# Amicus Curiae Brief — Burlington Northern Railroad Co. Employees v. Montana Department of Revenue

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385020_0978%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1990
- **Citation:** 494 U.S. 1028

## Text

Supreme Court, US,
FILEQD

No. 89-1181 : FEB Dn ue

—————— ———— acne SPANIOL, JR,
CLERK
In The

-_—

-

Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1989

7%
7.

BURLINGTON NORTHERN RAILROAD
COMPANY EMPLOYEES,

r - 4 .
Petitioners,

MONTANA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE,

, '
wmnsidont
Re S} ONGeHT.

— ,%
v

BRIEF OF AMICUS CURIAE
WASHINGTON STATE LEGISLATIVE BOARD OF
UNITED TRANSPORTATION UNION IN SUPPORT
OF PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

y
vy

*Toun R. Quintan

R. Blair STRONG

Of -

Paine, HAMBLEN, COFFIN,
Brooke & MILLER

1200 Washington Trust
Financial Center

Spokane, Washington 99204

(509) 455-6000

Attorneys for Amicus Curiae

* Counsel of Record
‘a

February 20, 1990

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
err I goo 5 Se ae eT yw aus Ww ¥ l
INTERES! OF tHe AMICUS CURIAE............. 2
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION....... 6

A. THE LEGISLATIVE HISTORY OF 49 U.S.C.
§11504 INDICATES THAT THIS LAW WAS
ENACTED TO RELIEVE THE BURDEN ON
INTERSTATE COMMERCE CAUSED BY THE
INCOME TAX POLICIES OF SOME STATES
INSOFAR AS SUCH POLICIES AFFECT THE
INCOME OF INTERSTATE CARRIER
NN CF ION Se Chie shad eee R eee e eee Obed he aes 6

B. THE MONTANA SUPREME COURT DECISION
VIOLATES 49 U.S.C. §11504 AND SHOULD BE
SET ASIDE AS VIOLATING THE COMMERCE
AND SUPREMACY CLAUSES OF THE USS.
CEES es EE ee creates Cee eels

C. EVEN ABSENT CONGRESSIONAL ACTION,
THE MONTANA INCOME TAX INFORMATION
REQUIREMENTS AND UNDERLYING TAX
VIOLATE THE COMMERCE AND SUPREMACY
se SO earn area a ere Merry sre ae 1]

CONCLUSION

Pe ES OS 0K Grae Hea eek Ov RO DA OKOKER EROS App. |

Yy

il

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES-

Page(s)
Cases
Amerada Hess v. New Jersey, 490 U.S. __, 109 S.Ct.
1617, 106 1.0 2b 56 (S508). . Gectee Fike

Blangers v. Idaho, 763 P.2d 1052 (Ida. 1988), cert.
denied, US. _, 109 S.Ct. 1557, 103 L.Ed.2d
et.) Em arrears

Burlington Northern Inc. v. Montana Department of
Revenue, 761 P.2d 1121 (Mom. 2969)... se

Gibbons v. Ogden, 22 U.S. 186, 9 Wheat. 186, 6 L.Ed.
p< t+. | MIS Se 9

Grooms v. Montana, Flathead County, Montana,
District Court Cause No. DV-89-242B ............ 4,5

Hamm v. Rock Hill, 397 U.S. 306, 85 S.Ct. 384, 13

L..BG.20 SOO (1964). 20... 0 soe ee 10
Hinson v. Lott, 75 U.S. (8 Wall.) 148, 19 L.Ed. 387

CPG) ooo koe a nn sod Vee ee eee 11
Jones v. Rath Packing Co., 430 U.S. 519, 51 L.Ed.2d

604, S97 SA. 1305- (19777)... a eee 12
Mountain States Tel. & Tel. Co. v. Pueblo of Santa

Ana, 472 U.S. 237, 86 L.Ed.2d 168, 105 S.Ct. 2587

t )..) Beer IAN 12
Reiter v. Sonotone Corp., 442 U.S. 330, 60 L.Ed.2d

931, 99 S.Ct. 2326 (1979); es. eee 12
STATUTES
49 USA. S20(a) 3... ee 6
oe 44: SUSE. eee 4, 5, 7, 69, oka te
USA. 11500)... . oe 3, 57 oe to

ili
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued
Page(s)

TE IONE SE os ce ee eee eek esectanda eee 3

LEGtSLATIVE MATERIALS

Conference Report No. 91-1666, 91st Cong. 2d
i Ree Lae oN 0 Ss acho 5K Wie ae se ee a sR 6, 7

ee as se kag eh wees ak CAGE ORD 6
ee sah naa auee deed nme ee be eta 4
he a a a's uke on Rae TORS 6
S. Rep. No. 1261, 91st Cong. 2d Sess. (1970)

Ee eta le Vk aa IA or Pe ee en
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS
ED eo, Tk. Se reece
ob Ag = le SE Sana a ar ee ae 9
ee > | ae) a me arin 3

OTHER AUTHORITIES

Rowland and Vache, Taxing a Moving Target, 22
Idaho L.Rev. 343 (1986)

No. 89-1181

4
4

In The

Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1989

rN
4

BURLINGTON NORTHERN RAILROAD
COMPANY EMPLOYEES,

Petitioners,

MONTANA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE,

Responden ¢

y
_

BRIEF OF AMICUS CURIAE
WASHINGTON STATE LEGISLATIVE BOARD OF
UNITED TRANSPORTATION UNION IN SUPPORT

OF PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

>
wr

This brief amicus curiae is filed with the written
consent of the parties. The letters giving consent accom-
pany this brief filed with the Court.

y
vy

OPINION BELOW

The Supreme Court of the State of Montana issued its
Opinion in this case which is reported at 781 P.2d 1121
(1989). A copy of the Montana Supreme Court’s Opinion
is also included in the Petition for Writ of Certiorari at

ho

Petitioner's Appendix A-11. The amicus curiae cites the
Petitioner’s Appendix when reference is made herein to
the Opinion.

Ly
4

INTEREST OF THE AMICUS CURIAE

The Washington Legislative Board of the United
Transportation Union represents State of Washington
chapters of the United Transportation Union. The office
of the amicus curiae is located at Olympia, Washington.
The Petitioners, Burlington Northern Railroad Company
Employees, are members of the United Transportation
Union. The Washington Legislative Board oversees and
promotes the legislative interests of the Washington
United Transportation Union employees.

The Petitioners are all residents of the State of Wash-
ington. State taxation of income of non-resident
employees of. transportation companies is of particular
interest to transportation employee residents of the State
of Washington, because Washington does not have an
income tax. Because of the absence of a State income tax,
there is no income tax credit in Washington available to
resident transportation employees on account of taxes
paid to another State. Any fore’7n State income taxes
imposed on Washington transportation employees are
therefore extra tax burdens. For Washington resident
transportation employees who pass through several
income tax States, the heavy tax burden is compounded.
An additional burden is the withholding and reporting

requirement imposed by multiple jurisdictions. (For a

discussion of the overall tax problems of interstate trans-
portation employees, see S. Rep. No. 1261, 91st Cong. 2d
Sess. (1970) in the Appendix hereto.)

Since 1982 the Washington resident rail transporta-
tion employees, some of whom are the Petitioners herein,
have been engaged in disputes with both the States of
Montana and Idaho respecting the application of State
income taxes to them. The imposition of Montana and
Idaho income taxes arose by virtue of their employment
on transcontinental “through” freight trains which tra-
verse both States. The Idaho dispute was resolved in 1988
in the Supreme Court of Idaho in Blangers v. Idaho, 763
P.2d 1052 (Ida. 1988), cert. denied, _ US.__, 109 S.Ct.

ro-r.

1357, 103 L.Ed.2d 860 (1989).! The Idaho Supreme Court
held that there was insufficient nexus present under
either the due process clause (Amend XIV, §1) or com-
merce clause (Art I, §8, cl. 3) of the U.S. Constitution to
subject the employees to Idaho income tax.

' The tax disputes have been disruptive of relations
between the different States involved. The Idaho dispute with
the Washington transportation employees resulted in what the
media termed “a tax border war” between Washington and
Idaho. The Washington and Utah legislatures because of
‘ncome tax disputes with Idaho during this period over the
transportation employee issue, enacted retaliatory legislation
against Idaho residents. The Idaho legislature ultimately
enacted Idaho Code §63-3023B which exempted transportation
emplovees earning less than 50% of their compensation in
Idaho from Idaho income taxes. If the Congressional enactment
49 U.S.C. §11504(d) had been followed, it is unlikely the States
would have pursued these matters and these disruptions and
the problems confronting the transportation employees would
not have occurred.

Several of the Employees have brought a legal action
in a Montana court? for a determination of whether they
are subject to Montana income tax or whether the consti-
tutional nexus principles followed in Blangers apply.
When assigned to these particular transcontinental routes
across Idaho and Montana, these employees board the
transcontinental “through” freight trains in Spokane;
Washington, and travel across Idaho to Whitefish, Mon-
tana. At Whitefish they leave the trains, which continue
eastbound on a transcontinental route. After a rest period
at Whitefish, as required by federal law, the emplovees
return on westbound trains to Spokane. The employees
receive their train orders from outside both the States of
Idaho and Montana.

In 1970 Congress enacted Public Law 91-569, which
included what is now 49 U.S.C. §11504, the statute at
issue in this case. 49 U.S.C. §11504 does not deal directly
with the taxation of interstate transportation employees.
Rather, the statute limits the furnishing of income tax
information and other reports by an employer to the State
of an employee’s residence and the State where the
employee earns more than 50% of his income. The
employees in this case do not earn more than 50% of their
income in Montana.

The only issue in this case is whether Burlington
Northern Railroad Company must furnish income tax
information and other reports to the Montana Depart-
ment of Revenue pertaining to non-resident transporta-
tion employees. The case does not deal with the question

a

2 Grooms v. Montana, Flathead County, Montana, District
Court Cause No. DV-89-242B. The hearing on this Declaratory
Judgment action is stil pending.

SI

of whether the employees are taxable in Montana. How-
ever, the Montana Supreme Court in its Opinion, assumes
that the employees are subject to Montana income tax
because “such employees, while in Montana, enjoy the
comfort and protection of Montana’s civil and criminal
laws, and so must share a proportionate burden of the
cost of such protections”. Burlington Northern Inc. v. Mon-
tana Department of Revenue Opinion at A-11, 12 of Peti-
tioner’s Appendix. Whether the Emplovees are taxable in
Montana is in dispute.“ In any event the Montana tax-
ability of the Employees is not an issuein this case. The
only issue is Montana’s power by subpoena or otherwise
to require the employer to furnish employee tax informa-
tion under the provisions of 49 U.S.C. §11504.

~ *
—

~ * The assumption by the Montana Supreme Court that the
employees are taxable in Montana, although unnecessary to
the Opinion, also apparently prejudges the dispute in Groonrs,
supra note 2. The Montana Supreme Court Opinion ignores
Blangers which deals with the general and constitutional taxa-
tion principles applicable to the unique situation of these
workers whose employment on interstate trains takes them
across Montana and Idaho. The Supreme Court of Idaho in
Blangers held that the constitutional nexus required for impos-
ing a State income tax involves more than providing a non-
resident traveler protection and comfort while within the
taxing state. A contrary holding would have meant that any
non-resident working traveler traversing a taxing State would
be subject to that State’s income tax regardless of whether the
traveler did any business in that State, an untenable result.

6

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

A. THE LEGISLATIVE HISTORY OF 49 U.S.C. §11504
INDICATES THAT THIS LAW WAS ENACTED TO
RELIEVE THE BURDEN ON INTERSTATE COM-
MERCE CAUSED BY THE INCOME TAX POLI-
CIES OF SOME STATES INSOFAR AS SUCH
POLICIES AFFECT THE INCOME OF INTER-
STATE CARRIER EMPLOYEES.

What is now 49 U.S.C. §11504(d) was enacted in 1970
and reads as follows:4

(d) A rail... private carrier withholding pay
from an employ ee under subsection (a) or (b) of
this section shall file income tax information
returns and other reports only with -

(1) the State and subdivision of residence
of the employee; and

(2) the State and subdivision in which
withholding of pay is required under sub-
section (a) or (b) of this section.

4 Between the date of its enactment in 1970 and 1978 this
provision, though not in these exact words, was embodied in
49 U.S.C. §26(a). 49 U.S.C. §26(a) was recodified in its sub-
stance along with other Interstate Commerce Act provisions in
1978 in P.L. 95-473 to its present 49 U.S.C. §11504(d). It should
also be noted that the House proposal to restrict income ax
reporting requirements found in HR 10634 in 1970 was even
more restrictive than the Senate proposal ultimately adopted
by the House-Senate Conference Committee. The House,
though recognizing possible tax liability to a transportation
employee, would have limited income tax information report-
ing to the State of employee residence only. See first paragraph
of quotation from Conference Report No. 91-1666, 91st Cong.,
2d Sess. (1970) “Filing Information Returns” infra p. 7

~

The Senate-House Conference Committee makes the
following statement concerning what is now 49 U.S.C.
§11504(d):

FILING INFORMATION RETURNS

The House bill provided that only the State
of the employee’s residence could require the
filing of information returns for income tax
purposes.

The Senate amendment provided that both
the State of employee’s residence and the State
in which he earned more than 50% of his com-
pensation could require the filing of information
returns for income tax purposes.

The conference substitute follows the Senate
amendment.

Conference Report No. 91-1666, 91st Cong. 2d Sess.
(1970).

Further legislative history of 49 U.S.C. §11504 are
found at S. Rep. No. 1261, 91st Cong. 2d Sess. (1970),
relevant portions of which are reprinted herein. Amicus
Appendix, pp. I to 7. S. Rep. 1261 indicates that there was
an extensive legislative hearing on this legislation with
testimony taken from State tax agencies, governmental
transportation officials and representative of the trans-
portation industry itself. (Amicus Appendix, pp. 3 and 4.)
The burdening of interstate commerce by the income tax
policies of some States necessitated the legislation.
(Amicus Appendix, pp. 1 and 2.)

S. Rep. 1261 points out not only the problems of
employers who must withhold tax and report payroll
information for multiple States but also the State income

tax problems of transportation employees who traverse
multiple States in the course of their employment:

_ There is no uniform taxing formula which must
be applied by the States with the result that it is
possible for an employee to be subjected to tax
liability in a number of different states. (Amicus
Appendix, p. 3.)

49 U.S.C. §11504 was enacted to benefit both the
employer, burdened with administrative reporting
requirements, and the employee, burdened with paying
taxes and reporting income in multiple States. As evi-
denced by the Committee Reports, Congress was con-
cerned with the lack of uniformity in the State practices
respecting the ambulatory transportation employees, and
what ultimately was enacted as 49 U.S.C. §11504(d) was
the solution of Congress to multiple and inconsistent tax
reporting requirements which burdened interstate com-
merce. Congress did not exempt interstate employees
from taxation in States where they do not earn more than
50 percent of their income. Nor did Congress forbid
States from taking other steps to collect taxes from non-
resident workers, such as contacting the workers directly.
Congress did, however, mandate in 49 U.S.C. §11504(d)
that if any employee does not earn more than 50 peicent
of his income in any given State, income tax information
shall not be furnished by the employer to that State unless
it is the State of the employee's residence. Moreover, S.
Rep. 1261 specifically indicates that a State which is nei-
ther the residence nor more than 50% earnings State of
the employee (e.g. Montana in this case) lacks the power to
require the employer to furnish employee tax informa-
tion. (Amicus Appendix, p. 7.)

B. THE MONTANA SUPREME COURT DECISION
VIOLATES 49 U.S.C. §11504 AND SHOULD BE SET
ASIDE AS VIOLATING THE COMMERCE AND
SUPREMACY CLAUSES OF THE U.S.
CONSTITUTION.

This case arises from a collision between the power
of the Congress under the Commerce Clause (Art. I, 88,
cl. 3) to limit the manner in which States may enforce
their tax laws against nonresident employees of interstate
carriers and the power of the State of Montana to choose
the method of enforcing its tax laws. The Supremacy
Clause (Art. VI, cl. 2) requires that the laws of Montana
vield to laws enacted by Congress. Gibbons v. Ogden, 22
U.S. 186, 9 Wheat. 186, 6 L.Ed. 23 (1824). Congress did not
merely suggest in 49 U.S.C. §11504(d) that the payroll
information under the circumstances of this case not be
furnished; it prohibited it.

The decision of the Montana Supreme Court asserts
an unfettered power by the State of Montana to require
the furnishing of earnings information of non-resident
employees of interstate Carriers:

Since the furnishing of such information is nec-
essary for the Department of Revenue properly
to administer and apply the Montana state
income tax on nonresident employees, the
requirement that Burlington Northern furnish
such information pursuant to the administrative
subpoena cannot be an unreasonable burden on
interstate commerce.

Burlington Northern, Inc. v. Montana Department of Revenue,
Opinion at p. A-11 of Petitioner’s Appendix. The Opinion
is a direct challenge upon the authority of Congress to

10

limit the manner in which States may enforce their taxa-
tion statutes against nonresidents.

That Congress intended to exercise its power under
the Commerce Clause is illustrated by the legislative
history of 49 U.S.C. §11504. Contrast the following state-
ment from S. Rep. No. 1261 with the quotation imme-
diately above from the Opinion of the Montana Supreme
Court in this case:

The Senate Commerce Committee in favorably
reporting this legislation determined that inter-
state commerce is unreasonably burdened by
certain income taxation policies of some States
insofar as such policies affect interstate carrier
employee’s income.

S. Rep. No. 1261, 91st Cong., 2d Sess. (1970). (Amicus
Appendix, pp. 1 and 2.)

There cannot be two more diametrically opposed per-
spectives than that of the Congress which views some
taxation reporting requirements imposed by States upon
non-resident interstate carrier employee’s income as an
unreasonable burden upon interstate commerce, and that
of the State of Montana which views the mandatory fur-
nishing of tax information from such employees as not
being an unreasonable burden. However, Congress
expressly exercised its power under the Commerce
Clause by enacting 49 U.S.C. §11504, resulting, therefore,
in a direct conflict between the application of an other-
wise valid Montana enactment and federal law, which
conflict must be resolved in favor of the federal enact-
ment. Hamm v. Rock Hill, 397 U.S. 306, 311-312, 85 S.Ct.
384, 13 L.Ed.2d 300 (1964).

1]

C. EVEN ABSENT CONGRESSIONAL ACTION, THE
MONTANA INCOME TAX INFORMATION
REQUIREMENTS AND UNDERLYING TAX VIO-
LATE THE COMMERCE AND SUPREMACY
CLAUSES.

State legislative authority to burden interstate com-
merce is siete eae d circumscribed by the dormant com-
merce clause, which grants to Congress plenary power
over it. Cf. Amerada Hess v. New Jersey, 490 U.S. ___, 109
S.Ct. 1617, 104 L.Ed.2d 58 (1989). Thus even before Con-
gress takes specific action with respect to State tax or
regulatory requirements, States lack the authority to
enact laws which unduly burden interstate commerce. Id.;
see generally Rowland and Vaché, Taxing a Moving Target,
22 Idaho L.Rev. 343 (1986).

In this case, both reporting requirements and the
underlying State income tax would be preempted by the
effect, in each case, of unduly burdening interstate com-
merce, even absent Congressional action. In 1970, the
Senate Commerce Committee concluded, after extensive
hearings, that the withholding and payroll reporting State
tax problems faced by both employers and employees
unreasonably burden interstate commerce. S. Rep. No.
1261, 91st Cong. 2d Sess. (1970); Rowland and Vaché,
supra, 22 Idaho L.Rev. at 375. The Idaho Supreme Court
agreed in Blangers v. Idaho, 763 P.2d 1052 (Ida. 1988), cert.
dented, __ U.S.___, 109 S.Ct. 1557, 103 L.Ed.2d 860 (1989).

But this is not a case involving Congressional inac-
tion. Congress has very clearly spoken in 49 U.S.C.
§11504, and this Court has repeatedly stated that conflict-
ing State laws must give way to Congressional action.
E.g., Hinson v. Lott, 75 U.S. (8 Wall.) 148, 19 L.Ed. 387

12

(1869); Jones v. Rath Packing Co., 430 U.S. 519, 51 L.Ed.2d
604, 97 S.Ct. 1305 (1977); cf. Amerada Hess, supra.

Respondent herein may argue that Moentana’s tax and
reporting requirements do not “conflict” with 49 U.S.C.
$11504. However, the construction given 49 U.S.C. §11504
by Montana is wide of the mark and such construction
only avoids conflict with §11504 by rendering the provi-
sions of §11504 completely ineffective and meaningless.
This Court has repeatedly-stated that courts are obliged
to give effect to every word Congress used, and every
part of a statute. Reiter v. Sonotone Corp., 442 U.S. 330, 60
L.Ed.2d 931, 99 S.Ct. 2326 (1979); Mountain States Tel. &
Tel. Co. v. Pueblo of Santa Ana, 472 U.S. 237, 86 L.Ed.2d 168,
105 S.Ct. 2587 (1985).

If we give effect to every part of 49 U.S.C. §11504, we
see that Congress prohibited States from collecting
income tax information from employers regarding non-
resident interstate carrier employees not earning more
than half their income in such States. Petitioners fit
squarely within this class. Yet Montana insists that it is
free to collect such withholding information from Peti-
tioner’s employer and that so doing does not conflict
with 49 U.S.C. §11504.

Such an anomalous result should not be tolerated.
This Court should accept review of the instant case, and

reverse.

&
vw

CONCLUSION

This case presents the singular and concise question
of the supremacy of Congress in regulating interstate
commerce in enacting an important federal statute. The
Montana decision nullifies in Montana the federal statute
49 U.S.C. §11504(d). The Montana decision unless
reversed may also serve as a precedent in other States for
the ignoring of the federal law. For the reasons set forth
above the amicus curiae requests this Court to grant the
Petition for Writ of Certiorari.

Respectfully submitted,

*JouNn R. Quintan

R. Brair STRONG

Of -

PAINE, HAMBLEN, COFFIN,
BROOKE & MILLER

1200 Washington Trust
Financial Center

Spokane, Washington 99204

Attorneys for Amicus Curiae

*Counsel of Record
for Amicus Curiae

February 20, 1990

App. 1

APPENDIX

INCOME TAXATION - INTERSTATE
CARRIERS AND EMPLOYEES

House Report (Interstate and
Foreign Commerce Committee)
No. 91-1195, June 15, 1970 [To accompany H.R. 10634]

Senate Report (Commerce Committee) No. 91-1261,
Oct. 1, 1970 [To accompany H.R. 10634]

Conference Report No. 91-1666, Dec. 3, 1970
[To accompany H.R. 10634]

Cong. Record Vol. 116 (1970)
DATES OF CONSIDERATION AND PASSAGE
House September 14, December 8, 1970
Senate October 12, December 8, 1970
The Senate Report and the Conference Report are set out.
SENATE REPORT NO. 91-1261

The Committee on Commerce, to which was referred
the bill (H.R. 10634) to amend the Interstate Commerce
Act and the Federal Aviation Act of 1958 in order to
exempt certain wages and salaries of employees from
withholding for income tax purposes under the laws of
States or subdivisions thereof other than the State of
subdivision of the employee's residence, having consid-
ered the same, reports favorably thereon with amend-
ments and recommends that the bill as amended do pass.

BACKGROUND AND NEED SECTION

The Senate Commerce Committee in favorably
reporting this legislation determined that interstate

App. 2

commerce is unreasonably burdened by certain income
taxation policies of some States insofar as such policies
affect interstate carrier employee’s income.

The problem addressed by this legislation is peculiar
to those employees who are required by the nature of
their employment to work in more than one State on a
regular basis. Tax policies in some States have created
great hardships both for interstate carriers and interstate
carrier employees. Certain States have insisted upon
withholding from employees an amount based upon the
employee’s entire annual income even though the portion
of the employee’s income derived from performance of
duties within the State in question may have represented
a very small proportion of his total income. In many
instances this has meant that some employees were
deprived of a substantial amount of their income
throughout the year. It is no answer that at the end of the
vear a good portion of that money might be returned to
the employee.

The employer is also confronted with serious prob-
lems. State withholding provisions typically require that
the employer determine the amount of income earned by
an employee in a particular State and that the employer
take care of all other administrative details that are
related to withholding. Some States which do not require
withholding nonetheless require the employer to file
periodic information returns. Where several States and
numerous employees are involved, the administrative
load can be extremely onerous for the employer.

However, withholding and the requirement of filing
information returns with all of the jurisdictions asserting

App. 3

a right to tax any portion of the compensation of the
employee are not the only problems. For the employee
multiple State tax liability is itself a burden. There is no
uniform taxing formula which must be applied by the
States with the result that it is possible for an employee to

be subjected to tax liability in a number of different
States.

In hearings before the committee, numerous wit-
nesses, representing all manner of viewpoints on the
issues, appeared or provided statements for the hearing
record. Included among those who testified were repre-
sentatives of the Interstate Commerce Tax Reform Com-
mittee (a group formed by certain members of the
International Brotherhood of Teamsters; Flight Engineers
International Association; Marine Firemen’s Union of the
SIU; Sailor’s Union of the Pacific, SIU; National Engi-
neer’s Beneficial Association; the Airline Pilots Associa-
tion, and the Marine, Cooks, & Stewards of the Seafarer’s
International Union); the Brotherhood of Locomotive
Engineers; Association of American Railroads; Wester
Highway Institute; National Association of Motor Bus
Owners; Congress of Railway Unions; Multistate Tax
Commission; Flight Engineers’ International Association,
AFL-CIO; American Trucking Associations, Inc; Air Lines
Pilots Association; Greyhound Lines; Department of Rev-
enue for the State of Arkansas; National Association of
Tax Administrators; Tax Commissioner for the State of
North Dakota; New York State Department of Taxation
and Finance; Bureau of Revenue for the State of New
Mexico; State of Nebraska, Income Tax Division; Depart-
ment of Revenue for the State of Iowa; Director of Reve-
nue State of Illinois; Income Tax Division, State of

App. 4

Alabama; State Tax Commission, State of Nebraska;
Department of Revenue, State of Alaska; Department of
Revenue, State of Washington; and Air Transport
Association.

The hearing record provides several examples of the
difficulty. One trucking company provided the committee
with information showing that it had numerous drivers
who worked in several different States. For example, 342
of its drivers drove in 19 different States, 397 of its
drivers drove in 11 States and hundreds of additional
drivers for just this one company worked regularly in
five or more States. If the majority of those States taxed
the income of the driver, it can readily be seen that the
employer and the employee would be faced with a monu-
mental task of first of all determining tax liability and
secondly complying with the individual tax laws of every
one of those States. Some of the difficulties created by
multiple State taxation were set forth in the hearings. For
example the following assertions were made:

(1) Proper withholding for nonresident
employees requires complete knowledge of
what are often numerous and often complicated
State laws, rules and regulations.

(2) Determination of the exact amount to
be withheld is very difficult, due to lack of
uniformity among the State withholding laws.

(3) Payroll procedures, even though in
many instances computerized, are subject to
continuous change because the routes traversed
by an individual driver or airline pilot vary
from State to State and in the case of airlines
probably vary on each flight. —

App. 5

(4) The cost of administering the nonresi-
dent withholding requirements is extensive.

(5) In the majority of instances, cost of
administration exceeds the amount of tax with-
held and transmitted to the State.

One of the more burdensome problems is confronted
by airline pilots who in the course of a few hours of
employment might fly over several different States. And
these pilots for the same general route may fly over
different States for different periods of time each time
that same route is flown.

To be sure, not all States impose net income taxes On
individuals. But at the present time 38 States do impose
such a tax. All of those States require withholding on the
full amount earned by residents and 31 of those States
require withholding on amounts earned by residents and
nonresidents within their borders. In addition, numerous
cities impose income taxes and require withholding as to
both residents and nonresidents.

The original version of S. 2044 and H.R. 10634 related
solely to the withholding and reporting problems. Each
State except the State of residence would have been pre-
cluded from requiring reporting or withholding for tax
purposes from the wages of interstate carrier employees.

It became apparent in the course of the committee’s
hearings and later deliberations on the problems con-
fronting interstate carrier employees that elimination of
multiple withholding was only a partial answer and, in
fact, could place the employee in greater jeopardy than he
would have been had the bill not been passed. This is

true because the elimination of a State’s power to require

App. 6

withholding has no bearing on the State power to tax. So
it could easily happen that an employee would find him-
self at the end of the year with tax liability in several
States but with an inadequate amount of money withheld
and consequently a very serious and unexpected financial
burden. Indeed, it has come to the Committee’s attention
since the hearings that certain railroad employees and
others are being required-to file information returns prior
to the taxing date. On the other hand, the hearing record
includes testimony expressing concern that a bill con-
fined to limiting withholding and the filing of informa-
tion returns to the State of an interstate carrier’s
employee's residence, as originally contemplated, might
induce non-resident interstate carrier employees to evade
non-resident State income taxes which might properly be
due.

The Committee concluded, therefore, that legislation
in this area would be incomplete if it did not address the
very basic problem of multiple State tax liability along
with the problem of multistate withholding and/or
reporting for taxation purposes.

SUMMARY OF BILL

The amended bill does three basic things:

(1) Limits power to tax income of interstate carrier
employees to the employee’s State of residence and any
State in which he earns more than 50 per centum of the
compensation paid to him y such employer;

(2) Limits power to require withholding for tax pur-
poses from income of interstate carrier employees to

App. 7

either the State in which such employee earned more
than 50 per centum of the compensation paid to him by

such carrier during the preceding calendar year or the
State of residence;

(3) Limits the power to require the filing of informa-
tion returns to the State of residence and the State by
which withholding may be required.

* . *

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385020_0978%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
