# Opposition — Cable News Network, Inc. v. Manuel Antonio Noriega and United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385020_3098%3A03

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1990
- **Citation:** 498 U.S. 976

## Text

Nos. A-870 and 90-767 NOV 17 1990

Ree oe Oe Re Reamer mene - “Maan

Iu the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1990

CABLE NEWS NETWORK, INC., ET AL.,
APPLICANTS-PETITIONERS

Vv.
MANUEL A. NORIEGA, ET AL.

ON APPLICATION TO STAY THE ORDERS
OF THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF FLORIDA
TEMPORARILY BARRING PUBLICATION
OF TAPE RECORDINGS
BEFORE IN CAMERA REVIEW PENDING CONSIDERATION
OF A PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
AND ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

KENNETH W. STARR
Solicitor General

ROBERT S. MUELLER, III
Assistant Attorney General
JOHN G. ROBERTS, JR.
Deputy Solicitor General
MICHAEL R. LAZERWITZ
: Assistant to the Solicitor General
Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530
(202) 514-2217

— Rs aw

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the First Amendment prohibited the dis-
trict court from temporarily barring petitioners from
publishing tape recordings of conversations between
respondent, a criminal defendant awaiting trial, and
his attorneys, before submission of those tape record-
ings for an in camera review, in order to enable the
court to make the factual findings necessary to deter-
mine whether a prior restraint on publication is
permissible,

(I)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

SEES EES Se eo
a csiattemeentaiananenaniinh
ese cnieishannetinnntinnielitentt
AE IT a TE ee SN
Conclusion ...... ...... a acts

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:

CBS v. United States District Court, 729 F.2d 1174
a cieennaiieeens
FW/PBS, Inc. v. City of Dailas, 110 S. Ct. 596
AEE SEES SN SN a
Goldblum v. NBC, 584 F.2d 904 (9th Cir. 1978) ....
Near V. Minnesota, 283 U.S. 697 (1931) -...............
Nebraska Press Ass’n v. Stuart, 423 U.S. 1819
i ssemntnmmanisignene
Nebraska Press Ass’n Vv. Stuart, 427 U.S. 539
eae 4, 6, 11,
New York Times Co. v. United States, 403 U.S. 713
i msemsinne
New York Times Co. v. United States, 403 U.S.
a snseenitnitpsenintoinaiee
Organization for a Better Austin v. Keefe, 402
I csciuenemasanennnmens
Press-Enterprise Co. v. Superior Court, 478 U.S. 1
2 ee ea ar
Seattle Times Co. v. Rhinehart, 467 U.S. 20
SES Ae ee
Southeastern Promotions, Ltd. v. Conrad, 420 U.S.
a csdclenena

United States v. Washington Post Co., 403 U.S.
a nnceenianenines

Constitution:
EE eee Awe 11, 12, 13, 15, 16,

13, 14

Ey

In the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1990

Nos. A-370 and 90-767

CABLE NEWS NETWORK, INC., ET AL.,
APPLICANTS-PETITIONERS

VU.

MANUEL A. NORIEGA, ET AL.

ON APPLICATION TO STAY THE ORDERS
OF THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

TEMPORARILY BARRING PUBLICATION

OF TAPE RECORDINGS
BEFORE IN CAMERA REVIEW PENDING CONSIDERATION
OF A PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
AND ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion and order of the court of appeals (Pet.
App. la-17a, 18a) are not yet reported. The orders
of the district court (Pet. App. 19a-24a, 25a-29a)
are not yet reported.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of apeals was entered
on November 10, 1990. The application for a stay

(1)

2

of the district court’s orders and the petition for a
writ of certiorari were each filed on November 15,
1990. The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under
28 U.S.C. 1254(1) and 2101(f).

STATEMENT

1. Respondent Manuel A. Noriega, a defendant
awaiting trial on federal criminal charges pending
before the United States District Court for the South-
ern District of Florida, is currently detained at the
Metropolitan Correction Center (MCC), Dade
County, Florida. On November 6, 1990, applicants-
petitioners, Cable News Network, Inc., and its parent
corporation, Turner Broadcasting Systems, Ine. (col-
lectively petitioners), notified Noriega’s attorneys
that they were in possession of seven tape recordings
of telephone conversations that Noriega had while he
was housed at the MCC." Petitioners played a portion
of one of those tapes for Noriega’s lead counsel, who
identified the conversation on the tape as one between
Noriega and a legal assistant and interpreter in his
office. Pet. App. 2a-3a, 30a-31a.

As a result of petitioners’ disclosure, Noriega filed
on November 7 an emergency motion for an injunc-
tion in the district court. Noriega sought an order
“prohibiting [petitioners] from broadcasting any
tape recording of any communication between Gen-
eral Manuel Antonio Noriega and any of his lawyers

1The Bureau of Prisons, as a matter of prison security,
routinely monitors the telephone conversations of all inmates
and so informs all inmates. Conversations with attorneys are
not monitored when the inmate notifies prison authorities
that he wishes to speak privately. See Pet. App. 14a-15a, 77a-
78a; see also td. at 14la-146a (release signed by Noriega).

The record contains no information regarding the origin
of the tape recordings petitioners obtained.

3

or his staff.”” Pet. App. 32a.* The district court held
a hearing the next day, November 8. Pet. App. 71la-
100a.

2.a. At the conclusion of the hearing, at which
counsel for petitioners, Noriega, and the government
entered appearances, the district court entered an
order temporarily enjoining petitioners from publish-
ing any of the tapes that contained privileged attor-
ney-client communications. The court’s order did not
apply to conversations that did not contain such priv-
ileged communications. Pet. App. 83a, 86a; see id. at
25a.°

b. Later that day, the district court entered a
written memorandum order and decision explaining
its temporary injunction. Pet. App. 19a-24a. At the
outset, the court noted that

the issue it confronts is unprecedented. The court
is aware of no case, and none has been presented
to it, in which a member of the press sought to
broadcast an otherwise privileged attorney-client
communication.

Id. at 19a. As the court viewed the issue, the case
presented ‘a conflict between Noriega’s right to a

2 Noriega’s motion emphasized that “the objection made is
not to [petitioners’] right to broadcast a story, but specifically
their right to play a particular attorney/client privileged
communication.” Pet. App. 31a.

8 The court had also directed petitioners to produce the
tapes for in camera review, but stayed that portion of its
order. See Pet. App. 87a, 94a-97a.

‘During the hearing, the court directed the government to
refrain from monitoring “further conversations between the
lawyers, their representatives and [Noriega].”’ Pet. App. 86a.
The court also received from the government “under seal a
list of the telephone calls [Noriega made from the MCC].”
Id. at 94a.

4

fair trial and the First Amendment prohibition
against prior restraints.” Jd. at 21a. The court rec-
ognized the gravity of prior restraints: “The right
of the press to be free of prior restraints on speech is,
of course, at the very core of the First Amendment.”
Ibid. For that reason, the court observed, “fa] prior
restraint is presumptively unconstitutional.” bid.
(citing Organization for a Better Austin v. Keefe,
402 U.S. 415, 419 (1971) ).

The court acknowledged that Noriega “bears a
heavy burden to prove that a prior restraint is justi-
fied, and that a prior restraint can issue only where
the danger of disclosure is clear, immediate, and ir-
reparable.” Pet. App. 22a. Following this Court’s
decision in Nebraska Press Ass’n v. Stuart, 427 U.S.
539, 562-568 (1976), the court explained that “the
determination of when prior restraint is justified
where it conflicts with the right of fair trial must
rest upon factual findings based on the contents of
the speech at issue.” Pet. App. 23a. Specifically, the
court stated that its task under Nebraska Press Ass’n
would be to determine “whether the nature and con-
tent of the disclosure [of alleged defense and con-
fidential trial strategy] would impair the right to a
fair trial, whether any less drastic means * * * would
mitigate the effects of the disclosure, and whether a
prior restraint would effectively prevent the harm.”
Ibid. Here, the court pointed out, “the contents of
[petitioners’] tapes are not before the court, and
therefore it is impossible to determine, at this stage,
the precise extent to which Noriega’s right to a fair
trial would be hampered by disclosure.” Jbid.‘

* In these circumstances, and based on Noriega’s allegations
and petitioners’ concessions, see Pet. App. 20a, the district
court assumed that “at least some of the tapes contain discus-

5

Accordingly, the court ordered that “the temporary
injunction imposed on [petitioners] * * * is continued
until such time as [a designated United States magis-
trate reviews the tapes] * * * [to] determine whether
anything contained in the recordings presents a clear,
immediate, and irreparable danger to [Noriega’s]
right to a fair trial.” Pet. App. 23a. The court di-
rected petitioners to provide copies of the tapes to the
magistrate for that purpose. Jd. at 23a-24a.

ec. Petitioners did not comply with the district
court’s directive. Instead, petitioners on November 8
noted an appeal from the district court’s order tem-
porarily enjoining publication of the tapes, Pet. App.
37a-40a, and filed an emergency motion in the court
of appeals for “immediate consideration and vacation
of [that] order,” id. at 41a.

3. a. On November 9, the district court entered a
supplemental order in which it further explained the
basis for the temporary relief it had entered the day

sions of witnesses, evidence, and certain other aspects of
Noriega’s defense,” id. at 23a. This the court viewed as impli-
cating constitutional concerns with respect to the attorney-
client privilege in the context of a criminal case, since the
privilege “serves to protect a criminal defendant’s Sixth
Amendment right to effective assistance of counsel by ensur-
ing unimpeded communication[s] and disclosure by the de-
fendant to his attorney.” Jd. at 20a. The existence of the tape
recordings had, in the court’s view, already frustrated that
underlying purpose of the privilege. No broadcast restraint
would, in the court’s analysis, be justified on that ground alone
for it would merely be “symbolic and prophylactic as far as
this aspect of the attorney-client privilege is concerned.” Id.
at 2la. The court’s concern was therefore focused on the in-
jury flowing from dissemination of the defense’s theory of
the case and its trial strategy. “In this sense, the issue is
really one of the right to a fair trial rather than the attorney-
client privilege per se.” Ibid.

6

before. Pet. App. 25a-29a. The court reiterated that
the

test for determining whether a prior restraint
can issue where the right to a fair tria] is at
stake requires conclusions as to 1) whether the
right to a fair trial would be impaired, 2)
whether less restrictive alternative measures
short of prior restraint are sufficient, and 3)
whether a prior restraint would effectively pre-
vent the harm.

Id. at 26a (citing Nebraska Press Ass’n, 427 U.S.
at 562-568).

That test, the court pointed out, requires a factual
inquiry. Yet because the contents of the tapes were
not before the district court, the court “was in effect
being asked to make a factual determination without
being allowed to review the facts.” Pet. App. 26a.
Noting that petitioners have the tapes but have re-
sisted turning them over to the court for review, the
court remarked that it

seems fundamentally unfair to allow [petition-
ers] to benefit from [their] refusal to disclose
the contents of the tapes to the court—that is,
to allow [petitioners] to argue that no prior re-
straint should issue because no clear and imme-
diate harm is apparent when the only reason
that no clear and immediate harm yet appears
is because [petitioners have] so far prevented
this court from reviewing the content of the
tapes in [their] possession.

Tbid.
Turning to petitioners’ contention that the court
should look to the government to produce the tapes,

the court explained that obtaining all the tapes in the
government’s possession would not identify the ones

7

in petitioners’ possession, and might not even include
all the tapes petitioners have. Pet. App. 26a-27a &
n.l. This case, the court stated, is different from
other prior restraint cases because here it is impos-
sible for the court to make a determination whether
publication would clearly and immediately harm the
competing right at stake “without knowing the pre-
cise contents of the speech sought to be restrained.”
Id. at 28a. The court specifically contemplated an
“expedited review” of the tapes in question before
the magistrate and emphasized that its order “was
not a decision on the merits of [Noriega’s] request
for injunction.” Jd. at 27a. The court therefore or-
dered that the temporary restraining order remain
in effect for the period necessary for the magistrate
to review the tapes, not to exceed ten days. Id. at
28a-29a.

b. Petitioners on November 9 promptly noted an-
other appeal from the district court’s supplemental
order temporarily enjoining publication of the tapes,
Pet. App. 44a-45a, filed another emergency motion in
the court of appeals for “immediate consideration and
vacation of [that] order,” id. at 46a, and sought a
stay of the district court’s order pending appeal, id.
at 49a-53a.’

4. On November 10, the court of appeals—treat-
ing petitioners’ appeals from the district court’s writ-
ten orders prohibiting publication as a petition for a
writ of mandamus—denied relief. Pet. App. la-17a.°

5’ The court of appeals consolidated petitioners’ separate
appeals from the district court orders and directed the gov-
ernment and Noriega to file briefs on the issues presented.
Pet. 8; Appl. 7.

6 Petitioners do not appear to challenge the court of ap-
peals’ characterization of their case. See Pet. 4 & n.4. The

—_

8

The court of appeals acknowledged that this case
“presents a difficult question regarding the District
Court’s responsibility to balance the Sixth Amend-
ment right to a fair trial of [Noriega], with [peti-
tioners’] First Amendment right to be free from
prior restraints against the broadcasting of news-
worthy information.” Jd. at 2a. And in discharging
that responsibility, the court stated, “the trial court
is accorded broad discretion to accomplish its pri-
mary responsibility of ensuring that the accused has
a fair trial.” Id. at 7a.

The court of appeals recognized that “[n]otwith-
standing the District Court’s broad discretion in de-
termining First Amendment interests with respect to
a criminal defendant’s Sixth Amendment right to a
fair trial, a general, conclusory representation that
publicity might deprive a defendant’s right to a fair
trial is insufficient.” Pet. App. 10a (citing Press-
Enterprise Co. v. Superior Court, 478 U.S. 1 (1986) ).
To the contrary, the district court’s determination
“must be definitively and explicitly stated based on

court of appeals also held, as a threshold matter, that it lacked
jurisdiction over petitioners’ appeal from the district court’s
initial oral order, and accordingly dismissed that appeal. Pet.
App. 3a & n.1; id. at 18a. Petitioners have not sought further
review of that aspect of the court of appeals’ judgment.

On the evening of November 9, petitioners aired a news
report that included the tape initially disclosed to Noriega’s
lead counsel. Pet. 7; Pet. App. 54a-55a. As a result, on No-
vember 10, Noriega filed a motion with the district court to
hold petitioners in contempt. Pet. App. 102a-107a. Petition-
ers promptly filed in the court of appeals another emergency
motion to enjoin the district court from holding a contempt
hearing. The court of appeals denied that motion. /d. at 3a,
17a. Petitioners have not sought further review of that
motion. See also note 8, infra.

9

the particular facts and circumstances of this case.”
Pet. App. 12a.

The court of appeals thus held that “it is essential
that the District Court delineate carefully its reasons
for proscribing the broadcasting of the tapes in ques-
tion, * * * [and that] [p]Jarticular attention should
be given to the Sixth Amendment concern for an im-
partial jury.” Pet. App. 12a. Accordingly, the court,
noting its concern with petitioners’ “refusal to obey
the * * * order to release the tapes in question to the
court,” concluded that the district court “must pos-
sess the subject tapes in order to make its in camera
determination of whether the attorney-client com-
munications are privileged.” Ibid.’

In sum, the court of appeals concluded that

the First Amendment interests of the press and
the public will be best served by immediate pro-
duction of the tapes held by [petitioners] so that
the District Court can conduct the difficult bal-
aneing of constitutional rights required under
these circumstances; an obligation which the Dis-
trict Court is required to discharge.

Pet. App. 16a. In the present circumstances, the court
determined, it is “required to speculate as a result
of [petitioners’] refusal to produce the tape record-
ings.” Ibid. As the court observed in closing, “[n]o
litigant can continue to violate a district court’s or-

7In that regard, the court of appeals also concluded that

[w]hether or not the telephonic communications be-
tween Noriega and his defense counsel are privileged,
while not necessarily determinative of whether such
communications should be publically broadcast, would be
relevant to the District Court’s assessment of potential
harm to Noriega’s right to a fair trial.

Pet. App. 15a-16a.

10

der and attempt to have that district court’s order
reviewed at the same time.” [bid.

5. On November 15, after further proceedings in
the district court,® petitioners filed this application
for a stay of the district court’s orders (No. A-370),
together with their petition for a writ of certiorari

(No. 90-767).
ARGUMENT

Despite the broadside attack on the district court’s
orders leveled by petitioners (Appl. 10-32; Pet. 8-31)
and their amici (New York Times Br. 8-18; Amer-
ican Society of Newspaper Editors Br. 1-20), this
case does not require the Court to address the broad
question whether an injunction against publication is
justified on the basis of the record made to date. The
district court has not permanently enjoined petition-
ers’ publication of the Noriega tapes. To the contrary,
the district court carefully crafted its orders for the
limited and specific purpose of providing the court a
brief period within which to carry out its “expedited
review,” Pet. App. 27a, to make promptly the factual

®On November 12, after the court of appeals’ decision, the
district court held a hearing on Noriega’s outstanding motion
for civil contempt against petitioners. Pet. App. 108a-140a.
At that hearing, petitioners advised the district court that
they had “no intention to telecast any attorney-client privilege
conversations until [they] get relief from the Supreme
Court.” Id. at 11la. Moreover, petitioners and Noriega, with
the district court’s approval, agreed at that time to abide by
the district court’s temporary injunction barring publication
of the tapes and the stay of the district court’s order directing
petitioners to produce the tapes for in camera review (see
note 3, supra), pending this Court’s disposition of petitioners’
application for a stay and petition for a writ of certiorari. See
id. at 124a, 188a; Pet. Supp. App. 17-21. In light of these
developments, the district court has taken na further action
‘on Noriega’s pending contempt motion against petitioners.

11

findings that this Court has indicated are necessary
predicates for a restraint on publication in a case in
which fair trial rights are at issue. E.g., Nebraska
Press Ass’n v. Stuart, 427 U.S. 539, 562-568 (1976).
In other words, the question presented here is quite
narrow—whether the First Amendment prohibited the
district court from temporarily barring petitioners
from publishing tape recordings of conversations be-
tween Noriega and his attorneys, before submission
of those tape recordings for an in camera review, in
order to enable the court to make the factual findings
necessary to determine whether a prior restraint on
publication is permissible.

In our view, the district court’s orders—entered
solely for the purpose of enabling an informed deci-
sion to be made under the First Amendment on the
merits of Noriega’s request for an injunction against
publication—are not foreclosed by that same consti-
tutional provision. Rather, as the four judges now to
have considered the issue properly recognized, the
clash between the First Amendment guarantee of a
free press and the constitutional guarantees of fair
criminal proceedings may be accommodated by tem-
porarily preserving the status quo in order to allow
the courts an opportunity to assess and balance the
relevant interests at stake. Only then can the courts
be certain that the significant constitutional inter-
ests on both sides of the balance are weighted appro-
priately.

In light of the sound and limited rulings of the
courts below, the application for a stay and the peti-
tion for a writ ot certiorari should be denied.

1. The narrow question presented is whether the
First Amendment prohibited the district court from
temporarily barring petitioners from publishing tape
recordings of conversations between Noriega and his

12

attorneys, vefore submission of those tape recordings
for an in camera review, in order to enable the court
to make the factual findings necessary to determine
whether a prior restraint on publication is permis-
sible. As they did in the courts below, petitioners
continue to hold fast (Appl. 11-27; Pet. 12-24) toa
position that contains an inherent contradiction: pe-
titioners refuse to produce the tapes to the district
court so that the court can make the factual findings
necessary to determine whether an injunction is justi-
fied; at the same time, petitioners contend that the
district court may not enjoin publication without first
making those findings.

Petitioners’ position can be sustained only if this
Court were prepared to conclude that injunctive re-
lief could never be justified in this case, regardless
of the contents of the tapes petitioners have and in-
tend to publish. Petitioners submit that the First
Amendment licenses their refusal to provide the dis-
trict court with the means to assess the potential
harm that publication of the tapes could cause. In
other words, petitioners assert that, even if the con-
tents of the tapes made it inescapably clear that pub-
lication would render it impossible to ensure Nor-
iega—and the public—a fair trial,’ the First Amend-
ment would still preclude injunctive relief.

® The specific kind and degree of the harm that may result
from broadcasting the tapes depends almost entirely on the
contents of the tapes that petitioners possess and intend to
broadcast. The government cannot now be more specific with
respect to the possible harm that could flow from publication
of the tapes, because the government, like the courts below,
does not know the contents of the material petitioners have
and intend to publish.

Petitioners try to whipsaw the rationale of the courts below
by treating as straw men the asserted interests in preserving

13

This Court’s decisions do not sanction such an ex-
treme vision of the First Amendment. The Court
has long recognized that “the entry of a prior re-
straint on publication * * * [is] one of the most ex-
traordinary remedies known to our jurisprudence.”
Nebraska Press Ass’n, 427 U.S. at 562; see, e.g.,
Near v. Minnesota, 283 U.S. 697 (1931). Nonethe-
less, as made plain in Nebraska Press Ass’n, “[t]his
Court has frequently denied that First Amendment
rights are absolute and has consistently rejected the
proposition that a prior restraint can never be em-
ployed.” 427 U.S. at 570; see, e.g., New York Times
Co. v. United States, 403 U.S. 713, 714 (1971); Or-
ganization for a Better Austin v. Keefe, 402 U.S. at
419-420; see also Seattle Times Co. v. Rhinehart, 467
U.S. 20, 32 (1984). Just last Term this Court re-
iterated that “ ‘[p]rior restraints are not unconstitu-
tional per se * * *.’” FW/PBS, Inc. v. City of Dal-
las, 110 S. Ct. 596, 604 (1990) (opinion of O’Con-
nor, J.) (quoting Southeastern Promotions, Ltd. v.
Conrad, 420 U.S. 546, 558 (1975) ).

Given the daunting remedy of a prior restraint,
and the need to accommodate the right to a free press
guaranteed by the First Amendment with other
equally weighty constitutional interests,’® this Court

privileged communications and avoiding prejudicial pretrial
publicity. See Appl. 17-27; Pet. 20-23. But that tactic does
not obscure the fact that if the tapes contain highly prejudi-
cial material or reveal defense strategy in some significant
way, publication of those tapes could have a direct, adverse
effect on the prospects for a fair trial. Petitioners’ position
is that the district court is not even permitted to find out if
that is the case.

10 As this Court has pointed out, for example, “[t]he au-
thors of the Bill of Rights did not undertake to assign priori-

14

has recognized that the critical question is “whether
the entry of * * * an order [restraining publication]
on the showing made before the * * * court violated
the constitutional guarantee of freedom of the press.”’
Nebraska Press Ass’n, 427 U.S. at 541 (emphasis
added) ; see id. at 562 (“whether the record supports
the entry of a prior restraint on publication”). In
other words, the searching constitutional inquiry this
Court has demanded—focusing on the impairment of
otherwise protected constitutional rights, the avail-
ability of alternative measures short of a prior re-
straint, and the effectiveness of the restraint, see id.
at 562-568—requires (and presupposes) an adequate
record from which the court can reasonably deter-
mine whether the particular case falls within the
narrow category of cases in which a prior restraint
is permissible. Indeed, in the Nebraska Press Ass’n
case, the Court struck down an injunction against
publication of information about a criminal defend-
ant only after concluding that the probability of prej-
udice to the defendant’s right to a fair trial “was not
demonstrated with the degree of certainty our cases
on prior restraint require.” 427 U.S. at 569.

In light of these settled principles, the district court
properly entered orders necessary to maintain the
status quo pending the court’s findings as to the na-
ture of the tape recordings at issue. Without such
temporary restraining orders, petitioners presumably
would have published the tape recordings, which in
turn would have rendered the request for injunctive
relief moot. Although this Court has emphasized that
a “prior restraint[] * * * bear[s] a heavy presump-

ties as between [the] First Amendment and Sixth Amend-
ment rights, ranking one as superior to the other.” Nebraska
Press Ass’n, 427 U.S. at 561.

15

tion against its constitutional validity,” New York
Times Co. v. United States, 403 U.S. at 714 (internal
quotation marks and citations omitted), the Court
has never held that a federal court may not ever ex-
ercise its authority to maintain the status quo pend-
ing a determination whether a prior restraint is ap-
propriate in a particular case. To the contrary, this
Court entered just such an order in the Pentagon
Papers cases. See New York Times Co. v. United
States, 403 U.S. 942 (1971); United States v. Wash-
ington Post Co., 403 U.S. 943 (1971).”

Here, petitioners’ request for emergency relief, al-
though styled as an application for a stay pending
the disposition of certiorari, at bottom seeks from
this Court the functional equivalent of summary dis-
position of their claim on the merits, namely, that
the First Amendment prohibited the district court
from temporarily barring publication in order to en-
able the court to make the factual findings necessary
to determine whether a prior restraint is permissible.
If the district court’s orders were stayed by this
Court, petitioners would be free to publish the tape
recordings and, in so doing, would render the con-
troversy effectively moot. As shown above, this
Court’s decisions do not countenance such an inflexi-
ble and counterintuitive approach to the First Amend-
ment. Moreover, in the past, this Court has not
hesitated to preserve the status quo in analogous

11 Indeed, in the Nebraska Press Ass’n case, Justice Black-
mun, sitting as Circuit Justice, denied an application for a
stay to lift the state court’s restraining order that essentially
maintained the status quo pending further proceedings. See
Nebraska Press Ass’n Vv. Stuart, 423 U.S. 1819, 1832-1333
(1975) (in chambers). And this Court later denied petition-
ers’ application for a more extensive stay in that case. Id.
at 1027.

16

cases in order to ensure an orderly and effective
means of judicial review. E..g., Nebraska Press Ass’n
v. Stuart, 423 U.S. 1027 (1975); ef. FW/PBS, Inc.,
110 S. Ct. at 612 (Brennan, J., concurring in the
judgment) (in licensing context, “any prior restraint
in advance of a final judicial determination on the
merits must be no longer than that necessary to pre-
serve the status quo pending judicial resolution’’).

The critical point is that the First Amendment is
part of the rule of law, not above it. It is certainly
true that, under the First Amendment, a lasting prior
restraint on publication may be justified only in the
most extraordinary circumstances. But the rule of
law requires permitting a court to determine if those
circumstances exist. This may or may not be the rare
case in which a lasting prior restraint is justified.
The district court entered the challenged orders to
find out. And those orders were expressly intended
to be temporary in duration so the district court could
promptly carry out its process of “expedited review.”’
This, then, is a far cry from the situations that ob-
tained in this Court’s “prior restraint” cases. Ac-
cordingly, petitioners’ application for a stay of the
district court’s orders should be denied.

2. The narrow issue actually presented by the
petition for certiorari—whether the First Amendment
prohibited the district court from temporarily bar-
ring publication in order to enable the court to make
the factual findings necessary to determine whether
a prior restraint is permissible—does not now war-
rant this Court’s review. As explained above, the
approach adopted by the district court and court of
appeals for addressing Noriega’s request for an ex-
traordinary prior restraint on publication is both
sensible and consistent with this Court’s decisions.

17

And contrary to petitioners’ sweeping submission
(see, e.g., Pet. 26-31), the decision below is not at
odds with a host of other lower court decisions. In
each of those decisions, the court had before it an
adequate record—including at least a sufficient de-
scription of the material sought to be published—to
undertake the requisite constitutional inquiry. See,
e.g., CBS v. United States District Court, 729 F.2d
1174 (9th Cir. 1983) (government surveillance tapes
of criminal defendant) ; Goldblum v. NBC, 584 F.2d
904 (9th Cir. 1978) (Kennedy, J.) (“docudrama”
film about convicted defendant’s well-publicized fraud
scheme). Here, by contrast—in light of the peculiar
circumstances presented by petitioners’ having tape
recordings whose contents are unknown—the courts
below had no such record with which to make the
appropriate inquiry. Nothing in the First Amend-
ment, this Court’s decisions, or the decisions of lower
federal and state courts, requires the difficult issues
surrounding a motion for an injunction barring pub-
lication to be resolved in such a manner.”*

2 The fact that, in cases such as CBS and Goldblum, the
courts did not have access to the tapes and film in question is
irrelevant, since the courts otherwise had sufficient informa-
tion to assess the significance of the materials at issue.

18 Petitioners assert in passing (Pet. 25) that the district
court’s restraining orders are unconstitutionally vague. The
record belies that suggestion, where petitioners themselves
have told the d#@rict court that they fully understand the
scope of those orders, i.e., that they would not “telecast any
attorney-client privilege conversations” pending disposition
of the case before this Court. Pet. App. llla. Indeed, on
November 13, petitioners reiterated before the district court
that they understood that they “are under a Court Order
restraining us from telecasting any privileged attorney-client
communications between Mr. Noriega, General Noriega and
his lawyers.” Pet. Supp. App. 17.

18

In the end, petitioners and amici trumpet that this
case poses a conflict between free press and fair
trial. And they have no doubt as to how that conflict
should be resolved. But the purpose of the narrow
orders entered by the district court was not to pro-
tect the parties’ right to a fair trial, it was rather to
determine the extent to which that right was threat-
ened and, if so, what steps—if any—were necessary
and appropriate to protect it. There will be time
enough for the lower courts and this Court to con-
sider whether a lasting prior restraint over publica-
tion of privileged attorney-client communications is
permissible to ensure a fair trial, when we know
whether petitioners’ tapes contain such communica-
tions, and whether-—given their contents—such an
injunction would be the only effective alternative.
We do not yet know that. Review by this Court is
thus, at the least, premature.

In short, petitioners ask this Court to resolve the
questions they present in a vacuum. Their request is
all the more remarkable for its sweep. In their
view, this Court should now hold that the First
Amendment right to publish prevails no matter what
might be on the tapes and no matter what the effect
of publication might be. Petitioners make generous
use of the term “unprecedented,” see, e.g., Pet. 8,
but it is, upon close scrutiny, the ruling they seek
from this Court—that a federal court cannot even
ask what it is that will be published in considering
whether publication is protected—that would be truly
unprecedented. The Court should decline the rushed
invitation to embrace that vision of the First Amend-
ment.

en

19

CONCLUSION

The application for a stay of the district court’s
orders pending the disposition of the petition for a
writ of certiorari and the petition for a writ of cer-
tiorari shculd be denied.

Respectfully submitted.

KENNETH W. STARR
Solicitor General

ROBERT S. MUELLER, ITI
Assistant Attorney General

JOHN G. ROBERTS, JR.
Deputy Solicitor General

MICHAEL R. LAZERWITZ
Assistant to the Solicitor General

NOVEMBER 199%

WT ov. S. GOVERNMENT PRINTING OFFicE; 1990 282061 20210

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385020_3098%3A03. Public record. Not legal advice.
