# Opposition Brief — Sherman v. Maryland

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385020_1347%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1990
- **Citation:** 498 U.S. 950

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S,
D Ji: FILED
No. 89-1580 | msm
=—L__ lee
IN THE

Supreme Court of the Gnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1989

TIMOTHY ScoTT SHERMAN,
Petitioner,
v.

STATE OF MARYLAND,
Respondent.

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO PETITION
FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
COURT OF SPECIAL APPEALS OF MARYLAND

J. JOSEPH CURRAN, JR.
Attorney General of Maryland

GarRY E. Batr*
ANN N. BOSSE
Assistant Attorneys General

200 Saint Paul Place
Baltimore, Maryland 21202
(301) 576-6422

Counsel for Respondent

* Counsel of Record

June 21, 1990

PRESS OF BYRON S. ADAMS, WASHINGTON, D.C. (202) 347-8203

QUESTION PRESENTED

Did the Court of Special Appeals of Maryland cor-
rectly determine that a juror’s driving by the crime
scene during trial did not warrant Sherman’s being
granted a new trial?

ii

. PARTIES

The caption contains the names of all the parties
below.

iii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
GRFEE EY MUMMPEEIO EDD cccccscccccevsccecsececonscecsoescceceess i
aliases cnccneecnnenonionssideaniivecen il
ESE ERLE a OO 1
STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION ...............ccceseeeceeees 1
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS AND PROCE-
DURAL RULES INVOLVED ................ccccccceesseees
BEASMOMITE GF TH CASE ....cccvcccccccccccsscscccsssecess
REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT ..................... 10
1. The petition for writ of certiorari is
EEE SEE a 10
2. The petition raises issues that were not
raised or decided in the Court of Special
Sal EER ea 13
3. The proposed standard of automatic reversal
conflicts with decisions of this Court .......... 15
4. The Court of Special Appeals correctly re-
solved the issues before it .............ccc000eeeeeees 16

I iia iemicidesasnibdinevninvetensedvesdesweredeone 21

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: Page
Adickes v. S.H. Kress & Co., 398 U.S. 144

GEEIEE sidilcnpadasidnccoldinaieeseistebensindiatcasendinmasannieisees 14
American Railway Express Co. v. Levee, 263 U.S.

Bey EE ceeeseskeahineestnieciinsstscnnioninsantanintatabaiaiees 11
Chambers v. Mississippi, 410 U.S. 284 (1973) ....... 17

Eades v. State, 75 Md. App. 411, 541 A.2d 1001,
cert. denied, 313 Md. 611, 547 A.2d 188

COE. cciicksnsiilahelniencdetndigalicaiandlaicssivennes 9,17,18,19
Mack v. State, 300 Md. 583, 479 A.2d 1344

_ RORRTRRRCESS SST... RRL SUA 20
Marshall v. Lonberger, 459 U.S. 422 (1983) .......... 17
Remmer v. United States, 347 U.S. 227 (1954) ..... 15,19
Schacht v. United States, 398 U.S. 58 (1970) ........ 13
Smith v. Phillips, 455 U.S. 209 (1982) .........00... 15,18,19
Wernsing v. General Motors Corp., 298 Md. 406,

ee I IE sas cscscocvincsbiouancinancantnventess 8,9,19

Constitutional Provisions:
United States Constitution:

cs cspummnenansiotian 2,7,9,14
Fourteenth Amendment ...............ccsceceseceeeeeeees 2,9
Statutes:
8 RE REE a rere one enn mR Br 2
Rules:
Rules of the Supreme Court:
BRED ERE eae alr PE ee 11,12
ET Ee a OOO a 2,10,11,13
Rules of Maryland Procedure:
S|” RA STAPLE EMRE AORTA A OEE MTT 16
| ___ RAREN A aae cern neon ROSEN CP Mena ane 2,12

Table of Authorities Continued

Page
EE EE ar ae 3,12
IIT deri iicicsnenesceatteiustiasssileanisaansoinicsac 4,12,13
Pe MINED sc sccccnssinctssiasitaiecsieiilinccscaemuse: 12

come ee ET

ves Se

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Gnited States
OCTOBER TERM, 1989

No. 89-1580

TIMOTHY ScotT SHERMAN,
Petitioner,
Vv.

STATE OF MARYLAND,
Respondent.

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE COURT OF SPECIAL APPEALS OF MARYLAND

Respondent, the State of Maryland, respectfully re-
quests that this Court decline to issue a writ of
certiorari to review the judgment and unreported
opinion of the Court of Special Appeals of Maryland.

OPINION BELOW

The unreported per curiam opinion of the Court of
Special Appeals of Maryland is reprinted in the Ap-
pendix to the Petition.

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The unreported opinion of the Court of Special
Appeals of Maryland affirming Petitioner Timothy
Scott Sherman’s convictions was filed on May 16,

1989. Sherman filed a timely petition for writ of
certiorari in the Court of Appeals of Maryland, and
Maryland’s highest appellate court denied the petition
on October 20, 1989. Sherman then filed a petition
for reconsideration of denial of petition for certiorari.
The petition was denied by the Court of Appeals on
January 10, 1990.

Sherman has invoked the jurisdiction of this Court
pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1257(a).

As explained more fully infra, a petition or motion
for reconsideration of the denial of a petition for writ
of certiorari is not recognized by the Maryland Rules
of Procedure. Consequently, the time for filing a
petition for writ of certiorari in this Court began to
run from October 20, 1989, the date when the Court
of Appeals of Maryland refused to exercise its dis-
cretionary power of review. Under this Court’s for-
mer Rule 20.1, Sherman was required to file his
petition for writ of certiorari within 60 days after
October 20, 1989. Because Sherman’s petition was
filed on April 10, 1990, and not on or before Decem-
ber 19, 1989, the petition was untimely filed.

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS AND
PROCEDURAL RULES INVOLVED

United States Constitution, Amendments VI and
XIV are set forth in the Petition at 3.

Maryland Rule 8-604 provides in pertinent part:

(a) Generally.—As to each party to an
appeal, the Court shall dispose of an appeal
in one of the following ways:

(1) dismiss the appeal pursuant to Rule
8-602;

(2) affirm the judgment;
(3) vacate or reverse the judgment;
(4) modify the judgment;

(5) remand the action to a lower court
in accordance with section (d) of this Rule;
or

(6) an appropriate combination of the
above.

Maryland Rule 8-605 provides in pertinent part:

(a) Motion; Response; No Oral Argu-
ment.—Except as otherwise provided in Rule
8-602(c), a party may file pursuant to this
Rule a motion for reconsideration of a de-
cision by the Court that disposes of the
appeal. The motion shall be filed (1) before
issuance of the mandate or (2) within 30 days
after the filing of the opinion of the Court,
whichever is earlier. A response to a motion
for reconsideration may not be filed unless
requested on behalf of the Court by at least
one judge who concurred in the opinion or
order. Except to make changes in the opinion
that do not change the decision in the case,
the Court ordinarily will not grant a motion
for reconsideration unless it has requested a
response. There shall be no oral argument on
the motion.

x* * *

(d) Disposition of Motion.—A motion for
reconsideration shall be granted only with the
consent of at least half the judges who con-

curred in the opinion. If a motion for recon-
sideration is granted, the Court may make a
finai disposition of the appeal without rear-
gument, restore the appeal to the calendar
for argument, or make other orders, includ-
ing modification or clarification of its opinion,
as the Court finds appropriate.

Maryland Rule 8-606 provides in pertinent part:

(a) To Evidence Order of the Court.—Any
disposition of an appeal, including a volun-
tary dismissal, shall be evidenced by the man-
date of the Court, which shall be certified by
the Clerk under the seal of the Court and
shall constitute the judgment of the Court.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

At approximately 1:45 a.m. on Monday, October 12,
1987, deputies from the Harford County Sheriff’s De-
partment began arriving at the home of Stevenson,
Ann, and Timothy Sherman. (Tr. 5/24/88, at 92). They
found Stevenson and Ann Sherman lying dead in their
bed; each had been killed by a shotgun. (Tr. 5/24/88,
at 94; Tr. 5/25/88, at 7-18). In the hallway outside the
victims’ bedroom lay two expired Remington 12-gauge
shotgun shells. (Tr. 5/24/88, at 93; Tr. 5/27/88, at 59).
There were no signs of a forced entry or theft. (Tr. 5/
24/88, at 71-76; Tr. 5/26/88, at 49-52). Although the
doors and windows of the house were alarmed, the
alarm switch in the house was in the “‘off’’ position.
(Tr. 5/31/88, at 42-44).

Petitioner Timothy Scott Sherman, who, with his
grandfather William Gibson, was at the crime scene
wher. the deputies began to arrive, reported ‘‘that he

had no idea who it was that killed his Mom and Dad,
but whoever it was, that his Dad was shot first and
then he heard his Mom scream, and then they shot
his Mom.” (Tr. 5/24/88, at 93-94, 141). Sherman also
reported that he was in bed when the shootings oc-
curred and that, afterward, he dressed and ran to
Gibson’s house. (Tr. 5/24/88, at 94).

While his hands were being tested for gunshot
primer residue, Sherman explained that he had been
hunting the previous Saturday and had been reloading
shells on Sunday afternoon. (Tr. 5/26/88, at 19). He
also remarked and demonstrated that, when he fired
a shotgun, he pulled the trigger with his middle finger
and placed his index finger on the metal plate above
the trigger guard. (Tr. 5/26/88, at 20-21).

Officers at the scene recovered a box of Remington
12-gauge shotgun shells from under the mattress of
Timothy Sherman’s bed. (Tr. 5/26/88, at 61-63; Tr. 5/
31/88, at 52). The box, which was designed to hold
five shotgun shells, contained three shells that
matched the two expended shells found outside the
victims’ bedroom. (Tr. 5/25/88, at 80; Tr. 5/26/88, at
62; Tr. 5/27/88, at 63-64). During the morning of Oc-
tober 12, Sherman told Lieutenant James Isennock
that he had purchased a box of shells on the day
before and had fired his gun two times. (Tr. 5/25/88,
at 39-41).

Hidden in a pine tree beside Gibson’s house, de-
puties found a Stevens 12-gauge shotgun that be-
longed to the Shermans. (Tr. 5/24/88, at 53-58). The
F.B.I.’s examination of this weapon disclosed that it
had fired the two shells found in the hallway of the
Shermans’ home and that fingerprints on the weapon
were those of Timothy Sherman. (Tr. 5/27/88, at 63;

Tr. 5/31/88, at 12-13). One of those prints was located
above the trigger assembly. (Tr. 5/31/88, at 13).

By indictment filed in November, 1987, Sherman
was charged with murdering his parents. (R. 6-8). Fol-
lowing a lengthy jury trial in the Circuit Court for
Harford County, Maryland, Sherman was convicted
of two counts of first degree murder. (Tr. 6/7/88, at
3-7). After the jury foreman’s statement of the verdict
was taken, each member of the jury was individually
polled and each juror stated that Sherman was guilty
of the first degree murder of Ann and Stevenson
Sherman. (Tr. 6/7/88, at 3-7). -

On September 2, 1988, the trial court heard ar-
gument and testimony in connection with Sherman’s
motion for new trial. (Tr. 9/2/88, at 3-70). Sherman
had filed a new trial motion on June 16, 1988, in
which he had alleged, inter alia, ‘‘[t]hat the jurors
committed misconduct during the trial and delibera-
tions.” (R. 183-84). Despite this allegation, the defense
did not learn, until the morning of September 2, that
juror Blane Howard Miller Jr. had visited the scene
during trial. (Cert. Pet. filed in Ct. App. of Md. at
8). Likewise, the State did not learn about Miller’s
visit until the morning of September 2, even though
the State had interviewed Miller several days earlier
in connection with another incident that formed a
ground for Sherman’s new trial! motion. (Tr. 9/2/88,
at 17-18).

‘Most of the testimony at the new trial hearing, including
that of Miller, focused on whether the trial judge had had an
ex parte communication with the jury after deliberations had
begun. That issue is currently the subject of a State post-con-
viction proceeding.

2

At the hearing on September 2, Miller testified that,
“two or three days into the case,’”’ he and his wife
drove to the scene of the killings after the jury had
been dismissed for the evening. (Tr. 9/2/88, at 16). In
describing where he had gone, Miller stated: “I went
to the Sherman house and then I drove back the
streets from the Sherman house, back to the entrance
of Gibson Manor in looking for a tree that was so
involved in the case.” (Tr. 9/2/88, at 16). Miller con-
firmed that he had seen both the house and the tree.
(Tr. 9/2/88, at 16-17). During cross-examination, Miller
acknowledged that he had visited the scene after hav-
ing viewed a videotape of the outside of the Sherman
house and pictures of the tree. (Tr. 9/2/88, at 25-26).
Miller could not remember if his visit occurred after

_aerial and other photographs of the scene had been
shown to the jury. (Tr. 9/2/88, at 25-26). He explained
again that ‘‘the reason why I went there was so I
could see the tree that was so much in question.”’
(Tr. 9/2/88, at 26).

Following argument of counsel, during which the
defense alluded generally to Sherman’s Sixth Amend-
ment rights and in particular to Sherman’s Sixth
Amendment right to a fair trial, (Tr. 9/2/88, at 48-
62; id. at 56-60), the trial court stated, in part, ‘‘that
I think that [Miller’s] activity is not of such magnitude
as to warrant a new trial or reversible appeal.” (Tr. 9/
2/88, at 64).2 After also rejecting Sherman’s other
grounds for a new trial, the trial court sentenced
Sherman to two consecutive terms of life imprison-
ment. (Tr. 9/2/88, at 157).

2 The full text of the trial court’s ruling regarding Miller’s
visit to the scene is reproduced in the Petition at 18-19.

On appeal to the Court of Special Appeals of Mary-
land, Sherman attacked the trial court’s failure to
grant a new trial on account of Miller’s crime scene
visit. In the heading to his written argument, Sher-
man complained that ‘‘the trial court committed re-
versible error by violating the appellant’s
constitutional rights of due process in a fair and im-
partial trial by not granting the appellant’s motion
for a new trial.’’ (Appellant’s Brief at 25). In the text
of his brief, Sherman claimed that Miller’s conduct
violated the juror’s oath and the court’s instructions
regarding the evidence to be considered and seques-
tration. (Appellant’s Brief at 26). Sherman suggested
that it was an abuse of discretion for the trial court
to have denied his motion for new trial, and that
Miller’s site visit could not be deemed harmless error.
(Appellant’s Brief at 26-27). The Court of Special
Appeals rejected Sherman’s contentions in an unre-
ported opinion, saying:

Sherman argues that the trial court should
have granted a new trial because a juror and
his wife drove to the neighborhood of the
murder scene.

When the precise extraneous matter is
known but direct evidence as to its effect on
the deliberations is not, ‘‘a sound balance is
struck by a rule which looks to the proba-
bility of prejudice from the fact of extraneous
matter in relation to the circumstances of the
particular case.”’ Wernsing v. General Motors
Corp., 298 Md. 406, 419-20 (1984). When rul-
ing on a motion for new trial, the judge must
evaluate the degree of probable prejudice to

the defendant in order to discern whether a
new trial is justified. Wernsing at 420.

The grant or denial of a motion for new
trial rests within the sound discretion of the
trial judge. Eades v. State, 75 Md. App. 411,
419-20 (1988). Judge Whitfill found that a
new trial was not warranted, particularly in
light of the numerous testimonial references,
videotapes, and photographs relating to and
depicting the crime scene. We perceive no
abuse of discretion in that ruling.

Sherman next alleges that there was a vi-
olation of the sequestration order because of
the fact that the juror was accompanied by
the juror’s wife when he visited the crime
scene. Sherman asserts that conduct man-
dates reversal. Sherman’s bald averment fails
to indicate how the juror’s improper action
prejudiced the case.

(Pet. App. 15a-17a).

In the petition for writ of certiorari that he filed
in the Court of Appeals of Maryland, Sherman, with-
out citation to either the Sixth or Fourteenth Amend-
ments to the United States Constitution and with but
one reference to a denial of an impartial jury, chal-
lenged the unreported decision of Maryland’s inter-
mediate appellate court on the issue of juror Miller’s
visit to the crime scene. (Cert. Pet. filed in Ct. App.
of Md. at 8-10). The Court of Appeals of Maryland
denied Sherman’s petition on October 20, 1989. (Pet.
App. 24a-25a). Thirty days later, Sherman filed a
petition for reconsideration of denial of petition for
certiorari. In this petition, Sherman claimed that Mill-

10

er’s conduct deprived him “of his right to trial by an
impartial jury, his right to confront the witnesses
against him, his right to a fair trial, and his right to
the assistance of counsel.’’ (Pet. for Reconsideration
at 19). This petition was denied on January 10, 1990.
(Pet. App. 26a).

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

Sherman’s petition for a writ of certiorari to review
the judgment and unreported decision of Maryland’s
intermediate appellate court should be denied for any
one of four reasons. Not only has Sherman failed to
file his petition within the time requirements of this
Court’s procedural rules, his petition raises issues that
were not raised or decided by the Court of Special
Appeals of Maryland. Additionally, the per se rule of
law that Sherman proposes as a standard for review
is in conflict with relevant decisions of this Court.
And, Sherman’s alternative suggestion that the Court
of Special Appeals required him to show actual prej-
udice is incorrect; the Court of Special Appeals cor-
rectly decided that Sherman was not entitled to a
new trial. Accordingly, notwithstanding conflicts in
the law on the subject of unauthorized crime scene
visits by jurors, Sherman is not entitled to the relief
that he claims has been erroneously withheld by the
Maryland courts.

1. The petition for writ of certiorari is untimely.

The Court of Appeals of Maryland denied Sher-
man’s petition for writ of certiorari on October 20,
1989. As of that date, former Rule 20 of this Court’s
Rules of Procedure was in effect. Paragraph .1 of
that rule provided in relevant part that ‘‘[a] petition
for writ of certiorari to review the judgment in a

A eA nS hy A I Hi!

att cnctrt sci saectcson —

————re _ ——— —_ —

11

criminal case of a state court of last resort... shall
be deemed in time when it is filed with the Clerk
within 60 days after the entry of such judgment.”
Under former Rule 20.1, then, the time for filing
Sherman’s petition began to run from the date the
Court of Appeals denied discretionary review, and the
time expired on December 19, 1989. See American
Railway Express Co. v. Levee, 263 U.S. 19, 20-21
(1923) (where highest state court has discretion to
review, but declines to do so, time for filing runs
from date of refusal to review).®

Given that Sherman did not file his petition for writ
of certiorari until April 10, 1990, he is apparently
relying upon this Court’s current Rule 13, para-
graphs .1 and .4, and the fact that he filed, in the
Court of Appeals, a petition for reconsideration of
denial of petition for certiorari. The petition for re-
consideration was denied by the Court of Appeals on
January 10, 1990.

Rule 13.4, like former Rule 20.4, states in relevant
part that “if a petition for rehearing is timely filed
in the lower court by any party in the case, the time
for filing the petition for a writ of certiorari... runs
from the date of the denial of the petition for re-
hearing or the entry of a subsequent judgment.” As-
suming, without conceding, that a petition for
reconsideration is otherwise a petition for rehearing

’ Current Rule 13.1 of this Court’s Rules of Procedure seems
to codify the language of the Levee case by providing in relevant
part that ‘‘[a] petition for a writ of certiorari seeking review of
a judgment of a lower state court which is subject to discre-
tionary review by the state court of last resort shall be deemed
in time when it is filed with the Clerk within 90 days after the
entry of the order denying discretionary review.”

12

within the meaning of Rule 13.4, the filing of Sher-
man’s petition for reconsideration should not be
viewed as extending the time for filing the instant
petition for writ of certiorari.

Rule 8-605 of the Maryland Rules of Procedure does
not expressly permit or preclude the filing of a motion
for reconsideration of a denial of a petition for writ
of certiorari. Rule 8-605 is, however, derived in part
from a former rule that did expressly preclude a mo-
tion for reconsideration of a decision denying
certiorari. When new Rule 8-605 is read together
with Rule 8-604, which addresses the subject of dis-
position, and Rule 8-606, which deals with the subject
of mandates, there is no reason to conclude that new
Rule 8-605 has effected a change in the previous
Maryland practice of not permitting parties to seek
reconsideration of the decision to deny certiorari.

Rule 8-605(a) speaks in terms of ‘‘a decision by the
Court that disposes of the appeal.’’ Rule 8-604(a) out-
lines the ways in which the Maryland appellate courts

*Former Maryland Rule 850, which governed reconsideration
of decisions of the Court of Appeals of Maryland, provided in
pertinent part in subsection (a) that ‘[a] motion for reconsider-
ation of a decision other than one granting or denying certiorari,
specifying the grounds therefor, may be filed within thirty days
after the opinion of this Court has been filed.’’ Effective July
1, 1988, Rule 850 was rescinded, as were all Maryland Rules
of Procedure pertaining to the Maryland Court of Appeals and
the Court of Special Appeals. Like many of the new rules re-
garding procedure in the Maryland appellate courts, current Rule
8-605 governs reconsideration of decisions of both the Court of
Appeals and the Court of Special Appeals, without distinguishing
between the two appellate courts, and it replaces former rules
that addressed the same subject matter, but which pertained to
each appellate court individually.

13

“shall dispose of an appeal.”’ Denial of a petition for
writ of certiorari is not one of the six enumerated
ways of disposing of an appeal. Rule 8-606(a), in turn,
states that ‘‘[a]ny disposition of an appeal, including
a voluntary dismissal, shall be evidenced by the man-
date of the Court, which shall be certified by the
Clerk under the seal of the Court and shall constitute
the judgment of the Court.’”” No mandate of the Court
of Appeals is issued when that court denies a petition
for writ of certiorari.

Because Maryland procedure does not contemplate
a motion for reconsideration of a denial of certiorari,
Sherman’s petition for reconsideration and the order
denying same should not be viewed as extending the
time in which Sherman was required, under former
Rule 20.1, to file his petition for writ of certiorari.
Although the State recognizes that this Court may
waive the untimely filing of a petition in a criminal
ease, Schacht v. United States, 398 U.S. 58, 63-64
(1970), there are no compelling reasons to counte-
nance the untimely filing in the instant case. The
Court should, therefore, decline to issue the requested
writ of certiorari because Sherman’s petition was un-
timely filed.

2. The petition raises issues that were not raised or
decided in the Court of Special Appeals.

On page 22 of his petition in this Court, Sherman
asserts: ‘‘Although the courts below did not even ac-
knowledge that Miller’s site visit amounted to a dep-
rivation of Timmy Sherman’s federal constitutional
rights, in fact there can be no doubt that such an
escapade violates the defendant’s federal rights of
confrontation, cross-examination, assistance of
counsel, trial by an impartial jury, and due process.”

14

To the extent that the lower courts failed to ac-
knowledge the constitutional deprivations alleged in
Sherman’s petition, the omissions are directly attrib-
utable to Sherman’s failure to raise such claims in
the courts below.

In the trial court, although Sherman referred gen-
erally to his Sixth Amendment rights in several in-
stances, in only one instance did Sherman elucidate
what Sixth Amendment rights had been implicated.
(Tr. 9/2/88, at 56-60). In that single instance, Sherman
claimed that his ‘‘Sixth Amendment right to a fair
trial’ had been violated. (Tr. 9/2/88, at 57).

On appeal to the Court of Special Appeals of Mary-
land, Sherman was even more cryptic than he had
been in the trial court. In his brief’s argument head-
ing relating to Miller’s visit, Sherman suggested that
“the trial court committed reversible error by violat-
ing the appellant’s constitutional rights of due process
in a fair and impartial trial.’’ (Appellant’s Brief at
25). Sherman’s substantive argument spoke of Miller’s
conduct as having violated the juror’s oath, the court’s
instructions, and the court’s sequestration orders.
(Appellant’s Brief at 26). Sherman also argued about
adverse prejudice to the defendant, an abuse of dis-
cretion in the denial of the new trial motion, and the
inability of the State to prove harmless error. (Ap-
pellant’s Brief at 27). At no time did Sherman allege
the constitutional violations catalogued on page 22 of
his instant petition. (Appellant’s Brief at 25-28).

In Adickes v. S.H. Kress & Co., 398 U.S. 144, 147
n. 2 (1970), this Court declined to consider an issue
of trial court error that was raised in Adickes’s

petition for certiorari, but which had not been raised
in or ruled on by the Court of Appeals. Here, where

15

Sherman claims violations of constitutional rights, e.g.,
confrontation, cross-examination, assistance of
counsel, that were never brought to the attention of
the court whose judgment would form the basis of
review, this Court should decline to — the over-
inclusive petition for certiorari.

3. The proposed standard of automatic reversal con-
flicts with decisions of this Court.

Sherman’s first contention for why this Court
should issue a writ of certiorari is that the Court of
Special Appeals’ decision conflicts with the decisions
of several state courts of last resort. (Pet. at 26-35).
In this regard, Sherman suggests that, as have some
lower courts, ‘‘[t]his Court should adopt, as a matter
of federal constitutional law, the rule that an unau-
thorized visit by a juror to a crime scene whose phys-
ical description is in issue automatically mandates
reversal.”” (Pet. at 34-35).

The fallacy of Sherman’s contention, and that which
militates against review by this Court, is that deci-
sions of this Court involving analogous situations sug-
gest that a per se rule of reversal is not
constitutionally mandated. See Smith v. Phillips, 455
U.S. 209, 215 (1982) (‘[tJhis Court has long held that
the remedy for allegations of juror partiality is a hear-
ing in which the defendant has the opportunity to
prove actual bias’); Remmer v. United States, 347
U.S. 227, 229 (1954) (although an attempt to bribe a
juror is presumptively prejudicial, ‘‘the presumption
is not conclusive, but the burden rests heavily upon
the Government to establish, after notice to and hear-
ing of the defendant, that such contact with the juror
was harmless to the defendant’’).

16

Accordingly, even if the unreported decision of the
Court of Special Appeals, which decision “‘is neither
precedent within the rule of stare decisis nor per-
suasive authority,’’ Md, Rule 8-114(a),° can be said to
conflict with the decisions of other state courts, the
rule of law espoused by these other courts is incon-
sistent with decisions of this Court. Accordingly, the
perceived conflict in state court decisions does not
provide an appropriate basis for granting Sherman’s
petition for writ of certiorari.

4. The Court of Special Appeals correctly resolved the
issues before it.

In his second argument for why this Court should
grant his petition for certiorari, Sherman challenges
the standard by which the Court of Special Appeals
analyzed his contentions in that court, saying that it
conflicts with the standards applied by other lower

’> Maryland Rule 8-114 provides in full as follows:

(a) Not Authority.—An unreported opinion of the
Court of Appeals or Court of Special Appeals is nei-
ther precedent within the rule of stare decisis nor
persuasive authority.

(b) Citation.—An unreported opinion of either Court
may be cited in either Court for any purpose other
than as precedent within the rule of stare decisis or
as persuasive authority. In any other court, an un-
reported opinion of either Court may be cited only
(1) when relevant under the doctrine of the law of the
case, res judicata, or collateral estoppel, (2) in a crim-
inal action or related proceeding involving the same
defendant, or (3) in a disciplinary action involving the
same respondent. A party who cites an unreported
opinion shal] attach a copy of it to the pleading, brief,
or paper in which it is cited.

17

courts. (Pet. at 35-53). For example, on page 36 of
his petition, Sherman argues as follows: ‘‘Constitu-
tional error was indisputably shown in this case, yet
the burden was placed on the defendant to show prej-
udice from the error, not on the State to rebut it.”’
Although a conflict regarding standards may exist,
Sherman is mistaken in his contention that the Court
of Special Appeals incorrectly resolved the issues be-
fore it.

A fair reading of the Court of Special Appeals’
decision suggests that the first three paragraphs of
the opinion address the contention that Miller’s site
visit deprived Sherman of a fair trial. The last par-
agraph of the opinion deals with the separate issue
of whether Miller’s visit to the scene with his wife
violated the trial court’s sequestration order. Only
with respect to this latter issue, which is not a subject
of Sherman’s petition in this Court and which in any
event is a matter best left to state courts to resolve,‘
did the Court of Special Appeals impose upon Sher-
man the burden of showing prejudice.

Although its decision as it relates to Sherman’s fair
trial contention is terse, the Court of Special Appeals’
citation to Hades v. State, 75 Md. App. 411, 541 A.2d
1001, cert. denied, 313 Md. 611, 547 A.2d 188 (1988),
demonstrates that the court properly analyzed, albeit
implicitly, the issue before it. In the Hades case, which
was decided less than a year before Sherman’s case,

*It is the long-standing policy of this Court to accord great
deference to a state’s establishment and implementation of crim-
inal trial procedures. E.g., Marshall v. Lonberger, 459 U.S. 422,
438 n. 6 (1983); Chambers v. Mississippi, 410 U.S. 284, 302-03
(1973).

18

the Court of Special Appeals had engaged in a com-
prehensive review of the law pertaining to juror mis-
conduct and extraneous influences on the jury. /d. at
416-25, 541 A.2d at 1004-08. In recognizing that a
motion for a new trial is committed to the sound
discretion of th» «rial judge, the Court of Special
Appeals also acknowledged that, where misconduct is
at issue,

the trial judge must account for the fact that
due process requires ‘‘a jury capable and will-
ing to decide the case solely on the evidence
before it, and a trial judge ever watchful to
prevent prejudicial occurrences and to deter-
mine the effect of such occurrences when
they happen.”’

Id. at 420, 541 A.2d at 1006 (quoting Smith v. Phil-
lips, 455 U.S. at 217). The intermediate appellate
court also acknowledged that ‘‘a motion for mistrial
or a new trial because of alleged jury misconduct will
be granted if the misconduct was such as to indicate
that a fair and impartial trial could not be had under
the circumstances.” Jd., 541 A.2d at 1006. All of the
above-quoted language appears on the pages of the
Eades opinion that the court refers to in its decision
in the instant case. (Pet. App. 16a).

In Eades, the Court of Special Appeals went on to
discuss various standards that have been used by dif-
ferent courts to determine whether prejudice has re-
sulted when an irregularity has occurred.’ It

7In Eades, one of the jurors had asked her lawyer-husband
why it was that the judge had said that a witness could say
what she had. The husband had explained that the witness’s
statement was a spontaneous utterance. 75 Md. App. at 415,
541 A.2d at 1003-04.

Knees irs Mains os tii BODO 2

19

ultimately chose to “‘assume that the Supreme Court’s
holding in Remmer as to the presumptively prejudicial
effect of any private communication with a juror con-
cerning a matter pending before the jury remains the
law.’”’ 75 Md. App. at 423, 541 A.2d at 1008. In a
subsequent discussion regarding which party bears the
burden when the problem of improper juror contact
is raised, the court again assumed that it is the State
that bears the burden of establishing the harmlessness
of the contact beyond a reasonable doubt. Jd. at 425-
26 n. 4, 541 A.2d at 1008-09 n. 4.

Although the Court of Special Appeals did not, in
its decision of the instant case, expressly refer to the
standards it had applied in the Eades case, it is rea-
sonable to believe that the court was aware of these
standards and that it considered them in conjunction
with the language regarding ‘‘the degree of probable
prejudice” that it quoted from Maryland’s high court’s
decision in Wernsing v. General Motors Corp., 298
Md. 406, 419-20, 470 A.2d 802, 809 (1984). Conse-
quently, it is not reasonable to believe, as Sherman
suggests in his petition, that the Court of Special
Appeals imposed a burden upon him to prove that he
had been prejudiced. Indeed, the Court of Special
Appeals’ reliance upon Eades and Wernsing suggests
that the court affirmed the trial court’s denial of
Sherman’s new trial motion only after it was per-
suaded that the State had established that probable
prejudice to Sherman had not occurred beyond a rea-
sonable doubt. Such a standard is not significantly
different from the alternate standard proposed by
Sherman. Furthermore, assuming that such a stand-
ard is to be applied, despite language in Smith v.
Phillips that suggests that a less stringent standard

20

is appropriate, 455 U.S. at 215, the record before the
Court of Special Appeals reveals that the court’s res-
olution of the issues before it was correct.

As both the trial court and the Court of Special
Appeals recognized, the view of the scene was cu-
mulative of evidence introduced at trial. (Tr. 9/2/88,
at 63-64; Pet. App. 16a). Given Miller’s description
of what he did during the site visit, there is nothing
to -suggest that Miller did more than drive by the
house and the tree. There is also nothing to suggest
that Miller considered or discussed his observations
during deliberations.®

8 At various points in his petition, Sherman refers to his not
being permitted to adduce certain testimony from Miller. (E.g.,
Pet. at 16 & nn. 3 & 4; 47-48 n. 14; 49). To the extent that
Sherman is suggesting error in this regard, his contention is
without merit.

First, although the State consistently maintained in the State
courts that Miller should not have been permitted to testify
about his conduct, both the trial court and the Court of Special
Appeals considered the substance of Miller’s evidence.

Second, although the State also objected, at the new trial
hearing, to allowing the defense to ask Miller why he went to
the scene, on direct examination Miller explained that he was
“looking for a tree that was so involved in the case,”’ and on
cross-examination Miller said he had gone to the scene ‘“‘so I
could see the tree that was so much in question.” (Tr. 9/2/88,
at 16, 26). And, when the State objected to the defense’s asking
Miller if what he had seen had influenced his deliberations, de-
fense counsel] withdrew his question. (Tr. 9/2/88, at 17-18).

Finally, under Maryland law, ‘‘the question of whether the
exclusion of evidence is erroneous and constitutes prejudicial
error is not properly preserved for appellate review unless there
has been a formal proffer of what the contents and relevance
of the excluded testimony would have been.”’ Mack v. State, 300

21

In sum, when the Court of Special Appeals’ decision
is viewed in the context of the cases that the court
relied upon and the facts before it, Sherman’s criti-
cisms of the decision necessarily dissipate, and the
reasons for granting certiorari disappear. Accord-
ingly, this Court should decline to grant the petition
for writ of certiorari for the additional reason that
the Court of Special Appeals correctly affirmed the
trial court’s decision to deny Sherman a new trial.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the State of Maryland
respectfully requests that this Court deny the petition
for writ of certiorari.

Respectfully submitted,
J. JOSEPH CURRAN, JR.

Attorney General of Maryland

GARY E. BaIrR*
ANN N. BOSSE
Assistant Attorneys General

200- Saint Paul Place
Baltimore, Maryland 21202
(301) 576-6422

Counsel for Respondent
* Counsel of Record

June 21, 1990

Md. 583, 603, 479 A.2d 1344, 1354 (1984). No proffers were
made as to any further reasons Miller had for going to the scene
or as to whether Miller, alone or with other jurors, considered
his site visit during deliberations.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385020_1347%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
