# Opposition Brief — Aluminum Co. of America v. Alm

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385020_1796%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1990
- **Citation:** 498 U.S. 847

## Text

Supreme Govt, us,
FLL BB

t

' pus 20 188
a GPANIO hits
NO. 90-52 ~
IN THE

Supreme Court of the TMnited States

OcTOBER TERM, 1990

ALUMINUM COMPANY OF AMERICA,
Petitioner,
V.

JAMES E. ALM,
Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE SUPREME COURT OF TEXAS

RESPONDENT'S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

W. DouGLAs MATTHEWS
Counsel] of Record

TIMOTHY F. LEE

SCHMIDT & MATTHEWS, P.C.
2140 First Interstate Bank Plaza
1000 Louisiana

Houston, Texas 77002

(713) 651-1133

Counsel for Respondent

AL 2

Alpha Law Brief Co., Inc.— $748 Westpark — Houston, Texas 77063

BEST AVAILABLE COPY

. es 2
s ; ie ix, ia Ness Gs oo
J mF * m yess Ta 4 SS add hat te ae

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

Bee GA GOURD 5 i ke ove can ek sees cus ebescn I
pe OF ie oy yt ey |) II
ne rere par eee ee a ea 1
WEA REIUE WE Bee CASE 2.5 nc ceeccinsceceuces 2
ia IE: OE PR as ck incr acekacuaneeons 2

ee EY EE oda ag Vee eee kate adeuee 9
REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT .............. 13

es re ere nee ne eT nee ee 22

ul
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES

Alamo Nat. Bank v. Kraus, 616 S.W.2d 908 (Tex. 1981)
Amarillo Oil Co. v. Energy-Agri Prod., 33 Tex. Sup. Ct. J

623 (June 27, 1990) .... cece eee eee ee ee eee eee eee
Bankers Life & Casualty Co. v. Crenshaw, 108 S.Ct. 1645
(1938)

Browning-Ferris Indus. v. Kelco Disposal, Inc., 109 S.Ct.
rt MO | ) ere weer rr ary pc

Burk Royalty Co. v. Walls, 016 S.W.2d 911 (Tex. 1981)

Cardinale v. Louisiana, 394 U.S. 437 (1909) 2.2... eee eee

Castleberry v. Branscum, 721 S.W.2d 270 (Tex. 1986)

Dow Chem. Co. v. Alfaro, 786 SW.2d 674 (Tex. 1990) ..

Duke Power Co. v. Carolina Envtl. Study Group, 438 U.S.
59 (1978)

Florez v. Fourth Ct. of Appeals, 777 SW.2d 38 (Tex. 1989)
Ford Motor Co. v. Durrill, 714 S.W.2d 329 (Tex. App.
1986). vacated, 754 S.W.2d 646 (Tex. 1988)
Harisiades v. Shaughnessy, 342 US. 580 es
In re Asbestos Litig., 829 F.2d 1233 (3rd Cir. 1987)
Jilani v. Jilani, 707 S.W.2d 671 (Tex. 1988) ........+--.
Karl v. Bryant Air Conditioning Co., 705 F.2d 164 (6th
* Ay...) PPP PRETECTT COTE TT Te ee
Lujan v. Houston Gen. Ins. Co., 750 S.W.2d 299 (Tex.
19838)

Lunsford v. Morris, 746 S.W.2d 471 (Tex. 1988) ......-.
Missouri Pac. R.R. v. Cross, 501 S.W.2d 868 (Tex. 1973)
Pacific Mutual Life Ins. Co. v. Haslip, 553 So.2d 537 (Ala.
1989). cert. granted, 110 S.Ct. 1780 (1990) ...........
Sliman v. Aluminum Co. of America, 112 Idaho 277, 731
3 TIGR £EGGOR ch 03.0 ws 4 eM Oe ele ee eee eee
Southern States Transp. Inc. v. Texas, 774 S.W.2d 639
‘Be. Ma 2 eT RTP ETUTCRT TTT oe ee ee
Sterner v. Marathon Oil Co., 767 S.W.2d 686 (Tex. 1989)
Tynberg v. Cohen, 76 Tex. 409, 13 S.W. 315 (1890) .....
Vail v. Texas Farm Bureau Mut. Ins. Co., 754 S.W.2d 129
(Tee PORE) cic ks cba ph bed see eene eee eee
Webh vw. Webb. 451 U.S. 493 (I9R1) nna vceash keke eee

Williams v. Georgia, 349 U.S. 375 (1955)

passim
‘, Bo
14

12

mm KO
Nm —

passim

BO

ee
Ci er Ww

Ill

Page
FEDERAL STATUTE

STATE STATUTES AND RULES

Tex. Civ. Prac. & Rem. Code Ann. § 41.001, et seq.

ee Ads ck 6566 ows Reb B ee bees sees
hae a kek cs sana seseenecvseecs
EEE

— pat fet
~~]

he he

PUBLICATIONS

Restatement (Second) of Torts (1965) ................. 12
L. Tribe, American Constitutional Law (2nd ed. 1988) .. 18

| NO. 90-52

| IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1990 |

ALUMINUM COMPANY OF AMERICA,
Petitioner,
V.

JAMES E. ALM,
Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE SUPREME COURT OF TEXAS

RESPONDENT'S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

JURISDICTION

Petitioner asserts jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. $ 1257(a).
Petitioner’s constitutional claims were not pressed or pass-
ed upon below and are raised here for the first time. The
Court therefore lacks jurisdiction because it is prevented
from deciding federal constitutional claims not raised
below. Cardinale v. Louisiana, 394 U.S. 437, 438-39
(1969). If the Court decides that its “not pressed or
passed upon” rule is merely prudential and not jurisdic-
tional, it should still decline to review petitioner’s claims
as it has done in other recent decisions where constitu-
tional attacks, which had not been raised in the lower courts,
were made on punitive damages awards. Browning-Ferris
Indus. v. Kelco Disposal, Inc., 109 S.Ct. 2909, 2921

a

ho

(1989); Bankers Life & Casualty Co. v. Crenshaw, 108
S.Ct. 1645, 1649-51 (1988).

STATEMENT OF THE CASE
A. Statement of Facts

This case involves one of at least 507 claims and lawsuits’
filed against petitioner Alcoa as a result of serious injuries
caused by an aluminum bottle cap designed by and pro-
duced under agreements with Alcoa. In each of these
cases a consumer was injured when a twist-off bottle cap
exploded off a soft-drink bottle. Due to design defects
resulting in misapplication of the cap, aluminum bottle
caps with “weak threads” will “blow off’ of bottles with
great force, like the cork of a champagne bottle, rather
than releasing the pressurized gas gradually and safely.
If one of these exploding caps hits a consumer’s eye, a
very serious injury will result. For more than a decade—
until long after respondent Alm was injured—Alcoa
steadfastly opposed warning consumers about the dangers
of its closure system. Finally in the late 1980’s, warnings
began to appear on bottles using the Alcoa closure system
and other caps:

1. The figure of 507 bottle cap blow-off claims and lawsuits
between 1967 and 1987 comes from a list produced in another bottle
cap blow-off case which respondent’s counsel handled. The list was
produced during the deposition of Bing Welch, Alcoa’s Senior Pack-
aging Engineer. Deposition of Bing Welch, 36-57, taken on January
5, 1987 in Morel v. Aluminum Co. of America, No, 83-17268 (165th
Dist. Ct., Harris County, Texas.). This figure of 507 lawsuits was
a substantial increase from the number demonstrated in the Alm
case of 127 claims and lawsuits from 1967 through 1975. In vet
another bottle cap blow-off case against Alcoa, the evidence showed

that by 1979, 229 consumers had been injured by the Alcoa closure
system. Sec Sliman v. Aluminum Co, of America, 112 Idaho 277,
731 P.2d 1207, 1269 (1986). After the Idaho Supreme Court affirmed
a jury award of punitive damages against Alcoa, this Court denied
Alcoa’s petition for writ of certiorari in Sliman. Aluminum Co. of

{merica v. Sliman, 486 U.S. 1031 (1988) (No. 86-1569).

NO REFILL

Soft Drink Label With Warning
(Bottie purchased in 1987.)

This warning is almost identical to the product warning
Suggested by respondent's expert at trial. S.F. 554.

Ee ee

4

At the time when respondent was injured, however, the
product which caused his injury had no such warning.

More than 14 years ago, on June 3, 1976, respondent
James Alm was hit in the right eye by an aluminum twist-
off bottle cap which blew off of a Seven-Up bottle Mr.
Alm was trying to open.” Respondent lost most of the
vision ii: his eye when it was struck by the cap. The bottle
cap was part of a soft drink closure system which Alcoa
had designed, patented, and marketed to the soft drink
industry.” Alcoa had also designed and manufactured the
machine which applied the cap.* The bottling machine in
question had been sold by Alcoa to J.F.W., a Houston,
Texas firm. J.F.W., using the Alcoa capping machine and
cap, bottled and assembled the product which injured
respondent and sold it under the trade name “Seven-Up”
The Seven-Up Company itself had no direct role in the
production of the soda or the capping of the bottle, but
had franchised J.F.W. to produce the soft drink bearing
its trademark. The Seven-Up Company was not in the
chain of distribution of the cap, the bottle or the capping
machine and was not a party to this lawsuit.

Alcoa knew of the hazard of consumer injury from the
time the closure system was first developed.* In 1970, an

2. Aim v. Aluminum Co. of America, 717 S.W.2d 588, 590 (Tex
1986), Appendix C to the petition for writ of certiorari at A33.
(Hereinafter, the first Texas Supreme Court decision in this case
will be referred to as ‘“sldm J.” The second Texas Supreme Court
opinion will be referred to as “Adm //.” Since all four Texas appellate
court opinions are reprinted in the appendices to the Petition for
Writ of Certiorari, references will be to the page number of the
appendices, i.e., Pet. App. at A33.)

Alm I, Pet. App. at A33

4 idm J7, Pet. App. at A3

5

Alcoa employee conducted a study of the Alcoa closure
system and concluded that “[fJaulty performance can cause
serious injury to a would-be consumer if the closure blows
off. . . .”" By 1975, there had been at least 127 other
claims and lawsuits filed against Alcoa invoiving the Alcoa
closure system’ and Aloca was already defending thirty-
four other personal injury lawsuits involving eye injuries
from blow-offs of its bottle caps.*

Alcoa’s Manager of Closure Technology acknowledged
that between 1967 and 1975 the number of lawsuits and
the frequency of the lawsuits per closure sold had both
been steadily increasing.® That official testified that there
would “certainly” have to be more than the one hundred

Technology: “Oh, we have always known that if a cap is improperly
applied that it can blow off and mjure someone.” S.F. 435. (Refer-
eaces to the reporter’s transcript of the testimony, referred to as the
statement of facts in Texas practice, will be abbreviated “S.F.”
followed by a page number.)

6. “Blow-Off Performance of the 28 TSPP Closure.” Jaye Gibbs,
Plaintiff's Exhibit No. 9.

7. Testimony of George Overturt:
Q. (Mr. Matthews): How many claims and lawsuits do you
claim to have, Mr. Overturf?
A. (Mr. Overturi): There were 100, approximately 125 through
1975.

Q: What year did that begin with?
A: From the beginning of the sale of the closures, in 1967.
Q: So from 1967 to when?
A: Through 1975.
Q: Through 1975. Mr. Overturf says—how many?
A: 127.
S.F. 261-262.

8. Alm II, Pet. Apo. at A6.

9. Alm v. Aluminum Co. of America, 753 S.W.2d 478, 482 (Tex.
App.—Houston [14th Dist.] 1988); Pet. App. at A20.

ee,

6

and twenty-seven injuries before Alcoa would treat the
problem as important enough to warrant warning con-
sumers about the risk-involved.*’ Alcoa had a substantial
financial stake in the closure system, primarily because
of the market it created for literally billions of bottle caps
to be produced out of its most significant product,
aluminum.'? Alcoa may have believed that this market
would be harmed if consumer warnings decreased accept-
ance of the closure system by consumers and bottlers.
See Appendix A at 2a.

Respondent's primary theory against Alcoa at trial and
on appeal was that Alcoa negligently failed to warn the
ultimate consumer, i.e.. the purchaser of the soft drink,
of the hazard of personal injury from bottle-cap blow-off.
There was substantial evidence in this case that Alcoa,
had it wished to do so, could have caused a warning to
consumers to be placed on the product which was in-
volved in Mr. Aim’s injury. A patent and licensing expert

10. Testimony of George Overturf:

Q (Mr. Matthews): What number of injuries would have to

occur in order for Alcoa to feel, or for you to determine, that

a warning should be given to the public?

A (Mr. Overturf): I wouldn’t want to make an estimate about

that. Really, I don't know.

Q: Would it have to be a higher number than 127 between 1965

and 1967 and 1975?

A: I would say, certainly, yes.

Q: It would have to be, say—would 500 do it?

A: I wouldn't want to make a guess like that, Mr. Matthews.
S.F. 269-270. The jury may have concluded that 127 claims and
lawsuits from blow-ofis were only the “tip of the iceberg” since Mr.
Overturf refused to produce the relevant Alcoa documents concerning;
claims and lawsuits filed against Alcoa during trial. S.F. 232-38;
464, 1422-23.

11. S.F. 1147-1148.

—— al
Se

7

testified that because of Alcoa’s control of the patents and
licenses over its closure system, Alcoa could have required
J.F.W. to put a warning on the soft drink bottle.’? At
trial, Alcoa consistently took the position that no warning
of this hazard was necessary or should be given to the
consumer. Prior to respondent’s injury in 1976, Alcoa
did not intend for consumers to be warned of this hazard
—cither by itself or by any other entity and Alcoa knew
that no such warnings were being given.’®

12. Testimony of David Groves, plaintiff's patent and licensing
warnings expert:
Q (Mr. Matthews): I want to ask you, sir, from your knowl-
edge and experience, and having examined all of these patents
and licensing arrangements, do you have an opinion as to a way
by which Alcoa could in fact control the placement of a warning
on this product?
A (Mr. Groves): Yes, sir.
Q: And what is that opinion?

A: They most certainly could have required notices to be placed
on the product.
Q: All right, sir. Explain. if you would, sir, how that could
come about.
A: Okay. It would be very simple. At the time of any of these
three licensing agreements, they simply could have had another
paragraph in there stating that the licensee shall require all of
those to whom it sells to place a notice on the container.
It wouldn't have to be that specific. It could say “On the con-
tainer,” or it could say “On any kind of product that the con-
tainer may be marketed by.”
They could require a notice and a certain minimum size, like
letters one-inch high, certain point size, anything that makes it
visible to the ultimate-end consumer.
They could require the licensee to agree to require everybody
that buys from him to put that notice on there.

S.F. 998-1000.

13. Testimony concerning Alcoa’s mental attitude concerning con-
sumer warnings about this hazard is collected in Appendix A.

8

Despite a growing number of serious injuries, Alcoa
never warned the Houston bottler, J.F.W., that the Alcoa-
made bottling machine and closure system which J.F.W.
was using could produce dangerous products. J.F.W.’s
plant superintendent testified that Alcoa never told him of
“any hazard associated with caps blowing off.”' Alcoa
asserts that it provided bottlers with wall charts, a slide
show presentation, and “various other written communi-
cations” dealing with the hazard. Petition at 4. In fact,
however, none of these materials ever reached J.F.W.”°
The Alcoa technical service representative who dealt with
J.F.W. never told J.F.W. or any other bottler in his 6
state area of the danger of blow-offs because Alcoa of-
ficials never disclosed that growing problem to their own
field representative.'” The Texas Supreme Court con-

14. Testimony of Charles Ferro, J.F.W.’s plant superintendent:
Q (Mr. Marshall): 1 think you told Mr. Connelly ... that you
were not aware in 1976 of any hazard associated with caps
blowing off: is that right?

A (Mr. Ferro): I never heard of any.
Q: Alcoa never told you of any?
A: No, sir.

S.F. 1540-1541.

15. Testimony of Charles Ferro:
Q (Mr. Marshall): In fact, Mr. Ferro, the first time you ever
saw a copy of that brochure was when J showed you one,
wasn't it?
A (Mr. Ferro): Yes, sir.

S.F. 1542.

16. Testimony of Richard Condra, Alcoa’s Technical Service
Representative:
Q (Mr. Marshall): Did you tell [the J.F.W. employee whom Mr.
Condra instructed in the operation of the Alcoa capping machine]
that Alcoa at that time was aware that people were getting
injured across the country from cap blow-offs?

9

cluded that “[t]he undisputed evidence shows that at the
time of Alm’s injury in 1976, Alcoa was acutely aware
of the danger of cap blow off, but there is no evidence
that it did anything to warn J.F.W. or the purchasers of
J.F.W.’s products about the very real nature of this
danger.”"’

The jury found that both Alcoa and the soft drink
bottler, J.F.W., were negligent. The jury also concluded
that Alcoa was grossly negligent. The jury awarded actual
damages of $305,000 and punitive damages against Alcoa
in the amount of $1,000,000. Petitioner no longer con-
tests the finding of negligence or the award of compensa-
tory damages. Only the findings of gross negligence and
resulting punitive damages findings are at issue before
this Court.

B. Procedural History

Under Texas law, a jury may award punitive damages
if a tort defendant is found guilty of gross negligence.’

A (Mr. Condra): No. I didn’t know that.
Q: You weren’t aware of that?
A: No.
Q: Alcoa never told you that?
A: No.
S.F. 1702.
Q (Mr. Matthews): If you didn’t know anything about the
number of injuries being caused across the country from the
cap blow-offs, | guess there was no way to say anything about
that, top, side or bottom, was there?
A (Mr. Condra): No. I didn’t know about it.
S.F. 1705.
17. Alm II, Pet. App. at A7.

18. Burk Royalty Co. v. Walls, 616 S.W.2d 911 (Tex. 1981).

10

The verdict form submitted to the jury in this case de-
fined gross negligence as “that entire want of care which
would raise the belief that the act or omission complained
of was the result of a conscious indifference to the rights
or welfare of the person or persons to be affected by it.””®
Despite oral and written objections to the charge at
trial, Alcoa did not make the objections that it makes
to this Court regarding the punitive damages instruc-
tion and special verdict question. Indeed, Alcoa’s trial
counsel was in effect the co-author of the very instruc-
tion to which Alcoa’s appellate counsel now objects.

After the trial, Alcoa moved for a new trial and for
judgment notwithstanding the jury’s verdict, but did not
raise any objections concerning alleged constitutional vio-
lations. The trial court set aside the findings of gross
negligence and the punitive damages award.”

Both respondent and Alcoa appealed. In this case’s first
appearance before the Texas Court of Appeals, Alcoa
attacked the negligence and actual damages findings, and
respondent sought reinstatement of the gross negligence
and punitive damages findings. The Court of Appeals
held that Alcoa did not have a duty to warn the purchaser
of the soft drink. The intermediate court remanded the
case for a new trial.**

Respondent Alm appealed the decision of the Court
of Appeals to the Texas Supreme Court. In the Texas
Supreme Court, respondent argued that the lower court
had erred in holding that Alcoa had no duty to warn

19. Charge of the Court, Question 11, Pet. App. at A79.
20. Alm IJ, Pet. App. at A42-A43.

21. Alm v. Aluminum Co. of America, 687 S.W.2d 374, 382 (Tex.
App.—Houston [14th Dist.] 1985), Pet. App. at A68-A71.

11

the ultimate consumer. Respondent also asked for a re-
instatement of the gross negligeiice and punitive damages
findings. Although supporting the decision of the Court
of Appeals on other grounds, Alcoa again failed to object
on constitutional grounds to the jury instructions or special
verdict questions regarding gross negligence and punitive
damages. Alcoa also advanced no challenge to the amount
of punitive damages.

In a seven-two decision, the Texas Supreme Court
reversed the Court of Appeals, holding that Alcoa indeed
had a duty to warn consumers of the hazard of bottle
cap blow-offs, and reinstated the jury’s findings of gross
negligence.*~ The Supreme Court remanded to the Court
of Appeals for further review on several issues, including
the sufficiency of the evidence supporting the gross negli-
gence findings.

On remand, the Court of Appeals affirmed the jury’s
verdict on ordinary negligence and acutal damages; it
reversed and remanded for new trial the jury findings of
gross negligence and punitive damages.** After the second
opinion of the Court of Appeals, both respondent and
Alcoa again sought review by the Texas Supreme Court.

In Alm II, the Texas Supreme Court rejected Alcoa’s
attacks on the ordinary negligence and actual damages
found by the jury. The Court also held that the “evi-

22. Alm I, Pet. App. at A35-A38, A42-A43.

23. The Court of Appeals held that the gross negligence findings
were supported by evidence which was “factually insufficient’. This
is a term of art in the Texas practice for one of two standards of
evidentiary review. In spite of Alcoa’s protest to the contrary, a hold-
ing of this nature can be reversed by the Texas Supreme Court if
that court holds that the jury finding is supported by all of the
evidence, which is referred to in Texas as a finding established “as
a matter of law.” Sterner v. Marathon Oil Co., 767 S.W.2d 686, 690
(Tex. 1989).

12

dence shows conclusively that Alcoa was consciously in-
different about the possibility of bottle cap blow-off,”
and affirmed the gross negligence and punitive damages
award.-' The Texas Supreme Court concluded that Alcoa
could not discharge its duty to warn the ultimate con-
sumer through conduct directed toward Seven-Up.*” Since
Alcoa had warned neither J.F.W. nor consumers, the
Texas Supreme Court concluded that “there is no evidence
in the record to negate the jury’s finding of gross negli-
gence.”~” In the Supreme Court, Alcoa did not raise, and
the court thus did not address, any objection regarding
the size of the punitive damage award. Justice Gonzalez,
a prolific writer of exceptionally strong-worded and color-
ful dissents,~‘ dissented in Alm IJ as he had in Alm I.

24. Alm II, Pet. App. at A6.

25. Petitioner suggests that the Texas Supreme Court’s rulings
concerning the Seven-Up evidence were “unforeseeable” and “sur-
prised everyone.” Petition at 15 & 6, n.3. In fact, the court relied
upon § 388 of the Restatement (Second) of Torts (1965), long an
established part of Texas tort law. Pet. App. at A5. Since Seven-Up
was not in the chain of distribution of the cap, the bottle or the
capping machine, the court held that it was not an appropriate inter-
mediary for Alcoa to warn in order to satisfy its duty to warn
consumers. This is a particularly reasonable conclusion in the instant
case, where the evidence showed that Alcoa could have caused a
warning to be placed on the product had it attempted to do so with
its customers who were in the chain of distribution, but had no such
control over the Seven-Up Company. Sce note 12.

26. Id., Pet. App. at A7.

27. Alcoa relies upon Justice Gonzalez’s dissent in a number of
places. In order to put the matter in an appropriate context, it is
only fair to observe that Justice Gonzalez expresses himself in
flamboyant terms. See, inter alia, the following Gonzalez dissents
from the last two terms: -lmarillo Oil Co. v. Energy-Agri Products,
Inc., 33 Tex. Sup. Ct. J. 623, 629 (June 27, 1990) (Majority’s
opinion will create “chaos.”’); Dow Chem. Co. v. Aljaro, 786 S.W.2d
674, 690 (Tex. 1990) (Opinion makes Texas “an irresistible forum
for all mass disaster lawsuits.”); “lorez v. Fourth Ct. of Appeals
777 S.W.2d 38, 44 (Tex. 1989) (Opinion requires litigants and

13

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

(1) The first question raised by the petition is whether
the jury instruction regarding punitive damages in this
case was unconstitutional because it did not establish a
sufficiently specific standard regarding liability for, or the
amount of, punitive damages that might be awarded.
Petitioner urges that its constitutional argument is related
to one of the issues now before the Court in Pacific
Mutual Life Insurance Co. v. Haslip, 553 So.2d 537
(Ala. 1989), cert. granted, 110 S.Ct. 1780 (1990) (No.
89-1279). Although petitioner presents three constitution-
al arguments, this is the only one which supports peti-
tioner’s claim that this case should be held pending this
Court’s determination of Haslip. The fatal defect in this
contention is that petition never presented this con-
Sstitutional claim to the Texas courts. Under 28 U.S.C.
§ 1257, this Court has consistently required that a peti-
tioner’s claims be presented to the courts below. Bankers
Life & Casualty Co. v. Crenshaw, 108 S.Ct. 1645, 1651
(1988); Cardinale v. Louisiana, 394 U.S. 437, 438-39
(1969).

When the trial judge in this case indicated his intent
to give the instruction to the jury” regarding punitive

judges “to accomplish the impossible.”’); Southern States Transp.
Inc. v. Texas, 774 S.W.2d 639, 643 (Tex. 1989) (“[S]lubterfuge or

legal mumbo jumbo. . . .”); Jilani v. Jilani, 767 S.W.2d 671, 679
(Tex. 1988) (Opinion makes judicial system “a forum for a_ spec-
tacle... .”); Lujan v. Houston Gen. Ins. Co., 756 SW.2d 295, 299

(Tex. 1988) (Opinion “has great potential! for mischief.”); Vail v.
Texas Farm Bureau Mut. Ins. Co., 754 S.W.2d 129, 138 (Tex. 1988)
(“[T]he majority has had to resort to a tortured reading. . . .”);
Lundsford v. Morris, 746 S.W.2d 471, 474 (Tex. 1988) (‘[P]re-
posterous. .. .’’).

28. The jury instructions, as is the normal Texas practice, were
contained in part in the Questions, or special verdict forms, submitted
to the jury. The gross negligence and punitive damages issues were
submitted as Questions 11 and 12. Pet. App. A79-A8O.

14

damages, Alcoa’s trial counsel made non-constitutional
objections to which the trial court acceded.*” Alcoa’s trial
counsel then did not object further to the final wording
of the jury charge. Under Texas procedure, the lack of
a contemporaneous objection is an absolute bar to any
subsequent challenge to a jury instruction. Tex. R. Civ.
P. Ann. r. 272, 274 (Vernon Supp. 1990). Rule 274
of the Texas Rules of Civil Procedure provides explicitly:

A party objecting to a charge must point out distinct-
ly the objectionable matter and the grounds of the
objection. Any complaint as to a question, defini-
tion, or instruction, on account of any defect, omis-
sion, or fault in pleading, is waived unless specifically
included in the objections.
Texas courts have consistently and strictly enforced this
contemporaneous objection requirement.”” This Court has
held that failure to comply with a state procedural rule
will result in the waiver of federal questions. Williams v.
Georgia, 349 U.S. 375, 382-83 & n.6 (1955).

29. Petitioner, in commenting on the first draft of the trial court’s
proposed charge, asked that the instruction in Question 11 utilize
the language from Burk Royalty v. Walls, 616 S.W.2d 911, 921
(Tex. 1981), which refers to conscious indifference “to the rights or
welfare of the person or persons to be affected by it.” Defendant’s
Objections to the Charge have been attached as Appendix B at 3a.
The trial court then reworded the instruction to read exactly as peti-
tioner had requested. See Petition at 4, n.2. The objections refer to
Questions 12 and 13 but the trial court re-numbered them to Ques-
tions 11 and 12.

30. Castleberry v. Branscum, 721 SW.2d 270, 276 (Tex. 1986)
(“The purpose of Rule 274 is to afford trial courts an opportunity
to correct errors in the charge, by requiring objections both to cleariy
designate the error and to explain the grounds for complaint. An
objection which does not meet both requirements . . . does not
preserve error on appeal.” (citations omitted)); Missouri Pacific
R.R. v. Cross, 50! S.W.2d 858, 873 (Tex. 1973) (“One of the main
purposes of Rule 272 is to enable the trial court to submit a proper
charge to the jury and to have the prior benefit of counsel's objec-
tions so as to correct any errors that might otherwise occur.”).

15

During the nine years following the jury verdict, peti-
tioner filed in the Texas appellate courts a total of 18
briefs totalling 436 pages. Not once in those briefs did
petitioner assert that the jury instruction violated the fed-
eral constitution. In fact, in a 1987 brief filed by Alcoa,
petitioner commended the instruction.*' At no time were
the Texas courts asked to, or afforded an opportunity to,
consider any constitutional objection with regard to the
instruction at issue. The courts below were never called
upon to, and never did, decide any question related to
Haslip.

The lack of a contemporaneous objection is particularly
significant because, had an objection been made, the jury
instruction might have been framed differently. Texas re-
quires reasonable proportionality between compensatory
and punitive damages and has established factors
for evaluating the reasonableness of punitive damage
awards.*~ Petitioner could have requested a more specific
jury instruction had it chosen to do so. Having deliberately

31. “The charge to the jury on gross negligence is the very one
approved in the Burk [Royalty Co. v. Walls, 616 S.W.2d 911 (Tex.
1981)1 case.” Reply Brief to Application for Writ of Error, 39, No.
C-4093.

32. Texas courts have long held that the amount of punitive dam-
ages must be reasonably related to the amount of compensatory dam-
ages, a standard which prevents the award of excessive punitive
damages. Tynberg v. Cohen, 76 Tex. 409, 13 S.W. 315, 316-17 (1890)
Additionally, the Texas courts have established six factors for evalu-
ating punitive awards, which further protect defendants from excessive
punitive damages. llamo Nat. Bank v. Kraus, 616 S.W.2d 908, 910
(Tex. 1981). Both the trial courts and the courts of appeals have
supervisory jurisdiction over the amounts of Texas punitive damage
awards. See Ford Motor Co. v. Durrill, 714 S.W.2d 329, 346-47
(Tex. App.—1986), vacated upon settlement, 754 SW.2d 646 (Tex.
1988). (The amount of punitive damages was reduced by the trial
court and court of appeals to only 10° of the jury award.)

16

chosen not_to request that the jury be given a more
specific instruction with regard to punitive damages, peti-
tioner Cannot now complain that such an instruction was
not given.

,

The other questions before the Court in Haslip are
not presented by the circumstances of this case. Petitioner
in Haslip apparently raised its constitutional objections
at every point at which the Alabama legal system requires
an objection be made.*” In this case, the petitioner has
wholly failed to raise any constitutional objection to the
punitive damage instruction before the Texas courts at
any point. Arguably, in Haslip the award of punitive
damages may be as much as 250 times the award of
actual damages sustained by the plaintiff in that case.*’
In the instant case, the punitive award was only three
times the compensatory damages.*’ Moreover, petitioner
in this case does not contend that either the punitive
award or the underlying compensatory award were exces-
sive. Finally, Petitioner does not contend that any of the
other issues in Haslip—such as whether a punitive dam-
age award can be based on respondeat superior—are in
any way presented by this case.

Petitioner also suggests that this case would be an
appropriate vehicle for resolving constitutional questions
33. While the briefs in //asiip are not particularly clear on this
point, the respondent in //aslip does not seem to argue that the
petitioner failed to satisfy state law in the presentation of the
constitutional questions.

34. See Brief of petitioner at 10-11, Pacific Mutual Life Ins. Co.
v. Haslip (No. 89-1279). Petitioner argues that the punitive award
of $1,000,000 is excessive in light of a $3,923.24 actual damages
award.

35. The compensatory damages awarded were $305,000. The puni-
tive damages awarded were $1 million.

17

regarding punitive damages because “there has been no
legislative change in the Texas rules governing imposition
of and computation of punitive damages.” Petition at 10.
That is incorrect. In 1987, as part of the general reform
of state tort law, Texas adopted specific statutory provi-
sions regulating punitive damages. See $ 41.001, et seq..
Tex. Civ. Prac. & Rem. Code Ann. (Vernon Supp. 1990).
parts of which are reprinted in Appendix C at 6a.
Under the new Texas statute, a punitive damage award
may not exceed $200,000, or 4 times the compensatory
award, whichever is greater. Petitioner does not suggest
that there is any constitutional defect in the present Texas
statutory scheme. Although the Texas law did not literally
apply to the instant case, because it was tried prior to
1987, the punitive award falls within the limits now set
by Texas law.

In short, no issue concerning the jury instructions on
gross negligence or punitive damages has been properly
raised by the petitioner in this case. This is the only issue
under review in Haslip which is common to this case.
Consequently, this case should not be held pending dis-
position of Haslip and the issue is not worthy of plenary
consideration.

(2) The second and third questions raised by the peti-
tion concern an appellate ruling, rather than trial court jury
instructions. The jury was instructed that it could award
punitive damages if it concluded that petitioner had been
“grossly negligent.” Petitioner does not challenge the jury
verdict as such, but questions only the legal theory under
which that verdict was upheld by the Texas Supreme
Court.

18

Petitioner grounds its constitutional arguments on an
assertion that, in sustaining the jury verdict, the Texas
Supreme Court made a drastic, sudden, and totally un-
foreseeable change in state law. Insofar as this was a
change in the law that prevailed at the time of the tort
in 1976, petitioner argues, it violated the Ex Post Facto
Clause."* Insofar as this was an alteration of prevailing
law at the time of trial in 1981. petitioner contends, it
violated procedural due process. Neither of these consti-
tutional questions is presented in this case. however, be-
cause the suggested transformation in Texas law alleged
by petitioner simply did not occur.*?

The standard for an award of punitive damages in
Texas remains today what it has always been—gross
negligence. The substantive definition of gross negligence

36. Petitioner's argument ignores the consensus that ex post facto
principles only have application in cases which are criminal or involve
civil penalties which “were really criminal penalties for which civil
form was a disguise.” Harisiades v. Shaughnessy, 342 U.S. 380, 598
(1952). While some of this Court’s earliest cases do not clearly limit
the sweep of the ex post facto principle, “[dJuring the early years
of the 20th century, the uncertainty over the scope of the ex post
facto clauses which marked the early cases was replaced by a con-
sensus in favor of the narrow view that only criminal punishment is
prohibited by the ban.” L. Tribe, .lmerican Constitutional Law 635
(2nd ed. 1988).

37. Neither the due process nor the ex post facto arguments
petitioner makes to this Court were made to the Texas courts.
Petitioner claims to have raised these questions in its Brief on
Remand. Petition at 6, n.3. In that document, however, petitioner
took the position that its constitutional rights were violated because
the Texas Supreme Court had imposed on it a “new legal duty”
to warn the consumer. In this Court, petitioner now claims for the
first time that the Texas Supreme Court changed the definition of
gross negligence. These are not the same constitutional questions.
This Court should decline to consider questions which were not clearly
presented to the courts below. See Webh v. Webb, 451 US. 493.
498-502 (1981) (Simple invocation of words “full faith and credit”
did not properly raise federal Full Faith and Credit Clause issue.).

19

remains just as it was framed in the jury instruction given
in this case—whether the plaintiff proved:

that entire want of care which would raise the belief

that the act or omission complained of was a result

of a conscious indifference to the rights or welfare

of the person or persons to be affected by it.**
Nothing in Alm J] changed this standard. In fact, the
Texas Supreme Court observed that “[g]ross negligence,
to be the ground for exemplary damages, should be that
entire want of care which would raise the belief that the
act or omission complained of was the result of conscious
indifference to the right or welfare of the person or
persons to be affected by it.” Pet. App. at A6 (citing
Burk Royalty, 616 S.W.2d at 920).

Petitioner does not deny that “conscious indifference”
remains the touchstone of a claim for punitive damages
in Texas. Nor does petitioner present any constitutional
attack on the sufficiency of the evidence on which the
jury found conscious indifference. The Texas Supreme
Court concluded that “the evidence shows conclusively
that Alcoa was consciously indifferent about the possi-
bility of bottle cap blow-off.” Alm //, Pet. App. at A6.

In the face of a pattern of blow-off injuries, petitioner
certainly had good reason to understand that its action
was tortious and that it was imperiling the safety of con-
sumers. Petitioner not only made a deliberate decision
not to warn consumers, but it also failed to warn the
bottler—J.F.W.—of the increasing number of serious
bottle cap related injuries. Petitioner's argument that it
had no warning that it could be deemed grossly negligent
simply has no support in the record.

38. Question 11, Pet. App. at A79 (emphasis added).

20

Petitioner asserts that the theory on which liability was
based was entirely different from “the standard under
which the case was tried and appealed.” Petition at 12.
Petitioner insists that the decision of the Texas Supreme
Court in this case departed from prior state decisions
which had held that a claim of gross negligence must be
assessed in light of “all the surrounding circumstances.”
Petition at 11, citing Burk Rovalty Co. v. Walls, 616
S.W.2d 911, 921 Tex. 1981). The Texas Supreme Court
opinion, however. did not purport to establish any other
legal standard; indeed. the opinion below expressly cited
and relied on Burk Royalty. Petitioner argues that it
would have prevailed under a proper application of Burk
Royalty, and that there must thus have been some un-
spoken change in the underlying state legal standard.
However, a majority of the Texas Supreme Court concluded
that its decision in this case was entirely consistent with
Burk Royalty.

Seizing on the fact that Burk Royalty based the deter-
mination regarding punitive damages on “all of the sur-
rounding circumstances,” petitioner asserts that Alcoa’s
communications with Seven-Up should have barred, or
weighed heavily against, punitive damages.** Petitioner

39. Petitioner asserts that the case was “tried to the jury” under
a standard requiring an evaluation of “all the surrounding circum-
stances.” Petition, 11, see also, id. at 12 (“the standard under which
the case was tried.’). That is incorrect: the jury instruction, to
which petitioner did not obiect on this basis. did not contain the
phrase “all of the surrounding circumstances.” Petitioner asserts that
the existence of this standard was “undisputed” in 1976, when the
tort at issue occurred. Petition at 15. That too is incorrect. Burk
Royalty, upon which petitioner relies and which established that
standard, was not decided until 1951. shortly before this case was
tried in August and September, 1981.

b]

21

makes this argument even though it knew that Seven-Up
itself issued no warnings to consumers. Under these cir-
cumstances, the Texas Supreme Court acted neither un-
reasonably or unforeseeably when it concluded that “the
evidence shows conclusively that Alcoa was consciously
indifferent about the possibility of bottle cap blow-off.”
Pet. App. at A6. Petitioner’s constitutional claim is at
bottom simply a fact-bound contention that the Texas
Supreme Court incorrectly evaluated petitioner’s exculpa-
tory evidence.

Petitioner does not challenge the constitutionality of
the present Texas standard of gross negligence. Neither
does petitioner challenge the constitutionality of the stand-
ard that prevailed under Texas law in 1981. Petitioner’s
constitutional claim rests solely on its argument that the
1981 and 1990 standards, although not inherently defec-
tive, differ significantly. In reality, Texas law has not
changed materially, if at all; petitioner is simply ag-
grieved because it disagrees with the manner in which
the Texas Supreme Court applied established legal prin-
ciples to the facts of this case.

40. Even assuming petitioner is correct that the Texas Supreme
Court changed the standard for determining gross negligence in 1990,
no due process violation has been shown. The most that petitioner
can claim is that it lost a potential defense—the defense that it
discharged its duty to warn consumers because it claimed to have
warned Seven-Up. However. no party has a vested right to a common
law defense. Duke Power Co. v. Carolina Envtl. Study Group, 438
U.S. 59, 88 n.32 (1978). The lower courts which have addressed
similar due process challenges have been sensitive to the “notion that
tort law ... belongs almost exclusively to the states,” and have up-
held state court decisions altering state tort law. /n re Asbestos Litig.,
829 F.2d 1233, 1243, 1244 (3rd Cir. 1987) (Elimination of “‘state
of the art” asbestos defense did not offend due process.): Karl v.
Bryant Air Conditioning Co., 705 F.2d 164, 166 (6th Cir. 1983)
(Retroactive application of comparative negligence statute did not
violate due process.).

22

The constitutional principle which petitioner urges this
Court to adopt is that any new state court decision regard-
ing tort law, or the law in any other civil case, is pre-
sumptively a violation of the Due Process Clause. The
doctrine proposed by petitioner, at least with regard to
procedural due process, would extend to cases involving
no punitive damages, and, with regard to the Ex Post
Facto Clause, to any case in which the application of
State law to a particular set of facts was reasonably debat-
able. Were this Court to adopt such a rule, it would raise
constitutional issues regarding virtually every civil case
in every state court in the nation. Every unsuccessful civil
litigant with a colorable claim of a shift in state law
would have a plausible basis for seeking review in this
Court, and that invitation to further litigation would swell
substantially the number of certiorari petitions filed each
term. Neither this Court nor any lower court has ever
contemplated adoption of such a constitutional doctrine.
and the decision of the Texas courts in this case do not
conflict with the decision of any state or federal court.

CONCLUSION

This case is based on an incident and serious injury
which occurred fourteen years ago. The litigation has
been on appeal for almost nine years. At the eleventh
hour, petitioner asserts that this Court should hold the
case for still another year, pending the decision in Haslip.
Petitioner's argument based on Haslip was never presented
to the trial court, the Texas Court of Appeals or the Texas
Supreme Court. This case should be brought to a con-
clusion.

23

The petition for writ of certiorari should be denied.

August 20, 1990

Respectfully submitted,

W. DouGLaAs MATTHEWS
Counsel of Record

TIMOTHY F. LEE

SCHMIDT & MATTHEWS, P.C.
2140 First Interstate Bank Plaza
1000 Louisiana

Houston, Texas 77002

(713) 651-1133

Counsel for Respondent
James E. Alm

la
APPENDIX A

Testimony of Petitioner’s Witnesses
Concerning Warnings

Testimony of George Overturf, Alcoa’s Manager of
Closure Technology, corporate representative at trial and
expert witness:

Q.

2 > OD

S.F.

Prior to June 3, 1976, Alcoa didn’t require that any-
one who operated under these patents put a warning
on the product; is that correct?

That is correct.

Prior to June 3, 1976, Alcoa didn’t recommend a
warning to anyone; is that correct?

That is correct.

264.

We already have gone over some of these details, but
Alcoa didn’t require or recommend a warning be
placed on products using this closure?

No, sir.

. 298.

* * *

Are you saying that Alcoa does not require or insist
that a warnings be placed on this cap or on this
bottle?

We do not. No.

458-59.

ok * K

Testimony of Jaye Gibbs, former Alcoa employee and
expert witness at trial:

Q.

Prior to the time of this occurrence, did Alcoa re-
commend to bottlers that they place a warning either

OPrOoe

OP

2a

on the cap or on the bottle concerning this hazard,
this danger to the public?

Not that I am aware of.

Never told them they ought to do that?

Not that I am aware of. ’

Did they make any such recommendation to manu-
facturers of bottles that they knew would be used
with the Alcoa aluminum cap?

I don’t believe so.

840-41.

I suppose when you give warnings, Mr. Gibbs,
whether they are printed on the bottle or on the cap
or they are put out in the newspaper or over the TV
or however they are put out, that has the potential
also of reducing the sales of the product, doesn’t it?
It has that potential, I suppose.

Yes. Because people sometimes get a little scared if
they read about a product that might have some
danger or some hazard?

Yes, they could.

841.

* *K *

Yes, sir. | know you don't like to respond, but what
i am trying to find out is at what point the problem
becomes severe enough that Alcoa gets concerned
enough to let the public know about it?

And I said I don't really know.

848.

I see. Considering this danger and hazard to con-
sumers of soft drink bottles, soft drinks with this type
of cap, this pilfer-proof aluminum cap, Mr. Gibbs,
did Alcoa come up with any type of warning to warn
people like Mr. Alm about this problem?

No, they didn’t.

955.

3a
APPENDIX B

Petitioner’s Objections to the Gross
Negligence and Punitive
Damages Questions
No. 1,101,479

IN THE DISTRICT COURT OF
HARRIS COUNTY, TEXAS
80th JUDICIAL DISTRICT

JAMES E. ALM

v.
OWENS-ILLINOIS, INC., ET AL

OBJECTIONS TO THE COURT’S CHARGE
To The Honorable Judge of Said Court:

Now COMES, ALUMINUM COMPANY OF AMERICA
(hereinafter “Alcoa”), and makes its objections to the
Court’s Charge at the conclusion of all the evidence and
prior to submission of this case to the jury, and recites
the basis of its objections as follows:

X. Questions Nos. 12 and 13.

1. There are no pleadings to support the submission
of these issues.

2. There is no evidence, or in the alternative, the
evidence is legally insufficient, or in the alternative, it is
against the great weight and preponderance of the evi-
dence to support the submission of these issues.

4a

3. Question No. 12 contains, and Question No. 13
relies upon, an incorrect definition of “grossly negligent”
under the standards set out in the Burk Royalty case,
which describes the test as conscious indifference “to the
right or welfare of the person or persons to be affected
by it.”

WHEREFORE, PREMISES CONSIDERED, Alcoa
submits these objections to the Court’s Charge and prays
that its objections be sustained and that the charge be
revised in accordance with these objections and in accord-
ance with the issues submitted in substantially correct
form and filed with the Clerk of the Court, and for such
other relief to which it may be justly entitled.

Respectfully submitted,

BUTLER, BINION, RICE,
COOK & KNAPP

By: /s/ MICHAEL CONNELLY
Michael Connelly
TBC No. 04685000
Daniel Lichty
TBC No. 12344700
110 Esperson Building

Houston, Texas 77002
(713) 237-3209

Attorneys for Defendant
Aluminum Company of America

Sa

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

This is to certfy that a true and correct copy of the
above and foregoing Objections to the Court’s Charge
has been hand delivered to all counsel of record on this
the 17th day of September, 1981.

/s/ MICHAEL CONNELLY
Michael Connelly

6a
APPENDIX C

Sections 41.001 and 41.007, Texas Civil
Practice and Remedies Code
(Vernon Supp. 1990)

§ 41.001 Definitions

In this chapter:

(1) “Claimant” means a party, including a plaintiff,
counterclaimant. cross-claimant, or third party plaintiff,
seeking recovery of exemplary damages. In a cause of
action in which a party seeks recovery of exemplary
damages related to injury to another person, damage to
the property of another person, death of another person,
or other harm to another person, “claimant” includes both
that other person and the party seeking recovery of exemp-
lary damages.

(2) “Defendant” means a party, including a counter-
defendant, cross-defendant, or third-party defendant, from
whom a Claimant seeks relief with respect to exemplary
damages.

(3) “Exemplary damages” means any damages
awarded as an example to others, as a penalty, or by way
of punishment. “Exemplary damages” includes punitive
damages.

(4) “Fraud” means fraud other than constructive fraud.

(5) “Gross negligence” means more than momentary
thoughtlessness, inadvertence, or error of judgment. It
means such an entire want of care as to establish that the
act or omission was the result of actual conscious indiffer-
ence to the rights, safety, or welfare of the person affected.

7a

(6) “Malice” means:

(A) conduct that is specifically intended by the
defendant to cause substantial injury to the claimant; or

(B) an act that is carried out by the defendant
with a flagrant disregard for the rights of others and with
actual awareness on the part of the defendant that the act
will, in reasonable probability, result in human death,
great bodily harm, or property damage.

Added by Acts 1987, 70th Leg., Ist C.S., ch.2, § 2.12,
eff. Sept. 2, 1987.

§ 41.007. Limitation on Amount of Recovery

Except as provided by Section 41.008, exemplary
damages awarded against a defendant may not exceed
four times the amount of actual damages of $200,000,
whichever is greater.

Added by Acts 1987, 70th Leg., Ist C.S., ch.2, § 2.12,
eff. Sept. 2, 1987.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385020_1796%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
