# Opposition Brief — Madarang v. Bermudes

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385020_1562%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1990
- **Citation:** 498 U.S. 814

## Text

> _ PUPreme Court, U.
bb F I 3

No. wae” | LED

| AUG Gl 19%

In The | JOSEPH F seanigy |

Supreme Court of the United States——“*
October Term, 1989

a
vv

JOVENCIO F. MADARANG and
J.F. MADARANG, D.D.S. & ASSOCIATES,
A Professional Corporation,

Petitioners,
V.

MARIANO R. BERMUDES, INDIVIDUALLY AND
AS EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR OF COMMONWEALTH
HEALTH PLANNING AND DEVELOPMENT AGENCY,
JOSE T. VILLAGOMEZ, INDIVIDUALLY AND
AS DIRECTOR OF THE DEPARTMENT OF
PUBLIC HEALTH AND ENVIRONMENTAL
SERVICES, AND THE COMMONWEALTH
HEALTH COORDINATING COUNCIL,

Respondents.

7%

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari To The
Supreme Court Of The United States On The
Decision Of The United States Court Of
Appeals For The Ninth Circuit

y%

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

a
4

RosBert NARAJA

Attorney General

James B. PARSONS

Assistant Attorney General

*Etuioit A. SATTLER

Assistant Attorney General

Commonwealth of the Northern

Mariana Islands

Office of the Attorney General

2nd Floor — Administrative Bldg.

Capitol Hill

Saipan, MP 94950

(670) 322-4311

Attorneys for Respondents
*Counsel of Record

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

RESPONDENTS’ RESTATEMENT OF
THE QUESTIONS PRESENTED
FOR REVIEW

QUESTION 1. Does the Equal Protection Clause of
the Fourteenth Amendment prohibit the Commonwealth

from requiring a showing of need before new health care
facilities can be constructed?

QUESTION 2. Is the Petitioner denied the oppor-
tunity to practice his profession if he is not allowed to
construct a dental clinic in a jurisdiction other than where
he resides?

QUESTION 3. Did the Petitioner present any evi-
dence of a violation of due process?

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

RESPONDENTS’ QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR
BVI ones cusecencesdeveneniea nena i
TABLE OF CONTENTS. « «0. 005ssnancevuceaenere ii
TABLE OF AUTHIORITIOS.. ......0:ccccecedscshesss iii
SIATEMENT OF THE CAGE... 6 scensscdheueeeee 1

ARGUMENT IN OPPOSITION TO PETITION FOR
Wis OF CERTIOARARL . «05 0sscunvecteeeeeeeee 2

eo Rf | errr Er er Ame RG . 9

ili

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
CASES
Board of Regents of State Colleges v. Roth, 408 US.

564, 92 S.Ct. 2701, 33 L.Ed.2d 548 (1972)........... 7
City of New Orleans v. Dukes, 427 U.S. 297, 96 S.Ct.

po A EB eee enn 3
Community Psychiatric Centers, Inc. v. Grant, 664

i ee Ce PEP. crc crewesceesscncsesveeres 5
Dandridge v. Williams, 397 U.S. 471, 90 S.Ct. 1153,

co be eSbs cn lenesavvesessoeeess 3, 7
Goodwin v. Oklahoma, 436 F. Supp. 583 (W.D. Okla.

Ce ances sac eebearisneretsenesesss 5
Lindsley v. Natural Carbonic Gas Co., 220 U.S. 61, 31

Dee Gate OO tnt. SOF CIDID).. oc ccc ccccccccvens x. 3
McGowan v. Maryland, 366 U.S. 420, 81 S.Ct. 1101,

rE CEES oo b0 604 Kove ¥¥Ceeserdccuseesees 3
Metropolis Theater Co. v. City of Chicago, 228 U.S.

St, oo OAS. O61, 56 L.Ed. 750 (191D) .... cee eceness 4
Munn v. Illinois, 94 U.S. 113, 24 L.Ed. 77 (1877) ...... 4
Nebbia v. New York, 291 U.S. 502, 54 S.Ct. 505, 78

sess ea wakes ce ee oe eee enn nae veces 2
North Dakota State Board of Pharmacy v. Snyder's

Drug Stores, 414 U.S. 156, 94 S.Ct. 407, 38

ee cle receetehneevedeeeussns née. 8

Personnel Administrator of Massachusetts v. Fenny,
442 U.S. 256, 99 S.Ct. 2282, 60 L.Ed.2d 870 (1970) ..... 5

Richardson v. Belcher, 404 U.S. 78, 92 S.Ct. 254, 30
re te i ecebeedueevavevetets 5

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page
Village of Belle Terre v. Boraas, 416 U.S. 1, 94 S.Ct.
SOR, SP Le FOF CEST E 6 5 ccc ciccccencccvcccnces 7
Williamson v. Lee Optical of Oklahoma, 348 U.S. 483,
72 GAR. G61, GFP LB. TES CITB)... cc vcccccccccvsces 4

Young v. American Mini Theaters, Inc., 427 U.S. 50,
96 S.Ct. 2440, 49 L.Ed.2d 310 (1976)................ 6

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioner Madarang (“Madarang”) is a dentist who
is a citizen of the United States and a resident of Guam.
In attempting to establish a dental clinic in the Common-
wealth of the Northern Mariana Islands (“CNMI”), Mad-
arang’s professional corporation, J.F. Madarang &
Associates (hereinafter with Dr. Madarang collectively
refered to as “Madarang” or “Petitioner”) applied for a
Certificate of Need (“CON”) from the CNMI.

The CNMI has a law that requires a CON before the
construction and operation of any new health facility or
the expenditure of more than $50,000.00 on any existing
facility. The law was required by the enactment of the
National Health Planning and Resources Development
Act of 1974, 42 U.S.C. Section 300k, et seq. (since
repealed).

Public notice of the Madarang application was given,
and comments were sought. Respondant Bermudes (“Ber-
mudes”), the person designated by statute to make a
recommendation to accept or reject the CON, called a
public hearing. Madarang and his attorney attended the
hearing, and comments were allowed from those in atten-
dance. After all of the written and oral comments were
received, Bermudes recommended to the Commonwealth
Health Planning and Development Agency (“the
Agency”) that the application be denied. The Agency
denied the application based on Petitioner’s failure to
show there was a need for a new dental clinic. Petitioner
did not request reconsideration of the denial, but filed an
action in the United States District Court for the Northern
Mariana Islands. Prior to trial, the parties stipulated there

was no “need” for an additional dental clinic as that term
is used in the CON law.

The District Court held that the right to work for a
living is a fundamental right protected by the Fourteenth
Amendment, and any law which discriminates in that
area is subject to strict judicial review to determine if
there is a compelling state interest to justify the discrimi-
nation. The District Court found that no compelling state
interest had been shown, and struck down the CON law
as unconstitutional.

The Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals reversed the
District Court, holding that the right to pursue a calling is
not a fundamental right for purposes of the Fourteenth
Amendment. It further held that economic legislation
must only have some reasonable basis, and protecting the
health needs of its citizens is a reasonable activity of the
CNMI government.

Petitioner timely filed his petition for a writ of cer-
tiorari to this Court.

,
. 2

ARGUMENT IN OPPOSITION TO PETITION FOR
WRIT OF CERTIORARI

A. The CNMI may regulate economic activity by pre-
venting duplication of health services in order to
insure adequate health care for its citizens.

When an individual engages in an occupation in
which the public has an interest, the state may regulate
that occupation in the exercise of its police power. Nebbia
v. New York, 291 U.S. 502, 54 S.Ct. 505, 78 L.Ed. 940 (1934).
When a local economic regulation is challenged solely as

violating the Equal Protection Clause, the court consis-
tently defers to legislative determinations as to the desir-
ability of particular statutory discriminations. City of New
Orleans v. Dukes, 427 U.S. 297, 96 S.Ct. 2513, 49 L.Ed.2d
511 (1976) (per curiam). ©

The CNMI enacted its certificate of need statute to
ensure proper health care for its citizens by regulating the
industry to prevent an oversupply of health care facili-
ties. In the area of economic and social welfare, a state
does not violate the Equal Protection Clause merely -
because a classification made by its laws is imperfect.
Dandridge v. Williams, 397 U.S. 471, 90 S.Ct. 1153, 25 L.Ed.
491 (1970). If a classification has some reasonable basis, it
does not offend the Constitution simply because the clas-
sification “is not made with mathematical nicety or
because in practice it results in some inequality.” Lindsley
v. Natural Carbonic Gas Co., 220 U.S. 61, 78, 31 S.Ct. 337,
340, 55 L.Ed. 369, 377 (1911). “A statutory discrimination
will not be set aside if any state of facts reasonably may
be conceived to justify it.” McGowan v. Maryland, 366 U.S.
420, 426, 81 S.Ct. 1101, 1105, 6 L.Ed.2d 393, 399 (1961).

There is no question that Respondents met the
requirements contained in regulations promulgated to
implement the CON statute. Petitioner filed for a CON
and a hearing was held pursuant to the CON statute.
Input was received from other health professionals and a
recommendation was made to the Agency, whose respon-
sibility it was to determine if the certificate should be
granted. After consideration and review of the evidence,
the Agency made a determination that there was no need
for a new dental clinic, and denied Petitioner’s applica-
tion. In fact, the Petitioner stipulated prior to trial that

there was no “need” as that term is defined in the CON
statute.

To accept Petitioner’s position, this Court would
have to find that any CON statute violates the Fourteenth
Amendment if such statute prevents an individual from
constructing and operating a private business such as a
dental clinic. It would further have to conclude that statu-
tory regulation may not reflect a state’s legitimate interest
in ensuring the well being of its citizens through ade-
quate and properly run dental clinics if such regulation
would prevent one person or organization from con-
structing a health care facility. Such a determination
would require a regulatory system without an adverse
impact on anyone - in short, a perfect system. Govern-
ment regulation of economic activity does not require
perfection. “The problems with government are practical
ones and may justify, if they do not require, rough accom-
modations---illogical, it may be, and unscientific.”
Metropolis Theater Co. v. City of Chicago, 228 U.S. 61, 69-70,
33 S.Ct. 441, 443, 56 L.Ed. 730 (1913).

The prohibition of the Equal Protection Clause goes
no further than invidious discrimination. Williamson v. Lee
Optical of Oklahoma, 348 U.S. 483, 75 S.Ct. 461, 99 L.Ed.
563 (1955). There was no showing that Petitioner was
treated differently than any other applicant. Therefore, no
invidious discrimination toward the Petitioner can be
demonstrated. “For protection against abuses by legisla-
tures, the people must resort to the polls, not the courts.”
Williamson, 348 U.S. at 488, 75 S.Ct. at 465, 99 L.Ed. at 572
(citing Munn uv. Illinois, 94 U.S. 113, 24 L.Ed. 77 (1877)).

The cornerstone of any equal protection challenge
must be a showing of disparate treatment. Personnel
Administrator of Massachusetts v. Fenny, 442 U.S. 256, 99
S.Ct. 2282, 60 L.Ed.2d 870 (1970). No disparate treatment
has been shown in this case. No other applications for
certificates of need had been filed at the time of Peti-
tioner’s application. There can be no evidence of dispa-
rate treatment because there can be no comparison with
any other application.

In addition to acting to insure adequate healthcare,
the CNMI was following the dictates of the federal gov-
ernment in applying for federal hospital funds pursuant
to 42 U.S.C. § 300k et seq., which required a CON statute
before funds would be distributed. Other courts have
upheld CON statutes passed in order to collect these
federal funds. See, e.g., Community Psychiatric Centers, Inc.
v. Grant, 664 F.2d 1148 (9th Cir. 1981); Goodwin v. Okla-
homa, 436 F. Supp. 583 (W.D. Okla. 1977), citing Richardson
v. Belcher, 404 U.S. 78, 92 S.Ct. 254, 30 L.Ed.2d 231 (1971).

The equal protection clause of the 14th
Amendment does not take from the state the
power to classify in the adoption of police law,
but admits of the exercise of a wide scope of
discretion in that regard, and avoids what is
done only when it is without any reasonable
basis, and therefore is purely arbitrary.

Lindsley, 220 U.S. at 78, 31 S.Ct. at 340, 55 L.Ed. 377.

The CNMI is granted the discretion to enact laws
regulating economic activities which have rational basis.
If the number of health care facilities are not regulated,
duplication of services and equipment can occur.
Although it may be argued competition might produce

benefits in the short run, the legislature found it would
more likely prevent health care facilities from accumulat-
ing sufficient revenues to purchase increasingly costly
but medically important health care technology. Unfet-
tered competition may result in outdated medical equip-
ment and techniques within the CNMI. Protecting the
health and welfare of the CNMI population by ensuring
adequate and secure health services is of paramount con-
cern and constitutes, at the very least, a rational basis for
the CON law. ,

B. Petitioner presented no evidence that he could not
practice his profession either in the CNMI or Gaum.

Petitioner did not present any evidence that he was
denied the opportunity to practice his profession in the
CNMI. His argument is simply that he could not con-
struct a dental clinic. There are two dental clinics pres-
ently operating in Saipan, by far most populous island in
the CNMI. Both clinics were operating before the CON
statute was enacted. Petitioner did not present any evi-
dence that he was refused employment with the other
dental clinics. He simply makes an illogical leap that
because he could not construct a dental clinic, he could
not practice his profession.

Such an argument is akin to an attorney arguing that
if he can not construct a law office, he cannot practice
law. Many governmental entities enact legislation which
regulates or prohibits certain types of construction, such
as zoning regulations restricting commercial office build-
ings or those that prevent certain types of businesses
from operating in particular locations. Young v. American

Mini Theaters, Inc., 427 U.S. 50, 96 S.Ct. 2440, 49 L.Ed.2d
310 (1976). If there are too many office buildings in a
particular location, a government can place a moratorium
on construction, even if the result is that a group of
people are denied the right to practice their chosen pro-
fession in that area. See, e.g., Village of Belle Terre v. Boraas,
416 U.S. 1, 94 S.Ct. 1536, 39 L.Ed.2d 797 (1974).

A rational basis test is applied to state legislation
restricting the availability of employment opportunities.
Dandridge, 397 U.S. at 485, 90 S.Ct. at 1162, 25 L.Ed.2d at
502. Petitioner may still practice his profession on Guam
and, in the absence of a showing that he cannot secure
employment in any other dental clinic in the CNMI, it
may be presumed he can also practice his profession in
the CNMI. Even if a person is denied employment, if he
is free to seek another job, due process has been met.
Board of Regents of State Colleges v. Roth, 408 U.S. 564, 92
S.Ct. 2701, 33 L.Ed.2d 548 (1972).

C. Petitioner received both notice and a hearing, and
was accorded full due process rights.

When Petitioner first filed his application for a CON,
the information provided therein was inconsistent. Mr.
Burmudes, as acting executive director of the Agency,
was designated by statute to receive and review each
application, and make a recommendation based on the
information supplied plus comments solicited from the
appropriate agencies and the public. A notice that the
application had been filed and that a hearing was to be
held was published in the local newspaper.

Petitioner and his attorney attended the public hear-
ing. Questions were asked of the Petitioner, and testi-
mony from others in attendance was taken. After all the
evidence was received, the application was denied
because there was no showing of need for another dental
clinic. The steps leading to that determination, however,
afforded Petitioner full procedural due process.

Economic regulation of professional services need
not violate substantive due process. North Dakota State
Board of Pharmacy v. Snyder’s Drug Stores, 414 U.S. 156, 94
S.Ct. 407, 38 L.Ed.2d 379 (1973). As stated by the Ninth
Circuit Court of Appeals in this case, the nature of the
purported violation of substantive due process is not
specified by either the Petitioner or the District Court,
and none appears from the record. The days when courts
regularly and automatically struck down economic legis-
lation on substantive due process grounds have long
since passed.

a

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, Respondents respectfully
request that the Court deny Petitioner’s application for a
Writ of Certiorari.

Respectfully submitted,

Rosert NARAJA

Attorney General

James B. Parsons

Assistant Attorney General
Exuiotr A. SATTLER

Assistant Attorney General
Commonwealth of the Northern
Mariana Islands

Office of the Attorney General
2nd Floor — Administrative Bldg.
Capitol Hill

Saipan, MP 94950

(670) 322-4311

Attorneys for Respondents

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385020_1562%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
