# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Kersting v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385020_1521%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1990
- **Citation:** 498 U.S. 812

## Text

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Hnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1989

RICHARD HONGSERMEIER, FIDELA HONGSER-
MEIER, HOYT W. YOUNG, BARBARA D. YOUNG, |
ROBERT L. DUFRESNE, CAROLYN S. DUFRESNE, |
JERRY DIXON, PATRICIA DIXON, RALPH J. RINA,
TERRY D. OWENS, AND GLORIA K. OWENS,
Petitioners,

V.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, ET AL,
Respondents.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

Joe ALFRED IZEN, JR.
5222 Spruce Street
Bellaire, Texas 7740]
(713) 668-8815

Attorney for Petitioners

Alpha Law Brief Co., Inc. — 8748 Westpark — Houstor

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

(1) Whether complete or substantial compliance with
a John Doe summons by the summonsed party divests
taxpayers-Petitioners of their right to intervene where their
identities were known to the Service prior to issuance of
the John Doe summons and prior to such compliance?

(2) Whether Petitioners’ Motion for Leave to Intervene

Should have been granted?

(3) Whether the Internal Revenue Service may utilize
a John Doe summons absent proof by the summonsed
party that the identities of the taxpayers, concerning whom

tax information is sought, are known to the government?

Il

PARTIES

The parties in this case are Petitioners, Richard
Hongsermeier, Fidela Hongsermeier, Hoyt W. Young
Barbara D. Young, Robert L. DuFresne, Carolyn S.
DuFresne, Jerry Dixon, Patricia Dixon, Ralph J. Rina,
. Terry D. Owens, and Gloria K. Owens.

Respondents are the United States of America and the
Internal Revenue Service.

III

ADOPTION OF APPENDIX IN
CONSOLIDATED CASE

This Application arises out of three cases which were
consolidated on appeal by the Ninth Circuit. It is the
companion to the Application for Writ of Certiorari filed
concomitantly herewith by Henry F. K. Kersting against
the United States of America. Pursuant to the provisions
of Rule 30.2 of the Rules of the Supreme Court, Peti-
tioners adopt that Appendix as their own and all refer-
ences to Appendix documents are to this.

IV

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PS Ee FRENTE BED 5 5565-8 ee Sa eke eee ee aoe
2, 9 3 ee ee La ein bie w Goku d eae ea ae
ADOPTION OF APPENDIX IN CONSOLIDATED CASE
pot 8 es Be) eo 8. ye eee ee re
TARE Ge Fe SEE weeks Wetec tceeeun bie sxeus
OUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW ..0-cccecsss
eae ae CO Co eIIEED 6 ie a cane wee 808 bh a Sea eee
Poly 40) te 3 | Geary arp a ara rena ey oar eee a ren
STATUTES AND’*RUSES INVOLVED .......
SAREE GP Eee GAS i ccc sect eh sek ebed xe
REASONS FOR ALLOWANCE Of THE WRIT ...

yt ae | ty GeeRrene ge eo Mee on amen BaP U ig eA ena Aeneas
i oR Rh. 0 Sa peer bese terata aor ate aah ee ae oe a

a

y
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES Page
Dixon, Et Al v. CU.R., Tax Court Docket No. 9382-8 5.6

Donaldson v. United States, 400 U.S. 517, 522. 91 S.Ct. 534

938. 27 L.Ed.2d 580 (1971) (Ach eelen Sema te ees 1]
Gluck v. United States, 771 F.2d 750. 754 (3d ( ir., 1985) 8,9,14
Hannah v. Larche, 3603 U.S. 420. 80 S.Ct. 1502. 4 L.Ed.

20 $307 (3960) ©... ie o knee acorn ee ala ei ae a 10
In Re: McElrath, 248 F.2d 612, 617 (D.C. Cir.. 1957). . 13.14
Kersting v. United States, 891 F.2d 1407 (9th Cir.. 1989) $

Legal Aid Society of Alameda County v. Dunlap, 618 $.26
48 (9th Cir., 1980) keen 12

N.A.A.C.P. v. New York, 413 U.S. 345. 366. 93 S( 2591,

Ore, OF Be CFB CUGTSD nb occ nvosnebidievccen.. 1]
Pellegrino v. Nesbit, 203 F.2d 463 (9th Cir.. 1953) ...... 12
Peralta v. Heights Medical Center, Inc. 108 S.Ct. 896

CSOT aie b ad oe pea brane Corned de ee eee 17

Reisman v. Caplin, 375 U.S. 440, 445, 84 S.Ct. 508. 511.
MS Rea 499 (1964) 26 ioc ceca kon ne Pye 10, 11

S.E.C. v. Jer l. O'Brien, Inc., 104 S.Ct. 2720 (1984 » eked
Trbovitch v. UMW ., 404 U.S. 528. 538-39 at note 10, 92
S.Ct. 630. 636. note | 3 L.Ed.2d 686 (1972) . . 12

. boha* .
United Airlines, Inc. v. McDonald, 432 U.S. 385. 394. 97
S.Ct. 2464, 2469, 53 L.Ed.2d 423 (1977

3 B. J. Moore, Federal Practi Section 24 [4] 12

me 26. Dod. BC Be oe cv ee cent. 3.4

a. ection /009(a sas re aes bee wee /

Title 18 U.S.C. Section 3486(a and b) . ; 12

Title 26 U.S.C. Section 7609(1)(3) ..... oa ve $0,192, fi P
Title 28 U.S.C. Section 133] ee ae rok ge are a)

litle 28 U.S.C. Sections 7602. 7 Pea +, 8, 1

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1989

RICHARD HONGSERMEIER, FIDELA HONGSER-
MEIER, HOYT W. YOUNG, BARBARA D. YOUNG,
ROBERT L. DUFRESNE, CAROLYN S. DUFRESNE,
JERRY DIXON, PATRICIA DIXON, RALPH J. RINA,
TERRY D. OWENS, AND GLORIA K. OWENS,
Petitioners,

V.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, ET AL,
Respondents.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

Petitioners, Richard Hongsermeier, Fidela Hongser-
meier, Hoyt W. Young, Barbara D Young, Robert L.
DuFresne, Carolyn S. DuFresne, Jerry Dixon, Patricia
Dixon, Ralph J. Rina, Terry D. Owens, and Gloria K.
Owens, respectfully pray that a Writ of Certiorari issue
to review the decision of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Ninth Circuit, which sustained an Order
of the United States District Court for the District of

|
a

Hawaii denying Petitioners’ Motion for Leave to Intervene
in a John Doe summons compliance procedure initiated
by the Respondent. United States of America, through
its agency, the Internal Revenue Service of the United
States.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

QUESTION 1

1. Whether complete or substantial compliance with
a John Doe summons by the summonsed party divests
taxpayers-Petitioners of their right to intervene where their
identities were known to the Service prior to issuance of
the John Doe summons and prior to such compliance?

QUESTION 2

2. Whether Petitioners’ Motion for Leave to Intervene
should have been granted?

QUESTION 3

3. Whether the Internal Revenue Service may utilize
a John Doe summons absent proof by the summonsed
party that the identities of the taxpayers, concerning whom
tax information is sought, are known to the government?

REPORTS OF OPINIONS

The Opinion of the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals in
this case was reported at 891 F.2d 1407 and is set forth
in Appendix B.

The Order of the United States District Court for the
District of Hawaii is not officially reported but a copy
of the official decision is set forth in Appendix A.

3

JURISDICTION

The decision sought to be reviewed here was entered
by the United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth
Circuit on December 13. 1989. An order denying a Re-

hearing with Suggestion for Rehearing En Banc was
entered by the Court of Appeals on February 16, 1990.
That order is set forth in Appendix C.

The jurisdictaai of this Court is invoked pursuant to
28 U.S.C. Sect y254

STATUTES AND RULES INVOLVED

The following statutes and rules are involved in this
case:

26 U.S.C. Section 7602 (Appendix P) and
26 U.S.C. Section 7609 (Appendix R).

RULE 24. INTERVENTION

(a) Intervention of Right. Upon timely application
anyone shall be permitted to intervene in an action:
(1) when a statute of the United States confers an un-
conditional right to intervene: or (2) when the applicant
claims an interest relating to the property or transaction
which is the subject of the action and the applicant is
so situated that the disposition of the action may as a
practical matter impair or impede the applicant's ability
to protect that interest. unless the applicant's interest is
adequately represented by existing parties.

(b) Permissive Intervention. Upon timely application
anyone may be permitted to intervene in an action:
(1) when a statute of the United States confers a con-
ditional right to intervene; or (2) when an applicant's
claim or defense and the main action have a question of

4

law or fact in common. When a party to an action relies
for ground of claim or defense upon any statute or
executive order administered by a federal or state govern-
mental officer or agency or upon any regulation, order,
requirement or agreement issued or made pursuant to the
statute or executive order, the officer or agency upon

be permitted to intervene in the

timely application may
action. In exercising its discretion the court shall con-
sider whether the intervention will unduly delay or
prejudice the adjudication of the right of the original
parties,

(c) Procedure. A person desiring to intervene shall
serve a motion to Intervene upon the parties as provided
in rule 5. The motion shall state the grounds therefor and
shall be accompanied by a pleading setting forth the claim
or defense for which intervention is sought. The same
procedure shall be followed when a statute of the United
States gives a right to intervene. When the constitution-
ality of an act of Congress affecting the public interest
is drawn in question in any action to which the United
States or an office, agency or employee thereof is not a
party, the court sha'l notify the Attorney General of the
United States as provided in Title 28, U.S.C. Section 2403.
Amended effective March 19, 1948; October 20, 1949;
July 1, 1963; July 1, 1966; August i, 1987.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE
Petitioners, Richard Hongsermeier, Fidelia Hongser-
meier, Hoyt W. Young. Barbara D. Young, Robert L.
Dufresne, Carolyn S. DuFresne, Jerry Dixon, Patricia
ph J. Rina, Terry D. Owens, and Gloria K.
Owens, are investors in business transactions structured

by Henry Kersting, an alleged “tax shelter promoter.”

Petitioners pi rchased SHares 1M Various business COrpora-
: Salas fr? . ’ ] ’ > TA » a 4 ‘eT
tions utilizing borrowed funds and deducted the interest

payments thereon.

Apparently, the Internal Revenue Service began an
investigation of Kersting’s investment plans in December
of 1980. In January of 1981, the Internal Revenue Service
obtained and utilized a criminal search warrant to seize
various documents from the promoter’s ( Kersting’s )
offices in Honolulu, Hawaii. I.R.S. agents and officials
conceded, in internal memos, that the search warrant
procedure was used to “accelerate” the investigation so
that the consequences of the expiration of the three-year

Statute of limitations could be avoided.

During the search, which took place on January 22,
1981, I.R.S. agents confiscated and carried away ninety-
six boxes of documents. Kersting’s records were thereafter
copied and disseminated to I.R.S. offices throughout the
United States. By i.R.S. admission, at least six boxes of
documents were turned over to one or more Federal Grand

Juries for investigation of ssIdie Crimimal vioiations.

Pea

Throughout the proceedings below. the Internal Reve-

7 ne ee Fes pata } a=? , 4 ot ot anes? ‘reer’
nue Service has never d Py oners” records
- “ ° | ° . ’ P . — *
were included In those SC1Z¢ inuary 22. 1981.

) 7. ROS one Pam R EE } » Re recat
Petitioners Gtr’ CU ‘ LJ \ . . ay ¢ result ol
N ‘ ‘whe cet { =r ‘ . . < eo
ERS. CXanlinations i rt ‘ ‘ iA records Ne) Cd
ses - thee , be tt A 1] —— a ee aap? | si cial ha 2
under the warrant. Al! of ~ Petitioners herein named

brought actions in the United States Tax Court seeking
a redetermination of the tax deficiencies asserted by the
28.3

The United States Tax Court. Honorable William A.
Gotfe, consolidated all of the Petitioners’ cases for trial
and briefing under the caption, Dixon, Et Al, v. C.LR..
Docket No. 9382-83. As of the date of the fling ot this

6

Petition, the Dixon case, which involves the underlying
tax merits of Kersting’s investment programs, remains
pending for decision before the United States Tax Court.

On May 15, 1987, at a time the Dixon v. C.1.R. Tax
Court case was already pending, the I.R.S. petitioned the
United States District Court for the District of Hawaii
for leave to serve a John Doe summons on Henry Kersting.
In its affidavit, the I.R.S. alleged that Kersting promoted
tax shelters of questionable validity and that it sought
the summoned documents in order to identify taxpayers
participating in his investment program. Neither the I.R.S.
nor government counsel made any effort whatsoever to
limit the descriptive portion of the John Doe summons
so that the names of taxpayers already known to the
Service would be deleted.

The John Doe summons purported to relate, on its
face, to an investigation of tax years 1984, 1985, and
1986.' Yet, the summons directed Kersting to produce
all documents relevant to tax years 1981 through 1986.

On August 24, 1987, Henry F. Kersting, the alleged
promoter, appeared at a show cause hearing before the
Hawaii District Court and contested enforcement of the
John Doe summons on various grounds. One of the grounds
asserted by Kersting was that I.R.S. issuance of the John
Doe summons as to persons whose identities were already
known to the Service was an effort by I.R.S. “to subvert”
the notice requrements imposed on the government under
I.R.C. Section 7609(a).

On January 14, 1988, the District Court ordered en-
forcement of the John Doe summons over Kersting’s
objections.

1. The records summonsed related to taxable years for which
some of your Petitioners have pending Tax Court cases.

7

Petitioners, who were part of the group of taxpayers
“described” in the descriptive portion of the John Doe
summons filed a Joint Motion for Leave to Intervene in
the John Doe summons enforcement proceedings just
prior to the District Court hearing conducted on May 31,
1988. During that hearing, the District Judge held Kerst-
ing in contempt and ordered him to produce all of the
documents specified in the summons. (See Appendix B,
P. 9a) Petitioners’ Motion sought both permissive inter-
vention and intervention as a matter of right.

On August 31, 1988, the District Court denied Peti-
tioners’ Motion for Leave to Intervene resulting in Peti-
tioners’ timely appeal to the Ninth Circuit.

The Ninth Circuit affirmed the District Court’s denial
of Petitioners’ intervention efforts. In its opinion, the
Court of Appeals never addressed Petitioners’ claims of
lack of notice and procedural bad faith, holding, instead,
that these issues need not be reached since Kersting’s
compliance with the John Doe summons, if “. . . sub-
stantial . . .” mooted further appellate consideration of
the merits of the enforcement. The Ninth Circuit re-
manded the case to the District Court with instructions
“ . . to develop the record further and to decide the
motions on their merits should it find that Kersting’s
opposition to enforcement is not made moot by com-
pliance .. .” (Appendix B, P. 17a.)

Petitioners specifically adopted Henry F. Kersting’s
Request for Rehearing, which was denied. Petitioners
herein join Kersting in petitioning this Court for a Writ
of Certiorari to reconcile the conflict which exists between
the Federal Courts of Appeals as to whether compliance
with a John Doe summons moots any appeal from such
enforcement. Petitioners also seek a determination which

8

will protect Petitioners’ rights to avoid I.R.S. utilization
of John Doe summons proceedings where the taxpayer's
identity is known.

The statutory basis for federal jurisdiction in the United
States District Court is 28 U.S.C. Section 1331 and 26
U.S.C. Sections 7602, 7609.

REASON FOR ALLOWANCE OF THE WRIT

1. The decision of the United States Court of Appeals
for the Ninth Circuit in Kersting v. United States, 891
F.2d 1407 (9th Cir. 1989) directly conflicts with the
decision of the United States Court of Appeals for the
Third Circuit in Gluck v. United States, 771 F.2d 750
(3d Cir., 1985).

Specifically, the Ninth Circuit opinion holds that ap-
peals from summons proceedings after “substantial com-
pliance” are moot while the | hird Circuit holds that they
are not. (26 U.S.C. Section 7609 )

The opinion of the Ninth Circuit in Kersting departs
from the “accepted and usual course of judicial proceed-
ings” by failing to uphold specific statutory prohibitions
on IRS utilization of John Doe summons procedures en-
acted by Congress in 26 U.S.C. Section 7609(f£) (3) re-
quiring the exercise of this Court’s supervision, Specifl-
cally, the Ninth Circuit's decision allows the IRS to utilize
John Doe summons procedures where the identities of
taxpayers being investigated are known to the government.

The above specific issues constitute “important ques-
tions of federal law which “. . . have not been but should
be settled . . .” by this Court.

Further. the Ninth Circuit opinion decides a federal
question in a way that conflicts with applicable decisions

9

of this Court which have consistently upheld statutory
limitations on subpoena or summons power promulgated
by Congress. S.E.C. v. Jerry T. O’Brien, Inc., 104 S.Ct.
2720 (1984).

ARGUMENT

QUESTION 1

Whether complete or substantial compliance with
a John Doe summons by the summonsed party divests
taxpayers-Petitioners of their right to intervene where
their identities were known to the Service prior to
issuance of the John Doe summons and prior to such
compliance?

Recognizing a conflict in the Circuits on the issue, the
Court of Appeals refused to reach the merits of Peti-
tioners’ Motion for Leave to Intervene absent a deter-
mination by the District Court that Kersting had “failed
to substantially comply” with the John Doe summons
enforcement order prior to Petitioners’ intervention ef-
forts. (Appendix B, Page 10a). In its opinion the Ninth
Circuit noted but rejected the reasoning of the Third Cir-
cuit in Gluck v. United States, 771 F.2d 750, 754 (3d
Cir., 1985). (Appendix B, Page 10a, Note 8).

In overruling the I.R.S. argument that compliance with
the summons mooted the appeal, the Third Circuit ob-
served—

“If we find the summonses were illegal. we could
still fashion a remedy—prohibition of the use of the
summoned documents—to afford the Glucks effective
relief.”

See Gluck at P. 754.

10

Petitioner Kersting in his related Petition for W rit of
Certiorari sets out, at great length, the conflict in the
Circuits on the mootness issue. Petitioners adopt Kerst-
ing’s arguments and further assert that their interest as
Intervenors in post-enforcement hearings under Title 26
U.S.C. Section 7609 including contempt proceedings,
and any subsequent appeal, is of equal weight and gravity
as their position prior to enforcement.

QUESTION 2

Whether Petitioners’ Motion for Leave to Intervene
should have been granted?

While this Court has previously held in Hannah vy.
Larche, 363 U.S. 420, 80 S.Ct. 1502, 4 L.Ed.2d 1307
(1960) that—

Neither the Due Process Clause of the Fifth
Amendment nor the Confrontation Clause of the
Sixth Amendment is offended when a federal ad-
ministrative agency, without notifying a person un-
der investigation, uses its subpoena power to gather
evidence adverse to him .

specific statutory schemes enacted by Congress limiting
agency summons or subpoena power have been upheld
to the letter.

Prior to the enactment by Congress of the statutory
limitations on John Doe summons procedure embodied
in Title 26 U.S.C. Section 7609(f}(3) this Court held, in
Reisman v. Caplin, 375 U.S. 440, 445, 84 S.Ct. 508,
511. 11 L.Ed.2d 459 (1964) that—

Both parties summoned [under Section 7602]
and those affected by disclosure may appear or inter-
vene before the District Court and challenge the

7

11

summons by asserting their constitutional or other
claims.”

See Reisman at P. 445,

Later, in Donaldson v. United States, 400 U.S. 517, 522.
91 S.Ct. 534, 538, 27 L.Ed.2d 580 (1971) this Court
held that the right of a third party to intervene in an
enforcement action—

“, . . Was permissive only and... not mandatory.

99

See Donaldson, 400 U.S. at P. 529, 91 S.Ct., at P. 541.

Third party intervention in summons cases depended
upon “the usual process of balancing opposing equities.”

Both Reisman and Donaldson were decided prior to
the specific statutory enactment of the limitations on use
of John Doe summons procedures found in 26 U.S.C.
Section 7609(f)(3).

Petitioners had a specifically defined statutory interest
which precluded J.R.S. utilization of John Doe summons
proceedings with respect to their tax liabilities. The I.R.S.
violated this statutory interest prior to the date of filing
of Petitioners’ Motion to Intervene. Petitioners thus had
a statutorily created interest implicated by the proceed-
ings below and, therefore, had standing to intervene ir-
respective of whether this Court ultimately determines
Petitioners’ intervention rights to be mandatory or per-
missive.

This Court has previously held that the date on which
a party seeking intervention became aware of the litigation
is, by itself, not always relevant. N.A.A.C.P. v. New York,
413 US. 345, 366, 93 S.Ct. 2591, 2603, 37 L.Ed.2d
648 (1973). Of more import, in the timeliness context,
is the point at which the Intervenor—

12

“ Became aware that its interest would no longer
be protected adequately by the parties... .”

United Airlines, Inc. v. McDonald, 432 U.S. 385, 394,
97 S.Ct. 2464, 2469, 53 L.Ed.2d 423 (1977).

Under the facts of this case, Petitioners sought to inter-
vene at the point that Kersting was held in contempt and
faced severe fines in the event Petitoners’' records were
not turned over. It was, at this point, that Kersting’s
representation of Petitioners’ interests became “. . . In-
adequate... .” Legal Aid Society of Alameda County v.

Dunlap, 618 $.2d 48 (9th Cir.. 1980) at P. 50.

The burden imposed on a prospective intervenor to
show that the representation of his interest “may be”
inadequate is minimal under the rule. Trbevitch v.
UMAW.. 404 US. 528, 538-39 at note 10, 92 S.Ct. 630,
636. note 10, 30 L.Ed.2d 686 (1972).

Intervention should be allowed even after final judg-
ment where it is necessary to preserve some right which
can not otherwise be protected. Pellegrino v. Nesbit, 203
F.2d 463 (9th Cir., 1953) at PP. 465 and 466.

Any doubts about the adequacy of representation should
be resolved in favor of granting leave to intervene.
Trbovitch at P. 636. 3 B. J. Moore, Federal Practice,
Section 24.09-1[4] (1969).

Over thirty years ago, the former Chief Justice of this
Court had occasion to consider efforts to intervene in a
proceeding brought under a federal immunity statute.
Title 18 U.S.C. Section 3486(a and b). The District Court
denied intervention on the ground that the prospective
witnesses who would be forced to give up their Fifth
Amendment rights against self-incrimination in exchange

13

for immunity from prosecution had “no justiciable inter-
est.” Justice Warren E. Burger, in a concurring opinion
reversing the denial of intervention status stated—

“We go beyond the companion opinion and hold
that the witness should be given reasonable notice
of the application, be allowed to appear in the pro-
ceeding and be heard on the following: (1) whether
the committee was a committee of the current ses-
sion of Congress purporting to exercise powers duly
conferred upon it; (2) whether the witness recently
and at least during the current session of Congress
declined on the grounds of the privilege against self-
incrimination, to answer questions asserted by said
committee to be within the scope of Title 18, Section
3486(a); (3) whether the Attorney General of the
United States was given notice pursuant to the statute:
(4) whether the committee by the prescribed two-
thirds vote authorized the application to the District
Court for a grant of immunity to the witness after
having claimed his privilege; (5) whether the appli-
cation is made to the District Court for the district
wherein such inquiry of the committee is being con-
ducted.

The discretion of the District Court is limited at
this stage to a determination of the procedural irregu-
larity of an application and does not embrace such |
issues as the scope of the inquiry, the pertinency |
and relevancy of the questions propounded or the
constitutionality of the statute.”

In Re: McElrath, 248 F.2d 612, 617 (D.C. Cir. 1957).
While McElrath was decided en bane with a concurring

opinion, all nine Justices agreed that intervention was
mandatory. As noted in Justice Edgerton’s opinion—

i4

“The Court erred also in not allowing Appellants to
intervene as Defendants. Orders against them were
sought and obtained, /f they had ‘been valid, these
orders might have compelled them to make disclo-
sures that would have injured their reputations and
so their economic and social interest. The law does
not ignore such injuries. Appellants were squarely
within Rule 24(a) of the Federal Rules of Civil
Procedure: Intervention of Right. Upon timely ap-
plication anyone shall be permitted to intervene In
an action: . . . when their representation of the
Applicant's interest by existing parties is or may he
inadequate and the Applicant is or may be bound
by a judgment in the action,

The D.C. Circuit went on to rule that the Motion for
Leave to Intervene should have been granted “notwith-
standing a holding that this particular proceeding was
prematurely instituted.” McElrath at P. 6106.

The Court of Appeals’ rationale in McElrath answers
not only the merits of Petitioners’ Motion for Leave to
Intervene but, also, addresses and rejects the mootness
arguments advanced by the District Court and the Court
of Appeals. McElrath inferentially aligns the District of
Columbia Circuit with the Third Circuit's rationale ex-
pressed in Gluck supra.

Since the procedural irregularity of LR.S. use of John
Doe summons procedures was squarely at issue and re-
mained so throughout the pre-entorcement and post-en-
forcement summons proceedings, Petitioners should have
been granted leave to intervene. The failure to grant such
leave was error and should be reversed.

15
QUESTION 3

Whether the Internal Revenue Service may utilize
a John Doe summons absent proof by the summonsed
party that the identity of the taxpayers, concerning
whom tax information is sought, are known to the
government?

In S.E.C. v. Jerry T. O'Brien, Inc., 104 S.Ct. 2720
(1984) this Court, refused to uphold a “notice require-
ment” imposed on the S.E.C. by the Ninth Circuit. This
Court, acting under its supervisory powers, refused to
impose a requirement that the S.E.C. notify a third party
upon the issuance of a subpoena seeking information
concerning his interest.

This Court, through Justice Marshall, laboriously ex-
amined Congress’ statutory scheme which “balanced” the
interest of governmental enforcement against personal
right to privacy and non-disclosure. In so doing, Justice
Marshall, and the unanimous members of this Court
noted—

“It appears, in short, that Congress intended to vest
the S.E.C. with considerable discretion in determin-
ing when and how to investigate possible violations
of the statutes administered by the Commission. We
discern no evidence that Congress wished or expected
that the Commission would adopt any particular pro-
cedures for notifying ‘targets’ of investigations when
it sought information from third parties. ”

The inference that the relief sought by Respond-
ents is not necessary to give effect to Congressional
intent is reinforced by the fact that, in one special
context, Congress has imposed on the Commission

16

an obligation to notify persons directly affected by
its subpoenas.

O'Brien, 104 S.Ct. 2720, 2726, 2727.

Here, the exact opposite holds true. Congress has speci-
fically refused to allow I.R.S. to utilize John Doe sum-
mons procedures when the identity of a taxpayer iy Anown.
In promulgating the limitations on John Doe summons
enforcement power embodied in Title 26 U.S.C. Section
7609(f)(3), Congress created a “taxpayer's right,” which
the District Court and the Court of Appeals completely
ignored,

The inquiry of this Court should be whether the actions
of the District Court and the Court of Appeals are-—

“Consistent with the underlying purposes of the
legislative scheme... .”

S.E.C. v. Jerry T. O'Brien, Inc, 467 U.S. 735, at 104
S.Ct. 2720, 2727, 2728, note 17.

Under Justice Marshall's analysis the intent of Congress
that John Doe summons procedures not be used against
known taxpayers supports a finding of procedural irregu-
larity in the issuance of the John Doe summons which ts
analogous to bad faith and abuse of Court process. United
States v. Powell, 379 U.S. 48, 85 S.Ct. 248, 13 L.Ed.2d
112 (1964). The intent of Congress should be upheld
and the District Court’s Order enforcing the John Doe
summons should be reversed,

This Court has recently held that a Petitioner denied
notice of due process should be—

17

“ . . Restored . . . to the position he would have
occupied had due process of the law been accorded
him in the first place... .”

Peralta v. Heights Medical Center, Inc., 108 S.Ct. 896
(1988). As noted there by Justice White—

“The Due Process Clause demands no less.”

CONCLUSION
In an era of diminishing civil and personal rights,
Petitioners do not expect this Court’s decision to stem
the flood of decline. To uphold the actions of the District

Court and the Court of Appeals would be to “pull the
finger from the dike.”

The District Court’s order denying Petitioners’ Motion
for Leave to Intervene should be reversed. The District
Court’s order enforcing the John Doe summons should
be reversed and this Court should render judgment direct-
ing that Respondents return all of Petitioners’ documents
produced under the District Court’s enforcement order
and that no further use of same be made by Respondents.
in the alternative to a rendition at this level the case
should be remanded with instructions.

Respectfully submitted,

Jor ALFRED IZEN, JR.
5222 Spruce Street
Bellaire, Texas 77401
(713) 668-8815

Attorney for Petitioners

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385020_1521%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
