two issues of law. See Pet. 17-18. Respondent may ap-
prove of the federal court’s decision as to what it thought
Alabama law should be, but that cannot substitute for
proper consideration of what Alabama law is. The Su-
preme Court of Alabama will definitively articulate Ala-
bama law regarding these two specific issues in respond-

5

ing to certified questions 2 and 3 in Beech. See Pet.
App. 24a. And the state court is most likely to disagree
with the Eleventh Circuit’s views.?

Had this litigation proceeded in the Alabama courts,
Elliott’s lawsuit would have been resolved under the cor-
rect and controlling statement of Alabama law, which the
Supreme Court of Alabama will articulate imminently;
instead, petitioner was subjected to the Eleventh Circuit’s
faulty analysis and almost certainly incorrect prediction.
This discrimination, which occurred only because of the
“fortuitous circumstances of residence out of [the] State
of one of the parties to the litigatien,”’ Guaranty Trust
Co. v. York, 326 U.S. 99, 112 (1945), should not be sanc-
tioned by this Court.

3. Respondent seeks to avoid the patent injustice evi-
dent here by denying that the questions certified in Beech
are “identical” to the outcome-determinative issues of
Alabama law decided by the Eleventh Circuit below. See
Opp. 17-19.* Respondent’s denial is unavailing. The Dis-
trict Court Judge who censidered numerous motions in
this case, presided over the trial on the merits, and up-
held the jury’s verdict, and who has presided over the
Beech case for over one and one-half years, ruled

* Respondent spends most of its energy defending the Eleventh
Cireuit’s decision. But it fails to explain why the Supreme Court
of Alabama accepted the certified questions if it thought the
Eleventh Circuit had ruled correctly. In any event, respondent is
wrong. Respondent, for example, makes no attempt to reconcile the
court of appeals’ decision with the Alabama precedent demonstrat-
ing that the “open and obvious” complete defense is not recognized
in Alabama. See Pet. 19. Compare Lovell v. Marion Power Shovel
Co., 909 F.2d 1088 (7th Cir. 1990) (discerning that Indiana law
recognizes no such defense).

3 Strangely, respondent recites at length the Beech plaintiff’s un-
successful arguments regarding the alleged factual differences be-
tween the two cases. Opp. 18-19 & n.8. In deciding to certify
questions, the District Court flatly rejected these arguments, ex-
plicitly holding that there is “no legitimate, factual . . . distinction
between [the two cases].” Mem. Op. at 4; Pet. App. 18a.

6

that there is no legitimate distinction, either factual or
legal, between tlie two cases. Beech, Mem. Op. at 3-4;
Pet. App. 17a-18a. That same judge drafted the certi-
fied questions of Alabama law that the Supreme Court of
Alabama will soon resolve. The judge carefully explained
that the questions were based on the factual and legal
issues presented in Elliott. See id.‘ Thus, the certified
questions in Beech, if answered favorably to Elliott, will
mandate a different outcome here.

4. As discussed in the Petition for Certiorari and
above, petitioner has demonstrated ample reason for
granting certiorari in this case, but there is more. This
case presents the precise issue this Court will resolve in
Salve Regina College v. Russell, No. 89-1629—the proper
standard of review regarding a district court’s resolution
of state law issues in a diversity case.°

In Salve Regina College, the court of appeals deferred
to the district court’s ruling on state law issues of first
impression. See Russell v. Salve Regina College, 890 F.2d
484 (1st Cir. 1989). In this regard, the court followed
the traditional, accepted practice, which recognizes that
the district court judge has greater familiarity with the
law of the State in which he or she sits. See, e.g., United
States v. Hohri, 482 U.S. 64, 74 n.6 (1987). Petitioner
in Salve Regina College argues that every party is en-
titled to de novo appellate review of a district court de-

4 Thus, respondent is simply wrong in asserting that the certified
questions in Beech do not present the same issues decided in this
case. Contrary to respondent’s contention, questions 1, 2, 4 and 5
do not assume the existence of a feasible propeller guard. Opp. 19.
That is the very issue those questions seek to resolve.

5 This Court’s grant of certiorari in Salve Regina College refutes
respondent’s suggestion that cases controlled by state law do not
warrant this Court’s attention. Like Salve Regina College, this case
“involv[es| fundamental questions of fairness and the allocation of
power between the federal and state judiciaries.” Salve Regina
College v. Russell, No. 89-1629, Petitioner’s Brief on the Merits at
13. See Pet. 3, 12.

7

cision on issues of state law.° See In re McLinn, 739
F.2d 1395, 1397 (9th Cir. 1984) (en bane) (rejecting
the rule of deference and replacing it with an “independ-
ent de novo standard” of review).

As in In re McLinn, the Eleventh Circuit utilized a de
novo standard in reviewing the outcome-determinative
issues of state law in this case; the court accorded no
deference whatsoever to the District Court’s decision de-
spite the fact that the state law questions arise under the
law of the District Court’s home jurisdiction.’ Elliott
notes in her Petition that, in this regard, the Court of
Appeals departed from generally accepted practice among
the federal courts of appeals. Pet. 15 n.19. If this Court
holds in Salve Regina College that a district court’s rul-
ing on state law issues (at least regarding the law of
the State in which the district judge sits) is entitled to
any level of deference, the Eleventh Circuit’s decision
should be vacated and remanded for reconsideration un-
der the proper standard of review. Thus, at the very
least, this case should be held pending this Court’s de-
cision in Salve Regina College.

® Petitioner has requested this Court either to reverse and re-
mand for an independent de novo review of the controlling issues
of state law, or to reverse and certify those issues to the state
supreme court for resolution.

* Furthermore, the court of appeals’ opinion was written by a
senior judge from the Federal Circuit sitting in the Eleventh Cir-
cuit by designation. See 908 F.2d at 1505 n.**; Pet. App. la. See
also United States v. Hohri, 482 U.S. at 74 n.6 (noting that the
“problem” of “Federal Circuit judges ... not be{ing] familiar with
questions of state tort law ... is mitigated considerably by the fact
that those cases are tried before local federal district judges, who
are likely to be familiar with the applicable state law, [and] a dis-
trict judge’s determination of a state-law question usually is re-
viewed with great deference”).

8
CONCLUSION

For all the foregoing reasons, as well as the reasons set
forth in the Petition for Certiorari, this Court should
grant the Petition for Certiorari, vacate the Eleventh
Circuit’s decision below and direct the court to reconsider
its decision once the Supreme Court of Alabama has an-
swered the state law questions certified in Beech v. Out-
board Marine Corp., No. 89-1815. Alternatively, the
Court should (1) defer consideration of the Petition for
Certiorari pending the Supreme Court of Alabama’s de-
cision in Beech, and, if the Supreme Court of Alabama
rules differently than the Eleventh Circuit, thereafter
grant the Petition, vacate the Eleventh Circuit’s deci-
sion, and remand for reconsideration, or (2) hold the
Petition pending this Court’s decision in Salve Regina
College v. Russell, No. 89-1629.

Respectfully submitted,

BRUCE J. ENNIS, JR.*
ANN M. KAPPLER
JENNER & BLOCK

21 Dupont Circle, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036
(202) 223-4400

R. BEN HOGAN, III

HOGAN, SMITH, ALSPAUGH, SAMPLES
& PRATT, P.C.

2323 Second Avenue North

Birmingham, Alabama 35203

(205) 324-5635

Counsel for Petitioner
Ashley Elliott

JANUARY 1991 * Counsel of Record

APPENDICES

la
APPENDIX A

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

No. 90-7686

IN RE: OUTBOARD MARINE CORPORATION,
Petitioner.

On Petition for Writ of Mandamus to the
United States District Court for the
Northern District of Alabama

ON PETITION(S) FOR REHEARING
(Nov. 28, 1990)

BEFORE: FAY, COX and BIRCH, Circuit Judges.
PER CURIAM:

The petition(s) for rehearing filed by Outboard Ma-
rine Corporation is denied.

ENTERED FOR THE COURT:

/s/ Emmett R. Cox
United States Circuit Judge

2a
APPENDIX B
IN THE SUPREME COURT OF ALABAMA
December 13, 1990

89-1815

Ex parte Matthew Beech, a minor, who sues through his
father and next friend, Thomas L. Beech v. Outboard
Marine Corporation

CERTIFIED QUESTION FROM THE UNITED STATES
DISTRICT COURT FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT
OF ALABAMA, MIDDLE DIVISION
(89-AR-0789-M }

ORDER

The United States Court of Appeals for the Eleventh
Circuit denied the petition for rehearing on the petition
for writ of mandamus filed by the defendant, Outboard
Marine Corporation, it is, therefore, ordered that the
stay entered by this Court on October 23, 1990, is lifted.
The brief of the defendant, Outboard Marine Corpora-
tion, is due to be filed in this Court within 21 days from
the date of this order.

I, Robert G. Esdale, as Clerk of the Supreme Court
of Alabama, do hereby certify that the foregoing is a
full, true and correct copy of the instrument(s) here-
within set out as same appear(s) of record in said
Court.

Witness-my-hand this 13th day of Dec., 1990.

/s/ Robert G. Esdale
Clerk
Supreme Court of Alabama

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385020_3143%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
