# Opposition Brief — Texas v. Chambers

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385020_0968%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1990
- **Citation:** 496 U.S. 912

## Text

May 10, 1990

No.

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
October Term, 1989

THE STATE OF TEXAS,
Petitioner,

vs.

RONALD CURTIS CHAMBERS,
Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
COURT OF CRIMINAL APPEALS OF TEXAS

RESPONDENTS BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

RESPECTFULLY SUBMITTED,

RICHARD ALAN ANDERSON
ONE QUADRANGLE TOWER
2828 ROUTH STREET, SUITE 850
DALLAS, TEXAS 75201

(214) 871-1133

COUNSEL OF RECORD

R. K. WEAVER

404 EXPRESSWAY TOWER - LB 35
6116 N. CENTRAL EXPRESSWAY
DALLAS, TEXAS 75206

(214) 739-6464

COUNSEL FOR RESPONDENT

QUESTIONS PRESENTED
The Respondent does not accept the Petitioner's formulation of the question presented in
the instant case. Respondent believes that this case actualy presents the following
questions:

1. Can the requirement of Batson v. Kentucky that a prima facie case of purposeful racial
discrimination in the exercise of peremptory strikes by the State be rebutted by the
testimony of a prosecutor to the effect that he cannot recall why he exercised the

strike, however, he has in other cases has a racially neutral excuse for striking members
of the accused's race and that it is his habit not to exercise strikes for racial motiva-

tions?

2. Assuming that the first question is answered “yes”, will that testimony suffice to

rebut a prima facie case of purposeful racial discrimination in the exercise of peremp-

tory strikes by the State when the prosecutor neither conducted the vior dire of the

jurors at issue nor in fact exercised the strikes at issue? Will the habits on one
prosecutor suffice to answer why another prosecutor struck a member of the accused's race
or must the prosecutor who actually engaged in the racially discriminatory conduct ex-

plain his own actions?

3. Should the Court abandon the standards accounced in Batson v. Kentucky that the
question of whether the State had rebutted a prima facie case of purposeful racial
discrimination in the exercise of peremptory strikes by the State is a question of fact
for the trial judge to resolve and substitute in its place a class of “excuses” which

will, as a matter of law, always rebut the defendant's prima facie case of racially

discriminatory exercise of peremptory challenges?

TABLE OF CONTENTS
PAGE:
ce, aT aT TINIEST Me a AO a ee rh A i
sc diecuidansitsielensbibdisacudesboeaiemeinds tie tehiadaa maeeineiaanaetials ii
anne an cance boceuneahobeuniantnielagiomsauassadiinssnidadatietedassiidaianes iV
a a i cocenietinieemiamsenabale onieedeaeiiae 1
a Ot al ies sadeconcaminketen aaaanaaaeabeeane 2

REASONS FOR REFUSING THE WRIT

1. The Court of Criminal Appeals holding in this case has no particular
importance to the interpretation of Batson and ff left undisturbed, the holding will

have no impact on the public's confidence in the criminal justice system...................... 11

2. The holding below is totally consistent with this Court's opinion in

EER SSE ee OE REE: EEE ee RC IS He ERE MC? ON LO LoS 14

3. The meaning of the phrase “clear and reasonably specific’ explanation, as
that term applies to Batson has been extensively explained by the lower

courts and no further explanation iS rEQUIFED..................eceeceeceeeeeeseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeees sedsasieaaeeal 16

4. The holding of the Texas Court of Criminal Appeals is in no way inconsistent

with this Honorable Court's previous interpretations of any term in any case,

UCRREEPTEN ‘PITIEE W EP MINNIE, »0i0-cccccuséctisckeonatsosssontusuicendbevnashcncssevenpsieasanaucharieindhteiuanbiandsaaaned 17

acs OF CONTENTS - ocanaal

5. The State failed to give any explanation as to why Prosecutor Beach
struck two of the three black jurors in this case, and failedto give any

reason why Prosecutor Macaluso struck the third black juror...

6. There is no need for this Honorable Court to further address the issue of
what constitutes “clear and reasonably specific” testimony as the lower courts

have clearly and unambiguously resolved that issue...

i i iia icnaeegccmnnéecens
APPENDIX A (CASES REMANDED FOR BATSON HEARING)

APPENDIX B (CASES AFFIRMED ON BATSON ISSUE)...........

APPENDIX C (TEXAS RULES OF APPELLATE PROCEDURE, RULE 90)...

LIST OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:

Batson v. Kentucky, 476 U.S. 79 (1986), passim
Daniels v. State, 768 S.W.2d 314 , 315 (Tex. App. - Tyler, 1988 PDA refd), 13
Evans v. State, 622 S.W.2d 866, 868 (Tex. Crim. App. 1981), 6

Farris v. State, 712 S.W.2d 512 (Tex. Crim. App. 1986), 6

Fry Roofing Co. v. Wood, 344 U.S. 157, 600 (1962), 2

Grayson v. Harris, 267 U.S. 352, 358 (1952), 2

Griffith v. Kentucky, 479 U.S. 314 (1987), 5

Hill v. State, 775 S.W.2d 754 (Tex. App. - Dallas, 1989 PDA refd), 13

Johnson v. State, 527 S.W.2d 525 (Tex. Crim. App. 1975), 6

Lewis v. State, 775 S.W.2d 13, 15 (Tex. App. - Hou[14th], 1989 PDA refd), 13
Lewis v. State, 779 S.W.2d 449, 454 (Tex. App. - Tyler, 1989), 13

McKinney v. State, 761 S.W.2¢ 549, 551 (Tex. App. - Corpus Christi, 1988 no PDR
Miller v. State, 741 S.W.2d 501 (Tex. App. - Corpus Christi, 1987), 13

Portland Ry. Co. v. Railroad Commission, 229 U.S. 397, 412 (19

Robinson v. State, 756 S.W.2d 62 (Tex. App. - Texarkana, 1988 no PDA), 12

Stewart v. State, 686 S.W.2d 118, 122 (Tex. Crim. App. 1984), 6

Swain v. Alabama, 380 U.S. 202 (1965), 6
Williams v. State. 485 S.W.2d 274 (Tex. Crim. App. 1972), 6

Statutes & Rules:

TEX. CODE CRIM. PROC. ANN. art. 34.01 ef. seq. (1965), 3

LIST OF AUTHORITIES (continued)
Statutes & Rules (continued):
TEX. CODE CRIM. PROC. ANN. art. 35.03 (1965), 3
TEX. CODE CRIM. PROC. ANN. art. 35.04 (1965), 3, 4
TEX. CODE CRIM. PROC. ANN. arts. 35.15 ef. seq. (1965), 4
TEX. CODE CRIM. PROC. ANN. art. 35.16 (1965), 4
TEX. CODE CRIM. PROC. ANN. art. 35.17 (2) (1965), 3
TEX. CODE CRIM. PROC. ANN. art. 36.20 (1965), 6
TEX. R. APP. PRO. 52 (1986), 6

TEX. R. APP. PROC. 90, 12

Miscellaneous:

Macbeth, Wm. Shakespeare, Act

Q
<=
WwW
©
©
)
@
<<
J
@
™“N
N
WwW

.

No.

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
October Term, 1989

THE STATE OF TEXAS,

Petitioner,
vs.
RONALD CURTIS CHAMBERS,
Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
COURT OF CRIMINAL APPEALS OF TEXAS

RESPONDENTS BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

Respondent, Ronald Curtis Chambers, respectfully requests that this Court deny the
petition for writ of certiorari, seeking review of the Texas Court of Criminal Appeals
opinion in this case. That opinion is not yet reported, and dppears in the Petitioner's

Appendix as “Appendix A".

JURISDICTION

The Respondent does not dispute the jurisdictional statement contained in the peti-

tion.

re

The Respondent would, however, note that whether the State has successfully rebut-

ted a prima facie case of racially discriminatory application of peremptory challenges

RESPONDENT'S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION - PAGE 1

= ww
has been cetermined to be a question of fact for the trial court to resolve. Batson v.
Kentucky, infra at 476 U.S. 98 and fn. 21. In this case, the trial judge found as a
matter of fact that “[A]fter considering all of the evidence admitted at the hearing, and
after evaluating the credibility of the witness and giving due weight to the evidence
proffered by the State, the Court was, and still is, of the opinion that the State has
failed to meet the ‘clear and reasonably specific” criteria constitutionally necessary
to rebut the Appellant's prima facie case of racially discriminatory exercise of
peremptory strikes." Trial Court's Findings of Fact, Appendix A-8 of Petitioner's
Petition. This fact finding was reviewed by the Texas Court of Criminal Appeals and
was found to be supported inthe appellate record. Appendix A-2, Petitioner's

Petition.

Traditionally this Honorable Court will not exercise its jurisdiction merely to
review a decision of a state court upon a question of fact. See: Grayson v. Harris, 267
U.S. 352, 358 (1952); Portland Ry. Co. v. Railroad Commission, 229 U.S. 397, 412 (1913);
Fry Roofing Co. v. Wood, 344 U.S. 157, 600 (1962). In order to grant the relief that the
Petitioner requests, this Honorable Court will of necessity have to reexamine the state
court's findings and conclusions of fact which are supported in the record. For this
reason, the Respondent respectfully prays that the Court decline jurisdiction of this
case.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The Respondent expressly objects to the Statement of the Case contained in the
Petitioners Petition for Writ of Certiorari. Respondent believes that the Petitioner's
Statement contains material misrepresentations of fact, omits critical facts and includes

argument which is unsupported in law and/or the appellate’ record.

RESPONDENTS BRIEF IN OPPOSITION - PAGE 2

The Respondent, Ronala Curtis Chambers, was charged by indictment with the offense
of capital murder. In a jury trial beginning November 6, 1985, the Respondent entered a
plea of not guilty to the allegations contained in the indictment charging him with the
offense of murder during the course of a robbery. At the conclusion of the
guilt/innocence phase of the trial, the Respondent was found guilty and the trial pro-
ceeded to the punishment phase. At the conclusion of the punishment phase of the trial,
the jury found both of the special issues submitted to tt "yes", and,

pursuant to Texas law, the Respondent was sentenced to death.

The sufficiency of the evidence to support the verdict is not relevant to the issues
presented in the instant Petition. The Respondent will accept the recitation of the trial
evidence found at pages four and five of the Petitioner's Petition for Writ of Certiorari

as being substantially correct.

In order to fully understand the issues raised by Respondent on appeal and chai-
lenged by Petitioner in this Application for Writ of Certiorari, a brief recitation of

the facts concerning the jury selection process is necessary.

A special venire was issued to summon potential jurors for the trial of this cause
pursuant to the provisions of TEX. CODE CRIM. PROC. ANN. art. 34.01 ef. seq. (1965)
After the veniremen were called and the general excuses and exemptions were resolved by

e trial judge pursuant to TEX. CODE CRIM. PROC. ANN. arts. 35.03 & 35.04 (1965),
ndividual voir dire of the remaining jurors was conducted pursuant to TEX. CODE CRIM
PROC. ANN. art. 35.17 (2) (1965). (R.II 1-125, R.Ill- 1-92, R.VI- 11). Prior to the

eginning of the individual voir dire, it was agreed that the race of the individual
urors would be reflected in the appellate record by having the court reporter note on

he record the race of the potential juror. (R.IV- 4-6).

RESPONDENTS BRIEF IN OPPOSITION - PAGE 3

BEST AVAILABLE COPY

During the course of the voir dire, sixteen (16) black potential jurors were called
for consideration. Of these, eleven (11) were excused upon a challenge for cause by the
State pursuant to TEX. CODE CRIM. PROC. ANN. art. 35.16 (1965). (R.IV- 42, 44: R.VI- 62,
98; R.VIl- 92, 99-100; R. XIV- 8; R.XVIll- 181; R.XXI- 93; R_XXII- 16; R.XV- 46; R.XV-

79; R.XVI- 109; R. XVII- 231

Of the remaining five potential biack jurors, one, Mrs. Thelma Sanders Clardy, was
excused Dy the parties by agreement (R.VI- 99-101). A second black potential juror, Ms.
Ethel R. Tennell, was excused upon her claiming of a statutory exemption. (R.XV- 80)

TEX. CODE CRIM. PROC. ANN. art. 35.04 (1965)

The remaining three (3) black potential jurors, Norrette Cereese Johnson, Loretta
B. Rooks and Sandra A. Harrison, were all excused when the State exercised a peremptory
cnalienge on each pursuant to TEX. CODE CRIM. PROC. ANN. arts. 35.15 ef. seg. (1965)
(R.VI- 28; R.IX- 68); R.XIV- 36). In the case of both Ms. Rooks and Ms. Harrison. the
exercise of a peremptory followed the State's unsuccessful efforts to have the potential

juror Struck for cause. (R.IX- 53; R.XIV -24).

In each instance where the State exercised a peremptory challenge to excuse a black
potential juror, the Respondent objected to the use of a peremptory strike to excuse the
juror, asked that the prosecutor be examined on the issue of use of peremptory strikes
to excuse black jurors, and, as a proffer to justify the request to be allowed to
examine the prosecutor on the exercise of the strike, advised the trial court that if
permitted to question the prosecutor, the Respondent believed that he could establish
that the veniremen were stricken due to their race. (R.VI- 38-39; R.IX- 68-68: R.XIV-
36-37). The trail judge refused to permit the prosecutor to be examined on this issue.

The Appellant's proffers triat he expected the examinations to establish that the strikes

RESPONDENTS BRIEF IN OPPOSITION - PAGE 4

were racially motivated were not challenged by the State.

Between the State's challenges for cause and its exercise of peremptory challenges,
the Respondent, a black man, was tried by an all white jury for the killing of a white

man.

in the subsequent direct appeal, the Respondent challenged the prosecutors exer-
cise of peremptory challenges against the three black potential jurors on the basis of

this Honorable Court's decision in Batson v. Kentucky, 476 U.S. 79 (1986). *

On direct appeal, it was Respondent's stated position that no remand for a Batson
hearing was necessary as, under Texas law, since the State failed to contradict the
Respondent's proffer that the State's use of its peremptory strikes was racially moti-
vated, the Respondent was entitled to relief as a matter of law. This proffer was never

Jenied or modified or contradicted in any manner, and, thus, should be binding on the

April 30, 1986, some four months after the trial of this cause. This Court nas, however
subs2quently held that the decision in Batson shall be applied retroactively to those
cases which were pending on direct appeal on the date that the decision was rencerec
See: Griffith v. Kentucky, 479 U.S. 314 (1987). The instant case falls wrtnin these
guidelines making the decision of the Court in Batson fully applicable in this case
Assuming, arguendo, that Batson were not applicable to this case, the Responcent »
nevertheless be entitled to a reversal of his conviction as nis uncontracictec pro*er
established that the exclusions at issue were racially mMotivatec Oninging NIM wrr

dictates of Swain v. Alabama, 380 U.S. 202 (1965

RESPONDENTS BRIEF IN OPPOSITION - PAGE 5

State and under Texas law, should have been binding on the reviewing court.*

The Respondent argued that in this case, the State had a full opportunity to
explain why they struck all possible black jurors. When the Respondent sought to elicit
testimony to establish that the strikes were racially motivated, the State refused to
provide that testimony. When the Respondent advised the Court that he expected the
evidence would show that the strikes were racially motivated, the State failed to deny
or contradict this allegation. Even under the long standing holding of Swain the Re-
spondent had established an uncontradicted prima facie case that the State had excluded
the aforesaid black veniremen for racial reasons, thus the State may not plead that it
should be permitted a second opportunity to explain its actions based upon the Supreme
Court's holding in Batson. The State chose to stay silent at trial and should not be

permitted to avoid the results of that choice by being permitted to atternpt to justify

2. See: Stewart v. State, 686 S.W.2d 118, 122 (Tex. Crim. App. 1984) (an offer by counsel
of a statement concerning what the excluded evidence would have been had the testimony
been acmitted preserves exclusion for appellate review); Johnson v. State, 527 S.W.2d 525

(Tex. Crim. App. 1975) (defendant must proffer evidence when it becomes relevant to

preserve for appellate review). See: TEX. CODE CRIM. PROC. ANN. art. 36.20 (1965) (since

repealed); TEX. R. APP. PRO. 52 (1986); Evans v. State, 622 S.W.2d 866, 868 (Tex. Crim.
App. 1981) (appellate court bound by the record on appeal as presented to it); Williams
v. State, 485 S.W.2d 274 (Tex. Crim. App. 1972) (matters not supported by appellate
record may not provide a basis for making any appellate decision); Farris v. State, 712
S.W.2d 512 (Tex. Crim. App. 1986) (party may not supplement an appellate record by

adding new testimony not educed at original trial).

RESPONDENTS BRIEF IN OPPOSITION - PAGE 6

ar

he

5 actions at this late date. The Texas Court of Criminal Appeals did not address this

rgument, rather it remanded the case to the trial court for a retrospective Batson

earing.

On March 3, 1988, the retired state district judge who presided over the jury
selection process in Respondent's trial conducted the retrospective Batson hearing
ordered by the Texas Court of Crimina! Appeals. The judge took judicial notice of the
events which transpired during the original voir dire, including the fact that the State
exercised its peremptory strikes to exclude all members of the accused's race from the
iury who were not successfully challenged for cause by the State; it exercised a dispro-
Dortionate percentage of its strikes to exclude members of the accused's race from the
lury; its voir dire questions of members of the accused's race were in no way dis-
tinctive, nor did they elicit any information which would, on its face, justify the use
of a peremptory challenge on the jurors; much of the questioning of black jurors was
perfunctory and not designed to elicit any information which wouid justify using a
peremptory strike; the State sought to challenge blacks for cause on frivolous grouncs,
and when those were rejected by the court, the State exercised a peremptory challenge to
exclude the biack jurors; as a result of the prosecutor's exercise of the State's
peremptory challenges, members of the Respondent's race were substantially underrepre-
sented on his jury; the State exercised peremptory challenges on blacks who, Dy their
answers during voir dire appeared to be strong law enforcement advocates and pro-State
Based upon these facts, the trial judge determined that the Respondent had estabiishec a
prima facie case of purposeful racial discrimination by the State in its exercise of

peremptory challenges. The State does not now challenge this finding.

In an effort to rebut the Respondent's prima facie case of discriminatory exercise

of peremptory challenges, the State calied one of the two prosecutors who conducted par

,ESPONDENTS BRIEF IN OPPOSITION - PAGE 7

of the voir dire in this cause, Paul Macaluso. Mr. Macaluso expressly stated that due to
the passage of time since the trial of this cause, he could not remember these jurors,
and more specifically, he could not recall why he exercised peremptory strikes to
eliminate these black jurors from the Respondent's jury. (Tr.-45, 51, 59, 71, 80-81, 87-
88, 94-95, 96, 125-128).

Mr. Macaluso did indicate that he had never stricken a potential juror solely on the
basis of race, (Tr.- 51, 67, 78); however, this Honorable Court specifically rejected
"such an “excuse” as an adequate basis for finding that the accused's prima facie case of
discrimination had been rebutted, holding that the prosecutor could not rebut a prima
facie case “merely by denying that he had a discriminatory motive or affirming his good
faith in individual selections." Batson, supra at 1723. Further, this prosecutor, Mr.
Macaluso, did not exercise all of the strikes at issue, although he did profess to have
“some input" into the decision to strike the juror. See, e.g.: (Tr.- 90-93) and where Mr.
Beach, and not Mr. Macaluso, exercised the State's peremptory strike on jurors Rooks a

Jonhnson. (R.VI- 28; R.1X- 68).

In attempting to justify their striking of the black jurors, the prosecutor testi-
fied that though he couldn't remember why he struck the jurors at issue, he had, prior
~ to the h2aring on March 3, 1988, reviewed the transcription of the voir dire proceedings
regarding the three jurors stricken and their respective juror questionnaires. (Tr.- 33-
34). He then testified, over objection, that in general he found certain answers in the
voir dire and the juror questionnaires which were of such a nature as would, in most if

not all cases, result in his striking similarly situated jurors in other cases.

It must be remembered that Mr. Macaluso did not testify from a refreshed recollec-

tion after reviewing the materials from the original trial. Though he reviewed the

RESPONDENTS BRIEF IN OPPOSITION - PAGE 8

iaterials, they did not refresh his independent recollection, (Tr.-45, 51, 59, 71, 80-
1, 87-88, 94-95, 96, 125-128); he was not speaking from memory thus revived. He had no
ersonal knowledge concerning anything which happened at the trial at issue and based

lis testimony entirely on habit in other cases.

Even though inadmissible as a matter of Texas Evidentiary law, the prosecutor was
ermitted to testify concerning general matters of practice and procedure employed by
im in exercising peremptory challenges in other cases. The proposed inference presumab-
y is that if he struck jurors generally in other cases on the grounds related, he

struck the instant jurors for similar non-racial reasons.

In addition, it was clearly established that Mr. Macaluso did not make two of the
strikes at issue. Mr. Beach did. Mr. Macaluso had no knowledge as to why Mr. Beach
sxercised strikes, testifying only that he recalled that they discussed the strikes and
hat Mr. Macaluso had “some input" into the decision. He did not make the strikes at
ssue; he did not know why Mr. Beach made the strikes; he did discuss the decision anc
yenerally had some input into the decision, but could not testify as to Mr. Beach's
hought processes or reasons for making two of the three strikes at issue. (Tr.- 7-8).
There is, quite simply, no evidence as to why Mr. Beach exercised strikes in two of the

hree cases at issue.

After briefing by the parties and submission of proposed findings of fact and
sonclusions of law by both sides, the trial judge reconvened the proceedings on May 6,
|988, and announced rulings in favor of Respondent. The complete record, including
indings of fact and conclusions of law was forwarded to the Texas Court of Criminal

\ppeals.

ESPONDENTS BRIEF IN OPPOSITION - PAGE 9

In a post submission brief, the State complained that based upon portions of the
findings of fact and record which it found ambiguous, the Court could not be sure that
the trial judge had given full consideration to the testimony of Mr. Macaluso. Essen-
tially, the State argued that the trial judge had rejected the testimony out of hand

and had not properly considered it.

On June 28, 1989, the Texas Court of Criminal Appeals delivered a per curiam
opinion declaring that it could not be sure from the record that the trial judge had
property “considered” the proffered testimony, but expressly refusing to judge the
weight or credibility of the witness’ testimony, and remanded it to the trial judge to
supplement his findings of fact to clarify whether he had considered the testimony in

reaching the conclusions contained in the findings of fact filed with the Court.

On July 18, 1988, the trial judge filed new findings of fact and conclusions of law
wherein he clarified his earlier findings by expressly stating that he had considered

the testimony of the only State's witness. The findings of fact otherwise remained the

same.

These findings were forwarded to the Texas Court of Criminal Appeals, and on
October 25, 1989, that court adopted those findings in its opinion, finding that they
_ were adequately supported in the appellate record. In that opinion, the Texas Court of
Criminal Appeals reversed the Respondent's conviction and remanded the case to the trial
court for a new trial. It is from this opinion of the Texas Court of Criminal Appeals

that the State now seeks relief.

RESPONDENTS BRIEF IN OPPOSITION - PAGE 10

REASONS WHY THE PETITION SHOULD BE DENIED

1. The Court of Criminal Appeals holding in this case has no particular importance to
the interpretation of Batson and if left undisturbed, the holding wil! have no impact on
the public's confidence in the criminal justice system.

In its first reason for granting this writ, the State suggests that the instant
decision is a critical holding that will seriously erode the public's confidence in the
criminal justice system. Any serious, impartial review of this case, or the cases handed
down by the Texas appellate courts since this Honorable Court's decision is Batson will

quickly dispel any such conclusion.

First, this case does not purport to provide any guidance or explanation of the
Batson case. All this decision holds is that the unique findings of fact are
adequately supported in the appellate record. The conclusions of law are each
quotations from existing cases and break no new ground whatsoever. This case will have

next to no precedential value and is clearly limited to the unique facts of this case.

Second, the State suggests that the Texas Courts have somehow fallen into 2
“morass” and are incapable of dealing with the Batson decision absent some additional

guidance from this Honorable Court. Nothing could be further than the truth.

Since 1986, when the Batson case was handed down, the Texas courts have had

numerous opportunities to address the application of that holding.

First, the various courts exercised their jurisdiction to abate numerous appeals
and remand the cases to the trial court for retrospective Batson hearings such as were

had in this case. See Appendix A.

After such hearings were had, a review of WESTLAW shows seventy-four (74) unpub-

lished decisions and eight-nine (89) published decisions addressing the application of

RESPONDENTS BRIEF IN OPPOSITION - PAGE 11

Batson. Under Texas law, the appellate courts may only declare a case to be unpublished
if the issues are clearly settled. TEX. R. APP. PROC. 90. The standards for publication
dictate that an opinion by the court of appeals shall be published only if, in the

judgment of the majority of the justices participating in the decision, it is one that

"(1) establishes a new rule of law, alters or modifies and existing rule, or applies an
existing rule to a novel fact situation likely to recur in future cases; (2) involves a

legal issue of continuing public interest; (3) criticizes existing law; or (4) resolves

an apparent conflict of authority."

Clearly, the shear volume of unpublished cases in Texas dealing with Batson issues
establishes that the Texas courts do not believe that the issues presented are particu-

larly difficult or deal with matters of continuing public interest.

Of the published opinions, seventy-nine (79) resulted in the appellate court de-
termining that either the appellant failed to establish a prima facie case, or that
prosecutor gave racially neutral explanations sufficiently related to the facts of

the case to rebut the prima facie case. See Appendix B.

Not counting this case, there have been a total of ten (10) published cases where
the prosecutor's explanation was found inadequate. In three cases, the prosecutor admit-
ted that he had exercised a peremptory challenge on the accused because of the race of
the juror: Robinson v. State, 756 S.W.2d 62 (Tex. App. - Texarkana, 1988) no PDR;
McKinney v. State, 761 S.W.2d 549, 551 (Tex. App. - Corpus Christi, 1988) no PDR; Speake
v. State, 740 S.W.2d 486 (Tex. App. - Hou[1st], 1997) no PDR.

In two cases, the appellate court simply noted that the trial court had filed
findings of fact noting that the state's exercise of peremptory strikes on minorities

was racially motivated, and that their review of the record showed that the findings

RESPONDENTS BRIEF IN OPPOSITION - PAGE 12

BEST AVAILABLE COPY ' /

were supported in the record of the Batson hearing: Miller v. State, 741 S.W.2d 501

(Tex. App. - Corpus Christi, 1987); Witz v. State, 749 S.W.2d 519, 520 (Tex. App. -
Hou[14th], 1988) no PDR.

In another case, the State refused to give any reason for the exercise of their
Strikes after the appellant established a prima facie case: Seubert v. State, 749 S.W.2d
585 (Tex. App - Hou[1st] 1988.

The final group of cases were reversed when the prosecutor gave explanations
that were not related to the facts of the case, there was a total lack of meaningful
questioning by the prosecutor, there was disparate treatment of jurors (persons with
the same or similar characteristics were not struck), there was disparate examination
of the members of the venire (questions of a challenged juror so as to evoke a
certain response without asking the same questions of other members of the venire),
and explanations based upon assumed group traits not shown to apply to the challenged
juror specifically: Lewis v. State, 775 S.W.2d 13, 15 (Tex. App. - Hou[14th], 1989)
PDR refd; Daniels v. State, 768 S.W.2d 314, 315 (Tex. App. - Tyler, 1988) PDR
refd; Lewis v. State, 779 S.W.2d 449, 454 (Tex. App. - Tyler, 1989); Hi// v. State,

775 S.W.2d 754 (Tex. App. - Dallas, 1989) PDR refd.

Clearly, the only way the State can loose a Batson argument is if it confesses
error, refuses to answer at all, or makes an answer that is either totally refuted by

the record or so vague and unconnected to the case as to constitute no answer at all.

The business of criminal justice in Texas has in no way been eroded by this
case, nor by Batson itself. The Texas courts are more than up to the challenge of

resolving these issues and have, in fact, done so with remarkable dispatch. No one is

RESPONDENTS BRIEF IN OPPOSITION - PAGE 13

“bewildered” by this holding or any other holding on Batson handed down by the Texas

appellate courts.

2. The holding below is totally consistent with this Court's opinion in Batson.
In its second reason for review, the State suggests that the instant opinion is in

conflict with this Honorable Court's holding in Batson. Again, a review of the proce-

edings below and the limited opinion in this case clearly establishes that the instant

opinion is at total harmony with Batson.

In this case, the Respondent established a prima facie case of racial discrimina-
tion in the application of the State's peremptory challenges. In an effort to rebut
that showing, the state called one of two prosecutors who represented the State at the
voir dire proceedings in this case. He testified that he couldnt remember why he
struck the one juror he struck. He further admitted that he didn't strike two of the

black jurors at issue, another prosecutor did.

If Batson has any meaning at all, it must mean that "I don't remember" will not
constitute a reasonably specific racially neutral explanation related to the facts of
the case sufficient to justify a finding that a prima facie case has been rebutted.
Surely some explanation is clearly required. The instant explanation is totally specu-

lative, inferential and in no way related to this particular case.

Further, the one witness the State chose to cail did not in fact strike two of the
three jurors at issue! The witness that they did call had no independent knowledge as to
why those jurors were stricken, and could only state that he had some "input" into the
decision. Perhaps he didn‘ act for racially discriminatory reasons, but the record is
silent as to the motivation of the prosecutor who in fact conducted the instant voir

dire and who in fact exercised the peremptory strikes at issue.

RESPONDENTS BRIEF IN OPPOSITION - PAGE 14

This Honorable Court specifically stated that it intended the prosecutor to come
rward “with a neutral explanation of his action” to rebut a prima facie case.
mphasis added) Batson, supra at 100. Clearly, to rebut the Respondent's prima
cie case with regards to jurors Rooks and Johnson, the prosecutor who
Nducted the voir dire, who made the decision to exercise the State's strike
1d who actually made that strike, Mr. Beach, if available, is constitutionally required
come forward and explain "his action". The record in this case affirmatively

tablishes that Mr. Beach was available to testify.

It seem curious to suggest that in light of a requirement to explain why strikes
ere used on members of the Respondent's race, the State would tenaciously hold to the
osition that “I don't remember" and "I didn't do it” would suffice. Rather than
ander the prosecutor's explanations futile, all this case does is state that where no
2asonable explanation is proffered, or where that explanation consists of "I don't
2mempber", the State has failed to meet its burden. Such a holding is in total accord

ith this Honorable Court's decision in Batson.

Further, even if one prosecutor could speak for the actions of another, then that
osecutor should have to explain why the first prosecutor struck the juror at issue.
vere was no such explanation here. All Mr. Macaluso stated was why he acted the way
2 did, not why Mr. Beach acted as Mr. Beach was shown to have acted. Mr. Macaluso
stified concerning his prior actions in other cases, attempting to raise the
ference that if he had acted in a racially neutral manner in striking blacks in
her cases, he must have also acted in a racially neutral manner in this case, even

ough he admitted that he could not in fact testify that such was the case.

ESPONDENT'S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION - PAGE 15

Finally, the excuses i a by Mr. Macaluso amuiaatin actions in other
cases were not related to the facts of the case, there was a total lack of meaningful
questioning by the prosecutor, there was disparate treatment of jurors (persons with the
same or similar characteristics were not struck), there was disparate examination of the
members of the venire (questions of a challenged juror so as to evoke a Certain response
without asking the same questions of other members of the venire), and explanations
based upon assumed group traits not shown to apply to the challenged juror specifically.
Even if the testimony was accepted at face value, it is of the nature that would fail to
rebut the Respondent's prima facie case of racially discriminatory application of the
State's peremptory challenges.
3. The meaning of the phrase “clear and reasonably specific" explanation, as that
term applies to Batson has been extensively explained by the lower courts and no
further explanation is required.

The State's suggestion that the term “clear and reasonably specific” explanations
for the exercise of peremptory challenges has not been adequately addressed by the lower
courts is unsupportable. As noted above, the Texas courts have had nearly 90 opportuni-
ties in published opinions to address this issue. Essentially, any explanation will
suffice, uniess that explanation constitutes an admission of racial motivation in making
a strike or the explanation is totally refuted by the record, such as when the reason
given is that the juror is too young, but similarly situated white jurors were not

stricken.

The Texas courts have been extremely tolerz.it of the State's use of
peremptory challenges to exclude members of the accused's race. Day in and day
out, black men continue to be tried by all white juries. As long as the State

makes even the slightest effort to justify its use of peremptory challenges on

RESPONDENTS BRIEF IN OPPOSITION - PAGE 16

: 4 . ,
non-racial grounds, the courts will accept that reason unless the excuse is

Clearly and demonstrably false.

The problem in this case is that the State simply couldn't, or wouldn't, explain
why it struck three black jurors. The State wishes this Court to deciare that "I can't
remember" is a specific, racially neutral excuse related to the facts of the case. Such
a conclusion is totally out of harmony with the clear holding in Batson, and would, if
adopted, totally evicerate Batson.

4. The holding of the Texas Court of Criminal Appeals is in no way inconsistent with
this Honorable Court's previous interpretations of any term in any case, including Title
Vil cases.

The argument advanced by the State in this reason for review assumes that the State
in fact gave an explanation for the exercise of peremptory challenges on the remaining
members of the Respondent's race. As previously noted, the State totally failed to make
any explanaticn as to why two jurors were stricken, and the only explanation as to the

third juror was that in other cases the prosecutor had not stricken jurors for racial

reasons.

In no instance has Respondent been able to find a Title VIl case where "I don't
remember" constituted a “clear and reasonably specific’ explanation to justify racially
discriminatory actions. The State cites to no such case. The State did not offer any
legitimate reason for the strikes at issue, and the holding of the Texas Court of
Criminal Appeals is in no way inconsistent with any holding of this Honorable Court.

5. The State failed to give any explanation as to why Prosecutor Beach struck two

of the three black jurors in this case, and failed to give any reason why
Prosecutor Macaluso struck the third black juror.

In its fifth reason for review, the State seeks to suggest that it gave an adequate

RESPONDENTS BRIEF IN OPPOSITION - PAGE 17

justification for striking the three black jurors and, therefore, the instant case
should be reversed. This conclusion ignores the clear import of the trial testimony and
the clear intention of this Honorable court to rely on the trial judge's determination

of whether the excuses proffered meet the standards set out in Batson.

While the State gives lip service to the proposition that the trial judge is the
sole arbiter of the testimony given, it then ignores the clear and unmistakable finding
of fact by the trial judge that the State did not explain why Prosecutor Beach struck
two jurors. Further, the State ignores the clear finding of fact that the excuses given
by Prosecutor Macaluso were not sufficiently specific, or related to this case to rebut
the Respondent's prima facie case of racially discriminatory use of peremptory chal-

lenges.

Further, the State totally ignores the fact that Prosecutor Macaluso could not
remember this case in any particulars, and could not state why he struck the one juror

he struck. All he could do was Say that in other cases he had exercised strikes for

specified reasons, and that he assumed that consistent with his habit, he had exercised
the strike on Juror Harrison for similar reasons. He could not, or would not,
affirmatively state under oath that in fact these reasons were why he struck Juror

Harrison.

Further, although he professed to have some “input” into the decision of Prosecutor
Beach to strike the other two jurors, he admitted that he didnt make the strike,
couldn't say why Prosecutor Beach struck the jurors, and couldn't begin to testify as to

the thought processes of Prosecutor Beach.

Prosecutor Beach was available at the hearing to testify, but the State chose not to

RESPONDENTS BRIEF IN OPPOSITION - PAGE 18

ve ww
Call him, raising the reasonable inference that his testimony would not support the

State's efforts to rebut the Respondent's prima facie case.

At no time did Prosecutor Macaluso testify to any fact, only to habit. He expressly
Stated he had no independent memory of the events of the trial. His testimony was
exclusively about what he did in other cases, not this one. When stripped of the State's
hyperbole, the testimony was simply “I don't remember" coupled with, “well, | didn't do
it any case that | can remember, so | must not have done it in this case either". To
suggest that such vague, speculative, self-serving testimony will, as a matter of law,
meet the State's burden of proof is to argue that no answer short of a judicial confes-
sion by the prosecutor will result in an accused having an opportunity to be tried by

members of his own race.

In Batson, this Honorable Court heid that whether the State had rebutted a prima
facie case of racially discriminatory application of its peremptory challenges was a
matter of fact for the trial judge to resolve. Batson, supra at 476 U.S. 98 and fn. 21.

In this case, the trial judge found as a matter of fact that “[A]fter considering all of

the evidence admitted at the hearing, and after evaluating the credibility of the witness
and giving due weight to the evidence proffered by the State, the Court was, and still

is, of the opinion that the State has failed to meet the ‘clear and reasonably specific”
criteria constitutionally necessary to rebut the Appellant's prima facie case of

racially discriminatory exercise of peremptory strikes." Trial Court's Findings of

Fact, Appendix A-8 of Petitioner's Petition. This fact finding was reviewed by the
Texas Court of Criminal Appeals and was found to be supported iri the appellate record.
Appendix A-2, Petitioner's Petition.

What the State is in fact asking this Honorable Court to do is to abandon the

RESPONDENTS BRIEF IN OPPOSITION - PAGE 19

formulation that whether the State has managed to rebut the Respondent's prima facie case
is a question of fact for the trial judge to resolve, and to substitute in its stead a

Class of answers that will, as a matter of law, always suffice to rebut the prima facie

case. In essence, the State wants to take the trial judge out of the resolution of these

types of cases and to permit it to list one of a category of answers that will in every

case rebut the accused's showing of racially discriminatory application of peremptory
strikes. As long as this is a matter of fact for the trial judge to resolve, there is at

least an outside chance that the State will lose a Batson hearing. The State proposes a

new standard that will ensure that it cannot lose.

6. There is no need for this Honorable Court to further address the issue of what
constitutes "clear and reasonably specific” testimony as the lower courts have cleariy
and unambiguously resolved that issue.
The State argues that the trial judge refused to consider the testimony of Prosecu-

tor Macaluso. This simply isn't true. The trial judge clearly stated in his second

findings of fact and conclusions of law that he hac considered this testimony. What he
also considered was the fact that Prosecutor Macaluso did not in fact strike two of the
three jurors at issue; that Prosecutor Macaluso had “some input" into the decision to
strike these jurors but, in the final analysis, simply didn’t conduct the voir dire at

issue, didnt make the decision at issue nor did he in fact exercise the peremptory
strike at issue. What the trial judge also considered was that the prosecutor who made
the decision was present and available to testify as to his motivations and reasoning,
but the State chose not to call him. The obvious inference from this failure is that the
testimony would not have aided the State's case. Finally, the trial judge clearly consi-
dered the simple fact that one prosecutor cannot possible testify as to the thought

processes or motivations of another prosecutor.

RESPONDENTS BRIEF IN OPPOSITION - PAGE 20

& ®

When stripped of the smoke and mirrors, the State is actually asking this Honorable
Court to sanction the State's use of one prosecutor, who has no memory of the trial, to
testify about his general practices, and from those practices, to infer that since he
had not struck jurors for racial purposes in other cases, he also did not strike jurors
in this case for racial purposes. Further, they are asking this Court to sanction
calling one prosecutor to explain the acts and motives of another prosecutor, even
though he readily admitted that he didn't know wnat the motivations were and
couldnt even testify as to his own mental processes, let alone the mental
processes of another prosecutor. The State simply couldn't rebut the Respondent's
prima facie case of racially discriminatory exercise of peremptory challenges.
There was no evidence available to them, probably due to the simple passage of time. The
trial judge, viewing this testimony, rightly found that the evidence was so speculative
and inferential that it simply couldn't be sufficient to rebut a prima facie case. Under

the facts of this case, any other conclusion would have been absurd.

RESPONDENTS ERIEF IN OPPOSITION - PAGE 21

$ s
CONCLUSION
In Texas, black men are still tried by all white juries for crimes allegedly
committed against white men. Batson didn't change that. In this one case, the trial
judge, when viewing the testimony, concluded that the Respondent had made a prima fac
case of racially discriminatory application of peremptory strikes to ensure that Ronald
Curtis Chambers would be tried by an all white jury. The State does not now contest that
conclusion. With that decision, the burden shifted to the State of Texas to establish by
clear and reasonably specific testimony exactly why the State struck members of the
Respondent's race. The trial judge, hearing the testimony, had the temerity to conclude
that “I don't remember" simply would not suffice. The judge also noted that the prosecu-
tor who did testify, didn't conduct the voir dire, nor did he actually exercise the
peremptory strikes used to exclude two black jurors from the jury. There was, thus, NO
evidence to explain the prosecutor's actions. The prosecutor was available to testify,
but the State chose not to put him on the stand. Under the facts of this case, the trial
judge simply refused to sanction such vague, speculative and inferential suppositions as
the kind of clear and reasonably specific answers necessary to rebut a prima facie case
of racial discrimination. The Texas Court of Criminal Appeals carefully reviewed the
trial judge's findings, and recognizing this Honorable Court's decision that the trial
judge's opinions should carry great weight, determined that his conclusions were totally
supported in the record and that his conclusions of law were accurate statements of the
controlling authority. Ronald Curtis Chambers thus became one of a very few inmates who

would receive relief on the basis of this Honorable Court's decision in Batson.

If the "excuses" proffered herein are legally adequate, in light of this record,
then the Equal Protection Clause of the United States Constitution has in truth become

a "vain and illusory requirement’, the precise result which this Honorable Court sought

RESPONDENTS BRIEF IN OPPOSITION - PAGE 22

to avoid with its holding in Batson. Any other interpretation wouid clearly eviscerate

Batson and make tt like the tale told by an idiot in Shakespeare's Macbeth: “full of
sound and fury, signifying nothing.” Macbeth, Wm. Shakespeare, Act V, Scene V, line 17.

This Honorable Court should deny the State's petition for a writ of certiorari.

Respectfully submitted,

RICHARD ALAN ANDERSON
ONE QUADRANGLE TOWER
2828 ROUTH STREET, SUITE 850
DALLAS, TEXAS 75201

(214) 871-1133

COUNSEL OF RECORD

R. K. WEAVER
404 EXPRESSWAY TOWER - LB35
6116 N. CENTRAL EXPRESSWAY
DALLAS, TEXAS 75206

(214) 739-6464

COUNSEL FOR RESPONDENT

RESPONDENTS BRIEF IN OPPOSITION - PAGE 23

APPENDIX A
CASES REMANDED FOR BATSON HERAINGS

3a/za V. State, ~
725 S.W.2d 482 (Tex. App. - Corpus Christi, 1982)

tardy v. State,
726 S.W.2d 158 (Tex. Crim. App. 1987)

tenry v. State,
729 S.W.2d 732 (Tex. Crim. App. 1987)

leveland v. State,
728 S.W.2d 490 (Tex. App. - Ft. Worth, 1987)
(Opinion on Motion for Rehearing),
remanded 730 S.W.2d 886 (Tex. App. - Ft. Worth, 1987)

Miller v. State,
682 S.W.2d 538 (Tex. Crim. App. 1984)
remanded 731 S.W.2d 563 (Tex. Crim. App. 1987)

Miller v. State,
733 S.W.2d 287 (Tex. App. - Corpus Christi, 1987)

JeBlanc v. State,
732 S.W.2d 640 (Tex. Crim. App. 1987)

Villiams v. State,
736 S.W.2d 906 (Tex. App. - Corpus Christi, 1987)

t0binson v. State,
738 S.W.2d 673 (Tex. Crim. App. 1987)

Shambers v. State,
742 S.W.2d 695 (Tex. Crim. App. 1988)

Niitz v. State,
746 S.W.2d 303 (Tex. App. - Hou[14th], 1988)

ee v. State,
747 S.W.2d 57 (Tex. App. - Hou[1st], 1988)

VillerE/ v. State,
748 S.W.2d 459 (Tex. Crim. App. 1988)

Keeton v. State,
724 S.W.2d 58 (Tex. Crim. App. 1987)

APPENDIX A - 1

a

Williams v. State,
767 S.W.2d 872 (Tex. App. - Dallas, 1989)

Newsome v. State,
771 S.W.2d 620 (Tex. App. - Dallas, 1989)

Hawkins v. State,
783 S.W.2d 288 (Tex. App. - Dallas, 1989)

Dewberry v. State,
776 S.W.2d 589 (Tex. Crim. App. 1989)

APPENDIX A- 2

ee

APPENDIX B
CASES AFFIRMED ON BATSON ISSUES

saraner v. State,
738 S.W.2d 541 (Tex. App. - Hou[1st], 1989)

lones v. State,
781 S.W.2d 415 (Tex. App. - Hou[1st], 1989)

"rice v. State,
782 S.W.2d 266 (Tex. App. - Beaumont, 1989)

/argas v. State,
781 S.W.2d 356 (Tex. App. - Hou[1st], 1989)

Tims v. State,
779 S.W.2d 517 (Tex. App. - Beaumont, 1989)

4tinojosa v. State,
780 S.W.2d 299 (Tex. App. - Beaumont, 1989)
(reversed on other grounds, affirmed re: Batson issues)

Grimes v. State,
779 S.W.2d 124 (Tex. App. - Hou[1st], 1989)

Arnold v. State,
778 S.W.2d 172 (Tex. App. - Austin, 1989)

Campbell v. State,
775 S.W.2d 419 (Tex. App. Hou[14th], 1989)

Munson v. State,
774 S.W.2d 778 (Tex. App. - El Paso, 1989)

Branch v. State,
774 S.W.2d 781 (Tex. App. - El Paso, 1989)

Dennis v. State,
772 S.W.2d 525 (Tex. App. Beaumone, 1989)

Yolman v. State,
772 S.W.2d 530 (Tex. App. - Beaumont, 1989)

Barnett v. State,
771 S.W.2d 654 (Tex. App. - Corpus Christi, 1989)

Ortiz v. State,
773 S.W.2d 941 (Tex. App. - San Antonio, 1989)

APPENDIX B - 1

Perry v. State,
770 S.W.2d 950 (Tex. App. - Ft. Worth, 1989)

Allen v. State,
769 S.W.2d 563 (Tex. Crim. App. 1989)

Brown v. State,
769 S.W.2d 565 (Tex. Crim. App.) .
(Reversed on other grounds; affrimed as to Batson issue)

Jackson v. State
772 S.W.2d 459 (Tex. App. - Beaumont, 1989)

Green v. State,
771 S.W.2d 576 (Tex. App. - Hou[14th], 1989)

Mathews v. State,
768 S.W.2d 731 (Tex. Crim. App. 1989)

Wilson v. State,
769 S.W.2d 682 (Tex. App. - Beaumont, 1989)

Crawford v. State,
770 S.W.2d 51 (Tex. App. - Texarkana, 1989)

Sims v. State,
768 S.W.2d 863 (Tex. App. - Texarkana, 1989)

Sosa v. State,
769 S.W.2d 909 (Tex. Crim. App. 1989)

McGee v. State,
774 S.W.2d 229 (Tex. Crim. App. 1989)

York v. State
764 S.W.2d 328 (Tex. App. - Hou[1st], 1988)

Catley v. State
763 S.W.2d 465 (Tex. App. - Hou[14th], 1988)

Castillo v. State,
761 S.W.2d 495 (Tex. App. - Waco, 1988)

Cruz v. State,
762 S.W.2d 624 (Tex. App. - Hou[14th], 1988)

Anderson v. State,
758 S.W.2d 676 (Tex. App. - Ft. Worth, 1988)
(Reversed on other grounds; affrimed as to Batson issue)

APPENDIX B - 2

Jones v. State,

756 S.W.2d 376 (Tex.

Hastings v. State,

755 S.W.2d 183 (Tex.

Ex parte Halburton,

755 S.W.2d 131 (Tex.

Allen v. State,

753 S.W.2d 792 (Tex.

Williams v. State,

752 S.W.2d 729 (Tex.

Williams v. State,

773 S.W.2d 525 (Tex.

Allen v. State

751 S.W.2d 931 (Tex.

Singleton v. State,

751 S.W.2d 316 (Tex.

Glenn v. State,

754 S.W.2d 290 (Tex.

Brown v. State,

750 S.W.2d 340 (Tex.

Keeton v. Sate,

749 S.W.2d 861 (Tex.

Stewart v. State,

748 S.W.20 543 (Tex.

Levy v. State,

749 S.W.2d 176 (Tex.

Rice v. State,

746 S.W.2d 356 (Tex.

Agbogun v. State,

App. - Hou[14th, 1988)

App. - San Antonio, 1988)

Crim. App. 1988)

App. - Beaumont, 1988)

App. - Corpus Christi, 1988)

Crim. App. 1988)

App. - Hou[1st], 1988)

App. - Hou[14th], 1988)

App. - Hou[1st], 1988)

App. - Beaumont, 1988)

Crim. App. 1988)

App. - Dallas, 1988)

App. - Hou[14th], 1988)

App. - Ft. Worth, 1988)

756 S.W.2d 1 (Tex. App. - Hou[1st], 1988)

Kemp v. State,

746 S.W.2d 316 (Tex.

Mead v. State,

759 S.W.2d 437 (Tex.

App. - Hou[1st], 1988)

App. - Ft. Worth, 1988)

APPENDIX B - 3

EEE EEE

Chandler v. State,
744 S.W.2d 341 (Tex. App. - Austin, 1988)

McKinney v. State,
744 S.W.2d 252 (Tex. App. - Waco, 1988)

Ali v. State,
742 S.W.2d 749 (Tex. App. - Dallas, 1987)

DeGrate v. State,
741 S.W.2d 553 (Tex. App. - Ft. Worth, 1987)

Porter v. State,
740 S.W.2d 600 (Tex. App. - Ft. Worth, 1987)

Easter v. State,
740 S.W.2d 107 (Tex. App. - Amarillo, 1987)

Johnson v. State,
740 S.W.2d 868 (Tex. App. - Hou[14th], 1988)

Salazar v. State,
745 S.W.2d 85 (Tex. App. - Ft. Worth, 1987)

Adams v. State,
740 S.W.2d 60 (Tex. App. - Dallas, 1987)

Tompkins v. State,
774 S.W.2d 195 (Tex. Crim. App. 1987)

Rasco v. State,
739 S.W.2d 437 (Tex. App. - Hou[14th], 1987)

Kline v. State,
737 S.W.2d 895 (Tex. App. - Hou[1st], 1987)

Garza v. State,
739 S.W.2d 374 (Tex. App. - Corpus Christi, 1987)

Dewberry v. State,
734 S.W.2d 260 (Tex. App. - Dallas, 1987)

Yarbough v. State,
738 S.W.2d 86 (Tex. App. - Dallas, 1987)

Smith v. State,
734 S.W.2d 694 (Tex. App. - Hou[1st], 1987)

Grady v. State,
730 S.W.2d 191 (Tex. App. - Dallas, 1987)

APPENDIX B - 4

* *
Allen v. State,

726 S.W.2d 636 (Tex. App. - Eastland, 1987)

Townsend v. State,
730 S.W.2d 24 (Tex. App. - Texarkana, 1987)

Price v. State,
726 S.W.2d 611 (Tex. App. - Hou[14th], 1987

Sanders v. State,
727 S.W.2d 674 (Tex. App. - Texarkana, 1987)

Catley v. State,
726 S.W.2d 595 (Tex. App. - Hou[14th], 1987)

May v. State,
738 S.W.2d 261 (Tex. Crim. App. 1987)

Rogers v. State,
725 S.W.2d 477 (Tex. App. -Hou[14th], 1987)

Chambers v. State,
724 S.W.2d 440 (Tex. App. - Hou[14th], 1987)

Mogcden v. State,
721 S.W.2d 859 (Tex. Crim. App. 1986)

Allen v. State,
722 S.W.20 514 (Tex. App. - Beaumont, 1986)

Rijo v. State,
721 S.W.2d 562 (Tex. App. - Amarillo, 1986)

Hardy v. State,
722 S.W.2d 164 (Tex. App. - Hou[14th] 1986)

Marks v. State,
721 S.W.2d 401 (Tex. App. - Beaumont, 1986)

APPENDIX B - 5

APPENDIX C

TEX. R. APP. PRO. 90
Rule 90. Opinions, Publication and Citation

(a) Decision and Opinion. The court of appeals shall hand down a written opinion
which shall be as brief as practicable but which shall address every issue raised and
necessary to final disposition of the appeal. Where the issues are Clearly settled, the
court shall write a brief memorandum opinion which shouid not be published.

(6) Signing of Opinions...

(c) Standards for Publication. an opinion by the court of appeals shail de published
only if, in the judgment of the majority of the justices participating in the decision,
it is one that (1) establishes a new rule of law, alters or modifies and existing rule,
or applies an existing rule to a novel fact situation likely to recur in future cases:
(2) involves a legal issue of continuing public interest; (3) criticizes existing |aw; or
(4) resolves an apparent conflict of authority.

(d) Concurring and dissenting Opinions...

(e) Determining to Publish. A majority of the justicies participating in the cec:-
sion of a case shall determine, prior to the time it is issued, whether an o-pinion meets
the ctiteria for publication, and ff it does not meet the criteria for publication, the
opinion shall be distributerd only to the persons specified in Rule 91, Dut a copy may de
furnished to any interested person. On each opinion a notation shall be mace to ‘pudiish’
or "do not publish".

(f) Rehearing...

(g) Action of the Court En Banc...

(h) Order of the Supreme Court...

(i) Unpublished Opinions. Unpublished opinions shail not de cited as authorty oy

counsel or a court.

APPENDIX C -1

¢ * ——

APPENDIX C ei

TEX. R. APP. PRO. 90
Rule 90. Opinions, Publication and Citation

(a) Decision and Opinion. The court of appeals shall hand down a written opinion
which shall be as brief as practicable but which shall address every issue raised and
necessary to final disposition of the appeal. Where the issues are clearly settled, the
court shall write a brief memorandum opinion which should not be published.

(6) Signing of Opinions...

(c) Standards for Publication. an opinion by the court of appeals shall be published
only if, in the judgment of the majority of the justices participating in the decision,
it is one that (1) establishes a new rule of law, alters or modifies and existing rule,
or applies an existing rule to a novel fact situation likely to recur in future cases;
(2) involves a legal issue of continuing public interest; (3) criticizes existing law; or
(4) resolves an apparent conflict of authority.

(d) Concurring and dissenting Opinions...

(e) Determining to Publish. A majority of the justicies participating in the deci-
sion of a case shall determine, prior to the time it is issued, whether an o-pinion meets

the ctiteria for publication, and ff it does not meet the criteria for publication, the

Opinion shall be distributerd only to the persons specified in Rule 91, but a copy may be

furnished to any interested person. On each opinion a notation shall be made to “publish”
or “do not publish".
(f) Rehearing...
(g) Action of the Court En Banc...
(h) Order of the Supreme Court...
(i) Unpublished Opinions. Unpublished opinions shall not be cited as authority by 4

counsel or a court.

APPENDIX C -1

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385020_0968%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
