# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Houston v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385020_3129%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1991
- **Citation:** 498 U.S. 1067

## Text

90-7 99

‘\

Jn the Supreme Court of the Gnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1990

CHARLES HOUSTON, PETITIONER
V.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, RESPONDENT

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF MILITARY APPEALS

RICHARD W. ALDRICH
Captain, Office of the Judge
Advocate General
United States Air Force
HQ USAF/JAJD
Bldg 5683
Bolling AFB, DC 20332-6128

Counsel for Petitioner

PAUL M. DANKOVICH
Captain, Office of the Judge
Advocate General
United States Air Force

November 1990 Counsel for Petitioner

78

QUESTION PRESENTED
Whether a brief filed pursuant to United States v.
Grostefon, 12 M.J. 431 (C.M.A. 1982), constitutes a
denial of due process since this practice Operates to effec-
tively redefine and abrogate the attorney-client relation-
ship.

(1)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
RE re |
ee cid chet heaea abuse 2
auras Ge Brees CASE... wc. ccc ccc cc caes 2
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT .......... 3
i ae 6
a OAs ee la
Ee a da
re ee ak bk ek aka baa 48 8a
ee a a dg a ke kbe He 9a
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES:
Anders v. California, 386 U.S. 738 (1967) ........ 4,5, 6
Penson v. Ohio, 488 U.S. 75 (1988) ............. 5
Powell v. Alabama, 287 U.S. 45 (1932) 2.0.0.2... 6
United Staies v. Grostefon, 12 M.J. 431 (C.M.A.
os wae 2.3.4 3.6
United States v. Healy, 26 M.J. 394 (C.M.A.
en a ke wk chad woe oe 4,6
STATUTORY AUTHORITIES:
OE | 2
PEO Pe eee 2

(in)

Jn the Supreme Court of the Cinited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1990

No.
CHARLES HOUSTON, PETITIONER
V.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, RESPONDENT

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF MILITARY APPEALS

The petitioner, Charles Houston, respectfully prays that
a writ of certiorari issue to review the judgment of the
United States Court of Military Appeals entered in his case
on August 23, 1990.

OPINIONS BELOW

The United States Air Force Court of Military Review
issued an unreported decision on March 9, 1989 (Appen-
dix A). This same court issued a subsequent decision on
May 10, 1990 (Appendix B). The second decision was
issued in response to a remand from the United States
Court of Military Appeals. The order for the remand is
reported at 30 M.J. 21 (C.M.A. 1990) (Appendix C). On
August 23, 1990 the United States Court of Military Ap-
peals issued a short form decision that is reported at ____
M.J. — (C.M.A. 1990) (Appendix D).

(1)

Nm

JURISDICTION

The fina. rder of the United States Court of Military
Appeals was entered on August 23, 1990. The jurisdiction
of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1259(3) (Supp
1989) and 10 U.S.C. § 867(h) (Supp. !989).

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The petitioner, an Air Force master sergeant (E-7), was
tried by a general court-martial on August 19, 1988, at
Spangdahlem Air Base, Germany. Pursuant to his pleas,
he was convicted of multiple sexual offenses against his
teenage daughter. The petitioner was sentenced to a
dishonorable discharge, confinement for 13% years, anda
reduction to airman basic (E-1).

After trial the petitioner exercised his statutory right to
appellate review and appellate representation. Thereafter,
appellate defense counsel was appointed, and filed a brief
with the United States Air Force Court of Military
Review. Appellate defense counsel asserted that the peti-
tioner was sentenced on the basis of erroneous informa-
tion concerning the length of his military service. The
United States Air Force Court of Military Review at-
firmed the petitioner’s case.

The petitioner subsequently petitioned the United States
Court of Military Appeals. This time appellate defense
counsel filed a “Grostefon briet.” ' This brief was based
upon three new errors that were personally assigned by the
petitioner. The petitioner asserted these errors in an at-
fidavit that accompanied appellate detense counsel’s briet.
Appellate defense counsel briefed these issues by way of
summarizing the petitioner’s assignment of errors. Pur-
suant to a Government motion, the petitioner’s case was
remanded to the United States Air Force Court of Military
Review. Once again, the petitioner’s case was affirmed.

' United States v. Grostefon, 12 M.J. 431 (C.MLA. 1982).

Appellant defense counsel subsequently filed another
“Grostefon brief” with the United States Court of Military
Appeals. Once again, the same format was utilized for
raising the petitioner’s contentions. The United States
Court of Military Appeals affirmed without discussion.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT
I

The role of appellate defense counsel and the United
States Court of Military Appeals must be analyzed in ac-
cordance with United States v. Grostefon, 12 M.J. 431
(C.M.A 1982).? This decision provides as follows:

Thus, the proper procedure for appellate defense
counsel, after consultation with the accused, is to
identify the issue to the appellate court and to supply
such briefs and argument as he feels will best advance
his client’s interest . . . Appellate defense counsel may
Well wish to restate issues in a manner they believe will
be more responsive to the courts before which they
practice. However, we do not believe that appellate
defense counsel can ignore the issues urged from
below without the express consent of the accused,
after proper advice.
United States v. Grostefon, 12 M.J. at 435-436.

> The pethiioner is not attacking or otherwise challenging appellate
defense counsel’s competence. Instead, this petition is aimed at the ar-
litical constraints that Crostefon imposed upon appellate defense
counsel. In this regard, i should be recognized that “[a]ppellate
detense counsel should not seek to withdraw trom a case solely on the
basis of his or her own determination that the appeal lacks merit.”
Standard 4-8.3, Rules of Professional Responsibility and Air Force
Standards for the Administration of Criminal Justice (1989). In-
terestingly, the accompanying discussion cites United States y.
Grostefon, in support of this ethical standard. See Discussion to Stan-
dard 4-8.3.

4

The Court of Military Appeals stressed that the “iden-
tification of the issue does not necessitate extensive brief-
ing.” Jd. at 437. However, appellate defense counsel is
obligated to advance Grostefon issues until such time as
the accused consents to the withdrawal or abandons the
same. Jd. Finally, Grostefon held that “the Court of
Military Review will, at a minimum, acknowledge that it
has considered those issues enumerated by the accused and
its disposition of them.” /d. at 436.

The Grostefon decision was revisited in United States v.
Healy, 26 M.J. 394 (C.M.A. 1988). The Court emphasized
that “the purpose of our holding in Grostefon was to
assure that an accused had the opportunity to bring to the
attention of the appellate court any issue he wished to have
considered. . . .” Jd. at 397. The Court reiterated that ap-
pellate defense counsel merely had to “identify” issues. /d.
That is, “if the issue has been identified as possibly
meritorious, the Court may require briefs thereon.” /d.

In Anders v. California, 386 U.S. 738 (1967), this Court
addressed appellate counsel’s role in relation to frivolous
issues. In Anders the petitioner was represented by a
court-appointed appellate counsel. Counsel determined
that there was no merit to the appeal, and as such, he so
advised the petitioner and the court. Counsel also advised
the petitioner about filing a brief on his own behalf. The
court granted counsel’s motion to withdraw. When the
court refused the petitioner’s request for another attorney,
the petitioner proceeded on a pro se basis. In condemning
these procedures this Court noted the following:

The constitutional requirement of substantia!
equality and fair process can only be attained where

counsel acts in the role of an active advocate in behalf
of his client, as opposed to that of amicus curiae.

Id. at 744.

This Court held that counsel should either “support his
client’s appeal to the best of his ability” or if he finds the
case is “wholly frivolous” he should request permission to
withdraw. /d. Of course, the request to withdraw must be
“accompanied by a brief referring to anything in the
record that might arguably support the appeal.” /d.
Logically, this approach would “induce the court to pur-
sue all the more vigorously its own review because of the
ready reterences . . . to the legal authorities as furnished it
by counsel.” Jd. at 745.

In Penson v. Ohio, 488 U.S. 75 (1988), a court-
appointed appellate counsel made a motion to withdraw
because he assessed the petitioner's appeal as meritless.
While the state court granted counsel’s motion to
withdraw, the court refused to appoint new counsel. In-
stead, the court held that it would conduct its own in-
dependent review of the petitioner’s record. Ultimately,
the court granted the petitioner some relief.

This Court rejected the state’s approac.. being contrary
to the Anders decision. Namely, counsel’s conclusory
statements provided an inadequate basis for evaluating
counsel’s performance and for evaluating the potential ap-
pellate issues. Accordingly, this Court held that the peti-
tioner was denied assistance of counsel on his appeal.
Moreover, this error was treated as presumptively preju-
dicial.

The instant case engenders the same vexing concerns
that were expressed in Anders and Penson. That is,
Grostefon, as applied, amounts to nothing more than

6

pro se advocacy. First, appellate defense counsel is only
obligated to “identify” issues. United States v. Healy, 26
M.J. at 397. Obviously, this is not consistent with notions
ot forceful advocacy. Moreover, this practice does
nothing to advance the cause of marshalling arguments on
a chient’s behalf. Anders v. California, 386 U.S. at 741. In-
terestingly, no offsetting restrictions are placed on the
Government’s response. In the instant case, the Govern-
ment torpedoed the petitioner’s “Grostefon brief’ with an
authoritative reply. See Gov’t Briet of April 23, 1990.

Second, Grostefon charges the client with the respon-
sibility of identifying his own issues. United States vy.
Healy, 26 M.J. at 397. Consequently, this practice ignores
the reality that “fe]ven the intelligent and educated layman
has small and sometimes no skill in the science of law.”
Powell v. Alabama, 287 U.S. 45, 69 (1932). Yet, this is the
very lay analysis upon which Grostefon rests.

Finally, the Court of Military Appeals is not even
obligated to conduct its own searching review of the
record. Instead, this responsibility has been shifted to the
various Courts of Military Review. United States vy.
Grostefon, 12 M.J. at 436. Obviously, this approach is in-
apposite with the “full examination” that is contemplated
by this Court. -lnders v. California, 386 U.S. at 744.

CONCLUSION

This case warrants Supreme Court intervention. That is,
the Grostefon practice, as crafted by the nation’s highest
military court, amounts to a systematic denial of due proc-
ess. By redefining the role of the attorney-client relation-
ship, Grostefon ettectively left this petitioner to shift for
himself. In the tinal analysis, Grostefon amounts to
nothing more than pro se advocacy under the guise of ap-
pellate representation. Surely, such a practice is at sharp

odds with our treasured notions of American due process.
Theretore, his Petition for Writ of Certiorari should be

granted.

Respectfully submitted,

RiCHARD Wo ALDRICH
Cuptain, Office of the Judge
Advocate General
United States Aw borce
HO USAE JAJD
Bide 5683
Bolling ARB, DC 20332-6128
Counsel for Petitioner

Pati M. DANKOVICH
Cuptain, Office of the Judge
Advocate General
United States Air Force

November 1990

i ~ ‘

; et ee Ly
A Gg. ge
a oa

i .

ee _ wa! eo
7 I —~— wv

APPENDICES

APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES AIR FORCE COURT OF
MILITARY REVIEW

ACM 27357
UNITED STATES
y.

MASTER SERGEANT CHARLES HOUSTON, FR 346-42-2592
UNITED STATES AIR FORCE

9 MARCH 1989

Sentence adjudged 19 August 1988 by GCM convened at
Spangdahlem Air Base, Federal Republic of Germany.
Military Judge: Edward M. Starr (sitting alone).
Approved Sentence: Dishonorable discharge, confinement
for one hundred sixty-two (162) months and reductiomto
airman basic.
Appellate Counsel for the Appellant: Colonel Richard F.
O’Hair and Captain Darla G. Orndortt. Appellate
Counsel for the United States: Colonel Joe R. Lamport;
Lieutenant Colonel Robert) E. Giovagnoni; Major
Kathryn I. Taylor; Major Terry M. Petrie and Major
Mark C. Ramsey, USAFR.
Betore
HobGson, Hottt and PRATI

Appellate Military Judges

(la)

2a

DECISION
PER CURIAM:

The appellant pleaded guilty to repeatedly sexually
abusing his daughter over a period of several years. His
acts Of rape, anal sodomy, carnal knowledge, and indecent
acts began when she was 13 years old ard continued until
she was almost 17.

During the sentencing portion of the proceedings the
assistant trial counsel incorrectly informed the trial judge,
who was sitting alone, that the appellant had 17 years,
three months and three days of active military service. The
truth being that the appellant had over 20 years of active
duty.

Appellate defense cotinsél suggest that “the twenty year
mark is a significant anniversary in the military for years
of service [as] it marks the time when a member becomes
eligible to retire.” They argue that this misstatement as to
the appellant’s length of service may have mislead [sic] the
military judge to adjudge a more severe sentence than he
would have otherwise done.

In our view counsel’s misstatement as to the appellant’s
time in the military had no impact whatever [sic] on the
announced sentence for two reasons: First, the trial judge
had considerable evidence before him that the appellant
was retirement eligible—the Stipulation of Fact outlining
the circumstances of the offenses stated in the opening
paragraph that the appellant had been on active duty since
14 February 1968. The appellant, in his unsworn state-
ment, twice informed the judge he had over 20 years serv-
ice. Finally, in his closing argument, the trial defense
counsel reminded the judge that the appellant had been in
the Air Force “for more than 20 years;” and, Second, the
sentence is entirely appropriate for the appellant’s offenses

3a

regardless of his length of service. The findings of guilty
and the sentence are

AFFIRMED.

OFFICIAL:

/s/ Mary V. Fillman
Mary V. Fini MAN
Captain, USAF
Chief Commissioner

da

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES AIR FORCE COURT OF
MILITARY REVIEW

ACM 27357 (f rev)
UNITED SLATES
vy.

MASTER SERGEANT CHARLES HOUSTON, FR 346-42-259?
UNITED STATES AIR FORCE

10 MAY 1990

Sentence adjudged 19 August 1988 by GCM convened at
Spangdahlem Air Base, Federal Republic of Germany.
Military Judge: Edward M. Starr (silting alone).
Approved Sentence: Dishonorable discharge, confinement
for one hundred sixty-two (162) months and reduction to
airman basic.

Appellate Counsel for the Appellant: Colonel Richard F.
O’Hair and Captain Darla G. Orndorff. Appellate
Counsel for the United States: Colonel Joe R. Lamport;
Colonel Robert E. Giovagnoni:; Major Kathryn I. Taylor;
Major Terry M. Petrie; Major Paul H. Blackwell, Jr.;
Captain Leonard R. Rippey and Major Mark C. Ramsey,
USAER.

Before

HODGSON, SPILLMAN and PRAtI
Appellate Military Judges

DECISION UPON FURTHER REVIEW
PER CURIAM:

On 9 March 1989, we affirmed the appellants’s guilty
plea conviction for rape, anal sodomy, carnal knowledge,
and indecent acts with his teenage daughter. These of-
fenses took place over approximately three years. We also
affirmed a sentence that included a_ dishonorable
discharge, 13 years and six months confinement, and
reduction to airman basic.

On 8 January 1990, the Court of Military Appeals
remanded the appellant’s record of trial to this Court tor
further review based upon his Grosrefon* submission that
his appointed defense counsel only “half-heartedly repre-
sent{ed]” him and were lacking in “basic ethics and com-
petence.” United States v. Houston, 30 M.J. 21 (C.M.A.
1990). In the same document, he claims that the govern-
ment was guilty of “gross negligence” in 1972, when it
erroneously certified him to be medically qualified for Air
Trattic Controller duties even though he had an “abnor-
mal heart condition.” He also asserts that in 1980, the Air
Force caused his wife to undergo two painful and un-
necessary back operations. Additionally, he maintains he
was given incorrect advice in 1972, which cost him over
$18,000.00 in a re-enlistment bonus over the next 12 years.
Finally, he urges that his “daughter was misued by the
government” prior to trial and her “emotional,
psychological, medical and security needs [during this
period] were neglected.” In summary, the appellant con-
tends that his incestuous relationship with his daughter
was the result of stress brought about by the government's
“oross negligence” in assigning him Air Trattic Controller
duties, making his wife submit to two unnecessary opera-

* United States v. Grostefon, 12 Mid. 4310 (CMA. 1982).

6a

tions, and creating a financial hardship by giving him im-
proper advice about his re-enlistment bonus.

We have said it before, but it bears repeating —in-
dividuals convicted of crimes tend to blame their lawyers
and others for their misfortune. The law presumes that
counsel are effective and act in their client’s best interests.
Accordingly, the burden of establishing otherwise is
placed on the person who claims he was not properly de-
fended. To rebut this presumption, an individual who
maintains he was not adequately represented must identify
specific conduct which was unreasonable under acceptable
professional siandards. United States v. Washington, 29
M.J. 536 (A.F.C.M.R. 1989); pert. denied, 30 M.J. 38
(C.M.A,. 1990).

The appellant has assigned a litany of complaints
against his assigned counsel which we have examined in
conjuction with an affidavit from his trial defense counsel.
We consider the appellant’s assertions of ineffective
assistance Of counsel to be devoid of merit and totally un-
founded.

One of the appellant’s claims was that his counsel were
“timid” and “didn’t want to make the government angry.”
Trial defense counsel agreed that he did not want to
“throw stones” as there was no reason “to pick a fight”
with the prosecution since it had the “[appellant’s} confes-
sion, a willing witness, and medical evidence to support
their case.” By reasonable discussions with the govern-
ment, the defense was able to get four specifications
dismissed.

In sum, we conclude that the appellant’s counsel acted
in a professional and effective manner which provided the

7a

appellant vigorous representation. Upon further review,
the findings of guilty and the sentence are again

AFFIRMED

OFFICIAL:

s/ Mary V. Fillman
MARY V. FIbLMAN
Captain, USAF
Chief Commissioner

8a

APPENDIX C

UNITED STATES COURT OF MILITARY APPEALS

No. 63512/AF
CMR 27357

UNITED SLATES
Vv.

CHARLES HOUSTON

PETITIONS FOR GRANT OF REVIEW — OTHER
SUMMARY DISPOSITION

On consideration of appellant’s motion to file affidavit
and appellee’s motion to remand case to the United States
Air Force Court of Military Review, it is ordered that said
motions are hereby granted; that the decision of the
United States Air Force Court of Military Review is set
aside; and that the record of trial is returned to the Judge
Advocate General of the Air Force for remand to that
court for further review.

Ya
APPENDIX D

JINITED STATES COURT OF MILITARY APPEALS

USCMA Dkt. No. 63512/AFr
CMR Dkt. No. 27357

UNITED STATES, APPELLEE

Vv.

CHARLES HOUSTON, (346-42-2592), APPELLANI

On consideration of the petition for grant of review of
the decision of the United States Air Force Court of
Military Review on remand, we conclude that the action
taken by that court was adequate as a matter of law. Ac-
cordingly, it is, by the Court, this 23rd day of August,
1990

ORDERED:

That said petitien is granted; and

That the decision of the United States Air Force Court
of Military Review on remand ts affirmed.

For the Court,

‘s/ John A. Cutts, II
Deputy Clerk of the Court

eer The Judge Advocate General of the Air Force

Appellate Defense Counsel (ORNDOREF)
Appellate Government Counsel (BLACKWELL)

U GOVERNMENT PRINTING OFF t 344 274 234 B28

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385020_3129%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
