# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Rypkema v. Caluri

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385020_1634%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1990
- **Citation:** 498 U.S. 818

## Text

‘ ve hehe. “a oe
v4

|

Supreme Court, U.S.

. ,D
wo 9 . FILE
a ] 8 99 q | MAY 24 1998
NO. ] JOSEPH F pl
CLER
SUPREME COURT OF THE |__— a

UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM 1989

NEIL RYPKEMA D/B/A
LAUREL HILL TRUCKING COMPANY
DEFENDANT/PETITIONER

we

DEIDRE CALURI
PLAINTIFF/RESPONDENT

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE SUPREME JUDICIAL COURT OF MAINE

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

PHILLIP D. BUCKLEY, ESQ.
RUDMAN & WINCHELL
COUNSEL OF RECORD FOR PETITIONER
84 HARLOW STREET
BANGOR, MAINE 04401
(207) 947-4501

BRETT D. BABER, ESQ.
84 HARLOW STREET
BANGOR, MAINE 04401

a

ee

I. QUESTION PRESENTED

WHETHER NEIL RYPKEMA HAS SUFFICIENT MINIMUM
CONTACTS WITH THE STATE OF MAINE TO PERMIT A
MAINE COURT TO ASSERT PERSONAL JURISDICTION
CONSISTENT WITH THE DUE PROCESS CLAUSE OF THE
FOURTEENTH AMENDMENT TO THE UNITED STATES
CONSTITUTION.

VI.

VII.

VI.

IX.

Question Presented

Table of Contents

Table of Authorities

Reference to Official and Unofficial Reports
Constitutional Provisions and Statutes
Statement of Jurisdictional Grounds
Statement of the Case

Argument

Appendix

10

California, Solano County, 480 U.S. 102 (1987)

Burger King Corp. v. Rudzewicz, 471 U.S. 462 (1985)
Caluri v, Rypkema, 570 A.2d 830 (Me. 1990)

Ci C ' bean Blectiic Power Co. Inc.
550 F. Supp. 115 (D. Me. 1982)

Hanson y, Denckla, 357 U.S. 235 (1958)
International Shoe Co, v, Washington, 326 U.S. 310 (1945)
McGee y, Intemational Life Ins. Co., 355 U.S. 220 (1957)
Milliken v, Meyer, 311 U.S. 457 (1940)

Nicholas vy, Buchanan, 806 F.2d 305 (ist Cir. 1986),
cert. denied, 481 U.S. 1071 (1987)

Rosenblatt vy. American Cyanamid Co,, 86 S. Ct. 1 (1965)

Whittaker Corp, v, United Aircraft Corp,, 482 F.2d 1079
(1st Cir. 1973)

: Ww W ;
444 U.S. 286 (1980)

CONSTITUTIONS, STATUES AND RULES
U.S. CONST. AMEND XIV, § 1
14 M.R.S.A. § 704-A (1980)

M.R. Civ. P. 12(b)(2)

Caluri v. Rypkema, 570 A.2d 830 (Me. 1990).

Caluri v. Rypkema, No. CV-88-212 (Me. Super. Ct., Pen. Cty.,
Aug. 14, 1989).
V. STATEMENT OF JURISDICTIONAL GROUNDS
(i) Date of Judgment: February 27, 1990
(ii) N/A
(iii) N/A
(iv) Statutory provision supporting jurisdiction:
28 U.S.C. § 1257(a) (1988).

There is a tinal judgment reviewable by this Court. An
assertion of personal jurisdiction with no further review of
that issue possible in state court may be considered by the
Supreme Court before a decision on the merits. See Rosenblatt
y. American Cyanamid Co,, 86 S.Ct. 1 (1965). In Rosenblatt,
Justice Golberg concluded that a final state court decision
finding personal jurisdiction was a final judgment for pur-
poses of review. Id.

A motion to stay the underlying proceedings while this
appeal is pending has been filed in Penobscot County Supe-
rior Court.

VI. NST T V
(i) Amendment XIV to the United States Constitution
§ 1. Citizenship rights not to be abridged by states.

Section 1. ... nor shall any state deprive any person of life,
liberty, or property, without due process of the law; ...

(ii) 14 M.R.S.A. § 704-A (1980) (See Appendix 13-14)

VII. STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The plaintiff, Deidre Caluri, brought suit in Maine Superior
Court against the defendant, Neil Rypkema d/b/a/ Laurel Hill Trucking
Company, by complaint dated May 16, 1988. Service of process was
made on Neil Rypkema in Secaucus, New Jersey on or about June 10,
1988.

4

hi ctnesiaaimanaiaaiiemiael

On July 14, 1988, Neil Rypkema filed a motion to dismiss
pursuant to M.R. Civ. P. 12(b)(2) because the court lacks personal juris-
diction over him. In his supporting memorandum, Mr. Rypkema cited a
federal decision to support his argument that his due process rights under
the Fourteenth Amendment to the United States Constitution would be
violated if the court asserted personal jurisdiction. Mr. Rypkema also
maintained that the corporation, Laurel Hill Trucking Company, was the
proper party, not himself individually.

On August 14, 1989, the Superior Court, after a nontestimonial
hearing, granted the motion to dismiss. The presiding justice concluded
that Neil Rypkema did not have sufficient contacts with the state to
require him to defend this action in Maine. Order, Appendix at 5-12. The
court cited two federal decisions in support of its conclusion. Order,

Appendix at 9-11, citing Whittaker Com. v. United Aircraft Corp., 482
F.2d 1079 (1st Cir. 1973); Cives Corp. vy. American Electric Power Co.,

Inc., 550 F. Supp. 1155 (D. Me. 1982).

The plaintiff-respondent filed a timely notice of appeal. Both
parties briefed the issue of whether the court lacked personal jurisdiction
consistent witht he due process clause of the Fourteenth Amendment to
the United States Constitution.

On February 27, 1990, the Maine Supreme Judicial Court vacated
the order of the Superior Court and remanded for trial. The Law Court
reasoned that because the defendant should have reasonably anticipated
litigation in Maine, the assertion of jurisdiction comports with the due
process Clause of the United States Constitution. Caluri v. Rypkema, 570
A.2d 830 (Me. 1990).

The plaintiff, a Maine resident, alleged in her complaint that she
entered into a contract with the defendant, Neil Rypkema, a New Jersey
resident. She alleges that the defendant breached the contract. See

Complaint, Appendix at 15-18.

In February, 1985, the plaintiff contacted Mr. Rypkema in New
Jersey by telephone to discuss the possibility of becoming the Maine
Pear sg iri for Laurel Hill Trucking Company. Affidavit of Deidre
Caluri, Appendix at 19-21.' The plaintiff informed Mr. Rypkema that she
would contact various Maine businesses to determine if they needed

1 Mr. Rypkema has been sued as an individual. The company has not been named as
a direct defendant and has not been served. Accordingly, the list of companies and
subsidiaries required under Supreme Court Rule 29.1 has not been provided.

5

trucking services. Jd. If she was successful in obtaining contracts for
Laurel Hill Trucking Company, her fee would be based on a percentage
of the hauling contract. Id.

The named defendant, Neil Rypkema, is the president of Laurel
Hill Trucking Company of Secaucus, New Jersey. Affidavit of Neil
Rypkema, Appendix at 22-23. Laurel Hill Trucking Company is a
corporation organized under the laws of New Jersey. Mr. Rypkema never
personally entered into a contract with the plaintiff and has never
personally done business in the State of Maine. Id. He does not own, use
Or possess any real estate in Maine. Jd. Mr. Rypkema has never
personally committed a tortious act in Maine, nor has he caused a tortious
act to be done in Maine. Id. He has not personally contracted to insure
any person, property or risk in Maine and has not contracted to supply
services or things in Maine. Id.

The only contract allegedly arranged by the plaintiff involved
Ames Department Stores, Inc. which has its regional headquarters in
Rocky Hill, Connecticut. See Affidavit of Deidre Caluri, Appendix at 19-
21. On March 8, 1985, an Ames representative asked the plaintiff if
trucks were available in Ohio, Pennsylvania and Massachusetts. The
plaintiff replied that there were trucks available in those states and
arranged a meeting at Ames' regional headquarters between Mr. Rypkema,
a representative of Ames, and herself. Jd. at 19. The plaintiff alleges that
Laurel Hill Trucking Company began hauling for Ames on May 28, 1985.
Id. The plaintiff does not allege that Mr. Rypkema or Laurel Hill
Trucking Company hauled any loads into the State of Maine for Ames or
for any other person or corporation.

With the exception of the meeting in Connecticut, all direct
discussions between the parties were conducted by telephone. According
to the Plaintiff's Affidavit, only one telephone call originated from Laurel
Hill Trucking Company. Affidavit of De‘dre Caluri, 4 15, Appendix at
19-21. From April, 1985 to December, 1986, the plaintiff received
commissions from the defendant on the Ames' account. Complaint,

Appendix at 16.

Vill. ARGUMENT

In Caluri v. Rypkema, 570 A.2d 830 (Me. 1990), the Maine
Supreme Judicial Court erred in its application of a longstanding series
of United States Supreme Court decisions that delineate when personal
jurisdiction may be asserted consistent with the due process clause of
the Fourteenth Amendment to the United States Constitution. The
Supreme Court has consistently held that the due process clause of the
Fourteenth Amendment precludes a state court from exercising personal
jurisdiction over a defendant under circumstances that offend "traditional

notions of fair play and substantial justice.". Asahi Metal Industry Co.,
Lid, v, Superior Court of Califomia, Solano County, 480 U.S. 102 (1987);

International Shoe Co, v, Washington, 326 U.S. 310, 316 (1945) quoting
Milliken vy, Meyer, 311 U.S. 457, 463 (1940). To satisfy the "traditional
notions of fair play and substantial justice," a nonresident defendant must
have “minimum contacts" with the forum state before personal juris-
diction may be asserted. Asahi Metal Industry, 480 U.S. at 108, 109;

Intemational Shoe Co,, 326 U.S. at 316.

The necessary minimum contacts must be based on “some act
by which the defendant purposefully avails itself of the privilege of con-
ducting activities within the forum state, thus invoking the benefits and
protections of its laws." Burger King Corp. v. Rudzewicz, 471 US.
462, 475 (1985). As the Court further stated, "[jJurisdiction is proper

. where the contacts proximately result from actions by the defendant
himself that create a ‘substantial connection’ with the forum state." Id.
quoting McGee vy, International Life Ins. Co,, 355 U.S. 220, 223 (1957).
In applying this principle, the Supreme Court has ruled that the minimum
contacts must be based on the affirmative actions of the defendant;
unilateral actions by the plaintiff are not sufficient. Asahi Metal Industry,
480 U.S. at 109; World-Wide Volkswagen Corp, v. Woodsen, 444 U.S.

286 (1980). See also Nicholas v, Buchanan, 806 F.2d 305, 307 (Ist
Cir. 1986), cert, denied, 481 U.S. 1071 (1987).

Lower federal courts applying these decisions have held that an
individual's contract with an out-of-state party cannot alone establish
sufficient minimum contacts. Nicholas v. Buchanan, 806 F.2d 305, 307
(Ist Cir. 1986), cert, denied, 481 U.S. 1071 (1987); Cives Com. v.
American Electric Power Co., Inc,, 550 F. Supp. 1155 (D. Me. 1982).

The courts reasoned that the plaintiffs’ unilateral performance of the
contract within the forum state was insufficient to support the exercise

of personal jurisdiction. Nicholas, 806 F.2d at 307; Cives Corp.,
550 F.Supp. at 1158. The use of interstate channels of communication
is also insufficient to satisfy due process requirements. Nicholas, 806
F.2d at 307.

Without expressly saying so, the Maine Supreme Judicial Court
adopted a "foreseeability" test to determine if personal jurisdiction may
be asserted in the present case. In Caluri v, Rypkema, 570 A.2d 830
(Me. 1990), the Law Court determined jurisdiction was proper because
the defendant "should reasonably have anticipated litigation in Maine."
Caluri vy. Rypkema, 570 A.2d at 832. However, the United States
Supreme Court has rejected "foreseeability" as a benchmark to deter-
mine personal jurisdiction. World-Wide Volkswagen Corp, v, Wood-
sen, 444 U.S. 286, 297 (1980). In rejecting the foreseeability test, the
Supreme Court emphasized that “the mere unilateral activity of those
who claim some relationship with a nonresident defendant cannot satisfy
the requirement of contact with the forum state." World-Wide Volkswagen

Cor., 444 U.S. at 294, quoting Hanson vy, Denckla, 357 U.S. 235, 253
(1958).

In this case, the contacts, if any, between the State of Maine
and Neil Rypkema were the unilateral efforts of the plaintiff. Neil
Rypkema is a resident of New Jersey who has never personally done
business in Maine. Any contacts were between the plaintiff and Laurel
Hill Trucking Company, not Mr. Rypkema individually. Mr. Rypkema
States in his affidavit that he has not engaged in any of the acts enumerated
in the Maine Long-Arm Statute, 14 M.R.S.A. § 704-A (1980). Thus,
Mr. Rypkema has never personally availed himself of the benefits and
protections of the State of Maine.

The plaintiff has alleged that she performed various acts in the
State of Maine on behalf of Laurel Hill Trucking Company. However,
these unilateral acts cannot support jurisdiction. See, e.g., Asahi Metal
Industry Co.. Ltd., 440 U.S. at 109 (1987). The plaintiff states in her |
affidavit that she made the first contact with Mr. Rypkema by calling
him in New jcrsey. The only business she allegedly generated involved
shipping services performed in Pennsylvania, Ohio and Massachusetts.
The only personal meeting between the parties occurred in Connecticut. :
Although a manager of Laurel Hill Trucking Company called the plain-
tiff on one occasion and her initial commissions were paid in correspon-
dence sent through the United States mail, this use of interstate means
of communication is insufficient to support jurisdiction. Nicholas, 806
F.2d at 307; Cives, 550 F.Supp. at 1158.

8

a eT

The plaintiff has failed to establish that Neil Rypkema has
"minimum contacts" with the State of Maine. Thus, the courts of the
State of Maine are precluded from asserting personal jurisdiction.

The due process clause protection against an unwarranted assertion
of personal jurisdiction is a significant aspect of the Fourteenth Amendment
to the United States Constitution. The United States Supreme Court
has issued consistent precedent applying the "minimum contacts" analysis
in determining whether personal jurisdiction exists. The decision of
the Maine Supreme Judicial Court departs from that tradition. Accord-
ingly, the defendant-petitioner, Neil Rypkema, respectfully requests the
United States Supreme Court to grant certiorari in this case to resolve
this ongoing ard important issue of constitutional law.

Respectfully submitted this 23rd day of May, 1990.

. Buckley, Esq.
& WINCHELL
Counsel of Record for Petitioner
84 Harlow Street

Bangor, Maine 04401

(207) 947-4501

(QeeP)_ Buber

Brett D. Baber, Esq.

IX. APPENDIX

Decision of the Maine Supreme Judicial Court

Decision of the Maine Superior Court

14 M.R.S.A.§ 704 (1980)
Complaint

Affidavit of Deidre Caluri

Affidavit of Neil Rypkema

10

PAGE(S)

11

16

21

23

26

29

Deidre CALURI
v.

Neil RYPKEMA d/b/a/ Laurel Hill
Trucking Company.

Supreme Judicial Court of Maine.

Submitted on Briefs Jan. 30, 1990.
Decided Feb. 27, 1990.

Representative of trucking company brought suit against company
for breach of contract. The Superior Court, Penobscot County, Beau-
lieu, J., dismissed complaint for lack of personal jurisdiction, and rep-
resentative appealed. The Supreme Judicial Court, Wathen, J., held that
jurisdiction over trucking company comported with due process clause.

Vacated and remanded.

Perry O'Brian, Vandermeulen, Goldman, Allen & O'Brian, Bangor,
for plaintiff.

Brett D. Baber, Phillip D. Buckley, Rudman & Winchell, Bangor,
for defendant.

Before WATHEN, GLASSMAN, CLIFFORD, HORNBY and
COLLINS, JJ.

WATHEN, Justice.

Plaintiff Deidre Caluri appeals from an order of the Superior Court
(Penobscot County, Beaulieu, J.) dismissing her complaint pursuant to
M.R.Civ.P. 12(b)(2) for lack of personal jurisdiction over defendant, Neil
Rypkema, d/b/a/ Laurel Hill Trucking Company. On appeal, plaintiff
argues that by his conduct defendant should reasonably have anticipated
litigation in Maine and that therefore jurisdiction over defendant com-
ports with the due process clause of the United States Constitution. We
agree with plaintiff's contention and vacate the Superior Court's order.

By her complaint and affidavit, plaintiff has alleged the following
facts: Plaintiff is a resident of Stetson, Maine. In February, 1985, she
contacted defendant by phone and discussed with him the possibility of
becoming the Maine representative for Laurel Hill Trucking Company.
Plaintiff was to contact various businesses in Maine for the purpose of
securing contracts for defendant. Her commission was to be based on
a percentage of the total amount hauled under each contract.

11

CALURI v. RYPKEMA
Cite as 570 A.2d 830 (Me. 1990)

On March 4, plaintiff contacted the Ames Department Store in New-
port, Maine. She was referred to George Bolduc, Assistant Traffic
Manager at Ames' regional headquarters in Rocky Hill, Connecticut. At
Bolduc's request, and with defendant's approval, plaintiff mailed a letter
to Bolduc setting forth information on rates and insurance. On April
23, both plaintiff, from Maine, and defendant, from New Jersey, travelled
to Rocky Hill and met with Bolduc. On May 28, defendant began hauling
for Ames Department Stores. None of the hauling took place in Maine.

From April, 1985, to December, 1986, plaintiff received periodic
commissions on the Ames account. In August, 1985, defendant tele-
phoned plaintiff regarding the Ames account because business was
unusually slow. Plaintiff contacted Bolduc and soon after business
increased dramatically. In addition to the Ames account, plaintiff
contacted numerous other businesses in Maine in the hope of securing
other contracts but was ultimately unsuccessful.

Defendant made no payments after December 31, 1986. Plaintiff's
complaint states a cause of action for breach of contract. After a non-
testimonial hearing, the Superior Court granted defendant's motion to
dismiss for lack of personal jurisdiction. Plaintiff now appeals.

[1] The jurisdictional reach of Maine's Long-Arm statute is coex-
tensive with the due process clause of the United States Constitution.
See i4 M.R.S.A. § 704-A (1980).' In order to satisfy the requirements
of due process, the Court must affirmatively answer three questions:

(1) does the forum state have a legitimate interest in the subject matter
of the action; (2) should the defendant by his conduct reasonably
have anticipated litigation in the forum state; and (3) would the
exercise of jurisdiction comport with "traditional notions of fair play
and substantial justice"?

1. § 704-A provides in relevant part:
2. Causes of action. Any person, whether or not a citizen or resident of this State, who
in person or through an agent does any of the acts hereinafter enumerated in this section

/. Maintain any other relation to the State or to persons or property which affords a basis

for the exercise of jurisdiction by the courts of this State consistent with the Constitution
of the United States.

12

CALURI v. RYPKEMA
Cite as 570 A.2d 830 (Me. 1990)

Harriman v. Demoulas Supermarkets, Inc., 518 A.2d 1035,
1036(Me.1986). Foreside Common Development Corp. v. Bleisch, 463
A.2d 767, 769 (Me.1983). Plaintiff bears the burden of establishing that
jurisdiction is proper. Kowalski v. Doherty, Wallace, Pillsbury &
Murphy, 787 F.2d 7, 8 (1st Cir.1986).2, Such showing "must be based
on specific facts set forth in the record," and the record is to be "construed
in plaintiff's favor." Jd. at 8-9.?

Plaintiff argues that the motion justice erred by ruling that she failed
to satisfy the second prong of the test, namely, that by his conduct
defendant shouid "reasonably have anticipated litigation in [Maine]."
Harriman, 518 A.2d at 1036.‘ Specifically, plaintiff contends that the
court's reliance on Cives Corp. v. American Electric Power Co., Inc.,
550 F.Supp. 1155 (D.Me. 1982), and Whittaker Corp. v. United Aircraft
Corp., 482 F.2d 1079 (1st Cir. 1973), was misplaced. In plaintiff's view,
a recent United States Supreme Court decision, Burger King Corp. v.
Rudzewicz, 471 U.S. 462, 105 S.Ct. 2174, 85 L.Ed.2d 528 (1985),
supports Maine's jurisdiction over defendant in this case.

Our analysis in Harriman incorporates Burger King and the other
governing opinions of the United States Supreme Court. In Harriman,
we held that a Massachusetts supermarket chain, Demoulas Supermar-
kets, Inc., could be sued in Maine for the personal injuries to an employee
of F.R. LePage, Inc., a Maine bakery with which it did business, "because

2. This is true, however, only for the first two prongs of the test. Once plaintiff has
established that Maine has a legitimate interest in the controversy and that the requisite
minimum contracts [sic] exist, the burden then shifts to defendant to show that jurisdic-
tion does not comport with “traditional notions of fair play and substantial justice.”
Harriman, 518 A.2d at 1039, quoting Burger King Corp. v. Rudzewicz, 471 U.S. 462,
477, 105 S.Ct. 2174, 2184, 85 L.Ed.2d 528 (1985).

3. While we have never ruled on this issue, the United States Court of Appeals for the First
Circuit has held that "[w]here there has been no evidentiary hearing and the court
proceeds upon written submissions, [the] plaintiff ‘need only make a prima facie
showing that jurisdiction exists... ."" Kowai:’i, 787 F.2d at 8 (citations omitted).
Accordingly, "[p}laintiff's written allegations of jurisdictional facts [should be] con-
strued in [her] favor.” /d. at 9.

4. Defendant concedes that the Superior Court correctly ruled that plaintiff sustained her
burden on the first prong of the test.

13

CALURI v. RYPKEMA
Cite as 570 A.2d 830 (Me. 1990)

it purposefully and continuously directed both purchasing and sales
activities at Maine businesses and residents." Harriman, 518 A.2d at
1037. With respect to its purchasing activities, we focused on a twelve-
year oral agreement that resulted in LePage, along with another Maine
bakery, fulfilling 40% of Demoulas' baked good requirements annually,
as well as the control Demoulas gained over production by directing
LePage to attach its private !abels on a portion of the baked good that
Demoulas ordered. /d. at 1037-38. With respect to its sales activities,
we noted that Demoulas sought to and did infiltrate the sourthern Maine
market respecting its New Hampshire stores by advertising in newspa-
pers and on radio. /d. at 1038.

[2] In analyzing whether Demoulas should reasonably have antici-
pated litigation in Maine, our opinion in Harriman relies on Burger King,
Stating that due process is satisfied when a defendant " ‘purposefully
directs his activities at residents of a forum’ .. . by ‘creating continuing
obligations between himself and residents’ of the forum... ." Harriman,
518 A.2d at 1037, quoting Burger King, 471 U.S. at 473-75, 105 S.Ct.
at 2182-84. Applying this standard to the facts of this case, we conclude
that plaintiff has established the requisite minimum contacts to support
personal jurisdiction over defendant. First, defendant's obligations to
plaintiff respecting the Ames account were of a continuous nature.
Second, plaintiff has made a prima facie showing that a general agency
relationship existed between herself and defendant whereby defendant
attempted to infiltrate the Maine market for trucking services.* See, e.g.,

5. In Burger King, the Court spoke at some length respecting the extent to which a contract
can constitute a “contact” for purposes of due process analysis:

If the question is whether an individual's contract with an out-of-state party alone
can automatically establish sufficient minimum contacts in the other party's home
forum, we believe th + answer clearly is that it cannot. The Court long ago rejected
the notion that personal jurisdiction might tum on ‘mechanical’ tests, or on
‘conceptualistic . . . theories of the place of contracting or of performance.’ Instead,
we have emphasized the need for a ‘highly realistic’ approach that recognizes that
a ‘contract’ is ‘ordinarily but an intermediate step serving to tie up prior business
negotiations with future consequences which themselves are the real object of the
business transaction.’ It is these factors-prior negotiations and contemplated future
consequences , along with the terms of the contract and the parties’ actal course
of dealing-that must be evaluated in determining whether the defendant purpose-
fully established minimum contacts within the forum.

Burger King, 471 U.S. at 478-79, 105 S.Ct. at 2185-86 (emphasis in original) (citations
omitted).

14

a |

CALURI v. RYPKEMA
Cite as 570 A.2d 830 (Me. 1990)

Libby v. Concord General Mut. Ins. Co., 452 A.2d 979, 981 (Me.1982)
("Agency is the fiduciary relationship 'which results from the manifes-
tation of consent by one person to another that the other shall act on
his behalf and subject to this control, and consent by the other so to act.'");
Restatement (Second) of Agency §§ 1, 3 & 7 (1958). Finally, as in
Harriman, defendant exercised control over plaintiff's performance.
This was demonstrated by defendant's authorization of plaintiff's letter
to Bolduc regarding rates and insurance, as well as defendant's phone
call when the Ames account slowed.

The third prong of the test is whether subjecting defendant to the
jurisdiction of Maine courts comports with "traditional notions of fair
play and substantial justice." In deciding this question in Harriman, we
again relied on Burger King: .

[W]here a defendant who purposefully has directed his activities
at forum residents seeks to defeat jurisdiction, he must present
a compelling case that the presence of some other considerations
would render jurisidction unreasonable.

Harriman, 518 A.2d at 1039, quoting Burger King, 471 U.S. at 477, 105
S.Ct. at 2184. Defendant's affidavit reveals no attempt to demonstrate
that litigation in Maine would be " 'so gravely difficult and inconven-
ient'” that he would be at a "'severe disadvantage in comparison to
[plaintiff]. " Burger King, 471 U.S. at 477, 105 S.Ct. at 2184 (citations
omitted). Moreover, as demonstrated above, the nature and purpose of
defendant's contacts were not so " ‘random, fortuitous, or attenuated’ "that
jurisdiction over defendant is unreasonable. Harriman, 518 A.2d at
1038. Finally, while the extent of defendant's contacts with Maine is
small, "[l]ess extensive activity is required where the cause of action
arises out of or in connection with the defendant's forum-related activity."
Id. Because plaintiff's suit is on the contract, such is the case here.

The entry is:

Order dismissing plaintiff's complaint vacated. Remanded for fur-
ther proceedings consistent with the opinion herein.

All concurring.

15

STATE OF MAINE SUPERIOR COURT
PENOBSCOT, ss: Civil Action
Docket No. CV-88-212

DEIDRE CALURI
Plaintiff
v. ORDER

NEIL RYPKEMA d/b/a LAUREL
HILL TRUCKING COMPANY

Defendant

This breach of contract action is before the Superior Court on
defendant's motion to dismiss plaintiff's complaint pursuant to Rule 12(b)
(2) for lack of personal jurisdiction over the defendant.

FACTUAL BACKGROUND

By way of complaint and swom affidavit plaintiff asserts the
following facts: Plaintiff is a resident of Stetson, Maine; defendant is
operating under the name of Laurel Hill Trucking Co., whose principal
place of business is in Secaucus, New Jersey. In April, 1985, plaintiff
allegedly entered into a contract with the defendant under which plaintiff
became the Maine representative of Laurel Hill Trucking Co. Plaintiff
asserts that this cause of action is brought against defendant in his
individual capacity.

Pursuant to the parties’ contract, plaintiff asserts she secured for
the defendant an account with Ames Department Stores, Inc., having its
regional headquarters in Rocky Hill, Connecticut. From April, 1985 to
December, 1986, plaintiff claims to have received periodic commissions
from defendant on the Ames account as compensation to her for obtaining
the account for defendant. Under the parties’ contract, defendant alleg-
edly agreed to pick up merchandise at various warehouses and bring such
merchandise by truck to Ames Department warehouses throughout the
United States.

With respect to the disputed contract, plaintiff does not claim to
have engaged in negotiations with the defendant in person within the
State of Maine. Plaintiff asserts that negotiations beginning in February,
1985 were conducted by telephone or letter with the defendant who was

16

y

then in New Jersey. Plaintiff further alleges that on April 23, 1985 she
traveled to Rocky Hill, Connecticut where she met with the defendant and
Ames' Assistant Traffic Manager. On May 28, 1985, following the
parties’ meeting, defendant allegedly began hauling for Ames Depart-
ment Stores. Despite efforts by the plaintiff to secure contracts for the
defendant in the State of Maine, plaintiff does not allege that defendant
ever provided trucking services for any Maine residents.

Defendant has responded to plaintiff's assertions with an affida-
vit of its President, Cornelius S. Rypkema. Mr. Rypkema claims, among
other things, that defendant has never contracted to supply services
within the State of Maine, has never personally entered into a contract
with plaintiff and has never personally done business in Maine.

DISCUSSION

Our analysis begins with Maine's "Long Arm" statute, 14 M.R.S.A.
§ 704-A' As stated in its declaration of purpose, the statute was drafted
"to insure maximum protection to citizens of this state." 14 M.R.S.A. §
704-A. Accordingly, the Maine Law Court has interpreted the statute so
as to extend jurisdiction "over nonresident defendants to the fullest extent
permitted by the Due Process clause of the Fourteenth Amendment."
Tyson vy. Whitaker & Son, Inc,, 407 A.2d 1, 3 (Me. 1979). In this case,
plaintiff bears the burden of showing that based upon specific facts set
forth in the record, personal jurisdiction over the defendant is proper.

Aerial Survey & Photo, Inc, v. E, Coyote Enterprises. Inc., No. CV-89-
27 (Me. Super. Ct., Som. Cty., May 30, 1989).

In Tyson v, Whitaker & Son, Inc., supra, 407 A.2d at 3, the Law

Court recognized that the jurisdictional limits of Maine's long arm statute
are coextensive with the jurisdictional requirements provided by the due
process clause of the federal Constitution. The Tyson Court outlined a
three-pronged test for determining whether due process permits the
exercise of personal jurisdiction over a nonresident defendant. Personal
jruisdiction is properly conferred if: (1) the forum state has a legitimate
interest in the subject matter of the action; (2) the defendant exhibited

1. Under Maine's long arm statute, personal jurisdiction over a nonresident defendant is
proper where such person:

Maintain{s] any other relation to the State or to persons or property which affords a basis
for the exercise of jurisdiction by the courts of this State consistent with the Constitution
of the United States.

17

conduct such that he should reasonably have anticipated being hailed into
court in Maine; and (3) the exercise of jurisdiction does not violate
“traditional notions of fair play and substantial justice." Foreside Common

Develop. Corp. v. Bleisch, 463 A.2d 767, 769 (Me. 1983) (quoting,

World-Wide Volkswagen Com, v, Woodson, 444 U.S. 286, 297
(1980). [sic]

The issue before this court is whether, (1) defendant's 's accep-
tance of plaintiff's services performed in Maine; (2) defendant's perform-
ance of trucking services for Ames outside of Maine; and (3) plaintiff's
periodic receipt of commissions from defendant on the Ames account
sufficiently exhibit conduct out of which defendant should reasonably
have expected being hailed into court in Maine. Only if we find both a
legitimate governmental interest and such reasonable expectation need
we reach the third prong of the Tyson test.

Maine has a legitimate interest in providing a forum in which its
citizens, engaged in business activities within this state, may effectively
seek redress against nonresident citizens for a breach of contract. There-
fore, plaintiff has met the first prong requirement of the Tyson test.

The second stage determination, however, is fatal to plaintiff's
case. The Supreme Court has made it clear that the nonresident defendant
who has "purposefully avail[ed] itself of the privilege of conducting
activities within the forum state, thus invoking the benefits and protec-
tions of its laws," may properly be sued there. Hanson vy, Deuckla, 357
U.S. 235,253 (1958).[sic] In Tyson, the Law Court announced that "(t]he
rationale underlying the ‘purposefully availing’ requirement ... appears to
be that the defendant have at least fair notice or a reasonable expectation
that he may be subject to suit in the foreign forum." Tyson, 407 A.2d at
3

In Cives Corp, v, American Electric Power Co., Inc,, 550 F. Supp.
1155, 1156 (D. Me. 1982), plaintiff Cives Corp. brought a breach of

contract action against defendant power company. Plaintiff Cives, from
its Auburn, Maine office, had solicited electrical work to be performed
by plaintiff for defendant, outside of Maine. Jd. Throughout the parties’
negotiations and during the course of their performance no representative
of defendant ever visited plaintiff in Maine. Id. All of the parties’ contract
negotiations were either written or telephone communications between
plaintiff in Maine and defendant in New York. Jd. During the course of
their negotiations, however, plaintiff's personnel in Maine spent approxi-
mately 7CO man hours preparing a final bid for the project. Id.

18

Pursuant to the parties’ contract, plaintiff installed electrical
equipment for defendant at a plant being built outside of Maine. Id. at
1157. Defendant made all monthly payments to plaintiff in Maine from
defendant's Roanoke, Virginia office. Id. Plaintiff began the project
sometime after the creation of the parties’ contract in March, 1979, and
finished in July, 1980.

The Cives court held that because the contacts between the
defendant and the State of Maine were so minimal it would be unreason-
able for the court to exercise personal jurisdiction over the defendant. Id.
at 1158. The court noted that none of the defendants had an office in
Maine; none of the defendants was licensed to do nor did business in
Maine; no employee of the defendant visited Maine in connection with
the parties’ contract; and the only communications between defendant
and plaintiff in Maine were by mail or telephone. Id. Additionally, the
court noted that although plaintiff had spent a substantial amount of time
in Maine preparing its contract bid for defendant (700 man hours),
“plaintiff's unilateral performance within the forum state [was] insuffi-
cient to support the exercise of personal jurisdiction over [a] nonresident
defendant[ }." Id.

Similarly, in Whittaker Corporation vy, United Aircraft Corpora-
tion, 482 F.2d 1079, 1085 (1973), the Massachusetts long arm statute did
not permit the exercise of personal jurisdiction over foreign corporations
where their primary contact with plaintiff in Massachusetts was plain-
tiffs performance of their contracts within the Commonwealth. The
Whittaker court noted that although the creation of a manufacturing
agreement with a forum state resident has been held to support long arm
jurisdiction, "this result has been severely criticized as rendering all
purchasers subject to long arm jurisdiction." Id.

Applying these principles to the case at bar, defendant's contacts
with the plaintiff cannot support the exercise of personal jurisdiction over
it within the State of Maine. According to the record, the only direct
contacts between the defendant and plaintiff were those made when
plaintiff and defendant met in Connecticut to negotiate the Ames con-
tract. Any other written or telephone communications which the plaintiff
and defendant may have had were from their respective offices in Maine
and New Jersey. Defendant does not have an office in Maine; defendant
is not licensed to do nor has it previously done business in Maine; and no
officer or employee of defendant visited Maine in connection with the
disputed contract.

19

As in the Whittaker case, this is not a case where defendant
actively supervised or closely monitored plaintiff's performance within
the forum state. Id. First, plaintiff was responsible for soliciting defen-
dant's performance under their alleged contract. Second, plaintiff asserts
that on only one occasion, when business was apparently slow as to the
Ames account, did defendant express concern about the status of this
account. Plaintiff's allegations that she received periodic commissions
from defendant on the Ames account from April, 1985, until December,
1986, would certainly evidence defendant's recognition of services ren-
dered by the plaintiff in Maine. However, the payment of such
commissions, without more, is an insufficient basis on which to predicate
minimum contacts between the defendant and the State of Maine.

Based on the minimal contacts which defendant has had with
plaintiff in the forum state, it does not appear that defendant had "at least
fair notice or a reasonable expectation" he might be amenable to suit in
Maine. Tyson v, Whitaker & Son, Inc., supra, 407 A.2d at 5. Further-
more, as in Cives, plaintiff's unilateral performance within the forum
State will not alone establish contacts on which personal jurisdiction may
properly be based. In sum, defendant's dealings in this state have been
such that it would be unfair and would violate traditional notions of fair
play and substantial justice to require defendant to defend the present
action in Maine.

Wherefore, the entry is:

Defendant's motion to dismiss plaintiff's complaint for
lack of personal jurisdiction is GRANTED.

DATED: August 14, 1989

Eugene W. Beaulieu
Justice, Superior Court

20

§ 704. Repealed. 1975, c. 770, § 79, eff. April 16, 1976
Historical Note

See, now, § 704-A of this title.

§ 704-A. Persons subject to jurisdiction

1. Declaration of purpose. It is declared, as a matter of
legislative determination, that the public interest demands that the
State provide its citizens with an effective means of redress against
nonresident persons who, through certain significant minimal contacts
with this State, incur obligations to citizens entitled to the state's
protection. This legislative action is deemed necessary because of
technological progress which has substantially increased the flow of
commerce between the several states resulting in increased interaction
between persons of this State and persons of other states.

This section, to insure inaximum protection to citizens of tis
State, shall be applied so as to assert jurisdiction over nonresident de-
| fendants to the fullest extent permitted by the due process clause of
the United States Constitution, 14th amendment. [sic]

2. Causes of acticn. Any person, whether or not a citizen or
resident of this State, who in person or through an agent does any of
; the acts hereinafter enumerated in this section, thereby submits such
person, and, if an individual, his personal representative, to the
| jurisdiction of the courts of this State as to any cause of action arising
! from the doing of any of such acts:

A. — The transaction of any business withir this State;

B. Doing or causing a tortious act to be done, or causing the
consequences of a tortious act to occur within this State;

oe The ownership, use or possession of any real estate
situated in this State;

D. Contracting to insure any person, property or risk located
within this State at the time of contracting;

| E. Conception resulting in paternity within the meaning of
Title 19, chapter 5, subchapter III’;

F. Contracting to supply services or things within this State;

21

G. Maintaining a domicile in this State while subject to a
marital or family relationship out of which arises a claim
for divorce, alimony, separate maintenance, property set-
tlement, child support or child custody; or the commission
in this State of any act giving rise to such a claim; or

H. Acting as a director, manager, trustee or other officer of a
corporation incorporated under the laws of, or having its
principal place of business within, this State.

I. Maintain any other relation to the State or to persons or
property which affords a basis for the exercise of jurisdic-
tion by the courts of this State consistent with the
Constitution of the United States.

3. Personal service. Service of process upon any person who is
subject to the jurisdiction of the courts of this State, as provided in
this section, may be made by personally serving the summons upon
the defendant outside this State, with the same force and effect as
though summons had been personally served within this State.

4. Jurisdiction based upon this section. Only causes of action
arising from acts enumerated herein may be asserted against a defen-
dant in an action in which jurisdiction over him is based upon this
section.

5. Other service not affected. Nothing contained in this section
limits or affects the right to serve any process in any other manner
now or hereafter provided by law.

22

A ET Ea tle

STATE OF MAINE SUPERIOR COURT
PENOBSCOT, SS. CIVIL ACTION, DOCKET NO.

ae he oe oe ae ae a ae ok a ak a aa kaa aa a a

DEIDRE CALURI, of Stetson,
County of Pencbscot, State of Maine

PLAINTIFF

COMPLAINT
VS.

NEIL RYPKEMA d/b/a Laurel Hill
Trucking Company, of Secaucus,

County of Hudson,
State of New Jersey

eee RHREREER HE © &

DEFENDANT «

ae he ate ake ate ae ae ae ake ake ae ak ae a oak aa ok a aa a aa a a a

NOW COMES the Plaintiff, Deidre Caluri, by and through her
undersigned attomey, and complains against the Defendant as follows:

COUNT I

(Breach of Contract)

1. Plaintiff , Deidre Calun, is of Stetson, County of Penobscot,
State of Maine.

2. Plaintiff is operating under the name of Laurel Hill Trucking
Company, whose principal place of business is in Secausus, County of
Hudson, State of New Jersey.

3. Onorabout April, 1985, Plaintiff and Defendant entered into
a contract whereby Plaintiff became the Maine representative of Laurel
Hill Trucking Company. As part of this contract, Plaintiff agreed to
attempt to obtain accounts throughout the United States for the Defendant
in which Defendant would provide trucking services to various compa-
nies.

4. Under the contract, Defendant agreed to pay the Plaintiff a
commission which would vary depending upon the size of the account
that plaintiff would secure for Defendant. The Commission rate ranged

a

from 3 to 5 percent of the gross value per load hauled by Laurel Hill
Trucking Company.

5. Pursuant to the contract, Plaintiff secured for Defendant an
account with Ames Department Stores, Inc., under which Laurel Hill
Trucking Company would pick up merchandise at various warchouses
and bring those items by truck to Ames Department warehouses through-
out the United States.

6. From April, 1985, until December, 1986, Plaintiff received
periodic commissions from Defendant on the Ames account.

7. On December 51, 1986, Defendant stopped paying commis-
sions to Plaintiff.

8. The Plaintiff has duly performed all the conditions of her part
to be performed under the terms of said contract.

9. For such services Defendant agreed and promised to pay
Plaintiff an ongoing commission as determined by the contract.

10. The Plaintiff has made demands upon the Defendant for the
monthly commissions pursuant to the contract, but in breach of the
aforementioned contract the Defendant has wholly neglected to comply
with the terms of the contract and has refused and still refuses to pay said
commissions to the Plaintiff.

12. The Defendants [sic] refusal to pay the ongoing commission
constitutes a breach of the contract whereby the Plaintiff has been
damaged in an amount equal to the value of said commissions to which
amount Plaintiff has become entitled as a result of work performed.

WHEREFORE, Plaintiff prays this Court award judgment against
the Defendant in a sum equal to the value of said commissions according
to the contract entered into by the parties, costs, and grant Plaintiff such
other relief as the Court deems proper.

COUNT Ii
(Complaint for Accounting)

13. Plaintiff repeats and realleges all the allegations contained in
Paragraphs 1 through 12 of this Complaint as if set forth in full herein.

14. Plaintiff has insufficient information and belief to enable her
to allege the exact amount owed to Plaintiff in commissions.

24

i a

15. The amount of commissions paid Plaintiff by Defendant
from April, 1985, to December, 1986, totaled approximately $8,024.00.
Upon information and belief, Plaintiff's Commissions [sic] from January,
1987, to the present would have been $50,000.00.

16. An accounting from Defendant will be necessary in order to
determine the exact amount of commissions to which Plaintiff is entitled
under the contract, but Plaintiff is informed and believes and therefore
alleges that such accounting will disclose that Plaintiff is entitled to a
greater sum than that set forth under Paragraph 15.

WHEREFORE, Plaintiff prays this Court for an accounting by
Defendant to Plaintiff for the gross value of loads trucked by Laurel Hill
Trucking Company on the Ames Account and for judgment against the
Defendant for commissions due Plaintiff as a result of said accounting.

DATED: May 16, 1988

Vandermeulen, Goldman, Allen & O'Brian
61 Main Street, Room 62
Bangor, Maine 04401

Sr.

Perry O'Brian
Attomey for Defendant

25

STATE OF MAINE SUPERIOR COURT
PENOBSCOT, SS. CIVIL ACTION , CV-88-212

DEIDRE CALURI )

Plaintiff AFFIDAVIT OF DEIDRE CALURI
IN OPPOSITION TO MOTION FOR
vs. SUMMARY JUDGMENT

NEIL RYPKEMA, d/b/a LAUREL,
HILL TRUCKING COMPANY )

Defendant )

1. My name is Deidre Caluri.

2. InFebruary, 1985, I contacted Neil Rypkema, in New Jersey,
by telephone and discussed with him the possibility of becoming the
Maine representative for Laurel Hill Trucking Company. At this time,
I told Mr. Rypkema that I wanted to contact various businesses in Maine
to see whether they needed trucking services. If I was successful in
obtaining contracts for Laurel Hill Trucking, my fee would be based on
a percentage of the total hauled under the contract.

3. On March 4, 1985, I called Ames Department Store in
Newport, Maine, to find out who I would talk to about shipping. They
referred me to Joe Nacky who worked at their regional headquarters in
Rocky Hill, Connecticut.

4. On March 8, 1985, I called Ames Department Store in Rocky
Hill, Connecticut, and spoke with Joe Nacky. He referred me to George
Bolduc, Assistant Traffic Manager. I asked Mr. Bolduc whether they
would be interested in having Laurel Hill Trucking do their hauling. He
asked me if we had trucks in Ohio, Pennsylvania and Massachusetts. I
told him yes. He then asked me to send him information on rates and
insurance.

5. I next drafted a letter to George Bolduc and sent it to Neil
Rypkema for his approval.

6. On March 14, 1985, I made two different phone calls to Neil
Rypkema at Laurel Hill Trucking to see if my letter met with his approval.

26

7. On April 3, 1985, my letter was sent to Mr. Bolduc in Rocky
Hill, Connecticut. A copy of that letter is attached hereto as Exhibit A.

8. After this letter was sent, I made several follow-up calls to
both Laurel Hill Trucking in New Jersey and Ames Department Stores in
Connecticut.

9. On April 16, 1985, I received a telephone call from George
Bolduc requesting a meeting at his office in Connecticut.

10. I made several telephone calls to confirm this meeting.

11. On April 23, 1985, I traveled to Rocky Hill, Connecticut and
met with George Bolduc. Neil Rypkema traveled to Connecticut from his
office in New Jersey.

12. On April 25, 1985, Neil Rypkema sent a letter to George
Bolduc setting forth additional information on trucking services.

13. In May, 1985, I made several calls to George Bolduc in
Connecticut to see whether he had reached any decision.

14. Laurel Hill Trucking subsequently began hauling for Ames
Department Stores. The first load was pulled for Ames on May 28, 1985.

15. On August 20, 1985, I received a telephone call from Laurel
Hill Trucking regarding the status of the Ames account. Apparently
business was slow and Laurel Hill wanted me to find out why.

16. I made several telephone calls to George Bolduc in Connecti-
cut and Laurel Hill Trucking in New Jersey to determine the status of the
Ames account. Soon after these calls business increased dramatically.

17. I made other calls periodically to Laurel Hill Trucking to
check on the status of the Ames account.

18. In addition to the Ames account, I contacted numerous
companies in Maine to see whether they needed trucking services which
Laurel Hill Trucking could provide. Neil Rypkema was made aware of
these contacts. These attempts did not result in any contracts.

19. On April 29, 1985, I met with Tom Golden of Georgia Pacific
in Woodland, Maine, regarding trucking services. A letter was sent by
me to Neil Rypkema of Laurel Hill Trucking for his approval before being
sent to Georgia Pacific. No contract for Laurel Hill Trucking resulted in
these contacts.

DATED: September 1, 1988

Deidre Caluri, Plaintiff
27

STATE OF MAINE
Penobscot, ss.

Personally appeared Deidre Caluri, and made oath that the above
statements are true to the best of her knowledge and belief.

Before me,

Notary Public

28

STATE OF MAINE SUPERIOR COURT
PENOBSCOT, ss: CIVIL ACTION DOCKET NO. CV-88-212

DEIJDRE CALURI,

Plaintiff
AFFIDAVIT OF CORNELIUS S. RYPKEMA
VS.

NEIL RYPKEMA, d/b/
a LAUREL HILL
TRUCKING COM-
PANY.

Se ee a a a a a

Defendant

Comelius Rypkema, Defendant, being first duly sworn, deposes
and says as follows:

1. My name is Cornelius S. Rypkema.

2. I am the President of Laurel Hill Trucking Company of
Secaucas, New Jersey.

3. I have never personally entered into a contract with Deidre
Caluri.

4. Ihavenever personally done business in the State of Maine.

5. I have never personally committed a tortious act or caused
a tortious act to be done in the State of Maine.

6. I do not personally own, use or possess any real estate
situated in the State of Maine.

_ 7. IT have never personally contracted to ensure any person,
property or risk located within the State of Maine.

8. I have never personally contracted to supply services for
things within the State of Maine.

9. My domicile and residence is the State of New Jersey.

29

10. I am not acting as a director, manager, trustee or other
officer for the corporation incorporated under the laws of the State of
Maine or having its principal place of business within the State of Maine.

DATED: July 13, 1988

CORNELIUS S. RYPKEMA
STATE OF NEW JERSEY July 13, 1988
Hudson, ss

Personally appeared the above-named Cornelius S. Rypkema
and made oath that the foregoing Affidavit is true to the best of his
knowledge and belief.

Before me,

Notary Public/Attorney at Law

30

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385020_1634%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
