# Opposition Brief — St. Joseph's Hospital & Medical Center v. Maricopa County

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385020_1592%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1990
- **Citation:** 498 U.S. 950

## Text

5 eis *, Suprema Court, US
Nf } K }
CZ) 41] TLEL
No. 89-1855 i JUN 26 199

TOSEPH F. SP AMO

L, JR.

i

~

CLERK

In The 1 Se an —

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1989

ST. JOSEPH'S HOSPITAL AND MEDICAL CENTER,

Petitioner,
Vv.

MARICOPA COUNTY,
Respondent.

Opposition to Petition For
Writ of Certiorari
To The
Arizona Court of Appeals

Brief for Respondent

Gordon J. Goodnow, Jr.
Counsel of Record
Deputy County Attorney

Maricopa County Attorney's Office

First American Title Building
111 West Monroe, 16th Floor
Phoenix, Arizona 85003

(602) 262-8541

Counsel for Respondent

i
QUESTION PRESENTED
Whether Arizona State statutes and
regulations which Mandate that income and
resources of all members of the household
be counted to determine eligibility for
medical care at County expense constitute a
taking of a private hospital's property
without just compensation or a denial of

the hospital's right to due process.

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

Question Presented . ; ‘ i
Table of Contents ° , ‘ ii
Table of Authorities ‘ ‘ iii
Statutes, Regulations and

Constititional Provisions ; 1
Statement of the Case ‘ ‘ 2
Summary of Argument . . . 6
Argument. ° . ° ° 9

I. The Provisions Of A.R.S.§

11-297(B) (2) Under Which Maricopa
County Denied St. Joseph's
Hospital's Claim, Do Not Create
An Unconstitutional Taking Of
Private Property Without Just
Compensation ° ° 10

II. There Was No Violation of
Due Process ‘ : ‘ 25

Conclusion J “ ‘ ‘ 28

Appendix . ‘ ; ‘ ° A-1

iii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: Page(s)
Armstrong, et al. v. United States

of America, 364 U.S. 40, 80 S.Ct.

1563, 4 L.Ed. 1554 (1960) ‘ 22

F.C.C. v. Florida Power Corp.,
480 U.S. 245 107, S.Ct. 1107, 94

L.Ed.2d 282 (1987). : . 22

Guerrero v. Copper Queen Hospital,
112 Ariz. 104, 537 P.2d 1329

(1975) ‘ ; ; ; ; 17,18

Penn Central Transportation Co.

v. City of New York, 438 U.S. 104,
98 S.Ct. 2646, 59 L.Ed.2d 631

(1978) ; . ; ; ; 14

Pennel et al. v. San Jose, et al.,
485 U.S. 1, 108 S.Ct. 849 99 L.Ed.
2d 1 (1988) . > . ‘ 21,25

St. Joseph's Hospital and Medical

Center v. Maricopa County, 130 Ariz.
239, 635 P.2d 527 (App. 1981) . 20

St. Joseph's Hospital and Medical

Center v. Maricopa County,163 Ariz.
132, 786 P.2d 983 (App. 1989) . 2

United States Department of

Agriculture, et al. v. Murry, et al.,
Sin Use. SOS, 93 S.Ct. 2832, 37

L.Ed.2d 767 (1973) . ° ° 9

Village of Belle Terre, et al. v.
Boraas, et al., 416 U.S. 1, 94 S.Ct.
1536, 39 L.Ed.2d 797 (1974) 8,26

Statutes:

11-291

11-297 ° :

11-297(B)(2) .

11-297.01 .

11-297.01(B) ;

Arizona Compilation of Rules

and Regulations:
R9-22-307 . ‘

iv

No: 89-1855

In The
Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1989

ST. JOSEPH'S HOSPITAL AND MEDICAL CENTER,
Petitioner,
Ve

MARICOPA COUNTY,
Respondent.

Opposition to Petition For
Writ of Certiorari
To The
Arizona Court of Appeals

Brief for Respondent

STATUTES, REGULATIONS AND
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

In addition to the statutes and
constitutional provisions cited by the
Petitioner, other statutes and regulations

which the case involves are: Arizona

2
Revised Statutes Annotated (A.R.S) §§ 11-
291, 11-297.01 and Arizona Compilation of
Rules and Regulations (A.C.R.R.) R9-22-307.
Copies are attached in the appendix. In
addition, copies of A.R.S. § 11-297,
defining indigency, and the case at bar,
St. Joseph's Hospital v. Maricopa ;
County, 163 Ariz. 132, 786 P.2d 983
(App. 1989), are attached.
STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case basically involves a
complaint about eligibility guidelines for
free indigent health care benefits at
government expense. The complaining party,
however, is not the patient, who was found
to be ineligible, but the private hospital
-which treated him for nearly two months and
sought to be paid by Maricopa County for
treatment rendered to the ineligible
patient, under the legal fiction that all

of his care was "“emergency" care. The

ieee

3

patient, Donald Neu, had been suffering
from terminal cancer. He had been
hospitalized previously at St. Joseph's
Hospital as well.

St. Joseph's Hospital argued that Mr.
Neu was a legally defined indigent, and
therefore was eligible for free medical
care under emergency circumstances pursuant
to A.R.S. § 11-297.01 (see appendix).
According to A.R.S. § 11-297(B)(2)' (see
appendix), an "indigent" was a person who
had no more than $3,333.00 annual income
(husband and wife) and who:

does not have resources of all

persons in the household,

including but not limited to

equity in a house or car, with a

net worth in excess of thirty-

thousand dollars, with no more

than five-thousand dollars cash

or other liquid assets.

In the case of the patient's

household, it was undisputed that the

' Now amended.

4

household owned resources which were vastly
in excess of the resource limits. These
included part ownership of a shopping
center, a home with equity several times
the total allowable limit, clear title toa
Cadillac, a jeep, a truck, a house trailer
and a joint checking account containing
$1,200.00. The patient, Mr. Neu, claimed
that the bulk of this was his wife's
separate property, and that he was
indigent. The Neus married in 1971 and the
listed property was acquired thereafter.
The Neus continued to live together in one
household through the years from 1971 until
Mr. Neu's hospitalization. Because the Neu
household assets exceeded the statutory
limits for indigency, Maricopa County found
Mr. Neu ineligible for care at its expense.

St. Joseph's sued Maricopa under
A.R.S. § 11-297.01, seeking reimbursement

for care rendered to Mr. Neu over

rete Roads dw 0 hie

to ord

5
approximately a two month period. The
trial court granted summary judgment in
favor of Maricopa, finding that the Neus
were statutorily ineligible for care at
County ezpense. Division One, Department
"D" of the Arizona Court of Appeals
affirmed the trial court ruling, holding
that the statute which defines indigency,
A.R.S. § 11-297, rendered both Mr. Neu and
his wife ineligible based upon the
household's assets, which included Mrs.
Neu's separate property. The Court also
held that the statute, A.R.S. § 11-297,
does not violate due process and does not
constitute an unconstitutional taking of
property. Finally, the Court held that St.
Joseph's was not entitled to restitution
Since the County had no duty to provide
care in the first place. Only the

constitutional issues (taking of property

6
and due process) are pursued by the
Petitioner in this Court.
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Respondent Maricopa County is required
by Arizona statutes (A.R.S. §§ 11-291, 297,
297.01 -- copies attached in appendix) to
provide free medical care to legally
defined indigents. "Indigents" are defined
by A.R.S. § 11-297(B)(2) as households
having income less than $3,333.00 per year,
for a married couple, and resources below
$30,000 in value.

The Neu household, consisting of the
patient and his wife, had resources well in
excess of $30,000. As noted above, this
included a partial interest in a shopping
center, an expensive home, three vehicles
with clear title, a trailer and a checking
account, among other things. Therefore,
under the terms of A.R.S. § 11-297(B) (2),

the Neu household fails to qualify as

a eee ca Taree

4
"indigent" and, therefore, Maricopa County

is not responsible for paying Mr. Neu's
hospital bill. The bill, totaling
approximately $50,000, was incurred over a

period of two months while Mr. Neu was

treated for cancer.

Even if Maricopa County were
responsible for Mr. Neu's care, as an
indigent, it would: sete-be liable for much.
if any, of his care at St. Joseph's, since
A.R.S. § 11-297.01(B) only requires payment———____
by a county for emergency care rendered to
a legally defined indigent.

There was no taking of private
property without just compensation. In
fact, there was no taking “whatsoever. The
hospital merely treated a patient and took
its chances on being paid, oe as

hospitals do each day when they accept

patients who are not eligible for indigent —

8
health care, or who do not have adequate
health insurance.

The Supreme Court, the Arizona Court
of Appeals and the Petitioner recognize
that lines must be drawn to determine
eligibility for social benefit programs.
Village of Belle Terre, et al. v. Borass,
oe ai., £16 U.S. 1, 94 3.Ce. 2336, 29
L.Ed.2d 797 (1974). That is simply what
the Arizona Legislature did in drafting
A.R.S. § 11-297(B)(2). The line was drawn
based upon a rational basis and for good
reasons. The Petitioner does not like
where it was drawn, since it does not allow
for payment of its. bill. However,
dissatisfaction with where the line is
drawn is different from suffering a taking
of property. There was no taking in this
case, nor was there a duty to treat or pay

for treatment to this middle class patient.

9

Likewise, there was no violation of
due process. The statute and administra-
tive regulations are designed ffor a
rational purpose and they are permissible.
Line-drawing for social benefits and the
use of the category of "households" are
widely accepted concepts in a large number
of local, state and federal benefit
programs. United States Department of
Agriculture, et al. v. Murry, et al., 413
U.S. 508, 93 S.Ct. 2832, 37 L.Ed.2d 767
(1973).

There are no constitutional bases for
granting a Petition for Certiorari.
Consequently, the petition should be
denied. }

ARGUMENT

The Petitioner bases its request for
review on two grounds, taking of private
property and due process. These grounds

are discussed below. Based upon the

10

discussion which follows, Responde: ~
Maricopa County asserts that the petition
should be denied.

I. The Provisions Of A.R.S.

Maricopa County Denied st.

Joseph's Hospital's Claim, Do Not

Create An Unconstitutional Taking

Of Private Property Without Just

Compensation.

The Petitioner, St. Joseph's Hospital
(St. Joseph's), asserts at page four of its
petition that it is not challenging the
eligibility standards themselves. Nor does
it object to the general concept of
"drawing a line" where a patient qualifies
or is ineligible for care at County
expense. Yet it is these same statutory
eligibility guidelines in A.R.S. § 11-
297(B)(2) and regulatory guidelines in
A.C.R.R. R9-22-307 (see appendix) that

clearly exclude the Neus from eligibility.

Therefore, it is incorrect to state that

_— ,

a3
the Petitioner is not attacking the actual
eligibility standards.

St. Joseph's dbnoterines the Arizona
statutory eligibility standards as if they
were somehow designed with Donald Neu
specifically in mind, in order to determine
him ineligible for care at Maricopa
County's expense and to deny the hospital
its rightful payment of his bill. The
reality is the opposite, however. The
Legislature of the State of Arizona, and
the Arizona Department of Health Services,
through administrative regulations, created
a number of criteria for determining
whether patients qualified as legally
indigent or not. One of these criteria was
whether or not a "household" earned a
certain amount of income or possessed a
certain level of resources. A.R.S. § 11-
297(B)(2). In the case of Donald Neu, his

wife's claimed separate property made the

12

household's income and resources well in
excess of the allowable eligibility limit,
where the Legislature decided to draw the
line. The same would have resulted had
Donald Neu owned separate property, or had
Mr. and Mrs. Neu owned all of the resources
which they possessed on an equal basis;
both of them (the household) would have
been ineligible since they were not
indigent. They were not indigent under
statute (A.R.S. § 11-297), nor were they
indigent in fact.

On the other hand, had the totality of
the household's income and resources met
the statutory standards, it would not have
mattered whether the income and resources
were separate or community property, nor
would it matter if one person in the
household earned all of the money or held
all of the property. What matters under

the eligibility statute is the amount held

13
by the household, not who earns it or
controls it.

St. Joseph's characterizes the Neu
family's ineligibility for having excess
assets at page five as a presumption that
Mr. Neu was "able to pay the hospital on
the basis of property he did not own and
could not control, and which was legally
beyond the reach of St. Joseph's." This
inaccurately slants the facts to suit the
hospital. Donald Neu was not eligible.
Neither was his wife. The household had
Clear title to several vehicles’ and
recreational items like a trailer, as well
as an expensive house and aé_=e shopping
center. These are not the kind of people
(the "poorest of the poor") that the
Legislature had in mind to pay for when it
adopted A.R.S. § 11-297 and its income
limits ($3,300.00 annual married couple's

income) and asset limits ($30,000.00).

14

St. Joseph's cites Penn Central
Transportation Co. v. City of New York, 438

U.S. 104, 98 S.Ct. 2646, 59 L.Ed.2d 631
(1978), at page four of the petition, for
the proposition that there is no single
"set formula" for determining when justice
and fairness call for government payment
for economic injuries. Obviously, the
analysis depends on the particular
circumstances in each case. Clearly the
circumstances in the case of the Neus do
not mandate taxpayer payment of a medical
bill incurred over two months by an upper
middle class or higher economic class
family.

The Supreme Court in Penn Central,
supra at 59 L.Ed. 648, stated:

A “taking” may more readily be

found when the interference with

property can be characterized as

physical invasion by government

{citations omitted] than when

interference arises from some
public program adjusting the

WRB BING wie PY on

15

benefits and burdens of economic
life to promote the common good.

The Court held that there was no
taking of property when the New York City
landmarks law barred Grand Central Station
Terminal from building a high-rise over the
terminal. Likewise, there was no taking in
the case at bar, as the Court of Appeals
for the State of Arizona has ruled.

St. Joseph's Hospital, as a "non-
profit" institution seems unusually
preoccupied with its finances. Yet the
fact that the Legislature allows private
hospitals to operate as "non-profit"
corporations, with preferential tax
treatment is another policy line that the
Legislature claims to draw between profit
making businesses, which are held to one
standard, and not for-profit businesses
that are held to another. The fact that
private hospitals are required to treat

certain low income people who are not poor

16
enough to qualify for care at government
expense is merely one of the conditions
that goes with the otherwise favorable
treatment they receive.

St. Joseph's complains at page three
that the Court of Appeals was in error at
pages 8-9 of its opinion when it spoke of
the rational basis for the Legislature
including a spouse's separate property ina
household's’ property. Yet the Court
recognized at page eight that:

In some cases, spouses will no
doubt decline to pay. It is not,
however, irrational that the
Legislature expect that those
possessing sufficient separate
assets will voluntarily pay for a
spouse's necessary medical care.
The system St. Joseph's proposes
-- that separate assets be
excluded -- would create an
economic disincentive for those
with adequate assets to provide
for the health needs of an
indigent spouse. This,
apparently, is not the policy the
Legislature has chosen to adopt.

The Court also noted at page six of

the opinion that the Legislature recently

17
amended the statute in question to exclude
the first $75,000.00 of a spouse's separate
property from the indigency calculation:

From this action, we can infer
that the Legislature was aware of
the County's policy to include
all separate property in the
calculation.

* ” *

- ». « the Legislature now clearly
requires that a spouse's separate
property -- albeit only that
which exceeds $75,000.00 -- be
included in the indigency
calculation. The Legislature was
obviously aware of community
property principles when it first
enacted § 11-297(B) (2). i. as
intended community property
principles to temper the
eligibility calculation, it could

have expressly done _ so, as
evidenced by the recent
amendment.

St. Joseph's makes much of a presumed

distinction between emergency and elective

care arguing that it can exclude non-paying

patients in the latter case, but that it

must treat patients in the former case

under the doctrine of Guerrero v. Copper

18

Queen Hospital, 112 Ariz. 104, 537 P.2d
1329 (1975). Maricopa County will ignore,

for the moment, the question of how a two-
month long hospital stay, followed by a
discharge home, can all be emergency care.
Beyond this, for all emergency patients
whose income ($2,500.00 single; $3,330.00
married) or sacets ($30,000.00) exceed the
eligibility limits, private hospitals will
still be required to treat these low income
people with no real expectation of
recovering their costs. Therefore, the
distinction between the two classes is not
that great in reality. It is puzzling to
say that an emergency patient with
indigency-qualifying resources of
$29,999.00 is not involved in a taking,

while a similar patient with $30,001

dollars in resources also is not involvea

in a taking. Under Guerrero v. Copper Queen
Hospital, supra, St. Joseph's would be

19

compelled to treat both patients without
regard to their ability to pay. Yet in the
first case, the County would only be
required to pay a reduced or discounted
amount by statue (A.R.S. § 11-297; see
appendix)’, whereas in the second case the
patient alone would be responsible for
payment of his or her bill and would most
probably be unable to pay even a portion of
it. Either way, the hospital does not
receive its full fee. Yet St. Joseph's is
apparently untroubled by that "line
drawing," but is upset at the well-off Neus
being deiied eligibility.

st. Joseph's states, inaccurately,
that "the Court of Appeals has previously

recognized the validity of the hospital's

‘ In 's Hospital v. Maricopa
County, 138 Ariz. 127, 673 P.2d 325 (App.
1983), Judge Kleinschmidt, writing for the
Court of Appeals, rejected St. Joseph's
statutory interpretation that the hospital
was entitled to its full billed rates,
rather than the statutorily reduced rate.

20
taking argument," citing St. Joseph's
Hospital and Medical Center v. Maricopa
County, 130 Ariz. 239, 635 P.2d 527 (App.
1981). The hospital admits that then-Judge
O'Connor, writing for the Court, found no
taking with reduced statutory payment to
hospitals. Yet it goes on to create the
incorrect impression that the Court somehow
implied that there was a taking under the
circumstances described by the hospital in
the instant case. This was not the case.
In fact, the case at bar is the first of
the line of hospital suits against
Arizona's counties to rule on the
constitutional taking issue, to the
knowledge of Maricopa County. The passage
referred to by St. Joseph's is dicta
contained in a discussion of a
Massachusetts case. It is not applicable

here. 7

21

St. Joseph*s—atso=etites—Pennell, er

al. v. San Jose, et al., 485 U.S. 1, 108

S.Ct. 849 99 L.Ed.2d 1 (1988). However,

the holding of that—case supports Maricopa

County's position. The Supreme-Court ruled

that the city's rent control ordinance was

not facially unconstitutional. The
ordinance had a “hardship to tenant"
provision which affected whether a landlord
could raise rent. The Court held that it
was premature to find any taking, but that
the ordinance did not violate the due
process or equal protection clauses on its
face. Moreover, the Court held that, in
takings cases particularly, consti-
tutionality of statutes should only be
decided based upon the actual factual
circumstances of each case. Finally, the
Court held that "statutes regulating the

economic relations of landlords and tenants

are not per se takings," Pennell, supra, at

22

pages 854-858, quoting F.C.c. v. Florida
Pow Corp., 480 U.S. 245 107, S.Ct. 1107,

94 L.Ed.2d 282 (1987). Furthermore, the
Court stated at pages 857-858:

We have consistently affirmed
that states have broad power to
regulate housing conditions in
general and the landlord-tenant
relationship in particular
without paying compensation for
all economic injuries that such
regulation entails. (Citing
Loretto v. Teleprompter Manhattan
CATV. Corp., 458 U.S. 419, 102
S.Ct. 3164, 73 L.Ed.2d 868
(1982)).

The Petitioner cites Armstrong, et al.

v. United States of America, 364 U.S. 40,
80 S.Ct. 1563, 4 L.Ed. 1554 (1960). a
case involves a contractor for boats ina
contract with the U.S. government. The
Supreme Court held that materialmen had a
lien on the boat hulls and had a
compensable property interest.

However, while holding that there was
a taking of liens, the Court also held at

80 S.Ct. 1568 that:

23

It is true that not every
destruction or injury to property
by governmental action has been
held to be a "taking" in the
constitutional sense. Omnia
Commercial Co. v. United States,
261 U.S. 502, 508-510, 43 S.Ct.
437, 67 L.Ed. 773 (1960).

The Court distinguished at page 1569
between a compensable taking and a mere
"consequential incidence" of ae valid
regulatory measure. Finally, Justices
Harlan, Frankfurter and Clark dissented,
finding no taking.

As the Court of Appeals correctly
stated at pages 9-10 of the opinion before
this Court:

In reality, St. Joseph's claim is

that the indigency calculation
together with the requirement

that the hospital must treat all
emergency patients constitutes a
taking. The logical extension of
this argument, as the County
points out, is that anytime the
hospital is unable to collect on
its emergency bill the County (or
State) must pay. (Emphasis
added).

24
The Court of Appeals stated at page
twelve, “obviously, these regulations are
not tantamount to a complete condemnation
of the hospital." Furthermore, it noted at
page eleven that:

The State's interest in the
indigency calculation also is
legitimate. As discussed earlier
in this opinion, the Legislature
must "draw lines" in order to
allocate scarce resources.

Indeed, the Court notes at page
thirteen:

Here the regulations fall far
short of that which is
traditionally considered an
unconstitutional taking. The
State has not "invaded" the
hospital but has simply required
hospitals, as a condition of
doing business in Arizona, to
accept patients without regard to
their ability to pay. The State
or County will reimburse the
hospital for the care extended to
qualified indigents. For all
patients who do not qualify as
indigent, the hospital must look
to the patient for reimbursement.

Based upon the foregoing, the Court of

Appeals was correct in its interpretation

23
of the law, finding that no taking
occurred.

II. There Was No Violation Of
Due Process.

So long as they are rationally related
to a legitimate state interest, economic
regulations are acceptable, Pennell, et al.

¥. 236 22 Seas Jeaee. of a)... 665 U.6. 1,
108 S.Ct. 849 99 L.Ed.2d 1 (1988).

The Court of Appeals for the State of
Arizona held in this case at 786 P.2d 986-

987:

We cannot agree that including
a spouse's separate property as a
legislative exercise in line-
drawing lacks sufficient
rationality to satisfy the
requirements of due process. St.
Joseph's argues that the
inclusion of separate property
creates an irrebuttable and
irrational presumption that an
indigent whose household assets
exceed the limit can afford

health care. In some cases,
spouses will no doubt decline to
pay. It is not, however,

irrational that the legislature
expect that those possessing
sufficient separate assets will
voluntarily pay for a spouse's
necessary medical care the system

26

St. Joseph's proposes -- that
separate assets be excluded --
would create a disincentive for
those with adequate assets to
provide for the health needs of
an indigent spouse. This,
apparently, is not the policy the
legislature has chosen to adopt.

The reasoning of the U.S. Supreme
Court when speaking of equal protection is
equally applicable to due process. Village
of Belle Terre, et al. v. Boraas, et al.,

416 U.S. 1, 94 &.Ct. 1536, 39 L.Ed.2d 797
(1974):

We deal with economic and social
legislation where legislatures
have historically drawn lines
which we respect against the
charge of violation of the Equal
Protection Clause if the law be

" 'reasonable, not arbitrary’ "
(quoting F.S. Royster Guano Co.
v¥. Virginia, 253 U.S. 412, 415,
40 S.Ct. 560, 561, 64 L.Ed. 989)
and bears "a rational relation-
ship to a [permissible] state
objective." Reed v. Reed, 404
0.8. 33, 76, Be Geet. Zoek. 354,
30 L.Ed.2d 225.

It is said, however, that if two
unmarried people can constitute a
"family," there is no reason why
three or four may not. But every
line drawn by a legislature

27

leaves some out that might well

have been’ included.? That

exercise of discretion, however,

is a legislative, not a judicial,

function. 416 U.S. at 1540.

Just as the Legislature decided to
give St. Joseph's certain tax advantages as
a non-profit corporation, it also decided
to "draw the line" at a certain level of
resources for a household that would

qualify or disqualify its members from

eligibility. This has been done by the

3 Mr. Justice Holmes made the point a
half century ago. "When a legal distinction
is determined, as no one doubts that it may
be, between night and day, childhood and
maturity, or any other extremes, a point
has to be fixed or a line has to be drawn,
or gradually picked out by successive
decisions, to mark where the change takes
place. Looked at by itself without regard
to the necessity behind it the line or
point seems arbitrary. It might as well or
nearly as well be a little more to one side
or the other. But when it is seen that a
line or point there must be, and that there
is no mathematical or logical way of fixing
it precisely, the decision of the
legislature must be accepted unless we can
say that it is very wide of any reasonable
mark." Louisville Gas & Electric Co. v.
Coleman, 277 U.S. 32, 41, 48 S.Ct. 423, 72
L.Ed.770 (dissenting opinion).

28

Legislature, as is its right. ac.

Joseph's

is unhappy with the result, its

remedy is through the Legislature, not the

Courts.

For
Maricopa

Petition

CONCLUSION
the reasons set forth above,
urges the Court to deny the

for Certiorari filed by St.

Joseph's Hospital.

June 22,

Respectfully submitted,

Maricopa Coynty Attorney's Office

Counsel of Record

Deputy County Attorney
First American Title Building
111 West Monroe, 16th Floor
Phoenix, Arizona 85003

Counsel for Respondent

1990

APPENDIX

—- . mat So oe Le ee ee ae)

OPINION BELOW

|
| wo. 1
St. Joseph's Hospital | CA-CIV 88-047
and Medical Center, | Court of Appeals
an Arizona corporation | of Arizona
Plaintiff-Appellant, | Division l,
| Department D.
| Sept. 7, 1989.
| Review Denied
|
|
|
!

Feb. 26, 1990

Vv.

Maricopa County, a
body politic,
Defendant~-Appellee.

Gammage & Burnham

by Richard B. Burnhan, Curtis Ullman and
Tracey L. Fletcher, Phoenix,
for plaintiff-appellant.

Richard E. Romley,
Maricopa County Atty.

by Gordon J. Goodnow, Jr.,
Deputy County Atty., Phoenix,
for defendant~appellee.

OPINION

SHELLEY, Judge.

This case deals with the statute that
defines indigency for purposes of public
health assistance. We hold that the
statute must be construed to render a
patient ineligible for public assistance if
his spouse owns separate property that
exceeds the maximum set by the statute. We
also hold that the statute, so construed,
does not offend due process and does not
work an unconstitutional taking of
property.

A-2
BACKGROUND

Donald Neu was admitted as an emer-
gency patient to St. Joseph's Hospital and
Medical Center in April of 1985, and he
remained hospitalized there for almost two
months, incurring charges of over $50,000,
of which he paid only a small part. St.
Joseph's sought reimbursement of most of
the balance due from Maricopa County, and
the county refused to pay, claiming that
Neu was not eligible for assistance.

For the purposes of this appeal,
eligibility for county health care is
determined under the version of A.R.S. §
11-297(B)(2) that was in effect in 1985.
An indigent was then defined as a resident
of the county whose income does not exceed
a specific level, and

[djoes not have resources of all

persons in the household, in-

cluding but not limited to equity

in a house or car, with a net

worth in excess of thirty
thousand dollars, with no more

A-3

than five thousand dollars cash

or other liquid assets.

A.R.S. § 11-297(B)(2) (1985 Ariz.Sess.Laws
ch.316, § 5).'

Donald Neu's assets at the time of his
hospitalization totaled substantially less
than $30,000. His wife owned, as her sole
and separate property, the home in which
they lived, a part interest in a shopping
center, and some automobiles. Because the
value of Mrs. Neu's separate property
exceeded the statutory maximun, Maricopa

County determined that Donald Neu was not

'A.R.S. § 11-297(b)(2) has been

subsequently amended, increasing the
limitation on resources from $30,000 to
$50,000. 1986 Ariz.Sess.Laws ch. 380 § 2.
The statute was again amended to add:
For an individual applicant who is married,
any separate property of the applicant's
spouse that does not exceed seventy-five
thousand dollars shall not be included in
determining the net worth of resources of
the applicant. 1988 Ariz.Sess.Laws ch. 3, §
1. All textual references to A.R.S. § 11-
297(B) (2) are to the 1985 version, unless
otherwise noted.

A-4

_—_—
"indigent" and was therefore not eligible

for county health services. Maricopa
County denied St. Joseph's claim for
reimbursement of Donald Neu's
hospitalization charges.

St. Joseph's sued the county on its
claim, and the trial court, agreeing with
the county's position, granted summary
judgment in its favor.

On appeal, we consider the following
questions:

A. Statutory Interpretation:

Whether the separate property of

a spouse can be considered in

determining an individual's

indigency pursuant to A.R.S. §

11-297 (B) (2);

B. Due Process: Whether A.R.S. §

11-297(B)(2) is arbitrary and

denies Donald Neu and ie St.

Joseph's due process;

A-5

Se Unconstitutional Taking:
Whether Maricopa County's failure
to reimburse St. Joseph's for
emergency services is an
unconstitutional taking of pri-
vate property without just com-
pensation; and
D. Restitution: Whether St.
Joseph's is entitled to recover
from Maricopa County for services
rendered under a theory of
restitution.

We decide each of these issues in favor of

Maricopa County.

THE SEPARATE PROPERTY OF A SPOUSE MAY
BE CONSIDERED IN DETERMINING INDIGENCY

The parties agree that the medical
expenses of a spouse are not collectable
out of the separate property of the other
spouse. Donald Neu's medical expenses were

payable only out of the community income

A-6

‘and assets and Donald's separate property.
For the purpose of this opinion, we accept
that as the law.°

To be eligible for county health care
benefits, a person must have income below a
specified level and may not have "resources
of all persons in the household" in excess
of $30,000 with not more than $5,000 in
cash or other liquid assets. A.R.S. § 1l-
297(B) (2). hocexdine to St. Joseph's,
Arizona community property principles and
public policy require that the phrase
"resources of all persons in the household"
in § 11-297(B)(2) be construed to include
only assets actually available to the

patient or his creditors. So construed,

*We note that in California, a spouse's
separate property may be reached to satisfy
debts incurred for the other spouse's
"necessaries of life." Cal.Civ.Code
5120.140(a) (1) (West Supp. 1989); In re
Higgason's Marriage, 110 Cal.Rptr. 897, 10
Cal.3d 476, 516 P.2d 289 (1973). There is
no comparable civil statute in Arizona.

A-7

the statute would require the county to
reimburse the hospital for Neu's care.

(1] Eligibility statutes, the hospital
argues, must be liberally construed with
the dual purposes of delivering health care
to tho;e who cannot afford it and
protecting a private hospital's right to
receive reimbursement from the county. It
cites a number of Arizona decisions for
this premise. Although we acknowledge the
underlying principle, none of the cases
cited offer specific guidance in determin-
ing whether "resources of the household"
must be construed to exclude a spouse's
separate property when the plain language
of A.R.S. § 11-297(B)(2) states otherwise.

‘Fi St. Joseph's also cites cases
from other jurisdictions for the
proposition that welfare statutes or regu-

lations cannot preempt community property

principles. See Harper v. New Mexico Dept.

A-8

of Human Services, 95 N.M. 471, 623 P.2d

985 (1980); Duran v. New Mexico Dept. of

Human Services, 95 N.M. 196, 619 P.2d 1240
, ne

(App.1980); see also Purser v. Rahm, 104
Wash.2d 159, 702 P.2d 1196 (1985), cert.

dismissed, 478 U.S. 1029, 107 S.Ct. 8, 92
L.Ed.2d 763 (1986), all holding that the
uniform federal regulation, which was meant
to apply to all states (both community and
non-community property), had to be
interpreted in the context of local law.
These decisions shed little light on how
the specific problem before us is to be
resolved. In this’ case, the same
legislature which has codified our com-
munity property law enacted A.R.S. § 11-
297.

St. Joseph's also cites Herrera v.
Health & Social Services, 92 N.M. 331, 587
P.2d 1342 (App.1978), which held that the

word “income," as used in New Mexico's

A-9

eligibility statute, had to be interpreted
in light of that state's community property
law. The upshot was that since half the
patient's income belonged to his wife under
community property principles, he was under
the maximum limit to qualify for public
assistance. The problem is that in the
context of the New Mexico statute,
"income," was 2@ more ambiguous term than
the phrase, "resources of all persons in
the household," with which we deal here.
In our opinion, this phrase, "re-
sources of all persons in the household,"
unmistakably indicates an intent to include
a spouse's separate property. No
limitation of the type of resources --
separate or community -- is expressed in
the statute. To construe it otherwise
would require reading into the statute
something that the legislature did not put

there. This, we ought not do. City of

A-10

Phoenix, v. Donofrio, 99 Ariz. 130, 133,

407 P.2d 91, 93 (1965).

As noted in footnote 1 to this opin-
ion, the legislature has recently amended
the relevant statute to exempt the first
$75,000 of the spouse's separate assets
from the indigency calculation. From this
action, we can infer that the legislature
was aware of the county's policy to include
all a property in the calculation.
The amendment does not reveal whether the
county's policy comported with the
legislature's intent under the old statute.
The amendment is either a liberalization of
the qualification guidelines, or a
restriction of it, depending on one's
viewpoint. In either case, the legislation
now clearly requires that a spouse's
separate property -- albeit only that which
exceeds $75,000 -- be included in the

indigency calculation. The legislature was

A-11

obviously aware of community property
principles when it first enacted § 11-
297(B) (2). If it intended community
property principles to temper the eligi-
bility calculation, it could have expressly
done so, as_ evidenced by the recent
amendment.

THE STATUTE DOES NOT OFFEND
DUE PROCESS

We turn to St. Joseph's argument that
the statute, as we construe in he arbi-
trary, capricious, ahd violative of the due
process clauses of the state and federal
constitutions.

[3] Economic regulations need only be
rationally related to a legitimate state

interest. Arizona Downs v. Arizona

Horseman's Found, 130 Ariz. 550, 555, 637

P.2d 1053, 1058 (1981). See also Comment,

Economic Substantive Due Process in

Arizona; A Survey, 20 Ariz.St.L.J. 327

A-12

(1988). St. Joseph's acknowledges this
well-settled principle but claims that the
inclusion of a spouse's separate property
in the indigency calculation is irrational.
We disagree.

[4]. As St. Joseph's acknowledges, the
legislature may and must draw financial
eligibility lines somewhere. Under current
eligibility criteria, a married couple can
earn no more than $3,333 per year to
qualify as_ indigent. This line is
necessarily arbitrary, and, we realize, not
realistically calculated to provide
adequate health care for any but the poor-
est of the poor. Those who make more than
$3,333 per year and cannot afford medical
care are simply on their own, except in one
respect -- if they present themselves at a

hospital for emergency treatment, they

cannot be turned away. See Thompson v. Sun

A-13

City Comm. Hosp., 141 Ariz. 597, 602, 688
P.2d 605, 610 (1984).

As we have already observed, St. Jo-
seph's acknowledges that the legislature
must "draw the line somewhere." st. a
seph's admits that the county is not re-
quired to reimburse the hospital for those
emergency patients who do not qualify under
the basic indigency guidelines. However,
it, challenges a detail in the legislature's
drawing of the line when it contends that
the legislature so unreasonably narrows its
Prospects of reimbursement as to violate
due process when the legislature includes
within the calculation of household assets
available to the patient the separate
Property of the patient's spouse.

We cannot agree that including a
Spouse's separate property as a legislative
exercise in line-drawing lacks sufficient

rationality to satisfy the requirements of

_ A-14

due process. St. Joseph's argues that the
inclusion of separate property creates an
irrebuttable and irrational presumption
that an indigent whose household assets
exceed the limit can afford health care.
In some cases, spouses will no doubt
decline to pay. It is not, however,
irrational that the legislature expect that
those possessing sufficient separate assets
will voluntarily pay for a_ spouse's
necessary medical care. The system St.
Joseph's proposes -- that separate assets
be excluded -- would create a disincentive
for those with adequate assets to provide
for the health needs of an indigent spouse.
This, apparently, is not the policy the
legislature has chosen to adopt.

We turn to St. Joseph's next argument,
that the system effects an unconstitutional
taking of its property without just

compensation.

A-15

THE STATUTE IS NOT AN UNCONSTITUTIONAL
TAKING OF THE HOSPITAL'S PROPERTY

[5] St. Joseph's asserts that if a
patient's indigency is determined by
including the separate property of his
Spouse, which cannot be reached by a
private hospital for the payment of
hospital bills, the statute violates the
"taking" clauses of the state and federal
constitutions. it posits that the private
property taken was the use of its services,
facilities, and supplies, because, in
Arizona, hospitals must provide emergency
treatment regardless of the person's
ability to pay. Thompson, 141 Ariz. at
602, 688 P.2d at 610. We disagree.

In reality, St. Joseph's claim is that
the indigency calculation, together with
the requirement that the hospital must
treat all emergency patients, constitutes a

taking. The logical extension of this

A-16

argument, as the county points out, is that
any time the hospital is unable to collect
on its emergency bill, the county (or
state) must pay. ‘St. Joseph's cites a
mischievous footnote in St. Joseph's
Hospital v. Maricopa County, 130 Ariz. 239,
635 P.2d 527 (App. 1981). That footnote
referred to the suggestion made by a
Massachusetts court in an earlier case,
that if a hospital were requested to accept
indigents and the public’ authorities
refused to pay, such might constitute a
taking. The suggestion was mere dicta.
Traditional eminent domain cases shed
some light on the question. The typical
eminent domain cane: invotwes the taking or
regulation of real property which
diminishes or destroys the value of that
property to the owner and provides a direct
benefit to the state. This case is

atypical because the benefit -- emergency

A-17

health care -- inures to the patient
directly. The only fiscal benefit the
state enjoys is that it does not have to
pay for the patient's care, unless the
patient qualifies as indigent. There is
some authority for the proposition that the
government must pay for an unconstitutional
taking of the property, even if it is
another who derives the benefit. See Ivey

Vv. United States, 88 F.Supp. 6, 8

(E.D.Tenn. 1950). In any event, the
eminent domain analysis provided in
property-use-regulation cases will be our
guide.

As we stated in Corrigan v. City of

Scottsdale, 149 Ariz. 553, 720 P.2da 528

(App. 1985) aff'd in relevant part, 149

Ariz. 538, 720 P.2d 513 (1986):

There are no set formulas
for determining at which point a
regulation effects a taking of
property .. . Rather a two step
process is required. First, we

A-18

must determine WwW e a
legitimate state interest is
substantially advanced by the

ordinance at issue... Second, we

focus on whether the ordinance

und ¢) t) icall

Ultimately the issue is whether

the public at large, rather than

a few landowners should bear the

burden of an exercise of police

power.
Id. 149 Ariz. at 560, 720 P.2d at 535
(citations omitted) (emphasis added). See
also Ranch 57 v. City of Yuma, 152 Ariz.
218, 225-26, 731 P.2d ai3, 120-21
(App.1986).
he Legitimate State Interest.

In this case, we deal with the
operation of two regulations that
purportedly effect a taking. The first is
a regulation developed by case law -- that
hospitals are required to accept emergency
patients without regard to their ability to
pay. We think it is beyond discussion that
this requirement advances a legitimate

state interest. As our supreme court state

in Thompson:

A-19

‘If a person, seriously hurt,
applies for .. . aid at an
emergency ward .. . a refusal
might well result in worsening
the condition of the injured
person, because of the time lost
in a useless attempt to obtain
medical aid.'

_141 Ariz. at 602 n.3, 688 P.2d at 610 n.3
(citations omitted).

The state's interest in the indigency
calculation also is’ legitimate. As
discussed earlier in this opinion, the
legislature must "draw lines" in order to
allocate scarce re.ources. Including
separate property in a household's
resources for indigency purposes encourages
family members to. use their private
resources to pay for medical care rather
than allowing that burden to fall on public
coffers. Therefore, we answer the first
question posed in Corrigan affirmatively
and turn to the second prong.

Ze Denial of Economic Use.

Obviously, these regulations are not

A-20

tantamount to a complete condemnation of
the hospital. The questions for the court
then is whether the regulation is so severe
as to deny the owner a reasonable economic
use of the property and whether, in justice
and fairness, the burden should fall on the
hospital or on the public as a whole. Penn

Central Transp. Co. v. City of New York,

438 U.S. 104, 123-24, 98 S.Ct. 2646, 2659,

57 L.Ed.2d 631, 648 (1978); Ranch 57, 152

Ariz. at 226-27, 731 P.2d at 121-22.

The Penn Central Court, noting that
this determination is essentially an ad hoc
factual inquiry, identified several
Significant factors. The first factor
mentioned in Penn Central is the economic
impact of the regulation on the plaintiff,
particularly the extent that the regulation
has interfered with the plaintiff's
"investment-backed expectations." a 438

U.S. at 123-24, 98 S.Ct. at 2659. We have

A-21

absolutely nothing in the record to
indicate the extent to which’ these
regulations have effected St. Joseph's
profitability. We know that St. Joseph's
is unable to collect on the Neu account,
totaling $50,006.45. We do not ‘ai what
percentage of that figure is expected
profit, nor do we know the impact these
regulations have had on the hospital's
overall profitability. Presumably, these
"bad debts" are absorbed by the hospital as
a cost of doing business and are ultimately
passed on to the consumer. St. Joseph's
has not provided us- with adequate
information upon which we could determine
that it has suffered economic hardship
tantamount to an unconstitutional taking.

Bs Governmental Action.

Another factor mentioned in Penn

Central is the "character of the

governmental action." The Court explained:

A-22

A 'taking' may more readily be
found when the interference with
property can be characterized as
a physical invasion by
government, . . . than when
interference arises from some
public program adjusting the
benefits and burdens of economic
life to promote the common good.
Id. (citation omitted). Here, the
regulations fall far short of that which is
traditionally considered an
unconstitutional taking. The state has not
"invaded" the hospital but has simply
required hospitals, as a condition of doing
business in Arizona, to accept emergency
patients without regard to their ability to
pay. The state or county will reimburse
the hospital for the care extended to
qualified indigents. For all patients who
do not qualify as indigent, the hospital
must look to the patient for reimbursement.
The regulation mandating emergency

care benefits the common good (not only the

poor or uninsured) because no one can be

A-23

denied emergency care for failing to
provide .proof of insurance or credit
worthiness. The aspect of the regulation
that denies families county-funded health
care if one spouse possesses assets in
excess of the statutory limit also benefits
the common good, because it encourages
families to pay for services rendered for
family members rather than allowing that
burden to fall on state coffers.

Having reviewed the relevant factors,
we cannot find that, in the case of Donald
Neu, this regulatory scheme amounts to an
unconstitutional taking of the hospital's
property.

_ RESTITUTION

[6] As a final issue for appeal, St.
Joseph's contends it should be able to
collect from the county on a theory of
restitution. Appellant cites to sections

114 and 115 of the Restatement of

A-24

Restitution in support of its theory. The
fatal flaw in appellant's argument is that
for the county to be liable for Donald
Neu's emergency care under a restitution
theory, it must have had a duty to provide
that care. St. Joseph's claims that the
county's duty arises from A.R. S. § 11-291,
which requires the county to provide
medical care to the indigents. As we have
determined earlier in this opinion, the
county had no duty to provide care for
Donald Neu, because he did not qualify as
an indigent. Because the county had no
duty, it is also not liable in restitution.
CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the
decision of the trial court is affirmed.

KLEINSCHMIDT, P.J., and FIDEL,

J., concur.

A-25

ARTICLE 7. MEDICAL FACILITIES AND
Cc e) NDIGENTS

Cross References

Income tax deduction, nursing care
institution costs, see §43-1062. Income
tax exemption, maintaining person in
nursing or supervisory care institution,
see §43-1023.

§11-291. Hospitalization and medical care
of indigent sick.

Text oof section effective until
October 2, 1983.

A. Except as provided in §36-183.01
and title 36, chapter 29, the board of
supervisors has the sole and exclusive
authority to provide for the
hospitalization and medical care of the
indigent sick in the county, including
long-term care and home health services as
defined in §46-151, paragraph 3, to
indigent persons and indigent persons under

the supervision of a county corrections

A-26

agency. Counties shall not be required to
provide services specified in title 36,
chapter 29 to persons eligible for care
under title 36, chapter 29 who meet all
requirements for such care. The board may
employ physicians and other’ persons
necessary to accomplish the purpose of this
section.

B. In carrying out the powers and
duties prescribed by §11-251, paragraph 5,
and subsection A of this section, the board
may contract with any qualified person to
provide all or a part of the services
required. Such contracts may be for a term
of not more than ten years. All contracts
for the operation of a county hospital for
a term of more than two years shall let to
the best responsible bidder after
advertising for sealed bids in a newspaper
andy by notice posted in three or more

public places in the County at least ten

A-27

days before awarding the contract. The
board may reject any and all bids. Amended
by Laws 1981, 4th S.S., Ch. 1, §1; Laws
1982, Ch. 314, §; Laws 1982, Ch. 319, §1.
Section 36-2901 et seq.

For text of section effective October

2, 1982, see §11-291, post.
§11-291. Hospitalization and medical care
of indigent sick
Text of section effective October 2, 1983

A. Except as provided in §36-183.01
and title 36, chapter 29, the board of
supervisors has the sole and exclusive
authority to provide for the
hospitalization and medical care of the
indigent sick in the county, including
long-term care and home health services as
defined in §36-151, paragraph 3, to
indigent persons and indigent persons under
the supervision of a county corrections

agency. Counties shall not be required to

A-28

provide services specified in title 36,
chapter 29 to persons eligible for care
under title 36, chapter 29 after the
persons have been determined eligible
pursuant to the county eligibility
provided. Except as provided in §§ 36-2908
and 36-2909, until the final eligibility
determination has been made and all
applicable notice provisions have been
complied with, the county shall provide

services for indigent persons who are in
fact eligible for care as required by Laws
1981, 4th special session, chapter 1, §16.
A county may condition the provision of
nonemergency care to a person who is
otherwise eligible for county services on
the completion by the person, or by a
representative of the person on his behalf,
of an application for eligibility for the
Arizona health care cost containment system

pursuant to title 36, chapter 29. The

A-29
board may employ physicians and other
persons necessary to accomplish the purpose
of this section.

B. In carrying out the powers and
duties prescribed by §11-251, paragraph 5,
and subsection A of this section, the board
may contract with any qualified person to
provide all or a part of the services
required. Such contracts may be for a term
of not more than ten years. All contracts
for the operation of a county hospital for
a term of more than two years shall be let
to the best responsible bidder after
advertising for sealed bids in a newspaper
and by notice posted in three or more
public places in the county at least ten
days before awarding the contract. The
board may reject any and all bids. Amended
by Laws 1983, Ch. 304, §2, eff. Oct. 2,

1983. 1 Section 36-2901.

A-30 ~
For text of section effective until October

2, 1982, see §11-291, ante.

A-31

ARTICLE 7. MEDICAL FACILITIES AND
CARE OF INDIGENTS

Cross References

Income tax deduction, nursing care
institution costs, see §43-1062. Income
tax exemption, maintaining person in
nursing or supervisory care institution,
see §43-1023.

§11-291. Hospitalization and medical care
of indigent sick.

A. Except as provided in §36-183.01
and title 36, chapter 29,' the board of
Supervisors has the sole and exclusive
authority to provide for the
hospitalization and medical care of the
indigent sick in the county, including
long-term care and home health services as
defined in §36-151, paragraph 3, to
indigent persons and, to the extent that
such expenses are not covered by a third
party payor, to indigent persons under the

supervision of a county corrections agency.

A-32
For the purposes of this subsection, "third
party payor" does not include the Arizona
health care cost containment system.

B. Counties shall not be required to
provide services specified in title 36,
chapter 29 to persons eligible for care
under title 36, chapter 29 after the
persons have been determined eligible
pursuant to the county eligibility process.
Except as provided in §§ 36-2908 and 36-
2909, until the final eligibility
determination has been made and all
applicable notice provisions have been
complied with, the county shall provide
services for indigent persons who are in
fact eligible for care as required by § 11-
291.01. A county may condition the
provision of nonemergency care to a person
who is otherwise eligible for county
services on the completion by the person,

or by a representative of the person on his

A-33

behalf, of an application for eligibility
for the Arizona health’ care cost
containment system pursuant to title 36,
chapter 29. Beginning October 1, 1985, a
county shall determine whether a person is
eligible or ineligible for care provided
pursuant to § 11-291.01 no later than it
determines whether a person is eligible or
ineligible for care pursuant to title 36,
chapter 29.

c. The board may employ physicians
and other persons necessary to accomplish
the purpose of this section.

D. In carrying out the powers and
duties prescribed by section 11-251,
paragraph 5, and subsection A of this
section, the board may contract with any
qualified person to provide all or a part
of the services required. Such contracts
may be for a term of not more than ten

years. All contracts for the operation of

A-34
a county hospital for a term of more than
two years shall be let to the best
responsible bidder after advertising for
sealed bids in a newspaper and by notice
posted in three or more public places in
the county at least ten days’ before
awarding the contract. The board may
reject any and all bids.

E. For purposes of this section
hospitals which render care to the indigent
sick shall be reimbursed by the board of
supervisors until October 1, 1987 as
prescribed in § 36-2903.01, subsection I or
J.

F. The county is entitled to a lien
for the charges for hospital or medical
care and treatment of an injured person for
which it is responsible pursuant’ to
subsection A of this section, on any and
all claims for damages accruing to the

person to whom hospital or medical service

A-35

is rendered, or to the legal representative
of such person, on account of injuries
giving rise to such claims and which
necessitated such hospital or medical care
and treatment. Recovery of charges
pursuant to this subsection shall be ina
manner as nearly as possible the same as
the procedures prescribed in § 36-2915.

G. Except as provided in §§ 36-2908
and 36-2909, the county shall reimburse an
ambulance company for the transportation to
a hospital of a person in a medical
emergency situation if that person's
medical care is a county responsibility
pursuant to § 11-291.01 and subsection A of
this section and if such transportation is
requested by a health care professional
licensed under the provisions of title 32,
chapter 13, 15, 17 or 25,* by a paramedic
or emergency medical technician certified

pursuant to title 36, chapter 21.1,° or by

A-36

a law enforcement officer or fire fighter.
The county shall reimburse the ambulance
company for services on a capped fee-for-
service basis not to ental the maximum
amount determined by the administration
pursuant to § 36-2904, subsection B.
Amended by Laws 1981, 4th S.S., Ch. 1, § 1;
Laws 1982, Ch. 314, § 1; Laws 1982, Ch.
319, § 1; May 5, 1984; Laws 1985, Ch. 316,

§ 1, eff. May 10, 1985.

1. Section 36-2901 et seq.

2. Section 32-1401 et seq., 32-1601 et
seq., 32-1801 et seq. or 32-2501 et seq.

3. Section 36-2201 et seq.

A-37
Arizona Revised Statutes Annotated
11-297. Hospital treatment; application;
affidavit; indigency standards;
erroneous determinations;
definitions

A. Except in emergency cases when
immediate hospitalization or medical care
is necessary for the preservation of life
or limb no person shall be _ provided
hospitalization, medical care or outpatient
relief under this article without first
filing with the board or supervisors of the
county in which he resides a statement in
writing, subscribed and sworn to under
oath, that he is an indigent as defined by
subsection B of this section.

B. For the purposes of this section,
an "indigent" is a resident of the county
who:

1. Does not have an annual income in
excess of:

(a) Two thousand five hundred

dollars, for one individual.

A-38

(b) An additional thirty-three and
one-third per cent of the base identified
in subdivision (a) of this paragraph if
living with a dependant member of the
family household, or if married and living
with a spouse.

(c) An additional seventeen percent
of the base identified in subdivision (a)
of this paragraph for each additional

dependent member of the family household.

Annual income shall be calculated by
multiplying by four the applicant's income
for the three months immediately prior to
the application for eligibility for the
Arizona health care cost containment system
pursuant to title 36, chapter 29.

2. Does not have resources of all
persons in the household, including but not
limited to equity in a house or car, with a

new worth in excess of thirty thousand

A-39
dollars, with no more than five thousand
dollars cash or other liquid assets.

3. Has not, within three years prior
to filing an application for eligibility
for the Arizona health care cost
containment system pursuant to title 36,
chapter 29, transferred on real or
personal property with intent to render
himself eligible for such system.

C. For the purposes of subsection B
of this section, each applicant shall
provide a statement of the amount of
personal and real property in which the
applicant has an interest, a statement of
all income which the applicant received
during the three months immediately prior
to the application, and a statement of any
personal and real property assigned or
transferred by the applicant within a three
year period immediately prior to filing an

application for eligibility for the Arizona

A-40
health care cost containment system
pursuant to title 36, chapter 29 and any
further information determined through
rules and regulations by the director of
the Arizona health care cost containment

system administration.

A- 41

A.R.S. § 11-297.01 -- Relevant portions of
the statute are identical to the statute

effective May 10, 1985 and in the previous
version.

A-42

(This page intentionally left blank]

A-43
Arizona Revised Statutes Annotated

§ 11-297.01. Care at private or university
hospital

A. An indigent patient qualified for
care under the terms of this article may be
placed in a private hospital or hospital
operated by a university:

1. When the county does not maintain
a county hospital.

2. When the county hospital is too
overcrowded to accommodate the patient.

3. When the patient requires a
service provided by a private nospital or
hospital operated by a university that is
not provided by the county hospital.

B. Subject to the same reimbursement
level limitation as prescribed in § 36-
2903.01, subsection I or J, the county
shall be liable for payment of all costs
retroactive to the inception of treatment
incurred by a private hospital or hospital

operated by a university arising from

A-44

emergency treatment and medical care
-administered at such hospital for a patient
qualified for such care and treatment under
the provisions of this article on
compliance with subsection cC of this
section and in either of the following
circumstances:

1. When the emergent condition of the
patient is such that is it deemed medically
inadvisable to transport the patient from
the private hospital or hospital operated
by a university for further treatment.

2. When the county does not move the
patient from the private hospital or
hospital operated by a university within
twelve hours after being notified by the
private hospital or hospital operated by a
university authorities of the location and
condition of the patient.

C. To be entitled to recover pursuant

to this section a private hospital or

A-45
hospital operated by a university shall
give the county oral or written notice of
the location, name, address and condition
of the patient within twelve hours after
the time the patient is admitted for
treatment, unless the hospital demonstrates
that the patient or another person acting
on behalf of the patient submitted evidence
of insurance coverage to the hospital which
was later determined to be invalid for. the
purpose for which the patient was admitted
and the hospital documents in the patient's
records that evidence of insurance was
submitted. If a hospital fails to give
notice within the twelve hour period, the
hospital is entitled to payment from the
county for treatment which is rendered to
the patient from the time notice is
actually given to the county until the time
the patient is discharged or transferred to

ancther facility.

A-46
Amended by Laws 1984,
May 5, 1984; Laws 1985,

May 10, 1985.

Ch.

Ch.

372,

316,

A-47
Arizona Administrative Code

R9-22-307. AHCCCS family household and
relationship

A. For the purposes of AHCCCS, the
following individuals shall be included on
one AHCCCS application and_ shall be
considered one family household. Except as
indicated in B. and Cc. of this Section,
individuals listed below shall reside in
one common- residence. Categorically
eligible persons shall not be considered
part of the indigent or medically needy
family household.

1. All married couples, regardless of
age, living together without dependent
children.

2 All married couples, and their
natural or adoptive dependant children; all
natural and adoptive children of a natural
or adoptive dependent child(ren) of either

one or both spouses.

A-48

$. A married individual, without
dependent children and not living with
spouse. Natural or adoptive parents or
specified relatives shall not be considered
part of this family household.

4. A married individual, not living
with his or her spouse; and, his or her
natural or adoptive dependent children and
any children of a natural or adoptive
dependent child. Natural or adoptive
parents or specified relatives shall not be
considered as part of this family
household.

5. A separated or divorced individual
without dependent children. Natural or
adoptive parents or specified relatives
shall not be considered as part of this
family household.

6. A divorced or separated
individual, and his or her natural or

adoptive dependent children and any

A-49
children of a natural or adoptive dependent
child. Natural or adoptive parents or
specified relatives shall not be considered
as part of the family household.

7. An unmarried adult or emancipated
minor without any dependent children.

8. An unmarried adult(s) or
emancipated minor and his or her or their
natural or adoptive dependent children and
any children of the natural or adoptive
dependent child. Unmarried persons without
common dependent children shall be a
separate AHCCCS family household.

9. A specified relative and the
dependent children who live together in one
common residence. A dependent child shall
be considered on the application of the
specified relative.

B. A dependent child, absent from the
home because of Arizona school attendance

or because of residing in an Arizona

A-50

residential facility due to a disabling
condition, shall be considered a member of
the family household unless the school or
facility is located out of state or the
dependent child is residing with the other
parent. If the child is residing with the
other parent, the child shall be included

on the application of the parent with whom
the child resides.

C. Spouses separated solely because
one is residing in a licensed nursing care
institution, licensed supervisory care
facility, or certified adult foster care
facility, because of a mental or physical
disabling condition verified by doctors
orders, shall apply together as one family
household on a single AHCCCS application.

D. A minor who is not emancipated or
expressly emancipated shall only be
approved for AHCCCS on an application

submitted by:

A-51

1. Parents, or

2. Specified relative, or

3. Legal guardian, or

4. Authorized agency appointed
through court proceedings as established by
A.R.S. § 8-538, et seq.

E. Relationship of family household
members shall be established and verified
prior to the eligibility determination
according to requirements specified in R9-

22-327.

12/31/84 Supp. 84-6

52

>
i

(This page intentionally left blank]

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385020_1592%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
