# Opposition Brief — Spillone v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385020_1654%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1990
- **Citation:** 498 U.S. 878

## Text

ow ee OE ew

i Supreme Court, U.S.

¥%,

-e G&SGT_MRE TD
a Hy, A 1} E LA

No. 89-1924 JUL 20 98

ar PH F. SPANIOL, JR.

JO 5cPr

Iu the Supreme Court of the United States =

OCTOBER TERM, 1990

VITO SPILLONE, PETITIONER

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

KENNETH W. STARR
Solicitor General

EDWARD S.G. DENNIS, JR.
Assistant Attorney General

LOUIS M. FISCHER
Attorney
Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 205380
(202) 514-2217

BEST AVAILABLE COPY

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the government presented perjured
testimony to the grand jury, and if so, whether peti-
tioner’s indictment should therefore have been dis-
missed.

2. Whether the electronic surveillance orders in
this case met the particularity requirements of 18
U.S.C. 2518(4) (ce) and the Fourth Amendment.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
een WOIOW........................... ih ETO SAE ena 1
a Anas Se EL ee 1
No caicvissnkeatinsacvenvenosesscdansesianes 2
ss anbsbepuchewhnonensnebandannsechebassnes 6
Neen ee ee ne a wiicnnesinenecbdauessvnetsacceces 10
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases:
Bank of Nova Scotia v. United States, 487 U.S. 250

Teen cesessseeunenenectitliceues 5

Mesarosh Vv. United States, 352 U.S. 1 (1956) _.... 7 9

Napue V. Illinois, 360 U.S. 264 (1959) -...00.000000.... 8

United States v. Carneiro, 861 F.2d 1171 (9th Cir.

ee ee 2) EAE Fs hee ARID 10

United States v. Cohen, 530 F.2d 43 (5th Cir.),

cert. denied, 429 U.S. 855 (1976) ....0000...00000..... 10
United States v. Giacalone, 853 F.2d 470 (6th

Cir.), cert. denied, 488 U.S. 910 (1988) .............. 10
United States vy. Licavoli, 604 F.2d 613 (9th Cir.

1979), cert. denied, 446 U.S. 935 (1980) ............ 10
United States v. Mechanik, 475 U.S. 66 (1986)...... 5, 8
United States v. Smith, 726 F.2d 852 (1st Cir.),

cert. denied, 469 U.S. 841 (1984) —.....0000000.... 10
United States ¥. Turner, 528 F.2d 143 (9th Cir.),

cert. denied, 423 U.S. 996 (1975) _......00.00.. 10

Statutes:

Hobbs Act, 18 U.S.C. 1951 et seq.:
so sas punsvnablecsdscinnisesne 9
ioe cdatatcnussoursapsndemlecacssarucas 9

Racketeer Influenced and Corrupt Organizations

Act, 18 U.S.C. 1961 et seq.:
Nee esc nuda teasemenisnorwccaces idols 9
18 U.S.C. 1962 (c) ................... reteset akcakekoken 2
I TN i cnscacebsecnusserusnnsandvanceoonsusan 2
ee davoosaseunnsincamedels 9

Statutes—Continued:

iy MII aster steers seniernnicc aun iseainkessavecneninbwvnshaaens
18 U.S.C. App. 1202 (a) (1) (1982) ............................
I ears rei ses ciarecnecncosiniiancioanssNewnniaensiekeaibeiisined
Re EE OD once nresesancceinsinetnbsosintasennrnnwmriecennen

Iu the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1990

No. 89-1924
VITO SPILLONE, PETITIONER
Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App. la-
30a) is reported at 879 F.2d 514.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered
on June 15, 1989. A petition for rehearing was de-
nied on February 12, 1990 (Pet. App. 3la). On
May 14, 1990, Justice O’Connor extended the time
for filing a petition for a writ of certiorari to and
including June 12, 1990 (Pet. App. 32a), and the
petition was filed on June 11, 1990. The jurisdiction
of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

(1)

2

STATEMENT

After a jury trial in the United States District
Court for the Central District of California, peti-
tioner was convicted of conducting the affairs of an
enterprise through a pattern of racketeering activity
(18 U.S.C. 1962(¢c)), and conspiring to commit that
offense (18 U.S.C. 1962(d)). He also was convicted
on two counts of making extortionate extensions of
eredit (18 U.S.C. 892) and on one count of using
extortionate means to collect extensions of credit (18
U.S.C. 894)... He was sentenced to ten years’ im-
prisonment and a $200,000 fine. The court of ap-
peals affirmed. Pet. App. la-30a.

1. The evidence at trial, the sufficiency of which
is not in dispute, showed that petitioner ran a loan-
sharking operation in the Los Angeles area between
October 1980 and December 1981. Petitioner headed
the organization; co-defendants Frank Citro and
Frank Serrao and co-conspirator Raymond Cohen
made the actual loans to the organization’s victims;

1 Prior to trial, the government dismissed a charge of pos-
sessing firearms after a previous felony conviction (18 U.S.C.
App. 1202(a)(1) (1982)). Petitioner stood trial with co-
defendants John Clyde Abel, Frank Citro, Frank Serrao, John
Barro, Joseph Bolognese, and John Meccia. Barro, Bolognese,
and Meccia were acquitted on all charges against them, while
Abel, Citro, and Serrao were convicted on the RICO substan-
tive count but were acquitted on the RICO conspiracy count.
Abel, Citro, and Serrao also were convicted on various charges
of making extortionate extentions of credit and of using extor-
tionate means to collect extensions of credit. The court of
appeals affirmed Abel’s and Citro’s convictions in the same
opinion that disposed of petitioner’s claims. Serrao’s appeal
was delayed because of his first attorney’s failure to file a
brief. That appeal has been argued but is still pending. Gov’t
C.A. Br. 2-3 n.1.

3

and Serrao, co-defendant John Clyde Abel, and co-
conspirators Kurt Ehle and Thomas Szamocki func-
tioned as the organization’s enforcers. Operating
principally out of the California Bell Club, a licensed
poker club in Bell, California, the organization made
loans that bore interest at rates of five to ten percent
per week. The loans were made with the under-
standing that a borrower’s failure to make timely
payments would result in physical reprisal. Abel,
Serrao, Ehle, and Szamocki used violence or threats
of violence to persuade various borrowers to repay
their loans. Citro, Cohen, Abel, and Serrao collected
the loan payments and turned their collections over
to petitioner. He in turn gave them a percentage of
the amounts they had collected. Pet. App. 3a; Gov’t
C.A. Br. 3-4.

2.a. Prior to trial, petitioner moved to suppress
the fruits of electronic surveillance. He contended
that the district court orders authorizing the surveil-
lance were deficient under 18 U.S.C. 2518(4) (c) be-
cause they did not sufficiently particularize the of-
fenses for which electronic surveillance was author-
ized.” The district court rejected that claim. Al-
though one paragraph of the surveillance orders re-
ferred merely to offenses ‘enumerated in” 18 U.S.C.
2516, the district court noted that other paragraphs
identified specific offenses subject to the surveillance
—including extortion, interstate travel, and murder.
Gov’t C.A. Br. 6-7.

b. Both before and after trial, petitioner moved to
dismiss the indictment on the ground that the gov-

2 Section 2518(4) (c) provides that every electronic surveil-
lance order “shall specify * * * a particular description of the
type of communication sought to be intercepted, and a state-
ment of the particular offense to which it relates[.]”

4

ernment had presented perjured testimony to the
grand jury. In particular, petitioner claimed that
grand jury witness Johnny Angelo had testified
falsely about when he had become an informant and
about any consideration he had received for his testi-
mony: that the government had withheld from the
grand jury information that undercut Angelo’s credi-
bility, particularly his criminal record; and _ that
FBI Agent William Wiechert had compounded An-
gelo’s perjury by repeating Angelo’s false statement
about the date he had become an informant. Angelo
did not testify at trial, but petitioner secured an affi-
davit from him after trial. In that affidavit, Angelo
claimed that he had been told by FBI agents to lie
to the grand jury. Angelo later recanted that state-
ment and testified at two post-trial hearings. Al-
though he took issue with certain statements attrib-
uted to him in the government’s affidavit for a wire-
tap order, Angelo said that he had testified truth-
fully before the grand jury. After considering all
of petitioner’s submissions, the district court denied
his motion to dismiss the indictment. Pet. App. 15a-
17a.

Petitioner also contended that government witness
Irving Minster had perjured himself before the
grand jury by denying that he was a loanshark at
the California Bell Club. Petitioner further asserted
that FBI Agent Wiechert and the prosecutor had
known from a prior investigation that Minster’s tes-
timony was perjurious, but had failed to correct it.
At trial, Minster repeated his denial of loansharking
activities. Thereafter, Agent Wiechert testified about
certain tape-recorded conversations with Minster
suggesting that Minster was in fact a loanshark.
The district court denied petitioner's mid-trial motion
to dismiss the indictment on account of Minster’s

5

perjury. The court explained that although the gov-
ernment had only belatedly revealed to defense coun-
sel the evidence impeaching Minster as a witness,
that evidence was nonetheless available in time for
use at trial. The court also found that the govern-
ment’s trial attorneys had not been aware of the evi-
dence, largely because of Wiechert’s malfeasance,
and thus dismissal would be inappropriate. The
court denied petitioner’s post-trial motion to dismiss
the indictment on the same grounds, finding in addi-
tion that there was sufficient evidence to support the
indictment without Minster’s testimony. Pet. App.
19a-20a.

3. The court of appeals affirmed petitioner’s con-
victions. Pet. App. la-30a. It unanimously rejected
his Title III claim, concluding that the wiretap
orders, when construed as a whole, sufficiently par-
ticularized the offenses that were the authorized sub-
jects of the surveillance orders. /d. at 4a-6a. By a
divided vote, the court also rejected petitioner’s pros-
ecutorial misconduct claims. Relying on United
States v. Mechanik, 475 U.S. 66 (1986), the court
explained that, in view of petitioner’s conviction at
trial, any error in presenting Angelo’s testimony to
the grand jury was harmless. Pet. App. 17a. The
court alternatively found, under Bank of Nova
Scotia v. United States, 487 U.S. 250, 256 (1988),
that any errors involving Angelo’s testimony did not
substantially influence the grand jury’s decision to
indict petitioner. The court reached the same con-
clusion about Minster’s grand jury testimony, find-
ing that the prosecutors had not known of Minster’s
perjury and that there was ample other evidence to
support the indictment. Pet. App. 19a-20a. Finally,
the court held that the cumulative effect of the al-

6

leged misconduct did not warrant dismissal of peti-
tioner’s indictment. Jd. at 20a-21a.”

Judge Pregerson concurred in part and disse1ted
in part. Pet. App. 27a-30a. In his view, Angelo’s
false testimony about the date he had become an in-
formant, coupled with the government’s failure to
advise the grand jury that it had terminated Angelo
as an informant, warranted dismissal of the indict-
ment. Id. at 27a-29a. Judge Pregerson also stated
that the cumulative effect of the asserted misconduct
required dismissal of the indictment. Jd. at 29a-30a.

ARGUMENT

1. Petitioner contends (Pet. 9-13) that his indict-
ment should have been dismissed because of alleged
acts of misconduct before the grand jury. In par-
ticular, petitioner contends that the government
failed to inform the grand jurors that Angelo, a wit-
ness before the grand jury, had nine felony con-
victions and had been discontinued as an informant.
In addition, petitioner asserts that the prosecutor
knowingly condoned perjurious grand jury testimony
by Angelo and Minster. The courts below correctly
rejected those claims.

In the first place, petitioner’s assertions are fac-
tually inaccurate. While Angelo had several felony
convictions, the government did not hide that fact
fr.m the grand jury. To the contrary, Angelo ac-
knowledged at the outset of his first grand jury ap-

3 The court of appeals also rejected challenges to the jury
instructions, the admission of certain evidence, and the trial
court’s decision to interrupt and restrict counsel’s closing
argument. Pet. App. 6a-10a, 21a-26a. The petition does not
present those contentions.

7

pearance that he was then serving sentences on two
state convictions. Gov’t C.A. Br. 30. Similarly, at
his second appearance, Angelo informed the grand
jury that he had several convictions and had just
been released from prison the previous week. Jbid.
And the prosecutor told the grand jury that the gov-
ernment had arranged for Angelo to serve his state
sentence in a federal institution under the federal
witness protection program. Id. at 31. The grand
jury therefore plainly knew that Angelo had an ex-
tensive criminal record. Moreover, there was no rea-
son to advise the grand jury of Angelo’s temporary
deactivation as an informant. Angelo was deacti-
vated in April 1982, but was reactivated as an in-
formant in August 1983, prior to his second grand
jury appearance. Since Angelo’s temporary deactiva-
tion took place well after the wiretaps were com-
pleted on petitioner’s and his co-defendants’ tele-
phones, nothing about Angelo’s deactivation could
have affected the propriety of the wiretaps, which
corroborated much of his testimony before the grand
jury. 7d. at 32.

Beyond that, it is clear that Angelo’s testimony
was not necessary, let alone crucial, to obtaining the
indictment against petitioner. All of the victims of
petitioner’s loansharking operation testified before
the grand jury, and thus the grand jury heard abun-
dant evidence about the offenses. Indeed, when An-
gelo thereafter became unavailable for trial, the gov-
ernment had to strike only two of the 40 overt acts
in the indictment. See Pet. App. 17a. In short, as
the court below held, Angelo’s testimony “did not
‘substantially influence the grand jury’s decision to
indict’ nor conflict with the ‘fundamental fairness’
standard.” /d. at 18a. What is more, the petit

8

jury’s decision to convict petitioner—without An-
gelo’s testimony—means “not only that there was
probable cause to believe that [he was] guilty as
charged, but also that [he is] in fact guilty as
charged beyond a reasonable doubt.” Mechanik, 475
U.S. at 70. In light of the overwhelming proof of
petitioner’s guilt—both before the grand jury and at
trial—the failure to inform the grand jury of An-
gelo’s temporary deactivation as an informant, or of
the exact number and nature of Angelo’s prior con-
victions, cannot have been material to the grand
jury’s decision.

The same is true of Minster’s testimony. As the
courts below found, see Pet. App. 20a, the prosecu-
tors did not “condone” Minster’s perjury. Indeed,
the prosecutors did not learn of the perjury until
mid-trial. See ibid. And petitioner offers no reason
to dispute the lower courts’ factbound conclusion that
any misconduct concerning Minster was harmless.
Id. at 19a-20a.

For these reasons, petitioner’s reliance (Pet. 10)
on Napue vy. Illinois, 360 U.S. 264 (1959), is mis-
placed. In Napue, the Court held that a conviction
may not be based on the knowing use of perjured
testimony. In the present case, by contrast, there
was no “knowing” use of perjured testimony, either
in the grand jury or at trial, as both lower courts
made clear. Pet. App. 20a. At trial, the jury re-
ceived evidence through Agent Wiechert that cast
substantial doubt on Minster’s claim that he was not
engaged in loansharking. The petit jury’s verdict,
based on evidence that revealed the suspect nature of
Minster’s claim of innocence, shows that the grand
jury was not deceived by Minster’s testimony into

9

returning an indictment when one was not war-
ranted.‘

2. Petitioner also contends (Pet. 14-15) that the
wiretap orders did not sufficiently particularize the
crimes that were the authorized subjects of the sur-
veillance. There is no merit to that claim.

The wiretap orders stated in pertinent part that
there was probable cause to believe that petitioner
and others were engaging in extortion in violation of
the Hobbs Act (18 U.S.C. 1951), interstate travel in
aid of extortion (18 U.S.C. 1952), extortionate credit
transactions (18 U.S.C. 892-894), conspiracies to
commit those offenses (18 U.S.C. 371), and RICO
violations (18 U.S.C. 1962) with the foregoing of-
fenses as predicate acts. Pet. App. 5a. The first
order also stated that the interceptions would focus
on racketeering activities “involving extortion and
murder.” Ibid.

Petitioner concedes (Pet. 14) that the orders par-
ticularized the foregoing crimes, but he claims
(ibid.) that the orders were nevertheless too general
because another paragraph stated that the intercep-
tions would involve “the offenses enumerated in Sec-

4 Neither is this case like Mesarosh v. United States, 352

U.S. 1 (1956). There the government discovered after trial
that one of its principal witnesses had likely testified falsely
in other cases. This Court reversed and ordered a new trial,
concluding that the defendant’s conviction could not rest on
tainted testimony. Id. at 9. In the present case, however, the
evidence at trial reveafed the likely falsehood of Minster’s
laim of innocence. Moreover, the courts below found that
petitioner had an ample opportunity at trial to challenge
Minster’s perjury. The courts also concluded that, in light
of the wealth of evidence before both the grand jury and
petit jury, petitioner had not shown that either his indictment
or conviction rested on tainted testimony.

10

tion 2516.” As the court of appeals explained, the
latter, general statement was limited by other, more
specific references to particular offenses. Pet. App.
5a-6a. The courts of appeals have uniformly upheld
wiretap orders under such circumstances. See, @.g.,
United States v. Giacalone, 853 F.2d 470, 480-481
(6th Cir.), cert. denied, 488 U.S. 910 (1988);
United States v. Licavoli, 604 F.2d 613, 620 (9th
Cir. 1979), cert. denied, 446 U.S. 935 (1980);
United States v. Cohen, 530 F.2d 48, 45-46 (5th
Cir.), cert. denied, 429 U.S. 855 (1976); United
States v. Turner, 528 F.2d 143, 153-155 (9th Cir.),
cert. denied, 423 U.S. 996 (1975). See also United
States v. Carneiro, 861 F.2d 1171, 1179 (9th Cir.
1988); United States v. Smith, 726 F.2d 852, 865
(1st Cir.). cert. denied, 469 U.S. 841 (1984).

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be
denied.

Respectfully submitted.

KENNETH W. STARR
Solicitor General

EDWARD S.G. DENNIS, JR.
Assistant Attorney General

LOUIS M. FISCHER
Attorney

JULY 1990

Tl ow. S. GOVERNMENT PRINTING OFFice; 12990 262203 20023

ee

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385020_1654%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
