# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Simmons v. Dunn

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385020_0542%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1990
- **Citation:** 494 U.S. 1061

## Text

| - oe Be gD Bi,

- it REL BD
89-7 07 | oct 30 wes

caeeaae JOSEPH F. SPANIOL, JR,
CLERK

u

‘

IN THE \ so
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM, 1989

RON SIMMONS, CHAIRMAN OF THE

KENTUCKY PAROLE BOARD; THE

COMMONWEALTH OF KENTUCKY CORRECTIONS

CABINET AND THE ATTORNEY GENERAL OF

THE COMMONWEALTH OF KENTUCKY

Petitioners

versus

GENE MORRIS DUNN

Respondent

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF
APPEALS FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

FREDERIC J. COWAN
ATTORNEY GENERAL

DAVID A. SEXTON

ASSISTANT ATTORNEY GENERAL
CAPITOL BUILDING

FRANKFORT, KENTUCKY 40601-3494
(502) 564-4051

COUNSEL FOR PETITIONERS

— —<-
—_——_—-~
+
4 —
-
~_
~
.
.
~
~~
-
—
-~

~~~ as

QUESTIONS PRESENTED
I.

WHETHER THE UNITED STATES COURT OF
APPEALS FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT
ERRED WHEN IT HELD THAT THE
PROCEDURE ESTABLISHED BY THE
KENTUCKY SUPREME COURT IN DUNN V.
KENTUCKY, 703 S.W.2d 874 (KY.
1985), cert. denied, 479 U.S. 832
(1986) VIOLATED THE DUE PROCESS
CLAUSE OF THE FOURTEENTH AMENDMENT
BY PLACING A BURDEN OF PRODUCTION
ON A DEFENDANT ATTACKING THE USE
OF A PRIOR GUILTY PLEA IN A
SUBSEQUENT PERSISTENT FELONY
OFFENDER PROCEEDING.

II.

WHETHER THE UNITED STATES COURT OF
APPEALS FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT
ERRED IN ITS REVIEW OF THE FACTUAL
DETERMINATIONS OF THE KENTUCKY
SUPREME COURT WHEN IT HELD THAT
THE KENTUCKY SUPREME COURT WAS
REQUIRED BY THE DUE PROCESS CLAUSE
OF THE FOURTEENTH AMENDMENT TO
IMPOSE A CLEAR AND CONVINCING
BURDEN OF PERSUASION UPON THE
STATE WHEN A DEFENDANT MOVES TO
SUPPRESS THE USE OF A PRIOR GUILTY
PLEA IN A SUBSEQUENT PERSISTENT
FELONY OFFENDER PROCEEDING.

TABLE OF CONTENTS _

QUESTIONS PRESENTED .........246..

TABLE OF

OPINIONS

CONTENTS ......5 ee ee eeeess

BELOW wc ccc cc ccccccccccces

PURIGDICTION ...cccrcccccsccsccees

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ..........4..

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ..

CONCLUSION ..cccccscccccccccsccvees

APPENDIX

ii

iii-v

la-52a

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page
CASES:
(Note: Cases in Alphabetical Order)

Andersen v. Maryland,
427 U.S. 463, 470 n. 5 (1976) .... 12

Boykin v. Alabama,
398 U.S. 238 (1969) cc cccccccce 9,13,17,23

Brady v. United States,
BOe Gets CEbe COE CAPTOD cocecccs 28

Colorado v. Connelly.
479 U.S. 157, 167-168 (1986) .... 24

Dunn v. Kentucky,
703 S.W.2d 874 (Ky. 1985),

cert. denied, 479 U.S. 832 (1986) 2,6,8,12

Dunn v. Simmons,
877 F.2d 1275 (6th Cir. 1989) .... 2

In re Winship,
BOe Bello BE CEOCOD ceoceceseceess 24

Lakeside v. Oregon,
435 U.S. 333, 336, n. 3 (1978) .. 12

Lego v. Twomey,
Ge Weta BEE EEUU) cececeeessscs 25

v. Beto,
-S. 473, 480 n. 6 (1972) ... 15,16

fo} le)
uw
cin

Luna v. Black,
772 F.2d 448 (8th Cir. 1985) .... 17

Marshall v. Lonberger,
459 U.S. 422 (1983) ... ccc cccceee 23

rw uw

McMillen v. Pennsylvania,

477 U.S. 79, 85-86 (1986) .......
Nix v. Williams,

467 U.S. 444, n. 5 (1984) .......
North Carolina v. Alford

ee ee Oe ED co ccaccces
Patterson v. New York,

432 U.S. 197, 201-202 (1977)
People v. Harris,

459 N.E.2d 170, 172 (N.Y. 1983)
People v. Sumstine,

687 P.2d 904 (Calif. 1984) ......
Robards v. Rees,

789 F.2d 379, 385 (6th Cir. 1986)
Roddy v. Black,

516 F.2d 1380, 1384 (6th Cir.),
cert. denied, 423 U.S. 917 (1975)
Rummel v. Estelle,

445 U.S. 263, 284 (1980) ........
Smith v. Phillips.

GSS GD.B. SOO CAPSS) cesccccccccce

Vv ‘
385 U.S. 554, 568-569 (1967)

Q.
613 P.2d 84 (Or.Ct.App. 1980)

Vv. : >
580 P.2d 495 (N.M.Ct.App. 1978)

Sumner _v. Mata
G49 U.S. SED wc cccccccceccccccess

24

25

28

14,24

19

18,19

16

10,11,23

21

23

26

19

19

22

United States v. Chrans,

869 F.2d 1084, 1087 (7th Cir. 1989)
United States v. Matlock,

415 U.S. 164, 178, n. 14 (1974)
Wainwright v. Goode

GGG Gebe FO CARSSD cocecccccececs

Vv .
655 P.2d 834 (Colo. 1982) .......

CONSTITUTION:

16

25

26

19

Fourteenth Amendment, U. S. Constitution,

BOSCAOR 2 cccccccccccccccccecsess
KENTUCKY REVISED STATUTES:

BRS S3Z2.080(3) wnveccccccccscsccsecs
2B U.S.C. BLSSE( A) wn cece cccccees
2B U.S.C. $2SSE(G) wc ccccccsccces
TEXTS :

2 W. LaFave, J. Israel,

Criminal Procedure, §20.1
0 Ss

Finkelstein, A Statistical

Zeisel, The Disposition of

Felony Arrests, 1981 A.B.F. Re.J. 407

Note, Plea Bargaining and
the Transformation of the
Criminal Process

90 Harv. -— 3 Rev. 569 (1977) wncce

Vv

4
2

8,9,22,26

20

20

20

20

aoe

NO.

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM, 1989

RON SIMMONS, CHAIRMAN OF THE
KENTUCKY PAROLE BOARD; THE
COMMONWEALTH OF KENTUCKY CORRECTIONS
CABINET AND THE ATTORNEY GENERAL OF
THE COMMONWEALTH OF KENTUCKY

Petitioners

versus
GENE MORRIS DUNN

Respondent

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF
APPEALS FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

Ron Simmons, Chairman of the Kentucky
Parole Board; the Commonwealth of Kentucky
Corrections Cabinet and the Attorney General of
the Commonwealth of Kentucky petition for a writ
of certiorari to review the judgment of the
United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth

Circuit.

OPINIONS BELOW
The opinion of the United States Court

of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit (Appendix at
26a - 49a) is reported as Dunn v. Simmons, 877
F.2d 1275 (6th Cir. 1989). The opinion of the
Kentucky Supreme Court (Appendix at la - 6a) is
reported as Dunn v. Kentucky, 703 S.W.2d 874
(Ky. 1985), cert. denied, 479 U.S. 832 (1986).
JURISDICTION
The judgment of the United States Court
of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit sought to be
reviewed was rendered on June 13, 1989.
(Appendix at 50a-5la). The petitioners'
Petition For Rehearing With a Suggestion For
Rehearing En Banc was denied by order of the
United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth
Circuit entered on July 31, 1989. (Appendix at
52a - 53a). The jurisdiction of this Court to
review the judgment of the United States Court
of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit is invoked
pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §1254(1).

ain

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The Fourteenth Amendment to the United
States Constitution provides as follows:

Fourteenth Amendment
Section 1

All persons born or
naturalized in the United States
and subject to the jurisdiction
thereof, are citizens of the
United States and of the State
wherein they reside. No State
shall make or enforce any law
which shall abridge the privileges
or immunities of citizens of the
United States; nor shall any State
deprive any person of life,
liberty, or property, without due
process of law: nor deny to any
person within its jurisdiction the
equal protection of the laws.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Respondent was indicted on several
charges arising from an October, 1983 arrest in
Jefferson County, Kentucky and was also charged
with being a persistent felony offender in the

first degree under Kentucky's habitual criminal

statute, KRS 532.080. (R.2,. Appendix at p.

7). Respondent, through counsel, moved the
Jefferson Circuit Court to suppress the use of
four groups of prior convictions for enhancement
purposes under Kentucky's persistent felony
offender statute. (R.2, Appendix at pp. 1-6).
Specifically, respondent moved to prohibit the
Commonwealth from using prior felony convictions
from 1982, 1976, 1973 and 1970. (R. 2, Appendix
at p. 9).

Following a pre-trial evidentiary
hearing on respondent's motion to suppress the
prior convictions, (R. 2, Appendix at pp.
15-60), the Jefferson Circuit Court concluded
that a state statute - KRS 532.080(3) prohibited

the use of the 1982 conviction since that

las used herein, all references to
the record in this case are to the docket entry
number, the name of the document, and page
number as appears in the record on appeal to the
United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth
Circuit. The appendix referred to in this
petition which appears at docket entry number 2
is not the appendix to this petition but is a
document which was filed in the U. S. District
Court in this case.

~

conviction resulted only in a fine. (R. 2,
Appendix at p. 11). The transcript of the
pre-trial suppression hearing conducted in the
state trial court reflects that respondent did
not testify concerning his plea of guilty
leading to his 1976 conviction. (R. 2, Appendix
at pp. 26-47). Instead, the state trial court
judge utilized a transcript of the 1976 plea of
guilty, (R. 2, Appendix at pp. 9-10), and
declined to suppress the 1976 conviction. (R.
2. Appendix at p. 14). Respondent did, however,
testify on his own behalf at the suppression
hearing concerning the pleas of guilty made by
him in 1970 and 1973. (R. 2. Appendix at pp.
26-47).

The state trial court denied
respondent's motion to suppress the 1976, 1973
and 1970 convictions, (R. 2. Appendix at p. 14),
but expressed the need for clarification of the
burdens to apply when prior convictions are
attacked by way of a suppression motion in a
subsequent persistent felony offender
proceeding, (R. 2, Appendix at Bm. 13):

: ake

It would be of great assistance to
this Court if a Kentucky appellate
court would indicate whether the
Commonwealth must do more than
merely produce a certified copy of
the judgment at a P.F.O. trial,
and if so, what. Specifically.
whether after a defendant claims a
constitutional violation and
introduces some evidence (usually
his own extremely suspect
testimony) to support a claim, the
Commonwealth has the burden to
establish a knowing plea.

Respondent proceeded to trial in the
Jefferson Circuit Court and was ultimately
convicted of possession of a controlled sub-
stance and of being a persistent felon in the
first degree for which he was sentenced to
twenty years imprisonment. (R. 2, Appendix at
pp. 76-77).

Any question concerning the procedure
the Kentucky courts are to apply when a
defendant moves to suppress the use of prior
convictions in a persistent felony offender

proceeding was answered by the Kentucky Supreme

Court in Dunn v. Kentucky, 703 S.W.2d 874, 876,
cert. denied, 479 U.S. 832 (1986). (Appendix at
3a - 4a):

ate

ists rteenenteieemnellle

The second assignment of error
concerns the persistent felony
offender portion of the case.
Pursuant to the requirement of
Commonwealth v. Gadd, Ky.. 665
S.W.2d 915 (1984), the appellant
herein filed a motion to suppress
the previous felony convictions
which formed the basis of the PFO
status of the appellant. We deem
it necessary to discuss the
procedure to be followed at such
hearings, and to clarify the
burden of proof necessary for the
trial court to properly rule on
motions filed pursuant to our
opinion in Gadd. In researching
those jurisdictions which have
passed upon the question, we find
divergent views, but feel the
proper procedure is as follows:
In those cases in which the
defendant is indicted as a
persistent felony offender and
files a proper motion to suppress
any evidence of his prior
offenses, the burden is on the
Commonwealth to prove the
judgments of cunviction in each of
the underlying offenses upon which
it intends to rely. The
presumption of regularity of
judgment shall be sufficient to
meet the original burden of
proof. After the judgments of
conviction are introduced, the
burden shifts to the defendant to
show any infringement of his
rights or irregularity of
procedure upon which he relies,
such as those set out in Boykin v.
Alabama, 395 U.S. 238, 89 S.Ct.
1709, 23 L.Ed.2d 274 (1969), or
other pertinent cases. If the
defendant presents evidence,

se

erin

through his testimony or other
affirmative evidence, which
refutes the presumption of
regularity, the burden then falls
to the Commonwealth to prove that
the underlying judgments were
entered in a manner which did, in
fact, protect the rights of the
defendant. A silent record simply
will not suffice.

Following the decision of the Kentucky
Supreme Court, respondent then unsuccessfully
sought direct federal review, by this Court, of
the state high court by way of a petition for

writ of certiorari. Dunn v. Kentucky, 479 U.S.

832 (1986).

Respondent then filed a petition for
writ of habeas corpus, pursuant to 28 U.S.C.
§2254, in the United States District Court for
the Western District of Kentucky. (R. 1, Order
of July 27, 1987). The United States District
Court thereafter granted respondent's petition
for a writ of habeas corpus as it pertained to
his persistent felony offender conviction and
enhanced sentence. (Appendix at 7a - 25a).
The United States District Court "rejec[ted]
respondent's arguments that Dunn v. Common-

iin

pide —

wealth, supra, finds support in federal cases

- - -", (Appendix at 23a), and declined to defer
to the factual determinations of Kentucky's
highest court concerning what respondent knew
when he pled guilty in the state courts.
(Appendix at 24a).

A timely appeal was then taken by the
petitioners to the United States Court of
Appeals for the Sixth Circuit. The Court of
Appeals, ina 2-1 decision, “ concluded that
"the metnodology and standards utilized by the
Kentucky Supreme Court do not comply with
federal standards for determining whether a plea
of guilty is intelligent and voluntary for
purposes of the United States Constitution,"
(Appendix at 40a). The Court of Appeals

reasoned that Boykin v. Alabama, 395 U.S. 238

2circuit Judge Ryan dissented from
that portion of the majority's opinion which
held the Kentucky procedure constitutionally
flawed but did concur with the majority's
holding that the factual determinations of the
Kentucky Supreme Court were not entitled to the
28 U.S.C. §2254(d) presumption of correctness.
(Appendix at 4la - 49a).

-9-

{ A

o-4 om gals

se
‘

(1969) and Roddy v. Black, 516 F.2d 1380, 1384

(6th Cir.), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 917 (1975)
forbade Kentucky from placing a burden of
production on a defendant who has moved to
suppress the use of a guilty plea based
conviction because "Dunn permits the state to
carry its burden by utilizing a bare record of a
conviction upon a plea of guilty, in conjunction
with the time-honored presumption that
proceedings have been regularly and legally
performed." (Appendix at 33a - 34a).°

The Court of Appeals also rejected the
petitioners' argument that the United States
District Court erred when it did not defer to
the factual determinations of the Kentucky

Supreme Court. The Court of Appeals, relying on

3circuit Judge Ryan, in dissent,
wrote that the Kentucky procedure “does not
permit the state to 'satisfy' its ‘burden of
persuasion' by invoking a presumption. It
merely requires, as a procedural matter, that in
order to impose upon the state a new burden to
prove the validity of a heretofore presumptively
valid guilty plea, the defendant must raise an
issue as to its validity by offering some evi-
dence of noncompliance with Boykin." (Appendix
at 48a).

-10-

SS — a ee

a

its decision in Roddy v. Black, supra, wrote

that the Kentucky Supreme Court was required, as
matter of federal constitutional law, to apply a
clear and convincing burden of persuasion when
reviewing the supplementing evidence of the
earlier pleas. (Appendix at 32a; 39a).
Applying what it acknowledged to be an
“extraordinary" burden of persuasion, (Appendix
at 3la),. the Court of Appeals held that the
state high court's determination of what
respondent knew when he pled guilty was not
entitled to the 28 U.S.C. §2254(d) presumption
of correctness.

On July 31, 1989 the United States
Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit denied
the petitioners' Petition for Rehearing With a
Suggestion For Rehearing En Banc. (Appendix at
52a - 53a). This petition for a writ of
certiorari to review the judgment of the United
States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit
now follows.

>

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

There are several important and special

reasons why this Court should exercise its
judicial discretion in favor of reviewing the
judgment of the Court of Appeals. The decision
of the Court of Appeals is clearly in direct
conflict with the Kentucky Supreme Court's

decision in Dunn v. Kentucky, supra. Further,

the decision of the Court of Appeals conflicts
with the law of several of Kentucky's sister
States. Finally, this case involves issues of
particular importance to the states' criminal
justice system since it implicates the ability
of a state to use a prior guilty plea to enhance
the sentence of a habitual criminal.

1.) There is a direct and unequivocal
conflict between the decision of the Court of
Appeals and the Kentucky Supreme Court, on a
federal issue, warranting review by this Court.

Andersen v. Maryland, 427 U.S. 463, 470 n. 5

(1976); Lakeside v. Oregon, 435 U.S. 333, 336,

n. 3 (1978). The Kentucky Supreme Court held
that a defendant moving to suppress the use of a

1 a

fi
i
\
“
_
J
f
I
‘
}
i
:
sii

conviction obtained in violation of his rights
under Boykin v. Alabama, supra, must produce
some modicum of evidence to overcome the
presumption that the prior conviction is valid.
(Appendix at 4a). Once a defendant refutes the
presumption of regularity, the prosecution then
bears the ultimate burden of persuasion on the
contested issue. (Id.). The Court of Appeals,
in its decision, wrote that “this methodology
results in a standard different from federal
standards for proving a valid waiver of
constitutional rights.", (Appendix at 33a), and
that “the methodology and standards utilized by
the Kentucky Supreme Court do not comply with
federal standards for determining whether a plea
of guilty is intelligent and voluntary for
purposes of the United States Constitution,".
(Appendix at 40a). The conflict between the
Court of Appeals and Kentucky's court of last
resort could not be any more clear.

This Court should review this case to
decide whether the federal constitution
prohibits Kentucky from requiring a defendant to

x. ™

SS SS Lee es J ee ae eee 7 ———— SS eae —

make more than just a naked claim about his
prior conviction resting upon a guilty plea.

2.) The decision of the Court of
Appeals that Kentucky is forbidden by the
federal constitution from imposing a burden of
production upon a criminal defendant attempting
to suppress a prior guilty plea in a later
persistent felony offender proceeding is
contrary to the principles set out by this Court

in Patterson v. New York, 432 U.S. 197, 201-202

(1977):

It goes without saying that
preventing and dealing with crime
is much more the business of the
States than it is of the Federal
Government, Irvine v California,
347 US 128, 134, 98 L Ed 561, 74 S
Ct 381 (1954) (plurality opinion),
and that we should not lightly
construe the Constitution so as to
intrude upon the administration of
justice by the individual States.

Among other things, it is normally

“within the power of the State to
re ch
its laws are carried out,
i e oducin
evidence and the burden of
persuasion," and its decision in
this regard is not subject to
proscription under the Due Process
Clause unless “it offends some
rincipl f just ° oted in

in ts oid si7elie eX

the traditions and conscience of
our people as to be ranked as

fundamental." Speiser v Randall,

357 US 513, 523, 2 L Ed 2d 1460,

78 S Ct 1332 (1958); Leland v

Oregon, 343 US 790, 798, 96 L Ed

1302, 72 S Ct 1002 (1952); Snyder

v Massachusetts, 291 US 97, 105,

78 L Ed €74, 54 S$ Ct 330, 90 ALR

575 (1934). [emphasis added]

The Kentucky procedure simply requires
a defendant, having avoided the burden of trial
and often having received a sentence less than
the maximum possible, to come forward with some
sort of evidentiary basis to support his motion
to suppress a presumptively valid conviction
based on an earlier guilty plea. No fundamental
notions of justice are offended by the Kentucky
procedure. —

Kentucky's procedure is consistent with

what was written in Loper v. Beto, 405 U.S. 473,

480 n. 6 (1972) in discussing the obligation a
criminal defendant bears to substantiate an
allegation that his constitutional rights were
violated in a prior criminal proceeding:

x« *« * "(T]he Court of Appeals * *

* did not rest its decision on a

finding that the petitioner had

~~ =

rt NONI at

2 Le nad SOT te Cee

|,

failed to meet his burden of
proving the invalidity of the
prior convictions. It reached the
merits of the legal question
involved, and we granted
certiorari to review that
decision. There is thus no basis
in the record upon which we may
either dismiss this case or affirm
the decision below on the ground
that the petitioner did not meet
his burden of proving that the
prior convictions were invalid.
See Burgett v. Texas, 389 U.S.
109, 114-115, 19 L.Ed.2d 319, 324,
88 S.Ct. 258; Losieau v. Sigler,
406 F.2d 795, 803; Williams v.
Coiner, 392 F.2d 210, 212-213"

The Kentucky procedure is consistent

with this statement from Loper v. Beto, supra,

and the cases cited therein. The Kentucky pro-
cedure simply requires the accused to do what is
required in the federal courts when the consti-
tutional validity of a prior conviction is

contested - present evidence to overcome the

presumption of regularity. United States v.
Chrans, 869 F.2d 1084, 1087 (7th Cir. 1989)
(defendant bears burden in habeas corpus pro-

ceeding to prove waiver of jury trial not freely

and intelligently made); Robards v. Rees, 789
F.2d 379, 385 (6th Cir. 1986) (petitioner bears

wittn

ee See tear —
a >
a

e 4 iS >
isan. -

- a a Lea hye Js.
= 7 inf a © -
Oey aye ee eee . 7
—

a

burden of producing evidence that he was not
represented by counsel); Luna v. Black, 772 F.2d
448 (8th Cir. 1985) (where accused introduces
evidence that prior conviction constitutionally
infirm, burden shifts back to government to
prove otherwise).

The Court of Appeals erred when it
ruled that the Kentucky procedure violated this

Court's admonition in Boykin v. Alabama, supra,

against presuming a waiver from a silent

record. The Kentucky procedure does not permit
the prosecution to satisfy its burden of
persuasion by invoking a presumption. It simply
requires that before the prosecution is forced
to assume a new burden of persuasion, as to what
has been a presumptively valid plea, a defendant
must produce some evidence to support his claim

of noncompliance with Boykin v. Alabama, supra.

The Kentucky Supreme Court specifically
cautioned that once the defendant satisfies his
burden of production "[{a] silent record simply
will not suffice." (Appendix at 4a). The Court

=. =

of Appeals erred when it declared the Kentucky

procedure constitutionally flawed.

3.) The decision of the Court of
Appeals also conflicts with the law of several
of Kentucky's sister states. In People v.
Sumstine, 687 P.2d 904 (Calif. 1984) the
California Supreme Court held that a criminal
defendant would be required to produce evidence
that his Boykin rights were infringed when he
sought to suppress the use of a prior conviction
in a subsequent sentence enhancement hearing,
Sumstine, supra at 913:

Yet the silence of the record
is not entirely without relevance.
When a defendant has made
allegations sufficient to justify
a hearing, the court must conduct
an evidentiary hearing in the
fashion set forth in Coffey:
"([T)he prosecutor shall first have
the burden of producing evidence
of the prior conviction sufficient
to justify a finding that
defendant ‘has suffered such
previous conviction.' (Pen.Code,
§ 1025.) . . . [W])hen this prima
facie showing has been made, the
defendant shall thereupon have the
burden of producing evidence that
his constitutional [Boykin/Tahl
rights were] infringed in the

~

Ee Ee eR ee

prior proceeding at issue. .

{[I1]f defendant bears this burden,
the prosecution shall have the
right to produce evidence in
rebuttal." [Fn. omitted.) (67
Cal.2d at p. 217, 60 Cal.Rptr.
457, 430 P.2d 15.) The state at
first need prove only the fact of
the prior conviction, but once the
defendant has produced evidence
tending to show his constitutional
rights were infringed, it will not
be sufficient rebuttal for the
state to simply invoke the
regularity of the silent record.

The Kentucky procedure and the one set
out in Sumstine, supra, are virtually identical.

In People v. Harris, 459 N.E.2d 170,

172 (N.Y. 1983), the New York court held, "Once
the fact of the prior conviction has been
established, it is then incumbent upon the
defendant to allege and prove the facts
underlying the claim that the conviction was
unconstitutionally obtained (CPL 400.21, SUBD.7,

PAR. [b])." See also, Watkins v. People, 655

P.2d 834 (Colo. 1982): State v. O'Neil, 580 P.2d

495 (N.M.Ct.App. 1978); State v. Annino, 613

P.2d 84 (Or.Ct.App. 1980).
This Court should grant review of this
case since the decision of the Court of Appeals

-19-

also conflicts with the virtually identical
procedures established by the court of last
resort in several of Kentucky's sister states.
4.) Guilty pleas play a significant
role in the criminal justice systems of the
various states. The great majority of criminal
cases in this country are disposed of by a plea
of guilty rather than proceeding to trial.*
It has been estimated that in most jurisdictions
in this country seventy to ninety percent of all
felony cases are resolved by a plea of guilty.
2 W. LaFave, J. Israel, Criminal Procedure.
§20.1 mn. 1 (1984). The guilty plea procedure
permits a defendant to limit his possible
punishment and allows the state to conserve its
scarce judicial and prosecutorial resources.

a v. Unit ates, 397 U.S. 742, 752 (1970).

‘Finkelstein, A Statistical Analysis
of Guilty Plea Practices in the Federal Courts,
89 Harv. L. Rev. 293 (1975); Zeisel, The
Disposition of Felony Arrests, 1981 A.B.F. Re.J.
407; Note, Plea Bargaining and the

Transformation of the Criminal Process, 90 Harv.
L. Rev. 569 (1977).

-20-

The use, by a state, of a criminal
conviction based on a plea of guilty ina
subsequent habitual criminal proceeding is
important since guilty plea convictions are the
prevalent form of conviction (as opposed to a
jury trial) and given the interests of the state
in the prosecution of its habitual criminals.
This Court has recognized that the purpose of
the states' recidivist statutes is to deter
repeat offenders and to segregate for extended
periods of time those who are unable, or
unwilling, to conform their conduct to the basic
requirements of society. Rummel v. Estelle, 445
U.S. 263, 284 (1980).

The decision of the Court of Appeals -
that the Kentucky Supreme Court is forbidden by
the federal constitution from requiring a
defendant to raise some modicum of evidence in
support of his claim that a prior guilty plea
should not be suppressed unnecessarily hampers
the state's use of presumptively valid guilty
pleas against its most incorrigible offenders.
This Court should review the judgment of the

ein

Wi Sythe Mae

steeeta titanate iaeriniemnt ee tees Bede te ee ee ee +s

Court of Appeals to clarify the evidentiary

burdens a state may properly impose when a
criminal defendant attempts to suppress the use
of a prior guilty plea in a subsequent habitual
criminal proceeding.

5.) The Court of Appeals also
declined to defer to the factual determinations
of the Kentucky Supreme Court as required by 28

U.$.¢. §2254(d)> See, Sumner v. Mata, 449

U.S. 539 (presumption of correctness applies to
factual determinations of state appellate
courts). In rejecting the Kentucky Supreme
Court's view of the evidence, the Court of
Appeals concluded that the state high court was
required, as matter of federal constitutional
law, to hold the prosecution to a "clear and

ile ‘ 6
convincing" burden of persuasion. The

SThe Kentucky Supreme Court, after
its review of the suppression hearing evidence,
determined that respondent was aware of his
rights and that he was satisfied with his
attorney at the time he entered his pleas.
(Appendix at 5a).

6The Court of Appeals specifically
noted that the burden of persuasion standard
applied by the Kentucky Supreme Court in this
case "was something less than clear and
convincing." (Appendix at 39a).

-22-

federal appellate court recognized that such a
standard was "extraordinary", (Appendix at 32a).
but held that it was required by this Court's

decision in Boykin v. Alabama, supra and its

decision in Roddy v. Black, supra. Applying

this extraordinary burden of persuasion to the
factual determinations of the Kentucky Supreme
Court, the Court of Appeals concluded that the
federal courts were not required to defer to the
state high court's factual determinations since
the factual determinations did not have fair
support in the record. (Appendix at 40a).

While the governing standard as to
whether a plea of guilty is voluntary is a

question of federal law, Marshall v. Lonberger,

459 U.S. 422 (1983), that does not mean that the
Court of Appeals was free to impose the clear
and convincing evidentiary standard oo» the

Kentucky state courts. Smith v. Phillips, 455

U.S. 209 (1982) (federal courts possess no
supervisory powers over the state courts). As
noted earlier in this petition, this Court has
repeatedly emphasized that questions concerning

~

the burden of persuasion in state criminal
trials are best left to the states unless the
state procedure is so fundamentally unjust or
unfair as to violate the Due Process Clause.

Patterson v. New York, supra; McMillen v.

Pennsylvania, 477 U.S. 79, 85-86 (1986).
Applying a preponderance of the evidence
standard to the prosecution's ultimate burden of
persuasion does not violate the Due Process
Clause since this court has "never held that the

‘clear and convincing evidence' standard is the

appropriate one" when the prosecution is
required to prove a waiver of federal

constitutional rights. Colorado v. Connelly,

479 U.S. 157, 167-168 (1986).

Of course, the state is required to
prove every element of an offense beyond a

reasonable doubt, In re Winship, 397 U.S. 358

(1970).? However, this Court has repeatedly

| 7The Court of Appeals, in its
opinion, recognized that the issue presented to
it in this case did not involve a question
involving the elements of respondent's
persistent felony offender conviction.
(Appendix at 29a).
-24-

held that a state need only prove the waiver of
constitutional rights by a preponderance of the
evidence in those instances where the state
bears the burden of proof. Lego v. Twomey, 404
U.S. 477 (1972) (state required to prove
voluntariness of confession at suppression
hearing by no more than preponderance of the
evidence); Nix v. Williams, 467 U.S. 444, n. 5
(1984). The Court of Appeals erred when it
held, as a matter of federal constitutional law,
that Kentucky must impose a clear and convincing
burden of persuasion standard on the prosecution
when the defendant moves to suppress a prior
guilty plea. This Court has stated that "the
controlling burden of proof at suppression
hearings should impose no greater burden than
proof by a preponderance of the evidence."

United States v. Matlock, 415 U.S. 164, 178, n.

14 (1974). The decision of the Court of Appeals
is "a wholly unjustifiable encroachment

upon the constitutional power of States to
promulgate their own rules of evidence to try

= =

their own state-created crimes in their own

state courts,". Spencer v. Texas, 385 U.S. 554,

568-569 (1967).

The refusal of the Court of Appeals to
defer to the factual determinations of the
Kentucky Supreme Court concerning what
respondent knew when he pled guilty is flawed
since it applied the extraordinary standard of
“clear and convincing" evidence to the facts
adduced at the suppression hearing. Applying a
preponderance of the evidence standard to the
facts in this case, the factual determinations
of the Kentucky Supreme Court do have fair
support in the recora.® 28 U.S.C. §2254(d);

Wainwright v. Goode, 464 U.S. 78 (1983).

Concerning his 1973 plea, respondent
answered "No" when his attorney asked him if the

trial judge had informed him of his rights to

8tThe Kentucky Supreme Court held that
respondent failed to satisfy his burden of
production as to his 1976 conviction since he
failed to testify or present any other
affirmative evidence on that conviction.
(Appendix at 5a).
es

trial by jury. the right to confront witnesses
and the right to remain silent. (R. 2, Appendix
at p. 27). However, upon cross-examination
respondent admitted knowing of his right to a
jury trial and his right to confront witnesses.

(R. 2, Appendix at pp. 27-29). The record also

reflects that respondent was represented by

—— as ee

counsel at his 1973 plea, (R. 2, Appendix at p.
9), amd admitted that he was seeking a “package
deal" at the time since he was, by his cwn
admission, “in the wrong". (R. 2, Appendix at
p. 32).

Concerning his 1970 guilty plea,
respondent again simply replied "No" when asked
if he had been informed of his rights to a jury
trial, to confront witnesses and to remain
Silent. (R. 2, Appendix at pp. 41-42).
Respondent admitted that he was represented by
counsel who "probably" explained that he could
have a trial if he wanted one, (R. 2. Appendix

at p. 43), and “guessed" that his attorney

negotiated a plea bargain arrangement because

-27-

that's what he [respondent] wanted. (R. 2,
Appendix at p. 43).

Based on these facts, the Kentucky
Supreme Court correctly concluded that the
prosecution had carried ite ultimate burden of
persuasion. There is fair support in the record
to support the conclusion that the prosecution
had shown, by a preponderance of the evidence,
that respondent's pleas were voluntary and
intelligent. See, North Carolina v. Alford, 400
U.S. 25, 31 (1970) ("standard was and remains
whether the plea represents a voluntary and
intelligent choice among the alternative courses
of action open to the defendant"); Brady v.
United States, 397 U.S. 742 (1970).

This Court should review this case to
determine if the Court of Appeals erred when it
held that the state high court was required, by
the United States Constitution, to hold the
prosecution to a “clear and convincing" burden
of persuasion.

-28-

Because the Court of Appeals believed

federal law required it to decide the case the
way it did, this Court has jurisdiction and
shoulad grant the petition, and review the
questions presented.

CONCLUSION

The petition for writ of certiorari

should be granted.
Respectfully submitted,

FREDERIC J. COWAN

/ ORNEY GENERAL
DAVID A. SEXTON
ASSISTANT ATTORNEY GENERAL
CRIMINAL APPELLATE DIVISION
CAPITOL BUILDING

FRANKFORT, KENTUCKY 40601-3494
(502) 564-4051

COUNSEL FOR PETITIONERS

,
eH et

*
ae
—" 7

cr

:
= =<", -
4
7
; \ —s -
j i
;
a}
i
|
:
=
: i
- ¥
|
7 i
|
]
: <0

RENDERED: December 19, 1985
TO BE PUBLISHED

SUPREME COURT OF KENTUCKY

No. 85-SC-52-MR

GENE MORRIS DUNN, JR. APPELLANT
APPEAL FROM JEFFERSON CIRCUIT COURT
Vv. HONORABLE JOHN W. POTTER, JUDGE
No. 83-CR-1535
COMMONWEALTH OF KENTUCKY APPELLEE
OPINION OF THE COURT BY JUSTICE GANT

AFFIRMING

Appellant was convicted of possession of
a Schedule II narcotic and sentenced after trial
as a first degree persistent felony offender to a
term of 20 years. Two issues are presented on
this matter of right appeal.

The first error asserted by appellant
concerns the exclusion of certain evidence during
the trial in chief. This evidence was taken by
avowal and related to the rehabilitation in
Jefferson County, and described the programs and
facilities available. The stipulated purpose of
this evidence was to permit counsel for appellant

la

to argue to the jury that they should fine the
appellant rather than incarcerate him so he might
continue in the programs. The statute under which
appellant was convicted is KRS 218A.990(7), which
provides a penalty range of from one to five
years, or a fine of from $3,000 to $5,000, or
both, which offense is a Class D felony under KRS
532.020(1)(a).

In considering the alleged error of
excluding this evidence, we note that no argument
is made, nor can it be, that said prohibition in
any way affected the determination of guilt or
innocence, but merely that it could have affected
the sentence on the original charge. However,
appellant herein was sentenced as a persistent
felony offender in the first degree with that
sentence to be served in lieu of the sentence
assigned by the jury on the principal charge. The.
evidence which was excluded was not offered in
mitigation of the persistent felony offender
procedure pursuant to KRS 532.080. As we have
stated, the felony of which the appellant was

2a

convicted was a Class D felony and his resulting
sentence as a persistent felony offender was not
affected by the exclusion of this evidence.

The second assignment of error concerns
the persistent felony offender portion of the
case. Pursuant to the requirement of Commonwealth
v. Gadd, Ky.. 665 S.W.2d 915 (1984), the appellant
herein filed a motion to suppress the previous
felony convictions which formed the basis of the
PFO status of the appellant. We deem it necessary
to discuss the procedure to be followed at such
hearings, and to clarify the burden of proof
necessary for the trial court to properly rule on
motions filed pursuant to our opinion in Gadd. In
researching those jurisdictions which have passed
upon the question, we find divergent views, but
feel the proper procedure is as follows:

In those cases in which the defendant is
indicted as a persistent felony offender and files
a proper motion to suppress any evidence of his
prior offenses, the burden is on the Commonwealth
to prove the judgments of conviction in each of

3a

the underlying offenses upon which it intends to
rely. The presumption of regularity of judgment
shall be sufficient to meet the original burden of
proof. After the judgments of conviction are
introduced, the burden shifts to the defendant to
show any infringement of his rights or
irregularity of procedure upon which he relies,
such as those set out in Boykin v. Alabama, 395
U.S. 238, 89 S.Ct. 1709, 23 L.Ed.2d 274 (1969), or
other pertinent cases. If the defendant presents
evidence, through his testimony or other
affirmative evidence, which refutes the
presumption of regularity, the burden then falls
to the Commonwealth to prove that the underlying
judgments were entered in a manner which did, in
fact, protect the rights of the defendant. A
silent record simply will not suffice.

Applying this procedure to the case
before us, we find that the Commonwealth met its
Original burden as hereinabove prescribed by
introducing the proof of three pleas of guilty to
felony charges in 1976, 1973, and 1970, which

4a

judgments did show the convictions and further
showed that the appellant was represented by
counsel on each occasion. Thereafter, the
appellant took the stand and testified, under oath
of course, that the trial judge had failed to
advise him of certain rights prior to the entry of
the plea of guilty in the 1976 and 1973
proceedings. No evidence was given to rebut the
presumption of regularity in relation to the 1970
conviction. At this juncture, the burden shifted
back to the Commonwealth on the two judgments
referred to, and the record is totally silent on
the issue of whether the trial judge advised him
of his righte. However, the Commonwealth
cross-examined the appellant concerning the issue,
and he readily admitted that he knew of the rights
about which he contends he was not informed by the
court. The evidence further indicated he was
satisfied with the manner in which he was
represented by counsel. We fail to see any
reversible error in the failure of the trial

Sa

court, if there was such failure, to advise the
appellant of rights he admits he already knew
existed.

The judgment is affirmed.

All concur.

ATTORNEY FOR APPELLANT:

Frank W. Heft, Jr.

J. David Niehaus

Office of the Jefferson District
Public Defender

200 Civic Plaza

719 West Jefferson Street

Louisville, KY 40202

ATTORNEY FOR APPELLEE:
David L. Armstrong
Attorney General
Capitol Building
Frankfort, KY 40601

C. Lloyd Vest, II
Assistant Attorney General

6a

-

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF KENTUCKY
AT LOUISVILLE

GENE MORRIS DUNN
Petitioner

Vv. NO. C 87-0462-L(B)
RON SIMMONS, CHAIRMAN,
PAROLE BOARD, CORRECTIONS
CABINET
Respondent
MEMORANDUM

This matter is before the Court on
motion of the petitioner, Gene Morris Dunn, for
entry of summary judgment granting his petition
for a writ of habeas corpus filed July 27, 1987,
pursuant to Title 28 U.S.C. § 2254, and on
motion of the respondent, Ron Simmons, to
dismiss the petition or, in the alternative, to
enter summary judgment.

On December 7, 1984, the petitioner was
convicted of possession of a controlled
substance and was sentenced as a first degree
persistent felony offender in Jefferson Circuit
Court. His five year sentence was enhanced to
20 years under KRS 532.080. His subsequent
appeal to the Kentucky Supreme Court was affirmed

7a

|

in Dunn v. Commonwealth, 703 S.W.2d 874 (1985),

and his petition for writ of certiorari to the
United States Supreme Court was denied.

The issue raised in this petition for
writ of habeas corpus is whether petitioner was
denied federal due process of law by the
allocation of the burdens of proof and
production used in the persistent felony portion
of the proceedings. Specifically, petitioner
argues that the procedures used in the Kentucky
courts in ruling on the validity of his prior
convictions forming the basis for the persistent
felon charge violated Boykin v. Alabama, 395
U.S. 238, 89 S.Ct. 1709 (1969), and Roddy v. F
Black, 516 F.2d 1380 (6th Cir. 1975).

Petitioner maintains that although Kentucky's
highest court has ruled that a defendant must be
given an opportunity to exclude improper
evidence from consideration at a trial, it has
done so in a manner inconsistent with federal
constitutional law, denying him the due process
to which he is entitled under Bruton v. United

8a

States, 391 U.S. 123, 88 S.Ct. 1620 (1968), and
Burgett v. Texas, 389 U.S. 109, 115, 88 S.Ct.
258 (1967).

Boykin, 395 U.S. at 243, 89 S.Ct. at
1712, held that an effective waiver of a federal
constitutional right is governed by federal
standards.

Several federai constitu-
tional rights are involved in a
waiver that takes place when a
plea of guilty is entered ina
State criminal trial. First, is
the privilege against compulsory
self-incrimination guaranteed by
the Fifth Amendment and applicable
to the States by reason of the
Fourteenth. Malloy v. Hogan, 378
U.ms Be, OS B.CB. 146809. AZ L. Ee. 26
653. Second, is the right to
trial by jury. Duncan v.
Louisiana, 391 U.S. 145, 88 S.Ct.
1444, 20 L.Ed.2d 491. Third, is
the right to confront one's
accusers. Pointer v. Texas, 380
U.S. 400, 85 §.Ct. 1065. 13
L.Ed.2d 923. We cannot presume a
waiver of these three important
federal rights from a silent
record.

lin Burgett it was held that the use
of a prior conviction which was constitutionally
invalid becatse made while a defendant was
denied his right to counsel was inherently
prejudicial when used in a sentence enhancement
proceeding.
9a

Therein the Court, in discussing the
constitutionality of the process by which the
trial judge had accepted the petitioner's guilty
plea for robbery, held that, "[{i]t was error,
plain on the face of the record, for the judge
to accept the plea without an affirmative
showing that it was intelligent and voluntary."
Id.. 395 U.S. at 242, 89 $.Ct. at Al7ll. The
Court elaborated, 395 U.S. at 243, 89 S.Ct. at
L7iz. that:

What is at stake for an accused

facing death or imprisonment

demands the utmost solicitude of

which courts are capable in

canvassing the matter with the

accused to make sure he has a full

understanding of what the plea

connotes and of its consequence.

When the judge discharges that

function, he leaves a record

adequate for any review that may

be later sought [citations

omitted] and forestalls the

spin-off of collateral proceedings

that seek to probe murky memories.

In the instant case, the constitu-
tionality of the prior guilty pleas was attacked
during a pretrial hearing preceding the
persistent felon stage of the trial as required

by Alvey v. Commonwealth, Ky., 648 S.W.2d 858

10a

7 : - ———
. Vs 2S ee
a ee —

(1983). In its opinion and order the trial
court admitted that Kentucky differs from the
Sixth Circuit on how the constitutional issues
should be resolved, citing Roddy v. Black, 616
F.2d 1380 (6th Cir. 1975).

The Court will reach the
outcome it feels 99 out of 100
trial judges would reach and the
outcome that it feels would be
upheld on appeal 99 out of 100
times. However, this Court
believes that a majority of those
judges who would reach the result
reached here wouid do so by making
findings that were less than
sincere. These courts would
engage in presumptions or find
facts that common sense would
militate against. This Court will
find the facts as it thinks they
would be found by a factfinder
unhampered by the outcome that
they might produce. Hopefully,
the higher courts will answer some
questions so that lower courts can
deal with what must be an
important every day matter in a
Straight forward manner.

In addressing the validity of the two
1976 convictions, three 1970 convictions, and
one 1973 conviction, the Court found that as to
the 1973 and 1970 convictions, there was no
evidence except the judgments themselves, which
only recite that petitioner was represented by

lla

—~

counsel during those pleas. The 1976 plea to
two indictments was accompanied by a transcript
which indicated that petitioner was asked:

"Do you understand you have a right to a
trial on that if you wish?"

“Yes, sir."

“You wish to waive that right and plead

guilty because you are guilty, is that

correct?

Yes."

Essentially, the same two questions
were asked in regard to the second indictment.
The petitioner testified that there had been no
colloquy by the courts to determine whether he
was entering his 1970 and 1973 pleas voluntarily
and knowingly.

The trial court then made specific
findings:

"“(1) There has been a

failure to show that Mr. Dunn

knowingly and voluntarily waived

his constitutional rights in his

1970 and 1973 pleas.

(2) There has been a failure
to show that he did not knowingly
and voluntarily waive his

constitutional rights in the 1970
and 1973 pleas.

12a

(3) Mr. Dunn was not advised
of his constitutional rights
through a colloquy with the court
in his 1970 and 1973 pleas. (This
finding is based in part upon this
Court's review of transcripts,
where they exist, in other pleas
taken by the court in 1970 and
1973).

(4) The record is silent as
to whether Mr. Dunn's 1970 and
1973 pleas were knowing and
voluntary.

(5) As to the 1976 plea, the
record is not totally silent as to
whether his plea wa voluntary and
knowing, there being some
indication of understanding.

(6) As to the 1976 plea the
record is inadequate to establish
that the plea was knowing.

(7) As to the 1976 plea the
trial court did not comply with
Boykin or RCr. 8.08 (i.e. that the
court did not advise Mr. Dunn of
all of his constitutional rights,
make a record thereof or make a
finding that the plea was knowing).

(8) Based upon Mr. Dunn's
experience in prison and the
partial record, his plea in 1976
was, in fact, voluntary and
knowing.

(9) The Commonwealth has not
established by clear and
convincing evidence that the 1976
plea was voluntary and knowing.

13a

SE Be

(10) Mr. Dunn has "“claimed'
that his 1970, 1973 and 1976
convictions were not entered
knowingly and has introduced some
evidence to support that clain.

The Court next held that the 1976 plea
should not be suppressed. In ruling on the 1973
and 1970 pleas, the court recognized that cases
conflict on the effect of a plea, defective
under Boykin, on the use of such plea in
persistent felony proceedings.

This Court will rule, because
it believes the vast majority of
the other Kentucky courts would
reach the same result by hook or
crook, that the 1970 and 1973
convictions should not be
suppressed. It is doing so on the
grounds that Mr. Dunn has failed
to prove the underlying pleas were
entered unknowingly and that even
in the face of a silent record the
presumption in favor of a judgment
places the burden on Mr. Dunn to
prove the unconstitutionality of
the prior conviction. Ingram v.
Commonwealth, 427 S.W.2d 815, 819
(1968). Since virtually every
defendant's testimony on this
point will be suspect, the
presumption is virtually
unrebuttable.

So that there will be no mistake
should there be an appeal (sic).
If the Commonwealth has the burden
of establishing the constitutional

14a

soundness of prior convictions

after the Defendant has put them

in issue then any conviction based

upon the 1970 or 1973 convictions

should be reversed. If the

Commonweath's burden is to

establish by clear and convincing

evidence, then any conviction

based upon the 1976 convictions

should be reversed.

The Court then requested assistance
from reviewing courts that would clarify who has
the burden of proof on the voluntariness issue.
It is obvious that the Court, relying on Ingram,
placed the burden on the petitioner, although it
recognized that the Sixth Circuit requires that
where the transcript is inadequate the
Commonwealth has the burden to show a knowing
waiver with clear and convincing evidence.
Lonberger v. Jago, 635 F.2d 1189 (6th Cir.
1980), rev'd on other grounds, Marshall v.
Lonberger, 459 U.S. 432, 103 S.Ct. 843, 74
L.Ed.2d 646 (1983).

On appeal to the Kentucky Supreme
Court, petitioner was again denied relief. The |
Court, in a published opinion, outlined the

“proper” procedure to be followed:

15a

In those cases in which the
defendant is indicted as a
persistent felony offender and
files a proper motion to suppress
any evidence of his prior
offenses, the burden is on the
Commonwealth to prove the
judgments of conviction in each of
the underlying offenses upon which
it intends to rely. The
presumption of regularity of
judgment shall be sufficient to
meet the original burden of
proof. After the judgments of
conviction are introduced, the
burden shifts to the defendant to
show any infringement of his
rights or irregularity of
procedure upon which he relies,
such as those set out in Boykin v.
Alabama, 395 U.S. 238, 89 S.Ct.
1709, 23 L.Ed.2d 274 (1969), or
other pertinent cases. If the
defendant presents evidence,
through his testimony or other
affirmative evidence, which
refutes the presumption of
regularity, the burden then falls
to the Commonwealth to prove that
the underlying judgments were
entered in a manner which did,-in
fact, protect the rights of the
defendant. A silent record simply
will not suffice.

Applying this procedure to
the case before us, we find that
the Commonwealth met its original
burden as hereinabove prescribed
by introducing the proof of three
pleas of guilty to felony charges
in 1976, 1973, and 1970, which
judgments did show the convictions
and further showed that the

16a

appellant was represented by
counsel on each occasion.
Thereafter, the appellant took the
stand and testified, under oath of
course, that the trial judge had
failed to advise him of certain
rights prior to the entry of the
plea of guilty in the 1976 and
1973 proceedings. No evidence was
given to rebut the presumption of
regularity in relation to the 1970
conviction. At this juncture, the
burden shifted back to the
Commonwealth on the two judgments
referred to, and the record is
totally silent on the issue of
whether the trial judge advised
him of his rights. However, the
Commonwealth cross-examined the
appellant concerning the issue,
and he readily admitted that he
knew of the rights about which he
contends he was not informed by
the court. The evidence further
indicated he was satisfied with
the manner in which he was
represented by counsel. We fail
to see any reversible error in the
failure of the trial court, if
there was such failure, to advise
the appellant of rights he admits
he already knew existed.

Habeas petitions may be adjudicated on

the record of testimony at the state hearing

alone if the record reveals that the defendant

enjoyed a full and fair hearing under the

standards in Townsend v. Sain, 372 U.S. 293, 83

745, 9 L.Ed.2d 770 (1963); Clayton v.

17a

Blackburn, 478 F.2d 117 (5th Cir. 1978). The
state hearing in the instant case met the
required standard.

It is troubling, of course,
that the state in this case
misplaced or lost the petitioner's
guilty plea transcript notes. The
purpose of Boykin hearings,
besides protecting defendants, is
to help assure the finality of
state court convictions in order
to avoid collateral hearings in
which memories become hazy and the
evidence uncertain. Where no
transcript is made or available of
a guilty plea hearing, that
purpose is obviously frustrated.
See Blackledge v. Allison, 1977,
431 U.S. 63, 97 S.Ct. 1621, 52
L.Ed.2d 136.

However, it is still the
petitioner's burden in a habeas
proceeding to demonstrate, at
least prima facie, those facts
that establish a constitutional
violation. In deciding whether
the petitioner's testimony alone
meets that burden, and whether the
state violated its duty in not
making a transcript available, all
of the facts must be considered,
including any delay by the
petitioner in seeking relief and
his opportunities for earlier
applications.

Clayton v. Blackburn at 120.

18a

Petitioner insists that the trial court
and the Kentucky Supreme Court applied a
procedure governing the burden of proof in the
suppression hearing which conflicts with the
federal standards announced in Roddy v. Black,
516 F.2d 1380 (6th Cir. 1975). Roddy v. Black
did not involve a challenge to prior convictions
to be used in a persistent felony offender
hearing. The defendant in that case was faced
with revocation of his probation and waited
until that time to challenge the previously
entered guilty pleas. The Court did, however,
discuss Boykin in recognizing that a careful
on-the-record inquiry by the trial judge would
aid in the prevention of spin-off collateral
attacks.

If the discussion between

defendant and trial judge at the

time of a plea's acceptance leaves

doubt as to whether a plea was in

fact voluntary and intelligent,

however, a defendant is not

automatically entitled to a

reversal of his conviction.

Rather, in that circumstance if a

defendant argues in a

post-conviction proceeding that

19a

his plea was entered without his
consent or without an
understanding of the plea's nature
and consequences, Boykin places a
burden on the State to prove the
contrary. A habeas court may not
‘presume a waiver of [a
defendant's] federal rights from a
Silent record.' 395 U.S. at 243,
89 S.Ct. at 1712. The State must
prove that the defendant's guilty
plea was voluntary and
intelligent, and to do so it may
introduce evidence extrinsic to
the transcript of the plea's
acceptance. (Citations omitted.)

x * &* *®

In the face of an inadequate
transcript at the time of a guilty
plea's acceptance, the state must
make a clear and convincing
showing that the plea was in fact
knowingly and understandingly
entered.

Roddy v. Black at 1384.

In Lonberger v. Jago, supra, the habeas

corpus petitioner was convicted of aggravated
murder with a "specification," resulting in
capital punishment under Ohio's penalty
enhancement statute. A prior conviction of
attempted murder was one of the "specifications"
statutorily prescribed. The petitioner made a
pretrial motion to dismiss the specification on

20a

the ground that his 1972 guilty plea to
attempted murder had not been knowingly or
voluntarily made. A hearing was held, wherein
the state offered as proof of voluntariness the
conviction statement and the transcript of the
plea's acceptance. The trial court, however,
rejected the defendant's arguments. On appeal
of the denial of defendant's petition for writ
of habeas corpus, the Sixth Circuit held that
because nowhere did it affirmatively appear in
the transcript of his plea that he was aware of
the nature of the charge, the transcript was
inadequate to show that he understood that he
was pleading guilty to attempted murder. "We
hold, therefore, that the state failed to meet
its burden to show by clear and convincing
evidence that the defendant understood the
nature of the charge against him." Id. at
1195. A writ of habeas corpus was ordered.

In addition to Ingram, supra, other
Kentucky cases clearly place the burden of proof
on the defendant in a persistent felon

2la

——— — a a = al Ga Oo oe oe oO == a

proceeding to show the unconstitutionality of
his prior pleas. See Gadd v. Commonwealth, Ky.,
665 S.W.2d 915 (1984), and Phillips v.
Commonwealth, Ky... 559 S.W.2d 724 (1977).

It is also clear under the federal
cases discussed that if there is an inadequate
record of a guilty plea, there may be no
assumption that the plea was validly made. "We
cannot presume a waiver of these important
federal rights from a silent record." Boykin at
1712. In the face of an inadequate transcript,
the government must prove the validity of the
prior convictions with clear and convincing
evidence. Roddy v. Black, supra. Lonberger v.
Jago, supra. The unpublished cases of Frazier
v. Scroggy. No. 86-5985 (6th Cir. Nov. 1, 1987),
and Sullivan v. Rees, No. 85-5753/5844 (6th Cir.
Sept. 26, 1986), are fully in accord with these
principles.

In the instant case there was no
transcript available as evidence of the 1970 and
1973 pleas, and only two questions were asked
during the 1976 plea. This Court is in

22a *

agreement with the trial court that the
requirements of Boykin were not met. However,
this Court disagrees that the burden was on the
petitioner to prove the invalidity of the

pleas. The Court rejects respondent's arguments
that Dunn v. Commonwealth, supra, finds support
in federal cases, as the authorities respondent
cites involve suppression in a search and

seizure context. The Court also rejects

respondent's contention that no federal question
is involved, and that Kentucky courts make a
practice of keeping the transcripts only a
certain period of time, thus putting the state
at an evidentiary disadvantage in collateral
proceedings.

Under the facts of this case a writ of
habeas corpus is appropriate. The trial court
acknowledged that if the Commonwealth had the
burden of proof then all of the pleas should be
suppressed. Petitioner was the only person to
testify at the suppression hearing, after which
the Court made express findings that (1) the

23a

petitioner was not advised of his rights in the
1970 and 1973 pleas through a colloquy with the
judge; (2) the record is silent as to whether
those pleas were knowing and voluntary; (3)
there has been a failure to show that petitioner
knowingly and voluntarily waived his rights in
1970 and 1973, and (4) the Commonwealth has not
established by clear and convincing evidence
that the 1976 plea, defective under Boykin and
Ky.R.Cr.P. 8.08, was Knowing and voluntary.

A state court's findings are presumed
correct if they are basic, primary, or
historical facts; mixed determinations of law
and fact are open to full review by this Court.
Cuyler v. Sullivan, 446 U.S. 335, 100 S.Ct.
1708, 64 L.Ed.2d 333 (1980). The governing
standards as to whether a plea is voluntary is
governed by federal law. Marshall v. Lonberger,
supra. The basic facts, found by the trial
court after a full evidentiary hearing, were
incorrectly applied by placing the burden on the
petitioner and his petition for writ of habeas
corpus will be granted.

24a

a

An appropriate order has been entered

this 30th day of November, 1987.

THOMAS A. BALLANTINE, JR.
United States District Judge

Copies to: Petitioner
Counsel of record

RECOMMENDED FOR FULL TEXT PUBLICATION
See, Sixth Circuit Rule 24

No. 88-5015
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

GENE M. DUNN, JR., )
Petitioner-Appellee, )
)ON APPEAL from the
Vv. ) United States

District Court
for the Western
District of
Kentucky

RON SIMMONS, CHAIRMAN, PAROLE
BOARD, CORRECTIONS CABINET,
and
DAVID L. ARMSTRONG,
Respondents-Appellants.

we Oe ee ee ee

Decided and Filed June 13, 1989

Before: RYAN and NORRIS, Circuit
Judges; and LIVELY, Senior Circuit Judge.*

NORRIS, Circuit Judge, delivered the
opinion of the court, in which LIVELY, Senior
Circuit Judge, joined. RYAN, Circuit Judge (pp.
10-14) delivered a separate opinion concurring

in part and dissenting in part.

*The Honorable Pierce Lively became Senior
Circuit Judge on January 1, 1989.

26a

ALAN E. NORRIS, Circuit Judge. This is
an appeal by the state from an order of the
district court granting a writ of habeas corpus
to petitioner, Gene M. Dunn, Jr. Dunn was found
guilty by a Kentucky jury of the substantive
offense of possession of a controlled substance,
and of being a persistent felony offender (PFO),
and these convictions were upheld by the
Kentucky Supreme Court. The effect of the
district court's order is to relieve Dunn of his
conviction as a PFO and its enhanced sentence,
but to leave undisturbed his conviction for
possession of a controlled substance.

Prior to trial, Dunn sought to have the
PFO indictment dismissed, contending that the
1970, 1973, and 1976 convictions upon which that
charge was based, should be suppressed. He
argued that the prior convictions were based
upon invalid guilty pleas, since those pleas
were accepted without Dunn having intelligently
and voluntarily waived federal constitutional
rights to which he was entitled. While
expressing concern that he was required to

27a

follow case law from Kentucky appellate courts
that conflicted with federal standards for
determining whether federal rights are validly
waived, the state trial judge overruled the
motion. The jury then found Dunn guilty of the
PFO charge, as well as of the substantive
offense.

In his petition for a writ of habeas
corpus, Dunn maintained that the Kentucky courts
improperly adjudicated the validity of his prior
convictions. The district court agreed.

I.

The state first contends that the
district court erred when it determined that the
prior convictions, upon which Dunn's PFO
conviction was based, were invalid since the
State failed to demonstrate that Dunn intelli-
gently and voluntarily waived his federal
constitutional rights when he entered the guilty
pleas resulting in those convictions. Specifi-
cally, the state argues that the Kentucky
Supreme Court has correctly assigned the burdens
of evidence production and persuasion in

28a

proceedings to determine if federal constitu-
tional rights have been waived in guilty plea
proceedings.

Under Kentucky's PFO statute, Ky. Rev.
Stat. Ann. § 532.080 (Baldwin 1984), the state's
burden in proving the fact of a prior felony
conviction is to persuade the jury beyond a

reasonable doubt. Hon v. Kentucky, 670 S.W.2d

851, 853 (Ky. 1984). Resolution of that
question of fact is not involved in this appeal;
instead, we are reviewing the determination of a
question of law initially made by the state
trial court after a suppression hearing,
affirmed by the Kentucky Supreme Court, and
ultimately addressed by the district court upon
Dunn's petition for a writ of habeas corpus.
That question of law concerns the legal validity
of Dunn's prior convictions.

Generally, when courts are called upon
to decide this question of law, a prior
conviction is being examined in the context of a
pretrial motion filed in a PFO prosecution, or
in a post-conviction inquiry into whether the

29a

conviction is invalid. The question is whether
the conviction is based upon a guilty plea
accepted in the absence of a valid waiver by the
accused of the federal constitutional rights he
surrendered by pleading guilty.

In Boykin v. Alabama, 395 U.S. 238
(1969), the United States Supreme Court noted
that, for purposes of establishing that when a
state court defendant entered a guilty plea he
also waived federal constitutional rights to
trial by jury and to confront one's accusers
and the privilege against compulsory self-
incrimination, the state is required to prove
that the plea was intelligent and voluntary.
“We cannot presume a waiver of these three
important federal rights from a silent record."
Id. at 243. Where the waiver is subsequently
challenged, the state normally will attempt to
demonstrate its effectiveness by introducing a
transcript of the proceedings surrounding the
trial court's acceptance of the guilty plea, and
other trial court records. Where the records
leave doubt as to whether the plea was in fact

30a

intelligent and voluntary, the state may look to
evidence extrinsic to the court records, such as
the recollection of those attending the plea
proceedings. However, in the face of a record
which is inadequate to demonstrate the
regularity of proceedings at the time of a
guilty plea's acceptance, the state must make a
clear and convincing showing with this extrinsic
evidence that the plea was in fact intelligently
and voluntarily entered. Roddy v. Black, 516
F.2d 1380, 1384 (6th Cir.), cert. denied, 423
U.S. 917 (1975). We have imposed this
extraordinary standard of persuasion in view of
misgivings inherent in "collateral proceedings
that seek to probe murky memories," a problem
not present where the contemporary record
demonstrates a valid waiver. Boykin, 395 U.S.
at 244.

Federal law governs the appropriate
standards for determining whether a plea of
guilty is intelligent and voluntary for purposes
of the United States Constitution. Marshall v.
Lonberger, 459 U.S. 422, 431 (1983); Boykin, 395

3la

-_~_ = - as:).. A = mie —

7 — a ee ee ee

U.S. at 243. Because the circumstances
surrounding the acceptance of a guilty plea
necessarily must be examined, federal standards
control the limited fact-finding role required
of the court in arriving at a determination of
this question of law. In view of Boykin and
Roddy, we conclude that among those standards
must be counted these: Where the record from
the trial court is inadequate to affirmatively
demonstrate that the plea was intelligent and
voluntary, the state may not utilize a
presumption to satisfy its burden of persuasion.
And, where it seeks to satisfy that burden by
supplementing an incomplete contemporaneous
record with extrinsic evidence that evidence
must be clear and convincing.

In the course of its opinion affirming
Dunn's convictions, the Kentucky Supreme Court
set out its view of the methodology a state
trial court should employ in determining whether
a prior conviction predicated upon a guilty plea
is valid under the United States Constitution:

In those cases in which
the defendant is indicted as
a persistent felony offender

and files a proper motion

32a

to suppress any evidence of his
prior offenses, the burden is on
the Commonwealth to prove the
judgments of conviction in each of
the underlying offenses upon which
it intends to rely. The
presumption of regularity of
judgment shall be sufficient to
meet the original burden of proof.
After the judgments of conviction
are introduced, the burden shifts
to the defendant to show any
infringement of his rights or
irregularity of procedure upon
which he relies, such as those set
out in Boykin v. Alabama, 395 U.S.
238, 89 S.Ct. 1709, 23 L.Ed.2d 274
(1969), or other pertinent cases.
If the defendant presents evidence
through his testimony or other
affirmative evidence which refutes
the presumption of regularity, the
burden then falls to the Common-
wealth to prove that the
underlying judgments were entered
in a manner which did, in fact,
protect the rights of the
defendant. A silent record simply

will not suffice.
Dunn v. Kentucky, 703 S.W.2d 874, 876 (Ky. 1985),
cert. denied, 479 U.S. 832 (1986).

Manifestly, this methodology results in
a standard different from federal standards for
proving a valid waiver of federal constitutional

rights. Dunn permits the state to carry its

burden by utilizing a bare record of a
conviction upon a plea of guilty, in conjunction

33a

with the time-honored presumption that judicial
proceedings have been regularly and legally
performea.?

Under the Dunn procedure, the state
retains the burden of persuasion on the ultimate
question of intelligent and voluntary waiver.
But, once the state establishes the plain record
of conviction, the burden of producing evidence
shifts to the defendant to show an irregularity
in the plea procedure since that unadorned
record, bolstered by the presumption, is held by
Dunn to be sufficient to establish a prima facie
case that the guilty plea was validly accepted.
The defendant is permitted to "refute" this
presumption, presumably by evidence that would
be sufficient to support a finding that the plea
proceedings were inadequate.

Although the Dunn procedure ostensibly

permits the use of the presumption only to

1This court, in a comment which
arguably was not necessary to the resolution of
the appeal then before it, recently noted
inconsistencies between opinions of the Kentucky
Supreme Court and Boykin. Rudolph v. Parke, 856
F.2d 738, 740 (6th Cir. 1988).

2Aa

satisfy a burden of production, in reality it

may be utilized by the state to carry its
ultimate burden of persuasion. That is because,
if the defendant offers no rebuttal, the state
will prevail; the presumption becomes a
substitute for evidence supplementing the
conviction record. The practical effect of the
Dunn procedure, then, is to allow the state to
prevail by carrying its burden of persuasion
upon the bare record of the fact that a
conviction was entered against the defendant.
This result ignores the Supreme Court's
admonition in Boykin against presuming a waiver
from a silent record. And, it offends this
court's requirement in Roddy, since, when the
state is said to have made out a bare prima
facie case, and it has done so only by relying
upon a presumption, the state cannot be said to
have met its burden of persuasion by supple-
menting an inadequate record with clear and
convincing evidence. In addition, the Dunn
procedure does not impose the clear and
convincing burden of persuasion in the event

35a

the state does utilize extrinsic evidence to
supplement the record.
tI.

The state also maintains that the
district court was bound by findings of fact
made by the Kentucky Supreme Court, and erred in
not deferring to that factual determination.

No transcript of the plea proceedings
leading to the 1970 and 1973 convictions was
available at the June 20, 1984 state trial court
suppression hearing, but there was a transcript
from the 1976 plea hearing. In the 1976
proceeding, the judge elicited positive answers
when he asked Dunn only if he understood that by
pleading guilty he was waiving his right to
trial by jury. and whether he was satisfied with
the services of his attorney who represented him
on the 1976 charges. At the suppression
hearing, Dunn testified that neither in the 1970
nor the 1973 proceedings had he been advised by
the trial judge of his rights to trial by jury,
to cross-examine witnesses, and to remain
silent. Upon cross-examination by the state,

36a

Dunn conceded that he had some knowledge “now
from the trials I have had" that he was entitled
to a jury trial and could cross-examine
witnesses, but said he “didn't understand
anything" back in 1970 and 1973.

Although the trial judge allowed the
convictions to stand, based upon his under-
standing that Kentucky case law placed upon Dunn
the burden of proving that the convictions were
invalid, he nevertheless clearly stated his view

of the evidence:

So that there will be no
mistake should there be an
appeal[.] [i]f the Commonwealth
has the burden of establishing the
constitutional soundness of prior
convictions after the Defendant
has put them in issue then any
conviction based upon the 1970 or
1973 convictions should be
reversed. If the Commonwealth's
burden is to establish by clear
and convincing evidence, then any
conviction based upon the 1976
convictions should be reversed.

The Kentucky Supreme Court addressed
this same evidence in the context of the

procedure it had set out earlier in its opinion:

37a

{Tjhe appellant took the stand and
testified . . . that the trial
judge had failed to advise him of
certain rights prior to the entry
of the plea of guilty in the 1976
and 1973 proceedings. No evidence
was given to rebut the presumption
of regularity in relation to the
1970 conviction. At this
juncture, the burden shifted back
to the Commonwealth on the two
judgments referred to, and the
record is totally silent on the
issue of whether the trial judge
advised him of his rights.
However, the Commonwealth cross-
examined the appellant concerning
the issue, and he readily admitted
that he knew of the rights about
which he contends he was not
informed by the court. The
evidence further indicated he was
satisfied with the manner in which
he was represented by counsel. We
fail to see any reversible error
in the failure of the trial court,
if there was such failure, to
advise the appellant of rights he
admits he already knew existed.

Dunn, 703 S.W.2d at 876.

If the Kentucky Supreme Court's view of
the evidence is correct, then it can be argued
that the Dunn procedure is irrelevant to the
resolution of this appeal, since the supreme
court concluded that the state carried its
ultimate burden of persuasion through evidence
supplementing the bare records of conviction.

38a

However, as we have previously noted,
where the record of the plea proceedings is
incomplete, the federal standard for determining
whether a plea of guilty is intelligent and
voluntary for purposes of the United States
Constitution demands that supplementing evidence
be clear and convincing. Although the Kentucky
Supreme Court did not specifically address the
measure of persuasion it was applying to Dunn's
answers on cross-examination, manifestly, it was
something less than clear and convincing. By
contrast, the state trial judge pointed to the
inescapable legal conclusion that must be drawn
in view of all the evidence presented to him at
the suppression hearing, were he to apply the
correct burdens of production and persuasion.
Moreover, a federal court is not required to
accord to a state court's determination of a
factual issue the presumption of correctness
required by 28 U.S.C. §2254(d), where that
determination is not fairly supported by the
record. 28 U.S.C. §2254(d)(8). In view of the

inconsistencies between the supreme court's

39a

recitation of the June 20, 1984 proceedings and
what actually occurred at that hearing, the
court's characterization of Dunn's testimony
upon cross-examination, that "he readily
admitted that he knew of the rights about which
he contends he was not informed by the court,"
is not fairly supported by the record.

IIl.

Because the methodology and standards
utilized by the Kentucky Supreme Court do not
comply with federal standards for determining
whether a plea of guilty is intelligent and
voluntary for purposes of the United States
Constitution, and the determination of a factual
issue by the Kentucky Supreme Court in Dunn's
appeal is not entitled to the presumption of
correctness and is incorrect as demonstrated by
the record in this cause, the order of the

district court is affirmed.

40a

RYAN, Circuit Judge (concurring in

part; dissenting in part). Because my
colleagues have correctly determined that the
State of Kentucky failed to carry its burden of
proving that Dunn waived his entitlement to a
trial by jury and to confront his accusers, and
his privilege against self-incrimination in
connection with his 1970, 1973 and 1976 guilty
pleas, I concur in the court's decision
affirming the judgment of the district court.
My reasons are limited to those addressed in
part II of my brother's opinion. I respectfully
disagree, however, with what is written in part
I and dissent therefrom.

In the first place, what is written in
part I of the court's opinion is dicta and is,
therefore, unnecessary to the court's decision.
The defendant's conviction was properly vacated
by the district court because the transcript of
the 1970 guilty plea demonstrates conclusively
that the defendant did not knowingly waive his
constitutional rights, and the °xtrinsic
evidence that he did so with respect to the 1973

4la

and 1976 convictions is not clear and convincing
as required by Roddy v. Black, 516 F.2d 1380
(6th Cir.), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 917 (1975).
And these conclusions are inescapable without
regard to the Kentucky Supreme Court's
requirement that the defendant must introduce
some evidence challenging the validity of his
prior guilty pleas before the state may be
required to assume and carry the burden of
proving "that the underlying judgments were
entered in a manner which did, in fact, protect

the rights of the defendant." Dunn v. Common-

wealth, 703 S.W.2d 874, 876 (Ky. 1985), cert.
denied, 479 U.S. 832 (1986). Therefore, there
is no proper occasion, in my view, to address
the constitutional issue raised by Dunn's
argument that the Kentucky procedure for
challenging the validity of guilty p.eas
violates the Constitution.

But having chosen to address the point,
my colleagues have, in my judgment, decided the
Matter incorrectly.

42a

The Kentucky Supreme Court's procedure
announced in Dunn is not invalid under the
Federal Constitution or any decisions of this
court or of the United States Supreme Court, and
certainly it does not contravene the rules

announced in Boykin v. Alabama, 395 U.S. 238, 89

S. Ct. 1709, 23 L.Ed.2d 274 (1969), or Roddy,
Supra.

The rules announced in Boykin are that
the constitutional validity of a plea of guilty
requires "an affirmative showing that [the plea
of guilty] was intelligent and voluntary," 395
U.S. 238, 242, and that the court will not
presume the waiver by the defendant of his right
to a trial by jury, to confront his accusers,
and the privilege against self-incrimination

"from a silent record." The rules of Roddy v.

Black, 516 F.2d 1380, 1384 (6th Cir. 1975), are
that

[tjhe state must prove that the
defendant's guilty plea was
voluntary and intelligent, and to
do so it may introduce evidence
extrinsic to the transcript of the
plea acceptance.

43a

And

{ijn the face of an inadequate
transcript at the time of a guilty
plea's acceptance, the state must
make a clear and convincing
showing that the plea was in fact
understandingly entered. °®

Sour views do not differ in
substance with the Eighth
Circuit's statement in Todd v.
Lockhart, 490 F.2d 626, 627-28
(8th Cir. 1974), that allowing
evidence at a post-conviction
hearing to “cure the otherwise
defective plea-taking transcript

{does] not return to the
pre-Boykin practice of assuming
that a defendant represented by
counsel has entered a voluntary
and intelligent plea. Rather, [it
means) that once a state prisoner
has demonstrated that the plea
taking was not conducted in
accordance with Boykin, the state
may, if it affirmatively proves in
a post-conviction hearing that the
plea was voluntary and intelli-
gent, obviate the necessity of
vacating the plea."

(emphasis added).

The Boykin and Roddy rules, forbidding
the inference of a valid waiver of constitu-
tional right from a “silent record" and
requiring clear and convincing extrinsic proof

44a

of a valid waiver, respectively, are not
metaphysical abstractions. They are concerned
with the manner and measure of proof by which
the state must meet a defendant's claim that his
previous guilty plea conviction is invalid, once
there is a proper challenge to its validity, and
not before. There is no occasion for the State
of Kentucky or any state to carry any burden of
proof about the validity of guilty pleas that
were offered and accepted and reduced to
judgment long ago, unless and until a defendant,
in a subsequent judicial proceeding, offers a
justiciable challenge to the presumed validity
of the guilty pleas and the regularity of the
judgments memoralizing them. The validity of
all guilty plea convictions rest, in the first
instance, upon the presumed validity or
regularity of the judgment that has been entered
upon this acceptance. Surely that presumed
validity does not violate the Boykin rule
against "presum[ing]) a waiver of these three
important federal rights from a silent record."
No one would think for a moment, I should hope,

45a

that the presumption of regularity or validity
of court proceedings does not extend to the
millions of unchallenged guilty pleas, finalized
in judgments of conviction, on the books of the
thousands of courthouses of all the states of
the union and in the federal courts. The
Kentucky Dunn procedure merely imposes upon a
defendant the burden to raise the issue of the
validity of a presumptively valid previous
guilty plea, to get something moving judicially,
by producing some modicum of evidence in support
of his claim, failing which his guilty plea
continues to be presumed valid. All the
Kentucky Supreme Court has required is that if
the state is to be put to its proof that a
presumptively valid judgment of conviction
resting upon a guilty plea is indeed invalid
because the defendant did not intelligently and
voluntarily waive relevant federal constitu-
tional rights, the defendant must do more than
just make a naked claim about the matter. He
must initiate a challenge by presenting some
evidence “through his testimony or other

46a

affirmative evidence." Dunn, supra. Under the

Dunn procedure, once the defendant initiates an
evidentiary challenge, the presumption of
regularity which attaches to all judgments of
courts of record vanishes and the state must
then undertake to carry its "burden to prove
that the underlying judgments were entered ina
manner which did in fact protect the rights of
the defendant." Dunn, supra. The language in
the Eighth Circuit's opinion in Todd v.
Lockhart, 490 F.2d 626, 628 (8th Cir. 1974),
which this court relied upon and quoted in its
Roddy opinion, says as much: "once a state

prisoner has demonstrated that the plea taking

was not conducted in accordance with Boykin, the
state may, if it affirmatively proves in a
post-convicticn hearing that the plea was
voluntary and intelligent, obviate the necessity
of vacating the plea." (emphasis added).

I agree entirely with my brother that
“C[i]Jn view of Boykin and Roddy, .. . where the
record from the trial court is inadequate to
affirmatively demonstrate that the plea was

47a

intelligent and voluntary, the state may not
utilize a presumption to satisfy its burden of
persuasion." (emphasis added.) The Kentucky

procedure set forth in Dunn does not permit the

state to "satisfy" its “burden of persuasion" by
invoking a presumption. It merely requires, as
a procedural matter, that in order to impose
upon the state a new burden to prove the
validity of an heretofore presumptively valid
guilty plea, the defendant must raise an issue
as to its validity by offering some evidence of
noncompliance with Boykin. When that is done,
the state may not rely upon the presumption of
regularity which attaches to all judgments of
courts of record, including those generated by
guilty pleas, to satisfy its newly assumed.
burden; it must instead proceed to prove,
unaided by any presumption of regularity, that
the plea in question is voluntary and
intelligent.

When a defendant in Kentucky offers any
evidence whatever in support of his claim that

his guilty plea is constitutionally infirm, he

4Ra

has “refute[d] the presumption of regularity" of
the guilty plea judgment he has challenged and
the Commonwealth is required to prove its
validity according to the standards announced in
Boykin and Roddy. The Kentucky Supreme Court's
procedure does no violence to the rules
announced in Boykin, Roddy, or any other binding
federal constitutional precedent.

Kentucky has established a
constitutionally sound procedure for the
uniform, orderly and efficient determination of
genuine, evidence-supported challenges to
presumptively valid guilty pleas reduced to
judgment in its courts, and this federal court
is without authority to tell Kentucky its

procedure is not acceptable.

49a

t
?
a
:
1 _
: =
; a
,
!
i
i
1
’

FILED
JUN 13, 1989
LEONARD GREEN, Clerk

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

No. 88-5015

GENE M. DUNN, JR., Petitioner-Appellee,
Vv.

RON SIMMONS, Chairman, Parole Board,

Corrections Cabinet, and

DAVID L. ARMSTRONG, Repondents-Appellants.

Before: RYAN and NORRIS, Circuit Judges; and
LIVELY, Senior Circuit Judge*.

JUDGMENT

ON APPEAL from the United States Dis-
trict Court for the Western District of Kentucky.

THIS CAUSE came on to be heard on the
record from the said district court and was
argued by counsel.

ON CONSIDERATION WHEREOF, It is now
here ordered and adjudged by this court that the

judgment of the said district court in this case

be and the same is hereby affirmed.

50a

]

No costs taxed.
ENTERED BY ORDER OF THE COURT

Leonard Green, Clerk

/s/Leonard Green
Clerk

* Honorable Pierce Lively became Senior
Circuit Judge effective January 1, 1989.

5la

~
r

mene

No. 88-5015

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

GENE M. DUNN, JR.,
Petitioner-Appellee,

ORDER

RON SIMMONS, CHAIRMAN PAROLE BOARD,

CORRECTIONS CABINET;
DAVID L. ARMSTRONG,

i i di

Respondents-Appellants

BEFORE: RYAN and NORRIS, Circuit Judges;
and LIVELY, Senior Circuit Judge.

The Court having received a petition
for rehearing en banc, and the petition having
been circulated not only to the original panel
members but also to all other active judges of
this Court, and no judge of this Court having
requested a vote on the suggestion for rehearing
en banc, the petition for rehearing has been
referred to the original hearing panel.

The panel has further reviewed the
petition for rehearing and concludes that the
issues raised in the petition were fully
considered upon the original submission and

52a

decision of the case. Accordingly, the petition
is denied. While Judge Ryan adheres to the
views expressed in his reported opinion, he
would not grant rehearing.

ENTERED BY ORDER OF THE COURT

/s/Leonard Green

Leonard Green, Clerk

53a

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385020_0542%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
