# Opposition Brief — General Wood Preserving Co. v. National Labor Relations Board

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385020_2822%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1990
- **Citation:** 498 U.S. 1016

## Text

} ie oa i.

Y , - N 1938

No. 90-455

, IRs

a> |

In the Supreme Court of the Gnited States 7

OCTOBER TERM, 1990

ee ae

GENERAL WOOD PRESERVING COMPANY, INC., PETITIONER
V.

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD
IN OPPOSITION

KENNETH W. STARR
Solicitor General
Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530
(202) 514-2217

JERRY M. HUNTER

General Counsel
D. RANDALL FRYE

Acting Deputy General Counsel
ROBERT E. ALLEN

Associate General Counsel
NORTON J. COME

Deputy Associate General Counsel
LINDA SHER

Assistant General Counsel

ROBERT F. MACE
Altorney
National Labor Relations Board
Washington, D.C. 20570

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the National Labor Relations Board reason-
ably concluded that unfair labor practices by petitioner —a
successor employer—and its predecessor prevented the
holding of a fair election and therefore warranted entry of
a Gissel bargaining order against petitioner.

(I)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
EE Soot he os oink aw Wd aa, we & 8 wee |
TG os os sins ih we gba Ka od aw Re we l
Ere 2
ee Peek eae kendo e ers dene eaw ees tj
SpE a 12
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases:
American Press, Inc. v.: NLRB, 833 F.2d 621
es a a a dy aula Ges n pe 7
Bandag, Inc. v. NLRB, 583 F.2d 765 (Sth Cir.
ee eee ois i a as a am oo hs ab oek 4 0 11
Carlton’s Market, 243 N.L.R.B. 837 (1979), en-
forced, 642 F.2d 350 (9th Cir. 1981) ........... 10
Chromalloy Mining & Minerals v. NLRB, 620 F.2d
ese ia a ee dha 6 Nk wae 9
Fall River Dyeing & Finishing Corp. v. NLRB,
ad awd cua eid ek ewe ee aw 12
Golden State Bottling Co. v. NLRB, 414 U.S. 168
Sa a Ls yaks ou ao 6 ede a wo 5
Granite City Journal, 262 N.L.R.B. 1153 (1982) .. 11
NLRB v. Ace Comb Co., 342 F.2d 841 (8th Cir.
as a vg nla Giklod he ws 8d 11
NLRB vy. Air Products & Chemicals, Inc., 717 F.2d
ee ek ee ee 9
NLRB v. Cott Corp., 578 F.2d 892 (Ist Cir. 1981). . 10

NLRB v. Gissel Packing Co., 395 U.S. 575 (1969). . 6, 7, 8
NLRB vy. Keystone Pretzel Bakery, Inc., 696 F.2d

ey wah kesh e aes de ci 1]
Piggly Wiggly, Tuscaloosa Div. v. NLRB, 705 F.2d

SE, SU i ab ec ec adn decaaweces 9
SEC v. Chenery Corp., 318 U.S. 80 (1943) ....... i2

(IIT)

IV

Statutes: Page
National Labor Relations Act, 29 U.S.C. 151 ef
seq.:
Sanh, 270.0. TI)... ow ces. 5, 10

ee. 2a? Oa |e | rE 5, 10

Jn the Supreme Court of the Anited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1990

No. 90-455
GENERAL WOOD PRESERVING COMPANY, INC., PETITIONER
V.

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD
IN OPPOSITION

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App. 1a-47a)
is reported at 905 F.2d 803. The decision and order of the
National Labor Relations Board (Pet. App. 48a-51a), in-
cluding the findings and recommendations of the admini-
strative law judge (Pet. App. 52a-87a), are reported at 288
N.L.R.B. No. 102. |

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on
June 18, 1990. The petition for a writ of certiorari was
filed on September 14, 1990. The jurisdiction of this Court
is invoked under 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

(1)

2

STATEMENT

1. Until June 1984, Burke-Parsons Bowlby (Bowlby)
operated a facility for the chemical treatment of wood in
Leland, North Carolina. Pet. App. 56a. On June 29, 1984,
Bowlby sold the facility, including its production equip-
ment, vehicles, and inventory, to petitioner. /d. at 76a.

a. Inearly February 1984, several of Bowlby’s produc-
tion and maintenance employees engaged in a job walkout
and began discussions with representatives of the Inter-
national Woodworkers of America, AFL-CIO (the
Union). Pet. App. 57a. By late February 1984, at least 42
of the 64 employees in the production and maintenance
unit had signed petitions authorizing the Union to be their
collective bargaining representative. /d. at 74a-75a. The
Union filed a petition for a representation election, and
the Board scheduled one for April 6, 1984. Jd. at 69a.

After the Union began its organizing campaign, Bowlby
Officials took numerous actions that later became the basis
for unfair labor practice charges. They interrogated em-
ployees about their union sympathies; threatened employ-
ees with closing and selling the facility, with subcontract-
ing out their work, with losing their benefits and jobs, and
with other unspecified reprisals if they chose union repre-
sentation; promised employees that Bowlby would solve
their problems without the Union; enforced work rules
more stringently than before the campaign began; disci-
plined several employees because of their union activity;
and packed the bargaining unit with non-union employees
to dissipate the Union’s majority. Pet. App. 59a-70a.

Specifically, Bowlby’s president, Richard Bowlby,
stated in a letter to employees that the Union posed a “high
risk,” and that the employees should consider what the
Union might “cost” them and not “vote [themselves] into a
sea of trouble.” Pet. App. 63a-64a. Richard Bowlby also

3

warned several employees that, if they voted to have the
Union represent them, he would ship work to another
facility. Jd. at 36a.

Bowlby’s plant manager, Carl Williams, advised several
employees that, if the employees elected union representa-
tion, they “might as well start looking for another job.”
Pet. App. 59a-60a.

Bowlby’s supervisors issued similar threats. Bowlby
supervisor Percy Burns told an employee that, if the
Union was elected, Bowlby would close the facility. Pet.
App. 6la. Bowlby supervisor Jimmie Smith asked two
employees whether they supported the Union and told
them that the employees should “get ready to plant a
garden because [they] were all going to be on the soup
line”; Smith also said that Bowlby would close and sell the
facility if the employees elected union representation. /d.
at 60a. Smith warned at least three other employees that
the employees were “going to wind up in the soup line” if
the Union was elected. /d. at 6la.

Bowlby supervisors Smith, Gary Wood, and Bill Cald-
well each held conversations with employees to advise
them that they would lose benefits if they elected the
Union. Pet. App. 59a, 6la.

Bowlby’s production manager, Thomas Greene, issued
disciplinary warnings to four employees because of their
union activity. Pet. App. 64a-69a. Greene also suspended
one of these employees, who was among the earliest and
most vocal supporters of the Union, because of his union
activity. Id. at 66a-67a.

A few days before the election was to occur, in an effort
to dissipate the Union’s majority status, Bowlby’s manage-
ment brought in about 25 employees from out of state and
put them on the list of employees eligible to vote in the
election. Pet. App. 69a-70a.

4

In response to Bowlby’s actions, the Union filed unfair
labor practice charges with the Board, thereby blocking
the scheduled election. Pet. App. 58a, 69a.

b. On June 20, 1984, Stanley Winbourne, the presi-
dent of petitioner and a former official of Bowlby, ad-
dressed Bowlby’s employees. Pet. App. 70a. He told them
that petitioner was purchasing Bowlby. /bid. He said that
he did not favor the Union, but that it was their decision to
make. /bid. He assured them that petitioner would hire
each of them and that each would start with a “clean
slate[ |.” /bid.

On June 28, 1984, the Union sent a telegram to Win-
bourne, advising him that it continued to represent a ma-
jority of Bowlby’s production and maintenance employees
and informing him of the unfair labor practices committed
by Bowlby. Pet. App. 70a-7la. The Union also demanded
that petitioner recognize the Union as the production and
maintenance employees’ collective bargaining representa-
tive. [bid.; see also id. at 23a.

On June 29, 1984, petitioner purchased Bowlby’s assets
and hired Bowlby’s line supervisors. Pet. App. 76a. Peti-
tioner also retained Greene as production manager, who,
as discussed, had disciplined several Bowlby employees for
supporting the Union. /bid. In early July, petitioner began
hiring production and maintenance employees; Greene
was responsible for making hiring recommendations. /d.
at 73a. Petitioner refused to hire several former Bowlby
employees because of their union activity. /d. at 70a-74a.

By the end of July 1984, petitioner had hired employees
in nearly all of Bowlby’s pre-existing production and
maintenance classifications. Pet. App. 76a. At that time, a
majority of petitioner’s 44 production and maintenance
employees were previous Bowlby employees. /bid.

Petitioner began operations on July 9, 1984. Pet. App.
76a. It operated out of Bowlby’s former facility, serviced

5

Bowlby’s former customers, and made the same products
that Bowlby had made. /bid.

2. The Board adopted the findings and conclusions of
the administrative law judge that, through the actions de-
scribed above, petitioner and Bowlby had violated Section
8(a)(1) and (3) of the National Labor Relations Act
(NLRA), 29 U.S.C. 158(a)(1) and (3). Pet. App. 48a-49a,
59a-74a. The Board also affirmed the ALJ’s finding that
petitioner was a successor employer because it had con-
tinued Bowlby’s business essentially unchanged, had hired
a production and maintenance work force the majority of
which was previously employed by Bowlby, and had pur-
chased Bowlby with notice of its unfair labor practices. /d.
at 48a-49a, 59a-70a, 76a-80a (citing Golden State Bottling
Co. v. NLRB, 414 U.S. 168 (1973)). The Board ordered
petitioner and Bowlby to recognize and bargairi with the
Union as the representative of the production and mainte-
nance employees. Pet. App. 80a-83a.'

The Board agreed with the ALJ that the unfair labor
practices of petitioner and Bowlby combined to make a
fair election unlikely. Pet. App. 49a-50a, 76a-77a. The
Board found that petitioner “commenced its takeover of
predecessor Bowlby by discriminatorily refusing to hire
known union activists and by committing that violation
through Production Manager Thomas Greene, who had

' The Board entered an order on May 12, 1988, that was directed
only at petitioner. Pet. App. 51a, 80-83a. On September 30, 1988, the
Board entered another order that was directed at both petitioner and
Bowlby but was otherwise in relevant part identical to its previous
order. See id. at 2a.n.3. In addition to directing petitioner and Bowlby
to bargain with the Union, the Board’s order directed them to cease
and desist from engaging in unfair labor practices, to expunge the files
of the unlawfully disciplined employees and make them whole, and
further ordered petitioner to offer to hire the seven individuals whom
petitioner had unlawfully refused to hire. /d. at 80a-83a.

6

held the same position with the predecessor.” /d. at 50a.
The Board concluded:

{[W]hatever might be the case had [petitioner] wiped
the slate clean and hired an entirely new managerial
and supervisory complement, the employees here had
received the plain message that supporting the Union
was a dangerous proposition regardless of who the
employer was.

Ibid.

3. The court of appeals upheld the Board’s decision
and enforced its order. Pet. App. la-47a.

The court affirmed the Board’s determination that a
Gissel order? was warranted in light of the unfair labor
practices of Bowlby and petitioner. The court, like the
Board, reasoned that Bowlby’s “numerous unfair labor
practices,” standing alone, made a fair election unlikely.
Pet. App. 43a-44a. The court also agreed that, by refusing
to hire several former Bowlby employees because of their
union activity, petitioner had “added its own conduct that
tended to have a lasting inhibitive effect on the employees’
formulation and expression of free choice regarding
unionization.” /d. at 44a; see also id. at 33a-35a. The court
recognized that “an election, and not a bargaining order, is
the traditional and preferred method for determining the
bargaining agent for employees.” /d. at 46a. But the court
concluded that, notwithstanding the absence of an elec-
tion, the Board acted within its discretion in entering a
bargaining order, because

{W]here, as here, “the possibility of erasing the effects
of past practices and of ensuring a fair election... .
by the use of traditional remedies, though present is
slight and ... employee sentiment once expressed

> NLRB vy. Gissel Packing Co., 395 U.S. 575 (1969).

7

through cards would, on balance, be better protected
by a bargaining order, then such order should issue.”

Id. at 46a-47a (quoting Gissel Packing Co., 395 U.S. at
614-615).

The court also upheld the Board’s determination that
the order should extend to petitioner as the successor to
Bowlby. Pet. App. 33a-44a. The court held that substan-
tial evidence supported the Board’s finding that petitioner
carried on Bowlby’s business essentially unchanged (id.
35a), had actual notice of Bowlby’s unfair labor practices
(id. at 20a-27a), and hired a majority of Bowlby’s former
production and maintenance employees (id. at 35a-40a).
The court further held, contrary to petitioner’s contention,
that in entering the order against petitioner the Board was
“not required specifically” to identify “the precise per-
centage of union support that existed in [petitioner’s}] new-
ly constituted unit.” Jd. at 36a.

ARGUMENT

Despite petitioner’s broadside attack on the court of ap-
peals’ decision, the only issue actually presented in this
case is narrow and fact-specific: whether the court below
properly enforced a Gisse/ bargaining order entered by the
Board against petitioner, a successor employer, based on
the Board’s conclusion that unfair labor practices by peti-

’ The court also found applicable the principle that an employer
“may not defeat a finding of successorship through its own
discrimination,” Pet. App. 38a n.32 (quoting American Press. Inc. v.
NLRB, 833 F.2d 621, 625 (6th Cir. 1987)). The court observed that
here it could “be said with far greater likelihood than not that a ma-
jority of the employees in [petitioner's] unit would have been found to
have signed the petitions opting for union representation but for [peti-
tioner’s} discriminatorily having refused to hire the seven [former
Bowlby employees} who had signed the petitions.” Pet. App. 39a.

8
tioner and its predecessor precluded the holding of a fair
election. In enforcing the Board’s order, the court correct-
ly applied established legal principles to findings of the
Board that were supported by substantial evidence. Peti-
tioner’s fact-bound challenge thus does not warrant this
Court's review.

1. In Gissel Packing Co., 395 U.S. at 613-614, the
Court held that in two situations the Board has discretion
to order an employer to bargain with a union that has not
been selected as the employees’ bargaining representative
through an election: in “exceptional” cases marked by
“outrageous” and “pervasive” unfair labor practices; and
“in less extraordinary cases marked by less pervasive prac-
tices which nonetheless still have the tendency to under-
mine majority strength and impede the election
processes.” In the latter situation, there must be a show-
ing, whether through authorization cards or otherwise,
“that at one point the Union had a majority.” /d. at 614.
The Board must also determine “that the possibility of
erasing the effects of past practices and of ensuring a fair
election . . . is slight and that employee sentiment once ex-
pressed through [authorization] cards would, on balance,
be better protected by a bargaining order.” /d. at 614-615.
This determination, the Court emphasized,was primarily
one for the Board, not reviewing courts, to make. /d. at
612 n.32.

The Board in this case made the findings necessary to
support a Gisse/ order, and these findings were properly
upheld by the court of appeals. The Board found that the
Union obtained authorization cards from a majority of
Bowlby’s employees (Pet. App. 74a-75a), and that
Bowlby’s employees made up the majority of petitioner's
work force (/d. at 76a). The Board also found that, in
response to the Union's organizing campaign, Bowlby
committed numerous unfair labor practices, including unit

9

packing and threats of plant closure, job loss, and subcon-
tracting. /d. at 57a-70a, 7S5a-76a. These practices, the
Board determined, made the holding of a fair election
unlikely. /d. at 7Sa-76a.4 And when petitioner succeeded
Bowlby, the Board further found, petitioner too engaged
in conduct “clearly calculated to subvert the election pro-
cess” by “unlawfully refusing to hire known union
adherents.” /d. at 77a.° These findings were amply sup-
ported by record evidence and were therefore properly sus-
tained by the court of appeals.®

* Petitioner disputes (Pet. 10-11) the Board’s assessment that these
practices precluded the holding of a fair election. As the court below
recognized (Pet. App. 39a-44a), that assessment was well within the
Board's discretion to make. Gissel, 395 U.S. at 612 n.32. The unfair
labor practices committed by Bowlby were comparable to those found
to justify issuance of Gisse/ orders in other cases. See, e.g., NLRB v.
Air Products & Chemicals Inc., 717 F.2d 141, 144-147 (4th Cir. 1983);
Pigely Wiggly, Tuscaloosa Div. v. NLRB, 705 F.2d 1537, 1540-1543
(Lith Cir. 1983); Chromalloy Mining & Minerals v. NLRB, 620 F.2d
1120, 1130 (Sth Cir. 1980).

» Contrary to petitioner’s assertion (Pet. 10), the Board did not
enter the bargaining order against it based solely on the unfair labor
practices committed by Bowlby; the Board also took into account
petitioner's unlawful refusal to hire seven former Bowlby employees
who supported the Union. Pet. App. 77a. The Board likewise con-
sidered this unfair labor practice by petitioner in determining that the
chance of a fair election was slight. /bid. Petitioner is therefore incor-
rect when it asserts (Pet. 10) that this determination was based solely
on the fact of petitioner’s purchase of Bowlby’s business.

* Consistent with the Board’s reasoning, the court below considered
both Bowlby’s and petitioner’s unfair labor practices in enforcing the
Board's order against petitioner. Pet. App. 39a-44a. The court’s en-
forcement of the order therefore was not, as petitioner asserts (Pet.
11), based on a “novel and entirely independent rationale.”

‘ 10

The Board properly entered the Gisse/ order against
both Bowlby and petitioner upon determining that peti-
tioner was Bowlby’s successor (Pet. App. 76a-77a) and
that petitioner had notice of Bowlby’s unfair labor prac-
tices (id. at 77a). In this Court, petitioner challenges only
the latter determination. See Pet. 20-24.’ This fact-bound
challenge does not warrant this Court’s review. In any
event, the Board’s finding of notice was amply supported
by evidence, inter alia, that petitioner was (1) aware of the
Union’s organizing campaign and of Bowlby’s response to
the campaign, (2) knew that at least one unfair labor prac-
tice charge had been filed against Bowlby, and (3) received
a telegram informing it of Bowlby’s unfair labor practices
before it purchased Bowlby. Pet. App. 20a-24a.

2. Petitioner’s contention (Pet. 12-15) that the Board
erroneously failed to consider events occurring after
the commission of the unfair labor practices is without
merit. The Board found (Pet. App. 76a) that petitioner
had commenced its takeover of Bowlby without making
significant changes in Bowlby’s managerial and super-
visory force—which had committed numerous unfair
labor practices—and then, acting through one of the

’ Rather than disputing that it is a “successor” under the doctrine of
successorship articulated by this Court, petitioner urges (Pet. 22-24)
this Court to address “the farthest extent” of that doctrine. This case
does not present an occasion for doing so, because the Board’s exten-
sion of a Gissel bargaining order to petitioner was fully consistent with
precedent. See Carlton’s Market. 243 N.L.R.B. 837, 845 (1979), en-
forced, 642 F.2d 350 (9th Cir. 1981). Compare NLRB v. Cott Corp.,
578 F.2d 892, 893-896 (Ist Cir. 1978), denying enforcement to 232
N.L.R.B. 312 (1977) (finding extension of Gisse/ bargaining order to
successor inappropriate where successor hired all the predecessor’s
employees, remedied all of the predecessor’s Section 8(a)(1) and (3)
violations, 29 U.S.C. 158(a)(1) and (3), and committed no violations
of its Own).

11

predecessor’s supervisors, had unlawfully refused to hire
seven former Bowlby employees. Thus, “whatever might
be the case had [petitioner] wiped the slate clean and hired
an entirely new managerial and supervisory complement,
the employees here had received the plain message that
supporting the Union was a dangerous proposition
regardless of who the employer was” (id. at 49a-5S0a). Ac-
cordingly, it was reasonable for the Board to conclude
that, regardless of events occurring after the unfair labor
practices, a fair election was not possible and a bargaining
order should issue. NLRB v. Keystone Pretzel Bakery,
Inc., 696 F.2d 257, 265 (3d Cir. 1982); Bandag, Inc. v.
NLRB, 583 F.2d 765, 772 (Sth Cir. 1978); NLRB v. Ace
Comb Co., 342 F.2d 841, 844 (8th Cir. 1965); Granite City
Journal, 262 N.L.R.B. 1153, 1158 (1982).8

3. Likewise without merit is petitioner’s contention
(Pet. 16-18) that the Board could not enter a bargaining
order against petitioner without finding that the Union
was supported by the majority of petitioner’s employees.
The Board found that the Union enjoyed majority support
among Bowlby’s employees and that petitioner hired a
work force the majority of which had previously worked
for Bowlby. Pet. App. 49a-Sla, 76a. As the court below
recognized (id. at 36a), the Board was not required to
identify “the precise percentage of union support that ex-
isted in [petitioner’s] newly constituted unit.” A successor

® Petitioner refers to only two “significant” events that it claims the
ALJ did not consider: that petitioner did not hire “the two Bowlby of-
ficials who were most outspoken in espousing anti-union sentiment”;
and that, although petitioner hired seven supervisors who had com-
mitted unfair labor practices while employed by Bowlby, several of
these supervisors later left petitioner’s employ. Pet. 15. There is no
basis for petitioner’s assertion (ibid.) that the ALJ “apparently dis-
regard[ed]” these facts. These facts, in any event, could reasonably
have been accorded little significance.

12

employer’s bargaining obligation depends on its hire of a
majority of the predecessor’s employees, not on its hire of
a majority of union adherents. Fall River Dyeing &
Finishing Corp. v. NLRB, 482 U.S. 27, 41, 52 (1987).°

CONCLUSION
The petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.
Respectfully submitted.

KENNETH W. STARR
Solicitor General

JERRY M. HUNTER

General Counsel
D. RANDALL FRYE

Acting Deputy General Counsel
ROBERT E. ALLEN

Associate General Counsel
NORTON J. COME 3

Deputy Associate General Counsel
LINDA SHER

Assistant General Counsel
ROBERT F. MACE

Altorney

National Labor Relations Board

NOVEMBER 1990

* The court below went on to conclude that it was likely that a ma-
jority of petitioner’s employees would have signed the union petitions
but for petitioner’s discriminatory hiring. Pet. App. 36a-39a. This
conclusion was merely dictum in light of the cour& holding that the
Board was not required to determine the percentage of union
adherents in petitioner’s work force. Petitioner is therefore incorrect
in asserting (Pet. 18-22) that in reaching this conclusion the court
violated the principle of SEC v. Chenery Corp., 318 U.S. 80, 87

(1943).

ve US GOVERNMENT PRINTING OFFICE 1990—282-061/20200 .

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385020_2822%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
