# Opposition Brief — Brown v. Ledbetter

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385020_0842%3A5

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1990
- **Citation:** 494 U.S. 1027

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S. ie
FILED
FFP 28 1999

JOSEPH F. SPANIOL, UR.
CLERK

No. 89-1030

:

“il

In the Supreme Court of the Anited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1989

GWENDOLYN BROWN, PETITIONER

JAMES G. LEDBETTER

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUII

BRIEF FOR THE FEDERAL RESPONDENI
IN OPPOSITION

KENNETH W. STARR
Solicitor General

STUART M. GERSON
Assistant Attorney General

ANTHONY J. STEINMEYER
IRENE M. SOLET
Atlorneys

Department of Justice
Washington D.C. 20530
(202) 633-2217

“

QUESTION PRESENTED
Whether petitioner, a recipient of Aid To Families With
Dependent Children (AFDC) under Title IV-A of the
Social Security Act, 42 U.S.C. 601 ef seg., may bring an
action under 42 U.S.C. 1983 to challenge the failure of
State officials to provide particular child support enforce-

ment services to her in purported violation of Title IV-D
of the Social Security Act, 42 U.S.C. 651 ef seq.

(I)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

ee os ok G5 Ae Ws SEEM RRA OR OOS RET
ao ae a RY
a See ek wa wee de eu E eK ORCA
ge a ee ke Wadd ene ok keene WS Rie
RE Cr ter hag rere ne Glut ah Cokes ve aly chet

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:

Allandale Neighborhood Ass’n v. Austin Transpor-
tation Study Policy Advisory Committee, 840
ae LN, CUED pact cbewsncseuscenes

Baliles v. Virginia Hospital Ass’n, No. 88-2043
ean dee hemte Gowen eee en

Beasley v. Harris, 671 F. Supp. 911 (D. Conn.
is i a

Bennett v. White, 865 F.2d 1395 (3d Cir.), cert.
Gemted, 809 S. Ch. 3257 (IGG) 2... ccc nnn

Cannon v. University of Chicago, 441 U.S. 677
sk Ka RAW E AS Kae eo es

Clallam County v. Department of Transportation,
849 F.2d 424 (9th Cir. 1988), cert. denied, 109
ee wed ade Kou vikee &

eae se

Edwards v. District of Columbia, 821 F.2d 651
ee Wve oben ko eke ee capes

Golden State Transit Corp. v. City of Los Angeles,
ae

Maine v. Thiboutot, 448 U.S. 1 (1980) ...........

Middlesex County Sewerage Auth. v. National Sea
Clammers Ass’n, 453 U.S. 1 (1981) .....0......

Pennhurst State School & Hosp. vy. Halderman,
aS oacai-e 4 a's a0 4 6 x6 0 6:4 8 8

Quarles v. St. Clair, 711 F.2d 692 (Sth Cir. 1983) ..

(111)

lV

Cases — Continued: Page
Vanscoter v. Bowen, 706 F. Supp. 1432 (W.D.
Wash. 1988), appeal pending, No. 89-35292 (9th
ee ico Raa kee eae noe ewe Ged coke tress 12
West Virginia University Hospitals, Inc. v. Casey,
885 F.2d 11 (3d Cir. 1989), cert. granted, No.
ee ge | 13
Wright v. City of Roanoke Redevelopment &
Housing Auth., 479 U.S. 418 (1987) ........... 9, 11
Constitution, statutes, regulations and rule:
U.S. Const.:
a es lon os Sesahca St BT call a RIDGES Bas 6
IPI SS ice ahd a cold nh AE Sa tay 4
Administrative Procedure Act, 5 U.S.C. 701
ke errs eee 5
Social Security Act, Tit. IV, 42 U.S.C. 601 ef seq. . 2
Re So ccs os w Kies sere Oo 2
eR Rem eee 3
mR 8 re ee 2, 10
Be i NE os si iocn sno 0-0 6:5 5b wens 2, 10
ee Sire IE ovo os eee ee ewe wn cbve 11, 13
eg oss 1A be va deh wows 3, 10, 12
ee ethos eb cihan ssh eae ee 2
ie ee ME Sa ee cue cece eke es 2
gS ad ere re eer 2, 3, 10
Cg a re eee 3, i
ee See, MED 6 ne nv cn Ks bs bes unwees 2
Oe Sees EE ooo eC 8 eK eee Be 2
i ea a bia sey dte wed ae 10
las usa wales edd ee es a a 3
TE a en van alee de et 2, 12
als, Sa Ale Nols eee ee 5
ee A BO gts oh one oid ne ONS eR 4, 5, 6, 7,

8,9, 11, 12, 13

V
Regulations and rule — Continued: Page
45 C.F.R.:

Pt. 302:
er ere 10
EE is Ve ses oe ke ee ees 10
OE ED | cyan cdc ekuedsaveanene 10
NACE 8 ry Pre mm menee arta 11
a BS err et em. 3, 10

In the Supreme Court of the Qnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1989

No. 89-1030
GWENDOLYN BROWN, PETITIONER
Vy.

JAMES G. LEDBETTER

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE FEDERAL RESPONDENT
IN OPPOSITION

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App. la-86a)
is reported at 875 F.2d 1558. The opinions of the district
court (Pet. App. Ic-37c, 3d-18d) are unreported.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on
June 27, 1989. A petition for rehearing was denied on Sep-
tember 26, 1989 (Pet. App. 1b-2b). The petition for a writ
of certiorari was filed on December 22, 1989. The jurisdic-
tion of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

STATEMENT
1. Petitioner receives Aid To Families With Dependent

Children (AFDC) benefits from the State of Georgia

(1)

under Title IV-A of the Social Security Act, 42 U.S.C. 601
et seq. In this action she challenges the alleged failure of
state officials to provide child support enforcement serv-
ices pursuant to Title 1V-D of the Social Security Act, 42
U.S.C. 651 et seq.

AFDC is a cooperative federal and state program pro-
viding assistance to families deprived of child support
through the death, disability, or absence of a parent when
the family’s income falls below a specified level deter-
mined to be necessary for subsistence. 42 U.S.C. 606(a).
States must administer the program in accordance with
federal statutory and regulatory requirements to receive
the federal financial contribution. 42 U.S.C. 602(a). The
Social Security Act requires each State, as a condition of
receiving federal AFDC funds, to set up a child support
enforcement unit to locate absent parents, establish pater-
nity, and obtain child and spousal support. 42 U.S.C.
602(a)(27), 652(a)(1). The federal government supplies
66% of the administrative costs of this unit.' In addition,
the federal government makes incentive payments to
reward States for effective operation of the child support
enforcement program. 42 U.S.C. 658.

As a condition of receiving AFDC benefits, individual
recipients are required to assign to the State any rights they
may have to spousal or child support, and to cooperate
with the State’s efforts to establish paternity for their
children and obtain child support. 42 U.S.C. 602(a)(26). If
child support is recovered, the first $50 is passed through
to the AFDC recipient without affecting her eligibility for

' The federal share was 70% in fiscal years 1984 through 1987, 68%
in fiscal years 1988 and 1989, and 66% for fiscal year 1990 and
thereafter. 42 U.S.C. 655(a)(2). Certain specific services (/.e.,
automatic data processing and information retrieval, laboratory serv-
ices in establishing paternity) are funded by the federal government at
a 90% level. 42 U.S.C. 655(a)(1).

3

the program or the amount of her benefit. 42 U.S.C.
602(a)(8)(A)(vi), 657 (b)(1). In addition, in States (such as
Georgia) where the level of AFDC benefit payments was
below the state standard of need in July 1975, support
payments collected by the State are passed through to the
recipients to “fill the gap” between the actual amount of
benefits and the state standard of need. 42 U.S.C.
602(a)(28); see also Quarles v. St. Clair, 711 F.2d 691,
694-695 (Sth Cir. 1983).

Title IV-D directs the Secretary of Health and Human
Services to establish standards for state child support en-
forcement programs (42 U.S.C. 652{a)(1)) and to conduct
periodic audits to determine whether actual operation of
each State’s program complies with all statutory and regu-
latory requirements (42 U.S.C. 652(a)(4)). Title IV-D also
establishes monetary penalties, ranging from one to five
percent of the federal contribution to the State’s AFDC
program, if a federal audit reveals that the State’s child
support enforcement unit is not operating in “substantial
compliance” with federal requirements. 42 U.S.C. 603(h).?
The Secretary has determined by regulation that a state
program will be deemed in “substantial compliance” if it
meets audit criteria for most essential program functions
in 75% of the individual cases reviewed. 45 C.F.R. 305.20.

2. Petitioner has three minor children. The oldest was
born out of wedlock. Pet. App. 14a-16a. Petitioner is di-
vorced from the father of her two younger children, and
the divorce decree ordered the father to pay child support
for both of them. /d. ai 16a. At the time of the court of
appeals decision, the Georgia Title IV-D agency had not
established paternity for petitioner’s oldest child and had
not collected the support payments for her younger

? The size of the penalty depends on the number of consecutive
findings of noncompliance. 42 U.S.C. 603(h).

4

children. Pet. App. 15a-16a. In his Brief in Opposition,
however, respondent Commissioner of the Georgia
Department of Human Resources indicates that the State
has now obtained an order of paternity concerning peti-
tioner’s oldest child and that the child’s father is now pay-
ing support for her. The Commissioner also reports that
the father of the two younger children also has now made
support payments. Resp. Br. in Opp. 6-7.

Petitioner intervened in an action in the United States
District Court for the Northern District of Georgia
brought by another AFDC recipient, pursuant to 42
U.S.C. 1983, to obtain Title IV-D agency assistance in
establishing paternity and obtaining support for her child.
Pet. App. 19a.* Together with another intervenor, their
second amended complaint sought redress against the
Commissioner, based on his alleged systematic failure to
operate a statewide chiid support enforcement program as
required by Title IV-D and its implementing regulations,
and against the Secretary based on his alleged failure to
assure that the Georgia 1V-D program complied with fed-
eral statutory and regulatory standards. Pet. App. 20a.

> The original plaintiff sued the Commissioner of the Georgia
Department of Human Resources seeking declaratory and injunctive
relief for alleged violations of her right to AFDC benefits under Title
IV-A of the Social Security Act, her right to child support enforce-
ment services under Title IV-D of the Act, and her due process rights
under the Fourteenth Amendment. Pet. App. 18a; Resp. Br. in Opp.
App. 12-14. The complaint also named as a defendant the Secretary of
Health and Human Services, alleging that the Secretary had failed to
assure compliance by the State with the requirements of Titles IV-A
and |V-D and regulations issued thereunder. Pet. App. 19a; Resp. Br.
in Opp. App. 14-15. The Title IV-A claims against the Commissioner
concerning payment of AFDC benefits were eventually settled by a
consent order. Pet. App. 18a-19a. Petitioner, joined by the original
plaintiff and another intervenor, then filed an amended complaint and
moved for class certification. /d. at 19a.

5

The district court dismissed the complaint on the grounds
that Congress had foreclosed private enforcement of Title
IV-D against the State under Section 1983 and that Title
IV-D created no implied right of action. Pet. App. 22a,
13c-3l1c.4

Petitioner and her co-plaintiffs then filed a third
amended complaint asserting claims only against the
Secretary under the Administrative Procedure Act (APA),
5 U.S.C. 701 et seq., and for mandamus relief pursuant to
28 U.S.C. 1361. Pet. App. 22a. The district court dis-
missed this complaint as well (id. at 24a, 3d-18d), holding
that plaintiffs lacked standing under the APA because
their complaint failed to set forth facts sufficient to estab-
lish either causation or redressability. Jd. at 24a, 8d. Peti-
tioner alone then filed a notice of appeal challenging the
orders dismissing the claims against the Commissioner and
the Secretary. Jd. at 24a.

3. The court of appeals affirmed. With regard to peti-
tioner’s claims against the Commissioner, the court recog-
nized that under this Court’s decision in Maine v.
Thiboutot, 448 U.S. 1 (1980), and subsequent cases, a vio-
lation of a federal statute is generally cognizable under
Section 1983, but such an action is not available if Con-
gress has either foreclosed private enforcement or has
created no enforceable rights in the relevant statutory pro-
visions. Pet. App. 25a-26a. The court of appeals pointed
out that in Cort v. Ash, 422 U.S. 66 (1975), this Court
articulated four factors for determining whether a statute
creates a private cause of action (Pet. App. 28a-29a); the
court of appeals concluded that the first Cort fac-
tor —whether that plaintiff is one of the class for whose

* The district court also denied plaintiffs’ request for class certifica-
tion. See Pet. App. 22a, 36c.

6

“especial benefit” the statute was enacted —is helpful to
the Section 1983 analysis. Pet. App. 29a-30a. The court
then determined that Title IV-D of the Social Security Act
created no enforceable rights to child support enforcement
services for individual AFDC recipients, and found it un-
necessary to reach the issue of whether the statute
foreclosed private remedies. Pet. App. 26a, 30a-36a.

The court based its conclusion regarding the lack of en-
forceable rights on several characteristics of the statute
and its legislative history. Pet. App. 30a-3la. Unlike Title
IV-A of the Act, which provides funds to children in need,
Title IV-D seeks to recover those funds for the Treasury.
Pet. App. 3la. In enacting Title IV-D, Congress was
primarily concerned with collecting support payments to
lessen the cost of the AFDC program to the taxpayers and
to reduce the welfare rolls. Pet. App. 3la-34a. The court
also pointed out that Title IV-D is not a legal assistance
program for AFDC recipients, but rather a program in
which recipients assign their support rights to the State
and agree to cooperate with the State in its efforts to
establish and enforce support obligations. Pet. App.
35a-36a. Accordingly, the court concluded that petitioner
did not have rights to support enforcement services under
Title IV-D that were enforceable through a Section 1983
action. Pet. App. 36a.

With respect to the claims against the Secretary, the
court of appeals held that petitioner lacked Article III
standing. Pet. App. 36a-44a. Although the court acknowI-
edged that petitioner had alleged two types of cognizable
injury —the loss of the $50 of child support that would be
passed through to her if collected by the State and the
failure to establish her child’s paternity—the court held
that the nexus between these injuries and the Secretary’s
alleged unlawful action was “attenuated at best.” Jd. at
42a. The court further held that petitioner had failed to

show that her situation would be improved if the court
were to award the relief she sought against the Secretary.
Id. at 43a. The court pointed out that where, as here, the
Statute provides its Own comprehensive enforcement
scheme, these enforcement procedures may not be by-
passed by means of individual actions under Section 1983.
Pet. App. 43a-44a.°

ARGUMENT

Although this case is not moot, its practical significance
has been substantially diminished because petitioner has
now obtained the support services that she sought. In any
event, this case does not warrant review because the court
of appeals correctly rejected petitioner’s claim that Title
IV-D of the Social Security Act establishes rights to par-
ticular child support enforcement services enforceable
through a Section 1983 action.®

> Judge Clark dissented from the decision with respect to the affir-
mance of the dismissal of the Section 1983 action against the Commis-
sioner. Pet. App. 46a-86a.

* Petitioner does not seek review of the dismissal of her claims
against the Secretary. Pet. 12 n.1. Under Rule 12.4 of the rules of this
Court, the Secretary nevertheless remains a party before this Court.
The Secretary also retains a substantial interest in this matter. As
discussed below, the Title 1V-D program was designed by Congress to
save federal and state funds by recovering assigned support payments
from absent parents of children in families receiving AFDC benefits,
and to reduce the number of welfare recipients. This plan would be
undermined if, through availability of a cause of action under Section
1983, Tithe IV-D became an entitlement program which guaranteed
specific child support enforcement services to all individual AFDC
recipients. As the court of appeals pointed out (Pet. App. 44a),
recognition of a Section 1983 remedy in this case would generate
“multitudinous suits” in federal court, diverting state resources from
the effort to operate the most efficient overall program of child sup-
port enforcement.

1. Although not moot,’ this case is an inappropriate
vehicle for review because petitioner has now obtained the
essential elements of the relief that she requested. The
Commissioner reports that he has been successful in
establishing paternity for petitioner’s oldest child and that
since May 1989 the child’s father has been paying support
on her behalf. Resp. Br. in Opp. 6. In addition, the Com-
missioner reports that the father of petitioner’s two
younger children has made support payments under his
divorce decree with petitioner. /d. at 6-7. Petitioner thus
has now received the services to which she claims to be en-
titled under Title IV-D. Particularly in light of these
changed circumstances, review of petitioner’s claims is not
warranted.

2. In any event, those claims are not well founded.
Petitioner’s principal contention is that there is widespread
confusion concerning the proper standard for determining
whether Section 1983 actions may lie from violations of
federal statutes, and that, reflecting this confusion, the
court of appeals improperly relied upon Cort v. Ash. Pet.
13-36. This contention is unavailing.

Contrary to petitioner’s submission, the governing
standard for evaluating whether Section 1983 actions may
be brought for claimed violations of federal statutes is set-
tled. Violations by state officials of federal statutes give
rise to a cause of action under 42 U.S.C. 1983 (Maine v.
Thiboutot, 448 U.S. 1 (1980)); a Section 1983 action is not
available, however, if (1) Congress has foreclosed private
enforcement of the claim in the statute itself (Middlesex

’ Petitioner’s claim is not moot because the plaintiffs’ complaint in-
cluded a request for judicial oversight of systematic reform. See, e.g.,
Second Amended Complaint, para. 90 (C.A. E.R. 4) (requesting that
the court “{rjetain jurisdiction over Defendants until such time as the
Court is satisfied that the practices, policies, and omissions alleged
herein are corrected and will not recur”).

9

County Sewerage Auth. v. National Sea Clammers Ass’n,
453 U.S. 1 (1981)), or (2) the pertinent federal statute does
not create “enforceable rights” for the purpose of Section
1983 (Pennhurst State School & Hosp. v. Halderman, 451
U.S. 1 (1981)). See also Golden State Transit Corp. v. City
of Los Angeles, 110 S. Ct. 444, 448-449 (1989); Wright v.
City of Roanoke Redevelopment & Housing Auth., 479
U.S. 418, 423 (1987). Recognizing that implied cause of
action cases like Cort v. Ash, can be helpful tools in the
analysis of congressional intent that this standard requires,
this Court itself has cited Cort and its progeny in Section
1983 analysis of federal statutes.* Thus, contrary to peti-
tioner’s assertion, there is no widespread confusion re-
garding the proper standard for evaluating whether a Sec-
tion 1983 action may lie for violations of a federal statute.’

The court of appeals correctly applied the established
standard from Thiboutot, Sea Clammers, and Pennhurst
(Pet. App. 24a-26a, 36a) and concluded that, under Penn-
hurst, Title IV-D does not create “enforceable rights” to
particular child support enforcement services for individ-

* See Golden State Transit Corp., 110 S. Ct. at 448 (citing the
Wright dissent and noting its citation to Cort v. Ash); Wright, 479
U.S. at 428 (citing Cannon v. University of Chicago, 441 U.S. 677,
704-707 (1979), which applies Cort v. Ash).

9 As petitioner points out (Pet. 17 n.3, 25 n.5), Baliles v. Virginia
Hospital Ass'n, No. 88-2043 (argued Jan. 9, 1990), presents a question
concerning the availability of a Section 1983 remedy for violations of
a federal statute. Because the question presented in that case concerns
the availability of such a remedy under a particular statute, rather
than a challenge to the governing standard, it is not necessary to hold
this case for disposition in light of Baliles. It should be pointed out,
however, that both the petitioner’s and the respondent’s briefs in
Baliles discuss, at least in passing, the relationship between Thiboutot
and the Cort v. Ash/Cannon v. University of Chicago implied right of
action line of cases. See Pet. Br. 10-11; Resp. Br. 22 n.24.

10

ual AFDC recipients. The fact that the court invoked the
first factor of Cort v. Ash to aid its inquiry does not in any
way undermine the correctness of its analysis.

As the structure of the Title IV-D statute demonstrates,
the program was crafted to help the government recoup
welfare costs and reduce the number of welfare recipients.
The entire Title IV-D program is built around the statu-
tory requirement that AFDC recipients assign their rights
to child support to the State and cooperate with the State
in its efforts to establish paternity and enforce support
obligations. 42 U.S.C. 602(a)(26). The child support rights
“assigned to the State under section 606(a)(26)” become
“an obligation owed to such state by the individual respon-
sible for providing such support.” 42 U.S.C. 656(a) (em-
phasis added). Pursuant to that assignment of support
rights, it becomes the State’s prerogative to undertake the
support enforcement efforts it deems appropriate under
an overall plan meeting federal statutory and regulatory
standards. 42 U.S.C. 602(a)(27), 652(a)(1). Moreover, al-
though the federal standards require statewide operation
of a program of services designed to serve all AFDC ap-
plicants and recipients (see 45 C.F.R. 302.31, 302.33),
whether a State has adequately met these federal re-
quirements is measured by a standard of “substantial com-
pliance.” 42 U.S.C. 603(h). The Secretary has determined
by regulation that “substantial compliance” means meet-
ing audit criteria in 75% of individual cases. 45 C.F.R.
305.20.'° Clearly, this statute and its implementing regula-

'0 The regulations specifically permit States to develop a case
assessment and prioritization system for determining the order in
which individual cases will be handled. 45 C.F.R. 303.10.

EE |

11

tions do not envision a program creating enforceable rights
to services in specific individuals.'!

The pass-through to the AFDC recipient of the first $50
per month of support payments collected by the State does
not suggest otherwise. Whether such a pass-through will
be available depends not only on successful efforts by the
State to establish paternity or a support obligation, but
also on the actual collection of support from an absent
parent. Thus, a recipient’s expectation of a pass-through
payment is not a “specific and definite” right (Wright, 479
U.S. at 432) mandated by federal statute upon which peti-
tioner can base a cause of action under Section 1983. For
the same reason, the “fill the gap” provision (42 U.S.C.
602(a)(28)) also creates no such right. Like the $50 pass-
through, expectation of this additional benefit is con-
tingent On a variety of factors in addition to the State’s ef-
forts to establish and collect support obligations and also
does not create a “specific and definite right.” !2

'! Indeed, if such a right were found and individual AFDC re-
cipients were free to bring suits in federal court whenever they believed
child support enforcement services provided by the State were inade-
quate, Title 1V-D programs could be saddled with a burden of litiga-
tion which would frustrate accomplishment of their statutory objec-
tive.

'2 In view of its decision regarding the lack of enforceable rights,
the court of appeals found it unnecessary to reach the issue whether
the Title IV-D statute precludes private enforcement. Pet. App. 26a.
In fact, the statute’s comprehensive oversight and enforcement scheme
demonstrates that Congress intended to foreclose private enforcement
of its requirements through actions under Section 1983. Title IV-D re-
quires the Secretary to audit every state program at least once every
three years. 42 U.S.C. 652(a)(4). Federal regulations establish exten-
sive and detailed audit criteria (see 45 C.F.R. Pt. 305). The statute
itself prescribes monetary penalties ranging from one to five percent
of the federal contribution to the State’s AFDC program, to be im-
posed where a federal audit reveals that the State’s Title IV-D agency is

12

Petitioner’s suggestion (Pet. 19) that the court of ap-
peals decision conflicts with the decisions of other courts
regarding the availability of a Section 1983 cause of action
for alleged state failure to comply with the Title IV-D pro-
gram is unfounded. None of the cases cited by petitioner
involved an action (as in this case) for particular child sup-
port enforcement services; each of the cases principally in-
volved the fundamentally different situation of a challenge
to the State’s treatment of funds already in hand, at least
some Of which were earmarked by statute and regulation
to the AFDC recipient.'?

not Operating in “substantial compliance” with federal reqt:irements.
42 U.S.C. 603(h). In addition, the statute provides for incentive
payments to States that operate cost-effective Title IV-D programs. 42
U.S.C. 658. This complex scheme of federal monitoring, enforce-
ment, and incentives demonstrates that Congress did not intend that
State compliance with federal requirements for operation of child sup-
port enforcement programs would be policed through private suits by
recipients under Section 1983.

'3 See Bennett v. White, 865 F.2d 1395 (3d Cir.), cert. denied, 109
S. Ct. 3257 (1989); Quarles v. St. Clair, 711 F.2d 691 (Sth Cir. 1983);
Vanscoter v. Bowen, 706 F. Supp. 1432 (W.D. Wash. 1988), appeal
pending No. 89-35292 (9th Cir.); Beasley v. Harris, 671 F. Supp. 911
(D. Conn. 1987). To be sure, Quarles also involved a claim that a State
had not made the necessary arrangements to enter into certain
cooperative agreements at all (711 F.2d at 708-713); such a claim,
however, is distinguishable from the claims for particular services at
issue here. None of the cases cited by petitioner, moreover, addresses
the question whether a Section 1983 cause of action is proper.

Petitioner’s related claim (Pet. 19-23) that there is confusion in the
courts of appeals regarding the availability of Section 1983 remedies
under other statutes also does not warrant review. Like the court of
appeals decision in this case, the holdings of those cases rest on an
analysis of the specific statute at issue. Petitioner cites four decisions
from courts of appeals analyzing remedies for violations of other
statutes. Two of the four cite Cort as helpful in the Section 1983 anal-
ysis (see Clallam County v. Department of Transportation, 849 F.2d
424, 428 (9th Cir. 1988), cert. denied, 109 S. Ct. 790 (1989); Edwards
v. District of Columbia, 821 F.2d 651, 654 n.4 (D.C. Cir. 1987)), and

13

3. Finally, petitioner also raises (Pet. 36-38) a due
process claim concerning the possibility of receiving the
$50 pass-through and the “fill the gap” payments.
Although recognizing that the court of appeals did not ad-
dress this issue, petitioner maintains that the result con-
flicts with Bennett v. White, 865 F.2d 1395 (3d Cir.), cert.
denied, 109 S. Ct. 3257 (1989). Even if the court of appeals
in this case had addressed the issue, however, there would
be no conflict. Bennett had nothing to do with alleged
failure by the State to provide particular child support en-
forcement services and the resulting failure of AFDC re-
cipients to receive pass-through payments under 42 U.S.C.
657(b)(1) or fill-the-gap payments under 42 U.S.C.
602(a)(28). Instead, the court of appeals in Bennett
recognized a due process interest by AFDC recipients in
support payments actually collected by the state Title IV-D
agency, not (as petitioner asserts here) in the speculative
expectation of support payments that might be available if
the state agency undertook efforts to establish and enforce
support obligations by the absent fathers of petitioner’s
children — and if the absent fathers then actually made the
required support payments. This speculative expectation,
which is contingent on a number of factors, does not give
rise to a protectable property interest under the Due Proc-
ess Clause. Petitioner’s claim of a due process violation
thus does not warrant review.

one does not even involve Section 1983 at all (see A//landale Neighbor-
hood Ass’nv. Austin Transportation Study Policy Advisory Commit-
fee, 840 F.2d 258, 264 n.19 (Sth Cir. 1988)). The fourth does disavow
reliance on Cort in a footnote (see West Virginia University Hospitals,
Inc. v. Casey, 885 F.2d 11, 18 n.1 (3d Cir. 1989), cert. granted on a
different issue, No. 89-994 (Feb. 26, 1990)), but the court’s statements
are dicta and do not create a conflict warranting review; the court in
that case recognized the same Thiboutot-Sea Clammers-Pennhurst
framework as the court in this case (885 F.2d at 18), and rested its
decision on a detailed discussion of the particular statute. /d. at 19-21.

14

CONCLUSION
The petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.
Respectfully submitted.

KENNETH W. STARR
Solicitor General

STUART M. GERSON
Assistant Attorney General

ANTHONY J. STEINMEYER
IRENE M. SOLET
Altorneys

FEBRUARY 1990

ss US GOVERNMENT PRINTING OFFICE 1990—262.203/00783

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385020_0842%3A5. Public record. Not legal advice.
