# Opposition Brief — Blackwelder v. Life & Health Services, Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385020_1324%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1990
- **Citation:** 495 U.S. 948

## Text

No. 89-1554 \*

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States

October Term 1990

ROBERT E. BLACKWELDER, et al.,
Petitioners,
VS.

LIFE AND HEALTH SERVICES, INC., et al.,
Respondents.

On Writ of Certiorari to the Supreme Court of Alabama

BRIEF FOR RESPONDENT
HARBOR INSURANCE COMPANY
IN OPPOSITION TO
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Clyde C. Owen, Jr.

Ball, Ball, Matthews & Novak, P.A.
1100 Union Bank Tower

Post Office Drawer 2148
Montgomery, Alabama 36197
(205) 834-7680

Attorney For Respondent

Harbor Insurance Company

~ BEST AVAILA =

od ie
Sets eel

~

‘ kN Mi ¢ eI y CS
‘ v ‘ :
3 = 4 = . ; - .
=—s f ; f a
a
“ et - - .
;
: ’
r s vans
ry ” a! * ry > SE id °
* ‘ . a Sos: $
. A :
re re ’ ‘
:
4 f
. . ” we ‘
: ‘ .
+ :
i, y , . v4
. om 3 ¢
: =n ;
P ¥ . ‘ C 5
* i —_- a . Ms
- = . ~ i] Ah é
- a by
: des
Lo ise
; ‘
\ '
° , a "
re
‘ | a
; :
ane ; ‘
5 ‘ . & . f
- bs x i ;

é
. e. °
. ne .
. . ~ hee ;
/ Ms : : *
7% ; >
‘ $ . '
9 , . 4
, :
* .
. ‘ . « . be ne
4 B. Z
bi P * - be ee yn 4 » 4
. @ . \ ;
2 4 ‘
o amet a ;
Ps ot » . ort ~
; : Pan ‘
: Sos yaecowr, ° ‘ ;
: , j ‘: } é
’ ~ . }
t ;
‘ . ' i 1 .
‘ s : . Pn - ‘
oO v - “ "
r 6 of ~ e ' ~
7: y, . .
¥ e U. '
: >
< ‘ . vs
= ‘ . > gee) , Ps v 5 “
* ~ = “ y ‘ >
‘ eas x , fpr aek ¥ : 4
. ‘ %, + " 5
g . Me, A
4 ve r ° a-
4 i AS >
F we ash : ng ‘
* 6 Ld
A °

°

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

I. Whether a self-funded employee welfare benefit plan available
to employees of the Junior, Community, and Technical Colleges of
the State of Alabama in 1981 and 1982, was a *‘governmental plan”
as defined in the Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974,
29 U.S.C. § 1002(32) [ERISA].

PARTIES

In the Supreme Court of Alabama, the parties were:

i. Robert E. Blackwelder, as representative of a class of persons
who were participants in a self-funded employee welfare benefit plan,
known as the Alabama Junior/Community Colleges and Technical
Colleges Employee Benefit Plan, who incurred medical expenses
which were presented to the Plan, but were not paid. Plaintiffs/
Appellees.

2. Mary R. Holley, as representative of a class of persons who were
participants in the Plan, who either incurred no medical expenses
or who presented medical expenses to the Plan which were paid.
Plaintiffs/Appellees.

3. Life and Health Services, Inc., administrator of the Plan.
Defendant/ Appellant.

4. Betty Duncan, as Administratrix of the Estate of Robert E.
Wilder, President of Life and Health Services, Inc. Defendant/

Appellant.

5. Harbor Insurance Company, reinsurer of the Plan. Defendant/
Appellant. !

1. Pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 28.1, please take note that Harbor Insurance Com-
pany is a wholly owned subsidiary of The Continental Corporation. Its affiliated companies
are listed in Appendix I attached hereto.

Page
QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW ............. i
es als cos eseesenvanveehetnes il
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ....................--.-. iv
a sy ok bd ows do 0 bores 2a wes aoe l
ee ee on ois va wks s.sle oes 4 one ee l
STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED .............. 2
STATEMENT OF THE CASE
A. Kdentification of the Parties ..................--. 3
B. Control of the Alabama Junior, Community
and Technical College System .................. 4
CMD Soc avvvcesbsvavvvseceees 5
D. Operation and Demise of the Plan .............. 6
E. Cousse of Proceedings Below ................-. 7
ARGUMENT
A. Petitioners’ First Question Presented
Asserts Facts Not Supported by the Record ....... 10
B. Petitioners’ Second Question Presented
Was Not Raised In A Timely Manner Below ...... 11
C. The Opinion of the Alabama Supreme Court Does
Not Conflict With The Federal Statutes, Federal
Decisions or Opinion Letters of The United
sues Departement Of Labor ................555. 12
ES ne te ala nye sven Wins ¥ a pw sho wie 15

TABLE OF CONTENTS

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE .............. aia a 16

ote

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page

STATUTES
en ar I og Sb 5c ob sala es Ge ube wa aole re oh bee 12
ET, CRI go x gw ics 40-5 COM AS Wa eee 12
EE oc te Wier aces tp eeeeeUrieraeaes i
ian yo ecan anny x xn eee 2,9
Fe RE! OS rr re rrr 4
Me, Ce S Ta CITT 5. bo 0 ce cin cd cccctvcwswende 4
a ee Ee GE oo 6 os on cec ee desdaeeiwcns. 4
ek Ee EEE COTE. ose 6s oe 6606 00 wen eewen bers 4
a ne ounces kd tne e bua sed tanee tees 14
Ne kU ea eu ee awe aan 14
CASES
Feinstein v. Lewis,

477 F.Supp. 1256 (S.D. N.Y. 1979) .......... 12, 13, 14
Harbor Insurance Co. v. Blackwelder,

554 So.2d. 329 (Ala. 1989) ......... 1,9, 10, 11, 12, 13
Krupp v. Lincoln University,

663 FSupp. 289 (E.D. Pa. 1987) ................ 12, 14
Rose v. Long Island R.R. Pension Plan,

828 F.2d 910 (2d Cir. 1987), cert. denied,

485 U.S. 936, 108 S.Ct. 1112,

Der ee PIED ov 6 vos wc cecccccneves 12, 13, 14

OTHER AUTHORITY
ERISA Opinion Letter No. 79-62(A) (1979) .............. 12

OPINIONS BELOW

There was no opinion issued by the Circuit Court for Mont-
gomery County, Alabama, which addressed the issue presented here
for review. On December 30, 1987, the Circuit Court for Mont-
gomery County (Fifteenth Judicial Circuit) entered an *‘Order on
Pending Motions and Judgment On Nonjury Issue,”’ in which it held
that the self-insurance fund at issue in this case was a governmental
plan as defined by ERISA, and is exempted from ERISA require-
ments, sO as not to preclude common-law causes of action. Judgment
was entered in favor of the plaintiff classes and against the defen-
dants on this issue. See Appendix A attached hereto. The defendants
appealed the case to the Supreme Court of Alabama, where consoli
dated appeals were assigned Supreme Court Case Nos. 87-391,
87-407, and 87-487.

On September 29, 1989, the Alabama Supreme Court rendered
its opinion which, in part, reversed some of the judgments entered by
the Trial Court. As pertinent to the Question Presented, the Court
ruled, by a six to three vote, that the Trial Court erred in its holding
that the Plan was a governmental plan exempt from the provisions of
ERISA. Harbor Insurance Co. v. Blackwelder, et al. , 554 So.2d 329
(Ala. 1989). See Appendix B attached hereto.

The Application for Rehearing filed on behalf of the Plaintiffs/
Appellees was denied without opinion on November 17, 1989. See
Appendix C attached hereto.

JURISDICTION

Respondent Harbor Insurance Company concedes that the Peti-
tioners’ statement of jurisdiction is sufficient to enable this Court to
entertain its Petition for Writ of Certiorari, pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §
1257.

LL

Nm

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

In addition to the statutory provisions recited in the Petition for
Writ of Certiorari, the following additional provision of the Employee
Retirement Income Security Act of 1974 is involved in the issue pre-
sented by the Petition:

**29 U.S.C. § 1144. Other laws.

(a) Supersedure; effective date. Except as provided in sub-
section (b) of this section, the provisions of this title and title TV
shall supersede any and all State laws insofar as they may now or
hereafter relate to any employee benefit plan described in section
4(a) [29 U.S.C. § 1003(a)] and not exempt under section 4(b)
{29 U.S.C. § 1003(b)]....

KK
(c) Definitions. For purposes of this section:
(1) The term ‘State law’ includes all laws, decisions, rules, regu-

lations, or other State action having the effect of law, of any
ee

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. Identification of the Parties

The Petitioners before this Court are two classes of persons em-
ployed by 28 of the 43 junior, community and technical colleges
operated by the State of Alabama in 1981 and 1982. Each of the
Petitioners elected to participate in an employee welfare benefit plan
created in 1981, known as the Alabama Junior/Community Colleges
and Technical Colleges Employee Benefit Plan (hereinafter referred
to as the **Plan’’).

Respondent Life & Health Services, Inc. (hereinafter “‘Life &
Health’’) contracted to assist in the creation and administration of the
Plan, and was instrumental in promoting the Plan to the Petitioners.
Robert Wilder was the president of Life & Health.

Respondent Harbor Insurance Company provided reinsurance of
a portion of the benefits offered by the Plan, pursuant to an Excess
Medical Stop-Loss Reinsurance Agreement. The Reinsurance Agree-
ment obligated Harbor to reimburse the Plan for certain amounts of
health benefits paid in excess of stated ‘‘attachment points,’’ which
are somewhat similar to deductibles in traditional health insurance
policies.

B. Control of the Alabama Junior,
Community and Technical College System

Prior to May 4, 1982, the Alabama Trade School and Junior
College Authority Act, Ala. Code §§ 16-60-80, et seq., (1975)?,
charged the Alabama State Board of Education with the responsibility
for the *‘operation, management, control, supervision, maintenance,
regulation, upkeep, improvement, equipment, and enlargement of
and gdditions to’’ Alabama’s junior, community and technical col-
leges. Ala. Code § 16-60-111 (1975) (repealed by 1982 Alabama Acts,
No. 82-486, § 2, effective May 4, 1982). Effective May 4, 1982,
those responsiblities were vested in the Chancellor of Postsecondary
Education, subject to approval by the State Board of Education. Ala.
Code § 16-60-111.2 (1975).

The State Board of Education discharges its statutory duties
through regular meetings, the minutes of which are public records.
With regard to insurance, the minutes demonstrate that, yearly, the
Board received recommendations for the purchase of consolidated
liability insurance for all vehicles owned by the junior, community
and technical colleges, for specified policy limits, for a specified
premium cost, to be purchased through a specified insurance agency,
and that the Board passed a resolution approving the purchase of such
liability insurance. By contrast, the minutes of the Board meetings
between 1979 and the end of 1982 contain no reference to any pro-
posal to study, create, fund, or operate a consolidated employee
welfare benefit plan for the employees of the schools.

2 Effective May 4, 1982. the Alabama Trade School and Junior College Authority Act
was substantially amended, by the creation of the Postsecondary Education Department,
defined as a “parallel organization to the state department of education directly responsible
to the state department of education for the direction and supervision of junior colleges and
trade schools and community colleges with a chief executive officer entitled a chancellor.”
Ala. Code § \6-60-110(6) (1975).

—— rrr r—O rn rrr

In September of 1981, the State Board of Education passed a
resolution which stated that ‘‘hospital medical insurance assistance
will be provided for all full-time employees in Alabama’s public junior,
community and technical colleges/institutes and Athens State College
and that this assistance will not exceed Three Hundred Nine Dollars
($309) per year per person.’’ There was no restriction on the use of
the funds by the employees for the purchase of any particular insur-
ance, nor were the funds deemed available only for the purchase of
‘‘authorized”’ or “‘approved”’ insurance programs.

C. Creation of the Plan

In the fall of 1980, the Alabama Junior Colleges Presidents Asso-
ciation and the Alabama Technical Colleges Presidents Association
formed a joint committee, called the Presidents Insurance Commit-
tee, to study the existing health insurance programs of the various
schools. The Presidents Insurance Committee determined that a con-
solidated self-funded employee benefit plan should be created, and
thereafter considered a plan offered by Central Bank, in association
with Blue Cross. However, before the Central Bank-Blue Cross plan
was adopted, committee member Dr. William McWhorter contacted
Life & Health and solicited a competitive bid for a consolidated
health benefit program.

Life & Health prepared its own proposal for a consolidated self-
funded employee’ benefit plan, which included medical and hospital
benefits to be provided through a trust funded by contributions from
those employees who elected to participate, excess stop-loss reinsur-
ance to be purchased from Harbor, and life insurance to be purchased
from another insurance company.

In September of 1981, the Presidents Insurance Committee, which
by then also included **insurance reps’’ representing the employees of
the schools, heard presentations from a representative of Central

Bank and from Robert Wilder on behalf of Life & Health, and voted
to adopt the Plan offered by Life & Health. On September 24, 1981,
the Committee, on the letterhead stationery of the Alaban.a Technical
Colleges Presidents Association, sent a memorandum to the presi-
dent of each school stating that the Presidents Insurance Committee
had agreed upon a self-funded medical/health insurance program,
and that representatives of Life & Health would soon be contacting
them to explain the Plan.

D. Operation and Demise of the Plan

The Plan was created and operated pursuant to a Trust Agreement,
which was prepared by Life & Health and executed by four junior and
technical college presidents and by the secretary to a fifth president, as
Trustees. The Trustees also entered into an Administration Services
Agreement with Life & Health io administer the Plan, and the above-
referenced Excess Medical Stop-Loss Reinsurance Agreement with
Harbor.

The stated purpose of the Trust Agreement was to provide and
maintain health henefits for participating school employees and their
families, to establish a fund of money, and to accumulate as part of
that fund an adequate reserve to carry out the purpose of the trust.

In order to fund the trust, the Trust Agreement empowered the
Trustees “to demand, collect and receive employer and employee
contributions”’ and *‘to specify the exact time and manner in which
the payment of such contributions are to be made... .*° On the
recommendation of Life & Health, the Trustees adopted employee
and family contribution rates (“‘premiums’’) which quickly proved
insufficient to pay for the health benefit claims submitted on behalf of
the employee participants. By the end of the first year the Plan had
accumulated approximately $600,000.00 more in payable claims
than it had funds to pay. The paid claims did not reach the attachment
point of the Harbor Reinsurance Agreement.

Wholesale withdrawal of employees from participation in the
Plan occurred at the end of 1982, and the Plan was thereby rendered
defunct. Litigation followed in May of 1983.

E. Course of Proceedings Below

In May 1983, Life & Health filed a Petition for Declaratory Judg-
ment and Other Relief in the Circuit Court for Montgomery County,
Alabama, which sought an order requiring the Plan participants to
contribute additional funds to pay the obligations of the Plan, and a
declaration that Harbor was obligated to pay a $118,373.44 claim
submitted by the Plan under the Reinsurance Agreement. Petitioners
Blackwelder and Holley, and others, were named as class representa-
tives of the Plan participants in this declaratory judgment action.

Blackwelder and Holley filed Motions to Dismiss the Life &
Health Petition for Declaratory Judgment in July of 1983, on the
ground, among others, that Congress has preempted the field and
subject matter of employee benefit plans such as that described and
made the subject matter of the Petition for Declaratory Judgment. See
Appendices D and E attached hereto. These were the first references
to the applicability of ERISA to the issues raised in this action. The
Trial Court denied the Blackwelder and Holley Motions to Dismiss
without opinion. See Appendix F attached hereto.

Thereafter, Blackwelder and Holley sought recovery of damages
from Life & Health, the Plan, the Trustees, and Harbor for their
alleged violation of the provisions of ERISA, and for negligence,
wantonness, fraud, breach of fiduciary duty, bad faith, and breach
of contract.

In October of 1983, the Trial Court realigned the parties, desig-
nating as plaintiffs the *‘Blackwelder class’ and the **Holley class.”’
Life & Health, the Plan, the Trustees, Wilder, and Harbor were
designated as defendants.

The plaintiff classes settled their claims against the Trustees for a
payment of $205,000.00.

In April of 1987, Harbor filed a Motion for Partial Summary
Judgment seeking, in part, judgment in its favor as to the issue of
ERISA’s pre-emption of the claims of negligence, wantonness, fraud,
and breach of contract asserted against it. See Appendix G attached
hereto. The response to this Motion was the first instance. in which
the ‘“‘governmental plan“ exemption from ERISA was specifically
raised. The Trial Court deferred ruling on that aspect of Harbor’s
Motion for Partial Summary Judgment, until after the trial of the
common-law claims asserted against the defendants.

The jury trial of the plaintiffs’ common-law claims resulted in
verdicts in their favor on their negligence claims against all three
defendants, assessing damages of $720,000.00 in favor of the Black-
welder class and $170,000.00 in favor of the Holley class. The jury
also returned verdicts against Life & Health and Wilder on the wan-
tonness and fraud claims, and assessed damages under the fraud
claims totaling $1,668 000.00 in favor of the Blackwelder class, and
$350,000.00 in favor of the Holley class. The jury returned verdicts
in favor of Harbor on the plaintiffs’ wantonness, fraud, and breach of
contract claims.

On December 30, 1987, the Trial Court held that the subject
employee benefit plan was a governmental plan as that term is defined
in ERISA, and that, therefore, the plaintiffs’ common-law claims
against Harbor and the other defendants were not pre-empted. See
Appendix A attached hereto.

al alec

The defendants appealed to the Alabama Supreme Court which,
on September 29, 1989, reversed all judgments entered in favor of the
plaintiffs on the negligence and wantonness claims, but affirmed the
judgments entered in their favor against Life & Health and Wilder on
the fraud claims. Harbor Insurance Co. v. Blackwelder, 554 So.2d
329 (Ala. 1989). See Appendix B attached hereto. The Alabama
Supreme Court opinion held that the Plan was not a governmental
plan within the meaning of ERISA; that the provisions of 29 U.S.C. §
1144 pre-empted the plaintiffs’ common-law claims of negligence
and wantonness; but that the fraud claims did not ‘‘relate to’’ an
employee benefit plan, and thus were not within the scope of claims
pre-empted by 29 U.S.C. § 1144.

The plaintiffs filed an Application for Rehearing with the Alabama
Supreme Court, which was denied without opinion on November 17,
1989. See Appendix C attached hereto.

10

ARGUMENT
WHY THE CAUSE SHOULD NOT BE
REVIEWED BY THIS COURT

A. Petitioners’ First Question Presented
Asserts Facts Not Supported By The Record

The Petitioners’ first question presented avers that the Plan ‘*‘is
funded primarily by state government.’’ Harbor contends that this
assertion is not supported by the record. The only evidence of any
funding of the Plan to which the Petitioners’ averment could relate is
the 1981 resolution of the State Board of Education authorizing
$309.00 per year for all fuli-time employees of the junior, community
and technical college system, for ‘‘hospital medical insurance assis-
tance.’’ Some employees of 28 of the 43 schools participated in the
Plan. No employees of the remaining 15 schools elected to partici-
pate. The Board resolution authorized the funds to be paid to all
employees of all schools.

The opinion of the Alabama Supreme Court addressed this
matter:

‘**The only fact that supports the allegation that the Plan
was maintained by the state is that part of the premiums
paid by the participants came from funds provided by the
state, to all similarly situated employees, that these employ-
ees could use to pay for part of any insurance coverage they
chose. This payment, which came indirectly from the state,
is not sufficient to support a conclusion that the Plan was
maintained by the State.’’ 554 So.2d 329, 333. Appendix
B, p. 8.

ree

1]

B. Petitioners’ Second Question Presented
Was Not Raised In A Timely Manner Below

The Petitioners’ second question presented seeks the Court's
review of the issue of whether the Plan met ERISA’s definition of
‘‘employee welfare plan’’ because it (allegedly) was not established
or maintained by an employer or employee organization. This matter
was raised for the first time when the Petitioners submitted to the
Alabama Supreme Court their Brief in Support of Application for
Rehearing.

In the Triai Court, the Petitioners averred in their July 1983 initial
substantive pleading that ‘‘[a]t all times hereinafter mentioned
Alabama Junior/Community Colleges and Technical Colleges Bene-
fit Plan, a non-profit trust, was and is duly organized and existing
‘qualified plan’ as defined in Title 29 USCS Section Section 1001, et
seq.”’ [sic]. The Pretrial Order entered five days prior to the trial of
this action, on July 8, 1987, included 28 numbered contentions of the
Petitioners, none of which suggested that the Plan did not meet
ERISA’s definition of ‘employee welfare plan.”’

Appendix H sets forth copies of the Statement of Issues contained
in the Brief of Appellant Harbor Insurance Company, and the Issues
Presented for Review contained in the Brief of Appellee Robert E.
Blackwelder, et al., presented to the Alabama Supreme Court.

The opinion of the Alabama Supreme Court states:
‘‘It is undisputed that the Plan involved in the present
appeal is an employee benefit plan covered by the provi-

sions of ERISA. There is a dispute, however, over whether

554 So.2d 329, 331-32, Appendix B, p. 5.

12

Until the Alabama Supreme Court reversed the judgments entered
against Harbor, the question of whether the Plan met ERISA’s
definition of ‘employee welfare plan’ had never been raised and was
not an issue in this case.

Moreover, the evidence is clear that the Presidents Insurance
Committee, which established the Plan, met ERISA’s definition of
‘employee organization’’ set forth in 29 U.S.C. §1002(4). See
ERISA Op. Letter No. 79-62A (1979). The Plan thus met ERISA’s
definition of ‘employee welfare benefit plan’’ found at 29 U.S.C.
§1002(1).

C. The Opinion of the Alabama Supreme Court
Does Not Conflict With The Federal Statutes, Federal Decisions or
Opinion Letters of the United States Department of Labor

The Clerk’s Record of the appeal in this case contains over 3,100
pages. The Reporter's Transcript spans another 1,593 pages. The
opinion of the Alabama Supreme Court begins its discussion by
noting that the facts which led to this appeal are ‘*somewhat
complicated. ** 554 So.2d 329, 330, Appendix B, p. 2.

The Alabama Supreme Court opinion addresses each of the three
reported decisions of the United States Court of Appeals and the
United States District Courts which explore in detail the governmental
plan exemption:

Rose v. Long Island R.R. Pension Plan, 828 F.2d 910 (2d Cir. 1987),
cert. denied, 485 U.S. 936, 108 S.Ct. 1112, 99 L.Ed.2d 273 (1988):

Feinstein v. Lewis, 477 F.Supp. 1256 (S.D. N.Y. 1979); and

Krupp v. Lincoln University, 663 F.Supp. 289 (E.D. Pa. 1987).

In light of the holdings of those three cases, as well as various
ERISA opinion letters issued by the Department of Labor, the
Alabama Supreme Court concluded that *‘under the totality of the
circumstances’ and “‘the particular facts of the present case,”’ the
subject Plan was not a governmental plan. 554 So.2d 329, 333;
Appendix B, pg 8. 10

In Rose, the Second Circuit Court of Appeals noted that ERISA
was enacted in order to remedy long-standing abuses and deficiencies
in the private pension system, including insufficient assets to assure
payment of future benefit obligations and premature termination of
underfunded benefit plans. 828 F.2d 910, 913. The Rose opinion also
noted that governmental plans were exempted from ERISA for a
number of reasons, including the ability of governmental entities to
fulfill their benefit obligations to their employees through their taxing
powers. 828 F.2d 910, 914. The Court observed that **LIRR employ-
ees, therefore, like other governmental employees, can depend on the
State’s taxing power to protect their right to retirement income.’ 828
F.2d 910, 918.

The Pian now before this Court had insufficient assets to assure
the payment of its benefit obligations, was underfunded, and as a
result became insolvent and defunct after barely one year of opera-
tion. The very deficiencies which ERISA was enacted to remedy
existed in this Plan. The key advantage of true governmental plans,
and the primary justification for their exemption from ERISA—
public ftunding—was not available to this Plan.

In Feinstein, the employee welfare benefit plans at issue were
established pursuant to collective bargaining agreements between a
teacher’s union and four employers, two municipalities and two
public school districts. The plans were exclusively funded by contri-
butions from the employers. The traditional governmental bodies
there played a direct role in both the establishment and maintenance of
the plans, and the plans were properly found to have met the ERISA

14

definition of governmental plan.

In Krupp, Lincoln University had a self-insured group health
plan. The Pennsylvania legislature had enacted the Lincoln Univer-
sity Commonwealth Act, 24 P.S. §§ 25-10-401, et seg., to establish
Lincoln University as ‘‘an instrumentality of the Commonwealth to
serve as a State-related institution in the Commonwealth system of
higher education.”’ 24 P.S. §§ 25-10-402(7). The District Court in
Krupp noted that the Commonwealth Act was enacted to allow
Pennsylvania to provide greater financial support to Lincoln Uni-
versity than it could under prior law. Despite these facts, the Court
properly held that there was no traditional governmental entity which
either established or maintained Lincoln University’s employee
welfare benefit plan, and that the Plan neither met ERISA’s definition
of governmental plan nor satisfied any of the policy reasons behind
the exemption of governmental plans from ERISA’s coverage.

The creators and administrators of the Plan at issue before this
Court were not traditional governmental entities. They were the
Presidents Insurance Committee, comprised of representatives of the
Alabama Junior Colleges Presidents Association and the Alabama
Technical Colleges Presidents Association, and ‘‘insurance reps’’
acting on behalf of the employees of the various schools. They sought
neither the advice nor the approval of the State agency charged by law
with the control of the junior, community and technical college
system—the Alabama State Board of Education— before they estab-
lished, funded, administered, and abandoned the Plan.

In view of the peculiar facts surrounding the creation and
operation of this Plan, the Alabama Supreme Court's holding that it
was not a governmental plan is entirely consistent with the holdings
and rationale of Rose, Feinstein, and Krupp. This case, and those
three cases, provide a harmonious discussion of what facts do, and
what facts do not, demonstrate the existence of a bona fide govern-
mental plan, exempt from the provisions of ERISA.

15

CONCLUSION

The Petitioners in this case were afforded every opportunity to
redress their grievances. They have already secured $205,000.00 in
satisfaction of their claims against the Plan Trustees, and remain free
to pursue collection of the more than $2 million in judgments upheld
in their favor against Life & Health and Wilder.

The opinion of the Alabama Supreme Court addressing the
governmental plan issue is not contrary to, but is entirely consistent
with, the opinions of the United States Court of Appeals for the
Second Circuit, the United States District Courts for the Southern
District of New York and the Eastern District of Pennsylvania, and
with the published opinions of the United States Department of Labor.
The Petition for Writ of Certiorari demonstrates neither grounds,
need, nor reason for this Court to accept this case for further review.

Respectfully submitted,

le. Ups:
CLYDE C. OWEN, JR.

Attorney for Respondent
Harbor Insurance Company

OF COUNSEL:

BALL, BALL, MATTHEWS & NOVAK, P.A.
1100 Union Bank Tower

Post Office Drawer 2148

Montgomery, Alabama 36197

(205) 834-7680

16

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I, Clyde C. Owen, Jr., a member of the Bar of the Supreme Court
of the United States and attorney for the Respondent, Harbor
Insurance Company, do hereby certify that on this _&#¥*

day of April, 1990, I did serve the requisite number of copies of the
foregoing on the attorneys for the Petitioners and for Respondents
Life & Health Services, {nc. and Betty Duncan, by mailing the same
to them first-class, postage prepaid and properly addressed as follows:

Hon. George L. Beck, Jr. Hon. C. Knox McLaney III
Post Office Box 5019 Post Office Box 4276
Montgomery, Alabama 36103 Montgomery, Alabama 36101

Hon. Robert S. Lamar, Jr.

Lamar, Henson, Miller & Nelson, P.C.
901 Brown-Marx Tower

2000 Ist Avenue North

Birmingham, Alabama 35203

CLYDE C. OWEN, JR.
Attorney for Respondent

Harbor Insurance Company
OF COUNSEL:

BALL, BALL, MATTHEWS & NOVAK, P.A.
1100 Union Bank Tower

Post Office Drawer 2148

Montgomery, Alabama 36197

(205) 834-7680

APPENDICES

APPENDICES

TABLE OF CONTENTS

APPENDIX A_ Order of Trial Court Find-
ing Plan to be a *‘Govern-
mental Plan’’ December 30, 1987

APPENDIX B_ Opinion of Alabama
Supreme Court Reversing
Judgment of Trial Court on
Governmental Plan Issue September 29, 1989

APPENDIX C_ Notice of Order of

Alabama Supreme Court

Overruling Application

for Rehearing November 17, 1989
APPENDIX D_ Motion to Dismiss

Filed by Petitioner

Blackwelder in Trial

Court July 12, 1983

APPENDIX E Motion to Dismiss
Filed by Petitioner Holley
in Trial Court July 12, 1983

APPENDIX F Order of Trial Court
Overruling Blackwelder
and Holley Motions to
Dismiss August 18, 1983

APPENDIX G_ Motion of Respondent
Harbor Insurance Com-
pany for Partial Summary
Judgment in Trial Court April 22, 1987

APPENDIX H_ Parties’ Statement of
Issues Presented for
Review to Alabama April 26, 1988
Supreme Court and June 16, 1988

APPENDIX I List of Companies Affili-
ated with Respondent
Harbor Insurance
Company December 31, 1989

APPENDIX A
(Order Entered December 30, 1987)
CIRCUIT COURT
FIFTEENTH JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
CASE NO. CV-83-640-G

ROBERT E. BLACKWELDER, et al..
Plaintiffs,

Vs.

ALABAMA JUNIOR/COMMUNITY COLLEGES. et al..
Defendants.

ORDER ON PENDING MOTIONS AND JUDGMENT
ON NON JURY ISSUE

Itis ORDERED, as follows:

|. All post-judgment motions filed by the defendants are, Denied.
2. The court holds that the self insurance fund at issue in this case
was a governmental plan as defined by ERISA, and, as such, is
specifically exempted from ERISA requirements so as not to preclude
the common law causes of action. Judgment is entered in favor of the

plaintiff classes and against the defendants on this issue.

DONE and ORDERED in chambers this the 30th day of December,

1987.

WILLIAM R. GORDON
CIRCUIT JUDGE
ec: Clyde C. Owen, Jr.

George L. Beck

Henry C. Barnett, Jr.

C. Knox McLaney, III

Robert S. Lamar

APPENDIX B
(Opinion Released September 29, 1989)
THE STATE OF ALABAMA—JUDICIAL DEPARTMENT
THE SUPREME COURT OF ALABAMA
SPECIAL TERM, 1989

Harbor Insurance Company
87-391 ,-407

V.
Robert E. Blackwelder, et al.

Life and Health Services, Inc.
and Robert Wilder
87-487

¥.

Robert E. Blackwelder, et al.

Appeals from Montgomery Circuit Court
(CV-83-640-G)

JONES, JUSTICE.

These appeals are from final judgments entered upon jury verdicts
in favor of two classes of plaintiffs. The plaintiffs were all participants
in an insurance plan that, due to underfunding, was unable to pay its
obligations and failed. Because the plan in question is not a **govern-
mental plan,’” as that term is used in the Employee Retirement Incoine
Security Act of 1974 (**ERISA’’) (29 U.S.C. § 1001 et seq.), we hold
that, except for their fraud claims against Life and Health Services,

B2

Inc. (*“‘L&H’’), and its president, Robert Wilder, the plaintiffs’ com-
mon law claims are preempted by ERISA; therefore, the judgments
against L&H and Wilder based on fraud are affirmed; the remaining
judgments against Wilder and L&H, and the judgments against
Harbor Insurance Company (‘‘Harbor’’) are reversed; and the cause
is remanded for entry of judgments consistent with this opinion.

The facts that led to this appeal are somewhat complicated, but they
can be summarized for the purposes of this opinion. In January 1980,
Dr. William McWhorter, the president of one of Alabama’s junior
colleges, became interested in organizing a consolidated health insur-
ance plan for all of Alabama’s junior, community, and technical
colleges.' He sent questionnaires to the presidents of the other schools
to ascertain their interest in such a plan. Once the results were com-
piled, they were provided to L&H, a third-party administrator of
insurance plans with which Dr. McWhorter had had periodic contact
concerning the then-existing insurance plan at his college.

In the fall of 1980, a joint committee of presidents of the colleges
(*‘the Committee’’) was appointed by the Presidents’ Association to
study the then-existing insurance plans of the schools and to make
recommendations for any changes. The Committee concluded that a
self-funded insurance plan should be created; and it initially recom-
mended a plan offered by Central Bank in association with Blue Cross,
with life insurance provided by American Foundation Life Insurance
Company.

The Committee again contacted L&H, this time to determine
whether L&H could offer a better rate for the same coverage offered
by Central Bank. Wilder undertook the task of ‘‘selling’’ the L&H
plan to the Committee and, subsequently, to the individual employees.
Although he knew that the plan was underfunded, based on the cal-

'The Alabama Trade School and Junior College Authority Act is codified at Ala. Code
1975. § 16-60-80 et seq

B3

culations and assumptions upon which it was premised, Wilder failed
-to disclose this fact to either the Committee or to the individual
employees who chose to accept the plan.

The alternative plan proposed by L&H called for lower premiums
than did the plan offered by Central Bank, and it was accepted by the
Committee. This plan was reinsured by Harbor. The acceptance of
the L&H plan led to the creation of the Alabama Junior/Community
Colleges and Technical Colleges Employee Benefit Plan (‘the Plan’).
The Plan was subsequently presented to the employees of the scinools
and, eventually, over 1,300 employees at 28 of the schools decided to
participate. The Plan collapsed after just one year of operation.

Following the collapse of the Plan, certain participants instituted
several actions to recover damages from Wilder, L&H, and Harbor.
After certification of the classes and consolidation of the actions, the
cases proceeded to trial. The trial court ruled that the Plan was a
‘*governmental plan’’ and, therefore, exempt from the provisions of
ERISA. The jury returned special verdicts against Harbor on negli-
gence claims, and against Wilder and L&H on negligence, wanton-
ness, and fraud claims. These appeals followed. |

On appeal, as at trial, the parties raise the issue of the preemptive
effect of ERISA. Two threshold questions are presented: 1) Whether
the Plan is one “‘established or maintained”’ by a governmental body
and thus excepted from ERISA’s operative effect; and 2) whether the
plaintiffs’ claims for fraud against Wilder and L&H fall outside the
operative effect of the federal act. Because we find that the **govern-
mental plan’’ exception to ERISA does not apply, we hold that the
common law causes of action based upon negligence and wantonness,
under which the plaintiffs recovered against all of the defendants, are
preempted; thus, the judgments based on these claims are reversed.
We further hold that the fraud claims against Wilder and L&H,
amounting to claims for fraudulent inducement, are not preempted;
thus, the judgments against these defendants on that claim are
affirmed.

I :

In our treatment of the “‘governmental plan’’ exception, we have
undertaken a three-part analysis: 1) The first step, when examining
any insurance or benefit plan, is to determine whether the plan falls
within the scope of ERISA’s coverage; 2) if the plan is so covered, then
we must next examine the exceptions to ERISA to ascertain wheter
any of them apply; and, finally, 3) if we find that the plan is within
ERISA’s coverage, and that no exception applies, we must examine
the preemptive effect of these determinations.

Our inquiry begins with the language of the statute itself. The
applicable section of ERISA, governing the scope of its coverage, is
found at 29 U.S.C. § 1003:

‘*(a) Except as provided in subsection (b) of this section
and in sections 1051, 1081, and 1101 of this title, this sub-
chapter shall apply to any employee benefit plan if it is
established or maintained—

““(1) by any employer engaged in commerce or in any
industry or activity affecting commerce; or

**(2) by any employee organization or organizations repre-

senting employees engaged in commerce or in any industry
or activity affecting commerce; or

**(3) by both.
‘*(b) The provisions of this subchapter shall not apply to an
employee benefit plan if (1) such plan is a governmental

plan (as defined in section 1002(32) of this title)... .””

The definitions of an *‘employee welfare benefit plan’’ and of a

BS

‘‘governmental plan’’ are found at 29 U.S.C. § 1002, which states,
in relevant part:

‘*(1) The terms ‘employee welfare benefit plan’ and
‘welfare plan’ mean any plan, fund, or program which was
heretofore or is hereafter established or maintained by an
employer or by an employee organization, or by both, to
the extent that such plan, fund, or program was established
or is maintained for the purpose of providing for its par-
ticipants or their beneficiaries, through the purchase of
insurance or otherwise, (A) medical, surgical, or hospital
care or benefits, or benefits in the event of sickness, acci-
dent, disability, death or unemployment. . .

‘*(32) The term ‘governmental plan’ means a plan
established or maintained for its employees by the Govern-
ment of the United States, by the government of any State
or political subdivision thereof, or by any agency or
instrumentality of any of the foregoing.”

It is undisputed that the Plan involved in the present appeal is an
employee benefit plan covered by the provisions of ERISA.* There
is a dispute, however, over whether an exception to coverage applies.
As noted earlier, the trial court ruled that the **governmental plan”
exception applied and, therefore, that ERISA did not control the
determination of liability under the Plan. We disagree.

*It is important to note here that while the Plan is covered by ERISA, a further
determination is required to test ERISA’s preemptive effect on the separate state law claims
on which the special verdicts were based. See our later discussion of the fraud-in-the-
inducement claims under part II of this opinion.

B6

Although the ‘‘governmental plan’’ exception has been discussed
in several cases, an analysis of the available authority leaves u
without a clear, definitive standard by which we may determine
whether the Plan is a governmental plan. Thus, any plan must be
closely examined to determine whether it falls within this exception
to the coverage of ERISA. Initially, we must bear in mind the broad
scope of ERISA’s preemption in the employee benefit field.

‘In determining whether various benefit policies
fall within ERISA, courts should interpret the act’s coverage
broadly. Sly v. P.R. Mallory & Co., 712 F.2d 1209, 1211
(7th Cir. 1983).”°

Scwartz v. Newsweek, Inc., 653 F.Supp. 384,387 (S.D.N.Y. 1986),
aff'd, 827 F.2d 879 (2d Cir. 1987).

One of the first cases to discuss the ‘governmental plan’’ excep-
tion was Feinstein v. Lewis, 477 F.Supp. 1256 (S.D.N.Y. 1979),
aff'd, 622 F.2d 573 (2d Cir. 1980). In Feinstein, the court considered
whether employee welfare plans, established as the result of a collec-
tive bargaining agreement between a union of public employees and
their municipal or school district employers, were *‘ governmental
plans.’’ The court went into a thorough discussion of the term
**governmental plan’’ before ruling that the exception applied to the
plans in question. In its analysis of the intention of Congress in enact-
ing ERISA, the court stated:

‘*These discussions clearly demonstrate that Congress, in
exempting governmental plans, was concerned more with
the governmental nature of public employees and public
employers than with the details of how a plan was estab-
lished or maintained.”

Id. at 1262.

B7

In its holding that the ‘‘governmental plan’’ exception applied,
the Feinstein court emphasized that the governmental instrumentality,
as the employer, provided 100% of the fundin, sor the plans. Further,
the Feinstein court reasoned that the mere fact that the public em-
ployers acted in conjunction with the employees’ union, pursuant to a
collective bargaining agreement, to establish and maintain the benefit
plan, *‘does not lead us to the conclusion that the plan was not ‘estab-
lished’ by the [public employers].’’ /d. at 1260.

An equally extensive discussion of the ‘governmental plan’ ex-
ception is found in Rose v. Long Island R.R. Pension Plan, 828 F.2d
910 (2d Cir. 1987), cert. denied, U.S. 1, WS S.QA. NL,
99 L.Ed.2d 273 (1988). The court in Rose ruled that a plan estab-
lished by the Long Island Railroad was, under the facts of the case,
a governmental plan. Of particular interest is the analysis used by the
Rose court to define the terms ‘‘agency or instrumentality.’ These
two terms are not defined in ERISA; but the Rose court reasoned that
the definitions given these terms by the Internal Revenue Service, one
of the agencies charged with enforcing ERISA, were entitled to great
deference. The term **governmental plan’’ is defined at 26 U.S.C. §
414(d), and this definition is virtually identical to the one found at
29 U.S.C. § 1002(32).

‘‘In interpreting the § 414(d) exemption, the IRS has con-
sistently relied on Revenue Ruling 57-128, 1957-1 C.B.
311, which lists six factors to be considered in determining
whether a particular entity is an agency or instrumentality:

‘In cases involving the status of an organization as an in-
strumentality of one or more states or political subdivi-
sions, the following factors are taken into consideration:
(1) whether it is used for a governmental purpose and
performs a governmental function; (2) whether perfor-
mance of its function is on behalf of one or more states or

B8

political subdivisions; (3) whether there are any private
interests involved, or whether the states or political sub-
divisions involved have the powers and interests of an
owner; (4) whether control and supervision of the organi-
zation is vested in public authority or authorities; (5) if
express or iniplied statutory or other authority is necessary
for the creation and/or use of such an instrumentality, and
whether such authority exists; and (6) the degree of financial
autonomy and the sources of its operating expenses.””

Rose, 828 F.2d at 918.

After an examination of these factors, as they relate to the present
appeal, we find that the Plan was not established or maintained by an
agency or instrumentality of the State of Alabama, or any political
subdivision of it. While it could be argued that some of the six factors
listed above apply to the Plan, we nonetheless conclude that, under
the totality of the circumstances, the Committee was not an agency or
instrumentality of the State; thus, the Plan is not a governmental plan.

Because we find that the Committee is not an agency or instru-
mentality of the state, we further hold that the Plan was not estab-
lished or maintained by the state. The Plan was established by the
independent actions of the presidents of some of Alabama’s junior
and technical colleges. This clearly does not meet the establish-
ment criteria contained in the “‘governmental plan’ exception.
Neither is the Plan maintained by the state. The only fact that sup-
ports the allegation that the Pian was maintained by the state is that
part of the premiums paid by the participants came from funds pro-
vided by the state, to all similarly situated employees, that these
employees could use to pay for part of any insurance coverage they
chose. This payment, which came directly from the state, is not
sufficient to support a conclusion that the Plan was maintained by
the State.

ee

B9

Our conclusion is further supported by the fact that the *‘govern-
mental plan’’ exception was contemplated as a narrow exception to
the otherwise expansive coverage of ERISA. In a federal case quite
similar to the present one, the district court discussed the reasons
behind a narrow construction of this exception:

‘Indeed, the legislative history’s frequent reference to
the exception simply as the ‘governmental plan’ excep-
tion,. ..without ever elaborating on the significance of
the individual terms chosen to describe the scope of the
exception, suggest that the exception was meant to cover
the entire range of organizations traditionally character-
ized as governmental organizations, but not to expand the
range to include organizations having some significant
relationship with a government but not themselves viewed
as governmental. ””

Krupp v. Lincoln University, 663 F.Supp. 289, 292 (E.D.Pa.
1987).

In Krupp, the court ruled that a university’s health care plan was
not a governmental! plan, even though a legislative act had established
the university as an instrumentality of the Commonwealth. The fact
that the university was characterized as a ‘‘state-related institution,”’
reasoned the Krupp court, did not mandate that its insurance plan be
considered a governmental plan. We approve the rationale for the
Krupp decision, and we hold that the instant Plan is not a govern-
mental plan.

As was previously mentioned, we realize that there is no clear
guide to determine when the ‘governmental plan’’ exception to
ERISA applies. There have been cases involving colleges in which
the insurance plan was properly found to be a governmental plan.
See ERISA Op. Letter No. 77-13; and ERISA Op. Letter 76128.

B10

However, under the particular facts of the present case, we do not
find these authorities to be controlling here.*

Because the *‘governmental plan’’ exception does not apply to
the instant Plan, the provisions of ERISA are applicable here. The
preemptive provisions of ERISA are found at 29 U.S.C. § 1144:

‘*Except as otherwise provided in subsection (b) of this
section, the provisions of this.subchapter and subchapter
II of this chapter shall supersede any and all State laws
insofar as they may now or hereafter relate to any employee
benefit plan described in section 1003(a) of this title and
not exempt under section 1003(b) of this title. This sec-
tion shall take effect on January 1, 1975.”’

In discussing this section, the United States Supreme Court has
provided guidance in understanding the scope of the preemptive
aspects of ERISA:

‘*To summarize the pure mechanics of the provisions
quoted above: If a state law ‘relate[s] to. . .employee
benefit plan[s],’ it is pre-empted. § 514(a). The saving
clause excepts from the pre-emption clause laws that
‘regulat[e] insurance.” § 514(b)(2)(A). The deemer clause
makes clear that a state law that ‘purport[s] to regulate
insurance’ cannot deem an employee benefit plan to be an
insurance company. § 514(b)(2)(B) [state laws that regulate
insurance, banking, or securities are not preempted by
ERISA].

‘For a thorough discussion of the “‘governmental plan’ exception and the cases and
interpretive releases analyzing it, see RIA Employment Coordinator, € B-10131 to B-10133,
at 30, 115-118.

Bll

‘*.. We have observed in the past that the express pre-
erption provisions of ERISA are deliberately expansive,
and designed to ‘establish pension plan regulation as ex-
clusiveiy a federal concern.’ {Citations omitted. ]"’

Pilot Life Ins. Co. v. Dedeaux, 481 U.S. 41, 45 (1987).

If.

In regard to the state common law claims for fraud against Wilder
and L&H, we hold that these claims are not preempted under the
provisions of ERISA and we affirm that aspect of the trial court’s
judgments. In the recent case of HealthAmerica v. Menton, {Ms.
87-1100, July 21, 1989) _So.2d ______ (Alla. 1989), we held
that a claim for fraud in the inducement does not “‘relate to’’ an
employee benefit plan and is therefore not preempted by ERISA.

In the instant case, the plaintiffs, relying upon, among other
things, Wilder’s misrepresentations that the plan was ‘‘fully funded ,”’
forwent accepting the plan offered by Central Bank and accepted the
L&H Plan. With their acceptance of the L&H Plan, however, the
plaintiffs did not receive the promised benefits. The plaintiffs,
according to their claim for misrepresentation, were not damaged as
a result of the fraudulent administration of the Plan or as a result of
non-payment pursuant to the Plan; rather, as a consequence of the
misrepresentations and promises of benefits, they were induced to
accept the L&H Plan, as opposed to a more auequately funded plan.
This *‘fraud in the inducement” claim is not covered by the provi-
ions of ERISA; therefore, it falls outside ERISA’s preemptive effect.

B12

The facts of the instant case fall clearly within the holding in
HealthAmerica. L&H knew that the Committee had received from
Central Bank a proposal for a plan in which the Committee had
expressed an interest. In order to *‘sell’’ its proposal to the Committee
and the schools’ personnel, L&H had to offer a plan that was com-
petitive with that proposed by Central Bank. The fraud committed by
Wilder, on behalf of L&H (i.e., offering the Plan with knowledge that
L&H’s own actuarial criteria for a viable plan showed inadequate
funding), was aimed at inducing the Committee and the individuals
it represented to select L&H’s proposal over that of its competitor.
Conduct of this nature will not be tolerated in Alabama; and it was
not the intent of Congress, in enacting ERISA, to preclude state
regulation of such activity. See HealthAmerica, supra, and the cases
cited therein.

L&H contends that the trial court erred in certifying the plaintiff
classes because *“‘commonality’’ and “‘typicality’’ do not exist, as
required by A.R.Civ.P.23(a)(2) and (3). We disagree, and we hold
that there are questions of law and fact common to the classes and
that the claims of the representative parties are typical of the claims
of the classes.

Although the misrepresentations were made to the members of
each class at varying times, the misrepresentations were basically
the same and were redressable under the same theory of recovery.
Where plaintiffs allege and prove a standard claim for fraud based
On misrepresentations with a common thread, as is the case here.
their cause is maintainable as a class action.

It is within the sound discretion of the trial court to certify a class
under Rule 23, and we will reverse such a ruling only upon a showing
of an abuse of that discretion. Marshall Durbin of Jasper, Inc. \.
Jasper Utilities Board of the City of Jasper, 437 So.2d 1014 (Ala.
1983). We have not been shown that the trial court abused its dis
cretion in certifying the classes in the instant case.

fe ee

B13

Therefore, the judgments against Wilder and L&H, based on the
non-preempted fraud claims, are affirmed; the judgments against all
the defendants based on the remaining preempted state law claims are
reversed; and the cause is remanded for entry of judgments consistent
with this opinion.

REVERSED AND REMANDED WITH INSTRUCTIONS AS
TO 87-391 AND 87407.

AFFIRMED AS TO 87-487.

Hornsby, C.J., and Adams, Steagall, and Kennedy, JJ., concur.

Maddox, Almon, Shores, and Houston, JJ., concur in part and
dissent in part.

MADDOX, JUSTICE (concurring in part and dissenting in part).

I concur in the portion of the majority’s opinion that holds that
the fraud claims are not preempted by ERISA, but because I am of
the opinion that this was a ‘‘governmental plan,’ I would hold that
none of the claims in this case are preempted, and I would affirm.

ERISA defines ‘‘governmental plan’’ as ‘‘a plan established or
maintained for its employees by the Government of the United States,
by the government of any State or political subdivision thereof, or by
any agency or instrumentality of any of the foregoing.”’ 29 U.S.C.
§ 1002(32). The factors listed in Rose v. Long Island R.R. Pension
Plan, 828 F.2d 910(2d Cir. 1987), cert. denied, U.S.
108 S.Ct. 1112 (1988), show that the ‘governmental plan’’ exception
should be interpreted broadly. In this case, the plan was for govern-
ment employees and their dependents; its trustees consisted of
government employees who established and maintained the plan, and
it was partially funded with government money. I believe that this plan

B14

was exempt from ERISA and that none of the plaintiffs’ claims are
preempted. Therefore, I must dissent from that portion of the
majority’s opinion holding that certain claims were preempted.

SHORES, JUSTICE (concurring in part and dissenting in part).
I] concur in part II of the opinion and join Justice Maddox’s dissent
as to Part I.

Almon, J., concurs.

HOUSTON, JUSTICE (concurring in part; dissenting in part).

See my dissent in HealthAmerica v. Menton, |Ms. 87-1100,
July 21, 1989] So.2d (Ala. 1989). I would reverse and
remand to permit the plaintiffs to amend their fraud cause of action
to proceed with a cause of action under ERISA, 29 U.S.C. § 1132(a).
Therefore, I concur in part and dissent in part.

APPENDIX C

(Notice Dated November 17, 1989)

HARBOR INSURANCE COMPANY,
LIFE & HEALTH SERVICES, INC., et al.
Appellant

V.

Robert E. Blackwelder, et al.
Appellee

You are hereby notified that the following indicated action was
taken in the above cause by the Supreme Court today:

Application for rehearing overruled. No opinion written on
rehearing. Jones, J. Hornsby, CJ., Adams, Steagall and Kennedy,
J.J., concur; Maddox, Almon, Shores and Houston, J.J., concur in
part and dissent in part.

11/17/89 Prd
bsa Robert G. Esdale, Clerk
Supreme Court of Alabama

ee nate are Ee ee eee

2 Haber Point

Petites ne —

APPENDIX D

(Motion Filed July 12, 1983)

IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF
MONTGOMERY COUNTY, ALABAMA
Civil Action No. 83-640-G

LIFE & HEALTH INSURANCE
SERVICES. INC).

of Alabama corporation
PETITIONER

VS.

ALABAMA JUNIOR/COMMUNITY
COLLEGES AND TECHNICAL COLLEGES
EMPLOYEE BENEFIT PLAN, etc. et. als.
RESPONDENTS

MOTION TO DISMISS

Comes now Robert E. Blackwelder, a Defendant in the
above entitled cause, individually and as a proposed representative of
a class of employees and claimants, and appearing specially, and
without consenting to the jurisdiction of this Court, files this Motion
to Dismiss, pursuant to the Alabama Rules of Civil Procedure, and
assigns the following separate and several grounds:

1. This Court is without jurisdiction of the subject matter
of this complaint.

2. Congress has pre-empted the field and subject matter
of Employee Benefit Plans such as that described and made the
subject matter of this complaint.

3. The complaint states no cause of action recognizable
under state law.

D2

4. Federal courts have exclusive subject matter juris-
diction of the matters complained of in the complaint.

5. This complaint is not brought by a participant or bene-
ficiary to recover plan benefits or to clarify future rights and is
therefore not within the concurrent jurisdiction of state courts.

Respectfully submitted,
BAXLEY, BECK & DILLARD

BY:

George Beck

Attorney for Blackwelder, Defendant
P.O. Box 5019

305 South Lawrence Street
Montgomery, AL 36103-5019
205/832-4878

APPENDIX E
(Motion Filed July 12, 1983)

IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF
MONTGOMERY COUNTY, ALABAMA
Civil Action No. 83-640-G

LIFE & HEALTH INSURANCE
SERVICES, INC.,
of Alabama corporation
PETITIONER

VS.

ALABAMA JUNIOR/COMMUNITY
COLLEGES AND TECHNICAL COLLEGES
EMPLOYEE BENEFIT PLAN, etc. et. als.
RESPONDENTS

MOTION TO DISMISS

Comes now Mary R. Holley and Sarah B. Everage,
Defendants in the above entitled cause, individually and as a proposed
representative of a class of employees, and appearing specially, and
without consenting to the jurisdiction of this Court, files this Motion
to Dismiss, pursuant to the Alabama Rules of Civil Procedure, and
assigns the following separate and several grounds:

1. This Court is without jurisdiction of the subject matter
of this complaint.

2. Congress has pre-empted the field and subject matter
of Employee Benefit Plans such as that described and made the
subject matter of this complaint.

3. The complaint states no cause of action recognizable
under state law.

E2

4. Federal courts have exclusive subject matter juris-
diction of the matters complained of in the complaint.

5. This complaint is not brought by a participant or bene-
ficiary to recover plan benefits or to clarify future rights and is
therefore not within the concurrent jurisdiction of state courts.

Respectfully submitted,
BAXLEY, BECK & DILLARD

BY:
George Beck

Attorney for Holly & Everage, Defendants
P.O. Box 5019

305 South Lawrence Street

Montgomery, AL 36103-5019
205/832-4878

ee | +. _— peaeeneg —

APPENDIX F
(Order Entered August 18, 1983)

CIRCUIT COURT
FIFTEENTH JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
MONTGOMERY COUNTY, ALABAMA
CASE NO. CV-83-640-G

LIFE & HEALTH SERVICE, INC.,
Plaintiff,

VS.

ALABAMA JUNIOR/COMMUNITY
COLLEGES AND TECHNICAL COLLEGES, et al.,
Defendants.

\

The court having read and considered defendants’ Motions to
Dismiss, it is ORDERED that defendants Blackwelder, Holley,
Everage, Harbor and Dill’s Motions are DENIED and defendants
shall file their Answers within ten (10) days from the date of this
Order.

DONE and ORDERED in chambers this 18th day of August,
1983.

WILLIAM R. GORDON
Circuit Judge

Robert Alton
Larry Lewiski
Thomas Dean
Kenneth Cooper
Richard Allen
John Matthews
George Beck
Robert Abrams

APPENDIX G

(Motion Filed April 22, 1987)

IN THE CIRCUIT COURT
FOR
MONTGOMERY COUNTY, ALABAMA
CIVIL ACTION NO. CV-83-640-G

Robert E. Blackwelder, et al.,
Plaintiffs,

VS.
ALABAMA JUNIOR/COMMUNITY COLLEGES,
et al.,

Defendants.

MOTION FOR PARTIAL SUMMARY JUDGMENT

Defendant Harbor Insurance Company moves the Court to
enter partial summary judgment on the claims and issues specified
hereinbelow:

1. Count II of the Crossclaim of Alabama Junior/Community
Colleges and Technical Colleges Employee Benefit Plan (**Plan’’)
against Harbor, alleging negligence.

2. Count III of the Crossclaim of the Plan against Harbor,
alleging fraud.

3. The issue of an agency relationship between Harbor, as
principal, and Life & Health Services, Inc., and/or any of its officers,
agents or employees, as agents.

4. The preemption of the Employee Retirement Income
Security Act of 1974, 29 U.S.C. §§1001, et seq. (ERISA) of the
negligence, wantonness, fraud and fraudulent concealment claims of
the plaintiffs against Harbor, and the negligence, breach of contract
and fraud claims of the Plan against Harbor.

i NP ed i na

A OENAR a nt

A NA et te Maal te a Naan ab

G2

5. The claim of the plaintiffs against Harbor seeking extra-
contractual and punitive damages under its claim alleging liability
pursuant to ERISA.

As grounds for said motion, defendant Harbor avers the
following:

1. As to Counts II and III of the Plan’s Crossclaim against
Harbor, said claims are barred by the Statute of Limitations, and as
to such matter there exists no genuine issue as to any material fact
and Harbor is entitled to judgment in its favor as a matter of law.

2. As to the issue of an agency relationship between it as
principal and Life & Health Services, Inc., and/or any of its officers,
agents and employees, as agents, there exists no genuine issue to any
material fact and Harbor is entitled to a declaration that no such
agency relationship exists, as a matter of law.

3. As to the issues of the preemption of the negligence,
wantonness, fraud, fraudulent concealment and breach of contract
claims of the plaintiffs and the Plan, respectively, against Harbor,
such issue is a question of law, and any factual disputes presented
by the record do not constitute genuine issues of material facts con-
cerning the issue of preemption.

In support of said Motion for Partial Summary Judgment,
defendant Harbor offers the following:

1. The original Petition for Declaratory Judgment and Other
Relief filed by Life & Health Services, Inc., to commence this
proceeding.

2. The original answers, and all amendments thereto, filed by
all parties to this action.

3. The Counterclaim/Crossclaim, and all amendments thereto,
of the now plaintiff classes against all other parties to this action.

4. The answers and/or replies of all parties to the Counter-
claim/Crossclaim of the now plaintiff classes, and all amendments
thereto.

G3

5. The Crossclaim of the Plan against Harbor.

6. Harbor’s Answer to the Crossclaim of the Plan.

7. All evidence offered in support of or in opposition to any
previously filed Motion for Summary Judgment, by Harbor or any
other party.

8. The depositions of Robert Wilder, Judith Reif, Eugene
Allen, Robert Percival, Edward Addy, Robert Markwith, and
William H. McWhorter.

DEFENDANT HARBOR REQUESTS PERMISSION TO
BRIEF AND PRESENT ORAL ARGUMENT RESPECTING
THE MERITS OF THIS MOTION.

Clyde C. Owen, Jr.
Attorney for Defendant
Harbor Insurance Company

OF COUNSEL:

Ball, Ball, Duke &

Matthews, P.A.
1100 Union Bank Tower
P.O. Drawer 2148
Montgomery, Alabama 36197
(205) 834-7680

A Ne A a a el la

4m.

iat escort ees

APPENDIX H
(Brief Filed April 26, 1988)

IN THE SUPREME COURT
OF ALABAMA
CASE NUMBERS: 87-391, 87-407, 87-487

HARBOR INSURANCE COMPANY and
LIFE AND HEALTH SERVICES, INC.,
Appellants,

VS.

ROBERT E. BLACKWELDER, etc., et al.,
On Appeal From The Circuit Court for Montgomery County
Appellees.

BRIEF OF APPELLANT
HARBOR INSURANCE COMPANY

Clyde C. Owen, Jr.

Gerald C. Swann, Jr.
Attorneys for Appellant
Harbor Insurance Company

OF COUNSEL:

BALL, BALL, MATTHEWS & NOVAK, P.A.
1100 Union Bank Tower

Post Office Drawer 2148

Montgomery, Alabama 36197

(205) 834-7680

ORAL ARGUMENT REQUESTED

H2
(Appellant’s Brief— Alabama Supreme Court)
STATEMENT OF ISSUES

I. Whether the Governmental Plan Exemption from ERISA
Applies To The Plan.

29 USC §100i(a)
29 USC $1002(32)
29 USC §1003(b)
29 USC §1144(b) (2) (B)
Pilot Life Ins. Co. v. Dedeaux, 481 U.S. ______,
95 L.Ed.2d. 39, 107 S.Ct. 1549 (1987)
Rose v. Long Island R.R. Pension Plan, 828 F.2d 910
(2d Cir. 1987)

II]. Whether the Evidence Justified Submitting the Employees’
Negligence Claims Against Harbor to the Jury.

Jones v. Newton, 454 So.2d 1345 (Ala. 1984)

Sungas, Inc. v. Perry, 450 So.2d 1085 (Ala. 1984)

Hall v. Booth, 423 So.2d 184 (Ala. 1982)

Metropolitan Life Ins. Co. v. James, 238 Ala. 337,
191 So. 352 (1939)

Lazzara v. Howard A. Esser, Inc. , 8302 F.2d 260
(7th Cir. 1986)

§6-5-102, Code of Alabama, 1975

§27-8-l(c), Code of Alabama, 1975

§27-8-S(c), Code of Alabama, 1975

III. Whether the Holley Class Judgment for Mental Anguish Can
Stand Absent Proof of Actual Damages.

Vincent v. Blue Cross-Blue Shield of Alabama,
373 So.2d 1054 (Ala. 1979).
Alabama Power Company v. Harmon, 483 So.2d 386
(Ala. 1986)
B&M Homes, Inc. v. Hogan, 376 So.2d 667 (Ala. 1979)
Restatement (2d) Torts, §436A

> Pah nh Re a Wa ne a i a PON neat

H3

(Brief Filed June 16, 1988)

IN THE SUPREME COURT
OF ALABAMA
CASE NUMBERS: 87-391, 87-407, 87-487

HARBOR INSURANCE COMPANY and
LIFE AND HEALTH SERVICES, INC.,
Appellants,

VS.

ROBERT E. BLACKWELDER, etc., et al.,
Appellees

On Appeal From The Circuit Court for Montgomery County

BRIEF OF APPELLEE
ROBERT E. BLACKWELDER, ET AL.

GEORGE L. BECK, JR.

Attorney for Appellee Blackwelder
Post Office Box 5019

Montgomery, Alabama 36103
Telephone (205) 832-4878

C. KNOX MCLANEY, III
Attorney for Appellee Holley
Post Office Box 4276
Montgomery. Alabama 36101
Telephone (205) 265-1282

H4

(Appellees’ Brief—Alabama Supreme Court)
ISSUES PRESENTED FOR REVIEW
I
THE EVIDENCE MORE THAN JUSTIFIED SUBMIT-
TING THE EMPLOYEE’S NEGLIGENCE CLAIMS AGAINST
HARBOR TO THE JURY.
Hand v. Butts, 289 Ala. 653, 270 So.2d 789.

Beasley v. MacDonald Engineering Company, 287 Ala.
Ala. 189, 249 So.2d844 (Ala. 1971).

Restatement of the Law, 2d Tort 2d, Section 324(a).

Fireman's Fund American Insurance Company v. Coleman,
394 So.2d 334 (Ala. 1981).

Kennedy v. City of Montgomery, 423 So.2d 187 (Ala. 1980).

Fricke v. City of Guntersville, 254 Ala. 370, 48 So.2d 420
(Ala. 1950).

Berkell and Company Contractors, Inc. v. Providence
Hospital, 454 So.2d 496 (Ala. 1984).

Federal Mogul Corporation v. Universal Construction
Company, 378 So.2d 716 (Ala. 1979).

McGaha vy. Steadman, 410 So.2d 420 (Ala.Civ. App. 1981).

Williams v. The Jackson Company, 359 So.2d 798
(Ala.Civ.App. 1978).

H5

Daley v. City of Birmingham, 378 So.2d 728 (Ala. 1979).

Ziegler v. Blount Brothers Construction Company, 364 So.2¢
1163, 1167 ¢Ala. 1978).

Harvard v. Palmer and Baker Engineers, Inc. , 293 Ala. 301,
307, 302 So.2d 228, 232 (Ala. 1974).

North Carolina Mutual Life Insurance Company v. Mattie

Holley, (M.S. 84-1211, 1223, Sept. 19, 1987], __ So.2d __
(1987).

II
WHETHER THIS WAS A GOVERNMENT PLAN
Krupp v. Lincoln University, 663 F.Supp. 289 (E.D.Pa.
1987).
Feinstein v. Lewis, 477 FSupp. 1256 (S.D.N.Y., 1979).

Rose v. Long Island R.R. Pension Plan, 828 F.2d 910
(C.A.2, 1987).

Private Opinion Letter 79-36A, Department of Labor
Private Opinion Letter 8/-82A, Department of Labor
Private Opinion Letter 83-24A, Department of Labor

Private Opinion Letter 86-24A , Department of Labor

H6

Il

WHETHER THE HOLLEY CLASS CAN RECOVER
FOR MENTAL ANGUISH

Cates v. Taylor, 428 So.2d 637 (Ala. 1983).
Taylor v. Baptist Medical Center, 400 So.2d 369 (Ala. 1981).

American Road Insurance Company v. Inmon, 394
So.2d (Ala. 1980).

APPENDIX I

LIST OF AFFILIATE COMPANIES
OF RESPONDENT HARBOR INSURANCE COMPANY

AFCO Agent Service Corporation

The Buckeye Union Insurance Company

Boston Old Colony Insurance Company

Casualty Insurance Company

Workers Compensation and Indemnity Company of California
First Fire and Casualty of Hawaii, Ltd.

First Indemnity Insurance of Hawaii, Inc.

The Mayflower Insurance Company, Ltd.

Niagara Fire Insurance Company

The Continental Insurance Company

AFCO Credit Corporation

Puerto Rican-American Insurance Company
Preferred Risk Insurance Company

Security National Life Insurance Company

Deutsche Continental Reinsurance, A.G.

The Hong Kong Fire Insurance Company, Ltd.
Lombard Insurance Company, Limited

Lombard General Insurance Company, Ltd.

The Continental Insurance Company (Europe), Limited
The Continental Insurance Company (U.K.), Limited
Marine Office of America (UK), Limited

Continental Reinsurance Corporation (U.K.), Limited
Unionamberica Management Company, Limited
Union American Leasing Company, Limited
Continental Risk Services, Ltd.

The CPI Group, Inc.

California Central Bank Trust Corporation

CPI Pension Services, Inc.

Settlement Options, Inc.

East River Insurance Company (Bermuda), Ltd.
Continental Reinsurance Corporation International, Limited
East River Insurance Company, Ltd.

Deutsche Continental Reinsurance, A.G.
Continental Holdings (Bermuda), Ltd.
Inter-Continental Seguradora S.A.

The Fidelity and Casualty Company of New York
CTEX, Inc.

Firemen’s Insurance Company of Newark, N.J.
Commercial Insurance Company of Newark, N.J.
Continental Lloyd’s Insurance Company

The Continental Insurance Company of N.J.

The Glens Falls Insurance Company

The Continental Insurance Company of Canada
The Dominion Insurance Corporation
Continental Insurance Management, Ltd.

TCC Acquisition Corporation

Continental Asset Management Corporation
Kansas City Fire and Marine Insurance Company
Marine Office of America Corporation
Associated Aviation, Inc.

Hull & Cargo Surveyors, Inc.

Global Marine Services, Ltd.

United States P&I Agency

Marine Office of America Corporation
National-Ben Franklin Insurance Company of Illinois
Bayside Reinsurance Company, Ltd.

Continental Loss Adjusting Services, Inc.

UAC Rehabilitation International, Inc.
Continental Rehabilitation Resources, Inc.
Pacific Insurance Company

Lombard Continental Insurance

Lombard Insurance Holding, Ltd.

Continental Pacific Insurance Company, Ltd.

iv

‘
—
eo -
*
.
“
‘<. -
, - ethan
one
Pe
54 2
<
Pi
°
.
-
N %

» < ‘
\ ; 8
5
PSS. iy
6 Pa .
- Bins i
: , a < f
h ey ; ei
6
° ¥
Se :
7 t 4 2
’ th
+3 %
: 4 Fe —
—
“te
“5 - ——
ow
2 ° 5 ee!
. sok
5 :
’ ;
3 Gum eS
. “ He
o - i

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385020_1324%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
