# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Dorris v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385020_2632%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1990
- **Citation:** 498 U.S. 1012

## Text

: | Suprerne Court, US. |
i 1; FILED
No. | . ANIOL, JR.
aa...

In The Eases

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1990

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent,
VS.

JAMES K. DORRIS,

Petitioner.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI FROM THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE THIRD
CIRCUIT

EDWARD J. SCHWABENLAND
Attorney for Petitioner
25 East Second Street
P.O. Box 955
Media, Pennsylvania 19063
(215) 565-2930

10959
*NJ (201) 257-6850 (800) 3 APPEAL *NY (212) 840-4640°MA (617) 542-1114

tz
_ en DC (202) 783-7288*PA (215) 925-6500*USA (800) 5 APPEAL

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

I. Whether the verdict in favor of the Petitioner as to the
original tax returns of 1982 and 1983 and against the Petitioner
as to the amended tax returns for 1981, 1982 and 1983 was
inconsistent and against the weight of the evidence.

Il. Whether the Trial Court erred in allowing the Government
to argue that the Petitioner’s Universal Life Church Congregation
was a sham organization.

Ill. Whether the Trial Court erred in denying, without an
evidentiary hearing, the Petitioner’s Motion to Dismiss the
Indictment on the basis of selective prosecution.

IV. Whether the Trial Court erred in failing to dismiss Count
Three of the Superseding Indictment (1981 Amended Tax Return).

V. Whether the tax sections which the Government claims
to be applicable to the prosecution are unconstitutionally vague
to support a criminal conviction.

VI. Whether the Government’s solicitation of testimony from
the IRS agent that the Petitioner failed te contract Agent Bell
or to produce records following Agent Bell’s interview of Petitioner
on July 5, 1984 constituted reversible error.

VII. Whether the Trial Court erred in charging the Jury that
the statements made in the amended returns in Counts 3, 4, and
5 were material as a matter of law.

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS

The Caption of the case contains the names of the parties
to the proceeding in this Court. The Petitioner’s wife, Patricia
Dorris, was co-defendant at trial and was acquitted.

ul

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Questions Presented ............

Parties to the Proceedings....

Table of Contents.................. (exe
Bee Ge Gg gv ccc ccccccsccccecsces
Statement of Jurisdiction................
Constitutional Provisions Involved ........
Bm GE Wi GOD on oc cece ccccccccces
I te ee

Argument:

1. The verdict in favor of the Petitioner as to the original
tax returns of 1982 and 1983 and against the Petitioner
as to the amended tax returns for 1981, 1982 and 1983
was inconsistent and against the weight of the

a a aN a Nee oA A ers rs ff

Il. The Trial Court erred in allowing the Government to
argue that the Petitioner’s Universal Life Church

Congregation was a sham organization. .........

Il. The Trial Court erred in denying, without an
evidentiary hearing, the Petitioner’s motion to dismiss
the indictment on the basis of selective prosecution.

ill

iv

tv

tv

ty

las

- =
a

Contents

Page

IV. The Trial Court erred in failing to dismiss count three
of the superseding indictment (1981 amended tax
SURG ccs cons hvacen dane eeeeneneeeseaeokrkes? 19

V. The tax sections which the Government claims to be
applicable to the prosecution are unconstitutionally
vague and cannot support a criminal conviction.

pea chends ua ees babbabeeeeeuhbeel ees 20
VI. The Government’s solicitation of testimony from the
IRS agent that the Petitioner failed to contact Agent
Bell or to produce records following Agent Bell’s
interview of Mr. Dorris on July 5, 1984 constituted
pean WW. ao b'e'o bak ous ha ee aes 21
VII. The Trial Court erred in charging the jury that the
statements made in the amended returns in count 3,

4, and 5 were material as a matter of law........ 22
CED oo on xs andthe eked ek eA enh an weap see 23
TABLE OF CITATIONS

Cases Cited:

Doyle v. Ohio, 426 U.S. 610 (1976) ................... 22

ULC, Inc. v. United States, 372 F. Supp. 770 (E.D. Cal. 1974)
Pe eT ere Te re ere pee ee ee ee 14

y
Contents
Page
United States v. Dixon, 658 F.2d 181 (3d Cir. 1981)... .. 8
United States v. Doan, 710 F.2d 124 (3d Cir. 1983) .....
$bbvescencoeeds ated dadeussaunensad maniac 8,9

United States v. Edwards, 576 F.2d 1152 (Sth Cir. 1978)

United States v. Greenberg, 735 F.2d 29 (2d Cir. 1984)

sékuaveesn TIITITT re iki ee

United States v. Myerson, 368 F.2d 393, cert. denied, 386
U.S For, $7 S. Ce. 1906, 06 EL. Bb. BB FS cccccccs 20

United States v. Pomponio, 429 U.S. 10 (1976), rehearing
denied, 429 U.S. 987, on remand, 563 F.2d 659, cettiorari
Gi, Ge Was UE 8 ccev cus ikucéedanonens 4 i oe 12

United States v. Powell, 469 U.S. 57 (1984) ............ 10

United States v. Steele, 461 F.2d 1148 (9th Cir. 1972)

United States v. Sternstein, 596 F.2d 528 (2nd Cir. 1979)

Contents

Page

United States v. Torquato, 602 F.2d $64 (3d Cir. 1979), cert.
denied, 444 U.S. 941, 100 S. Cr. 295, 62 L. Ed. 2d 307

ee bb Sede en $0s0e6ebebbebeshe 0 6USSSs SUSSNSEEE 17
United States v. Velasquez, _. F.2d —. (3d Cir., No.
BB-DEER,, GIASEDD nnn vvccvcecs vssecsedsectecueses 8
United States v. Zudick, 523 F.2d 848 (3d Cir. 1975) 20
Wayte v. United States, 470 U.S. 598, 105 S. Cr. 1524, 84
Se FE fT... Ree 17
Yates v. United States, 354 U.S. 298 (1957) ...... 2.6... is
Yick Wo v. Hopkins, 118 U.S. 356, 6S. Ct. 1064, 30 L. Ed.
r Pe 7 eee peecesesecseces 16
Statutes Cited:
26 U.S.C. Section SOM(CK3MT9B2) ©... 6. ene . 6
26 U.S.C. Sesriem GERI oo. cccccccsccccecsscccccnssees 20
26 U.S.C. Section 66S3a) . ... ees i8
26 U.S.C. Section 7206(1) . ... 6. ccc cnn neues 2, 9, 1S, 20
26 U.S.C. Section 720G(a) . ... 6 wee eens 19

2B U.S.C. Sectiom U2SOA).. ww cen ccceceeneescncnnes a

---- - —~-—-

vi

Contents

Page

United States Constitution Cited:
First Amendment 2, 14, 15, 17
Fifth Amendment 2, 22
Sixth Amendment 2

APPENDIX

Appendix A — Sur Petition for Rehearing From the Third
Circut Dated May 7, 1990 _.. ; la

Appendix B — Judgment Order From the Third Circuit Dated
April 3, 1990 _... ie 4 eae 3a

Appendix C — Judgment Order Dated October 19, 1989

No.

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

>

October Term, 1990
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent,
vs.
JAMES K. DORRIS,

Petitioner.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI FROM THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE THIRD
CIRCUIT

A copy of the judgment and commitment Order of the United
States District Court for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania
(criminal no. 89-00092-01) dated October 19, 1989 is attached to
the appendix. The Orders from the United States Court of Appeals
from the Third Circuit dated April 10, 1990 affirming the judgment
of the Lower Court and dated May 7, 1990 denying the Petition
for Rehearing In Banc are also attached to the appendix.

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The Judgment of the United States Court of Appeals for
the Third Circuit sought to be reviewed was entered on April 10,
1990. A Petition for Rehearing In Banc was denied by Order dated
May 7, 1990. The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28
U.S.C. Section 1254(1).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED

Arguments include the rights afforded by the First, Fifth and
Sixth Amendments.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE'

This is a Petition for Certiorari arising from the following
facts. In or about March, 1989, the Petitioner and his wife, Patricia
A. Dorris, were charged in a five count indictment for alleged
tax violations [26 U.S.C. Section 7206 (1)]. On or about August
22, 1989, the Government returned a superseding indictment which
essentially charged the same five violations. Said Counts charged
that the Petitioner and his wife claimed deductions for certain
charitable contributions as follows:

COUNT DATE TAX RETURN AMOUNT
I 4/17/83 1982 $11,400.00
I] 4/15/84 1983 $11,050.00
Ill 1/08/85 1981 (Amended) $14,034.00
IV 2/27/85 1982 (Amended) $11,400.00
V 1/03/85 1983 (Amended) $11,050.00

1. ‘*Tr’’ will refer to the trial transcripts.

ENON Ee =

On September 5, 1989, a jury trial commenced and evidence
was concluded on Friday, September 8, 1989. Following closing
arguments and the Court’s charge on September 13, 1989, the
jury returned a verdict of not guilty as to all counts for Patricia
Dorris and a verdict of guilty as to Counts III, IV and V and
not guilty as to Count I and II as to James K. Dorris.

On October 19, 1989, Mr. Dorris was sentenced as to Count
III for a period of imprisonment of 90 days, as to Count IV to
pay a fine of $9,000.00 and as to Count V to a three year period
of probation with a three hundred hour community service
requirement. The commencement of sentencing was stayed pending
this appeal (6a).

On April 10, 1990 a Judgment Order was issued by the United
States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit wherein the judgment
of the Lower Court was affirmed (3a). The Petitioner presented
a Petition for Rehearing In Banc to the United States Court of
Appeals for the Third Circuit which was denied on May 7, 1990
(3a).

STATEMENT OF FACTS

James K. Dorris and his wife, Patricia, have been married
for over thirty years and have four children (9/8/89 Tr. 45). From
approximately 1969 to 1989, Mr. Dorris worked for the FAA as
an air traffic controller. Because of that position he was required
to relocate to various states periodically (9/8/89 Tr. 49-51).

Mr. Dorris is from a Protestant background and his wife
is from a Catholic background. Their different religious
backgrounds was a matter of some conflict between the Dorrises
at various times during their married life. Furthermore, Mr. Dorris
was searching to become involved in some type of ministry (9/8/89
Tr. 52, 154-159).

In approximately 1979, Mr. Dorris was transferred to
Bethany, Oklahoma. While in Bethany, Mr. Dorris spoke with
a Mormon minister, George Harris, concerning his ministry and
Mr. Dorris’ desire to become involved in a ministry (9/8/89 Tr.
13-16, 55). Thereafter, in speaking with another FAA employee,
Terry Rhodes, Mr. Dorris learned of the Universal Life Church
(ULC). Mr. Rhodes was a minister in the ULC. After doing some
research and making certain inquiries, Mr. Dorris decided that
he wished to join the ULC and to become a minister.’

When Mrs. Dorris and the children moved to Oklahoma some
time thereafter, Mr. Dorris reviewed with his wife what he knew
of the ULC and his desire to become a minister in the Church.
Mrs. Dorris’ own research of the ULC consisted of contacting
the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) to ascertain the IRS’s position
with regard to the ULC. Mrs. Dorris was advised by the IRS
representative that the ULC was a recognized tax exempt religious
organization, that a minister could set up a church in his home,
and that in order to qualify as a church the IRS required three
Board Members (9/8/89 Tr. 57, 159-163).

Mrs. Dorris agreed to support her husband in this ministry
and Mr. Dorris subsequently became a licensed ordained minister
of the ULC in July, 1979. James K. Dorris’ ministry was an
Outreach ministry to individuals who were disillusioned with their
own religious commitment or lack thereof. Mr. Dorris was not
interested in bringing in new members to his congregation; rather,
the focus of Mr. Dorris’ ministry was to get individuals to go
back to their own church or faith in Christ (9/8/89 Tr. 65-67).

2. Since Mr. Dorris was in the process of pursuing a graduate degree for
advancement in the FAA, it was impossible to plan to attend any Seminary.
The ULC permitted Mr. Dorris to establish an immediate ministry (9/8/89 Tr.
54).

Mr. Dorris, pursuant to the instructions given him by the
ULC headquarters in Modesto, California, established his
chartered congregational church (Charter Number 29427) in his
home and his periodic services would consist of prayer, bible
reading, songs and tape playing (9/8/89 Tr. 67).

From an organizational standpoint, Mr. Dorris and his wife
constituted two of the three individuals on the Board of Directors.
Other Board Members, at various times, included Terry Rhodes,
George Crotts and Ken Morris. Resolutions were approved by
the Board and the Church provided the Dorris family with a
parsonage allowance pursuant to section 107 of the Internal
Revenue Code. The Church had its own separate checking account.
In addition to the parsonage allowance, the Church would also
reimburse James K. Dorris for operating expenses relating to
church activities which had been previously approved by the Board.
Mr. Dorris relied upon the guidance of Terry Rhodes and upon
the organizational instructions provided by the ULC headquarters
in California as to the administration and record keeping process
for the chartered congregation (9/8/89 Tr. 58-62).

Any contribution made by Mr. and Mrs. Dorris to their
chartered congregation of the ULC was made by personal check
and deposited into the Church account. The Church would also,
on occasion, provide Mr. and Mrs. Dorris pursuant to approved
resolutions with a parsonage allowance and reimbursement for
payment of certain operating expenses. Any check received from
the Church was deposited into the personal account of Mr. Dorris
(9/6/89 Tr. 145-151, 9/7/89 Tr. 6-65). The maintaining of separate
checking accounts was not only recommended by the mother
Church of the ULC in Modesto, California but was also in keeping
with sound accounting principles (9/8/89 Tr. 30-33).

Any monies paid by James K. Dorris to the ULC were
declared by him as charitable deductions. The only limitation

imposed upon Mr. Dorris according to the instruction manual
from the ULC was that a minister, such as Mr. Dorris, could
not be the only one to contribute to his own congregation since
that would constitute self dealing. Mr. Dorris was advised that
it was permissible for different congregations to support each other
(9/8/89 Tr. 63-64, 108-110). On his initial tax returns, Mr. Dorris
provided the IRS with copies of his personal checks made payable
to his chartered church (See Government’s trial Exhibits A and
B). The charitable deductions taken by the defendant always
specified on the return what amount of money constituted payment
to the ULC.

In May, 1981, Mr. Dorris had to relocate to West Virginia.
His wife and children again remained behind in Oklahoma. While
in West Virginia, the air traffic controllers’ strike occurred and
Mr. Dorris was transferred in August, 1981, to JFK International
Airport in New York. In November, 1981 the family later moved
to New York City after selling the house in Oklahoma. In
September, 1982 Mr. Dorris was transferred to Philadelphia
International Airport. However, because he could not qualify in
the allotted short time period, he went back to JFK in January,
1983. His family meanwhile had moved to the King of Prussia
area where they stayed. During this time period Mr. Dorris
continued, as best he could, his outreach ministry and periodic
prayer meetings or services (9/8/89 Tr. 61-81).

In approximately 1983, Mr. Dorris read an article which had
been published by the ULC wherein its founder indicated that
in his opinion, Christ was a liar. Clearly disagreeing with this
philosophy, Mr. Dorris resigned his position effective as of August
1, 1983. After leaving the ULC, Mr. Dorris had several meetings
with Tom Avringer, a Baptist minister in New York, concerning
the possibility of establishing a ministry in that area (9/8/89 Tr.
80-88).

During the time period that Mr. Dorris had been a member
of the ULC, the Universal Life Church, whose base is located
in Modesto, California had tax exempt status from approximately
1974 to 1984. Mr. Dorris’ resignation was effective as of 8/1/83
and thereafter he had no further contact with the ULC. In 1984,
the ULC’s tax exempt status was revoked and the revocation was
made retroactive (9/6/89 Tr. 108-110). Sylvia Pratt, an IRS
employee, testified that between 1974 and 1984 over several
thousand people had applied, as did Mr. Dorris, to the ULC for
membership (9/6/89 Tr. 122).

In 1979 (Government Exhibit A) and 1980 (Government
Exhibit B) Mr. Dorris listed the contributions to the ULC and
attached copies of his check payable to the ULC (Congregational!
Charter 29427). The 1981, 1982 and 1983 tax returns (Government
Exhibits 1, 3 and 6 respectively) list those contributions specifically
made to the ULC.’

Special Agent Jack Bell of the Internal Revenue Service began
his investigation of Mr. Dorris in the Spring of 1984. On July
5, 1984, Agent Bell and another, made an unannounced visit to
the residence of James K. Dorris and asked to speak with Mr.
Dorris about an investigation. The nature of the interview consisted
in Agent Bell asking questions and Mr. Dorris responding (Mr.
Dorris answered all questions posed to him including, his
background, employment with the FAA, moving to different
locations, becoming a minister in the ULC, the establishment of
Church checking accounts in Oklahoma, New York and
Philadelphia as he would move, and his reasons for leaving the
ULC [9/7/89 Tr. 90-96]). At one point, Mr. Dorris inquired of
Agent Bell directly what Agent Bell felt Mr. Dorris had done
wrong. No response was given (9/8/89 Tr. 95-96).

3. Copies of the 1981, 1982 and 1983 amended tax returns are attached
to the Defendant’s Post Trial Motions. The appellant will provide copies of
any trial exhibits should this Court require.

While the investigation was pending and while Mr. Dorris
was waiting to hear from the IRS concerning its investigation,
Mr. Dorris filed amended returns. The amendments did not change
in any way the claimed charitable deductions in thé original tax
returns. These amended returns for the years 1981 (Government’s
Trial Exhibit 2a and 2b), 1982 (Government’s Trial Exhibit 5)
and 1983 (Government’s Trial Exhibit 7) specifically dealt with
changes concerning FICA, per diem and earned interest income
figures.

ARGUMENT
I.

THE VERDICT IN FAVOR OF THE PETITIONER AS
TO THE ORIGINAL TAX RETURNS OF 1982 AND 1983 AND
AGAINST THE PETITIONER AS TO THE AMENDED TAX
RETURNS FOR 1981, 1982 AND 1983 WAS INCONSISTENT
AND AGAINST THE WEIGHT OF THE EVIDENCE.

The test is whether there was substantial evidence for a
rational jury to find that the government proved all the elements
beyond a reasonable doubt. United States v. Doan, 710 F.2d 124,
127 (3d Cir. 1983); United States v. Dixon, 658 F.2d 181, 188
(3d Cir. 1981); United States v. Velasquez, _. F.2d ___ (3d
Cir., No. 88-3652, 9/1/89).

During the course of the trial, the Court intimated that this
was not a difficult case in the sense that the jury would conclude
either that Mr. Dorris’ congregation was a ‘‘sham’’ organization
from the beginning or, on the contrary, that Mr. Dorris had
established his ULC congregation for religious reasons and that
he subsequently declared those charitable deductions to which he
truly believed he was entitled. If the former occurred, he would
be convicted as to all counts; if the latter then he would be
acquitted.

eV

The crime of tax perjury is defined in 26 U.S.C. Section
7206(1) as follows: ‘‘any person who . . . willfully makes and
subscribes any return . . . which contains or it is verified by a
written declaration that it is made under the penalties of perjury,
and which he does not believe to be true and correct as to every
material matter,’’ shall be guilty of a felony. Clearly the main
issue in the case was one of intent, that is whether the Petitioner
willfully made and subscribed to a return he did not believe to
be true. See United States v. Doan, 710 F.2d 124, 126 (3d Cir.
1983).

However, the jury, after deliberating for approximately three
hours concluded that the Petitioner was not 2uilty as to the original
tax returns for 1982 and 1983 (Counts | and 2) but that he was
guilty for the amended tax returns which were filed in 1985 for
the tax years of 1981, 1982 and 1983 (Counts 3, 4, and 5).

The jury, by its finding of not guilty as to Counts | and II
concluded that Mr. Dorris truly believed at the time he filed his
1040 tax returns for the years 1982 and 1983 that he was entitled
to the claimed charitable deductions and that he did not knowingly
or willfully make any material misrepresentations on those returns.
In short, Mr. Dorris believed that what he was doing was correct.
Additionally, the government, over the objection of the Petitioner
had introduced evidence that the Respondent had claimed as
deductions his contributions which he had made to the ULC for
the years 1979, 1980 and 1981. Yet the jury still concluded that
there was no criminal intent on Mr. Dorris’ part, during the time
period that he was a member of the ULC or, to say it another
way, that he truly believed he was entitled to the claimed charitable
deduction for the tax years of 1982 and 1983.

In 1983, Mr. Dorris voluntarily ended his association with
the ULC because of his own religious convictions. As of August
1, 1983, no more contributions were made by him to the ULC.

10

Almost a year later, on July 5, 1984, Special Agent Jack Bell
appeared unannounced at the Dorris residence. Agent Bell stated
that he was conducting a criminal investigation and proceeded
to ask him numerous questions concerning his association with
the ULC. At no time did Agent Bell advise Mr. Dorris what the
IRS felt he had done improperly.

Subsequent to the interview and while the investigation was
pending, Mr. Dorris filed amended tax returns for the tax years
1981, 1982 and 1983 (Government Exhibits 2a & b, 5 and 7). These
amended returns were necessary in order to make the appropriate
changes concerning FICA, per diem and earned interest income
figures. Mr. Dorris paid additional income tax because of the
changed items. The amended tax returns did not change in any
way the claimed charitable deductions in the original tax returns.
The same figures pertaining to the deductions were merely copied
on the amended returns (9/6/89 Tr. 58-71). Mr. ‘‘Dorris literally
could do nothing about his claimed charitable deductions while
the investigation (which took five years) was pending especially
in light of Mr. Dorris’ belief that the claimed charitable deductions
had been appropriate and permissible.

The Petitioner is mindful that as a general rule a jury may
reach inconsistent verdicts with respect to a single defendant in
a criminal case. United States v. Powell, 469 U.S. 57, 60-69 (1984).
However, this Court in Powell left open the possibility that a
certain case may warrant a dismissal in light of its inconsistent
verdict and its lack of sufficient credible evidence. In the present
case, where the actions of the jury are clearly explainable and
the evidence was insufficient to support a finding of guilt as to
Counts 3, 4 and 5, justice would warrant that the verdict be set
aside and that a judgment of acquittal be granted.

During closing arguments, the prosecutor for the first time,
on rebuttal, called the jury’s attention to the fact that amended

income tax returns had been filed by Mr. Dorris following the
July 5, 1984 interview by Agent Bell (9/13/89 Tr. 89). Nothing
was mentioned by the prosecutor as to the substance of the
amended tax returns. Since this was rebuttal, the defense was
precluded from calling to the jury’s attention the fact that the
amended returns did not change or modify the charitable
deductions which had previously been taken on the original returns.
Since arguments were occurring five days after the closing of
evidence, it is obvious that the jury never considered the substance
of the amended returns.

Clearly the Petitioner who believed that the charitable
deductions which he claimed in the original returns were true and
correct, cannot be faulted, let alone found guilty beyond a
reasonable doubt, for filing amended tax returns to clear up
matters other than the charitable deductions while the criminal
investigation was continuing. The critical element of tax fraud
is the mental state of the defendant. United States v. Sternstein,
$96 F.2d $28 (2nd Cir. 1979).

The Petitioner believed in the trueness and correctness of
his tax returns for 1979 through 1983 and that belief did not change
for the amended returns. Having been found not guilty as to
Counts | and 2, the only logical result should have been not guilty
as to Counts 3, 4 and §.

As is apparent by the jury’s verdict as to Counts | and 2,
the Petitioner believed the claimed deductions were true and correct
originally. There was no reason to change those figures on the
amended tax returns. The only thing that Mr. Dorris was aware
of was that the IRS was investigating the ULC. No deductions
had been denied by the IRS; nor had the IRS suggested to Mr.
Dorris any reason which would warrant the denial by the IRS
of any deductions.

12

Certainly there was no duty placed upon Mr. Dorris to amend
the tax returns with respect to the previously claimed charitable
deductions just because he was aware of a pending IRS
investigation. In United Siates v. Pomponio, 429 U.S. 10 (1976),
rehearing denied 429 U.S. 987, on remand 563 F.2d 659, certiorari
denied 435 U.S. 942, *willfulness’* was defined as simply meaning
a voluntary intentional violation of a known legal duty. In the
present case, Mr. Dorris not only believed in the deduction he
had previously taken but he also had no other alternative but
to await the outcome of the IRS investigation. Were he to make
any changes, we submit that the Government would then claim
that constituted an admission of guilt. However, he had to file
amended tax returns in order to make the appropriate changes
with regard to other items.

The evidence fails to demonstrate that Mr. Dorris willfully
and knowingly made material misrepresentations in the amended
tax returns.

THE TRIAL COURT ERRED IN ALLOWING THE
GOVERNMENT TO ARGUE THAT THE PETITIONER'S
UNIVERSAL LIFE CHURCH CONGREGATION WAS A
SHAM ORGANIZATION.

During the course of the trial, the government suggested that
Mr. Dorris violated tax laws in possibly three ways. The first is
that while the ULC in Modesto, California had a tax exempt status,
the Petitioner's congregation did not. This was at best a technical
violation of which he was not aware since he had been told both

ee eg

13

by the ULC and the IRS that the defendant's congregation could
use the tax exempt status of the ULC.*

The second is that the contributions of Mr. Dorris inured
to his benefit because it was his congregation. The Petitioner
testified he was not aware of this limitation. He was aware that
he could not be the only contributor to his congregation since
he was advised of this by the ULC in California. The experts
for both sides differed as to this opinion. Again this was at best
a technical violation. Furthermore the specific part of section 170
of the Code is vague since the section states that no part of the
net earning may inure to the benefit of an individual. Since the
Petitioner received a parsonage allowance and was reimbursed
for certain operating expenses, these sums do not constitute net
earning. Rather they constitute expenses which are deducted from
the gross to ascertain the net earnings.

The third and most important suggestion by the Government
is that the Petitioner's congregation was not a viable religious
Organization despite the fact that the ULC had been granted tax
exempt status. Both experts agreed that the Code never defined
or limited the idea of a religious organization. Furthermore, Mr.
Dorris described his ministry as an outreach ministry and stated
that he had periodic services in the nature of prayer, bible reading,
singing and listening to tapes. The Government failed to produce
any evidence which demonstrated that Mr. Dorris’ congregation
was anything but a religious organization.

4. Mr. Dorris even attached to his 1981 amended tax return a letter from
the IRS to the Universal Life Church in Modesto, California dated April |},
1976 wherein the ULC was advised of its tax exempt status. No limitation was
mentioned by the IRS. Mr. Dorris was advised by the ULC that his congregation
was tak exempt since it was part of the ULC.

14

The Courts have concluded that most precious of all
constitutional rights is that afforded under the First Amendment
— the right of religious expression and association. See Unired
States v. Fatk, 479 F.24 616 (7th Cir. 1973) (en bane): Unired
Srares v. Sreele, 461 F.2d 1148 (9th Cir. 1972). Essentially the
term ‘“‘réligion’’ is mot defined in the law. The Courts have
interpreted ‘‘religion’’ broadly and recognize that serious
constitutional difficulties would result if the term were interpreted
to exclude even those beliefs that do not encompass a supreme
being in the conventional sense.

The defense attempted to seek an affirmation by the Court

that the Petitioner's congregation was a religious organization
by requesting supplemental points for charge in accordance with
ULC, Ine. v. United Srarés, 372 F. Supp. 770 (E.D. Cal. 1974).
These requests were denied.

Additionally despite evidence to the contrary, the Government
was permitted to argue and/or suggest that the ULC congregation
of the Respondent was a ‘‘sham’’ organization. Over the objection
of the defense (App. i42a-i44a; 9/6/89 Tr. 14-16), the
Government was permitted to refer to the method by which Mr.
Dorris became a minister, namely by written application and a
fee. Such references and comments had no bearing on the tex

sth ULC, Me. v. US., 372 F. Supp. 770 (E.D. Cal. 1974, the Cour
reasoned that the ordination of ministers and the chartering of churches were
fully accepted activities of @ religious organization. The fact that the ULC
distributed minsters’ credentials may be compared to a mass conversion at a
typical revival or religious crusade. Neither the Federal Courts, nor any branch
of the Government may properly consider the merits or fallacies of a religion.
Nor will the Court compare the belief, dogmas and practices of a newly organized
religion with those of older more traditional or established religions. Nor wil!
the Court praise or condemn 4 religion, however excellent or unusual it may
seem, Were this to be done, it would violate the guarantee of the First
Amendment Freedom of Religion.

15

case, but rather Was ai attempt to suggest that Mr. Dorris’ ULC
congregation Was not a religious organization. This violated the
defendant's First Amendment right, and was contrary to the weight
of the evidence.

Since the Government was permitted to argue against the
religious organization of the ULC congregation of the Respondent,
the verdict mist be set aside. See ores v. United Srares, 354 U.S.
298, 312 (1957) (‘A Verdict [imust) Be set aside in cases Where
the verdict is supportable of Oe ground, but Not on another,
and it is impossible to tell Which ground the jury selected’’).

THE TRIAL COURT ERRED IN DENYING, WITHOUT
AN EVIDENTIARY HEARING, THE PETITIONER'S
MOTION TO DISMISS THE INDICTMENT ON THE BASIS
OF SELECTIVE PROSECUTION.

The standard for review is whether the Trial Court erred in
denying, without an evidentiary hearing, the Petitioner’s motion
to disitiss the indictment on the basis of selective prosecution.
We respectfully submit that the evidence demonstrates a systematic
discrimination on the part of the Government in its enforcement
as well as ant unjust discrimination between Mr. Dorris and others
in similar circumstances.

The gist of the Government's case against Mr. Dorris was
that he declared certain charitable contributions which were made
to the Universal Life Church as deductions. The United States
challenged the legitimacy of these charitable contributions and
charged the defendant with knowingly and intentionally violating
26 U.S.C. Section 7206(1).

16

The Internal Revenue Service of the United States of America
has had a long history of dealing with the Universal Life Church.
The Internal Revenue Service, on or about April 13, 1976,
recognized the tax exempt status of the Universal Life Church
organization under Section 501(c)}(3) of the Internal Revenue Code
of 1954, 26 U.S.C. Section 501(c)(3)(1982). On or about August
28, 1984, the Internal Revenue Service issued a letter ruling
revoking its prior ruling of April 13, 1976. It is believed that this
matter is presently on appeal.

The Internal Revenue Service has taken the position that the
Universal Life Church is a tax protester. Furthermore, the Internal
Revenue Service has lumped together any member or former
member of the Universal Life Church into the category of a ‘‘tax
protester’’. Mr. Dorris and his wife were included in this category.

In or about 1983, the Petitioner, James K. Dorris,
disassociated himself, for religious reasons, with the Universal
Life Church. On or about July 5, 1984, federal agents associated
with the Criminal Division of the Internal Revenue Service
questioned Mr. Dorris concerning his association with the ULC.
The investigation had begun in the spring of 1984.

From 1976 to 1984, over two thousand people, including the
Dorris Family, had established a ministry through the ULC (See
Trial testimony of Sylvia Pratt, tax law specialist on exempt
corporations [9/6/89 Tr. 122]).

The Government is not entirely unconstrained in its choice
of those whom it will prosecute. As long ago as Yick Wo v.
Hopkins, 118 U.S. 356, 6S. Ct. 1064, 30 L. Ed. 220 (1886), Justice
Matthews wrote for the Supreme Court that

‘*if [a law] is applied and administered by public
authority with an evil eye and an unequal hand,

a

17

sO as practically to make unjust and illegal
discriminations between persons in similar
circumstances material to their rights, the denial
of equal justice is still within the prohibition of
the constitution.”’ [118 U.S. at 373, 6 S.Ct. at 1073]

‘*Nothing can corrode respect for a rule of law more than
the knowledge that the government looks beyond the law itself
to arbitrary considerations, such as race, religion, or control over
the defendant’s exercise of his constitutional rights, as the basis
for determining its applicability.’’ United States v. Berrios, 501
F.2d 1207, 1209 (2d Cir. 1974). See also, United States v.
Torquato, 602 F. 2d 564, 568 (3d Cir. 1979), cert. denied, 444
U.S. 941, 100 S. Ct. 295, 62 L. Ed. 2d 307.

Recently the Supreme Court reasoned that selectivity in
enforcement of criminal laws is subject to constitutional restraints.
A decision to prosecute may not be deliberately based upon
unjustifiable standards such as race, religion or other arbitrary
classification, including the exercise of protected statutory and
constitutional rights. Wayte v. United States, 470 U.S. 598, 105
S. Ct. 1524, 84 L. Ed. 2d 547 (1985).

Most precious of all constitutional rights is that afforded
under the First Amendment— the right to religious expression
and association, and the mere exercise of that right cannot be
punished by means of selective prosecution. See United States
v. Falk, 479 F.2d 616 (7th Cir. 1973) (en banc); United Siates
v. Steele, 461 F.2d 1148 (9th Cir. 1972).

The Third Circuit in United States v. Torquato ruled that:
‘‘although the government is permitted the

conscious exercise of some selectivity in the
enforcement of its criminal laws, Oy/er v. Boles,

18

368 U.S. 448, 456, 82 S. Ct. 501, 506, 7 L. Ed.
2d 446 (1962), any systematic discrimination in
enforcement, [United States v. Robinson, 311 F.
Supp. 1063, 1065 (W.D. Mo. 1969)], or unjust and
illegal discrimination between persons in similar
circumstances, Yick Wo, supra, 118 U.S. at 374,
6S. Ct. at 1073, violates the equal protection clause
and renders the prosecution invalid.’’ [602 F.2d
at 568]

In the present case, the Internal Revenue Service has
systematically lumped the Universal Life Church and its members,
whether past or present, into the category of a ‘‘tax protester’’.
Furthermore, the United States’ charges of tax violation for the
years 1981, 1982 and 1983 against the Petitioner, after the Internal
Revenue Service had revoked the tax exempt status of the Universal
Life Church in August, 1984, constitutes, in essence, a form of
retroactive prosecution.

Additionally, a review of various cases clearly demonstrates
that others who were similarly situated as the Dorris family have
not been nor are they generally prosecuted for the same conduct.
Numerous tax payers have been assessed civil tax liabilities based
upon their alleged contributions to the Universal Life Church.
Said tax payers have received ‘‘statutory notices of deficiency’’
from the IRS, asserting additional taxes due upon disallowance
of contributions to the ULC. While the IRS has assessed civil
‘*negligence’’ penalties in most cases, pursuant to Internal Revenue
Code Title 26 U.S.C. Section 6653(a), none of these individuals
have faced criminal prosecution (Examples of over sixty cases
are listed in the Supplemental Memorandum in support of the
Pre-trial Motion).

The only member or former member of the ULC to have
been called by the Government at trial as a witness was Ken Morris.

—

19

Mr. Morris admitted that he filed amended tax returns. Neither
civil penalties nor criminal charges were ever brought against Mr.
Morris.

It is impossible to establish the total number of cases which
have already been tried civilly or which are presently pending in
the civil arena absent meaningful discovery. Clearly however, the
Respondent has been singled out for his religious affiliation with
the ULC. Furthermore Mr. Dorris was criminally prosecuted while
others, many others, similarly situated have not been prosecuted.

IV.

THE TRIAL COURT ERRED IN FAILING TO DISMISS
COUNT THREE OF THE SUPERSEDING INDICTMENT
(1981 AMENDED TAX RETURN).

In or about March, 1989, a Federal Grand Jury returned
a five count indictment against James K. Dorris and his wife
alleging violations of 26 U.S.C. Section 7206(a). Count 3 refers
to the 1981 amended tax return which was filed in January, 1985.
The Government did not mention the original 1981 individual
tax return which had been filed on or about March 10, 1982.

Count 3 charges that the Respondent improperly deducted
charitable contributions in the amount of $14,034.00. Those exact
figures had been mentioned in the original 1981 income tax return.

The amended ‘tax return for 1981 did nothing to change the
figures either for the deductions or the charitable contributions.
The 1981 amended income tax return seeks a reimbursement for
FICA payments.

There are no allegations raised by the Government in the
indictment nor was any evidence presented at trial which would

20

suggest that the request for reimbursement of the FICA payments
was in and of itself a violation of Title 26 U.S.C. Section 7206(1).

The claim by the Government is that the charitable
contributions taken by Mr. Dorris constituted a violation of that
section of the United States Code. That charitable contribution
was listed in the original 1981 tax return which is well beyond
the six year statute of limitations. See 26 U.S.C. Section 6531.
It is clear that the six year statute of limitation begins to run on
the date that said return becomes due. United States v. Zudick,
523 F.2d 848 (3d Cir. 1975); United States v. Myerson, 368 F.2d
393, cert. denied, 386 U.S. 991, 87 S. Ct. 1305, 18 L. Ed. 2d
335. The 1981 tax return became due on April 15, 1982. This
was more than six years from the date of the indictment.

The Government has attempted to pursue the 1981 income
tax return by alleging a violation of 26 U.S.C. Section 7206(1)
in the amended 1981 return which was filed. However the only
change on the amended income tax return was with regard to
FICA payments. There was no overt affirmative act taken by Mr.
Doris which could arguably be said by the Government to be
sufficient to keep the action alive.

¥.

THE TAX SECTIONS WHICH THE GOVERNMENT
CLAIMS TO BE APPLICABLE TO THE PROSECUTION ARE
UNCONSTITUTIONALLY VAGUE AND CANNOT
SUPPORT A CRIMINAL CONVICTION.

Section 170 of the Internal Revenue Code allows an individual
to take deductions for contributions made to an organization
organized and operated exclusively for religious purposes with
the specification that no part of the net earnings is to inure to
the benefit of an individual. Section 501 of the Internal Revenue
Code has similar language.

21

At the conclusion of testimony Petitioner raised various
objections including the fact that the tax sections were vague and
therefore unenforceable in a criminal setting (9/8/89 Tr. 200-202).

In addition to the Code never defining or limiting the term
‘religious purposes’’, it also never defined what was meant by
the term “‘net earnings.’’ Even the Government’s expert admitted
to the lack of definition. Applying accounting procedures, net
earnings constitute the amount remaining once the operating
expenses are deducted from the gross receipts.

Since the Petitioner received a parsonage allowance and was
reimbursed for certain operating expenses, these sums do not
constitute net earning. Rather they constitute expenses which are
deducted from the gross to ascertain the net earnings.

While the Government claims that the defendant wilfully
violated section 170, a criminal charge cannot stand in light of
the vagueness of the terms.

VI.

THE GOVERNMENT’S SOLICITATION OF
TESTIMONY FROM THE IRS AGENT THAT THE
PETITIONER FAILED TO CONTACT AGENT BELL OR TO
PRODUCE RECORDS FOLLOWING AGENT BELL’S
INTERVIEW OF MR. DORRIS ON JULY 5, 1984
CONSTITUTED REVERSIBLE ERROR.

On direct examination, the prosecutor inquired of Agent Bell
if, following his interview of Mr. Dorris on July 5, 1984, Mr.
Dorris had ever made an attempt to contact Agent Bell or to
provide Church records. Despite an attempt to object to this
inquiry, Agent Bell stated that Mr. Dorris never attempted to
contact him or to provide Church records.

>?

-

At side bar counsel requested a mistrial. the trial court denied
the request and further instructed the jury that they were to
disregard the testimony. We submit that such testimony was highly
prejudicial and constituted reversible error (9/6/89 Tr. 152-158).

The jury, by its verdict, obviously focused on Mr. Dorris’
actions following the July 5, 1984 interview with Agent Bell. The
prosecutor by her question suggested to the jury that Mr. Dorris
by subsequently remaining silent and not producing any records
had something tto hide. This comment was in violation of
Petitioner’s Fifth Amendment Right and required a reversal of
the conviction. See Doyle v. Ohio, 426 U.S. 610 (1976). The
prosecutor essentially urged the jury to draw an adverse inference
from the Petitioner’s exercise of his right. Such action constituted
prejudicial error. United States v. Henderson, 565 F.2d 900 (Sth
Cir. 1978); United States v. Edwards, 576 F.2d 1152 (Sth Cir.

\e~ 1978).

VII.

THE TRIAL COURT ERRED IN CHARGING THE JURY
THAT THE STATEMENTS MADE IN THE AMENDED
RETURNS IN COUNTS 3, 4, AND 5 WERE MATERIAL AS
A MATTER OF LAW.

The appellant recognizes that the Court, in some instances,
may charge that as a matter of law, that certain statements were
material. See United States v. Greenberg, 735 F.2d 29 (2d Cir.
1984). However in the present case there was a serious question
of materiality concerning the amended tax returns. The amended
tax returns, as indicated above, did not change or modify the
previously claimed charitable deductions. The amended tax returns
were filed for reasons other than the charitable deductions. The
defendant had a right to have the jury consider the materiality
of the statements made in the amended tax returns. The Court’s

23

instruction to the jury essentially constituted a directed verdict
for the United States.

CONCLUSION
For the reasons advanced in this Petition, it is respectfully
submitted that a Writ of Certiorari should be issued to review

the decision of the Court of Appeals below.

Respectfully submitted,

EDWARD J. SCHWABENLAND
Attorney for the Petitioner

la

APPENDIX A — SUR PETITION FOR REHEARING FROM
THE THIRD CIRCUIT DATED MAY 7, 1990

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

No. 89-1914
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA
Vv.
JAMES K. DORRIS,
Appellant
(D.C. Crim. No. 89-00092-01)
SUR PETITION FOR REHEARING

Present: HIGGINBOTHAM, Chief Judge, SLOVITER,
BECKER, STAPLETON, MANSMANN, GREENBERG,
HUTCHINSON, SCIRICA, COWEN, NYGAARD, and SEITZ’,
Circuit Judges

The petition for rehearing filed by appellant in the above-
entitled case having been submitted to the judges who participated
in the decision of this Court and to all the other available circuit
judges of the circuit in regular active service, and no judge who
concurred in the decision having asked for rehearing, and a
majority of the circuit judges of the circuit in regular service not
having voted for rehearing, the petition for rehearing by the panel
and the Court in banc, is denied.

* As to panel rehearing only.

2a
Appendix A M
BY THE COURT,

s/ [illegible] Seitz
Circuit Judge

Dated: May 7, 1990

ta

APPENDIX B — JUDGMENT ORDER FROM THE THIRD
CIRCUIT DATED APRIL 3, 1990

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

No. 89-1914
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA
v.
JAMES K. DORRIS,
Appellant

Appeal from the United States District Court for the Eastern
District of Pennsylvania D.C. Criminal No. 89-00092-01
(Honorable Norma L. Shapiro)

Submitted April 3, 1990
Before: MANSMANN, SCIRICA and SEITZ, Circuit Judges
JUDGMENT ORDER

After considering the contentions raised by appellant, to wit,
that:

1. The court erred in denying, without an evidentiary hearing,
appellant's motion to dismiss the indictment on the basis of
selective prosecution;

2. The court erred in denying, without an evidentiary hearing,
appellant’s motion to dismiss the indictment on the basis of
prosecutorial conduct;

———————————————————————————————eeee—V—VvVvVnX_—

4a

Appendix B

3. The court erred in failing to dismiss Count II! of the
superseding indictment (198! Amended Tax Return);

4. The court erred in refusing, without an evidentiary hearing,
to suppress appellant's statement of July 5, 1984;

5. The verdict as to the appellant was inconsistent and against
the weight of the evidence;

6. The evidence was insufficient to demonstrate a finding
of guilt beyond a reasonable doubt as to the amended tax returns;

7. The court erred in allowing the government to argue that
appellant’s Universal Life Church congregation was a sham
organization;

8. The tax sections which the government claims to be
applicable to the prosecution are unconstitutionally vague and
cannot support a criminal conviction;

9. The government’s solicitation of testimony from the IRS
agent that appellant failed to contact Agent Bell or to produce
records following Agent Bell’s interview of the appellant on July
5, 1984, constituted reversible error; and

10. The court erred in charging the jury that the statements
made in the amended returns in counts II], 1V and V were material
as a matter of law, it is

ADJUDGED AND ORDERED that the judgement of the
district court be and is hereby AFFIRMED.

Sa

Appendix B
BY THE COURT,

s/ [illegible] Seitz
Circuit Judge

Attest:

s/ Sally Mrvos
Sally Mvros, Clerk

April 10, 1990

6a

APPENDIX C — JUDGMENT ORDER DATED OCTOBER \
19, 1989

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
EASTERN DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Case Number: 89-92-1
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA
V.

JAMES K. DORRIS
730 Thomas Jefferson Road
Wayne, Pa.

JUDGMENT IN A CRIMINAL CASE

Edward Schwabenland
Attorney for Defendant

THERE WAS A:
— verdict of quilty as to counts: 3, 4 & §
— verdict of not guilty as to counts: 1 & 2

THE DEFENDANT IS CONVICTED OF THE OFFENSE OF:
False statements on a tax return. 26:7206(1).

IT IS THE JUDGMENT OF THIS COURT THAT: On count
3 the defendant is hereby committed to the custody of the Attorney
General or his authorized representative for imprisonment for a
term of 90 days. On count 4 the defendant is to pay a fine to
the United States in the sum of $9,000.00. On count 5 the

7a

Appendix C

defendant is placed on probation for a period of 3 years upon
the following terms and conditions:

1. That he pay taxes deemed to be due.

2. That he perform community service for 300 hours over
the period of probation as is approved by the probation office
and the court.

Sentence is stayed pending appeal.
October 25, 1989

In addition to any conditions of probation imposed above, IT
IS ORDERED that the conditions of probation set out on the
reverse of this judgment are imposed.

CONDITIONS OF PROBATION
Where probation has been ordered the defendant shall:

(1) refrain from violation of any law (federal, state, and local)
and get in touch immediately with your probation officer if arrested
or questioned by a law-enforcement officer;

(2) associate only with law-abiding persons and maintain
reasonable hours;

(3) work regularly at a lawful occupation and support your legal
dependants, if any, to the best of your ability. (When out of work
notify your probation officer at once, and consult him prior to
job changes);

8a

Appendix C

(4) not leave the judicial district without permission of the
probation officer;

(5) notify your probation officer immediately of any changes in
your place of residence;

(6) follow the probation officer’s instructions and report as
directed.

The court may change the conditions of probation, reduce or
extend the period of probation, and at any time during the
probation period or within the maximum probation period of 5
years permitted by law, may issue a warrant and revoke probation
for a violation occuring during the probation period.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the defendant shall pay a total
special assessment of $150.00 pursuant to Title 18, U.S.C. Section
3013 for counts 3, 4 & 5 as follows.

iT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the defendant shall pay to the
United States attorney for this district any amount imposed as
a fine, restitution or special assessment. The defendant shall pay
to the clerk of the court an amount imposed as a cost of
prosecution. Until all fines, restitution, special assessments and
costs are fully paid, the defendant shall immediately notify the
United States attorney for this district of any change in name
and address.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the clerk of the court deliver
a certified copy of this judgment to the United States marshal
of this district.

_

9a

Appendix C

— The Court orders commitment to the custody of the Attorney
General and recommends:

No objection to community correction facility on work release.
Date of imposition of Sentence: 10/19/89

s/ Norma L. Shapiro
Signature of Judicial Officer

Norma L. Shapiro, J.
Name and Title of Judicial Officer

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385020_2632%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
