# Amicus Curiae Brief — Franklin v. Main

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385020_1836%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1990
- **Citation:** 498 U.S. 890

## Text

ay No. 90-98

In the Supreme Court

OF THE

United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1990

GEORGE FRANKLIN, et al.,
Petitioners,

Vi

PEAT MARWICK MAIN & Co., et al.,
Respondents.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit

MOTION FOR LEAVE TO FILE BRIEF
AS AMICUS CURIAE

Davip B. GOLD JONATHAN W. CUNEO
(Counsel of Record) (NASCAT General Counsel)
PAUL F. BENNETT Law Offices of
STEVEN O. SIDENER JONATHAN W. CUNEO
DaviD B. GOLD, 1300 Eye Street, N.W.
A Professional Law East Tower, Suite 480
Corporation Washington, DC 20005
595 Market Street, Suite 2300 (202) 962-3860
San Francisco, CA 94105 Counsel for Amicus Curiae

(415) 777-2230

BOWNE OF SAN FRANCISCO. INC. + 190 NINTH ST. «+ S.F., CA 94103 + (415) 8664-2300

BEST AVAILABLE COPY

]

Pursuant to Rule 37.2 of the Rules of this Court, the National
Association of Securities and Commercial Law Attorneys
(“NASCAT”) respectfully moves for leave to file the enclosed
brief as amicus curiae in support of Petitioners. Counsel for the
Petitioners has granted consent to file this brief. Counsel for the
Respondents have refused to consent to the filing of this brief.

NASCAT is an association of law firms consisting of approxi-
mately 500 attorneys located throughout the United States whose
purpose is to promote the enactment and enforcement of legisla-
tion which protects investors from deceptive and manipulative
practices and to ensure that the securities markets operate in a
fair and free manner. NASCAT members have represented
plaintiffs in a variety of individual and class action contexts under
the federal securities laws. NASCAT members have also repre-
sented defendants in securities and other complex cases.

NASCAT and its members have a strong interest in the
effective private enforcement of the federal securities laws and in
the development of case law that effectively deters wrongdoers
from perpetrating securities violations upon public investors. The
issues raised by the Petition are extremely important to the
investment community and the capital markets generally. The
Ninth Circuit’s decision in Franklin v. Kaypro Corp., 884 F.2d
1222 (9th Cir. 1989) (the “Opinion”), as it relates to the
availability of contribution and the impact of partial settlements
on contribution rights, unduly restricts the effectiveness of the
federal securities law and contravenes Congress’ intent in passing
those laws. The Opinion ensures that the trial courts of the United
States will be clogged with unnecessary litigation with no in-
creased benefit to litigants or the judiciary. It erects unwarranted
impediments to legitimate and good faith settlements—all for the
stated purpose of doing “equity” to persons who have been found,
after trial and appeal, to be wrongdoers. Franklin v. Kaypro Corp.,
supra, 884 F.2d at 1231.

The enclosed amicus curiae brief addressses the two specific
legal issues raised by the Petition: (1) the appropriate settlement
bar rule to be applied in those circumstances where Congress, by
statute, has created a right of contribution; and (2) whether,
under Section 10(b) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, and

2

Rule 10b-5 promulgated thereunder, or under Section 12(2) of
the Securities Act of 1933, there exists an implied right of
contribution.

Respectfully submitted,

Davip B. GOLD
(Counsel of Record)

PAUL F. BENNETT

STEVEN O. SIDENER

DavipD B. GOLD,
A Professional Law Corporation
595 Market Street, Suite 2300
San Francisco, CA 94105
(415) 777-2230

JONATHAN W. CUNEO
(NASCAT General Counsel)
Law Offices of
JONATHAN W. CUNEO
1300 Eye Street, N.W.
East Tower, Suite 480
Washington, DC 20005
(202) 962-3860
Counsel for Amicus Curiae

TABLE OF CONTENTS

pro ye 8) | en
INTEREST OF THE AMICUS CURIAE.............

AMEE GEE PUIRAPUMDREEENE 005s c ccc cscs scecens

THE SETTLEMENT BAR RULE ANNOUNCED BY
THE NINTH CIRCUIT IS IN CONFLICT WITH
DECISIONS OF OTHER CIRCUITS AND IS CON-
TRARY TO CONGRESS’ INTENT IN ENACTING
THE FEDERAL SECURITIES LAWS .............

Il

NO RIGHT OF CONTRIBUTION EXISTS UNDER
SECTION 10(b) OF THE 1934 SECURITIES EX-
CHANGE ACT OR SECTION 12(2) OF THE 1933
EE ica s gdh ecn eek ch bes eenneenans

IIT

THE OPINION DISREGARDS CONGRESS’ IMPOSI-
TION OF JOINT AND SEVERAL LIABILITY
UIE OB cece bass enscccenversesecsess

I ee ee

12

rH

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases
Page
Baker, Watts & Company v. Miles & Stockbridge, 876 F.2d
ook se § rn oa 13, 14

Basic, Inc. v. Levinson, ___. U.S. ___, 108 S.Ct. 978
ree eer ree ee Pee are eee 12

Dalton v. Alston & Bird, [Current Binder], Fed.Sec.L.Rep.
CORED Fe CEI OOD oc ccciacensnncnccacis 3, 10

Financial Savings Bank, Inc. v. American Bankers Insurance
Co., [1989-90 Transfer Binder], Fed.Sec.L.Rep. (CCH)

Se CIEE CE oA NR Sie nee rate awae ties sens 15
Franklin v. Kaypro Corp., 884 F.2d 1222 (9th Cir.

SO a Ware ac kcccne cutie base eer eecebasenk nes passim
FSLIC v. Butler, 904 F.2d 506 (9th Cir. 1990).......... 5,7
Gill v. United States, 429 F.2d 1072 (Sth Cir. 1970) ..... 3
Gould v. American-Hawaiian Steamship Co., 535 F.2d 761

bf BR Peereeerret: eres tree eee Te Weswes 3
Heizer Corp. v. Ross, 601 F.2d 330 (7th Cir. 1979) ...... 14

In re American Continental Corporation/Lincoln Savings
and Loan Securities Litigation, 130 F.R.D. 475 (J.P.M.L.

SE ca Rabu bie ad be eee a RA aan orbs een k van 4
In re Atlantic Financial Management, Inc. Securities

Litigation, 718 F.Supp. 1012 (D.Mass. 1989) ......... 3, 11
In re Professional Financial Management, Ltd., 683 F.Supp.

Se I, SIR ao 5 cick auc ueekecdsback bacwees 13
King v. Gibbs, 876 F.2d 1275 (7th Cir. 1989) ........... 14
Makethan v. Burrus Cootes & Burrus, 545 F.2d 1388 (4th

Cir. 1976), cert. denied, 434 U.S. 826 (1977) ......... 3
Miller v. Apartments and Homes Of New Jersey, Inc., 646

Pee. SD i ee bs eeue eee d hientensicas passim

Miller v. Christopher, 887 F.2d (9th Cir. 1989) ........ 3, 5,9

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases
Page

Nelson v. Craig-Hallum, Inc., [1989 Transfer Binder],
Fed.Sec.L.Rep. (CCH) 994,500 (D.Minn. June 25,

NANG a co kh eenks Re Cke SLT eR ONUe eek Kd 13
Northwest Airlines, Inc. v. Transport Workers Union of
America AFC-CIO,451 U.S. 77 (1981) ............ passim
Robin v. Doctors Office Centers Corp., 730 F.Supp. 122
PE oc. Gp oeness sab suekaeealeakeeen’ 14, 15
Screen Gems—Columbia Music, Inc. v. Mettis & Lebow
Ce, SBS Fie See Ce Ge FITS onc cvcsncsnnecsss 3
Seymour v. Summa Vista Cinema, Inc., 809 F.2d 1385
Sn ML 0a Levee ce veluandeces as kawae stk 4,9
Singer v. Olympia Brewing Co. 878 F.2d 596
SE SET ich oiGca coche cine onee nace cen passim
Texas Industries, Inc. v. Radcliffe Materials, Inc., 451 U.S.
SE Wi bo4 wacko bee keen eee can eLaaeeeas 2, 13, 15
Van Bronkhorst v. Safeco Corp., 529 F.2d 943 (9th Cir.
SPE £05k 0 4k0a RK KESES Nee ees cae 7

Rules, Statutes and Regulations
Securities Exchange Act of 1934

EE oes i a ene daenan eee Maene 13,14
Securities Act of 1933

NE ai sa oa x6 4A AKA KK REAR RE 15

I, cn sic eeuk canbe thea eakeeeekeone 15

SE goa vas these ce komen eOaeaeae eee 15, 16

TE -o< ss'g debe 6 dad MeN eee eee 13, 14

Handbook of the National Conference of Commissioners
on Uniform State Laws and Proceedings of the Annual
Conference Meeting in Its Sixty-Fourth Year, 223-24
LEPOEE bondi pontine caccccuandbewben eee eee mnnees 5

iv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Rules, Statutes and Regulations

United States Code
AEE oe rN ee eee eee
Other Authorities

Legislative History
H.R.Rep. No. 85, 73 Cong. Ist Sess. 8 (1933)
S.Rep. No. 47, 73 Cong. Ist Sess. 1 (1933)

“see eeee

eeeereeeveeve

No. 90-98

In the Supreme Court

OF THE
United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1990

GEORGE FRANKLIN, et al.,
Petitioners,

Vv

PEAT MARWICK MAIN & Co., et al.,
Respondents.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit

BRIEF OF THE NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF
SECURITIES AND COMMERCIAL LAW ATTORNEYS
AS AMICUS CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS

l

INTEREST OF THE AMICUS CURIAE

As explained in the foregoing motion for leave to participate as
amicus curiae, NASCAT is a national association of law firms
consisting of approximately 500 attorneys located throughout the
United States. NASCAT’s primary purpose is to facilitate the
protection of investors and other consumers through appropriate
legislative and judicial activity.

The issues raised by the Petition are extremely important to the
management of complex, multi-party litigation in the federal
courts. The Ninth Circuit’s decision in Franklin v. Kaypro Corp.,
884 F.2d 1222 (9th Cir. 1989) (the “Opinion”), as it relates to
the availability of contribution under the federal securities laws,
and the impact of partial settlements on contribution rights,
unduly restricts the effectiveness of the federal securities laws and
contravenes Congress’ intent in enacting those laws. In essence,
the Opinion ensures that the trial courts of the United States will
be clogged with unnecessary litigation with n> additional benefit
to litigants or the judiciary. It erects unwarranted impediments to
legitimate and good faith settlkements—all for the stated purpose
of doing “equity” to persons who have been found, after trial and
appeal, to be wrongdoers. In addition, the Opinion overlooks or
rejects contrary decisions from other Circuit Courts and fails to
correctly analyze the desirability and wisdom of allowing parties
and trial courts to effectuate partial settlements in complex,
multi-party actions. Specifically, the Second and Third Circuits
have reached results contrary to the Opinion. As such, there exists
a serious conflict among the Circuits on important legal issues
which affect the administration of justice and the interpretation of
the federal securities laws. Based on the discussion presented here
and in the Petition, we believe that the Petition should be granted
so that this Court can resolve these important and controverted
legal issues.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Where express rights of contribution exist under the federal
securities laws, this Court should recognize that the appropriate
settlement bar rule is based on the pro tanto rule. This ruie should

2

have the following components: (i) it should be applicable only to
partial settlements entered into in “good faith;” (ii) plaintiffs’
claims against non-settling tortfeasors should be reduced by the
settlement payment made by the settling tortfeasors; and
(iii) tortfeasors who settle with plaintiffs should be protected
from all claims for contribution and indemnity by nonsettling
tortfeasors arising out of the alleged wrongful conduct. The
adoption of such a rule would foster important public policy goals
of encouraging settlements, protecting investors and carrying out
Congress’ objectives in enacting the federal securities laws while
at the same time protecting the legitimate interests of non-settling
defendants.

Further, this Court should review whether an implied right of
contribution exists under Section 10(b) of the Securities Ex-
change Act of 1934 or Section 12(2) of the 1933 Securities Act
in light of the Court’s holding in Texas Industries, Inc. v.
Radcliffe Materials, Inc., 451 U.S. 630 (1981) and Northwest
Airlines, Inc. v. Transport Workers Union of America AFC-CIO,
451 U.S. 77 (1981).

ARGUMENT
I

THE SETTLEMENT BAR RULE ANNOUNCED BY THE
NINTH CIRCUIT IN KAYPRO IS IN CONFLICT WITH
DECISIONS OF OTHER CIRCUITS AND IS CONTRARY
TO CONGRESS’ INTENT IN ENACTING THE FED-
ERAL SECURITIES LAWS

The settlement bar rule announced by the Ninth Circuit in
Kaypro admittedly will discourage the prompt resolution of multi-
party litigation through good faith settlements. It does so by
completely ignoring the Third Circuit’s decision in Miller v.
Apartments and Homes of New Jersey, Inc., 646 F.2d 101, 109
(3d Cir. 1981). The Opinion even admits that it is at odds with,
and therefore rejects, the recent Second Circuit decision in Singer

3

v. Olympia Brewing Co., 878 F.2d 596 (2d Cir. 1989).' Moreover,
the Opinion ignores the historical evolution of good faith settle-
ments and bar orders as promulgated by the American Law
Institute. In so doing, the Opinion creates conflicts among the
Circuit Courts. Indeed, since its promulgation, district courts in
the First and Seventh Circuits have rejected, as unsound, the
settlement bar rule promulgated by the Ninth Circuit in Kaypro.
See Dalton v. Alston & Bird, [Current Binder], Fed.Sec.L.Rep.
(CCH) 4 95,348 (S.D.IL.1990); In re Atlantic Financial Man-
agement, Inc. Securities Litigation, 718 F.Supp. 1012
(D.Mass.1989).”

Settlement bar rules implemented under state statutes or by
judicial decisions can be classified broadly into two categories: pro
tanto and pro rata (or proportional). Under the pro tanto rule, a
plaintiff's claims against non-settlors are reduced by the amount
of the payment received from a settling defendant; the settling
defendant is protected from claims for contribution and indemnity
that might be asserted by non-settlors. The rule protects the
settling defendants from further exposure in connection with the
action and assures the plaintiff that his claims against the non-
settlors will be reduced only by the amount of the settlement. The
pro tanto ruie also protects non-settlors in that any partial
settlement which purports to bar claims for indemnity and contri-
bution must be made in “good faith.” The pro tanto rule is
generally recognized as a rule that promotes settlement. It assures
plaintiffs that they will be made whole if they prevail against any

'The ruling of the Second Circuit in Singer is in line with the
holdings in numerous other circuits. See, e.g., Gould v. American-
Hawaiian Steamship Co., 535 F.2d 761, 784 (3d Cir. 1976); Screen
Gems—Columbia Music, Inc. v. Mettis & Lebow Corp., 453 F.2d 552,
554 (2d Cir. 1972); Makethan v. Burrus Cootes & Burrus, 545 F.2d
1388, 1390 (4th Cir. 1976), cert. denied, 434 U.S. 826 (1977); Gill v.
United States, 429 F.2d 1072, 1079 (Sth Cir. 1970).

? Since the Kaypro Opinion was rendered, the Ninth Circuit in Miller
v. Christopher, 887 F.2d 902 (9th Cir. 1989) refused to adopt the
Kaypro settlement bar rule in an admiralty case and instead approved
the use of a pro tanto settlement bar rule to extinguish claims for
contribution. Jd. at 907-908.

4

one of the joint tortfeasors. Miller v. Apartments and Homes of
N.J., Inc., supra, 646 F.2d at 109; Seymour v. Summa Vista
Cinema, Inc., 809 F.2d 1385, 1389-90 (9th Cir. 1987), as
amended, 817 F.2d 609 (9th Cir. 1987).

Under a pro rata (or proportional) settlement bar rule, which
the Opinion erroneously adopts, the settling defendants are also
protected from claims which might be asserted by the non-
settlors. The plaintiff's claims against the non-settlors, however,
are reduced—not by the amount of the partial settlement—but by
the settlors’ proportionate share of liability as determined at trial
where they are not present as parties and after consummation of
the partial settlement. This approach limits the risk of trial to the
non-settling defendants, encourages the non-settling defendants
to refuse to settle on a fair basis, discourages settlements and
increases the likelihood of unnecessary trials. For example, non-
settlors do not run the risk that the settling parties paid too little.
The risk of “underpayment” instead is borne solely by the
plaintiff. As such, a plaintiff is very reluctant to settle with less
than all defendants unless there is a substantial premium built
into the partial settlement to “pay” for the unknown risk which
plaintiff would be assuming. This result will necessarily prolong
litigation without any real or significant benefit to the parties but
with a very real detriment to the judicial system.’

The settlement inhibiting effects of the pro rata (or pro-
portional) rule were recognized by the National Conference of
Commissioners on Uniform State Laws (“NCCUSL”), which
amended the Uniform Contribution Among Tortfeasors Act
(“Uniform Act”) in 1955 to move from ihe pro rata rule to the
pro tanto rule precisely because the pro rata rule discouraged
settlements. Miller v. Christopher, supra, 887 F.2d at 906-907.
The NCCUSL’s comment, based on real world experience, on
this change demonstrates the serious flaws in the Opinion:

* This issue is especially important in light of the burgeoning savings
and joan crisis, which is now engulfing the federal courts with complex,
multi-party litigation. See, e.g., In re American Continental Corpora-
tion/Lincoln Savings and Loan Securities Litigation, 130 F.R.D. 475
(J.P.M.L.1990).

5

The 1939 Act provided, in Section 5, that a release of any
tortfeasor should not release him from liability for contribu-
tion unless it expressly provided for a reduction “to the
extent of the pro rata share of the released tortfeasor” of the
injured person’s recoverable damages. This provision has
been one of the chief causes for complaint where the Act has
been adopted, and one of the main objections to adoption.

*- * *#

The effect of Section 5 of the Act has been to discourage
settlements in joint tort cases, by making it impossible for
one joint tortfeasor alone to take a release and close the file.
Plaintiff's attorneys are said to refuse to accept any release
which contains the provision reducing damages “‘to the extent
of the pro rata share of the released tortfeasor,” because they
have no way of knowing what they are giving up. The “pro
rata share” cannot be determined in advance of judgment
against the other tortfeasors....

No defendant wants to settle when he remains open to
contribution in an uncertain amount, to be determined on the
basis of a judgment against another in a suit to which he will
not be a party. Some reports go so far as to say that the 1939
Act has made independent settlement impossible.

Handbook of the National Conference of Commissioners on
Uniform State Laws and Proceedings of the Annual Conference
Meeting in Its Sixty-Fourth Year, 223-24 (1955) [Emphasis
added.] Miller v. Christopher, supra, 887 F.2d at 907. In an effort
to encourage non-collusive settlements, the NCCUSL amended
the Uniform Act to provide for a pro tanto, rather than a pro rata,
settlement bar rule provided settlements were entered into in
“good faith.” Id. at 906-907; FSLIC v. Butler, 904 F.2d 505, 511
(9th Cir. 1990).

The Third Circuit considered these same competing policies in
Miller v. Apartment and Hortes of New Jersey, Inc., 646 F.2d i01
(3d Cir. 1981). In Miller, the Third Circuit found that a right to
contribution existed in an action brought under 42 U.S.C. § 1982

aia aaa neil

6

and the Fair Housing Act. Jd. at 108. In so doing, the Court noted
that:

Contribution rules are of high importance in the process of
settling claims before trial. Consequently, the selection of a
contribution rule bears on the work of the federal courts as
well as on the substantive rights and liabilities of the parties.

Id.

In developing the appropriate “contribution” rule, the Third
Circuit in Miller identified three specific policy considerations.
First, the court in Miller recognized that:

[The] law generally seeks to assure the tort victim neither
more nor less than one complete satisfaction of his claim. A
tule of pro tanto reduction accomplishes this goal. A rule of
pro rata reduction frustrates it to the extent that the plaintiff
makes a good or a bad settlement.

Id. at 109. Contrary to the foregoing, the Opinion suggests that a
plaintiff should be willing to forego a complete satisfaction of his
claim even if the claim is fully and successfully litigated. The
Opinion further suggests that a partial settlement means that a
plaintiff has somehow voluntarily agreed to something less than a
— full satisfaction of his claim. This is wrong. Moreover, it is con-
trary to the settled law of, at least, the Second and Third Circuits.
See, e.g., Singer v. Olympia Brewing Co., supra, 878 F.2d at 660.

The Miller court also identified other appropriate policy factors:

Second, the law seeks to encourage settlements. A rule that
the settling defendant will remain liable to contribute after
an award against a non-settling defendant would impede
settlements. So would a rule that the plaintiff must give non-
settling defendants the benefit of a pro rata reduction in their
liability. The 1939 Uniform Contribution Among Tort-
feasors Act emphasized competing policies rather than the
policv of promoting settlements. Section 4 of the 1939 Act
required a pro tanto credit for the amount of settlements the
plaintiff received. However, Section 5 declared that settling
defendants remained liable to contribute to non-settling
defendants unless the release provided for a pro rata reduc-

7

tion of the plaintiff's damages recoverable against all the
other tort-feasors. The 1955 Uniform Contribution Among
Tort-feasors Act abandoned that policy choice. The 1955 Act
retains the direct pro tanto credit rule. But section 4(b) now
provides:

When a release or a covenant not to sue or not to
enforce judgment is given in good faith to one of the two
or more persons liable in tort for the same injury or the
same wrongful death;...(b) It discharges the tort-
feasor to whom it is given from all liability for contribu-
tion to any other tort-feasor.

See, 73 A.L.R.2d 403 (1960).

Miller vy. Apartment and Homes of New Jersey, Inc., supra, 646
F.2d at 109.

By 1955, leading experts in the field recognized that such an
approach made multi-party settlements on a partial basis virtually
impossible. Miller v. Apartment and Homes of New Jersey, Inc.,
supra, 646 F.2d at 109. As a direct result, the 1955 version of the
Act adopted the pro tanto rule of contribution. FSLIC v. Butler,
supra, 904 F.2d at 511. Unless the Petition is granted and the
Opinion reversed, virtually no partial settlements of complex
multi-party litigation will be entered into in the Ninth Circuit,
thus needlessly causing an increase in complex litigation. Such a
result is contrary to the public policy of encouraging the settle-
ment of litigation, especially complex litigation. Van Bronkhorst
v. Safeco Corp., 529 F.2d 943, 950 (9th Cir. 1976).

The third policy factor identified by the Third Circuit in Miller
consisted of the relative equities among wrongdoers. In this
regard, the Third Circuit in Miller stated:

A rule of pro rata reduction achieves the goal of equality
albeit at the expense of other values. The same could be said
of the rule of the 1939 Act which held a settling defendant
liable to contribute.

Miller v. Apartments and Homes of New Jersey, Inc., supra, 646
F.2d at 109.

8

The Opinion places primary, if not sole, weight on this factor.
Such reliance, however, is totally misguided. As the Opinion
candidly admits, “we are speaking of equities between wrongdo-
ers.” Kaypro, supra, 884 F.2d at 1231. Nevertheless, the Opinion
concludes that it is equitable to protect proven wrongdoers from
those it has victimized. This is not equity. Indeed, it makes a
mockery of the very essence of equity. A non-settling defendant
(or their insurers) should not receive an economic windfall solely
because certain co-defendants (or their insurers) have chosen to
act responsibly and to settle a lawsuit in good faith.

The Third Circuit in Miller recognized as much when it
established the controlling settlement bar rule. As the Third
Circuit held:

In making our choice, we accord the least weight to the third
principle [i.e., equities among joint tortfeasors]. We believe
that parties generally will have sufficient incentive to negoti-
ate settlements as vigorously as they can, and that in most
cases the settlements achieved will not deviate unacceptably
from the aimed for proportionality of payment. We further
believe that in most cases favoritism will present no problem,
and that skilled attorneys will be able to discover collusive
settlements and avoid the feared harmful éffects of the
collusion.* We see no necessary conflict between the first two
policies. The policy of allowing complete satisfaction is
furthered by a rule of pro tanto credit. And the rule of pro
tanto credit is plainly preferable to a rule of pro rata credit in
civil rights cases, where one or more defendants have settled

“The Opinion contends that trial courts are incapable, in a good faith
hearing, of determining whether a proposed settlement is fraudulent or
collusive. This is incozrect. Trial courts, on a daily basis, make serious
decisions affecting the lives and property of persons which decisions are
subject to review. Furthermore, the suggestion that a good faith hearing
requires “a full evidentiary hearing on all of the parties’ relative
culpabilities” is simply wrong. See Miller v. Christopher, supra, 887 F.2d
at 907-908.

9

with a plaintiff, the damages recoverable by that plaintiff
shall be reduced by the amount of the settlement received.

Id. at 109-110.°

The Ninth Circuit recently cited the Miller case with approval
in a securities case. Seymour v. Summa Vista Cinema, Inc.,
supra, 809 F.2d at 1389. In Seymour, the Ninth Circuit approved
the use of the pro tanto rule by stating that:

We start with the fundamental principle that a payment
made by a joint tortfeasor diminishes the claim against the
remaining tortfeasors....

*- s&s #8

White the district court’s approach is without precise prece-
dent, it comports with the policies of the law in this area. The
foremost of these is assuring the tort victim one complete
satisfaction of his claim, neither more nor less. Miller v.
Apartments and Homes of New Jersey, Inc., 646 F.2d 101,
109 (3d Cir. 1981). By deducting the fair market value of
the settlement agreement, the district court provided plain-
tiffs one satisfaction of their claim. Although future events
may diverge from the district court’s prediction, the determi-
nation must be made as of the time of the judgment. Our
system of justice cannot provide certainty; a fair and reason-
able approximation in light of the facts available when the
court makes its decision suffices. The district court’s ap-
proach also serves another policy, that of encouraging settle-
ment even with those whose present financial condition may
be less than optimal. Adopting Alexander's proposed ap-

*This Court modified the scope of Miller when it held that where
there is a comprehensive Congressional statutory scheme, such as Title
VII or the Equal Pay Act, no rights of contribution will be judicially
implied. Northwest Airlines, Inc. v. Transport Workers Union, 451 U.S.
77 (1981). Where a right to contribution does exist, however, the Miller
analysis is very relevant because it considers each of the policy issues
and weighs each appropriately. As such, Miller is directly on point. The
Opinion, however, fails to mention Miller or weigh the important policy
factors identified by the Third Circuit in that case.

a

10

proach might well deter plaintiffs from settling with impecu-
nious defendants for fear that a paper judgment will bar
recovery against solvent defendants.

Id. at 1389-90. [Emphasis added.] The holding by the Ninth
Circuit in Seymour is inconsistent with the Opinion since Kaypro
expressly envisions situations where a tort victim will not receive
complete satisfaction even if victorious.

The Ninth Circuit specifically recognized that its Opinion was
contrary to the holding of the Second Circuit in Singer v. Olympia
Brewing Co., 878 F.2d 596, 599-600 (2d Cir. 1989). Kaypro,
supra, 884 F.2d at 1230. Not surprisingly, since the Opinion was
rendered, district courts in—at least—the First and Seventh
Circuits have also rejected the Kaypro Opinion. For example, in
Dalton v. Alston & Bird, {Current Binder], Fed.Sec.L.Rep.
(CCH) 7 95,348 (S.D.IL.1990), an Illinois district court care-
fully weighed the public policy considerations raised in Kaypro
and Singer and chose the Singer rule. In so doing, the Dalton
court held:

The Court believes that the Singer approach is the better
approach to this problem. First, the Singer approach is much
easier in application. The jury need not determine the rela-
tive fault of all defendants, including those defendants who
are no longer participating in the trial. Under the Franklin
approach an exact apportionment of liability needs to occur
at some point, i.e., at the trial. Second, the Singer approach
is equitable. The fairness hearing ascertains whether the
settlement is fair in light of the potential liability «=f the
defendant and in light of the chance of recovery. Thus, the
fairness hearing prevents other defendants from paying far in
excess of their share of liability. Even under the one-satisfac-
tion rule, fairness hearings need not become more compli-
cated than they already are. Under the one-satisfaction
[rule], no such apportionment ever needs to be made. Third,
the Singer approach provides finality to the settlement.
Under the Singer approach, the settling defendants are no
longer a part of the litigation, and thus large portions of the
trial may be omitted. Under the Franklin approach, the
settling defendants’ liability needs to be determined, and thus

< sah

ll

their activities remain part of the trial. Fourth, the Singer
approach encourages settlements, while the Franklin ap-
proach discourages settlements. Under Singer, the uncertain-
ties of trial are increased, and thus parties are more likely to
settle. Under Franklin, a party is guaranteed that it will
never pay more than its share of the damages, thus decreas-
ing the risks of trial.

Dalton, supra, J 95,348 at 96,684.

Similarly, in Jn re Atlantic Financial Management, Inc. Securi-
ties Litigation, 718 F.Supp. 1012, 1018 (D.Mass. 1989), the
district court followed Singer and explained the drawbacks of the
Ninth Circuit’s Kaypro approach:

Delaying final determination of the amount of the set-off
deprives the plaintiff class of one of the chief inducements to
settle: certainty .... Furthermore, in complex securities liti-
gation, the burden on the jury’s time and perception is
already considerable. To add to this burden the task of
apportioning fault between absent and present defendants
would obviate much of the advantage of partial settlement to
the judicial system itself.

Where contribution claims do exist, this Court should reject
the pro rata (or proportional) concept embraced in the Opinion.
Such a settlement bar rule is inconsistent with Congressional
purpose of the federal securities laws. Public policy and Congres-
sional intent behind the federal securities laws is so strong that
investor protection cannot and should not be subordinated to the
relative “equities among wrongdoers.” As this Court recently
stated with respect to the 1934 Securities Exchange Act:

The 1934 Act was designed to protect investors against
manipulation of stock prices. Underlying the adoption of
extensive disclosure requirements was a legislative philoso-
phy: “There cannot be honest markets without honest pub-
licity”....This Court “repeatedly has described the
‘fundamental purpose’ of the Act as implementing a ‘philoso-
phy of full disclosure.’ ”

Basic, Inc. v. Levinson, ___ U.S. ——_, 108 S.Ct. 978, 982
(1988) (citations omitted). See also H.R.Rep. No. 85, 73 Cong.

tienen

12

Ist Sess. 8 (1933); S.Rep. No. 47, 73 Cong. Ist Sess. 1 (1933)
(setting forth similar purposes for the 1933 Securities Act).
Instead, this Court should recognize a pro tanto settlement bar
rule for use in actions brought by investors under the federal
securities laws where there are express rights of contribution. The
rule should have the following components: (i) it should be
applicable only to partial settlements determined to have been
entered into in “good faith” after notice to all parties and a “good
faith” hearing is held; (ii) plaintiffs’ claims against non-settling
tortfeasors should be reduced by the settlement payment made by
the settling tortfeasors; and (iii) tortfeasors who settle with
plaintiffs should be protected from all claims for contribution and
indemnity by non-settling tortfeasors arising out of the alleged
wrongful conduct. The adoption of such a rule would foster
important public policy goals of encouraging settlements, protect-
ing investors, and carrying out Congress’ intent in enacting the
federal securities laws while at the same time protecting the
legitimate interests of non-settlors.

UI

NO RIGHT OF CONTRIBUTION EXISTS UNDER SEC-
TION 10(b) OF THE 1934 SECURITIES EXCHANGE
ACT OR SECTION 12(2) OF THE 1933 SECURITIES
ACT

The Opinion assumes that a right to contribution is generally
available under the federal securities laws. This is incorrect.
While certain sections of the Securities Act of 1933 (the “1933
Act”) and the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 (the “1934
Act’) do provide for a right to contribution, the circuit courts and
district courts which have considered the issue, in light of this
Court’s teachings in Texas Industries, Inc. v. Radcliffe Materials,
Inc., 451 U.S. 630 (1981) and in Northwest Airlines, Inc.. v.
Transport Workers Union of America AFL-CIO, 451 U.S. 77
(1981), have determined that no right of contribution exists
under Section 12(2) of the 1933 Act or Section 10(b) of the
1934 Act and Rule 10b-5 promulgated thereunder. See, e.g.,
Baker, Watts & Company v. Miles & Stockbridge, 876 F.2d 1101,
1104-1106 (4th Cir. 1989); In re Professional Financial Manage-

13

ment, Ltd., 683 F.Supp. 1283 (D.Minn. 1988); Nelson v. Craig-
Hallum, Inc., [1989 Transfer Binder], Fed.Sec.L.Rep. (CCH)
4 94,500 (D.Minn. June 25, 1989).

For example, the court in Nelson addressed the specific issue of
whether a right to contribution existed in actions under Rule 10b-
5. Nelson, supra, at 93,192. In deciding this issue, the Ne/son
court relied on the analysis in Jn re Professional Financial
Management, Litd., 683 F.Supp. 1283 (D.Minn. 1988), wherein
the court held that there was no right of contribution. In this
regard, the court in Nelson stated:

In Professional Financial Management, Judge Diana Mur-
phy followed the suggested analytical framework in address-
ing the precise issue presented by Terrano’s contention and
held that no right to contribution existed. Jn re Professional
Management, 683 F.Supp. at 1285-87.

In opposition to Terrano’s motion, Craig Hallum cites nu-
merous cases form other circuits which take a contrary
position to Judge Murphy. The Court has examined these
cases, along with Texas Industries, Northwest Airlines and
Professional Financial Management and finds itself per-
suaded by Judge Murphy’s reasoning and conclusion. Con-
gress did not expressly provide defendant a right to
contribution in enacting Section 10b of the Securities Ex-
change Act. The policy reasons for providing such a right
which Craig Hallum urges this Court to consider, and which
have been considered as a basis for providing such a night in

_other cases,... were the same policy reasons which the
Supreme Court resisted considering in Texas Industries on
the grounds that Congress is the more appropriate and better
equipped decision making body to pierce their complexity.
Texas Industries, 451 U.S. at 646-47. Accordingly, Terrano’s
motion for summary judgment is granted.

Id. at 93,192-93.

In Baker, Watts, supra, the Fourth Circuit reached the same
conclusion with respect to Section 12(2) claims under the 1933
Act when it held:

14

It is unclear whether a federal nght of action for contribution
would promote the general purposes of the federal securities
laws. Although some courts have stated that such a remedy
may further the deterrent purposes of the 1933 and 1934
Acts, [citation omitted}, much the same regulatory purpose
can be ascribed to the anti-trust laws under which no implied
right of action for contribution is recognized. See Texas
Industries, 451 U.S. at 630, 101 S.ct. at 2062. An even
greater deterrent effect may exist if a single securities wrong-
doer such as Baker, Watts, is held liable for the total adverse
judgment. ...

Baker, Watts, supra, at 876 F.2d at 1105-1106. [Emphasis
added.}] The above cases and the cases on which they rely,
including this Court’s own recent precedents, establish conclu-
sively that no implied right of contribution exists under either
Section 10(b) of the 1934 Act or Section 12(2) of the 1933 Act.

In these circumstances, this Court should review the Opinion’s
apparent holding that a right to contribution generally exists
under the federal securities laws. The sole case cited in the
Opinion for that proposition is Heizer Corp. v. Ross, 601 F.2d 330,
334 (7th Cir. 1979). The Heizer case predates and is inconsistent
with the Supreme Court decisions upon which the above cases
rely in rejecting the contention that rights of contribution exist
under Rule 10b-5 or Section 12(2).° Indeed, Heizer is no longer
good law in the circuit in which it was rendered. King v. Gibbs,
876 F. 2d 1275, 1280 (7th Cir. 1989). See also Robin v. Doctors
Office Centers Corp., 730 F.Supp. 122, 124 (N.D.II1.1989) (hold-
ing that the ruling in Heizer that contribution is implied under
Section 10(b) is no longer controlling). Applying the analysis
mandated by the Supreme Court in Texas Industries and North-
west Airlines, courts in the Seventh Circuit now hold that “[nJo
private cause of action for contribution may be implied under
Rule 10b-5. Robin, supra, 730 F.Supp. at 125. See also Financial
Savings Bank, Inc. v. American Bankers Insurance Co., [1989-90

® Unless there is a right to contribution under Rule 10b-5 or Section
12(2), the Opinion’s discussion of settlement bar rules would not be
applicable to those claims.

15

Transfer Binder], Fed.Sec.L.Rep. (CCH) {94,827 (E.D.N.C.
November 1, 1989).

Til

THE OPINION DISREGARDS CONGRESS’ IMPOSITION
OF JOINT AND SEVERAL LIABILITY UNDER
SECTION 11

Section 11(a) of the 1933 Act identifies, by category, those
groups of persons who are liable for a materially misleading
registration statement. Among others, Section 11(a) provides
liability for every person who signs the registration statement,
every person who is a director of the issuer, the issuer, an accoun-
tant or other expert who has with his consent been named as
having prepared or certified any part of the registration statement
and every underwniter. With respect to each of the persons liable
under Section 11(a), Section 11(f) provides that “all or any one
or more of the persons specified in subsection (a) shall be jointly
and severally liable”... . [Emphasis added. ]’ As a result of Con-
gress’ expressed intent, any one of these persons may be liable to
plaintiffs for the entire amount of the damages sustained
thereunder.

The Opinion completely disregards this carefully crafted statu-
tory scheme. For example, the Opinion states that “the [pro
tanto] offset scheme forces non-settling defendants to pay more
than the amount for which they are culpable.” Kaypro, supra, 884
F.2d at 1230. This assertion is unfounded (and, if true, would be
legally irrelevant). Under Section 11, each culpabie party is liable
to plaintiffs for the entire amount of the damages irrespective of
their proportionate fault. Section 11(f). The Opinion also inaccu-

‘rately contends that, under its settlement bar rule, non-settling
defendants will never pay more than they would if all parties had
gone to trial. Kaypro, supra, 884 F.2d at 1231. This contention is
wrong. It ignores both the very wording of Section 1] and
economic reality. If all defendants go to trial arid lose, they are all

’ Section 11(e) contains special treatment for underwriters which is
not relevant to the discussion here.

16

jointly and severally responsible to the prevailing plaintiff for the
entire damages. To the extent that any responsible party is
insolvent, close to insolvency or more difficylt to execute on,
plaintiff will collect on his judgment from the more wealthy
defendants irrespective of their culpability. These defendants will
then be left with their theoretical contribution claim against
insolvent or nearly insolvent defendants which they, in all likeli-
hood, will not pursue because the costs of doing so make no
economic or business sense. These are the same costs which the
Opinion unfairly states that plaintiffs should incur if they choose
to partially settle.

The policy adopted by the Opinion is unwise for a host of
reasons. There are legitimate incentives on the part of both
plaintiffs and defendants to settle (as there should be) only if the
hidden and unknown costs associated with the risks incurred
under the Opinion do not exist. As such, the Opinion is contrary
to public policy because it deters settlements. No plaintiff will
consider a partial settlement unless it is demonstrably above the
proportionate share of that person’s potential responsibility. In
that situation, however, a defendant is unlikely to agree to settle.
In fact, experience with the 1939 version of the Uniform Contri-
bution Among Tortfeasers Act tell us that the adoption of the
Opinion will make partial settlements a rarity, if not an impossi-
bility. In such circumstances, plaintiffs will simply not settle
except on a global basis. As a result, defendants who are wealthier
will be forced to pay more irrespective of their culpability. This is
because the amounts to be recovered in potential partial settle-
ments will decrease dramatically and therefore will reduce the
amount of any offset. Thus, contrary to the stated purpose of the
Opinion, the Opinion will actually force wealthier defendants to
pay more than if the pro tanto rule were adopted.’ More impor-

* Today, most acts of wrongdoing under the federal securities laws are
covered by insurance. Therefore, the economic risk of an adverse
judgment will not deter prospective wrongdoers—the insurance com-
pany and not the wrongdoers usually pay. Rather than maximizing
deterrence among wrongdoers, the practical effect of the Opinion is to
shift the source of payment from one group of insurance carriers to
another group of insurance carriers. In this environment, the Court’s

17

tantly, the entire judicial process, including both the parties and
the court system, would be benefitted by the adoption of the pro
tanto rule because that rule encourages the parties to negotiate
reasonable settlements based upon all of the facts and circum-
stances (including the financial resources and exposure of defend-
ants) of each particular case.

entire discussion of deterrence among wrongdoers is legally and factually
irrelevant. As the Third Circuit in Miller recognized, the deterrence
factor should be given little, if any, weight in fashioning modern day
contribution rules.

18

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, NASCAT requests the Court to
grant the Petition so that these serious legal issues will be
considered on their merits. This is especially important because
the Opinion creates conflicts among the various Circuits and
because the issues raised by the Opinion have national ramifica-
tions which will dramatically affect the effective private enforce-
ment of the federal securities laws.

Dated: August 30, 1990
Respectfully submitted,

DavipD B. GOLD
(Counsel of Record)
PAUL F. BENNETT
STEVEN O. SIDENER
DavipD B. GOLD,
A Professional Law Corporation
595 Market Street, Suite 2300
San Francisco, CA 94105
(415) 777-2230

JONATHAN W. CUNEO
(NASCAT General Counsel)
Law Offices of
JONATHAN W. CUNEO
1300 Eye Street, N.W.
East Tower, Suite 480
Washington, DC 20005
(202) 962-3860
Counsel for Amicus Curiae

:
|

IX.

THE TERMS OF THE SETTLEMENT

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY STIPULATED
AND AGREED by and among the Settling Plaintiffs, the
Settling Defendants, and the Insurers, by and through
their respective attorneys or counsel of record, as follows:

A. Definitions

As used in this Stipulation, the following terms have
the meanings specified below:

(1) “Person” means an individual, corporation, part-
nership, limited partnership, association, joint stock com-
pany, estate, legal representative, trust, unincorporated
organization, and any other type of legal entity and their
heirs, successors, or assignees.

(2) “Settlement Class” means all persons, except any
defendant (including members of the immediate family of
each of the individual defendants, any entity in which any
defendant has a controlling interest and the legal repre-
sentatives, heirs, successors or assigns of any excluded
party) named in the Class Action, who purchased or
otherwise acquired the stock of Kaypro between Au-
gust 25, 1983, and December 13, 1984, inclusive.

(3) “Settlement Class members” means all members
of the Settlement Class except those persons who file
valid and timely requests for exclusion pursuant to the
notice of class action determination and partial settle-
ment described in Paragraph [X.F.(1) below.

(4) “Settlement Class Period” means the period Au-
gust 25, 1983, through December 13, 1984, inclusive.

43a

(5) “Settling Plaintiffs” means each and all of the
Class Representatives and the Settlement Class
Members.

(6) “Settling Defendants” means each and all of the
following persons: (a) Andrew F. Kay; (b) David A. Kay;
(c) Allan M. Kay; (d) Mary M. Kay; (e) Arthur B.
Laffer; (f) W. Bradford Ryiznd; (g) Ludwig Weindling;
(h) Roger S. Wooley; (i) Roger S. Wooley as Executor of
the Estate of Ludwig Weindling; and (j}) Kaypro Corpo-
ration and each and all of its present and former officers
and directors.

(7) “Insurers” means each and all of those persons
identified on Exhibit “A” hereto, which shall be filed with
the Court under seal.

(8) “Settled Claims” means any and all claims, actions
or causes of action, rights or liabilities, including Un-
known Claims, which exist or may in the future exist by
reason of (i) any matter, cause or thing whatsoever,
arising out of, relating to, or in any way connected with
the purchase or sale or other disposition of acquisition
during the Settlement Class period of any Kaypro com-
mon stock by a Sett!ement Class Member; (ii) any and all
claims, actions, causes of action, rights or liabilities,
including Unknown Claims, which a Settlement Class
Member has_or may in the future have by reason of any
acts, omissions, or failures to act of any of the Defendants
during the Settlement Class Period in (but only in) their
capacities as officers, directors, employees, agents,
and/or advisors of Kaypro; and (iii) any and all claims,
actions, causes of action, rights or liabilities, including
Unknown Claims, which a Settlement Class Member has
or may in the future have arising out of or in any way
connected with or related to any of the facts, circum-
stanees, transactions, events, occurrences, acts or omis-

44a

sions or failures to act, of whatever kind—or character
whatsoever, irrespective of the state of mind of the actor
performing, or omitting to perform the same, that are or
could have been alleged, referred to, alluded to, or re-
flected in the Class Action.

(9) “Unknown Claims” as used in the definition of
Settled Claims in Paragraph IX.A.(8) hereof, means
claims which the Settlement Class Members do not know
or suspect to exist in their favor at the time of the release
of the Settling Defendants which if known by them might
have affected their settlement with Settling Defendants.
Solely with respect to any and all Settled Claims asserted
against the Settling Defendants, it is the intention of the
parties hereto that, upon the Effective Date, as defined
below, each of the Settlement Class Members does hereby
expressly waive and relinquish, to the fullest extent per-
mitted by law, the provisions, rights, and benefits of
section 1542 of the California Civil Code, which provides:

A general release does not extend to claims which the
creditor does not know or suspect to exist in his favor
at the time of executing the release, which if known
by him must have materially affected his settlement
with the debtor.

1.é€., any and all provisions, rights and benefits of any
similar statute or law of California or of any other
jurisdiction. Each of the Settlement Class Members fur-
ther acknowledges hereby that said Settlement Class
Member is aware that said Settlement Class Member may
hereafter discover facts in addition to or different from
those which said Settlement Class Member now knows or
believes to be true with respect to the subject matter of
the release, but that it is the Settlement Class Member’s
intention to, and each Settlement Class Member does
hereby, upon the Effective Date, fully, finally and forever

45a

settle and release any and all Settled Claims asserted
against the Settling Defendants only, known or unknown,
suspected or unsuspected, contingent or non-contingent,
whether or not concealed or hidden which now exist, may
hereafter exist, or heretofore have existed, and without
regard to the subsequent discovery or existence of such
different or additional facts. All of the foregoing is the
definition of “Unknown Claims.”

(10) “Settlement Fund” means Nine Million Two
Hundred Fifty Thousand Dollars ($9,250,000) in eash or
cash equivalents, plus such interest earned on or imputed
to said sum after transfer to the Escrow Agent.

(11) “Effective Date,” or the date on which the settle-
ment embodied in this stipulation becomes “effective,”
means the date on which the Court’s judgment (the
Judgment”), substantially in the form of Exhibit D
hereto, becomes final, 1.e., 35 days after the entry of the
Judgment if no appeal by a Settlement Class Member is
filed. If an appeal by a Settlement Class Member is filed,
the Effective Date shall be the date of the final affirmance
on appeal, the expiration of the time for petitions for
writs of certiorari to the U.S. Supreme Court and, if
certiorari be granted, the date of final affirmance follow-
ing review pursuant to that grant; or the final dismissal of
any appeal or proceedings on certiorari to the U.S. Su-
preme Court. No appeal or attempted appeal or any other
attempt to secure other appellate review of the Judgment
by any Non-Settling Defendant shall affect the finality or
the Effective Date of the Settlement in any way.

(12) “Non-Settling Defendant” means (a) Peat,
Marwick Mitchell & Co. (‘Peat’); (b) Prudential-Bache
Securities, Inc., individually, and as the representative of
all underwriters who, pursuant to an Underwriting Agree-
ment, participated in the registered public offering and

46a

sale of Kaypro common stock on or about August 25, 1983
(“Underwriters Group’); and (¢c) the Underwriters
(and/or their sueccessors-in-interest) listed on Exhibit C
hereto. Settlement Counsel represent and warrant that
they will not hereafter assert the Settled Claims against
any Person other than the Non-Settling Defendants.

(13) “Eserow Agent’? means Milberg Weiss Bershad
Specthrie & Lerach and Wolf Popper Ross Wolf & Jones
or their successors, as the parties may agree upon, which
Escrow Agent shali perform its duties as set forth in this
Stipulation.

(14) “Settlement Counsel” means the law firms of
Milberg Weiss Bershad Speethrie & Lerach and Wolf
Popper Ross Wolf & Jones.

B. Transfer of Funds

(1) Within ten (10) business days of the execution of
this Stipulation, the payments comprising the Settlement
Fund shall be delivered to the Escrow Agent pursuant to
the terms of this Stipulation. Such payments may not be
disbursed by the Escrow Agent, except as provided in this
Stipulation, an Order of the Court or the agreement of the
parties.

(2) The Escrow Agent shall invest the Settlement
Fund deposited pursuant to Paragraph [X.B.(1) above,
at current market rates in certificates of deposit, money
market funds or U.S. T-Bills (the “Escrow Securities”’)
and shall reinvest the proceeds of the Escrow Securities
as they mature in similar Escrow Securities at the current
market rates.

47a

C. Notice, Administration, Claims Solicitation and As-
sistance Fund

(1) As soon as practicable after the payments required
by paragraph [X.B.(1) are deposited in escrow, the Es-
crow Agent shall establish a fund separate from the
Settlement Fund (the “Notice and Administration
Fund”) and shall pay $100,000 into the Notice and
Administration Fund. The Notice and Administration
Fund may be used by Settlement Counsel, witheut re-
course, to pay the costs of indentifying and notifying
members of the Settlement Class, soliciting the filing of
claims by them, assisting them in making their claims and
otherwise administering, on behalf of the Settlement
Class, the settlement embodied in this Stipulation.

(2) On the Effective Date, any balance then remaining
in the Notice and Administration Fund, less expenses
incurred but not yet paid, shall be made a part of the
Settlement Fund. Thereafter, Settlement Counsel shall
have the right to use such portions of the Settlement
Fund as are, in the exercise of their reasonable judgment,
necessary to carry out the purposes set forth in paragraph
IX.C.(1).

D. Deposit and Exchange of Releases

(1) As soon as practicable after the execution of the
Stipulation, each Settling Defendant shall deliver to their
respective counsel, in the form of Exhibit E hereto,
mutual releases of all claims, if any, that the Settling
Defendants may have against each other based on the
Settled Claims. On the Effective Date, their respective
counsel shall deliver forthwith these releases to the re-
spective counsel for the other Settling Defendants as
their interests may then appear.

48a

Said releases shall contain language which renders the
releases null and void until the occurrence of the Effec-
tive Date.

(2) As soon as practicable after the execution of the
Stipulation, each Settling Defendant shall deliver to the
Escrow Agent separate executed releases of each Non-
Settling Defendant for the claims that such Settling
Defendant may have against such Non-Settling Defen-
dant that are based on or arise from the Settled Claims of
each Settling Plaintiff. Such releases shall be substan-
tially in the form of Exhibit F hereto and shall be
delivered to the Escrow Agent with appropriate written
irrevocable instructions providing that the Escrow Agent
shall deliver those releases to a Non-Settling Defendant
only when (a) all of the events set forth in Paragraph
IX.H. below shall have occurred; (b) the Settling Plain-
tiffs shall have settled the Settled Claims with a Non-
Settling Defendant, which settiement is embodied in a
final judgment within the meaning of Paragraph [X.G.
below; and (¢c) a Non-Settling Defendant shall have
deposited with the Escrow Agent the executed releases
described in Paragraph [X.D.(3) below with appropriate
written instructions to deliver such releases to the Set-
tling Defendants.

(3) Each of the Settling Plaintiffs agrees that he or
she shall not hereafter release, dismiss or settle any
claims asserted in the Class Action against a Non-Set-
tling Defendant without the execution by such Non-
Settling Defendant of a release of all claims which such
Non-Settling Defendant may have against the Settling
Defendants that are based on or arise from the Settled
Claims of said Settling Plaintiff, which releases shall be
substantially in the form of Exhibit G hereto.

49a

E. The Good Faith Hearing

(1) Promptly after execution of this Stipulation, the
parties hereto shall jointly move the Court for an order
and Judgment (the “Good Faith Order’), substantially
in the form of Exhibit H hereto, providing, inter alia,
(a) that the settlement embodied in this Stipulation is
entered into and made in good faith, within the meaning
of Sections 877 and 877.6 of the California Code of Civil
Procedure, and (b) that all claims for contribution, in-
demnification, or reimbursement, however denominated,
against the Settling Defendants arising under the federal
securities laws or state law, including those based in tort,
contract or statute, or any other body of law, in favor of
persons, including the Non-Settling Defendants, who are
asserted to be or who may be joint tortfeasors or wrong-
doers, however denominated, with the Settling Defend-
ants in the Settled Claims and based upon or arising from
the Settled Claims are extinguished, discharged, satisfied
and/or otherwise unenforceable. At the Good Faith Hear-
ing, the Court, or, upon reference, to which reference the
parties hereby stipulate, the Honorable Harry R. McCue,
United States Magistrate, or his successor, shall be re-
quested by the parties hereto to consider evidence and
make findings (or, in the ease of Magistrate McCue or his
suecessor, make recommendations to the Court) on those
issues which are deemed relevant to the entry of the Good
Faith Order.

F. The Notice Order

Promptly after execution of this Stipulation, the Class
Representatives shall move the Court for an order (the
“Notice Order”), substantially in the form of Exhibit B
hereto, providing for notice to the Settlement Class of
and hearing on the proposed settlement (the “Settlement

50a

Hearing’). Unless otherwise ordered by the Court, the
Settlement Hearing shall occur contemporaneously with
the hearing on the Good Faith Order. The Notice Order
shall specifically include provisions which, among other
things:

(1) Approve forms of notice for mailing to members of
the Settlement Class that shall notify Settlement Class
Members of the hearing (i) in connection with the Good
Faith Order, (ii) on approval of the settlement, and
(iii) plaintiffs’ counsel’s application for attorneys’ fees
and reimbursement of expenses (the “Settlement
Notice’’);

(2) Approve a summary notice of the hearing on pro-
posed settlement for publication to members of the Settle-
ment Class (the “Summary Notice’’);

(3) Direct Settlement Counsel to mail or cause to be
mailed the Settlement Notice to those members of the
Settlement Class who can be identified through reasona-
ble effort. Nominees who purchased Kaypro common
stock during the Settlement Class Period will also be
requested to send the Settlement Notice to all beneficial
owners within ten (10) days after receipt of the Settle-
ment Notice or to send a list of said names and their
addresses to Settlement Counsel within ten (10) days of
receipt of the Notice;

(4) Direct Settlement Counsel to cause the Summary
Notice to be published in the national edition of The Wall
Street Journal;

(5) Find that the mailing and publication pursuant to
Paragraphs 3 and 4 constitute the best notice practicable
under the circumstances, including individual notice of
all such members of the Settlement Class who can be
identified through reasonable effort, and is due and suffi-

lll

5la

cient notice of the matters set forth in the Settlement
Notice to all such members of the Settlement Class, and
that the Settlement Notice and Summary Notice fully
satisfy the requirements of due process and of Rule 23 of
the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure;

(6) Provide that any members of the Settlement Class
who so desire may exercise the right to exclude them-
selves from the Certified Class but only if they comply
with the requirements for so doing as set forth in the
Settlement Notice;

(7) Schedule the Settlement Hearing to be held by the
Honorable Harry R. McCue, United States Magistrate or
his successor, contemporaneously with the hearing on the
Good Faith Order to determine whether the proposed
settlement should be approved as fair, reasonable and
adequate and whether an order approving the settlement
should be entered thereon, and to award counsel fees and
expenses to plaintiffs’ counsel;

(8) Provide that any objections to the proposed settle-
ment shall be heard and any papers submitted in support
of said objections shall be received and considered by the
Honorable Harry R. MeCue, United States Magistrate, or
his successor, at the Settlement Hearing (unless, in its
diseretion, the Court shall direct otherwise) only if, on or
before a date to be specified in the Notice Order, persons
making objections shall file notice of their intention to
appear and copies of any papers in support of their
position with the clerk of the Court and serve such notice
and papers on counsel to the parties to this stipulation;
and

(9) Provide that all Srttlement Class Members,
whether or not they file a proof of claim within the time
provided for, shall be barred from asserting any Settled

52a

Claims against any of the Settling Defendants, and any
such Settlement Class Members shall be conclusively
deemed to have released any and all such Settled Claims;

(10) Provide that, unless otherwise ordered by the
Court, any person that is not a Settlement Class Member
shall have no right to any portion or in the distribution of
the Settlement Fund; and

(11) Provide that the Settlement hearing may, from
time to time, and without further notice to the Settlement
Class, be continued or adjourned by Order of the Court.

G. Judgment Te Be Entered By The Court Approving
The Settlement

Upon approval by the Honorable Harry R. McCue,
United States Magistrate, or his successor, of the settle-
ment of the Class Action contemplated by this Stipula-
tion, a judgment shall be entered by the Court,
substantially in the form of Exhibit D attached hereto,
which shall:

(1) Approve the settlement embodied in this Stipula-
tion as fair, reasonable and adequate to the Settlement
Class;

(2) Dismiss the Class Action as against the Settling
Defendants, with prejudice and without costs to any party
as against any other;

(3) Adjudge, subject to Paragraph [X.I below, that the
Settling Plaintiffs shall be deemed conclusively to have
released any rights, claims or causes of action against the
Settling Defendants and the Insurers only, including.
without limitation (but excluding the Non-Settling De-
fendants), their respective predecessors and successors,
parents, subsidiaries and affiliates, and all their present
and former partners, principals, officers, directors, rein-

53a

surers, employees, agents, attorneys, assigns, representa-
tives, heirs, executors and administrators arising out of
or based upon the Settled Claims and any and all claims

against the Insurers under California Insurance Code,
Section 790.03 (h);

(4) Bar and permanently enjoin all Settling Plaintiffs
from prosecuting the Settled Claims against the Settling
Defendants and the Insurers, including, without limita-
tion (but excluding the Non-Settling Defendants), their
respective predecessors and successors, parents, subsidi-
aries and affiliates, and all of their present and former
partners, principals, officers, directors, reinsurers, em-
ployees, agents, attorneys, assigns, representatives, heirs,
executors and administrators; and

(5) Reserve jurisdiction, without affecting the finality
of the judgment entered, over: (a) implementation of this
settlement and any award or distribution of the Settle-
ment Fund, including interest earned thereon; (b) dispo-
sition of the Settlement Fund; (c) hearing and
determining applications for attorney’s fees, costs, inter-
est, expenses (including fees and costs of experts and/or
consultants) in the Class Action; and (d) enforcing and
administering this Stipulation.

H. Conditions of Settlement

(1) This Stipulation shall be effective only on the
condition that all of the following events occur:

(a) The Settling Defendants timely deliver the Settle-
ment Fund, as required by Paragraphs [X.B., and the
releases, as required by Paragraph [X.D. above;

(b) The Court enters the Good Faith Order, as re-
quired by Paragraph [X.E. above;

54a

(ec) The court enters the Notice Order, as required by
Paragraph LX.F. above;

(d) The Court enters the judgment, as required by
Paragraph LX.G. above; and

(e) The Representative Plaintiffs obtain an Order of
the Court which redefines the scope of the class as
provided in Paragraph III.B. above;

(f) The number of shares of Kaypro stock purchased
by members of the class who seek, and obtain exclusion
therefrom is below certain limits as set forth in Exhibit I
hereto, and/or the Settling Defendants decline to exer-
cise their option to withdraw from the Settlement under
such circumstances, as set forth in Exhibit J hereto; and

(g) There is an Effective Date.

(2) Upon the occurrence of all of the events referenced
in Paragraph LX.H.(1) above, each of the Settling Plain-
tiffs, subject to the provisions of Paragraph [X.I. below,
(a) agrees to dismiss the Ciass Action against the Set-
tling Defendants, (b) acknowledges full and complete
satisfaction of, and does hereby fully, finally and forever
settle, release and discharge each and all of the Settling
Defendants and Insurers (but excluding the Non-Settling
Defendants) and all of their past and present agents,
employees, officers, directors, partners, members, share-
holders, and their estates, the personal representatives of
their estates, executors, heirs, successors, and assigns,
who are or ever may become liable with respect to the
Settled Claims.

(4) Upon the occurrence of all of the events referenced
in Paragraph [X.H.(2) above, any and all interest or
rights of the Settling Defendants or the Insurers in or to
the Settlement Fund shall be absolutely and forever
extinguished.

55a

I. Effect of Disapproval, Cancellation Or Termination

(1) If the Court does not enter the judgment provided
for in Paragraph [X.G., or if the Court enters the judg-
ment and appellate review is sought and on such review
such judgment is materially modified or reversed, then
this Stipulation shal! not be cancelled and terminated if
all parties to this Stipulation who are adversely affected
thereby, within thirty (30) days from the date of the
mailing of such ruling to such parties, provide written
notice to all other parties hereto of their intent to proceed
with this Stipulation. Such notice may be provided on
behalf of each party to this Stipulation by their counsel
and, on behalf of the Settlement Class, by Settlement
Counsel. Neither a modification nor reversal on appeal of
any amount of fees, costs, expenses and interest awarded
by the Court to any of the Class Representatives, the
named plaintiffs or their counsel in the Class Action shall
be deemed a material modification of or a part of the
material terms of the judgment or this Stipulation.

(2) Excepting only an appeal filed by a Settlement
Class Member, the partial settlement shall become final
after the Judgment is entered by the District Court
approving the Settlement and the Good Faith Order is
entered extinguishing the claims of the Non-Settling
Defendants. Any appeal by the Non-Settling Defendants
from either the Good Faith Order approving the partial
settlement or the Judgment extinguishing claims of the
Non-Settling Defendants shall not affect the finality of
the Settlement between the settling parties or the pay-
ment of the fees awarded to plaintiffs’ counsel. Upon a
successful appeal by the Non-Settling Defendants, how-
ever, the Settlement as to the Plaintiff Class shall remain
binding and shall convert to a reduction in judgment
settlement. The purpose and effect of such a judgment

56a

reduction settlement is to protect the Settling Defend-
ants individually and collectively against any liability for
any amount in excess of the Settlement Amount with
respect to the Settled Claims or claims for contribution,
indemnification, or reimbursement, however denominated,
against the Settling Defendants arising under the federal
securities laws or state law, including those based in tort,
contract or statute, or any other body of law, in favor of
persons, including the Non-Settling Defendants who are
asserted to be or who may be joint tortfeasors or wrong-
doers, however denominated, with the Settling Defend-
ants in the Settled Claims and based upon or arising from
the Settled Claims, 1.e., any judgment entered against any
Non-Settling Defendant would be reduced by the amount
of the Settlement between Settling Plaintiffs and Settling
Defendants or by the amount of the Settling Defendants’
share of the damages, whichever is greater.

(3) If the Effective Date does not oceur, or if this
Stipulation is terminated or cancelled pursuant to its
terms, then, within ten (10) business days after written
notification of such event is mailed by Settlement Counsel
to the Settling Defendants, the Settlement Fund, plus
any amount then remaining in the Notice and Administra-
tion Fund, less reasonable Escrow Agent fees and ex-
penses, and any costs disbursed or chargeable to the
Notice and Administration Fund, shall be refunded to the
agent designated by the Settling Defendants.

(4) If the Effective Date does not occur, or if this
Stipulation is terminated pursuant to its terms, neither
the Settling Plaintiffs nor any of their counsel shall have
any obligation to repay any amounts disbursed from the
Notice and Administration Fund. In addition, any ex-
penses already incurred and properly chargeable to the
Notice and Administration Fund at the time of such

57a

termination or cancellation but which have not been paid
shall be paid by the Escrow Agent is accordance with the
terms of this Stipulation prior to said funds being re-
funded to the agent designated by the Settling
Defendants.

(5) If the Effective Date does not occur, or if this
Stipulation is terminated or cancelled pursuant to its
terms, the parties to this Stipulation shall be deemed to
have reverted to their respective status as of the date and
time immediately prior to the execution of this Stipula-
tion, and they shall proceed in all respects as if this
Stipulation and related orders had not been executed.

J. Escrow Agent

(1) Settlement Counsel are authorized to execute such
transactions on behalf of the Settlement Class as are
consistent with the terms of this Stipulation.

(2) All funds held by the Escrow Agent shall be
deemed and considered to be in custodia legis of the Court
until such time as such funds shall be distributed pursu-
ant to further order of the Court.

K. Administration and Caleulation of Claims, Finai
Awards and Distributions of Settlement Fund

(1) Settlement Counsel, or their authorized agents,
acting on behalf of the Settlement Class, and subject to
the supervision, direction and approval of the Court, shall
administer and caleulate the claims submitted by Settle-
ment Class Members and shall oversee distribution of
that portion of the Settlement Fund that is finally
awarded by the Court to the Settlement Class.

58a

(2) On and after the Effective Date, the Settlement
Fund shall be applied, subject to the approval and further
order(s) of the Court, as follows:

(a) To pay counsel to the named plaintiffs in the Class
Action attorneys’ fees and costs, interest and expenses,
including the fees of experts and consultants, if and to
the extent allowed by the Court. It is agreed that the
procedure for and the allowance or disallowance by the
Court of any applications by any of the counsel to the
named plaintiffs in the Class Action for attorneys’ fees,
costs, expenses and interest, including the fees of experts
and consultants, to be paid out of the Settlement Fund,
are not part of this Stipulation, and any order or proceed-
ing relating thereto shall not operate to terminate or
eancel this Stipulation or affect its finality; and

(b) To pay all unpaid costs and expenses incurred in
connection with providing notice to members of the Set-
tlement Class, locating Settlement Class Members, solic-
iting Class claims, assisting with the filing of claims, and
in administering and distributing the Settlement Fund to
the Settlement Class, and processing proofs of claim,
escrow fees and costs and the costs of processing requests
for exclusion.

(3) The balance of the Settlement Fund (the ‘“Claim-
ants’ Fund’’) shall be allocated among Settlement Class
Members who submit valid, timely proofs of claim (‘‘Au-
thorized Claimants’), in the following manner (the
amount so allocated to each Authorized Claimant consti-
tuting his or her Payable Claim):

(a) Each such Authorized Claimant will receive an
amount which bears the same ratio to the Claimants’
Fund as his or her recognized loss bears to the total of all
such Authorized Claimants’ recognized losses. Recog-

59a

nized loss for purchasers of Kaypro common stock is
defined as an amount equal to the amount paid (inclusive
of commissions) for all Kaypro stock purchased during
the Class Period less the sum of (i) the amount realized
(after commissions) from the sale of any such shares sold
on or before December 13, 1984, and (ii) the number of
any such shares held at the close of business on Decem-
ber 13, 1984, multiplied by $2.88, the closing bid price of
Kaypro common stock on December 14, 1984.

(b) Payment in the manner set forth above shall be
deemed conclusive against all Authorized Claimants. All
Authorized Claimants who fail to file valid and timely
proofs of claim shall be barred from participating in
distributions from the Claimants’ Fund (unless otherwise
ordered by the Court), but otherwise shall be bound by all
of the terms of this Stipulation, including the terms of
any judgment entered and the releases given.

(4) The Settling Defendants shall have no obligations
or liabilities or any kind whatsoever in connection with
the determination, administration, calculation or payment
of claims.

L. Miscellaneous Provision

(1) The parties hereto consent, pursuant to 28 U.S.C.
§ 636 and Rule 73 of the Federal Rules of Civil Proce-
dure, to United States Magistrate Harry R. McCue con-
ducting all proceedings and entering such orders and
judgments as are necessary or required to approve and
implement the Settlement, to consider and enter orders
concerning plaintiffs’ counsels’ application for award of
attorneys’ fees and reimbursement of expenses and to

make recommendations to the District Court regarding
the Good Faith Order.

60a

(2) At the request of Settlement Counsel, the Settling
Defendants agree to be available for interview. At the
request of Settlement Counsel, the Settling Defendants
agree to attend and testify at the trial of the Class Action
or any other actions initiated by the Settling Plaintiffs
arising out of the Settled Claims. The requesting counsel
agree to give reasonable notice of the scheduled date for
any such interview or testimony; to reimburse each such
Settling Defendant for his round-trip travel expenses
from his then location to the place of trial or interview
and his expenses of lodging, meals and local ground
travel while making such trip, awaiting such testimony or
interview and testifying; and to make such reimbursement
no later than ten (10) days after the witness has submit-
ted a statement to Settlement Counsel! for the expenses
incurred.

(3) Representative Plaintiffs, and each of them, and on
behalf cf all persons engaged by them to assist them in
the prosecution of the Class Action, including, but not
limited to, their counsel, attorneys, experts, accountants
and agents, agree, to the extent permitted by law, that
they shall not provide nor advise, counsel, assistance,
documentation, analyses or work product to any person
who requests exclusion from the Settlement Class in the
prosecution of any claims arising out of, based upon, or
otherwise related to the factual allegations or pleadings
in the Class Actions.

(4) Nothing in this Stipulation shall be construed to,
or contended to, waive or otherwise affect the right of the
Settling Plaintiffs to proceed and/or recover against the
Non-Settling Defendants in the Class Action.

(5) The parties hereto agree to cooperate to the extent
necessary to effectuate all terms and conditions of this
Stipulation.

6la

(6) All of the exhibits attached hereto are hereby
incorporated by this reference as though fully set forth
herein.

(7) This Stipulation may be amended or modified only
by a written instrument signed by all parties or their
successors-in-interest.

(8) With the exception of any agreements or under-
standings between and among the Insurers and the Set-
tling Defendants, this Stipulation and the exhibits
attached hereto constitute the entire agreement among
the parties hereto and no representations, warranties or
inducements have been made to any party concerning this
Stipulation or its exhibits other than the representations,
warranties and covenants contained and memorialized in
such documents.

(9) Settlement Counsel, on behalf of the Settlement
Class, are expressly authorized by the Class Representa-
tives to take all appropriate action required or permitted
to be taken by the Settlement Class pursuant to this
Stipulation to effectuate its terms and are also expressly
authorized to enter into any modifications or amendments
to this Stipulation on behalf of the Settlement Class
which they deem appropriate.

(10) Counsel for each Settling Defendant and counsel
for the Insurers are authorized to sign this Stipulation on
behalf of their respective clients.

(11) This Stipulation may be executed in one or more
counterparts. All executed counterparts and each of them
shall be deemed to be one and the same instrument.
Counsel for the parties to this Stipulation shall exchange
among themselves original signed counterparts and a
eomplete set of original executed counterparts shall be
filed with the Court.

62a

(12) This Stipulation shall be binding upon, and inure
to the benefit of, the successors and assigns of the parties
hereto.

(13) All terms of this Stipulation and the exhibits
hereto shall be governed by and interpreted according to
the laws of the State of California.

(14) All parties shall use best efforts to perform all
terms of this Stipulation.

(15) All parties hereto submit to the jurisdiction of the
Court for purposes of implementing the settlement em-
bodied in this Stipulation.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, the parties hereto have
eaused this Stipulation to be executed, by their duly
authorized attorneys, as of the day and year first above
written.

MILBERG WEISS BERSHAD
SPECTHRIE & LERACH

WILLIAM 8S. LERACH

KEITH F. PARK

BLAKE M. HARPER

Dated: August 10,1987 By: /s/
KEITH F. PARK

2000 Central Savings Tower
225 Broadway

San Diego, CA 92101
Telephone: (619) 231-1058

Dated: August 10, 1987

63a

WOLF PopPPER Ross WOLF &
JONES

ROBERT A. SKIRNICK

MICHAEL P. FUCHS

PATRICIA I. AVERY

By: /s/

ROBERT SKIRNICK

845 Third Avenue
New York, New York 10022
Telephone: (212) 759-4600

Co-Lead Counsel for
Plaintiffs

ABBEY & ELLIS
ARTHUR N. ABBEY
212 East 39th Street
New York, New York 10016

SCHOENGOLD & Sporn, P.C.
SAMUEL P. SPORN

217 Broadway

New York, New York 10007

Attorneys for Plaintiff
Stefan Reznic

WoLF, HALDENSTEIN, ADLER
FREEMAN & HERZ

DANIEL W. KRASNER

FRED TAYLOR ISQUITH
270 Madison Avenue
New York, New York 10016

Attorneys for Plaintiffs
Jon and Ellen Quint

64a

LAW OFFICES OF
JOSEPH H. WEISS
JOSEPH H. WEISS
319 Fifth Avenue
New York, New York 10016

Attorneys for Plaintiffs
Paul L. and Evelyn 8.
Holmes

SACCOMANNO, CLEGG, MARTIN
& KIPPLE

ROBERT D. DANIEL
800 Allied Bank Plaza
Houston, Texas 77002

Attorneys for Plaintiff
Richard Love
IRELL & MANELLA
KENNETH R. HEITz

Dated: July 13, 1987 By: /s/

KENNETH R. HEITZ

1800 Avenue of the Stars
Los Angeles, CA 90067

Attorneys for Defendants

Kaypro Corporation,

Andrew F. Kay, David
A. Kay,

Allan M. Kay, and Mary
M. Kay

65a

LATHAM & WATKINS
PETER H. BENZIAN

Dated: July 6, 1987 By: /s/

PETER H. BENZIAN

701 B Street, Suite 2100

San Diego, CA 92101-8197
Attorneys for Defendants
Laffer, Weindling, Woolley
and Ryland

66a

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

Dated: July 6, 1987 MUSICK, PEELER & GARRETT
ROBERT J. FELDHAKE

By: /s/
ROBERT J. FELDHAKE
One Wilshire Building

Suite 2100
Los Angeles, CA 90017

O’MELVENY & MYERS
JOHN W. STAMPER

By: /s/
JOHN W. STAMPER

400 South Hope Street,

Suite 1050

Los Angeles, CA 90071
Attorneys for the Insurance
Carriers listed on Exhibit A

[Exhibits Omitted]

67a
APPENDIX E

[Not For Publication]

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT -

GEORGE FRANKLIN, On Behalf of Himself and All
Others Similarly Situated,
Plaintiffs,
Vv.

KAYPRO CORPORATION; ANDREW F. Kay; Davip Kay;
ALLAN M. Kay; Mary M. Kay; PRUDENTIAL-BACHE
SECURITIES, INC.

Defendants.

In Re: KAYPRO CORPORATION, Shareholder Litigation,
PRUDENTIAL-BACHE SECURITIES, INC.,
Defendant-Cross-claimant-A ppellant,

Vv.

KAYPRO CORPORATION; ANDREW F. Kay;
Davip A. Kay; ALLAN M. Kay,
Plaintiffs-Cross-claimants-A ppellees.

In Re: KAYPRO CORPORATION SECURITIES LITIGATION

GEORGE FRANKLIN, On Behalf of Himself and All
Others Similarly Situtated, JON QUINT; ELLEN QUINT;
STEFAN REZNIK; WILLIAM B. WEINBERGER; RICHARD

LOWE; PAUL L. HOLMES; EVELYN S. HOLMEs,
Plaintiffs-Appellees,
Vv.

KAYPRO CORPORATION; ANDREW F. Kay; Davip A.
Kay; ALLAN M. Kay; Mary M. Kay; ARTHUR B.
LAFFER; BRADFORD W. RYLAND; LUDWIG WEINDLING;
ROGER S. WOOLEY,
Defendanis-Appellants,

Vv.

PEAT MARWICK MAIN & COMPANY
Defendant-Appelilant.

68a

C.A. Nos. 88-5931, 88-5934
D.C. No. CV-84-2091-N

Order
Filed April 10, 1990

Before: FARRIS, FERGUSON and BEEZER,
Cireuit Judges

The panel has voted to deny the petitions for rehearing
and to reject the suggestion for rehearing en bance.

The full court has been advised of the suggestion for
rehearing en bane. A vote was taken of the active judges
and has failed to receive a majority of votes in favor of en
bane consideration. Fed. R. App. P. 35(b).

The petitions for rehearing are denied and the sugges-
tion for rehearing en banc is rejected.

69a

APPENDIX F

Civil No. 85-4302

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS

WILLIAM F. DALTON, individually and as a
representative of a bondholder class,
vs.

ALSTON & ByRD, et al.,
Defendants.

MEMORANDUM AND ORDER
Filed May 24, 1990

FOREMAN, Chief Judge:

The Court has carefully considered the motion for
approval of the settlements between the plaintiff class and
the settling defendants, namely the Gallop, Johnson de-
fendants, Hospital Management Associates, Ine. and
H.M.A., Ine. (collectively referred to as HMA), and Peter
Orr. By separate order, the Court has ruled on the
fairness of those settlements. This order addresses those
portions of the settlement agreements that seek to bar
cross-claims by the non-settling defendants and others
against the settling defendants. The Court, being fully
advised of the relevant facts and the law, finds that a
complete pretrial bar of any and all cross-claims would
further the policies of the federal courts of encouraging
settlements and avoiding a multiplicity of suits.

FINDINGS OF FACT

By separate orders, the Court has expressed its opinion
on the fairness and good faith of the settlements between
the plaintiff class and the settling defendants. The Court
finds that the discovery in this case has been completed

70a

and the time limit for all substantive motions has expired.
Having taken judicial notice of the entire record, in
particular the pleadings and affidavits filed regarding
plaintiffs’ motion for class certification and the numerous
motions for summary judgment filed by the defendants,
the Court finds that the settling defendants have paid an
amount reasonably proportionate to their liability in this
case.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

Assuming that a right of contribution exists for these
claims, an order barring any actions for indemnity or
contribution must also provide for the reduction of the
non-settling defendants’ liability. There are three meth-
ods of dealing with this problem: 1) not issue a bar order;
2) issue the order and deduct the entire amount of the
settlement from any jury verdict and apportion the re-
mainder among the non-settling defendants; or 3) issue
the order and declare that the amount paid by the settling
defendant represents that defendant’s proportionate
share of whatever judgment is ultimately entered in the
ease. Franklin v. Kaypro Corp., 884 F.2d 1222, 1229-1232
(9th Cir. 1989).

The first alternative should be rejected. This would
make settlements less likely and has been disapproved by
other courts. Franklin, 884 F.2d at 1229.

The second alternative, allowing the settlement amount
to operate as a set-off against the liability of the other
defendants, was adopted by the Second Circuit in Singer
v. Olympia Brewing Co., 878 F.2d 596 (2d Cir. 1989). The
court first stated that, in securities litigation based on
federal law, a uniform rule of settlement credit is appro-
priate. Jd. at 599. The rule adopted in that case is referred
to as the “one satisfaction rule” or a pro-tanto method.

Tla

“Under this rule, when a plaintiff receives a settlement
from one defendant, a nonsettling defendant is entitled to
a credit of the settlement amount against any judgment
obtained by the plaintiff against a nonsettling defendant
as long as both the settlement and the judgment re-
present commen damages.” Jd. at 600.

The third approach, adopted in Franklin, is the ap-
proach urged by the non-settling defendants. The Frank-
lin court rejected the Singer approach for two reasons.
First, the one satisfaction rule may result in additional
liability for the non-settling defendants. For example, two
defendants would each be liable for $100,000 to the
plaintiff, who has suffered $200,000 in common damages.
If one defendant settles for $80,000, the other defendant
would be liable for $120,000 to the plaintiff, or $20,000
more than if the settlement did not occur. See Franklin,
884 F.2d at 1230 n.15 (expressing this concept through
the formula (S — x) + (N +x) =T, where T equals total
liability, S equals the settling defendant’s share of the
liability, N equals the non-settling defendant’s share of
the liability, and x equals the excess). The Franklin court
rejected the idea that a hearing on the good faith of the
settlement would remove this problem, since, in order for
a court to accurately determine whether a settlement
would cause the non-settling defendant to pay more than
its fair share would involve a mini-trial on the parties’
relative culpability. Franklin, 884 F.2d at 1230.

The second reason that the Franklin court rejected the
one-satisfaction rule is that it would interfere with the
dynamics of settlement. Jd. Settlements are attractive
because they reduce the costs of litigation. This cost (i.e.
the cost of trial or completing discovery) must be dis-
counted from every settlement to determine its fairness.
Under the one-satisfaction rule, the non-settling defend-

72a

ants are required to pay the price of this discount. In the
above example, assume that the cost of trial is $10,000.
Thus, the plaintiffs, who expect to recover $200,000 after a
trial, would gladly settle for $190,000 (the amount of
recovery less cost of trial). If one defendant settles for
$80,000, and the jury returns a verdict for $200,000, the
plaintiff would receive $190,000 after the trial ($80,000
from the settlement, $120,000 from the non-settling de-
fendant, less $10,000 to go to trial). The non-settling
defendant, in effect, pays the entire cost of the trial rather
than the $5,000 it would pay if both defendants went to
trial.

The approach adopted by the Franklin court eliminates
the problem of overpayment by one of the defendants.
Under this approach (referred to as a pro-rata approach),
“Ta]t trial, the jury is asked not only to determine the
total dollar damage amount, but also the percentage of
cuipability of each of the nonsettling defendants as that
of the settling defendants. Nonsettling defendants as a
whole will then be required to pay the percentage of the
total amount for which they are responsible. The nonset-
tling defendants will be jointly and severally liable for
that percentage, and will continue to have rights of
confribution against one another.” Franklin, 884 F.2d at
1231. In the above example, the jury would be asked to
find total damages, and return a verdict for $200,000. The
jury will then be asked to apportion fault and, in this case,
will find each defendant liable for $100,000. The plaintiff
will then recover an additional $100,000, for a total of
$180,000.

The Court believes that the Singer approach is the
better approach to this problem. First, the Singer ap-
proach is much easier in application. The jury need not
determine the relative fault of all defendants, including

73a

those defendants who are no longer participating in the
trial. Under the Franklin approach an exact apportion-
ment of liability needs to occur at some point, i.e. at the
trial. Second, the Singer approach is equitable. The fair-
ness hearing ascertains whether the settlement is fair in
light of the potential liability of the defendant and in light
of the chances of recovery. Thus, the fairness hearing
prevents other defendants from paying far in excess of
their share of liability. Even under the one-satisfaction
rule, fairness hearings need not become more complicated
than they already are. Under the one-satisfaction, no such
apportionment ever needs to be made. Third, the Singer
approach provides finality to the settlement. The settling
defendants are no longer a part of the litigation, and thus
large portions of the trial may be omitted. Under the
Franklin approach, the settling defendants’ liability
needs to be determined, and thus their activities remain
part of the trial. Fourth, the Singer approach encourages
settlements, while the Franklin approach discourages
settlements. Under Singer, the uncertainties of trial are
increased, and thus parties are more likely to settle.
Under Franklin, a party is guaranteed that it will never
pay more than its share of the damages, thus decreasing
the risks of trial.

Most importantly, the entire focus of the Franklin court
is on fairness to the defendants. A court’s role in approv-
ing a class action settlement is to insure that the settle-
ment is fair to the absent class members. Grunin v.
International House of Pancakes, 513 F.2d 114, 123 (8th
Cir. 1975), cert. denied 423 U.S. 864; MCL 2d § 30.41 at
236. This does not give a court carte blanche to disregard
the rights of non-settling defenants. However, in deter-
mining the effect of a bar order, the court must weigh the
interests of both the non-settling defendants and the
plaintiffs. The defendants are not absent; they have a full

T4a

and fair opportunity to be represented by individual
counsel. The defendants have the opportunity to protect
themselves if it appears that the settlement will result in
higher liability (either by objecting to the settlement or
by entering into a settlement themselves). Furthermore,
plaintiffs are prejudiced under the Franklin approach.
This approach allows the non-settling defendants to adopt
a trial strategy of blaming the settling defendants for the
plaintiff's injury in the hope that their share of the total
liability will thus be smaller. The plaintiff would, of
course, be allowed to present evidence to refute this
strategy, but that evidence will probably not be as effec-
tive since a plaintiff will not be intimately familiar with
the settling defendant’s activities.

Another reason for adopting the Singer approach is
that it is in line with state law. See Ill. Rev. Stat. ch. 70
¢ 302; Restatement (Second) of Torts § 885(3) (1979).
Since most federal securities claims will also have pen-
dent state law claims, an approach which is compatible
with state law would be much easier to administer.

Therefore, the Court concludes that the pro-tanto or
“one satisfaction” method of reducing a non-settling de-
fendant’s liability is preferable to the pro-rata method
used in Franklin.

The Court also concludes that any bar order entered in
this case must also bar any claims for contribution or
indemnification by the settling defendants against the
non-settling defendants.

ORDER
Wherefore, it is ORDERED that:

1) All claims by the non-settling defendants against
H.M.A., Ine., Hospital Management Associates, Inc., Gal-

75a

lop, Johnson, and Peter Orr, for contribution and indem-
nification under the federal securities laws, the state
securities laws, RICO and any and all common law claims
and all other claims arising out of the offer, purchase, sale
or retention of the Jefferson County Health Facilities
Authority First Mortgage Bonds are hereby extinguished,
discharged and barred;

2) The non-settling defendants are entitled to a reduc-
tion in the amount of damages awarded against them in
an amount no more than the total of the partial settlement
amount paid by Gallop, Johnson, H.M.A., Ine., Hospital
Management Associates, Ine., and Peter Orr;

3) The settlement bar shall also bar cross-claims for
contribution and indemnification under the federal securi-
ties laws, state securities laws, RICO, and any and all
common law claims by Gallop, Johnson, H.M.A., Ince.,
Hospital Management Associates, Ine., and Peter Orr
against the non-settling defendants and all other persons,
corporations and entities; IT IS SO ORDERED.

DATED: May 24, 1990.

JAMES L. FOREMAN
Chief Judge

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385020_1836%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
