# Reply Brief — Fleet Factors Corp. v. United States, 111 S. Ct. 752 (1991) (No. 90-504)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385020_2869%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1991

## Text

’

|] orc 28 1980

No. 90-504 /
” | loserit F. SPANIOL, JR.

\

=

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1990

FLEET FACTORS CORP.,
Petitioner,
Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Eleventh Circuit

REPLY BRIEF OF
PETITIONER FLEET FACTORS CORP.

DouGLas J. Goop GRIFFIN B. BELL
LAURICE FIRENZE (Counsel of Record)
RUSKIN, SCHLISSEL, MOSCOU, PATRICIA BARMEYER

EVANS & FALTISCHEK, P.C. KING & SPALDING
170 Old County Road 1730 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W.
Mineola, New York 11502 Washington, D.C. 20006
(516) 248-9500 (202) 737-0500

RICHARD E. MILEY
NIXON, YOW, WALLER & CAPERS
1500 First Union Bank Building
Augusta, Georgia 30910
(404) 722-7541
Attorneys for Petitioner,
Fleet Factors Corp.

(AEE EE LOE OIE: ET TE S| TE LO Seal

WILSON - Epes PRINTING Co., INC. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

STATUTE INVOLVED

ARGUMENT

I. THE GOVERNMENT DOES NOT DENY
THAT THIS CASE PRESENTS A QUESTION
OF NATIONAL IMPORTANCE .....WW00000w.......

Il. SIGNIFICANT TENSION EXISTS BETWEEN
THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT’S DECISION IN
FLEET FACTORS AND THE NINTH CIR-
CUIT’S DECISION IN BERGSOE METAL
US ceccaneaccucegtciseacin. seskakesanbhcibdbablanncgcapdecmiccindcttnnaensiienice

Ill. THE QUESTION PRESENTED IS RIPE FOR
gy ie ie y || RE

SRI, isiciasbnccitcsininchnceneinicbshioreeninianciageaiinoaniatio jabaiinsiene

ii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases Page
Arizona v. Maricopa County Medical Soc’y, 457

SE. Se CD ocictecsieeeie eee, 6
Black v. Cutter Laboratories, 351 U.S. 292 (1956)... 6
Brotherhood of Locomotive Firemen and Engine-

men v. Bangor & A. R.R., 389 U.S. 327 (1967)... 6
Chan v. Korean Air Lines, Ltd., 109 S. Ct. 1676

TROD xvcnisssisu. suncncuccdestanuiemasbiumenddabasmed ian ie 6
City of New Orleans v. Dukes, 427 U.S. 297

CI sxsnsascsiceica us cessciansecensekesubisueenetacaansiacinetrala tae ne a a 6
Dawson Chem. Co. v. Rohm and Haas Co., 448 U.S.

176, reh’g denied, 448 U.S. 917 (1980) —............ 4
Goodman v. Lukens Steel Co., 482 U.S. 656 (1987)... 6
Hamilton-Brown Shoe Co. v. Wolf Bros. & Co., 240

16 Se | | eens Aen ne stone 6
In re Bergsoe Metal Corp., 910 F.2d 668 (9th Cir.

DI sicdiesiicsaisccintitouasioniimndas comonieaaaaae Lia 3, 4,5
United States v. Fleet Factors Corp., 901 F.2d

BORO CEE Ge. BOON ccc passim

Statutes
28 U.S.C.A. § 1254(1) (West Supp. 1990) ................ 5
42 U.S.C.A. § 9601(20) (A) (West Supp. 1990) ...... passim
42 U.S.C.A. § 9607(a) (West Supp. 1990) 0.0000... _..passim

Court Rules

Bs Ss Ti DG. sa secinccccisniksneccsncectgvntieaiishateaalamnacenamiiannanens 5
EU. Rs Ts BE COD seesecasisneiiccctdecsenicclapneacceueaeeeias 3

Other Authorities

Testimony of Steven A. Seelig, Director of the Di-
vision of Liquidation at the FDIC, Before the
Subcommittee on Transportation and Hazardous
Materials of the Committee on Energy and Com-
merce, U.S. House of Representatives (Aug. 2,
NMG nM ee RN AE Rl EE 2
Testimony of David C. Cooke, Executive Director
of the Resolution Trust Corporation, Before the
Subcommittee on Transportation and Hazardous
Materials of the Committee on Energy and Com-
merce, U.S. House of Representatives (Aug. 2,
| SE OMS ee IFFY et Sh waka ae: 2

IN THE
Suprenw Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1990

No. 90-504

FLEET FACTORS CoRrP.,
Petitioner,
V.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Eleventh Circuit

REPLY BRIEF OF
PETITIONER FLEET FACTORS CORP.

Fleet Factors Corp. (“Petitioner”)

the Eleventh Circuit.

STATUTE INVOLVED

' The matter before the Court involves several sections
of the federal Comprehensive Environmental Response,
Compensation and Liability Act (“CERCLA”):
(20) (A), 107(a) of CERCLA, 42 U.S.C.A. $§ 9601(20) (A),

respectfully sub-
mits this Reply Brief in support of its Petition for Writ
of Certiorari to the United States Court of Appeals for

$$ 101

2

9607(a) (West Supp. 1990). These are set forth ver-
batim in the Petition for Writ of Certiorari. Petition
at 2. In essence, this matter involves the proper inter-
pretation of the CERCLA statute’s “secured creditor
exemption,” an issue of significant national importance.

ARGUMENT

I. THE GOVERNMENT DOES NOT DENY THAT
THIS CASE PRESENTS A QUESTION OF NA-
TIONAL IMPORTANCE

The Eleventh Circuit has rendered an incorrect decision
on a vitally important question of federal law: whether
CERCLA’s “secured creditor exemption” protects a se-
cured lender from liability for environmental cleanup
costs where the lender neither took title to any of the
borrower’s property, nor participated in the day-to-day
management of the facility in question. The government’s
brief in opposition does not deny the importance of this

issue,

Indeed, severai of the government’s own agencies have
acknowledged the significant and negative impact of the
Eleventh Circuit’s decision on the nation’s financial insti-
tutions. For example, an official of the Federal Deposit
Insurance Corporation recently stated: “The FDIC is
very concerned about nonculpable lenders’ potential lia-
bility under [CERCLA]. ... The Fleet Factors decision
may have an enormous impact on lenders.” Testimony of
Steven A. Seelig, Director of the Division of Liquidation
at the FDIC, Before the Subcommittee on Transportation
and Hazardous Materials of the Committee on Energy
and Commerce, U.S. House of Representatives 1, 12
(Aug. 2, 1990). See also Testimony of David C. Cooke,
Executive Director of the Resolution Trust Corporation,
Before the Subcommittee on Transportation and Hazard-
ous Materials of the Committee on Energy and Com-
merce, U.S. House of Representatives 4 (Aug. 2, 1990)
(“The impact of [CERCLA] is highlighted and, to a

3

great extent, exacerbated by a recent case, United States
v. Fleet Factors’).

Moreover, the government’s brief acknowledges that
the concern of the lending community resulting from the
decision has attracted the attention of Congress and the
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (“EPA”). See
Brief in Opposition at 18. The government concludes that
the Court “might find it advisable to await the outcome
of the|se] legislative and administrative proceedings.”
Id, at 13. However, the prospect that these activities will
correct the erroneous decision of the Eleventh Circuit is
speculative at best.

CERCLA was reauthorized for a period of three years
at existing levels at the conclusion of the 101st Congress.
Congress is therefore unlikely to visit CERCLA issues in
the near future because it has several other major en-
vironmental statutes to reauthorize in the meantime (i.e.,
the Clean Water Act and the Resource Conservation and
Recovery Act). Any rulemaking by EPA construing
CERCLA in a manner different from the Eleventh Cir-
cuit’s decision will not have the effect of reversing or
overruling the Court of Appeals. In addition, an EPA
rule different from Fleet Factors presumably would not
control a private cost recovery action under CERCLA.

Il. SIGNIFICANT TENSION EXISTS BETWEEN THE
ELEVENTH CIRCUITS DECISION IN FLEET
FACTORS AND THE NINTH CIRCUIT'S DECISION
IN BERGSOE METAL CORP.

Significant tension exists between the Eleventh Circuit’s
decision in the Fleet Factors case and the Ninth Circuit’s
decision in the Bergsoe Metal Corp. case. See In re Berg-
soe Metal Corp., 910 F.2d 668 (9th Cir. 1990); United
States v. Fleet Factors Corp., 901 F.2d 1550 (1ith Cir.
1990). Therefore, review by the Court at this time is
warranted. Sup. Ct. R. 10.1(a).

4

An absolute or definitive conflict among the circuits is
not necessarily required for the Court to grant review.
For example, in Dawson Chem. Co. v. Rohm and Haas
Co., 448 U.S. 176, reh’g denied, 448 U.S. 917 (1980), the
Court “granted certiorari . . . to forestall a possible con-
flict in the lower courts and to resolve an issue of prime
importance in the administration of the patent law.” /d.
at 185. The Court explained that “|(tjhere |was] no di-
rect conflict [in that case], but a number of decisions
exhibited] some tension” on the patent issues involved.
Id, at 185 n.4,

The government has concluded erroneously that “the
reasoning of the Ninth Circuit [regarding the “secured
creditor exemption”] is entirely consistent with that of
the Eleventh Circuit.” Brief in Opposition at 11. The
inconsistency of the two circuits’ construction of the stat-
ute is evident from the plain language of their decisions.

The Eleventh Circuit expressly held the following:

[A] secured creditor will be liable if its involvement
with the management of the facility is sufficiently
broad to support the inference that it could affect
hazardous waste disposal decisions if it so chose.

901 F.2d at 1558 (emphasis added). The Ninth Circuit,
on the other hand, reached a clearly different and more
reasonable approach to CERCLA’s “secured creditor
exemption.” Although the Ninth Circuit indicated that it
would “leave for another day the establishment of a
Ninth Circuit rule,” it went on to hold:

What is critical [in deciding whether to impose
lender liability] is not what rights the Port had, but
what it did. The CERCLA security interest excep-
tion uses the active “participating in management.”
Regardless of what rights the Port may have had, it
cannot have participated in management if it never
exercised them.

910 F.2d at 672-73 (emphasis added).

5

Therefore, the Eleventh and Ninth Circuit’s views of
when a secured lender falls outside the protection of the
“secured creditor exemption” are patently at odds with
each other. The measure of liability under the Eleventh
Cireuit’s rule is the type of activity which the lender
could have engaged in or affected. The measure of lia-
bility according to the Ninth Circuit, however, is limited
to the activity actually engaged in by the lender. If the
two circuits’ approaches were consistent with each other,
as the government contends, then the Ninth Circuit would
have found the lender in the Bergsove case liable because
the loan documents provided the lender with authority to
affect the decision of the borrower. See 910 F.2d at
672-73.

The question presented to the Court by Petitioner is,
as noted above, of prime importance. Tension does exist
between the federal circuits’ interpretations of CERCLA’s
“secured creditor exemption.” Thus, this case is appro-
priate for review by this Court.

Ill, THE QUESTION PRESENTED IS RIPE FOR RE-
VIEW AT THIS TIME

In its opposition, the government focuses on the inter-
locutory posture of this case, but fails to recognize that
the broad rule announced by the court below is not fact-
bound. See Brief in Opposition at 7-10. This is not an
interlocutory case resting on disputed facts or conflicting
affidavits; rather, this case presents a broad legal ruling
that casts uncertainty over the settled commercial expec-
tations of secured lenders. Thus, the interlocutory pos-
ture of this case does not justify a denial of certiorari.

An interlocutory ruling by a United States circuit
court, including a denial of summary judgment, is ripe
for review by the Court; and the decision to grant or
deny a petition for certiorari is firmly grounded in the
Court’s discretion. 28 U.S.C.A. § 1254(1) (West Supp.
1990) ; Sup. Ct. R. 10.1,

6

The government incorrectly intimates that a hard and
fast litmus test exists for when a writ of certiorari will
be granted or denied. Brief in Opposition at 8. The Court
frequently grants review of interlocutory rulings regard-
ing summary judgment motions. See Chan v. Korean Air
Lines, Ltd., 109 S. Ct. 1676, 1678-79 (1989) (review of a
denial of summary judgment on a damages limitation
issue in a wrongful death action); Arizona v. Maricopa
County Medical Soc’y, 457 U.S. 332, 336-37 (1982) (re-
view of a denial of summary judgment on the issue of
liability in an antitrust action). The cases cited by the
government are inapposite, as none of them involved a
summary judgment ruling. See Goodman v. Lukens Steel
Co., 482 U.S. 656, 658-60 (1987); Brotherhood of Loco-
motive Firemen and Enginemen v. Bangor & A. R.R.,
389 U.S. 327, 327-28 (1967); Black v. Cutter Labora-
tories, 351 U.S. 292, 295-96 (1956); Hami/ton-Brown
Shoe Co. v. Wolf Bros. & Co., 240 U.S. 251, 253-54
(1916).

The question presented to the Court by Petitioner is in
fact particularly ripe for review at this time. The
Eleventh Circuit has issued a final ruling which estab-
lishes a far-reaching, new legal standard for CERCLA’s
“secured creditor exemption.” See City of New Orleans
v. Dukes, 427 U.S. 297, 301-03 (1976) ‘(under the anal-
ogous but recently repealed § 1254(2), final ruling ripe
for review although related issues still to be resolved on
remand). Unless this legal standard is reviewed by the
Court, the district court must apply this new but erro-
neous rule on remand. Contrary to the government's
contention, the application of this rule will require the
district court to reverse its earlier grant of partial sum-
mary judgment for Petitioner on the issue of liability
for the time from February 1981 to June 1982. See
Petition at 4, 19a-20a; Brief in Opposition at 9.

The dispute in this case then is not over factual find-
ings as the government intimates. Brief in Opposition
ut 2-10. Rather, it is over the Eleventh Circuit’s final

7

and improper interpretation of the “secured creditor
exemption” under CERCLA. Therefore, the Court should
grant review to correct this substantial legal error before
it is perpetuated.

CONCLUSION

For the substantial reasons stated in this Reply Brief
and in Petitioner's Petition for a Writ of Certiorari,
Petitioner, Fleet Factors Corp., requests the Court to
grant the writ of certiorari to review the judgment of
the Eleventh Circuit.

Respectfully submitted,

Dove as J. Goop GRIFFIN B. BELL
LAURICE FIRENZE (Counsel of Record)
RUSKIN, SCHLISSEL, Moscov, PATRICIA BARMEYER

EvANs & FALTISCHEK, P.C. KING & SPALDING
170 Old County Road 1730 Pennsvivania Ave., N.W.
Mineola, New York 11502 Washington, D.C. 20006
(516) 248-9500 (202) 737-0500

RIcHARD FE. MILEY
Nixon, Yow, WALLER & CAPERS
1500 First Union Bank Building
\urusta, Georgia 30910
(404) 722-7541
Attornens for Petitioner,
Fleet Factors Corp.
December 28, 1990

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385020_2869%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
