# Reply Brief — Taber v. Pledger

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385020_2849%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1990
- **Citation:** 498 U.S. 967

## Text

§

rIPTRM a
i A | # | a ry ~v
'

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1990 ~

BILL TABER, pa
- TABER’S GRASS FARM
Petitioncr
v.
JAMES C. PLEDGER, DIRECTOR,
ARKANSAS DEPARTMENT OF
FINANCE AND ADMINISTRATION
Respondent

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE SUPREME COURT OF ARKANSAS

PETITIONER’S REPLY BRIEF TO
RESPONDENT’S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO
PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE SUPREME COURT OF ARKANSAS

EUGENE G. SAYRE

Jscx, Lyon & JONES

3400 TCBY Tower

425 West Capitol Avenue
Little Rock, Arkansas 72201
(501) 375-1122

Counsel of Record for Petitioner

TREVATHAN PRESS « LITTLE ROCK

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
1. This Court’s recent decision in McKesson held
that “federal” due process standards require
that the states provide either a pre-deprivation
hearing or a post-deprivation hearing to the
contesting taxpayer. These hearings must be
“judicial reviews,” not “administrative reviews,”

of the disputed tax ASSCSSMEMNIS..........sesceresereeereceeeneers 2

a. Judicial review of a disputed tax assessment
is required for a state to meet the “federal”
guaranteed rights of due process of the laws........ 3

b. The pre-deprivation review afforded the
taxpayer by the Arkansas Tax Procedure Act
was an administrative review, not a judicial
review, and therefore it clearly cannot be
deemed to have met the “federal” due proc-
COB CT inoee cteccnnevenennsnnssansicenionvaennnnapsnisnanvenes 5

c. Arkansas’ Tax Procedure Act provides only a
post-deprivation basis for judicial review of
the Respondent’s actions in assessing state

2. The lowa Supreme Court, in a post-McKesson

decision, has rendered a ruling in direct conflict,
for “federal” due process purposes, with the
decision of the Arkansas Supreme Court in this
FI COI nencnsnnicctsnszanenssnincinttheintinpuinisennitiaabiaanieatlaseibasnitetineenne 9

IT RR NOREEN TW PRE a OOP Ler er -aei 10

il PETITIONER'S REPLY BRIEF

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: -
Baker v. Carr, 369 U.S. 186 (1962)... eeeseseeeees
Commissioner v. Shapiro, 424 U.S. 614 (1976)
Flora v. United States, 362 U.S. 145 (1960)...
Laing v. United States, 423 U.S. 161 (1976).....
Marbury v. Madison, 1 Cranch 137, 2 L.Ed.2d
RR ee RE a
McKesson Corp. v. Div. of Alcoholic Beverages
and Tobacco, 495 U.S. —, 110 S.Ct.
a EE sevstiisoncinnicnaiinasssindasmaebuaianiis

Nixon v. Administrator of Genera! Services,
SS TF RR CAST Tp pscessccctcsesss cavevscsicanssnsenes

eeeceee

Northern Pipeline Co. v. Marathon Pipeline Co.,

BFF Geis PE ERED weccsesinseccernameeninionaanansnnsin
Pledger v. Boyd, Arkansas Sup. Ct. Docket
A, Ie vesncinechsiiicdensisennninnuninesiinalatildanpniasinate
Powell v. McCormack, 395 U.S. 486 (1969).....
Schroeder Oil Co. v. Dept. of Rev. & Finance,
458 N.W.2d 602 (La. 1990)... ee eeeeeees
Constitutional Provisions:
U.S. Constitution:

Fifth Amendment ....................cceceeescceeeeeeees
Fourteenth Amendment.................ccccceeeees

Statutory Provisions:

Ark. Code Ann. §25-15-212........ccccsceseeeees
Ark. Code Ann. §26-18-404..........ccceeeeee
Ark. Code Ann. §26-18-405...........ccccsesceseseeees

eeeeree

eeeeeee

eeeseee

passim
passim

PETITIONER'S REPLY BRIEF 1

Ark. Code Ann. §26-18-406.............cccccccesseeeeees 4,8
Ark. Code Ann. §26-18-507..............ccccccseeeseeees 8
Ark. Code Ann. §26-18-701

od

a |

No. 90-484
IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1990

BILL TABER, bD/pa
TABER’S GRASS FARM
Petitioner
v.

JAMES C. PLEDGER, DIRECTOR,
ARKANSAS DEPARTMENT OF
FINANCE AND ADMINISTRATION

Respondent —

PETITIONER’S REPLY BRIEF

)

The Petitioner will address separately be-
low the points raised by Respondent Pledger in his Brief
in Opposition. The Petitioner will also specifically ad-
dress the real conflict that now exists between the ration-
ale of the Arkansas Supreme Court’s decision in this Tab-
er case and that set forth by the Iowa Supreme Court in
that court’s recent decision in the case of Schroeder Oil
Co. v. Dept. of Rev. & Finance, 458 N.W.2d 602 (Ia. 1990).
The Iowa Supreme Court held, in its Schroeder Oil case,
that a taxpayer’s “federal” Fourteenth Amendment rights
to due process were denied to the protesting taxpayer in

2 PETITIONER'S REPLY BRIEF

that case, because there was a total lack of post-depriva-
tion review available to the taxpayer to contest the state
excise tax assessment under Iowa’s tax procedure statutes.

1. This Court's recent decision in McKesson
held that ‘‘federal’’ due process standards
require that the states provide either a pre-
deprivation hearing or a post-deprivation
hearing to the contesting taxpayer. These
hearings on the disputed tax assessments
must be ‘‘judicial reviews," not state tax
“administrative reviews.’

The Respondent’s on/y real argument in
opposition to the Petitioner’s Petition for Certiorari is
that the Petitioner has been afforded a pre-deprivation
hearing on the merits, and that he is therefore not also
entitled to a post-deprivation hearing on the merits.
(Resp. Br. 3-5). The Petitioner submits that the Respond-
ent cleirly misrepresents or inisinterprets what this Court
held was required of states to meet “federal” due process
standards in McKesson Corp. v. Div. of Alcoholic Beverages
and Tobacco, 485 U.S. —, 110 S.Ct. 2238 (1990). There,
this Court clear!y indicated that any pre-deprivation hear-
ing must be a “judicial hearing,” as Lpposed to an “ad-
ministrative hearing.” Therefore, the in-house “adminis-
trative review” provided to the Petitioner by the
Respondent’s agents, under the provisions of the Arkan-
sas Tax Procedure Act (ATPA) (Ark. Code Ann. §26-18-
404 and 405) falls woefully short of meeting this Court’s
mandate that the states must provide taxpayers with a fair

PETITIONER'S REPLY BRIEF 3

opportunity for a “‘judicial hearing” within which to
contest the validity and legality of the assessed state tax.
Mr. Taber has been totally denied his rights to “federal”
due process by the State of Arkansas in this contested
Sales Tax assessment.

a. A judicial review of a disputed tax as-
sessment is required for a state to meet the
“federally” guaranteed rights of due process
of the laws.

In McKesson, 110 S.Ct. at 2250, this Court
held that the states must provide cither a pre-deprivation
hearing or a post-deprivation hearing to give the protest-
ing taxpayer “a fair opportunity to challenge the accuracy
and iegal validity of the tax obligation.” This Court clear-
ly stated (with regard to the pre-deprivation alternative)
that:

Because the exaction of a tax constitutes depriva-
tion of property, the State must provide proce-
dural safeguards against unlawful exactions in
order to satisfy the requirements of the due
process clause. The State may choose to provide
a form of ‘pre-deprivation process,’ for example,
by authorizing taxpayers to bring suit to enjoin im-
position of a tax prior to its payment, or by allowing
payers to withhold payment and then interpose their
objections as defenses in @ tax enforcenient pro-
ceeding initiated by the State. [Emphasis

4 PETITIONER'S REPLY BRIEF
Supplied}!

The “preassessment” or pre-deprivation”
administrative review granted to Arkansas taxpayers by
the provisions of Ark. Code Ann. §§26-18-404 and 405,
though providing taxpayers with some rudimentary
procedural due process, it is not the type of procedural
due process guaranteed to a taxpayer by the Fourteenth
Amendment. This “federally” guaranteed right to due
process means that the taxpayer is entitled to a “judicial
review” of his dispute with the tax administrator, especial-
ly in a post-deprivation setting where the tax is contested
by the taxpayer.” This Court’s admonition that taxpayers
must be provided a “ fair opportunity to challenge the
accuracy and legal validity” of the tax assessment, can
only be satisfied by a “judicial review” of the actions of
the personnel of the Executive Branch; in light of the tax
statute adopted by the Legislative Branch; with both oth-
er branch’s actions being governed by the parameters of

Ime Petitioner submits that this Court clearly indicated in this passage from the
Mckesson decision that the required “pre-deprivation” hearing process involve ei-
ther (1) a suit for injunction or declaratory judgment, or (2) a contest in a collection
suit by the state. Ark. Code Ann. §26-18-406(d) specifically prohibits a taxpayer
from secking injunctive or declaratory relief in the Arkansas courts. Here, though
the Respondent could have initiated a collection suit against Taber, he chose, in-
stead, to use summary methods of collection through levy and distraint processes
provided by Ark. Code Ann. §26-18-701. (Petitioner's Pet., App. C, 13a).

‘The Petitioner has never stopped protesting the assessment in question. There-
fore, he has not voluntarily allowed his procedural rights to lapse, notwithstanding
any implication to the contrary by the Respondent. (Resp. Br. 4-5).

PETITIONER'S REPLY BRIEF 5

the U.S. Constitution.“

b. The pre-deprivation review afforded the
taxpayer by the Arkansas Tax Procedure Act
was an administrative review, not a judicial
review, and therefore it clearly cannot be
“deemed to have met the “‘iederai’’ due
process requirements.

In his brief in opposition, the Respondent’s
counsel artfully attempts to clothe the pre-deprivation
“administrative hearing” afforded taxpayers under the
terms of the ATPA with judicial trappings by using terms
such as “a trial on the merits” (Resp. Br. 2); the hearing
was in “an Administrative Law Court” (Resp. Br. 1); or
the Administrative Law Judge renders his decision in
writing with “findings of fact and conclusions of law based
upon the evidence presented at trial.” (Resp. Br. 4).
However, the plain and unvarnished truth is that the pre-
deprivation review procedure afforded a contesting
Arkansas taxpayer (under the provisions of Ark. Code
Ann. §§26-18-404 and 405) is strictly an “administrative
review” (manned by a member of the Executive Branch
of Arkansas’ state government). These personnel answer
to the ultimate administrator (the Respondent) of the

>See Marbury v, Madison, 1 Cranch 137, 177, 2L.Ed.2d 60 (1803); Baker v. Carr,
369 U.S. 186 at 217 (1962); Powell v. McCormack, 395 U.S. 486, 521 (1969); Nixon v.

Administrator of General Services, 433 U.S. 425, 503 (1977); and Northern Pipeline
Co. v, Marathon Pipeline Co., 458 U.S. 50, 61-62 (1902).

6 PETITIONER'S REPLY BRIEF

challenged Sales Taxes;* the Arkansas Rules of Evidence
are ot applicable in these hearings; and the hearings are,
by their nature, very similar to an informal Appellate Di-
vision conference with an IRS representative, under the
similar federal tax procedure scheme.

A meaningful type of “‘pre-deprivation
review” that could be afforded a protesting taxpayer
would be one where an appeal could be taken by the tax-
payer, from the tax administrator’s adverse administrative
decision, directly into the state court system without the
necessity of making payment of the disputed assessment.
Such a “pre-deprivation review” would be afforded under
Arkansas’ general Administrative Procedure Act (Ark.
Code Ann. §25-15-212), but the provisions of the ATPA
(§26-18-405) specifically exclude tax controversies from
being subjected to the provisions or requirements of the
Arkansas Administrative Procedures Act.

Finally, in a refund action by a similarly sit-
uated Arkansas sod farmer-taxpayer, Coy Mac Boyd (who
was financially able to afford to “make full payment” of

+The administrative review is performed by the tax administrators within the Execu-
tive Branch of Arkansas’ state government, and the final appeal provided by §26-18-
405(d)(4) is to the Commissioner of Revenues. In fact, that option was exercised by
Taber and denied by the Respondent in this case. The Respondent, in his letter
denying the requested revision in the taxpayer's favor, notified Taber that the tax-
payer had “exhausted his administrative remedies.”

‘A system similar to the U.S. Tax Court tax procedure in the federal tax procedures
system.

PETITIONER'S REPLY BRIEF 7

the entire amount of Sales Taxes assessed by the Re-
spondent), secured an objective and independent “judi-
cial review” of his claim that his sales of sod qualified for
the exemption for the sale of “raw farm products,” where
the chancellor in the trial found against the Respondent,
and, in effect, against the Respondent’s Hearing Officer
who had previously rendered adverse “administrative
decisions” against both Taber and Boyd at this “adminis-
trative review” level.°

c. Arkansas’ Tax Procedure Act provides
only a post-deprivation basis for judicial re-
view of the Respondent’s actions in assess-
ing state taxes.

There are only two ways that a taxpayer
contesting an Arkansas state tax may secure a “judicial
review” of his dispute with the Respondent under the
ATPA. Both of these statutory causes of action, the “pro-
test provision” (§26-18-406) and the “claim for refund”

°-see the decision of the Honorable Ralph E. Wilson, Jr., in the case of Coy Mac
Boyd, d/b/a Turf Plantation v. Ragland, Commissioner of Revenues, Craighead
County Chancery Court Docket No. 89-1153 (Pet. App. D, p. 22a). This case is now
pending appeal before the Arkansas Supreme Court in an action styled Pledger v.
Boyd, Arkansas Sup. Ct. Docket No. 90-236. However, even if Coy Mac Boyd is suc-
cessful in defending his right to claim the exemption for the sale of “raw farm
products,” and the Respondent decides to apply that decision both retroactively and
prospectively to all taxpayers (including Taber), such administrative acticn will not
moot the taxpayer's claim of a denial of the “federal” due process of law guaranteed
to him by the Fourteenth Amendment, because this procedural defect will remain as
long as the Arkansas Supreme Court’s decision in Taber v. Pledger remains as the
controlling law for the State of Arkansas.

8 PETITIONER'S REPLY BRIE!

provision (§26-18-507), are available only after the dis-
puted tax has been paid. In fact, the decision of the Ad-
ministrative Hearing Officer in this case is not even bind-
ing upon the Respondent, since §26-18-406(b)(1) pro-
vides that the entire matter “shall be tried de novo” in the
Chancery Court.

To rectify the State of Arkansas’ denial of
Taber’s “federal” due process rights under the rationale
of this Court’s McKesson decision,’ this Court does not
have to strike down the provisions of either Ark. Code
Ann. §§26-18-406 or 507 as being unconstitutional. In-
stead, all this Court has to do is provide that the “divisi-
ble tax rule” and the “partial payment exception” to the
“full payment rule” (for contesting federal excise taxes
under the Fifth Amendment) applics equally under the
Fourteenth Amendment to challenges by taxpayers to
state excise taxes. Thus, by requiring state courts to follow
this Court’s mandate on this issuc, as set cut in Flora v.
United States, 362 U.S. 145 (1960), the constitutional di-
lemma can be solved and the “federal” due process rights
under either the Fifth or Fourteenth Amendment for all
taxpayers contesting excise taxes (whether of a federal or
state naturc) will be the same.

‘A copy of this Court’s decision in McKesson was provided to the members of the
Arkansas Supreme Court shortly before the oral argument was held in this case in
early June of 1990. From a reading of the opinion rendered in the court below, it is
obvious that the Arkansas Supreme Court did .0t recognize or adhere to this
Court’s reading of the “federal” due process rights guaranteed to Taber under the
Fourteenth Amendment.

PETITIONER'S REPLY BRIEF 9

2. The lowa Supreme Court, in a post-
McKesson decision, has rendered a ruling in
direct conflict, for federal due process pur-
poses, with the decision of the Arkansas
Supreme Court in this Taber case.

The Respondent argues (Resp. Br. 5-8) that
the State of lowa’s taxing procedures are so different
from those provided by the ATPA that the post McKesson
decision of the lowa Supreme Court in the case of
Schroeder Oil Co. v. lowa State Department of Revenues
and Finance, 458 N.W.2d 602 (July 18, 1990), should not
be considered as conflicting with the Arkansas Supreme
Court’s decision in this Taber case. Even a cursory exami-
nation of the lowa Supreme Court’s decision in Schroeder
Oil will be sufficient to negate and reject the Respond-
ent’s arguments in this regard.

Specifically, the lowa Supreme Court in
Schroeder Oil found that there was absolutely no “feder-
al” due process requirement that a taxpayer be given a
pre-deprivation review of the contested tax. However, the
lowa Supreme Court correctly held that the Fourteenth
Amendment requires that the contesting taxpayer be enti-
tled to a post-deprivation hearing. The Iowa court also
held that the requirement for (1) “‘full payment,” or
(2) the posting of a bond, denied the taxpayer in that case
his “federal” due process rights. The factual situation in
the Schroeder Oil case is virtually on all fours with that
presented in this Taber case. Therefore, the Petitioner
submits that there is now an additional reason for grant-

10 PETITIONER'S REPLY BRIEF

ing his Petition for Certiorari, under the provisions of
Rule 10.1(b) of the Rules of this Court, i.e., there is a
conflict between the courts of last resort in Arkansas and
lowa over this “federal” question.®

CONCLUSION
For the reasons set forth above, the Peti-

tioner submits that his Petition for Certiorari to the Ar-
kansas Supreme Court should be granted, so that this
Court may settle a real conflict that presently exists be-
tween the highest appellate courts of Arkansas and at
least one other state (and certain decisions of this Court)
regarding this important “federal” constitutional question
of state tax procedure.
October 31, 1990.

Respectfully submitted,

EUGENE G. SAYRE

Jack, Lyon & JONES

3400 TCBY Tower

425 West Capitol Avenue

Little Rock, Arkansas 72201

(501) 375-1122

Counsel of Record

for Petitioner

. Besides the prior decisions of this Court that the Petitioner cited in his Petition as
being in conflict with the Arkansas Supreme Court’s decision in the instant case,
Petitioner also cites to ths Court’s decisions in Laing v. United States, 423 U.S. 161
(1976), and Commissioner v. Shapiro, 424 U.S. 614 (1976), as further authority for
the position that his “federal” due process rights entitle him to an objective and
independent “judicial review” of this dispute with the Respondent and his agents.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385020_2849%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
