# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Fleet Factors Corp. v. United States, 111 S. Ct. 752 (1991) (No. 90-504)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385020_2869%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1991

## Text

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1990

FLEET FACTORS CORP., ‘
Petitioner,

V.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

~-
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

DOUGLAS J. GOOD GRIFFIN B. BELL
LAURICE FIRENZE (Counsel of Record)
RUSKIN, SCHLISSEL, MOSCcouU, PATRICIA BARMEYER

EVANS & FALTISCHEK, P.C. KING & SPALDING
170 Old County Road 1730 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W.
Mineola, New York 11502 Washington, D.C. 20006
(516) 248-9500 (202) 737-0500

RICHARD E. MILEY
NIXON, YOW, WALLER & CAPERS
1500 First Union Bank Building
Augusta, Georgia 30901
(404) 722-7541
Attorneys for Petitioner
Fleet Factors Corp.

WILSON - Epes PRINTING Co., INC. - 78S-O096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

BEST AVAILABLE COPY

——

QUESTION PRESENTED

CERCLA, the federal Superfund statute, imposes strict
liability for environmental response costs on the owner
or operator of a facility. Congress included an express
exemption for a secured lender who holds “indicia of
ownership” to protect its security interest but does not
participate in the management of the borrower’s facility.

Is a secured lender liable under CERCLA for environ-
mental response costs incurred at the borrower’s facility,
despite the statutory exemption for secured lenders,
where the iender neither took legal title to any of the
borrower’s property, nor participated in the day-to-day
management of the facility?

(i)

ii

PARTIES IN THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

The caption of this Petition contains the names of all
the parties to this action in the Eleventh Circuit. Fleet
Factors Corp. is a wholly-owned subsidiary of Fleet/
Norstar Financial Group, Ine. Neither Fleet Factors
Corp. nor its parent have any corporate affiliates other
than wholly-owned subsidiaries.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

| ne

PARTIES IN THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT ................

py RO Nips | | nr

ge CS

ET Se ET

STATUTE INVOLVED nagnetaniniitinlinlinineantiintnannaten

STATEMENT OF THE CASE .uon.on.......-.-c-eceseeeeees-

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ...............

I.

II.

ITI.

THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT’S DECISION
DISRUPTS NORMAL AND PRUDENT COM-
MERCIAL PRACTICES ..........n........-.-seeeseeees

THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT'S DECISION
CREATES A NEW CLASS OF LIABILITY
THAT WAS NEVER INTENDED BY CON-
GRESS ildteinrignennnanenaptin

THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT’S DECISION IS
INCONSISTENT WITH ESTABLISHED
LEGAL PRINCIPLES OF LENDER LIA-

A. Lenders Are Entitled To Exercise Financial
Control Over Borrowers’ Affairs -................

B. An Adequate Body of Law Exists for Deter-
mining the Point at Which a Lender’s Par-
ticipation in Management Should Subject it
RETR TEA I RI eS RN

C. The Eleventh Circuit’s Approach Exposes
Lenders to Substantial Risk Under Other
Doctrines of Lender Liability —....................

(iii)

10

10

ll

18

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued

CONCLUSION

APPENDICES

APPENDIX A—Opinion of the Eleventh Circuit re-
ported at 901 F.2d 1550 (llth Cir.
1990) ;

APPENDIX B—Opinion of the District Court re-
ported at 724 F. Supp. 955 (S.D. Ga.
1988) ’

APPENDIX C—Order of the Eleventh Circuit affirm-
ing in part and reversing in part the
District Court’s decision
APPENDIX D—Order of the Eleventh Circuit deny-
ing the Petition for Rehearing and
the Suggestion of Rehearing In Banc..

14

la

2la

87a

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases

A. Gay Jenson Farms Co. v. Cargil, Inc., 309
N.W.2d 285 (Minn. 1981) ....................................
Fury Imports, Inc. v. Shakespeare Co., 554 F.2d
1876 (5th Cir. 1977), cert. denied, 450 U.S. 921
(1881)
Guidice v. BFG Electroplating & Mfg. Co., 7382
F. Supp. 556 (W.D. Pa. 1989)
In re Bergsoe Metal Corp., No. 89-35397 (9th Cir.
Aug. 9, 1990) (LEXIS, Genfed library, Courts
file)
In re Clark Pipe & Supply Co., Inc., 898 F.2d 698
(Sth Cir. 1990)
John G. Lambros Co., Inc. v. Aetna Casualty &
Surety Co., 468 F. Supp. 624 (S.D.N.Y. 1979) ..
Krivo Indus. Supply Co. v. National Distillers &
Chem. Corp., 488 F.2d 1098 (5th Cir. 1973) ....
United States v. Maryland Bank & Trust Co., 682
F. Supp. 578 (D. Md. 1986)
United States v. Mirabdile, 15 Envtl. L. Rep.
(Envil. L. Inst.) 20,994 (E.D. Pa. Sept. ~
ES FE ee Se ee EN

Statutes

28 U.S.C.A. § 1254(1) (West Supp. 1990) _.............
28 U.S.C.A. § 1292(b) (West Supp. 1990) —..........
§ 101(20) (A) of the Comprehensive Environmen-
tal Response, Compensation, and Liability Act
of 1980, 42 U.S.C.A. § 9601(20)(A) (West

I, OD kiciricncnrccn passim

§ 107(a) (1) of the Comprehensive Environmen-
tal Response, Compensation, and Liability Act
of 1980, 42 U.S.C.A. § 9607(a) (1) (West Supp.

1990) passim

§ 107(a) (2) of the Comprehensive Environmen-
tal Response, Compensation, and Liability Act
of 1980, 42 U.S.C.A. § 9607(a) (2} (West Supp.
NSPE TOT TP Rae MORON War sem rere VCS ene CaO

In THE
Supreme Court of the Ruited States

OcTOBER TERM, 1990
No.

FL&ET Factors Corp.,
Vv.
UNITSD STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

Petitioner,

Fleet Factors Corp. respectfully petitions for a writ
of certiorari to review the judgment of the United States
Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit, entered on
May 23, 1990.

OPINIONS BELOW

The Eleventh Circuit opinion is reported at 901 F.2d
1550 (11th Cir. 1990), and is attached as Appendix A
to this Petition. The opinion of the United States Dis-
trict Court for the Southern District of Georgia is re-
ported at 724 F. Supp. 955 (S.D.Ga. 1988), and is at-
tached as Appendix B to this Petition.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Eleventh Circuit was entered on
May 238, 1990. The Eleventh Circuit’s Order, affirming
in part and reversing in part the district court’s decision,
is attached as Appendix C. A timely petition for rehear-
ing and suggestion for rehearing tr banc was filed on
June 12, 1990, and was denied by the Eleventh Circuit in

an Order dated July 17, 1990, attached as Appendix D.
This Court has jurisdiction wader 28 U.S.CA. § 1254(1)
( West Supp. 1990).

STATUTE INVOLVED

Section 107(a) of CERCLA, 42 U.S.CA. § 9607(a)
(West Supp. 1990) provides:

Notwithstanding any other provision or rule of law,
and subject only to the defenses set forth in subsec-
tion (b) of this section—

(1) the owner and operator of a vessel . . . or a
facility,
(2) any person who at the time of disposal of any

hazardous substance owned or operated any
at which such hazardous substances were disposed of,

(subparagraphs (3) and (4) omitted]
shall be liable for—

(A) all costs of removal or remedial action in-
curred by the United States government or a State
or an I tribe not inconsistent with the national
contingency plan;

(B) other necessary costs of in-
sueel tntaianaiien cent anahinh aUh Oe te
tional contingency plan;

[subparagraphs (C) and (D) omitted)

The definition of owner or operator states that “[s)uch
term does not include a person, who, without participat-
ing in the management of a vessel or facility, aokis in-
dicia of ownership primarily to protect his security in-
terest in the vessel or facility.” CERCLA § 101(20) (A),
42 U.S.C.A. § 9601(20) (A) (West Supp. 1990) (the “se-

cured lender exemption”).

, pursvant
Fleet advanced funds to SP % Gal Chained to ellatared
a security Interest in SPW's accounts receivable, Iven-
tory, fixtures, and Fleet also obtained a deed
te secure debt on SPW’'s facility and real property
Emanvel Oounty, Georgia.

Ta 1979, SPW filed a petition wader Chapter XI of

Bankruptey Act. Fleet continued to secu
to SPW pursuant to bankruptey court approval. Mh
1981, SPW ceased operations. Later that year SP
cou

fl

=

=
bf

adjudicated a bankrupt and the bankruptcy Kg
pointed a trustee to supervise liquidation of SP
assets.

Th May 1982, Fleet obtained bankruptey court ap-
proval to foreclose on its security Interests covering
SPW’s inventory and equipment. Fleet engaged a firma
of auctioneers, which conducted a public auction in June
1982. Fleet itself did not bid at this auction. The in-
ventory and equipment was is” and “in place.”

sold “as
Fleet never foreclosed on its deed to secure debt on
SPW’s real property and never took legal title to SPW’s
facility.

Bighteen months after the auction sale, the Bnviron-
mental Protection Agency (“EPA”) entered the SPW
facility, and removed a number of drums and asbestos-
containing materials from the plant and disposed of them.
Tn 1987, Reapondent the United States, filed suit against
Fleet, alleging that Fieet was liable under § 107(a) of
CERCLA, 4 U.S.C.A, §9607(a) (Weat Supp. 1990),
for response costs Incurred by the EPA in remo’ the
materials from the facility. The United States ela
Fleet was liable as either a present owner and operator
of the facility, or the owner or operator of the facility

4

at the time the wastes were disposed. Fleet denied all
liability on the ground, among others, that it was within
the secured lender exemption. The United States and
Fleet filed cross-motions for summary judgment.

The district court denied both motions for summary
judgment, but sua sponte certified its decision for inter-
locutory appeal to the Eleventh Circuit (under 28
U.S.C.A. §1292(b) (West Supp. 1990)). Fleet peti-
tioned for leave to appeal the district court’s denial of its
summary judgment motion, which the Eleventh Circuit
granted. The appeal was argued on October 30, 1989
before a panel consisting of Circuit Judges Vance and
Kravitch and Senior District Judge Lynne, of the U.S.
District Court for the Northern District of Alabama,
sitting by designation. Judge Vance was assassinated in
December 1989, and this case was decided by Circuit
Judge Kravitch and District Judge Lynne.

The panel affirmed in part and reversed in part the
district court decision, and examined three different pe-
riods in the relationship of Fleet and SPW:

1976 to February 1981: This is the period from
Fleet’s first loans to SPW to the time SPW ceased
operations. The Eleventh Circuit held, in agreement
with the district court, that Fleet had no liability
for its actions during this time.

February 1981 te June 1982: This is the period af-
ter SPW ceased operations but before Fleet fore-
closed its security interests in SPW’s inventory and
equipment. The Eleventh Circuit, reversing the dis-
trict court, held that the allegations by the United
States would be sufficient, if proven, to hold Fleet
liable. It is this holding that is the focus of this
petition for certiorari.

June 1982 to December 1983: This is the period be-
tween Fleet’s foreclosure on SPW’s inventory and
equipment and the time a private contractor left the
facility. The Eleventh Circuit agreed with the dis-

5

trict court that there were genuine issues of fact for
trial with respect to this period.

The focus of this petition is the point on which the
Eleventh Circuit reversed the district court—that is,
whether Fleet could be held liable on any correct reading
of the secured lender exemption for its actions after
SPW ceased operations but before Fleet foreclosed its
security interests in SPW’s inventory and equipment.
This issue warrants review by this Court.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT’S DECISION DISRUPTS
NORMAL AND PRUDENT COMMERCIAL PRAC-
TICES

The issue of the scope of secured lender liability under
CERCLA is of extraordinary importance to commercial
law. The Eleventh Circuit’s broadening of potential
CERCLA liability for secured lenders is disrupting com-
mercial practices, and causing great concern in both the
lending and business community.

The Circuit Court’s holding makes it extremely diffi-
cult for financial institutions to determine how they can
protect their secured loans without incurring massive lia-
bility. Financial institutions, small businesses, and the
United States economy are at risk of suffering from the
detrimental effects of increased lender wariness due to
this uncertainty.

It is important for this Court to clarify the reach of
the CERCLA liability scheme as it relates to lenders so
as to bring certainty back into commercial practices. The
decision below explicitly rejects the line of cases regard-
ing the CERCLA secured lender exemption on which
financial institutions have been relying. (United States
v. Mirabile, 15 Envtl. L. Rep. (Envtl. L. Inst.) 20,994
(E.D. Pa. Sept. 4, 1985); United States v. Maryland

6

Bank & Trust Co., 632 F. Supp. 578, 578 (D. Md. 1986) ;
Guidice v. BFG Electroplating & Mfg. Co., 732 F. Supp.
556, 561 (W.D. Pa. 1989)). Financial institutions there-
fore look with confusion to the leading appellate court
decision addressing the secured lender exemption.

The only other circuit court case addressing the exemp-
tion is in tension with Fleet Factors. In re Bergsoe Metal
Corp., No. 89-35397 (9th Cir. Aug. 9, 1990) (LEXIS,
Genfed library, Courts file). In that case, the Ninth Cir-
cuit refuses to go as far as the Eleventh Circuit in find-
ing secured lenders responsible for the cost of hazardous
waste removal. The Ninth Circuit in Bergsoe Metal em-
phasizes the necessity for actual management of the
facility before incurring liability, stating that “whatever
the precise parameter of ‘participation,’ there must be
some actual management of the facility before a secured
lender will fall outside the exception... . Merely having
the power to get involved in management, but failing to
exercise it, it not enough.” Jd. at 10. The Ninth Cir-
cuit’s emphasis on actual involvement contrasts with the
Fleet Factors rule that the inference that the lender had
the ability to influence decisions regarding hazardous
waste is enough to hold the lender liable. The conflicting
messages of these two Circuit Court decisions exacerbate
the confusion of the business and lending community.

The decision below is making the already wary bank-
ing industry even more reluctant to lend to many bor-
rowers, not just those who present obvious environmental
liability problems, and less willing to help troubled bor-
rowers through difficult financial times. Inhibited finan-
cial transactions and modified lending practices will re-
duce the supply and increase the cost of capital for many
borrowers. Old industrial property is likely to remain
abandoned and unused for fear of environmental liabil-
ity. Increased caution on lenders’ part will probably re-
sult in more bankruptcies, since helping a borrower over-

7

come financial difficulties will seldom be worth the risk
of cleanup liability, considering the unpredictable scope
of CERCLA damages. In fact, if courts attempt to fol-
low the holding of the Eleventh Circuit, lenders will be
liable in countless unpredictable situations.

Although in some cases it would be appropriate to let
an issue percolate further in the lower courts before this
Court’s consideration, the decision below is causing such
disruption to commercial practices and potential harm
to the nation’s economy that it warrants this Court’s re-
view at the present time.

Il. THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT'S DECISION CREATES
A NEW CLASS OF LIABILITY THAT WAS NEVER
INTENDED BY CONGRESS

The panel announced a new standard for secured
lender liability under CERCLA:

Under the standard we adopt today, a secured cred-
itor may incur section 9607 (a) (2) liability, without
being an operator, by participating in the financial)
management of a facility to a degree indicating a
capacity to influence the corporation’s treatment of
hazardous wastes. It is not necessary for the secured
creditor actually to involve itself in the day-to-day
operations of the facility in order to be liable—al-
though such conduct will certainly lead to the loss of
the protection of the statutory exemption. Nor is it
necessary for the secured creditor to participate in
management decisions relating to hazardous waste.

App. A at 18a-14a (notes omitted, emphasis added). This
novel holding creates a new category of CERCLA liabil-
ity and warrants review by this Court.

The result of the decision below is to create 2 new
class of liable parties under § 107(a)(2): a secured
lender can become liable without any participation in the
day-to-day operations of the facility, merely because the
lender holds indicia of ownership to protect its security

8

interest. This is the result opposite that intended by the
words of the statute and previous case law.

The Eleventh Circuit’s interpretation of CERCLA
turns the statute on its head by using the exemption to
subject lenders to liability rather than to shield lenders
from liability. Ironically, the court below bases Fleet’s
liability on the very language—“participating in manage-
ment”—that is intended to protect secured lenders from
such liability. Congress did not intend for the secured
lender exemption to operate as an independent means of
imposing liability on secured lenders.

The Eleventh Circuit acknowledges that its holding
imposes new liabilities on secured lenders: “[C]reditors’
awareness that they are potentially liable under CERCLA
will encourage them to . . . insist upon compliance with
acceptable treatment standards ... .” App. A at 15a.
Rather than protect secured lenders, as Congress in-
tended, the decision below places lenders in an impossible
position. If a lender “insist{s] upon compliance with
acceptable treatment standards,” then it may be liable
because it has participated in management. On the other
hand, if it does not insist on acceptable standards, the
lender may nonetheless be liable if the court determines
that it could have affected hazardous waste disposal de-
cisions.

The increased involvement encouraged by the Eleventh
Circuit is exactly the type of conduct that, according to
its holding, would cause a secured lender to “anticipate
losing its exception from CERCLA liability.” The
Eleventh Circuit welcomes this result on the ground that
it gives lender: a “strong incentive to address hazardous
waste problems”, but under this vague standard secured
lenders, as a practical matter, always will be liable for
CERCLA clean-up costs. In other words, it renders
meaningless the secured lender exemption. The Eleventh
Circuit’s “inference” test requires only that a secured
lender:

9

participat[e] in the financial management of a fa-
cility to a degree indicating a capacity to influence
the corporation’s treatment of hazardous wastes. . . .
[A] secured creditor will be liable if its involvement
with the management of the facility is sufficiently
broad to support the inference that it could affect
hazardous waste disposal decisions if it so chose.

App. A at 14a (emphasis added).

The inference test, by its terms, applies only in situa-
tions in which a lender has not been involved in the
borrower’s hazardous waste decisions. In such situations
the lender’s liability turns on purely hypothetical facts
and inferences that the lender could have influenced the
borrower’s disposal of hazardous substances. Inferences
about hypothetical facts serve as inadequate raw mate-
rials for constructing principled judicial decisions and
for rational decision-making by lenders. Moreover, the
inference test fashioned by the Eleventh Circuit will in
virtually all instances be satisfied, if not by the rights
and powers afforded to lenders under typical commercial
loan agreements, then surely by the conduct of lenders
that the Eleventh Circuit’s opinion expressly encourages.

A lender possesses the ability to set the terms, finan-
cial and otherwise, under which it will make a loan or
offer financial accommodations to a borrower. A lender
may condition the loan or financial accommodation on the
borrower’s compliance with applicable laws in general
and environmental laws in particular. Commercial loan
agreements commonly and prudently include covenants
requiring borrowers to comply strictly with all laws and
regulations that relate to or impact upon the borrower or
its business and assets, including environmental laws.
They also include financial covenants and standards that
provide significant financial and operational restraints
upon the borrower and its operations. Such provisions
are required, and in the marketplace are freely granted
by contract, to enable secured lenders to protect their
loan positions and the security interests and liens held by

10

them in their borrowers’ assets. Yet this same control
creates a “capacity to influence” the borrower and its
decisions so as to subject the secured lender to CERCLA
liability under the inference test adopted by the Eleventh
Circuit.

Ill. THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT'S DECISION IS INCON-
SISTENT WITH ESTABLISHED LEGAL PRINCI-
PLES OF LENDER LIABILITY

The Eleventh Circuit’s decision is inconsistent with
established legal principles of lender liability, which per-
mit lenders to exercise significant financial control over
borrowers without exposing lenders to third-party liabil-
ity and other similar adverse results as long as the len-
ders do not exercise power or control over borrowers’
day-to-day management decisions. To the extent that
the panel’s decision is inconsistent with established legal
principles, the opinion leaves secured lenders without
guidance as to the scope of proper conduct and exposes
secured lenders to substantial third-party liability and
related risks should they follow the lower court’s en-
couragement.

A. Lenders Are Entitled To Exercise Financial Con-
trol Over Borrowers’ Affairs

Courts have expressly recognized the appropriateness
of lenders’ influencing and even controlling the financial
affairs of borrowers without incurring third-party liabil-
ity or other similar penalties as a result of such control.
By so doing, courts have acknowledged that financial con-
trol by a lender is an accepted practice in lending trans-
actions and have established standards for appropriate
lender behavior and actions. For example, a lender’s con-
trol of a borrower’s financial affairs by reducing the
amount of indebtedness advanced to the borrower and
eventually selling inventory has been held not to consti-
tute “control” of the type justifying equitable subordi-
nation of the lender’s claims. In re Clark Pipe & Supply

ll

Co., Inc., 893 F.2d 693, 701 (5th Cir. 1990) (quoting
in part Jn re Teltronics Services, Inc., 29 Bankr. 139,
172 (Bankr. E.D.N.Y. 1983) (emphasis added) ).

The propriety and prevalence of lenders’ carefully con-
trolling the financial affairs of borrowers was also rec-
ognized and approved in John G. Lambros Co., Inc. v.
Actna Casualty & Surety Co., 468 F. Supp. 624, 628
(S.D.N.Y. 1979) (holding that intimate involvement in
a borrower’s financial affairs does not expose a lender
to contract liability on the obligations of the borrower)
(quoting in part Stowers v. Mahon, 526 F.2d 1288, 1256
(5th Cir. 1976), cert. denied, 429 U.S. 834 (1976) ).

To impose CERCLA liability for the type of financial
control which is accepted practice in the lending industry
is a departure from established law and is inconsistent
with Congress’ intent in establishing the secured lender
exception to CERCLA liability.

B. An Adequate Body of Law Exists for Determining
the Point at Which a Lender’s Participation in
Management Should Subject it to Liability

Although courts have allowed lenders to become in-
timately involved in the financial affairs of borrowers,
they have consistently and appropriately subjected lenders
to liability when they become excessively involved in the
management of a borrower’s business operations. See
Fury Imports, Inc. v. Shakespeare Co., 554 F.2d 1376
(5th Cir. 1977), cert. denied, 450 U.S. 921 (1981)
(articulating the elements of a prima facie case for tor-
tious interference under New York law); Krivo Indus.
Supply Co. v. National Distillers & Chem. Corp., 483
F.2d 1098 (5th Cir. 1973) (describing lender liability
under an “instrumentality” theory); A. Gay Jenson
Farms Co. v. Cargil, Inc., 309 N.W.2d 285 (Minn. 1981)
(holding borrower constituted an agent of the lender).
Each of these decisions, like the larger body of case au-
thority of which it is a part, evidences a strong and con-

12

sistent policy of discouraging lenders from becoming
intimately involved in the day-to-day business decisions
and operations of borrowers.

In In re Clark Pipe & Supply Co., Inc., the court held
that because a lender had not exercised excessive control
over the borrower’s business, its claims would not be
subordinated in bankruptcy. Jn re Clark Pipe & Supply
Co., Inc., 898 F.2d at 702. However, in reaching that
decision the court recognized the potential for subordi-
nation stating:

The purpose of equitable subordination is to dis-
tinguish between the unilateral remedies that a cred-
itor may properly enforce pursuant to its agreements
with the borrower and other inequitable conduct such
as . . . the exercise of such total control over the
borrower as to have essentially replaced its decision-
making capacity with that of the lender. The cru-
cial distinction . . . [is] between the existence of
‘control’ and the exercise of that ‘control’ to direct
the activities of the borrower.

Id, at 701. Cf. A. Gay Jenson Farms Co. v. Cargil, 309
N.W.2d 285 (Minn. 1981) (lender which controls a bor-
rower’s business operations liable as principal for the
acts of its borrower).

‘Thus, an adequate body of law exists for determining
where a lender steps over the line of proper involvement
in a borrower’s affairs to incur liability. Surely it is
this type of management control which Congress had in
mind when it provided that “participatiion] in manage-
ment” is sufficient to remove a lender from the secured
lender exemption. Applying this existing body of law to
CERCLA, even if Fleet were an “owner,” by virtue of
its security deed, it nevertheless did not exercise the
“participation in managment” necessary to be held liable
under the statute.

18

C. The Eleventh Circuit’s Approach Exposes Lenders
to Substantial Risk Under Other Doctrines of
Lender Liability

The Eleventh Circuit demands that lenders contro!
the environmental waste operations of borrowers at a
level that courts have previously held sufficient to create
liability. The Eleventh Circuit stated:

[o]ur ruling today should encourage potential cred-
itors to investigate thoroughly the waste treatment
systems and policies of potential borrowers.

ss * . 7

. « [This potential liability] will encourage
them to monitor the hazardous waste treatment sys-
tems and policies of their borrowers and insist upon
compliance with acceptable treatment standards... .
Once a secured creditor’s involvement with a facility
becomes sufficiently broad that it can anticipate los-
ing its exemption from CERCLA liability, it will
have a strong incentive to address hazardous waste
problems at the facility rather than studiously avoid-
ing the investigation and amelioration of the hazard.

App. A at 15a-16a. However, the court does not address
the various doctrines of lender liability under federal
and state law which hold liable or otherwise penalize
lenders that exercise excessive influence over the man-
agement decisions and operations of borrowers. If a
lender fulfills the duties imposed by the Eleventh Cir-
cuit by becoming extensively involved in the borrower's
management of environmental affairs, the lender will
expose itself to a host of theories of lender liability.

Thus, lenders are placed in a very precarious situation,
in which liability of some type and to some party is in-
evitable. If the lender fails to control a borrower’s com-
pliance with environmental laws it will incur CERCLA
liability, while successful control of a borrower’s be-
havior will lead to lender liability for other obligations

'

14

the borrower incurs. The cumulative effect of the Elev-
enth Circuit’s decision is to leave commercial lenders in
this country in abysmal uncertainty as to their responsi-
bilities in environmental matters and as to the resolution
of other conflicts inherent in their position as lenders.
This Court should grant the writ of certiorari to resolve
that uncertainty.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated in this Petition, Fleet Factors
Corp. requests this Court to grant the writ of certiorari
to review the judgment of the Eleventh Circuit.

Respectfully submitted,

Doveias J. Goop GRIFFIN B. BELL
LAURICE FIRENZE (Counsel of Record)
RUSKIN, SCHLISSEL, Moscou, PATRICIA BARMEYER

Rvans & Fautiscnex, P.C. KING & SPALDING ;
170 Old County Road 1730 Pennaylvania Ave. N.W. 4
Mineola, New York 11502 Washington, D.C, 20006
(516) 248-9500 (202) 737-0500
RICHARD B. MILEY
Nixon, Yow, WALLER & Capers ‘
1500 Firet Union Bank Building
Auguata, Georgia $0901
(404) 722-7541 3

September 21, 1990

APPENDICES

im
Y,

Weeks

a4 Regs
aoe
e

_

*

vie tas

¥

a,

ane

ears

rakes

la
APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

No. 89-8094

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Plaintiff-Appellee,
Vv.

FLEET FACTORS CorRP.,
Defendant-Third Party
Plaintiff-Appellant,
CLIFFORD HOROWITZ and MURRAY NEWTON,
Defendants,

ROBERT KOLODNEY, Esq., AS TRUSTEE OF
SWAINSBORO PRINT WORKS, INC.,
Debtor,
Third Party-Defendant.

Appeal from the United States District Court
for the Southern District of Georgia

May 23, 1990

Before VANCE* and KRAVITCH, Circuit Judges, and
LYNNE*”*, Senior District Judge.

* Judge Robert S. Vance was a member of the panel which heard
oral argument but due to his death on December 16, 1989 did not
participate in this decision. This case is decided by a quorum. See
28 U.S.C. § 46(d).

** Honorable Seybourn H. Lynne, Senior U.S. District Judge for
the Northern District of Alabama, sitting by designation.

2a

KRAVITCH, Circuit Judge:

Fleet Factors Corporation (“Fleet”) brought an inter-
locutory appeal’ from the district court’s denial of its
motion for summary judgment in this suit by the United
States to recover the cost of removing hazardous waste
from a bankrupt textile facility. The district court denied
summary judgment because it concluded that Fleet’s ac-
tivities at the facility might rise to the level of partici-
pation in management sufficient to impose liability under
the Comprehensive Environmental Response Compensa-
tion and Liability Act (CERCLA), 42 U.S.C. §§ 9601-57
(1982 & West Supp. 1988), despite the statutory exemp-
tion from liability for holders of a security interest.
We agree with the district court that material questions
of fact remain as to the extent of Fleet’s participation
in the management of the facility; therefore, we affirm
the denial of Fleet’s summary judgment motion.

FACTS

In 1976, Swainsboro Print Works (“SPW”), a cloth
printing facility, entered into a “factoring” agreement
with Fleet in which Fleet agreed to advance funds
against the assignment of SPW’s accounts receivable.
As collateral for these advances, Fleet also obtained a
security interest in SPW’s textile facility and all of its
equipment, inventory, and fixtures. In August, 1979,
SPW filed for bankruptcy under Chapter 11. The factor-
ing agreement between SPW and Fleet continued with
court approval. In early 1981 Fleet ceased advancing
funds to SPW because SPW’s debt to Fleet exceeded
Fleet’s estimate of the value of SPW’s accounts receiv-
able. On February 27, 1981, SPW ceased operations and
began to liquidate its inventory. Fleet continued to col-
lect on the accounts receivable assigned to it under the

1 This court has jurisdiction of this appea! pursuant to 28 U.S.C.
§ 1292(b).

3a

Chapter 11 factoring agreement. In December, 1981,
SPW was adjudicated a bankrupt under Chapter 7 and
a trustee assumed title and control of the facility.

In May, 1982, Fleet foreclosed on its security interest |
in some of SPW’s inventory and equipment, and con-
tracted with Baldwin Industrial Liquidators (“Baldwin’’)
to conduct an auction of the collateral. Baldwin sold the
material “as is’ and “in place’’ on June 22, 1982; the
removal of the items was the responsibility of the pur-
chasers. On August 31, 1982, Fleet allegedly contracted
with Nix Riggers (“Nix”) to remove the unsold equip-
ment in consideration for leaving the premises “broom
clean.” Nix testified in deposition that he understood that
he had been given a “free hand” by Fleet or Baldwin to
do whatever was necessary at the facility to remove the
machinery and equipment. Nix left the facility by the
end of December, 1983.

On January 20, 1984, the EPA inspected the facility
and found 700 fifty-five gallon drums containing toxic
chemicals and forty-four truckloads of material contain-
ing asbestos. The EPA incurred costs of nearly $400,000
in responding to the environmental threat at SPW. On
July 7, 1987, the facility was conveyed to Emanuel
County, Georgia, at a foreclosure sale resulting from
SPW’s failure to pay state and county taxes.

The government sued Horowitz and Newton, the two
principal officers and stockholders of SPW, and Fleet to
recover the cost of cleaning up the hazardous waste. The
district court granted the government’s summary judg-
ment motion with respect to the liability of Horowitz and
Newton for the cost of removing the hazardous waste in
the drums. The government’s motion with respect to
Fleet’s liability, and the liability of Horowitz and New-
ton for the asbestos removal costs was denied. Fleet’s
motion for summary judgment was also denied. The

PT

4a

district court, sua sponte, certified the summary judg-
ment issues for interlocutory appeal and stayed the re-
. maining proceedings in the case. Fleet subsequently
brought this appeal challenging the court’s denial of its
motion for summary judgment.

STANDARD OF REVIEW

The District court’s disposition of the summary judg-
ment motion is reviewable de novo because it involves
legal questions of statutory interpretation. See Florida
Power & Light Co. v. Allis Chalmers Corp., 893 F.2d
1313, 1315-16 (11th Cir. 1990) ; Hiram Walker & Sons v.
Kirk Line, Inc., 877 F.2d 1508, 1513 (11th Cir. 1989) ;
Clemens v. Dougherty County, Ga., 684 F.2d 1365, 1368
(11th Cir. 1982). Under Fed.R.Civ.P. 56(c), summary
judgment is only appropriate when “there is no genuine
issue as to any material fact and . . . the moving party
is entitled to a judgment as a matter of law.” Allis Chal-
mers, 893 F.2d at 1318. In evaluating a summary judg-
ment motion, the burden of establishing the absence of a
material dispute of fact is on the moving party; the
court must view all evidence in the light most favorable
to the non-movant and resolve all reasonable doubts about
the facts in favor of the non-movant. Jd.; WBS-TV v.
Lee, 842 F.2d 1266, 1269 (11th Cir. 1988); Warrior
Tombigbee Transportation Co. v. M/V Nan Fung, 695
F.2d 1294, 1296 (11th Cir. 1983); see Celotex Corp. v.
Catrett, 477 U.S. 317, 323, 106 S.Ct. 2548, 2552-53, 91
L.Ed.2d 265 (1986).

DISCUSSION

The Comprehensive Environmental Response Compen-
sation and Liability Act was enacted by Congress in re-
sponse to the environmental and public health hazards
caused by the improper disposal of hazardous wastes.
United States v. Maryland Bank & Trust Co., 632
F.Supp. 573, 576 (D.Md. 1986); S.Rep. No. 848, 96th

5a

Cong., 2d Sess. 2 (1980), U.S. Code Cong. & Admin.
News 1980, p. 6119. The essential policy underlying
CERCLA is to place the ultimate responsibility for clean-
ing up hazardous waste on “those responsible for prob-
lems caused by the disposal of chemical poison.” Allis
Chalmers, 893 F.2d at 1816; United States v. Aceto Agri-
cultural Chemicals Corp., 872 F.2d 1878, 1877 (8th Cir.
1989) ; Dedham Water Co. v. Cumberland Farms Dairy,
805 F.2d 1074, 1081 (1st Cir. 1986). Accordingly,
CERCLA authorizes the federal government to clean up
hazardous waste dump sites and recover the costs of the
effort from certain categories of responsible parties.
Maryland Bank & Trust Co., 632 F.Supp. at 576.

The parties liable for costs incurred by the government
in responding to an environmental hazard are: 1) the
present owners and operators of a facility where haz-
ardous wastes were released or are in danger of being
released; 2) the owners or operators of a facility at the
time the hazardous wastes were disposed; 3) the person
or entity that arranged for the treatment or disposal of
substances at the facility; and 4) the person or entity
that transported the substances to the facility. Allis Chal-
mers, 893 F.2d at 1317; 42 U.S.C. § 9607(a) (1982 &
West Supp. 1988). The government contends that Fleet
is liable for the response costs associated with the waste
at the SPW facility as either a present owner and oper-
ator of the facility, see 42 U.S.C. § 9607(a) (1), or the
owner or operator of the facility at the time the wastes
were disposed, see 42 U.S.C. § 9607 (a) (2).

The district court, as a matter of law, rejected the
government’s claim that Fleet was a present owner of the
facility. The court, however, found a sufficient issue of
fact as to whether Fleet was an owner or operator of
the SPW facility at the time the wastes were disposed to
warrant the denial of Fleet’s motion for summary judg-

6a

ment. On appeal each party contests that portion of the
district court’s order adverse to their respective interests.

A. Fleet’s Liability Under Section 9607 (a) (1)?

CERCLA holds the owner or operator of a facility
containing hazardous waste strictly liable to the United
States for expenses incurred in responding to the en-
vironmental and health hazards posed by the waste in
that facility. See 42 U.S.C. §9607(a) (1); S.Rep. No.
848, 96th Cong., 2d Sess. 34 (1980). This provision of
the statute targets those individuals presently “owning

2 As an initial matter, we must consider whether this issue is
properly before us on appeal. Fleet notes that the district court held
that it was not liable as the present “owner or operator” of the
facility and argues that its appeal did not challenge this aspect of
the court’s order. Rather, it only sought to appeal that part of the
district court’s order denying its motion for summary judgment.
Fleet argues that a party is precluded from seeking reversal of an
order, on an interlocutory appeal, if it did not properly petition for
permission to appeal.

Fleet’s position is meritless. When a district court certifies an
order for appeal, all questions material to that particular order are
properly before the court of appeals. See United States v. Stanley,
483 U.S. 669, 676-77, 107 S.Ct. 3054, 3060, 97 L.Ed.2d 550 (1987)
(construing § 1292(b) interlocutory appeals to bring entire lower
court order before appellate court, not just precise question
certified).

Here, the district court’s order clearly certifies this issue for
interlocutory appeal. Even if construed otherwise, the district court
expressly refused to limit its certification order to a specific issue.
The district court’s order states:

I find that this order disposes of controlling questions of law
concerning which there is substantial doubt, including, but not
limited to, my construction of CERCLA’s definition of “owner
and operator” and the secured lender exemption contained in
that definition; my construction of the CERCLA provisions
describing the classes of liable persons; and my construction of
the scope of the third party defense to CERCLA liability.

United States v. Fleet Factors Corp., 724 F.Supp. 955, 962 (S.D.Ga.
1988) (emphasis added).

7a

or operating such facilit{ies].” See 42 U.S.C. § 9601
(20) (A) (ii). In order to effectuate the goals of the stat-
ute, we will construe the present owner and operator of
a facility as that individual or entity owning or oper-
ating the facility at the time the plaintiff initiated the
lawsuit by filing a complaint.*

On July 9, 1987, the date this litigation commenced,
the owner of the SPW facility was Emanuel County,
Georgia. Under CERCLA, however, a state or local gov-
ernment that has involurtarily acquired title to a facility
is generally not held liable as the owner or operator of
the facility.‘ Rather, the statute provides that

% Although the “owner and operator” language of § 9607(a)(1) is
in the conjunctive, we construe this language in the disjunctive in
accordance with the legislative history of CERCLA and the per-
suasive interpretations of other federal courts. See Maryland Bank
& Trust Co., 632 F.Supp. at 577-78; see also Guidice v. BFC Elec-
troplating and Manufacturing Co., 732 F.Supp. 556, 561 (W.D.Pa.
Sept. 1, 1989) (interpreting statute in disjunctive); Artesian Water
Co. v. Government of New Castle County, 659 F.Supp. 1269, 1280
(D.Del. 1987) (same), affirmed, 851 F.2d 648 (3d Cir. 1988). Addi-
tionally, we note that § 9607(a)(2) is phrased in the disjunctive.
We can perceive no rational explanation, other than careless statu-
tory drafting, for imposing liability upon “owners or operators”
under one section but only holding “owners and operators” liable
under another section. Cf. Coastal Casting Service v. Aron, No.
H-86-4468 (S.D.Tex. April 8, 1988) (“It is well known that
CERCLA was hastily drafted and adopted, with resulting ambigui-
ties ...”) (available on WESTLAW as 1988 WL 35012); Maryland
Bank & Trust Co., 682 F.Supp. at 578 (“The structure of section
107(a) [9607(a)], like so much of this hastily patched together
compromise Act, is not a model of statutory clarity.”). Our con-
struction of both statutory provisions in the disjunctive is further
supported by the fact that the definitional section of the statute
only refers to the phrase “owner or operator.” See 42 U.S.C.
§ 9601(20) (A).

*CERCLA does provide that a state or local government will be ‘
liable under these circumstances when it “has caused or contributed
to the release or threatened release of a hazardous substance from
the facility .. .” 42 U.S.C. §9601(20)(D). This exception, how-
ever, is not applicable here.

it tain tara

8a

in the case of any facility, title or control of which
was conveyed due to bankruptcy, foreclosure, tax
delinquency, abandonment, or similar means to a
unit of State or local government, [its owner or oper-
ator is] any person who owned, operated or other-
wise controlled activities at such facility immediately
beforehand.

42 U.S.C. § 9601 (20) (A) (iii).

Essentially, the parties disagree as to the interpreta-
tion of the phrase “immediately beforehand.” The dis-
trict court reasoned that Fleet could not be liable under
section 9607(a) (1) because it had never foreclosed on its
security interest in the facility and its agents had not
been on the premises since December 1983. The govern-
ment contends that the statute should be interpreted to
refer liability “back to the last time that someone con-
trolled the facility, however long ago.” Appellee's Brief
at 28. Thus, according to the government, the period of
effective abandonment of the site by the trustee in bank-
ruptcy (from December 1983 to the July 1987 foreclosure
sale) should be ignored and liability would remain with
Fleet since it was the last entity to “control” the facility.

We agree with Fleet that the plain meaning of the
phrase “immediately beforehand” means without inter-
vening ownership, operation, and control. Fleet, there-
fore, cannot be held liable under section 9607(a) (1) be-
cause it neither owned, operated, or controlled SPW
immediately prior to Emanuel County’s acquisition of the
facility. It is undisputed that from December 1981, when
SPW was adjudicated a bankrupt, until the July 1987
foreclosure sale, the bankrupt estate and trustee were the
owners of the facility. Similarly, the evidence is clear
that neither Fleet nor any of its putative agents had any-

| thing to do with the facility after December 1983. Al-
though Fleet may have operated or controlled SPW prior
to December 1988, its involvement with SPW terminated

ee

9a

more then three years before the county assumed owner-
ship of the facility. The fact that the bankrupt estate
or trustee may not have effectively exercised their control
of the facility between December 1988 and July 1987 is
of no moment. It is undisputed that Fleet was not in con-
trol of the facility during this period. Although a trustee
can obviously abdicate its control over a bankrupt estate,
it cannot in such a manner unilaterally delegate its re-
sponsibility to a previous controlling entity. To reach
back to Fleet’s involvement with the facility prior to
December 19838 in order to impose liability would torture
the plain statutory meaning of “immediately before-
hand.” ®

B. Fleet’s Liability Under Section 9607 (a) (2)

CERCLA also imposes liability on “any person who at
the time of disposal of any hazardous substance owned
or operated any ... facility at which such hazardous
substances were disposed of... .” 42 U.S.C. § 9607(a)
(2). CERCLA excludes from the definition of “owner
or operator” any “person, who, without participating in
the management of a... facility, holds indicia of owner-
ship primarily to protect his security interest in the...
facility.” 42 U.S.C. § 9601(20) (A). Fleet has the burden
of establishing its entitlement to this exemption. Mary-
land Bank & Trust, 682 F.Supp. at 578; see United
States v. First City National Bank of Houston, 886 U.S.
861, 366, 87 S.Ct. 1088, 1092, 18 L.Ed.2d 151 (1967).
There is no dispute that Fleet held an “indicia of owner-
ship” in the facility through its deed of trust to SPW,

5 This interpretation of § 9607(a) (1) is particularly appropriate
in the context of the entire statutory scheme. While § 9607(a) (1)
targets present owners and operators of toxic waste facilities,
§ 9607(a) (2) focuses on the entities that owned or operated the
facility at the time the wastes were disposed. A narrow reading of
this section would not, therefore, create an unintended loophole
for individuals or entities to escape liability for improperly dis-
posing hazardous waste.

10a

and that this interest was held primarily to protect its
security interest in the facility. The critical issue is
whether Fleet participated in management sufficiently tc
incur liability under the statute.*

The construction of the secured creditor exemption is
an issue of first impression in the federal appellate
courts. The government urges us to adopt a narrow and
strictly literal interpretation of the exemption that ex-
cludes from its protection any secured creditor that par-
ticipates in any manner in the management of a facility.
We decline the government’s suggestion because it would
largely eviscerate the exemption Congress intended to af-
ford to secured creditors. Secured lenders frequently
have some involvement in the financial affairs of their
debtors in order to insure that their interests are being
adequately protected. To adopt the government’s inter-
pretation of the secured creditor exemption could expose
all such lenders to CERCLA liability for engaging in
their normal course of business,

Fleet, in turn, suggests that we adopt the distinction
delineated by some district courts between permissible
participation in the financial management of the facility
and impermissible participation in the day-to-day or oper-

*The government correctly formulates this issue as being com-
prised of two distinct, but related, means of finding Fleet liable
under § 9607(a) (2). Firat, Fleet is Hable under the statute if it
operated the facility within the meaning of the statute, Alterna-
tively, Fleet can be held liable if it had an indicia of ownership
in SPW and managed the facility to the extent necessary to remove
it from the secured creditor liability exception. See United States
». Kayser-Roth Corp., 724 F.Supp. 15, 20-21 (D.R.I. 1989). Al-
though we can conceive of some instances where the facta showing
participation in management are different from those indicating
operation, this is not such a case. The sum of the facta alleged
by the government is sufficient to hold Fleet Hable under either
analysis. In order to avoid repetition, and because this case fits
more snugly under a secured creditor analysis, we will forgo an
analysis of Fleet’s liability as an operator,

lla

ational management of a facility. In United States ».
Mirabile, the first case to suggest this interpretation, the
district court granted summary judgment to the defend-
ant creditors because their participation in the affairs
of the facility was “limited to participation in financial
decisions,” No, 84-2280, slip op. at 8 (B.D.Pa. Sept. 6,
1985) (available on WESTLAW as 1985 WL 97). The
court explained “that the participation which is critical
is participation in operational production, or waste dis-
posal activities. Mere financial ability to control waste
disposal practices .. . is not... sufficient for the im-
position of liability.” Mirabile, No, 84-2280, alip op. at 4;
accord United States v. New Castie County, 727 F.Supp.
854, 866 (D,Del.1989); Rockwell International ». 1U
International Corp., 702 F.Supp. 1884, 1890 (N.D.TIl.
1988); see also Coastal Casting Service v. Aron, No.
H-86-4468, slip op. at 4 (S.D.Tex. April 8, 1988) (avail-
able on WESTLAW as 1988 WL 85012) (complaint al-
leging that secured ereditor’s entanglement with facility’s
management surpassed mere financial control held suffi-
cient). The court concluded that “before a secured credi-
tor... may be held liable, it must, at a minimum, par-
ticipate in the day-to-day operational aspects of the site.
{ Here, the creditor] .. . merely foreclosed on the property
after all operations had ceased and thereafter took pru-
dent and routine steps to secure the property against
further depreciation.” ' Jd. at 12; accord United States

tThe court permitted a secured creditor to secure a facility
againat vandaliem by boarding up windows and changing locks,
make inquiries as to the cost of disposing of various drums of
toxins, visit the property in order to show it to prospective pur-
chasers, monitor ita cash collateral accounts, enaure that receivables
went to the proper accounts, and establish a reporting aystem be-
tween the facility and the bank. Mirabile, No, 84-2280, slip op. at
5, 8 The court suggested that activities which might bring a
secured creditor outside the protection of the exception included
determining the order in which orders were filled, demanding ad-
ditional sales from the facility, supervising the operations of the
facility, and ineisting on certain manufacturing changes and re-
assignment of personnel, /d. at 8.

l2a

», Nicolet, Mme, 712 F.Supp. 1108, 1204-05 (B.D.Pa.
1989),

The court below, relying on Mirabile, similarly inter-
preted the statutory language to permit secured creditors

to
provide financial assistance and general, and even
isolated instances of specific, management advice to
its debtors without risking CERCLA liability if the
secured creditor does not participate in the day-to-
day management of the business or facility either
before or after the business ceases operation.

United States v. Fleet Factors Corp., 724 F.Supp. 955,
960 (S.D. Ga. 1988); accord Guidice, at 561-62 *; Nicolet,
712 F.Supp. at 1205. Applying this standard, the trial
judge coneluded that from the inception of Fileet’s rela-
tion with SPW in 1976 to June 22, 1982, when Baldwin
entered the facility, Fleet’s activity did not rise to the
level of participation in management sufficient to impose
CERCLA liability. The court, however, determined thac
the facta alleged by the government with reapect to
Fieet’s involvement after Baldwin entered the facility
were sufficient to preclude the granting of summary
judgment in favor of Fleet on this issue,

®*In Guidiee, the district court applied this analysia te exempt a
bank from CERCLA liability because the bank’s activities with Fe-
apect to the facility were directed at protecting its security interest
rather than controlling the facility's operational, production, or
waste disposal activities. At 561-62. The bank’s involvement with
the facility ineluded meetings where it was informed of the status
of the facility's accounts, personnel changes, and the presence of
raw materials; assistance in procuring a loan from another lender;
communicating with local offieiala to aasist the facility with waste-
water diacharge compliance; inapecting the property after it ceased
operations; efforts to restructure the facility's loans; and an agree-
ment to provide financing if a particular party purchased the facility
at a foreclosure sale. /d. at 562.

18a

Although we agree with the district court’s resolution
of the summary judgment motion, we find ita eonetruc-
tion of the statutory exemption too issive towards
secured ereditors who are invelved with toxie waste fa-
cilities. In order to achieve the “overwhelmingly reme-
dial” goal of the CERCLA statutory scheme,’ am
statutory termes should be construed to favor liability for
the coats ineurred by the government in responding to
the havards at such facilities, Allis Chalmers, 808 F.2d
at 1317; see Maryland Bank & Trust Co., 632 F.Supp.
at 570 (secured ereditor exemption should be construed
narrowly); Note, When @ Security Becomes a Liability:
Claims Against Lenders in Hazardous Waste Cleanup, 88
Hastings LJ, 1261, 1285-86, 1201 (1087) (same) [here
inafter Claims Against Lenders). The district court's
broad interpretation of the exemption would essentially
require a secured ereditor to be involved in the operations
of a facility in order to ineur liability, This construction
ignores the plain language of the exemption and essen-
tially renders it meaningless, Individuals and entities in-
volved in the operations of a facility are already liable
as operators under the express language of section 9607
(a) (2). Had Congress intended to absolve secured eredi-
tors from ownership liability, it would have done so. In-
stead, the statutory language chosen by C 88 X=
plicitly holds seeured ereditors liable if they participate in
the management of a facility.

Although similar, the phrase “participating in the
management” and the term “operator” are hot congruent.
Under the standard we adopt today, a secured creditor
may ineur section 0607 (a) (2) liability, without being an
operator,’ by participating in the financial management

® Allia Chatmers, 808 F.8d at 1817; United States ¥. Northeastern
Pharmaceutical & Chemical Co., 810 F.bd 726, 788 (ath CiF. 1986),
cert. dented, 484 U.S, 848, 108 8.Ct. 146, 68 L.Bd.8d 102 (1987).

i” For an example of activity that could subjeet a secured creditor
to baa as a operator, see Kayser-Roth Corp., T24 F.Supp. at
22-28,

l4a

of a facility to a degree indicating a capacity to influence
the corporation’s treatment of hazardous wastes. It is not
necessary for the secured creditor actually to involve it-
self in the day-to-day operations of the facility in order
to be liable—although such conduct will certainly lead to
the loss of the protection of the statutory exemption.
Nor is it necessary for the secured creditor to participate
in management decisions relating to hazardous waste.
Rather, a secured creditor will be liable if its involve-
ment with the management of the facility is sufficiently
broad to support the inference that it could affect hazard-
ous waste disposal decisions if it so chose."* We, therefore,
specifically reject the formulation of the secured creditor
exemption suggested by the district court in Mirabile.
See, No. 84-2280, slip op. at 4.

11This narrow construction of the secured creditor exemption ©
is supported by the sparse legislative history on the subject. The
Senate version of CERCLA initially lacked an exemption for secured
creditors in its definition of “owner or operator.” See 8S. 1480,
97th Cong., 2d Sess., reprinted in 2 Senate Comm. on Environmental
and Public Works, 97th Cong., 2 Sess., 1 A Legislative History of
the CERCLA 470 (Comm. Print 1983). Representative Harsha
introduced the exemption to the bill that was finally passed stating:

This change is necessary because the origina! definition inad-
vertently subjected those who hold title toa... facility, but do
not participate in the management or operation and are not
otherwise affiliated with the person leasing or operating the
... facility, to the liability provisions of the bill.

Remarks of Rep. Harsha, reprinted in 2 Senate Comm. on Environ-
mental and Public Works, 97th Cong., 2d Sess., 2 A Legislative
History of the CERCLA 945 (Comm. Print 1983) (emphasis
added). The use of the word “affiliated” to describe the threshold
at which a secured creditor becomes liable clearly indicates a more
peripheral degree of involvement with the affairs of a facility than
that necessary to be held liable as an operator. It also suggests
that the interpretation of the exemption intended by Congress is
more consistent with the level of secured creditor involvement de-
scribed in our opinion than with the management of day-to-day
operations standard set forth in Mirable.

15a

This construction of the secured creditor exemption,
while less permissive than that of the trial court, is
broader than that urged by the government and, there-
fore, should give lenders some latitude in their dealings
with debtors without exposing themselves to potential
liability. Nothing in our discussion should preclude a
secured creditor from monitoring any aspect of a debtor’s
business. Likewise, a secured creditor can become in-
volved in occasional and discrete financial decisions relat-
ing to the protection of its security interest without in-
curring liability.

Our interpretation of the exemption may be challenged
as creating disincentives for lenders to extend financial
assistance to businesses with potential hazardous waste
problems and encouraging secured creditors to distance
themselves from the management actions, particularly
those related to hazardous wastes, of their debtors. See
Guidice, at 562; Note, Interpreting the Meaning of
Lender Management Under Section 101(20)(A) of
CERCLA, 98 Yale L.J. 925, 928, 944 (1989). Asa result
the improper treatment of hazardous wastes could be
perpetuated rather than resolved. These concerns are
unfounded.

Our ruling today should encourage potential creditors
to investigate thoroughly the waste treatment systems
and policies of potential debtors. If the treatment sys-
tems seem inadequate, the risk of CERCLA liability will
be weighed into the terms of the loan agreement. Cred-
itors, therefore, will incur no greater risk than they bar-
gained for and debtors, aware that inadequate hazardous
waste treatment will have a significant adverse impact
on their loan terms, will have powerful incentives to im-
prove their handling of hazardous wastes.

Similarly, creditors’ awareness th:'t they are potentially
liable under CERCLA will encourage them to monitor
the hazardous waste treatment systems and policies of
their debtors and insist upon compliance with acceptable

l6a

treatment standards as a prerequisite to continued and
future financial support. Claims Against Lenders, supra,
at 1294; Note, The Liability of Financial Institutions for
Hazardous Waste Cleanup Costs Under CERCLA, 1988
Wis.L.Rev. 139, 185 (1988) [hereinafter Liability of
Financial Institutions]. Once a secured creditor’s in-
volvement with a facility becomes sufficiently broad that
it can anticipate losing its exemption from CERCLA
liability, it will have a strong incentive to address haz-
ardous waste problems at the facility rather than studi-
ously avoiding the investigation and amelioration of the
hazard.

In Maryland Bank & Trust Co., the court aptly de-
scribed and weighed the competing policy interests of
creditors and the government in interpreting the secured
creditor exemption:

In essence, the defendant’s position would convert
CERCLA into an insurance scheme for financial in-

12Qne commentator notes that a narrow construction of the
secured creditor exception
conforms with CERCLA’s implicit function of encouraging
safer hazardous waste procedures. The possibility that
CERCLA liability will depress the value of the security property
provides economic incentive for lenders to guard against its
misuse. Lending institutions are especially well-equipped for
this function. They can require the borrower to submit to
periodic environmental audits, either as a condition to receiving
a loan or by an amendment to an existing agreement. Lenders
can also require warranties from their borrowers guaranteeing
that they are in full compliance with hazardous waste laws and
regulations. ... Ultimately, lenders can refuse to lend money
to persons believed to be operating illegal or improper hazardous
waste activities. While there is a clear risk that innocent bor-
rowers will find it difficult to obtain credit because of the nature
of their business, this result is consistent with CERCLA’s
general effect of spreading hazardous waste costs industry-wide.
Claims Against Lenders, supra, at 1294 (citations omitted); see
also Liability of Financial Institutions), supra, at 183-85 (dis-
cussing lender strategies for decreasing liability risk under a nar-
row interpretation of the secured creditor exception).

17a

stitutions, protecting them against possible losses due
to the security of loans with polluted properties.
Mortgagees, however, already have the means to
protect themselves, by making prudent loans. Finan-
cial institutions are in a position to investigate and
discover potential problems in their secured proper-
ties. For many lending institutions, such research is
routine. CERCLA will not absolve them from re-
sponsibility for their mistakes of judgment.

632 F.Supp. at 580 (citations omitted).

We agree with the court below that the government
has alleged sufficient facts to hold Fleet liable under sec-
tion 9607(a) (2). From 1976 until SPW ceased printing
operations on February 27, 1981, Fleet’s involvement
with the facility was within the parameters of the se-
cured creditor exemption to liability. During this period,
Fleet regularly advanced funds to SPW against the as-
signment of SPW’s accounts receivable, paid and ar-
ranged for security deposits for SPW’s Georgia utility
services, and informed SPW that it would not advance
any more money when it determined that its advanced
sums exceeded the value of SPW’s accounts receivable.

Fleet’s involvement with SPW, according to the govern-
ment, increased substantially after SPW ceased printing
operations at the Georgia plant on February 27, 1981
and began to wind down its affairs. Fleet required SPW
to seek its approval before shipping its goods to cus-
tomers, established the price for excess inventory, dic-
tated when and to whom the finished goods should be
shipped, determined when employees should be laid off,
supervised the activity of the office administrator at the
site, received and processed SPW’s employment and tax
forms, controlled access to the facility, and contracted
with Baldwin to dispose of the fixtures and equipment at
SPW. These facts, if proved, are sufficient to remove
Fleet from the protection of the secured creditor exemp-
tion. Fleet’s involvement in the financial management of

18a

the facility was pervasive, if not complete.’* Furither-
more, the government’s allegations indicate that Fleet
was also involved in the operational management of the
facility. Either of these allegations is sufficient as a mat-
ter of law to impose CERCLA liability on a secured
creditor. The district court’s finding to the contrary is
erroneous.

With respect to Fleet’s involvement at the facility from
the time it contracted with Baldwin in May 1982 until
Nix left the facility in December 1983, we share the dis-
trict court’s conclusion that Fleet’s alleged conduct
brought it outside the statutory exemption for secured
creditors.'* Indeed, Fleet’s involvement would pass the

18 Generally, the lender’s capacity to influence a debtor facility’s
treatment of hazardous waste will be inferred from the extent of its
involvement in the facility’s financial management. Here, that in-
ference is not even necessary because there was evidence before
the district court that Fleet actively asserted its control over the
disposal of hazardous wastes at the site by prohibiting SPW from
selling several barrels of chemicals to potential buyers. As a result,
the barrels remained at the facility unattended until the EPA acted
to remove the contaminants.

14 The district court summarized the government’s allegations of
Fleet’s conduct at the facility during this period as follows:

Plaintiff alleges that Baldwin moved the barrels that allegedly
contained hazardous substances before Baldwin conducted the
public auction. Plaintiff contends that after the auction, Bald-
win auctioned some, but not all, of the machinery and equipment
as is, and in place, and permitted the purchasers to remove
the equipment and machinery that they had purchased. Plain-
tiff asserts that after the auction Fleet signed a document that
permitted Nix to have access to the facility for 180 days and
to remove any remaining machinery and equipment.... Plain-
tiff maintains that friable asbestos was knocked loose from the
pipes connected to the machinery and equipment by either the
purchasers of the equipment at the auction or Nix. Plaintiff
alleges that the condition of the chemicals and the asbestos in
the facility after Baldwin, Nix, and the purchasers concluded
their business constituted an immediate risk to public health
and the environment... .

Fleet Factors, 724 F.Supp. at 960-61. Fleet disputes these material
facts. Id. at 961.

19a

threshold for operator liability under section 9607 (a)
(2).° Fleet weakly contends that its activity at the fa-
cility from the time of the auction was within the secured
creditor exemption because it was merely protecting its
security interest in the facility and foreclosing its secu-
rity interest in its equipment, inventory, and fixtures.
This assertion, even if true, is immaterial] to our analysis.
The scope of the secured creditor exemption is not deter-
mined by whether the creditor’s activity was taken to pro-
tect its security interest. What is relevant is the nature
and extent of the creditor’s involvement with the facility,
not its motive. To hold otherwise would enable secured
creditors to take indifferent and irresponsible actions to-
ward their debtors’ hazardous wastes with impunity by
incanting that they were protecting their security inter-
ests. Congress did not intend CERCLA to sanction such
abdication of responsibility.

CONCLUSION

We agree with the district court that Fleet is not
within the class of liable persons described in section
9607(a) (1). We also conclude that the court properly
denied Fleet’s motion for summary judgment. Although
the court erred in construing the secured creditor exemp-
tion to insulate Fleet from CERCLA liability for its con-

15 During oral argument, counsel for Fleet virtually conceded
operator liability for its conduct with respect to the facility when
he discussed Fleet’s potential for liability were it to have fixed a
hole in the roof of an SPW building:

JUDGE KRAVITCH: If [Fleet] finds in fixing the roof that
there is some asbestos that is being dislodged can it just ignore
that?

MR. GOOD: Once it fixes the roof, once it takes over control of
fixing the roof, it has opened a potential pandora’s box both as to
that asbestos and anything else at that facility underneath it known
and unknown.

JUDGE KRAVITCH: Why isn’t that analogous to what happened
here?

20a

j

duct prior to June 22, 1982, it correctly ruled that Fleet
was liable under section 9607(a) (2) for its subsequent
activities if the government could establish its allega-
tions. Because there remain disputed issues of material
fact, the case is remanded for further proceedings con-
sistent with this opinion.

AFFIRMED AND REMANDED.

2la
APPENDIX B

U.S. DISTRICT COURT
SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF GEORGIA

No. CV 687-070

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Plaintiff,
vs.

FLEET FACTORS CorRP.,
CLIFFORD HOROWITZ and MuRRAY NEWTON,
Defendants.

FLEET FACTORS CoRP.,
Third-Party Plaintiff,

vs.

ROBERT KOLODNEY, as Trustee in Bankruptcy of

Swainsboro Print Works, Inc.,
Third-Party Defendant.

December 22, 1988

Richard G. Leland, Mineola, N.Y., for Fleet Factors.

G. Stephen Manning, Dept. of Justice, Wash., D.C., for
United States.

Charles R. Merrill, Swainsboro, Ga., for Clifford Horo-
witz.

22a
Murray Newton, Severna Park, Md., pro se.
Before Dudley Brown, district judge.

ORDER

Before the Court are (1) plaintiff’s motion for par-
tial summary judgment on the issue of liability against
defendants Clifford Horowitz (“Horowitz”), Murray
Newton (“Newton”), and Fleet Factors Corporation
(“Fleet”); and (2) defendant Fleet’s motion for sum-
mary judgment. A motion hearing with oral argument
was conducted August 11, 1988.

FACTS

I will summarize the facts as to which there is no
genuine dispute. From approximately 1963 until Febru-
ary, 1981, Swainsboro Print Works, Inc. (“SPW”), or its
predecessor in interest, operated a cloth printing facility
on its premises in Swainsboro, Georgia. Defendants Clif-
ford Horowitz and Murray Newton were the only share-
holders of SPW at the time it ceased operations. They
were actively involved in the management of SPW until
that time. In 1976, SPW and Fleet entered into a factor-
ing agreement in which Fleet agreed to advance funds
against the assignment of SPW’s accounts receivable. As
collateral for these advances, Fleet also obtained a secu-
rity interest in all of SPW’s equipment, inventory, and
fixtures. As additional collateral, Fleet was granted a
security interest in the SPW plant or facility (‘facility’)
evidenced by a deed to secure a debt conveying title to
the realty. Although Fleet foreclosed on its security in-
terest in some of SPW’s inventory and equipment in
May, 1982, Fleet never foreclosed on the real property.
The facility was conveyed to Emanuel County, Georgia,
on July 7, 1987, at a foreclosure sale resulting from
SPW’s failure to pay state and county taxes.

The financing arrangement between Fleet and SPW
continued until August, 1979, when SPW filed for Chap-

28a

ter 11 bankruptcy. Fleet continued to finance SPW as
debtor-in-possession on similar terms pursuant to a court
approved factoring agreement.

On February 27, 1981, SPW ceased operations at the
facility. Just priory to that date, Fleet had advised SPW’s
principals that it would not advance additional funds to
SPW because SPW’s account already was over advanced,
that is, SPW’s debt to Fleet exceeded Fleet’s estimate of
the value of SPW’s accounts receivable. SPW would
down its operation by selling off some remaining inven-
tory. Fleet continued to collect on the accounts receivable
assigned to it under the chapter 11 factoring agreement.
Subsequently, in December 1981, SPW was adjudicated a
bankrupt under chapter 7 of the bankruptcy code, and a
trustee was appointed to supervise the liquidation of
assets. The trustee assumed the usual statutory powers
and title to the debtor’s property.

When SPW ceased operations, there were approxi-
mately 20-25 million yards of cloth at the facility. SPW
had printed substantially all of the goods according to
specific customers’ orders. SPW retained a small crew of
no more than 12 to 15 people to wind up the affairs of the
company and to ship the remaining goods. During the
liquidation of the remaining inventory, Fleet continued to
check the credit of SPW’s customers before SPW shipped
the goods to the customers. This did not represent any
change in Fleet’s normal practice as a secured lender.
SPW forwarded the funds it received to Fleet as partial
payment for its post-chapter 11 debt.

After obtaining bankruptcy court approval in May,
1982, Fleet foreclosed on its security interest in some of
SPW’s inventory and equipment and contracted with
Baldwin Industrial Liquidators, Ine. (‘Baldwin’) to
conduct an auction and sell the inventory and equipment.
Baldwin conducted a public auction on June 22, 1982, at
which Baldwin sold some, but not all, of SPW’s inventory
and equipment for Fleet. Baldwin sold the collateral “as

24a

is” and “in place”, and removal was the responsibility
of the purchasers.

On August 31, 1982, Clifford Greenside signed a docu-
ment in his capacity as a representative of Fleet that
permitted Nix Riggers (“Nix”) to remove the un-sold
equipment and the equipment that the purchasers had
not removed after the public auction. As consideration
for this right, the August 31, 1982, document directed
Nix “to leave the premises in ‘broom clean’ condition.”
The August 81, 1982, document allowed Nix up to 180
days, which could be extended in writing, to complete the
terms and conditions of that document. Nix left the
facility in or around December 1983.

Although there is no genuine dispute concerning the
foregoing facts, there is a genuine dispute concerning
many of the events that surrounded the June 22, 1982,
auction. Plaintiff contends that Baldwin moved fifty-five
gallon drums away from the sales area before the auc-
tion. Plaintiff alleges that shortly before the auction the
facility contained 400-500 leaking and rusting fifty-five
gallon drums containing dyes and chemicals. Plaintiff
asserts that the removal of equipment or machinery by
Nix or purchasers of equipment at the auction disturbed
asbestos that aliegedly was on the pipes that were con-
nected to the equipment or machinery.

In addition to disputing plaintiff’s version of the
events surrounding the auction and subsequent removal
of the equipment and machinery at the facility, Fleet
argues that plaintiff has not produced any credible evi-
dence that the material around the pipes that were con-
nected to the machinery and equipment was asbestos.
Defendant alternatively contends that even if plaintiff
incurred response costs for chemicals or asbestos that
were in the facility when plaintiff conducted a site in-
spection on January 20, 1984, any improper disposal
of environmental contaminants already had occurred be-
fore Fleet used the facility to foreclose on SPW’s inven-

eemeniniamialinaaiamaaiaaiaceemaa

25a

tory and equipment. Cf. 42 U.S.C. § 9607(a) (2) (West
Supp. 1988) (providing that an operator of a facility is
not liable for response costs unless he operated the facil-
ity “at the time of disposal” of a hazardous substance).
There is no genuine dispute that neither Fleet nor its
agents entered the facility as an operator or otherwise
operated the facility before Baldwin conducted an auc-
tion at the facility on June 22, 1982, or after Nix left
the facility in or around December, 1983.

On January 20, 1984, plaintiff, through the Environ-
mental Protection Agency (“EPA”), inspected the facil-
ity. Plaintiff alleges that it found 700 fifty-five gallon
drums containing toxic chemicals. Plaintiff alleges that
the toxic chemicals that it found were an immediate
threat to public health and the environment. Based on
this conclusion, the EPA initiated the first of a two-part
response to the alleged environmental threat. Between
February 6-24, 1984, the EPA disposed of the solutions
in the fifty-five gallon drums.

After assessing the condition of the asbestos allegedly
found at the facility, the EPA concluded that the asbes-
tos problem, if unabated, presented a serious threat to
public health and the environment. Therefore, between
June 12, 1984, and July 11, 1984, the EPA conducted the
second phase of its response to the alleged environmental
threat and removed forty-four truck loads of material
containing asbestos to an approved landfill. Plaintiff al-
leges that it incurred costs of almost $400,000 in both
phases of its response to the alleged environmental threat
at the facility.

STANDARD OF REVIEW

Summary judgment is only appropriate if a party
“fails to make a showing sufficient to establish the ex-
istence of an element essential to that party’s case, and on
which that party will bear the burden of proof at trial.”
Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 817, $22 (1986).
When the moving party’s motion for summary judgment

26a

has pierced the pleadings of the opposing party, the
burden then shifts to the opposing party to demonstrate
that a genuine isaue of fact exists, Cole v. Elliot Equip.
Corp, 653 F.2d 1081, 1083 (5th Cir, 1981) (citing
Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(e)). A party cannot carry this
burden by relying on conclusory allegations in the plead-
ings. Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S, 242, 248
(1986) (quoting First Nat’l Bank of Arizona v. Cities
Serv. Co. 391 U.S, 258, 288 (1968); Fed. R. Civ. P.
56(e)). A federal court may not grant summary judg-
ment, however, unless there is only one reasonable con-
clusion concerning the verdict. /d. at 250-52. Moreover,
federal courts should resolve all reasonable doubts con-
cerning the factual submissions in favor of the party
opposing summary judgement. Casey Enter. v. American
Hardware Mut. Ins. Co., 655 F.2d 598, 602 (5th Cir.
1981). With these principles in mind, I will decide to
discuss motions for summary judgment in this case.

DISCUSSION

Plaintiff brought this action against defendants pur-
suant to the Comprehensive Environmental Response
Compensation and Liability Aet (“CERCLA”), 42 U.S.C.
§ 9601-57 (1982 and West Supp. 1988), as amended by
the Superfund Amendments and Reauthorization Act of
1986, Pub. L. No. 99-499, 100 Stat. 1618. The relevant
provisions of CERCLA provide that the current owner
and operator of a facility, or, any person who owned or
operated the facility at the time hazardous substances
were disposed of, is liable for any response costs of plain-
tiff to remedy a release or threatened release of a haz-
ardous substance. See 42 U.S.C. §9607(a)(1)-(2) &
(4) (West Supp. 1988).

The Court initially will address plaintiff's motion for
partial summary judgment against Fleet on the issue of
liability and Fleet’s cross motion for summary judgment
against plaintiff,

27a

To prevail under CERCLA, plaintiff must establish
that: (1) Defendant fails within one or more of the
classes of liable deseribed in 42 U.S.C. § 9607(a)
(1)=(4) (West Supp. 1088); (2) A “release” or “threat-
ened release” of a “hasardous substance” has oecurred or
is occurring; and (3) The release or threatened release
has caused the United States to incur “response costs.”
See New York v. Shore Realty Corp, 759 F.dd 1032,
1048-48 [22 ERC 1625] (2d Civ, 1985); 42 U.S.C.
§ 9607 (a) (1)=(4) (West Supp. 1988).

Of the three elements just deseribed, the element that
Fleet most vigorously contests is the first element, which
requires the government to establish Fleet's inclusion in
one of the classes of liable persons. Plaintiff contends that
Fleet is within the class of liable persons deseribed as
“the owner and operator of a facility.” 42 U.S.C. § 9607
(a) (1) (West Supp. 1988), This provision obviously re-
fers to the owner of the facility on July 6, 1987, the date
plaintiff filed its complaint. CERCLA defines “owner and
operator... in the ease of any facility, title or control
of which was conveyed to a whit of State or local govern-
ment, [as] any person who owned, operated or otherwise
controlled activities at such facility immediately before
hand.” Jd. § 9601(20) (A). Emanuel Cownty’s tax fore-
closure of the facility occurred on July 7, 1987. Nix left
the facility in or around December, 1983. Fleet never
foreclosed on its security interest in the facility, Neither
Fleet nor any of its putative agents had any access, or
other control, or é in any activities at the facility
after Nix left the facility in or arownd December, 1983.
Based on the wnidisputed facta, I concliide as a matter of
law that Fleet did not own, operate or otherwise control
activities at the facility immediately before the tax fore-
closure. Accordingly, is not in the class of liable
persons deseribed in 42 U.S.C. § 9607(a) (1) (West Supp.
1988),

Plaintiff alternatively argues that Fleet is in the class
of liable persons deseribed in 42 U.S.C. § 9607(a) (2)

28a

(West Supp. 1988). That provision imposes CERCLA
liability on “any person who at the time of disposal of
any haza- ‘ous substance owned or operated any facility
at which .uch hazardous substances were disposed of
.... Id. For the purpose of the foregoing provision,
CERCLA excludes from the definition of “owner or oper-
ator” any “person, who, without participating in the
management of a vessel or facility, holds indicia of own-
ership primarily to protect his security interest in the
vessel or facility.” Id. § 9601(2)(A) (emphasis added).
I interpret the phrases “participating in the management
of a... facility” and “primarily to protect his security
interest,” to permit secured creditors to provide financial
assistance and general, and even isolated instances of
specific, management advice to its debtors without risking
CERCLA liability if the secured creditor does not par-
ticipate in the day-to-day management of the business or
facility either before or after the business ceases opera-
tion. Id.; cf. United States v. Mirabile, 1985, Envtl. L.
Rep. 10994, 10995 (E.D. Pa. Sept. 4, 1985) (holding that
secured creditor exclusion from CERCLA liability ap-
plies if secured creditor “does not become overly en-
tangled in the affairs of the actual owner or operator
of a facility’’).

Plaintiff concedes that Fleet never owned the facility
within the meaning of CERCLA. Plaintiff argues, how-
ever, that Fleet’s activities at the facility both before and
after Baldwin entered the facility to prepare for, and
conduct the auction constituted participation in the man-
agement of the facility sufficient to impose CERCLA lia-
bility on Fleet. I first will address the pericd of time
between 1976 when Fleet commenced its relationship with
SPW and shortly before June 22, 1982, when Baldwin
entered the facility. I have carefully reviewed plaintiff's
factual submissions and argument concerning that period
and defendants countervailing submissions and argument.
I have resolved all doubts in the factual record for that
period in favor of plaintiff, the non-moving party.

29a

I conclude as a matter of law that Fleet’s activities at
the facility did not rise to the level of participation in
management sufficient to impose CERCLA liability on
Fleet for its activities before Baldwin entered the facility
to prepare for, and conduct, the auction.

I now will discuss Fleet’s activities at the facility
between the time that Baldwin entered the facility to pre-
pare for and conduct the June 22, 1982, auction and the
time that Nix finally left the facility in or around De-
cember, 1983.

Plaintiff alleges that Baldwin moved the barrels that
allegedly contained hazardous substances before Baldwin
conducted the public auction. Plaintiff contends that after
the auction, Baldwin auctioned some, but not all, of the
machinery and equipment as is, and in place, and per-
mitted the purchasers to remove the equipment and ma-
chinery that they had purchased. Plaintiff asserts that
after the auction Fleet signed a document that permitted
Nix to have access to the facility for 180 days and to
remove any remaining machinery and equipment that
either was not sold at the auction or was not removed
by the purchaser. Plaintiff maintains that friable as-
bestos was knocked loose from the pipes connected to the
machinery and equipment by either the purchasers of the
equipment at the auction or Nix. Plaintiff alleges that
the condition of the chemicals and the asbestos in the
facility after Baldwin, Nix, and the purchasers concluded
their business constituted an immediate risk to public
health and the environment for which it incurred re-
sponse costs. Plaintiff concludes that Fleet is liable for
those response costs under CERCLA.

Fleet genuinely disputes the foregoing material facts
alleged by plaintiff. I conclude that the foregoing genu-
inely disputed facts, and other genuinely disputed facts
that I have not mentioned, preclude me from granting
the cross motions for summary judgment between plain-
tiff and Fleet. Accordingly, plaintiff’s motion for partial

80a

summary judgment against Fleet on the issue of liability
and Fleet’s motion for summary judgment are DENIED.

I now will address plaintiff’s motion for partial sum-
mary judgment against Horowitz and Newton on the
issue of liability.* I will summarize the relevant facts
that I find are not genuinely disputed. On February 27,
1981, SPW ceased operations. Both before and after that
date, Horowitz and Newton actively managed the facility.
Horowitz and Newton each held fifty percent of the
shares of SPW. Both Horowitz and Newton managed the
facility for SPW as debtor-in-possession pursuant to chap-
ter 11 of the bankruptcy code until December, 1981, when
SPW was adjudicated a bankrupt under chapter 7 of
the bankruptcy code. There were at least some chemicals
in fifty-five gallon drums in the facility at the time that
Horowitz and Newton ceased actively managing the
facility. The chemicals in the fifty-five gallon drums
were hazardous substances within the meaning of
CERCLA. Horowitz and Newton originally procured the
fifty-five gallon drums containing hazardous chemicals
that the EPA found in the facility for the purpose of
operating SPW’s cloth printing business.

Horowitz and Newton fall within the class of liable
persons described as those who owned or operated a
facility “at the time of disposal of any hazardous sub-

* Clifford Horowitz filed a memorandum in opposition to plaintiff’s
motion for partial summary judgment on July 6, 1988. On August
4, 1988, this Court notified all parties in this case of an August 11,
1988, hearing on plaintiff’s May 20, 1988, motion. I considered
Mr. Horowitz’s submission and or:' argument before ruling on
plaintiff’s motion for partial summary judgment. Murrary Newton,
who elected to proceed pro se after filing several submissions through
his former attorney, Charles B. Merrill, Jr., Esq., however, has not
responded to plaintiff’s motion for partial summary judgment, nor
did Mr. Newton appear at the August 11, 1988, hearing on plain-
tiff’s motion. Nevertheless, Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(c) permits this
Court to grant summary judgment against Mr. Newton, if appro-
priate, because a hearing on plaintiff’s motion was held over ten
(10) days after plaintiff filed its motion.

3la

stance.” 42 U.S.C. § 9607(b)(3) (1982). Both Horo-
witz and Newton assert, however, the third-party de-
fense to CERCLA liability. See id. § 9607(b) (3). The
third-party defense provides that a person who falls
within one of the classes of liable persons under CERCLA
may avoid liability if he establishes “by a preponderance
of the evidence that the release or threat of release of a
hazardous substance and the damages resulting there
from were caused solely by ... an act or omission of a
third party other than an employee or agent of the de-
fendant. .. .” Id. (emphasis added). Horowitz argues
that Fleet was solely responsible for the release of haz-
ardous substances at the facility. Newton makes a simi-
lar claim in his deposition testimony. Horowitz and New-
ton claim that Fleet told them not to sell or otherwise
dispose of the chemicals at the facility because the chem-
icals possibly were marketable and Fleet had a security
interest in the chemicals. Even if that allegation were
true, there is no allegation that Horowitz and Newton,
in their capacity as active managers of SPW as a debtor-
in-possession, did not have, or could not have obtained
bankruptcy court approval to sell or otherwise properly
dispose of the hazardous chemicals in the facility after
SPW ceased operations. Accordingly, based on the fore-
going facts that are not genuinely disputed, I find as a
matter of law that Horowitz and Newton are not entitled
to the third-party defense to CERCA liability with re-
spect to plaintiff’s response costs for the chemicals con-
tained in the fifty-five gallon drums because a third
party was not solely responsible, to the exclusion of
Horowitz and Newton, for the release or threatened re-
lease of the hazardous substances contained in the fifty-
five gallon drums. Therefore, plaintiff’s motion for par-
tial summary judgment against Horowitz and Newton
on the issue of liability is GRANTED with respect to
plaintiff’s response costs for removing the hazardous
substances found in the fifty-five gallon drums,

82a

With respect to the asbestos that EPA found at the
facility in 1984, any environmental hazard created by
the asbestos could have occurred solely in connection with
the removal of machinery and equipment by either the
purchasers at the foreclosure sale arranged by Fleet or
by Nix pursuant to his agreement with Fleet. Therefore,
a genuinely disputed factual issue exists concerning
whether Fleet, Baldwin, Nix, and the purchasers of the
machinery and equipment at the facility solely caused
any environmental hazard created by the asbestos at the
facility when they removed the machinery and equipment.
Accordingly, plaintiff’s motion for partial summary judg-
ment against Horowitz and Newton on the issue of lia-
bility is DENIED with respect to plaintiff’s response
costs for removing the asbestos from the facility.

CERTIFICATION

No federal appellate court has addressed the legal
issues or factual applications addressed in this order.
Pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §1292(b) (West Supp. 1988)
(section 1292(b)), federal district courts have authority
to certify the issues in an order for interlocutory appeal.
Section 1292(b) was passed to “aid in the disposition of
cases before the district courts of the United States by
saving useless expenditure of court time... .” S. Rep.
No. 2434, 85 Cong. 2d Sess. 3-4. The decision concerning
whether or not to allow an interlocutory appeal is within
the discretion of the district court. Jd. A district court
only should allow such appeals in exceptional circum-
stances. H.R. Rep. No. 1667, 85th Cong., 2d Sess. 1-2.
This case, however, is appropriate for section 1292(b)
certification.

I find that this order disposes of controlling questions
of law concerning which there is substantial doubt in-
cluding, but not limited to, my construction of CERCLA’s
definition of “owner and operator” and the secured lender
exemption contained in that definition; my construction

83a

of the CERCLA provisions describing the classes of liable
persons; and my construction of the scope of the third-
party defense to CERCLA liability. I also find that an
immediate appeal from this “order may materially ad-
vance the ultimate termination of [this] litigation. . . .”
28 U.S.C. §1292(b) (West Supp. 1988). If this order
were modified or reversed on appeal after trial, a new
trial that would waste scarce judicial resources likely
would be necessary.

For the foregoing reasons, pursuant to section 1292
(b), I certify that this case is appropriate for interlocu-
tory appeal. If any party to this case requests an inter-
locutory appeal pursuant to section 1292(b), all proceed-
ings in this case hereby are STAYED. The stay shall
commence on the date that any party applies for an in-
terlocutory appeal in the Court of Appeals and shall con-
clude on the date that the Court of Appeals either dis-
poses of the interlocutory appeal on its merits or denies
all applications for interlocutory appeal.

CONCLUSION

To recapitulate: (1) Plaintiff’s motion for partial
summary judgment against Fleet on the issue of liability
is DENIED; (2) Fleet’s motion for summary judgment
is DENIED; (3) Plaintiff’s motion for partial summary
judgment agaiust Horowitz and Newton on the issue of
liability is GRANTED with respect to plaintiff’s re
sponse costs for removing the hazardous substances found
in the fifty-five gallon drums; (4) Plaintiff’s motion for
partial summary judgment against Horowitz and New-
ton on the issue of liability is DENIED with respect to
plaintiff’s response costs for removing the asbestos from
the facility; (5) This case hereby is CERTIFIED as ap-
propriate for interlocutory appeal pursuant to section
1292(b); and (6) All proceedings in this case are
STAYED, commencing on the date that any party ap-
plies for an interlocutory appeal in the Court of Appeals

.

34a

and concluding on the date that the Court of Appeals
either disposes of the interlocutory appeal on its merits
or denies all applications for interlocutory appeal.

ORDER ENTERED at Augusta, Georgia, this 22nd
day of December, 1988.

85a
APPENDIX C

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

No. 89-8094
D.C. Docket No. CV687-070

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Plaintiff-Appellee,

versus

FLEET FACTORS CorpP.,
Defendant-Third-Party
Plaintiff-Appellant,

CLIFFORD HoROWITZ and MURRAY NEWTON,
Defendants,

ROBERT KOLODNEY, Esq,
as Trustee of Swainsboro Print Works, Inc.,
Debtor,
Third-Party Defendant.

Appeal from the United States District Court
for the Southern District of Georgia

Before VANCE* and KRAVITCH, Circuit Judges, and
LYNNE*"*, Senior District Judge.

* Judge Robert S. Vance was a member of the panel which heard
oral argument but due to his death on December 16, 1989, did not
participate in this decision. This case is decided by a quorum.
See 28 U.S.C. § 46(d).

** Honorable Seybourn H. Lynne, Senior U.S. District Judge for
the Northern District of Alabama, sitting by designation.

JUDGMENT

This cause came on to be heard on the transcript of
the United States District Court for the Southern Dis-
trict of Georgia, and was argued by counsel;

ON CONSIDERATION WHEREOF, it is now hereby
ordered and adjudged by this Court that the order of the
District Court appealed from in this cause be and the
same is hereby AFFIRMED; and that this cause be and
the same is hereby REMANDED to said District Court
for further proceedings in accordance with the opinion
of this Court;

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that each party bear
their own costs on appeal.
Entered: May 238, 1990

For the Court:

MIGUEL J. CORTEZ
Clerk

By: /s/ David Maland
Deputy Clerk

Issued as Mandate: Jul. 27, 1990

87a
APPENDIX D

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

No. 89-8094

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Plaintiff-A ppellee,

versus

FLEET FACTors CorpP.,
Defendant-Third Party
Plaintiff-A ppellant,

CLIFFORD HorRoWITZ and MURRAY NEWTON,
Defendants,

RoBERT KOLODNEY, Esq.,
as Trustee of Swainsboro Print Works, Inc.,
Debtor,

Third-Party Defendant.

On Appeal from the United States District Court
for the Southern District of Georgia

ON PETITION (S) FOR REHEARING AND
SUGGESTION (S) OF REHEARING EN BANC

(Opinion May 28, 11th Cir., 1990, —— F.2d ——)
(July 17, 1990)

Before: VANCE* and KRAVITCH, Circuit Judges,
and LYNNE *, Senior District Judge.

* Judge Robert 8. Vance was a member of the panel which heard
oral argument but due to his death on December 16, 1989 did not
participate in this decision. This case is decided by a quorum.
See 28 U.S.C. § 46(d).

38a

PER CURIAM:

(X) The Petition(s) for Rehearing are DENIED and
no member of this panel nor other Judge in regular ac-
tive service on the Court having requested that the
Court be polled on rehearing en banc (Rule 35, Federal
Rules of Appellate Procedure; Eleventh Cireuit Rule 35-
5), the Suggestion(s) of Rehearing En Bane are DE-
NIED.

ENTERED FOR THE CouRT:

/s/ Phyllis Kraviteh
PHYLLIS KRAVITCH
United States Circuit Judge

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385020_2869%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
