# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Frates v. Weinshienk, 110 S. Ct. 1297 (1990) (No. 89-1046)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385020_0856%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1990

## Text

89x 046 * —ae

A

IN THE
, be Sth 3 19%
Supreme Court of the Anite’ ar

OCTOBER TERM, 1989

~--—~

JOSEPH A. FRATES, CHARLES S. HOLMES, ROBERT E.
MERRICK, STAN P. DoyLe, P. PETER PRUDDEN., III. J.
ANTHONY FRATES, STEPHEN I. FRATES, EQUIVEST
ASSOCIATES, DoYLE & HOLMES, EQUIVEST MANAGEMENT AND
FINANCIAL SERVICES, LTD., JOHN L. FARRELL, JR., ASSET
MANAGEMENT, INC., MONTY H. RIAL, PERMA RESOURCES
CORPORATION, PERMA MINING CORPORATION, PERMA PACIFIC.
INc., CALDER & COMPANY, CHIMNEY Rock COAL COMPANY.
ENERGY CAPITAL, LTp., AZTEC, LTD., COLORADO COAL
RESOURCES COMPANY AND COLORADO COAL MINING.

Petitioners,
wa
HONORABLE ZITA L. WEINSHIENK, UNITED STATES DISTRICT
JUDGE, HONORABLE CHARLES E. MATHESON, UNITED STATES
BANKRUPTCY JUDGE, KAISER STEEL CORPORATION AND
KAISER COAL CORPORATION,
Respondents.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

PAUL F. HULTIN ALAN L. BUGG
Counsel of Record 102 North Cascade
CHERYL BURNSIDE Suite 502
PARCEL, MAURO, HULTIN P. O. Box 950
& SPAANSTRA, P.C. 5 Colorado Springs, Colorado 80903
1801 California Street Telephone: (719) 471-3700

Suite 3600
Denver, Colorado 80202
Telephone: (303) 292-6400

Marcus W. SIsk. JR.
DEMPSEY, BASTIANELLI.
BROWN & TOUHEY

RICHARD P. SLIVKA 2828 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W.
Davip L. DAIN Suite 203

VINTON, SLIVKA & PANASCI Washington, D.C. 20007

1600 Stout Street Telephone: (202) 338-8088

Suite 1300
Denver, Colorado 80202
Telephone: (303) 534-4499

a a I RR

PRESS OF BYRON S. ADAMS, WASHINGTON, D.C. (202) 347-8203

Attorneys for Petitioners

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. In determining whether a bankruptcy judge’s
“Impartiality might reasonably be aquestioned’’ under
28 U.S.C. §455(a) because the bankruptcy judge con-
tinued to preside over adversary proceedings after
having approved a plan of reorganization which de-
pends upon successful prosecution of the adversary
proceedings, may an appellate court refuse to assess
an appearance of partiality from the viewpoint of a
reasonable person, and instead adopt a technical and
legalistic test ‘“‘whether the judge appears to have
prejudged adversarial proceedings or to have placed
himself in a position where it appears he will be forced
to decide one or more of the adversary proceedings
in {the debtor’s] favor’’?

2. Under 28 U.S.C. §455(a), may an appellate court
refuse to consider the facts as they existed at the
time the recusal motion was made, and instead con-

sider facts arising after the motion for recusal _was
denied?

3. May an appellate court allow a bankruptcy judge,
who has approved a plan for reorganization of a Chap-
ter 11 debtor, to deny recusal in related adversary
proceedings commenced by the debtor, where the only
source of funds to pay the accrued costs and expenses
of the reorganization is recovery from the adversary
proceedings?

il

PARTIES

All parties in interest are named in the caption.
Equivest Management and Financial Services, Ltd.
and Asset Management, Inc. have no parent or sub-
sidiary corporations. Pursuant to Rule 12.4,
Petitioners hereby notify the Clerk of this Court of
their belief that Charles S. McNeil, a party to the
proceeding below, has no interest in the outcome of
the petition for the reason that Mr. McNeil has
reached a settlement of the underlying adversary pro-
ceedings.

il

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
SIME METS EH URMSINERETEIEED csecccsescensscesesssecscccssnssassens i
Se SR a il
EE I SU EIS a coccnvandncddcoceesassncdssacvacnnace iv
Te a . csapacondanvehansdhebnensunnnvansndin 2
Sa a ounce pea babenknseanste 2
I UMMC EED «on. csncncuccevcenbdsncdnseedsssutbceencenees 2
EE AOU REM, GG PMEEE, cc cccenecsnacccnvasssececensansnns 2
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT .................. 7

I. THE TENTH CIRCUIT’S OPINION CON-
Pree WELAEL Rem MERERIEUE «ccnccesesseveccescccsvanss 8

A. The Tenth Circuit Test Is Contrary to the
Liljeberg Reasonable Person Test .......... 8

B. The Tenth Circuit Improperly Considered

Facts which Arose after Denial of the Re-
os cnbicaiibaniinnes 10

Il. THE TENTH- CIRCUIT’S OPINION CON-
FLICTS WITH OTHER CIRCUITS .................. ll

III. THE ISSUES PRESENTED IN THIS CASE

ARE IMPORTANT TO THE ADMINISTRA-
EE ESET SEE, cccnenkachncsasesnsievensecenenccadaete 13
LN Rc en ae oe 15
a os ans aabe ee nmenceendnaenenesuaine la
he cakdanubdubeneeeateeseesuscaneane 3a
CE 0 cc ecaslensukabeo besa sewaneerasnn 12a
eo ss ca acabaedaanbbawabnapanaseie l4a
ss caabieoboenbeenaaeusbauneanee 22a

iii nik. etleanadabenkandenunscnienndsahaobensedsaneion 35a

lV

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES Page

American Employers’ Insurance Co. v. King Re-
sources Co., 545 F.2d 1265 (10th Cir. 1976) ... passim

Easley v. University of Michigan Board of Regents,

S53 F.2d 1351 (Gti Ci, TOBE) .c........0cccccc0s..0-. 12,13
Hinman v. Rogers, 831 F.2d 937 (10th Cir.

SINE: spidacicephatieacuunemen anal eansiamaraseanaicncllinaaans 13
In re Cash Currency Exchange, Inc., 85 B.R. 797

SI Ie Sachin tates cdi bciabtaiadadsunannanianahens 6

In re Drexel Burnham Lambert, Inc., 861 F.2d 1307
(2d Cir. 1988), cert. denied, __. U.S. __. , 109

Sas I SI ndkinkndsitvenacsanccasccdaidexeneianinniians 13
In re Johns-Manville Corp., 48 B.R. 765 (S.D.N.Y.

DEINE Siri kcedhaceitsisediaaicianiahsiianalanaeiensadistascneniiaiesiaunenaie 6
In re Manoa Finance Co., 781 F.2d 1370 (9th Cir.

1986), cert. denied, 479 U.S. 1064 (1987) ..... 8,12,13
In re The Ohio Corrugating Co., 91 B.R. 480 (Bankr.

SIE PINE: SII cectdcneiccibnach cececnochideinbiahaticcencdsin 13
In re United States, 666 F.2d 690 (1st Cir.

STINET cai eibstdesagseiacocelhGadeeceabuiaidre hai tlenialinaneiiomonsits 11,13
In re Virginia Electric and Power Co., 539 F.2d

Ee I Re UI ceacsintcc cities htncienivcsskiveanacen 13
“et v. Health Services Acquisition Corp., 486

Um BOT, TGR GCE. SEOE CUGGB) onceeccccessces.s: passim

Moody v. Simmons, 858 F.2d 187 (3d Cir. 1988),
cert. denied, __ U.S. __., 109 S.Ct. 1529

PI chia annek ns calciicas olaui is Uatecasilcdandiaekeaiceiees 11,12,13
New York City Housing Development Corp. v. Hart,
TOO BBE SFG CT Cie. TRG) ccscsceccovcesnssossecnss. 13

Potashnick v. Port City Construction Co., 609 F.2d
1101 (5th Cir.), cert. denied, 449 U.S. 820
2 RENN ERSES ESRI er ester 1e LaTr Ae ge onnTy pC RI 8,12,13

U.S. v. Balistriem, 779
cert. denied, 477 U.S. 908 (1986) ....... 13

Tabie of Authorities Continued

Page

U.S. v. Hines, 696 F.2d 722 (10th Cir. 1982) ....... 13
U.S. v. Murphy, 768 F.2d 1518 (7th Cir. 1985), cert.

dameed, 475 U.S. TOUR (UGG) civcsscscssiscssseessvans 12,13
U.S. v. Torkington, 874 F.2d 1441 (11th Cir.

AGIDOD tiki vssriiihinitniciecaiat mena: paeroer 12,13
United Family Life Insurance Co. v. Barrow, 452

Poe er Clee Ge. TBF) cincanncinucukiee passim
Wieboldt Stores, Inc. v. Schottenstern, 94 B.R. 488

DEER. Th. TIED ..cenccisicnistenincoteaseineas 13
STATUTES
TB UBS FI cxsteinistinieninmammanaeeee 5
26 U.S. GH seviktiicksneicntseeeeeeeee passim
SS SA. SD cdccitinecinssticcasnensveeidionaibigiaienes 9
26 UB. FIRS) doiiindiicineemnaaen 2
TB UR. QBS Kccsisinvinivcioencnneseananaeen 6
Bankruptcy Reform Act of 1978, 11 U.S.C. §§101-

SITS: tivinicscoisicciemninsedane ane 5
OTHER AUTHORITIES =
Bamkeratey Bee BOG). vvsussiiecsscemnccnives 5
Rule 21, Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure .... 6
Supreme Coalt Bele 15:6 wncannsicmnnnncn il

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Gnited States
OCTOBER TERM, 1989

No. —__—

JOSEPH A. FRATES, CHARLES S. HOLMES, ROBERT E.
MERRICK, STAN P. DOYLE, P. PETER PRUDDEN, III, J.
ANTHONY FRATES, STEPHEN I. FRATES, EQUIVEST
ASSOCIATES, DOYLE & HOLMES, EQUIVEST MANAGEMENT AND
FINANCIAL SERVICES, LTD., JOHN L. FARRELL, JR., ASSET
MANAGEMENT, INC., MONTY H. RIAL, PERMA RESOURCES
CORPORATION, PERMA MINING CORPORATION, PERMA PACIFIC,
INC., CALDER & COMPANY, CHIMNEY Rock COAL COMPANY,
ENERGY CAPITAL, LTD., AZTEC, LTD., COLORADO COAL
RESOURCES COMPANY AND COLORADO COAL MINING,

Petitioners,
Wa

HONORABLE ZITA L. WEINSHIENK, UNITED. STATES DISTRICT
JUDGE, HONORABLE CHARLES E. MATHESON, UNITED STATES
BANKRUPTCY JUDGE, KAISER STEEL CORPORATION AND
KAISER COAL CORPORATION,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

Petitioners respectfully request that a writ of
certiorari issue to review the judgment of the United
States Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit in this
case.

fo

OPINIONS BELOW

The order of the United States Court of Appeals
for the Tenth Circuit denying rehearing is reprinted
in the appendix to this petition at Pet. App. la-2a.
The opinion of the Tenth Circuit denying mandamus
is reported at 882 F.2d 1502 and is reprinted at Pet.
App. 3a-lla. The unreported opinion of the United
States District Court for the District of Colorado is
reprinted at Pet. App. 12a-13a. The transcript from
the bench ruling of the United States Bankruptcy
Court for the District of Colorado is reprinted at Pet.
App. 14a-21a.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered
on August 16, 1989. A Petition for Rehearing before
the panel and a Suggestion for Rehearing en banc
was denied on October 5, 1989. The jurisdiction of
this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. §1254(1).

STATUTE INVOLVED

The statutory provision involved herein is 28 U.S.C.
§455(a), which provides as follows:

Any justice, judge or magistrate of the
United States shall disqualify himself in any
proceeding in which his impartiality might
reasonably be questioned.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

These proceedings arise out of the Chapter 11 bank-
ruptcy of Kaiser Stee! Corporation (‘‘Kaiser’’), which
was filed by Kaiser in February 1987. Kaiser’s bank-
ruptcy was preceded by a leveraged buyout (‘‘LBO’’)

of Kaiser which closed in February 1984. The alleged
failure of the Kaiser LBO and the nationwide fraud-
ulent conveyance litigation it spawned present im-
portant issues regarding the administration of justice
in the bankruptcy courts.

Immediately after filing its Chapter 11 petition,
Kaiser commenced five adversary proceedings in the
bankruptcy court, all of which arise out of the Kaiser
LBO. Only two of these adversary proceedings had
been actively pursued by Kaiser when Petitioners
moved for recusal of the bankruptcy judge in Novem-
ber, 1988: Kaiser Steel Corp., et al. v. Joseph A.
Frates, et al., Adversary Proceeding No. 87-E-135
(Bankr. D. Colo.), and Kaiser Steel Corp., et al. v.
Monty H. Rial, et al., Adversary Proceeding No. 87-
E-437 (Bankr. D. Colo.) (the ‘Adversary Proceed-
ings’’). Petitioners, who had participated as investors
in the LBO, are defendants in both Adversary Pro-
ceedings. Kaiser seeks damages in the Adversary Pro-
ceedings in excess of $100 million.

On October 4, 1988, Chief Bankruptcy Judge
Charles E. Matheson approved Kaiser’s Plan of Re-
organization, which depended on recoveries from the
Adversary Proceedings for the payment of adminis-
trative expenses and for distributions to unsecured
creditors. As part of the reorganization plan, Bank-
ruptcy Judge Matheson entered an order allowing
Kaiser to borrow $4 million for the sole purpose of
funding the Adversary Proceedings and other litiga-
tion related to the LBO.

Petitioners, among others, filed their motion under
28 U.S.C. §455(a) for recusal of Bankruptcy Judge
Matheson from the Adversary Proceedings on No-
vember 4, 1988, one month after he had approved

Kaiser’s Plan of Reorganization. Petitioners requested
the bankruptcy judge to recuse himself on the grounds
that his impartiality might reasonably be questioned
if he continued to preside over the Adversary Pro-
ceedings after having approved a reorganization plan
which depended for its success on recovery from those
proceedings.

In support of their motion, Petitioners cited the
admission by Kaiser that the reorganization plan de-
pended on successful prosecution of the Adversary
Proceedings. Bruce E. Hendiy, who served as Kai-
ser’s Chairman and Chief Executive Officer during
the Chapter 11 proceeding, testified as follows:

Question: [I]sn’t it a fact, Mr. Hendry,
that if these lawsuits are not
successful, the unsecured cred-
itors will not receive—are not
likely to receive any cash dis-
tributions as a result of the re-
organization?

Mr. Hendry: That’s correct.

Question: And isn’t it also a fact that
these lawsuits need to be suc-
cessfully prosecuted in order for
Kaiser to be able to pay its ad-
ministrative expenses as a re-
sult of the reorganization?

Mr. Hendry: Yes. In order to pay those fees,
we have to have a successful
litigation effort, that’s correct.

Pet. App. 24a-27a. Public information subsequently
released by Kaiser confirmed Mr. Hendry’s testimony.
Pet. App. 35a-41a.

As a legal basis for their recusal motion, Petitioners
relied on this Court’s decision in Liljeberg v. Health
Services Acquisition Corp., 486 U.S. 847, 108 S.Ct.
2194 (1988) (‘‘Liljeberg’’), which establishes the ‘‘rea-
sonable person’ test for assessing the appearance of
partiality under 28 U.S.C. §455(a). Petitioners also
relied on the Tenth Circuit decisions in United Family
Life Insurance Co. v. Barrow, 452 F.2d 997 (1971)
(‘Barrow’) and American Employers’ Insurance Co.
v. King Resources Co., 545 F.2d 1265 (1976) (“King
Resources’’), which establish that a judge who presides
over a debtor’s reorganization cannot also adjudicate
litigation on which the reorganization depends. The
principles laid down in these cases assure both the
fact and appearance of impartiality in the bankruptcy
courts, and they have assumed increasing importance
as highly leveraged corporate transactions of the
1980’s have reached the bankruptcy courts.

On December 16, 1988, Bankruptcy Judge Mathe-
son denied all motions for recusal without reference
to the Liljeberg decision. The bankruptcy judge con-
cluded that the Tenth Circuit law contained in Barrow
and King Resources no longer applied to cases filed
after the Bankruptcy Reform Act of 1978, 11 U.S.C.
§§101-151326. Pet. App. 14a-2la. Despite a specific
request from Petitioners’ counsel, the bankruptcy
judge declined to make any finding as to whether
there was an appearance of partiality. Pet. App. 19a-
21a. Following denial of the motion for recusal, some
of the defendants in the Adversary Proceedings en-
tered into settlements with Kaiser in order to avoid
trial before Bankruptcy Judge Matheson.

On January 6, 1989, pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §158(a)
and Bankruptcy Rule 8001(b), Petitioners filed with

the bankruptcy court their motions for certification,
notices of appeal and motions for leave to appeal from
Bankruptcy Judge Matheson’s denial of the recusal
motions. Because of the conflicting decisions among
the courts as to the proper procedure by which to
obtain immediate review of an order denying a motion
for recusal,| on January 13, 1989, pursuant to 28
U.S.C. §1651, Petitioners also filed a petition for writ
-of mandamus with the district court on the recusal
issue. On February 13, 1989, District Judge Wein-
shienk entered orders denying Petitioners’ motion for
certification, motion for leave to appeal and manda-
mus petition. Finding only ‘“‘no error’ in the decisions
below, Judge Weinshienk provided no opinion to ex-
plain her orders. Pet. App. 12a-13a.

On February 21, 1989, pursuant to Rule 21 of the
Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure and 28 U.S.C.
§1651, Petitioners filed their petition for writ of man-
damus with the Court of Appelas for the Tenth Cir-
cuit. The mandamus petition cited the failure of the
bankruptcy court to follow Liljeberg or to apply the
Tenth Circuit precedents in Barrow and King Re-
sources. Oral argument was held on May 11, 1989,
and the Tenth Circuit Panel issued its opinion denying
mandamus on August 16, 1989.

The Panel opinion made no attempt to apply the
Liljeberg ‘‘reasonable person”’ test for the appearance
of partiality. Instead, the Panel applied its own le-

‘Compare, e.g., In re Cash Currency Exchange, Inc., 85 B.R.
797 (N.D. Ill. 1988) (writ of mandamus is only remedy for review
of denial of a motion to recuse under 28 U.S.C. §455(a)) with
In re Johns-Manville Corp., 43 B.R. 765 (S.D.N.Y. 1984) (motion
for leave to appeal pursuant to B.R. 8003 is proper procedure
for seeking review of denial of motion to recuse).

~

galistic test and determined that recusal is necessary
only where there is evidence of actual bias or an
appearance that the bankruptcy judge has “pre-
judged” adversarial proceedings or been ‘‘boxed in’’
by prior rulings such that he will be forced to reach
a certain result in an adversarial proceeding regard-
less of the merits. Pet. App. 5a-6a. While ruling that
Barrow and King Resources were applicable, the Panel
failed to apply the principles of those cases in ac-
cordance with the test required by Liljeberg.

Rather than considering the facts as they appeared
at the time the recusal motion was made, the Panel
concluded that the Kaiser reorganization did not de-
pend on success in the Adversary Proceedings, cur-
iously relying on the payment of accrued
administrative and reorganization expenses from set-
tlements in the Adversary Proceedings entered into
after the denial of recusal. Pet. App. 8a. Thus, the
Panel, with questionable use of hindsight analysis, up-
held Bankruptcy Judge Matheson without any analysis
of the facts as they existed at the time the Motion
for Recusal was filed.

Petitioners filed their petition for rehearing and
suggestion for rehearing en banc on August 30, 1989.
The Tenth Circuit issued its order denying rehearing
on October 5, 1989.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The Court should grant certiorari in this case be-
cause the opinion of the Tenth Circuit conflicts with
Liljeberg and with opinions of other circuit courts of
appeals. In addition, the unsettled issues presented
here regarding judicial conflicts in reorganization
cases are important to the administration of justice

in federal bankruptcy matters and should be clarified
by this Court.

I. THE TENTH CIRCUIT’S OPINION CONFLICTS WITH
LILJEBERG.

The opinion of the Tenth Circuit conflicts with Lil-
jeberg by failing to apply a reasonable person standard
for the appearance of partiality. Instead, the Tenth
Circuit applied its own legalistic test, requiring ‘‘pre-
judgment”’ or prior decisions which ‘‘boxed in’ the
bankruptcy judge. The Tenth Circuit fell into further
conflict with Liljeberg by considering the facts as they
existed at the time of appeal instead of the time
recusal was sought.

A. The Tenth Circuit Test Is Contrary to the Liljeberg
Reasonable Person Test.

The proper test to determine whether recusal is
required under §455(a) is whether a reasonable per-
son, knowing all of the relevant facts, would harbor
doubts about the judge’s impartiality. Liljeberg, su-
pra, 108 S.Ct. at 2202; Potashnick v. Port City Con-
struction Co., 609 F.2d 1101 (5th Cir.), cert. denied,
449 U.S. 820 (1980); In re Manoa Finance Co., 781
F.2d 1370 (9th Cir. 1986), cert. denied, 479 U.S. 1064
(1987). In its opinion, the Tenth Circuit did not refer
to, or even purport, to apply, the “‘reasonable person’’
test. Instead, the Tenth Circuit created its own le-
galistic test requiring analysis from the perspective
of one in‘imately familiar with the intricacies of bank-
ruptcy practice:

[R]ecusal is necessary if there is evidence of
actual bias, if the bankruptcy judge by words
or actions reasonably appears to have pre-
judged adversarial proceedings over which he

is to preside, or if the judge appears ‘boxed
in’ by prior rulings such that he will be forced
to reach a certain result in an adversarial
proceeding regardless of the merits.

Pet. App. 5a-6a. The Tenth Circuit cited no authority
for this rule.

A reasonable person plays no part in the Tenth
Circuit’s analysis. The only person with the ability to
apply the Tenth Circuit test would be a lawyer or
businessman with expertise in bankruptcy, and only
then after a thorough review of the thousands of
pleadings that have been filed in the Kaiser Chapter
11 case and the Adversary Proceedings.

The test applied by the Tenth Circuit flies squarely
in the face of the standard set out in Liljeberg and
ignores the important differences between §455(a) and
§455(b). The goal of §455(a) is to avoid even the ap-
pearance of partiality, as determined by a “‘‘reasonable
person.” Liljeberg, supra, 108 S.Ct. at 2022. Although
it purported to apply §455(a), the Tenth Circuit nei-
ther cited Liljeberg nor analyzed whether a reasonable
person with knowledge of all the circumstances might
question Bankruptcy Judge Matheson’s impartiality.
Instead, the Tenth Circuit began its analysis by stat-
ing that, because there was no claim of actual bias,
the “‘prejudgment”’ and ‘“‘boxed in”’ tests would have
to be applied. Pet. App. 6a.

While §455(b) contemplates recusal if the judge has
actual personal bias or prejudice, §455(a) requires re-
cusal if the circumstances are such that the judge’s
“impartiality might be reasonably questioned’ by
other persons. See Liljeberg, supra, 108 S.Ct. at 2202.
The Tenth Circuit simply ignored this distinction by

10

analyzing whether the bankruptcy judge appeared to
have prejudged the Adversary Proceedings or to have
placed himself in a position of being forced to decide
one or more of the Adversary Proceedings in Kaiser’s
favor. Both of these questions go directly to evidence
of predisposition or actual bias. No claim of actual!
bias was made by Petitioners, and no such test for
§455(a) claims is contemplated by Liljeberg.

The principles of Liljeberg, Barrow and King Re-
sources have assumed new importance in the admin-
istration of justice in the federal bankruptcy system
as more plans of reorganization for highly leveraged
companies are largely plans for litigating claims of
the debtor. Congress’ attempt to elevate bankruptcy
judges to status comparable to the Article III judici-
ary requires that the bankruptcy court’s function in
presiding over a corporate reorganization be sepa-
rated from adversary litigation upon which the suc-
cess of the reorganization depends. Review by this
Court is necessary to assure proper application of the
Liljeberg ‘“‘reasonable person”’ test in bankruptcy pro-
ceedings.

B. The Tenth Circuit Improperly Considered Facts which
Arose after Denial of the Recusal Motion.

The Tenth Circuit considered the facts of this case
as they appeared at the time of the appeal from denial
of the recusal motion, rather than as they appeared
at the time the recusal motion was made. Pet.
App. 8a. Specifically, the court below concluded that,
because settlements arising out of the Adversary Pro- -
ceedings reached after the recusal motion was denied
provided sufficient funds for Kaiser to pay its accrued
administrative and litigation costs, the reorganization

11]

did not depend on further recoveries from the Ad-
versary Proceedings.

Under Liljeberg, the settlements reached after the
recusal motion was made were improperly considered
by the court below. The settlements and the fact that
the first $15 million in settlement proceeds went to
pay accrued administrative and litigation expenses
were announced in Kaiser’s Annual Report on Form
10-K filed with the Securities and Exchange Com-
mission after the Tenth Circuit issued a stay of the
trial of the Adversary Proceedings. The 10-K report,
which Petitioners submitted to the court of appeals,
is a further admission that Kaiser’s Plan of Reor-
ganization depended upon successful prosecution of
the Adversary Proceedings. Pet. App. 41a.

Even if consideration of the settlements had been
proper, the impact of such settlements was erro-
neously analyzed by the Tenth Circuit. The court’s
assertion that the settlements from the Adversary
Proceedings provided funds necessary for Kaiser to
cover unpaid reorganization and litigation expenses
simply confirms that, but for recoveries arising out
of the Adversary Proceedings, the reorganization
would have failed. See Pet. App. 8a,35a-41a.

Il. THE TENTH CIRCUIT’S OPINION CONFLICTS WITH
OTHER CIRCUITS.

The test for recusal applied by the Tenth Circuit
does not appear in the opinion of any other circuit
which has considered the issue under 28 U.S.C.
§455(a). See, e.g., In re United States, 666 F.2d 690
(1st Cir. 1981); Moody v. Simmons, 858 F.2d 137 (8rd
Cir. 1988), cert. denied, __ U.S. ___ , 109 S.Ct. 1529

12

(1989); Potashnick v. Port City Construction Co., su-
pra; Easley v. University of Michigan Board of Re-
gents, 853 F.2d 1351 (6th Cir. 1988); U.S. v. Murphy,
768 F.2d 1518 (7th Cir. 1985), cert. dented, 475 U.S.
1012 (1986); In Re Manoa Finance Co., supra; King
Resources, supra; U.S. v. Torkington, 874 F.2d 1441
(11th Cir. 1989). All of the foregoing cases follow the
reasonable person test.

While ignoring Liljeberg and purporting to apply
Barrow and King Resources, the Tenth Circuit cre-
ated yet another test under §455(a), thereby leaving
litigants in the circuit with confusing and conflicting
standards for recusal. Although Bankruptcy Judge
Matheson concluded that Barrow and King Resources
were no longer good law, the Tenth Circuit specifi-
cally held that those decisions “‘survived the recodi-
fication of bankruptcy law and are the law of this
Circuit.’’ Pet. App. 5a. However, the court of appeals
failed to remand the issue to the bankruptcy court
for application of the correct rule of law. In deciding
the issue on its own, the court below denied
petitioners the opportunity for a proper assessment
of the appearance of partiality by the bankruptcy
judge? and erroneously interpreted its own precedents
without regard for the Liljeberg standard.

Finally, by relying on the facts which arose after
denial of the recusal motion, the Tenth Circuit placed
itself in conflict with thae line of decisions in other
circuits which uniformly recognize that the proper
time frame for consideration of relevant facts is when

> Cf. Moody v. Simmons, supra, 858 F.2d at 142. (‘‘Appellate
courts will be most deferential to the finding of a trial judge
that there is an appearance of impropriety in his continuing to
sit on a case.’’)

13

the trial court is presented with a motion for recusal.
See, e.g., In re United States, supra; In re Drexel
Burnham Lambert, Inc., 861 F.2d 1307 (2d Cir. 1988),
cert. denied, __U.S.__, 109 S.Ct. 2458 (1989);
Moody v. Simmons, supra; In re Virginia Electric
and Power Co., 539 F.2d 357 (4th Cir. 1976); Po-
tashnick v. Port City Construction Co., supra; Easley
v. University of Michigan Board of Regents, supra;
New York City Housing Development Corp. v. Hart,
796 F.2d 976 (7th Cir. 1986); U.S. v. Murphy, supra;
U.S. v. Balistriert, 779 F.2d 1191 (7th Cir. 1985),
cert. denied, 477 U.S. 908 (1986); In re Manoa F'-
nance Co., supra; U.S. v. Hines, 696 F.2d 722 (10th
Cir. 1982); Hinman v. Rogers, 831 F.2d 937 (10th
Cir. 1987); U.S. v. Torkington, supra.

III. THE ISSUES PRESENTED IN THIS CASE ARE IM-
PORTANT TO THE ADMINISTRATION OF JUSTICE.

Kaiser’s Chapter 11 case and related adversary pro-
ceedings are just one example of many LBO’s that
have ended in bankruptcy court and major litigation.
See, e.g., Wieboldt Stores, Inc. v. Schottenstein, 94
B.R. 488 (N.D. Ill. 1988) (suit against shareholders
who participated in LBO on claims of fraudulent con-
veyance); In re The Ohio Corrugating Co., 91 B.R.
430 (Bankr. N.D. Ohio 1988) (suit filed by official
creditors committee to avoid transfers and obligations
incurred by debtor in connection with an LBO as
fraudulent conveyances). Because LBO’s often involve
huge sums of money and have been widely utilized
in many industries, the potential for the issues pre-
sented here to arise in other cases is highly probable.

The Kaiser bankruptcy and Adversary Proceedings
alone have produced over 5,000 pleadings and ex-
penditures in excess of $25 million for attorneys fees

14

and settlements. The size and high visibility of these
proceedings dramatically focus the public interest in
the appearance of impartiality on bankruptcy judges.
By entertaining the issues presented herein, this Court
can provide a rule to guide the parties to this case
as well as litigants in similar proceedings certain to
arise.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the petition for a writ
of certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

PAUL F. HULTIN
Counsel of Record
CHERYL BURNSIDE
PARCEL, MAURO, HULTIN & SPAANSTRA, P.C.
1801 California Street, Suite 3600
Denver, Colorado 80202
Telephone: (303) 292-6400

RICHARD P. SLIVKA

DaviID L. DAIN

VINTON, SLIVKA & PANASCI
1600 Stout Street

Suite 1300

Denver, Colorado 80202
Telephone: (303) 534-4499

ALAN L. BUGG

102 North Cascade

Suite 502

P. O. Box 950

Colorado Springs, Colorado 80903
Telephone: (719) 471-3700

Marcus W. SISK, JR.

DEMPSEY, BASTIANELLI, BROWN & TOUHEY
2828 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W., Suite 203
Washington, D.C. 20007

Telephone: (202) 338-8088

January 1990.

y,
ye
v

/
a)

3

ee ige

>:

-

APPENDIX

la

APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

No. 89-1046

JOSEPH A. FRATES, et al,
Petitioners,
v.

HONORABLE ZITA L. WEINSHIENK, United States Dis-
trict Judge and HONORABLE CHARLES E. MATHESON,
United States Bankruptcy Judge,

Respondents.

FILED

United States Court of Appeals
Tenth Circuit

OCT 5 1989

ROBERT L. HOECKER

Clerk

ORDER

Before HOLLOWAY, Chief Judge, McKAY, LOGAN, SEY-
MOUR, MOORE, ANDERSON, TACHA, BALDOCK, BRORBY,
and EBEL, Circuit Judges.

This matter comes on for consideration of petitioner’s
petition for rehearing, with suggestion for rehearing en
bane, filed in the captioned matter.

Upon consideration whereof, the petition for rehearing
is denied by the panel that rendered the decision.

In accordance with Rule 35(b), Federal Rules of Appel-
late Procedure, the petition for rehearing and suggestion

2a

for rehearing en banc were transmitted to all of the judges
who are in regular active service. No member of the pane!
and no judge in regular active service on the court having
requested that the court be polled on rehearing en banc,
Rule 35, Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure, the sug-
gestion for rehearing en banc is denied.

Entered for the Court

/s/ Robert L. Hoecker
ROBERT L. HOECKER, Clerk

3a

APPENDIX B

PUBLISH

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
TENTH CIRCUIT

No. 89-1046

JOSEPH A. FRATES; CHARLES S. HOLMES; ROBERT E.
MERRICK; STAN P. DOYLE; P. PETER PRUDDEN, III: J.
ANTHONY FRATES; STEPHEN I. FRATES; EQUIVEST AS-
SOCIATES; DOYLE & HOLMES; EQUIVEST MANAGEMENT
AND FINANCIAL SERVICES, LTD.; JOHN L. FARRELL,
JR.; ASSET MANAGEMENT, INC.; CHARLES S. MCNEIL;
MONTY H. RIAL; PERMA RESOURCES CORPORATION:
PERMA MINING CORPORATION; PERMA PACIFIC, INC.;
PERMA PACIFIC PROPERTIES; CALDER & COMPANY:
CHIMNEY ROCK COAL COMPANY; ENERGY CAPITAL,
LTD.; AZTEC, LTD.; COLORADO COAL RESOURCES COM-
PANY; and COLORADO COAL MINING;
: Petitioners,

v.

HONORABLE ZITA L. WEINSHIENK, United States Dis-
trict Judge; and HONORABLE CHARLES E. MATHESON,
United States Bankruptcy Judge,

Respondents.

FILED
United States Court of Appeals
Tenth Circuit

AUG 16 1989

ROBERT L. HOECKER
Clerk

4a

Petition for a Writ of Mandamus

Paul F. Hultin of Parcel, Mauro, Hultin & Spaanstra, Den-
ver, Colorado, and Alan Bugg, Colorado Springs, Colorado
(Marcus L. Squarrell and Cheryl Burnside, of Parcel,
Mauro, Hultin & Spaanstra, Denver, Colorado; Thomas E.
English of English, Jones & Faulkner, Tulsa, Oklahoma;
Richard P. Slivka and David Dain of Vinton, Slivka &
Panasci, Denver, Colorado; and Julia T. Waggener, Den-
ver, Colorado, with them on the briefs) for petitioners.

James P. McCarthy (Melvin I. Orenstein and Daryle L.
Unhoff also of Lindquist & Vennum, Minneapolis, Min-
nesota; H. Thomas Coghill and David J. Richman of Coghill
and Goodspeed, Denver, Colorado with him on the brief)
for Kaiser Steel Corporation and Kaiser Coal Corporation.

Before LOGAN, SEYMOUR, and BRORBY, Circuit
Judges.

LOGAN, Circuit Judge.

This is an original proceeding in the nature of manda-
mus. Petitioners seek an order of this court compelling
the respondent bankruptcy judge, who approved a Chapter
11 reorganization plan for Kaiser Steel Corporation (Kai-
ser), to disqualify himself from presiding over two adver-
sary proceedings (the Frates and Rial proceedings)
commenced by Kaiser in which Perma Pacific Properties
(Perma) was a named defendant, and from serving as pre-
siding judge in the Perma reorganization. In addition,
petitioners ask us to direct the respondent district judge
to vacate her refusal to order the bankruptcy judge to
recuse. The F’rates and Rial proceedings, in which Kaiser
seeks rescission, avoidance of liens, and millions of dollars
in damages, involve transactions and transfers of property

that antedate commencement of the Kaiser reorganization
proceedings.

I

Petitioners seek recusal of the bankruptcy judge prin-
cipally under 28 U.S.C. § 455(a); on the basis that the
judge’s continued participation in the proceedings presents
the appearance of partiality. They rely upon two Tenth
Circuit cases, United Family Insurance Co. v. Barrow, 452
F.2d 997 (10th Cir. 1971), and American Employers’ In-
surance Co. v. King Resources Co., 545 F.2d 1265 (10th
Cir. 1976). The bankruptcy judge, in denying the motions
for recusal, expressed the view that those two decisions
would have been decided differently had they arisen under
the current bankruptcy code.

Some of the practices that concerned us in those cases
have been eliminated, and we might have used slightly
different language had the current bankruptcy code been
in effect when we decided those cases. But the principles
in Barrow and King Resources, properly understood, sur-
vived the recodification of bankruptcy law and are the law
of this Circuit.

A bankruptcy judge may preside over both the admin-
istrative and adversarial portions of a bankruptcy case.
See 28 U.S.C. § 157. But recusal is necessary if there is
evidence of actual bias, if the bankruptcy judge by words
or actions reasonably appears to have prejudged adver-
sarial proceedings over which he is to preside, or if the
judge appears “‘boxed in’’ by prior rulings such that he
will be forced to reach a certain result in an adversarial
proceeding regardless of the merits. We do not, however,
read our cases or any other authorities to require a judge
who approves a Chapter 11 reorganization plan automat-
ically to disqualify himself from presiding over adversarial
proceedings that will affect the total recovery of the bank-
rupt’s creditors. See Klenske v. Goo (In re Manoa Finance

a

6a

Co.), 781 F.2d 1370, 1373 (9th Cir. 1986), cert. denied, 479
U.S. 1064 (1987).

Here, there is no claim of actual bias. Therefore, we
must determine whether the judge appears to have pre-
judged adversarial proceedings or to have placed himself
in a position where it appears he will be forced to decide
one or more of the adversary proceedings in Kaiser’s fa-
vor.

II

To show the appearance of partiality, petitioners rely in
part upon the judge’s approval of Kaiser’s Chapter 11 plan,
which required him to find that “‘[c]onfirmation of the plan
is not likely to be followed by the liquidation, or the need
for further financial reorganization, of the debtor.’ 11
U.S.C. § 1129(aX11). They also rely upon the judge’s state-
ments that without successful prosecution of the litigation
there likely would be no significant cash payout for un-
secured creditors. See Trans. Sept. 23, 1988 Hearing at
14, contained in Kaiser’s Mem. in Opposition to
Defendant’s Motions to Stay, Ex. B (Sept. 23 hearing).

Kaiser’s Chapter 11 plan has both long- and short-term
aspects. The long-term focuses on four principal Kaiser
assets: the Eagle Mountain mine property and railroad,
contemplated to be used as a landfill for southern Cali-
fornia cities; the stock in Fontana Water Union Company,
which owns valuable water rights, proposed to be sold or
leased; the Fontana waste treatment property, thought to
be operable as a hazardous waste disposal facility; and the
Fontana steel mill site, contemplated to be sold as valuable
development real estate after environmental cleanup. The
short-term aspects encompass the immediate sale of cer-
tain other assets and the pursuit of the litigation.

The court clearly believed that the long-term program
was viable and not dependent upon the success of the
litigation. The litigation was regarded as a possible source

of funds that could be used for immediate payout to un-
secured creditors. The bankruptcy judge explicitly found
that ‘“‘without the prosecution of the litigation, the oppor-
tunity for a significant payout might not arise, but the
underlying business programs through MRC [the waste
disposal project] and Lusk [the mill site cleanup project]
and the water stock and the aqueous treatment programs
remain and could be operated.’’ Jd. Apparently the un-
secured creditors own all of the stock of the reorganized
Kaiser Corporation, see Brief of Kaiser Steel Corporation
at 35; and the Retiree Medical Benefits Trust and the
Pension Benefit Guaranty Corporation (PBGC) hold a ma-
jority of those shares. Thus, there will be recovery for the
unsecured creditors through their equity ownership if long-
term projects succeed. Thus, we hold that neither the ap-
proval of Kaiser’s Chapter 11 plan nor the judge’s com-
ments on cash pay out for unsecured creditors gives the
appearance of prejudgment of the litigation or so corners
the judge that he seems to be required to decide the lit-
igation in a particular manner.

III

Petitioners also cite the court’s approval of a $4 million
loan from PBGC to Kaiser to fund litigation, including
Kaiser’s pursuit of the F’rates and Rial cases, as an in-
dication of the judge’s apparent partiality, or as support
for the proposition that he will be forced to decide some
litigation in favor of Kaiser to enable it to repay that loan.
We see nothing ominous in the approval of the loan from
PBGC to fund the litigation. PBGC is a twenty-eight per-
cent shareholder in the reorganized company. It is both a
secured and unsecured creditor. It is not unusual for a
creditor to loan a bankruptcy estate money to pursue lit-
igation claims; indeed, in particular circumstances we re-
cently held it to be an abuse of discretion for a district
court not to allow a creditor to fund litigation to recover
assets for a bankruptcy estate. See Bank of Woodward v.

8a

Fox (In re Reiss), No. 88-1992, slip op. at 6-7 (10th Cir.
July 28, 1989). The bankruptcy judge in the instant case
stated explicitly, “I don’t think anyone has testified that
without the PBGC funds the debtor would be without
means to prosecute the litigation. It might be more costly,
there may be more contingent fee arrangements, but |
have not heard, that I can recall, that without those funds,
the plan will fail.’’ Sept. 23 Hearing at 13-14. Thus, we
cannot regard approval of a loan to pursue litigation to
be a prejudgment that the litigation will succeed.

Further, because we consider the facts as they appear
at the time we are considering the mandamus request, we
note that settlements already have been approved with
persons other than petitioners bringing in more than $21
million, a sum apparently sufficient to cover all adminis-
trative and litigation costs, and to permit distributions to
unsecured creditors. See Kaiser Steel Resources, Inc., 1988
Annual Report on SEC Form 10-K at 67 (1989), contained
in Addendum to Reply Brief of Petitioners at 67. Thus,
it seems quite apparent that the judge need not decide
against the Frates and Rial petitioners to ensure that the
reorganized company has the funds to pay administrative
and litigation costs.

IV

More bothersome is petitioner’s argument that the bank-
ruptcy judge already has decided specific issues in the
Kaiser bankruptcy proceedings that indicate prejudgment
or would essentially force the judge to make rulings in
the Frates and Rial proceedings in favor of Kaiser.
Petitioners cite several such instances: approving rejection
of leases and executory contracts, consenting to settlement
agreements, and finding alleged assets to be of small or
no value. See Supplemental Brief of Petitioners at 14-24.
Petitioners say that Kaiser’s financial condition, including
the value of its assets at the time of the transactions
challenged in Frates and Rial, is crucial to their defense.

9a

Kaiser makes various responses. First, it points out that
all of these cited rulings were made more than a year
before petitioners sought the recusal. We do not regard
the delay as fatal to petitioners’ cause, because a recusal
motion should be permitted at any time it becomes ap-
parent that a judge is biased or suffers from the appear-
ance of bias: But the delay does indicate that petitioners
did not regard these rulings as greatly debilitating to their
cases. We also must recognize that “familiarity with
defendants and/or the facts of a case that arises from
earlier participation in judicial proceedings is not sufficient
to disqualify a judge from presiding at a later trial.’’ In
re Corrugated Container Antitrust Litigation, 614 F.2d
958, 965 (5th Cir.) (footnote omitted), cert. denied 449 U.S.
888 (1980). In many ordinary litigation situations judges
make preliminary decisions on offers of evidence, or make
decisions otherwise affecting the parties, that familiarize
the judge with the facts in that case or in related cases
in which the judge must rule. Kaiser correctly points out
that 28 U.S.C. § 157, by permitting the presiding judge in
a reorganization to preside over adversary proceedings af-
fecting the assets, contemplates that bankruptcy judges
will encounter situations similar to that before us with
some frequency.

Further, Kaiser asserts that many of the rulings were
in uncontested proceedings and, therefore, the judge acted
without hearings or rejected objections on different grounds
than would be in issue in Frates or Razl (e.g., the judge
rejected executory mining consulting contracts with Perma
because Kaiser was not in need of the services under the
agreements). Kaiser also challenges petitioners’ assumption
that these rulings are connected to the Frates and Rail
proceedings. Although we are handicapped by not having
all of the bankruptcy court and district court records, we
have carefully reviewed the briefs and exhibits provided
us, and we see nothing which convinces us that the bank-
ruptcy judge appears to have prejudged issues involved in

10a

the Frates and Rial litigation or has placed himself in
such a position that he will be forced to decide an issue
in favor of Kaiser regardless of the evidence presented to
him in that litigation.

Vv

With respect to Perma’s separate motion for recusal, at
first blush it would appear that the bankruptcy judge
should not oversee the Chapter 11 reorganizations of two
parties that are opposing each other in litigation before
him. The bankruptcy judge, however, has approved a Chap-
ter 11 plan only for Kaiser, and has found that the success
of that plan is not dependent upon the success of Kaiser’s
lawsuit against Perma. Perma, on the other hand, appar-
ently had not reason to file bankruptcy except for the suit
filed against it by Kaiser, which seeks return to Kaiser of
Perma’s major asset. By filing, Perma used the bankruptcy
to obtain an automatic stay of Kaiser’s litigation against
it. The bankruptcy court apparently has not yet approved
a Chapter 11 plan for Perma.

Perma in effect has forced Kaiser to pursue its suit as
an ordinary claim under 11 U.S.C. §502 in the Perma
bankruptcy case. While Perma has sold some assets, with
court approval, the proceeds were placed in an escrow
account, apparently at Perma’s request, pending the out-
come of Kaiser’s claim. Perma apparently has not sought
approval of any loan for litigation expenses or approval
of expenditures to defend against Kaiser’s claim. Thus, we
do not see that the bankruptcy judge has as yet acted in
any way that might be considered prejudging the litigation
or prejudicing Perma. In refusing Perma’s motion for his
recusal, the judge stated that the time might come when
he would have to recuse. That time may come soon. But
considering the current status of the Kaiser-Perma liti-
gation and the Perma bankruptcy, that moment is not yet
upon us.

NE eEeeEeEeEeEe—e—EeEeEeEEEEeEeEe

a *

VI

In conclusion, we hold that petitioners have not estab-
lished actual bias by the bankruptcy judge or an appear-
ance of such partiality as to require recusal in the Frates
and Rial litigation nor, as yet, has it been shown in the
Perma Chapter 11 proceeding. We also have been shown
no rulings convincing us that the judge has placed himself
in a position in which he must decide an adversarial pro-
ceeding in favor of any one party to vindicate some prior
action he has taken.

The petition for a writ of mandamus is DENIED.

12a

APPENDIX C

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLORADO

Civil Action No. 89-Z-86

JOSEPH A. FRATES, CHARLES S. HOLMES, ROBERT E.
MERRICK, STAN Y. DOYLE, P. PETER PRUDDEN, III, J.
ANTHONY FRATES, STEPHEN I. FRATES, EQUIVEST AS-
SOCIATES, DOYLE & HOLMES, EQUIVEST MANAGEMENT
AND FINANCIAL SERVICES, LTD., JOHN L. FARRELL,
JR., ASSET MANAGEMENT, INC., CHARLES S. McNEIL,
MONTY H. RIAL, DONALDSON, LUFKIN & JENRETTE SE-
CURITIES CORPORATION, CHARLES H. BLACK, CLIF-
FORD V. BROKAW, MIII, PERMA RESOURCES
CORPORATION, PERMA MINING CORPORATION, PERMA
PACIFIC, INC., PERMA PACIFIC PROPERTIES, CALDER
& COMPANY, CHIMNEY ROCK COAL COMPANY, ENERGY
CAPITAL, LTD., AZTEC, LTD., COLORADO COAL RE-
SOURCES COMPANY, and COLORADO COAL MINING,
Petitioners,
v.

CHIEF BANKRUPTCY JUDGE CHARLES E. MATHESON,
Respondent.

FILED
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
DENVER, COLORADO

FEB 13 1989

JAMES R. MANSPEAKER
CLERK
BY

DEP. CLERK

13a

ORDER

The matters before the Court are a Petition For Writ
of Mandamus and petitioner’s Motion For Stay Pending
Decision On Petition For Writ Of Mandamus.

Because the Court can find no error in the decision
below, it is

ORDERED that the Petition For Writ Of Mandamus is
denied. It is

FURTHER ORDERED that petitioner’s Motion For
Stay Pending Decision On Petition For Writ Of Mandamus
is denied. It is

FURTHER ORDERED that the cause of action is dis-
missed.

DATED at Denver, Colorado, this 18th day of February,
1989.
BY THE COURT:

/s/ Zita L. Weinshienk
ZITA L. WEINSHIENK,
Judge
United States District Court

l4a

APPENDIX D

IN THE UNITED STATES BANKRUPTCY COURT
FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLORADO

Case No. 87-B-1553E
Chapter 11 Case
(Jointly Administered)

In re:
KAISER STEEL CORPORATION,
Debtor.

Adversary Proceeding
No. 87 E 135

KAISER STEEL CORPORATION, et al.,
Plaintiffs,
vs.

JOSEPH A. FRATES, et al.,
Defendants.

Adversary Proceeding
No. 87 E 437

KAISER STEEL CORPORATION, et al.,
Plaintiffs,
vs.

MONTY H. RIAL, et al.,
Defendants.

ld5a

TRANSCRIPT OF HEARING
December 16, 1988

APPEARANCES:

PARCEL, MAURO, HULTIN & SPAANSTRA
By Paul F. Hultin, Esq.
and
Jamie Harrison, Esq.
and
Cheryl Burnside, Esq.
1801 California Street, Suite 3600
Denver, Colorado 80202
Appearing on behalf of Defendants
Joseph A. Frates, Charles S. Holmes,
Robert E. Merrick, Equivest Associates,
a partnership, Stan P. Doyle,
J. Anthony Frates, P. Peter Prudden, III,
Stephen I. Frates, John L. Farrell,
Equivest Management and Financial
Services, Ltd., and Asset Management, Inc.

THE COURT: I take some slight exception to the char-
acterization of what the motion is and to the suggestion
by Mr. Hultin that the motions are framed other than on
the proposition that as to the reorganization case, as the
judge who has confirmed the plan in that case, as a matter
of law, I have to be disqualified. The Motion for Recusal
states, ‘‘This request is based on the well established rule
in this circuit that the judicial officer who presides over
reorganization proceedings should not also hear actions
that may have a significant impact on the reorganization.”’
That was the proposition.

Not that I’ve heard matters that would give rise to
prejudice or taken other actions in that case, but on the
proposition that the law in this circuit mandates that I
should recuse myself in these adversaries because I’m the

l6a

case judge in the reorganization case. That was the motion,
Mr. Hultin.

The argument was that the judicial officer who presides
over a debtor’s reorganization proceeding should also not
hear actions on which the success of failure of the reor-
ganization might depend. That was the argument. That
was the proposition and that’s the only proposition of this
matter and that’s the proposition that’s before me.

On that proposition, there is a significant question of
whether the Motions for Recusal are timely because that
proposition has been known from day one. Under 455/(a),
as counsel has pointed out, the Court is obligated to recuse
itself if the impartiality of the Court can reasonably be
questioned. There is a flip side to that in that the Court
is also admonished that it ought not to recuse itself merely
upon every assertion that may be brought in, but that
some party claims that they have some feeling that the
judge may not be impartial. There is an obligation of this
Court to_hear its cases and not foster them off onto other
judges in the bankruptcy court who are equally as busy.

The suggestion brought forward, I think, is one that
would be somewhat startling to almost any bankruptcy
judge across the country. And if liberally and literally ap-
plied, would almost effectively mandate that the case judge
hear nothing else except the hearing on the plan for re-
organization, because virtually anything else that the judge
hears is going to have an impact on the case and on the
creditors.

Congress recognized the problem very clearly. Under the
pankruptcy Act, as cases were administered, the bank-
ruptcy referee or judge, as they finally became known,
were very heavily involved in the administration of the
case. They heard every creditors’ meeting at which a wide
variety of matters were discussed freely concerning the
debtors’ affairs and the representations made, et cetera.
The case judge signed all the checks for the debtor, set

17a

the officers’ salaries. The case judge ruled on whether—
in the Chapter 1ls and Chapter 10s even, to the given
dollar amount, whether the debtor in possession ought to
remain in operation and, if so, the scope of those opera-
tions.

The case judge appointed the trustee, as Judge Winter
did in the King Resources case, when he appointed Charles
Baird. That kind of involvement was talked about very
explicitly in the legislative history in the enactment of the
Bankruptcy Code in the House Report 95-595. The House
Report talks about the cronyism, charges of cronyism,
problems with the close relationships between the bank-
ruptcy judges and those who were regularly appearing in
front of them representing trustees and debtors, and makes
note of what Congress was seeking to do in the enactment
of the Bankruptcy Code and the changing of the Judicial
system in which matters were to be heard.

The House Report states at Page 107, ‘“‘These changes
in the present bankruptcy administrative system will ac-
complish the separation of judicial and administrative func-
tions currently performed by the bankruptcy judges. The
judges will become passive arbiters in disputes that arise
in bankruptcy cases. United States Trustees will assume
the bankruptcy judges’ current supervisory roles over the
conduct of bankruptcy cases and over individuals servicing
in the bankruptcy system. More responsibility for admin-
istration of cases will be shifted to the trustees that serve
in cases, whether they are private members of the panel
or the United States trustee. Another change proposed by
the bill facilitates the shift of responsibility and the place-
ment of the bankruptcy judge in the dispute deciding role.”

And at Page 108, “‘This concept embodied in the phrase
after notice and hearing will free the judge from ruling
on the many undisputed administrative decisions that must
be made in a case and will involve the judge only when
there’s an actual dispute to be resolved. It should eliminate

18a

the need for continual requests for instructions by the
trustee and should significantly reduce, if not eliminate,
the amount of exparte contacts currently required between
the bankruptcy judge and the trustee. In sum, the bank-
ruptcy judge will be separated from the administration of
the case and his duties will be solely judicial.”’

On Page 228, in discussing the requirements of 1125 of
the Code, “First and most important, the Court will be
required to approve a disclosure statement before there
may be any solicitation of acceptances or rejections of a
plan. With the bankruptcy judges under this bill less in-
volved in the administration of the reorganization cases
than they are under current law, they will be fair arbiters
in compliance with the statutory standards. They will no
longer have the same interests they have today in seeing
that each reorganization is successful. An interest which
has led to a suspicion of bias on the part of many dealing
with the Bankruptcy Court.”

The cases that have been cited arose under the Bank-
ruptcy Act, an act that was flawed and that Congress
recognized the flaws. Flaws that led to the appearance of
impartiality or lack of impartiality on behalf of the case
judge, and took steps to correct that. I would be bound,
without question, by the Tenth Circuit decisions if this
were an Act case by the law that is espoused in those
decisions. I would be bound now unless there was a rea-
sonable basis to believe that the Tenth Circuit, in light of
the policies explicitly voiced by Congress in the enactment
of the Bankruptcy Code and the changes that have been
made in that Code, would not follow the precedent estab-
lished in those decisions. And I sincerely believe that was
the intent and the purpose of the law in the code, and
for that reason, as to the adversary matters, I will not
recuse myself.

As to the Perma Pacific reorganization case, there may
come a time, Mr. Bugg, when because of the interrela-

19a

tionship of those two proceedings and matters that are
going on in those two cases, that it would be proper for
me to consider recusal. I do not believe there are any such
matters pending now other than the existence of this ad-
versary proceeding and, therefore, I don’t think that it is
necessary for me to act on that at the present time.

There is no authority that has been cited that would
indicate that I must, as the presiding judge in one pro-
ceeding, recuse myself from acting as the presiding judge
in another proceeding because the two proceedings are
interrelated. A fairly common occurrence before this Court.

And since there is no affidavit or charge of actual im-
partiality or partiality or bias, I will not enter an order
for recusal in the underlying reorganization case for Perma.

~ * *

MR. HULTIN: Your Honor, if I may interject myself
just briefly. For the record, I would note our motion that
you stayed in consideration of any further motions, and I
would like to ask one point of clarification, Your Honor,
on the basis of your ruling.

Is Your Honor making an explicit finding that a rea-
sonable person would be knowledgeable about the legis-
lative history that Your Honor has cited here and would
ignore the facial conflict between the adversary proceed-
ings, the Kaiser reorganization and the Perma reorgani-
zation?

I think that’s very pertinent to any appellate review of
your ruling, Your Honor, based on the Liljeberg case and
many other Court of Appeals cases construing 455.

THE COURT: Once again, Mr. Hultin, I addressed the
motion that you filed, which was that the law in this circuit
established that the reorganization case judge could not
be viewed as being impartial to hear other matters or
proceedings that could have a bearing on the reorgani-
zation.

20a

MR. HULTIN: Your Honor, I think the motion speaks
for itself.

THE COURT: I think it does, too.

MR. HULTIN: And the argument here speaks for itself
and I would ask Your Honor to clarify that point.

THE COURT: I believe I’ve ruled on your motion, Mr.
Hultin. .

MR. HULTIN: Are you refusing to make that finding,
Your Honor?

THE COURT: I believe I made my grounds and my
findings in response to the motion that, by reason of taking
the reorganization judge out of the administrative affairs
of the estate, it was the intention of Congress to create
a judicial body and that there has been no authority cited
that would establish that a judge, under those circum-
stances, is automatically subject to recusal for the ap-
pearance of partiality.

MR. HULTIN: I understand that, Your Honor. You also
found that but for the ‘84 amendments, you would be
bound by Tenth Circuit authority to recuse yourself; is
that correct?

THE COURT: No, I found that if this were an Act case,
the Tenth Circuit decisions would be binding on me and
1 would have to follow those decisions if I thought—and
I would have to follow them now if I thought that the
law had remained the same. But that the law has not
remained the same and, therefore, I do not feel the Tenth
Circuit confronted with the same facts and circumstances,
would rule similarly.

MR. HULTIN: But for that change in the law, though,
Your Honor would rule that Your Honor would have to
recuse himself: is that correct?

THE COURT: Mr. Hultin, do not put words in my
mouth.

LL eee

2la

MR. HULTIN: I think it’s unclear, Your Honor.

THE COURT: I will state my findings and my rulings
and do not state them for me.

MR. HULTIN: I’m not purporting to, Your Honor. I’m
attempting to understand Your Honor’s rulings and Your
Honor’s comments in that regard and I think any appellate
court would like to understand that as well because it is
our intent to appeal, Your Honor.

THE COURT: I think that’s fine. I think any appellate
court will understand my rulings.

MR. HULTIN: Your Honor, we would ask for a ruling
on our motion to stay any further actions in this case so
we could immediately seek, by way of writ of mandamus,
an immediate appeal of review of your decision here today.

THE COURT: That motion will be denied, Mr. Hultin.
I feel rather strongly on the point of law that is involved
and on what Congress intended to create—has created,
and because of that, I think it would be intolerable to let
these proceedings sit in limbo for some extended period
of time while the appellate process works, so we'll go
forward.

MR. HULTIN: Thank you, Your Honor.

~ * *

22a

APPENDIX E

IN THE UNITED STATES BANKRUPTCY COURT
FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLORADO

Case No. 87 B 1552 E
(Jointly Administered Chapter 11 Case)

In re: KAISER STEEL CORPORATION,

: Debtor,
Adversary Proceeding
No. 87 E 135
KAISER STEEL CORPORATION, et al.,
Plaintiffs
v.
JOSEPH A. FRATES, et al.,
Defendants
Adversary Proceeding
No. 87 E 437
KAISER STEEL CORPORATION, et ai.,
Plaintiffs,
v.
MONTY H. RIAL, et al.,
Defendants.

FILED
UNITED STATES BANKRUPTCY COURT
DISTRICT OF COLORADO

DEC 16 1988

a

23a

BY BRADFORD L. BOLTON, Clerk
DEPUTY CLERK

SUPPLEMENTAL MEMORANDUM IN SUPPORT OF
MOTION FOR RECUSAL

Defendants Joseph A. Frates, Robert E. Merrick,
Charles S. Holmes, and Stan P. Doyle (the ‘“Frates
Defendants’’), respectfully submit this Supplemental Mem-
orandum in Support of the Motion for Recusal filed by
Defendants Joseph A. Frates, Charles S. Holmes, Robert
E. Merrick, Stan P. Doyle, P. Peter Prudden, III, J. An-
thony Frates, Stephen I. Frates, Equivest Associates,
Doyle & Holmes, Equivest Management and Financial Ser-
vices, Ltd., John L. Farrell, Asset Management, Inc., Wil-
liam R. Gould, Howard P. Allen, Charles S. McNeil, Monty
H. Rial, Donaldson, Lufkin & Jenrette, Dr. Eustace H.
Winn, Jr., Charles H. Black, Richard N. Gary, Stephen A.
Girard, Lloyd G. Hansen, Clifford V. Brokaw, III, and
Miles B. Yeagley on November 4, 1988 to provide newly
discovered evidence in support of the Motion for Recusal.
Defendants state:

1. Bruce E. Hendry, a current member of the Board of
Directors of Kaiser and Chairman and Chief Executive
Officer of Kaiser during the course of its Chapter XI pro-
ceedings, was deposed by certain defendants on December
14, 1988.

2. In his deposition, Mr. Hendry made clear the fact
that Kaiser’s success in these adversary proceedings is
critical to the success of Kaiser’s Plan of Reorganization
and that proceeds from these adversary proceedings are
the only potential source of funds available to pay $3-4
million in unpaid administrative expenses incurred in the
reorganization process, and are the only source of funds

24a

from which the unsecured creditors can hope to be paid.
Mr. Hendry responded to questions as follows:

Question: [I]sn’t it a fact, Mr. Hendry, that if these
lawsuits are not successful, the unsecured
creditors will receive—are not likely to re-
ceive any cash distributions as a result of
the reorganization?

Mr. Hendry: That’s correct.

Question: And isn’t it also a fact that these lawsuits
need to be successfully prosecuted in order
for Kaiser to be able to pay its adminis-
trative expenses as a result of the reor-
ganization? :

Mr. Hendry: Yes. In order to pay those fees, we have
to have a successful litigation effort, that’s
correct.

Question: Would it be fair to say that the economics
of that development [The Kaiser Lusk
Joint Venture] are significantly impacted
by whether or not Kaiser can deliver the
West End property?

Mr. Hendry: Yes, that would be correct.

Transcript of excerpt of Deposition of Bruce E. Hendry,
December 14, 1988, pp. 4, 8. A portion of the transcript
dealing with Mr. Hendry’s testimony regarding the critical
role of these adversary proceedings to the success of Kai-
ser’s Plan of Reorganization is attached hereto as Exhibit
A and incorporated herein by this reference.

3. Mr. Hendry also testified regarding the Kaiser/Lusk
Joint Venture that: 1) the Lusk Company has the discre-
tionary right to withdraw at anytime from its agreement
with Kaiser to joint venture the development of Kaiser’s
Fontana property; 2) the West End is the only property
in the Joint Venture which is environmentally safe; 3) the

SS a

25a

West End is the only large property which is immediately
developable; and 4) without the West End property, the
ownership of which Kaiser is attempting to regain in these
adversary proceedings, the prospect of revenues to the
joint venture would be limited to cleaning up one section
of the site, selling it, cleaning up another section, and so
on. Mr. Hendry testified that absent the West End prop-
erty, it is unlikely there will be any surplus cash flow from
the joint venture that would be available to go to any
shareholders of the reorganized Kaiser and, as noted above,
that without the West End Property the project economics
are significantly impacted. (Exhibit A pp. 6-8).

4. Mr. Hendry further testified that Kaiser’s cash flow
from sources other than the litigation wil! not go to an-
ything other than to “keep the door open.’’ (Exhibit A,
p. 9). Mr. Hendry’s testimony unquestionably confirms
Defendants’ assertion that Kaiser’s successful reorganiza-
tion is dependent upon Kaiser prevailing in these adver-
sary proceedings.

5. Under the facts established by Mr. Hendry’s testi-
mony, the Tenth Circuit cases cited by Defendants in the
Motion for Recusal are dispositive: where the success of
a reorganization is dependent upon the success of related
litigation in which the debtor is a party, a single judge
may not preside over both proceedings. See American Em-
ployers’ Insurance Company v. King Resources Co., 545
F.2d 1265 (10th Cir. 1976) and United Family Life In-
surance Co. v. Barrow, 452 F.2d 997 (10th Cir. 1971).

WHEREFORE, the Frates Defendants submit that
based on the attached testimony of Bruce E. Hendry that
the Motion for Recusal must be granted.

26a

Respectfully submitted this 16th day of December, 1988.

PARCEL, MAURO, HULTIN & SPAANSTRA

By /s/ Paul Hultin
Paul F. Hultin
Marcus L. Squarre!l
David A. Bailey
1801 California Street, #3600
Denver, CO 80202
~ Telephone: (303) 292-6409

ATTORNEYS FOR DEFENDANTS JOSEPH
A. FRATES CHARLES S. HOLMES,
ROBERT E. MERRICK, STAN P. DOYLE

27a

Pursuant to Notice and the Federal Rules of Civil Pro-
cedure, the deposition of BRUCE E. HENDRY, called by
Defendants the Frates Group, was taken on Wednesday,
December 14, 1988, commencing at 10:15 a.m., at 633 -
17th Street, Denver, Colorado, before Judi Walker, Reg-
istered Professional Reporter and Notary Public within and
for the State of Colorado.

PROCEEDINGS
BRUCE E. HENDRY,

being first duly sworn in the above cause, was examined
and testified as follows:

EXAMINATION

BY MR. HULTIN:

Q. Now, isn’t it a fact, Mr. Hendry, that if these lawsuits
are not successful, the unsecured creditors will receive—
are not likely to receive any cash distributions as a result
of the reorganization?

A. That’s correct.

Q. And isn’t it also a fact that these lawsuits need to be
successfully prosecuted in order for Kaiser to be able to
pay its administrative expenses as a result of the reor-
ganization?

A. Yes. In order to pay those fees, we have to have a
successful litigation effort, that’s correct.

Q. What is the amount of the current outstanding admin-
istrative expenses that have not yet been paid?

A. I don’t know the final figure. I can give you the ball-
park range, but I don’t know the specific figure.

Q. Please give me the ballpark.
A. 3 to $4 million.

28a

Q. And those aren’t going to get paid unless there’s some
money out of these cases, right?

A. That’s correct.
Q. Now, tell me about the Lusk joint venture.

A. Well, we have a joint venture with Mr. Lusk to develop
the old steel mill site and industrial development real es-
tate—industrial development project.

We've talking earlier about the West End property.
Yes.

Who is the current owner of the West End property?
I believe Perma is still the current owner.

Is that Perma Pacific, Inc.?

I believe that’s correct.

They’re in bankruptcy, are they not?

Yes, they are.

ieee Eau cos

And isn’t it a fact that Kaiser is trying to recover the
West End property from Perma Pacific?

A. That is correct, yes.

Q. And isn’t it a fact that that property is essential for
the Lusk joint venture?

A. No, that is not.
Q. Is it important to the Lusk joint venture?
A. Is important.

Q. Describe to me the role it plays in the Lusk joint ven-
ture.

A. The West End property is the property that is essen-
tially environmentally safe and, of course, the reason why
it was transferred out of Kaiser Steel’s ownership was
because it didn’t have the environmental problems on it

7

29a

and as a result of that, the property is essentially devel-
opabie right now where the remaining Kaiser properties
are not developable because of the environmental damage
on them.

Q. So of the properties that are subject to the joint ven-
ture with Lusk, the West End would be the only property
that would be immediately developable?

A. I’m not sure it’s the only property. It’s certainly the
only large piece of property that would be immediately
developable.

Q. So there would be no cash that could come from the
development process, then, absent the West End until all
of the environmental remediation work has been done on
all the other properties; is that a correct statement?

A. No, that is not correct. Our feeling is that we can
clean up portions of the mill site and develop it using the
cash flow from the sale of that property to clean up the
next portion. And it’s not anticipated that we will clean
the entire property up before development starts.

Q. I see. But all of the cash flow, then, is going to go to
the next phase remediation process; is that correct?

A. It depends how expensive that is and, of course, we
don’t know that right now, but that is entirely possible,
right, that will happen.

Q. Absent return of the West End properties, sir, is there
even a remote chance that there would be any surplus
cash flow from a Lusk joint venture that would be avail-
able to go to any of the shareholders of the reorganized
Kaiser?

A. It’s unlikely.

Q. It would be all incurred in this ongoing environmental
remediation process; is that correct?

A. That would be the most likely event, yes.

Q. So it would be very desireable for Kaiser holdings to
recover the West End property?

30a

A. Yes, it would.

Q. And, indeed, if Kaiser does not deliver the West End
property by a certain time, Lusk has the option to ter-
minate his participation in the joint venture, does he not?

A. My—understanding of the agreement is that he can
terminate the agreement, but it would be based on his
assessment of the amount of money it would take to clean
the site up rather than whether we get the West End
property back.

But he basically has a discretionary—
He does.

—right to terminate; is that correct?

POP &

He does. He does, yes.

Q. Would it be fair to say that the economics of that
development are insignificantly impacted by whether or
not Kaiser can deliver the West End property?

A. Yes, that would be correct.

THE DEPONENT: May I take about a one-minute break
here?

MR. HULTIN: Why don’t we take five minutes.
(A recess was taken.)

Q. (BY MR. HULTIN) Mr. Hendry, it’s my understanding
that there’s one other business venture—significant busi-
ness venture that’s involved in the Kaiser holdings which
is the reorganized entity, and that’s the Eagle Mount solid
waste disposal project with MRC; is that correct?

A. Yes, that’s correct
(Brief interruption.)
(The last question and answer were read.)

Q. (BY MR. HULTIN) So we've got the lawsuits, the Lusk
joint venture and the Eagle Mount joint venture. There's
Kaiser’s business holdings as well.

3la

A. There are other things as well, but those are the main
things.

Q. When does Kaiser project to receive cash flow from
the Eagle Mountain/MRC joint venture?

A. I believe the agreement calls for payments starting in
"91 or ’92.

Q. That assumes that the project is successful?

A. I believe the payments have to start irregardless, but
it would be a credit against future revenues, but, ulti-
mately, of course, the project has to be successful.

Q. Now, that project involves significant environmental
approvals, does it not?

A. Yes, it does.
@. Have those been obtained as of this date?
A. No.

Q. Does Kaiser holdings have any expectation of any cash
flow other than from these lawsuits over the next two or
three yeas?

A. Over the next two or three years I doubt that it will
have any cash from—any significant cash flow from our
businesses.

Q. Other than from these lawsuits?

A. Well, we do have existing cash flow from smaller
sources that will—

Q. Is that going to do anying other than keep the door
open?

A. No, it will not. "

Will it be sufficient to keep the doors open?
I believe it will, yes.

What are those businesses?

> Ore

We sell slag to two buyers. There’s significant scrap
sale which had and will continue to be made.

32a

Q. Scrap metal

A. Well, scrap. Mostly metal, but there are small engines
and other things that were the residual of the old steel
mill site that we continue to sell off as essentially scrap.
There are other materials which are called revert materials
which are sold to yet another purchaser.

Q. Revert?

A. It’s something with a high iron ore content that is
mixed with some other product. I’m not sure what it is,
but it gives us a cash flow.

We have rentals both at Eagle Mountain and we were
renting some 30 or 40 houses to the state of California
with plans to rent additional houses to them or others.
We have virtually a town up there that’s vacant.

Q. Lake Tamarisk?

A. Lake Tamarisk and we have another town that we own
which has additional lots, so there is a cash flow coming
into the company that will keep the doors open essentially.

Q. But would it be fair to say that the retirees are the
largest creditors of the Kaiser Estate, both in terms of
dollars and in terms of numbers?

A. Yes.

Q. And would it be fair to say that they get nothing if
Kaiser is not successful in the lawsuits?

A. That is true if you put a time period on it. Let’s say
the next two to three years. Beyond that, of course, we
hope to have Kaiser Steel Resources, which is the new
official name of the company—

Q. Kaiser Holdings, Inc. is now Kaiser Steel Resources,
Inc.?

A. That’s correct. Over the next two or three years, these
projects I’ve discussed will start producing some cash flow,

enna

33a

but certainly over the next two or three years what the
retirees can expect is from the successful conclusion of
these lawsuits.

Q. And they have immediate critical need for cash, do
they not?

A. They have a need for cash. They have been funded for
the next two years already. So, yes, after the next two
years, they will have to get some additional cash or have
to cut back on benefits.

x * *

Q. Let me digress. Just before the break, Mr. Hendry, I
asked you some questions about some current administra-
tive expenses in the amount of 3 to $4 million that you
said were unpaid.

What do those consist of? Are those unpaid attorney’s
fees?

A. Essentially, yes.

Q. And the law firms have given notes of taken notes
from Kaiser for those?

A. Yes.

Q. And interest is accruing at, what 12 percent on those
notes?

A. I don’t recall. I think 10 or 12 is the figure that I
recall.

Q. Okay. Do you know whether New York Life has been
paid in full?

A. I do not.

MR. GLENNON: I have 3204, by the say.
MR. HULTIN: You do have it?
MR. GLENNON: Yes.

Q. (BY MR. HULTIN) New York Life had an adminis-
trative claim in the amount of about $3.1 million, a con-
firmation that they took a note rather than cash?

A. Yes.

eee eteiereeee

34a

Q. But for that note, the plan would not have been con-
firmable; is that correct?

A. I believe that’s correct, right.
Q And you don’t know whether that’s been paid or not?

A.-I don’t believe I’ve—I don’t know whether that’s been
paid.

x~ * *

(The deposition recessed at 5:45 p.m., December 14,
1988.)

35a

APPENDIX F

SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION
Washington, D. C. 20549

ANNUAL REPORT PURSUANT TO SECTION 13 OR 15(d)
OF
THE SECURITIES EXCHANGE ACT OF 1934

For the Period November 16, 1988
to December 31, 1988

FORM 10-K
Commission File Number 1-7651

94-0594733
(I.R.S. Employer Identification No.)

KAISER STEEL RESOURCES, INC.
(Exact name of registrant as specified in its charter)

DELAWARE
(State or other jurisdiction of incorporation or jurisdiction)

8300 Utica Avenue
Suite 301
Rancho Cucamonga, CA 91730
(Address of principal executive offices and zip code)

PART I
Item 1. BUSINESS

‘Kaiser’ or ‘‘the Company”’ when used in this Form 10-
K refers to Kaiser Resources, Inc., including, where ap-
plicable, its consolidated subsidiaries.

36a

Emergence from Bankruptcy

On September 23, 1988, Kaiser Steel Resources, Inc.,
a Delaware corporation (the ‘‘Company’’), emerged from
bankruptcy proceedings as the recognized successor to Kai-
ser Steel Corporation pursuant to confirmation of the Sec-
ond Amended Joint Plan of Reorganization, As Modified
(the “Plan of Reorganization’’), upon order of the United
States Bankruptcy Court for the District of Colorado (the
‘Bankruptcy Court’’). The Plan of Reorganization was im-
plemented effective November 15, 1988.

x * *

The former creditors of Kaiser Steel Corporation (but
not former or current Management, or Employees) re-
ceived, in addition to shares of common stock of the Com-
pany, the mght to proceeds from the sale of excess
properties (less certain administrative and priority pay-
ments) not retained by the Company and the net distrib-
utable proceeds received from prosecution of the litigation
initiated during the Bankruptcy. The net distributable pro-
ceeds will not be retained by the Company but will be
distributed directly to the Company’s former creditors. The
allocations for such distributions are set forth below:

1. Retiree Medical
Benefits Trust 52.5%

_ Pension Benefit

i)

Guaranty Corporation 28.0%
3. Retiree Pension Trust 4.0%
4. General Unsecured Claimants 15.5%

100.0%

Pursuant to the Plan of Reorganization, certain liabilities
of the Company for the administrative costs of the bank-
ruptcy, prior tax claims, mining reclamation claims, prior-

——=_a_aaaaaaae

37a

ity and administrative claims, litigation expenses, and
claims administration costs can be paid from proceeds from
successful litigation or asset sales prior to any distribution
of proceeds to creditors.

Il. Adversary Litigation

Through the bankruptcy reorganization process, Kaiser
Steel Corporation, as debtor-in-possession, commenced law-
suits seeking to recover damages, money and property
transferred from the Company over the last several years,
principally relating to the 1984 Leveraged Buyout Trans-
action (““LBO’’), the 1985 Exchange, the TIPs Program,
and actions of directors and professionals in approving the
1984 LBO and subsequent transactions. These lawsuits are
collectively referred to as the ‘‘Adversary Litigation.’’ The
net cash proceeds recovered in these suits will become
‘Distributable Proceeds” payable to creditors in accord-
ance with the Plan of Reorganization. The principal actions
now pending are described beiow. Recoveries in the Ad-
versary Litigation are expected to be the principal source
of cash distributions to unsecured creditors and an alter-
native source of payment of certain priority and admin-
istrative expenses. If the Adversary Litigation cases are
minimally or not successful, there may be only nominal or
no cash distributions to unsecured creditors and the Com-
pany will be obligated for the liquidation costs and the
unpaid priority and administrative expenses.

The costs and expenses associated with pursuing the ‘
Adversary Litigation are significant. To fund these ex-
penses, the PBGC and the Company entered into a loan
agreement providing for the PBGC to extend a $4 million
line of credit. The loan proceeds are to be used solely to
fund the litigation costs. The line of credit is a 30-month
loan, at a fixed 10% interest rate, secured by the following
assets of the Company:

————————

38a

1. The West Slag Pile and underlying real estate (lo-
cated on a portion of the former steel mill site);

2. The Chino Basin water rights appurtenant to the
Fontana steel will site property; and

3. Certain property at Lake Tamarisk, a small devel-
opment located near the Company’s Eagle Mountain
mine complex.

Funding of the costs and expenses of the Adversary
Litigation will also be defrayed with proceeds from the
settlement agreements described below.

x* * *

B. 1985 Exchange Litigation (the “1985 Exchange Case’’).
In February, 1987, the Company filed a lawsuit in the
Bankruptcy Court challenging three groups of transac-
tions: The “April 1985 Exchange,”’ the ““West End Prop-
erty Transactions,’ and the ‘Cottonwood Transaction.’’ As
noted below, settlement agreements have been entered into
with certain of the defendants.

C. TIPs Litigation (the ‘“‘TIPs Case’’). In June, 1987,
Kaiser Steel Corporation and Kaiser Coal Corporation filed
a Complaint in the Bankruptcy Court captioned Kavzser
Steel Corporation v. Monty H. Rial, et al. (the “TIPs
Case’). In this lawsuit, the Company seeks to set aside
and recover various payments and transfers made to mem-
bers or affiliates of the Frates Group and the Rial-Perma
Group during the period from March, 1984, through Jan-
uary, 1987.

The Company has entered into settlement agreements
with a number of the defendants in the 1985 Exchange
Case and the TIPs Case, including Donaldson, Lufkin &
Jenrette Securities Corporation (““‘DLJ’’), Dean Witter Rey-
nolds, Inc., Southern California Edison, Clifford Brokaw,

9

39a

Dr. Eustice H. Winn and the directors and officers who
were not members of the Rial-Perma or Frates Groups.
The settlement agreements have been approved by the
Bankruptcy Court.

Certain settlement payments have been made. The bulk
of the remaining settlements will be paid to the Company
upon final resolution of any appeals to the Bankruptcy
Court Orders approving the settlements. Resolution of any
appeals could delay receipt of the founds for an indeter-
minate period; however, the funds are to be held in an
interest-bearing escrow account pending distribution. Pur-
suant to the Plan of Reorganization, the litigation pro-
ceeds, after recovery of the litigation expenses and creation
of appropriate reserves for future Adversary Litigation
expenses, wil be used to pay administrative and priority
expenses incurred through the bankruptcy reorganization
process, with the balance available for distribution to Kai-
ser Steel Corporation’s general unsecured creditors.

~*~ * *

Note 2 REORGANIZATION PROCEEDINGS

The amounts included as liabilities subject to Chapter
11 proceedings at December 31, 1988, consist of:

Accrued professional fees, including

SUVCE RE CE GL vaiscnccssssccsstenixidacsaves $5,024,186
Resolved administrative claim, including
IT aE Te kasxiitownsnicientccthaaecsiniene 3,236,882
Disputed secured claim, including disputed
interest of $148,755, discussed below ...... 425,939
PEGROTEY CANE DOIIID nscensscccscssscrsncsescens 345,337
$9,032,344

The Plan of Reorganization provides that the liabilities
noted above may be repaid from the proceeds generated
from the sale of designated assets (which is substantially

40a

complete) and the recoveries, if any, from various law-
suits which the Company, as debtor-in-possession, had
filed or would file against its former owners, directors,
officers and advisors (Note 16). The proceeds generated,
if any, from these two sources become “distributable
proceeds.”’ As such, the Plan calls for the distribution
of these proceeds to the Company’s former creditors,
net of the following:

1) A reasonable reserve for the operations of the re-
organized company;

2) All actual and anticipated costs of litigation; and

3) All costs associated with the bankruptcy claims res-
olution process.

Il. Adversary Litigation

Through the bankruptcy reorganization process, Kaiser
commenced lawsuits seeking to recover damages for
money and property transferred from the Company over
the last several years, principally relating to the 1984
Leveraged Buyout, certain property exchanges, certain
payments to officers and directors, and actions of di-
rectors and professionals in approving the subsequent
transactions. These lawsuits are collectively referred to
as the ‘‘Adversary Litigation.’”” Any net cash proceeds
recovered in these suits will become ‘Distributable Pro-
ceeds’’ payable to creditors in accordance with the Plan
of Reorganization (Notes 2 and 16).

a x *

Note 16 SUBSEQUENT EVENTS

x x *

Litigation Settlement

The Company has reached settlements with certain
defendants in two of the Adversary Litigation proceedings.

dla

On November 18, 1988, the Company received $200,000
in a partial settlement agreement with a defendant in one
of the proceedings. In March, 1989, the Company reached
partial settlements with certain defendants in both of the
cases. All settlement agreements have been approved by
the Bankruptcy Court. A portion of the March, 1989, set-
tlement is subject to appeal, however, the Company, in
consultations with legal counsel, is of the belief it will be
successful in defending this appeal. The Company has re-
corded a litigation receivable of $21,100,000 at November
15, 1988, as a result of the settlements noted above.

The settlement proceeds of $21,100,000 will be utilized to
repay the following liabilities as recorded at December 31,
1988:

Accrued professional and other fees,

including interest of $180,555 «0.0.0... $5,024,186
Administrative claims, including interest of

I OIEI INET cen: +danuianinndiasdenesiaensssiiiadehaaneesanacaanaies 3,236,882
UCIT TONN BN oicncneicictcessa rete reteccnsccecnens 345,337
Attorney fees, per contingency agreement ... 2,637,500

Note payable to the Pension Benefit
rg ys + 2,600,006

Reimbursement to the Company of actual
costs of litigation and bankruptcy claims .. 2,800,754

Distribution per the Plan of Reorganization
to tne former creditors of Kaiser
BOOGE CRON OEIOR, a iccscssccnsscsccascesccsscosageans 5,055,341

$21,100,000

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385020_0856%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
