# Opposition Brief — Abortion Rights Mobilization, Inc. v. United States Catholic Conference

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385020_1035%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1990
- **Citation:** 495 U.S. 918

## Text

; : J |

IN THE |

Supreme Court of the United States — :
OCTOBER TERM, 19>

No. 89-1242

+ ---

:

ABORTION RIGHTS MOBILIZAT
UN » STATES UA {

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the United states
Court of Appeals for the -econd |

BRIEF OF RESPONDENTI>
UNITED STATES CATHOLIC CONFERENCE AND
NATIONAL CONFERENCE OF CATHOLIC BISHOP>
IN OPPOSITION TO THE PETITION
FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

QUESTION PRESENTED

Do abortion-rights advocates, whose own tax status
is not at issue, have standing to challenge the tax
exemptions of over 30,000 Roman Catholic Church
entities?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTION PRESENTED
COUNTER-STATEMENT OF THE CASE

REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITI!

I. THE COURT OF APPEALS’ DE‘
CORDS WITH THIS COURT'S |

wN

~

REJECTING THIRD-PARTY TAX

LENGES
THE COURT OF APPEALS’ D

i

NOT CONFLICT WITH ANY

2 oe Tc ‘yr ’T ’ % ~
THIS COURT OR OF AN

“yy
j

OF APPEALS

A. Bak

a"
‘

v

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page
Larson V. Valente, 456 U.S. 228 (1982)... 19, 20
Linda R.S. v. Richard D., 410 U.S. 614 (1973) 8,9
Lujan V. National Wildlife Fed’n, No. 89-640 (cert.
granted Jan. 16,1990) 0. 24
Lynch v. Donnelly, 465 U.S. 668 (1984) 19
Marsh v. Chambers, 463 U.S. 783 (1983) 20
McGowan V. Maryland, 366 U.S. 420 (1961) 20
Regan Vv. Taxation With Representation, 461 U.S.
OD CRN naseee atten ae aeol 23, 24
Schlesinger Vv. Reservists Committee to Stop the
War, 418 U.S. 208 (1974) 2000. eee 10, 13, 14
Shakman V. Dunne, 829 F.2d 1387 (7th Cir. 1987),
cert. denied, 484 U.S. 1065 (1988)... .s«éd2z“ 18
Simon v. Eastern Kentucky Welfare Rights Or-
ganization, 426 U.S. 26 (1976) 7, 9, 10, 22
Texas Monthly, Inc. v. Bullock, 109 S.Ct. 890
CRRA SPE Ore Se . .... I9, 23
Torcaso V. Watkins, 367 U.S. 488 (1961) _._. Setiaess 20
United States Vv. Richardson, 418 U.S. 166 (1974). 13,14
United States v. Saylor, 322 U.S. 385 (1944) 12

United States Catholic Conference v. Abortion
Rights Mobilization, Inc. 487 U.S. 72 (1988) 5, 23

Valley Forge Christian College v. Americans
['nited for Separation of Church and State, 454

U.S. 464 (1982) see ..10, 17, 18
Wallace Vv. Jaffree, 472 U.S. 38 (1985) 20
Warth v. Seldin, 422 U.S. 490 (1975) 2
Wiley v. Sinkler, 179 U.S. 58 (1900) 12
Winpisinger V. Watson, 628 F.2d 133 (D.C. Cir.).

cert. denied, 466 U.S. 929 (1980) 14, 15
Wright Vv. Regan, 656 F.2d 820 (D.C. Cir. 1981),

rev'd, 468 U.S. 737 (1984) 7, 24

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS
U.S. Const., Art. I, § 6, cl. 2 13, 14
U.S. Const., Art. I, § 9, cl. 7 13
STATUTES AND REGULATIONS
26 U.S.C. § 501(c) (3) 7. 11, 16

—

, |

Vv i

.E OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

4
>
~
—

Pag

rage

> T - 1° +4

~ | ~
é* i428 ~<
~
. ) , ]

ZX ».4 ~ (4238 } i/ ,
* | ~ ~ »9 ] }
. ~ éj& a

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1989

No. 89-1242

ABORTION RIGHTS MOBILIZATION, INC., et al.,
Petitioners,
Vv.

UNITED STATES CATHOLIC CONFERENCE, ef a/.,
respondents.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit

BRIEF OF RESPONDENTS
UNITED STATES CATHOLIC CONFERENCE AND
NATIONAL CONFERENCE OF CATHOLIC BISHOPS
IN OPPOSITION TO THE PETITION
FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

COUNTER-STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioners’ statement of the case omits tw

. ~* . ,
’ y+ int nomre KF ipat + ,r rig tc + mort
} Lid Ue s i . :

&
notitinnoare’ aceartinn at? 29 Of? > thoir nr .
€ LULIC ‘ asst i ViVi a WALES DOOD i ‘ I tne) Wicst i
petition, that the panel’s decision conflicts with
anotner decision OF that same court f i(L} Le Lt]
- - 77 . ‘ } a>) s),-] on
if VW +7 | r¢ - Educ. la i; (7 xs / F.2d 6? 1 (?q ( 1?
1989) In lonvino roh yf ring the nan s] un; yim: rely
‘ ‘ Ii ieliivili¥® I nearing, Lit pane! unanImously
——" 1% ] +L + leh seareb + 2s +s 15 >a ] os +
announced Nat, aitnoug l Was divided as O
; : : . >» » ; . e,°
— | +L, - tha y >... ° satin: mmtixr in , YY tritinn
wine eC! f AlINtITTS are Sumclentiy in competition

3

the purported ground that some or all of its over
30,000 separate entities have engaged in impermis-
sible political activities. Amended Complaint (Am.
Compl.’’) © 60.‘ The affected Church entities, all of
which are covered by an annual group exemption
letter, include not only respondents USCC, NCCB,
but also virtually every Catholic diocese, parish, ele-
mentary and high school, college, seminary, hospital,
home for the aged or infirm, orphanage, counseling
center, monastery, retreat house, and refugee assist-
ance group in the country.’ Petitioners’ complaint
also seeks ar. order requiring the IRS to assess and
collect all resulting back taxes, and to notify the
Church's contributors that they may not claim char-
itable tax deductions for their contributions. /hid.
The petitioners allege no IRS enforcement actions,
or threatened enforcement actions, against them-
selves personally or against their churches or organi-
zations. Nor do they seek tax refunds or any change
in their tax status. Their amended complaint alleges
only, “fu]pon information and _ belief, [that]
oman Catholic priests and other Church officia's
have actively and systematically participated in polit-
ical campaigns in all parts of the country... .° Am.
Compl. © 25. It further alleges, again “/u]pon in-
formation and belief,” that ‘‘[m]any Catholic priests
and other Church officials . have, from their pul-
pits, regularly and repeatedly urged their congre-
gants to donate to ‘right-to-life’ committees and po-

‘See Joint Appendix in No. 87-416 (“JA”), at pages 5-19

5 The group ruling, which is issued to the USC! ver
entities listed in The Official Catholic Direct
more than 185 dioceses, 19,546 parishes, 7.455 elementam
schools, 1.408 high schools, 238 colleges, 645 hospita "

numerous other Catholic entities. See JA at 24-2

Fe

nN

4

litical parties, to obtain (often in the church park-
ing lot following the service) ‘right-to-life’ campaign
literature, to sign the nominating petitions of ‘right-
to-life’ candidates. At least one church has distrib-
uted ‘right-to-life’ leaflets with the ehurch bulletin.”
Id. £ 26. Petitioners allege that a policy statement
adopted by the NCCB in 1975, the Pastoral Plan for
Pro-life Activities,’ is the “blueprint for the Church's
illegal activities.” Id. { 21.’

Pursuant to this complaint, petitioners served sub-
poenas duces tecum on USCC/NCCB, demanding the
production of voluminous internal Church documents
relating to the Church’s position on abortion and to
its communications with the IRS. The subpoenas de-
manded, among other things: (1) all drafts of the
1975 Pastoral Plan, which states the U.S. bishops’
theological, mora! and social position on abortion, (2)
the minutes of the bishops’ discussions of the Pas-
toral Plan’s proposed contents, and all documents re-
lating to its implementation; (3) all “Church Bulle-
tins, clergy Bulletins, Pastoral letters, directives,
memoranda, or similar documents issued or promul-
gated by any” bishop in the United States to any
other person concerning the Pastoral Plan; (4) all
documents reflecting contact with any candidates for
public office anywhere in the United States; (5) all
documents reflecting financial support or “involve-
ment” of USCC/NCCB, “or any staie Catholic con-
ference, archdiocese, diocese, or parish church,” or
any “church personnel” (defined to include every em-

*The language in the 1975 Pastoral Plan of which the
petitioners complain was amended in 1985.

7USCC/NCCB, of course, concede neither the truth of the
factual allegations of the complaint nor the validity of the
legal conclusions.

5

ployee of each of those organizations), with twelve
national and state pro-life organizations; (6) USCC/
NCCB’s tax or information returns and, “without
limitation, all correspondence, memoranda or other
communications relating to the consideration or ap-
proval by the Internal Revenue Service” of any ap-
plication for section 501(c)(3) status; and (7) the
identities of the presidents and executive secretaries
of the Catholic conferences in sixteen states, and the
identities of the bishops and directors of pro-life ac-
tivities in eighteen dicceses for the years 1975 to
the present. See Joint Appendix in No. 87-416, at
pages 70-71.

USCC/NCCB declined to comply with those sub-
poenas, asserting, inter alia, that petitioners lacked
standing to sue and the district court therefore
lacked judicial power to issue and enforce subpoenas.
The district court held that the petitioners had stand-
ing to sue and held USCC NCCB in contempt, fin-
ing them a total of $100,000 per day for each day the
subpoenaed documents were not produced. The fines
were stayed pending appeal.

The court of appeals initially affirmed the con-
tempt judgment without resolving USCC/NCCB’s
challenge to the petitioners’ standing. The court held
that USCC/NCCB, as witnesses, lacked standing to
challenge the plaintiffs’ standing. In re United
States Catholic Conference, 824 F.2d 156 (2d Cir.
1987). This Court reversed and remanded, directing
the court of appeals to determine whether the plain-
tiffs had standine to challenge the Church’s tax ex-
emption. United States Catholic Conference y. Ahbor-
tion Rights Mobilization, Inc., 487 U.S. 72 (1988).
On remand, the court of appeals held that the peti-
tioners lacked standing to sue, vacated the contempt

6

judgment against USCC/NCCB, and ordered that the
complaint be dismissed. Pet. App. la.

Petitioners moved for rehearing, alleging that the
court of appeals’ decision created an intra-circuit con-
flict with Fulani, supra. The panel rejected that con-
tention and denied rehearing in a unanimous, per
curiam opinion. Pet. App. 85a-86a. The Court later
denied rehearing ev banc. That order, which is
omitted from petitioners’ appendix, notes that no
judge requested a vote on petitioners’ suggestion.
A copy of the order is included as an appendix to this
brief. The present petition followed.

REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION

I. THE COURT OF APPEALS’ DECISION ACCORDS
WITH THIS COURT’S DECISIONS REJECTING
THIRD-PARTY TAX CHALLENGES.

Lawsuits challenging the tax status of others “are
rarely if ever appropriate for federal-court adjudica-
tion.” Allen v. Wright, 468 U.S. 737, 760 (1984).
That is so for two reasons. First, private plaintiffs
are seldom, if ever, able to claim a direct injury
based on the government’s alleged failure to enforce
the tax code against another. Second, judicial in-
quiries into the tax status of third parties (in this
case, 30,000 of them), accompanied by all the dis-
covery devices of civil litigation, would disrupt the
elaborate statutory framework established by Con-
gress for enforcing the tax code. That framework
includes authorization for declaratory judgment ac-
tions determining an organization’s eligibility for a
tax-exemption under section 501(c) (3), but such an
action “may be filed... only by the organization the
qualification or classification of which is at issue.”
26 U.S.C. § 7428(b) (1) (emphasis added); see also
28 U.S.C. § 2201(a).

7

The petitioners ignore the two decisions by this
Court that are most relevant to their petition—the
two cases in which the Court has considered, and de-
nied, standing to challenge another entity’s tax ex-
empt status, Allen v. Wright, supra, and Simon v.
Eastern Kentucky Welfare Rights Organization, 426
U.S. 26 (1976). Together, those cases establish that
“ litigation concerning tax liability is a matter be-
tween taxpayer and IRS, with the door barely ajar
for third party challenges.’ ” Allen, 468 U.S. at 748-
49, quoting 656 F.2d 824, 828 (D.C. Cir. 1981).

In Simon, which petitioners fail to cite, various
indigent persons challenged a revenue ruling that a
non-profit hospital could qualify for recognition as a
charitable organization under § 501(c)(3), even
though it provided only emergency room services to
those unable to afford hcspitalization. This Court
acknowledged the plaintiffs’ interest in obtaining hos-
pital services, and even acknowledged that some
plaintiffs had been injured by the hospitals in ques-
tion. Jd. at 40-41. Nevertheless, the Court held that
these facts were insufficient to establish a case or con-
troversy with the Treasury. It was “purely specula-
tive,” the Court explained, whether the alleged denial
of medical services to indigents “fairly can be traced
to [the IRS’s action] or instead result from decisions
made by the hospitals without regard to the tax im-
plications.” 426 U.S. at 42-43. “|E]qually specula-
tive” was the question whether a judgment against
the IRS would cause the hospitals to provide more
free services or instead to forego their tax exemp-
tions. /d. at 43. Thus, the plaintiffs failed “ ‘to estab-
lish that, in fact, the asserted injury was the conse-
quence of the defendants’ actions, or that prospective

8

relief [would] remove the harm.’” Id. at 45, quot-
ing Warth v. Seldin, 422 U.S. 490, 505 (1975).

In Allen, which the petitioners cite only for the
general proposition that separation of powers prin-
ciples underlie the standing requirements, this Court
held that parents of black public school children
lacked standing to challenge the lawfulness of the
IRS’s grant of tax exempt status to allegedly dis-
criminatory private schools. The plaintiffs in Allen
claimed that they had standing because the govern-
ment’s administration of the tax laws “diminished
[their childrens’] ability to receive an education in
a racially integrated school.” 468 U.S. at 756. The
Court recognized the “serious” nature of that injury,
and “the constitutional importance of curing”’’ it, but
held that the injury could not support standing be-
cause it was “not fairly traceable to” the challenged
granting of tax exemptions. /d. at 756-57. It was
“entirely speculative,” the Court explained, “whether
withdrawal of a tax exemption from any particular
school would lead the school to change its policies.”
Id. at 758. It was “just as speculative whether
any given parent would decide to transfer [his or
her] child to publie school” as a result of the school’s
loss of its tax-exempt status. Jbid. And it was “pure
speculation” whether a sufficiently large number of
“ich decisions would be made in order to have a
“significant impact on the racial composition of the
public schools.” Jbid.*

® This Court has likewise denied standing, outside of the tax
context, to private individuals seeking to challenge govern-
ment decisions not to prosecute a third party. In Linda R:S.
Vv. Richard D., 410 U.S. 614 (1973), the court denied standing
to a woman who wished to challenge the nonprosecution of
her child’s father for failure to pay child support. It was

9

The plaintiffs in Allen also alleged that they were
denigrated ‘“‘by the mere fact of Government financial
aid to discriminatory private schools.” Jd. at 752.
This Court rejected the notion that standing could
be predicated upon such a generalized claim of
stigma. It held that ‘“[t]here can be no doubt that
this sort of noneconomic injury is one of the most
serious consequences of discriminatory government
action and is sufficient in some circumstances to sup-
port standing . . . .Our cases make clear, however,
that such injury accords a basis for standing only to
those persons who are personally denied equal treat-
ment by the challenged discriminatory conduct.” Jd.
at 755 (emphasis added, internal quotations, cita-
tions omitted).

The court of appeals in this case correctly held
that petitioners had ‘“‘not pleaded that they were per-
sonally denied equal treatment,” and that they had
failed to claim any “particularized injury in fact.”
Pet. 24a. Consequently, it never reached the question
whether petitioners’ alleged injuries were fairly
traceable to the IRS or redressable by a judgment
against the IRS. Pet. App. 26a. It is plain, however,
that petitioners’ claim of injury fails on these
grounds as well.

Petitioners claim that their political effectiveness
has been impaired by what they allege to be the
Church’s subsidized political activity. But here, as
in Simon and Allen, ‘“‘{slpeculative inferences are
necessary to connect [petitioner’s alleged] injury to
the challenged actions of [the IRS].” Simon, 426

“only speculative,” Justice Marshall wrote for the Court, that
such prosecution would result in the payment of support.
Id. at 618. And “in American jurisprudence at least, a pri-
vate citizen lacks a judicially cognizable interest in the prose-
cution or nonprosecution of another.” Jd. at 619.

10

U.S. at 45. It is speculative whether, or to what ex-
tent, the Church’s donors would reduce their contri-
butions if the Church’s tax exemption were revoked.
As plaintiffs themselves allege, contributions to the
Church are “religiously-compelled,”” Am. Compl. § 26,
and therefore may not be responsive to tax pressure.
It is equally speculative whether the Church would
decide to stop the religiously motivated activities that
are under attack, such as “distribut[ing] ‘right-to-
life’ leaflets with . . . church bulletin[s],” id. § 46,
and whether, even if it did, its members would not
feel an obligation to fill the void. Finally, it is specu-
lative in the extreme whether all of the foregoing
would lead to fewer pro-life votes.”

In short, it is true here, as it was in Allen and
Simon, that

[flrom the perspective of the IRS, the [plain-
tiffs’ claimed] injury . .. is highly indirect and
“results from the independent action of some
third party not before the court... .”

Allen, 468 U.S. at 757, quoting Simon, 426 U.S. at
42.

® Petitioners have effectively conceded as much, arguing that
it is “irrelevant ... whether the Church will continue to be
active politically or if its members will increase their dona-
tions” in the event of a judgment in petitioners’ favor. See Re-
spondents’ Brief in Opposition in No. 87-416, at 54. But if a
judgment against the IRS would not alter the alleged political
activities of the Church and its contributors, then the peti-
tioners would gain nothing other than the psychological pleas-
ure of knowing that the Church has lost something—its tax
exemption. And as this Court has made clear, such vindictive
pleasure alone is insufficient to support standing. Allen, 468
U.S. at 754; Valley Forge Christian College v. Americans
United fer Separation of Church and State, 454 U.S. 464,
482-87 (1982); Schlesinger v. Reservists Committee to Stop
the War, 418 U.S. 208, 217, 226-27 (1974).

11

Of course, the fact that the Church entities whose
alleged political activities have allegedly injured the
plaintiffs, and whose tax status is at issue, are “not
before the court,” ibid., ensures that a judgment in
the plaintiffs’ favor would accomplish virtually noth-
ing. Because the Church entities are not parties,
they would not be bound by any judgment. They
would be entitled to litigate their tax-exempt status
de novo in a separate declaratory judgment action
under 26 U.S.C. § 7428. That fact only underscores
the inappropriateness of allowing this case to go
forward.

In short, there is nothing surprising or noteworthy
about the court of appeals’ decision in this case. In
fact, a contrary decision would have worked a minor
revolution in the law.”

II. THE COURT OF APPEALS’ DECISION DOES NOT
CONFLICT WITH ANY DECISION OF THIS COURT
OR OF ANY OTHER COURT OF APPEALS.

In an attempt to find something about the court of
appeals’ decision to warrant this Court’s attention,

10 The lower courts also have been nearly unanimous in
rejecting third-party challenges to tax exemptions. See Khalaf
v. Regan, 85-1 U.S. Tax Cas. (CCH) {9269 (D.D.C. 1985),
aff'd, No. 83-02963 (D.C. Cir. Sept. 19, 1986) (unpublished
opinion) (individuals and non-exernpt political advocacy
groups lack standing to claim that tax-exempt status accorded
to Jewish organizations disadvantaged them in pursuit of their
political objectives) ; American Society of Travel Agents, Inc.
v. Blumenthal, 566 F.2d 145 (D.C. Cir. 1977), cert. denied, 435
U.S. 947 (1978) (travel agents lack standing to challenge the
tax exempt status of the American Jewish Congress for
engaging in competitive business activity allegedly prohibited
by §501(c)(3)). The sole exception is another opinion of
the Second Circuit that the panel in the present case unani-
mously held did not conflict with its opinion. See supra, at 2,
infra at 20-22 & n.17.

12

petitioners argue that the decision conflicts with
standing decisions of this Court in cases having noth-
ing to do with third-party tax challenges. None of
the petitioners’ supposed “conflicts” withstands
scrutiny.

A. Baker vy. Carr

The lower court’s decision plainly does not con-
flict with Baker v. Carr, 369 U.S. 186 (1962). Un-
like the plaintiffs there, petitioners here do not allege
any diminution in their representation. Nor do they
allege gerrymandering, ballot-box-stuffing, outright
denial of their right to vote, or anything else that
dilutes the strength of their votes."' Petitioners have
thus suffered no injury to their right to vote, and the
court of appeals correctly held “that Baker v. Carr
and its progeny are inapposite and provide no basis
for granting standing to these plaintiffs.” Pet. App.
21a.

As the court of appeals recognized. the petitioners
here do not actually rest their claim of standing upon
their status as voters. Rather, they claim standing
as “political participants” or “competitive advocates,”’
whose effectiveness has allegedly been impaired by a
“distortion in the political process.” As the petition-
ers see it, the content—or, more precisely, the balance
—of the political debate has been tilted by the govern-
ment’s alleged failure to revoke the Catholic Church’s
tax exemption. This claim of “distortion in the politi-
cal process” is a far cry from the direct impairment
of the right to vote that supported the plaintiffs’

"Cf, Davis v. Bandemer, 478 U.S. 109 (1986); Karcher
Vv. Daggett, 462 U.S. 725 (1983) ; Wiley v. Sinkler, 179 U.S. 58
(1900) ; United States v. Saylor, 322 U.S. 385 (1944).

13

standing in Baker v. Carr and its progeny. And no
decision of this Court provides the slightest support
for such a standing claim. To the contrary, this
Court has rejected comparable claims of standing,
based on alleged distortions of political processes, in
Schlesinger v. Reservists Committee to Stop the War,
418 U.S. 208 (1974), and United States v. Richard-
son, 418 U.S. 166 (1974).

In Schlesinger, a group of self-described “citizens”
complained that allowing Armed Forces Reserve
members to sit in Congress violated the Incompatibil-
ity Clause of the Constitution, which states that “no
Person holding any Office under the United States,
shall be a Member of either House during his Con-
tinuance in Office.” U.S. Const., Art. I, $6, cl. 2.
The alleged injury was a distortion of the political
process in the form of “undue influence by the Execu-
tive Branch” on Reservist Members of Congress. 418
U.S. at 212. That allegation, the Court held, although
concededly a matter in which citizens have “an inter-
est,” was “too abstract to constitute a ‘case or con-
troversy’ appropriate for judicial resolution.” Jd. at
226-27.

In Richardson, the Court denied standing to a tax-
payer who wished to challenge a provision of the
Central Intelligence Agency Act of 1949 that per-
mitted the Agency’s budget to be kept secret. The
plaintiff in Richardson argued that such secrecy vio-
lated Art. I, § 9, cl. 7 of the Constitution, which pro-
vides in part, that ‘a regular Statement and Account
of the Receipts and Expenditures of all public Money
shall be published from time to time.” The plaintiff’s
alleged injury was a distortion of the political process
—he claimed that “without detailed information on
CIA expenditures ... he [could] not . . . properly

14

fulfill his obligations as a member of the electorate
in voting for candidates seeking national office.” 418
U.S. at 176. This Court held that alleged impairment
insufficient to confer standing.”* The “distortion in
the political process” that petitioners allege here is no
less amorphous than the alleged distortions found in-
sufficient in Schlesinger and Richardson.

The court of appeals’ decision also agrees with
those of other courts of appeals. In Winpisinger v.
Watson, 628 F.2d 133 (D.C. Cir.), cert. denied, 446
U.S. 929 (1980), the United States Court of Appeals
for the District of Columbia Circuit held that sup-
porters-of Senator Edward Kennedy for the Demo-
cratic presidential nomination lacked standing to
claim that members of President Carter’s administra-
tion had illegally spent federal funds to promote the

2 Ex parte Levitt, 302 U.S. 633 (1937), is to the same
effect. In that case, a citizen and member of this Court’s bar
sought to challenge the President’s appointment and the Sen-
ate’s confirmation of Justice Black as a violation of Art. I,
§ 6, cl. 2 of the Constitution, which provides that “[n]o Sena-
tor or Representative shail, during the Time for which he was
elected, be appointed to any civil Office under the Authority
of the United States, which shall have been created, or the
Emoluments whereof shall have been increased during such
time....” Seating a constitutionally ineligible Justice on this
Court would quite arguably “distort” the judicial process.
Nevertheless, this Court unanimously denied Mr. Levitt’s mo-
tion for a writ of quo warranto, and held that it ‘tis an estab-
lished principle that to entitle a priv-te individual to invoke
the judicial power to determine the validity of executive or
legislative action he must show that he has sustained, or is
immediately in danger of sustaining, a direct injury as the
result of that action and it is not sufficient that he has merely
a general interest common to all members of the public.”” 302
U.S. at 634. See also Richardson, 418 U.S. at 177-78 (sum-
marizing Levitt).

15

President’s renomination. The plaintiffs’ alleged harm
was “the dilution of their efforts on Senator Ken-
nedy’s behalf by the actions of the federal defendants
in utilizing the vast resources available to the Ad-
ministration to promote President Carter’s quest for
renomination.” Jd. at 138. The Court held that there
was no fairly traceable causal connection between the
claimed injury and the challenged conduct. It ex-
plained that

[t]he endless number of diverse factors poten-
tially contributing to the outcome of state presi-
dential primary elections, caucuses and conven-
tions forecloses any reliable conclusion that voter
support of a candidate is “fairly traceable” to any
particular event. In the case before us, whether
[a plaintiff] is viewed in the character of a
voter, contributor, a noncontributing supporter
or a candidate for a delegate post, a court would
have to accept a number of very speculative in-
ferences and assumptions in any endeavor to
connect his alleged injury with activities attrib-
uted to [the defendants]. Courts are powerless
to confer standing when the causal link is too
tenuous.

Id. at 139.

Likewise, in Shakman v. Dunne, 829 F.2d 1387
(7th Cir. 1987), cert. denied, 484 U.S. 1065 (1988),
the Seventh Circuit denied standing to candidates and
voters challenging the politically motivated hiring of
government employees in Chicago. Like the petition-
ers here, the plaintiffs there alleged that the challenged
action “created . . . inequality in the treatment of
communication,” “giving the appellants a significant
advantage in the process of communicating with the

16

electorate.” Jd. at 1396. The Seventh Circuit rejected
that claim as an insufficient basis for standing. Id.
at 1397.

The court of appeals in this case thus broke no new
ground when it held that the “distortion” of the po-
litical process alleged by the petitioners is insufficient
to give them standing.

B. Establishment Clause Cases

Petitioners claim that the court of appeals’ decision
conflicts generally ‘‘with this Court’s definition of in-
jury in Establishment Clause cases.” Pet. 28. It
does no such thing.”*

Under the Establishment Clause, petitioners say,
the “injury is the discrimination itself.” Pet. 29.
But that is nearly identical to the claim expressly
rejected by this Court in Allen. There, the plaintiffs
claimed that the “mere fact of Government financial
aid to discriminatory private schools” caused a
“stigmatizing injury.” 468 U.S. at 752, 755. This
Court rejected that claim, and held that “such injury
accords a basis for standing only to those persons who
are personally denied equal treatment by the chal-

13 Petitioners also include in their question presented the
issue whether they have standing as taxpayers. But they do
not elaborate on that claim in their petition itself. The court
of appeals’ decision that they lack such standing, Pet. App.
17a-19a, is both eminently correct and thoroughly unremark-
able. Unlike the plaintiffs in Bowen v. Kendrick, 487 U.S. 589
(1988), plaintiffs here do not challenge § 501(c) (3), or any
other statute, either on its face or as applied. Instead, they
argue that §501(c) (3) is being violated, and they seek to
enforce it privately.

17

lenged discriminatory conduct.” Jd. at 755 (emphasis
added, interna! quotations and citation omitted) .™

The same standard applies with equal force under
the Establishment Clause. In Valley Forge Christian
College v. Americans United for Separation of Church
and State, 454 U.S. 464 (1982), the Court denied
standing to individual citizens who wished to chal-
lenge the government’s conveyance of surplus federal
property to a religious college. The Court explicitly
rejected the notion “that enforcement of the Estab-
lishment Clause demands special exceptions from the
requirement that a plaintiff allege ‘distinct and
palpable injury to himself’? ... that is likely to be
redressed if the requested relief is granted.” 454
U.S. at 488 (citations omitted). Thus, the Court em-
phasized that a claimed “spiritual stake” in the gov-
ernment’s alleged preference for a particular religion
cannot support standing unless the plaintiffs can
show that they were “ ‘directly affected by the laws
and practices against which their complaints are di-
rected.’”? 454 U.S. at 486-87 n.22, quoting Abington
School District v. Schempp, 374 U.S. 203, 224 n.9
(1963) (emphasis added).

The schoolchildren in Schempp were “directly af-
fected” by the schools’ Bible-reading programs be-
cause they “‘were subject to unwelcome religious ex-
ercises or were forced to assume special burdens to

14 The suggestion of stigma or denigration in this case (see
note 15, infra), pales by comparison to the comparable allega-
tion rejected in Allen. The plaintiffs in Allen complained of
racial discrimination, which historically has carried with it an
undeniable mark of perceived inferiority. The allegation of
stigma in Allen, while too generalized to support standing, was
nonetheless genuine. By contrast, the suggestion of “denigra-
tion” here is baseless.

18

avoid them.” 454 U.S. at 487 n.22. By contrast, the
plaintiffs in Valley Forge lacked standing because
they

failfed] to identify any personal injury suffered
by them as a consequence of the alleged consti-
tutional error, other than the psychological con-
sequence presumably produced by observation of
conduct with which one disagrees. That is not
an iniury sufficient to confer standing under
Art. III, even though the disagreement is phrased
in constitutional terms.

454 U.S. at 485-86 (emphasis in original). The court
of appeals here correctly determined that the peti-
tioners’ complaint suffers from the same fatal defect.
Petitioners have not been “personally denied equal
treatment,” Allen, 468 U.S. at 755, nor have they
been “directly affected by the . . . practices against
which their complaints are directed.” Valley Forge,
454 U.S. at 486-87 n.22. Their claim of standing
rests ultimately on their assumption—unsupported
by any alleged facts—that the government would
treat them differently from the Catholic Church if
they behaved as they say the Catholic Church has.
Such speculation, however, cannot provide a basis for
standing.”

‘5 Petitioners’ statement that they are “not ... seeking
standing as ‘clergy qua clergy’ with all the negative implica-
tions” of that argument (Pet. at 32 n.10), is somewhat mysti-
fying. That has always been their claim in the past. For
example, in their previous brief on the merits in this Court,
petitioners insisted that the clergy plaintiffs suffered injury
“in the daily practice of [their] ministries, in their ability to
gain public acceptance of their religious beliefs and to minister
to their congregations’ particular needs ... .” U.S. Catholic

19

Nor does the court of appeals’ opinion conflict with
any of the other cases cited by petitioners. Although
this Court did not address any question of standing
in County of Allegheny v. A.C.L.U. Greater Pitts-
burgh Chapter, 109 S.Ct. 3086 (1989), or Lynch vy.
Donnelly, 465 U.S. 668 (1984), the records in those
cases make clear that they were predicated upon
municipal taxpayer standing, not upon the nebulous
theory offered by the petitioners here. See Joint Ap-
pendix in No. 87-2050, Amended Complaint "{ 2-9,
16, 23; Joint Appendix in No. 82-1256, Amended
Complaint %{1, 4-7, 14. Texas Monthly, Inc. v.
Bullock, 109 S.Ct. 890 (1989), was a challenge,
under the Press and Establishment Clauses, to a stat-
utory tax exemption enjoyed only by religious periodi-
cals. It was brought by a secular newspaper in the
context of its own demand for a tax refund. Id. at
895. And Larson v. Valente, 456 U.S. 228 (1982),

Conference V. Abortion Rights Mobilization, Inc., No. 87-416,
Brief for Respondents at 75. And in their initial filing with
the court of appeals, they quoted with approval from the
district court’s description of the alleged injury they suffer:

The clergy plaintiffs have devoted their lives to religious
communities and beliefs that are denigrated by govern-
ment favoritism to a different theology. They provide
spiritual leadership to and care for the spiritual needs
of their congregations. As part of these duties, they must
counsel those in their care in accordance with religious
laws which command consideration of abortion as the
morally required response to pregnancy.
Abortion Rights Mobilization, Inc. v. Baker, No. 85-3056 (2d
Cir.), Respondents’ Brief at 37.
If petitioners are now abandoning their claim of “clergy
standing,” it is unclear on what basis they do seek standing
under the Establishment Clause.

20

was a suit brought by a religious denomination that
was required by statute to file certain fundraising
reports from which other religions were statutorily
exempted. Here, both petitioners and respondents
are equally subject to the terms of § 501(c)(3) and
to all related regulations. None of the petitioners
seeks a tax refund or any change in tax status. And
just as the government has taken no enforcement ac-
tion against USCC /NCCB, neither has it taken any
against any of the petitioners.”

In short, not only does the court of appeals’ deci-
sion not conflict with this Court’s Establishment
Clause precedents, it is squarely in their mainstream.

© All of the Court’s other Establishment Clause cases have
likewise been predicated either on taxpayer standing or some
other sort of direct injury. See, e.g., Jimmy Swaggart Min-
istries V. Bd. of Equalization, 110 S.Ct. 688 (1990) (sales tax
levied against religious organization) ; Heryandez v. Commis-
sioner, 109 S.Ct. 21386 (1989) (taxpayers denied deduction
for payments for church services) ; Corporation of Presiding
Bishop v. Amos, 483 U.S. 327 (1987) (employee allegedly
victimized by religious discrimination) ; Estate of Thornton
Vv. Caldor, Inc., 472 U.S. 703 (1985) (employer required by
statute to grant employees Sabbath leave) ; Wallace v. Jaffree,
472 U.S. 38 (1985) (children subjected to religious exercise) ;
Marsh v. Chambers, 463 U.S. 783 (1983) (legislator subjected
to legislative Chaplain’s prayers) ; Larkin v. Grendel's Den,
Inc., 459 U.S. 116 (1982) (restaurant denied liquor license) ;
Epperson V. Arkansas, 393 U.S. 97 (1968) (public school
teacher forbidden to teach evolution) ; Abington School Dist.
v. Schempp, 374 U.S. 203 (1963) (schoolchildren subjected to
Bible reading) ; Engel v. Vitale, 370 U.S. 421 (1962) (school-
children subjected to prayer); Torcaso v. Watkins, 367 U.S.
488 (1961) (candidate for office required to affirm faith in
God); McGowan v. Maryland, 366 U.S. 420 (1961) (retail
clerks convicted of doing business on Sunday).

21

Ill. THERE IS NO INTRA-CIRCUIT SPLIT IN THE
SECOND CIRCUIT.

Petitioners insist that there is a conflict within the
Second Circuit that warrants this Court’s attention.
They claim—incorrectly—that the present case is ir-
reconcilable with Fulani v. League of Women Voters
Educ. Fund, 882 F.2d 621 (2d Cir. 1989). Of
course, the place to resolve an intra-circuit split is in
the Circuit itself, not in this Court. See Davis v.
United States, 417 U.S. 333, 340 (1974). Recogniz-
ing that fact, the petitioners sought rehearing in the
court of appeals on this ground, but even the dissent-
ing judge on the panel found no conflict. See Pet.
App. 85a-86a.""

17In Fulani, a divided panel of the court of appeals held
that an independent presidential candidate, Dr. Laura B.
Fulani, had standing to challenge the tax exempt status of
the League of Women Voters, which had left her out of its
nationally televised candidate debates leading up to the Demo-
cratic and Republican presidential nominations. 882 F.2d at
623. Nevertheless, the court affirmed the district court’s dis-
missal of the complaint for failure to state a claim. The Sec-
ond Circuit’s rvling on standing was explicitly rejected in a
substantially identical suit brought by Dr. Fulani in the Dis-
trict Court for the District of Columbia. Fulani v. Brady,
727 F. Supp. 158 (D.D.C. 1990), notice of appeal filed (Feb. 27,
1990). Whichever of the two Fulani decisions is correct, the
cases are distinguishable from this case. In Fulani, at least,
one of the defendants, the League of Women Voters, had in
fact treated the plaintiff differently from other candidates. It
had denied her the opportunity to participate in its debates.
Here, by contrast, there has been no unequal treatment of any
of the plaintiffs by any of the defendants. Moreover, in Fulani,
the requirements of 11 C.F.R. §§ 1.10.13, 114.4(e) (1988), that
the League maintain its tax-exempt status in order to sponsor
candidate debates, at least arguably supplied the elements of
“traceability” and “redressability” necessary for standing—

22

IV. THE COURT OF APPEALS’ OPINION IS NARROW
AND FACT-BOUND.

Petitioners mistakenly suggest that the court of
appeals’ opinion is an expansive one. It is not. In
fact, the court of appeals was careful to stress the
narrowness of its holding: “[w]e do not foreclose
the possibility that political competitors might state
a cognizable injury; instead, we simply hold that the
theory cannot be sustained here.” Pet. App. 26a.
The court explained that its decision adhered closely
to “the pleaded facts and established law, and [did]
not venture out any further” than was necessary. /d.
In short, the court’s opinion is both narrow and fact-
bound.

What is more, the facts to which the court’s opinion
is bound are extreme. Petitioners are not candidates,
or even supporters of candidates for any particular
office, much less in any particular election. None of
the petitioners is a disappointed applicant for a tax
exemption of its own. None is the target of IRS en-
forcement activities. And none seeks a tax refund.
The court of appeals deliberately decided only that
these plaintiffs, on this complaint, do not have stand-
ing. It did not decide whether any of the above
permutations would make a difference to its decision,
and it certainly did not rule on any of the fanciful
hypotheticals posited by petitioners’ amici.’*

if the League lost its tax exemption, it could not sponsor a
candidate debate. Here, as in Simon and Allen, it is entirely
speculative whether the conduct of the Catholic Church and
its contributors would change in any way, much less in a way
agreeable to petitioners, in the wake of a revocation of the
Church’s tax-exempt status.

18 Additional abortion-rights groups have filed an amicus
brief supporting the petitioners. Only a few of amici’s argu-

23

CONCLUSION

The court of appeals’ decision does not conflict with
any decision of this Court or of any court of appeals.
Instead, the court of appeals simply applied this
Court’s precedents to a narrow set of facts and left

ments warrant a response. First, amici recite a litany of
hypothetical horribles in which the IRS purposefully permits
tax-exempt organizations to support candidates advocating all
sorts of causes—from legalizing racial segregation to outlaw-
ing traditional religions. Brief Amicus Curiae of Population
Planning Associates, Inc. (“Br. Am. Cur.”), at 6. As noted
above, the short answer to all those hypotheticals is that the
court of appeals expressly refused to decide that political com-
petitors would never have standing. It thus left many ques-
tions—including all of amici’s hypotheticals—for another day.

Second, it is simply inaccurate to say, as amici do, that
this Court “expressly acknowledged” in its prior opinion in
this case that the petitioners’ standing “‘is at least ‘colorable.’ ”
Br. Am. Cur. at 15. What the Court said—in the fourth sen-
tence of its opinion—is that the court of appeals in its prior
opinion ruled “that a non-party witness’ jurisdictional chal-
lenge is limited to a claim that the District Court lacks even
colorable jurisdiction, a standard not met here.” 487 U.S. at
74 (emphasis added). Quite obviously, the Court was simply
describing the court of appeals’ ruling, not offering its own
assessment of the plaintiffs’ standing.

Third, amici announce that “in some respects, the standing
of the plaintiffs in this case follows a fortiori from the stand-
ing of the plaintiffs” in Arkansas Writers’ Project, Inc. v.
Ragland, 481 U.S. 221 (1987). Br. Am. Cur. at 10. Hardly.
In Ragiand, the plaintiff raised its constitutional challenge to
other publications’ tax exemptions in the context of its own
claim to an exemption and its own suit for a tax refund. See
481 U.S. at 225. The plaintiffs in Ragland could plausibly allege
that they had been treated differently by the government by
being denied the exemptions granted to the others. See also
Texas Monthly, supra; Regan v. Taxation With Representa-

24

the state of the law exactly as it found it—“ ‘sug-
gest[ing] that litigation concerning tax liability is
a matter between taxpayer and IRS, with the door
barely ajar for third party challenges.’” Allen, 468
U.S. at 748-49, quoting 656 F.2d 820, 828 (D.C. Cir.
1981). Cf. Pet. App. 26a. Accordingly, the petition
should be denied.

tion, 461 U.S. 540 (1983). Here, no petitioner has been denied
any exemption and none seeks any refund.

Fourth, amici mistakenly suggest that Lujan v. National
Wildlife Fed’n, No. 89-640, which is currently set for oral
argument on April 16, 1990, is somehow relevant to this
case. Br. Am. Cur. at 20. As amici concede, however, “Lujan
arises in the context of environmental litigation and is in
other respects dissimilar from this case.” Ibid. Lujan arises
under the Administrative Procedure Act, under which pru-
dential standing limitations play far less of a role. See Clarke
v. Securities Industry Ass’n, 479 U.S. 388, 400 n.16 (1987).
Here, however, they could well play an important role, see
Allen, 468 U.S. at 751, and the court of appeals expressly left
those prudential standing questions open. Pet. App. 26a. In
addition, the governmental actions challenged in Lujan are
formal decisions, published in the Federal Register, opening
public lands to private mining interests. They are, in short,
the classic sort of decisions reviewable under the APA. The
only question in Lujan is whether the particular plaintiffs in
that case are the proper parties to invoke judicial review.
Here, there is no governmental action at all, merely an absence
of enforcement, against petitioners or respondents. In con-
trast to the garden-variety challenge to administrative acts at
issue in Lujan, the question in this case is one that is “rarely
if ever appropriate for federal-court adjudication.” Allen,
468 U.S. at 760.

* Counsel of Record
April 6, 1990

25

Respectfully submitted,

KEVIN T. BAINE *

RICHARD S. HOFFMAN

CHARLES H. WILSON

KEVIN J. HASSON
WILLIAMS & CONNOLLY
839 17th Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20006
(202) 331-5000

MARK E. CHOPKO
General Counsel
PHILLIP H. HARRIS
Solicitor
UNITED STATES CATHOLIC
CONFERENCE
3211 4th Street, N.E.
Washington, D.C. 20017
(202) 541-3000
Counsel for Respondents
United States Catholic
Conference and

National Conference of
Catholic Bishops

APPENDIX

eA

la
APPENDIX

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

At a stated Term of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Second Circuit, held at the United
States Courthouse in the City of New York, on the
thirteenth day of November one thousand nine hun-
dred and eighty-nine.

Docket No. 86-6092

IN RE: UNITED STATES CATHOLIC CONFERENCE and
NATIONAL CUNFERENCE OF CATHOLIC BISHOPS,
Appellants,

ABORTION RIGHTS MOBILIZATION INC., LAWRENCE
LADER, MARGARET QO. STRAHL, M.D., HELEN W.
EpEY, M.D., RuTH P. SMITH, NATIONAL WOMENS
HEALTH NETWORK, INC., LONG ISLAND NATIONAL
ORGANIZATION FOR WOMEN-NASSAU, INC., RABBI
ISRAEL MARGOLIES, REVEREND BFA BLAIR, RABBI
BALFOUR BRICKNER, REVEREND ROBERT HARE,
REVEREND MARVIN G. LUTZ, WOMENS CENTER FOR
REPRODUCTIVE HEALTH, JENNIE ROSE _ LIFRIERI,
EILEEN WALSH, PATRICIA SULLIVAN LUCIANO,
MARCELLA MICHALSKI, CHRIS NIEBRZYDOWSKI,
JUDITH A. SEIBEL, KAREN DECROW and SUAN
SHERER,

Plaintiffs-A ppellees,

eV,
JAMES A. BAKER, III, Secretary of the Treasury, and

RoOscoE L. EGGER, JR., Commissioner of Internal

Revenue,
Defendants.

2a

A petition for rehearing [having been] filed herein
by counsel for the plaintiffs-appellees, ABOI.TION
RIGHTS MOBILIZATION INC., ET AL., and the
panel that heard the appeal having denied said peti-
tion for rehearing in an opinion filed on October 4,
1989,

It is further noted that the suggestion for rehear-
ing in banc has been transmitted to the judges of the
court in regular active service and to any other judge
that heard the appeal and that no such judge has
requested that a vote be taken thereon.

ELAINE B. GOLDSMITH
Clerk

By /s/ Tina Eve Brier
TINA EVE BRIER
Chief Deputy Clerk

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385020_1035%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
