# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — McKnight v. General Motors Corp.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385020_3089%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1991
- **Citation:** 499 U.S. 919

## Text

90-756

No.

In The

Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1990

GARY McKNIGHT,

Petitioner,

GENERAL MOTORS CORPORATION,
Respondent.

>

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

@

Rosert J. Gincras, Esq.
Counsel of Record

Casey A. Nacy, Esq.

GincrRAS & SCHAEFER, S.C.

131 South Wilson Street, #610

Madison, Wisconsin-53703

(608) 255-0061

November 12, 1990

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Did the circuit court below err in construing Pat-
terson v. McLean Credit Union to obviate claims for dis-
criminatory discharge pled pursuant to 42 U.S.C. 1981,
thus furthering disagreement among the circuit and
lower courts on Patterson’s import in this regard, when
the Patterson Court itself did not address this point -
apparently leaving in effect that part of the Fourth Cir-
cuit’s underlying opinion recognizing section 1981 dis-
criminatory discharge claims - and post-Patterson
decisions of this Court similarly appear to recognize the
continuing colorability of such claims?

2. The Patterson Court observed that 42 U.S.C. 1981
would support a claim concerning racial discrimination
that influenced the making of “a new and distinct relation
between the employee and the employer”; in view of this
observation, did the circuit court below err in holding
that Petitioner’s recall from an indefinite layoff by the
Respondent did not reflect a “new” employment relation-
ship when substantial evidence illustrated (1) that the
recall was prompted by several discrimination complaints
filed against the Respondent by the Petitioner, (2) that the
Petitioner was advised by Respondent that his recall
would be short-lived unless he withdrew those com-
plaints, and (3) that Petitioner’s refusal to withdraw the
complaints led Respondent to engage in an escalating
course of discriminatory and/or retaliatory conduct
against the Petitioner that resulted in his termination?

il
PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

Petitioner is Gary McKnight. Respondent is General
Motors Corporation. Petitioner is unaware of any existing
parent corporation of the Respondent. Petitioner and
Respondent are the parties of record ir all proceedings
below.

ili

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
Opinions Below ..........-..-.. sees seen eee eee 1
ee C556 bbs bee ess dee sesenncansveceess 1
Statutes Involved... ...... 2.0... ccc cece eee eens 2
re ceca sansa vedaesaseses 2
Reasons for Granting the Petition...........--..-.. 6
EE EER ee 15
Appendix A........... cece eee e eee eee eee e eens la
Appendix B............. cece cece e eee eee e eee enee 30a
Oe ee ee 42a
Appendix D.............. 20. ccc eee eee eee eens 43a

ne

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
CASES:
Birdwhistle v. Kansas Power & Light, 723 F.Supp.
er CO Sg rh) nee en ot a EY ry, 12
Booth v. Terminex Int'l., 722 F.Supp. 675 (D. Ka.
Ses Seka OG be Covey es bid cee eR ee oy 13

Christian v. Beacon Journal Publishing Co., No.
89-3822 (6th Cir., July 17, 1990), unpub. op. at
eg UR Mer re 14

Coleman v. Domino's Pizza, Inc., 728 F.Supp. 1528

RES PU OD ae < cue ad 465 o 0 ekn cc hadavcas Reaacune 12
Courtney v. Canyon Television and Appliance Rental,
inc. G99 Fada G45 (th Cir, 1990)...............45; 12

Delaware State College v. Ricks, 449 U.S. 250 (1980) .... 10

Eklof v. Bramalea Ltd., 733 F.Supp. 935 (E.D. Pa.
PRE A Se Caw aCe VAAN C eee bake enga th hank oh oases 12

Goodman v. Lukens Steel Co., 482 U.S. 656 (1987)..... 10

Hayes v. Community General Osteopathic Hospital,

40 FSupp. 1335 (M.D. Pa. 1989) ..............5.. 12
Hicks v. Brown Group, Inc., 902 F.2d 630 (8th Cir.
1990), reh’g and reh’g en banc denied............ 11, 12
Jett v. Dallas Independent School District, 109 S.Ct.
SPE MEMNP 6 occ scenes estieececcvasensnsncncenss 11
Johnson v. Railway Express Agency, 421 U.S. 454 |
ena eT re Coen apelin eer ac 10 |
Johnson v. United States Elevator Corp., 723 F.Supp. |
Se I 5 5k okies CWS ES eek en ken oes 12

Lavender v. V & B Transmissions and Auto Repair,
897 F.2d 805 (Sth Cir. 1990)

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Long v. A.T. & T. Information Systems, Inc., 733
FSupp. 1188 (S.D. N.Y. 1990) ... 2.6... cc nevcewenes 12

Lytle v. Household Mfg., Inc., 110 S.Ct. 1331 (1990) .... 11

McDonald v. Sante Fe Trail Transp. Co., 427 U.S. 273
0 ee rere rr Teer rer ryt Settee ee 10

Malelcian v. Pottery Club of Aurora, Inc., 724 F.2d
1279 (D. Cole. 1909)... 25.0.5 cc cee cewreesrinesss 12

McKnight v. General Motors Corp, 908 F.2d 104 (7th
Re: CRD cc osechank sues ss ches ese ewe (ue ubeeaenees 1

Molhatra v. Cotter & Co., 885 F.2d 1305 (7th Cir.

PE, CoC U GUL Oe Vek ea Lae Rhee a eee 13
Padilla v. United Airlines, Inc., 716 F.Supp. 570 (D.

i Se Coc cae eh aw et eu eae eek eee ee Ran 12
Patterson v. McLean Credit Union, 109 S.Ct. 2363

GUE Ss ccsudeceeues au ve Rae ease anes Ont eeeos passim
Rathjen v. Litchfield, 878 F.2d 836 (5th Cir. 1989)..... 13
Runyan v. McCrary, 427 U.S. 160 (1976)............-. 10
Saint Francis College v. Al-Khazraji, 481 U.S. 604

2 > SERRE ees LC Sn er get en poe NC Ya 10
White v. Federal Express Corp., 729 F.Supp. 1536

Ge > WE Se Sie clk ba oe eee eae Denn rma 12
CONSTITUTION, STATUTES AND RULES:
eg a mee” a ae er ter Tie 1
ee ee ED ccs 6 kon Raw OE Red baked eee eee 1

yk ae: A re een ee ee ee ee er ee eee ry 3

vi

TA" UE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page
i abla kde ke vache dae hei cco 3
TE yo 566 de ¥'Sk kivak Sawn ad wabasix eda ck passim
SE USL. BOOS) ef 809.0... ccc ccc ccc cccuccaccess y ae
NY MIE se 6s onsnccsecnd eenendacenedddceen 2
ee 2
3, Be reas oo te te fe 8, 9, 13
MIsCELLANEOUs:
McCarthy, Recovery of Damages for Wrongful
SS es occ ca een ty Gy vee td Cucactchinn ce 7
Perritt, Employee Dismissal Law and Practice (2d
EMRE IG RG ed at an ile en 2, 6

Player, Employment Discrimination Law (1988).....2, 6

The Petitioner Gary McKnight respectfully seeks a
writ of certiorari to review the judgment of the United
States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit, entered
July 2, 1990.

a
af

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals affirming in part
and remanding in part Petitioner’s Title VII relief, and
reversing with directions to dismiss Petitioner’s Section
1981 relief (App., infra., 1a), appears at 908 F.2d 104. The
court of appeals’ order and amended order denying Peti-
tioner’s petition for rehearing with suggestion for rehear-
ing en banc are unreported (App., infra., 42a, 43a). The
decision and order of the district court affirming the
jury’s special verdict and denying Respondent's post-trial
motions, is unreported (App., infra., 30a).

>
_

JURISDICTION

The opinion and judgment of the court of appeals
was filed on July 2, 1990. The order and amended order
of the court of appeals denying Petitioner’s petition for
rehearing with suggestion for rehearing en banc were
filed on August 23, 1990. The jurisdiction of this Court is
invoked under 28 U.S.C. 1254(1). Article III, sec. 2 of the
United States Constitution provides that the judicial
power vested in the Supreme Court under Article III, sec.
1 extends to “all cases, in law and equity, arising under
this Constitution, the laws of the United States... ”

La.
~

STATUTES INVOLVED

The federal statutory provision primarily involved is
42 U.S.C. 1981 (App., infra., 44a). Also germane to the
issues raised, in view of the Patterson court’s reasoning
and the circuit court’s interpretation thereof, are the foi-
lowing provisions of Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of
1964, 42 U.S.C. 2000(e) et seq., as these provisions overlap
in part the pertinent scope of relief available under 42
U.S.C. 1981; 42 U.S.C. 2000(e)-2 (App., infra., 44a); 42
U.S.C. 2000(e)-3 (App., infra., 49a).

,%
vr

STATEMENT

During the 1988-89 term, the Court pointedly
addressed the relationship between 42 U.S.C. 1981 and
provisions of the 1964 Civil Rights Act, 42 U.S.C. 2000(e)
et seq., particularly as each affords somewhat overlapping
yet distinct remedies for employers’ discriminatory treat-
ment of employees. Patterson v. McLean Credit Union, 109
S.Ct. 2363 (1989). The instant petition concerns a signifi-
cant aspect of this statutory relationship that was not
expressly addressed by the Patterson court: whether a
claim for discriminatory (and/or retaliatory) discharge is
colorable under 42 U.S.C. 1981. Prior to Patterson, there
was no question but that such a claim was colorable
under 42 U.S.C. 1981. See, e.g., Perritt, Employee Dis-
missal Law and Practice (2d ed. 1987) sec. 2.8 at 61;

Player, Employment Discrimination Law (1988) sec. 8.02
at 615.

Following Patterson, disagreement has developed
among several of the circuit courts and numerous district

courts on the question of whether discriminatory (and/or
retaliatory) discharge claims remain colorable under 42
U.S.C. 1981. The circuit court of appeals decision in the
proceedings below furthered this disagreement.

The events culminating in the recent decision of the
court of appeals are recounted below. The bases of juris-
diction in the trial court were 28 U.S.C. 1331, 28 U.S.C.
1343, 42 U.S.C. 1981, and 42 U.S.C. 2000e et seq. (Title VII).

1. The Petitioner, a black American, was initially
hired by the Respondent as a Management Supervisor on
August 14, 1978. For approximately 3'/2 years, he rou-
tinely received very favorable performance appraisals.
Petitioner was indefinitely laid off, however, effective
December 31, 1981; he filed a complaint with the Wiscon-
sin Equal Rights Division on January 25, 1982, alleging
that his layoff was due to sexual and racial discrimination
by the Respondent.

2. Soon after the Respondent learnc 1 of the Peti-
tioner’s ERD complaint, it recalled the Petitioner from
layoff. The Petitioner was then constantly pressured by
the Respondent’s managerial agents to withdraw his
complaint, and threatened with the loss of his job if he
failed to do so. These threats escalated when, in June
1982, the Petitioner amended his ERD complaint to
account for the abuse he was receiving following his
recall. On February 18, 1983 the Petitioner filed a second
ERD complaint regarding the escalated discriminatory
and retaliatory treatment he endured as a result of
amending the original ERD complaint in June 1982. Also
on February 18, 1983, Petitioner commenced a state court
action against the Respondent and two of its managerial

agents on the basis of the allegations contained in the
initial ERD complaint (as amended); prior to so doing,
the Petitioner had received “probable cause” findings
from the ERD investigator concerning the central allega-
tions of the initial ERD complaint.

3. The Respondent’s managerial agents were openly
antagonistic toward the Petitioner for filing the refer-
enced complaints. These managerial agents subjected
Petitioner to extraordinary supervision, initiated an
extraordinary sequence of performance evaluations,
placed him in what was known to be the most trouble-
some area of the plant at which he was employed,
warned other employees to stay away from him and/or
not to cooperate with him, and at one point tried to
summarily fire him in total derogation of the Respon-
dent’s established policies and procedures for personnel
management. When this penultimate effort was thwarted,
the managerial personnel involved arranged personnel
substitutions to further their efforts to terminate the Peti-
tioner and, the day after Petitioner’s second ERD com-
plaint received a “no probable cause” finding and several
of his state court suit causes of action were dismissed, the
Respondent did terminate his employment irrespective of
the Respondent’s obligation to allow the Petitioner the
chance to complete the “Performance Improvement Plan”
in which he had been enrolled. These managerial agents
had, not coincidentally, remained appraised of all devel-
opments in the Petitioner’s litigation even though they
had no legitimate business reason for so doing.

4. Petitioner thus became the only managerial
employee ever terminated by the Respondent at the facil-
ity in which he was employed. He was also the first such

employee to file a discrimination and/or retaliation com-
plaint against the Respondent. The only other non-man-
agerial employee of the Respondent to file such a
complaint at this same facility was also terminated.

5. Following his termination, the Petitioner com-
menced the underlying suit in the United States District
Court for the Eastern District of Wisconsin. The action
was tried to a jury, which returned a verdict on October
12, 1988, in favor of the Petitioner on the questions of
whether his termination resulted from racial and retalia-
tory motives. Petitioner was awarded $110,000.00 in com-
pensatory damages ($55,000 for back pay and $55,000 for
pain and suffering) and $500,000.00 in punitive damages.
Judgment was entered on the verdict on October 14, 1988,
and the Respondent’s motions for post-trial relief were
denied by the district court in a written decision (App.,
infra., 30a). The trial court also denied Petitioner’s request
for reinstatement, for reasons also enunciated in its writ-
ten decision.

6. The court of appeals affirmed the judgment of the
district court to the extent it awarded the Petitioner back
pay pursuant to Title VII. The court of appeals also
remanded for consideration of Petitioner’s entitlement to
reinstatement or front pay, again pursuant to Title VII.
The court of appeals reversed the judgment insofar as it
awarded relief pursuant to 42 U.S.C. 1981, and ordered
dismissal of all claims brought thereunder. Petitioner’s
awards of $55,000.00 for pain and suffering and
$500,000.00 in punitive damages were thus vacated.
(App., infra., la).

The court of appeals majority opined that Petitioner’s
discharge did not infringe his right to “make” or
“enforce” a contract on non-discriminatory terms, and
therefore fell outside the ambit of 42 U.S.C. 1981 as
analyzed by this Court in Patterson. The dissent objected
to this interpretation of Patterson insofar as it barred
claims for discriminatory discharge. The court of appeals
also unanimously concluded that the Petitioner’s recall
from layoff did not constitute a “new or distinct” employ-
ment relationship, even though the recall was condi-
tioned by racial animus and retaliatory motives, and was
followed by an increasing course of employment abuse
that eventuated the Petitioner’s termination.

7. On July 11, 1990, Petitioner moved the court of
appeals for rehearing with a suggestion for rehearing en
banc. This motion was denied on August 21, 1990.

8. Pending submission of the instant petition, Peti-
tioner moved the court of appeals for a stay of mandate.
The court of appeals temporarily stayed the mandate on
September 6, 1990 for a period that expired on October 4,
1990.

7%
4

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

Prior to Patterson, claims for wrongful discharge were
clearly colorable under 42 U.S.C. 1981 wherever the dis-
charge was alleged to have resulted from racial or retalia-
tory motive. Perritt, Employee Dismissal Law and
Practice (2d ed. 1987) sec. 2.8 at 61; Player, Employment
Discrimination Law (1988) sec. 8.02 at 615. In fact, as
acknowledged by the court of appeals, the Respondent

never challenged the colorability of Petitioner’s Section
1981 claims. Even in the multiple briefs submitted to this
Court in Patterson, the Respondent there expressly con-
ceded that Section 1981 supported any action for dis-
charge alleged to have resulted from racially discrimi-
natory motives.

Following Patterson, at least one commentator still
considers discharge and retaliation cases to “almost
always” fall within the ambit of Section 1981. McCarthy,
Recovery of Damages for Wrongful Discharge (2d ed.
1990) sec. 5.6 at 391. Several of the courts of appeal have
considered this question, however, as have numerous of
the district courts, and radically opposed conclusions
have resulted. This disagreement is exemplified in the
pointed dissent of Judge Fairchild of the court of appeals
below, directed at this very question. Plainly underlying
this disagreement, which continues unresolved in view of
factors to be outlined below, are the lower court’s varied
interpretations of this Court’s reasoning in Patterson (and
subsequent cases) regarding the scope and character of
the remedies available under 42 U.S.C. 1981 relative to
those available under Title VII.

The unfairness and uncertainty that inheres to the
discordant interpretations of Patterson by the lower courts
on this critical issue, of the colorability of discriminatory
(and retaliatory) discharge claims under Section 1981,
warrants review by this Court. Also warranting review is
a secondary issue that springs not from the silence of the
Patterson Court, as does the foregoing issue, but from the
Court’s suggestion that a section 1981 claim for discrimi-
nation in the “making” of a contract might extend to an
event — such as a promotion - that results ina “new and

distinct” relationship between employer and employee.
Given the radically different contours of Petitioner’s
employment relationship with the Respondent before and
after his recall from layoff, and the genesis of that differ-
ence in Petitioner’s pursuit of discrimination claims
against the Respondent, Petitioner suggests that a “new
and distinct” relationship was effected in terms pro-
scribed by Section 1981, and that the court of appeals was
overly cautious and restrictive in its interpretation of

Patterson on this point. These two issues are examined in
turn.

1. The Patterson Court held, in principal, that sec-
tion 1981 relief is available only to persons victimized by
discrimination that effects either the making of a contract
or efforts to enforce rights obtained under a contract.
Consequently, the Court observed that discriminatory
conduct occurring in the course of a contractual relation-
ship — but independently of the formation of the contract
or efforts to enforce rights obtained under it — falls out-
side the ambit of Section 1981 and is more suitably
remedied by Title VII and/or state contract law. 109 S.Ct.
at 2372-73. The Court explained that this limitation on
section 1981 resulted in the most complementary relation-
ship to Title VII, which, while subject to some overlap
with Section 1981, was more distinctly designed to rem-
edy discriminatory practices occurring within the scope
of the employment contract and thus amenable to correc-
tion by Title VII mediation and conciliation between the
parties to the contract.

Significantly, the Court observed that it was sensible
for Congress to create an overlap in this regard — between
the conciliatory remedies of Title VII and the harsher

remedies of Section 1981 — with regard to refusals to hire
for reasons of race. In this regard, the Court especially
noted that where discrimination inheres to the beginning
of a contractual relationship, “Title VII’s mediation and
conciliation procedures would be of minimal effect, for
there is not yet a relation to salvage”. 109 S.Ct. at 2375.
Speaking more broadly, the Court also noted that an
aggrieved employee would be less likely to agree to a
conciliation if he or she could obtain the larger damages
recoverable under Title VII. 109 S.Ct. at 2375 n.4.

For the very reasons articulated by the Patterson
Court, as noted above, it is an equally sensible perception
that Congress intended an overlap between Title VII and
Section 1981 in regard to discriminatory termination of
contractual relations or, in the context of employment
cases, discriminatory discharge. At the instant a discrimi-
natory discharge is effected, the aggrieved employee no
longer has a relationship with the employer that is genu-
inely amenable to conciliation or mediation; nor, to state
the obvious, is the employee unnaturally drawn to Sec-
tion 1981 remedies instead of Title VII remedies, since the
latter are not as well designed to compensate a dis-
charged employee for the range of economic, emotional,
and other injuries that tend to accompany the trauma of
an unjust employment termination. Moreover, Section
1981 remedies are particularly appropriate to discharge
cases, in that the employer who discharges an employee
for discriminatory reasons should be subjected to puni-
tive and compensatory damages - the employer has
already rejected, by its actions, the very attitude encour-
aged through the focus of Title VII.

10

The logic of perceiving Section 1981 to extend to
discriminatory discharge cases has been historically per-
ceived: prior to Patterson such claims were broadly con-
sidered colorable, the Fourth Circuit in the lower
proceedings in Patterson conceded them to be colorable,
the Respondent in Patterson in the proceedings before this
Court acknowledged them to be colorable, and this Court
in Patterson gave no indication of retracting or abridging
that well-established premise.

Notably in this last regard, this Court did not at all
advert to a sequence of its pre-Patterson decisions
expressly recognizing or implicitly acknowledging dis-
criminatory discharge claims to be colorable under Sec-
tion 1981. See, e.g., Goodman v. Lukens Steel Co., 482 U.S.
656 (1987), Saint Francis College v. Al-Khazraji, 481 U.S. 604
(1987); Delaware State College v. Ricks, 449 U.S. 250 (1980);
McDonald v. Santa Fe Trail Transp. Co., 427 U.S. 273 (1976);
Johnson v. Railway Express Agency, 421 U.S. 454 (1975).
Given the Patterson Court’s extended discussion concern-
ing Runyan v. McCrary, 427 U.S. 160 (1976), and the mani-
fold considerations noted to effect the overruling of
established precedent, it seems very doubtful that the
Patterson Court would have overruled sub silentio all of its
earlier decisions recognizing or acknowledging Section
1981 discriminatory discharge claims. The doubtfulness
of such a course is further suggested by the Patterson
majority’s response to points made by Mr. Justice Bren-
nan in his partial dissent. While the majority did respond
in substantial scope to a number of Justice Brennan’s
comments, the majority did not challenge his observation
that Section 1981 still would contemplate an action for
discriminatory discharge:

11

The very same legislative history that supports
our interpretation of Section 1981 in Runyon also
demonstrates that the 39th Congress intended,
in the employment context, to go beyond pro-
tecting the freedmen from refusals to contract
for their labor and from discriminatory deci-
sions to discharge them. 109 S.Ct. at 2388.

Regarding all of the foregoing observations, a detailed
discussion appears in Hicks v. Brown Group, Inc., 902 F.2d
630 (8th Cir. 1990), reh’g and reh’g en banc denied. Hicks
additionally notes that virtually all circuits recognized
Section 1981 claims for discriminatory discharge prior to
Patterson. 902 F.2d at 638 n.18 (with citations).

Just as this Court’s jurisprudence prior to and inclu-
sive of Patterson appears to leave intact Section 1981
claims for discriminatory discharge, the Court’s post-Pat-
terson jurisprudence does not provide any contrary indi-
cation. Specifically, in at least two recent instances, the
Court has declined to observe discharge claims to be
obsolete under Section 1981 as a result of Patterson; the
logical import of the Court’s declination in this respect
would be that Patterson simply did not address the ques-
tion or abridge in any respect the existing body of prece-
dent positively recognizing Section 1981 discriminatory
discharge claims. See Jett v. Dallas Independent School Dis-
trict, 109 S.Ct. 2702 (1989); Lytle v. Household Mfg., Inc.,
110 S.Ct. 1331 (1990).

While this Court does not appear to have ruled in
Patterson — or elsewhere —- that Section 1981 no longer
contemplates actions for discriminatory discharge, an
increasing number of the lower courts have, on the basis
of Patterson, elected to resolve this issue through inter-
pretations of this Court’s reasoning in Patterson. Among

12

the circuit courts of appeal, the Eighth Circuit has specifi-
cally declined to find that Patterson obviates Section 1981
discharge claims, primarily for the reasons recounted
above by the Petitioner. Hicks v. Brown Group, Inc., 902
F.2d 630 (8th Cir. 1990) (also citing additional cases find-
ing Patterson to be silent on the question of Section 1981
discharge claims). Petitioner concedes that most courts
addressing this issue subsequent to Patterson, however,
have concluded that this Court’s reasoning in Patterson
obviates Secticn 1981 discharge claims. In addition to the
opinion of the Seventh Circuit Court of Appeals below,
the Fifth and Ninth Circuits have similarly reached this
conclusion. See, e.g. Lavender v. V & B Transmissions and
Auto Repair, 897 F.2d 805 (5th Cir. 1990); Courtney v.
Canyon Television and Appliance Rental, Inc., 899 F.2d 845
(9th Cir. 1990). Most of the district courts considering this
issue have also concluded that Patterson signifies a depar-
ture from settled law on the question of discriminatory
discharge claims under Section 1981, and that such claims
are no longer colorable. See, e.g., Eklof v. Bramelea Ltd., 733
F.Supp. 935 (E.D. Pa. 1989); Malelcian v. Pottery Club of
Aurora, Inc., 724 F.Supp. 1279 (D. Colo. 1989); Johnson v.
United States Elevator Corp., 723 F.Supp. 1344 (E.D. Mo.
1989); Hayes v. Community General Osteopathic Hospital,
730 FSupp. 1333 (M.D. Pa. 1989); Coleman v. Domino's
Pizza, Inc., 728 FSupp. 1528 (S.D. Ak. 1990); White v.
Federal Express Corp., 729 F.Supp. 1536 (E.D. Va. 1990);
Long v. A T & T Information Systems. Inc., 733 F.Supp. 1188
(S.D. N.Y. 1990). There is district court authority to the
contrary, although it is in the minority. See Padilla v.
United Airlines, Inc., 716 F.Supp. 485 (D. Colo. 1989); Bird-
whistle v. Kansas Power & Light, 723 FSupp. 570 (D. Ka.

13

1989); Booth v. Terminex Int’l., 722 F.Supp. 675 (D. Ka.
1989).

While it appears that the majority of the lower courts
considering this issue have clearly determined that this
Court in Patterson was inclined to reject future discrimi-
natory discharge claims under Section 1981, the plain fact
is that this Court did not so decide and has not consid-
ered the manifold issues effecting such a departure from
established precedent. Moreover, for the reasons
recounted earlier, it is more logical to conclude that Con-
gress intended an overlap between Title VII and Section
1981 with respect to discharge claims given the sundering
of a relationship as opposed to the type of situation
envisioned by the Patterson Court, where Title VII concil-
iation and mediation remedies would be fruitful. There-
fore, the Petitioner submits that the court of appeals
below erred in extending Patterson to the point of vacat-
ing and dismissing the Petitioner’s Section 1981 claims
and awards obtained thereunder, and that the trend
among the lower courts endorsing the position adopted
by the court of appeals below dangerously perverts the
scope of the relationship between Title VII and Section
1981 explained by this Court in Patterson. Review of this
critical question is therefore warranted, and Petitioner
seeks that review.

Petitioner also submits that review is warranted on
the closely related question of whether Section 1981 con-
templates — as it clearly did prior to Patterson — actions for
retaliatory discharge. The lower courts appear to be
divided on this question as well. cf. Rathjen v. Litchfield,
878 F.2d 836 (5th Cir. 1989); Molhatra v. Cotter & Co., 885

14

F.2d 1305 (7th Cir. 1989) (Cudahy, J., concurring); Chris-
tian v. Beacon Journal Publishing Co., No. 89-3822 (6th Cir.,
July 17, 1990), unpublished opinion available at 1990 U.S.
App. LEXIS 120880.

2. The Patterson Court also observed that where an
employee is denied a “promotion” for racially discrimina-
tory reasons, that denial may support a Section 1981
claim. The Court’s discussion does not appear to specifi-
cally require “promotion” as a predicate for such a claim,
however, but rather that the employee’s relationship to
the employer obtain a “new and distinct” scope tanta-
mount to the establishment of a new contract. 109 S.Ct. at
2377. As recounted earlier in the Statement, Petitioner
was recalled from layoff by the Respondent and placed
into a new area of the plant and subjected to immediate
and continuous oppressive conduct directed toward his
discrimination complaints against the Respondent. This
oppressive conduct, both racial and retaliatory in charac-
ter, continued unabated once the Petitioner refused to
withdraw his discrimination complaints, and eventually
resulted in his termination.

While the court of appeals below concluded that this
sequence of events did not reflect a “new and distinct”
relationship between the Petitioner and the Respondent,
the court of appeals also acknowledged that “what con-
stitutes a new employment relationship under Patterson is
difficult and unsettled”. Nonetheless, the court of appeals
opined that because the Petitioner’s recall did not reflect
a promotion, he was in any event not entitled to bring a
Section 1981 claim concerning his recall. Petitioner sub-
mits that this is an unfairly narrow reading of Patterson,
in that there can be no question but that the entirety of

15

his relationship to Respondent was radically altered from
the moment of his recall, and that in fact his recall
appeared to be motivated by Respondent’s concern over
his discrimination complaints. Unquestionably, the
Respondent’s concern with Petitioner’s discrimination
complaints, and Respondents’ repeated efforts to get Peti-
tioner to withdraw those complaints, inhered to the very
nature of the Respondent's relationship to the Petitioner
following his recall from layoff and were certainly not
characteristic of the Respondent’s contractual relation-
ship with the Petitioner prior to his filing of those com-
plaints following his layoff. Consequently, Petitioner
believes that review is warranted for further clarification
of what constitutes the type of “new and distinct” rela-
tionship between an employer and employee that will
predicate a Section 1981 claim, particularly where, as in
this instance, a new relationship is engendered that is
patently effected by discriminatory and retaliatory
motives on the part of the employer in a fashion wholly
distinct from previous contractual relations between the
parties.

a
-

CONCLUSION

The decision of the court of appeals furthers ex..ting
disagreement among the lower courts concerning the
impact on Section 1981 discharge claims of this Court’s
decision in Patterson v. McLean Credit Union, 109 S.Ct.
2363 (1989). In this regard, the decision of the court of
appeals appears to extend Patterson unfairly beyond its
own limits as well as beyond the scope of the pertinent
precedent established by this Court. Additionally, the

16

decision cf the court of appeals illustrates the need for
clarification concerning what may constitute a “new and
distinct” contractual relationship sufficient to fall within
the ambit of Section 1981. The present petition for cer-
tiorari should therefore be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

Rosert J. Gincras, Esq.
Counsel of Record

Casey A. Nacy, Esa.

GINGRAS & SCHAEFER, S.C,

131 West Wilson Street, #610

Madison, Wisconsin 53703

(608) 255-0061

November 12, 1990

la

APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

Nos. 89-1379, 89-1526
GARY MCKNIGHT,
Plaintiff-Appellee, Cross-Appellant,
V.
GENERAL MOTORS CORPORATION,
Defendant-Appellant, Cross-Appellee.

ARGUED FEBRUARY 12, 1990 - DECIDED JULY 2, 1990

Before POSNER and EASTERBROOK, Circuit Judges,
and FAIRCHILD, Senior Circuit Judge.

POSNER, Circuit Judge. Gary McKnight brought suit
under 42 U.S.C. § 1981 (which dates back to the Civil
Rights Act of 1866), and Title VII of the Civil Rights Act
of 1964, 42 U.S.C. § 2000e, claiming that General Motors
fired him both because he is black and also in retaliation
for his having filed claims of racial discrimination against
the company. A jury returned a verdict for McKnight on
the section 1981 claim, awarding him $110,000 in compen-
satory damages (of which half represented back pay) and
$500,000 in punitive damages. On the basis of the jury’s
verdict, the judge entered judgment for McKnight on the

2a

Title VII count as well but declined to order him rein-
stated — the%only relief, besides back pay, that McKnight
had requested under Title VII. General Motors appeals
from the judgment against it and McKnight cross-appeals
from the denial of reinstatement.

While this case was before us, the Supreme Court
decided Patterson v. McLean Credit Union, 109 S. Ct. 2363
(1989), and we must decide whether, as urged by General
Motors, Patterson wipes out McKnight’s section 1981
claims. General Motors did not question the applicability
of section 1981 to McKnight’s claims in the district court,
and the failure to urge a point in the trial court ordinarily
forfeits the right to urge it on appeal. Yet the principle
that judicial decisions normally are applied retroactively,
and so to cases pending on appeal when the decision was
made, EEOC v. Vucitech, 842 F.2d 936, 941 (7th Cir. 1988),
was held in Carroll v. General Accident Ins. Co., 891 F.2d
1174, 1175 n. 1 (5th Cir. 1990), to require the application
of Patterson to a case — a discharge case like this — pend-
ing on appeal even though the defendar: had failed to
question the applicability of section *voi in the district
court. Is this holding sound?

Patterson was a racial-harassment case rather than a
discharge case, and the Supreme Court affirmed the court
of appeals, which had held that racial harassment was not
actionable under section 1981. It was only after oral argu-
ment that the Supreme Court, in an order setting the case
for reargument, 108 S. Ct. 1419 (1988) (per curiam),
requested the parties to brief the question whether Run-
yon v. McCrary, 427 U.S. 160 (1976), which had held that
section 1981 forbids private as well as public discrimina-
tion, and which the court of appeals in Patterson had not

3a

even cited, should be overruled. In the end, the court
decided not to overrule Runyon, but in the course of its
wide ranging reexamination of section 1981 indicated (as
it seems to us) that claims of racially motivated discharge
are not actionable under that statute. This result could
not reasonably have been anticipated before the order
setting the case for reargument. (“Claims of racially dis-
criminatory .. . firing . .. fall easily within § 1981’s
protection.” Patterson v. McLean Credit Union, 805 F.2d
1143, 1145 (4th Cir. 1986), aff’d, 109 S. Ct. 2363 (1989).) A
party should be allowed to take advantage of a decision
rendered during the pendency of his case, even if he had
not reserved the point decided, if the decision could not
reasonably have been anticipated. A contrary rule would
induce parties to drown the trial judge with reservations.

But the order to reargue Patterson was issued more
than five months before the trial in the present case
began. General Motors had plenty of time in which to
mount a timely challenge to the applicability of section
1981, and we may assume that by doing so it would have
preserved its right to rely on the peculiar and unexpected
course that Patterson in the end took; that was to overrule
Runyon with respect to some discriminatory conduct
charged in this case. But General Motors did not question
the applicability of section 1981 to this case until Patterson
was decided, by which time the trial was over and the
case was in this court.

Even if by this delay General Motors waived its right
to invoke Patterson, a question we need not answer,
McKnight cannot benefit. For while vigorously contesting
the applicability of Patterson to the facts of his case, he
has never argued that General Motors has waived its

4a

right to rely on Patterson. A defense of waiver is itself
waivable. McKnight waived any defense of waiver that
he might have had. United States v. Rodriguez, 888 F.2d
519, 524 (7th Cir. 1989).

McKnight makes two claims under section 1981, and
we must now consider the impact of the Patterson deci-
sion on each. The claims are termination on grounds of
race and retaliation for filing antidiscrimination com-
plaints.

By providing that all persons “shall have the same
right .. . to make and enforce contracts . . . as is enjoyed
by white citizens,” the statute confers two distinct rights
to be free from racial discrimination: a right in making
contracts and a right in enforcing them. As explained in
Patterson, the first right is violated by a “refusal to enter
into a contract with someone, as well as the offer to make
a contract only on discriminatory terms. But the right to
make contracts does not extend, as a matter of either logic
or semantics, to conduct by the employer after the con-
tract relation has been established, including breach of
the terms of the contract or imposition of discriminatory
working conditions.” 109 S. Ct. at 2372-73. Since the
plaintiff in Patterson had charged not a discriminatory
refusal or offer of employment but, instead, racial harass-
ment by her employer, the court ordered the case dis-
missed. And so it must be with McKnight’s claim of
discriminatory termination: his right to make a contract
was not infringed when he was fired. In so concluding,
we side with the Fifth and Ninth Circuits, Carroll v.
General Accident Ins. Co., supra; Lavender v. V&B Transmis-
sions & Auto Repair, 897 F.2d 805 (5th Cir. 1990); Courtney
v. Canyon Television & Appliance Rental, Inc., 899 F.2d 845,

5a

849 (9th Cir. 1990), and against the Eighth. Hicks v. Brown
Group, Inc., 902 F.2d 635 (8th Cir. 1990).

We are mindful of the argument that employment at
will - the form of McKnight’s employment relationship
with General Motors — should be analyzed not as a single
contract but as a series of fresh contracts made every day
of continued employment; on this view, termination on
racial grounds prevents the employee from making the
next day’s contract of employment, and is therefore
actionable. This analysis is artificial, however, and not
only because of its anomalous consequence of giving
employees at will more protection under civil rights law
than employees for a term have. Employment at will is
not a state of nature but a continuing contractual relation.
Wages, benefits, duties, working conditions, and all (but
one) of the other terms are specified and a breach of any
of them will give the employee a cause of action for
breach of contract. Jordan v. Duff & Pheips, Inc., 815 F.2d
429, 438 (7th Cir. 1987); Epstein, In Defense of the Contract
at Will 51 U. Chi. L. Rev. 947 (1984). All that is missing is
a provision that gives the contract a fixed term or that
entitles one or both parties to a specified amount of
notice before the other party can cancel the contract with-
out liability. A contract for employment at will may end
abruptly but it is a real and continuing contract nonethe-
less, not a series of contracts each a day - or a minute -
long.

A second possible objection to interpreting Patterson
as a bar to claims of discriminatory discharge is specific
to this case and pivots on a transfer that McKnight
received during his employment with General Motors. A

6a

managerial employee in the accounting division of Gen-
eral Motors’ Oak Creek, Wisconsin plant, McKnight — the
jury may be taken to have found — had been laid off on
account of his race, had filed an antidiscrimination com-
plaint with Wisconsin’s equal opportunity commission
and later in a Wisconsin state court, and then, when GM
learned of these complaints, had been recalled from lay-
off, pressured to drop his antidiscrimination complaints,
and assigned to the manufacturing division of the Oak
Creek plant to supervise a production line notorious for
its problems — he was being set up for failure.

When does a transfer within a firm count as making a
new contract for purposes of section 1981? The Supreme
Court in Patterson and this court in Malhotra v. Cotter &
Co., 885 F.2d 1305 (7th Cir. 1989), have said that when a
promotion would create a new employment contract, a
racially motivated refusal to make the promotion is an
interference with the plaintiff’s right to make contracts
free of racial prejudice, and therefore violates section
1981. Otherwise a person applying for a position from
outside the company would have greater legal rights than
a person already employed by the company, even if the
employee worked in a division, in a job classification, and
on terms of employment, unrelated to the position being
applied for. Precisely how different the new employment
relation must be to make a racially motivated refusal to
create it actionable under section 1981 is not susceptible
of a blanket answer, but we are persuaded that no new
employment relation was created in this case.

To begin with, no new employment relation was cre-
ated merely by virtue of McKnight’s having been laid off.
layoff and recall are not identical to firing and rehiring.

7a

Although an employer cannot defeat an employee’s
rights against wrongful discharge by calling a forced
termination “indefinite layoff,” Holloway & Leech,
Employment Termination: Rights and Remedies 109
(1985), ordinarily a layoff, even if indefinite, as most
layoffs are, does not sever the employment relationship.
Suppose you are working under a collective bargaining
agreement that provides that workers shall be laid off in
reverse order of seniority and recalled in order of
seniority. If you are laid off and a less senior worker who
had also been laid off is recalled ahead of you, you will
have a cause of action for breach of contract —- showing
that the layoff did not cut off all your entitlements as an
employee. McKnight was not covered by a collective
bargaining agreement, or for that matter by any other
written contract of employment. But our point is only
that to be recalled after being laid off is not automatically
to be given a new jeb. Both General Motors and
McKnight stiil regarded him as an employee of GM after
he was laid off.

A transfer between divisions of a company does not
automatically create a new employment relation either.
Conceivably, if the two divisions are unrelated and the
employee’s jobs in the divisions are significantly differ-
ent, the transfer might — consistently with the functional
analysis sketched above in which we compared the situa-
tions of applicants from within and from outside the
company — count as the creation of a new employment
relationship. This we need not decide. The alternative
view is that what matters is not a change in jobs but a
change in contractual status, for example from an
employee to an officer or partner. Malhotra v. Cotter & Co.,

8a

supra, 885 F.2d at 1317-18 (concurring opinion). But the
transfer of an executive from the accounting to the manu-
facturing division in the same plant is not of this charac-
ter. Such job changes are part of the ordinary progression
of a business executive in his career with a company and
it would be very odd to regard each rung on the career
ladder as a different employment relation. As a matter of
fact, McKnight had begun his career with GM in the
manufacturing division and had been transferred to the
accounting division as part of a program of rotating
managerial employees through different divisions in
order to give them broad experience. The turn of the
rotation wheel does not create a new employment rela-
tion at each stop.

The combination of being laid off and being recalled
to a job in another division —- or, in other words, the
existence of a period of layoff between two executive
positions — does not require a different analysis. No rea-
son is given why the whole in this instance should be
greater than the sum of the parts.

But if all this is wrong — for we acknowledge that the
question of what constitutes a new employment relation
under Patterson is difficult and unsettled - McKnight still
must lose on this branch of his case because he is not
arguing that he failed to obtain a promotion that would
have created a new employment relationship. He is argu-
ing that he was transferred as part of a scheme to get rid
of him. Like the plaintiff in the Carroll case he is arguing,
in effect, constructive discharge. Parrett v. City of Con-
nersville, 737 F.2d 690, 694 (7th Cir. 1984). We have just
held that explicit discharges are not actionable under

9a

section 1981. No more are constructive discharges. Sec-
tion 1981 regulates the making and enforcing of contracts,
but (as interpreted in Patterson) ii does not protect the
administration of contracts. Therefore it creates neither a
right not to be harassed on racial grounds, as in Patterson
itself, nor a right not to be discharged on racial grounds.
We need not consider the liability of an employer who
hires a minority employee and then fires him, all as part
of a racially motivated scheme to exclude him from
employment with the company.

We have next to consider the retroactivity of Patter-
son. We agree with Carroll, Lavender, Courtney, and Sher-
man v. Burke Contracting, Inc., 891 F.2d 1527, 1534 (11th
Cir. 1990) (per curiam), that Patterson should be applied
to cases such as this that had not become final before
Patterson was decided, provided there was no effective
waiver of the points established by that decision (we
have held there was not here). There is no contrary prece-
dent at the appellate level, and this is not surprising,
since judicial doctrines normally are applied retroac-
tively. Chevron Oil Co. v. Huson, 404 U.S. 97, 106-07 (1971).
(The picture with regard to statutes is decidedly mixed.
Kaiser Aluminum & Chemical Corp. v. Bonjorno, 110 S. Ct.
1570 (1990); id. at 1579 (concurring opinion).) There are
exceptions to the rule of retroactive appiication of judicial
doctrines, as explained in Chevron, but the only one that
McKnight suggests might be applicable to the present
case is where a party has relied to his detriment on the
old doctrine. It is illustrated both by cases such as Anton
v. Lehpamer, 787 F.2d 1141 (7th Cir. 1986), that refuse to

10a

apply retroactively decisions shortening statutes of lim-
itations, and by cases that refuse to allow statutes enlarg-
ing the period for bringing a suit to revive time-barred
claims. United States v. Kimberlin, 776 F.2d 1344, 1347 (7th
Cir. 1985) (dictum); Davis v. Valley Distributing Co., 522
F.2d 827, 830 (9th Cir. 1975); Carter v. Supermarkets General
Corp., 684 F.2d 187, 191 n. 10 (1st Cir. 1982); Herm v.
Stafford, 663 F.2d 669, 683 n. 20 (6th Cir. 1981); contra,
Friel v. Cessna Aircraft Co., 751 F.2d 1637 (9th Cir. 1985)
(per curiam).

In this case, the former judicial doctrine — the under-
standing of section 1981 before the Supreme Court
decided Patterson — enabled a civil rights plaintiff to file
claims under two statutes, section 1981 and Title VII. If
ihe plaintiff forwent suit under one of them — and is now
time-barred — only to discover midway through his suit
under the second statute that his claim under that statute
had been wiped out by an unanticipated decision over-
ruling a previous, and previously unchallenged, inter-
pretation, the plaintiff would have an argument against
retroactive application. We need not decide how powerful
an argument. (On the one hand it can be argued that it is
imprudent to forgo a possible remedy, on the other that
economy in pleading should be encouraged.) This is not
such a case. McKnight had two statutes to sue under, all
right, section 1981 and Title VII; but he sued under both;
he did not forgo the second in reliance on the first. And
asked at argument how, therefore, McKnight had relied
on being able to sue under section 1981 as well as under
Title VII, his counsel told us that the only reliance was by
him — the lawyer - not by McKnight. (His brief adds that

lla

McKnight relied by forgoing possible state remedies par-
allel to section 1981, but does not spell out the nature or
extent of the reliance.) He explained that had it not been
for the possibility of common law damages under section
1981, he would not have considered McKnight’s case
worth bringing, and McKnight would have had to turn
elsewhere for counsel. McKnight might not have found
any lawyer willing to take his case, in which event he
probably would not have sued at all. If so, then far from
McKnight’s reliance on section 1981 having proved detri-
mental to him, it enabled him to obtain the services of a
lawyer who would and did press his Title VII claim as
well — and successfully, too. Another possibility is that
McKnight would have retained another lawyer to press
the Title VII claim alone and that that lawyer would have
negotiated a favorable settlement foreclosing this appeal
in which General Motors is challenging the Title ViI
judgment as well as the judgment under section 1981. The
possibilities are endless, but this only highlights the
absence of grounds for confident belief that McKnight
suffered a detriment by not being able to foresee the
Supreme Court’s decision in Patterson.

The next question is whether McKnight’s claim of
retaliation survives Patterson. Because section 1981 con-
fers a right to enforce contracts as well as to make them,
it punishes “efforts to impede access to the courts or
obstruct nonjudicial methods of adjudicating disputes
about the force of binding obligations, as well as discrim-
ination by private entities, such as labor unions, in
enforcing the terms of a contract.” 109 S. Ct. at 2373.
Retaliation or a threat to retaliate is a common method of
deterrence, and if what is sought to be deterred is the

-_——

12a

enforcement of a contractual right, then, we may assume,
the retaliation or threat is actionable under section 1981
as interpreted in Patterson, provided that the retaliation
had a racial motivation. Malhotra v. Cotter & Co., supra,
885 F.2d at 1313. If, therefore, General Motors had,
because of McKnight’s race, obstructed his efforts to
enforce his contractual entitlements, for example by retal-
iating against him for bringing suit to enforce his contract
of employment with General Motors, the company might
be guilty of violating section 1981. Goodman v. Lukens Steel
Co., 482 U.S. 656 (1987). We say “might” rather than
“would” out of deference to the Court’s strongly
expressed preference in Patterson for interpreting section
1981 to avoid overlaps with Title VII that would enable
the limitations in that statute - the requirement of
exhausting administrative remedies, a short statute of
limitations, limited judicial remedies (as we shall see) — to
be circumvented. 109 S. Ct. at 2374-75. True, the Court
cited Goodman with approval, but it described the holding
of that case narrowly. Id. at 2373.

We need not pursue this question further, because
General Motors did not interfere with contractual entitle-
ments. As in Sherman v. Burke Contracting, Inc., supra, 891
F.2d at 1535, a case similar to ours in which a claim of
retaliation was held not to be actionable under section
1981, the complaints that McKnight filed with the Wis-
consin civil rights commission and then a Wisconsin state
court were not concerned with enforcing any contractual
rights he may have had against General Motors - collect-
ing wages due, enforcing pension rights, enforcing a “just
cause” provision in a collective bargaining agreement or
seniority rights in such an agreement (there was no such

13a

agreement), and so forth. The complaints were efforts to
enforce his rights under antidiscrimination laws, which is
a different matter because “the right to enforce contracts
does not . . . extend beyond conduct by an employer
which impairs an employee's ability to enforce through
legal process his or her established contract rights.” Pat-
terson v. McLean Credit Union, supra, 109 S. Ct. at 2372.

A contractual duty may be voluntarily assumed, or
imposed by law; it may be express or implied. But the
rights that antidiscrimination laws such as Title VII and
section 1981 and their state equivalents confer on
employees are not contract rights. If they were, then state
antidiscrimination laws would be preempted, in estab-
lishments covered by a collective bargaining agreement,
by section 301 of the Taft-Hartley Act, 29 U.S.C. § 185 -
which no one believes. The rights in question are a spe-
cies of tort right. This is implicit in the Supreme Court’s
decision in Goodman v. Lukens Steel Co., supra, 482 U.S. at
662, to borrow state statutes of limitations governing
claims of personal injury for use in section 1981 suits.
McKnight does not claim either that his contract with
General Motors contained a promise by GM not to dis-
criminate against him on racial grounds, as the contract
in Goodman did, 482 U.S. at 666, or that state and federal
laws against discrimination in employment create an
implied term, forbidding discrimination, in every con-
tract of employment. If what McKnight is trying to argue
is that public policy reads into every such contract a
contractual duty not to discriminate on racial grounds,
this would imply that every victim of racial discrimina-
tion in employment has a claim for breach of contract as

l4a

well as a claim under the statutes forbidding such dis-
crimination. That would be extravagant; “an employer's
retaliatory conduct falls under section 1981 only when the
employer aims to prevent or discourage an employee
(because of race) from using legal process to enforce a
specific contract right.” Sherman v. Burke Contracting, Inc.,
supra, 891 F.2d at 1535. Compare Yatvin v. Madison Metro-
politan School District, 840 F.2d 412, 419-20 (7th Cir. 1988).

Since we hold that McKnight’s claims under section
1981 did not survive Patterson, the award of compensa-
tory damages beyond back pay ($55,000), and also of -
course the award of punitive damages, must be set aside.
But that leaves the possibility that the award of back pay
under Title VIII, which forbids both racially motivated
termination and retaliation for filing an antidiscrimina-
tion claim, survives.

We first consider the significance of the district
judge’s failure to make explicit findings of fact and con-
clusions of law, as required in a bench trial by Fed. R. Civ.
P. 52(a). In denying General Motors’ postjudgment
motions, the judge made clear his agreement with the
jury’s verdict, and this might seem to be enough to indi-
cate the thrust and tenor of his decision and thus enable
appellate review, the function of Rule 52(a). Against this
it can be argued that, so far as the Title VII claims were
concerned, the jury was at most an advisory jury, the
presence of which would not excuse the district judge
from his duty under Rule 52(a) to make findings of fact
and conclusions of law. Trotter v. Todd, 719 F.2d 346, 348
(10th Cir. 1983); Skeldberg v. Villani, 601 F. Supp. 981
(S.D.N.6. 1985); 9 Wright & Miller, Federal Practice and
Procedure § 2574, at p. 690 (1971). The jury returned a

15a

special verdict but the findings in that verdict are far too
skimpy to satisfy the requirements of the rule.

If, however, it is clear from the record and the jury’s
verdict what the jury must have found and therefore
what the district judge, in registering agreement with the
verdict, must also have found, a remand for explicit
findings is not required, because it would add nothing to
the information that the appellate court aiready has. Mal-
lory v. Citizens Utilities Co., 342 F.2d 796 (2d Cir. 1965). But
beyond that and the decisive consideration here, in a dual
bench-jury trial the jury’s verdict binds the judge with
respect to any factual issues common to the jury - and
judge-tried claims. Williamson v. Handy Button Machine
Co., 817 F.2d 1290, 1293-94 (7th Cir. 1987); Hunter v. Allis-
Chalmers Corp., 797 F.2d 1417, 1421 (7th Cir. 1986); Lincoln
v. Board of Regents, 697 F.2d 928, 934 (11th Cir. 1983); Wade
v. Orange County Sheriff's Office, 844 F.2d 951 (2d Cir.
1988); but cf. Yatvin v. Madison Metropolitan School District,
supra, 840 F.2d at 418.

This result might be questioned as an original matter;
it may be worth pausing a moment to consider why. The
result is sometimes described as an application of the
principle of collateral estoppel, but it is not, since there is
no final judgment when the judge makes his decision -
just a jury verdict on which judgment has yet to be
entered. And there would be no logical inconsistency in
the judge’s refusing to set aside the jury’s verdict because
he could not say that it was unreasonable, while disagree-
ing with the verdict and therefore entering a contrary
judgment on parallel claims not triable to a jury. What is
true is that the judge’s findings of fact could not be used
to estop or otherwise foreclose the jury in its domain,
Lytle v. Household Mfg., Inc., 110 S. Ct. 1331, 1335-37

l6a

(1990), because this would impair the parties’ rights
under the Seventh Amendnient. But that is not a danger
when the question is whether the jury’s findings should
have preclusive effect on claims to which the Seventh
Amendment does not apply. Wade v. Orange County Sher-
iff’s Office, 690 F. Supp. 176 (S.D.N.Y. 1987), aff’d on other
grounds, 844 F.2d 951 (2d Cir. 1988).

However all this may be, the rule that makes the
jury’s verdict on a section 1981 claim dispositive of any
common factual issues presented by the plaintiff’s Title
VII claim is well established in this circuit, and General
Motors does not ask us to reexamine it. To the extent that
the judge is therefore bound by the jury’s verdict, it is
pointless to require explicit findings of fact - he would
just be rubber stamping the jury’s verdict.

Even if the judge’s findings were adequate, General
Motors argues that there is insufficient evidence of racial
or retaliatory motives to support those findings and the
resulting judgment for McKnight under Title VII. If this is
correct, General Motors’ motion for judgment notwith-
standing the verdict should have been granted.

There is very little evidence that McKnight was sub-
jected to any discrimination while he was working in the
accounting division, before he was laid off. And as to the
layoff itself he argues primarily that the methods GM
uses to appraise employees’ performance are subjective
and hence prone to bias, and in so arguing forgets that
while subjective methods of appraising performance are
susceptible to discriminatory application, Watson v. Fort
Worth Bank & Trust, 108 S. Ct. 2777 (1988); Allen v. Seid-
man, 881 F.2d 375, 380-81 (7th Cir. 1989), they are not in

17a

themselves forms or methods of discrimination. Nev-
ertheless the company’s lack of objective criteria for lay-
off and recalls placed it at the mercy of the jury, which
was free to disbelieve the company’s testimony that all
the white workers retained when McKnight was laid off
or recalied before he was recalled were better workers
than he as determined by unbiased appraisals of perfor-
mance. The company’s action in recalling McKnight as
soon as — and, there was evidence, because — he com-
plained to the state agency that he was being discrimi-
nated against may have demonstrated a guilty conscience
on the part of management.

Moreover, there was evidence that when McKnight
was recalled and assigned to the manufacturing division,
the company asked him to dismiss his state complaints,
and it was when he refused that he was assigned to
supervise a trouble-prone production line. This sequence
supports the claim of retaliation. We discount, however,
the significance of evidence that McKnight’s superiors
were concerned with his propensity to sue. There is noth-
ing suspicious about such a concern in itself. A company
which insists that all personnel decisions involving an
employee with a demonstrated propensity to sue be care-
fully documented is displaying simple prudence, since a
gap in the paper record would arm the employee for his
next suit. The law does not seek to encourage an
employee to try to obtain job tenure by filing complaints
that he hopes will make him discharge-proof by giving
him cause to sue for retaliation should he never be dis-
charged. So in focusing on McKnight’s complaints to the
Wisconsin authorities General Motors was not necessarily

18a

acting improperly; but the jury was not required to accept
the company’s version of its motivation.

McKnight’s performance appraisals in the manufac-
turing division were poor, and that is a piece of evidence
that General Motors trumpets. But he argues that the
company was out to get him, and there is support in the
fact that his evaluations were good when he was
employed in the accounting division, although not good
enough to prevent him from being laid off. It is true not
only that an employee can do well in one job and badly in
the next (or in the same job at a later date), but also that
personnel evaluations often are careless and extravagant;
but an employer cannot force a jury to discount his
positive evaluations yet give full weight to his negative
ones. An additional tidbit, rather excessively stressed by
McKnight, is that a class action was brought on behalf of
14,000 black employees of General Motors, challenging
the company’s system for appraising its employees’ per-
formance as being racially discriminatory. A suit is not
evidence for the truth of its allegations; there is no short-
age of meritless suits. But McKnight had other evidence
of discrimination and retaliation. A black employee at the
Oak Creek plant testified that her superior, who was also
one of McKnight’s white superiors (most of his superiors
were black), treated her worse than his white subordi-
nates; and there was evidence, surprising as it may seem,
that actually to discharge an employee for his super-
visory inadequacies was unprecedented at the Oak Creek
plant. In addition, one of McKnight’s white superiors
used the word “nigger” in conversation with a black
employee, and while the superior may (as he testified)
have been joking, the employee was offended; offense

19a

aside, the use of the word even in jest could be evidence
of racial antipathy.

The evidence was sufficient to withstand a directed
verdict, and therefore to preclude our declaring the
judge’s findings clearly erroneous. But we have still to
consider the question of trial error. All but one of the
alleged errors either were not errors at all — considering
the latitude that a plaintiff in a discrimination case must
be allowed in order to construct a circumstantial case,
Riordan v. Kempiners, 831 F.2d 690, 697-99 (7th Cir. 1987) -
or were insignificant. But there was one error that in a
case as close as this potentially was grave. That is the
hourglass method employed by the district judge to limit
the length of the trial. The judge decided before trial
although after consultation with counsel for both parties
that the case warranted 25 hours of trial time to be
divided between the parties in a ratio of 13 to 12. Midway
through the trial, however, he decided that 21 hours was
enough and cut two from each side’s allotment, but later
he gave General Motors an additional half hour in
response to its request for an additional hour. Time taken
in making and responding to objections was counted
against the party whose evidence was objected to.
McKnight called a number of GM employees as adverse
witnesses and GM used its cross-examination of those
witnesses — which functionally was direct examination,
since they were its friendly witnesses — to put in its
defense. By the time the plaintiff rested, GM had only 49
minutes in which to put on its four remaining witnesses —
an average of 12 minutes apiece, minus any time taken up
by objections and responses thereto. It was at this point
that the judge gave General Motors the extra half hour,

20a

but 79 minutes is still a very short time for four witnesses
and we were told at argument without contradiction that
these witnesses ran to and from the stand in a desperate
effort to complete their testimony before time was called.

Flaminio v. Honda Motor Co., 733 F.2d 463, 473 (7th Cir.
1984), disapproved the practice of placing rigid hour
limits on a trial, while recognizing that in this age of
swollen federal caseloads district judges must manage
their trials with an iron hand — must scrutinize the wit-
ness list and the exhibit list with a beady eye and
ruthlessly prune redundant or marginal evidence. We do
not reverse district judges who do this. Northern Indiana
Public Service Co. v. Carbon County Coal Co., 799 F.2d 265,
269 (7th Cir. 1986). We commend them. But to impose
arbitrary limitations, enforce them inflexibly, and by
these means turn a federal trial into a relay race is to
sacrifice too much of one good —- accuracy of factual
determination — to obtain another - minimization of the
time and expense of litigation.

If General Motors had preserved the issue of undue
curtailment of trial time, we would reverse and order a
new trial. But it has not preserved it, and this time its
waiver is fatal. It asked for an extra hour and was given
thirty minutes, so it must show what it would have done
with the other thirty minutes if it had been given them.
Id. at 270. Neither in the district court nor in this court
has General Motors attempted such a showing. The spec-
tacle of witnesses running to and from the witness stand
is unseemly, but General Motors does not argue that the
spectacle was prejudicial to it. We do not reverse for
harmless errors. Fed. R. Civ. P. 61. McKnight is entitled to
the award of back pay that the jury gave him.

21a

The last issue is reinstatement, which the district
judge declined to order because the relationship between
McKnight and GM had been poisoned by this litigation
and also because the award of $500,000 in punitive dam-
ages, on top of the compensatory damages awarded, was
remedy enough.

Courts of equity traditionally have refused to order
specific performance of employment contracts, because it
is difficult and time-consuming for a court to supervise
the parties’ conduct in an ongoing and possible long-term
relationship of employment. Lumley v. Wagner, 1 DeG.M.
& C. 604, 42 Eng. Rep. 687 (Ch. 1852); Farnsworth, Con-
tracts 822, 824 (1982). By hypothesis in such a case, the
employer does not want the employee back; and probably
the ernployee does not want to be working for this
employer, and hopes to be bought out. Each party will
want to make life as miserable as possible for the other
party while also wanting to invoke the court’s aid to
prevent the other party from doing the same thing to him.
Courts do not want to involve themselves in the indus-
trial equivalent of matrimonial squabbling. They do not
want to be involved in the continuous supervision of a
personal relationship that may last for many years. There-
fore, although Title VII empowers the court to order
reinstatement of an employee who succeeds in proving
racial discrimination, the power is discretionary and
should not be used where the result would be undue
friction and controversy. The fact that after being fired by
GM Mcknight entered the financial services industry
where after a few years he was earning more money than
he did earn or would have been earning at GM (he quit
this high-paying job for reasons not disclosed in the

22a

record) suggests that he wants to be reinstated in order to
induce GM to buy him out. Mere hostility by the
employer or its supervisory employees is of course no
ground for denying reinstatement. Taylor v. Teletype Corp.,
648 F.2d 1129, 1139 (8th Cir. 1981); Nord v. United States
Steel Corp., 758 F.2d 1462, 1473 (11th Cir. 1985); Donnellon
v. Fruehauf Corp., 794 F.2d 598, 602 (11th Cir. 1986). That
would arm the employer to defeat the court’s remedial
order. But if the employee desires reinstatement for stra-
tegic purposes, that is_a valid basis for denial.

Unfortunately we cannot determine from the district
judge’s opinion whether he would have declined to order
reinstatement for this reason. He thought that the award
of punitive damages gave McKnight all the relief beyond
compensatory damages that he was entitled to as a matter
of equity; we have knocked out that award. The judge
will have to reexamine the issue of reinstatement in light
of that action and also in light of our discussion in the
preceding paragraph of the circumstances in which
denial of reinstatement appropriate.

Should the judge again decide not to order reinstate-
ment, a remedial gap will open up and let us consider,
finally, whether there is any way to plug it. Take first a
case in which the wages and other benefits that the
plaintiff would receive if reinstated would be no greater
than he could obtain from an alternative and no more
risky or unpleasant employment. Then reinstatement
would not be necessary to eliminate the consequences of
discrimination. But in a case, such as this, where substan-
tial back pay is awarded, there is a presumption that the
plaintiff does not have equally good employment oppor-
tunities, for if he did he would have been earning about

23a

the same in whatever job he took, upon being discharged,
in order to mitigate his damages. (We need not consider
whether the presumption is rebutted by McKnight’s
unexplained departure from a lucrative position in the
financial services industry.) So if in such a case reinstate-
ment is withheld because of friction that would ensue
independently of any hostility or retaliation by the
employer, a remedy limited to back pay will not make the
plaintiff whole.

Well, so what? Legal remedies are not always ade-
quate, and the fact that a Title VII plaintiff is entitled only
to equitable relief, 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-5(g),and not to com-
mon law remedies, Swanson v. Elmhurst Chrysler Plymouth,
Inc., 882 F.2d 1235, 1240 (7th Cir. 1989); Gray v. Dane
County, 854 F.2d 179, 181 (7th Cir. 1988); Bohen v. City of
East Chicago, 799 F.2d 1180, 1184 (7th Cir. 1986); Hunter v.
Allis-Chalmers Corp., supra, 797 F.2d at 1421, is grounds for
conjecture that, perhaps because of the influence of
employers in the legislative process, Congress decided
that half a loaf was better than a whole one. This is
possible, of course, but the Supreme Court has said that
the remedial scheme in Title VII is designed to make the
plaintiff whole, Albemarle Paper Co. v. Moody, 422 U.S. 405,
418 (1975), and this dictum has been thought by some
courts to imply that if the plaintiff's employment oppor-
tunities are inferior and reinstatement is infeasible, he
should receive in addition to back pay a lump sum -
called “front pay” to distinguish it from the remedy of
back pay specified in the statute —- representing the dis-
counted present value of the difference between the earn-
ings he would have received in his old employment and
the earnings he can be expected to receive in his present

24a

and future, and by hypotheses inferior, employment.
Shore v. Federal Express Corp., 777 F.2d 1155 (6th Cir. 1985);
Go9ss v. Exxon Office Systems Co., 747 F.2d 885, 890 (3d Cir.
1984); Fadhl v. City & County of San Francisco, 741 F.2d
1163, 1167 (9th Cir. 1984). The logic of such an award, if
the purpose of Title VII’s remedial scheme is indeed to-
make the plaintiff whole, is undeniable. EEOC v. Pacific
Press Publishing Ass'n, 482 F. Supp. 1291, 1320-21 (N.D.
Cal. 1979), aff'd, 679 F.2d 1272 (9th Cir. 1982); cf.Lindahl v.
Bartolomei, 618 F. Supp. 981, 991-91 (N.D. Ind. 1985). But
the premise can be doubted, as can the propriety, under a
statute confined to equitable relief, of an award of what is
realistically damages for lost future earnings - a legal
rather than an equitable remedy.

This court has never addressed the question whether
front pay can be awarded under Title VII. Hunter v.
Countryside Ass'n for the Handicapped, Inc., 710 F. Supp.
233, 237 n. 5 (N.D. Ill. 1989). Our decision holding that
front pay is available in cases under the Age Discrimina-
tion in Employment Act, McNeil v. Economics Laboratory,
Inc., 800 F.2d 111, 118 (7th Cir. 1986); see also Deloach v.
Delchamps, Inc., 897 F.2d 815, 822 (5th Cir. 1990); EEOC v.
Prudential Federal Savings & Loan Ass’n, 741 F.2d 1225,
1231-33 (10th Cir. 1984), vacated on other grounds, 469
U.S. 1154 (1985), cannot be regarded as dispositive of the
issue under Title VII, since the remedial schemes of the
two statutes differ markedly and the ADEA’s is the more
generous, by far. The present case is hardly the one in
which to resolve the issue, since it has not been briefed
and argued. But on remand the district court may wish to
consider not only whether McKnight should be reinstated
but also whether, if not, he can and should receive front

~ 25a

pay in lieu of reinstatement. We have suggested that he is
entitled to neither remedy if reinstatement would cause
undue friction and he has equally good employment
opportunities elsewhere. And we have left open the ques-
tion whether, if he would be entitled to front pay as a
matter of first principles, Title VII authorizes the court to
award it.

To recapitulate, we affirm the judgment of the district
court insofar as it awards McKnight back pay under Title
VII, but otherwise we reverse the judgment with direc-
tions to dismiss McKnight’s section 1981 claims and we
remand for reconsideration of his entitlement to reinstate-
ment (or in lieu thereof to front pay) under Title VII. We
shall make no award of costs in this court and Circuit
Rule 36 shall not apply on remand.

Fairchild, Senior Circuit Judge, concurring in part, dis-
senting in part. 42 U.S.C. § 1981, guaranteeing a racially
equal “right .. . to make and enforce contracts,” has been
interpreted as a prohibition against racial discrimination
in the making and enforcement of private contracts. Run-
yhon v. McCrary, 427 U.S. 160, 168 (1976); Patterson v.
McLean Credit Union, 109 S. Ct. 2363, 2370 (1989). “The
statute prohibits, when based on race, the refusal to enter
into a contract with someone, as well as the offer to make
a contract only on discriminatory terms.” Patterson, 109 S.
Ct. at 2372.

I would think it reasonable and proper to interpret
the statutory language, “right . . . to make. . . contracts,”
applied to contracts of employment, as including the

26a

right to continue to work, in the face of racially discrimi-
natory termination. The difficult question is whether that
interpretation can and does survive Patterson.

Patterson's first holding dealt with the claim of racial
harassment of an employee during the course of the
employment, and the court did not expressly assert that a
racially discriminatory termination would not be a viola-
tion of § 1981. Patterson reached its result as to harass-
ment by interpreting narrowly what it is “to make” a

contract of employment as Congress used those terms in
§ 1981.

On its facts, the holding does not reach the case
before us. We must decide whether the Court has defined
the right “to make” a contract in such a way that it no
longer has relevance and thus is not impaired at the time
the contract of employment is terminated on account of
race.

There is, indeed, much language in Patterson focusing
on the stage when an employment relationship is initially
formed.

Judge Posner has adverted to the language in Patter-
son, that “the right to make contracts does not
extend ... to conduct by the employer after the contract
relation has been established... .” 109 S. Ct. 2373. There
is similar language at page 2369. It was said that the right
“to make” a contract “extends only to the formation of a
contract.” Id. at 2372. Elsewhere the protection of the
right to make a contract is said to cover “only conduct at
the initial formation of the contract.” Id. at 2374.

27a

In its treatment of a claim of discriminatory denial of
promotion after the beginning of employment, the Court
said, “Only where the promotion rises to the level of an
opportunity for a new and distinct relationship between
the employee and the employer is such a claim actionable
under § 1981.” Id. at 2377 (citation omitted).

My colleagues evidently take the position that termi-
nation of a contract of employment is “conduct” in the
sense the Court used that term and therefore the right “to
make” a contract free of racial discrimination was ful-
filled as to that employment when the employment began
and is not protected by § 1981 when discriminatory ter-
mination occurs. With all respect, | do not agree that
Patterson so held.

In the first place, the Patterson Court was dealing
with a claim of racial harassment during the existence of
the employment relationship. The Court was directly con-
cerned with employer conduct which occurred after con-
tract formation, but before contract termination. In this
context, “conduct” as used by the Court may well not
have been meant to embrace an employer’s act in termi-
nating the contract. In saying that the right to make
contracts does not extend to conduct by the employer
after the relation has been established, the Court referred
to that conduct as “including breach of the terms of the
contract or imposition of discriminatory working condi-
tions.” 109 S. Ct. at 2373. Termination of a contract at will
is not breach, and no reference was made to termination
or discharge as an instance of employer conduct to which
the right does not extend. It i¢ very difficult to believe
that this omission was inadvertent, particularly in the
light of Justice Brennan’s positive assertion in dissent that

28a

Congress intended “to go beyond protecting the freed-
men from refusals to contract for their labor and from
discriminatory decisions to discharge them.” Id. at 2388
(Brennan, J., dissenting). See Hicks v. Brown Group, Inc.,
902 F.2d 635, 1990 U.S. App. Lexis 6069, *25-26 (8th Cir.),
reh’g and reh’g in bank denied (1990)

In the second place, one facet of termination of
employment is a refusal to enter into a contract for the
future, and thus termination is a violation of § 1981 if
based on race. Patterson, 109 S. Ct. 2372.

I am aware that the majority opinion spoke critically,
at p. 2377 n.6, of Justice Stevens’ assertion in dissent that
an at-will employee is constantly re-making the contract
and a new contract is made whenever significant new
duties are assigned to the employee. Id. at 2396 (Stevens,
J., dissenting). Fairly read, this exchange relates to activ-
ity during the existence of the employment relationship
and not to termination.

I have also noted another point in the Patterson
majority opinion where there is no reference to termina-
tion. The Court indicated reasons for avoiding overlap of
coverage between § 1981 and Title VII. It concluded that
“some overlap will remain.” But the only instance it cited
was “a refusal to enter into an employment contract on
the basis of race.” Id. at 2375 and n4. If discriminatory
discharge is a violation of § 1981, it would be an impor-
tant instance of overlap.

The omission would be consistent with a judgment
by the Court that discriminatory discharge is not a viola-
tion of § 1981. Considering it, however, along with the
omission earlier noted, it seems most probable that the

29a

omissions indicate that the Court electec not to decide
the impact of § 1981 on discriminatory discharge.

Concluding that Patterson leaves open the question
whether a racially discriminatory termination is a viola-
tion of § 1981 and deeming it a better construction of
congressional intent that it is such a violation, |
respectfully dissent from the views of my colleagues on
this branch of the case.

A true Copy:

Teste:

Clerk of the United States
Court of Appeals for the
Seventh Circuit

30a

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
EASTERN DISTRICT OF WISCONSIN

GARY McKNIGHT,
Plaintiff,

V. Case No. 870C-0248

GENERAL MOTORS
CORPORATION,

Defendant.

DECISION AND ORDER

Commencing on October 3, 1988, a jury trial was held
on the plaintiff’s claims, pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 1981 and
Title VII, that the defendant unlawfully discharged him
from his employment at A.C. Sparkplug because of his
race and in retaliation for his prior complaints of race
discrimination. The jury returned a verdict in favor of the
plaintiff on both the discrimination claim and the retalia-
tion claim. The jury awarded $110,000 in compensatory
damages and $500,000 in punitive damages.

The defendant has now filed motions after verdict
seeking: (a) a judgment notwithstanding the verdict; or in
the alternative, (b) an order amending the judgment to
strike the award of punitive damages and reduce the
amount of the compensatory damages; and (c) a new trial
on various grounds. The plaintiff has filed a post verdict

3la

motion to amend the judgment to provide for his rein-
statement to his prior job or to a comparable position. For
reasons stated herein, the defendant’s several motions
will be denied, as will the plaintiff’s motion for reinstate-
ment.

Motions for a judgment notwithstanding the verdict
are to be weighed by the following legal standard:

Such a motion should be denied “where the
evidence, along with inferences to be reasonably
drawn therefrom, when viewed in the light most
favorable to the party opposing such motion, is
such that reasonable men in a fair and impartial
exercise of their judgment may reach different
conclusions.” Smith v. J.C. Penny Company, 7 Cir.,
1958, 261 F.2d 218, 219.

Rakovich v. Wade, No. 85-1529 and 85-1530, slip op. at 12
(7th Cir. June 8, 1988) (en banc) (quoting Valdes v.
Karoll’s Inc., 277 F.2d 637, 638 (7th Cir. 1960).

In deciding whether the evidence is sufficient to sat-
isfy this standard, the district court is not to weigh the
evidence or judge the credibility of the witnesses nor
substitute its own judgment of the facts for that of the
jury. Rakovich, supra, at 12-13. The district court, however,
should consider whether the evidence to support the
verdict is substantial; “a mere scintilla of evidence will
not suffice.” La Montagne v. American Convenience
Products, Inc., 750 F. 2d 1405, 1410 (7th Cir. 1984).

I find that there was ample credible evidence to
support the jury’s findings that the defendant discrimi-
nated against the plaintiff on the basis of race, and also,
that it retaliated against him for having filed complaints

32a

alleging race discrimination. Similarly, there was suffi-
cient evidence to warrant the jury’s finding that the
defendant took these actions in a malicious, wanton or
oppressive manner.

The order of proof in a case such as this is set forth in
McDonnell Douglas Corp. v. Green, 411 U.S. 792, 802
(1973), and in Texas Dept. of Community Affairs v. Bur-
dine, 450 U.S. 248, 254 (1980). Under the prescribed
modei of proof, the plaintiff must first establish a prima
facie case. To do this the plaintiff must (1) prove that he is
a member of a protected class, (2) prove that he was
discharged, and (3) produce sufficient evidence of dispa-
rate treatment tha: the court can infer a causal connection
between his protected class membership and the dis-
charge. Similarly, in order to establish a prima facie case
of retaliation, the plaintiff must show that: “(1) he has
engaged in statutorily protected activity; (2) that the
employer has taken adverse employment action; and (3) a
causal connection exists between the two.” Donnellon v.
Fruehauf Corp., 794 F.2d 598, 600 (11th Cir. 1986).

The prima facie case serves the function of eliminat-
ing the most common non-discriminatory reasons for the
employer’s adverse action against the plaintiff, giving
rise to a legally mandatory presumption of intent to
discriminate on a prohibited basis. Burdine, supra, 450
U.S. at 254 n. 7. The burden then shifts to the employer to
rebut the presumption by articulating a legitimate, non-
discriminatory reason for the discharge. Id. The burden
then shifts back to the plaintiff to prove that the articu-
lated reason is pretextual. This may be accomplished
directly by persuading the trier of fact “that a discrimina-
tory reason more likely motivated the employer or

33a

indirectly by showing that the employer’s proffered
explanation is unworthy of credence.” Burdine, supra, 450
U.S. at 256. If the articulated reason is shown to be
pretextual, then the initial presumption is in effect resur-
rected and stands unrebutted.

In McDonnell Douglas, the Supreme Court held that in
an individual race discrimination case, the employee may
focus on employment patterns broader than his own indi-
vidual case to prove pretext. Id. at 804-05. An employer’s
deviation from normal patterns and practices, the subjec-
tivity of the employment evaluation system relied upon
by the employer and the racial attitudes of the super-
visors in question are generally considered relevant in
this regard. Id.; Hunter v. Allis-Chalmers Corp., 797 F.2d
1417, 1423 (7th Cir. 1986).

In Burdine the Supreme Court recognized the signifi-
cance of credibility judgments by the trier of fact by
noting that “there may be some cases where the plain-
tiff’s initial evidence, combined with effective cross-
examination of the defendant, will suffice to discredit the
defendant’s explanation” and that “this evidence and
inferences properly drawn therefrom may be considered
by the trier of fact on the issue of whether the defendant’s
explanation is pretextual.” Id. at 255 n. 10. Whe’ er the
proffered non-discriminatory reason is pretextual may
turn on the jury’s judgment as to the credibility of the
witnesses “because almost every worker has some defi-
ciency on which the employer can plausibly blame the
worker’s troubles.” Hunter, supra, 797 F.2d at 1423.

The defendant argues that Mr. McKnight was fired
because he did not meet the employer’s legitimate job

34a

performance expectations. G.M. presented the testimony
of numerous management personnel who held super-
visory responsibilities over the plaintiff, along with the
results of various personnel appraisals that evaluated the
plaintiff in a negative manner. G.M. argues that the vol-
ume of this evidence was “overwhelming” and that Mr.
McKnight did not provide a scintilla of evidence to prove
that the allegations of employment performance deficien-
cies were pretextual. On the contrary, I find that the jury
was presented with substantial evidence, which, if
believed, would show that the defendant’s proffered
explanation of poor job performance was pretextual.

First, the jury received the testimony of the plaintiff's
expert on personnel practices. Dr. Dresang opined that
the subjectivity of G.M.’s employee appraisal system is
such that is does not provide reliable evidence of poor
performance. Second, the motives of a number of the
defendant’s witnesses who had supervisory respon-
sibility for the plaintiff were effectively impeached. Some
examples: one of the plaintiff's supervisors told racial
jokes, using the word “nigger;” one of the plaintiff’s
supervisors was coerced into reducing an evaluation of
Mr. McKnight’s work performance; a former manufactur-
ing superintendent provided an affidavit to the effect that
the plaintiff’s immediate supervisor wanted to terminate
the plaintiff's employment for reasons unrelated to his
job performance; and several black employees testified
that they were concerned about how black employees
were treated by Mr. McKnight’s immediate supervisor.
Third, assuming the validity of the defendant’s negative
appraisal of the plaintiff’s job performance, there was

35a

evidence that the plaintiff was treated differently than
others with similar performance problems.

Substantial evidence was offered by Mr. McKnight in
support of his claim of retaliation. For example, Thomas
Cassini admitted that the plaintiff’s past litigation against
the company was discussed in the meeting at which it
was decided to fire the plaintiff; the plaintiff’s immediate
supervisor was told that he “must” document everything
about the plaintiff because of the pending litigation; Mr.
McKnight was referred to by a supervisor as a “hot
potato” because of his litigation; there was evidence that
supervisory personnel were upset with the plaintiff
because he had filed complaints against the company;
there was evidence that the plaintiff’s assignment to “line
6” was retaliatory and designed to pave the way for his
termination; and there was evidence that a supervisor
repeatedly asked Mr. McKnight to sign a release for his
complaint against the company and that this supervisor
told him that his career at G.M. would be damaged if he
did not sign.

The foregoing examples, along with other similar
evidence offered at trial, are sufficient when viewed in
the light most favorable to the plaintiff to have enabled
the jury to reach the conclusion that the explanation
offered by the defendant was pretextual. The findings of
fact of the jury will not be disturbed.

The defendant’s motion for a new trial is based on
the following grounds: (a) that the jury’s verdict is con-
trary to the great weight of the evidence; (b) that the
defendant was denied a fair trial because of erroneous
evidentiary rulings, the imposition of time constraints by

36a

the court, and alleged misconduct by the plaintiff’s coun-
sel; and (c) that the size of the damage award evinces bias
and passion on the part of the jury which necessarily
must have infected its determinations as to liability.

The authority to grant a new trial generally rests
within the trial court’s discretion. Allied Chemical Corp.
v. Daiflon, Inc. 449 U.S. 33, 36 (1980). A new trial is
warranted if the verdict is contrary to the clear weight of
the evidence, if the damages award is excessive, or if the
trial was not fair to the moving party. General Roam
Fabricators, Inc. v. Tenneco Chemicals, Inc., 695 F.2d 281,
288 (7th Cir. 1982).

The defendant’s allegations of misconduct by the
plaintiff’s attorney are singularly unfounded and merit
no discussion.

The defendant lists fifteen evidentiary rulings by the
court which it asserts were in error. The defendant
wanted the court to limit the evidence to that which
concerned the motives of only those management person-
nel directly involved in evaluating or supervising the
plaintiff during the relevant time period. Such an eviden-
tiary limitation is directly contrary to the approach
reflected in McDonnell Douglas and would impose insur-
mountable evidentiary barriers on plaintiffs in this type
of case. See Hunter, supra, 797 F.2d at 1423. I do not
believe that the evidentiary rulings in this case preju-
diced the defendant or justify a new trial.

The defendant argues that it was not given adequate
time to present its case. At the pretrial conference both
sides agreed that the trial would take no more than a
week, and the court scheduled the case accordingly.

37a

Although this was not a complex case, it was tried with
great zeal and competitiveness, and as the trial pro-
gressed it became very apparent that the presentation of
proof was becoming unnecessarily prolonged. The allow-
able time provided to each side was then modified to
accomplish the completion of the trial within the period
originally contemplated; however, counsel were expressly
informed that additional time would be afforded if the
interests of justice required it. Indeed, at G.M.’s request
its allowable time was in fact extended near the end of
the trial. G-M. never made an offer of proof as to what
evidence it was unable to introduce and failed to make an
objection as to the time allocations. Johnson v. Ashby, 808
F.2d 676, 678 (8th Cir. 1987). In my opinion, G.M. was
afforded a full and adequate opportunity to present its
case, and my exercise of control over the length of the
trial did not impinge on the defendants receiving a fair
trial.

The jury’s award of $55,000 for lost wages and fringe
benefits was reasonable. The plaintiff earned wages of
$32,000 for the eleven months that he worked for the
defendant in 1983. After his discharge, Mr. McKnight
earned $12,600 in 1984; $18,000 in 1985; $33,000 in 1986;
$55,000 in 1987; and approximately $11,000 in 1988, up
until the commencement of the trial. Accounting for lost
benefits, projected salary increases and expenses incurred
in commuting to Chicago in 1987, the $55,000 award was
reasonable.

The jury’s award of $55,000 for pain, suffering, and
physical and emotional distress was also reasonable. A
jury’s assessment of damages for intangible harms such

38a

as humiliation and emotional distress is inherently sub-
jective. I believe that the jury’s judgment was amply
supported by the evidence. The expert testimony of Dr.
Lynch showed that the plaintiff suffered anxiety, sleep
disorder, headaches and other psychosomatic complaints
associated with stress, along with a loss of self-esteem as
a result of his termination. The plaintiff was under such
stress that just prior to his discharge, he sought psychi-
atric counseling. Dr. Lynch also testified that the plaintiff
suffered a greater degree of emotional distress as a result
of his termination than did the typical victim of unjust
termination; this was because of the degree of investment
that the plaintiff had made in terms of time and commit-
ment to the defendant. Under these circumstances, an
award of $55,000 is consistent with past awards for emo-
tional distress in race discrimination cases under § 1981.
* eg. Foster v. MCI Telecommunications Corp., 555 F.Supp.
330 (D.C. Colo. 1983) ($50,000); Fisher v. Dillard Univer-
sity, 499 F.Supp. 525 (E.D. La. 1980) ($50,000); Williams v.
Owens-Illinois, Inc., 25 F.E.P. Cases 1478 (N.D. Cal. 1979)
($50,000).

In my opinion, the jury’s award of $500,000 for puni-
tive damages is also reasonable. This is a case involving
deliberate wrong doing by a wealthy defendant. There as
ample evidence to enable the jury to conclude that G.M.
intentionally retaliated against the plaintiff. An award of
punitive damages is appropriate to punish a wrongdoer
for its outrageous conduct and to deter others from
engaging in similar conduct. Ramsey v. American Air
Filter Co., 772 F.2d 1303, 1314 (7th Cir. 1985).

In order for an award to constitute meaningful pun-
ishment, the jury is permitted to take into account the

39a

size and wealth of the defendant. Simply because the
amount necessary to constitute punishment and deter-
rence is sizable does not mean that the award of punitive
damages is a windfall for the plaintiff. In the instant case,
the award of punitive damages is not out of proportion to
the amount of compensatory damages. It cannot be said
that the amount of the award evidences that the jury was
motivated by improper reasons, such as prejudice or
caprice.

In his motion for reinstatement, Mr. McKnight argues
that prevailing Title VII claimants are presumptively enti-
tled to reinstatement. Donnellonn v. Fruehauf, 794 F.2d
598 (11th Cir. 1986). The remedial purposes of the act
contemplate that, in order to make the plaintiff whole,
reinstatement may be granted. Albemarle Paper Co. v.
Moody, 422 U.S. 405, 416 (1974). In that case the Supreme
Court explained:

It is true that backpay is not an automatic or
mandatory remedy; like all other remedies
under the Act, it is one which the courts “may”
invoke. The scheme implicitly recognizes that
there may be cases calling for one remedy but
not another, and — owing to the structure of the
federal judiciary — these choices are, of course,
left in the first instance to the district courts.

Although the district court’s discretion is equitable in
nature, its judgment must be guided by the purposes of
Title VII. Id. The purposes of Title VII are prophylactic:

[the purpose is] to achieve equality of employ-
ment opportunities and to remove barriers that
have operated in the past to favor an identifia-
ble group of white employees over other
employees. [quoting Griggs v. Duke Power Co.,
401 U.S. 424, 429-30 (1971)] . . . It is also the

40a

purpose of Title VII to make persons whole for
injuries suffered on account of unlawful
employment discrimination. This is shown by
the very fact that Congress took care to arm the
courts with full equitable powers. For it is the
historic purpose of equity to “secur[e] complete
justice.”

Albemarle, supra, at 417-18.

After balancing all the equities, | am convinced that
reinstatement in this case would not advance the pur-
poses of Title VII. The plaintiff asserts that he prefers not
to be reinstated in his former position of manufacturing
supervisor but rather in a position concerned with corpo-
rate finance or investment banking. Further, the evidence
at trial established that the plaintiff has changed his
career goal from manufacturing management to being a
stockbroker. I conclude that the plaintiff does not have a
primary interest in the position that he formerly held. At
trial it became evident that the relationship between the
parties is acrimonious at best and given the management
level position involved, reinstatement would probably be
unproductive. It is clear that in the instant case the plain-
tiff has been fully compensated and thereby made whole
by the award of compensatory damages, and the defen-
dant has been properly punished by the award of puni-
tive damages. Complete justice requires no more in the
context of the remedial purpose of Title VII.

Therefore, IT IS ORDERED that the defendant's
motions after verdict be and hereby are denied.

IT IS ALSO ORDERED that the plaintiff’s motion for
reinstatement be and hereby is denied.

4la

Dated at Milwaukee, Wisconsin this ___ day of Janu-
ary, 1989.

Senior U.S. District Judge

42a

APPENDIX C
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
For the Seventh Circuit
Chicago, Illinois 60604
August 21, 1990
Before
Hon. Richard A. Posner, Circuit Judge
Hon. Frank H. Easterbrook, Circuit Judge
Hon. Thomas E. Fairchild, Senior Circuit Judge

Gary McKNIGHT,

Plaintiff-Appellee,
Cross-Appellant,

Nos. 89-1379, 89-1526 v.

Appeal from the
United States
District Court
for the Eastern
District of

GENERAL Motors CorPorRATION, Wisconsin.
Defendant-Appellant, No. 87 C0248
Cross-Appellee. Myron L.

ee

Gordon, Judge.
ORDER

On July 13, 1990, plaintiff-appellee, cross-appellant
filed a petition for rehearing with suggestion for rehear-
ing en banc. All of the judges on the original panel have
voted to deny the petition, and none of the active judges
has requested a vote on the suggestion for rehearing en
banc. The petition is therefore DENIED.

|

43a

APPENDIX D
AMENDED
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
For the Seventh Circuit
Chicago, Illinois 60604
August 21, 1990
Before
Hon. Richard A. Posner, Circuit Judge
Hon. Frank H. Easterbrook, Circuit Judge
Hon. Thomas E. Fairchild, Senior Circuit Judge

Gary MCKNIGHT, Appeal from the

United States

ee Pi: : — District Court
PP ; for the Eastern
Nos. 89-1379, 89-1526 V. District of

Wisconsin.
(GENERAL Motors CorPoORATION,

No. 87 C0248
Myren L.
Gordon, Judge.

Defendant-Appellant,
Cross-Appellee.

i

ORDER

On July 13, 1990, plaintiff-appellee, cross-appellant
filed a petition for rehearing with suggestion for rehear-
ing en banc. All of the judges on the original panel have
voted to deny the petition, and none of the active judges
has requested a vote on the suggestion for rehearing en
banc.* The petition is therefore DENIED.

* Circuit Judge Walter J. Cummings did not participate in the
consideration of the suggestion for rehearing en banc.

44a

APPENDIX E

Applicable Federal Statutes
42 U.S.C. 1981

“All persons within the jurisdiction of the
United States shall have the same right in every
State and Territory to make and enforce con-
tracts, to sue, be parties, give evidence, and to
the full and equal benefit of all laws and pro-
ceedings for the security of persons and prop-
erty as is enjoyed by white citizens, and shall be
subject to like punishment, pains, penalties,
taxes, licenses, and exactions of every kind, and
to no other.”

Sec. 2000e-2. Unlawful employment practices 2

Employer Practices

(a) Is shall be unlawful employment practice for an
employer -

(1) to fail or refuse to hire or to discharge
any individual, or otherwise to discriminate
against any individual with respect to his com-
pensation, terms, conditions, or privileges of
employment, because of such individual’s race,
color, religion, sex, or national origin; or

(2) to limit, segregate, or classify his
employees or applicants for employment in any
way which would deprive or tend to deprive
any individual of employment opportunities or
otherwise adversely affect his status as an
employee, because of such individual’s race,
color, religion, sex, or national origin.

45a

Employment agency practices

(b) It shall be an unlawful employment practice for an
employment agency to fail or refuse to refer for employment,
or otherwise to discriminate against, any individual because
of his race, color, religion, sex, or national origin, or to
classify or refer to employment any individual on the basis
of his race, color, religion, sex, or national origin.

Labor organization practices

(c) It shall be an unlawful employment practice for a
labor organization —

(1) to exclude or to expel from its member-
ship, or otherwise to discriminate against, any indi-
vidual because of his race, color, religion, sex, or
national origin;

(2) to limit, segregate, or classify its member-
ship or applicants for membership, or to classify or
fail or refuse to refer for employment any individ-
ual, in any way which would deprive or tend to
deprive any individual of employment oppor-
tunities, or would limit such employment oppor-
tunities or otherwise adversely affect his status as
an employee or as an applicant for employment,
because of such individual’s race, color, religion,
sex, Or national origin; or

(3) to cause or attempt to cause an employer
to discriminate against an individual in violation of
this section.

Businesses or enterprises with personnel
qualified on basis of religion, sex, or

national origin; educational institutions
with personnel of particular religion

(e) Notwithstanding any other provision of this sub-
chapter, (1) it shall not be an unlawful employment

46a

practice for an employer to hire and employ employees,
for an employment agency to classify, or refer for
employment any individual, for a labor organization to
classify its membership or to classify or refer for employ-
ment any individual, or for an employer, labor organiza-
tion, or joint labor-management committee controlling
apprenticeship or other training or retraining programs
to admit or employ any individual in any such program,
on the basis of his religion, sex, or national origin in those
certain instances where religion, sex, or national origin is
a bona fide occupational qualification reasonably neces-
sary to the normal operation of that particular business or
enterprise, and (2) it shall not be an unlawful employ-
ment practice for a school, college, university, or other
educational institution or institution of learning to hire
and employ employees of a particular religion if such
school, college, university, or other educational institu-
tion or institution of learning is, in whole or in substan-
tial part, owned, supported, controlled, or managed by a
particular religion or by a particular religious corpora-
tion, association, or society, or if the curriculum of such
school, college, university, or other educational institu-
tion or institution of learning is directed toward the prop-
agation of a particular religion.

Members of Communist Party or Communist-action
or Communist-front organizations

(f) As used in this subchapter, the phrase “unlawful
employment practice” shall not be deemed to include any
action or measure taken by an employer, labor organiza-
tion, joint labor-management committee, or employment
agency with respect to an individual who is a member of

47a

the Communist Party of the United States or of any other
organization required to register as a Communist-action
or Communist-front organization by final order of the
Subversive Activities Control Board pursuant to the Sub-
versive Activities Control Act of 1950.

National security

(g) Notwithstanding any other provision o: this
subchapter, it shall not be an unlawful employment prac-
tice for an employer to fail or refuse to hire and employ
any individual for any position, for an employer to dis-
charge any individual from any position, or for an
employment agency to fail or refuse to refer any individ-
ual for employment in any position, or for a labor organi-
zation to fail or refuse to refer any individual for
employment in any position, if —

(1) the occupancy of such position, or
access to the premises in or upon which any
part of the duties of such position is performed
or is to be performed, is subject to any require-
ment imposed in the interest of the national
seculity of the United States under any security
program in effect pursuant to or administered

under any statute of the United States or any
Executive order of the President; and

(2) such individual has not fulfilled or has
ceased to fulfill that requirement.

Seniority or merit system; quantity or
quality of production; alslity tests;
compensation based on sex and
authorized by minimum wage provisions

(h) Notwithstanding any other provision of this
subchapter, it shall not be ar unlawful employment

48a

practice for an employer to apply different standards of
compensation, or different terms, conditions, or privileges of
employment pursuant to a bona fide seniority or merit sys-
tem, or a system which measures earnings by quantity or
quality of production or to employees who work in different
locations, provided that such differences are not the result of
an intention to discriminate because of race, color, religion,
sex, or national origin, nor shall it be an unlawful employ-
ment practice for an employer to give and to act upon the
results of any professionally developed ability test provided
that such test, its administration or action upon the results is
not designed, intended or used to discriminate because of
race, color, religion, sex or national origin. It shall not be an
unlawful employment practice under this subchapter for any
employer to differentiate upon the basis of sex in determin-
ing the amount of the wages or compensation paid or to be
paid to employees of such employer if such differentiation is
authorized by the provisions of section 206(d) of Title 29.

Business or enterprises extending
preferential treatment to Indiana

(i) Nothing contained in this subchapter shall apply to
any business or enterprise on or near an Indian reservation
with respect to any publicly announced employment practice
of such business or enterprise under which a preferential
treatment is given to any individual because he is an Indian
living on or near a reservation.

Preferential treatment not to be granted on account
of existing number or percentage imbalance.

(j) Nothing contained in this subchapter shall be inter-
preted to require any employer, employment agency,

49a

labor organization, or joint labor-management committee
subject to this subchapter to grant preferential treatment to
any individual or to any group because of the race, color,
religion, sex, or national origin of such individual or group
on account of an imbalance which may exist with respect to
the total number or percentage of persons of any race, color,
religion, sex, or national origin employed by any employer,
referred or classified for employment by any employment
agency or labor organization, admitted to membership or
classified by any labor organization, or admitted to, or
employed in any apprenticeship or other training program,
in comparison with the total number or percentage of per-
sons of such race, color, religion, sex, or national origin in
any community, State, section, or other area, or in the avail-
able work force in any community, State, section, or other
area. Pub.L. 88-352, Title VII, sec. 703, July 2, 1964, 78 Stat.
255; Pub.L. 92-261, sec. 8(a),(b),Mar.24,1972, 86 Stat. 109.

Sec. 2000e-3. Other unlawful employment practices

Discrimination for making charges, testifying,
assisting, Or participating in
enforcement proceedings
(a) It shall be an unlawful employment practice for an
employer to discriminate against any of his employees or
applicants for employment, for an employment agency, or
joint labor-management committee controlling apprentice-
ship or other training or retraining, including on-the-job
training programs, to discriminate against any individual, or
for a labor organization to discriminate against any individ-
ual, or for a labor organization to discriminate against any
member thereof or applicant for membership, because he has

ne eeenee mena

50a

opposed any practice made an unlawful employment prac-
tice by this subchapter, or because he had made a charge,
testified, assisted, or participated in any manner in an inves-
tigation, proceeding, or hearing under this subchapter.

Printing or publication of notices or advertisements
indicating prohibited preference, limitations,
specification, or discrimination;
occupational qualifications exception

(b) It shall be an unlawful employment practice for an
employer, labor organization, employment agency, or joint
labor-management committee controlling apprenticeship or
other training or retraining, including on-the-job training
programs, to print or publish or cause to be printed or
published any notice or advertisement relating to employ-
ment by such an employer or membership in or any classi-
fication or referral for employment by such a labor
organization, or relating to any classification or referral for
employment by such an employment agency, or relating to
admission to, or employment in any program established to
provide apprenticeship or other training by such a joint
labor-management committee, indicating any preference,
limitation, specification, or discrimination, based on race,
color, religion, sex, or national origin, except that such a
notice or advertisement may indicate a preference, limitation,
specification, or discrimination based on religion, sex, or
national origin when religion, sex, or national origin is a
bona fide occupational qualification for employment. Pub.L.
88-352, Title VII, sec. 704, July 2, 1964, 78 Stat. 257; Pub.L.
92-261, sec. 8(c),Mar.24,1972, 86 Stat. 109.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385020_3089%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
